Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Katsuya- South Beach

Deemed Los Angeles Times Readers’ "Best Sushi Restaurant” Katsuya is a culinary sensation. Featuring the dynamic pairing of Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi and design impresario Philippe Starck, Katsuya South Beach is truly a feast for the senses. With unique rolls and spectacular sushi and sashimi platters, Chef Uechi skillfully translates Japanese flavors to the American palate. Signature dishes include Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna, Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeño and Miso-Marinated Black Cod.

Go beyond Katsuya’s dining room and experience the sultry award-winning cocktail concoctions of the Dragon Lounge.

1701 Collins Ave.
Miami Beach, FL 33139
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Seating 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm Sunday - Thursday
Seating 6:00 pm - 11:30 pm Friday - Saturday


Cross Street:
17th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 455-2995

Website:
http://katsuyarestaurant.com/southbeach/

Entertainment:
Eater names Katsuya South Beach one of the HOTTEST Sushi Restaurants in America!

Catering:
sbe Catering offers Katsuya's award-winning Japanese cuisine by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi at any location, for intimate dinners at home, meetings at the office or elaborate parties just about anywhere. Customize your event with tray-passed service, seated dinners or chef’s stations. sbe Catering can do it all! Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at the SLS Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Katsuya Uechi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From intimate to grand, let sbe Events + Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya South Beach accommodates up to 130 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails. Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Private Dining

From intimate to grand, let sbe Events & Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya South Beach accommodates up to 150 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology, sake and wine.

Katsuya- South Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

Noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (15)
Hot Spot (13)
Good for Groups (11)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Special Occasion (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Fun (6)
Romantic (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Casual (5)
People Watching (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Cozy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Business Meals (1)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
899 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (London)·Dined 2 days ago

Muy bueno. Recomendable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was average nothing outstanding not as expectic and given the highest prices.
Valet parking costs 25 dolars and we waited 25 minutes for our car

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Salvajemente caro teniendo en cuenta que he podido comer varias veces en KATSUYA LOS ANGELES y no lo supera, buena comida sin más adjetivos...me precio de haber comido en las mejores mesas del mundo y nunca me habían metido una cuchillada de este calibre por algo que no lo vale. Está claro que no volveremos.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Food always amazing. Service was great. Last time we waited an hour to be seated but this time we were seated right away

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

The experience was excellent and our waiter made the night funny

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

I love the Katsuya in LA so thought I would try this one. Very disappointing. Service was bad. The restaurant absolutely freezing. Decor very tired. Ambiance was lame. Food was subpar. Not recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great food and outstanding service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Me and my friend had a very upset stomach after our visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Quite possibly one of the worst experiences I have ever had. Not for want of trying by our waitress. Food was delayed in coming out, while all around us others had their dinners served and left. When I asked the manager what was the delay, as we had been waiting for 30 mins between courses, I was told that i had to understand that they were also catering to a party of 600 in the same kitchen. How that is my problem, I have no idea. When the third course did finally come out, my Branzino I will say was very tasty. The. Had to wait another 10 mins for my wife's foie gras to be served, which when it came had the texture of beef and was too heavily salted. At which point we left, paying for our drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Fab good great buzz really nice crowd! A Saturday night dinner experience could t get better than this. Love katsuya...

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 2, 2017

When on a date with my wife. Appetizers were excellent but the main course was disappointing, very disappointing!!! Food lacked flavor. For the price you'll pay here + $35 valet charge = go to Zuma instead!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Très décevant. Le wagyu en pâte était très quelconque et sans goût. Quand au riz frit avec tartare, il semblait avoir été préparé depuis très longtemps. Côté cuisine donc très ordinaire. Par contre le service est excellent et le décor très agréable.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 28, 2017

It's not worth... Food was ok but below expectations mainly because I've already been to other Katsuya restaurants and this is not at the same level. Service was ok to poor once the server could be in a better mood. Ambience / Decoration is ok but nothing that really impressed us. In the end I felt like I had paid too much for the "ok experience"...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The waygu was absolutely amazing. The lamb chops were not so good. I wasn't too happy about the fact that I got charged $18 for my coke beverage that I was just getting a refill on. I assumed they were opening up glass bottles but found out it was just a fountain drink. Thumbs down to that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The location was a little difficult to find initially because it's located inside SLS hotel than towards the back of the hotel. Once inside the restaurant the ambience was beautiful. Everyone that enters are greeted with a Japanese greeting which mean "welcome to my house ". The food was very good and waiter staff had excellent service skills. I really appreciate the manger coming to the table greeting us and checking on how the food was for use. I recommend Katsuya

