About Kayne Prime

1103 McGavock Street
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Kayne Prime is the artful fusion of a chef-chic boutique restaurant, with the great American steakhouse. Progressive in every sense – cuisine, wine & mixology, stylish design – Kayne Prime is the modern evolution of the classic upscale steakhouse. Market-driven, farm-to-table creations.. sophisticated cocktails.. an exceptional wine list.. award-winning steaks - all set in a “rustic–modern”, “Best Design” interior that features a sleek study of woods, rich leathers, and walls of reclaimed railroad ties, with breathtaking views that highlight the historic train yards, Union Station, and the downtown Nashville skyline.

Every great city has its own best. Nashville’s best is Kayne Prime.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Vegetarian / Vegan, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Bar and Dining Room Opens Daily at 5:00
Reservations highly recommended, Walk-ins welcome. If you are unable to find a reservation available, please contact us at 615-259-0050.
Bar is full service
Business and Business Casual Attire Only
No Shorts No Tank Tops No Hats No Flip Flops and/or Sandal Shoes on Gentlemen Please.

Cross Street:
11th Ave S & McGavock St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 259-0050

Website:
http://www.kayneprime.com/

Executive Chef:
Robert Grace

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

popovers
Risotto Tater Tots
Wedge Salad
6 Oz. Wagyu Filet
Kumomoto Oysters
Creamed Corn Brulee
Belle Glos Pinot Noir
Tito's Vodka Martini
House Made Bacon With Maple Cotton Candy & Peppercorns
Seared Scallops
Canoes Of Beef
steak tartare
Apple Pie
Progression of NY Strip
House Made Bacon With Maple Caramel And Pepercorns
Grouper
Wagyu Filet Mignon
Black Olive Caesar Salad
Risotto Tots & Potato Aligot
Seafood Platter
House Made Bacon
Pepperoni And Mushrooms
Milk Chocolate Cremoso
Skirt Steak
Kale Salad
Prime Petit Filet With Bone Marrow Butter
Bone Marrow
Macaroni Gratinee
Wagyu Filet Mignon Steak
Yorkshire Pudding
Potato Aligot, Risotto Tater Tots, and Cream Corn Brulee

Private Dining

Kayne Prime offers two options for private dining: the Chef's Room (accommodates up to 14 guests), and the Union Room (hosts up to 22 guests). These inviting rooms are the perfect backdrop for any celebration, and are also equipped with A/V equipment to host any professional presentation.

Kayne Prime Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Nashville
Best Food
Nashville
Best Service
Nashville
9 More
Best Ambiance
Nashville
Steakhouse
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
Best Overall
Nashville
Best Food
Nashville
Best Service
Nashville
Best Ambiance
Nashville
Steakhouse
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
Best Restaurants in The Gulch ›

Special Occasion (166)
Romantic (108)
Fit for Foodies (105)
See All
Notable Wine List (80)
Good for Groups (66)
Hot Spot (62)
Vibrant Bar Scene (35)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Scenic View (21)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1611 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and service. One of the b ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and service. One of the best dining experiences we have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

-just not good...no flavor and service w ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

-just not good...no flavor and service was middle ground. In years past I have loved it. Possibly chalk it up to an off night? ( i have never written a review in my life)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

The service was impeccable but unfortuna ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 5 days ago

The service was impeccable but unfortunately the food was pretty average, especially for the price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

The service was exceptional. We felt lik ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

The service was exceptional. We felt like we had an entourage attending to us. The food was delicious and not your typical steakhouse fare. This venue is absolutely worth the price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were wondeful. We e ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food and service were wondeful. We each got the wagyu filet and split the bacon cotton candy, mac & cheese, and brussel sprouts. All of it was wondeful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went there for our 40th anniversary. ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 7 days ago

We went there for our 40th anniversary. Everyone was very congratulatory and genuinely friendly. Our server was exceptional. The decor was modern and striking. The homemade bacon appetizer,the steaks, salads, special rolls and the (complimentary ) banana bread dessert were fantastic and creatively prepared. It was the best meal I've had in Nashville in my 30+ years here. It was pricy but not as expensive as you might expect, since the servings are generous and some can easily be shared. It was worth every penny!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A step above a great steak house with in ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

A step above a great steak house with innovative dishes and dedicated staff. Absolutely loved it. The duck tacos, Wagyu steak from Australia and creamed corn brûlée were our faves but that is being picky as it was all excellent. Ryan, Brie and Bradley took care of us very well with great pacing and and joy in their establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best dining experiences you w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

One of the best dining experiences you will ever have. The steaks are perfectly cooked, and the Progression is excellent and well with the price. The portions are extremely generous. No trip to Kayne Prime is complete without the Bacon with Cotton Candy appetizer and the Black Kale Salad. Tremendous service and ambience. Also a first rate and very well-stocked bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing restauant, really unique menu, g ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Amazing restauant, really unique menu, great for a special occasion

