About Kapnos

2201 14th St NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Chef Mike Isabella opened Kapnos along the Fourteenth Street Corridor in July 2013. Isabella draws inspiration from Northern Greece to create a menu of spreads, breads, vegetables and other small plates, including his signature wood-grilled octopus. Two wood-fire grills with rotating spits and a large oven for stone-baked flat breads service the 160-seat restaurant. Guests enjoy carvings from whole animals that have been spit-roasted all day, including lamb, goat, duck, chicken, and suckling pig. Kapnos is open for dinner seven nights a week.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Monday-Wednesday
6pm-10pm
Thursday
6pm-10:30pm
Friday-Saturday
5pm-11pm
Sunday
5pm-10pm


Happy Hour

Everyday
5pm-7pm



Brunch

Saturday-Sunday
11am-3pm


Bar open between 3pm-5pm on Saturday-Sunday

Cross Street:
14th St & W St, NW

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 234-5000 ext. 9

Website:
http://kapnosdc.com/

Catering:
Mike Isabella Concepts offers Greek catering in the style of Kapnos. Please email events@kapnosdc.com for more information.

Parking Details:
Kapnos offers Valet Parking Thursday, Friday, and Saturday beginning at 5:00pm outside the W Street entrance. Please note that Valet Service ends at close of service and is $15 per vehicle. Street parking can also be found nearby.

Public Transit:
Kapnos is located 3 blocks from U Street/African-Amer Civil War Memorial/Cardozo metro station (13th st & U st exit)

Executive Chef:
Mike Isabella

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Kapnos
  • Kapnos
  • Kapnos
  • Kapnos
  • Kapnos
  • Kapnos
  • Kapnos
Kapnos
Kapnos
Kapnos
Kapnos
Kapnos
Kapnos
Kapnos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Kapnos can accommodate groups of 40 to 50 for private events. Food and beverage minimums may apply.

Kapnos Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Greek
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in U Street Corridor ›

Fit for Foodies (156)
Special Occasion (92)
Good for Groups (81)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (75)
Hot Spot (66)
Great for Brunch (51)
Great for Outdoor Dining (51)
Romantic (44)
Notable Wine List (39)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Great for Lunch (22)
Late-night Find (8)
Kid-friendly (5)
Scenic View (4)
Sort By:
Newest
619 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My second time dining at Kapnos was even ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 2 days ago

My second time dining at Kapnos was even better than my first! The food was great and coursed perfectly, and our server Sophie went above and beyond for us. We asked for a taste of the gin lemonade and she returned with a sampling of all 5, which was helpful for me because I was unaware that their lemonade a change seasonally, and I ordered one I wouldn't have thought to before - the rum lemonade. Can't wait to come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The meal itself was terrific - a great t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 4 days ago

The meal itself was terrific - a great throwback to a recent trip to Greece.

The service was a little slow - we waited 15 minutes after sitting down for a glass of water.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Kapnos is consistently one of my favorit ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Kapnos is consistently one of my favorites for food, cocktails and service. The host staff, bar staff and servers go above and beyond. The food gets better every time I visit. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the DC area.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Tapas, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an interesting restaurant! Very ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is an interesting restaurant! Very tasty food though not-cheap. However, there are some negatives.

Firstly, the restaurant is very noisy on busy nights. if possible get seated outside.

Secondly, don’t order too much food. Some reviewers have said that the mezzes are too small. Not so. Except for the grilled octopus and the spanakopita, all of the mezzes we chose were best shared by two people. Five fezzes shared by two people is about right - six if you are really hungry.

We started with two spreads: Melitzanosalata (eggplant) and Taramosalata (Cauliflower). The eggplant was marvelous; the cauliflower was too bland.

For the next course we had Spanakopita and tuna tartare. The spanakopita was delicious - lots of fresh spinach. The tuna portion was generous and so good it was to die for! It may be their best mezze.

Third course brought charred octopus and roasted cauliflower. Both were excellent but the octopus had the edge, however the octopus portion was a bit small for two people.

We ordered one more mezze to share: the marinaded lamb. It disappointed, being overcooked and very fatty. I would not order it again.

