About Kashmir

279 Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Indian restaurant, located on fashionable Newbury Street, has 3 elegant dining halls with authentic antique & modern artifacts from Northern India. Weather permitting, service is available on the outdoor patios open to Newbury Street. Kashmir has been voted "Best of Boston" several times.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Indian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Gloucester Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 536-1695

Website:
http://www.bostonkashmir.com/

Catering:
Catering is available for all occations. Includes delivery to full scale. Including tables, chairs, tablecloths, China and waitstaff.

Parking Details:
Street parking also available.

Public Transit:
Green Line: Hynes Convention Center or Copley T Stop

Executive Chef:
Harjit Singh

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Massala Shrimp
garlic naan
Indian Buffet
Vegetable Samosa
chicken tikka masala
Mutter Paneer
Lamb Vindaloo
Lamb Rogan Josh
Lunch Buffet Set
Tom Yam
Tandoori Lamb
Lamb Samosa
Lamb Saag
Bhuna Gosht
Mango Crรจme Brulee
Rasmalai
Tandoori Mixed Grill
Tandoori Chicken

Kashmir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (14)
good for groups (11)
neighborhood gem (11)
See All
great for lunch (9)
great for outdoor dining (6)
romantic (5)
special occasion (5)
great for brunch (4)
hot spot (3)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (1)
late-night find (1)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
583 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Indian food, awkward waiters

vip
Dined 8 hours ago

Great Indian food, awkward waiters

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Yum! I have been to Kashmir many times f ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Yum! I have been to Kashmir many times for brunch and loved it. This was my first dinner and it was also very good. I recommend the vegetarian appetizer plate and the okra dish.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

good food but bad cocktails

Dined on May 6, 2016

The food was delicious. Especially the vegetarian samosas and a potato dish. However, the two people and I was dining with and I all got different cocktails and none of them were good. Very good food, poorly mixed drinks

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Chicken korma was wonderful!

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Chicken korma was wonderful!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

I love their chicken tikka masalla. Everything was really good, the service, ambiance and the rest of the dishes were also good.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was a very interesting experience. T ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

It was a very interesting experience. The waitress would not speak to my boyfriend. She directed all questions to me and ignored him when he spoke. It was like he did not exist. The food, however, was excellent.

food4
ambience4
service3

Very attentive but not all servers under ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Very attentive but not all servers understood English. Great flavor and quality with the food. Portions a little smaller than most Indian restaurants but still had enough food to share. Will come back.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Solid Indian cooking!

Dined on April 9, 2016

I was a bit skeptical about Kashmir (there was a strange odor when we sat down, but perhaps that was just from an old mop), but, thankfully, was proved wrong. The service was gracious, the menu had more variety than many Indian restaurants (as well as the classic dishes), and everything we ordered was incredibly delicious. I recommend the salmon cooked in the Tandoor -- outstanding! Go with a group and order family-style so that you can try a little of everything.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food in a relaxed environment

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Great food in a relaxed environment

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Indian food!

Dined on March 18, 2016

Located in the Back Bay area Kashmir is a neighborhood gem. The food was delicious, service was right on point. Prices were affordable. We had a great time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the BESTS on Newbury St.

Dined on March 18, 2016

Kashmir is now one of my favorite restaurants. The food is cooked with love and care, which results in bold flavors.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Indian Food

Dined on March 12, 2016

I am not an expert on Indian food but I have eaten Indian at least 6 times: once in NYC, 4 times in Cambridge, MA and once in Avon, CT. This place had the best I've eaten so far. Every dish was quite tasty.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent all around. If you go in the e ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Excellent all around. If you go in the evening definitely get a reservation.

food5
ambience4
service4

Maybe the best Indian in the country!

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

Maybe the best Indian in the country!

food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service! We've been there ...

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Great food and service! We've been there several times on our visits to Boston and have never been disappointed!

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great selection of dishes!

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the food here - although my wife wishes the food could have been a little spicier! (We ordered everything mild to medium because the waitress told us that hot was very very hot.) Never had duck tikka masala before, and it was quite good. Would recommend!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The food amacing!!!!!!๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿพ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿพ The place ...

Dined on February 8, 2016

The food amacing!!!!!!๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿพ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿพ The place nice

food4
ambience3
service4

A diverse menu with plenty of options fo ...

vip
Dined on January 26, 2016

A diverse menu with plenty of options for vegetarians, carnivores, and everyone in between. Very tasty food, though the only downside is that they charge Newbury St. prices.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious food in an outstanding neighborhood!!

