About Kapnos

2201 14th St NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Chef Mike Isabella opened Kapnos along the Fourteenth Street Corridor in July 2013. Isabella draws inspiration from Northern Greece to create a menu of spreads, breads, vegetables and other small plates, including his signature wood-grilled octopus. Two wood-fire grills with rotating spits and a large oven for stone-baked flat breads service the 160-seat restaurant. Guests enjoy carvings from whole animals that have been spit-roasted all day, including lamb, goat, duck, chicken, and suckling pig. Kapnos is open for dinner seven nights a week.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Monday-Wednesday
6pm-10pm
Thursday
6pm-10:30pm
Friday-Saturday
5pm-11pm
Sunday
5pm-10pm


Happy Hour

Everyday
5pm-7pm



Brunch

Saturday-Sunday
11am-3pm


Bar open between 3pm-5pm on Saturday-Sunday

Cross Street:
14th St & W St, NW

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 234-5000 ext. 9

Website:
http://kapnosdc.com/

Catering:
Mike Isabella Concepts offers Greek catering in the style of Kapnos. Please email events@kapnosdc.com for more information.

Parking Details:
Kapnos offers Valet Parking Thursday, Friday, and Saturday beginning at 5:00pm outside the W Street entrance. Please note that Valet Service ends at close of service and is $15 per vehicle. Street parking can also be found nearby.

Public Transit:
Kapnos is located 3 blocks from U Street/African-Amer Civil War Memorial/Cardozo metro station (13th st & U st exit)

Executive Chef:
Mike Isabella

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Kapnos
  • Kapnos
  • Kapnos
  • Kapnos
  • Kapnos
  • Kapnos
  • Kapnos
Kapnos
Kapnos
Kapnos
Kapnos
Kapnos
Kapnos
Kapnos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Sat 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Kapnos can accommodate groups of 40 to 50 for private events. Food and beverage minimums may apply.

Kapnos Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Greek
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in U Street Corridor ›

fit for foodies (171)
special occasion (90)
good for groups (90)
See All
neighborhood gem (77)
hot spot (70)
great for outdoor dining (55)
great for brunch (53)
romantic (42)
notable wine list (41)
vibrant bar scene (27)
great for lunch (24)
kid-friendly (8)
late-night find (6)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
582 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I don't know how anyone can hear in the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

I don't know how anyone can hear in the bar. This was Saturday evening - the din almost made me cancel the reservation and go somewhere else. Thankfully, the dining room was somewhat quieter, but you still needed to raise your voice to be heard by someone 2 seats away.

The food was outstanding. Go with a group to try as many menu items as possible. Every dish had a distinctive taste - no fear of flavor here. The tuna tartare was out of this world as was the roasted cauliflower.

The service was not good. A friend who ate here over a year ago said she had the same experience, amazing food, awful service. Either not enough people have complained or they have complained and management hasn't learned anything. The waiter was MIA; cocktails came well after several dishes were served, and then they only brought 2 out of 3.

There were other annoyances, one of the desserts 2 people wanted was not available, the waiter ended up offering to comp the desserts.

All 6 diners were very impressed with the food. The noise and the service are something else to be reckoned with.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

The food couldn't be better. The flavors ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food couldn't be better. The flavors are a delicious balance of sweet and savory.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

The music was too loud and the staff too ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The music was too loud and the staff too RUSHED serving and removing food from the table.

It made everyone jumpy and not relaxed during a otherwise tasty dinner. SHAME

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

Amazing food and service! The Tasting M ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Amazing food and service! The Tasting Menu is out of this world. Our server was great! She paired each course with a cocktail or wine and made the experience just truly unforgettable. You will leave full, happy and still talking about it 3 days later.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great! We loved our meal and had ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was great! We loved our meal and had a fantastic time.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Get the tasting menu, whether 2 people o ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Get the tasting menu, whether 2 people or 12!!! It's awesome and they will customize according to diet restrictions. So damn delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I met a friend for a weeknight dinner, t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I met a friend for a weeknight dinner, totally expecting the food to be as good as it has been in the past. Unfortunately we ordered the special Tuesday night lobster dish and it was terrible...really salty. We almost sent it back and I wish we had. Most of the other dishes were ok but even the salad was too salty. A neighboring table remarked on the salty lobster dish, as well.

