About Katsuya- South Beach

1701 Collins Ave.
Miami Beach, FL 33139
View Larger Map

Deemed Los Angeles Times Readers’ "Best Sushi Restaurant” Katsuya is a culinary sensation. Featuring the dynamic pairing of Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi and design impresario Philippe Starck, Katsuya South Beach is truly a feast for the senses. With unique rolls and spectacular sushi and sashimi platters, Chef Uechi skillfully translates Japanese flavors to the American palate. Signature dishes include Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna, Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeño and Miso-Marinated Black Cod.

Go beyond Katsuya’s dining room and experience the sultry award-winning cocktail concoctions of the Dragon Lounge.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Seating 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm Sunday - Thursday
Seating 6:00 pm - 11:30 pm Friday - Saturday


Cross Street:
17th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 455-2995

Website:
http://katsuyarestaurant.com/southbeach/

Entertainment:
Eater names Katsuya South Beach one of the HOTTEST Sushi Restaurants in America!

Catering:
sbe Catering offers Katsuya's award-winning Japanese cuisine by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi at any location, for intimate dinners at home, meetings at the office or elaborate parties just about anywhere. Customize your event with tray-passed service, seated dinners or chef’s stations. sbe Catering can do it all! Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at the SLS Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Katsuya Uechi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From intimate to grand, let sbe Events + Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya South Beach accommodates up to 130 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails. Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Restaurant Photos

Rock Shrimp Tempura - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Foie Gras Dumplings - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Miso-Marinated Black Cod - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Unagi Nigiri - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Tai Nigiri - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Negitoro Maki - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Uni Nigiri - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Local + Wild Caught Sushi Omakase - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Sake Nigiri - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Hamachi Nigiri - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Jumbo Scallop Nigiri - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Wahoo Nigiri - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Halibut Nigiri - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Mackerel Nigiri - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Tamago Nigiri  - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Madai Nigiri - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
otoro nigiri - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Stuffed Eggplant - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Kiwi Envy Cocktail - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Crispy Chicken Salad - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Sushi - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Eggs Benedict Sls Style - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Civiche With Sea Food - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Coconut Creamy Rice - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL

Private Dining

From intimate to grand, let sbe Events & Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya South Beach accommodates up to 150 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology, sake and wine.

Katsuya- South Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Miami / Southeast Florida
Japanese
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Miami Beach / South Beach ›

Hot Spot (23)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for a Date (20)
See All
Special Occasion (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Modern Decor (14)
Fun (13)
Romantic (10)
Casual (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
People Watching (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Authentic (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Business Meals (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Scenic View (3)
Tapas (3)
Healthy (3)
Spicy (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Cozy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
693 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went for my sister's birthday and had ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

We went for my sister's birthday and had an amazing experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service food was excellent and our ...

 
 (México)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service food was excellent and our waiter Andres was really helpful suggesting dishes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although I specified I wanted a 'special ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Although I specified I wanted a 'special table' (not in a corner) because it was my bday, that is what I got. We ordered 5 dishes and a bottle of wine; they brought the wine with the 4th plate. Unacceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Food was awesome! Service impeccable! It ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was awesome! Service impeccable! It was a great evening.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our second time there, and we were not d ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our second time there, and we were not disappointed! The food is excellent, and the service is great. Will return every time we visit Miami Beach.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hands down best thing on the menu is the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Hands down best thing on the menu is the beef wagyu with fois gras. (Get the full size order NOT the grill.) everything is always delicious. Bazaar has a bit better atmosphere but Katsuya is my go to every time we're in South Beach.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great starters. Unforgettable yellow tai ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great starters. Unforgettable yellow tail and crab roll

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We split the Chef tasting menu between t ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We split the Chef tasting menu between the two of us then ordered some additional sushi. What a great way to taste the many delights of this restaurant. Excellent rock shrimp appetizer and some of the freshest sushi ever. Great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been to Katsuya restaurants many ti ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I've been to Katsuya restaurants many times in LA and always enjoyed the great food and attentive service. Unfortunately, my South Beach experience didn't live up to the LA standard.

After my partner and I sat and were eating, the tables on either side of us were filled with couples who somehow decided that the restaurant was the place for them to express their personal affections - for most of the meal.

In addition to being ignored for the rest of the meal by our waitress - once the amorous couples arrived, the evening just became uncomfortable.

It's great to see people in love (or maybe just lust) but I prefer not to share such intimate moments with strangers while trying to enjoy a not-inexpensive meal.

It would have been great for management to pay attention to such things, as it really was a spoiler for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

Tables are too close what is very uncomf ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Tables are too close what is very uncomfortable. The tasting menu is too expensive for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Very disappointed I go often to Katsuya, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Very disappointed I go often to Katsuya, made reservation at 9 didn't get the table till 940, no one cared to apologize even after I complained and asked why we didn't have the table or why they would accept our reservation at that time. Service was really bad and had to ask for things two or three times including just getting some water.

Hope it was a one time thing but for now will head to Nobilu or Zuma for when guests are in town .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

The wagyu beef with foie gras is amazing ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The wagyu beef with foie gras is amazing! Service was good. Loved everything we ordered

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I wanted to eat sushi on my 40th Birthda ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I wanted to eat sushi on my 40th Birthday so we booked ahead at Katsuya. The place was almost full when we arrived but we didn't wait any time to get our table. The hostesses are friendly and the waiters offer great advice on the menu. We had the tuna sushi cakes and a soup to start our meal. We also tried the Katsuya Roll and the Spicy Tuna Roll, but the top plate we had was the Japanese Risotto. The mushrooms and truffled butter blended so well with the risotto that we enjoyed every part of it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was really great all around. Our kids lo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Was really great all around. Our kids loved it too. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great evening and fantastic menu. A litt ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great evening and fantastic menu. A little difficult to find since it is in the back of a boutique hotel and you have to walk through another restaurant to get to Katsuya.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant really lived up to my ex ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 3, 2016

This restaurant really lived up to my expectations. I had a Tuna appetizer in a delicious spicy sauce followed by Lobster. Both dishes were prepared to perfection. The staff were excellent and the ambience was delightful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress Elise was amazing!

