About Katz 21 Steak and Spirits

5702 Spohn Dr
Corpus Christi, TX 78413
View Larger Map

Katz 21 Steak & Spirits, the city’s only Prime Steakhouse, is newly relocated on the Southside and setting the standard for the premier fine dining experience in Corpus Christi. Specializing in dry aged prime beef and fresh Gulf Coast seafood, Katz 21 also offers an award winning wine list that is sure to please every palate. Three elegant private dining rooms, perfect for all occasions, can accommodate from 10 to 150 guests. Start the evening with a glass of wine or signature cocktail in Club 21 or sit on the spacious outdoor patio to enjoy one of our many imported beers and live music. Call to reserve your table or next special event.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm;
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm -11:00pm;

Cross Street:
Staples and Saratoga

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(361) 884-1221

Website:
http://www.katz21.com/

Entertainment:
Katz 21 Steak & Spirits features live music on the patio and a DJ in the 21 Lounge on Friday and Saturday.

Catering:
Known for our elite style and providing exemplary service to our distinguished clientele, Katz 21 Steak and Spirits sets the standard for catering in Corpus Christi. Specializing in Gourmet Regional Texas Fare and International Cuisine, either plated or buffet style, our expertly trained chefs will provide you and your guests with the finest selection of US Prime Beef, fresh Gulf Coast Seafood, or a full-blown Italian, Mexican, or Greek Feast. We are dedicated to superb ingredients and exquisite presentation and every detail undergoes exacting scrutiny by our Private Dining and Catering Direct

Parking Details:
Katz 21 Steak & Spirits has a private parking lot and offers valet parking as well.

Executive Chef:
George Christodoulakis

Private Party Facilities:
As the premier fine dining steakhouse in Corpus Christi, Katz 21 Steak and Spirits would be honored to create an unforgettable experience for you and your guests. The finest aged prime steaks, succulent seafood, and award winning wines add to the conversation and camaraderie flowing amongst candlelight and laughter. Our brand new Banquet Rooms can beautifully accommodate your party of 12 to 250, whether you are planning a five-course dinner for a small group, a large cocktail party, a button-down corporate event, or the wedding reception of your dreams. You will be comforted by the knowledge that your event will come off precisely as planned because you’re in the hands of people who make taking care of you their highest priority.

Private Party Contact:
Alissa Pena: 3614381308

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wine, Wine Bar

Katz 21 Steak and Spirits Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Corpus Christi / McAllen
Most Booked
Corpus Christi
Best Restaurants in Corpus Christi ›

special occasion (35)
romantic (28)
notable wine list (22)
See All
fit for foodies (15)
good for groups (9)
vibrant bar scene (7)
hot spot (5)
neighborhood gem (4)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The fish was completely fresh and perfec ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

The fish was completely fresh and perfectly prepared. The lemon caper sauce on the redfish was light and did not overwhelm the clean simple taste of the fish. The bananas Foster flambé for dessert, prepared table-side, and was lovely. I highly recommend this restaurant.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great dinner for two. Not a cozy as thei ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Great dinner for two. Not a cozy as their old location. Turn the lights down a little more.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite restaurant for my husband and I ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Favorite restaurant for my husband and I for special occasions, and an occasional happy hour

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding; My favorite restaurant for ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Outstanding; My favorite restaurant for sure. Staff is friendly, very attentive and my favorite person is Jaime. Service is always outstanding

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always great as is the servi ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food is always great as is the service. This time Cory was our server and did outstanding. Highly recommend this place.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Like butter

Dined on June 4, 2016

I toke my wife for her birthday and felt like it was mine.lol!Great service and food was so good.I ordered the 24oz ribeye medium well.If it wasn't for such a nice place I would have picked up my ribeye and eaten it with my bare hands.Every bit just got better and better.My favorite steak place by far.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Emmanuel worked to make our experience p ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Emmanuel worked to make our experience phenomenal. We enjoyed our food and service. It's a bit pricey, but it's expected for the atmosphere and the quality they work to achieve. The food was good and the portions decent. If you're searching for an upscale, romantic steak house to celebrate a special occasion, look no further. If you're just looking for a delicious steak and seeking to save some cash - there's probably something out there less expensive. We enjoyed the atmosphere and the leisure to enjoy our meal at our own pace without a rush.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite cuisine

Dined on May 22, 2016

I want to say thank you for making our night special. It was my wife's 40th birthday.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service2

My husband and I went for a romantic din ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My husband and I went for a romantic dinner and were very disappointed. The meal took a long time to come out, then my steak was over cooked so I had to send it back and then it took another 30 minutes to get my plate. Meanwhile my husband finished his meal completely and I was sitting there hungry. For the amount of money you spend on the food I thought the service and food would have been better.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