Our waitress was not terribly attentive. Bee had to chase her down a couple of times. Portions are too small for the price.

Seems something has changed to the detriment of the restaurant and needs some attention

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Like its sister restaurant in Ballston, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Like its sister restaurant in Ballston, Kapnos is outstanding. The food combinations in the small plates were wonderful. We went early due to my husband's hearing problem and had no problem with conversation. By the time we left at 7:30 it was getting noisier. If I went back and had to eat later, outside would be great. Our waiter was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. He was super considerate of my daughter-in-law's severe allergy to sesame and tahini, double checking with the chef to make sure noting we ordered contained those ingredients. The four of us shared 8 small plates and 2 desserts and had plenty of food. We also tried some cocktails which were fun. I can't think of a single thing that wasn't fabulous! Can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very pleased with our recent bru ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were very pleased with our recent brunch experience at Kapnos. Our meal started with an olive bowl and a spread selection which has been a highlight of every visit I have had at the restaurant. My main dish was an adaptation on chicken and waffles, made with chicken that was spit-roasted rather than fried. The dish may have been untraditional, but it was excellent. We ate early in the brunch service when many people were dining outside; as a result, the noise level, which has been high in some previous visits, was moderate.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was delicious although the port ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was delicious although the portions were small even for tapas style. They were out of two items of the menu, but we got to try many tasty dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This was our first trip to Kapnos and ou ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was our first trip to Kapnos and our first dinner north of U Street. We were very pleased with both the service and the food. We ended up getting the tasting menu based on our server's recommendation and it was a great choice -- almost too much food and everything was delicious. I would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very fast service; delicious food; great ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Very fast service; delicious food; great ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the small plates! The dips with pit ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Love the small plates! The dips with pita are great, as were the Kapnos Greek fries. Five of us shared a bunch of vegetarian dishes and did well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Experience at Kapnos as always! Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great Experience at Kapnos as always! The waiter was very knowledgable about food allergies and made some great recommendations. Thank you for a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The bread and spreads were

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The bread and spreads were

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Excellent flavor profiles in all of the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Excellent flavor profiles in all of the dishes. The spreads had bold flavors. Stuffed grape leaves were very fresh and well put together. Fish and lamb were cooked nicely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server was so wonderful about helpin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Our server was so wonderful about helping my pregnant friend figure out the best dishes to avoid soft cheeses. She was really knowledgeable about the menu and ingredients, and helped us pick the perfect dishes!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Didn't have one bad dish! Had the chicke ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Didn't have one bad dish! Had the chicken, salmon, cauliflower, three spreads, and spanikopita. It was all amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great service and food recommendations. ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great service and food recommendations. The dolmades were especially tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was great, however literally ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our waiter was great, however literally everyone else at Kapnos was rude and horrible. The hostess seated us to the worst seats, and the lady who served the wine gave us the very minimum possible for which we ended up paying $20. I will not recommend this place to anyone and won't be coming back either. The food is great, but I don't see the value for the money I am paying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

I've been wanting to go to Kapnos and it ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I've been wanting to go to Kapnos and it did not disappoint. Our foursome was able to try ten of the small plates, so we got a pretty good sampling of spreads, veggies, seafood, and meat. All of it was great, but we would especially recommend the suckling pig. The list of Greek wines was long and gave us new things to try. Maybe because it was a weeknight, the restaurant was only about half full and therefore blissfully quiet. I'm willing to take my chance on a weekend, though, because for sure we'll go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Horrible service, missed two entrees, se ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Horrible service, missed two entrees, server didn't try to rectify situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Always a good experience. Took some out ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Always a good experience. Took some out of town colleagues and the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a great spot for foodies. The me ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This is a great spot for foodies. The meal are authentic and a delight. The Greek Fries are a real treat and the shrimp is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was disappointing but not bad. ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was disappointing but not bad. The service was friendly but inept (had to keep reminding our waiter that we ordered coffee and juice before he finally brought it).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Loved everything about Kapnos! Next trip ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Loved everything about Kapnos! Next trip to DC this is first on the to-do list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Kapnos based on the Washington P ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Went to Kapnos based on the Washington Post review, but found it disappointing and not worth the price. Had better taramosalata, for instance, at a Greek place in Manassas. Very loud. Not exactly quick to come by and ask for our drink order after we sat down even though the place was not full; the service felt fairly ambivalent about us as diners.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

