Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Katsuya- South Beach

Deemed Los Angeles Times Readers’ "Best Sushi Restaurant” Katsuya is a culinary sensation. Featuring the dynamic pairing of Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi and design impresario Philippe Starck, Katsuya South Beach is truly a feast for the senses. With unique rolls and spectacular sushi and sashimi platters, Chef Uechi skillfully translates Japanese flavors to the American palate. Signature dishes include Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna, Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeño and Miso-Marinated Black Cod.

Go beyond Katsuya’s dining room and experience the sultry award-winning cocktail concoctions of the Dragon Lounge.

1701 Collins Ave.
Miami Beach, FL 33139
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Seating 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm Sunday - Thursday
Seating 6:00 pm - 11:30 pm Friday - Saturday


Cross Street:
17th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 455-2995

Website:
http://katsuyarestaurant.com/southbeach/

Entertainment:
Eater names Katsuya South Beach one of the HOTTEST Sushi Restaurants in America!

Catering:
sbe Catering offers Katsuya's award-winning Japanese cuisine by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi at any location, for intimate dinners at home, meetings at the office or elaborate parties just about anywhere. Customize your event with tray-passed service, seated dinners or chef’s stations. sbe Catering can do it all! Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at the SLS Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Katsuya Uechi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From intimate to grand, let sbe Events + Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya South Beach accommodates up to 130 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails. Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Private Dining

From intimate to grand, let sbe Events & Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya South Beach accommodates up to 150 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology, sake and wine.

Katsuya- South Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Hot Spot (42)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Modern Decor (34)
See All
Good for a Date (33)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Fun (25)
Special Occasion (23)
People Watching (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Business Meals (15)
Healthy (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Good for Groups (12)
Authentic (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Romantic (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Casual (7)
Tapas (7)
Spicy (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Family Style (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Waterfront (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Cozy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dancing (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
828 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

This was one of the best meals of my life. Get the black cod, it will change the way you think about food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was good and atmosphere was great how ever it looks like the portions have been reduced noticeably. Hopefully not a glimpse of how costs will be reduced or increased profits. Hope the business is looking long term.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Overall good service it's ok nothing special the food is good though quite pricey for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Drove down from Palm Beach County and enjoyed a fabulous meal after afternoon at Wynwood Walls. Great Spicy Edamame!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (México)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Katsuya was awesome. All the dishes we ordered were excellent, fresh, prepared at the moment. The quality of the fish just outstanding. Kudos to the Kampachi roll. The service was very good in all aspects. Great ambience with a balance of good environment, music but not too load or overwhelming. Great experience in general, above expectations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Great as alwaysssss

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on April 10, 2017

To be short, the meal was extremely disappointing. Only good thing we ate was Agedashi Tofu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Chef's exotic platter was incredible. Best sushi I've ever had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Start off with the tuna on crispy rice,crispy Brussels sprouts and mushroom appetizer..delicious...the eel roll and all the special toro sushi was great..my only complaint is the only option for Chardonnay by the glass was a choice between a $23 and $25 glass of wine...ridiculous. Even Tom Collechios Beachcraft has an $11 option of chard by the glass

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Amazing food combined with perfect service and cool atmosphere !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 3, 2017

It was my wife's birthday and the restaurant did a great job.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great dinner with my son!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It's was choice

Tags: Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was actually very good .portion seemed incredibly small .price was high but that's what you pay on South Beach

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The sushi rolls we ordered were good - especially the crispy rice tuna. But the service was not good. We were seated in tables so close to other guests that it was uncomfortable. We were not told the specials. The sever rushed us. And it felt like she wanted to turn the table instead of letting us enjoy our food. It was also freezing with air blowing directly on us and others. Not worth the trip

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Perfect! Our host David gave us great recommendations

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Ultra music festival was going on outside. It was very loud to say the least. Waiter was nice but seemed too busy and had too many tables to deal with. Was very inattentive. Food was very good but not worth the $$$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Best sushi place in sobe! The brussel sprouts are to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 23, 2017

So noisy couldn't wait to leave, parking was outrageous

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 23, 2017

A notre deuxième visite on est toujours aussi étonné de l'originalité et la qualité des plats servis
Le décors est magnifique et le service irréprochable
A refaire encore et encore

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 20, 2017

This is overpriced Americanized Japanese food and seemingly a tourist trap. I would not return and it stings to have paid for the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

LOVE.THIS.PLACE
Everything about the Katsuya is just outstanding!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent ambiance, excellent service. Lots of food that should be advertised in advance, we have to leave food on the table. Expensive but worth it. Hot spot. High level of noise. Quick service considering it was full of people.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Trendy restaurant located at the SLS Hotel. Dressy and casual atmosphere. Great table service and delicious sushi and appetizers. Cocktails are well-crafted. Moderate menu size but quality choices. Baked snow crab hand rolls are fantastic.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The hardest thing we had to do here was winnow down the menu because everything seemed so attractive. In the end we ate a bit too much because it was so good. Not a bad problem to have. Very friendly staff.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The hostess and waitress I had were top notch👌👌

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food wasn't anything special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great sushi, great sake selection and great staff! We really enjoyed our evening at Katsuya. We highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great food and great service! The sushi was fresh and fantastic. The cocktails creative, not too sweet. And our server was a delightful woman whose name I tried to remember, but it was too unique.

The only negative was the cold hostess who walked us to the table and responded to my "thank you" with "no problem".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 8, 2017

A god sushi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The food was excellent. However the dining room was very loud. Service was also very poor

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The signature Wagyu Foie Gras was outstandingly delicious, tender melt in your mouth. A must try. The Sushi sampler was very fresh also.
Our server Elisa was very good, amiable pleasing and warm. Made our late night dining experience most pleasurable. We'll surely return!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fun, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 28, 2017

2nd time there. First time was a wow , this time ok. Environment needs a refresh. Waiter convinced me to try a toro special...we were disappointed - way too fussy. Toro doesn't need to be dressed up( I should have know. Enter and resisted)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The tables are a bit close together so there is not a lot of privacy or intimacy if you are looking for quiet conversation

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great server,Alicia made our dinner delicious and fun, She gave good suggestions and showed true interest in making sure we had a great time and enjoyed what we ordered.
This food is complex and interesting-full of savory tastes ,hints of heat .. that make you want more.... love this restaurant !

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Spicy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Everything was delicious! Not one thing disappointed- in fact was one of best meals ever!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Best sushi I ever had !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Service was okay. Starters arrived before our drinks. Rock shrimp needed more sauce. Overall food was great. Would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food is amazing and service is perfect ! We will be back !

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The sls hotel where this is located is absolutely beautiful. Highly reco to go early and get a drink there before dinner at the bar outside the restaurant (bar Centro). We did the tasting menu at Katsuya and it was awesome! Lots of selections from the chefs signature dishes which were delicious! Def plenty of food! Lotus flower drink was super tasty. However , the Service wasn't the greatest -- never got waters til after the first course came out, all of our utensils were removed and prepped for dessert when they realized they still had one more sushi course to serve us, waiter wasn't really around a ton, etc...

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.