About Kanishka's Gastro Pub

1518 Bonanza St
Walnut Creek, CA 94596
View Larger Map

Noted for Top 100 Best Bites of East Bay #29 (Aug 2016) for Chef's Shikampuri Lamb Sliders by Diablo. Recognized as "Best Gastropub", "Diner's Choice Award 2015-2014", "Fit for Foodies", by OpenTable Diners, "Best Tapas 2015,2014" by Culinary 86 deg Excellence.

Kanishka's brings you the experience of globally inspired "sharable small plates" and Gastro-Curry cuisine with Indian influences by Exec Chef Paramita Roy in a socializing trendy ambiance. The cuisine is offered over a list of seasonally changing craft beers, wines.

Our innovative cuisine has been developed by Exec Chef/Owner Paramita Roy based on her global epicurean travels, comfort cooking, and has East Indian influences as well. Her cuisine also expands to include vegan and 'no-oil' choices. Kanishka's is a neighborhood perfect spot for foodies, travelers, socializing with friends and date night.

Available for events, caterings and weddings on-site and off-site.


Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Tapas / Small Plates, Contemporary Indian

Hours of Operation:
Weekdays Dinner: Tues-Thurs 5 pm - 10 pm

Weekend Lunch: Fri-Sat: 11:30am - 4:00pm

Weekend Dinner: Fri-Sun 5:00pm-10:00pm

Social Hours:

Tues-Sun: 5 pm - 6:30 pm


Closed Monday

Cross Street:
Main St and Locust St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 464-7468

Website:
http://www.kanishkasgastropub.com/

Entertainment:
Modern Rock, EDM, New Age Music
Sports Entertainment, Travel Channel on TV

Catering:
Catering: Pick up/Delivery. Please call 650.995.4113 for catering details. Menu selections (not limited to restaurant menu) created with and/or without beer & wine package based on requirements.

Parking Details:
Street Parking
Parking Garage: within 1-2 blocks

Public Transit:
BART stop - Walnut Creek
Local Bus services within Contra Costa County

Executive Chef:
Paramita Roy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We support local artists to feature artwork / photography available for sale at Kanishka's every 6-8 months and like to donate to a cause. Should you be interested, please send an email to:
kanishkas_cafe@yahoo.com.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Kanishka's Gastro Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Casual (5)
See All
Good for Groups (4)
Fun (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Authentic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Spicy (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Healthy (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Cozy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We stopped in after a movie - love the s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

We stopped in after a movie - love the small plates concept so we can try several dishes. Each plate was flavorful and unique. Service was a bit slow to start, but not a problem throughout the meal. I would recommend this place for date night, special occasions or night out with friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Most unexpected and delicious meal of t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Most unexpected and delicious meal of the year. The food here is very original and yummy. Can't recommend it more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was great but we didn't enjo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The service was great but we didn't enjoy our food too much. We went because our friends recommended it but our experience wasn't that great. We ordered a few appetizers that were okay. I like their concept of modernizing indian street food but it wasn't executed that well. The good tasted okay and some of it was easy too salty. It might be worth a try for someone that haset been and hopefully they will have a better experience than us.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The food here is divine & has been every ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food here is divine & has been every time I've been in. (That kind of consistency is not easy to come by in dining out.). The dishes are inventive, full of flavor, & bc its small plates, one can try so many different things. A unique gem in downtown WC.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding as always. Try the eggwash f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Outstanding as always. Try the eggwash flatbread!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A good place to share plates. Food is s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

A good place to share plates. Food is spicy and original.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Love the small plates and the vegan opti ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Love the small plates and the vegan options. Beer list was great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

HeA great variety of Small plates, and a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

HeA great variety of Small plates, and all delicious. Nice and spicy! Beer and wine selections also delicious. We enjoyed our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Love this place - fun to try different d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Love this place - fun to try different dishes- never had one that wasn't great!!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Healthy, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Quick Bite, Live Sports, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Went there on a girls night. Had an awes ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Went there on a girls night. Had an awesome time. Great appetizers! Very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been here once before about a year ago, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Been here once before about a year ago, food was good but extremely spicy.

This time food was mediocre at best and the service was awful!

