Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

DineDine
(173)
Contemporary American | West Loop, Chicago
Reserve Now
Birch River Grill – An American KitchenBirch River Grill – An American Kitchen
(237)
American | Arlington Heights, Northwest Suburbs
Reserve Now
Glen PrairieGlen Prairie
(868)
Contemporary American | Glen Ellyn, West Suburbs
Reserve Now
Uncle Julio's - Vernon HillsUncle Julio's - Vernon Hills
(203)
Mexican | Mundelein / Vernon Hills / Libertyville, North Suburbs
Reserve Now
Blufish Sushi RobataBlufish Sushi Robata
(15)
Japanese | Mundelein / Vernon Hills / Libertyville, North Suburbs
Reserve Now
Nirvana Wine & GrillerieNirvana Wine & Grillerie
(78)
Wine Bar | Mundelein / Vernon Hills / Libertyville, North Suburbs
Reserve Now
Park Street RestaurantPark Street Restaurant
(40)
American | Mundelein / Vernon Hills / Libertyville, North Suburbs
Reserve Now
O'Toole's LibertyvilleO'Toole's Libertyville
(34)
Gastro Pub | Mundelein / Vernon Hills / Libertyville, North Suburbs
Reserve Now
Enzo and LuciaEnzo and Lucia
(202)
Italian | Long Grove, North Suburbs
Reserve Now
Maggiano's - Vernon HillsMaggiano's - Vernon Hills
(686)
Italian | Mundelein / Vernon Hills / Libertyville, North Suburbs
Reserve Now
Mumbai TandoorMumbai Tandoor
(2)
Indian | Mundelein / Vernon Hills / Libertyville, North Suburbs
Reserve Now
Ristorante BottaioRistorante Bottaio
(94)
Italian | Mundelein / Vernon Hills / Libertyville, North Suburbs
Reserve Now
Shakou Sushi - LibertyvilleShakou Sushi - Libertyville
(399)
Asian | Mundelein / Vernon Hills / Libertyville, North Suburbs
Reserve Now
Half Day Brewing Co.Half Day Brewing Co.
(84)
American | Lincolnshire, North Suburbs
Reserve Now
Fleming's Steakhouse - LincolnshireFleming's Steakhouse - Lincolnshire
(617)
Steak | Lincolnshire, North Suburbs
Reserve Now

About Karma Asian Food and Fine Wine

510 E. Route 83
Mundelein, IL 60060
View Larger Map

Karma Asian Food & Wine serves Modern Asian Fusion Cuisine taking classic Asian fare and adding our own comfortable, Western twist. Our focus is to use only fresh ingredients. We do this by sourcing natural, locally farmed and/or organic products wherever possible. Additionally, we are proud to offer many Vegetarian and Gluten Free menu items as designated by the V & GF symbols. We hope you enjoy your experience.

Enjoying these in a very relaxed dining atmosphere with our 12 foot tall waterfall at one end and our 200 square foot pond in the center, makes for an exceptional dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Pan-Asian, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 6:00am - 10:30am
Dinner: Friday & Saturday 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Until February 1st the Karma will be closed permanently

Cross Street:
Route 45

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 970-6900

Website:
http://www.karmachicago.com/

Entertainment:
Our Zen laced dining room features a calming pool of water through the middle and a soothing waterfall.

Parking Details:
We have ample FREE parking.

Executive Chef:
Paul Choi

Private Party Facilities:
Accommodations can be made for groups up to 50 in our restaurant or up to 75 in our lounge. We offer semi-private dining for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Allan Zinkann: (847)970-6900 x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Orange Chicken
  • Salmon salad
Orange Chicken
Salmon salad
Sort By:
Newest
398 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service. Great food.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Our server was very knowledgable and helpful with the menu and the preparation of food. Everyone enjoyed their food. The portions are large so was able to enjoy the left overs at home.

The atmosphere is lovely. We enjoy the tranquility of the place and the ability to have a conversation with friend with out yelling.

