About Katsuya- South Beach

1701 Collins Ave.
Miami Beach, FL 33139
View Larger Map

Deemed Los Angeles Times Readers’ "Best Sushi Restaurant” Katsuya is a culinary sensation. Featuring the dynamic pairing of Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi and design impresario Philippe Starck, Katsuya South Beach is truly a feast for the senses. With unique rolls and spectacular sushi and sashimi platters, Chef Uechi skillfully translates Japanese flavors to the American palate. Signature dishes include Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna, Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeño and Miso-Marinated Black Cod.

Go beyond Katsuya’s dining room and experience the sultry award-winning cocktail concoctions of the Dragon Lounge.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Seating 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm Sunday - Thursday
Seating 6:00 pm - 11:30 pm Friday - Saturday


Cross Street:
17th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 455-2995

Website:
http://katsuyarestaurant.com/southbeach/

Entertainment:
Eater names Katsuya South Beach one of the HOTTEST Sushi Restaurants in America!

Catering:
sbe Catering offers Katsuya's award-winning Japanese cuisine by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi at any location, for intimate dinners at home, meetings at the office or elaborate parties just about anywhere. Customize your event with tray-passed service, seated dinners or chef’s stations. sbe Catering can do it all! Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at the SLS Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Katsuya Uechi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From intimate to grand, let sbe Events + Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya South Beach accommodates up to 130 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails. Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Restaurant Photos

Rock Shrimp Tempura
Foie Gras Dumplings
Tamago Nigiri
Miso-Marinated Black Cod
Unagi Nigiri
Tai Nigiri
Negitoro Maki
Uni Nigiri
Local + Wild Caught Sushi Omakase
Sake Nigiri
Hamachi Nigiri
Jumbo Scallop Nigiri
Wahoo Nigiri
Halibut Nigiri
Mackerel Nigiri
Madai Nigiri
otoro nigiri
Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna
Stuffed Eggplant
Kiwi Envy Cocktail
Crispy Chicken Salad
Sushi
Eggs Benedict Sls Style
Civiche With Sea Food
Coconut Creamy Rice

Promotions

Social Hour Everyday in Dragon Lounge

Special valid Jun 27, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 all week from 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Save 50% on Sake

Sundays from 6:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Katsuya Miami Spice 2016

Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Sundays from 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Social Hour Everyday in Dragon Lounge

Special valid Jun 27, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 all week from 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Details

You can't limit happy to an hour so we have a social hour designed just for you - with food and drink specials that will keep you and your wallet happy. Kanpai!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 27, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 all week from 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM.

Save 50% on Sake

Sundays from 6:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Sunday's suck less with Sake - Save 50% off all bottles of Sake all night long. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 26, 2016 - Sep 27, 2016 on Sundays from 6:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Katsuya Miami Spice 2016

Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Sundays from 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Experience a feast for the senses and indulge in a three-course dinner for only $39, Sunday - Thursday To view menus please visit http://slshotels.com/southbeach/dining/katsuya-miami-spice/. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 1, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 on Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Sundays from 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Private Dining

From intimate to grand, let sbe Events & Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya South Beach accommodates up to 150 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology, sake and wine.

Katsuya- South Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Miami / Southeast Florida
Best Restaurants in Miami Beach / South Beach ›

Hot Spot (45)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Special Occasion (33)
See All
Good for Groups (26)
Romantic (18)
Late-night Find (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Notable Wine List (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
644 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was a fantastic experience all arou ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 2 days ago

This was a fantastic experience all around! HIGHLY recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had diner here with my wife and two da ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

I had diner here with my wife and two daughters. The choice of wine is huge and the food is really great. Very tastefull and good presentation. The staff is very friendly and helpfull to explain everything. We are from Europe, so the change to be there again soon is very low, but if this restaurant would be close to us it eould absolute one of our favourites.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was rude and the omakase was just ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Server was rude and the omakase was just ok. Presentation was also lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Wow what an amazing experience. Everythi ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Wow what an amazing experience. Everything we had on the Miami spice menu was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Americanized version of Japanese. ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great Americanized version of Japanese. Sushi was good. Enjoyed.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place good food perfect service be ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great place good food perfect service beautiful people

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great restaurant with awesome ser ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

What a great restaurant with awesome service. Our server was so amazing and knowledgeable. He knew the menu well and the sake suggestion was spot on. Avyeon is attentive, sweet, and you can tell he loves his job!!! Thank you for a fabulous evening. :)

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The sommelier, mr Orestis, and his sugge ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The sommelier, mr Orestis, and his suggestions helped us to have a great dinner. We will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

AWESOME---AS ALWAYS !!! Great food, Grea ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

AWESOME---AS ALWAYS !!!

Great food, Great Service...If it's your first time there, recommend the Tasting Menu. And make sure you get the donuts for dessert---TRUST ME.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an outstanding sushi / fusion re ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This is an outstanding sushi / fusion restaurant. Firstly, its located within the SLS Hotel and the outside bar was heaving and playing some fantastic music creating a superb atmosphere. Upon entering the restaurant, you very much get a great vibe. Huge dining room with a beautiful theme and décor. The lighting is really stylish and I loved the whole feel of the restaurant. As the evening goes on the music seems to deepen and the whole vibe is very much like a mix between STK & Roka. 10/10 for atmosphere.

