About Kashmir

279 Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Indian restaurant, located on fashionable Newbury Street, has 3 elegant dining halls with authentic antique & modern artifacts from Northern India. Weather permitting, service is available on the outdoor patios open to Newbury Street. Kashmir has been voted "Best of Boston" several times.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Indian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Gloucester Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 536-1695

Website:
http://www.bostonkashmir.com/

Catering:
Catering is available for all occations. Includes delivery to full scale. Including tables, chairs, tablecloths, China and waitstaff.

Parking Details:
Street parking also available.

Public Transit:
Green Line: Hynes Convention Center or Copley T Stop

Executive Chef:
Harjit Singh

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

garlic naan
Indian Buffet
Vegetable Samosa
chicken tikka masala
Mutter Paneer
Lamb Vindaloo
Lamb Rogan Josh
Lunch Buffet Set
Tom Yam
Lamb Saag
Lamb Samosa
Tandoori Lamb
Rasmalai
Tandoori Mixed Grill
Mango Crรจme Brulee
Bhuna Gosht
Massala Shrimp
Tandoori Chicken

Kashmir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Groups (7)
See All
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Special Occasion (5)
Romantic (4)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
590 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

After many years we had dinner at Kashmi ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined 5 days ago

After many years we had dinner at Kashmir. Still the food is as good as ever and service was excellent

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

First time with Indian cuisine, but my 1 ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

First time with Indian cuisine, but my 15 y/o wanted to try before our game at Fenway. If taking the T, you should get off at Hynes instead of Copley. Closer to the convention center. Seated promptly, as restaurant was not crowded at 5 pm on a Wednesday. Place started to fill up as we left at 6 pm to walk to Fenway. Server (Sujana R) was friendly and helpful. Several others also attended to our table. Started with Meat Samosas ($6) which were nicely done and flavorful. Condiments were provided (spicy orange chutney, sour item, and mint) and all helped to enhance the taste and flavors. Rogan Josh ($19) was filled with plenty of pieces of lamb, and was quite tasty. Masala dish that my son ordered had less pieces in it, but he loved the flavor. Order of Nan bread ($3.50) had plenty of pieces to share. Overall it was a pleasant experience and we both said we would like to come back and try some other dishes.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a lovely dinner here.

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a lovely dinner here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A beautiful spot to people watch and enj ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

A beautiful spot to people watch and enjoy quality Indian food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seated outside with huge number of birds ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Seated outside with huge number of birds. Saw waiter place napkin-wrapped silverware out then birds jump all over the napkin without any subsequent change in the place setting. Once asked to be moved inside, much better dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

I give it high marks for efficiency and ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I give it high marks for efficiency and for the variety of its menu. Though I am by no means an expert on Indian food, I rather expected that when I ordred "medium" hot I would feel *something*. Perhaps my palate is jaded, but hot it's not. On the other hand you could eat for several days on the amount of food they pr0vide. If you go, a doggie bag is in your future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our favorite Indian restaurants. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

One of our favorite Indian restaurants. Consistently delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very nice Indian food, well prepared. We ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Very nice Indian food, well prepared. We asked for our dishes hot and boy were they hot. Many Indian restaurants tone things down a bit, but the curry and vindaloo were really hot. While we love hot food, next time we will ask for medium hot instead.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Yum! I have been to Kashmir many times f ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Yum! I have been to Kashmir many times for brunch and loved it. This was my first dinner and it was also very good. I recommend the vegetarian appetizer plate and the okra dish.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

good food but bad cocktails

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The food was delicious. Especially the vegetarian samosas and a potato dish. However, the two people and I was dining with and I all got different cocktails and none of them were good. Very good food, poorly mixed drinks

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Chicken korma was wonderful!

