Kanpai - Sushi Asian Bistro

4.5
113 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Sushi
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Great for Lunch
Kanpai is a restaurant best known for its sushi; we have over 55 beers in house that change on a weekly basis. We have $15 bottles of wine all day every day and we also have a new kitchen menu for a taste of the very best in Asian inspired dining. If you enjoy great food and a great atmosphere, Kanpai is a unique Evansville restaurant to visit for lunch or dinner. We are right off of Green River Road if you’re looking for something near Evansville’s east side. Every time you stop in could be a different experience, as we may have live music or a craft beer tasting. If you’re hungry and in a hurry for carry-out or a large business delivery, Kanpai now offers the simplicity and accuracy of online ordering.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Sushi, Asian, Fusion / Eclectic
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(812) 471-7076
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jayson Munoz
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We will make your event great!
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Green River
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live Music Wed nights!
Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 113 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.5based on all time ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.2
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on January 12, 2017

Great food good value. This is a fun place to have a good Asian meal. The food is really good and a lot of it. Don't miss the fried cheesecake!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was superb. Lots of flavor, fresh. Service was on point. Not too much attention, but on top of everything.
Will definitely dine there again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 27, 2016

The avocado salsa was very chunky and you had to use a spoon to put it on the chips. We were brought our food with out any utensils and also our sweet tea was refilled twice with unsweetened tea. Our sushi was on point, however my son's General Tso's lacked flavor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 17, 2016

This small Asian Bistro is fun for a cozy feeling date or business lunch. The food is wonderful and Kanpai puts it's own twist on standard rolls, as well as, bringing new ones to the table. Would definitely go back and recommend to anyone with taste buds.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 22, 2016

Being relatively new to sushi I never know what to pick. The wait staff were kind when I had questions. The food was phenomenal!! Who knew a seaweed salad would actually be so delicious!?!? The Godzilla Roll and the Three Spicy Roll are the only two I've tried so far. I see many more trips to Kanpai in my future!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 5, 2016

Always satisfied with our visits here. They have the best home made Crab Rangoon I have ever had. Server was excellent, very attentive without smothering. Many different sushi rolls to choose from, and dinner options are a good fusion of Asian styles.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 28, 2016

Pow pow shrimp was amazing. Awesome beer menu. Great sushi. Can't wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 19, 2016

This was actually my first time coming to Kanpai. A couple of girlfriends and I gathered for a wine Wednesday. I was so glad I made a reservation previous to coming. Soon as I stepped in, it was really busy. I loved the ambiance. I loved the live music. The value of the wine was amazing. Not to mention, the food was ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! I love this place extra because it's literally right by my apartment. Kanpai you're freaking awesome. I will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 16, 2016

My wife and I were in Evansville for just one night and picked this restaurant after reading the menu online. All 4 of the menu items we sampled were excellent. The ahi tuna is to die for. It melted in my mouth. The fried zucchini was a large serving and came with a tasty dipping sauce. And don't leave without trying one of the fried eggroll desserts. The restaurant is small and was noisy on a Friday evening, but the service and food more than made up for that.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 8, 2016

I have dined at Kanpai several times. This visit is the only visit that I would rate less than perfection. The service was lacking. Our server was Justin I believe he said his name was. He brought our drinks and then we didn't see him again for quite some time. The person that seemed to be the manager or shift leader brought our main course and I reminded him that we did not receive our salads. Approximately 10 minutes later Justin brought our salads.

I observed that other servers were having the same issues. A young man sitting alone requested something and it was approximately 10 minutes later before he received if. Just as I did, he sat and waited without eating his entree in front of him. The servers were not talking to each other, not working together. And the hostess was no help--she was not at the door as people came in. Then when no one was coming in, she was standing bored at the hostess station.

I will say that the place runs like a well oiled machine when the owner is present. The food was still more quantity and quality than anywhere else in town for the cost. Fantastic food. Off service day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 21, 2016

We always have a wonderful dining experience at Kanpai! Wether it is the service or food, nothing disappoints! By far some of the Tri states best sushi!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 10, 2016

When in a time crunch for lunch it is not a place to go. Work a block a way and every time we go(with call ahead seating) we always have to get our food to go because it gets brought out with 5 mins to get back to work. We get 1 hour for lunch

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was good as usual but the service was terrible. We received food with out plates or utensils, server could answer questions and was absent when needed and seemed annoyed to be working.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 8, 2016

We went to Kan Pai with some friends who have never been. It was so loud in the restaurant that we could not hear each other. I just don't remember it being that loud. The food was just o.k. that night. Unfortunately, our friends were not impressed. We will go back, but I am not sure they will.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2016

