Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

About Katsuya- Brentwood

Upon its debut, Katsuya Brentwood was named one of Travel + Leisure's "Best New Restaurants," and it continues to garner acclaim as one of OpenTable's "50 Hottest Restaurants in the U.S." and the Los Angeles Times Readers' Choice "Best Sushi Restaurant" in Southern California. Featuring the dynamic pairing of Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi and design impresario Philippe Starck, Katsuya is truly a feast for the senses. With specialty cocktails, unique rolls and spectacular sushi and sashimi platters, Chef Uechi skillfully translates Japanese flavors to the American palate.

11777 San Vicente Blvd
Brentwood, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Sun-Thu 5-10pm, Fri-Sat 5-11pm

Cross Street:
Montana

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 299-2058

Website:
http://www.katsuyarestaurant.com/

Catering:
sbe Catering offers Katsuya's award-winning Japanese cuisine by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi at any location, for intimate dinners at home, meetings at the office or elaborate parties just about anywhere. Customize your event with tray-passed service, seated dinners or chef’s stations. sbe Catering can do it all! Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Executive Chef:
Katsuya Uechi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From intimate to grand, let sbe Events + Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya Brentwood accommodates up to 250 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails. Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Private Dining

From intimate to grand, let sbe Events & Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya Brentwood accommodates up to 250 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails.

Katsuya- Brentwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (25)
Good for a Date (25)
Modern Decor (23)
See All
Hot Spot (21)
Special Occasion (20)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Business Meals (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
People Watching (10)
Romantic (9)
Healthy (9)
Family Style (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Authentic (8)
Cozy (7)
Casual (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Tapas (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vegan (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1085 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Noisy place, long waiting times, food (sushi Rolls) good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I did my birthday dinner here and it was great! Great service, great food, and easy to talk to everyone in your party.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food, mediocre service and very noisy. I had notified restaurant of a birthday at time of reservation, and then when I confirmed reservation, and at check in. But the waiter didn't bring out a candle with the dessert we ordered. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Amazing as always!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Awful! Service is really bad. Never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food is good. Sashimi is fresh. Back room is too dark, seats are low, and restaurant is too noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food was excellent and so was the service. Overall great experience

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Got to the restaurant at 8 p.m. Had food in front of us at 8:20 and never got our Sake until 8:35. They were out of the Sake we requested and then tried to charge us for both bottles of sake. Food was almost finished before we got our drinks. Very chaotic atmosphere. Had two waiters and both didn't know what the other was doing. Food was at least good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Delicious food, professional service, beautiful job on personalizing a birthday dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

delicious but small portions and overpriced
i knew all this already honestly

vibe-wise is the main issue
the studio city location (the original location) is laid back and lovely
the brentwood location is douchey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fantastic Dining Experience in the heart of Brentwood, CA. The quality of service was exceeded by the incredible food served.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Soooo goood, always delicious & consistent.
Our server Kera was the best

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Best Sushi restaurant in my neighborhood.
Love the black cod.
good value for lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Katsuya is consistently great. The food is inventive, fresh and beautifully presented. Beware - most of the portions are small, so a full meal can get pricey. There are a few "all-in" meals that are quite good if budget is an issue. Be prepared for lots of noise.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Family Style, Vegan, Modern Decor, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Have been there before and this was not such a great experience. The hot Saki was salty and yellow. Looked like they added soy sauce to it. And the food just wasn't as good as before.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Love it 😍 delicious 😋, way to much noise difficult to hear each other.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on March 26, 2017

Service was awful. We were treated like ghosts. Had to ask for everything and for everyone. No one came to the table offering. Food was mediocre, at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I love this restaurant. We have come for many special occasions, graduation, birthdays. The food is wonderful and the atmosphere is exceptional. The watermelon mojito is fresh and delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great place! Friendly service and the delicious food was delivered in timely manner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Great food. Only sushi restaurant I have found with a full bar.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Birthday for my wife who has eaten here before. Best sushi I've ever had and the service was helpful as well as complete. Can't recommend enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Even with a reservation we waited 45 minutes to be seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 19, 2017

great spot but not for large crowds. So loud you can only hear the person next too you.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The black card was great Russell sprouts great yellowtail tuna all wonderful. O

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Noise level incredibly high with a conversation at your own table at times impossible! Food great.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Service was very slow from sushi kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Celebrating my wife's birthday it was great food and great service - we enjoyed very much

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, People Watching, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our only negative for Katsuya is it's very cold in the restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Had a nice time at Katsuya, though it was my birthday and that wasn't acknowledged at all. The food was very good - I love the Brussels sprouts and the sushi was fresh and of high quality.

The restaurant wasn't crowded at all on a Thursday night which was a bit strange.

For the amount of food we ordered (not a lot) it was very expensive as can be expected. I'd still come back - but maybe not for a special occasion.

Service was good and the maitre d' was friendly and gave us an option of tables.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great ambiance and location. Busy on Wednesday night and service was ok.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Always Excellent. The best. Freshest sushi. Quiet on monday.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I used to really like this restaurant. I've eaten there about 25 times. Really don't enjoy it anymore.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good food. Service was good. Very noisy the night we went

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 18, 2017

If you want really good sushi this is the place to go. My father and I both have birthdays a day apart and we decided to celebrate it together. I submitted my reservation on Opentable and left a note that we are both celebrating birthdays. It apparently went unnoticed as it wasn't acknowledged. Not a big deal but just be aware that if you want them to do something special you might need to let the hostess know up front vs leaving a note via Opentable as it was ignored.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was great and very personable. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Service was impeccable! Waitress was delightful, insightful and personable. Delicious meal too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Food was fantastic and service was wonderful. My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time for our Valentine's Day here. Great venue for special occasions the bill does add up, but you're paying for the experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Birthday dinner

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great service ! The waiter really met my standards ! I enjoyed the food and the cocktails . I would definitely come again for a nice meal .

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 9, 2017

So noisy there is no point in going again. This situation is not cute or funny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.