Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Katsuya- South Beach

Deemed Los Angeles Times Readers’ "Best Sushi Restaurant” Katsuya is a culinary sensation. Featuring the dynamic pairing of Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi and design impresario Philippe Starck, Katsuya South Beach is truly a feast for the senses. With unique rolls and spectacular sushi and sashimi platters, Chef Uechi skillfully translates Japanese flavors to the American palate. Signature dishes include Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna, Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeño and Miso-Marinated Black Cod.

Go beyond Katsuya’s dining room and experience the sultry award-winning cocktail concoctions of the Dragon Lounge.

1701 Collins Ave.
Miami Beach, FL 33139
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Seating 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm Sunday - Thursday
Seating 6:00 pm - 11:30 pm Friday - Saturday


Cross Street:
17th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 455-2995

Website:
http://katsuyarestaurant.com/southbeach/

Entertainment:
Eater names Katsuya South Beach one of the HOTTEST Sushi Restaurants in America!

Catering:
sbe Catering offers Katsuya's award-winning Japanese cuisine by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi at any location, for intimate dinners at home, meetings at the office or elaborate parties just about anywhere. Customize your event with tray-passed service, seated dinners or chef’s stations. sbe Catering can do it all! Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at the SLS Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Katsuya Uechi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From intimate to grand, let sbe Events + Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya South Beach accommodates up to 130 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails. Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Private Dining

From intimate to grand, let sbe Events & Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya South Beach accommodates up to 150 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology, sake and wine.

Katsuya- South Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (20)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Hot Spot (14)
See All
Special Occasion (12)
Fun (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Tasting Menu (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Romantic (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Casual (6)
Authentic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Cozy (4)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
People Watching (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
883 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Food is great, Mike our server was very helpful. Worth the visit despite the higher prices!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Everything was so fresh and delicious! From appetizers to desserts. The attention to detail is spectacular. Our server, Andres?, was provided us with excellent recommendations and is attention to our needs. The acoustics of the restaurant is a little bad but overall, we still had a great experience!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food was uneventful, overpriced, and took long to get to the table. The sitting is horrible, I felt like a sardine. Nothing in the restaurant showed elegance of fine dining. You can be shore that ok will never returned to this restaurant and I will express my bad experiences for the next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Sumamente ruidoso. Imposible hablar. Varios mozos al mismo tiempo venían a atender . Una mesa encima de la otra. Lamentable . Ya he recomendado a varios amigos que no vayan

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The waitress spilled HOT soup

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 9, 2017

It was my best friends birthday. Neither one of us had been here before and we were pleasantly surprised. The watermelon ceviche with assorted shellfish (scallops, octopus, tuna, cucumber), striped sea bass, rock shrimp tempura roll, Katsuya roll, donuts (passion fruit coulis), and salmon and tuna sashimi was really balanced and flavorful. The jasmine margarita and the geisha were great cocktails also. Would recommend friends and family to go dine out here in the SLS South Beach

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Awesome food ... wanted to try everything. The crispy brussel sprouts were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Usamos Miami Spice y la experiencia fue buena, esperábamos un poco más del restaurante en cuanto a la ambientación

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Great place. Would definitely come again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This was one of the best restaurants I've been to anywhere. Very high quality and great flavor. My only knock on it is their wine by the glass list needs lots of help.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Mehhhh. All hype no substance. Fish is quite good but at the price they charge it should be perfect which it is not. Service is terrible - not the fault of the staff - just terrible management. If the place was was 1/2 the price it would be a five star but at those prices - quality is not what u pay for - you pay for the cool name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The restaurant is loud and the tables are very close together, our elbows were practically touching the guests next to us. This is not the place for a private conversation or a first date. However, the food was fantastic. We really enjoyed everything. The food comes out as it is ready so if you are hoping for a logistical meal, order accordingly. We had an appetizer come out after our entrees. It was not a problem but note worthy for a next visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Had another amazing meal at Katsuya. Avian is the best server in S. Florida!

Only negative was they ran out of live scallops!! Other than that, perfect evening again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Fantastic experience. Dedicated staff. Impeccable dishes- the black cod is a can't miss! Fun atmosphere and appropriately priced for quality, ambiance, skilled staff, great location. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Amazing food, great atmosphere, and wonderful service by the waiter and manager who stopped by more than once.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Easy access when in SoBe. Earlier dinner side 7:30-9pm was light so reservations should be easy. Was filled by 9p. Spectacular quality fish for sushi. Don't pass up on the donuts for dessert....that's right donuts. Out of this world!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

A sushi lover's fave sushi place! Szechuan edamame was amazing. Crispy rice delish. Just excellent sushi and outstanding service. 5 stars.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Katsuya is always a good idea ! Fresh fish , tasty cocktails - never disappointed us yet !
Yes, it's pricy so I can't eat everyday here ... otherwise I would ! ;-)

