Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

About Katsuya- Brentwood

Upon its debut, Katsuya Brentwood was named one of Travel + Leisure's "Best New Restaurants," and it continues to garner acclaim as one of OpenTable's "50 Hottest Restaurants in the U.S." and the Los Angeles Times Readers' Choice "Best Sushi Restaurant" in Southern California. Featuring the dynamic pairing of Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi and design impresario Philippe Starck, Katsuya is truly a feast for the senses. With specialty cocktails, unique rolls and spectacular sushi and sashimi platters, Chef Uechi skillfully translates Japanese flavors to the American palate.

11777 San Vicente Blvd
Brentwood, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Sun-Thu 5-10pm, Fri-Sat 5-11pm

Cross Street:
Montana

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 299-2058

Website:
http://www.katsuyarestaurant.com/

Catering:
sbe Catering offers Katsuya's award-winning Japanese cuisine by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi at any location, for intimate dinners at home, meetings at the office or elaborate parties just about anywhere. Customize your event with tray-passed service, seated dinners or chef’s stations. sbe Catering can do it all! Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Executive Chef:
Katsuya Uechi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From intimate to grand, let sbe Events + Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya Brentwood accommodates up to 250 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails. Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Private Dining

From intimate to grand, let sbe Events & Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya Brentwood accommodates up to 250 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails.

Katsuya- Brentwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Good for a Date (21)
Fun (18)
See All
Fit for Foodies (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Casual (13)
People Watching (12)
Romantic (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Authentic (8)
Business Meals (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Spicy (3)
Cozy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1139 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

our server was incredible - so efficient! The food was absolutely delicious and we enjoyed every morsel! One of my favorite japanese restaurants !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

I was beyond disappointed in the service (and I love this place). THey never refilled our drinks, the food came in the completely wrong order. We must have had 5 waiters. It was not fun. When you pay a premium, you expect premium service.

I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Armando - best service we have had in a very long time. Kind and great customer service. Quick. Gave great recommendations. Would request to be our server in future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The food and service is always great. It is our favorite sushi restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Love food. And service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The waiter was a little rude by telling us we have to leave because they were busy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Friday night - very loud! Don't plan to have much conversation with your date. The wagyu steak was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I've been going to katsuya for years now and i should say if you want to go somewhere to be valued and appreciated its here this location. Cause they know people are local and they want them back and keep their business running
Manager is such a nice guy, Brian was our server he was amazing
Thank you Katsuya please remain great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I work directly across the street and whenever I take a large group to lunch, this is the go-to spot! Always a good meal and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Love this place. The only issue we ever have is the server not checking in enough with us. Other than that, the place and food is awesome. Servers are super friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Specialty cocktails are amazing and the sushi is divine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Love the Brussels but the watermelon salad was just ok. My son had the yellowtail and blue crab and seemed happy. Server was nice and prompt and busboy very attentive and kind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Food was good but very noising and service was slow and intermittent. Had to ask numerous times for our cocktails and although we asked, we never got water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 2, 2017

It was great time with very tasty foods and Great services

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 31, 2017

The go to spicy tuna on crispy rice was soggy and tasted stale. Crab hand roll good.
Brussels sprouts good.

Excellent cocktails.

Fine for a drink but sushi did not impress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 29, 2017

seated on time, food was delicious, good service, just a great sushi place. Always a great choice

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, People Watching, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great food but too loud. Terrible for business meeting but great for people watching

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Never disappointed at Katsuya. Service was a bit slow this past visit, but they made up for it with their delicious crispy rice with spicy tuna on the house. Cocktails were on point and the food always leaves you impressed with the quality and taste. Katsuya definitely raises your standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We came during Dine LA and got the tuna sashimi and mixed sushi plate (5 pieces) which was pretty good but not a lot of food. The yellowtail sashimi with jalapeño was disappointing. If you want to spend I prefer Sasabune for the freshness and flavors.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 24, 2017

food is good to very good. noise levels are deafening - unpleasant, impossible to speak at normal volume and communicate. ok for kids not grownups.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Service was super slow! We ended up being the last ones in the restaurant after lunch shift ended and it seemed like our server forgot about us. We ordered from the menu and one dineLa which was awful but server didn't care about checking if we liked it. We didn't complain because we had to run to an appointment and we were already late because of the service. The server would come and ask us if we are ready to order so we started giving him our order and he just turned around and dropped something at another table and came back to us, so he left us talking by ourselves. He didn't apologize and he seemed he was busy by trying to deliver and take care of orders at different tables at the same time. We both worked at hotels in BEverly hills and some of my guests would ask about this restaurant and that was the main reason we wanted to try it so we can recommend it. I was not impressed at all and won't care about coming back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Food is always on point. Service was awesome. The only downsides to the evening were the dog that was walking through the restaurant and the screaming child sitting next to us. I'm just getting the hearing back in that ear!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