Won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Great atmosphere, good service and great ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great atmosphere, good service and great food - could not want for anything!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Owner Permita has brought together s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The Owner Permita has brought together some incredible ingredients to create an Indian fusion menu that changes all the time! I highly recommend checking this place out. The food was awesome, the service was great and it's a nice location too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am not typically into Indian cuisine. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2016

I am not typically into Indian cuisine. This Neo-Indian cuisine restaurant is an exception. Love the creative entrees and appetizers. The spices are not overpowering and you are able to taste the ingredients in the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Wine list is too small and not very good ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Wine list is too small and not very good. Need to add more wines. I would pay the corking fee and take my own wine.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Delicious as always. Their food just has ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Delicious as always. Their food just has SO MUCH FLAVOR. Also, our server was very friendly this time. Their service was never anything we wrote home about but tonight, she was very attentive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Indian-fusion, very good for Vegans and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Indian-fusion, very good for Vegans and those with food issues. Tasty and unique menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Very nice menu very unique-spice levels ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very nice menu very unique-spice levels a little too high but overall very tasty food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We loved this place! It's an interesting ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We loved this place! It's an interesting mix of food, and our server helped us order since we had never been before. She was informative and attentive. The food was delicious. Kanishka's far surpassed our expectations! Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Kanishka's is a fun twist on typical Ind ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Kanishka's is a fun twist on typical Indian fare. Great flavors, and LOTS of choices! Service was delightful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Interesting mix of small plates. "Indian ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Interesting mix of small plates. "Indian" food but with lots of other influences. Best things we had: lamb sliders and paneer lollipops. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good but very small portion ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food was good but very small portions for the price. Everything was pretty expensive - probably 2-3 bucks over what it shld have been. I ordered a Cauliflower and Beet salad that literally had 1 1/2 pieces of cauliflower and 2 slivers of beet on a pile of Arugula for 9 dollars! Really - I mean throw a few more veggies in there. They are cheap! All the dishes felt stingy on the sizing. Food was ok. Tacos were great but I won't go back. Restaurants churn a lot in Walnut Creek. I don't predict this one will be around very long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

This was our first time at Kanishka's an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was our first time at Kanishka's and we really enjoyed it! The food was delicious. One of our favorites was the shrimp with jalapeño mango sauce. Great drinks as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wednesday was 1/2 price bottles of wine ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Wednesday was 1/2 price bottles of wine night- a pleasant surprise. Yummy food with good guidance from the waiter since we didn't know what to order. I was with 4 co- workers and it was a great experience. Try the tutti fruity ice cream for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was not what we expected as we did ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 6, 2016

This was not what we expected as we did not realize it was Indian in theme. But the food was absolutely delicious with fine flavors and unique dishes - we will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food to share!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great food to share!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The food was good and interesting. This ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food was good and interesting. This place is a great choice if you are dining out with a vegetarian.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Lamb sliders always our favorite! And d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Lamb sliders always our favorite! And don't miss the Brussel sprouts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is outstanding, and the service ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food is outstanding, and the service classy. We loved every bite and we were well taken care of.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place but a little disappoint ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Loved this place but a little disappointed this time. Food was not as good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was muddy as if it had been sitting ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Food was muddy as if it had been sitting in a warming pan. It didn't taste fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

I had been told that this place was a bi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2016

I had been told that this place was a bit expensive and 6 of us paid $36 apiece and that's all veggie dishes and no alcohol! I think we ordered too much though as some of their "small plates" are pretty good size. They serve only beer and wine so we had to go next door to Havana for cocktails first! The flavors of all the dishes were wonderful - especially the cauliflower tacos and sliders.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Bad service and underwhelming food. Not ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Bad service and underwhelming food. Not interesting or spicy enough. Shrimp dish did not taste fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Good service, yummy dishes and presentat ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Good service, yummy dishes and presentation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is really good!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2016

This place is really good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lamb sliders!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2016

I could just order the lamb sliders every time and be in heaven. They are out of this world!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excited to try, won't be back

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2016

We are regular diners in the East Bay and had a chance to try Kanishka's Gastro Pub this past week. My family and I love ethnic food and have been spoiled with great foods and flavors.

The restaurant was very nicely decorated and the staff was excellent. I must say the food was very disappointing and quite expensive. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Paneer lollipops, lamb sliders, onion ri ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2016

Paneer lollipops, lamb sliders, onion rings, something off the specials (cauliflower tacos, maybe?) - everything was incredible. Flavorful, perfect amount of spice, unique. The side sauces were insanely tasty and inventive. And my picky, vegetarian partner was also very impressed. Pretty good beer selection, too. I can't wait to try EVERYTHING on the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Neo Indian fusion restaurant is fabulous!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2016

All the dishes here are small plates meant to be shared. They're creative, savory, and presented beautifully. And the taste is wonderful. We had lamb chops, flash fried brussels sprouts, lamb sliders, chicken masala, and reinvented naan. It was all very unexpected, and a real treat. The wine flight was delicious, as was the beer flight. I love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Overpriced for microwaved food

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2016

Really wanted to love this restaurant as the menu sounds amazing. Wasn't happy to receive reheated food. For the price we paid, I expect freshly cooked food. I can reheat rice at home!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.