About Kapnos

2201 14th St NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Chef Mike Isabella opened Kapnos along the Fourteenth Street Corridor in July 2013. Isabella draws inspiration from Northern Greece to create a menu of spreads, breads, vegetables and other small plates, including his signature wood-grilled octopus. Two wood-fire grills with rotating spits and a large oven for stone-baked flat breads service the 160-seat restaurant. Guests enjoy carvings from whole animals that have been spit-roasted all day, including lamb, goat, duck, chicken, and suckling pig. Kapnos is open for dinner seven nights a week.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Monday-Wednesday: 6pm-10pm (bar open until 11pm)
Thursday: 6pm-10:30pm (bar open until 11:30pm)
Friday-Saturday: 5pm-11pm (bar open until 12am)
Sunday: 5pm-10pm (bar open until 11pm)

Happy Hour - Everyday from 5pm-7pm in the bar area only.

Brunch
Saturday-Sunday: 11am-3pm
Bar open between 3pm-5pm on Saturday-Sunday

Cross Street:
14th St & W St, NW

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 234-5000 ext. 9

Website:
http://kapnosdc.com/

Catering:
Mike Isabella Concepts offers Greek catering in the style of Kapnos. Please email events@kapnosdc.com for more information.

Parking Details:
Kapnos offers Valet Parking Thursday, Friday, and Saturday beginning at 5:00pm outside the W Street entrance. Please note that Valet Service ends at close of service and is $15 per vehicle. Street parking can also be found nearby.

Public Transit:
Kapnos is located 3 blocks from U Street/African-Amer Civil War Memorial/Cardozo metro station (13th st & U st exit)

Executive Chef:
Mike Isabella, George Pagonis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact events@mikeisabella.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Kapnos, Washington, DC
  • Kapnos, Washington, DC
  • Kapnos, Washington, DC
  • Kapnos, Washington, DC
  • Kapnos, Washington, DC
  • Kapnos, Washington, DC
  • Kapnos, Washington, DC

Report a photo problem

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Kapnos can accommodate groups up to 250 for a standing cocktail reception and we also offer a semi-private dining room that accommodate up to 50 guests seated and 75 standing. Our entire dining room can seat approx. 160 guests plus about 40 guests in our bar area.

Kapnos Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (51)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Creative Cuisine (43)
See All
Tapas (38)
Authentic (32)
Special Occasion (32)
Good for Groups (28)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Good Vegetarian Options (25)
Fun (24)
Tasting Menu (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Modern Decor (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Great for Brunch (18)
Romantic (18)
Open Kitchen (17)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Seasonal (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Healthy (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Casual (8)
Cozy (8)
Wood Oven (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Family Style (7)
Business Meals (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Vegan (6)
People Watching (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
746 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best greek food I have had in the US. Wo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Best greek food I have had in the US. Wonderful options for vegetarians. Service was a tad slower, but very good. Already planning when I can return on my next visit to DC.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

One of the best places I've eaten at in ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

One of the best places I've eaten at in DC, EVER. I'm not even a huge fan of Mediterranean food or tapas but this place was worth every penny.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Wood Oven, Cozy, Authentic, Tapas, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great experience

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great food and great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been here once before and wanted ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We have been here once before and wanted to bring our friends this time. This time it took a little too long to get seated and to receive our food. We were there for a total of 3 hours without having dessert or coffee. Despite our 8:30 pm reservation, we still had to wait a while to be seated- which wasn't terrible since they extended happy hour and had great drinks. Everything seemed to be going well until the last plate of lamb seemed to be forgotten - or maybe we were forgotten (as it was almost 11pm)? Overall, I like the atmosphere and food. Server was nice and knowledgeable- just gave service a lower mark since the wait was a bit long (finally finishing by 11:30pm). But had a great time despite that and still recommend highly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Really wonderful place to eat, delicious ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Really wonderful place to eat, delicious food. service was a little absent and with a slight attitude, but brunch is a frustrating shift, I've been there.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Taylor our server was outstanding!!!! sh ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Taylor our server was outstanding!!!! she's the Top Chef of servers. You can tell it's a profession for her and not a job just to get through the week. She guided us through our entire meal. The meal, atmosphere and evening was a culinary experience. You will not only try dishes you'd never try in a hundred years, but you'll love them and it will open up your future culinary experiences when dinning elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very nice restaurant. You must try the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

