About Kasana

241 North Broadway
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

We pride ourselves on using organic ingredients wherever possible (including basic components such as flour and spices).

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Organic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Mon: Closed
Tues: Closed
*Wed: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
*Thurs: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
*Fri: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
*Happy Hour 5:00pm - 6:00pm (Wed / Thurs / Fri)
Sat: 11:00am - 2:00pm & 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sun: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
1 block south of Milwaukee Public Market at Buffalo & Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 224-6158

Website:
http://www.kasana-mke.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz most Fridays
Music and Dance performances for Special Events

Parking Details:
Street parking available.
Limited parking in the lot on the side of the building (first come basis).
Nearest parking ramp is 2 blocks away.

Executive Chef:
Chef Ana Docta

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Cafe, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Kasana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

5.0

service

5.0

ambience

3.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (1)
hot spot (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
92 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Comfortable dining, Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

One of the reasons we selected Kasana was the variety of gluten free options they had, and they did not disappoint. Many, if not all of the flours used were yuca flour.

We arrived earlier on a Saturday (6pm), so it wasn't prime dining time, but our service was very attentive. As it got busier it was a little less attentive, but still accessible and quick.

Atmosphere was very contemporary, reminiscent of what an Argentine/Brazilian trendy restaurant might look like.

Food was very good. Served tapas style, just make sure you don't order too much. We started with dessert first - why miss out? All three agreed it was the best flan we've ever had - fluffy, soft and not too rich. Main plates were on the heavy side with the use of natural fats and oils, but all were delectable and just right for the smaller portions. Try the Brussels sprouts!

Lastly, the cappuchino and the Mousse de Maracuja were great finishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Deliciously different

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

This was the second time I have been at Kasana. Totally enjoyed both experiences. Super yummy food but totally different from anything else I've ever eaten! Love the small plates because then you get the chance to try lots of different things. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top rate dining experience

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We went to restaraunt for valentines day. They had a flamenco dancer joined by a man playing spanish guitar and singing variety of songs. The decor and vibrant and beautiful. Surrounded by beautiful art pieces and unique couch and chair combination for dining sets. The food came in timely manner and was delicious. I would definitely dine at Kasana again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Went out for a valentines lunch and did ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Went out for a valentines lunch and did the tapas. Everything we had from the drinks to the dessert was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a pleasant experience

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Went to Kasana for Valentines with my wife and another couple. I don’t write a lot of reviews, but felt I needed to share my experience. Kasana was a great dining experience, not just the food, but the service and the overall feeling was above my expectations. The service very attentive and friendly (host, servers); my wife and I loved the fact that Ana herself was working on the bar, greeting guest, and checking on all diners. This truly felt like "Casa de Ana", dining at a friend’s home. The tapas were great across the board, croquetas, brie-filled dates, yucca galore, what a flavor festival that was. The caipirinhas were a great complement". The hour drive from the Chicago suburbs was more than worth it. Ana you will definitely see us again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great location, very friendly people and ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great location, very friendly people and outstanding food! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kasana ia Always Great

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

Took two new people with us for dinner. Both were very impressed with their meals. We just love Ana and Kasana!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice!

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We were looking for something a little different and we found it in Kasana. I thought it was a nice surprise. The decor was a little artistic which I liked. The hostess was very pleasant and the drinks were great! We both had a Mojito and it was made with fresh ingredients. We tried several plates and found all of them to be tasty. We enjoyed our experience and we would return next time we are in Milwaukee. This would be a fun place to go with a group of friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

AMAZING PLACE- Never Crowded!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

I have been to Kasana many times and it never disappoints. Their menu has so much variety, even the pickiest of my friends find things they like. The wine and cocktail list has Spanish flair and reasonably priced. The staff at Kasana really care about your experience and make you feel at home. Ana (the owner) is always there, and even dances some salsa on Friday night when they have live music! The location of the restaurant is a little unusual, because it is in a basement of a retail building, but the ambiance is always lovely and cozy. Some of my favorite dishes there are the Cordero (lamb with chimmichurri sauce and wild rice), Mas Queso (traditional tapas cheese platter), Pao de Queijo (fried manchengo cheese with blueberry sauce) and for dessert, the Flan is to die for. It's my favorite restaurant in Milwaukee.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food Adventure

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Visited Kasana with a large group. Loved the menu! Not familiar with Portugese food and small plates allow a nice sampling of this cuisine. Cocktail specials were also reflective of South America and added to the ambiance. Only wobble is that there were eight of us and it was either an inexperienced waitress or kitchen that struggled to get the food out in a timely manner. Waitress didn't check back on food/beverages or water. We appeared to be only table so slow service a real concern. That being said, food was so good that all of us agreed we would give it another try

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Awesome food and service

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

We had five diners. We ordered two separate sets of five tapas . It was the perfect amount. Both food and service were great. It was a lot of fun to sample a wide variety of food without having to stuff yourself. Kasana receives my highest recommendation!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Good!