Go, you will enjoy yourself.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Never expected that christmas day late lunch would be so inspiring and delightful. The reviews were mixed so I didn't have high expectations, however the food, service, ambiance, location and atmosphere was exceptional. I really loved it and recommend this restaurant to anyone! Couldn't be happier! Yum. Ps the firecracker shrimp and fried rice were the best than anything ever eaten at similar cuisine. The presentation of the food on each plate was a mastepiece! Wow!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service was great! We both enjo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

Food and service was great! We both enjoyed it and a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Expected more, good food but not as "art ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 15, 2015

Expected more, good food but not as "artistic" as I was less to believe by website.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Unbelievable flavor and presentation!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

Karma's chef delivers beyond expectations. We cannot wait to go back as we look for chefs that care about where food is sourced, in addition to using real food ingredients (no cheap fake food please). The plating was beautiful and the Asian fusion flavor combinations were simply mouth watering. Lobster mashed potatoes! Scallops seared to perfection! Gorgeous vegetables! Dessert is not to be missed either. The decor feels like a swanky downtown restaurant, five stars for YOU Karma!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food not good. There was only one other ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

Food not good. There was only one other table at 630pm on a Friday night...that says it all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

way too quiet

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 20, 2015

Food was average little too sweet.

The service was great .

Clean quiet ambience there were only two tables occupied including my table.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great appetizers, small menu

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 16, 2015

Went to Karma with a family to celebrate a birthday. The decor was really well-done, but the room is large and cavernous and the music almost non-existent, which made the emptiness of a Sunday night seem somehow awkward and echo-y. We were slightly disappointed in the limited menu, but our appetizers were delicious. They were out of one of the meals we ordered, so that led to some disappointment. The meals were overall satisfying and well done, although not really anything to rave about, but they came out piping hot which is always appreciated. The quinoa veggie burger was good, but weirdly lacking in any kind of interesting toppings that it screamed for. Dessert was on the house in honor of the birthday, which was a nice touch. Service was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Obviously unable to serve a party of 20+ ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Obviously unable to serve a party of 20+, I don't even know why they accepted our reservations. We had one waitress and, besides our party of 23 people, she had like 4 more tables. We got our food 2.5 hours later. Staff is unprofessional - we literally had one guy throw plates on our table because he got upset with people not sitting down when he was serving... Yeah, food's okay. Never again!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Hidden Gem

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 12, 2015

Since Karma is attached to a hotel, we hesitated to try it. A definite mistake. It is lovely and the food is amazing. The atmosphere is peaceful and soothing with an artistic little pool in the center of the room. We tried the Ahi Tuna and Cantonese Crepes to start followed by the Normandy Chicken and the Truffled Scallop Scampi. Everything was original and excellent. There were also vegetarian options. This is definitely someplace we will recommend to our friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was wonderful and our waiter wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 11, 2015

The food was wonderful and our waiter was incredibly helpful and attentive. It couldn't have been a nicer evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food but very quiet restaurant. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Great food but very quiet restaurant. They only had one server but she was on top of everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Fascinating interior

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 31, 2015

This restaurant is so impressive to view the interior with its waterfall and pool in the middle of the restaurant while you dine right beside the pool. Very exotic decorating. The food was really good and the service was excellent. The prices were very reasonable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unexpected

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 27, 2015

I was not expecting this beautiful Japanese garden feel in a hotel restaurant. The menu is varied all with a nice Asian flair. Not what I'd expect west coast fusion dishes to be but they do a descent job for Illinois.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Awful - Avoid!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2015

Picked this restaurant for a quiet intimate dining experience, as it was rated "romantic" by a few magazines. The restaurant is across the hallway from Karma Pub that conflicts with Karma Restaurant by pumping Lady Gaga and such music for all of the bar, hotel and restaurant to hear.

We were not greeted at the host station for several minutes because their literally one-man show was waiting on a table at the time we arrived. One person to host and serve all tables, if this place ever gets crowded (or more than 4-5 tables) it's guaranteed a miserable experience.

The menu was inventive and very enjoyable to look at and read about all the different Asian fusion options...too bad they don't have a chef that can deliver (for all we know, it may be the one-man hosts responsibility as well). Over processed / over frozen foods brought back to "life" and "fresh" were very obvious. Oh and fresh ground pepper for your salad? LOL nope, just the fine ground pepper shaker that was probably taken from the continental breakfast room down the hall.

