About Katsuya- Brentwood

11777 San Vicente Blvd
Brentwood, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Upon its debut, Katsuya Brentwood was named one of Travel + Leisure's "Best New Restaurants," and it continues to garner acclaim as one of OpenTable's "50 Hottest Restaurants in the U.S." and the Los Angeles Times Readers' Choice "Best Sushi Restaurant" in Southern California. Featuring the dynamic pairing of Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi and design impresario Philippe Starck, Katsuya is truly a feast for the senses. With specialty cocktails, unique rolls and spectacular sushi and sashimi platters, Chef Uechi skillfully translates Japanese flavors to the American palate.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Sun-Thu 5-10pm, Fri-Sat 5-11pm

Cross Street:
Montana

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 299-2058

Website:
http://www.katsuyarestaurant.com/

Catering:
sbe Catering offers Katsuya's award-winning Japanese cuisine by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi at any location, for intimate dinners at home, meetings at the office or elaborate parties just about anywhere. Customize your event with tray-passed service, seated dinners or chef’s stations. sbe Catering can do it all! Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Executive Chef:
Katsuya Uechi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From intimate to grand, let sbe Events + Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya Brentwood accommodates up to 250 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails. Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Restaurant Photos

Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna
Rock Shrimp Tempura Roll
Apple In Puff Pastry Shell
Special Katsuya Roll
Foie Gras W/ Kobe Beef And Trumpet Mushroom
Rock Shrimp Tempura
Albacore Sashimi With Crispy Onion
Wagyu Ribeye
Rock Shrimp
Bread Pudding
Tuna Sashimi
Baked Crab Roll
Tempura Rock Shrimp
Lobster Tail Dynamite
Miso Glazed Black Cod
Double Hamachi Roll
Katsuya Roll
Crispy Brussel Sprouts
bento box
Baked White Fish with Truffle
Crab and Mozzarella Tempura
Kobe Beef
Green Tea, Strawberry, Mango And Vanilla Mochi
Tempura Fried Ice Cream
Spicy Albacore Shashimi
Chocolate Lovers Cake
Sashimi
Crispy Spicy Tuna
Chicken Terriyaki
Kiwi Envy Cocktail
Seared Albacore

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 11:30AM - 12:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Wed 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 12:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

From intimate to grand, let sbe Events & Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya Brentwood accommodates up to 250 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails.

Katsuya- Brentwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Westside
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Westside
Best Restaurants in Brentwood ›

Hot Spot (56)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Special Occasion (53)
See All
Good for Groups (41)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Romantic (18)
Kid-friendly (14)
Great for Lunch (11)
Late-night Find (9)
Notable Wine List (4)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
903 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had to wait the table for more than h ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had to wait the table for more than half an hour. We have never eaten a dish all together. Everything was random and the noise was unacceptable. I strongly advise not to eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Always a good time. Excellent food. I've ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always a good time. Excellent food. I've never been disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I sent a note to Katsuya/SBE group about ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I sent a note to Katsuya/SBE group about our experience. pasted below.

I’m writing to you to discuss my dining experience on Tuesday evening this week. I want to first start off by saying that I am a huge fan of Katusya, and I truly do love eating there as often as I can. I rarely ever take the time to write any sort of emails like this, but this was a rather bad experience, and definitely warranted an email to you guys. First of all, like I said, I’m a frequent visitor of Katusya in Brentwood. I have never had a bad experience. The service is always great, it’s quick, it’s nice, the whole bit. However, Tuesday night was a nice occasion. I had family in town and I had boasted about how amazing the restaurant was. I need to start by saying that we ended up having to CANCEL dishes, because they just never showed up. In particular, the crispy rice/spicy tuna, which I know how it is usually timed, and for them to not even show up was just ludicrous. We reminded our server twice, and they still didn’t show. We were given dishes that we didn’t even order too. The timing was just truly awful. There were tables all around us getting everything they ordered, and then there was us, with barely anything. It just took forever, and that’s usually out of the ordinary. We were really really unhappy about it. I’m not sure if you can even do anything about this but I at least had to make you aware of it all.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

The creamy rock shrimp on rolls is a sta ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The creamy rock shrimp on rolls is a stable and a must-try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is always delicious here. We w ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food is always delicious here. We were a group of 7 celebrating my daughter's 15th birthday. We all shared the rock shrimp rolls, black cod, filet with foie gras, rib eye with mushrooms, spicy tuna rice cakes, and a few other items. We could not stop eating it was so delicious. Especially the filet. For desert we ordered the bread pudding, creme brulee, and chocolate cake. The bread pudding was out of this world. Our food came out quickly, table was always cleaned up, drinks refilled, etc. Staff is very friendly and attentive. The french coffee press is delicious, but I still wish they had an espresso machine.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I had made a reservation a week ahead of ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I had made a reservation a week ahead of time. When we got there there were three open booths and yet they would not sit us in one. I had also called ahead to let them know that we were celebrating a birthday and the server seemed annoyed when I reminded him...clearly he had no clue. I have been to the restaurant a few times--this was definitely a disappointing visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Food was excellent. Noise level in the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was excellent. Noise level in the back room is intolerable. Saw another party reseated in the main room because they could not stand it. Loved food but it was so loud I will not return. DO NOT accept back room table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

