Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

About Katsuya- Brentwood

Upon its debut, Katsuya Brentwood was named one of Travel + Leisure's "Best New Restaurants," and it continues to garner acclaim as one of OpenTable's "50 Hottest Restaurants in the U.S." and the Los Angeles Times Readers' Choice "Best Sushi Restaurant" in Southern California. Featuring the dynamic pairing of Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi and design impresario Philippe Starck, Katsuya is truly a feast for the senses. With specialty cocktails, unique rolls and spectacular sushi and sashimi platters, Chef Uechi skillfully translates Japanese flavors to the American palate.

11777 San Vicente Blvd
Brentwood, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Sun-Thu 5-10pm, Fri-Sat 5-11pm

Cross Street:
Montana

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 299-2058

Website:
http://www.katsuyarestaurant.com/

Catering:
sbe Catering offers Katsuya's award-winning Japanese cuisine by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi at any location, for intimate dinners at home, meetings at the office or elaborate parties just about anywhere. Customize your event with tray-passed service, seated dinners or chef’s stations. sbe Catering can do it all! Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Executive Chef:
Katsuya Uechi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From intimate to grand, let sbe Events + Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya Brentwood accommodates up to 250 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails. Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Private Dining

From intimate to grand, let sbe Events & Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya Brentwood accommodates up to 250 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails.

Katsuya- Brentwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Hot Spot (22)
See All
Modern Decor (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Business Meals (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
People Watching (11)
Healthy (9)
Romantic (8)
Authentic (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Family Style (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Cozy (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Casual (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Tapas (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Spicy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1068 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

I love this restaurant. We have come for many special occasions, graduation, birthdays. The food is wonderful and the atmosphere is exceptional. The watermelon mojito is fresh and delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place! Friendly service and the delicious food was delivered in timely manner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food. Only sushi restaurant I have found with a full bar.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Birthday for my wife who has eaten here before. Best sushi I've ever had and the service was helpful as well as complete. Can't recommend enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Even with a reservation we waited 45 minutes to be seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 19, 2017

great spot but not for large crowds. So loud you can only hear the person next too you.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The black card was great Russell sprouts great yellowtail tuna all wonderful. O

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Noise level incredibly high with a conversation at your own table at times impossible! Food great.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Service was very slow from sushi kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Celebrating my wife's birthday it was great food and great service - we enjoyed very much

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, People Watching, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our only negative for Katsuya is it's very cold in the restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Had a nice time at Katsuya, though it was my birthday and that wasn't acknowledged at all. The food was very good - I love the Brussels sprouts and the sushi was fresh and of high quality.

The restaurant wasn't crowded at all on a Thursday night which was a bit strange.

For the amount of food we ordered (not a lot) it was very expensive as can be expected. I'd still come back - but maybe not for a special occasion.

Service was good and the maitre d' was friendly and gave us an option of tables.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great ambiance and location. Busy on Wednesday night and service was ok.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Always Excellent. The best. Freshest sushi. Quiet on monday.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I used to really like this restaurant. I've eaten there about 25 times. Really don't enjoy it anymore.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good food. Service was good. Very noisy the night we went

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 18, 2017

If you want really good sushi this is the place to go. My father and I both have birthdays a day apart and we decided to celebrate it together. I submitted my reservation on Opentable and left a note that we are both celebrating birthdays. It apparently went unnoticed as it wasn't acknowledged. Not a big deal but just be aware that if you want them to do something special you might need to let the hostess know up front vs leaving a note via Opentable as it was ignored.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was great and very personable. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Service was impeccable! Waitress was delightful, insightful and personable. Delicious meal too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Food was fantastic and service was wonderful. My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time for our Valentine's Day here. Great venue for special occasions the bill does add up, but you're paying for the experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Birthday dinner

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great service ! The waiter really met my standards ! I enjoyed the food and the cocktails . I would definitely come again for a nice meal .

