About Kayne Prime

1103 McGavock Street
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Kayne Prime is the artful fusion of a chef-chic boutique restaurant, with the great American steakhouse. Progressive in every sense – cuisine, wine & mixology, stylish design – Kayne Prime is the modern evolution of the classic upscale steakhouse. Market-driven, farm-to-table creations.. sophisticated cocktails.. an exceptional wine list.. award-winning steaks - all set in a “rustic–modern”, “Best Design” interior that features a sleek study of woods, rich leathers, and walls of reclaimed railroad ties, with breathtaking views that highlight the historic train yards, Union Station, and the downtown Nashville skyline.

Every great city has its own best. Nashville’s best is Kayne Prime.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Vegetarian / Vegan, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Bar and Dining Room Opens Daily at 5:00
Reservations highly recommended, Walk-ins welcome. If you are unable to find a reservation available, please contact us at 615-259-0050.
Bar is full service
Business and Business Casual Attire Only
No Shorts No Tank Tops No Hats No Flip Flops and/or Sandal Shoes on Gentlemen Please.

Cross Street:
11th Ave S & McGavock St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 259-0050

Website:
http://www.kayneprime.com/

Executive Chef:
Robert Grace

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

popovers
Risotto Tater Tots
Wedge Salad
6 Oz. Wagyu Filet
Kumomoto Oysters
Creamed Corn Brulee
Belle Glos Pinot Noir
Tito's Vodka Martini
House Made Bacon With Maple Cotton Candy & Peppercorns
Seared Scallops
Canoes Of Beef
steak tartare
Apple Pie
Progression of NY Strip
House Made Bacon With Maple Caramel And Pepercorns
Grouper
Wagyu Filet Mignon
Risotto Tots & Potato Aligot
Black Olive Caesar Salad
Seafood Platter
House Made Bacon
Pepperoni And Mushrooms
Skirt Steak
Milk Chocolate Cremoso
Kale Salad
Prime Petit Filet With Bone Marrow Butter
Bone Marrow
Macaroni Gratinee
Wagyu Filet Mignon Steak
Potato Aligot, Risotto Tater Tots, and Cream Corn Brulee
Yorkshire Pudding

Private Dining

Kayne Prime offers two options for private dining: the Chef's Room (accommodates up to 14 guests), and the Union Room (hosts up to 22 guests). These inviting rooms are the perfect backdrop for any celebration, and are also equipped with A/V equipment to host any professional presentation.

Kayne Prime Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Nashville
Best Food
Nashville
Best Service
Nashville
7 More
Best Ambiance
Nashville
Steakhouse
Nashville
Best Overall
Nashville
Best Food
Nashville
Best Service
Nashville
Best Ambiance
Nashville
Steakhouse
Nashville
Best Restaurants in The Gulch ›

special occasion (173)
fit for foodies (121)
romantic (119)
See All
notable wine list (81)
good for groups (75)
hot spot (68)
vibrant bar scene (34)
neighborhood gem (25)
scenic view (24)
late-night find (9)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1586 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place for special occasion or busi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great place for special occasion or business meal. It's pricey, but worth it for occasional special dinner. Service was great and food is delicious

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Skip the bar and reserve a table! Great ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 5 days ago

Skip the bar and reserve a table! Great service and really friendly servers providing attentive service. You can have a delicious dinner with each entree well timed. Your drinks are well maintained so you never have to look for a server to bring another cocktail or refill your drink. First restaurant that did not rush your appetizer with your entrees and dessert all crowding your table. This restaurant has well timed meal service and that matters when the rest of your life is rushed! Great place - will recommend to friends and visit again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a large group celebrating a miles ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a large group celebrating a milestone birthday. We were seated at a large table (not booth) in the bar area. The bar noise was too loud to allow for conversation beyond those seated directly next to you. It was frustrating when trying to celebrate and catch up with friends. It also made service awkward as the servers could only serve half the table, then had to walk entirely around the room to get to the other side to finish serving. It was also extremely hot due to the crowd gathered in the bar. Request not to sit in the bar area. The rest of the restaurant seemed better suited to conversation. And the vibe wasn't traditional stuffy masculine steakhouse. It was modern upbeat and fun.

Despite the weird set up, service was great neither slow nor rushed. Everyone was polite and attentive without being

overbearing. Every need was met.

Food was outstanding. There was nothing I did not like. 6 of us ate. Stand outs for me were the macaroni. Was amazing. Progression of beef. And bone in filet, my favorite go to cut when available. Dessert was spot of chocolate with a chili spice. Loved the playful take. I would eat everything there again.

Will we go back? Definitely. We are new to Nashville so trying a lot of new places. I see this becoming part of our regular rotation.

