About Kapnos

2201 14th St NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Chef Mike Isabella opened Kapnos along the Fourteenth Street Corridor in July 2013. Isabella draws inspiration from Northern Greece to create a menu of spreads, breads, vegetables and other small plates, including his signature wood-grilled octopus. Two wood-fire grills with rotating spits and a large oven for stone-baked flat breads service the 160-seat restaurant. Guests enjoy carvings from whole animals that have been spit-roasted all day, including lamb, goat, duck, chicken, and suckling pig. Kapnos is open for dinner seven nights a week.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Monday-Wednesday
6pm-10pm
Thursday
6pm-10:30pm
Friday-Saturday
5pm-11pm
Sunday
5pm-10pm


Happy Hour

Everyday
5pm-7pm



Brunch

Saturday-Sunday
11am-3pm


Bar open between 3pm-5pm on Saturday-Sunday

Cross Street:
14th St & W St, NW

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 234-5000 ext. 9

Website:
http://kapnosdc.com/

Catering:
Mike Isabella Concepts offers Greek catering in the style of Kapnos. Please email events@kapnosdc.com for more information.

Parking Details:
Kapnos offers Valet Parking Thursday, Friday, and Saturday beginning at 5:00pm outside the W Street entrance. Please note that Valet Service ends at close of service and is $15 per vehicle. Street parking can also be found nearby.

Public Transit:
Kapnos is located 3 blocks from U Street/African-Amer Civil War Memorial/Cardozo metro station (13th st & U st exit)

Executive Chef:
Mike Isabella

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Kapnos, Washington, DC
  • Kapnos, Washington, DC
  • Kapnos, Washington, DC
  • Kapnos, Washington, DC
  • Kapnos, Washington, DC
  • Kapnos, Washington, DC
  • Kapnos, Washington, DC
Kapnos, Washington, DC
Kapnos, Washington, DC
Kapnos, Washington, DC
Kapnos, Washington, DC
Kapnos, Washington, DC
Kapnos, Washington, DC
Kapnos, Washington, DC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Kapnos can accommodate groups up to 250 for a standing cocktail reception and we also offer a semi-private dining room that accommodate up to 50 guests seated and 75 standing. Our entire dining room can seat approx. 160 guests plus about 40 guests in our bar area.

Kapnos Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (73)
Special Occasion (56)
Good for a Date (48)
See All
Tapas (39)
Good for Groups (36)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Good Vegetarian Options (29)
Hot Spot (27)
Fun (27)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Authentic (25)
Great for Brunch (24)
Tasting Menu (23)
Romantic (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Open Kitchen (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Casual (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Cozy (11)
Healthy (11)
Family Style (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Seasonal (9)
Business Meals (9)
Happy Hour (8)
People Watching (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Vegan (4)
Spicy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
711 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Terrible service!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Terrible service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

The food here is always so great. Stando ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

The food here is always so great. Standouts this trip were a bass sushi special, shrimp, salmon kabob and grilled octopus. This is a terrific place to go with a group so you can try a lot of different dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I liked this place. Surprised at the di ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I liked this place. Surprised at the dish quality: we had Icelandic Cod and Baby Goat. Perfectly done. Pita bread was a more filling, chewy texture than typical which fit the mood of comfort food perfectly. This is comfort food, but healthy. The downside is it's popularity with groups. The ambience was extremely loud. The walls are brick, so sound reverberates. While it's good for a date, probably much less so if you want a quiet evening together.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Holy heck- order two of the brussell spr ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Holy heck- order two of the brussell sprout dishes- you won't regret it! All the food was amazing- I have a dairy and gluten allergy and they took them very seriously. The waitress was extremely knowledgeable and really had a great experience.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing in every sense of the word. Deli ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Amazing in every sense of the word. Delicious and outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kapnos experiences in the past were goo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Kapnos experiences in the past were good. But went on a Friday night and the noise was so overwhelming our dinner party was ruined. Restaurant needs to do some significant noise mitigation before I return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

