About Katsuya- South Beach

1701 Collins Ave.
Miami Beach, FL 33139
View Larger Map

Deemed Los Angeles Times Readers’ "Best Sushi Restaurant” Katsuya is a culinary sensation. Featuring the dynamic pairing of Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi and design impresario Philippe Starck, Katsuya South Beach is truly a feast for the senses. With unique rolls and spectacular sushi and sashimi platters, Chef Uechi skillfully translates Japanese flavors to the American palate. Signature dishes include Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna, Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeño and Miso-Marinated Black Cod.

Go beyond Katsuya’s dining room and experience the sultry award-winning cocktail concoctions of the Dragon Lounge.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Seating 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm Sunday - Thursday
Seating 6:00 pm - 11:30 pm Friday - Saturday


Cross Street:
17th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 455-2995

Website:
http://katsuyarestaurant.com/southbeach/

Entertainment:
Eater names Katsuya South Beach one of the HOTTEST Sushi Restaurants in America!

Catering:
sbe Catering offers Katsuya's award-winning Japanese cuisine by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi at any location, for intimate dinners at home, meetings at the office or elaborate parties just about anywhere. Customize your event with tray-passed service, seated dinners or chef’s stations. sbe Catering can do it all! Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at the SLS Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Katsuya Uechi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From intimate to grand, let sbe Events + Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya South Beach accommodates up to 130 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails. Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Rock Shrimp Tempura - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Foie Gras Dumplings - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Miso-Marinated Black Cod - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Unagi Nigiri - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Tai Nigiri - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Negitoro Maki - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Uni Nigiri - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Local + Wild Caught Sushi Omakase - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Sake Nigiri - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Hamachi Nigiri - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Jumbo Scallop Nigiri - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Wahoo Nigiri - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Halibut Nigiri - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Mackerel Nigiri - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Tamago Nigiri  - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Madai Nigiri - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
otoro nigiri - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Stuffed Eggplant - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Kiwi Envy Cocktail - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Crispy Chicken Salad - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Sushi - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Eggs Benedict Sls Style - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Civiche With Sea Food - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL
Coconut Creamy Rice - Katsuya- South Beach, Miami Beach, FL

Private Dining

From intimate to grand, let sbe Events & Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya South Beach accommodates up to 150 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology, sake and wine.

Katsuya- South Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (27)
Hot Spot (24)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Modern Decor (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Fun (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Casual (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
People Watching (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Authentic (7)
Romantic (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Business Meals (5)
Tapas (4)
Scenic View (4)
Healthy (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Spicy (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Family Style (1)
Cozy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
756 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and great server (not sure if ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and great server (not sure if that's the correct title for him). He recommended dishes we weren't looking at and got my kids to try sushi and the brussel sprouts! Everything was excellent! Wish we had it Chicago!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tasting menu for $80 was a very gene ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The tasting menu for $80 was a very generous amount of food. However the dishes lacked creativity/uniqueness. I didn't feel like anything was particularly special. I would likely not do the tasting menu again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Had some excelente quality nigiri with v ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Had some excelente quality nigiri with very fresh fish in a dish called Katsuya Omakase. We were also surprised by the excelente quality of the Wagyu Ribeye. We also shared several appetizers all of which were incredibly taste. Great service food and overall experience.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food is amazing. Highly recommend the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Food is amazing. Highly recommend the cod.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived early and checked-in at the f ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

We arrived early and checked-in at the front desk. They directed us to the bar upstairs. We had a fantastic time and the bartender was excellent. He provided food and drink recommendations that were all exceptional. The atmosphere was great as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excelente te comida. Buen ambiente. Exce ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excelente te comida. Buen ambiente. Excelente servicio. Siempre es un placer regresar a este lugar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was 2nd time here and it was anothe ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This was 2nd time here and it was another great experience. Great food paired with very knowledgable waiter, Mike.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The website description of "sleek and su ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The website description of "sleek and sultry" interior is somewhat over the top. And as far as we could tell, if there were "Hollywood A-listers", they had come off the list ions ago. Service was California-vibe friendly and knowledgeable. Sushi pieces (and I've spent a lot of time in Japan) were SMALL (fine if the establishment is serving top-notch/caught in Japanese waters/super fresh fish, which it was not) and the selection was limited. The sushi is just so-so. Slightly distracted by all the botox-enhanced middle-aged women in the crowd - way too many selfies. This is not a restaurant which is filled to the brim with really knowledgeable foodies but rather a crowd that is focused more on "I'm here, see me, see me."

