About Kayne Prime

1103 McGavock Street
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Kayne Prime is the artful fusion of a chef-chic boutique restaurant, with the great American steakhouse. Progressive in every sense – cuisine, wine & mixology, stylish design – Kayne Prime is the modern evolution of the classic upscale steakhouse. Market-driven, farm-to-table creations.. sophisticated cocktails.. an exceptional wine list.. award-winning steaks - all set in a “rustic–modern”, “Best Design” interior that features a sleek study of woods, rich leathers, and walls of reclaimed railroad ties, with breathtaking views that highlight the historic train yards, Union Station, and the downtown Nashville skyline.

Every great city has its own best. Nashville’s best is Kayne Prime.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Vegetarian / Vegan, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Bar and Dining Room Opens Daily at 5:00
Reservations highly recommended, Walk-ins welcome. If you are unable to find a reservation available, please contact us at 615-259-0050.
Bar is full service
Business and Business Casual Attire Only
No Shorts No Tank Tops No Hats No Flip Flops and/or Sandal Shoes on Gentlemen Please.

Cross Street:
11th Ave S & McGavock St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 259-0050

Website:
http://www.kayneprime.com/

Executive Chef:
Robert Grace

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Kayne Prime offers two options for private dining: the Chef's Room (accommodates up to 14 guests), and the Union Room (hosts up to 22 guests). These inviting rooms are the perfect backdrop for any celebration, and are also equipped with A/V equipment to host any professional presentation.

Kayne Prime Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Nashville
Best Food
Nashville
Best Service
Nashville
9 More
Best Ambiance
Nashville
Notable Wine List
Nashville
Steakhouse
Nashville
Best Overall
Nashville
Best Food
Nashville
Best Service
Nashville
Best Ambiance
Nashville
Notable Wine List
Nashville
Steakhouse
Nashville
Best Restaurants in The Gulch ›

special occasion (170)
fit for foodies (129)
romantic (111)
See All
notable wine list (85)
good for groups (84)
hot spot (80)
vibrant bar scene (39)
scenic view (28)
neighborhood gem (25)
late-night find (13)
great for lunch (6)
great for brunch (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1507 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak in town, I've tried them all ...

Dined 3 days ago

Best steak in town, I've tried them all! And the ambiance is perfect!!♡♡♡

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Daniel was an amazing server! We had the ...

Dined 5 days ago

Daniel was an amazing server! We had the lobster popcorn appetizer, corn brûlée, potatoes aligot, waygu filets and banana bread dessert. All were absolutely fantastic. We'll definitely be back for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here for my Boyfriends birthday. ...

Dined 6 days ago

We came here for my Boyfriends birthday. Everyone was so pleasant and our waiter was awesome! He knew so much about the menu and blew us away. Cocktails were outstanding and the overall service was amazing! We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

This was one of the best meals I've eate ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

This was one of the best meals I've eaten in a while. My wife and I are in Nashville for the weekend. While the food was good nothing was over the top. Kayne Prime was. This is a new favorite of ours. The cream corn is an obvious must get, but not to be forgotten is the truffle fries as well as the Mac and Cheese. Sounds funny but all three side dishes were as good as any sides I've ever gotten. The meat is on par with any really good steakhouse you'll go to and the banana bread and choc pound cakes desserts were both great. Really good atmosphere puts this restaurant over the top. If you're in Nashville you have to go here.

food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Food average at best. Ribeye lacked fla ...

Dined 6 days ago

Food average at best. Ribeye lacked flavor, redfish was unimaginative and kale salad was bland. However, to end on a positive, service was outstanding.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Wagyu! And service.

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Wagyu! And service.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Kayne Prime is worth every dollar. Best ...

Dined 7 days ago

Kayne Prime is worth every dollar. Best steak of my life. Great appetizer and side options. Service is quick and very friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

expensive but great food

Dined on May 20, 2016

our server was very knowledgeable and paid us the right amount of attention. Didn't hover at all. My steak was $60 but it was one of the best steaks I've ever had so you get what you pay for in this instance. Good restaurant for special occasion

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food, when in doubt just ask ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Outstanding food, when in doubt just ask for more bacon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time but not the last!

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

My husband & I & another couple went for dinner. None of us had been there before & we were impressed & will definitely go back. Our steaks were great & so we're the veggies. Service was also great. We were too stuffed to have dessert but I've heard they are wonderful... Dinner was quite pricey so be warned.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our dinner at Kayne Prime.