The food was amazing and the service was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The food was amazing and the service was prompt. Our table of four ordered 7 tapas to share and every one of them was beautifully plated and delicious. I highly recommend the roasted eggplant dish and the suckling pig. I would love to go back and try everything on the menu.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vegan, Open Kitchen, Fun, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Terrible service even though place was e ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Terrible service even though place was empty. (Didn't get water for 15 minutes!) Food okay. Did not live up to the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We found the staff really caring and att ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We found the staff really caring and attentive. Maybe they had read our review about noisy Bethesda Kapnos but they went out of their way to give us a table in a quiet spot with no mention of concern from us. As always, the food was fab.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mike Isabella is a food genius! We were ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Mike Isabella is a food genius! We were visiting from out of town and had reservations at Graffiato and our friend strongly recommended Kapnos (we've eaten at Graffiato many times). We were not disappointed! Everything we had was amazing and the portions sizes were generous. I hear he has some other concepts that we will definitely check out next time we're in town!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I organized a work dinner at Kapnos for ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I organized a work dinner at Kapnos for a group of people that included vegetarians, as well as meat eaters, and we were not disappointed. The ambiance was trendy, but not too loud. The cocktails were handcrafted and well worth the day. The food was fantastic. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for Sunday brunch. We had the omele ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch. We had the omelet and Baked eggs with Lamb. Both were very good. Had the Greek coffee (not worth the price - You get 5 small sips).

Service was very spotty. Wait staff was friendly but tended to disappear for long periods.

Even though I would recommend Kapnos in general; their brunch is not their best feature.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Horrible service

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Horrible service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Charred fire-oven prep with all Kapnos f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Charred fire-oven prep with all Kapnos food is just so delicious. From eggplant spread (& some of us don't even like eggplant) to brussel sprouts (best ever) to suckling pig. Octopus and goat...I mean everything served was fabulous. Server attentive but not overbearing. Martinis were cold. One of our favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time at Kapnos and I c ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was my first time at Kapnos and I can't wait to go back. We had several items and everything was fantastic. The eggplant spread and homemade flatbread was a great start to the meal. The mushroom philo was really excellent with the sweet potato schmear it was served with. The shrimp, octopus and salmon kebabs were all wonderfully engineered dishes which brought together interesting combinations of flavors with perfectly cooked proteins. Finally, the honey infused oil the saganaki is cooked in is just delicious. And the sausage was perfectly grilled and came with some incredibly tasty vegetables. Kapnos is just fantastic -- the meats are to die for but I am most impressed by how delicious they make vegetables taste.

Tags: Family Style, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Inattentive service, waited 30+ minutes ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Inattentive service, waited 30+ minutes past our reservation time. Server did not help with menu questions. Loud. Not pleased

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

absolutely fabulous dining. my three fri ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

absolutely fabulous dining. my three friends and I split 5 small plates and a sampling trio of spreads and were incredibly happy with all of our dishes. delicious and thoughtfully crafted menu items... will be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Service was incredibly slow. Food was ok ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Service was incredibly slow. Food was ok, but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

I thought the food and service were good ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I thought the food and service were good for the most part. Pleasant waiter. Great dips -- that's the best part. Nice to have GF options too. My one big complaint is that the meat dish we ordered came out at least 30 minutes to 45 minutes before the two veggie dishes. It's not like we knew when the food was coming out, so we went ahead and started eating the meat. Next thing you know, saving meat on your place doesn't make sense because it'll just get cold so you eat it all. Then we waited idly for the two veggie dishes which didn't make sense to eat alone. I mean, I love brussels sprouts and cauliflower but without any meat or anything else to pair it with, I was literally trying to force down these veggies at the end. I think being mindful of the entire meal that the customer orders would be helpful. Each dish was great individually but I did not get to enjoy it as a meal, as I would have envisions. Too much delay between dishes.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Fantastic night here with two friends fr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Fantastic night here with two friends from out of town. They're already planning what they want to order when they come visit again from here! We would recommend the Agave Lemonade, tsaziki, cold feta salad, hot Brussels and cauliflower dishes, plus the shrimp and half roasted chicken with potatoes. It totally filled up the three of us and Every. Single. Bite. Was. Delicious. Everyone ordered one drink and we shared the dishes and it averaged $50 each. Again, we'll be back to try more and would highly recommend this place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kapnos is my favorite kind of meal - sha ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Kapnos is my favorite kind of meal - shared food, wide variety of textures and flavors, so much attention to detail in how each dish is put together. We loved every single thing we ordered (and we ordered way too much), but standouts included the Brussels sprouts, the beef souvlaki, the cauliflower and the tzatziki (tip: if you ask, they'll bring you veggies instead of/along with pita for your dips). The Greek wines are a good deal and very tasty. Our server did an excellent job of timing our dishes while remaining unobtrusive. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Fun, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and exceptional service. Woul ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food and exceptional service. Would definitly recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall great