So yummy. Everything we had was delicious and the service was great. They brought us a special decorated dessert plate for our anniversary

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food, service wasn't the best, had to keep reminding waiter to refill my drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Truly tasty food, seems a bit quieter in the back room, where the lighting is dimmer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Restaurant was very noisey, hard to hear my dining companion. Food has gone downhill in the last few years. Service was good, staff is very friendly and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I have been to other Katsuya's and this was disappointing. Food was nothing special, potions small and expensive. Nice atmosphere but I will never go back. Felt ripped off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Our server was great, the food amazing, seating comfortable. Great evening.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Hostess sat us in cave at first with a table without a working light above us. We had to request to be moved or else we would need iPhone flashlights during the entire meal. Finally we got someone to move us. The best part about the meal was the waiter who was very attentive. The food was very mediocre. We ordered lobster dynamite, 2 crab rolls, corn tempura roll, spicy tuna on crispy rice, shrimp roll, new steak robata, miso soup, albacore crispy onion, shrimp and veg. Tempura. The meal was $190 we did not drink alcohol. Unfortunately nothing stood out as being amazing. My son did not like the robata at all. The lobster was very bland. The best thing we had were the baked crab rolls. It is katsuya so those have to be good. The SBE Katsuya is just not as good as the original. The menu items seem cool but something get's lost in the execution. There are other so many other good sushi places. We will not be returning here

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Our first time but but not our last. The menu was varied and we enjoyed everything that we ate. Sat in front outside which was very comfortable and great for people watching - not a single overweight person entered! Does that say something about eating sushi? Good wine list and also a possibility of finding street parking. We look forward to the next time and trying new dishes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The lobster dynamite is a "must-do" dish here. It'll make you want to sip the dynamite sauce out of the lobster tail (order it and you'll see what I mean). Although the food is always wonderful at all of the locations, this restaurant is far superior to the LA Live and Glendale locations - better service, much nicer decor, more comfortable seating, friendlier staff, more romantic, better parking.

Dinner was interrupted by a power outage that blackened the entire westside. Although the blackout downed the kitchen, the restaurant handled the incident so professionally - the staff was very accommodating, bringing out extra candles, checking on every table and even offering deeply discounted meals to diners! I was very impressed.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Wow. For both the service and food. The cocktail was insane - called the RISING SUN:
tequila with lime, grapefruit, coconut water, cointreau, sweetened with Agave nectar, and served over a mezcal-watermelon ice cube. Yeah, it tastes as good as it sounds. The crab and mozzarella tempura is haunting me....yum.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Quick Bite, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We booked through Open Table and were told 7:30 was an unavailable time slot for a party of 4. We arrived, the restaurant was barely 2/3 full and we were placed at a table absolutely in the back of the restaurant near the kitchen door and rear bar. Our waiter was always so hurried and rushed. As it turns out, he was also waiting on tables at the absolute front of the restaurant. We are a local family and doubt that Kaysuya remains at the top of our dinner list, especially if we have a friend from out-of-town visiting. With so many other options for special dinners on the Westside, it's only a matter of time that the luster will wear off the Katsuya pearl with many others. Katsuya might want to start by training the waiters to be more professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food is absolutely fantastic!!! The corn sushi was my favorite!! Lemon drops were really good! We left with a happy face!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Hostess was dreary and uninterested in assisting us.

Wanted to celebrate my sons birthday and told them when I made the reservation and again with our server, but no acknowledgement was made in any form.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Loved the food especially crispy rice with tuna and the sushi with rock shrimp. Our hostess was so pleasant and was very helpful with recommendations. The chocolate fondant was yum melted in our mouth.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Katsuya-Brentwood was great! We dined on National Sushi Day and I had the prix fixe sushi menu. It was a great way to try a lot of different things. My wife enjoyed miso black cod, and her favorite hand crab rolls. You can't go wrong at Katsuya. There's something for everyone and the atmosphere is hip. Great cocktails too. We couldn't resist indulging in one of their fabulous desserts. Katsuya has one of my favorite dessert menus! Special thanks to the manager, Jaclyn, who took a personal interest in our dining experience. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Would give it 6 stars if we could. Crab hand roll and crispy rice tuna are two must haves

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Always consistently delicious sushi and cocktails. Busy but friendly service.

Tags: Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 8, 2017

as usual Katsuya delivers, overtime..my husband loves the lamb chops , I love the sushi and spicy edamame and our friend loved everything she ate! Thank you!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.