About Kayne Prime

1103 McGavock Street
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Kayne Prime is the artful fusion of a chef-chic boutique restaurant, with the great American steakhouse. Progressive in every sense – cuisine, wine & mixology, stylish design – Kayne Prime is the modern evolution of the classic upscale steakhouse. Market-driven, farm-to-table creations.. sophisticated cocktails.. an exceptional wine list.. award-winning steaks - all set in a “rustic–modern”, “Best Design” interior that features a sleek study of woods, rich leathers, and walls of reclaimed railroad ties, with breathtaking views that highlight the historic train yards, Union Station, and the downtown Nashville skyline.

Every great city has its own best. Nashville’s best is Kayne Prime.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Vegetarian / Vegan, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Bar and Dining Room Opens Daily at 5:00
Reservations highly recommended, Walk-ins welcome. If you are unable to find a reservation available, please contact us at 615-259-0050.
Bar is full service
Business and Business Casual Attire Only
No Shorts No Tank Tops No Hats No Flip Flops and/or Sandal Shoes on Gentlemen Please.

Cross Street:
11th Ave S & McGavock St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 259-0050

Website:
http://www.kayneprime.com/

Executive Chef:
Robert Grace

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

popovers
Risotto Tater Tots
Wedge Salad
House Made Bacon With Maple Cotton Candy & Peppercorns
6 Oz. Wagyu Filet
Kumomoto Oysters
Creamed Corn Brulee
Belle Glos Pinot Noir
Tito's Vodka Martini
Seared Scallops
Canoes Of Beef
steak tartare
Apple Pie
Progression of NY Strip
House Made Bacon With Maple Caramel And Pepercorns
Grouper
Wagyu Filet Mignon
Risotto Tots & Potato Aligot
Black Olive Caesar Salad
Seafood Platter
House Made Bacon
Pepperoni And Mushrooms
Skirt Steak
Milk Chocolate Cremoso
Kale Salad
Prime Petit Filet With Bone Marrow Butter
Bone Marrow
Macaroni Gratinee
Wagyu Filet Mignon Steak
Potato Aligot, Risotto Tater Tots, and Cream Corn Brulee
Yorkshire Pudding

Private Dining

Kayne Prime offers two options for private dining: the Chef's Room (accommodates up to 14 guests), and the Union Room (hosts up to 22 guests). These inviting rooms are the perfect backdrop for any celebration, and are also equipped with A/V equipment to host any professional presentation.

Kayne Prime Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Nashville
Best Food
Nashville
Best Service
Nashville
7 More
Best Ambiance
Nashville
Steakhouse
Nashville
Best Overall
Nashville
Best Food
Nashville
Best Service
Nashville
Best Ambiance
Nashville
Steakhouse
Nashville
Best Restaurants in The Gulch ›

special occasion (165)
fit for foodies (123)
romantic (102)
See All
notable wine list (78)
good for groups (76)
hot spot (70)
vibrant bar scene (41)
scenic view (27)
neighborhood gem (24)
late-night find (9)
great for lunch (6)
great for brunch (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1546 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing staff. Delicious food. Truly exc ...

Dined 2 days ago

Amazing staff. Delicious food. Truly exceptional experience. It was our anniversary and everyone in the restaurant that helped us made it very special. Top notch everything. I've been to quite a few fine dining restaurants and this was one of the best!

food5
ambience5
service5

Good was delicious and service was amazi ...

Dined 3 days ago

Good was delicious and service was amazing. 10/10

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best meals I've ever had. The ...

Dined 5 days ago

One of the best meals I've ever had. The bacon with maple cotton candy and the wagyu beef tartare were incredible starters. Be sure to try the cream corn brulee. Steaks were all done perfectly and went extremely well with the bone marrow butter. Service was 10/10 as well. All around wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a special trip out to dinner with ...

Dined 5 days ago

It was a special trip out to dinner with my Grandson - age 19. We had an early evening reservation of a Sunday, so the restaurant was quiet and not terribly crowded, which made for a very nice dining atmosphere. The food was simply wonderful; definitely worth the premium cost involved. The wait staff was superb. A very special outing for me and my grandson.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most amazing food we as a group have eve ...

Dined 5 days ago

Most amazing food we as a group have ever had! I would recommend this to anyone I know.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the best dining experien ...