Dined on May 17, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 24th anniversary at Kayne Prime. The food is always excellent and our servers were attentive and friendly. I definitely recommend Kayne Prime.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals I have ever had. I ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

One of the best meals I have ever had. It's very pricey, but thought it was worth it. Very unique, delicious appetizers. Steaks are perfect. Service excellent.

food4
ambience4
service5

Popcorn butter lobster was phenomenal a ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Popcorn butter lobster was phenomenal and cream corn brulee as well!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When we arrived, I "challenged" the folk ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

When we arrived, I "challenged" the folks at the hostess counter to dazzle me. I was not d disappointed. We were there for my birthday. Everyone that came to our table, wished me a Happy Birthday. Excellent touch. The food wonderful. A bit pricey, but it. We will go back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service3

Overall, quality of food was really good ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Overall, quality of food was really good. Enjoyed the creamed corn and risotto tots. Steaks were decent but ok for the money relative to other high end steakhouses I have been too. The real area that was lacking was service. We were seated in the bar and not offered the choice to sit in the dining room. The plates for steaks and sides were not heated at all. I am used to plates being hot to keep food warm throughout dinner. We had to ask for bread as it was not automatically served and our plates sat on the table after we were finished for far too long. My wife and I split a bone in ribeye because we ordered so many sides and a salad to start. They did not split it in back and just brought an extra plate. It's the little things like this that are a must when serving customers at the high end prices ranging from $75-$125/person all in with drinks. I would never rate this place bad as it has quality food and capable of providing exceptional experience however it fell short of hitting my expectations on this night.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Recent Visit

Dined on May 5, 2016

Steaks were delicious. Wagyu steaks had very good flavor and tender. Well prepared. Appeteizers were good. Our table ordered the Housemade Bacon which was just okay. Cotton candy overwhelmed the taste. The Fete De La Mer was wonderful. Oysters were very tender. Side items were a disappointment. We ordered Baby Brussel Sprouts, Pepperoni & Mushrooms and Potato Gratin. Brussel sprouts were a major disappointment. All portion are NOT generous to be shared and therefor overpriced for the quality and quantity.

food5
ambience5
service5

Smiles and warm welcomes all around. Ha ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Smiles and warm welcomes all around. Had a child with us and we sat in the bar area so the noise level was great for our party;) great service and food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best

Dined on May 5, 2016

This place is PERFECT. I took my husband here for his birthday and he LOVED it here

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

KP does it again!

Dined on May 3, 2016

As always, KP knocked it out of the park with their food and service! We brought our own wine which was a very special 26yr old Bordeaux and the server knew just how to handle it. Great pours and the food was amazing as always with some new flair items as well. I will go back many more times.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Business dinner

Dined on May 3, 2016

The restaurant is decorated very lovely and the staff is courteous and pleasant. The food was good but based on the prices did not meet expectations. Being from New York this restaurant does not even compare to a restaurant like Sparks steakhouse but the prices were the same. I was disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never drops the ball

Dined on May 2, 2016

We have been coming to Kayne Prime since it opened for special occasions and simply for a good meal. The food & service always remind you that have not forgotten why people flock to this restaurant. They do not rest on reputation or one-time tourist crowd, they always remind the return guest that this is a place where excellent food is priority served by professionals. Staff are friendly and knowledgeable, but always respectful. Our only problem was ordering too much and wanting to eat it all! Wine recommendation was excellent and cocktail was delicious. Love it and one day I will ONLY have the sides - corn brûlée is wickedly delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Top Notch

Dined on May 1, 2016

Dined here for a business dinner upon hearing rave reviews from several local folks. The food did not disappoint! The appetizer choices were all so unique and each one turned out to be delicious. When you dine here, be open to trying new things. If it's on thier menu it's because the chef knows what he/she's doing!! The pairings were so different from anything i have experienced anywhere and they were all just perfect. With a table of 6 people, we were serviced by 3 gentlemen. Each one made excellent recommendations and had great personalities! As a side note: The steak, if ordered medium, is on the rarer side of medium and if you are in one of the coves where you sit in a U-shape, ask them to turn on the fan! Once all the food starts arriving, the seating area gets warm...especially when you have 6 people around the table. Highly recommend this restaurant, located in The Gulch!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Best meal I ever had!! I would go back to Nashville just for this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

Loved our waiter Joe! Thank u! Everythin ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Loved our waiter Joe! Thank u! Everything so delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food as Ussual

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

What can you say, its always great to eat at Kayne. If I had any small criticism, it would be to bring out the rolls with the salad. It would nice to have a roll to help push the lovely Kale salad on my fork.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, great service, great food

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great place, great service, great food

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very enjoyable, but you will pay for it

Dined on April 29, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed all aspects of our dinner. We knew the prices going in, so it was shocking. I would like to recommend that the restaurant provide some sort of history on the restaurant itself. Our waiter had some great information about the beautiful railroad ties on the walls, and I am sure the pictures are meaningful.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

30th birthday party of 8

Dined on April 28, 2016

The food was amazing. Everyone loved every bite they had. Servers could have been more knowledgeable about their bourbon and beer selection. My husband ordered an Arrogant Bastard ( they were out) and was brought a substitute beer that was not even close to what he ordered. If you are going to bring a substitute, know your beer first. Between my husband and I we have 40 years in the restaurant/bar business. This is the only area they fell short.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!!