So so experience

Dined on May 14, 2016

This was the first time we've been to Katz since they moved to the south side. We had 6:45 pm reservations and the hostess had us seated within about 5 minutes of our arrival. Our waiter was friendly and helpful, although he was a bit forgetful about the daily special and where he had left his bottle opener. Our appetizer of crab stuffed mushrooms wasn't as tasty as we'd hoped. My wife had the stuffed flounder and it had good taste but was a bit overcooked and dry. I had the rack of lamb. It was cooked to the right internal temperature, but the crust on the outside was burn tasting. Our side of mushroom medley was the tastiest part of the meal. We shared a desert that was labeled as tiramisu, but was definitely not like any tiramisu we'd ever tasted. It didn't taste bad, just not what we were expecting. We chose to dine at Katz for our anniversary because we had really enjoyed the restaurant when it was downtown. This experience was a big disappointment and we probably won't be going back or recommending to anyone.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and atmosphere were wonderful. Our ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food and atmosphere were wonderful. Our waiter, Jeffrey, was very nice, pleasant to talk to, and informative with the options on menu and wine list. Made the experience even better.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Every part of this dining experience was ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Every part of this dining experience was excellent. Food, service, and atmosphere. Had a wonderful time.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Katz 21 is an excellent choice for a ste ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Katz 21 is an excellent choice for a steak dinner. They use excellent cuts (but no Kobe) and use a high temp broiler in preparation. Doneness is usually spot on with their experienced chefs. A new sommelier is an excellent addition. The wine list has the usual Cabernets but excellent values in other varietals can be found with the sommelier's help. There is a fun bar nightclub but the noise from this bar does not reach the restaurant. The restaurant is in capable management with the house manager frequently interacting with the guests. I have dined at Katz 21 over 20 times and it is getting better and better.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Customer

Dined on May 8, 2016

I save Katz for that special occasion and usually I am very pleased. I was very disappointed this time. Service was terrible, we were in the over flow room and I felt that was why the service was terrible. Our group agreed to go on Saturday night instead of Mother's Day in order to avoid the crowd and we did have a reservation. It was a 2 hour meal and we never did get dessert and we tried! When we received our steaks 3 of the 4 were not cooked correctly but were afraid to send them back because of how long it took to get them. So sorry this was not a better experience since it was my favorite place to go.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great find; we'll be back!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We found Katz 21 by doing a web search for restaurants in the Corpus Christie area, and didn't know whether we'd found a good restaurant... until we walked in the door. Everything about the restaurant was first-class, from the hostess to our server. Simple things, like his greeting me by name when he first came to our table, made for a great experience. Highly recommend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Prime rib

Dined on April 25, 2016

Prime rib was tough and chewy. In will not order it again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine dining at it's best

Dined on April 22, 2016

There have been many times when friends and family members have given their opinion on a restaurant. Our experiences at those restaurants has been disappointing. We usually left thinking the cost vs. quality did not live up to the reviews. Since Corpus Christi is not known for fine dining we were skeptical about Katz 21. Was this going to be yet another overpriced meal served by staff who were obviously not interested in the dining experience as a whole? What a pleasant surprise. Katz 21 far exceeded our expectations. The restaurant was clean, well lit and quiet. The service was excellent. Our food arrived in perfect intervals. Every course was expertly prepared and delicious. The cost and quality were spot on. We will definitely be returning on a regular basis.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful

Dined on April 13, 2016

Katz 21 is a very elegant, very professional restaurant. I could not find anything wrong with it whatsoever. The staff was attentive, listened to what you were hungry for, and recommended some food as well. I was overall impressed with the food. It is expensive though it was worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time visit to celebrate our anniversary

Dined on April 9, 2016

We have been to several upscale restaurants in Corpus Christi for special occasions, but had never been to Katz 21. We went there on a Friday night to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and we were not disappointed. The service was excellent as well as the food. We are definitely going to return for special occasions.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent service, superb food, great wi ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Excellent service, superb food, great wine selection

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Food, Service and Ambience wa ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

As always, Food, Service and Ambience was excellent. Our Server, Emmanuel, was excellent. He was very thorough in his explanation of specialty items and our satisfaction.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal, great service. We had Em ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

Excellent meal, great service. We had Emanuel, who was entertaining and a good server. Katz's is on par with steak houses in large cities, a cut less expensive and better than most. I imagine that it's easily the best steak house in Corpus.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Just retired and moved down here a year ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

Just retired and moved down here a year ago from the Oklahoma City area. We enjoyed nearly every fine dining establishment there. My wife and I both just have to say that the ribeyes we had at Katz 21 are the best we have ever had. I don't know if it is the dry aged beef, the seasoning, or the 2200° sear, or the combination of all the above, but they end result was great. The escargot appetizer I had was very good. The sauteed mushroom medley served with the steak were the best mushrooms I have had. We'll be returning there often, and will request Jaime as our server. Enjoyed a great evening for our Valentine weekend cellebration.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best dining I've had in Corpus Christi.

Dined on February 11, 2016

Corpus Christi has a number of restaurants I enjoy, but mostly because of the location and view of the water. There is a seafood restaurant I like, but the atmosphere is merely acceptable. This place is up there with the finest. I consider it better than a Ruth's Chris, and reminds me more of an Antoine's (New Orleans), minus the history. Great service. Beautiful block paneling, reminiscent of a British club. All in all, a nice surprise.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

awesome restaurant

Dined on February 7, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Staff is great. The food was great

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Worst Birthday dinner I've ever had.