Yes, it was pricey. Over $800 for 6 people but absolutely worth it. That included 2 apps (one being a huge shareable seafood platter), 2 salads, 4 sides, 6 entries, 3 desserts, w nice bottle of wine, and a handful of mixed drinks. We indulged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

I've been wanting to take my boyfriend h ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

I've been wanting to take my boyfriend here, and we both loved it. One of the most amazing meals we've had together. Seriously. It was pricey, but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely the best service ! Terrific m ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Absolutely the best service ! Terrific martinis and wonderful food. Loved it !!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Booked the "nook" to celebrate our elope ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Booked the "nook" to celebrate our elopement and did not get drink strawberries but enjoyed the experience, food, and offered.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great birthday experience!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great birthday experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious, and the service was ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food was delicious, and the service was great! We would go back.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have traveled the globe & been to all ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I have traveled the globe & been to all the "greatest" steak houses. Kayne Prime is the best meal I've had in the U.S.!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Being from Memphis, we were in Nashville ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Being from Memphis, we were in Nashville for medical reasons. Lovely restaurant, delicious food -- absolutely everything we tried. The lobster popcorn was different and delicious. The pepperoni mushrooms were memorable. The Wagu steak -- first time I've ever ordered it, was good but not as extraordinary as I imagined. Overall, a wonderful restaurant with very inventive offerings that were delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service from Patrick and Danie ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent service from Patrick and Daniel. Good drinks, great wine recommendation. The Buttered popcorn lobster was a little weird but tasty (and I don't even like lobster.). Heirloom tomato salad and wedge salad were both delicious. The wagyu filet was like velvet, perfectly seasoned and perfectly cooked. If you ask for directions to the restroom the staff say "I will take you" rather than pointing the way...just an example of the approach to service. All in all a great evening and worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the best meal I have ever had. W ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This is the best meal I have ever had. We had the filet with cream corn brûlée and potato au gratin. They were delicious!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing!!! We loved our meal and the emp ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Amazing!!! We loved our meal and the employees were so helpful, friendly, and accommodating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious! Overall I think it's ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Food was delicious! Overall I think it's a bit overrated. Ruth Chris and Stoney river is a bit cheaper and taste a lot better....Sorry.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Great service from the moment we walked ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great service from the moment we walked in until we walked out. Every member of the wait staff were exceptionally and very professional. Food was delicious and elegantly prepared.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak ever. Great service - treated ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Best steak ever. Great service - treated us right.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Patrick our server was great. Overall ex ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Patrick our server was great. Overall experience was amazing like always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant has it all! A fantastic ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This restaurant has it all! A fantastic experience. Easily the most enjoyable dining experience we have ever had.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Received excellent service from David. T ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Received excellent service from David. The courses were generally very good, however one the premium steaks was served a bit cool and was sent back for a little heat. We were there for a special occasion, and Kayne showed its class by presenting us with a complimentary dessert. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing restaurant! Everything about the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Amazing restaurant! Everything about the experience was absolutely perfect! Great food and staff! Would definitely recommend this to everyone!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We're locals, and this was our first tim ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We're locals, and this was our first time trying Kayne Prime. We came expecting to dish out the moolah, which we did, and OMG, was it worth it. We got the house made bacon appetizer (so incredible), I got a salad, and we both got Waygu filets. We split the risotto tots (not my favorite) but the mushroom and peperonni side was out of this world. The drinks were fresh and well-made, the wine suggestions were on point, and the service was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I can't think of anything bad to say abo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I can't think of anything bad to say about this place at all. Carrie, our waitress, was very knowledgeable of the menu and had great recommendations and selections on what to order. Cliff, who greeted us at our table, made sure we had a constant flow of drinks and was very polite and told us about stuff to do around the restaurant after dinner as well.

Now the food, we started off with the duck appetizers and they were some of the best tacos I have EVER had in my life, the duck was cooked to perfection and the salsa on them complimented them perfectly. I wish my date and I could have just had a large plate of them for our dinner. Next, I had the sirloin steak and it was cooked to perfection and my date had the chicken. She got very generous portions and it was delicious with juices oozing out of it. For our sides we got the mac n cheese and french fries and Carrie was not kidding when she said they were family sized appetizers as with the other food very generous with the portions. Then we finished off the evening with dessert which was berries and creme. The berries were freshly picked and the creme very light. Definitely coming back here next time we are in town.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was PERFECT except for the no ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Everything was PERFECT except for the noise level. Would have enjoyed it more if there were a more intimate and quiet environment. I felt I had to raise my voice all night. There were also crying children at a table near by that detracted a bit.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to go for a special occasio ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great place to go for a special occasion!

We went to Kayne Prime to celebrate a birthday and it was amazing! The food was for the most part outstanding and the services was beyond awesome. We started with the famous bacon and cotton candy and the Lobster Popcorn appetizers. Both were very creative and tasty although one bite (for me) was more than enough. Our table of 4 split both and it was a perfect way to start the meal. The salads were awesome (and big enough to split between 2 people - which we should have done) and then the meal itself came. 3 out of 4 of us had steaks that were beyond amazing. My husband's bone in rib eye wasn't bad but for the price it was disappointing. It was chewy and not really all that flavorful. Two of us got the Waygu Filets and would highly recommend these and our fourth got the Strip trio which was great. The sides were amazing - I couldn't decide so we ended up with almost one of each and then brought them home for a second meal the next night. Happy to report they all reheat well. Dessert was also wonderful. It is expensive so won't be my "go to" place but it was worth the $$ for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My dad was in town visiting and we decid ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My dad was in town visiting and we decided to try Kayne Prime after hearing great things about it. Our experience was exactly that - the entire staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The GM, Ryan, even stopped by our table since he heard we were from Chicago and he had ties there as well. The food was excellent - I had the Black Kale Salad (highly recommend) and the Wagyu Filet with truffle butter. We also ordered the Creamed Spinach and Mac N Cheese as sides - everything was amazing. I will definitely be returning with other guests :) Thanks for a great dinner!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From start to finish, Kayne Prime was si ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

