About Katsuya- South Beach

1701 Collins Ave.
Miami Beach, FL 33139
View Larger Map

Deemed Los Angeles Times Readers’ "Best Sushi Restaurant” Katsuya is a culinary sensation. Featuring the dynamic pairing of Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi and design impresario Philippe Starck, Katsuya South Beach is truly a feast for the senses. With unique rolls and spectacular sushi and sashimi platters, Chef Uechi skillfully translates Japanese flavors to the American palate. Signature dishes include Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna, Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeño and Miso-Marinated Black Cod.

Go beyond Katsuya’s dining room and experience the sultry award-winning cocktail concoctions of the Dragon Lounge.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Seating 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm Sunday - Thursday
Seating 6:00 pm - 11:30 pm Friday - Saturday


Cross Street:
17th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 455-2995

Website:
http://katsuyarestaurant.com/southbeach/

Entertainment:
Eater names Katsuya South Beach one of the HOTTEST Sushi Restaurants in America!

Catering:
sbe Catering offers Katsuya's award-winning Japanese cuisine by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi at any location, for intimate dinners at home, meetings at the office or elaborate parties just about anywhere. Customize your event with tray-passed service, seated dinners or chef’s stations. sbe Catering can do it all! Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at the SLS Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Katsuya Uechi

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From intimate to grand, let sbe Events + Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya South Beach accommodates up to 130 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails. Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Restaurant Photos

Rock Shrimp Tempura
Foie Gras Dumplings
Tamago Nigiri
Miso-Marinated Black Cod
Uni Nigiri
Local + Wild Caught Sushi Omakase
Tai Nigiri
Unagi Nigiri
Negitoro Maki
Mackerel Nigiri
Halibut Nigiri
Wahoo Nigiri
Hamachi Nigiri
Jumbo Scallop Nigiri
Sake Nigiri
Madai Nigiri
otoro nigiri
Stuffed Eggplant
Kiwi Envy Cocktail
Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna
Crispy Chicken Salad
Sushi
Civiche With Sea Food
Eggs Benedict Sls Style
Coconut Creamy Rice

Promotions

Social Hour Everyday in Dragon Lounge

Special valid Jun 27, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 all week from 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Save 50% on Sake

Sundays from 6:00 PM - 11:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Social Hour Everyday in Dragon Lounge

Special valid Jun 27, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 all week from 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Details
Save 50% on Sake

Sundays from 6:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Private Dining

From intimate to grand, let sbe Events & Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya South Beach accommodates up to 150 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology, sake and wine.

Katsuya- South Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Miami / Southeast Florida
Japanese
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Miami Beach / South Beach ›

hot spot (51)
fit for foodies (50)
special occasion (39)
See All
good for groups (30)
romantic (23)
late-night find (14)
vibrant bar scene (11)
neighborhood gem (8)
notable wine list (6)
great for lunch (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
629 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was really good. It was a bit c ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was really good. It was a bit crowded. They took long to take our order but the food came out quick.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great place for fun + excellent food but ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great place for fun + excellent food but it does cost on the higher end for two$$$.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Friendly staff. Good food, trendy hotel ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Friendly staff. Good food, trendy hotel and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The truffle risotto cooked table side wa ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined 5 days ago

The truffle risotto cooked table side was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Location is great, excellent ambiance an ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 5 days ago

Location is great, excellent ambiance and the food is really superb. Try the

Robatayaki (Robata), specially the wagyu beef. Sashimi sampler and Lobster

roll are really well prepared and presented on the table.

We really appreciate the Service Staff!

Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic dining experience! Great servi ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Fantastic dining experience! Great service....Absolutely the best sushi in Miami!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Crazy expensive, but really really good ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Crazy expensive, but really really good too. The wagu beef dish was awesome. Crunchy tuna was addictive. Everything else was supurb. Only thing that was a negative for me was the bluefin tuna. Seemed like it was recently frozen. Definitely wasn't super fatty. For $24 a pop, not worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Aristis the sommelier was outstanding as ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Aristis the sommelier was outstanding as well as our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The Food is Always amazing, I love the t ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Food is Always amazing, I love the tuna with crispy rice, I always end up ordering seconds.... I particularly like the fact that the food as well as the service is very consistent . We have been going there since it opened and still love it as much as the first time. All the servers are amazing but Andres is the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing! Everything was delicio ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food was amazing! Everything was delicious.

Service outstanding too.!

Ask for the Bazaar wine list.

