About Kanpai - Sushi Asian Bistro

4593 washinton ave
Evansville, IN 47714
View Larger Map

Kanpai is a restaurant best known for its sushi; we have over 55 beers in house that change on a weekly basis. We have $15 bottles of wine all day every day and we also have a new kitchen menu for a taste of the very best in Asian inspired dining. If you enjoy great food and a great atmosphere, Kanpai is a unique Evansville restaurant to visit for lunch or dinner. We are right off of Green River Road if you’re looking for something near Evansville’s east side. Every time you stop in could be a different experience, as we may have live music or a craft beer tasting. If you’re hungry and in a hurry for carry-out or a large business delivery, Kanpai now offers the simplicity and accuracy of online ordering.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Asian, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Green River

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(812) 471-7076

Website:
http://www.mykanpai.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Wed nights!

Catering:
We will make your event great!

Executive Chef:
Jayson Munoz

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • White Tuna Nigiri Sushi
  • Godzilla roll
  • Seared Ahi Tuna
  • Yummy Yummy Roll And Spicy Tuna Tempura Roll
  • traditional cheese cake
White Tuna Nigiri Sushi
Godzilla roll
Seared Ahi Tuna
Yummy Yummy Roll And Spicy Tuna Tempura Roll
traditional cheese cake

Kanpai - Sushi Asian Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Southwest Indiana / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
Evansville
Best Restaurants in Evansville ›

Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for Groups (2)
See All
Great for Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
98 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We always have a wonderful dining experi ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined 4 days ago

We always have a wonderful dining experience at Kanpai! Wether it is the service or food, nothing disappoints! By far some of the Tri states best sushi!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Hot Spot, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When in a time crunch for lunch it is no ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

When in a time crunch for lunch it is not a place to go. Work a block a way and every time we go(with call ahead seating) we always have to get our food to go because it gets brought out with 5 mins to get back to work. We get 1 hour for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was good as usual but the service w ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was good as usual but the service was terrible. We received food with out plates or utensils, server could answer questions and was absent when needed and seemed annoyed to be working.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We went to Kan Pai with some friends who ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We went to Kan Pai with some friends who have never been. It was so loud in the restaurant that we could not hear each other. I just don't remember it being that loud. The food was just o.k. that night. Unfortunately, our friends were not impressed. We will go back, but I am not sure they will.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Another fantastic trip to Kanpai. They w ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Another fantastic trip to Kanpai. They were nice enough to make a special meal for my grandma. Thanks again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bad Experience

vip
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

We were served our drinks and then ignored for at least 1/2 hour. When we complained , we were told there was a new sushi chef and they were trying to push him. They didn't even take our order, which wasn't going to be all sushi. We decided to pay for our drinks and leave. We were very hungry and also disappointed. We have been going there for years and have always loved it. This was the first time in our lives we ever left a restaurant without eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value4

Must try the crab Rangoon and the Godzil ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Must try the crab Rangoon and the Godzilla roll!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite Place

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

The very generous owner, Jason Munoz, was in and stopped by to speak with us then later brought by a sample of a sushi roll. Food was fresh and delicious as always! Kan Pai is a favorite of ours.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got the Bento lunches, quick and easy ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

We got the Bento lunches, quick and easy ordering. Inside of the restaurant is quaint and small. We were on a lunch break and the timing was perfect. Food was delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

locarion def not kid friendly (Exotica)

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

Food was good but not great. Price was good. Unruly customers at next table, very intoxicated. Had my young daughter with us. NOT kid friendly. Would recommend only to friend without kids. My child asked what Exotica was; very uncomfortable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Delicious food but questionable service

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Great sushi and ambiance! I went with a group of 4 and we split a few appetizers from the impressive app menu...they all sounded delicious! We shared some rolls from the extensive (but not overwhelmingly extensive) sushi menu. You truly feel like you are in a trendy restaurant which is a treat for Evansville. I was delighted with the food but unimpressed with our server. First of all, he/she (don't want to give any names away) didn't even seem like they were old enough to be serving alcohol and was clueless about the beer and wine selection. The night we were there, the drink special was $2 New Belgium beers and when someone from the table asked if that included all New Belgiums, the server responded, "Umm...I don't think so." And that was it. They didn't go and find out for sure and they had no idea which ones were $2. Turns out they were indeed all $2 which should have been an easy "Yes!" from the server. We later found out that there was a drink menu but we didn't get that when we sat down so I had to ask about wine selection and they were also clueless about that. I also never got the miso that I ordered which wasn't a big deal and I decided not to say anything until we got the bill and it was on there. The server promptly removed it and apologized so that was fine. Overall, the food was delicious but a better trained wait staff would have immensely improved the experience and truly set this restaurant above others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Pho-nomenal! Always good.

vip
 (Western KY)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

Pho-nomenal! Always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Food is always great! I love the kanpai ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

Food is always great! I love the kanpai salad and Ricardo roll with spicy crab added on top.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Night Before Thanksgiving.