This was my third experience with Kapnos ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This was my third experience with Kapnos. It's my go-to brunch place to take out-of-towners. As a result, I've had the opportunity to taste most of their vegetarian dishes. Their Greek coffee waffles are pretty hit or miss - sometimes they are dry, but the cup of Greek coffee is always delicious. Not a fan of any of their veggie egg dishes. I wouldn't come here for them. Neither is their beet appetizer with the pickled strawberries all that good. I love a lot of their dips and the bread that comes with them is always good! Their apple and honey grilled cheese is interesting to try, but not something I would consistently go back to eat. The one time I tried their falafel sandwich, it was really fresh and delicious. I also liked their spring greens phyllo pie. Their baklava is unique and pretty good. I also really like their spiked lemonades. Overall, Kapnos has a great ambiance, it's spacious, and it's got a unique twist on the common American brunch.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was great, particularly the mea ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was great, particularly the meats (pork, goat) although they could have used a touch of salt. Try the lamb tartare--where else will you get the chance? The server accommodated my allergies graciously (the dairy/nut labeled menu was helpful) and the outdoor patio was a lovely place to enjoy the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We both ordered the tasting menu, which ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We both ordered the tasting menu, which was wonderful. It included many of the dishes we wanted to try and was a good value (for a special occasion) so it was an easy choice. Our server was wonderful. She was friendly and attentive, but not intrusive, and made great wine recommendations,

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, awesome happy hour! The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Delicious food, awesome happy hour! The spreads are all delicious, and the wine list is great, too. The seasonal fritters were also delicious. Highly recommend if you like Greek/Mediterranean food.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was fantastic! The wine was gre ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was fantastic! The wine was great! And the service was friendly. I will certainly return! Try the Greek Fries!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant ever!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was so delicious, I can't wait to come back! Kapnos is great for those with food sensitivities as well- I don't eat gluten, dairy, or eggs, and I didn't leave feeling hungry or unwelcome.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tastings menu was excellent with exc ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The tastings menu was excellent with excellent flavors of Greece. What was offered seemed a bit different than what was described on menu. We asked to have a tasting of the kapama, the special for Saturday, and it was not allowed. The tasting menu had plentiful choices and was quite expensive (over $200) and only one of us had the wine tasting associated with the meal. Not much wine was served. The noise level was so high it was difficult to hear our server describe what was on the menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We had 5-6 plates and ordered the Shrimp twice because it was SO Tasty! I would definitely recommend the brewed lemonade bottles as well, Agave was D-LiSH!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food! We love the tuna tartare, oc ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great food! We love the tuna tartare, octopus and lamb small plates, and the eggplant dip. We got around 10 small plates for six people and it was perfect. The kitchen was luckily open until 11, because we got there at 10:30.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very respectful of allergies

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Very respectful of allergies

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Not as great as we were hoping.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Service was great but food was hit or miss. The seafood and meat dishes (wonderful kibbeh special) seemed more flavorful than our vegetable dishes which was a surprise given that we love Chef Isabella's vegetables at Graffiato. For example, an order of Swiss chard that looked good on the menu came out as sort of gloppy with undefined flavor. Cocktails were good but nothing spectacular.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good taramosalata, chef's Sunday sp ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Very good taramosalata, chef's Sunday special, cheesecake and wine.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Good food ok service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The food was really good-nice octopus which can be a rare find, but my favorite was the lamb and the duck phyllo pie. Delicious! Our server was very nice but slow to bring out the wine we ordered-we would have done a second bottle as we were a larger group, but given the initial delay and the fact that she was so fast to take away the bottle without asking if we wanted a second,we ultimately decided not to order again. Other than that, great location for a special occasion dinner!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.