A very nice restaurant. You must try the lamb! We also enjoyed the wine selection and the pikidilia.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food and great service. I have ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent food and great service. I have no complaints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, People Watching, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great good and it comes out well paced f ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great good and it comes out well paced from runners. During busy times the waitstaff can get overwhelmed.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Yum! Thank you!!! We love you!!!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Yum! Thank you!!! We love you!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu was creative and food was wonderful ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Menu was creative and food was wonderful. Service was a bit slow, but probably that was because it was New Year's Day and they might have been short-staffed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food is delicious! Definitely my new fav ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food is delicious! Definitely my new favorite go-to for special occasions and good conversations!

Tags: Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Went gor New Years brunch surpassed our ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went gor New Years brunch surpassed our expectations! Great food ,coctails,service Loved the ambience

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Romantic, Authentic, , Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and wine list is consistently excel ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food and wine list is consistently excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Kapnos DC is wonderful! Extensive, imagi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Kapnos DC is wonderful! Extensive, imaginative menu featuring Greek flavors. Long list of mezze dishes to share for a complete meal or before one of the grilled entrees. After three mezzo plates -- farmhouse salad and gigandes beans our favorites --, we 4 shared grilled bronzino and rack of lamb -- both good sized entrees for two. Spit-grilled pork and lamb on huge platters looked exceptional. The flat bread is excellent, and we finished with delicious baked apple dessert.

The spacious restaurant is divided into several dining and bar areas. High black ceiling embellished with crystal chandeliers is functional and attractive. Plenty noisy but the noise level didn't inhibit table conversation. We were greeted warmly and the service was efficient.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience at Kapnos. Service was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great experience at Kapnos. Service was excellent. Our server noticed that we had oredered mostly vegetarian appetizers and also veg sides and kindly pointed out that the potatoes we had requested were cooked in animal fat. I thought it was very considerate of him. Food was excellent. The meat eaters loved the lamb and the baby goat. The falafel was excellent.

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We came for a Christmas Eve family dinne ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We came for a Christmas Eve family dinner and it was a great choice. The ambiance, food and servive were superb. We have been to Kapnos a number of times and will certainly return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is ver good, but very over priced f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food is ver good, but very over priced for the amount you get. There are many restaurants in D.C. that are just as good but much better value. The beets for $10 were excellent, but the pieces amounted to one beet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

This was our first visit to Kapnos, and ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This was our first visit to Kapnos, and hands down, it was one of the best meals we have ever had.

We opted for the tasting menu with wine pairing. We told Darcy, our server, a few things we weren't particularly interested in and a few things that we definitely wanted to have and she and the kitchen handled it flawlessly. The tasting menu is crafted by the chef and could change depending on what is being served or on what one of the specials might be for the evening.

We started with three spreads that came with flatbread. Each one had layers of flavor.

For the next course, we were served three cold mezze plates and three hot mezze plates. Each one had it its own sauce and accompaniments. Darcy did a fantastic job of explaining each dish and how it was prepared.

The next offering was the fish course which consisted of cod, salmon that had been put on skewer and cooked on the wood grill, and a shrimp dish. Once again, each dish was excellently prepared and presented.

For our meat course, we had the suckling pig, the goat, and beef short ribs which were a special dish for the evening. Like everything that came before it, each was perfect.

For dessert, we were presented with baklava and a chocolate mousse torte.

The wines that came with each course were also very good.

Darcy was very nice, polite and she was very knowledgeable about everything she brought to the table. It is obvious the management of the restaurant does a good job training its staff.

I highly recommend Kapnos for any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Mediterranean cuisine, fundame ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent Mediterranean cuisine, fundamentally Greek but ranging across the Eastern Mediterranean. We are periodic regulars, but are always received as if we were VIPs.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch food, service, and ambiance. A ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Top notch food, service, and ambiance. All of the meals were meticulously prepared and full of flavor. All of the meats were cooked perfectly. The service was very good. The best part was the price. Lots of food and a drink per person for about $50/person for the evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, , Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very flavorful food, great service, but ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Very flavorful food, great service, but pricey for what you get (small portions) .

