About Katsuya- Brentwood

11777 San Vicente Blvd
Brentwood, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Upon its debut, Katsuya Brentwood was named one of Travel + Leisure's "Best New Restaurants," and it continues to garner acclaim as one of OpenTable's "50 Hottest Restaurants in the U.S." and the Los Angeles Times Readers' Choice "Best Sushi Restaurant" in Southern California. Featuring the dynamic pairing of Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi and design impresario Philippe Starck, Katsuya is truly a feast for the senses. With specialty cocktails, unique rolls and spectacular sushi and sashimi platters, Chef Uechi skillfully translates Japanese flavors to the American palate.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Sun-Thu 5-10pm, Fri-Sat 5-11pm

Cross Street:
Montana

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 299-2058

Website:
http://www.katsuyarestaurant.com/

Catering:
sbe Catering offers Katsuya's award-winning Japanese cuisine by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi at any location, for intimate dinners at home, meetings at the office or elaborate parties just about anywhere. Customize your event with tray-passed service, seated dinners or chef’s stations. sbe Catering can do it all! Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Executive Chef:
Katsuya Uechi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From intimate to grand, let sbe Events + Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya Brentwood accommodates up to 250 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails. Visit www.katsuyarestaurant.com or call 323.525.2400 to plan your event today.

Restaurant Photos

Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Rock Shrimp Tempura Roll - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Apple In Puff Pastry Shell - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Special Katsuya Roll - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Foie Gras W/ Kobe Beef And Trumpet Mushroom - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Rock Shrimp Tempura - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Albacore Sashimi With Crispy Onion - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Wagyu Ribeye - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Rock Shrimp - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Bread Pudding - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Tuna Sashimi - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Baked Crab Roll - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Tempura Rock Shrimp - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Lobster Tail Dynamite - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Miso Glazed Black Cod - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Double Hamachi Roll - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Katsuya Roll - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Crispy Brussel Sprouts - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
bento box - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Baked White Fish with Truffle - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Crab and Mozzarella Tempura - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Kobe Beef - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Green Tea, Strawberry, Mango And Vanilla Mochi  - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Tempura Fried Ice Cream - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Spicy Albacore Shashimi - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Chocolate Lovers Cake - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Sashimi - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Crispy Spicy Tuna - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Chicken Terriyaki - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Kiwi Envy Cocktail - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA
Seared Albacore - Katsuya- Brentwood, Brentwood, CA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Open for regular service

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Open for Regular Service

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Regular Menu with 3 Seatings
5pm / 7pm / 9pm

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 11:30AM - 12:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Wed 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 12:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

From intimate to grand, let sbe Events & Catering plan your perfect event at Katsuya. Katsuya Brentwood accommodates up to 250 guests with design by Philippe Starck, on-site and off-site catering, custom menus by Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi, and premium mixology and specialty cocktails.

Katsuya- Brentwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Los Angeles
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Westside
Best Restaurants in Brentwood ›

Fit for Foodies (24)
Special Occasion (15)
Hot Spot (13)
See All
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Fun (10)
People Watching (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Romantic (5)
Casual (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Business Meals (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (4)
Family Style (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tapas (3)
Private Room (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (2)
Spicy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Authentic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Dancing (1)
Cozy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
930 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had a fun girls night. Would have prefer ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a fun girls night. Would have preferred to have been sat in a more comfortable area than the middle of the back room with bright lights shinning down on us. Perhaps a comfortable banquet or front room table would have been more appropriate. Food was good, as expected, our waiter was attentive and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Divine food, easy atmosphere, great peop ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Divine food, easy atmosphere, great people watching. Never misses for business lunches - my go to.

Back again next week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service, made reservation thro ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Excellent service, made reservation through OT app and got seated quickly. Food was amazing! Highly recommend lamb chops, crispy rock shrimp, and cod. Sushi was really fresh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really, really like this restaurant and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Really, really like this restaurant and have been there many times but this last dining experience was not up to par. I had make the reservation at least 3 or 4 weeks in advance for four of us. We were seated by the front door and each time the door opened cold air came in. My husband asked the hostess to move us and she said it could not be done yet there were other empty tables. The bench seat one of our guests sat on was also soiled with old food. We mentioned this on our way out and the hostess barely acknowledged it. My husband spoke with manager and he was very apologetic and offered a nice discount on a future visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

One of our very favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

One of our very favorite restaurants. Consistently excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a 6:30 reservation and arrived ri ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a 6:30 reservation and arrived right at 6:30. The restaurant had many empty tables but for some reason the girls up front said they would have to wait to seat us. We waited over 20 minutes to sit. I was surprised at the poor service up front. The rest of the evening was lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The food never disappoints. The restaur ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food never disappoints. The restaurant is loud, but makes for a fun night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Staff was friendly and very helpful with ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Staff was friendly and very helpful with recommendations.. Food was delicious down to the very last bite!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing as always. Service was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was amazing as always. Service was ridiculously slow. But we were chatting and laughing the whole time so it was on them that they tied up the table for almost three hours...