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Chicken korma was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

I love their chicken tikka masalla. Everything was really good, the service, ambiance and the rest of the dishes were also good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a very interesting experience. T ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

It was a very interesting experience. The waitress would not speak to my boyfriend. She directed all questions to me and ignored him when he spoke. It was like he did not exist. The food, however, was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very attentive but not all servers under ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Very attentive but not all servers understood English. Great flavor and quality with the food. Portions a little smaller than most Indian restaurants but still had enough food to share. Will come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Solid Indian cooking!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I was a bit skeptical about Kashmir (there was a strange odor when we sat down, but perhaps that was just from an old mop), but, thankfully, was proved wrong. The service was gracious, the menu had more variety than many Indian restaurants (as well as the classic dishes), and everything we ordered was incredibly delicious. I recommend the salmon cooked in the Tandoor -- outstanding! Go with a group and order family-style so that you can try a little of everything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food in a relaxed environment

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Great food in a relaxed environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great Indian food!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Located in the Back Bay area Kashmir is a neighborhood gem. The food was delicious, service was right on point. Prices were affordable. We had a great time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the BESTS on Newbury St.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Kashmir is now one of my favorite restaurants. The food is cooked with love and care, which results in bold flavors.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Indian Food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I am not an expert on Indian food but I have eaten Indian at least 6 times: once in NYC, 4 times in Cambridge, MA and once in Avon, CT. This place had the best I've eaten so far. Every dish was quite tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent all around. If you go in the e ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Excellent all around. If you go in the evening definitely get a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Maybe the best Indian in the country!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Maybe the best Indian in the country!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and service! We've been there ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Great food and service! We've been there several times on our visits to Boston and have never been disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great selection of dishes!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the food here - although my wife wishes the food could have been a little spicier! (We ordered everything mild to medium because the waitress told us that hot was very very hot.) Never had duck tikka masala before, and it was quite good. Would recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food amacing!!!!!!๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿพ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿพ The place ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 8, 2016

The food amacing!!!!!!๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿพ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿพ

The place nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A diverse menu with plenty of options fo ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

A diverse menu with plenty of options for vegetarians, carnivores, and everyone in between. Very tasty food, though the only downside is that they charge Newbury St. prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Delicious food in an outstanding neighborhood!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

Delicious food in an outstanding neighborhood!! Without a doubt, one of the best Indian I've tried!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

No more lunch buffet :-(

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Kashmir used to be one of my favorite Indian restaurants in the USA. Sadly, they have discontinued their lunch buffer and raised their prices considerably. Also, I was nauseated by the overwhelming smell of cleaning fluid that smelled like urinal cakes. The wait staff was courteous and prompt. The food was still good good but I don't plan on returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Great place with amazing food! We will b ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Great place with amazing food! We will be back 100% recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't go after 10:00 PM

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

The staff is all ready to go after 10:00.

I was told to order and pay for dinner before even being served. Don't understand why they advertise to be open till 11:00 PM.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Exceptional

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

Very nice people, very accommodating to changing size of our party, great food and plenty of it. Enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious and our server wa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

The food was delicious and our server was very attentive. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was outstanding and service was ver ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

Food was outstanding and service was very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Too dry

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on November 16, 2015

We ordered the Mix grill Tandori and it was way too dried out. What a shame. The eggplant was excellent. Perhaps stick with their dishes that have sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Skip the apps and go straight to dinner specials!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Dinner special was amazing (rack of lamb). Apps were fair - could have been our selections but most were flavorless fried concoctions. Naan was standard but yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great Indian food. Will be back.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on October 30, 2015

Great Indian food. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good Indian downtown

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 21, 2015

A welcome discovery. Casual atmosphere and ambience with great Indian food. Pleasant wait staff as well.

Close to all the designer stores if you're shopping.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Nice dining experience

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on October 21, 2015

The meal was delicious. All the food was well prepared and quickly presented to the table. We finished it and were quite satisfied with both the service and the quality of the food. I recommend the chicken tikka . We will come here again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Left full and happy

 
 (New England)
·Dined on October 16, 2015

I've been here about a year ago and it was great so I'm glad I decided to go again! Since it was a Friday night, the service was a bit slow but not enough to make us that unhappy. Server was very nice though, and the food came out pretty quickly. The naan is a must here, its a great size for hungry people (we ordered 3), and its so fluffy and delicious. My favorite tikka masala is from this place- the sauce is so flavorful, and rich but not heavy. I always get chicken, but my friend got the duck which was also great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Dined with friends who are originally from India.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 14, 2015

We dined with good friends who are originally from India. All of us enjoyed the food. Excellent variety, both vegetarian and non-vegetarian. Waitstaff was very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Make sure u leave the restaurant by 10:5 ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on October 12, 2015

Make sure u leave the restaurant by 10:50 or else get ready to get kicked out @11.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.