Dined 6 days ago

This was one of the best dining experiences I've had in a long , long time. While planning a weekend trip to Nashville, I blindly selected this for my girlfriend's birthday dinner location after seeing a few pictures on the website and some user-contributed reviews. Everything exceeded my expectations. The service was top-notch and the food - HOLY GOD. We (of course) had the bacon/maple cotton candy and some oysters as a starter, then both ordered the filet for our main course. I never take the time to write reviews but this was exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

What a memorable meal for a special occa ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

What a memorable meal for a special occasion! Food was outstanding and so was service!

food5
ambience5
service5

We had such excellent service and the at ...

vip
Dined on June 24, 2016

We had such excellent service and the attention the waitstaff showed my boyfriend on his birthday was outstanding! Awesome place to come for special occasions!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great experience at Kayne Prime. Excell ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Great experience at Kayne Prime. Excellent service, yet not obtrusive. Good wine list and atmosphere, even on a Sunday night. Definitely recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and ambiance. Perfect date ni ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food and ambiance. Perfect date night restaurant. Come early for some great cocktails at the bar.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the best meal I have had at a ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Absolutely the best meal I have had at a restaurant. The service was exceptional and the food was amazing. From the cocktails, bread, all the way to the main course we were amazed. Our waiter was polite, and very helpful. We tried the pork belly and cotton candy and were blown away. I can't say enough about the evening.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal I have ever had, I am very cri ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Best meal I have ever had, I am very critical eater and there was not a single flaw with anything. We had a group of 8 guys, we ordered several appetizers, sides, and steaks. The ultimate favorites were the lobster popcorn, bacon, and the wagyu filet. They all where absolutely amazing. Service was also top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there celebrating our husband's ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We were there celebrating our husband's birthdays. The other couple's first time at Kayne and they absolutely loved it. My husband and I have been a few times and we are never disappointed. Daniel and Patrick took great care of us through out the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal & service. Even worked wi ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent meal & service. Even worked with us on a last-minute time change, due to flight delays into Nashville.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food here is amazing. It was quite s ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The food here is amazing. It was quite simply some of the best food I have had in a very long time. There was a lot of food! Too much in fact, we couldn't come close to finishing it all. It was very pricey however. It was over $200 for two of us, but worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Our food was great, including the lobste ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Our food was great, including the lobster popcorn appetizer, and the toasted banana bread dessert most notably. Unusual for Kayne Prime though, the service was not good. One of our guests had to remind our waiter 3 times before her wine showed up, and our side dishes weren't delivered until we were halfway done eating our entrees. We never did get the famous popover rolls that all the tables around us got. Unacceptable for a restaurant charging a $600 tab for a party of four.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

We have ordered the same items before, a ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We have ordered the same items before, and they were delicious....the best bone-in ribeye ever! This time the rib eye wasn't special at all. It was extremely salty and not very tasty. The texture wasn't very good either. The lobster was just so-so. We won't be returning even though the service was amazing. The food is just as important, and we cannot justify the prices anymore as the food has apparently been compromised in quality as compare to the past.

food5
ambience5
service4

Hands down one of the best meals and din ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Hands down one of the best meals and dinner experiences we've ever had. My wife and I were celebrating our 1st anniversary; had a different place booked but decided to cancel because we had heard too many good things about Kayne Prime. Needless to say, best decision we ever made to cancel the others and try Kayne Prime. Be sure to get the housemade bacon for a starter and any steak.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Great service! We went there ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Great food! Great service! We went there for our anniversary and it could not have been any better meal!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My wife and I visited Kayne Prime for th ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

My wife and I visited Kayne Prime for the first time for our wedding anniversary, and it was a fantastic way to celebrate. Nate, our server, was excellent - very helpful, straight forward and attentive, but gave us plenty of space to enjoy the evening and one another. We both had the Wagyu Filet Mignon (a Kayne Prime Specialty) and were super pleased! We also enjoyed the Duck Taco starter, the insanely good Creamed Corn side, and a banana bread pudding dessert. You can't go wrong here - we're Nashville locals and this has certainly become a restaurant at the top of our list!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food at Kayne Prime is always excell ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food at Kayne Prime is always excellent, although the lobster popcorn appetizer, which is a traditional favorite, seemed to have suffered a little on this visit - smaller portion, metal spoons instead of the ceramic ones, and mushy claw meat instead of the better kind. Management should also consider more seafood options as a complement to its steak menu - one of our guests had very limited choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4

