About Katsuya- Brentwood

11777 San Vicente Blvd
Brentwood, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Upon its debut, Katsuya Brentwood was named one of Travel + Leisure's "Best New Restaurants," and it continues to garner acclaim as one of OpenTable's "50 Hottest Restaurants in the U.S." and the Los Angeles Times Readers' Choice "Best Sushi Restaurant" in Southern California. Featuring the dynamic pairing of Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi and design impresario Philippe Starck, Katsuya is truly a feast for the senses. With specialty cocktails, unique rolls and spectacular sushi and sashimi platters, Chef Uechi skillfully translates Japanese flavors to the American palate.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Sun-Thu 5-10pm, Fri-Sat 5-11pm

Cross Street:
Montana

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 299-2058

Website:
http://www.katsuyarestaurant.com/

Catering:
sbe Catering offers Katsuya's award-winning Japanese cuisine by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi at any location, for intimate dinners at home, meetings at the office or elaborate parties just about anywhere. Customize your event with tray-passed service, seated dinners or chef’s stations. sbe Catering can do it all! Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Executive Chef:
Katsuya Uechi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From intimate to grand, let sbe Events + Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya Brentwood accommodates up to 250 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails. Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Rock Shrimp Tempura Roll - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Apple In Puff Pastry Shell - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Special Katsuya Roll - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Foie Gras W/ Kobe Beef And Trumpet Mushroom - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Rock Shrimp Tempura - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Albacore Sashimi With Crispy Onion - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Wagyu Ribeye - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Rock Shrimp - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Bread Pudding - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Tuna Sashimi - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Baked Crab Roll - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Tempura Rock Shrimp - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Lobster Tail Dynamite - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Miso Glazed Black Cod - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Double Hamachi Roll - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Katsuya Roll - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Crispy Brussel Sprouts - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
bento box - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Baked White Fish with Truffle - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Crab and Mozzarella Tempura - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Kobe Beef - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Green Tea, Strawberry, Mango And Vanilla Mochi  - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Tempura Fried Ice Cream - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Spicy Albacore Shashimi - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Chocolate Lovers Cake - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Sashimi - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Crispy Spicy Tuna - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Chicken Terriyaki - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Kiwi Envy Cocktail - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Seared Albacore - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA

Private Dining

From intimate to grand, let sbe Events & Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya Brentwood accommodates up to 250 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails.

Katsuya- Brentwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (22)
Fun (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Modern Decor (10)
People Watching (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Business Meals (7)
Casual (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Authentic (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Family Style (4)
Romantic (4)
Healthy (4)
Spicy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vegan (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tapas (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Cozy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1029 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Hi.. Regretfully, I have to give this Ka ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Hi.. Regretfully, I have to give this Katsuya a bad review again. We like the one in the valle They removed $63 off our bill but that was not really important nor a satisfactory solution. This was an intimate birthday dinner that turned out to be an embarrassing experience. We would've preferred to have been treated better and our food and drinks to have arrived timed correctly. We were prepared to have a nice long evening with food and drinks, instead we cut it short and headed somewhere else. Why this Katsuya continues to disappoint and yet always bursting with diners truly confounds me.

-they sat us 20 minutes pass our reservation and then we ended up at a horrible table

-we waited another 20 minutes since we didn't want to sit at the "thouroughfare" table

-server did not arrive until 12 minutes after being seated

-we had to wave our server to the bar to point out our drinks were ready to be picked up

-the food arrived before the drinks but one person's order was missing so we all tried to wait to see if the missing food would show up... food got cold..

-we asked our server why the food was not coursed out (we ordered apps too) as requested and she said that food was served "family style'...? are we are Bucca De Beppo...?

-called in the manager (Ricardo) to resolve and the missing food.. while charming, it still took 30 minutes to arrive for a simple uncomplicated roll.

As responsible diners, we tried to resolve our issues at the restaurants rather than "yelping" it. I am sorry to report that we were not successful in having a satisfactory solution.

