Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

About Katsuya- Brentwood

Upon its debut, Katsuya Brentwood was named one of Travel + Leisure's "Best New Restaurants," and it continues to garner acclaim as one of OpenTable's "50 Hottest Restaurants in the U.S." and the Los Angeles Times Readers' Choice "Best Sushi Restaurant" in Southern California. Featuring the dynamic pairing of Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi and design impresario Philippe Starck, Katsuya is truly a feast for the senses. With specialty cocktails, unique rolls and spectacular sushi and sashimi platters, Chef Uechi skillfully translates Japanese flavors to the American palate.

11777 San Vicente Blvd
Brentwood, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Sun-Thu 5-10pm, Fri-Sat 5-11pm

Cross Street:
Montana

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 299-2058

Website:
http://www.katsuyarestaurant.com/

Catering:
sbe Catering offers Katsuya's award-winning Japanese cuisine by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi at any location, for intimate dinners at home, meetings at the office or elaborate parties just about anywhere. Customize your event with tray-passed service, seated dinners or chef’s stations. sbe Catering can do it all! Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Executive Chef:
Katsuya Uechi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From intimate to grand, let sbe Events + Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya Brentwood accommodates up to 250 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails. Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Private Dining

From intimate to grand, let sbe Events & Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya Brentwood accommodates up to 250 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails.

Katsuya- Brentwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Hot Spot (21)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Fit for Foodies (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Fun (20)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Modern Decor (15)
People Watching (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Casual (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Healthy (9)
Romantic (9)
Business Meals (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Authentic (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Cozy (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Family Style (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Spicy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
1103 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Hostess was dreary and uninterested in assisting us.

Wanted to celebrate my sons birthday and told them when I made the reservation and again with our server, but no acknowledgement was made in any form.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Loved the food especially crispy rice with tuna and the sushi with rock shrimp. Our hostess was so pleasant and was very helpful with recommendations. The chocolate fondant was yum melted in our mouth.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Katsuya-Brentwood was great! We dined on National Sushi Day and I had the prix fixe sushi menu. It was a great way to try a lot of different things. My wife enjoyed miso black cod, and her favorite hand crab rolls. You can't go wrong at Katsuya. There's something for everyone and the atmosphere is hip. Great cocktails too. We couldn't resist indulging in one of their fabulous desserts. Katsuya has one of my favorite dessert menus! Special thanks to the manager, Jaclyn, who took a personal interest in our dining experience. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Would give it 6 stars if we could. Crab hand roll and crispy rice tuna are two must haves

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Always consistently delicious sushi and cocktails. Busy but friendly service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 9, 2017

as usual Katsuya delivers, overtime..my husband loves the lamb chops , I love the sushi and spicy edamame and our friend loved everything she ate! Thank you!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We like this restaurant but it's noisy. That's the only drawback.

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Everything from steak to sushi and well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great food but so loud it was impossible to carry on a conbersation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Went here for a friends birthday because it's his favorite place. Food was really delicious and the service was fantastic! It's a nice restaurant where kids are actually welcome! Most places like these would either not allow kids or give really bad service, but we still had a really wonderful experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 12, 2017

It's just a great local Sushi place.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Husband and wife date night. :)

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Healthy, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun, Comfort Food, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had reserved a table for 4 and Had to wait 30 min for a reservation was annoying

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Every time I make a reservation I ask to be seated in the main room. I never get a reply, but when I arrive, the hostess always takes my group to the room I do NOT want, and then they act very rattled about finding an option in the main room. This time we had to be seated OUTSIDE because they did not have a table for us, and we had a reservation. The hostess apologized, but why can't they honor or at least respond to my request if they cannot honor it?? It happens every single time we go to this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Accommodated our request for a booth which helped with noise. But had a few different waiters taking orders and delivering food so they brought stuff we didn't order and never got some things we did order until asked where it was.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 1, 2017

I usually refrain from leaving poor reviews, but the service was pretty bad. Went early on a Sunday with my girlfriend (had reservations). They directed us to a booth up near the entrance door. Not great but we're not that picky if the food and service are good. "We'll need this booth in an hour" I was told as we sat down. Okay...
Funny, the "good booths" near the center of the restaurant were still empty when we left. There were literally 4 occupied tables in the restaurant when we sat down yet it took our server 15 minutes to come and ask if we wanted drinks. We saw her literally twice before the bill arrived, which I had to get up and ask for.

