Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 63 times today

Katsuya- Brentwood

4.7
1253 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Fun
  • Fit for Foodies
Upon its debut, Katsuya Brentwood was named one of Travel + Leisure's "Best New Restaurants," and it continues to garner acclaim as one of OpenTable's "50 Hottest Restaurants in the U.S." and the Los Angeles Times Readers' Choice "Best Sushi Restaurant" in Southern California. Featuring the dynamic pairing of Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi and design impresario Philippe Starck, Katsuya is truly a feast for the senses. With specialty cocktails, unique rolls and spectacular sushi and sashimi platters, Chef Uechi skillfully translates Japanese flavors to the American palate.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Sushi
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Sun-Thu 5-10pm, Fri-Sat 5-11pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(310) 237-6174
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Katsuya Uechi
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
sbe Catering offers Katsuya's award-winning Japanese cuisine by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi at any location, for intimate dinners at home, meetings at the office or elaborate parties just about anywhere. Customize your event with tray-passed service, seated dinners or chef’s stations. sbe Catering can do it all! Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Montana
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
From intimate to grand, let sbe Events + Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya Brentwood accommodates up to 250 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails. Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

From intimate to grand, let sbe Events & Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya Brentwood accommodates up to 250 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails.

View Private Dining Details
What 1253 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
78% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 4 days ago

Food is always amazing! However, they sat us at a table in a hallway from one dining room to the back dining room/bar. Really bad location because servers and guests were constantly walking by. Initial service was terrible. We sat at our table for about 15 minutes before a single person came by. Finally I flagged a server down to ask if he could find our waiter.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Delicious as always. Service is quick. Love to eat here. Fish is always fresh.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

One of our very favorite restaurants. Always great food and excellent service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Most excellent experience this time around
Food A +
Service B+
Value $ wise A
Noise level D although it was also Mother’s Day
Quite impossible to have or hear a conversation
This place is totally family friendly
It is like the CPK of sushi
While at the same time is the Westside Hotspot for all the beautiful people

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We were seated somewhat close to the front door if we weren’t there would’ve been a perfect evening .
Great service great cocktails great food, we’ll be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Always good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Old friends

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

One of LA's top restaurants. A sure winner for any occasion.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Friends birthday but no one acknowledged it or brought a cake out or anything even though I put a special note under the reservation.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Food was an A plus but when you note in your reservation that you are celebrating a birthday and then reconfirm that at check in and the waitress fails to recognize the occasion that is a faux pas that is unacceptable

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Worst service ever and I go there often and was so surprised.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Great evening out with our team from Houston. Solid sake and beer selection, creative rolls (corn crunch!), FRESH sushi & sashimi. Don’t miss this Brentwood location!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

An alright sushi experience. The generic fusion dishes seem throughout LA with little to differentiate. Where others integrate out of the box ingredients or exceptional quality and attention to detail, Katsuya wades trough the middle, passing but not excelling.
You’re paying more for the atmosphere, definitely not the grade of sushi or authenticity of dishes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We had the best time in Katsuya, got a great a table at the back room, drinks and food was delicious-great service and overall above amazing atmosphere-loved it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

A little too loud.
Table not ready at ourbooked time (previous guests long gone, table just not cleaned up. so we were sent to the tiny bar to wait. Tiny meant 4 seats that were already taken. If they don’t have a bar that can accommodate waiting guests, they should manage their clean up better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Service was great
Food was good
Fairly loud
Great company

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Hostess forget we were there waiting for our reservation so after 30 minutes I had to go up and tell her. Service was terrible and food was ok. I’ve had good dining experiences here but this one was terrible

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Great food, nice staff. Pricey but good. Noise levels high. Hard to have a conversation. Could not hear the waiter...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Excellent waiter. So helpful and attentive. Sushi was fantastic. Best salmon sashimi. The crispy rice appetizer was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Everyone was lovely and polite. The serves was good. I have no complaints about anything. The waitress gave me good recommendations and she was sweet too.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 18, 2018

This place used to be my favorite place to have sushi. This time around, I am sorry to say, the sushi was not very fresh and a far cry from their usual previous top standards. So sad. The service was very good though and the cocktails yummy. I will give Katusya another try....maybe they had an off evening? But not so good when you are paying top price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

16 th birthday dinner for my daughter. she loved it!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We've been going for years, but less and less and now probably not again. Partially empty restaurant and they sit us next to bathroom. Why do that? Also, they bring the food out incredibly fast... like it's pre-made. I remember this from last time, too. They really want you to eat and get out. Last time had our food within ten minutes of sitting down and we're done in 45 minutes. Not a great dining experience for $350 for four people.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The food was excellent and the service good considering that the place was very crowded.
Unfortunately, the room was extremely noisy so it was difficult to hold a conversation with our guests. This is a good restaurant for the delicious food but not it's not great for socializing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Solid service quiet place for leisurely lunch
Food was well prepared and well priced for quality

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 12, 2018

If you love Japanese food, you will rejoice in the high quality ingredients they clearly use. The food is perfect...but no inexpensive. The service is slow but fine if you want to linger and enjoy your company. I highly recommend it to foodies.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Brian was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Great place for a long lunch. The lunch specials are all delicious and it's always quiet enough for great conversation.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 7, 2018

So many choices for good sushi and a hip vibe in LA. Katsuya feels like it’s had it’s day, and that day has passed. The sushi was lack luster, rather tasteless, except for the shishito peppers, which were inedibly hot, even for shishito peppers. The Katsuya “special roll” was actually devoid of flavor. The Spanish mackerel sushi tasted old. Robota eggplant had zero taste, which made that experience like eating cardboard. The Japanese mushrooms were good and yellowtail shashimi was good. Bread pudding... a waste of calories. Again, very little flavor. I am perplexed that food could be so consistently bland. New management?

All in all, after spending a couple hundred on disappointing food, we left hungry.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Great vibe and delicious food for the value! Will definitely be back for more lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

annual anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The food and service was amazing we plan on going back soon.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Overrated, service underwhelming, good food, but not great for what it costs.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 20, 2018

It was loud in there and there was a group of girls smoking outside and the front door was open so that smell was coming in by our table. I got up and shut the door as the hostess and waitstaff thought nothing of it. Additionally, the server was very pushy and rushed us through our meal. Then with two full glasses of wine - he dropped the check and repeatedly came over to see if we took care of the bill yet. Our reservation was at 8pm. He dropped the check at 9:15 or so... it was just an annoying dinning experience overall. We won’t be back.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 19, 2018

I used to love this restaurant. However, they revamped the lunch menu and got rid of the dishes that I enjoyed the most. Moreover, they have doubled the prices on most lunch items and reduced the portions significantly. Katsuya used to be packed at lunch time, yet during this visit it was nearly empty. My guess is that other patrons feel the same way I do about the restaurant's menu changes.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Love Katsuya. We go once a week. But we got beyond frustrated that we booked a 7:00pm dinner and didn’t sit until 7:30. Why make a reservation? Beyond that, all is great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Best sushi I’ve ever had! I can’t wait to return♥️
Parking is tough though.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 10, 2018

food was really slow and hot food was cold, use to be a great restaurant not any more

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Disclaimer: I am a vegetarian so it may not seem fair to write a review for a sushi restaurant. What I can tell you is that the vegetables on this menu are beyond delicious, flavorful and satisfying. It is so nice that the rest of the family can have high quality sushi and I can feast on delectable veggies.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
32

Tweets by Katsuya- Brentwood