Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi

About Kazu Japanese Restaurant

Welcome to Kazu Japanese Restaurant in Jacksonville, FL. Our focus is on fresh, finest quality food, with friendly service. Kazu offers great selections of wine and beer, plus Jacksonville's most extensive cold sake list. Please come and enjoy the most delicious Asian cuisine we offer. We do our best to serve our customers with the quality you deserve!

9965 San Jose Blvd
Ste 35
Jacksonville, FL 32257
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Asian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Crown point Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 683-9903

Website:
http://www.kazujapaneserestaurant.com/

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Kazu Japanese Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Happy Hour (3)
Authentic (2)
Good for a Date (2)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Business Meals (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
76 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Great service & food - definitely recommend this place for great sushi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent food. Wait staff appears disorganized. Messed up order

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Kazu is really the best sushi in Jacksonville. The service is so friendly and quick. It's a new favorite spot.

Tags: Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Consistently good sushi. Service is very friendly and fast. Chef/owner always willing to make recommendations or discuss sake options.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 3, 2017

This was the 3rd time we'd been and the food is consistently great. However, on this occasion (Monday night), our server was horrible. We'd have to flag her down multiple times just to get a refill or order food. She had to pass our table every time she went to the kitchen but she made a point to hurry by or not make eye contact. She was super fast and close by when it came to our $120 bill though. I wish I remembered her name because she needs to be retrained.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 25, 2017

This was our second time eating here and the sushi is amazing. Very fresh and they have a great variety. The severs are very friendly and prompt. We love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Always excellent food. Great service. They treat us like family. Spoiled for all other sushi!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Very good sushi. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always great

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Plain and simple overrated. Went here because of Yelp and OpenTable reviews. It took 20 minutes for someone to ask us if we wanted a water. We put all of the orders in at the same time and clearly said we wanted the appetizer to come out early. Completely reasonable, right? Apparently not because they brought everything out at the same time and said "we might get busy so I brought it all out". Food was decent, but definitely did not make up for the lackluster service. 20 minutes later, there were 6 empty tables. Had to ask someone for the check and they replied "I thought you had one already".

Just avoid. This place will be closed in 12 months.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It was my daughter's birthday. I called ahead and advised them of this and asked if they do anything special; was told free dessert. Great news! I also let our waiter know as well when we arrived. Not only did he not offer dessert to the table, he also didn't make her birthday special by giving her dessert at least. We drove 30 minutes to get there due to the reviews. The food was good, but we were not given the attentiveness one would expect. There weren't really any recommendations given by him as we'd also advised it was our first time there. With only one chance to get this right for her birthday, he and the restaurant missed the mark. They should have made certain it was a memorable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The sushi burritos are great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Loved the build-your-own sushi burrito, as well as the lemon drop sushi roll.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent food and prompt service

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I guess the staff and kitchen was overwhelmed that night. It was busy. Front desk couldn't find that reservation after multiple tries. Wait staff was nice but seemed to have too many tables to tend too. And our food was not up to par based on previous visits to this location - portions were smaller. We might try again on a slower night, maybe.

Tags: Healthy, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Love this place, one of the best sushi restaurants in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Best sushi in Jacksonville. It's consistently good and this trip was no exception.

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great food as usual! Service was very good and the quality and freshness of the sushi was superb! Just wish I could get there more often.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Hole in the wall with class A sushi. Not to be missed if you're in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The best sushi in Jacksonville with incredibly fresh fish. The creativity of the sushi chefs is fabulous!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Good food, really good sushi, family friendly. Sushi chefs made really good rolls, big portions for chicken kayak. Well cooked and nice small cozy setting!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Fantastic sushi! Really great food.... and quite u set prices for the quality taste and service..... phenomenal dining experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Outstanding food. Have been eating there literally since they opened and they do not disappoint. David and his staff are meticulous in serving only the best of the best when it comes to sushi.
Make sure you check out the specials and don't hesitate to ask for recommendations or advice if you want to try something new.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Fabulous!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 25, 2016

As always, Kazu pleases the palate and the senses with its gourmet cuisine!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Terrible service. We had to flag down a waiter to take our order. We had to flag down another waiter to refill our drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 28, 2016

This restaurant is close to our home, but we had never eaten there. When I saw that it was listed at one of Open Tables Top 10, I knew we had to try it. Wow! We have really been missing out on great food so close to home. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Best sushi I have found in Jacksonville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The Sushi was excellent. Our server Bunny was great too.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 6, 2016

This restaurant offers an enjoyable atmosphere with very personable staff and gastronomically exquisite cuisine. Everytime we dine here, we are quite pleased.

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Delicious. Fresh sushi!!beautiful presentation. Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Delicious sushi, would highly recommend to others. Very unique menu items and priced fairly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 17, 2016

It stared off bad when they didn't have a our table available, after booking on Opentable and it was my wife's birthday. They found a table, and it was very hot, big fans blowing everywhere, not sure what the problem was. The Sushi was very good, and quality. As we are Sushi aficionados, we have lived in Hawaii and west coast.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 11, 2016

We always enjoy the quality and presentation of the food. The owner and staff are very personable. Always a relaxed, peaceful ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 18, 2016

Best in Jax! Always consistently great,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 5, 2016

We celebrated my sister's birthday there as she loves Japanese food. It was our first visit and we loved it. Appetizers and entrees were great. The freshest fish ever! Great service as well. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Had a great dinner experience. The server was very nice and she knew the menu well.
Uni and Ikura are my favorite nigiri sushi, it was so fresh and tasty. Had a great nabeyaki udon. Everything tasted so yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 28, 2016

Always the best in Duval! Doooovalll!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 19, 2016

Before booking the reservation I checked the reviews on OpenTable. All the reviews were excellent except one - restaurant did not recognization OpenTable reservations. Same problem we had - I showed the reservation confirmation on my phone from OpenTable - they did not know what it was. Good restaurant - poor service from OpenTable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Took wife for Valentine's day. Really busy, so the service suffered to a degree. Excellent food. The sushi bar was busy, but quality did not suffer. Definitely would recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.