About Kapnos

2201 14th St NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Chef Mike Isabella opened Kapnos along the Fourteenth Street Corridor in July 2013. Isabella draws inspiration from Northern Greece to create a menu of spreads, breads, vegetables and other small plates, including his signature wood-grilled octopus. Two wood-fire grills with rotating spits and a large oven for stone-baked flat breads service the 160-seat restaurant. Guests enjoy carvings from whole animals that have been spit-roasted all day, including lamb, goat, duck, chicken, and suckling pig. Kapnos is open for dinner seven nights a week.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Monday-Wednesday
6pm-10pm
Thursday
6pm-10:30pm
Friday-Saturday
5pm-11pm
Sunday
5pm-10pm


Happy Hour

Everyday
5pm-7pm



Brunch

Saturday-Sunday
11am-3pm


Bar open between 3pm-5pm on Saturday-Sunday

Cross Street:
14th St & W St, NW

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 234-5000 ext. 9

Website:
http://kapnosdc.com/

Catering:
Mike Isabella Concepts offers Greek catering in the style of Kapnos. Please email events@kapnosdc.com for more information.

Parking Details:
Kapnos offers Valet Parking Thursday, Friday, and Saturday beginning at 5:00pm outside the W Street entrance. Please note that Valet Service ends at close of service and is $15 per vehicle. Street parking can also be found nearby.

Public Transit:
Kapnos is located 3 blocks from U Street/African-Amer Civil War Memorial/Cardozo metro station (13th st & U st exit)

Executive Chef:
Mike Isabella

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Kapnos
  • Kapnos
  • Kapnos
  • Kapnos
  • Kapnos
  • Kapnos
  • Kapnos
Kapnos
Kapnos
Kapnos
Kapnos
Kapnos
Kapnos
Kapnos

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Sat 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Kapnos can accommodate groups of 40 to 50 for private events. Food and beverage minimums may apply.

Kapnos Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Greek
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in U Street Corridor ›

Fit for Foodies (116)
Special Occasion (72)
Neighborhood Gem (66)
See All
Good for Groups (58)
Hot Spot (47)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Great for Brunch (35)
Notable Wine List (34)
Romantic (34)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Great for Lunch (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Casual (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Tapas (11)
Fun (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Authentic (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Healthy (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Business Meals (4)
Spicy (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Cozy (4)
People Watching (4)
Family Style (4)
Scenic View (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
642 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I visited this restaurant with a group o ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 8 hours ago

I visited this restaurant with a group of 4 during brunch on Sunday. We requested to sit on the patio. We didn't see our server right away but the manager came over and took our drink order and answered questions about the menu. Our server, Taylor, came over shortly afterwards and introduced herself and took our order. During service, Taylor failed to come over to offer us additional drinks and we didn't see her until our entree plates were cleared. After asking her for dessert menus, we waited over 20 minutes before asking a busser for them. The busser brought us the menus.

Once Taylor returned we ordered dessert from her. After we gave her our order, she slammed 4 share plates and silverware down on the table and quickly walked away. When she delivered our dessert, she didn't state what the items were (one of which was incorrect). After telling her we didn't receive the donuts she very rudely stated that she would bring us the donuts as if it was our fault the wrong item came out. When we called her out on her rude and defensive tone she came back to the table and basically said I have three other tables inside, I'll bring you the doughnuts and walked away. At this point we requested to speak to a manager who discounted a few items, but the experience was still horrible.

It is my belief that because we were a group of 4 African American women she provided us with less than stellar service or either she just can't handle more than 3 tables. We still tipped 18-19% despite the discrimination.

Food was good, as expected! I would go back but if she was my server I would definitely request another one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Apparently the meats are quite good, but ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 2 days ago

Apparently the meats are quite good, but the favosalata and gigande beans weren't special. And it's very dark. Also, the service is a bit "too" good, in that the servers and staff are constantly buzzing around your table trying to refill 4/5-filled glasses of water and take unfinished plates away. It felt like they were short plates in the kitchen and had to keep restocking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

They were great with my elderly father. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

They were great with my elderly father. Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went for Brunch on sunday afternoon 9 ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We went for Brunch on sunday afternoon 9/18/2016. The manager on duty was exceptionally rude. To the point where I will never dine here again. We enjoyed the food and our waitress was great. I won't be back until they get new managment.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We've been there four times and love it ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We've been there four times and love it !!

