About Katz 21 Steak and Spirits

Katz 21 Steak & Spirits, the city’s only Prime Steakhouse, is newly relocated on the Southside and setting the standard for the premier fine dining experience in Corpus Christi. Specializing in dry aged prime beef and fresh Gulf Coast seafood, Katz 21 also offers an award winning wine list that is sure to please every palate. Three elegant private dining rooms, perfect for all occasions, can accommodate from 10 to 150 guests. Start the evening with a glass of wine or signature cocktail in Club 21 or sit on the spacious outdoor patio to enjoy one of our many imported beers and live music. Call to reserve your table or next special event.

5702 Spohn Dr
Corpus Christi, TX 78413
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm -12:00am;
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm -2:00am;

Cross Street:
Staples and Saratoga

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(361) 884-1221

Website:
http://www.katz21.com/

Entertainment:
Katz 21 Steak & Spirits features live music on the patio and a DJ in the 21 Lounge on Friday and Saturday.

Catering:
Known for our elite style and providing exemplary service to our distinguished clientele, Katz 21 Steak and Spirits sets the standard for catering in Corpus Christi. Specializing in Gourmet Regional Texas Fare and International Cuisine, either plated or buffet style, our expertly trained chefs will provide you and your guests with the finest selection of US Prime Beef, fresh Gulf Coast Seafood, or a full-blown Italian, Mexican, or Greek Feast. We are dedicated to superb ingredients and exquisite presentation and every detail undergoes exacting scrutiny by our Private Dining and Catering Direct

Parking Details:
Katz 21 Steak & Spirits has a private parking lot and offers valet parking as well.

Executive Chef:
George Christodoulakis

Private Party Facilities:
As the premier fine dining steakhouse in Corpus Christi, Katz 21 Steak and Spirits would be honored to create an unforgettable experience for you and your guests. The finest aged prime steaks, succulent seafood, and award winning wines add to the conversation and camaraderie flowing amongst candlelight and laughter. Our brand new Banquet Rooms can beautifully accommodate your party of 12 to 250, whether you are planning a five-course dinner for a small group, a large cocktail party, a button-down corporate event, or the wedding reception of your dreams. You will be comforted by the knowledge that your event will come off precisely as planned because you’re in the hands of people who make taking care of you their highest priority.

Private Party Contact:
Melanie Coleman: (361) 779-0226

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Katz 21 Steak and Spirits Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Good for a Date (14)
Romantic (14)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Business Meals (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Cozy (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Authentic (3)
Fun (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Live Music (2)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Casual (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
251 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Steaks seasoned nicely and cooked perfec ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Steaks seasoned nicely and cooked perfectly to order. Service was excellent and food items delivered hot . Servers were attentive but not overbearing. All in all very well done.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good. When we walked in we ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food was good. When we walked in we felt that we were immediately judged. We paid with a gift card that was for $100 however we were told it was only in the amount of $57. This is not correct. I asked the person that gifted it to me and she confirmed it was $100. We are not sure what happened to the remaining money on the card as this was the only time it was used. We ended up having to use our credit card for the remainder of the balance.

We will not be going back to this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

Great ambiance, delicious food prepared ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great ambiance, delicious food prepared with care, reasonably priced. Upscale restaurant with really nice decor. Good friendly service. Overall the place to go in Coups Cristi for a special dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, , Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well knowledge waiter and the food was e ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Well knowledge waiter and the food was excellent! Waiter knew a lot about the wines; very impressed. He had a great personality and great Customer Service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have before regulars at Katz 21 and e ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We have before regulars at Katz 21 and enjoyed it every time. This was our first time to have Cesar as our server and he was solid.

I've become a regular at the club side as I enjoy cigars. Herschel has been my regular bartender and is OUTSTANDING.