Way too much hype for this place. Food w ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Way too much hype for this place. Food was blah. Appetizers were very good. Overcooked $90 steak. Was worth a shot

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful dining experience! The serv ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

A wonderful dining experience! The service was impeccable. They really went out of their way to ensure our experience was a memorable one. Will definitely return on our next trip to Nashville!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was the best I have ever had ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The service was the best I have ever had at a restaurant. The food was Amazing!! The popcorn lobster appetizer was the best thing I have ever eaten!!! Highly recommend Kayne Prime!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing restaurant - highly recommended

Dined on June 10, 2016

Amazing restaurant - highly recommended

food5
ambience5
service5

Daniel was the best server I've ever had ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Daniel was the best server I've ever had. He recommended the truffle butter for our ribeye, it was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeds expectations

Dined on June 8, 2016

Its everything it says it is online. Everyone once in a while, a restaurant lives up to the hype. My wife and I had one of the best anniversary meals we've ever had, and I think I made up for a few anniversaries that deserve to be forgotten. This one was not. From the reservation, to the waiter, to the attention to detail, and the food prep, I just can not say enough good things. We made reservations to return for my birthday, even requesting our server. And, I can't wait to get back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in Nashville. Wagyu fill ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Best restaurant in Nashville. Wagyu fillet is amazing. Had the bone marrow butter on top which is also incredible. I would suggest trying it but I will likely go with regular butter next time. Every side dish is amazing. This is truly a great experience.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved it!

Dined on June 7, 2016

I absolutely loved everything about my experience at Kayne Prime. The food was outstanding, the service was impeccable, and I cannot wait to go back! It's obviously on the pricier side, so I won't go very often. But darn it I will be back for my birthday and other occasions, too. We went with another couple for dinner on a random Monday night, so it's good for (expensive/high end) every day dining. You will love it!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife took me to Nashville for my 40th ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

My wife took me to Nashville for my 40th birthday and Kayne Prime was on our list for places to eat. We can't say enough good things about this place. Food was top notch and the staff was amazing. We came from NYC area and I really wish this place was close to us. If you go to Nashville you must make reservations to go here, don't miss out!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Special Occasion Spot

Dined on June 5, 2016

Although pricey, the atmosphere, food and beverage is one-of-a-kind. We've been here a few times for special occasions, group outings and celebratory events, and have always been impressed with the service and food quality. This last visit was for our anniversary, and we were surprised with a free dessert of our choice and a wonderful card signed by the staff at the end of our meal. It is definitely the little things that stand out the most. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on June 3, 2016

I took my girlfriend here for her 30th birthday dinner and the service was great and the food even better. Our server gave great recommendations (highly recommend maple bacon cotton candy appetizer and NY Strip Progression) and great service throughout our dining experience. The food was very flavorful and perfect sized portions with entree and sides.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Husbands birthday dinner

Dined on June 2, 2016

Outstanding service by David . We always chose Kayne Prime for our special occasions. It did not disappoint in the least. We had a wonderful experience and delicious food and loved our evening!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yum but pricey

Dined on May 30, 2016

This was my 2nd visit to Kayne Prime. The food was excellent and the staff was wonderful. The chef really does a great job introducing a variety of tastes into each bite. We are foodies so it was worth the price to us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our group really enjoyed the Waygu beef ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Our group really enjoyed the Waygu beef and the lobster popcorn and bacon appetizers. It was a great dinner to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience.

Dined on May 28, 2016

From the moment we walked in, we were welcomed by everyone. The food was outstanding and a wonderful experience from start to finish. Would highly recommend this dining venue.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as usual

Dined on May 28, 2016

Our meal here never disappoints! Great service and delicious food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The meal was exceptional and so was the ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The meal was exceptional and so was the service. Thank You David and Garrison.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak in town, I've tried them all ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Best steak in town, I've tried them all! And the ambiance is perfect!!♡♡♡

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Daniel was an amazing server! We had the ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Daniel was an amazing server! We had the lobster popcorn appetizer, corn brûlée, potatoes aligot, waygu filets and banana bread dessert. All were absolutely fantastic. We'll definitely be back for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.