Rapidly becoming our neighborhood go too :)

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Overpriced for the quality and quantity ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Overpriced for the quality and quantity of food. I feel like they are getting stingy with portion sizes and prices.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I have never heard if Kapnos before and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I have never heard if Kapnos before and will now recommend it to anyone. It was delicious!!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fun, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best waiter we had DC in years

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Best waiter we had DC in years

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Overpriced. Service was pretty bad. I ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Overpriced. Service was pretty bad. I had no water most of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Awesome food, great service. Helpful and ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Awesome food, great service. Helpful and personable waiter. Hostess quickly ccommodated a larger group than reservation stipulated.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a good brunch. Food and service ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had a good brunch. Food and service were good. A little noisy sitting outside (traffic) but worth it on a day when it was finally not 99 degrees outside.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Went to Kapnos for brunch, food was grea ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Went to Kapnos for brunch, food was great...service could have been better. I would go again.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Good place, great food. Gets a little p ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Good place, great food. Gets a little pricey if you "do it right" with multiple dishes per person. Try the gin lemonade for a refresher in the summer. Delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

This is our favorite Mike Isabella resta ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

This is our favorite Mike Isabella restaurant. However, it does get a bit too loud as the evening progresses.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My guests and I truly enjoyed our meal. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

My guests and I truly enjoyed our meal. Every dish from our appetizers through dessert was delicious! All who dined said they would return again.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food here was amazing! Excellent qua ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food here was amazing! Excellent quality and taste!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Kapnos lives up to it's well deserved re ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Kapnos lives up to it's well deserved reputation. Enough said.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose the 5 course menu and were very ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We chose the 5 course menu and were very happy with our meal. The dips are amazing, each of us got a different one so we got to taste all. The tuna tartare was really good. I was so full by the time the 4th course came, I could not eat it all. My husband and son were happy to finish it off though..... We weren't impressed with the dessert but overall, it was a great meal.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Very Disappointing, The food was only so ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Very Disappointing,

The food was only so so. The grilled chicken wasn't cooked through and had clearly never seen a grill. It was pink and the skin was flabby. The servers didn't clear tbd used plates or silverware.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Wonderful food, too loud for conversatio ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Wonderful food, too loud for conversation - we were in four and had to shout. we are repeat customers. spring lamb dish is lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Food was Creative, Delicious and Bea ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The Food was Creative, Delicious and Beautifully Presented! Service was good...The restaurant was very busy, we had to wait a bit for our check. We will be back again and again! Get the Goat, Tuna Tartare and the Grilled Octopus!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My second time dining at Kapnos was even ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

My second time dining at Kapnos was even better than my first! The food was great and coursed perfectly, and our server Sophie went above and beyond for us. We asked for a taste of the gin lemonade and she returned with a sampling of all 5, which was helpful for me because I was unaware that their lemonade a change seasonally, and I ordered one I wouldn't have thought to before - the rum lemonade. Can't wait to come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Went here for restaurant week...they alw ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Went here for restaurant week...they always extend it to a second week which is a fantastic value. Great food. Service on the patio was a little slow...but well worth it. Worth checking out again in the future!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was very good and everyone was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was very good and everyone was satisfied with their meals. I wish it hadn't been so loud, however. At times we had to shout across the table. The high noise level is a serious minus in my opinion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The meal itself was terrific - a great t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The meal itself was terrific - a great throwback to a recent trip to Greece.

The service was a little slow - we waited 15 minutes after sitting down for a glass of water.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Kapnos is consistently one of my favorit ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Kapnos is consistently one of my favorites for food, cocktails and service. The host staff, bar staff and servers go above and beyond. The food gets better every time I visit. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the DC area.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Tapas, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an interesting restaurant! Very ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is an interesting restaurant! Very tasty food though not-cheap. However, there are some negatives.

Firstly, the restaurant is very noisy on busy nights. if possible get seated outside.

Secondly, don’t order too much food. Some reviewers have said that the mezzes are too small. Not so. Except for the grilled octopus and the spanakopita, all of the mezzes we chose were best shared by two people. Five fezzes shared by two people is about right - six if you are really hungry.