Much better than standard Katsuya wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good spot ...... I would go back. A lit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Good spot ...... I would go back. A little pricey but so is all of south beach! -- I recommend this reastaurant

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Incredible food. Service from Evyion was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Incredible food. Service from Evyion was superb. Ask for him, very knowledgeable, efficient and fun. Try the sweet miso chawanmushi for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food! Sushi is fresh, service is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Amazing food! Sushi is fresh, service is great, drinks were good.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The most expensive restaurant I have eve ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The most expensive restaurant I have ever dined at in my life. The food was good, but not when compared to price/value. Obnoxiously expensive. Menu items at Katsuya in Los Angeles are 25% less money for double the portion size. Service was great. But prices are ridiculously high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Risotto was amazing Crispy Rice is a mus ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Risotto was amazing

Crispy Rice is a must!

Sit away from the sushi bar the LED lighting is offensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Terrible service despite the price and t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Terrible service despite the price and the location. Some menu item was out and the waiter did not care to inform until we had to ask for the dish. The sushi dish was all wet due to melting ice making the fish and rice all slushy. Terrible experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

The first two courses off the specialty ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The first two courses off the specialty recommendations were amazing. Other than those it was quite ordinary. Our waiter was distracted and we had too many other waiters to give us good service. It felt hurried and frantic. Waiter neglected to inform us on size and quality to suit our party. It was disappointing and overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Best Sushi I've had in a long time! Serv ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Best Sushi I've had in a long time! Service was great as well. Tables are a bit crowded due to small space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was amazing!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

OMG!!! Food was amazing, went there for ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

OMG!!! Food was amazing, went there for dinner two nights in a row! Crispy rice is a must have. :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place for japanese food in Miami : ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great place for japanese food in Miami :-) Will be back :-)

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were told to order a bit too much foo ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We were told to order a bit too much food for the 2 of us. But overall VERY good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We got there shortly after opening. Serv ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We got there shortly after opening. Server was excellent drinks and food were good and he was knowledgeable and made excellent recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and service!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Amazing food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my third time in the restaurant. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

It was my third time in the restaurant. And this time was awful ! The tasting menu was very bad!!!

Only baked crab and warm mushrooms salad were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Katsuya - South Beach

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

It's was very basic. They have an item on the menu which is a half of a lobster with mushrooms and a special sauce. Well that was worth the money, was super tasty. We had sushi and apps, all the other items were somewhat underwhelming. I probably wouldn't go there again. Oh and the drinks are watered down, most offensive of all!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

My overall experience was exceptional. F ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My overall experience was exceptional. From the service to the menu, Katsuya is 5 star.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great dinner here! Sushi was go ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We had a great dinner here! Sushi was good, not the best we've had, but the crispy rice with spicy tuna appetizer was fantastic! We ended up ordering two! We would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Katsuya

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I often frequent Katsuya when I am in South Beach and while the meal was good, it wasn't the best that I have had there. I normally get the Rock Shrimp appetizer and for once it was as "delicious" as it normally has been. Everything else was on par with what I have normally gotten from this restaurant. Service has and was very good. I absolutely will be returning again, because this is the one of my favorite eating spots in Miami.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good atmosphere and crowd but food is ok ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Good atmosphere and crowd but food is ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Very Good but not Great

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Miso Cod was fantastic, Wagyu Tobanyak was slightly overcooked and way to many Mushrooms. Creamy Rock Shrimp were cooked uneven, the Hamachi sliced Yellowtail was very good. Tuna and Yellowtail Sushi were wonderful..

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was excellent and everything we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Service was excellent and everything we ate was absolutely delicious. Our server recommended the miso marinated cod and it was one of the best things I have ever consumed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot and lives up to the hype. Ama ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Great spot and lives up to the hype. Amazing food the prices are high but you know that going in

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Staff not attentive to food order - exp ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Staff not attentive to food order - expensive given the portion.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Very good. We will return. Cheers

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Very good. We will return.

Cheers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. We had our young children and all was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything!!!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Everything!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

In general we were very disappointed, fe ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

In general we were very disappointed, felt like we were more of a burden to wait staff than paying customers, 18% automatic gratuity made them give less quality service, I would go as far as calling staff miserable which is disappointing when you're looking forward to a good experience. We also found the food to be terrible, the sushi fell apart as soon as picked up from the plate, tons of rice and not a lot of filling. Defiantly a turn and burn kind of restaurant, they want you in and out as quickly as possible, they make this very apparent!! The only positive was the manager was knowledgable about wines, saki, and the menu. He was the only one who was friendly and courteous, if only the rest of his staff were the same! Won't be returning to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Spicy tuna and crispy rice is UNREAL!!!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Spicy tuna and crispy rice is UNREAL!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place. Food us amazing and a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Love this place. Food us amazing and atmosphere is totally hip. The service is always a little bit slow and I wouldn't say their acumen is up to par either. But everything else makes up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.