I am an open table member and I have nev ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I am an open table member and I have never written a negative review about a restaurant. I thought I would write this because I thought the restaurant, management, and new comers should be aware. I have eaten at Katsuya multiple times and we always go around opening time so it's not very busy. The service has been decreasing every time. This will be the last time i will be eating there. The service was terrible. The waitress was rude and immediately after being seated she asked us what we wanted to eat when we hadn't even opened our menus. So we gave her the drink order and then she asked us again what we wanted to eat without getting our drinks first.

She brought out the drinks and it was wrong. It seems that the bar is a hangout for waiters and waitresses to hang out and talk loudly. Even the manager was in the bar area talking to them. Every time they brought out a roll it was a different server, and we said thank you and they never responded. We asked for more cream and they never brought it. Also, they usually empty your used edamame pods bowl when it's full but ours was overflowing and we had to empty it in our sushi plate. The soy sauce bottle also seems to be almost empty even though the restaurant has just opened. It seems to be poor management and I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

We recently moved to Brentwood and wante ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We recently moved to Brentwood and wanted to give Katsyra a try. We decided to go during LA Restaurant Week so we could try a little of the most popular items. When making the reservation confirmation over the phone I mentioned to the hostess that we were coming during LA Restaurant Week and she said she would make a note in our reservation. We arrived and were seated and had to remind our waiter for the LA Restaurant Week Menu. He then took away the regular menus and seemed put off to get the other menu. If a restaurant does commit to LA Restaurant Week then they need to NOT make guests feel bad for coming to try their restaurant. I will not be going back to Katsuya because the food really wasn't very good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The service was terrible. Our drink was ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The service was terrible. Our drink was spilled by our waiter & he didn't even offer to pour a new drink. He just apologized for knocking my glass, cleaned the table with our napkins and left! The food was so so...Not worth dining at...We will find somewhere with better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Service was excellent. Food was fresh an ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was fresh and tasty. Good menu for DineLA to try.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I bring friends from out of town. Love ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I bring friends from out of town. Love the atmosphere. The food is excellent. Service is really terrible for the price of the food. Hard to tip a server $80 that you had to flag down 3 times.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

The hostess was very gracious and the se ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The hostess was very gracious and the server was lovely, initially. The server even squat down to better explain the menu until... I presented a $30 off $60 voucher and even though my tab was $67 before tax and tip, it became very chilly in there. No refill on the water during the entire meal and it was a very hot day (108 degrees in the Valley) although she checked on the level of soy sauce in the tureen on all the tables. Hard not to notice an empty water glass and no asking if everything was good, as is normally done within the first few minutes of starting a meal.

Food was artfully presented and quite delicious. Adding truffles to the tuna I found to make absolutely no difference in taste while adding $16 to the dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Katsuya is Katsuya. It's expensive, yumm ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Katsuya is Katsuya. It's expensive, yummy, overly trendy, etc. But it's reliable! We had really excellent service this visit which was great! Had a lovely late night dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Although we had a reservation, we were s ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Although we had a reservation, we were seated at a small table next to the waiters station where there were constantly 2-6 people gathered...and not to wait on us. The bus person, who passed dozens of times, spilled and splashes on my feet. Honestly, for the price, the food could never be good enough to put up with this lack of, shall we call it ambiance?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

One of my favorite restaurants! Always ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants! Always good food and great atmosphere. Go early with kids or late for a fun party atmosphere. Eating here for years and never a bad meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Started off great. It got horrible by th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Started off great. It got horrible by the end! Sever was nice, but just forgot about us multiple times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Good food. Nice decor Very noisy Small ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Good food. Nice decor

Very noisy

Small portions

Left hungry

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Highly recommend. The service and food w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Highly recommend. The service and food were both fantastic. Atmosphere very cool but not too trendy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Noise level in this restaurant is a bit ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Noise level in this restaurant is a bit much. Definitely not the place to dine if you want to have a nice conversation with your dinner guests.

