About Kanpai - Sushi Asian Bistro

4593 washinton ave
Evansville, IN 47714
View Larger Map

Kanpai is a restaurant best known for its sushi; we have over 55 beers in house that change on a weekly basis. We have $15 bottles of wine all day every day and we also have a new kitchen menu for a taste of the very best in Asian inspired dining. If you enjoy great food and a great atmosphere, Kanpai is a unique Evansville restaurant to visit for lunch or dinner. We are right off of Green River Road if you’re looking for something near Evansville’s east side. Every time you stop in could be a different experience, as we may have live music or a craft beer tasting. If you’re hungry and in a hurry for carry-out or a large business delivery, Kanpai now offers the simplicity and accuracy of online ordering.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Asian, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Green River

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(812) 471-7076

Website:
http://www.mykanpai.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Wed nights!

Catering:
We will make your event great!

Executive Chef:
Jayson Munoz

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Godzilla roll
  • Seared Ahi Tuna
  • Yummy Yummy Roll And Spicy Tuna Tempura Roll
  • traditional cheese cake
Godzilla roll
Seared Ahi Tuna
Yummy Yummy Roll And Spicy Tuna Tempura Roll
traditional cheese cake

Kanpai - Sushi Asian Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Southwest Indiana / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
Evansville
Best Restaurants in Evansville ›

neighborhood gem (5)
fit for foodies (4)
great for lunch (4)
See All
hot spot (3)
great for brunch (2)
special occasion (2)
kid-friendly (1)
late-night find (1)
romantic (1)
good for groups (1)
Sort By:
Newest
94 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Another fantastic trip to Kanpai. They w ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Another fantastic trip to Kanpai. They were nice enough to make a special meal for my grandma. Thanks again!

food1
ambience4
service1
value4

Bad Experience

Dined on April 4, 2016

We were served our drinks and then ignored for at least 1/2 hour. When we complained , we were told there was a new sushi chef and they were trying to push him. They didn't even take our order, which wasn't going to be all sushi. We decided to pay for our drinks and leave. We were very hungry and also disappointed. We have been going there for years and have always loved it. This was the first time in our lives we ever left a restaurant without eating.

food5
ambience5
service5

Must try the crab Rangoon and the Godzil ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Must try the crab Rangoon and the Godzilla roll!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Place

Dined on March 18, 2016

The very generous owner, Jason Munoz, was in and stopped by to speak with us then later brought by a sample of a sushi roll. Food was fresh and delicious as always! Kan Pai is a favorite of ours.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We got the Bento lunches, quick and easy ...

Dined on March 1, 2016

We got the Bento lunches, quick and easy ordering. Inside of the restaurant is quaint and small. We were on a lunch break and the timing was perfect. Food was delish!

food3
ambience3
service4
value4

locarion def not kid friendly (Exotica)

Dined on February 1, 2016

Food was good but not great. Price was good. Unruly customers at next table, very intoxicated. Had my young daughter with us. NOT kid friendly. Would recommend only to friend without kids. My child asked what Exotica was; very uncomfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Delicious food but questionable service

Dined on December 30, 2015

Great sushi and ambiance! I went with a group of 4 and we split a few appetizers from the impressive app menu...they all sounded delicious! We shared some rolls from the extensive (but not overwhelmingly extensive) sushi menu. You truly feel like you are in a trendy restaurant which is a treat for Evansville. I was delighted with the food but unimpressed with our server. First of all, he/she (don't want to give any names away) didn't even seem like they were old enough to be serving alcohol and was clueless about the beer and wine selection. The night we were there, the drink special was $2 New Belgium beers and when someone from the table asked if that included all New Belgiums, the server responded, "Umm...I don't think so." And that was it. They didn't go and find out for sure and they had no idea which ones were $2. Turns out they were indeed all $2 which should have been an easy "Yes!" from the server. We later found out that there was a drink menu but we didn't get that when we sat down so I had to ask about wine selection and they were also clueless about that. I also never got the miso that I ordered which wasn't a big deal and I decided not to say anything until we got the bill and it was on there. The server promptly removed it and apologized so that was fine. Overall, the food was delicious but a better trained wait staff would have immensely improved the experience and truly set this restaurant above others.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3

Pho-nomenal! Always good.

vip
Dined on December 18, 2015

Pho-nomenal! Always good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always great! I love the kanpai ...

Dined on November 28, 2015

Food is always great! I love the kanpai salad and Ricardo roll with spicy crab added on top.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service3

The Night Before Thanksgiving.

Dined on November 26, 2015

The food was definitely better than average, even after the ownership change. The waiting service was good, but did leave a bit to be desired. My appetizer arrived after my main course, which is, of course, unacceptable (not really unacceptable, just needed to mention it). The live music, provided my Matthew Sneed, was pretty darn good, in my opinion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was delicious! Best crab Rang ...

Dined on October 31, 2015

Everything was delicious! Best crab Rangoon I've ever had. We made an online reservation and were seated immediately.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Find

vip
Dined on October 25, 2015

Love it for lunch and dinner. Great selection and quality. Beverage specials daily except for Friday.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Highly Recommend

Dined on October 24, 2015

Loved the option to book through Open Table. Kanpai is usually busy, so it was convenient to know we had a reserved spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service5

Disappointed

Dined on October 10, 2015

Could not wait to try out after seeing the restaurant on Channel 14 News. The food was ok. Egg rolls tasted bland, house wine was not good ( Merlot). Entree ok. Very small and cramped tables as space was limited. Probably not worth the drive from Owensboro . Our waitress was very nice but had a large table as well

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent sushi!