Dined on January 31, 2016

This was definitely not an enjoyable experience. Reservations were made for my birthday dinner with friends and family and that turned out to be a regrettable decision. The food took well over an hour and a half to arrive which is understandable if there is a full house. That of course was not the case for the night. Also, our waiter pulled a Houdini and disappeared for most of that time. When the food arrived my steak was charred, and my salad was three whole romaine leaves with Ceasar dressing. Which for the record I sent back but I was still charged for it. There was absolutely nothing at our table that anyone should have to wait two hours for. So basically I paid a $100.00 bill to have the momentum drained completely out of my birthday. By the way that was just my tab, others in my party were equally displeased by there tab and the service received. This was the worst dinning experience I have ever had and I will not ever come back. And any time I am asked about your restaurant I will tell them they are better off at Niko's.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fabulous!

Dined on January 24, 2016

Absolutely delicious! Across the board satisfaction. One of the best places in Corpus for a romantic dinner with your significant other. I highly recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our second time within the past ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

This was our second time within the past six months to join you for a special occasion (birthday's). Katz 21 always has a great appearance, tables set properly, clean glasses, wait staff properly dressed and trained. The menu's are well represented with excellent choices for your clients/customers. These are great qualities for any upscale restaurant; however, the food preparation on our last visits to Katz 21 were poor at best. My steak was overcooked, not seasoned correctly. When you pay upscale prices at Katz 21 and compare it to Morton's you expect only the best, you have a long way to go.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Steak

Dined on January 21, 2016

One of THE BEST steaks I have had. Service is excellent, as one might expect when the waiter is a foodie. Thank you, Andrew.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very Romantic

Dined on January 15, 2016

The service was superb. My wife was beautiful and restaurant was very romantic. Set the mood for a great evening of enjoying each others company. The cocktails were out of this world and the food was fantastic. If you want to impress your date this is the place to go.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Remarkable Dinner

Dined on January 9, 2016

No better for quality of steaks and selection of wines. Dedicated to quality of service. Shrimp bisque was quite favorable. I had the Filet Oscar with asparagus. Excellent preparation and cooked exactly as desired. My husband had the rib eye. Again exactly prepared to my husband's request. While the waiter was delayed in taking our order, he apologized without our complaint and took 10% of our wine order. Definitely will return.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent waiter.. Food was really good. ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

Excellent waiter.. Food was really good..only thing was ribeye steak was not cooked properly, however they put it back in the broiler to cook a little longer.. Could have given us a free desert or drink for the inconvenience of my husband waiting for his food while I ate, considering we were celebrating our 9 th Anniversary.. But they didn't... This is just Corpus Christi customer service as compared to other cities... We will be back though... Not to many other restaurants in this area to compare Katz 21 atmosphere and menu....

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Restaurant

Dined on December 23, 2015

Great restaurant with outstanding food. Beautiful building and attentive staff. Would recommend the prime rib. It was perfectly cooked and very tasty. Did not see anything on menu that I would not order. It all looked good.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent Food/Service

Dined on December 18, 2015

Waiter was great. 8 oz filet cooked perfectly. Appetizer, salads, sides all delicious. Wine excellent. Desserts and coffee superb. Only complaint was noise from 3 or 4 groups celebrating Christmas....but 'tis the season! Celebrating moving here and retirement. Will go again at a "quieter" time!

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience4
service5

I had the veal Piccata and it was terrib ...

vip
Dined on December 17, 2015

I had the veal Piccata and it was terrible. Salty, heavy black pepper, no lemon. It was a business dinner so I didn't want to complain.

food4
ambience4
service5

Seated immediately even tho we were 30 min. early.

Dined on December 8, 2015

Service from David was excellent. My only complaint was being seated in an area where we weren't able to see the majority of the room.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5

Delightful evening

Dined on November 29, 2015

We celebrated our anniversary at Katz and overall the evening could not have been better. Highlights - lobster, creamed spinach and the cream brulee! Only suggestion - less salt in the steak seasoning. Service was impeccable - thanks Albert!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding On All Accounts!

Dined on November 28, 2015

My wife and I were looking for a nice restaurant to celebrate our anniversary, and we were not disappointed! Incredible filet, wonderful seafood, and a well-matched bottle of wine (Two Hands). Would definitely go back if we return to the Corpus Christi area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Happy Birthday!

Dined on November 28, 2015

We like Ludwig who we had last time better than Barrett we had this time. Barrett was sarcastic. Ludwig was very personable and a gentleman.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service5

Disapointed this time.

Dined on November 22, 2015

I am sorry to say we were disappointed with this visit, we have been a customer of Katz from the old restaurant to the new one, but this visit was disappointing. The service was great as always, the food portions have been reduced in size in some of the sides and on some of the entrees, so the price of dinning I felt was over priced on this visit. We will try again and I hope that the next visit will be better as we enjoy the great service and the extremely talented wait staff and service manager Himie which we are very pleased is back. On the noise level, we were close to the kitchen entrance so we did experience some noise and clutter of wait staff near our table, we will request another table location next time.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.