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great food as always, great to go during Miami spoce

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Food is great, Mike our server was very helpful. Worth the visit despite the higher prices!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Everything was so fresh and delicious! From appetizers to desserts. The attention to detail is spectacular. Our server, Andres?, was provided us with excellent recommendations and is attention to our needs. The acoustics of the restaurant is a little bad but overall, we still had a great experience!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food was uneventful, overpriced, and took long to get to the table. The sitting is horrible, I felt like a sardine. Nothing in the restaurant showed elegance of fine dining. You can be shore that ok will never returned to this restaurant and I will express my bad experiences for the next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Sumamente ruidoso. Imposible hablar. Varios mozos al mismo tiempo venían a atender . Una mesa encima de la otra. Lamentable . Ya he recomendado a varios amigos que no vayan

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The waitress spilled HOT soup

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 9, 2017

It was my best friends birthday. Neither one of us had been here before and we were pleasantly surprised. The watermelon ceviche with assorted shellfish (scallops, octopus, tuna, cucumber), striped sea bass, rock shrimp tempura roll, Katsuya roll, donuts (passion fruit coulis), and salmon and tuna sashimi was really balanced and flavorful. The jasmine margarita and the geisha were great cocktails also. Would recommend friends and family to go dine out here in the SLS South Beach

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Awesome food ... wanted to try everything. The crispy brussel sprouts were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Usamos Miami Spice y la experiencia fue buena, esperábamos un poco más del restaurante en cuanto a la ambientación

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Great place. Would definitely come again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This was one of the best restaurants I've been to anywhere. Very high quality and great flavor. My only knock on it is their wine by the glass list needs lots of help.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Mehhhh. All hype no substance. Fish is quite good but at the price they charge it should be perfect which it is not. Service is terrible - not the fault of the staff - just terrible management. If the place was was 1/2 the price it would be a five star but at those prices - quality is not what u pay for - you pay for the cool name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The restaurant is loud and the tables are very close together, our elbows were practically touching the guests next to us. This is not the place for a private conversation or a first date. However, the food was fantastic. We really enjoyed everything. The food comes out as it is ready so if you are hoping for a logistical meal, order accordingly. We had an appetizer come out after our entrees. It was not a problem but note worthy for a next visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Had another amazing meal at Katsuya. Avian is the best server in S. Florida!

Only negative was they ran out of live scallops!! Other than that, perfect evening again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Fantastic experience. Dedicated staff. Impeccable dishes- the black cod is a can't miss! Fun atmosphere and appropriately priced for quality, ambiance, skilled staff, great location. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Amazing food, great atmosphere, and wonderful service by the waiter and manager who stopped by more than once.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Easy access when in SoBe. Earlier dinner side 7:30-9pm was light so reservations should be easy. Was filled by 9p. Spectacular quality fish for sushi. Don't pass up on the donuts for dessert....that's right donuts. Out of this world!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

A sushi lover's fave sushi place! Szechuan edamame was amazing. Crispy rice delish. Just excellent sushi and outstanding service. 5 stars.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Katsuya is always a good idea ! Fresh fish , tasty cocktails - never disappointed us yet !
Yes, it's pricy so I can't eat everyday here ... otherwise I would ! ;-)

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Definitely won't go back. First ac wasn't working, second waiter was kind of rude- I get it gratuity is included so you don't care but still, third our sashimi came out warm which was probably the best thing we had. For the prices we paid I was expecting everything to be delicious and great but it wasn't. Might as well gone to Nobu for a more expensive meal but delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

We usually visit Katsuya at least once when we're in south beach. Lively good food and fun.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Sushi was good but service was poor
I ordered the chef sushi comb and they just brought it to table without anyone talking about what they are. Sake was plopped down on the table without the waiter pouring it. Really disappointing for a high end sushi restsurant. Miso cod was good though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 21, 2017

everything was great except the price list very expensive .ambiance was great ,food was as well

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Always great service and delicious food. Love their wines by the glass and robata grill. We also had the wagu dumplings....outstanding !!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 16, 2017

Rewelacyjna kuchnia japoska.Przemiła atmosfera i obsługa .Polecam

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.