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

The food was definitely better than average, even after the ownership change. The waiting service was good, but did leave a bit to be desired. My appetizer arrived after my main course, which is, of course, unacceptable (not really unacceptable, just needed to mention it). The live music, provided my Matthew Sneed, was pretty darn good, in my opinion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Everything was delicious! Best crab Rang ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Everything was delicious! Best crab Rangoon I've ever had. We made an online reservation and were seated immediately.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Find

vip
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

Love it for lunch and dinner. Great selection and quality. Beverage specials daily except for Friday.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly Recommend

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

Loved the option to book through Open Table. Kanpai is usually busy, so it was convenient to know we had a reserved spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Disappointed

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Could not wait to try out after seeing the restaurant on Channel 14 News. The food was ok. Egg rolls tasted bland, house wine was not good ( Merlot). Entree ok. Very small and cramped tables as space was limited. Probably not worth the drive from Owensboro . Our waitress was very nice but had a large table as well

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

Excellent sushi!

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

The music soundtrack was awesome! They have a wide range of beer selection also!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love their Pho!

vip
 (Western KY)
·Dined on August 21, 2015

I love their Pho!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Kanpai

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on July 17, 2015

I love the food at Kanpai especially the Godzilla roll. The service is great and they're all very friendly. I also love whatever radio station they have playing in the background. Overall great experience every time I go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Good...not great

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2015

Great service. Goid food. Loud inside! Sushi is really good. Entrees are pretty average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Love Kanpai!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

Nobu salad was great! They brought out a free dessert for Father's Day. I've been to Kanpai several times & I've never had anything bad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Unfried

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on June 7, 2015

Food is always fresh and delicious. We are now going to be regulars!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Solid place to eat in Evansville

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 16, 2015

Overall we were happy to find this place. The food quality was solid, and the bulgogi, though a bit unconventional, was tasty. We will come back the next time we are in Evansville.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

awesome restaurant!!

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on April 11, 2015

We love kanpai! We don't live in Evansille but when we visit kanpai is our first choice to dine. Awesome atmosphere and menu. We've never had less than an amazing experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food. Seated away from door like r ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on March 15, 2015

Good food. Seated away from door like requested. Was checked on by wait staff frequently but not where it was a burden.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Yum!

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on March 14, 2015

Second time to dine here -- first lunch, this time dinner. Wait staff was helpful and attentive both times. Both meals were delish and I'm ready to go back! First time we tried the raspberry cheesecake eggroll - be still my heart! Delightful and just the right amount of dessert after a great meal ;)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Love the pho

vip
 (Western KY)
·Dined on March 10, 2015

Love the pho

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Always yummy comfort food. Love the pho!

vip
 (Western KY)
·Dined on March 7, 2015

Always yummy comfort food. Love the pho!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

The 'Cheers' of sushi..

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 28, 2015

Great staff, atmosphere and sushi... Great drink prices and live music on Wednesday's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My Favorite!

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on December 31, 2014

I've enjoyed each experience I've had with KanPai, from take-out, to date night, to family gathering. The food and service has never disappointed. KanPai always seems to exceed my expectations! I can't wait to return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Sushi in Evansville

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 26, 2014

Great food. Great prices. Great beer selection both foreign and domestic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

great sushi

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 20, 2014

Great place for sushi...entrees were good as well but you can find as good in most evansville Asian restaurants. Service was good and open table worked out great for us!!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Good fun food

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on November 9, 2014

This was our 2nd trip to Kanpai. The food and service is excellent. It is a small place so be prepared to wait if you don't reserve ahead. It is well worth the wait though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Best Sushi in town!

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on November 2, 2014

Great place to enjoy delicious Asian foods and drink cold beers. Thank

you for bringing "Big City Flavor" to the Evansville food scene!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Average

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on October 19, 2014

Was just average sushi, very small dining area. It wasn't bad nor great. Just average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Food and fun

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 14, 2014

This place is definitely in the top 5 of places to go in Evansville...The food and drink selection are tops! Make sure to save room for dessert as the cookie dough egg rolls are fantastic!

Great staff!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a great exoeriwmce

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on October 4, 2014

We are from out of town and this is where my fiancé and I came on our first date and we came back again on Saturday night and he proposed to me! The server brought us over a delicious desert to celebrate and congratulated us! It was a perfect proposal and dining experience! Thanks kanpai!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

first visit

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on July 26, 2014

Heard great things about Kanpai but had never been. Finally had the chance to go and it was well worth it. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.