About Katz 21 Steak and Spirits

5702 Spohn Dr
Corpus Christi, TX 78413
View Larger Map

Katz 21 Steak & Spirits, the city’s only Prime Steakhouse, is newly relocated on the Southside and setting the standard for the premier fine dining experience in Corpus Christi. Specializing in dry aged prime beef and fresh Gulf Coast seafood, Katz 21 also offers an award winning wine list that is sure to please every palate. Three elegant private dining rooms, perfect for all occasions, can accommodate from 10 to 150 guests. Start the evening with a glass of wine or signature cocktail in Club 21 or sit on the spacious outdoor patio to enjoy one of our many imported beers and live music. Call to reserve your table or next special event.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm;
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm -11:00pm;

Cross Street:
Staples and Saratoga

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(361) 884-1221

Website:
http://www.katz21.com/

Entertainment:
Katz 21 Steak & Spirits features live music on the patio and a DJ in the 21 Lounge on Friday and Saturday.

Catering:
Known for our elite style and providing exemplary service to our distinguished clientele, Katz 21 Steak and Spirits sets the standard for catering in Corpus Christi. Specializing in Gourmet Regional Texas Fare and International Cuisine, either plated or buffet style, our expertly trained chefs will provide you and your guests with the finest selection of US Prime Beef, fresh Gulf Coast Seafood, or a full-blown Italian, Mexican, or Greek Feast. We are dedicated to superb ingredients and exquisite presentation and every detail undergoes exacting scrutiny by our Private Dining and Catering Direct

Parking Details:
Katz 21 Steak & Spirits has a private parking lot and offers valet parking as well.

Executive Chef:
George Christodoulakis

Private Party Facilities:
As the premier fine dining steakhouse in Corpus Christi, Katz 21 Steak and Spirits would be honored to create an unforgettable experience for you and your guests. The finest aged prime steaks, succulent seafood, and award winning wines add to the conversation and camaraderie flowing amongst candlelight and laughter. Our brand new Banquet Rooms can beautifully accommodate your party of 12 to 250, whether you are planning a five-course dinner for a small group, a large cocktail party, a button-down corporate event, or the wedding reception of your dreams. You will be comforted by the knowledge that your event will come off precisely as planned because you’re in the hands of people who make taking care of you their highest priority.

Private Party Contact:
Alissa Pena: 3614381308

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Katz 21 Steak and Spirits Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Corpus Christi / McAllen
Most Booked
Corpus Christi / McAllen
Most Booked
Corpus Christi
Best Restaurants in Corpus Christi ›

Special Occasion (41)
Romantic (32)
Notable Wine List (21)
See All
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for Groups (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Jamie is the BEST!!! Always is ahead o ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined 6 days ago

Jamie is the BEST!!! Always is ahead of us to our needs

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Richard, provided excellent ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our server, Richard, provided excellent service and menu recommendations. Food was delicious as always, particularly the steaks. Great ambiance and attention detail.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Coming from a large city where one dress ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Coming from a large city where one dresses up for a nice meal, I was shocked at the attire. Shorts and flip flops are not appropriate for a steakhouse. There was a table of six next to us drinking beer, taking shots and singing out loud. Very disturbing.

Not sure I would go back for a special occasion as this. Id go back for just any day but no for celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

We loved the food, and loved getting tog ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We loved the food, and loved getting together with old friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Waiters are awesome!!!! Food incredible! ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Waiters are awesome!!!! Food incredible!!!! Only venue of its kind in town

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience for our 40th Annivers ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Awesome experience for our 40th Anniversary

But noticed on my receipt that we were charged $59 for a single margarita. Was this a mistake?

