Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Katsuya- South Beach

Deemed Los Angeles Times Readers’ "Best Sushi Restaurant” Katsuya is a culinary sensation. Featuring the dynamic pairing of Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi and design impresario Philippe Starck, Katsuya South Beach is truly a feast for the senses. With unique rolls and spectacular sushi and sashimi platters, Chef Uechi skillfully translates Japanese flavors to the American palate. Signature dishes include Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna, Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeño and Miso-Marinated Black Cod.

Go beyond Katsuya’s dining room and experience the sultry award-winning cocktail concoctions of the Dragon Lounge.

1701 Collins Ave.
Miami Beach, FL 33139
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Seating 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm Sunday - Thursday
Seating 6:00 pm - 11:30 pm Friday - Saturday


Cross Street:
17th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 455-2995

Website:
http://katsuyarestaurant.com/southbeach/

Entertainment:
Eater names Katsuya South Beach one of the HOTTEST Sushi Restaurants in America!

Catering:
sbe Catering offers Katsuya's award-winning Japanese cuisine by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi at any location, for intimate dinners at home, meetings at the office or elaborate parties just about anywhere. Customize your event with tray-passed service, seated dinners or chef’s stations. sbe Catering can do it all! Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at the SLS Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Katsuya Uechi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From intimate to grand, let sbe Events + Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya South Beach accommodates up to 130 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails. Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Private Dining

From intimate to grand, let sbe Events & Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya South Beach accommodates up to 150 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology, sake and wine.

Katsuya- South Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Hot Spot (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
See All
Fun (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Modern Decor (15)
People Watching (12)
Romantic (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Healthy (10)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Worth the Drive (5)
Authentic (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tapas (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Casual (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Family Style (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Dancing (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Cozy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
847 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We have been Nobu fans for many years and this was our first time at Katsuya. The menu of both restaurants shares some dishes in common like the rock shrimp, black cod and yellowtail with Jalapeno, which are among our favorites. Katsuya exceeded our expectations. The service was excellent, Oreste's recommendations for a champagne toast and for a bottle of wine with dinner were exceptional and the food had its own unique character. We enjoyed every minute of the experience and will definitely go back to try other menu items that we didn't have a chance to sample on our first visit.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Sehr gutes Essen und topp Service, Getränke viel zu teuer!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Due to the fact the wait staff gets an automatic 18% tip, I feel that the waitstaff hardly performs at the level they should.

The waitress visited us only three times and every time I had to stop her as she turned away to walk back towards the kitchen to continue my order. It was like she didn't want to be bothered.

We had our appetizer before we even had our cocktails. I feel for the level of restaurant that Katsuya is, we should have had a five-star dining experience.

We ordered the Katsuya roll and when it arrived it was falling apart, the tuna had strings of tendon inside of it which caused it to be stuck together. I have never had such fun quality tuna sushi restaurant.

I will revisit Studio City any time but NEVER Miami!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Becarefull with the evian water, they never open it in front of you and keep serving and serving, at the end a $11 for a bottle became $44.00

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Excellent well prepared inventive Japanese menu beautifully done interior well worth the trip

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Trying a little to hard. The donuts for desert were the best part of the meal.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The food was very good although not amazing which is what you would expect at these prices. I have had as good and better Japanese cuisine at other places that are 1/3 of the price. I suppose what you are paying for is the cool factor (Starck design, etc.) but it seemed dated and in need of a refresh. Pros: Food was good and the bar outside is lovely; Cons: way overpriced, spotty service, dated decor.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Food was fantastic, nice twist on traditional Japanese food. The service was also great and our waiter was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely be back next time we're in Miami

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Service was superb and the food was excellent. The flavors of the food poped.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great food!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Best sushi around! Way better than Nobu or Sushi Samba. The Spicy crab hand rolls are next level, the miso black cod is outrageously good and the macha dessert is truly unique. You pretty much can't go wrong with anything on the menu. It is a bit pricey but worth it!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Sad to say but: disappointing food- overpriced- overrated
Can find way better restaurants in Miami at that price range

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 9, 2017

As usual amazing food! Sushi is really great!!! unfortunately they we're understaffed so the waitress did the best she could. Still strongly recommend it.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Super Essen, schnelle Bedienung ...fast zu schnell!
Einziges Manko: Temperatur im Restaurant =viel zu kalt, sehr unangenehm!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This place was great for dinner! The service was fantastic as well as the food and drinks. I came here for dinner Saturday night and ordered the miso cod which was melt in your mouth good, bursting with flavor. The server recommended the crab rolls so we ordered that which was amazing as well. A great place to come for date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Relaxed atmosphere with chill, clubby music. Tried their signature dishes. Absolutely wonderful.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Super Japanese restaurant! Highly recommend for dinner!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 24, 2017

This was one of the best meals of my life. Get the black cod, it will change the way you think about food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was good and atmosphere was great how ever it looks like the portions have been reduced noticeably. Hopefully not a glimpse of how costs will be reduced or increased profits. Hope the business is looking long term.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Overall good service it's ok nothing special the food is good though quite pricey for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Drove down from Palm Beach County and enjoyed a fabulous meal after afternoon at Wynwood Walls. Great Spicy Edamame!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (México)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Katsuya was awesome. All the dishes we ordered were excellent, fresh, prepared at the moment. The quality of the fish just outstanding. Kudos to the Kampachi roll. The service was very good in all aspects. Great ambience with a balance of good environment, music but not too load or overwhelming. Great experience in general, above expectations.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Great as alwaysssss

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on April 10, 2017

To be short, the meal was extremely disappointing. Only good thing we ate was Agedashi Tofu.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Chef's exotic platter was incredible. Best sushi I've ever had.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Start off with the tuna on crispy rice,crispy Brussels sprouts and mushroom appetizer..delicious...the eel roll and all the special toro sushi was great..my only complaint is the only option for Chardonnay by the glass was a choice between a $23 and $25 glass of wine...ridiculous. Even Tom Collechios Beachcraft has an $11 option of chard by the glass

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Amazing food combined with perfect service and cool atmosphere !

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 3, 2017

It was my wife's birthday and the restaurant did a great job.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great dinner with my son!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It's was choice

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was actually very good .portion seemed incredibly small .price was high but that's what you pay on South Beach

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The sushi rolls we ordered were good - especially the crispy rice tuna. But the service was not good. We were seated in tables so close to other guests that it was uncomfortable. We were not told the specials. The sever rushed us. And it felt like she wanted to turn the table instead of letting us enjoy our food. It was also freezing with air blowing directly on us and others. Not worth the trip

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Perfect! Our host David gave us great recommendations

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Ultra music festival was going on outside. It was very loud to say the least. Waiter was nice but seemed too busy and had too many tables to deal with. Was very inattentive. Food was very good but not worth the $$$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Best sushi place in sobe! The brussel sprouts are to die for.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 23, 2017

So noisy couldn't wait to leave, parking was outrageous

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 23, 2017

A notre deuxième visite on est toujours aussi étonné de l'originalité et la qualité des plats servis
Le décors est magnifique et le service irréprochable
A refaire encore et encore

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 20, 2017

This is overpriced Americanized Japanese food and seemingly a tourist trap. I would not return and it stings to have paid for the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

LOVE.THIS.PLACE
Everything about the Katsuya is just outstanding!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent ambiance, excellent service. Lots of food that should be advertised in advance, we have to leave food on the table. Expensive but worth it. Hot spot. High level of noise. Quick service considering it was full of people.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.