We visited twice and on our first visit had a poor waiter. As seems normal in a lot of restaurants, they, infact almost all restaurants, don’t stagger the food and you get all your food delivered to your table as quickly as possible. I personally hate this so always ask for my various courses to be staggered. Despite asking and re asking, all the food appeared in very quick succession. It was very frustrating as I had specifically asked for this not to happen. For $300, you could be in and out of the restaurant in 45 minutes which for me is totally unacceptable. A fantastic manager intervened and re assigned us another waitress who seemed to understand the brief and get where we were coming from and slowed the remainder of the service down. The food on this occasion was 10/10. Probably the best I’ve had for this style of restaurant. We had various dishes including sashimi which was outstanding. If you’re a pure sushi lover and don’t like it with a modern twist, I’d choose elsewhere (Toni’s is standout amazing).

On our second visit the manager noticed us at the reception and without a fuss made sure our experience was flawless. This time we had a superb waiter who unbeknownst to us had been briefed not to rush our meal. The service was excellent. The food amazing and again the room and ambiance brilliant. Would recommend highly. 10/10. As with all restaurants we visited in Miami, they auto add on a tip which was between 18% to 20%

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasions, Group Bookings, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

An amazing dining experience as always! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

An amazing dining experience as always! The sushi tastes super fresh and is delicious. The brussel sprouts and rock shrimp to start, crab hand rolls and tuna with crispy rice and the black cod are our faves. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

food was awesome, service a disaster. Wa ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

food was awesome, service a disaster. Waited 15 Minutes for the second glas of wine,. Wine by the glas is totally overpriced. Average chardonnay for 18 $ , insane . Go there for a really good food experience for lunch and drink water........

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

The food was very good, fish was very fr ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The food was very good, fish was very fresh, sake list was good as well, and the prices were reasonable. Service is fine, and there is a bar in the hotel, right outside the restaurant where you can have a drink after dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was really good. It was a bit c ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food was really good. It was a bit crowded. They took long to take our order but the food came out quick.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great place for fun + excellent food but ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great place for fun + excellent food but it does cost on the higher end for two$$$.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Friendly staff. Good food, trendy hotel ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Friendly staff. Good food, trendy hotel and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The truffle risotto cooked table side wa ...

vip
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The truffle risotto cooked table side was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Location is great, excellent ambiance an ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Location is great, excellent ambiance and the food is really superb. Try the

Robatayaki (Robata), specially the wagyu beef. Sashimi sampler and Lobster

roll are really well prepared and presented on the table.

We really appreciate the Service Staff!

Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic dining experience! Great servi ...

vip
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Fantastic dining experience! Great service....Absolutely the best sushi in Miami!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Crazy expensive, but really really good ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Crazy expensive, but really really good too. The wagu beef dish was awesome. Crunchy tuna was addictive. Everything else was supurb. Only thing that was a negative for me was the bluefin tuna. Seemed like it was recently frozen. Definitely wasn't super fatty. For $24 a pop, not worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Aristis the sommelier was outstanding as ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Aristis the sommelier was outstanding as well as our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The Food is Always amazing, I love the t ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Food is Always amazing, I love the tuna with crispy rice, I always end up ordering seconds.... I particularly like the fact that the food as well as the service is very consistent . We have been going there since it opened and still love it as much as the first time. All the servers are amazing but Andres is the best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing! Everything was delicio ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food was amazing! Everything was delicious.

Service outstanding too.!

Ask for the Bazaar wine list.

Much better than standard Katsuya wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good spot ...... I would go back. A lit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Good spot ...... I would go back. A little pricey but so is all of south beach! -- I recommend this reastaurant

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Incredible food. Service from Evyion was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Incredible food. Service from Evyion was superb. Ask for him, very knowledgeable, efficient and fun. Try the sweet miso chawanmushi for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food! Sushi is fresh, service is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Amazing food! Sushi is fresh, service is great, drinks were good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The most expensive restaurant I have eve ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The most expensive restaurant I have ever dined at in my life. The food was good, but not when compared to price/value. Obnoxiously expensive. Menu items at Katsuya in Los Angeles are 25% less money for double the portion size. Service was great. But prices are ridiculously high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Risotto was amazing Crispy Rice is a mus ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Risotto was amazing

Crispy Rice is a must!

Sit away from the sushi bar the LED lighting is offensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Terrible service despite the price and t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Terrible service despite the price and the location. Some menu item was out and the waiter did not care to inform until we had to ask for the dish. The sushi dish was all wet due to melting ice making the fish and rice all slushy. Terrible experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

The first two courses off the specialty ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The first two courses off the specialty recommendations were amazing. Other than those it was quite ordinary. Our waiter was distracted and we had too many other waiters to give us good service. It felt hurried and frantic. Waiter neglected to inform us on size and quality to suit our party. It was disappointing and overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Best Sushi I've had in a long time! Serv ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Best Sushi I've had in a long time! Service was great as well. Tables are a bit crowded due to small space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was amazing!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

OMG!!! Food was amazing, went there for ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

OMG!!! Food was amazing, went there for dinner two nights in a row! Crispy rice is a must have. :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place for japanese food in Miami : ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great place for japanese food in Miami :-) Will be back :-)

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were told to order a bit too much foo ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We were told to order a bit too much food for the 2 of us. But overall VERY good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We got there shortly after opening. Serv ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We got there shortly after opening. Server was excellent drinks and food were good and he was knowledgeable and made excellent recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and service!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Amazing food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my third time in the restaurant. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

It was my third time in the restaurant. And this time was awful ! The tasting menu was very bad!!!

Only baked crab and warm mushrooms salad were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Katsuya - South Beach

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

It's was very basic. They have an item on the menu which is a half of a lobster with mushrooms and a special sauce. Well that was worth the money, was super tasty. We had sushi and apps, all the other items were somewhat underwhelming. I probably wouldn't go there again. Oh and the drinks are watered down, most offensive of all!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

My overall experience was exceptional. F ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My overall experience was exceptional. From the service to the menu, Katsuya is 5 star.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.