Another fantastic trip to Kanpai. They were nice enough to make a special meal for my grandma. Thanks again!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 3, 2016

We were served our drinks and then ignored for at least 1/2 hour. When we complained , we were told there was a new sushi chef and they were trying to push him. They didn't even take our order, which wasn't going to be all sushi. We decided to pay for our drinks and leave. We were very hungry and also disappointed. We have been going there for years and have always loved it. This was the first time in our lives we ever left a restaurant without eating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2016

Must try the crab Rangoon and the Godzilla roll!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2016

The very generous owner, Jason Munoz, was in and stopped by to speak with us then later brought by a sample of a sushi roll. Food was fresh and delicious as always! Kan Pai is a favorite of ours.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2016

We got the Bento lunches, quick and easy ordering. Inside of the restaurant is quaint and small. We were on a lunch break and the timing was perfect. Food was delish!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 31, 2016

Food was good but not great. Price was good. Unruly customers at next table, very intoxicated. Had my young daughter with us. NOT kid friendly. Would recommend only to friend without kids. My child asked what Exotica was; very uncomfortable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 29, 2015

Great sushi and ambiance! I went with a group of 4 and we split a few appetizers from the impressive app menu...they all sounded delicious! We shared some rolls from the extensive (but not overwhelmingly extensive) sushi menu. You truly feel like you are in a trendy restaurant which is a treat for Evansville. I was delighted with the food but unimpressed with our server. First of all, he/she (don't want to give any names away) didn't even seem like they were old enough to be serving alcohol and was clueless about the beer and wine selection. The night we were there, the drink special was $2 New Belgium beers and when someone from the table asked if that included all New Belgiums, the server responded, "Umm...I don't think so." And that was it. They didn't go and find out for sure and they had no idea which ones were $2. Turns out they were indeed all $2 which should have been an easy "Yes!" from the server. We later found out that there was a drink menu but we didn't get that when we sat down so I had to ask about wine selection and they were also clueless about that. I also never got the miso that I ordered which wasn't a big deal and I decided not to say anything until we got the bill and it was on there. The server promptly removed it and apologized so that was fine. Overall, the food was delicious but a better trained wait staff would have immensely improved the experience and truly set this restaurant above others.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 17, 2015

Pho-nomenal! Always good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 27, 2015

Food is always great! I love the kanpai salad and Ricardo roll with spicy crab added on top.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 25, 2015

The food was definitely better than average, even after the ownership change. The waiting service was good, but did leave a bit to be desired. My appetizer arrived after my main course, which is, of course, unacceptable (not really unacceptable, just needed to mention it). The live music, provided my Matthew Sneed, was pretty darn good, in my opinion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 30, 2015

Everything was delicious! Best crab Rangoon I've ever had. We made an online reservation and were seated immediately.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 25, 2015

Love it for lunch and dinner. Great selection and quality. Beverage specials daily except for Friday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 23, 2015

Loved the option to book through Open Table. Kanpai is usually busy, so it was convenient to know we had a reserved spot.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 10, 2015

Could not wait to try out after seeing the restaurant on Channel 14 News. The food was ok. Egg rolls tasted bland, house wine was not good ( Merlot). Entree ok. Very small and cramped tables as space was limited. Probably not worth the drive from Owensboro . Our waitress was very nice but had a large table as well

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 29, 2015

The music soundtrack was awesome! They have a wide range of beer selection also!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 20, 2015

I love their Pho!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 17, 2015

I love the food at Kanpai especially the Godzilla roll. The service is great and they're all very friendly. I also love whatever radio station they have playing in the background. Overall great experience every time I go.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 10, 2015

Great service. Goid food. Loud inside! Sushi is really good. Entrees are pretty average

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 21, 2015

Nobu salad was great! They brought out a free dessert for Father's Day. I've been to Kanpai several times & I've never had anything bad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2015

Food is always fresh and delicious. We are now going to be regulars!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 16, 2015

Overall we were happy to find this place. The food quality was solid, and the bulgogi, though a bit unconventional, was tasty. We will come back the next time we are in Evansville.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2015

Good food. Very loud.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2015

We love kanpai! We don't live in Evansille but when we visit kanpai is our first choice to dine. Awesome atmosphere and menu. We've never had less than an amazing experience!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 14, 2015

Good food. Seated away from door like requested. Was checked on by wait staff frequently but not where it was a burden.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2015

Second time to dine here -- first lunch, this time dinner. Wait staff was helpful and attentive both times. Both meals were delish and I'm ready to go back! First time we tried the raspberry cheesecake eggroll - be still my heart! Delightful and just the right amount of dessert after a great meal ;)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 9, 2015

Love the pho

Report
Helpful
1
2
3