Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

About Katsuya- Brentwood

Upon its debut, Katsuya Brentwood was named one of Travel + Leisure's "Best New Restaurants," and it continues to garner acclaim as one of OpenTable's "50 Hottest Restaurants in the U.S." and the Los Angeles Times Readers' Choice "Best Sushi Restaurant" in Southern California. Featuring the dynamic pairing of Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi and design impresario Philippe Starck, Katsuya is truly a feast for the senses. With specialty cocktails, unique rolls and spectacular sushi and sashimi platters, Chef Uechi skillfully translates Japanese flavors to the American palate.

11777 San Vicente Blvd
Brentwood, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Sun-Thu 5-10pm, Fri-Sat 5-11pm

Cross Street:
Montana

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 237-6174

Website:
http://www.katsuyarestaurant.com/

Catering:
sbe Catering offers Katsuya's award-winning Japanese cuisine by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi at any location, for intimate dinners at home, meetings at the office or elaborate parties just about anywhere. Customize your event with tray-passed service, seated dinners or chef’s stations. sbe Catering can do it all! Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Executive Chef:
Katsuya Uechi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From intimate to grand, let sbe Events + Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya Brentwood accommodates up to 250 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails. Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Private Dining

From intimate to grand, let sbe Events & Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya Brentwood accommodates up to 250 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails.

Katsuya- Brentwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

Noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Special Occasion (24)
Good for Groups (20)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Fun (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Hot Spot (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Business Meals (11)
Casual (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Romantic (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Healthy (9)
Authentic (8)
Bar Seating (8)
People Watching (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Tapas (3)
Spicy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Cozy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1158 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Service was incredible, drinks were great and food was yummmy! All around great! Usually SBE restaurants are my least favorite when it comes to customer service, this location really changed my perspective.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Stripped base and miso cod excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 2, 2017

very delicious. very hip... even on a Monday. go! order tuna on crispy rice, hand crab rolls, albacore with jalapeño... it's all delicious. love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2017

It was a Sunday night and by request took my NY clients and sushi lovers to Katsuya. They had heard so much about the restaurant and living in Brentwood I was thrilled to eat close to home. I had not been to Katsuya for almost a year and was excited to return. I have to say it was one of the worse local experiences. The service was awful. We had to remind the waiter to bring our order , drinks and I am still waiting for a plate. We ate our sushi over the tiny mixing dishes given at the beginning of the meal. At the end of this ordeal I pulled the waiter aside and let him know nicely about my disappointment, in particular because it was a client dinner. His response was a cold and aggressive "what didn't you like specifically ?" We were shocked and left and still gave a tip. I am not sure why. I never ever ever write reviews or rate but hopefully someone at Katsuya will see this and make a change.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 30, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants in LA! We absolutely love the spicy edamame, the delicious drinks and the crunchy tuna!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Fun evening. We were supposed to have dinner, but got to the restaurant before it opened and sat at the bar. The bartender was so wonderful, we just kept ordering sushi and wine from him. We never made it to our table. The hostess was terrific. She checked in on us and just allowed us to stay at the bar. The sushi was delicious and innovative. Good wine selection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Super loud, too many kids in this expensive, fancy Asian/sushi restaurant - at 7:30 on a Friday night. Service was good, we like the food.

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

18th year anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

We always have a great time. We celebrated a special occasion recently and the staff was very attentive and was great with a special request I made. Food is amazing and the drinks are as well. Try the burning mandarin!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2017

AMAZJNG AS ALWAYS!!! LOVE -LOVE-LOVE this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Excellent food service ambience relaxing and smooth

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Great food as always. friendly service.
Just had a problem with 4 bones in my cod this past time. Yikes!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 9, 2017

