About Kayne Prime

1103 McGavock Street
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Kayne Prime is the artful fusion of a chef-chic boutique restaurant, with the great American steakhouse. Progressive in every sense – cuisine, wine & mixology, stylish design – Kayne Prime is the modern evolution of the classic upscale steakhouse. Market-driven, farm-to-table creations.. sophisticated cocktails.. an exceptional wine list.. award-winning steaks - all set in a “rustic–modern”, “Best Design” interior that features a sleek study of woods, rich leathers, and walls of reclaimed railroad ties, with breathtaking views that highlight the historic train yards, Union Station, and the downtown Nashville skyline.

Every great city has its own best. Nashville’s best is Kayne Prime.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Vegetarian / Vegan, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Bar and Dining Room Opens Daily at 5:00
Reservations highly recommended, Walk-ins welcome. If you are unable to find a reservation available, please contact us at 615-259-0050.
Bar is full service
Business and Business Casual Attire Only
No Shorts No Tank Tops No Hats No Flip Flops and/or Sandal Shoes on Gentlemen Please.

Cross Street:
11th Ave S & McGavock St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 259-0050

Website:
http://www.kayneprime.com/

Executive Chef:
Robert Grace

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

popovers
Risotto Tater Tots
Wedge Salad
6 Oz. Wagyu Filet
Kumomoto Oysters
Creamed Corn Brulee
Belle Glos Pinot Noir
Tito's Vodka Martini
House Made Bacon With Maple Cotton Candy & Peppercorns
Seared Scallops
Canoes Of Beef
steak tartare
Apple Pie
Progression of NY Strip
House Made Bacon With Maple Caramel And Pepercorns
Grouper
Wagyu Filet Mignon
Black Olive Caesar Salad
Risotto Tots & Potato Aligot
Seafood Platter
House Made Bacon
Pepperoni And Mushrooms
Milk Chocolate Cremoso
Skirt Steak
Kale Salad
Prime Petit Filet With Bone Marrow Butter
Bone Marrow
Macaroni Gratinee
Wagyu Filet Mignon Steak
Yorkshire Pudding
Potato Aligot, Risotto Tater Tots, and Cream Corn Brulee

Private Dining

Kayne Prime offers two options for private dining: the Chef's Room (accommodates up to 14 guests), and the Union Room (hosts up to 22 guests). These inviting rooms are the perfect backdrop for any celebration, and are also equipped with A/V equipment to host any professional presentation.

Kayne Prime Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Nashville
Best Food
Nashville
Best Service
Nashville
7 More
Steakhouse
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
Best Overall
Nashville
Best Food
Nashville
Best Service
Nashville
Steakhouse
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
Best Restaurants in The Gulch ›

Special Occasion (155)
Romantic (107)
Fit for Foodies (86)
See All
Notable Wine List (76)
Good for Groups (65)
Hot Spot (55)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Good for a Date (24)
Business Meals (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Scenic View (17)
Worth the Drive (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Private Room (4)
Authentic (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
People Watching (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (1)
Cozy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1645 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service was great. Just was a l ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food and service was great. Just was a little too loud. Could have been our table location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

incredible waitstaff, super friendly and ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

incredible waitstaff, super friendly and attentive. Appetizers were fun and creative, waygu steaks were delicious. Go, if you can get a reservation!

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Had a wonderful date night! Our server P ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Had a wonderful date night! Our server Patrick was warm and welcoming and super knowledgable about every detail of the menu. He took his time and delivered great service. The food though was really the star. Everything from the lobster popcorn to the wagyu filet just melts in your mouth with great flavor. This is a perfect date spot and I wish I lived in Nashville so I could come here more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed our first visit to Kay ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

We really enjoyed our first visit to Kayne Prime. The food was exceptional. Our waiter was top notch. We were celebrating our 23rd anniversary. The lobster buttered popcorn was soooo good. Loved the presentation of it. Thanks again for such an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and quality was fabulous. Th ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

