About Katsuya- Brentwood

11777 San Vicente Blvd
Brentwood, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Upon its debut, Katsuya Brentwood was named one of Travel + Leisure's "Best New Restaurants," and it continues to garner acclaim as one of OpenTable's "50 Hottest Restaurants in the U.S." and the Los Angeles Times Readers' Choice "Best Sushi Restaurant" in Southern California. Featuring the dynamic pairing of Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi and design impresario Philippe Starck, Katsuya is truly a feast for the senses. With specialty cocktails, unique rolls and spectacular sushi and sashimi platters, Chef Uechi skillfully translates Japanese flavors to the American palate.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Sun-Thu 5-10pm, Fri-Sat 5-11pm

Cross Street:
Montana

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 299-2058

Website:
http://www.katsuyarestaurant.com/

Catering:
sbe Catering offers Katsuya's award-winning Japanese cuisine by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi at any location, for intimate dinners at home, meetings at the office or elaborate parties just about anywhere. Customize your event with tray-passed service, seated dinners or chef’s stations. sbe Catering can do it all! Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Executive Chef:
Katsuya Uechi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From intimate to grand, let sbe Events + Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya Brentwood accommodates up to 250 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails. Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Private Dining

From intimate to grand, let sbe Events & Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya Brentwood accommodates up to 250 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails.

Katsuya- Brentwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (20)
Good for a Date (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
See All
Creative Cuisine (18)
Hot Spot (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
People Watching (8)
Romantic (7)
Family Style (6)
Healthy (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Cozy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Authentic (4)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tapas (2)
Spicy (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1052 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

I used to really like this restaurant. I've eaten there about 25 times. Really don't enjoy it anymore.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food. Service was good. Very noisy the night we went

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

If you want really good sushi this is the place to go. My father and I both have birthdays a day apart and we decided to celebrate it together. I submitted my reservation on Opentable and left a note that we are both celebrating birthdays. It apparently went unnoticed as it wasn't acknowledged. Not a big deal but just be aware that if you want them to do something special you might need to let the hostess know up front vs leaving a note via Opentable as it was ignored.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was great and very personable. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Service was impeccable! Waitress was delightful, insightful and personable. Delicious meal too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Food was fantastic and service was wonderful. My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time for our Valentine's Day here. Great venue for special occasions the bill does add up, but you're paying for the experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great service ! The waiter really met my standards ! I enjoyed the food and the cocktails . I would definitely come again for a nice meal .

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 9, 2017

So noisy there is no point in going again. This situation is not cute or funny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The food is always fresh and so delicious! I could eat there every week and never get tired of it. The yellow tail just melts in your mouth! Can't wait to go again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Their Hollywood location is fantastic but Brentwood doesn't have the same vibe. The food is still good but their menu lacks a few of our favorites from Katsuya Hollywood. (Kobe Fried rice). Next time we are in town we will make the hike up to West Hollywood to get the full experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Happy hour/ bar seating. It only got louder after 7 pm.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 1, 2017

we come here every week for dinner because its conveniently located. i think its pricey. usually its good. last night not so much-even my 9 year old thought the food didnt taste as good as it usually does (especially the yellowtail sashimi with jalapeno) and my burning mandarin cocktail which i have ordered too many times to count literally burned my lips and throat. i sent it back. they should work on their consistency. that said, its always busy. No other good sushi choices for family dinner out in brentwood unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 31, 2017

I'll keep it short. Food was good, service was lousy. The server apologized no less than 4 times -- for the kitchen for the bartender for the wait. Maybe it was a bad night but for a spendy dinner, I don't expect to wait 20 minutes between every dish. Looong expensive evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 30, 2017

It was just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

45 min wait for a table after booking and ringing to say we would be late is not acceptable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Had a 6:30 reservation for 4 (2 adults and 2 children) but no table available except one at front next to door. We were about 15 min late in fairness. Waited for 20 min as was told another may open up. Didn't happen so we sat at the table next to the door where everyone waits, lighting is bad and it was a cold night so had to keep jackets on. Striped bass was good. Robata salmon was also good. Chicken was okay. Creamy shrimp was average as was the baked hand roll. Rainbow roll was good. Fire alarm went off and added to the lack of ambiance. One of the least restful meals I have had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Katsuya feels very special , even after all these years. The decor is warm and inviting, service is first rate and food is delicious. The kind of place you want to go back to.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This location is consistently VERY cold inside when it it is cold outside. Many diners kept their coats or sweaters on. We were first seated near the front door and asked to be moved because it was unbearable every time the door opened. It was not much better further back in the room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Tasty choices, pretty fast service, and fun happening atmosphere. Been here a lot and definitely recommend for dinner or lunch. Good for families or a hot date.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Way to loud!!! Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Complete disaster!! Some dishes we ordered never made it to the table. Even the waitress had no idea what we had eaten and what was to come. We asked for plates 3 x and they never brought them for us till finally we finished most of the dishes. The restaurant is so loud you can't even take to one another.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Exceptional food and service. Noise lev l a bit high on volume.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Hi.. Regretfully, I have to give this Katsuya a bad review again. We like the one in the valle They removed $63 off our bill but that was not really important nor a satisfactory solution. This was an intimate birthday dinner that turned out to be an embarrassing experience. We would've preferred to have been treated better and our food and drinks to have arrived timed correctly. We were prepared to have a nice long evening with food and drinks, instead we cut it short and headed somewhere else. Why this Katsuya continues to disappoint and yet always bursting with diners truly confounds me.