Seems like this location has become more a family dining spot. I consider sushi (and this restaurant) to be a more sophisticated so I am always surprised to see so many children present in the restaurant. It definitely changes the mood and, makes for a less "date-friendly" atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

It has the most amazing food. Ambiance ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

It has the most amazing food. Ambiance is so attractive. It is one of my most favorite restaurants in LA.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food (all Katsuya specials are ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Delicious food (all Katsuya specials are amazing and yummy desserts too), outstanding drinks (try the burning mandarin) and top-notch service. Seating is prompt with reservation but, despite 3 hostesses at the entrance, they forgot to check me in so OpenTable didn't know I showed up. Also, depending on where you're seated and whether large groups are around, the noise level can get annoying. Overall, great experience but restaurant needs improvement at hostess desk.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Although I had a reservation we were giv ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Although I had a reservation we were given a table that I refer to as the one they leave for the tourists. I requested another table but they claimed they only had one other option and that was worse. Interesting as I saw and heard them seat people without reservations in better tables. Fine - move on...our water glasses were empty and I had to get up and tell them at the front desk. We sat for more than 15 minutes for the 3rd dish we ordered and then sat about the same time with finished dirty dishes in front of us. They just couldn't be bothered. The waitress at first at least put on a happy face but that didn't last long. The boy/s bringing out the food came across as James Dean wanna b's attitude and all. Too many options for great sushi to go somewhere that thinks they are doing you a favor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

I have been to Katsuya numerous times an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I have been to Katsuya numerous times and liked it very much, but not since the first few years after it opened in Brentwood. I was delighted to rediscover it last week: it is even better than I remembered. Everything was absolutely delicious, it has a creative menu, great service and wonderful ambiance. I have already made a reservation for dinner again this week!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't say enough about Katsuya! From t ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I can't say enough about Katsuya! From the time my friends and I walked in to the time we left, service was exceptional. When we sat down we were immediately impressed with the menu options. We started with cocktails that slayed our taste buds and had us wanting more. The crispy Brussels sprouts with almonds followed. The rolls we ate were just as amazing. Brian B. thank you so much for your recommendations and excellent service, as my friends and I will definitely be back!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time here! Food was great! S ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Had a great time here! Food was great! Service also great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the restaurant was unbearably loud and a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

the restaurant was unbearably loud and a general out of control vibe. we had a reservation for any area of the restaurant that was not too loud, and they put us right next to a table of 14+ screaming children and two parents. The kitchen ran out of two of the three selections of beef at the robata bar. One meal came overdone and had to be sent back. The one green salad we ordered came at end of meal, we had to wait for it throughout the meal. The spicy tuna roll was not delicious as usual, and a very small portion compared to usual. No dish was up to the usual standards. And, it was difficult to get seated without a wait because half of the tables for regular dining were 'bought' by someone, so even though we had reservations, and there were empty tables during our wait, we could not be seated. Overall a very poor experience, and we think this restaurant is going downhill, turning into a party-like Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Katsuya is a Brentwood staple that we vi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Katsuya is a Brentwood staple that we visit at least twice a week. From the wonderful Staff to the varied menu, everything is excellent. The new refit looks great BTW!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I've been to a few Katsuyas... always on ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

I've been to a few Katsuyas... always on the bequest of my fellow diners. I think the clientele drawn to this type of dining is aiming more for a hip place to have "sushi". I came out of there feeling a bit ashamed being part of it. My son who loves sushi wanted to go...but he also never picks up the check :)... $160, 3 people (one only had rice, miso soup, edamame), 2 beers, and ultimately 6 small plates of "sushi" left me unimpressed. "atmosphere", come here. Worthy sushi, go elsewhere. The allure of this place escapes me.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Twice as expensive as the original non s ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Twice as expensive as the original non sbe katsuya

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Great deal on Sake Mondays

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Sakes are are half price on Monda's. Their list is expensive but you get great Sakes at a great price if you go in on Mondays.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We went for happy hour - they advertise ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We went for happy hour - they advertise this on their website. Well it's not really a "happy hour" it's 6 seats at one bar (which was full) and 6 seats at another bar in their back room (which was full) so we had no choice as we were rushing but to sit and eat. Offensively expensive - $79 for 2 and I literally had edamame and a salad - nothing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Our server, Armando, was great, and as a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Our server, Armando, was great, and as always the food was fabulous. The spicy tuna with crispy rice is the best thing on the outstanding menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Vibe

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

This place had a great vibe and energetic atmosphere. The food was great and the service was just as great. My special date and I had a great time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Katsuya remains one of the best restaura ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Katsuya remains one of the best restaurants of its kind in town. Both the food and the service is still tops!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to Katsuya before and it's ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We have been to Katsuya before and it's been ok. Brought my uncle who was visiting from out of town. The restaurant filled with smoke (kitchen fire?) the alarm went off and stayed on for a long time, the fire department arrived and we paid and left. They should have offered to comp our meal or at least comp part of it. Since my uncle was paying for our meal I didn't feel right pursuing the matter with a manager. I was very disappointed and will take out of town guests elsewhere in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Food was good but there is better sushi ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was good but there is better sushi in the area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We had a wonderful experience!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

WE had a wonderful evening. Food and drinks were great, service exceptional! I would not hesitate to go back, or to recommend it to a friend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Unfortunately the crispy rice with tuna ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Unfortunately the crispy rice with tuna & Shisito peppers were the only tasty items out of everything we ordered. The rolls were lacking in fish & were very salty. And the spicy edamame lacked spice. We won't be back :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Ladies who lunch

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Service was terrific. Menu, presentation and quality of items were superb. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.