The toro sashimi was excellent but the hot food was mediocre. The chicken teriyaki could have been picked up at Whole Foods and the stripped sea bass (their specialty) was luke warm, deep fried and covered in a thick sticky syrup over a heavy tempura crust . Our waitress dropped it on the table, and said "Sea bass" before quickly walking away. I tried tearing the fish apart with my chop sticks before a nice older Asian man saw me and came by with silverwear. He was the one very attentive person, refilling our water. My girlfriends dinner showed up 20 minutes after mine.

We had spent the previous weekend at Pelican Hill Resort in Newport Beach where every single person from the front desk to the restaurant personnel, to the room service attendants were top notch, friendly and ultra professional. This restaurant seemed to have a lot of attitude - which is kind of strange and out of place in today's world. Most of us are too busy to deal with that. Maybe it was a bad night...hopefully.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We showed up with our reservation and were directed to a table with the worst location right in front of restaurant. The table where we were eventually seated was small and seats were uncomfortable.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It good! Our server was great! The place was live and energetic! It's pretty good sushi! The Spicy Tuna Crispy Rice is the best!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Noisy place, long waiting times, food (sushi Rolls) good

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I did my birthday dinner here and it was great! Great service, great food, and easy to talk to everyone in your party.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food, mediocre service and very noisy. I had notified restaurant of a birthday at time of reservation, and then when I confirmed reservation, and at check in. But the waiter didn't bring out a candle with the dessert we ordered. Very disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Amazing as always!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Awful! Service is really bad. Never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food is good. Sashimi is fresh. Back room is too dark, seats are low, and restaurant is too noisy.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food was excellent and so was the service. Overall great experience

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Got to the restaurant at 8 p.m. Had food in front of us at 8:20 and never got our Sake until 8:35. They were out of the Sake we requested and then tried to charge us for both bottles of sake. Food was almost finished before we got our drinks. Very chaotic atmosphere. Had two waiters and both didn't know what the other was doing. Food was at least good.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Delicious food, professional service, beautiful job on personalizing a birthday dessert.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

delicious but small portions and overpriced
i knew all this already honestly

vibe-wise is the main issue
the studio city location (the original location) is laid back and lovely
the brentwood location is douchey

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fantastic Dining Experience in the heart of Brentwood, CA. The quality of service was exceeded by the incredible food served.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Soooo goood, always delicious & consistent.
Our server Kera was the best

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Best Sushi restaurant in my neighborhood.
Love the black cod.
good value for lunch.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Katsuya is consistently great. The food is inventive, fresh and beautifully presented. Beware - most of the portions are small, so a full meal can get pricey. There are a few "all-in" meals that are quite good if budget is an issue. Be prepared for lots of noise.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Family Style, Vegan, Modern Decor, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Have been there before and this was not such a great experience. The hot Saki was salty and yellow. Looked like they added soy sauce to it. And the food just wasn't as good as before.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Love it 😍 delicious 😋, way to much noise difficult to hear each other.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on March 26, 2017

Service was awful. We were treated like ghosts. Had to ask for everything and for everyone. No one came to the table offering. Food was mediocre, at best.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I love this restaurant. We have come for many special occasions, graduation, birthdays. The food is wonderful and the atmosphere is exceptional. The watermelon mojito is fresh and delicious.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great place! Friendly service and the delicious food was delivered in timely manner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Great food. Only sushi restaurant I have found with a full bar.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Birthday for my wife who has eaten here before. Best sushi I've ever had and the service was helpful as well as complete. Can't recommend enough.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Even with a reservation we waited 45 minutes to be seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.