Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Katsuya- South Beach

Deemed Los Angeles Times Readers’ "Best Sushi Restaurant” Katsuya is a culinary sensation. Featuring the dynamic pairing of Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi and design impresario Philippe Starck, Katsuya South Beach is truly a feast for the senses. With unique rolls and spectacular sushi and sashimi platters, Chef Uechi skillfully translates Japanese flavors to the American palate. Signature dishes include Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna, Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeño and Miso-Marinated Black Cod.

Go beyond Katsuya’s dining room and experience the sultry award-winning cocktail concoctions of the Dragon Lounge.

1701 Collins Ave.
Miami Beach, FL 33139
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Seating 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm Sunday - Thursday
Seating 6:00 pm - 11:30 pm Friday - Saturday


Cross Street:
17th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 455-2995

Website:
http://katsuyarestaurant.com/southbeach/

Entertainment:
Eater names Katsuya South Beach one of the HOTTEST Sushi Restaurants in America!

Catering:
sbe Catering offers Katsuya's award-winning Japanese cuisine by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi at any location, for intimate dinners at home, meetings at the office or elaborate parties just about anywhere. Customize your event with tray-passed service, seated dinners or chef’s stations. sbe Catering can do it all! Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at the SLS Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Katsuya Uechi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From intimate to grand, let sbe Events + Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya South Beach accommodates up to 130 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails. Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Private Dining

From intimate to grand, let sbe Events & Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya South Beach accommodates up to 150 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology, sake and wine.

Katsuya- South Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Hot Spot (40)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Creative Cuisine (31)
See All
Modern Decor (30)
Good for a Date (28)
Fun (22)
Special Occasion (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
People Watching (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Healthy (11)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Authentic (10)
Casual (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Romantic (7)
Happy Hour (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Tapas (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Spicy (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Waterfront (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Family Style (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Cozy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
809 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Ultra music festival was going on outside. It was very loud to say the least. Waiter was nice but seemed too busy and had too many tables to deal with. Was very inattentive. Food was very good but not worth the $$$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

So noisy couldn't wait to leave, parking was outrageous

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

A notre deuxième visite on est toujours aussi étonné de l'originalité et la qualité des plats servis
Le décors est magnifique et le service irréprochable
A refaire encore et encore

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

This is overpriced Americanized Japanese food and seemingly a tourist trap. I would not return and it stings to have paid for the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

LOVE.THIS.PLACE
Everything about the Katsuya is just outstanding!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent ambiance, excellent service. Lots of food that should be advertised in advance, we have to leave food on the table. Expensive but worth it. Hot spot. High level of noise. Quick service considering it was full of people.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Trendy restaurant located at the SLS Hotel. Dressy and casual atmosphere. Great table service and delicious sushi and appetizers. Cocktails are well-crafted. Moderate menu size but quality choices. Baked snow crab hand rolls are fantastic.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The hardest thing we had to do here was winnow down the menu because everything seemed so attractive. In the end we ate a bit too much because it was so good. Not a bad problem to have. Very friendly staff.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The hostess and waitress I had were top notch👌👌

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food wasn't anything special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great sushi, great sake selection and great staff! We really enjoyed our evening at Katsuya. We highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great food and great service! The sushi was fresh and fantastic. The cocktails creative, not too sweet. And our server was a delightful woman whose name I tried to remember, but it was too unique.

The only negative was the cold hostess who walked us to the table and responded to my "thank you" with "no problem".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 8, 2017

A god sushi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The food was excellent. However the dining room was very loud. Service was also very poor

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The signature Wagyu Foie Gras was outstandingly delicious, tender melt in your mouth. A must try. The Sushi sampler was very fresh also.
Our server Elisa was very good, amiable pleasing and warm. Made our late night dining experience most pleasurable. We'll surely return!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fun, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 28, 2017

2nd time there. First time was a wow , this time ok. Environment needs a refresh. Waiter convinced me to try a toro special...we were disappointed - way too fussy. Toro doesn't need to be dressed up( I should have know. Enter and resisted)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The tables are a bit close together so there is not a lot of privacy or intimacy if you are looking for quiet conversation

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great server,Alicia made our dinner delicious and fun, She gave good suggestions and showed true interest in making sure we had a great time and enjoyed what we ordered.
This food is complex and interesting-full of savory tastes ,hints of heat .. that make you want more.... love this restaurant !

