About Katz 21 Steak and Spirits

5702 Spohn Dr
Corpus Christi, TX 78413
View Larger Map

Katz 21 Steak & Spirits, the city’s only Prime Steakhouse, is newly relocated on the Southside and setting the standard for the premier fine dining experience in Corpus Christi. Specializing in dry aged prime beef and fresh Gulf Coast seafood, Katz 21 also offers an award winning wine list that is sure to please every palate. Three elegant private dining rooms, perfect for all occasions, can accommodate from 10 to 150 guests. Start the evening with a glass of wine or signature cocktail in Club 21 or sit on the spacious outdoor patio to enjoy one of our many imported beers and live music. Call to reserve your table or next special event.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm -12:00am;
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm -2:00am;

Cross Street:
Staples and Saratoga

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(361) 884-1221

Website:
http://www.katz21.com/

Entertainment:
Katz 21 Steak & Spirits features live music on the patio and a DJ in the 21 Lounge on Friday and Saturday.

Catering:
Known for our elite style and providing exemplary service to our distinguished clientele, Katz 21 Steak and Spirits sets the standard for catering in Corpus Christi. Specializing in Gourmet Regional Texas Fare and International Cuisine, either plated or buffet style, our expertly trained chefs will provide you and your guests with the finest selection of US Prime Beef, fresh Gulf Coast Seafood, or a full-blown Italian, Mexican, or Greek Feast. We are dedicated to superb ingredients and exquisite presentation and every detail undergoes exacting scrutiny by our Private Dining and Catering Direct

Parking Details:
Katz 21 Steak & Spirits has a private parking lot and offers valet parking as well.

Executive Chef:
George Christodoulakis

Private Party Facilities:
As the premier fine dining steakhouse in Corpus Christi, Katz 21 Steak and Spirits would be honored to create an unforgettable experience for you and your guests. The finest aged prime steaks, succulent seafood, and award winning wines add to the conversation and camaraderie flowing amongst candlelight and laughter. Our brand new Banquet Rooms can beautifully accommodate your party of 12 to 250, whether you are planning a five-course dinner for a small group, a large cocktail party, a button-down corporate event, or the wedding reception of your dreams. You will be comforted by the knowledge that your event will come off precisely as planned because you’re in the hands of people who make taking care of you their highest priority.

Private Party Contact:
Melanie Coleman: 3617790226x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Katz 21 Steak and Spirits Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Corpus Christi / McAllen
Best Food
Corpus Christi / McAllen
Best Service
Corpus Christi / McAllen
2 More
Best Ambiance
Corpus Christi / McAllen
Most Booked
Corpus Christi / McAllen
Best Restaurants in Corpus Christi ›

Special Occasion (20)
Romantic (18)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Good for a Date (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Business Meals (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Fun (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Casual (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Private Room (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
237 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I took my fiance here for our anniversar ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

I took my fiance here for our anniversary dinner. We sat and waited for about 15 minutes before even seeing our waiter. While looking at the menu the wait staff indicated that almost all of the items are a la carte and do not come with a side. After ordering they delivered our food. Mine was correct but they gave my fiance the wrong meal. It took a little over 15 more minutes for them to bring out the correct food. Since I was being polite I waited until her food came out to eat. By the time her food was ready my meal was cold. I had the clam and muscle pasta and there was bits of broken shell throughout the entire plate. She got the surf and turf pasta, although the steak was good, the overall dish tasted of sour milk. The food was barely edible. Definitely not worth the price and we will definitely never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Katz is a must if you are in Corpus Chri ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Katz is a must if you are in Corpus Christi, excellent service and exquisite food. By far the best dining experience in Corpus Christi.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dinner and great food. We orde ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wonderful dinner and great food. We ordered a bone marrow appetizer, which didn't sound very appetizing, but we wanted to try something different. It was amazing! I would definitely recommend this to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good, but not better by enough ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was good, but not better by enough over competition to warrant the high prices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful restaurant - great service and ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful restaurant - great service and food was exceptional! I would highly recommend the restaurant .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience at Katz 21 was unpleasan ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Our experience at Katz 21 was unpleasant we get there they offer us the prime rib come back 40 minutes later say there no more this is at 7 when people go out to eat they did this to all the tables instead of saying will give u another steak for the same price they didn't poor customer service that why I made the reservation there should've gone somewhere else like the other couple did I thought they would take care of u when u go to an upscale restaurant but they don't never go back