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Food is very good. Great location.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food is very good. Great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had made a reservation but, when we a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had made a reservation but, when we arrived, found that it was for their DC restaurant. Nevertheless, they graciously found us a table. In agreement with almost every other review, the place is extremely noisy, clearly not a romantic spot. The ambience is nice, trendy. We ordered a bottle of wine, which they were out of. They recommended a substitute which was very good at about half the price. The food was quite variable. My wife's zucchini fritters were charred and I thought unpleasant. The brussel sprouts were fair. My wife's shrimp dish was good and my octopus was very good. Clearly need to be selective with the menu.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

The food and the service are excellent.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food and the service are excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had a lovely brunch for three there for ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Had a lovely brunch for three there for my birthday. Easy to make and adjust a reservation based on bad weather, quick service, friendly waitstaff, delicious food with good portion sizes. The only thing I didn't like was the pineapple mimosa my sister got- it seemed weak and too small of a pour for $9. They do offer bottomless, so that's probably why individual mimosas are expensive and smallish. Very pleased with my experience and will definitely be back!

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. The service could not have ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great food. The service could not have been better. Very attentive without being overbearing.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Tapas, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the few places in DC where the fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 14, 2016

One of the few places in DC where the food is actually worth the price.

Tags: Vegan, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Go with a lot of people so you can order ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Go with a lot of people so you can order the pork shoulder and/or lamb shoulder for the table. Both are spectacular.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An authentic and creative greek menu tha ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 13, 2016

An authentic and creative greek menu that allows for mutual sharing of dishes. Diverse choices in all menu categories, and the menu does change to allow you to keep trying new dishes. A very extensive wine list including a nice choice of both red and white authentic greek wines. When in Rome... Service was great too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service food incredible

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great service food incredible

Tags: Spicy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Appreciated them seating us early before ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Appreciated them seating us early before the rest of our party arrived. Food was very good as always, but service was only OK- slightly inattentive, brought wrong drinks, brought all plates out at once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

My boyfriend and I are huge foodies, and ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My boyfriend and I are huge foodies, and Kapnos certainly did not disappoint our palette! All of the small plates we ordered were incredible, we especially loved the tuna tartare, zucchini fritters, and salmon kabobs. Everything tasted extremely fresh and authentic. Finally, our waiter was absolutely wonderful! I would recommend Kapnos to anyone, and can't wait to go back next time I'm visiting DC!

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Imaginative take on Mediterranean ingred ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Imaginative take on Mediterranean ingredients. Delicious small plates. Love those potatoes! One of our favorite restaurants.

Charging extra for pita to go with the saganaki was a bit much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Holiday party with office was great. Or ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Holiday party with office was great. Ordered a bit of everything and we all left with full bellies and smiles on our faces?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We live close to Kapnos and visit for a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We live close to Kapnos and visit for a treat. The food is adventurous without being pretentious. Meat is especially well done- lamb and goat are specialties. If budget is an issue,

you should be alert when ordering small plates; they can add up!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrible service!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Terrible service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

The food here is always so great. Stando ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The food here is always so great. Standouts this trip were a bass sushi special, shrimp, salmon kabob and grilled octopus. This is a terrific place to go with a group so you can try a lot of different dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I liked this place. Surprised at the di ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I liked this place. Surprised at the dish quality: we had Icelandic Cod and Baby Goat. Perfectly done. Pita bread was a more filling, chewy texture than typical which fit the mood of comfort food perfectly. This is comfort food, but healthy. The downside is it's popularity with groups. The ambience was extremely loud. The walls are brick, so sound reverberates. While it's good for a date, probably much less so if you want a quiet evening together.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Holy heck- order two of the brussell spr ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Holy heck- order two of the brussell sprout dishes- you won't regret it! All the food was amazing- I have a dairy and gluten allergy and they took them very seriously. The waitress was extremely knowledgeable and really had a great experience.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.