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Our waitress Elise was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Choices were perfect for our gluten free ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Choices were perfect for our gluten free diner. Two of us shared items and that was very satisfying. The truffled risotto was over the top.

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful service, delicious food, great ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Wonderful service, delicious food, great ambiance: you can't ask for anything more. Would recommend highly! Must try the ceviche & the waygu ribeye, absolutely perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and atmosphere were both very good.

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food and atmosphere were both very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I made the reservation under a special o ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I made the reservation under a special occasion and they suggested a special table where we can sit besides each other. Upon our arrival, they did not accommodate. The general manager did not make any attempts to accommodate and said "I am sorry". Disappointed!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food and knowledgeable staff. Food ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great food and knowledgeable staff. Food flavors for sushi rolls was great.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Andres was our waiter and he was excelle ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Andres was our waiter and he was excellent, attentive and offered great suggestions and never missed a beat when it came to checking on us! Food was delicious as always (some of the best sushi ever!) and great cocktails!

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Scenic View, Authentic, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

En general bien , pero cuando pedimos el ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 8, 2016

En general bien , pero cuando pedimos el toro en sashimi, que tenía un costo de USD 24 , nos robaron ya que eran dos feats extremadamente chicas. Comparándolo con restaurantes del mismo nivel, la cantidad fue muy pobre y el precio muy alto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Service was so great! Food was delicious ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Service was so great! Food was delicious and we had an incredible bottle of red from 1986. AMAZING!

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Spicy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food! Nice service and ambience! I ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Good food! Nice service and ambience! I will return for sure !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great but way too loud

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great but way too loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Basically i cant remember when

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Basically i cant remember when

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

It's was very nice it the food was good ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 2, 2016

It's was very nice it the food was good and the Japanese Resesto was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Muy buena cocina.

vip
 (México)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Muy buena cocina.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was delicious, our server Andres wa ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Food was delicious, our server Andres was great, very attentive and made good conversation. His recommendations were very tasty as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

La comida es buena pero el precio es muy ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 25, 2016

La comida es buena pero el precio es muy alto gastamos 400 dolares 4 personas y quedamos con hambre.

Tags: punto de atracción
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Our first visit to KATSUYA and we had a ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Our first visit to KATSUYA and we had a FANTASTIC dining experience. I highly recommend the full Chef's Menu for a well rounded exposure to what this great restaurant can do.

Presentation was awesome. Service was VERY SPECIAL as each member of the waitstaff was VERY well educated about all items on the menu and able to discuss every item thoroughly. Very nice and extensive SAKE list and we enjoyed a beautiful bottle ..... again, the staff was VERY knowledgeable about all the Sake offerings as well. This evening was for my daughter's birthday and they were very willing to male a birthday dessert presentation which was VERY nice

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

Great restaurant! Amazing food and outst ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great restaurant! Amazing food and outstanding service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We're from Miami, so it's only events li ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We're from Miami, so it's only events like Miami Spice that entice us to venture to South Beach and deal with the traffic, parking, and the reputation for bad service at restaurants in that area. We had reservations for Wednesday at 7:30 and found a nearly empty restaurant but were greeted warmly by the staff. After we were seated the server brought us the regular menu and their Chef Katsuya Uechi's Tasting menu ($65 per person), but when we asked about their Miami Spice menu ($39 per person), the server said it was not available even though it was listed as available on their web site.

Anyway, we were already there and hungry and ordered off their regular menu. The Baked Crab Hand Rolls were a delicious appetizer that we all enjoyed. My wife and I chose the Omakase Sushi and Sashimi platters, which included a variety of very fresh fish, shrimp, roe and uni. It was very tasty, light and satisfying.

We spent more that we had originally intended but overall it was a nice experience for a South Beach restaurant. We may come back during next year's Miami Spice, but next time we'll call ahead to verify that they really do offer the Miami Spice menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Barb & I went for the Katsuya omasake me ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Barb & I went for the Katsuya omasake meal - the first time Kaysuya was at the restaurant was over 2 years ago. The quality of the fish - sashimi and sushi was very good. Overpriced I thought - the $185 bottle of junmai diajinjo sake can be found on-line for $29 to $56.They do offer 50% off of all sakes on Sundays. The omasake meal was OK - short ribs are short ribs but they were nested in black squid ink ramen noodles - the noodles were actually better than the meat. We had to order extra sushi after the meal to get our fill. The uni from CA (I'm guessing Santa Barbara) was bad. We were kind of expecting Katsuya to come out to greet the omasake meal patrons - guess not. $25 cash only for parking @ the hotel.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

El lugar es un poquito pequeño pero la a ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 11, 2016

El lugar es un poquito pequeño pero la atención y la comida es excelente, la carne con Foie Grass 100% recomendada

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for Sushi in the SLS the sta ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great place for Sushi in the SLS the staff makes sure everyone is well taken care off, come prepared as you will pay for this good food and service. One of the top spots in Miami.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Very good food. And sushi!!!

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Very good food. And sushi!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I have never enjoyed sushi or brussel sp ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2016

I have never enjoyed sushi or brussel sprouts until I came here. The food was delicious and flavorful and our server was amazing. The dessert was also unbelievably delectable. I would go here again and again if I lived closer.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.