About Kanishka's Gastro Pub

Noted for Top 100 Best Bites of East Bay #29 (Aug 2016) for Chef's Shikampuri Lamb Sliders by Diablo. Recognized as "Best Gastropub", "Diner's Choice Award 2015-2014", "Fit for Foodies", by OpenTable Diners, "Best Tapas 2015,2014" by Culinary 86 deg Excellence.

Kanishka's brings you the experience of globally inspired "sharable small plates" and Gastro-Curry cuisine with Indian influences by Exec Chef Paramita Roy in a socializing trendy ambiance. The cuisine is offered over a list of seasonally changing craft beers, wines.

Our innovative cuisine has been developed by Exec Chef/Owner Paramita Roy based on her global epicurean travels, comfort cooking, and has East Indian influences as well. Her cuisine also expands to include vegan and 'no-oil' choices. Kanishka's is a neighborhood perfect spot for foodies, travelers, socializing with friends and date night.

Available for events, caterings and weddings on-site and off-site.


1518 Bonanza St
Walnut Creek, CA 94596
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Tapas / Small Plates, Contemporary Indian

Hours of Operation:
Weekdays Dinner: Tues-Thurs 5 pm - 10 pm

Weekend Lunch: Fri-Sat: 11:30am - 4:00pm

Weekend Dinner: Fri-Sun 5:00pm-10:00pm

Social Hours:

Tues-Sun: 5 pm - 6:30 pm


Closed Monday

Cross Street:
Main St and Locust St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 464-7468

Website:
http://www.kanishkasgastropub.com/

Entertainment:
Modern Rock, EDM, New Age Music
Sports Entertainment, Travel Channel on TV

Catering:
Catering: Pick up/Delivery. Please call 650.995.4113 for catering details. Menu selections (not limited to restaurant menu) created with and/or without beer & wine package based on requirements.

Parking Details:
Street Parking
Parking Garage: within 1-2 blocks

Public Transit:
BART stop - Walnut Creek
Local Bus services within Contra Costa County

Executive Chef:
Paramita Roy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We support local artists to feature artwork / photography available for sale at Kanishka's every 6-8 months and like to donate to a cause. Should you be interested, please send an email to:
kanishkas_cafe@yahoo.com.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Kanishka's Gastro Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Casual (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
See All
Fun (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tapas (3)
Authentic (3)
Special Occasion (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Spicy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Business Meals (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Romantic (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
183 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food is tapas style and basically In ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

The food is tapas style and basically Indian with a twist. We loved the food. It was delicious. Service was pretty poor on a sunday night. The waitress was very slow and took a while to comprehend - seemed like she had a computing problem - not processing fast enough. Having said that the beer flight and quality of food made up for it.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Decent food, but small overpriced portio ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Decent food, but small overpriced portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Used to love this place! But unfortunate ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Used to love this place! But unfortunately the quality has deteriorated.

Shrimp was not fresh in the popcorn shrimp. The spiciness of the coating and in the dip provided masked this fact , but could not hide it completely.

The kathi roll was just ok.

The Poutine was just Chicken Tikka poured over fries.. no way innovative ..did not have the ingenuity I had associated the Chef Paromita Das' style with.

The roasted cauliflower and beet salad served had simply blanched cauliflowers (they forgot to roast them, I think) and negligibly thin slices of uncooked beet (was expecting them to be roasted as well, to bring out their sweetness)

Paneer lollipops were over coated,still a tad than other dishes.

The worst was the Lamb Bhuna Keema Masala....surprisingly the dish was over tangy and the fried egg served with it, was over cooked and rubbery! So was the San served it the entree.

Certainly the place seems to have lost its Mojo or its executive Chef's attention!

Have been coming here occasionally, many times in the past few years and had been raving about it's uniqueness in my circle.

But this is the second time we were disappointed ! Not coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Delicious Indian inspired small plates t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Delicious Indian inspired small plates to share. The chickpea sliders and cauliflower pakora (I think that is the name) were amazing. The chef is willing to cater to special dietary needs. We were impressed with the vegan options. If required, lots of gluten free options too. Highly recommend that you give it a try. We plan to go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awful awful service. Poorly made and se ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Awful awful service. Poorly made and served drinks.

I will not be returning here. It's too expensive for what you get.

They have a prime location, but they won't last too long if they continue the way they are.

It's a cold atmosphere and incredibly loud. Difficult to have a conversation.

Again, the service......ugh.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

The food here is so good. I love the cau ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food here is so good. I love the cauliflower tacos. I wish they weren't so expensive though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Shared the Unravelled Samosa, Brussel Sp ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Shared the Unravelled Samosa, Brussel Sprouts, Hummus, Cauliflower Tacos and Coconut Prawn Curry. Chicken Tikka Masala Poutin and some assorted beers. All of the food was outstanding! What a fun place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Spent my New Year's Eve dinner date here ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Spent my New Year's Eve dinner date here and really enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant and outstanding tapas selection. Very well hand crafted tapas that are outside of the box, being unique of anything I've ever tasted. I would highly recommend this restaurant for future special date nights! I will be frequenting this spot much more often!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Romantic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Authentic, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Fun, Live Sports, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had high hopes for this place since a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I had high hopes for this place since a friend told me how great it was. Unfortunately my husband and I were not pleased at all. The host seemed cold and uninterested, the champagne was flat, the wine tasted like it was previously corked, the fries In the poutin were stale, and the naan was undercooked. The only pros for us was our friendly and attentive waitress. The lamb sliders were tasty but over salted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Great menu with lots of small plates to ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Great menu with lots of small plates to try. The Brussels sprouts were great as were the lamb and shrimp curries. The beer selection was also great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great small plates, good friendly servic ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great small plates, good friendly service. The only issue was the pork ribs were a tad bland but the meat fell off the bone. Some additional dipping sauce cured the problem.