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Definitely won't go back. First ac wasn't working, second waiter was kind of rude- I get it gratuity is included so you don't care but still, third our sashimi came out warm which was probably the best thing we had. For the prices we paid I was expecting everything to be delicious and great but it wasn't. Might as well gone to Nobu for a more expensive meal but delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

We usually visit Katsuya at least once when we're in south beach. Lively good food and fun.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Sushi was good but service was poor
I ordered the chef sushi comb and they just brought it to table without anyone talking about what they are. Sake was plopped down on the table without the waiter pouring it. Really disappointing for a high end sushi restsurant. Miso cod was good though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 21, 2017

everything was great except the price list very expensive .ambiance was great ,food was as well

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Always great service and delicious food. Love their wines by the glass and robata grill. We also had the wagu dumplings....outstanding !!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 16, 2017

Rewelacyjna kuchnia japoska.Przemiła atmosfera i obsługa .Polecam

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

My family did not like it! The food and the service were poor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We've been here multiple times and every time it's been good. The food is delicious. Miso glazed cod is a must, mushroom salad was so good. And there are always beautiful people around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The better sashimi in Miami.
Amazing appetizers. You must be improve the wine oust.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 5, 2017

I have eaten here a couple of times now and both times was impressed. It is a cool spot to sit and have a very good dining experience. Great location and would recommend this spot for a nice meal.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Ordered the exotic sashimi sampler. Not much food for the price. Staff and ambiance are good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Definitely a late night dinner spot. The mushrooms were amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The ambience was brighter than I would have liked. It felt almost like a cafeteria with the white Formica tables. The food was not good. The crispy tuna had an ice cold tuna mixture that was molded into a teardrop shape... literally ice cold and the rice wasn't crispy it was more chewy. The wagyu steak was really tasty but we ordered it as the chef recommended as medium rate- but only a few center pieces were that temp and there rest was medium-well. The mushroom risotto honestly was awful- it was literally sweet and it had corn and carrots mixed in. Yuck! We only ate a few bites each. The whitefish with crispy onions was really good and so were the drinks. I would never go back here though because the food was just not good. It was a total waste of money. Zuma is 100 times better.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 25, 2017

In southbeach, the later, the better. We got there quite early for the usual dinnertime, 8pm. The food is always good here and the staff, always friendly and helpful. I would say just about anything goes here, with casual diners earlier in the evening with a change to slightly better dressed groups. Ive come later in the past... 9pm-ish and the place was packed. So its usually depending on what season. I'm not a fan of banquette seating, but we got there early enough to score a 4 top for just the 2 of us as the host was very accommodating. There is a nice variety of light fare , and the fish was very fresh. SLS has a bar right outside for drinks afterwards. But I do recommend Katsuya's specialty cocktails.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We have been Nobu fans for many years and this was our first time at Katsuya. The menu of both restaurants shares some dishes in common like the rock shrimp, black cod and yellowtail with Jalapeno, which are among our favorites. Katsuya exceeded our expectations. The service was excellent, Oreste's recommendations for a champagne toast and for a bottle of wine with dinner were exceptional and the food had its own unique character. We enjoyed every minute of the experience and will definitely go back to try other menu items that we didn't have a chance to sample on our first visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Sehr gutes Essen und topp Service, Getränke viel zu teuer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Due to the fact the wait staff gets an automatic 18% tip, I feel that the waitstaff hardly performs at the level they should.

The waitress visited us only three times and every time I had to stop her as she turned away to walk back towards the kitchen to continue my order. It was like she didn't want to be bothered.

We had our appetizer before we even had our cocktails. I feel for the level of restaurant that Katsuya is, we should have had a five-star dining experience.

We ordered the Katsuya roll and when it arrived it was falling apart, the tuna had strings of tendon inside of it which caused it to be stuck together. I have never had such fun quality tuna sushi restaurant.

I will revisit Studio City any time but NEVER Miami!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Becarefull with the evian water, they never open it in front of you and keep serving and serving, at the end a $11 for a bottle became $44.00

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Excellent well prepared inventive Japanese menu beautifully done interior well worth the trip

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Trying a little to hard. The donuts for desert were the best part of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The food was very good although not amazing which is what you would expect at these prices. I have had as good and better Japanese cuisine at other places that are 1/3 of the price. I suppose what you are paying for is the cool factor (Starck design, etc.) but it seemed dated and in need of a refresh. Pros: Food was good and the bar outside is lovely; Cons: way overpriced, spotty service, dated decor.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Food was fantastic, nice twist on traditional Japanese food. The service was also great and our waiter was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely be back next time we're in Miami

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.