-they sat us 20 minutes pass our reservation and then we ended up at a horrible table

-we waited another 20 minutes since we didn't want to sit at the "thouroughfare" table

-server did not arrive until 12 minutes after being seated

-we had to wave our server to the bar to point out our drinks were ready to be picked up

-the food arrived before the drinks but one person's order was missing so we all tried to wait to see if the missing food would show up... food got cold..

-we asked our server why the food was not coursed out (we ordered apps too) as requested and she said that food was served "family style'...? are we are Bucca De Beppo...?

-called in the manager (Ricardo) to resolve and the missing food.. while charming, it still took 30 minutes to arrive for a simple uncomplicated roll.

As responsible diners, we tried to resolve our issues at the restaurants rather than "yelping" it. I am sorry to report that we were not successful in having a satisfactory solution.

There are too many restaurants in Los Angeles that offer great service and great food. Let's support those establishments.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Our food was tasty, beautifully presented and arrived reasonably promptly (it was a slow Sunday night). The restaurant feels like a "happening scene" but fortunately was not excessively noisy at the early hour. Our bill was a bit of a shock for the relatively small amounts we ate and drank - dishes are small, there was a huge mark-up on sparkling water, and dessert was way overpriced. We agreed that Katsuya was a positive experience but we would save eating there for special occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The food was delicious . The waiter was great , very attentive . Will definitely go back .

Tags: Modern Decor, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We always enjoy a meal here - the food and service are consistently great.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 13, 2017

People love this restaurant. Food was pretty good to very good, but they were not able to provide gluten free options for my friend. My big issue was service. It was just so hard to get any attention--hard to get more sparkling water, hard to order b'day dessert, hard to get check, etc. We were there for lunch and get out under 2 hours required pressing on our party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Enjoyed the meal and service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Food is always good but was disappointed by the service this last time when the restaurant wasn't particularly crowded.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had the best time ever. Great food and nice ambiance.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It never disappoints. I've been here many times and the sushi is always amazing! The Dragon cocktail is my favorite. Made with their own ginger syrup. The service has also gotten much better.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The sushi bar took an hour to get our first sushi order out, and when we were still hungry the subsequent orders kept us there for another hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Outstanding food

Check in process little unorganized but overall excellent food and wait staff very good

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Crowded and long wait to get seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I gave service a very bad score. Our original waitress was fantastic. She left and we had a young lady that was far more intent on closing the restaurant than anything else. She dropped off the check, said no rush, but then came back and said we needed to close it out. While we were still siting there, she came by and took the soy sauce bottle off the table. It was a very unfriendly way of saying leave! Clearly, her closing was far more important than the guest experience. Btw...it was not closing time and there were many other restaurant guests in the restaurant. So, it is not like we were there 30 minutes after closing time.

I know this is rare....but when you are paying top dollar for a nice experience, the staff should not be looking to rush you out the door, because they want to clear their section.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was just amazing! It was a fabulous spot for my 9 year old since the place was packed with families. Only downside was bar area where we sat was way too dark and noisy. Would have preferred sitting in main area but no room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

not a great experience Not going to hurry back anytime soon

food was just ok....not great for the prices they charge

Martini had hardly any alcohol for 15 bucks

they were trying to get us out to get more bodies at our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Delicious food and vibrant atmosphere. Always a wonderful time!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Katsuya is the place where you know you get the highest quality of food and service among other restaurants of the same level...

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 12, 2016

My husband and I went to grab a bite and drinks on Sunday night. Seating options were limited since it was the final hour of the night so our table wasn't ideal. They were out of the dessert we wanted and the food didn't seem as fresh as other visits. Also, the timing of the meal was odd - we got one sushi roll even before our wine had arrived at the table. An okay meal, but not worth the investment for a night out with so many "off" moments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Some of the dishes were really good (crispy brussel sprouts, sunset roll), others were mediocre. Service started off friendly but became a bit cold after we had to flag down our server who left us waiting long stretches to place orders for additional items. Noise level pretty high for it being half full at lunch time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Always a delight to meet with friends and be greeted and served by so many very pleasant staff members ... and to also be served such interesting and varied dishes ... thanks for a great outing ...

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Fresh and delicious food . Nice seevedy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Always fresh & tasty. Mushroom salad and brussel sprouts excellent . Tuna on crispy rice the sweetness of butter on the rice and the tuna yum o. Really soooooo good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Had a fun girls night. Would have preferred to have been sat in a more comfortable area than the middle of the back room with bright lights shinning down on us. Perhaps a comfortable banquet or front room table would have been more appropriate. Food was good, as expected, our waiter was attentive and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Divine food, easy atmosphere, great people watching. Never misses for business lunches - my go to.

Back again next week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Excellent service, made reservation through OT app and got seated quickly. Food was amazing! Highly recommend lamb chops, crispy rock shrimp, and cod. Sushi was really fresh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Really, really like this restaurant and have been there many times but this last dining experience was not up to par. I had make the reservation at least 3 or 4 weeks in advance for four of us. We were seated by the front door and each time the door opened cold air came in. My husband asked the hostess to move us and she said it could not be done yet there were other empty tables. The bench seat one of our guests sat on was also soiled with old food. We mentioned this on our way out and the hostess barely acknowledged it. My husband spoke with manager and he was very apologetic and offered a nice discount on a future visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

One of our very favorite restaurants. Consistently excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.