All other dishes were amazing

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stopped in after a movie - love the s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We stopped in after a movie - love the small plates concept so we can try several dishes. Each plate was flavorful and unique. Service was a bit slow to start, but not a problem throughout the meal. I would recommend this place for date night, special occasions or night out with friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Most unexpected and delicious meal of t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Most unexpected and delicious meal of the year. The food here is very original and yummy. Can't recommend it more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was great but we didn't enjo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The service was great but we didn't enjoy our food too much. We went because our friends recommended it but our experience wasn't that great. We ordered a few appetizers that were okay. I like their concept of modernizing indian street food but it wasn't executed that well. The good tasted okay and some of it was easy too salty. It might be worth a try for someone that haset been and hopefully they will have a better experience than us.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The food here is divine & has been every ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food here is divine & has been every time I've been in. (That kind of consistency is not easy to come by in dining out.). The dishes are inventive, full of flavor, & bc its small plates, one can try so many different things. A unique gem in downtown WC.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding as always. Try the eggwash f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Outstanding as always. Try the eggwash flatbread!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A good place to share plates. Food is s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

A good place to share plates. Food is spicy and original.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Love the small plates and the vegan opti ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Love the small plates and the vegan options. Beer list was great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

HeA great variety of Small plates, and a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

HeA great variety of Small plates, and all delicious. Nice and spicy! Beer and wine selections also delicious. We enjoyed our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Love this place - fun to try different d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Love this place - fun to try different dishes- never had one that wasn't great!!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Healthy, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Quick Bite, Live Sports, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Went there on a girls night. Had an awes ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Went there on a girls night. Had an awesome time. Great appetizers! Very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been here once before about a year ago, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Been here once before about a year ago, food was good but extremely spicy.

This time food was mediocre at best and the service was awful!

Won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Great atmosphere, good service and great ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great atmosphere, good service and great food - could not want for anything!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Owner Permita has brought together s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The Owner Permita has brought together some incredible ingredients to create an Indian fusion menu that changes all the time! I highly recommend checking this place out. The food was awesome, the service was great and it's a nice location too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am not typically into Indian cuisine. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2016

I am not typically into Indian cuisine. This Neo-Indian cuisine restaurant is an exception. Love the creative entrees and appetizers. The spices are not overpowering and you are able to taste the ingredients in the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Wine list is too small and not very good ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Wine list is too small and not very good. Need to add more wines. I would pay the corking fee and take my own wine.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Delicious as always. Their food just has ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Delicious as always. Their food just has SO MUCH FLAVOR. Also, our server was very friendly this time. Their service was never anything we wrote home about but tonight, she was very attentive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Indian-fusion, very good for Vegans and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Indian-fusion, very good for Vegans and those with food issues. Tasty and unique menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Very nice menu very unique-spice levels ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very nice menu very unique-spice levels a little too high but overall very tasty food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We loved this place! It's an interesting ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We loved this place! It's an interesting mix of food, and our server helped us order since we had never been before. She was informative and attentive. The food was delicious. Kanishka's far surpassed our expectations! Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Kanishka's is a fun twist on typical Ind ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Kanishka's is a fun twist on typical Indian fare. Great flavors, and LOTS of choices! Service was delightful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Interesting mix of small plates. "Indian ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Interesting mix of small plates. "Indian" food but with lots of other influences. Best things we had: lamb sliders and paneer lollipops. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good but very small portion ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food was good but very small portions for the price. Everything was pretty expensive - probably 2-3 bucks over what it shld have been. I ordered a Cauliflower and Beet salad that literally had 1 1/2 pieces of cauliflower and 2 slivers of beet on a pile of Arugula for 9 dollars! Really - I mean throw a few more veggies in there. They are cheap! All the dishes felt stingy on the sizing. Food was ok. Tacos were great but I won't go back. Restaurants churn a lot in Walnut Creek. I don't predict this one will be around very long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

This was our first time at Kanishka's an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was our first time at Kanishka's and we really enjoyed it! The food was delicious. One of our favorites was the shrimp with jalapeño mango sauce. Great drinks as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wednesday was 1/2 price bottles of wine ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Wednesday was 1/2 price bottles of wine night- a pleasant surprise. Yummy food with good guidance from the waiter since we didn't know what to order. I was with 4 co- workers and it was a great experience. Try the tutti fruity ice cream for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was not what we expected as we did ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 6, 2016

This was not what we expected as we did not realize it was Indian in theme. But the food was absolutely delicious with fine flavors and unique dishes - we will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food to share!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great food to share!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The food was good and interesting. This ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food was good and interesting. This place is a great choice if you are dining out with a vegetarian.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Lamb sliders always our favorite! And d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Lamb sliders always our favorite! And don't miss the Brussel sprouts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is outstanding, and the service ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food is outstanding, and the service classy. We loved every bite and we were well taken care of.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.