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Amazing experience, amazing service, ama ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Amazing experience, amazing service, amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always outstanding.Best Sushi in LA and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Always outstanding.Best Sushi in LA and very creative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Katsuya restaurants in Studio City, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The Katsuya restaurants in Studio City, Encino and Northridge are head and shoulders better than this location. This location is under staffed, noisy and the service is slow and very impersonal. I have been a Katsuya customer for many years, and will certainly not bother to dine at this location ever again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

I haven't tried a lot of the menu, and w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I haven't tried a lot of the menu, and what I like I really like. Which is why I don't try other parts of the menu. This restaurant is a real treat! if you are open to it, try the brussell sprouts appetizer. You don't even need to tell your mom you ate them. Really yummy. Best I've had anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Not sure if I had a waiter ?!?!?

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Not sure if I had a waiter ?!?!?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

This place delivers on all levels. Hones ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This place delivers on all levels. Honestly, my only "criticism" is that the service is so good and so fast that the dinner flew by rather quickly. The servers aren't pushy or anything...it's not like you feel pressure to leave. It's just a very well executed dining experience. The food is awesome. I far prefer the main room and wish they'd consider addressing the secondary space as it's less pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I came to celebrate Rosh Hashanah and en ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 3, 2016

I came to celebrate Rosh Hashanah and enjoy a lovely meal. The ambience was cool and hip. The hostess was very lovely. And, my server was just wonderful. I couldn't have asked for anything more. I am enthusiastic about returning to Katsuya.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Casual, Authentic, Disabled Access, Quick Bite, Historic, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Spicy, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Cozy, Private Room, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best place enjoy lunch. I had ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 30, 2016

One of the best place enjoy lunch. I had old friend for I known 46 years, we want to catch up.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great we re intend this restaurant

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Great we re intend this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My 12:00p reservation somehow cancelled ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 28, 2016

My 12:00p reservation somehow cancelled at 12:02p on the day of my business lunch meeting. No one at my office cancelled it, so there must be some problem in the OpenTable system that needs correcting.

Please advise if there is something else I am supposed to do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was great but the music was t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Everything was great but the music was too loud ! It was hard to have a conversation ... Food was amazing ...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Never disappoints...Katsuya always deliv ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Never disappoints...Katsuya always delivers on my favorite dishes (brussel sprouts, crab hand roll, crispy rice, miso cod) + Katsuya fresh cocktail with good service

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was amazing and helpful! Food was ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Server was amazing and helpful! Food was excellent!

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Katsuya never disappoints. Just love the ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Katsuya never disappoints. Just love the sushi and robata grill. They are consistently good and the staff is awesome. The hostesses always accommodate us last minute too which is a plus!

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always packed, late 20's-40's crowd- hip ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Always packed, late 20's-40's crowd- hip, pretty people. Good service, good food. Served family style. Excellent opportunity to try many things on the menu from twists on traditional Japanese staples, to Contemporary. Fun place to people watch as well. Overall, I've enjoyed it on multiple occasions and the meals have always been exceedingly good with excellent presentations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I've been coming to this restaurant for ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I've been coming to this restaurant for 8 years. Always love the food and experience. It seemed more crowded than ever though! Packed!

Favorite things are the rock shrimp roll and the crab hand roll - add avocado and jalapeño. Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had to wait the table for more than h ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 24, 2016

We had to wait the table for more than half an hour. We have never eaten a dish all together. Everything was random and the noise was unacceptable. I strongly advise not to eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Always a good time. Excellent food. I've ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Always a good time. Excellent food. I've never been disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I sent a note to Katsuya/SBE group about ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 17, 2016

I sent a note to Katsuya/SBE group about our experience. pasted below.

I’m writing to you to discuss my dining experience on Tuesday evening this week. I want to first start off by saying that I am a huge fan of Katusya, and I truly do love eating there as often as I can. I rarely ever take the time to write any sort of emails like this, but this was a rather bad experience, and definitely warranted an email to you guys. First of all, like I said, I’m a frequent visitor of Katusya in Brentwood. I have never had a bad experience. The service is always great, it’s quick, it’s nice, the whole bit. However, Tuesday night was a nice occasion. I had family in town and I had boasted about how amazing the restaurant was. I need to start by saying that we ended up having to CANCEL dishes, because they just never showed up. In particular, the crispy rice/spicy tuna, which I know how it is usually timed, and for them to not even show up was just ludicrous. We reminded our server twice, and they still didn’t show. We were given dishes that we didn’t even order too. The timing was just truly awful. There were tables all around us getting everything they ordered, and then there was us, with barely anything. It just took forever, and that’s usually out of the ordinary. We were really really unhappy about it. I’m not sure if you can even do anything about this but I at least had to make you aware of it all.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