I am being picky I know but I would like to recommend a bigger cigar selection. But again I'm going to be an exception to the usual customer base.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

atmosphere was perfect, Food was great, ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on December 24, 2016

atmosphere was perfect, Food was great, service outstanding. I really enjoyed the whole experience. I will definitely go back again soon.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful spot. My meal was inc ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Always a wonderful spot. My meal was incredible. The house martini is outstanding. It is a great place. The classiest spot in Corpus Christi.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Bar Seating, Private Room, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was attentive, however servers w ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Service was attentive, however servers were too pushy in their sales tactics. We were celebrating my friend's 80th birthday, which I had informed the restaurant of ahead of time. When dessert time came, the server placed a card on the table and said to my friend, "fill this out and I'll bring you your free dessert". My friend declined the marketing ploy, only to have the server whisk away the card and proceed to ignore us until I asked for the check. If a dessert tray had been presented to us we may have chosen to simply purchase an item. Seems like the restaurant could have sprung for a scoop of ice cream or something, even though we didn't want to be on the mailing list. Food was good, but not excellent. What's memorable to me is the less than gracious treatment for our special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We were greeted the moment we arrived an ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We were greeted the moment we arrived and the valet was very cordial and inviting. We stepped inside and the hostess greeted us with a warm smile. She immediately seated us and our waiter came soon after. The service was fantastic, the meal was superb. We had a memorable evening and although a bit pricy well worth the price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Restaurant!! Wet Aged Beef. ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent Restaurant!! Wet Aged Beef. Notable Wine List. Great choice of sides and desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my fiance here for our anniversar ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I took my fiance here for our anniversary dinner. We sat and waited for about 15 minutes before even seeing our waiter. While looking at the menu the wait staff indicated that almost all of the items are a la carte and do not come with a side. After ordering they delivered our food. Mine was correct but they gave my fiance the wrong meal. It took a little over 15 more minutes for them to bring out the correct food. Since I was being polite I waited until her food came out to eat. By the time her food was ready my meal was cold. I had the clam and muscle pasta and there was bits of broken shell throughout the entire plate. She got the surf and turf pasta, although the steak was good, the overall dish tasted of sour milk. The food was barely edible. Definitely not worth the price and we will definitely never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Katz is a must if you are in Corpus Chri ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Katz is a must if you are in Corpus Christi, excellent service and exquisite food. By far the best dining experience in Corpus Christi.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dinner and great food. We orde ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wonderful dinner and great food. We ordered a bone marrow appetizer, which didn't sound very appetizing, but we wanted to try something different. It was amazing! I would definitely recommend this to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good, but not better by enough ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was good, but not better by enough over competition to warrant the high prices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful restaurant - great service and ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful restaurant - great service and food was exceptional! I would highly recommend the restaurant .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience at Katz 21 was unpleasan ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Our experience at Katz 21 was unpleasant we get there they offer us the prime rib come back 40 minutes later say there no more this is at 7 when people go out to eat they did this to all the tables instead of saying will give u another steak for the same price they didn't poor customer service that why I made the reservation there should've gone somewhere else like the other couple did I thought they would take care of u when u go to an upscale restaurant but they don't never go back

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Service was below par. Our waiter was no ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Service was below par. Our waiter was not very attentive & we had to wait on him for each course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We loved, loved, loved it! I couldn't ha ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We loved, loved, loved it! I couldn't have chose a better restaurant for my friends birthday dinner. Knowledgeable staff, impeccable service, amazing food, and warm atmosphere.

I highly, highly recommend The Katz Meow for an appetizer. My friends steak was "on another level"and my scallops were cooked perfectly. Everything that we ordered was hot on arrival and visually pleasing.

The staff checks on you, fills your water, and clears the table regularly without being intrusive.

Well worth the price. We look forward to our next visit!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

well again we have come to Katz21 for ou ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 29, 2016

