About Katsuya- South Beach

Deemed Los Angeles Times Readers’ "Best Sushi Restaurant” Katsuya is a culinary sensation. Featuring the dynamic pairing of Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi and design impresario Philippe Starck, Katsuya South Beach is truly a feast for the senses. With unique rolls and spectacular sushi and sashimi platters, Chef Uechi skillfully translates Japanese flavors to the American palate. Signature dishes include Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna, Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeño and Miso-Marinated Black Cod.

Go beyond Katsuya’s dining room and experience the sultry award-winning cocktail concoctions of the Dragon Lounge.

1701 Collins Ave.
Miami Beach, FL 33139
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Seating 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm Sunday - Thursday
Seating 6:00 pm - 11:30 pm Friday - Saturday


Cross Street:
17th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 455-2995

Website:
http://katsuyarestaurant.com/southbeach/

Entertainment:
Eater names Katsuya South Beach one of the HOTTEST Sushi Restaurants in America!

Catering:
sbe Catering offers Katsuya's award-winning Japanese cuisine by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi at any location, for intimate dinners at home, meetings at the office or elaborate parties just about anywhere. Customize your event with tray-passed service, seated dinners or chef’s stations. sbe Catering can do it all! Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at the SLS Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Katsuya Uechi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From intimate to grand, let sbe Events + Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya South Beach accommodates up to 130 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails. Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Private Dining

From intimate to grand, let sbe Events & Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya South Beach accommodates up to 150 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology, sake and wine.

Katsuya- South Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (35)
Hot Spot (33)
Fit for Foodies (31)
See All
Modern Decor (29)
Good for a Date (27)
Special Occasion (18)
Fun (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
People Watching (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Casual (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Healthy (9)
Business Meals (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Authentic (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Tapas (6)
Romantic (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Scenic View (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Spicy (3)
Waterfront (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Cozy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
789 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was okay. Starters arrived before our drinks. Rock shrimp needed more sauce. Overall food was great. Would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Food is amazing and service is perfect ! We will be back !

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The sls hotel where this is located is absolutely beautiful. Highly reco to go early and get a drink there before dinner at the bar outside the restaurant (bar Centro). We did the tasting menu at Katsuya and it was awesome! Lots of selections from the chefs signature dishes which were delicious! Def plenty of food! Lotus flower drink was super tasty. However , the Service wasn't the greatest -- never got waters til after the first course came out, all of our utensils were removed and prepped for dessert when they realized they still had one more sushi course to serve us, waiter wasn't really around a ton, etc...

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We went to Katsuya as one of our two nights out of 4 nights in Miami. We had a sitter and we were looking forward to sushi. We were greeted promptly but that is the ONLY positive comment I can leave about this restaurant. We ordered 3 appetizers , one of which was a salad and then 4 sushi rolls. Apps came (Brussels were more oily than they were crispy), crunchy rice w tuna was chewy and I wish I could comment on the sushi but it never arrived. We waited an HOUR. From the time they dropped the apps to an hour later the FOUR sushi rolls never arrived. We were over it so asked for the check.... of which they discounted an app or two and then we left. The two tables surrounding us that left were left with dishes and half eaten food on them that we had to stare at for over a half am hour. Awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Servers are timely, informative and friendly. The food is fantastic. Our group of three shared six or seven items. We had a hard time choosing our favorites. All were unique and delicious.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Katsura was excellent all the way around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Awesome service, food !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 15, 2017

After years of going to Katsuya and always enjoying it we had a horrendous meal last night. If a restaurant is going to take a 10:30 reservation ( which is all they had) than they should treat you the same way they would treat a 7:30 reservation but instead they rushed us out of there in 45 minutes they served us 5 different dishes that all stunk. The lobster which is always my favorite came out so tough it was inedible. Not sure if was because of the time or the holiday or they just went down hill but I won't be going back to find out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excelente el vino y la atención además de una asesoría con el menú no es barato pero sus costos son los justos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Perfect dinner and drinks good was impeccable and the service was a+

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Good but sushi has too much rice. Needs black or brown rice option.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Sadly, I wouldn't recommend it for anything...except maybe the fact that the staff was friendly.

We eat at lots of Japanese restaurants. This was the WORST. The vegetable tempura was very heavy on the outside and mushy on the inside (couldn't identify the veg....maybe they were pureed?!) The spicy tempura shrimp roll was bizarre: the gloppy, soggy shrimp 'balls' sat ON TOP of each piece instead of being 'part of', making them impossible to eat. The sushi, admittedly, was passable, but we've had better from our local Whole Foods.

The music is pondingly loud American techno! The room (in a art deco hotel built as a Ritz...now SLS) is pretty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was very salty. I missed the grilled octopus from the menu.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Cocktails, food, and service were excellent! I'd come back on my next trip to Miami.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Cool ambiance sexy vibe. The sushi was really nothing to rave about though

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Delicious as always! Perfect helpful service, fabulous wines, and tasty solid food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Atmosphere was pretty good but sushi was just average! I expected it to be much better

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food was mediocre Service by David was outstanding. It got a little noisy. Overall a good experience but would not consider it a top restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Service was pleasant enough but the food, aside from the Brussels sprouts, was rather disappointing. Sushi was rather bland. I would not recommend for the prices charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Fantastic sushi and excellent customer service is what you can expect at Katsuya. There are many options when it comes to sushi, including more expensive ones. However, when it comes to quality of food, friendly customer service, on time seating for reservations and a fun atmosphere - Katsuya wins - hands down!