Dined on August 29, 2015

The music soundtrack was awesome! They have a wide range of beer selection also!

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3

I love their Pho!

vip
Dined on August 21, 2015

I love their Pho!

food4
ambience3
service5

Kanpai

Dined on July 17, 2015

I love the food at Kanpai especially the Godzilla roll. The service is great and they're all very friendly. I also love whatever radio station they have playing in the background. Overall great experience every time I go.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service5

Good...not great

Dined on July 10, 2015

Great service. Goid food. Loud inside! Sushi is really good. Entrees are pretty average

food5
ambience5
service4

Love Kanpai!

Dined on June 21, 2015

Nobu salad was great! They brought out a free dessert for Father's Day. I've been to Kanpai several times & I've never had anything bad.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3

Unfried

Dined on June 7, 2015

Food is always fresh and delicious. We are now going to be regulars!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service4

Solid place to eat in Evansville

Dined on May 16, 2015

Overall we were happy to find this place. The food quality was solid, and the bulgogi, though a bit unconventional, was tasty. We will come back the next time we are in Evansville.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

awesome restaurant!!

Dined on April 11, 2015

We love kanpai! We don't live in Evansille but when we visit kanpai is our first choice to dine. Awesome atmosphere and menu. We've never had less than an amazing experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food. Seated away from door like r ...

Dined on March 15, 2015

Good food. Seated away from door like requested. Was checked on by wait staff frequently but not where it was a burden.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Yum!

Dined on March 14, 2015

Second time to dine here -- first lunch, this time dinner. Wait staff was helpful and attentive both times. Both meals were delish and I'm ready to go back! First time we tried the raspberry cheesecake eggroll - be still my heart! Delightful and just the right amount of dessert after a great meal ;)

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4

Love the pho

vip
Dined on March 10, 2015

Love the pho

food5
ambience3
service4

Always yummy comfort food. Love the pho!

vip
Dined on March 7, 2015

Always yummy comfort food. Love the pho!

food5
ambience5
service5

The 'Cheers' of sushi..

vip
Dined on January 28, 2015

Great staff, atmosphere and sushi... Great drink prices and live music on Wednesday's.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

My Favorite!

Dined on December 31, 2014

I've enjoyed each experience I've had with KanPai, from take-out, to date night, to family gathering. The food and service has never disappointed. KanPai always seems to exceed my expectations! I can't wait to return!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Best Sushi in Evansville

Dined on December 26, 2014

Great food. Great prices. Great beer selection both foreign and domestic.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service5

great sushi

Dined on December 20, 2014

Great place for sushi...entrees were good as well but you can find as good in most evansville Asian restaurants. Service was good and open table worked out great for us!!

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Good fun food

Dined on November 9, 2014

This was our 2nd trip to Kanpai. The food and service is excellent. It is a small place so be prepared to wait if you don't reserve ahead. It is well worth the wait though.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The Best Sushi in town!

Dined on November 2, 2014

Great place to enjoy delicious Asian foods and drink cold beers. Thank you for bringing "Big City Flavor" to the Evansville food scene!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4

Average

Dined on October 19, 2014

Was just average sushi, very small dining area. It wasn't bad nor great. Just average.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food and fun

vip
Dined on October 14, 2014

This place is definitely in the top 5 of places to go in Evansville...The food and drink selection are tops! Make sure to save room for dessert as the cookie dough egg rolls are fantastic! Great staff!!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Such a great exoeriwmce

Dined on October 4, 2014

We are from out of town and this is where my fiancé and I came on our first date and we came back again on Saturday night and he proposed to me! The server brought us over a delicious desert to celebrate and congratulated us! It was a perfect proposal and dining experience! Thanks kanpai!!!

Tags: romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

first visit

Dined on July 26, 2014

Heard great things about Kanpai but had never been. Finally had the chance to go and it was well worth it. Excellent food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

I'm 76 and I met my 23 yr old grandaught ...

Dined on July 22, 2014

I'm 76 and I met my 23 yr old grandaughter here for lunch at her suggestion. The lunch menu had many options at a reasonable price. The Thai seasonings were exquisite. I arrived early and was welcomed. Service was prompt and friendly but not intrusive. We chose to sit and chat for a while after we finished and were not hurried out the door! I just wish it was not a 3 hr drive from my home!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

New Sushi Fan

Dined on July 19, 2014

This was my first time eating sushi,and it was excellent. Kanpai came highly recommended by my sister-in-law and brother. I was trying to think if something different to do for my 30th birthday, and Kanpai was it. Everything we ordered was delicious and looked neat and appetizing on the serving plates. My favorite was the Yum Yum Roll. The King Kong Roll was great, too. Even our bowl of rice was delicious. The waitress was very nice and patient as it did take us all a while to make our selections. Kanpai served me a free birthday dessert, and we were given coupons for free crab Rangoon to use when we return. I definitely will be going back soon and can't wait to try other items on the menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Good restaurant

Dined on July 15, 2014

I had a good time and experience at kanpai. The staff was friendly and informative. The sushi wasn't the best I've ever had but it was fresh and certainly tasty.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

Great time with friends!

Dined on July 1, 2014

Food was great! Love the crab rangoons and my new favorite is cookie dough egg rolls. Great place! Will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.