For dessert we both had the baklava, which was excellent. Unfortunately by that time we were so full that neither of us could finish it.

Regarding drink, we tried the greek chardonnay and the greek Sauvignon Blanc by the glass. The Sauv Blanc was better balanced and the more interesting of the two. That will be my choice going forward.

Lastly, the service was excellent.

Overall, this was one of the better dining experiences I have had in Washington D.C. Not perfect but still very good. I deducted one star for the noise level and the two disappointing mezzes.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Past few times we have been there for br ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Past few times we have been there for brunch the service has been really really slow. Slow to get refills and clean up table. Have to ask for things to get done. Not enjoyable to pay good money and have to complain. It's a management issue. Either need better servers or more of them. I think the later is more likely the issue

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

What I especially love about Kapnos is t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

What I especially love about Kapnos is that it's the perfect place to go with a group of people with different tastes: it worked for equally well for a vegan, a gluten avoider, and a Paleo dieter. Healthy AND gourmet, with many delicious choices. Hard to find anyplace that can fit such a bill!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Tried during restaurant week. Some item ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Tried during restaurant week. Some items were really great, especially the first course and the shrimp. The Greek fries were a disappointment and so was the cake for dessert. Our table for two was tiny and it was challenging to find space for the plates. The wine suggestions were top notch and overall the service was really good. The main entry for this restaurant has steps and the side door, near the bar, is the accessible entrance. But, it was locked when we arrived and a note said to use the main entrance (with steps). This started the meal on a bad note. The manager did reach out and said the accessible door had not been working correctly. When we left, the door was unlocked and the note was gone. But...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I visited wirh friends during Restauran ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

I visited wirh friends during Restaurant Week. It was an overall mediocre experience. Maybe I would have done better to order from the regular menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Went for restaurant week and really enjo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Went for restaurant week and really enjoyed it-- the wine was very tasty too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great energy, just a little loud. But th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great energy, just a little loud. But then again it was restaurant week so everyone was probably trying to take advantage of the deals. Would definitely consider going back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great brunch, good small plates dinner t ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

great brunch, good small plates dinner to share with friends

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined here for dinner during restaura ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We dined here for dinner during restaurant week, and the food was absolutely incredible. The flavors were authentic and rich, but not over done.

I was not happy with the seating arrangement, as they pushed together several two-top tables in one small area; as close as they were, it may as well have been a communal dining experience. The really nice waitress was even having difficulty squeezing between chairs to get to her tables.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

My friend and I participated in restaura ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

My friend and I participated in restaurant week. We had a delicious smoky eggplant dip and a tangy pureed cauliflower dip with caviar in it. Loved both. The warm pita bread was amazing. I had some unusual (but delicious) Greek fries. I also tasted the spanakopita. The spinach was very fresh. I was stuffed by the time the lamb came out, but it was smoky and delicious. I ended things with the tahini cake, but wish I had gotten a chance to try the baklava. Overall the food was amazing and our server was awesome (he was personable and attentive).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They were incredibly knowledgeable on an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

They were incredibly knowledgeable on and accommodating with my gluten free meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

i love mediterranean food and Kapnos was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

i love mediterranean food and Kapnos was great. Our server was friendly and informative. I loved the small plates, the casual atmosphere and the wine-

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous! Everything was incredible, fro ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fabulous! Everything was incredible, from the eggplant dip to the grilled bronzino to the yummy desserts.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as always. Was there with son, ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Wonderful as always. Was there with son, daughter in law and 3 month old grand-daughter and it was great. My Greek grand daughter gave it 5 stars.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome experience as usual. The chicke ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Awesome experience as usual. The chicken is unbelievable (and I never usually order chicken). It's a must have!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Greek food with variety among ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Wonderful Greek food with variety among the classics. Consistently good food all around!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent but what stood ou ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food was excellent but what stood out most was the service. Our server was extremely friendly, knowledgeable about the menu and willing to accommodate our many dietary restrictions at the table.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Sat at the bar and enjoyed watching the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Sat at the bar and enjoyed watching the kitchen make their creations. Tasting menu is perfect for foodies. Service was impeccable; great knowledge of offerings, great recommendations and no rushing you through courses.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good taramasalata and roast duck hilo pi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Good taramasalata and roast duck hilo pie. Nice wine. Very noisy. We'll sit outside next time if weather permits.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

We had such a nice dinner, the service w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had such a nice dinner, the service was terrific!!!!

