Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 41 times today

Katsuya- South Beach

4.4
1081 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • People Watching
  • Fun
  • Hot Spot
Deemed Los Angeles Times Readers’ "Best Sushi Restaurant” Katsuya is a culinary sensation. Featuring the dynamic pairing of Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi and design impresario Philippe Starck, Katsuya South Beach is truly a feast for the senses. With unique rolls and spectacular sushi and sashimi platters, Chef Uechi skillfully translates Japanese flavors to the American palate. Signature dishes include Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna, Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeño and Miso-Marinated Black Cod.

Go beyond Katsuya’s dining room and experience the sultry award-winning cocktail concoctions of the Dragon Lounge.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Sushi
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Seating 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm Sunday - Thursday
Seating 6:00 pm - 11:30 pm Friday - Saturday


icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(305) 455-2995
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Katsuya Uechi
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
sbe Catering offers Katsuya's award-winning Japanese cuisine by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi at any location, for intimate dinners at home, meetings at the office or elaborate parties just about anywhere. Customize your event with tray-passed service, seated dinners or chef’s stations. sbe Catering can do it all! Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
17th Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking is available at the SLS Hotel.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Eater names Katsuya South Beach one of the HOTTEST Sushi Restaurants in America!
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
From intimate to grand, let sbe Events + Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya South Beach accommodates up to 130 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails. Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

From intimate to grand, let sbe Events & Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya South Beach accommodates up to 150 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology, sake and wine.

View Private Dining Details
What 1081 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.2
service
4.2
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
77% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

We were served a delightful and delicious small plate os sushi while ordering . Nice touch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Katsuya never disappoints. Food and drinks are always flawless. The staff is very attentive and nice. Love coming here for birthdays.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Best sushi and wagyu, great service very recommended!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Love it! The food and ambiance are great. Service was good too. It’s definitely expensive considering the portion sizes (ex. 2 slices of sashimi for $11) but if you don’t mind spending a lot on food then I would definitely recommend you check it out. The doughnuts for dessert are amazing; definitely get them with ice cream!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Amazing. The server gave great recommendations

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Second time here. Great atmosphere, good food, and great service. Only negative is it is expensive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

The food here is amazing, my favourite sushi restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Amazing experience!! From being graciously greeted by Ladonna to enjoying some delicious happy hour cocktails in the Dragon Lounge, to the incredible meal in the main dining area. Everything about our experience at Katsuya was top notch. All of the food and drinks were incredible - my favorite being the crispy rice app and miso black cod entree. A must go in Miami! I only wish we stayed longer so that we could visit Katsuya again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

I had the most wonderful time dining at this beautiful restaurant.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 3, 2018

No good quality of the fish

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

The food was amazing! Enjoyed trying the baked crab hand roll, wagyu dumplings, and crispy rice spicy tuna! So many good things on the menu to try and fun bc they are small tastings and there is great variety!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

The food was unbelievable! We loved everything we ordered

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 30, 2018

The place is very noisy, you can talk at all with your diners. The service doesn t exist and the prices are crazy;very bad value for money.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 28, 2018

I have dined in the restaurant multiple times; this time the service was horrible. We were seated and no one approached our table for 20 minutes. Finally after asking multiple staff members we placed our drink orders and food order. We found out that our server was busy so other servers were helping him out. Once our server got caught up, he came to our table and did not apologize for the delay. He did not ask us if we need anything or if our food was to our liking. He did not engage with us at all. We were noticing he was engaging with all his other tables. Its a shame you have a serve at your fine establishment like him.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

The lobster dynamite was so good I wanted to lick the plate and the lobster shell!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 27, 2018

The restaurant was overbooked and dealing with it badly

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Amazing food and great service. Loved the pashmina because I was cold. Nathaniel’s drinks were fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Asked if I could meet w a chef and he came over to my table to say hello and was very sweet and they have a great service, beautiful ambiance. Definitely recommend to everyone

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Great with kids

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

We expected more. Service was lacking. Portions were small. Food was average with the exception of the Miso Black Cod which was very good (we also had the rock shrimp, baked crab roll, spicy tuna on crispy rice and the waygu gyoza). With only two nights in Miami, we wished we would have picked a different restaurant.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Food was delicious and the service was outstanding. Service partly because the only reservation we could get was 6:45 stand there was no one in the restaurant. That said, we say down and orders a drink and a few appetizers. They were delivered before our drinks came and we actually could have been out do the restaurant on 30 minutes. We asked for our server (very attentive and good) to slow down as we felt rushed they dinner. I would like to say we would give it a another go, but I’m not sure.
The food was delicious though. But I do think you are after something else and that is a dining experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Katsuya is a good restaurant but rather pricey given the quality of the food. If you’re already in South Beach, it’s worth a visit. However, I am unlikely to return. Nothing special.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Fantástica comida y Servicio totalmente recomendable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

It was the best !!!!!! Shoutout to the manager BUBAAAA

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 14, 2018

My mom said if you have nothing nice to say then say nothing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

They had a great choice of fresh sushi the live clams & live scallops were fantastic.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Food wasn’t amazing, had to wait really long

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Katsuya is a trendy restaurant with excellent customer service. They have an eccentric Asian fusion menu, which is executed to perfection. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 6, 2018

If I could leave 0 I would. A restaurant that thinks it’s the best but quite frankly there’s other sushi restaurants far superior

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Sushi very fresh. Wagyu beef and foie gras excellent taste and value and portion size. Ambience meh. Price reasonable and our waitress was good. Not easy to find tucked inside sls hotel. Would def go back for wagyu and sushi.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Great ambience. Nice selection of sushi and cooked foods. Robata beef brussel sprouts baked crab hand rolls and excellent cod. Great waiter and recommendations in pretty sls location

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Crab roll and rock shrimp were awesome!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 2, 2018

We were 5 and they gave us a very small table. The restaurant was empty. 10 min to bring the menu

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great Food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Excelente !

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2018

The servers have no personalities and seem unhappy! No one smiles there. Very unfriendly waitstaff and therefore, ruined the experience. Plus horrible noise level and poor service time

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Excellent food. Been here before. But this time the music was extremly loud. Couldnt have a conversation over the table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Spring Break with our kids!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 27, 2018

I had been looking forward to eating at Katsuya and I have to say that I was disappointed. The food was amazing - interesting and so tasty. My sincere compliments to the kitchen. However, our service was terrible. Several times I had to look for our waiter and twice, the host had to help us. Miami has a mandatory service charge of 18% for waitstaff and this is one meal I wished I didn’t have to pay it.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 26, 2018

This restaurant is highly overrated. Sushi at best average, grilled dishes gloppy with unremarkable bbq sauce, and wait staff distracted. Way past it’s prime

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
28

Tweets by Katsuya- South Beach