Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Kashmir

Indian restaurant, located on fashionable Newbury Street, has 3 elegant dining halls with authentic antique & modern artifacts from Northern India. Weather permitting, service is available on the outdoor patios open to Newbury Street. Kashmir has been voted "Best of Boston" several times.

279 Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Indian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Gloucester Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 536-1695

Website:
http://www.bostonkashmir.com/

Catering:
Catering is available for all occations. Includes delivery to full scale. Including tables, chairs, tablecloths, China and waitstaff.

Parking Details:
Street parking also available.

Public Transit:
Green Line: Hynes Convention Center or Copley T Stop

Executive Chef:
Harjit Singh

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Kashmir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Spicy (9)
VegetarianOptions (7)
NeighborhoodGem (6)
See All
Authentic (5)
Groups (5)
FamilyStyle (4)
Vegan (4)
ChildFriendly (3)
Casual (3)
Foodies (2)
ComfortFood (2)
QuietConversation (2)
OutdoorDining (2)
SpecialOccasions (2)
Anniversaries (1)
Birthdays (1)
HotSpot (1)
Healthy (1)
GlutenFree (1)
PrePostTheatre (1)
GoodForDates (1)
BusinessMeals (1)
LateNightFind (1)
CreativeCuisine (1)
Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
664 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Food good - service slow - authentic

Tags: Kid-friendly, Spicy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Good, solid Indian food at a reasonable price. The meat samosas are some of the best I've ever had. The Biryani was good as well. Be sure you order it hot if you like spice.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Food was good, i liked it, but not the service. This will be a delivery place going forward, not a sit down place anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

It was good when I had been there last time but I didn't like it much this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Everything was good overall with the exception of having to send the lamb curry back for spicing. "Medium-to-hot" came out as "spiceless and bland". When the dish was returned to me it was spot-on and zesty. The waiter seemed astounded that I wanted a curry that tasted like an Indian curry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was great, as always. Our wait staff forgot to put our order in, and continued to forget about us throughout the night-- even after the obvious mistake. They just stated it was busy, but did no further attempt to reconcile or even just provide normal service afterwards. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Delicious. Well balanced spices. Not too heavy. Delightful

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The service was outstanding and the prices were very competitive! We will return for sure.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Was visiting Boston with my family and wanted to have an Indian meal. It was a great experience, really delicious food and wonderful service. The restaurant is very nicely decorated and in a really nice and safe area.

Tags: Spicy, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great food. Good variety. Nice environment. Price good for quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was speedy. Wonderful spot in the city for an Indian meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

More attention to clranliness would be welcomed me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great food and service. Moderately priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 21, 2017

This was a fine dining experience, the only complaint was that our waiter was too shy

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The best Indian food in Boston period

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great place for a large group. If you like it spicy, make sure to request that!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is a North Indian style restaurant. Food was very average, and the biriyani was over cooked. Servers seemed not very knowledgeable about the food being served and did not engage positively. Food was pricy for it's quality and quantity. I would not recommend this place for good Indian food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great northern Indian cuisine.

Tags: Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Good food, although somewhat lacking in spice. Very good breads!
Decor and ambience is dated and space is crammed

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Good place for Indian and Vegetarian food. The food was good and had some great flavors and spice. However, the ambiance and service was lacking. If you are looking for good Indian food I would definitely recommend this spot. The restaurant itself though doesn't leave a great impression.

Tags: Comfort Food, Spicy, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Always a favorite!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food! One of the best Indian restaurants I've found -- and I like Indian food, so I've tried a lot!

Tags: Authentic, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I ate here on New Year's Eve. We received plenty of food which was very good, but were disappointed in the Naan bread which was a bit soggy.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great food but service could use a little improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was tasty and well prepared, but the spicing somewhat watered down. The service was very good, and staff were all friendly and welcoming. The other problem here - which is common among restaurants these days - is that it was intentionally designed to echo sound. Restaurants can choose to minimize sound or echo/amplify it. The latter creates a hubbub of activity. The former makes it easier to have conversations with friends.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Most terrible dining experience in an Indian restaurant. Both the food and the service terrible. To add some credence: we're an Indian family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Slightly disappointed no beer on tap. Requested curry be medium hot and could have handled more heat. Everything tasted good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This was not the first time we had visited Kashmir. It is a solid Indian cuisine which is reliable and contains all of the favorites. The medium heat is plenty for most and of course the ever present Kingfisher beer helps it go down.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

It took them 1 hour to bring our food.
The service was terrible

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Vegan, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I'm not an expert on Indian cuisine. Server was patient and helpful and steered me into some great selections. My meal was delicious, spicing was unique and memorable. Highly recommend Kashmir for anyone looking for great food at reasonable cost.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Excellent Indian cuisine, spiciness to order. We generally eat there at least once whenever we make the trek to Boston. Our daughter-in-law is vegetarian, so it is great for her too. I like fire in my food, wife & son are more moderated, but you can request the heat level you want in any dish. They have 3 Indian beers including my favorite Kingfisher.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Spicy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The food was very good and the service was exceptional. I will certainly go back to Kashmir and recommend it without hesitation. If the weather permits an outside table is a very nice way to spend the evening, great food and plenty of people watching.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 6, 2016

You cannot go wrong with Kashmir. The service is fast and the food is outstanding. This was our third trip and each time it has been the same quality and service. We prefer sitting outside but couldn't this time due to weather.

Tags: Spicy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style, Authentic, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had dinner on Saturday night and sat outdoors. The service was attentive and professional. We had Chicken Tiki Marsala, Chicken Tandori and rice briani. The food was fresh and very tasty. The bread (nan) was so good. This is one of the best Indian Restaurant in Boston. I would recommend this restaurant to friends and family

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Would have been 5 stars for food, except the dessert wasn't fresh (and has not been in the past, either).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 19, 2016

After many years we had dinner at Kashmir. Still the food is as good as ever and service was excellent

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2016

First time with Indian cuisine, but my 15 y/o wanted to try before our game at Fenway. If taking the T, you should get off at Hynes instead of Copley. Closer to the convention center. Seated promptly, as restaurant was not crowded at 5 pm on a Wednesday. Place started to fill up as we left at 6 pm to walk to Fenway. Server (Sujana R) was friendly and helpful. Several others also attended to our table. Started with Meat Samosas ($6) which were nicely done and flavorful. Condiments were provided (spicy orange chutney, sour item, and mint) and all helped to enhance the taste and flavors. Rogan Josh ($19) was filled with plenty of pieces of lamb, and was quite tasty. Masala dish that my son ordered had less pieces in it, but he loved the flavor. Order of Nan bread ($3.50) had plenty of pieces to share. Overall it was a pleasant experience and we both said we would like to come back and try some other dishes.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a lovely dinner here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 24, 2016

A beautiful spot to people watch and enjoy quality Indian food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Seated outside with huge number of birds. Saw waiter place napkin-wrapped silverware out then birds jump all over the napkin without any subsequent change in the place setting. Once asked to be moved inside, much better dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.