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

We eat here quite often...food is great; service great; owner: Ana Docta is just wonderful...Singer and guitar player on Friday nights are just fantastic.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

I would definitely recommend Kasana! The staff was very friendly and we even had live jazz music which made for a great date night. The food was delicious and not overly expensive. I eat gluten-free and they had gluten-free items listed out on the menu so it's very navigable. The jazz was a little loud for the space but the band was very chill and fun to watch. Check it out!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very inviting and friendly

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We went for New Years Eve dinner with a group of 8. This was the first time there for all of us. The atmosphere is wonderful and staff very friendly. We will definitely make it a spot to go!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

new years

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

pleased to get in on fairly short notice on NYE. excellent tapas. Server was polite and informed but spread very thin so getting each of 3 rounds of small plates too a while. The gentleman playing guitar was very good but made it hard to have conversation so we asked to be reseated further away. Excellent wine!! My only issue was the 20% tip which was included for a party of 2 with no notice and I had already given a generous tip due to being NYE. Asked to have it re-run and reduced my addition to their gratuity. Great place and we will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

A Fun NYE date night spot!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Kasana was a wonderful place to spend New Year's eve with my wife. There was a pretty good Flamenco guitar player, lots of nice folks packing the restaurant, a sweet motherly waitress, and delicious food. One of the pratos individuais we got, a steak dish called Picanha, was our least favorite - the meat was basically flank steak, pretty tough, served a little cool, but pretty tasty nonetheless with the chimichurri sauce. The combo tapas plate we got, Travessa Kasana, was fantastic. Their cornish hens tapa, Frango a Passarinho, was tasty, but a little dry. Everything came out all at once, which diminished the experience a bit as a lot of the food was cool by the time we could get to it. The palmitos salad was very nice. We had three deserts (!), the Tiramisu, a passion fruit Mousse, and a truffle. They were all quite good, but the Tiramisu is made in their own way, without cocoa. Unfortunately they had sold out of the Flan, but we heard it is great. All said, it was still a great meal, at around $100 with two glasses of fantastic sangria, and a wonderful friendly atmosphere. The shortcomings in the dining were probably the result of how packed they were that night.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Terrific

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

I love Kasana. The food is amazing and so fun to share. We took the kids over the holidays. I loved everything about it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on December 10, 2015

Loved the tapas and sangria! The comfy and plush seating was a nice surprise.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Music, wine and a great place.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

It's a great place especially Friday night with live music, great wine and food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Restaurant, Top-Notch Service!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

We really enjoyed our dinner at Kasana. The owner, Ana, was involved with our experience from the moment we arrived at the bar. Everyone there made sure we were having a great experience and enjoying the food. The only reason I gave the food four stars is because the portions of some of the small plates were too small. The food, however, was delicious and presented beautifully.

Overall, though, we loved the atmosphere, the bar area, the music, the attentiveness of the staff and the experience.

Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great little find!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

A short walk down a few stairs, and we were transported into an industrial chic dining location. I got to sit on a love seat with pillows—so comfy—and I can never complain about good wine and well proportioned tapas. The empanadas were delectable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always a delight!

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Ana, the owner of Kasana, greeted us like we were family. The food is always delicious; very inexpensive and always served promptly and efficiently.

Could not ask for a finer restaurant.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Horrible!!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

This place was just about as horrible as it gets. Came in on a Saturday night and the dining room was just about empty. That was probably my first sign we should of left right then. Sat down ordered many different items figuring while here we should get to know the menu. WRONG CHOICE! Sent back 3 out of the 4 things and asked for the check. Presentation of food looked like dog meat and tasted just as bad. Talked to the manager about our incident and really didn't seem to care. Asked for check In a rush so we could go have dinner somewhere else seeing we were sti starving.. We were still charged for all the items we didn't eat and sent back. I sent an email to kasana about how horrible our experience was but they still have yet to respond. Just a warning.. Do not go here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Unique Dining Experience

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

Kasana has a lovely dining room with wonderful Latin background music. Our server was very nice and the food was interesting and flavorful. We wrapped up our dinner experience with Tiramisu -- it was fabulous. This restaurant is a hidden gem in the Historic Third Ward.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect date night

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

This place was perfect for the date night I had planned with my boyfriend. We wanted to go some place new and different and that's what Kasana delivered! We orderd five small plates and loved it all and for small plates the price wasn't bad. If we had to pick favorites we really loved the Vatapa and the beef empanadas and I enjoyed the little cookies we tried. Everyone was friendly, the food was good and the ambience of the place was exactly what we'd hoped for a date night: relaxed and casual but still romantic. Bonus: we really enjoyed the live music they had. We definitely would take another couple here for the experience and the food!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was surprised to have to go downstairs ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