From start to finish, Kayne Prime was simply amazing. From the drinks to desserts, we were blown away at the pairings and dishes. Will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu was limited and it was very expensi ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Menu was limited and it was very expensive based on what you received. Did not feel the food justified the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Excellent food, but way too noisy. This ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Excellent food, but way too noisy. This was a business dinner and you couldn't hear yourself think! The filets and tenderloin are the only way to go at Kayne Prime--I've learned this the hard way--paid way too much for bone-in ribeye and strip steak from Greg Norman's ranch and they were both tough cuts of meat--that is a big no-no at the prices they charge or it should be! Great potato sides but the vegetables need a lot of improvement or just take them off the menu and reboot. Desserts were hit and miss--great citrus tart, but the rest off the selections not so good--again a reboot is recommended. If you know what to order you'll have a great tasting meal, but be prepared to drop about $150 per person and that's before the tip!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value1

We had been several times before and it ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had been several times before and it was good. This visit was spectacular!!! We went for our anniversary and I have not one complaint. The service was top notch, the side dishes were out of this world (we got potato aligot and spinach) and the steaks were amazing. Our server said dessert was on the house since it was our anniversary and when he suggested the banana bread, it didn't sound too exciting but we went with it.....it's now my favorite dessert I've ever had. Absolutely phenomenal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Aligot and brulee were excellent, as usu ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Aligot and brulee were excellent, as usual. Salad and popcorn lobster were also very good. Steak was under-seasoned. First time that has been an issue. Server Peter was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Home made Bacon! Wow the best bacon ever ...

 
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Home made Bacon! Wow the best bacon ever!

Beauty of Wagyu beef is marbled, pink, fatty, melting in your mouth nature. Filet, strip does not justify cost and charm of the Wagyu beef.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was outstanding as was our waiter J ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Food was outstanding as was our waiter Jason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and excellent service! Our w ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great food and excellent service! Our waiter was very personable and engaging. He truly differentiated our dinner experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kayne Prime stole our hearts (and wallet ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Kayne Prime stole our hearts (and wallets) 5 years ago, and it's been our absolute favorite restaurant ever since! We chose it on a whim off of a list of steakhouses in the Nashville area, and we loved it so much on our first night, we have made the 2 hour trip to Nashville every year for our anniversary to replicate that night!

Start with the candied bacon or the canoes of beef. DO NOT miss the wagyu- we go for the filets. The sides are all to die for- cream corn brulee, risotto tater tots, creamed spinach, and potato aligot are all favorites. Our only disappointment this trip was that the chocolate creamoso was missing from the dessert menu, but the truth is, we were way too stuffed for dessert anyway. Cocktails are all fantastic and I have never been led astray with their wine selection.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kayne Prime is the best steakhouse in Na ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Kayne Prime is the best steakhouse in Nashville and should be known as one of the best steakhouses in the nation. You always get amazing food, cocktails and service. You can't go wrong.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We recently celebrated my wife's birthda ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We recently celebrated my wife's birthday at Kayne. We had dined there

before and we were excited about returning. We were not disappointed.

The food and service is first rate. The menu offers great choices for both

steak lovers and those that don't crave red meat. It is definitely pricey

but if you don't need the exorbitant exotic cut of beef they have excellent

alternatives like the flat iron steak that is sensational. Their prices rival

all of the better steak houses in town but unlike some of the others they

always deliver on the food and service. The layout to me is a little funky

but not enough that it would ever discourage us from going back.Reservations

are hard to get so be prepared to make one well in advance of your desire to

dine there. I would highly recommend Kayne to anyone who has yet to try it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing staff. Delicious food. Truly exc ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Amazing staff. Delicious food. Truly exceptional experience. It was our anniversary and everyone in the restaurant that helped us made it very special. Top notch everything. I've been to quite a few fine dining restaurants and this was one of the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we enjoyed this restaurant very much. t ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

we enjoyed this restaurant very much. the only reason I mention the noise level is because of another patron close to our table who was talking loudly. at first it was annoying but we got over it and had a good laugh.

everything was delicious, the wait staff was very helpful, the hostess invited us to sit at the bar until our table was ready(we were early)and the bar staff are pros.

I can't say enough nice things about this establishment.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good was delicious and service was amazi ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Good was delicious and service was amazing. 10/10

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ashton provided most excellent service b ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Ashton provided most excellent service by taking care of every detail. The food was perfectly prepared. The pork chop is substantial and easily shared. The bread and dessert are worth the calories.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.