I also need to mention that we were offered the Pub Menu as well when we sat down "cheeseburgers, bar food, etc...". We were very confused by this considering the price point and atmosphere of the restaurant but then we understood, 4 teenagers came in (cargo shorts, tshirts, flip flops) who actually WALKED on the bench seat to the table before sitting down. They ordered off the pub menu and we believe charged it to their (more like their parents/chaperones) room... our assumption is that they weren't old enough to eat in the bar across the hall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Food was amazing!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2015

Food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the look of this place - so cool! A ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2015

Love the look of this place - so cool! Attentive wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Small step back

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

We have dined here 5-6 times before and always thought it was somewhat special and good for the price. The menu has changed drastically and now offers a much greater variety of oriental food/cuisine (some at a lower price point) but with a continental flair. That said, I miss some of the former classic dishes - especially their outstanding whole fried fish. The food was good but not as memorable as some of the dishes from their previous menu. The setting is still lovely and fairly quiet but dinner was lacking the wow factor.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Karma: Marvelous food; menu limited

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 6, 2015

We always enjoy dining here but were surprised at the diminished menu offerings and the fact that there were only three parties in the restaurant on Saturday 6/6/2015. The food is excellent and presented attractively.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent and attentive wait staff.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

Do not miss the lobster bisque. There is literally a bite of lobster in every spoonful! I could make a meal out of the soup and a salad.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Restaurant is beautiful. The service was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2015

Restaurant is beautiful. The service was excellent. The food was very good, my wife LOVED her shrimp dish. This place is a bit of a drive for us but I will return regardless. The restaurant wasn't too busy but the pub area seemed to attract more of the hotel guest. If you're in the Mundelein area check this place out.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

ALWAYS AN EXPERIENCE and A TREAT

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 20, 2015

Love Karma. We've been going since it opened over a decade ago, and experienced a number of chef and menu changes. We've never been disappointed. Karma, PLEASE, add back your crispy spinach and amazing calamari salad (our friends who moved to Ca. still dream about this salad!). Gilberto was our server and made our dining experience even better. He has been with Karma for 11 years, and is knowlegeable, attentive, friendly and very professional. From the seared tuna to the decadent banana nutella spring rolls (OMG!!!!)... everything was delicious. The atmosphere, a tranquility wading pool in the center of the room and a waterfall at the end, is calming, romantic and allows for conversation without screaming. Karma has two sides, the Asian Fusion side, and on the other side, a beautiful bar that serves pub food (but you can also order from the main restaurant). GO GO GO... this is unlike any other place you will find in the Mundelein area. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The four of us really enjoyed the ambian ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 20, 2015

The four of us really enjoyed the ambiance of Karma and the food was delicious. Service was caring ands attentive. Thanks for a great meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Karma

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 20, 2015

Started out great. But service was sparse. Ordered stuffed peach porkchop. Came butterflied and dry. Disappointed as it was my birthday.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Birthday treat

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 7, 2015

We don't try new restaurants very often, so for my birthday we decided to stretch ourselves. Karma was the choice, and it was a great one! We went early, so there was plenty of seating, but from the first moment we walked in, our server treated us like the only ones in the place. We were given a spacious booth from which to enjoy the decor and atmosphere. With three teenage kids, we weren't sure about the food, but from the appetizer through the main course to the dessert, all of us enjoyed the taste and the opportunity to widen our palates. The salmon was cooked to perfection, the salads were tasty and the sides were done just as we asked. Being a birthday meal, they offered us a free dessert for each birthday at the table, so we enjoyed both the cheesecake and the Japanese sundae. So even with our restricted palates and experiences of new foods, our kids have even asked when we can return, and we intend to in the not too distant future.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid experience

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

We hadn't been to Karma in at least 10 years so we thought we'd give it another try. It was not difficult to secure a table on last minute notice. The firecracker shrimp appetizer and the lobster bisque soup were excellent. The peachy pork was good but perhaps a little overdone. The chicken boursin was good and the edamame ravioli was solid also. The ambience is very nice with the pond in the middle of the restaurant. It is unfortunate this place is not in a better location (perhaps near other restaurants or shopping districts) because I think it would be more popular. I think most people just forget about it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Valentine dinner