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Spicy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Everything was delicious! Not one thing disappointed- in fact was one of best meals ever!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Best sushi I ever had !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Service was okay. Starters arrived before our drinks. Rock shrimp needed more sauce. Overall food was great. Would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food is amazing and service is perfect ! We will be back !

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The sls hotel where this is located is absolutely beautiful. Highly reco to go early and get a drink there before dinner at the bar outside the restaurant (bar Centro). We did the tasting menu at Katsuya and it was awesome! Lots of selections from the chefs signature dishes which were delicious! Def plenty of food! Lotus flower drink was super tasty. However , the Service wasn't the greatest -- never got waters til after the first course came out, all of our utensils were removed and prepped for dessert when they realized they still had one more sushi course to serve us, waiter wasn't really around a ton, etc...

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We went to Katsuya as one of our two nights out of 4 nights in Miami. We had a sitter and we were looking forward to sushi. We were greeted promptly but that is the ONLY positive comment I can leave about this restaurant. We ordered 3 appetizers , one of which was a salad and then 4 sushi rolls. Apps came (Brussels were more oily than they were crispy), crunchy rice w tuna was chewy and I wish I could comment on the sushi but it never arrived. We waited an HOUR. From the time they dropped the apps to an hour later the FOUR sushi rolls never arrived. We were over it so asked for the check.... of which they discounted an app or two and then we left. The two tables surrounding us that left were left with dishes and half eaten food on them that we had to stare at for over a half am hour. Awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Servers are timely, informative and friendly. The food is fantastic. Our group of three shared six or seven items. We had a hard time choosing our favorites. All were unique and delicious.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Katsura was excellent all the way around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Awesome service, food !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 15, 2017

After years of going to Katsuya and always enjoying it we had a horrendous meal last night. If a restaurant is going to take a 10:30 reservation ( which is all they had) than they should treat you the same way they would treat a 7:30 reservation but instead they rushed us out of there in 45 minutes they served us 5 different dishes that all stunk. The lobster which is always my favorite came out so tough it was inedible. Not sure if was because of the time or the holiday or they just went down hill but I won't be going back to find out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excelente el vino y la atención además de una asesoría con el menú no es barato pero sus costos son los justos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Perfect dinner and drinks good was impeccable and the service was a+

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Good but sushi has too much rice. Needs black or brown rice option.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Sadly, I wouldn't recommend it for anything...except maybe the fact that the staff was friendly.
We eat at lots of Japanese restaurants. This was the WORST. The vegetable tempura was very heavy on the outside and mushy on the inside (couldn't identify the veg....maybe they were pureed?!) The spicy tempura shrimp roll was bizarre: the gloppy, soggy shrimp 'balls' sat ON TOP of each piece instead of being 'part of', making them impossible to eat. The sushi, admittedly, was passable, but we've had better from our local Whole Foods.
The music is pondingly loud American techno! The room (in a art deco hotel built as a Ritz...now SLS) is pretty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was very salty. I missed the grilled octopus from the menu.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Cocktails, food, and service were excellent! I'd come back on my next trip to Miami.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Cool ambiance sexy vibe. The sushi was really nothing to rave about though

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Delicious as always! Perfect helpful service, fabulous wines, and tasty solid food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Atmosphere was pretty good but sushi was just average! I expected it to be much better

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food was mediocre Service by David was outstanding. It got a little noisy. Overall a good experience but would not consider it a top restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Service was pleasant enough but the food, aside from the Brussels sprouts, was rather disappointing. Sushi was rather bland. I would not recommend for the prices charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Fantastic sushi and excellent customer service is what you can expect at Katsuya. There are many options when it comes to sushi, including more expensive ones. However, when it comes to quality of food, friendly customer service, on time seating for reservations and a fun atmosphere - Katsuya wins - hands down!

We were celebrating our engagement weekend and the manager brought out champagne for the table - very classy and much appreciated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.