We were celebrating our engagement weekend and the manager brought out champagne for the table - very classy and much appreciated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great food, good service, cool, sexy vibe! Recommended it to friends Who went the next tonight and loved it !

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We went since they open in SB in the beginn the menù was much better scallop rolls cod fish plate was much better even the dessert plus now the wine is crazy expensive but still good place

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Really overrated food for the price. In terms of sushi restaurants it was no where near the level it should be for the prices. And The creamy rock shrimp appetizer was an absolute joke, tasted like a rock and old oil. Very little sauce,

More like a drizzle rock shrimp...

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Food, ambiance and vibe! All great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Though Katsuya's reputation is well known, we were "underwhelmed" by our experience there. I just thought there would be more "wow". If you blind folded me, I would have thought it was a decent New Jersey sushi place.

Tags: Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I have been to this place before and I love the menu. Everything was good, the food tasted great and the service was also great. The only thing that disappointed me was the table we were given. Although it was early and many tables were available, we were given the worst table looking indide the kitchen and I think that was because I reserved thru Opentable but not directly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Nice interior of the place. The food, however, was really quite ordinary, especially considering the reviews. The Mushrooms & the Tempura squash were the only truly good items. The Sushi, though pricey was no better than a "decent" Sushi place. Certainly not worth the $175+ the bill came out to. Likely will not return.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 19, 2017

This is not a fancy place, but it is nice. And the SLS hotel is in a great location with a fun bar.

The service was great, food came out fast. It was all very good except for the king crab robata. I was expecting a plate of grilled king crab to share. The server said dishes were meant to share. It wasnt listed under appetizers, it was on menu with entrees. It was maybe two ounces of actual crab, which we had to take out of the shell. I just should have sent it back. This dish was $24 and disappointing. Everything else was delicious - we had gyoza, hamachi ponzu, miso glazed cod and a spicy tuna roll. I would go again, just dont order crab robata.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great food and great server (not sure if that's the correct title for him). He recommended dishes we weren't looking at and got my kids to try sushi and the brussel sprouts! Everything was excellent! Wish we had it Chicago!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The tasting menu for $80 was a very generous amount of food. However the dishes lacked creativity/uniqueness. I didn't feel like anything was particularly special. I would likely not do the tasting menu again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Had some excelente quality nigiri with very fresh fish in a dish called Katsuya Omakase. We were also surprised by the excelente quality of the Wagyu Ribeye. We also shared several appetizers all of which were incredibly taste. Great service food and overall experience.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food is amazing. Highly recommend the cod.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We arrived early and checked-in at the front desk. They directed us to the bar upstairs. We had a fantastic time and the bartender was excellent. He provided food and drink recommendations that were all exceptional. The atmosphere was great as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excelente te comida. Buen ambiente. Excelente servicio. Siempre es un placer regresar a este lugar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This was 2nd time here and it was another great experience. Great food paired with very knowledgable waiter, Mike.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The website description of "sleek and sultry" interior is somewhat over the top. And as far as we could tell, if there were "Hollywood A-listers", they had come off the list ions ago. Service was California-vibe friendly and knowledgeable. Sushi pieces (and I've spent a lot of time in Japan) were SMALL (fine if the establishment is serving top-notch/caught in Japanese waters/super fresh fish, which it was not) and the selection was limited. The sushi is just so-so. Slightly distracted by all the botox-enhanced middle-aged women in the crowd - way too many selfies. This is not a restaurant which is filled to the brim with really knowledgeable foodies but rather a crowd that is focused more on "I'm here, see me, see me."

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

no way this way waygu ribeye, it was plain old sirloin and way overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We had a great meal and the restaurant had a great vibe. We would definitely recommend this restaurant if you will be in South Beach

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Excellent food, good service

Tags: Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I was there with my girlfriend, the restaurant was not full, The reception was very good, the wine that I want order they don't have and the second also! The sever was very friendly say sorry many times, it's simply bad organization from the management. We order 6 appetizer they was excellent and 2 main course 1 of them was completely salted the waiter change immediately. So in all place can happen something so I will go again to give a other chance.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

When serving the omikase, the server should tell you what on your plate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Crispy rice tuna and hamachi yellowtail are a MUST! Hostess, server and manager were very attentive. I will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was all really delicious, fresh, and creative. The brussel sprouts dish was outstanding and I highly recommend them. The grilled mushrooms were also flavorful and a highlight of the meal.

The service, however, was awful. There must have only been one waiter for the entire dining room. It became routine for our table and the surrounding parties to spend most of the meal trying to flag down the waiter. Frankly I've had better service at AppleBees. And the essentially mandatory 18% service charge added salt to the wound.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great sushi!!! Really great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Maybe because of the holiday, but we felt rushed to order, eat and leave. Pleasant wait staff. Weak cocktails....not the best tasting lotus flower drink. Food was not as warm, lobster looked good but rubbery. Seating too crowded for relaxing dinner. But worth the NYE experience.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Wonderful experience, friendly staff, amazing food!

Tags: Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Waited an hour for our table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Gave away our table

Disorganized at from desk

Had to ask for water all night

Short on staff or not trained

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The restaurant was very noisy so it was difficult to talk. Food was good, especially the spicy tuna on crispy rice and the blackened cod. It is pricey, especially the wine list, but probably typical for this area. I would definitely go again to try some of the other dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious and the ambience was great. Service also excellent. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.