There are too many restaurants in Los Angeles that offer great service and great food. Let's support those establishments.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Our food was tasty, beautifully presente ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Our food was tasty, beautifully presented and arrived reasonably promptly (it was a slow Sunday night). The restaurant feels like a "happening scene" but fortunately was not excessively noisy at the early hour. Our bill was a bit of a shock for the relatively small amounts we ate and drank - dishes are small, there was a huge mark-up on sparkling water, and dessert was way overpriced. We agreed that Katsuya was a positive experience but we would save eating there for special occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was delicious . The waiter wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was delicious . The waiter was great , very attentive . Will definitely go back .

Tags: Modern Decor, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy a meal here - the food a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We always enjoy a meal here - the food and service are consistently great.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

People love this restaurant. Food was pr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

People love this restaurant. Food was pretty good to very good, but they were not able to provide gluten free options for my friend. My big issue was service. It was just so hard to get any attention--hard to get more sparkling water, hard to order b'day dessert, hard to get check, etc. We were there for lunch and get out under 2 hours required pressing on our party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Enjoyed the meal and service was very go ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Enjoyed the meal and service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is always good but was disappointed ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Food is always good but was disappointed by the service this last time when the restaurant wasn't particularly crowded.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We had the best time ever. Great food an ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had the best time ever. Great food and nice ambiance.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It never disappoints. I've been here man ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It never disappoints. I've been here many times and the sushi is always amazing! The Dragon cocktail is my favorite. Made with their own ginger syrup. The service has also gotten much better.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The sushi bar took an hour to get our fi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The sushi bar took an hour to get our first sushi order out, and when we were still hungry the subsequent orders kept us there for another hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Outstanding food Check in process little ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Outstanding food

Check in process little unorganized but overall excellent food and wait staff very good

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Crowded and long wait to get seated.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Crowded and long wait to get seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I gave service a very bad score. Our or ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I gave service a very bad score. Our original waitress was fantastic. She left and we had a young lady that was far more intent on closing the restaurant than anything else. She dropped off the check, said no rush, but then came back and said we needed to close it out. While we were still siting there, she came by and took the soy sauce bottle off the table. It was a very unfriendly way of saying leave! Clearly, her closing was far more important than the guest experience. Btw...it was not closing time and there were many other restaurant guests in the restaurant. So, it is not like we were there 30 minutes after closing time.

I know this is rare....but when you are paying top dollar for a nice experience, the staff should not be looking to rush you out the door, because they want to clear their section.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The food was just amazing! It was a fabu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was just amazing! It was a fabulous spot for my 9 year old since the place was packed with families. Only downside was bar area where we sat was way too dark and noisy. Would have preferred sitting in main area but no room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

not a great experience Not going to hur ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

not a great experience Not going to hurry back anytime soon

food was just ok....not great for the prices they charge

Martini had hardly any alcohol for 15 bucks

they were trying to get us out to get more bodies at our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Delicious food and vibrant atmosphere. ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Delicious food and vibrant atmosphere. Always a wonderful time!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Good thank you

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Katsuya is the place where you know you ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Katsuya is the place where you know you get the highest quality of food and service among other restaurants of the same level...

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to grab a bite and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 12, 2016

My husband and I went to grab a bite and drinks on Sunday night. Seating options were limited since it was the final hour of the night so our table wasn't ideal. They were out of the dessert we wanted and the food didn't seem as fresh as other visits. Also, the timing of the meal was odd - we got one sushi roll even before our wine had arrived at the table. An okay meal, but not worth the investment for a night out with so many "off" moments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Some of the dishes were really good (cri ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Some of the dishes were really good (crispy brussel sprouts, sunset roll), others were mediocre. Service started off friendly but became a bit cold after we had to flag down our server who left us waiting long stretches to place orders for additional items. Noise level pretty high for it being half full at lunch time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Always a delight to meet with friends an ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Always a delight to meet with friends and be greeted and served by so many very pleasant staff members ... and to also be served such interesting and varied dishes ... thanks for a great outing ...