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Service was below par. Our waiter was no ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Service was below par. Our waiter was not very attentive & we had to wait on him for each course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We loved, loved, loved it! I couldn't ha ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We loved, loved, loved it! I couldn't have chose a better restaurant for my friends birthday dinner. Knowledgeable staff, impeccable service, amazing food, and warm atmosphere.

I highly, highly recommend The Katz Meow for an appetizer. My friends steak was "on another level"and my scallops were cooked perfectly. Everything that we ordered was hot on arrival and visually pleasing.

The staff checks on you, fills your water, and clears the table regularly without being intrusive.

Well worth the price. We look forward to our next visit!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

well again we have come to Katz21 for ou ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 29, 2016

well again we have come to Katz21 for our anniversary and again we are so very greatful for the service provided and the great food, we have spent our anniversary since 2011 for our 50 and now its our 54th, we ope to keep on coming back for another 50...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!! Loved our waiter & his wine kn ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Amazing!! Loved our waiter & his wine knowledge! He was excellent on food recommendations.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was super amazing. The wait s ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This place was super amazing. The wait staff was very friendly and informative. We came here for my friends birthday, and it definitely will be one he will never forget. The food and drinks were delicious, and the atmosphere was way nice. I enjoyed being able to get all dressed up and enjoy an amazing night out. Thanks for everything!!!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for my adult sons birthday ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We were there for my adult sons birthday dinner. At the time of our reservation I was asked if I preferred a table or booth which I appreciated. The wait staff was wonderful, the food was delicious and the ambience was lovely.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food, as always, was delicious. Kat ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food, as always, was delicious. Katz is the only 5 Star restaurant in Corpus Christi and we enjoy dining there frequently. Jamie and Richard are the best - friendly and open to all of our requests. Their recommendations are always excellent and greet us by name. The cocktails and wine list are impeccable. Keep up the good work Katz 21.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice place to eat, I would not hesi ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Very nice place to eat, I would not hesitate one bit to go back. Food and staff are simply amazing. Drinks are out of this world and our overall experience was outstanding! I will be dining with Katz 21 in the future for sure!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first visit and is was very enjoyabl ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Our first visit and is was very enjoyable for our anniversary. The attention was perfect .

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were visiting CC for an ev ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2016

My wife and I were visiting CC for an event at the Art Museum of South Texas. Though staying at the Omni, we made the drive to Katz 21 based on recommendations on Open Table. We couldn't have been happier with the decision. The steak was first-rate, as were the sides. Our waiter, Rocky, provided professional and appropriately attentive service that added to the quality of the dining experience. Ambience is old-school steakhouse.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Forgot to bring our appetizer and salads ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Forgot to bring our appetizer and salads came out first so had to send them back. When calamari showed up it was Luke warm. When salads came back they were wrong so had to send one back. Steak was very rare (ordered medium) but took it anyway due to the other issues. What's going on at Katz 21?

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

I ordered the pork chops and my fiance o ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I ordered the pork chops and my fiance ordered the rib eye. BOTH my pork chops were burnt. I had to send them back. The thing that puzzles me is it was severely burnt so it should not have even been presented to me. It should have been recooked. The second set of chops were not done all the way. At that point i asked for a to go box. My fiances ribeye was good but i must say the twice baked potato was excellent. Very disappointed that the chef nor manager on duty came to apologize about my meal. It was my fiances birthday so she did receive a complimentary bananas foster. That was very thoughtful.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