Dined on April 25, 2016

We had a go to restaurant for childless date nights. I read the top 10 steak houses in Nashville and Kayne Prime showed #1. We reluctantly booked a reservation as we always go to "our" place (was in the Nashville top 3). I'm glad we tried it. This was definitely #1. Amazing steaks. Amazing sides. The service was top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellence on a plate

Dined on April 21, 2016

The service, the food, and the atmosphere are equal to none. I love everything about Kayne Prime! It would be one of my choices if I had the opportunity to ask for a last meal. I would have the popcorn buttered lobster, Waygu filet mignon, risotto tater tots and to top it off, a piece of that amazing warm banana bread with mascarpone gelato. Each bite would bring back great memories of dining there with loved ones.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Popcorn buttered lobster appetizer is fa ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Popcorn buttered lobster appetizer is fabulous!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place

Dined on April 16, 2016

My wife took me to Kayne Prime to celebrate my 59th birthday. Everything about they restaurant was first class. Valet parking, great atmosphere, staff and the best beef I have ever eaten. I wish my budget would allow me to eat here once a week. You get what you pay for. I'll be back.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best dining experiences.l I'v ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

One of the best dining experiences.l I've ever had. Amazing food. You must get the creme brûlée creamed corn.

food4
ambience3
service5
value1

OK--should have been better

Dined on April 16, 2016

This was a special occasion--wedding anniversary celebration and we had been to Kayne Prime before and had mixed results--what was good was great, but overall it was OK, but should have been better for what was being charged for food. I'm willing to pay top dollar, but expect top products/food in return. One of our drinks that cost $13.00 was not too good. The shrimp at $10 each were fantastic, the caesar salad was great and the the potatoes were also very good. The Wagyu filet was outstanding; however, the Greg Norman Wagyu Strip pricing in just under $70 was on the tough side. I had read a previous review on this steak and the same comment was made about it being tough. Several weeks ago we had a tough bone-in ribeye that priced at $58! If you are going to have steak at Kayne Prime stay away from anything other than a filet or bone-in tenderloin or you're likely to get to tough piece of meat--at least that has been our experience with the four dinners we have had there. The citrus tart definitely left a good taste in our mouths--better than any key lime pie I've ever had and BrickTops has a great one.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Overall... disapointed

Dined on April 16, 2016

Overall, I enjoyed the meal. However, when you go to a steak house, should be the cornerstone to the experience - yet this wasn't the case. The bone marrow boats and kale salad were excellent, but the main (ordered the 3 oz of each of the 4 main steaks offered) just didn't hold up. Sure, it was great beef but the quality/flavor simply didn't match the price point. Especially considering the Kayne is considered to be one of the top restaurants in Nashville. On another note, the bartender's drinks and wine were quite impressive.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant slightly out of the center

Dined on April 13, 2016

This restaurant, 5-7 minutes from the downtown area, has a good atmosphere, modernistic with a little touch of old with the timber on the walls. A little less stuffy than steak places like the Palm.The food was excellent, especially, the duck tacos as an appetizer. The duck and steak as a main course were delicious. The service was pleasant and excellent, although a little over zealous when pouring the wine! Overall, great food, service and atmosphere with relatively reasonable prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, special occasions, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

I've been to Kayne and few times and lov ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

I've been to Kayne and few times and loved it. The food this time was good not great. The wedge salad was good. Had the flat iron steaks this time which were ok. The sauces which we normally love to accompany our steak were also just ok. Nothing special this time. Mac and cheese side was also just ok. Not nearly as good as capital grille or even longhorn. On the occasion when I spend a lot on a meal I just expect more. Service was impeccable as always. We may not be back however.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The staff was very accommodating. We ch ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

The staff was very accommodating. We changed our reservation that day and were seated before our time. Wait staff was overly talkative explaining things without our questions. Their recommendations were sometimes spot on and other times not. Overall, very good experience. I would return, but maybe try some other Nashville options first. Left full and satisfied.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Steaks!

Dined on April 11, 2016

They have great steaks, but we were actually more impressed with the appetizers, kale salad, and sides! Very unique. Pretty atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Good, far from worth it.

Dined on April 11, 2016

For the price, really not that great. Good food, but not particularly interesting.

Tags: good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.