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Overall great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My 2nd time there and it confirmed how e ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 1, 2016

My 2nd time there and it confirmed how excellent the food and service are. Mike Isabella is a creative and innovative chef and his ingredients and ideas are awesome. DC is lucky to have him. Excellent menu, ambiance, and service. Highly suggested.

Tags: Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Cozy, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a Sunday reservation. Restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a Sunday reservation. Restaurant was modestly filled. Table was ready on time. Waite staff friendly if a little busy. Most plates were Mezzes which were perfect for the two of us. We had at least one from each category. They were all great. Eggplant tasty, octopus small serving but delicious and goat tender and smokey. In short, great food, some very authentic. Near our daughters apartment. We will definitely be back, Yum.

Tags: Tapas, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This is how I imagine a good, modern res ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This is how I imagine a good, modern restaurant in Greece

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Amazing and delicious food. I would high ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Amazing and delicious food. I would highly recommend this place:))

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tapas, Cozy, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friends came from New York and they took ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Friends came from New York and they took me out for a lovely meal at Kapnos. The Brussels sprouts and marinated lamb were particularly memorable!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The eggs and crispy bacon for brunch was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The eggs and crispy bacon for brunch was delicious!! They also let us hang out and drink bottomless mimosas for 4 hours which was amazing.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very delicious meal with helpful wait st ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Very delicious meal with helpful wait staff (Taylor) who provided drink and meal recommendations. All were attentive and ensured that we had an excellent dining experience. Can't wait to head back !!!

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect as always. From the fantastic fo ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Perfect as always. From the fantastic food to the attentive service. We will definitely be back again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious. There was howeve ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was delicious.

There was however a problem with little flying bugs. Either fruit flies or gnats . Two drowned in my beer, and others had to be scattered from the food during the entire meal. I was disappointed with management's response when I brought this problem to their attention.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, again! Food can be made-to-o ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great food, again! Food can be made-to-order- great for people with food sensitivities.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Seasonal, Vegan, Tapas, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Absolutely fantastic food, great service ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Absolutely fantastic food, great service, great experience

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my absolute favorite restaurants ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

One of my absolute favorite restaurants in DC! The food is amazing and it's a ton of fun.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very refreshing take on Mediterranean cu ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very refreshing take on Mediterranean cuisine with a variety of excellent vegetarian dishes. The idea of small plates is perfect to try several different dishes without feeling overwhelmed! The ambiance adds to the experience- pretty without being overly stiff and formal...casual enough to be comfortable and chic enough to be classy. Definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was fantastic, service was a little ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was fantastic, service was a little spotty, but would definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

One of our favorite spots! And it only t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

One of our favorite spots! And it only took one visit! Food was amazing delicious and though it is shareable but the portions were amazing and we topped it off with the rack of lamb...: highly recommend ! Our server Nabil made it even more special! And guided us through the menu his suggestions were spot on

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great! I was disappointed in th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was great! I was disappointed in the service. I felt ignored once we were seated. Drinks took 15 minutes and I got the wrong drink. Our waitress left so quickly I didn't get a chance to mention it, then she didn't come back for 10 minutes. I ended up with a free glass of wine which I appreciate, but I would have preferred to have he mistake correct a little faster. After the mistake our waitress was more attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great food- only surprise was that our w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food- only surprise was that our waiter didn't offer us tap water (he only offered sparkling or still) and then we were charged $6 for water. In hindsight- we could have just asked for tap water but it was strange and a bit confusing and we weren't paying 100% attention when it came over with that question. Otherwise, excellent dinner!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.