I look forward to going back

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and great service! Only iss ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Amazing food and great service! Only issue was that they forgot a dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We chose chef's choice which was delicio ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We chose chef's choice which was delicious and way too much food. Luckily bringing home leftovers wasn't a problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mediterranean is one of my favorites and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Mediterranean is one of my favorites and they do it well. They tried to seat us in a weird corner table that had me leaning against an uncushioned wall. Ridiculous. I refused and they moved us to another slightly odd, angled table against a window. Food was pretty delicious. Service was fine but not exceptional. Hostess upon greeting was very unfriendly. I walked away with a poor taste in my mouth from her. Anyway, the dishes were all nicely done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I had such a great time, and the food wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I had such a great time, and the food was spectacular. Service was great and they had a wonderful list of unique drinks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The roast chicken with lemon potatoes wa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The roast chicken with lemon potatoes was the moistest I have every eaten. The small plates and spreads were excellent. The service was responsive and while the decor lacked drama it allowed the food to take center stage.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

A bit pricey, but mostly worth it. The ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

A bit pricey, but mostly worth it. The spreads were absolutely amazing and are a must. We scraped the plate on those. The roasted apple "pressed toast" (panini) was very good, but a little too sweet and could have used something savory like onion. The beet salad was incredible. One of the best brunches I've had.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We met a young friend for brunch and had ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We met a young friend for brunch and had a lovely meal with great drinks and outstanding service. The Bloody Mary's were excellent and the entrees were interesting and delicious.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kapnos was a great last minute brunch fi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Kapnos was a great last minute brunch find! They have coffee waffles and baklava french toast which was fantastic! I appreciated the innovation and the inviting atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food, great drinks

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent food, great drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kapnos was expensive and the food wasn't ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Kapnos was expensive and the food wasn't that good. Graffiato by Mike Isabella is MUCH better.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Restaurant was FREEZING. A requst to war ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Restaurant was FREEZING. A requst to warm it up seemed to be ignored.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

The food was OUTSTANDING. I try to not r ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food was OUTSTANDING. I try to not repeat restaurants when there are so many to explore, but I may just have to make an exception for this one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Their vegetarian and vegan dishes were s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Their vegetarian and vegan dishes were so-so. The falafels were dry, and the lima beans were undercooked. My boyfriend enjoyed the meat dishes, however. Overall, this place is overrated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I don't know how anyone can hear in the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I don't know how anyone can hear in the bar. This was Saturday evening - the din almost made me cancel the reservation and go somewhere else. Thankfully, the dining room was somewhat quieter, but you still needed to raise your voice to be heard by someone 2 seats away.

The food was outstanding. Go with a group to try as many menu items as possible. Every dish had a distinctive taste - no fear of flavor here. The tuna tartare was out of this world as was the roasted cauliflower.

The service was not good. A friend who ate here over a year ago said she had the same experience, amazing food, awful service. Either not enough people have complained or they have complained and management hasn't learned anything. The waiter was MIA; cocktails came well after several dishes were served, and then they only brought 2 out of 3.

There were other annoyances, one of the desserts 2 people wanted was not available, the waiter ended up offering to comp the desserts.

All 6 diners were very impressed with the food. The noise and the service are something else to be reckoned with.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

Food was incredible, such a nice blend o ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food was incredible, such a nice blend on flavors. Drinks were exceptional too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food couldn't be better. The flavors ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food couldn't be better. The flavors are a delicious balance of sweet and savory.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

The music was too loud and the staff too ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The music was too loud and the staff too RUSHED serving and removing food from the table.

It made everyone jumpy and not relaxed during a otherwise tasty dinner. SHAME

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.