The service and quality was fabulous. The location and ambiance was also very good. The cheese plate was outstanding as it was paired perfectly. The cut was nothing too spectacular; however, the sides were obviously prepared with specific tastes in mind which made for an excellent meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I had dinner and to say i ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My husband and I had dinner and to say it was outstanding is an understatement. The staff was incredible, as was the food. Just amazing. Will definitely eat here again!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and server recommendations ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great service and server recommendations. Beautiful room and the food is SOOO good! Fun cocktails and nice wine list too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time having dinner a ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This was our second time having dinner at Kayne Prime and it did not disappoint. The food is phenomenal, the service top notch, and the atmosphere is great. We were seated in a large booth so it was cozy and private. Be sure to try the house made bacon appetizer and the creamed corn brulee is out of this world! It is on the pricey side but so worth it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal service, food and ambiance. C ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Phenomenal service, food and ambiance. Can't say enough good about this choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was outstanding. We wil ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food and service was outstanding. We will be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is amazing! The filet melts in you ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food is amazing! The filet melts in your mouth! The service is second to none.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible meal and service

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Incredible meal and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for my wife's birthday. Amazing foo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Went for my wife's birthday. Amazing food !!!! Amazing service !!! End of story

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I came to Kayne for our s ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

My husband and I came to Kayne for our second wedding anniversary. It was our first time there. We loved it. Our server was very knowledgeable of the menu items. Everyone (the staff) came by our table to wish us "happy anniversary". Made us feel very special. Food presentation great. Food taste great!!

We will be back

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time we've had the pl ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This is the second time we've had the pleasure of dining at Kayne Prime. This was our first anniversary and it couldn't have been a better place to celebrate. The service as usual was second to none with each of the weight staff pouring into our experience . Top notch and best service by far. Thanks to Kayne Prime and their incredible staff for making it a memorable night.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about our experience at Kayne ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Everything about our experience at Kayne Prime was great, most especially the service. We told the staff we were there for our anniversary and they gave us a complimentary photograph and dessert on the house, making a special evening even more special. My only wish is that it wasn't quite so expensive...we won't be back any time soon because of the price, although we are glad we got to go for our anniversary. :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was very good, and the servers ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was very good, and the servers were nice and personable. You definitely feel welcome to be at this restaurant. I would suggest however that you do not permit the hostess to seat you in the back room off to the left or else you will feel like you're in an office setting. The room lacks ambiance, and you will be able to hear the conversation of the table next to you. It's really not a nice room when you are looking for a fun evening out. The steaks were good but not different from other great steak houses. Our steaks were cooked perfectly. I did enjoy the popcorn lobster dish, which was inventive. The side of corn brulee was delicious though slightly too sweet. We didn't stay long (or for dessert) because the room was uninspiring, and the guy at the table next to us was loud, but we will try Kayne again another time but sit in the bar area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Overall this was a great dining experien ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Overall this was a great dining experience. My complaint was the DRESS CODE.

When we made reservations the dress code was expressed. Kanye called to confirm reservation and again stressed dress code. We were in casual business attire. There were several men in tee shirts, and blue jeans.. Very disappointed in dress code.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything about our dinner was outstand ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Everything about our dinner was outstanding and it was very nice they gave us a free dessert for my wife's birthday. We go to Kayne Prime for our special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Bartenders and hostess a bit pretentious ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Bartenders and hostess a bit pretentious, borderline rude. Steaks and sides were very good. The wine is way over-priced - three times retail and they did not have the bottle I ordered.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Had been here two years ago and could t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Had been here two years ago and could t wait to come back and bring friends-what a disappointment. Service was all over the place and just not that organized-we were seated on the path to the restrooms and that was not pleasant as it was a constant parade of over served folks-the neighborhood has become a big bar restaurant scene and we all thought folks just bounce from one bar to another

The steaks were good not fabulous like we remembered and the sides were unremarkable-potatoes su gratin were glue like and lukewarm Brussell sprouts were over salted. The vaunted bacon cotton candy appetizer was syrupy sweet and the bulk of the pork was hardly cooked under the top piece-our server offered to cut and serve to us and she put one piece on top of cotton candy to make a sandwich with totally ruined the cotton candy effect. Long story short don't see us coming back when there are so many similar restaurants in the area and that's too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

We usually decide on restaurants at the ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We usually decide on restaurants at the last minute but I made a reservation well in advance for my birthday dinner. When we arrived, the hostess asked if it was a special occasion and I said yes, it was my birthday. Everyone who provided service to us wished me a happy birthday and we were given a complimentary dessert. In addition to the wonderful food (and we aren't meat eaters), the warmth of the staff and the great service really made for a special night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to eat and enjoy friends.