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We had a 7:45 reservation and arrived ea ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had a 7:45 reservation and arrived early at 7:30. We were told to sit at bar while table got ready. We were seated at 8:10. Over all the service was good; staff was friendly and wished my husband happy birthday multiple times...but there was a lot of waiting. I guess it was a busy Thursday night. The food was good. My wagyu filet was tender and juicy. The cotton candy bacon was all fat. No thanks. Cream corn brulee and brussels sprouts were all delish. We left at 10:20. There was a rowdy party seated right behind us is a small space. When they left, the experience got better. I would def visit Kayne Prime again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Terribly overrated restaurant with avera ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Terribly overrated restaurant with average quality food and very slow service coupled with high prices. Will not go back as there are many other better choices in Nashville

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We were made to feel special from the ti ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We were made to feel special from the time we arrived until leaving.

It was our anniversary and Nate and Peter took extremely good care of us. Everyone that met us congratulated us on our anniversary.

The food, wine, experience was awesome! I'm a fan...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service were outstanding. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food and service were outstanding. Your hostess did a great job with our group asking lots of questions. Evening was fabulous thanks to your team.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They should give LUCAS a promotion! Gre ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

They should give LUCAS a promotion! Great attitude and made us feel like we were his only table!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last night I was fortunate enough to din ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Last night I was fortunate enough to dine at Kayne Prime. I read the reviews before deciding on Kayne for a friends birthday and it seemed like the perfect spot. I was not disappointed!!! The service was amazing, even in the bar while waiting for our table the bartenders brought our drinks around to us instead of just sliding them across the bar. When we asked were the restroom was the employee took us there. When we were seated our hosts were very attentive but not overbearing, Aaron greeted us and made sure we had everything we need until Jason came to tell us about Kayne, take our wine order and explain the beef selections. Wagyu beef was amazing. The following are my recommendations:

Duck Tacos- beautiful flavor profile

Wagyu Tartare- buttery texture light and delicious

For my Entrée I had the Wagyu filet and ordered it well done I was able to cut it with a fork. I also requested Worcestershire sauce and they brought me their homemade sauce which was amazing. We had 4 different sides with our meal. The roasted broccoli was perfectly seasoned, the brussels sprouts were tender and delicious, the potato gratin was cheesy and silky smooth, but the cream corn brulee was beyond description, sweet and savory, creamy texture but the corn was firm...perfection! Dessert did not disappoint the banana bread had crunchy edges with a dense center. I was blown away by the experience, and that is what it was an experience. if you plan to go make sure you book your reservation well in advance because it is difficult to get in. Nothing needed salt and pepper everything was perfectly seasoned. Kayne Prime puts the "Fine"in Fine Dining without being stuffy. I am already planning my next visit!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sorry to say our visit wasn't great. Wa ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Sorry to say our visit wasn't great. Waygu steak was undercooked and served cold. It was cold enough you couldn't melt the special flavored butters on it. Special of Bacon with Cotton Candy? None of the bacons fat had cooked at all, inedible. The popcorn lobster? The "melted" butter had congealed it had sat so long. We aren't complainers simply took our $230 lump and won't return, or suggest it to others. The Cream Corn Brulee was good. Service staff were all very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

A great high end restaurant that is well ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

A great high end restaurant that is well worth a visit. Very good food and wine. Not the cheapest restaurant but still very good value.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Everything was fantastic. Try the pork, ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Everything was fantastic. Try the pork, baby Brussles and roasted root vegetables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food, service, everything was wonderful! ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food, service, everything was wonderful! Just had a loud group at the table next to us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was by far one of the most decadent ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was by far one of the most decadent, out of this world I have ever had. Not only was the meal so phenomenal, the staff was the absolute best. I came here for my 25th birthday dinner and they made our night so memorable. Our waiter DC knew the ins an outs of everything on the menu as well as ensuring all our questions were answered. He was so patient and fun as well. I absolutely would come here again and recommend it to anyone travelling from out of town to Nashville.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I felt we were hurried out the door.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I felt we were hurried out the door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I visited Kayne Prime on Sunday evening ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I visited Kayne Prime on Sunday evening and had an excellent dinner! I have been to all of the MStreet restaurants but had yet to visit Kayne Prime. My boyfriend decided to take me here for my birthday dinner and I loved every second of it! The chef sent out complimentary tastings, the food was on point, the staff was very polite and knowledgeable, and the ambiance was perfect. I will most certainly be returning!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is good, but not for the price. ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food is good, but not for the price. The Wagu filet was somewhat rubbery, lacked taste and was very underwhelming . This was my second time eating here and will be my last. The novelty of corn casserole creme brulee has worn off, and it was not as tasty as I recalled from my last visit. The macaroni was good, but not great. Sadly the best food item of the meal was the bread. The cocktail I chose was good. The cocktail my date chose was not. The bill for two of us came out to 250.00.

The service was excellent besides our head waiter. It seemed like he was annoyed the whole time, and it is upsetting because of the money we spent on the meal. We had a party of 8.