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service/Food was excellent just a tab bi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Service/Food was excellent just a tab bit salty on the steaks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This is the single best meal I have eate ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This is the single best meal I have eaten in at least the last year. Every taste and flavor were perfection. I started the meal with the Katz Meow appetizer and a Manhattan Up with Woodford Reserve. I followed with the Hong Kong Sea Bass that melted in my mouth. My server Richard provided excellent care to my every wish. I will definitely return during my next trip to Corpus Christi. Wow!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good time at Katz! The food an ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always a good time at Katz! The food and the service is always top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very thoughtful and attentive staff. Gre ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very thoughtful and attentive staff. Great place for our anniversary dinner

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great dinner accompanied by exc ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a great dinner accompanied by excellent choices of wine. A little pricey but well worth it. Definitely would go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Katz21 for the first time to ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We went to Katz21 for the first time to celebrate my husband's birthday. We noted that we were celebrating on the reservation, and the hostess, waiter, and manager all said Happy Birthday to him. They even had a card on the table when we sat down! The food was excellent, and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Definitely one of the priciest places we've visited in Corpus, so although it was awesome, this will have to be a once or twice a year place to visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The prices will take your breath away, a ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The prices will take your breath away, and it's all a la carte, so be ready. Portions are right. Tasty and properly seasoned.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Jaime and other waiter were great. the ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Jaime and other waiter were great. the food was excellent as well.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Possibly best steak in Corpus Christi. E ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Possibly best steak in Corpus Christi. Elegant atmosphere and great food. Wonderful service. Recommend but be prepared to spend a lot if you get salad, entree, sides, desert, and wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had great service, our server Cesar w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had great service, our server Cesar was incredible! Excellent service from all staff we encountered.

The BLT wedge was fantastic as well as the. Katz meow appetizer . A little disappointed in the steak, ordered the tomahawk it was good but Not worth the price lots of fat and gristle not as tender as we would have liked.

Loved the bananas foster for dessert truly unique and delicious .

Overall we had an amazing expeperience and would definitely recommend Katz21!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The fish was completely fresh and perfec ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The fish was completely fresh and perfectly prepared. The lemon caper sauce on the redfish was light and did not overwhelm the clean simple taste of the fish. The bananas Foster flambé for dessert, prepared table-side, and was lovely. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner for two. Not a cozy as thei ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Great dinner for two. Not a cozy as their old location. Turn the lights down a little more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Favorite restaurant for my husband and I ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Favorite restaurant for my husband and I for special occasions, and an occasional happy hour

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding; My favorite restaurant for ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Outstanding; My favorite restaurant for sure. Staff is friendly, very attentive and my favorite person is Jaime. Service is always outstanding

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always great as is the servi ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food is always great as is the service. This time Cory was our server and did outstanding. Highly recommend this place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Like butter

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I toke my wife for her birthday and felt like it was mine.lol!Great service and food was so good.I ordered the 24oz ribeye medium well.If it wasn't for such a nice place I would have picked up my ribeye and eaten it with my bare hands.Every bit just got better and better.My favorite steak place by far.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Emmanuel worked to make our experience p ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Emmanuel worked to make our experience phenomenal. We enjoyed our food and service. It's a bit pricey, but it's expected for the atmosphere and the quality they work to achieve. The food was good and the portions decent. If you're searching for an upscale, romantic steak house to celebrate a special occasion, look no further. If you're just looking for a delicious steak and seeking to save some cash - there's probably something out there less expensive. We enjoyed the atmosphere and the leisure to enjoy our meal at our own pace without a rush.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite cuisine

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I want to say thank you for making our night special. It was my wife's 40th birthday.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went for a romantic din ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My husband and I went for a romantic dinner and were very disappointed. The meal took a long time to come out, then my steak was over cooked so I had to send it back and then it took another 30 minutes to get my plate. Meanwhile my husband finished his meal completely and I was sitting there hungry. For the amount of money you spend on the food I thought the service and food would have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

So so experience

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This was the first time we've been to Katz since they moved to the south side. We had 6:45 pm reservations and the hostess had us seated within about 5 minutes of our arrival. Our waiter was friendly and helpful, although he was a bit forgetful about the daily special and where he had left his bottle opener. Our appetizer of crab stuffed mushrooms wasn't as tasty as we'd hoped. My wife had the stuffed flounder and it had good taste but was a bit overcooked and dry. I had the rack of lamb. It was cooked to the right internal temperature, but the crust on the outside was burn tasting. Our side of mushroom medley was the tastiest part of the meal. We shared a desert that was labeled as tiramisu, but was definitely not like any tiramisu we'd ever tasted. It didn't taste bad, just not what we were expecting. We chose to dine at Katz for our anniversary because we had really enjoyed the restaurant when it was downtown. This experience was a big disappointment and we probably won't be going back or recommending to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Food and atmosphere were wonderful. Our ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food and atmosphere were wonderful. Our waiter, Jeffrey, was very nice, pleasant to talk to, and informative with the options on menu and wine list. Made the experience even better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Every part of this dining experience was ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Every part of this dining experience was excellent. Food, service, and atmosphere. Had a wonderful time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Katz 21 is an excellent choice for a ste ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Katz 21 is an excellent choice for a steak dinner. They use excellent cuts (but no Kobe) and use a high temp broiler in preparation. Doneness is usually spot on with their experienced chefs. A new sommelier is an excellent addition. The wine list has the usual Cabernets but excellent values in other varietals can be found with the sommelier's help. There is a fun bar nightclub but the noise from this bar does not reach the restaurant. The restaurant is in capable management with the house manager frequently interacting with the guests. I have dined at Katz 21 over 20 times and it is getting better and better.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Customer