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

This was our first visit to Karma and I'm quite certain it will not be our last. We were warmly greeted by our hoastes, our coats checked, taken to our table and greater by our waiter for drink orders in record time. The menu was excellent With all sorts of great options. We got our drinks, which were great, ordered an appetizer and settled down to a nice quiet evening of dining. The ambiance was warm and conversation was easy as we didn't have to compete with surrounding noise. We both had a lobster bisque and the surf and turf which was served with creamy mashed potatoes and perfect veggies. The only mistake of the evening was we only received the turf (the surf was missing). Our waiter fixed the problem immediately and all was good. We enjoyed our meal, ordered fresh drinks and we were encouraged to sit and enjoy. When the check came again were were encouraged to not rush and enjoy. With the exception of the miss order it was a perfect night of dinning. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Perfect!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

Great for a romantic date! Really good food! Dont let the Asian food turn you away, its very Americanized. It didnt feel asian at all!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, great ambiance. Reasonable pr ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

Good food, great ambiance. Reasonable priced. Love the decor and design.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The best dining in town! Amazing food & ambiance

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 6, 2015

It was a quiet weekday lunch. Heading back home to downtown Chicago. We were surprised by the Zen decor. The entrees are a little pricey for what you get. The sides could be more generous. A cup of rice did not do my Korean BBQ Ribeye justice.

The portions are a bit small and pricey.

Outstanding service!!!

Enjoyed the atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Beautiful place

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 6, 2015

The restaurant is very beautiful but the food isn't teasty. I eat salmon and my husband eat tuna. My parents in low loved the place but not the food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Americanized Asian

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 28, 2015

Food was good, but not outstanding. Very average spices. Was expecting a little more Asian influence in flavor and Asian Fusion style. Presentation was very good.

Service was excellent. Atmosphere again attempted to be Asian, but tended more toward American .

Drink menu very extensive and bar was very busy.

Our first time. Would return for a second try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Nice alternative to downtown Libertyville

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 10, 2015

We had a party of 7 and everyone loved their meals. Filet, Chilean Sea Bass, Orange Chicken, Mahi Mahi and Salmon were all wonderful. Firecracker Shrimp and Pork Gyoza were great starters. Fun cocktails and the space is decorated in an interesting motif. Was surprised how few other diners were there - perhaps it was the bitterly cold weather. Private parking lot was a plus considering how hard it can be to park in downtown Libertyville.

Definitely worth trying. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Gem

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 24, 2014

Karma is certainly a great find! Enjoyed every moment ... a must visit

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasing appearance and ambiance. Good bartender.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 13, 2014

New chef has not revamped the menu yet so will check back in Jan 2014. Appetizer of crab ragoon nice and tasty. Miso soup enjoyable. Sweet and sour chicken suprisingly light breaking, however, did not sit well gastronomically. Excellent service. Glad to see a fine local brewery in place.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

fantastic food and drinks

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 11, 2014

I have been here twice in the last month and it was the best food I've ever had

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my Favorites

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 1, 2014

I just love this place and it's always a treat to dine there. The calm and tranquil atmosphere is exquisite and I've never had a bad meal there. Sometimes we just fill up on appetizers and sometimes we go for the dinners but whatever we get it's always soooo good. Whenever anyone asks "where should we go for dinner" I'll always let them know that my first choice would be Karma !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Knowledgeable server with good sense of ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on November 23, 2014

Knowledgeable server with good sense of humor. Very accommodating with ingredient changes. Very good food. Nice ambiance. I would recommend it for something a little different.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This would have been a 4/5 star rating b ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 29, 2014

This would have been a 4/5 star rating but for the loud music. It did not fit the 'Asian' feel that this place generates. Asked to tone it down but didn't notice a difference when they said they did. The chairs need to be replaced. Although the Lettice Wraps were very good the rest of the meal was just okay. Nothing outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Eh

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 19, 2014

The server was very nice, but extremely slow. There were 3 tables that needed attention, people walking through the door and the server was often no where to be found. There were two sheets for the menu and 4 for the drinks. Very seafood oriented. But I must say its drop dead gorgeous on the inside - worth the view!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.