Dined on January 14, 2016

Delicious food in an outstanding neighborhood!! Without a doubt, one of the best Indian I've tried!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

No more lunch buffet :-(

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

Kashmir used to be one of my favorite Indian restaurants in the USA. Sadly, they have discontinued their lunch buffer and raised their prices considerably. Also, I was nauseated by the overwhelming smell of cleaning fluid that smelled like urinal cakes. The wait staff was courteous and prompt. The food was still good good but I don't plan on returning.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place with amazing food! We will b ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

Great place with amazing food! We will be back 100% recommended.

food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Don't go after 10:00 PM

Dined on December 19, 2015

The staff is all ready to go after 10:00. I was told to order and pay for dinner before even being served. Don't understand why they advertise to be open till 11:00 PM.

food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional

Dined on December 12, 2015

Very nice people, very accommodating to changing size of our party, great food and plenty of it. Enjoyed it.

food5
ambience4
service5

The food was delicious and our server wa ...

Dined on December 5, 2015

The food was delicious and our server was very attentive. We will definitely be back.

food5
ambience4
service5

Food was outstanding and service was ver ...

Dined on November 29, 2015

Food was outstanding and service was very friendly.

food2
ambience3
service5

Too dry

vip
Dined on November 16, 2015

We ordered the Mix grill Tandori and it was way too dried out. What a shame. The eggplant was excellent. Perhaps stick with their dishes that have sauce.

food4
ambience3
service4

Skip the apps and go straight to dinner specials!

Dined on November 8, 2015

Dinner special was amazing (rack of lamb). Apps were fair - could have been our selections but most were flavorless fried concoctions. Naan was standard but yummy.

food5
ambience4
service4

Great Indian food. Will be back.

vip
Dined on October 30, 2015

Great Indian food. Will be back.

food4
ambience3
service4

Good Indian downtown

Dined on October 21, 2015

A welcome discovery. Casual atmosphere and ambience with great Indian food. Pleasant wait staff as well. Close to all the designer stores if you're shopping.

food5
ambience4
service5

Nice dining experience

Dined on October 21, 2015

The meal was delicious. All the food was well prepared and quickly presented to the table. We finished it and were quite satisfied with both the service and the quality of the food. I recommend the chicken tikka . We will come here again.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

Left full and happy

Dined on October 16, 2015

I've been here about a year ago and it was great so I'm glad I decided to go again! Since it was a Friday night, the service was a bit slow but not enough to make us that unhappy. Server was very nice though, and the food came out pretty quickly. The naan is a must here, its a great size for hungry people (we ordered 3), and its so fluffy and delicious. My favorite tikka masala is from this place- the sauce is so flavorful, and rich but not heavy. I always get chicken, but my friend got the duck which was also great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4

Dined with friends who are originally from India.

Dined on October 14, 2015

We dined with good friends who are originally from India. All of us enjoyed the food. Excellent variety, both vegetarian and non-vegetarian. Waitstaff was very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service1

Make sure u leave the restaurant by 10:5 ...

Dined on October 12, 2015

Make sure u leave the restaurant by 10:50 or else get ready to get kicked out @11.

food2
ambience4
service1

The staff was very rude and though there ...

Dined on October 12, 2015

The staff was very rude and though there were other customers enjoying the dinner, the staff actually tried to drive us out rudely. Though we had ordered before the kitchen had closed, they didn't bring in the order for 15-20 minutes and then told us that the kitchen is closed so they cannot bring it after billing us for that. The treatment we received was horrible and we all are disappointed with the service.

food5
ambience4
service3

Great food, service not as good

Dined on October 11, 2015

The food was excellent, no complaints at all. However, it took a very long time to get a server's attention and the overall service was slow.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience2
service4

The recently renovated restaurant looks ...

vip
Dined on September 29, 2015

The recently renovated restaurant looks great & quality of food remains but the bright fluorescent lighting is way too harsh!

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Indian Food on Newbury Street

vip
Dined on September 5, 2015

We dined as a party of seven when bringing our daughter back to college. We were seated right on time and the service was outstanding. Everyone ordered an individual dish and we passed around and shared. The chicken vindaloo was delicious as well as all of the nans - especially the garlic and the spinach. The cocktail list was inventive as well.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service2

Old favorite

vip
Dined on August 29, 2015

Have always loved this Indian restaurant and visit every time I am in Boston. This time the food was not quite as good as usual and service was very slow. Asked to have the dish we ordered spicy and it had not the slightest hint of heat.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3

Good Indian place!

Dined on August 14, 2015

Been found there for years. Love the tandoori chicken tikka and the chicken tikka masala.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4

The outdoor terrace is lovely on a summe ...

vip
Dined on July 19, 2015

The outdoor terrace is lovely on a summer evening, but the food seemed to us--as it has always has--pretty good but nothing special. The bhindi was bland, the flavors in the baingan bharta were muddy rather than distinct. By the time we left, though, almost everyone in the restaurant was from South Asia, which made us wonder whether they knew something we didn't know. Next time we'll ask our waiter for recommendations.

Tags: great for outdoor dining

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.