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 9, 2017

So noisy there is no point in going again. This situation is not cute or funny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The food is always fresh and so delicious! I could eat there every week and never get tired of it. The yellow tail just melts in your mouth! Can't wait to go again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Their Hollywood location is fantastic but Brentwood doesn't have the same vibe. The food is still good but their menu lacks a few of our favorites from Katsuya Hollywood. (Kobe Fried rice). Next time we are in town we will make the hike up to West Hollywood to get the full experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Happy hour/ bar seating. It only got louder after 7 pm.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 1, 2017

we come here every week for dinner because its conveniently located. i think its pricey. usually its good. last night not so much-even my 9 year old thought the food didnt taste as good as it usually does (especially the yellowtail sashimi with jalapeno) and my burning mandarin cocktail which i have ordered too many times to count literally burned my lips and throat. i sent it back. they should work on their consistency. that said, its always busy. No other good sushi choices for family dinner out in brentwood unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 31, 2017

I'll keep it short. Food was good, service was lousy. The server apologized no less than 4 times -- for the kitchen for the bartender for the wait. Maybe it was a bad night but for a spendy dinner, I don't expect to wait 20 minutes between every dish. Looong expensive evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 30, 2017

It was just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

45 min wait for a table after booking and ringing to say we would be late is not acceptable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Had a 6:30 reservation for 4 (2 adults and 2 children) but no table available except one at front next to door. We were about 15 min late in fairness. Waited for 20 min as was told another may open up. Didn't happen so we sat at the table next to the door where everyone waits, lighting is bad and it was a cold night so had to keep jackets on. Striped bass was good. Robata salmon was also good. Chicken was okay. Creamy shrimp was average as was the baked hand roll. Rainbow roll was good. Fire alarm went off and added to the lack of ambiance. One of the least restful meals I have had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Katsuya feels very special , even after all these years. The decor is warm and inviting, service is first rate and food is delicious. The kind of place you want to go back to.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This location is consistently VERY cold inside when it it is cold outside. Many diners kept their coats or sweaters on. We were first seated near the front door and asked to be moved because it was unbearable every time the door opened. It was not much better further back in the room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Tasty choices, pretty fast service, and fun happening atmosphere. Been here a lot and definitely recommend for dinner or lunch. Good for families or a hot date.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Way to loud!!! Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Complete disaster!! Some dishes we ordered never made it to the table. Even the waitress had no idea what we had eaten and what was to come. We asked for plates 3 x and they never brought them for us till finally we finished most of the dishes. The restaurant is so loud you can't even take to one another.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Exceptional food and service. Noise lev l a bit high on volume.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Hi.. Regretfully, I have to give this Katsuya a bad review again. We like the one in the valle They removed $63 off our bill but that was not really important nor a satisfactory solution. This was an intimate birthday dinner that turned out to be an embarrassing experience. We would've preferred to have been treated better and our food and drinks to have arrived timed correctly. We were prepared to have a nice long evening with food and drinks, instead we cut it short and headed somewhere else. Why this Katsuya continues to disappoint and yet always bursting with diners truly confounds me.

-they sat us 20 minutes pass our reservation and then we ended up at a horrible table
-we waited another 20 minutes since we didn't want to sit at the "thouroughfare" table
-server did not arrive until 12 minutes after being seated
-we had to wave our server to the bar to point out our drinks were ready to be picked up
-the food arrived before the drinks but one person's order was missing so we all tried to wait to see if the missing food would show up... food got cold..
-we asked our server why the food was not coursed out (we ordered apps too) as requested and she said that food was served "family style'...? are we are Bucca De Beppo...?
-called in the manager (Ricardo) to resolve and the missing food.. while charming, it still took 30 minutes to arrive for a simple uncomplicated roll.

As responsible diners, we tried to resolve our issues at the restaurants rather than "yelping" it. I am sorry to report that we were not successful in having a satisfactory solution.

There are too many restaurants in Los Angeles that offer great service and great food. Let's support those establishments.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Our food was tasty, beautifully presented and arrived reasonably promptly (it was a slow Sunday night). The restaurant feels like a "happening scene" but fortunately was not excessively noisy at the early hour. Our bill was a bit of a shock for the relatively small amounts we ate and drank - dishes are small, there was a huge mark-up on sparkling water, and dessert was way overpriced. We agreed that Katsuya was a positive experience but we would save eating there for special occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The food was delicious . The waiter was great , very attentive . Will definitely go back .

Tags: Modern Decor, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.