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

no way this way waygu ribeye, it was pla ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

no way this way waygu ribeye, it was plain old sirloin and way overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Excellent food, good service

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Excellent food, good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I was there with my girlfriend, the rest ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I was there with my girlfriend, the restaurant was not full, The reception was very good, the wine that I want order they don't have and the second also! The sever was very friendly say sorry many times, it's simply bad organization from the management. We order 6 appetizer they was excellent and 2 main course 1 of them was completely salted the waiter change immediately. So in all place can happen something so I will go again to give a other chance.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

When serving the omikase, the server sho ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

When serving the omikase, the server should tell you what on your plate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Crispy rice tuna and hamachi yellowtail ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Crispy rice tuna and hamachi yellowtail are a MUST! Hostess, server and manager were very attentive. I will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was all really delicious, fresh ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was all really delicious, fresh, and creative. The brussel sprouts dish was outstanding and I highly recommend them. The grilled mushrooms were also flavorful and a highlight of the meal.

The service, however, was awful. There must have only been one waiter for the entire dining room. It became routine for our table and the surrounding parties to spend most of the meal trying to flag down the waiter. Frankly I've had better service at AppleBees. And the essentially mandatory 18% service charge added salt to the wound.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

Great sushi!!! Really great

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great sushi!!! Really great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Maybe because of the holiday, but we fel ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Maybe because of the holiday, but we felt rushed to order, eat and leave. Pleasant wait staff. Weak cocktails....not the best tasting lotus flower drink. Food was not as warm, lobster looked good but rubbery. Seating too crowded for relaxing dinner. But worth the NYE experience.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful experience, friendly staff, am ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Wonderful experience, friendly staff, amazing food!

Tags: Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waited an hour for our table

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Waited an hour for our table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Gave away our table Disorganized at from ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Gave away our table

Disorganized at from desk

Had to ask for water all night

Short on staff or not trained

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

The restaurant was very noisy so it was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The restaurant was very noisy so it was difficult to talk. Food was good, especially the spicy tuna on crispy rice and the blackened cod. It is pricey, especially the wine list, but probably typical for this area. I would definitely go again to try some of the other dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was absolutely delicious and th ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious and the ambience was great. Service also excellent. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food!!! Out waiter was wonderful ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Amazing food!!! Out waiter was wonderful!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best sushi and food I've ever had!

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Best sushi and food I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Your food is the star. Don't try too har ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Your food is the star. Don't try too hard with loud music, gimmicks and silly fake Japanese shout outs. You are a restaurant with respectable food created by talented chefs , not a night club.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

The food was fresh and delicious!! Worth ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The food was fresh and delicious!! Worth the $$$. Our waitress was knowledgeable about the menu and had excellent recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfection!!!! Alyssa is awesome.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Perfection!!!! Alyssa is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything is good but the filet mignon ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Everything is good but the filet mignon is to die for

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first visit to Katsuya and i ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 13, 2016

This was my first visit to Katsuya and it won't be the last. We had a fantastic dinner, everything was wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Sunday Evening Dinner, just a few table ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Sunday Evening Dinner, just a few tables occupied.

Very lonely even tough it is supposed to be high season.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Always wonderful

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Always wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is verry good. We expected more fro ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Food is verry good. We expected more from the styling since i've been to Felix in Hongkong and restaurant Kong in Paris.

South beach decor could be more flashy, now average feel to it. Not recommended for romantic night. The crispy Rice and the wagyu with foie gras were excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Food is good but service is a disaster f ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food is good but service is a disaster from the manager on down. Also, they don't have onsite parking so plan on waiting 20 minutes for your car. Zuma, Nobu or Sushisamba are much better choices in Miami Beach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

We went for my sister's birthday and had ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We went for my sister's birthday and had an amazing experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service food was excellent and our ...

 
 (México)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great service food was excellent and our waiter Andres was really helpful suggesting dishes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although I specified I wanted a 'special ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Although I specified I wanted a 'special table' (not in a corner) because it was my bday, that is what I got. We ordered 5 dishes and a bottle of wine; they brought the wine with the 4th plate. Unacceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Food was awesome! Service impeccable! It ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Food was awesome! Service impeccable! It was a great evening.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our second time there, and we were not d ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our second time there, and we were not disappointed! The food is excellent, and the service is great. Will return every time we visit Miami Beach.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hands down best thing on the menu is the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Hands down best thing on the menu is the beef wagyu with fois gras. (Get the full size order NOT the grill.) everything is always delicious. Bazaar has a bit better atmosphere but Katsuya is my go to every time we're in South Beach.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great starters. Unforgettable yellow tai ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great starters. Unforgettable yellow tail and crab roll

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We split the Chef tasting menu between t ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We split the Chef tasting menu between the two of us then ordered some additional sushi. What a great way to taste the many delights of this restaurant. Excellent rock shrimp appetizer and some of the freshest sushi ever. Great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.