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great place to eat and enjoy friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I came here with my boyfriend for his bi ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I came here with my boyfriend for his birthday and we were absolutely stunned by every aspect of this amazing establishment. Jimmy was our server that evening, along with Jenna as the server assistant. They both took great care of us. Our drinks were never empty. My boyfriend was brought the wrong steak, and right when we brought this to the runners attention, they took the wrong steak back and brought the correct one out less than 20 seconds later. We accidently also got the wrong sauce, but instead of taking it away they just brought out the right one and let us keep the 5th sauce. Everything tasted delicious. The restaurant was very clean and well kept. Our bill totaled $230 and I happily left a $50 tip to Jimmy since the service was worth more than just 20%. This place is great, we will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kayne Prime never disappoints. The bar w ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Kayne Prime never disappoints. The bar was great, then we were seated for dinner. The servers were attentive but not overbearing. They are fabulous, knowledgable and extremely professional. The food was superb. We started with the Kale salad. I don't usually like kale, but this was delicious. We both had filets that were perfectly cooked, Brussels sprouts and the potato aligot. I can not stress enough how amazing the potatoes were. They are a MUST!!! All of that followed by the delicious banana dessert. WELL DONE Kayne Prime. I love you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly exceptional from start to finish. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Truly exceptional from start to finish. Wine, dinner, and dessert were all fantastic and the staff were all knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kayne Prime lived up to the hype! Having ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Kayne Prime lived up to the hype! Having moved to Nashville from Chicago, we were skeptical that any "southern" steakhouse could live up to our expectations but Kayne blew us away. Every single thing we ate was fantastic and they cook the steaks exactly how you request them (not kind of close, exactly). The housemade bacon is a must for an appetizer, you'll be blown away. Our server Nathan was so great, and the whole staff is very accomodating and really there to make sure you have a great meal. Worth every penny we spent there and we will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at this restaurant is some of t ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food at this restaurant is some of the most amazing food I have had in Nashville. Every single dish is exquisite. If you don't like your steaks cooked medium or less I do not recommend getting a steak as cooking it more totally takes away from the flavor. That being said, their other dishes are phenomenal as well. I highly recommend the salmon. Additionally... The side dishes are probably my favorite part of the meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was great, they definitely t ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The service was great, they definitely take care of their customers. My friend had the wagu filet with bone marrow butter and said it was the best steak he has ever had.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

there is not another restaurant in Nashv ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

there is not another restaurant in Nashville at this level of food and service. Impeccable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out of a party of four, one steak was no ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Out of a party of four, one steak was not of good quality, so that was disappointing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Amazing...and right in the center of tow ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Amazing...and right in the center of town! WAGYU filets were exceptional and the sides are killer!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. One of the b ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Excellent food and service. One of the best dining experiences we have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

-just not good...no flavor and service w ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

-just not good...no flavor and service was middle ground. In years past I have loved it. Possibly chalk it up to an off night? ( i have never written a review in my life)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

The service was impeccable but unfortuna ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The service was impeccable but unfortunately the food was pretty average, especially for the price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

The service was exceptional. We felt lik ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The service was exceptional. We felt like we had an entourage attending to us. The food was delicious and not your typical steakhouse fare. This venue is absolutely worth the price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were wondeful. We e ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food and service were wondeful. We each got the wagyu filet and split the bacon cotton candy, mac & cheese, and brussel sprouts. All of it was wondeful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went there for our 40th anniversary. ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We went there for our 40th anniversary. Everyone was very congratulatory and genuinely friendly. Our server was exceptional. The decor was modern and striking. The homemade bacon appetizer,the steaks, salads, special rolls and the (complimentary ) banana bread dessert were fantastic and creatively prepared. It was the best meal I've had in Nashville in my 30+ years here. It was pricy but not as expensive as you might expect, since the servings are generous and some can easily be shared. It was worth every penny!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A step above a great steak house with in ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

A step above a great steak house with innovative dishes and dedicated staff. Absolutely loved it. The duck tacos, Wagyu steak from Australia and creamed corn brûlée were our faves but that is being picky as it was all excellent. Ryan, Brie and Bradley took care of us very well with great pacing and and joy in their establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best dining experiences you w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

One of the best dining experiences you will ever have. The steaks are perfectly cooked, and the Progression is excellent and well with the price. The portions are extremely generous. No trip to Kayne Prime is complete without the Bacon with Cotton Candy appetizer and the Black Kale Salad. Tremendous service and ambience. Also a first rate and very well-stocked bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.