Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Kashmir

Indian restaurant, located on fashionable Newbury Street, has 3 elegant dining halls with authentic antique & modern artifacts from Northern India. Weather permitting, service is available on the outdoor patios open to Newbury Street. Kashmir has been voted "Best of Boston" several times.

279 Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Indian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Gloucester Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 536-1695

Website:
http://www.bostonkashmir.com/

Catering:
Catering is available for all occations. Includes delivery to full scale. Including tables, chairs, tablecloths, China and waitstaff.

Parking Details:
Street parking also available.

Public Transit:
Green Line: Hynes Convention Center or Copley T Stop

Executive Chef:
Harjit Singh

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Kashmir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Authentic (8)
Spicy (7)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Casual (5)
Good for a Date (3)
Vegan (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
People Watching (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Family Style (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Healthy (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great Beer (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Business Meals (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
670 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Loved the restaurant- service was great, food was delicious, not the best Indian I've ever had but definitely not the worst. My only complaint is the outdoor seating area is home to a flock of birds that were so unnerving we had to move inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We were meeting a friend from out of town for dinner and decided to go to Indian. We felt a little rushed when we first sat down since we were planning on having a relaxing dinner and catching up. The drinks were good and the food was good. With many other options in Boston, we will not be back before trying other places.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Authentic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Food and service are great. We sat outside and the birds were everywhere and they make no attempt to get them off the patio. Gross

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Excellent service - great food - excellent value!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Second visit back to Kashmir before attending Red Sox game. Now 16 y/o insisted on returning, and we were not disappointed. Food portions are adequate, and they will bring more rice if you want more. Almost forgot our Nan"bread", but after a quick check it came out directly from the kitchen piping hot. Excellent experience with Indian food here both times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food good - service slow - authentic

Tags: Kid-friendly, Spicy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our group consisted of Indian-food lovers and some new to the cuisine. Everyone found excellent options, and the newbies are now Indian-food lovers too! Excellent, authentic, unpretentious food with friendly staff and indoor/outdoor dining -- perfect.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, People Watching, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Good, solid Indian food at a reasonable price. The meat samosas are some of the best I've ever had. The Biryani was good as well. Be sure you order it hot if you like spice.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Food was good, i liked it, but not the service. This will be a delivery place going forward, not a sit down place anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

It was good when I had been there last time but I didn't like it much this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Everything was good overall with the exception of having to send the lamb curry back for spicing. "Medium-to-hot" came out as "spiceless and bland". When the dish was returned to me it was spot-on and zesty. The waiter seemed astounded that I wanted a curry that tasted like an Indian curry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was great, as always. Our wait staff forgot to put our order in, and continued to forget about us throughout the night-- even after the obvious mistake. They just stated it was busy, but did no further attempt to reconcile or even just provide normal service afterwards. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Delicious. Well balanced spices. Not too heavy. Delightful

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The service was outstanding and the prices were very competitive! We will return for sure.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Was visiting Boston with my family and wanted to have an Indian meal. It was a great experience, really delicious food and wonderful service. The restaurant is very nicely decorated and in a really nice and safe area.

Tags: Spicy, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great food. Good variety. Nice environment. Price good for quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was speedy. Wonderful spot in the city for an Indian meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

More attention to clranliness would be welcomed me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great food and service. Moderately priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 21, 2017

This was a fine dining experience, the only complaint was that our waiter was too shy

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The best Indian food in Boston period

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great place for a large group. If you like it spicy, make sure to request that!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is a North Indian style restaurant. Food was very average, and the biriyani was over cooked. Servers seemed not very knowledgeable about the food being served and did not engage positively. Food was pricy for it's quality and quantity. I would not recommend this place for good Indian food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great northern Indian cuisine.

Tags: Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Good food, although somewhat lacking in spice. Very good breads!
Decor and ambience is dated and space is crammed

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Good place for Indian and Vegetarian food. The food was good and had some great flavors and spice. However, the ambiance and service was lacking. If you are looking for good Indian food I would definitely recommend this spot. The restaurant itself though doesn't leave a great impression.

Tags: Comfort Food, Spicy, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Always a favorite!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food! One of the best Indian restaurants I've found -- and I like Indian food, so I've tried a lot!

Tags: Authentic, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My husband and I ate here on New Year's Eve. We received plenty of food which was very good, but were disappointed in the Naan bread which was a bit soggy.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great food but service could use a little improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was tasty and well prepared, but the spicing somewhat watered down. The service was very good, and staff were all friendly and welcoming. The other problem here - which is common among restaurants these days - is that it was intentionally designed to echo sound. Restaurants can choose to minimize sound or echo/amplify it. The latter creates a hubbub of activity. The former makes it easier to have conversations with friends.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Most terrible dining experience in an Indian restaurant. Both the food and the service terrible. To add some credence: we're an Indian family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Slightly disappointed no beer on tap. Requested curry be medium hot and could have handled more heat. Everything tasted good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This was not the first time we had visited Kashmir. It is a solid Indian cuisine which is reliable and contains all of the favorites. The medium heat is plenty for most and of course the ever present Kingfisher beer helps it go down.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2016

It took them 1 hour to bring our food.
The service was terrible

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Vegan, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I'm not an expert on Indian cuisine. Server was patient and helpful and steered me into some great selections. My meal was delicious, spicing was unique and memorable. Highly recommend Kashmir for anyone looking for great food at reasonable cost.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Excellent Indian cuisine, spiciness to order. We generally eat there at least once whenever we make the trek to Boston. Our daughter-in-law is vegetarian, so it is great for her too. I like fire in my food, wife & son are more moderated, but you can request the heat level you want in any dish. They have 3 Indian beers including my favorite Kingfisher.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Spicy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The food was very good and the service was exceptional. I will certainly go back to Kashmir and recommend it without hesitation. If the weather permits an outside table is a very nice way to spend the evening, great food and plenty of people watching.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 6, 2016

You cannot go wrong with Kashmir. The service is fast and the food is outstanding. This was our third trip and each time it has been the same quality and service. We prefer sitting outside but couldn't this time due to weather.

Tags: Spicy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had dinner on Saturday night and sat outdoors. The service was attentive and professional. We had Chicken Tiki Marsala, Chicken Tandori and rice briani. The food was fresh and very tasty. The bread (nan) was so good. This is one of the best Indian Restaurant in Boston. I would recommend this restaurant to friends and family

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.