I was surprised to have to go downstairs from the ground level in order to get in to the restaurant, but I won't call it a basement because the atmosphere is so inviting you don't realize you're in a 'basement'. The drinks we ordered were refreshing and very tastefully done. They definitely know how to utilize fresh fruit in their signature drinks. The food was truly phenomenal. I was skeptical of Latin organic fare, but my mind changed quickly and I was quite happy with our dinner choice for the evening. Dessert, espresso, and coffee were all great as well. The only downfall was the very end. We were just about finished with our coffee and the waitress would stop by every 10 minutes or so and we expected her to leave the bill each time. We finally just asked her for the check and a few minutes later she brought it. It was almost a perfect experience but the extra 20 minutes hoping for the check was the only flaw, and that's not so bad at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Hidden Gem

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

I chose Kasana because I was looking for something unique and different to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. I took a chance not knowing anything about Kasana, except for the reviews I read. The whole experience went beyond our expectations. Starting with the ambiance, which was intimate and romantic with live guitar music. Our drinks(a tropical mojito and sangria) were delicious and beautiful in their presentation. The food exceptional- we tried a sampler for 2, every bite was a delicious explosion of flavor. The owner,Ana made a point of going around to check in with each table, like we were guests in her own home. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. It truly is a hidden gem located in the lower level. We look forward to going again!

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kasana delights

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

A wonderful place to share an evening with friends. We shared plates in order to taste many delicious items on the menu. It was hard to choose. Wonderful ambiance. Excellent food.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

French toast was dry. Mimosas were orang ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

French toast was dry. Mimosas were orange juice. Chicken burrito was okay. Brunch cost 2 people on a Sunday 100.00. Two endless mimosas, 2 Ana french toast orders w bacon, side of eggs, chicken burrito. Neither my friend nor I finished our food. We sat outside so long to catch up with each other and it was her birthday brunch and the weather that day was beautiful. Food, horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Husband's Birthday Dinner

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on October 7, 2015

We went to Kasana for my husband's birthday dinner and was very happy with the whole experience. The ambiance of Kasana was lovely, the color palate of the restaurant and the Brazilian music was a nice. We ordered four small plates and were very happy with the food! The aromatics and flavor were perfect. We loved the Mas Queso as a starter and the Cordero and Vatapa were perfect "main" tapas. Service was wonderful, I just wish we knew her name. Dessert was on the house, we were not planning on ordering any because we were full from the small plates. The dessert was so tasteful without being too sweet and I recommend to save room for it, well worth it! Highly recommend to people wanting to just get away from the crowds of other tapas restaurants, shouldn't disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A great place to try!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

Kasana is such a great place to try if you're looking for something different! My husband and I came here for dinner because we wanted some tapas and they didn't disappoint! The owner seated us and she was so nice and our server was very attentive. Live music on Friday nights too which was a plus. Food was outstanding and so fresh! We'll be back for sure!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kasana, #2

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

We came with friends for brunch before theatre and an had a wonderful time with wonderful food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, especially for the gluten free set!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

I couldn't be more impressed with Kasana. The staff was inviting, the food was excellent, and there was an abundance of gluten free options. The space is in the basement of a building, but it is still very bright and stylish. As someone with severe gluten issues, it is a real treat to be able to order off the menu with confidence and share a stress-free, fancy meal with a loved one (like a normal person!). Definitely planning to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food great variety very unique

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

Awesome food great variety very unique

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tanzers at Kasana

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

Kasana provided samples of its food at a FADS party. Delicious. We got a gift certificate and on-the-spur-of-the-moment decided to go after a dance lesson. There was live music and we danced a couple of rumbas. The owner was gracious and fun - showing some of her dance moves.

The meals were wonderful as was the wine. Service was excellent. A great find for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere is quant and the food is excellent!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

Ana is a gem. She personally comes around to check on you during your dining experience. She is fun, personable and makes excellent drinks.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Date night

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

I took my lady here for a Saturday night date night. We had few of the small plates and enjoyed every one. Our favorite was the lamb with wild rice. Ana the owner came by and made sure everything was to our liking. She was awesome. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great find

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

We enjoyed the food, the atmosphere and the hospitality! Art work was lovely to view while having dinner. The people were so nice and informative on the menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Outstanding--as usual!

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 21, 2015

Ana, the owner of Kasana, is just terrific. She greets all her customers with her fantastic smile. The food, although marketed as 'Tapas', are not the usual very small plates. The variety of foods served are just outstanding.

On Friday nights, a vocalist (Pam) accompanied by the guitarist, are both terrific.

If you haven't visited KASANA, you are missing out on a great place and a great meal!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

NOT our first time here...nor will it be our last.

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 20, 2015

Ana, owner of Kasana, is a tremendous hostess as well. Food here is just fabulous and since it's supposed to be 'tapas', portions are NOT really small...and prices for what you're getting are most reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.