About Kashmir

279 Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Indian restaurant, located on fashionable Newbury Street, has 3 elegant dining halls with authentic antique & modern artifacts from Northern India. Weather permitting, service is available on the outdoor patios open to Newbury Street. Kashmir has been voted "Best of Boston" several times.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Indian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Gloucester Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 536-1695

Website:
http://www.bostonkashmir.com/

Catering:
Catering is available for all occations. Includes delivery to full scale. Including tables, chairs, tablecloths, China and waitstaff.

Parking Details:
Street parking also available.

Public Transit:
Green Line: Hynes Convention Center or Copley T Stop

Executive Chef:
Harjit Singh

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Kashmir Profile - Kashmir, Boston, MA
garlic naan - Kashmir, Boston, MA
Indian Buffet - Kashmir, Boston, MA
Vegetable Samosa - Kashmir, Boston, MA
chicken tikka masala - Kashmir, Boston, MA
Mutter Paneer - Kashmir, Boston, MA
Lamb Vindaloo - Kashmir, Boston, MA
Lamb Rogan Josh - Kashmir, Boston, MA
Lunch Buffet Set - Kashmir, Boston, MA
Tom Yam - Kashmir, Boston, MA
Lamb Saag - Kashmir, Boston, MA
Lamb Samosa - Kashmir, Boston, MA
Tandoori Lamb - Kashmir, Boston, MA
Rasmalai - Kashmir, Boston, MA
Tandoori Mixed Grill - Kashmir, Boston, MA
Mango Crème Brulee - Kashmir, Boston, MA
Bhuna Gosht - Kashmir, Boston, MA
Massala Shrimp - Kashmir, Boston, MA
Tandoori Chicken - Kashmir, Boston, MA

Kashmir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.6

ambience

3.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
See All
Spicy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Authentic (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Casual (4)
Romantic (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Business Meals (2)
Scenic View (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Family Style (2)
Fun (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
601 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food but service could use a littl ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great food but service could use a little improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

The food was tasty and well prepared, bu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was tasty and well prepared, but the spicing somewhat watered down. The service was very good, and staff were all friendly and welcoming. The other problem here - which is common among restaurants these days - is that it was intentionally designed to echo sound. Restaurants can choose to minimize sound or echo/amplify it. The latter creates a hubbub of activity. The former makes it easier to have conversations with friends.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Slightly disappointed no beer on tap. Re ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Slightly disappointed no beer on tap. Requested curry be medium hot and could have handled more heat. Everything tasted good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

This was not the first time we had visit ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This was not the first time we had visited Kashmir. It is a solid Indian cuisine which is reliable and contains all of the favorites. The medium heat is plenty for most and of course the ever present Kingfisher beer helps it go down.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It took them 1 hour to bring our food. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

It took them 1 hour to bring our food.

The service was terrible

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Vegan, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

I'm not an expert on Indian cuisine. Se ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I'm not an expert on Indian cuisine. Server was patient and helpful and steered me into some great selections. My meal was delicious, spicing was unique and memorable. Highly recommend Kashmir for anyone looking for great food at reasonable cost.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Excellent Indian cuisine, spiciness to o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Excellent Indian cuisine, spiciness to order. We generally eat there at least once whenever we make the trek to Boston. Our daughter-in-law is vegetarian, so it is great for her too. I like fire in my food, wife & son are more moderated, but you can request the heat level you want in any dish. They have 3 Indian beers including my favorite Kingfisher.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Spicy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good and the service w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The food was very good and the service was exceptional. I will certainly go back to Kashmir and recommend it without hesitation. If the weather permits an outside table is a very nice way to spend the evening, great food and plenty of people watching.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

You cannot go wrong with Kashmir. The s ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 6, 2016

You cannot go wrong with Kashmir. The service is fast and the food is outstanding. This was our third trip and each time it has been the same quality and service. We prefer sitting outside but couldn't this time due to weather.

Tags: Spicy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style, Authentic, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner on Saturday night and sat ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had dinner on Saturday night and sat outdoors. The service was attentive and professional. We had Chicken Tiki Marsala, Chicken Tandori and rice briani. The food was fresh and very tasty. The bread (nan) was so good. This is one of the best Indian Restaurant in Boston. I would recommend this restaurant to friends and family

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Would have been 5 stars for food, except ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Would have been 5 stars for food, except the dessert wasn't fresh (and has not been in the past, either).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

After many years we had dinner at Kashmi ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 19, 2016

After many years we had dinner at Kashmir. Still the food is as good as ever and service was excellent

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

First time with Indian cuisine, but my 1 ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2016

First time with Indian cuisine, but my 15 y/o wanted to try before our game at Fenway. If taking the T, you should get off at Hynes instead of Copley. Closer to the convention center. Seated promptly, as restaurant was not crowded at 5 pm on a Wednesday. Place started to fill up as we left at 6 pm to walk to Fenway. Server (Sujana R) was friendly and helpful. Several others also attended to our table. Started with Meat Samosas ($6) which were nicely done and flavorful. Condiments were provided (spicy orange chutney, sour item, and mint) and all helped to enhance the taste and flavors. Rogan Josh ($19) was filled with plenty of pieces of lamb, and was quite tasty. Masala dish that my son ordered had less pieces in it, but he loved the flavor. Order of Nan bread ($3.50) had plenty of pieces to share. Overall it was a pleasant experience and we both said we would like to come back and try some other dishes.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a lovely dinner here.