Went out to celebrate wife's BD. Had gre ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Went out to celebrate wife's BD. Had great dinner, good service and nice atmosphere. Will definitely go again. Had Oysters and Katz meow for appetizers, can't go wrong, the rest was as tasty. Good dinning experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Andrew was "Excellent"!!! Ve ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our server Andrew was "Excellent"!!! Very attentive, made great recommendations, answered questions, and was very polite. Best service in Corpus Christi in my opinion.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, you can cut the Bone In Rib ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great food, you can cut the Bone In Rib Eye with a butter knife.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

All rating of Katz were up to par, food ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 21, 2016

All rating of Katz were up to par, food and service were exceptional.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Jamie is the BEST!!! Always is ahead o ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Jamie is the BEST!!! Always is ahead of us to our needs

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Richard, provided excellent ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our server, Richard, provided excellent service and menu recommendations. Food was delicious as always, particularly the steaks. Great ambiance and attention detail.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Coming from a large city where one dress ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Coming from a large city where one dresses up for a nice meal, I was shocked at the attire. Shorts and flip flops are not appropriate for a steakhouse. There was a table of six next to us drinking beer, taking shots and singing out loud. Very disturbing.

Not sure I would go back for a special occasion as this. Id go back for just any day but no for celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

We loved the food, and loved getting tog ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on July 28, 2016

We loved the food, and loved getting together with old friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Waiters are awesome!!!! Food incredible! ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Waiters are awesome!!!! Food incredible!!!! Only venue of its kind in town

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience for our 40th Annivers ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Awesome experience for our 40th Anniversary

But noticed on my receipt that we were charged $59 for a single margarita. Was this a mistake?

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service/Food was excellent just a tab bi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Service/Food was excellent just a tab bit salty on the steaks

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This is the single best meal I have eate ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 20, 2016

This is the single best meal I have eaten in at least the last year. Every taste and flavor were perfection. I started the meal with the Katz Meow appetizer and a Manhattan Up with Woodford Reserve. I followed with the Hong Kong Sea Bass that melted in my mouth. My server Richard provided excellent care to my every wish. I will definitely return during my next trip to Corpus Christi. Wow!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good time at Katz! The food an ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always a good time at Katz! The food and the service is always top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very thoughtful and attentive staff. Gre ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very thoughtful and attentive staff. Great place for our anniversary dinner

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great dinner accompanied by exc ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a great dinner accompanied by excellent choices of wine. A little pricey but well worth it. Definitely would go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Katz21 for the first time to ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 16, 2016

We went to Katz21 for the first time to celebrate my husband's birthday. We noted that we were celebrating on the reservation, and the hostess, waiter, and manager all said Happy Birthday to him. They even had a card on the table when we sat down! The food was excellent, and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Definitely one of the priciest places we've visited in Corpus, so although it was awesome, this will have to be a once or twice a year place to visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The prices will take your breath away, a ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on July 16, 2016

The prices will take your breath away, and it's all a la carte, so be ready. Portions are right. Tasty and properly seasoned.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Jaime and other waiter were great. the ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Jaime and other waiter were great. the food was excellent as well.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Possibly best steak in Corpus Christi. E ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Possibly best steak in Corpus Christi. Elegant atmosphere and great food. Wonderful service. Recommend but be prepared to spend a lot if you get salad, entree, sides, desert, and wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had great service, our server Cesar w ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had great service, our server Cesar was incredible! Excellent service from all staff we encountered.

The BLT wedge was fantastic as well as the. Katz meow appetizer . A little disappointed in the steak, ordered the tomahawk it was good but Not worth the price lots of fat and gristle not as tender as we would have liked.

Loved the bananas foster for dessert truly unique and delicious .

Overall we had an amazing expeperience and would definitely recommend Katz21!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The fish was completely fresh and perfec ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 23, 2016

The fish was completely fresh and perfectly prepared. The lemon caper sauce on the redfish was light and did not overwhelm the clean simple taste of the fish. The bananas Foster flambé for dessert, prepared table-side, and was lovely. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner for two. Not a cozy as thei ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Great dinner for two. Not a cozy as their old location. Turn the lights down a little more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.