well again we have come to Katz21 for our anniversary and again we are so very greatful for the service provided and the great food, we have spent our anniversary since 2011 for our 50 and now its our 54th, we ope to keep on coming back for another 50...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!! Loved our waiter & his wine kn ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Amazing!! Loved our waiter & his wine knowledge! He was excellent on food recommendations.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was super amazing. The wait s ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This place was super amazing. The wait staff was very friendly and informative. We came here for my friends birthday, and it definitely will be one he will never forget. The food and drinks were delicious, and the atmosphere was way nice. I enjoyed being able to get all dressed up and enjoy an amazing night out. Thanks for everything!!!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for my adult sons birthday ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We were there for my adult sons birthday dinner. At the time of our reservation I was asked if I preferred a table or booth which I appreciated. The wait staff was wonderful, the food was delicious and the ambience was lovely.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food, as always, was delicious. Kat ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food, as always, was delicious. Katz is the only 5 Star restaurant in Corpus Christi and we enjoy dining there frequently. Jamie and Richard are the best - friendly and open to all of our requests. Their recommendations are always excellent and greet us by name. The cocktails and wine list are impeccable. Keep up the good work Katz 21.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice place to eat, I would not hesi ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Very nice place to eat, I would not hesitate one bit to go back. Food and staff are simply amazing. Drinks are out of this world and our overall experience was outstanding! I will be dining with Katz 21 in the future for sure!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first visit and is was very enjoyabl ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Our first visit and is was very enjoyable for our anniversary. The attention was perfect .

Tags: , Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were visiting CC for an ev ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2016

My wife and I were visiting CC for an event at the Art Museum of South Texas. Though staying at the Omni, we made the drive to Katz 21 based on recommendations on Open Table. We couldn't have been happier with the decision. The steak was first-rate, as were the sides. Our waiter, Rocky, provided professional and appropriately attentive service that added to the quality of the dining experience. Ambience is old-school steakhouse.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, , Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Forgot to bring our appetizer and salads ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Forgot to bring our appetizer and salads came out first so had to send them back. When calamari showed up it was Luke warm. When salads came back they were wrong so had to send one back. Steak was very rare (ordered medium) but took it anyway due to the other issues. What's going on at Katz 21?

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

I ordered the pork chops and my fiance o ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I ordered the pork chops and my fiance ordered the rib eye. BOTH my pork chops were burnt. I had to send them back. The thing that puzzles me is it was severely burnt so it should not have even been presented to me. It should have been recooked. The second set of chops were not done all the way. At that point i asked for a to go box. My fiances ribeye was good but i must say the twice baked potato was excellent. Very disappointed that the chef nor manager on duty came to apologize about my meal. It was my fiances birthday so she did receive a complimentary bananas foster. That was very thoughtful.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

Went out to celebrate wife's BD. Had gre ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Went out to celebrate wife's BD. Had great dinner, good service and nice atmosphere. Will definitely go again. Had Oysters and Katz meow for appetizers, can't go wrong, the rest was as tasty. Good dinning experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Andrew was "Excellent"!!! Ve ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our server Andrew was "Excellent"!!! Very attentive, made great recommendations, answered questions, and was very polite. Best service in Corpus Christi in my opinion.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, you can cut the Bone In Rib ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great food, you can cut the Bone In Rib Eye with a butter knife.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

All rating of Katz were up to par, food ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 21, 2016

All rating of Katz were up to par, food and service were exceptional.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Jamie is the BEST!!! Always is ahead o ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Jamie is the BEST!!! Always is ahead of us to our needs

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Richard, provided excellent ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our server, Richard, provided excellent service and menu recommendations. Food was delicious as always, particularly the steaks. Great ambiance and attention detail.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Coming from a large city where one dress ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Coming from a large city where one dresses up for a nice meal, I was shocked at the attire. Shorts and flip flops are not appropriate for a steakhouse. There was a table of six next to us drinking beer, taking shots and singing out loud. Very disturbing.

Not sure I would go back for a special occasion as this. Id go back for just any day but no for celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

We loved the food, and loved getting tog ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on July 28, 2016

We loved the food, and loved getting together with old friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Waiters are awesome!!!! Food incredible! ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Waiters are awesome!!!! Food incredible!!!! Only venue of its kind in town

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience for our 40th Annivers ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Awesome experience for our 40th Anniversary

But noticed on my receipt that we were charged $59 for a single margarita. Was this a mistake?

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service/Food was excellent just a tab bi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Service/Food was excellent just a tab bit salty on the steaks

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This is the single best meal I have eate ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 20, 2016

This is the single best meal I have eaten in at least the last year. Every taste and flavor were perfection. I started the meal with the Katz Meow appetizer and a Manhattan Up with Woodford Reserve. I followed with the Hong Kong Sea Bass that melted in my mouth. My server Richard provided excellent care to my every wish. I will definitely return during my next trip to Corpus Christi. Wow!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.