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a lovely dinner here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A beautiful spot to people watch and enj ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 24, 2016

A beautiful spot to people watch and enjoy quality Indian food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seated outside with huge number of birds ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Seated outside with huge number of birds. Saw waiter place napkin-wrapped silverware out then birds jump all over the napkin without any subsequent change in the place setting. Once asked to be moved inside, much better dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

I give it high marks for efficiency and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 9, 2016

I give it high marks for efficiency and for the variety of its menu. Though I am by no means an expert on Indian food, I rather expected that when I ordred "medium" hot I would feel something. Perhaps my palate is jaded, but hot it's not. On the other hand you could eat for several days on the amount of food they pr0vide. If you go, a doggie bag is in your future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our favorite Indian restaurants. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2016

One of our favorite Indian restaurants. Consistently delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very nice Indian food, well prepared. We ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Very nice Indian food, well prepared. We asked for our dishes hot and boy were they hot. Many Indian restaurants tone things down a bit, but the curry and vindaloo were really hot. While we love hot food, next time we will ask for medium hot instead.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Yum! I have been to Kashmir many times f ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Yum! I have been to Kashmir many times for brunch and loved it. This was my first dinner and it was also very good. I recommend the vegetarian appetizer plate and the okra dish.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

good food but bad cocktails

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2016

The food was delicious. Especially the vegetarian samosas and a potato dish. However, the two people and I was dining with and I all got different cocktails and none of them were good. Very good food, poorly mixed drinks

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Chicken korma was wonderful!

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 5, 2016

Chicken korma was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2016

I love their chicken tikka masalla. Everything was really good, the service, ambiance and the rest of the dishes were also good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a very interesting experience. T ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2016

It was a very interesting experience. The waitress would not speak to my boyfriend. She directed all questions to me and ignored him when he spoke. It was like he did not exist. The food, however, was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very attentive but not all servers under ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 14, 2016

Very attentive but not all servers understood English. Great flavor and quality with the food. Portions a little smaller than most Indian restaurants but still had enough food to share. Will come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Solid Indian cooking!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2016

I was a bit skeptical about Kashmir (there was a strange odor when we sat down, but perhaps that was just from an old mop), but, thankfully, was proved wrong. The service was gracious, the menu had more variety than many Indian restaurants (as well as the classic dishes), and everything we ordered was incredibly delicious. I recommend the salmon cooked in the Tandoor -- outstanding! Go with a group and order family-style so that you can try a little of everything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food in a relaxed environment

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Great food in a relaxed environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great Indian food!

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 18, 2016

Located in the Back Bay area Kashmir is a neighborhood gem. The food was delicious, service was right on point. Prices were affordable. We had a great time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the BESTS on Newbury St.

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2016

Kashmir is now one of my favorite restaurants. The food is cooked with love and care, which results in bold flavors.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Indian Food

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2016

I am not an expert on Indian food but I have eaten Indian at least 6 times: once in NYC, 4 times in Cambridge, MA and once in Avon, CT. This place had the best I've eaten so far. Every dish was quite tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent all around. If you go in the e ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2016

Excellent all around. If you go in the evening definitely get a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Maybe the best Indian in the country!

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2016

Maybe the best Indian in the country!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and service! We've been there ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 3, 2016

Great food and service! We've been there several times on our visits to Boston and have never been disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great selection of dishes!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the food here - although my wife wishes the food could have been a little spicier! (We ordered everything mild to medium because the waitress told us that hot was very very hot.) Never had duck tikka masala before, and it was quite good. Would recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food amacing!!!!!!👍🏾👍🏾 The place ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 8, 2016

The food amacing!!!!!!👍🏾👍🏾

The place nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A diverse menu with plenty of options fo ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2016

A diverse menu with plenty of options for vegetarians, carnivores, and everyone in between. Very tasty food, though the only downside is that they charge Newbury St. prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Delicious food in an outstanding neighborhood!!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2016

Delicious food in an outstanding neighborhood!! Without a doubt, one of the best Indian I've tried!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

No more lunch buffet :-(

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2015

Kashmir used to be one of my favorite Indian restaurants in the USA. Sadly, they have discontinued their lunch buffer and raised their prices considerably. Also, I was nauseated by the overwhelming smell of cleaning fluid that smelled like urinal cakes. The wait staff was courteous and prompt. The food was still good good but I don't plan on returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Great place with amazing food! We will b ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2015

Great place with amazing food! We will be back 100% recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't go after 10:00 PM

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 19, 2015

The staff is all ready to go after 10:00.

I was told to order and pay for dinner before even being served. Don't understand why they advertise to be open till 11:00 PM.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.