The creamy rock shrimp on rolls is a sta ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 16, 2016

The creamy rock shrimp on rolls is a stable and a must-try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is always delicious here. We w ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food is always delicious here. We were a group of 7 celebrating my daughter's 15th birthday. We all shared the rock shrimp rolls, black cod, filet with foie gras, rib eye with mushrooms, spicy tuna rice cakes, and a few other items. We could not stop eating it was so delicious. Especially the filet. For desert we ordered the bread pudding, creme brulee, and chocolate cake. The bread pudding was out of this world. Our food came out quickly, table was always cleaned up, drinks refilled, etc. Staff is very friendly and attentive. The french coffee press is delicious, but I still wish they had an espresso machine.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I had made a reservation a week ahead of ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 13, 2016

I had made a reservation a week ahead of time. When we got there there were three open booths and yet they would not sit us in one. I had also called ahead to let them know that we were celebrating a birthday and the server seemed annoyed when I reminded him...clearly he had no clue. I have been to the restaurant a few times--this was definitely a disappointing visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Food was excellent. Noise level in the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was excellent. Noise level in the back room is intolerable. Saw another party reseated in the main room because they could not stand it. Loved food but it was so loud I will not return. DO NOT accept back room table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

I am an open table member and I have nev ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2016

I am an open table member and I have never written a negative review about a restaurant. I thought I would write this because I thought the restaurant, management, and new comers should be aware. I have eaten at Katsuya multiple times and we always go around opening time so it's not very busy. The service has been decreasing every time. This will be the last time i will be eating there. The service was terrible. The waitress was rude and immediately after being seated she asked us what we wanted to eat when we hadn't even opened our menus. So we gave her the drink order and then she asked us again what we wanted to eat without getting our drinks first.

She brought out the drinks and it was wrong. It seems that the bar is a hangout for waiters and waitresses to hang out and talk loudly. Even the manager was in the bar area talking to them. Every time they brought out a roll it was a different server, and we said thank you and they never responded. We asked for more cream and they never brought it. Also, they usually empty your used edamame pods bowl when it's full but ours was overflowing and we had to empty it in our sushi plate. The soy sauce bottle also seems to be almost empty even though the restaurant has just opened. It seems to be poor management and I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

We recently moved to Brentwood and wante ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We recently moved to Brentwood and wanted to give Katsyra a try. We decided to go during LA Restaurant Week so we could try a little of the most popular items. When making the reservation confirmation over the phone I mentioned to the hostess that we were coming during LA Restaurant Week and she said she would make a note in our reservation. We arrived and were seated and had to remind our waiter for the LA Restaurant Week Menu. He then took away the regular menus and seemed put off to get the other menu. If a restaurant does commit to LA Restaurant Week then they need to NOT make guests feel bad for coming to try their restaurant. I will not be going back to Katsuya because the food really wasn't very good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The service was terrible. Our drink was ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The service was terrible. Our drink was spilled by our waiter & he didn't even offer to pour a new drink. He just apologized for knocking my glass, cleaned the table with our napkins and left! The food was so so...Not worth dining at...We will find somewhere with better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Highly recommend every dish on the menu ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Highly recommend every dish on the menu we tried was awesome. Sprouts especially tasty and yellowtail too.. Yum yum. Good atmosphere and service to match high quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent. Food was fresh an ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was fresh and tasty. Good menu for DineLA to try.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I bring friends from out of town. Love ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2016

I bring friends from out of town. Love the atmosphere. The food is excellent. Service is really terrible for the price of the food. Hard to tip a server $80 that you had to flag down 3 times.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

The hostess was very gracious and the se ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 21, 2016

The hostess was very gracious and the server was lovely, initially. The server even squat down to better explain the menu until... I presented a $30 off $60 voucher and even though my tab was $67 before tax and tip, it became very chilly in there. No refill on the water during the entire meal and it was a very hot day (108 degrees in the Valley) although she checked on the level of soy sauce in the tureen on all the tables. Hard not to notice an empty water glass and no asking if everything was good, as is normally done within the first few minutes of starting a meal.

Food was artfully presented and quite delicious. Adding truffles to the tuna I found to make absolutely no difference in taste while adding $16 to the dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Katsuya is Katsuya. It's expensive, yumm ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Katsuya is Katsuya. It's expensive, yummy, overly trendy, etc. But it's reliable! We had really excellent service this visit which was great! Had a lovely late night dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.