In my opinion, Ruth Chris is much tastier and a much better value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

The very best steak, bar none, that we'v ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The very best steak, bar none, that we've ever eaten! We shared a 10 ounce wagyu steak, medium rare and it was like butter! You could literally cut it with your fork, and it melted in your mouth. The sides we superb as well, served family style, more than enough for two. We had the cream corn brûlée and baby roasted Brussels sprouts. It was truly one of the best meals we've ever eaten, the atmosphere was quiet, yet the staff was very busy in a quiet manner. The real shame was that there was one piece of steak left that neither of us could finish and as we were staying in a hotel and leaving the next morning, it probably went to waste...

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Four of us visited with high expectation ...

 
 (Manchester)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Four of us visited with high expectations. We were disappointed by the ambiance, it wasn't very welcoming, far too stuffy and the drinks and food were far too expensive. We have all eaten better steaks at a much more reasonable price elsewhere. Our waiter was far too formal and took away any enjoyment from the meal. We would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Great place for special occasion or busi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great place for special occasion or business meal. It's pricey, but worth it for occasional special dinner. Service was great and food is delicious

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Skip the bar and reserve a table! Great ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Skip the bar and reserve a table! Great service and really friendly servers providing attentive service. You can have a delicious dinner with each entree well timed. Your drinks are well maintained so you never have to look for a server to bring another cocktail or refill your drink. First restaurant that did not rush your appetizer with your entrees and dessert all crowding your table. This restaurant has well timed meal service and that matters when the rest of your life is rushed! Great place - will recommend to friends and visit again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a large group celebrating a miles ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a large group celebrating a milestone birthday. We were seated at a large table (not booth) in the bar area. The bar noise was too loud to allow for conversation beyond those seated directly next to you. It was frustrating when trying to celebrate and catch up with friends. It also made service awkward as the servers could only serve half the table, then had to walk entirely around the room to get to the other side to finish serving. It was also extremely hot due to the crowd gathered in the bar. Request not to sit in the bar area. The rest of the restaurant seemed better suited to conversation. And the vibe wasn't traditional stuffy masculine steakhouse. It was modern upbeat and fun.

Despite the weird set up, service was great neither slow nor rushed. Everyone was polite and attentive without being

overbearing. Every need was met.

Food was outstanding. There was nothing I did not like. 6 of us ate. Stand outs for me were the macaroni. Was amazing. Progression of beef. And bone in filet, my favorite go to cut when available. Dessert was spot of chocolate with a chili spice. Loved the playful take. I would eat everything there again.

Will we go back? Definitely. We are new to Nashville so trying a lot of new places. I see this becoming part of our regular rotation.

Yes, it was pricey. Over $800 for 6 people but absolutely worth it. That included 2 apps (one being a huge shareable seafood platter), 2 salads, 4 sides, 6 entries, 3 desserts, w nice bottle of wine, and a handful of mixed drinks. We indulged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

I've been wanting to take my boyfriend h ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I've been wanting to take my boyfriend here, and we both loved it. One of the most amazing meals we've had together. Seriously. It was pricey, but worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely the best service ! Terrific m ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Absolutely the best service ! Terrific martinis and wonderful food. Loved it !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Booked the "nook" to celebrate our elope ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Booked the "nook" to celebrate our elopement and did not get drink strawberries but enjoyed the experience, food, and offered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great birthday experience!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great birthday experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious, and the service was ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food was delicious, and the service was great! We would go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have traveled the globe & been to all ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I have traveled the globe & been to all the "greatest" steak houses. Kayne Prime is the best meal I've had in the U.S.!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Being from Memphis, we were in Nashville ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Being from Memphis, we were in Nashville for medical reasons. Lovely restaurant, delicious food -- absolutely everything we tried. The lobster popcorn was different and delicious. The pepperoni mushrooms were memorable. The Wagu steak -- first time I've ever ordered it, was good but not as extraordinary as I imagined. Overall, a wonderful restaurant with very inventive offerings that were delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service from Patrick and Danie ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent service from Patrick and Daniel. Good drinks, great wine recommendation. The Buttered popcorn lobster was a little weird but tasty (and I don't even like lobster.). Heirloom tomato salad and wedge salad were both delicious. The wagyu filet was like velvet, perfectly seasoned and perfectly cooked. If you ask for directions to the restroom the staff say "I will take you" rather than pointing the way...just an example of the approach to service. All in all a great evening and worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the best meal I have ever had. W ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This is the best meal I have ever had. We had the filet with cream corn brûlée and potato au gratin. They were delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing!!! We loved our meal and the emp ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Amazing!!! We loved our meal and the employees were so helpful, friendly, and accommodating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious! Overall I think it's ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Food was delicious! Overall I think it's a bit overrated. Ruth Chris and Stoney river is a bit cheaper and taste a lot better....Sorry.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Great service from the moment we walked ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great service from the moment we walked in until we walked out. Every member of the wait staff were exceptionally and very professional. Food was delicious and elegantly prepared.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.