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fresh & tasty. Mushroom salad an ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Always fresh & tasty. Mushroom salad and brussel sprouts excellent . Tuna on crispy rice the sweetness of butter on the rice and the tuna yum o. Really soooooo good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a fun girls night. Would have prefer ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Had a fun girls night. Would have preferred to have been sat in a more comfortable area than the middle of the back room with bright lights shinning down on us. Perhaps a comfortable banquet or front room table would have been more appropriate. Food was good, as expected, our waiter was attentive and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Divine food, easy atmosphere, great peop ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Divine food, easy atmosphere, great people watching. Never misses for business lunches - my go to.

Back again next week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service, made reservation thro ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Excellent service, made reservation through OT app and got seated quickly. Food was amazing! Highly recommend lamb chops, crispy rock shrimp, and cod. Sushi was really fresh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really, really like this restaurant and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Really, really like this restaurant and have been there many times but this last dining experience was not up to par. I had make the reservation at least 3 or 4 weeks in advance for four of us. We were seated by the front door and each time the door opened cold air came in. My husband asked the hostess to move us and she said it could not be done yet there were other empty tables. The bench seat one of our guests sat on was also soiled with old food. We mentioned this on our way out and the hostess barely acknowledged it. My husband spoke with manager and he was very apologetic and offered a nice discount on a future visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

One of our very favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

One of our very favorite restaurants. Consistently excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The spicy tuna is always fresh and has a ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The spicy tuna is always fresh and has a delicious flavor. The baked crab rolls are to die for. The green tea is excellent. Very consistent in taste and options.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a 6:30 reservation and arrived ri ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a 6:30 reservation and arrived right at 6:30. The restaurant had many empty tables but for some reason the girls up front said they would have to wait to seat us. We waited over 20 minutes to sit. I was surprised at the poor service up front. The rest of the evening was lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The food never disappoints. The restaur ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food never disappoints. The restaurant is loud, but makes for a fun night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Staff was friendly and very helpful with ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Staff was friendly and very helpful with recommendations.. Food was delicious down to the very last bite!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing as always. Service was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was amazing as always. Service was ridiculously slow. But we were chatting and laughing the whole time so it was on them that they tied up the table for almost three hours...

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Amazing experience, amazing service, ama ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Amazing experience, amazing service, amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always outstanding.Best Sushi in LA and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Always outstanding.Best Sushi in LA and very creative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Katsuya restaurants in Studio City, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The Katsuya restaurants in Studio City, Encino and Northridge are head and shoulders better than this location. This location is under staffed, noisy and the service is slow and very impersonal. I have been a Katsuya customer for many years, and will certainly not bother to dine at this location ever again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

I haven't tried a lot of the menu, and w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I haven't tried a lot of the menu, and what I like I really like. Which is why I don't try other parts of the menu. This restaurant is a real treat! if you are open to it, try the brussell sprouts appetizer. You don't even need to tell your mom you ate them. Really yummy. Best I've had anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Not sure if I had a waiter ?!?!?

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Not sure if I had a waiter ?!?!?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

This place delivers on all levels. Hones ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This place delivers on all levels. Honestly, my only "criticism" is that the service is so good and so fast that the dinner flew by rather quickly. The servers aren't pushy or anything...it's not like you feel pressure to leave. It's just a very well executed dining experience. The food is awesome. I far prefer the main room and wish they'd consider addressing the secondary space as it's less pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I came to celebrate Rosh Hashanah and en ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 3, 2016

I came to celebrate Rosh Hashanah and enjoy a lovely meal. The ambience was cool and hip. The hostess was very lovely. And, my server was just wonderful. I couldn't have asked for anything more. I am enthusiastic about returning to Katsuya.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Casual, Authentic, Disabled Access, Quick Bite, Historic, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Spicy, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Cozy, Private Room, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best place enjoy lunch. I had ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 30, 2016

One of the best place enjoy lunch. I had old friend for I known 46 years, we want to catch up.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.