We started with two spreads: Melitzanosalata (eggplant) and Taramosalata (Cauliflower). The eggplant was marvelous; the cauliflower was too bland.

For the next course we had Spanakopita and tuna tartare. The spanakopita was delicious - lots of fresh spinach. The tuna portion was generous and so good it was to die for! It may be their best mezze.

Third course brought charred octopus and roasted cauliflower. Both were excellent but the octopus had the edge, however the octopus portion was a bit small for two people.

We ordered one more mezze to share: the marinaded lamb. It disappointed, being overcooked and very fatty. I would not order it again.

For dessert we both had the baklava, which was excellent. Unfortunately by that time we were so full that neither of us could finish it.

Regarding drink, we tried the greek chardonnay and the greek Sauvignon Blanc by the glass. The Sauv Blanc was better balanced and the more interesting of the two. That will be my choice going forward.

Lastly, the service was excellent.

Overall, this was one of the better dining experiences I have had in Washington D.C. Not perfect but still very good. I deducted one star for the noise level and the two disappointing mezzes.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Past few times we have been there for br ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Past few times we have been there for brunch the service has been really really slow. Slow to get refills and clean up table. Have to ask for things to get done. Not enjoyable to pay good money and have to complain. It's a management issue. Either need better servers or more of them. I think the later is more likely the issue

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

What I especially love about Kapnos is t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

What I especially love about Kapnos is that it's the perfect place to go with a group of people with different tastes: it worked for equally well for a vegan, a gluten avoider, and a Paleo dieter. Healthy AND gourmet, with many delicious choices. Hard to find anyplace that can fit such a bill!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Tried during restaurant week. Some item ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Tried during restaurant week. Some items were really great, especially the first course and the shrimp. The Greek fries were a disappointment and so was the cake for dessert. Our table for two was tiny and it was challenging to find space for the plates. The wine suggestions were top notch and overall the service was really good. The main entry for this restaurant has steps and the side door, near the bar, is the accessible entrance. But, it was locked when we arrived and a note said to use the main entrance (with steps). This started the meal on a bad note. The manager did reach out and said the accessible door had not been working correctly. When we left, the door was unlocked and the note was gone. But...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I visited wirh friends during Restauran ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I visited wirh friends during Restaurant Week. It was an overall mediocre experience. Maybe I would have done better to order from the regular menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Went for restaurant week and really enjo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Went for restaurant week and really enjoyed it-- the wine was very tasty too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great energy, just a little loud. But th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great energy, just a little loud. But then again it was restaurant week so everyone was probably trying to take advantage of the deals. Would definitely consider going back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great brunch, good small plates dinner t ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

great brunch, good small plates dinner to share with friends

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined here for dinner during restaura ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We dined here for dinner during restaurant week, and the food was absolutely incredible. The flavors were authentic and rich, but not over done.

I was not happy with the seating arrangement, as they pushed together several two-top tables in one small area; as close as they were, it may as well have been a communal dining experience. The really nice waitress was even having difficulty squeezing between chairs to get to her tables.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

My friend and I participated in restaura ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

My friend and I participated in restaurant week. We had a delicious smoky eggplant dip and a tangy pureed cauliflower dip with caviar in it. Loved both. The warm pita bread was amazing. I had some unusual (but delicious) Greek fries. I also tasted the spanakopita. The spinach was very fresh. I was stuffed by the time the lamb came out, but it was smoky and delicious. I ended things with the tahini cake, but wish I had gotten a chance to try the baklava. Overall the food was amazing and our server was awesome (he was personable and attentive).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They were incredibly knowledgeable on an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

They were incredibly knowledgeable on and accommodating with my gluten free meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

i love mediterranean food and Kapnos was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

i love mediterranean food and Kapnos was great. Our server was friendly and informative. I loved the small plates, the casual atmosphere and the wine-

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous! Everything was incredible, fro ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fabulous! Everything was incredible, from the eggplant dip to the grilled bronzino to the yummy desserts.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as always. Was there with son, ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Wonderful as always. Was there with son, daughter in law and 3 month old grand-daughter and it was great. My Greek grand daughter gave it 5 stars.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.