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I save Katz for that special occasion and usually I am very pleased. I was very disappointed this time. Service was terrible, we were in the over flow room and I felt that was why the service was terrible. Our group agreed to go on Saturday night instead of Mother's Day in order to avoid the crowd and we did have a reservation. It was a 2 hour meal and we never did get dessert and we tried! When we received our steaks 3 of the 4 were not cooked correctly but were afraid to send them back because of how long it took to get them. So sorry this was not a better experience since it was my favorite place to go.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

What a great find; we'll be back!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We found Katz 21 by doing a web search for restaurants in the Corpus Christie area, and didn't know whether we'd found a good restaurant... until we walked in the door.

Everything about the restaurant was first-class, from the hostess to our server. Simple things, like his greeting me by name when he first came to our table, made for a great experience.

Highly recommend!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prime rib

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Prime rib was tough and chewy. In will not order it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Fine dining at it's best

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

There have been many times when friends and family members have given their opinion on a restaurant. Our experiences at those restaurants has been disappointing. We usually left thinking the cost vs. quality did not live up to the reviews. Since Corpus Christi is not known for fine dining we were skeptical about Katz 21. Was this going to be yet another overpriced meal served by staff who were obviously not interested in the dining experience as a whole? What a pleasant surprise. Katz 21 far exceeded our expectations. The restaurant was clean, well lit and quiet. The service was excellent. Our food arrived in perfect intervals. Every course was expertly prepared and delicious. The cost and quality were spot on. We will definitely be returning on a regular basis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Katz 21 is a very elegant, very professional restaurant. I could not find anything wrong with it whatsoever. The staff was attentive, listened to what you were hungry for, and recommended some food as well. I was overall impressed with the food. It is expensive though it was worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit to celebrate our anniversary

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We have been to several upscale restaurants in Corpus Christi for special occasions, but had never been to Katz 21. We went there on a Friday night to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and we were not disappointed. The service was excellent as well as the food. We are definitely going to return for special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service, superb food, great wi ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Excellent service, superb food, great wine selection

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

As always, Food, Service and Ambience wa ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

As always, Food, Service and Ambience was excellent. Our Server, Emmanuel, was excellent. He was very thorough in his explanation of specialty items and our satisfaction.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal, great service. We had Em ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Excellent meal, great service. We had Emanuel, who was entertaining and a good server. Katz's is on par with steak houses in large cities, a cut less expensive and better than most. I imagine that it's easily the best steak house in Corpus.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just retired and moved down here a year ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Just retired and moved down here a year ago from the Oklahoma City area. We enjoyed nearly every fine dining establishment there. My wife and I both just have to say that the ribeyes we had at Katz 21 are the best we have ever had. I don't know if it is the dry aged beef, the seasoning, or the 2200° sear, or the combination of all the above, but they end result was great. The escargot appetizer I had was very good. The sauteed mushroom medley served with the steak were the best mushrooms I have had. We'll be returning there often, and will request Jaime as our server. Enjoyed a great evening for our Valentine weekend cellebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best dining I've had in Corpus Christi.

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

Corpus Christi has a number of restaurants I enjoy, but mostly because of the location and view of the water. There is a seafood restaurant I like, but the atmosphere is merely acceptable. This place is up there with the finest. I consider it better than a Ruth's Chris, and reminds me more of an Antoine's (New Orleans), minus the history. Great service. Beautiful block paneling, reminiscent of a British club. All in all, a nice surprise.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.