First time to Katsuya. Cooked food and appetizers better than sushi which is why we gave it just a "good" rating. Our server was very enthusiastic and attentive. Super loud so hard to have any dinner conversation without feeling like you were yelling across the table. Ok for a Friday night out and last minute plans.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I had high expectations since the menu is relatively pricey. Granted we had a huge heat wave, the place was uncomfortably warm. We were seated in the back and it felt like a cheap cafeteria. We were super close to other guests, it was too loud to carry a decent conversation, and the food wasn't that memorable. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The service and food were superb.
I really credit the management and staff, it is a well runned establishment with tons of class.
Everyone we encountered who worked there was friendly and very accommodating. This is what restaurants have been missing for years. Kudos to Katsuya, this will be a regular in our dining rotation. Others in the business need to take note....this is how it's done.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 23, 2017

It was great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Fabulous decor and food. Great service. The cod is amazing and must be tried. Great cocktails too! Ask for a sharing platter of ice cream for dessert.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Great for groups but wasn't super impressed with the food overall. Wasn't bad, just wasn't very memorable.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 18, 2017

our server was incredible - so efficient! The food was absolutely delicious and we enjoyed every morsel! One of my favorite japanese restaurants !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

I was beyond disappointed in the service (and I love this place). THey never refilled our drinks, the food came in the completely wrong order. We must have had 5 waiters. It was not fun. When you pay a premium, you expect premium service.

I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Armando - best service we have had in a very long time. Kind and great customer service. Quick. Gave great recommendations. Would request to be our server in future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The food and service is always great. It is our favorite sushi restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Love food. And service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The waiter was a little rude by telling us we have to leave because they were busy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Friday night - very loud! Don't plan to have much conversation with your date. The wagyu steak was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I've been going to katsuya for years now and i should say if you want to go somewhere to be valued and appreciated its here this location. Cause they know people are local and they want them back and keep their business running
Manager is such a nice guy, Brian was our server he was amazing
Thank you Katsuya please remain great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I work directly across the street and whenever I take a large group to lunch, this is the go-to spot! Always a good meal and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Love this place. The only issue we ever have is the server not checking in enough with us. Other than that, the place and food is awesome. Servers are super friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Specialty cocktails are amazing and the sushi is divine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Love the Brussels but the watermelon salad was just ok. My son had the yellowtail and blue crab and seemed happy. Server was nice and prompt and busboy very attentive and kind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Food was good but very noising and service was slow and intermittent. Had to ask numerous times for our cocktails and although we asked, we never got water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 2, 2017

It was great time with very tasty foods and Great services

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 31, 2017

The go to spicy tuna on crispy rice was soggy and tasted stale. Crab hand roll good.
Brussels sprouts good.

Excellent cocktails.

Fine for a drink but sushi did not impress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 29, 2017

seated on time, food was delicious, good service, just a great sushi place. Always a great choice

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, People Watching, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great food but too loud. Terrible for business meeting but great for people watching

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Never disappointed at Katsuya. Service was a bit slow this past visit, but they made up for it with their delicious crispy rice with spicy tuna on the house. Cocktails were on point and the food always leaves you impressed with the quality and taste. Katsuya definitely raises your standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We came during Dine LA and got the tuna sashimi and mixed sushi plate (5 pieces) which was pretty good but not a lot of food. The yellowtail sashimi with jalapeño was disappointing. If you want to spend I prefer Sasabune for the freshness and flavors.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 24, 2017

food is good to very good. noise levels are deafening - unpleasant, impossible to speak at normal volume and communicate. ok for kids not grownups.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Service was super slow! We ended up being the last ones in the restaurant after lunch shift ended and it seemed like our server forgot about us. We ordered from the menu and one dineLa which was awful but server didn't care about checking if we liked it. We didn't complain because we had to run to an appointment and we were already late because of the service. The server would come and ask us if we are ready to order so we started giving him our order and he just turned around and dropped something at another table and came back to us, so he left us talking by ourselves. He didn't apologize and he seemed he was busy by trying to deliver and take care of orders at different tables at the same time. We both worked at hotels in BEverly hills and some of my guests would ask about this restaurant and that was the main reason we wanted to try it so we can recommend it. I was not impressed at all and won't care about coming back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Food is always on point. Service was awesome. The only downsides to the evening were the dog that was walking through the restaurant and the screaming child sitting next to us. I'm just getting the hearing back in that ear!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.