About Kamei Royale Downtown

Traditional and new? Yes we have them both.



Established in 1976, Kamei Royale was the first Japanese restaurant to introduce the now famous BC Roll and various original sushi dishes found in Vancouver. Presenting the largest counter-top sushi bar and an exhilarating Robata grill showcasing the chef's skills.



Kamei Royale has renovated and renewed itself again in 1990. Bringing forth a brand new bar lounge and Tatami rooms the massive floor space can easily accommodate up to 200 tour groups. Also, with the karaoke lounge now bustling, everyone can enjoy our popular drinks and dishes while singing away to the latest songs ranging from every corner of the planet!

1066 W. Hastings
Vancouver, BC V6E 2X3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: closed

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Burrard St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 687-8588

Website:
http://kameiroyale.com/

Entertainment:
The largest sushi bar in Vancouver to enjoy chef's creation before your eyes. Installed with large TV to enjoy sports and all other entertainment. Karaoke at late night for everyone to join to make a great memory.

Parking Details:
Free Underground Parking after 6:00pm for Kamei Royale customers. Please do not purchase a parking ticket.

Public Transit:
7 minutes walk from 635 Burrard St. SkyTrain station.


002, 022, 032, 044, N22 bus stops right in front of the Burrard Building entrance. Adding, there is 240, 241, 242, 246, 247, 250, 251, 252, 253, 254, 257, N24 bus station near by.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Kamei Royale Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (8)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Business Meals (4)
See All
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Authentic (3)
Casual (3)
Healthy (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Cozy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
66 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (東京)·Dined 3 days ago

サービス対応が素晴らしかった。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

雰囲気がすごく良い。
日本食が食べれてホッとした

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Delicious and very fresh sushi. Service was excellent and very authentically Japanese. Highly recommended!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Staff was very accommodating, food was good, even non-sushi eaters were happy

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We were looking for a traditional Japanese resturant without asian fusion foods. The kaiseki dinners were wonderfully tasty & beautiful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The service was great! The hosts and servers were very informative and kind. They explained items clearly. Food was pretty good too! Highly recommend the Vancouver roll!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Food was excellent! It was reasonably priced. The service was very good and friendly. Menu was extensive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great Japanese, really like the new omakase menu items!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Excellent Japanese Authentic food and service was great. Prices are reasonable.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Our first time visit to Kamai Royale Downtown was a very nice surprise. The sushi rice was done perfectly. We did not experience any MSG symptoms like some other sushi venues. They do it right. We had a salmon box sushi item where the salmon was slightly seared topped with ikura. It was a wonderful and delightful experience. Our friend had a 9 piece omakase appetizer which was also a sight to see as well as tasty. When we're in the area again, we will revisit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

First time in this location since they have shifted. The menu is quite limited as compared to before. Especially the sushi menu, the on line sushi menu has far more variety than the restaurant itself ! Overall food is good and delicious. Service is as usual, very welcoming and
attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 11, 2017

One of the original Japanese restaurants in Vancouver. God food, large menu. Will definitely go again

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Every staff was nothing but short of amazing. Will be back for sure :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great customer service 👍food just normal... just our table to small and wobbling, I asked for bigger table... was declined ... says busy, but not really. It was alright, but now going back for special occasion. There is more better place than this one... free parking is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We like this restaurant, have been coming for years. Freshest sashimi, sea urchin is to die for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (México)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Nice place, good food and excelent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

久々の日本食にはホッとします

海鮮が美味しかったです

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 8, 2017

outstanding sashimi, service a bit slow, old location service was much better. but the food was great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The staff are friendly, the food is good, but if you are looking for a typical west coast sushi joint you may be in for a surprise as the menu items are quite different. There was a large party going on while I was dining at Kamei, so one of my orders was delayed, but the staff gave us a complimentary appetizer while we were waiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Authentic and delicious cuisine. Prices similar to nearby "posh" restaurants but tasted better, was more comfortable, and wasn't pretentious. Upon request, steamed gyoza vs serving it fried, fantastic. Friendly, kind, and patient staff that helped us have a delicious and friendly meal. Really appreciated that staff pointed out both alcohol deals (10% off sake bottle) and special cuisine.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Always has a solid menu selection to please a variety of tastes.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Had a fantastic meal, the food was expertly prepared and delicious. I feel the new location has lost a bit of the purely Japanese charm as the old one but still, just as fantastic. My one qualm with the meal was the tempura, served perfectly hot, and with a great crunch except the oil they used left a lingering oily taste. I'll be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was authentic and they err very accommodating when we were running a little late! The prices were also very reasonable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great selection of Sakes.... extensive food menu. Grilled eel bowl fabulous. Also Katsu-do

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food very fresh, service good, we all enjoyed very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Free parking after 6 pm - nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Osysters are not fresh, I had a donzen of osysters after I had stomach pain

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great food! Reasonable prices.
There was a bd party that made things a little noisy but acceptable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I was very disappointed. Very expensive restaurant. Small portions and none of the dishes were extraordinary compared to other Japanese restaurants frequent in Vancouver and elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Excellent food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 12, 2015

We went here on the last night they were open before the big move to Coal Harbour in Vancouver. We always love the food here and look forward to the new location. We took a baby in a stroller with us and they were very good about finding us a table that worked for everyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 27, 2015

It is very good to have 2 hours free parking after 6pm so that can drive to there for dinner while some other are working at downtown. Great arrangement.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2015

This restaurant is in close proximity to the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver (currently directly across the street) and to many of the other downtown hotels. The menu is diverse and extensive - pleasing to many palates. It is reasonably priced and the service is quick, making this a place that I would recommend and return to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 25, 2015

We totally enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant. The server was very cheerful and helpful in explaining the dishes. The presentation was beautiful. The salad dressing and the tenpura were very delicious.
The sashimi was fresh and tasty. We certainly will come back and recommend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 16, 2015

In downtown Vancouver, you can find a sushi place on nearly every street, and it's generally fairly fresh and good. However, if you are looking for an elevated sushi experience with top notch quality and choices, come to Kamei. This is a fantastic place to take friends, or to take someone for their first sushi. The ambiance is that of a quality restaurant, the service is fabulous (though sometimes a bit slow when they are busy), and the sushi is simply delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 16, 2015

There is something for every tastes at this restaurant - if you would like some privacy, ask for a tatami room

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 11, 2015

This is not an exceptional Japanese restaurant. In a city that has so many excellent ones, we expected this to be among them, but it wasn't. We did ask for and get a tatami room, which gave our party of four a nice privacy. But the food was not notable. The tea was fine, but the fried tofu was nearly flavourless. One of our party was brought the wrong meal. The portions were small for the price. The salted edamame was my favourite thing, but that's hard to get wrong. With no drinks other than tea, and only one ice cream dessert, $150 seemed high for four people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 8, 2015

Food was outstanding, the best Japanese food I ever tasted in Vancouver! The seafood rice and yakisoba highly recommended. The staff was so nice and welcoming, and I liked to see the hostess wearing traditional kimono. I will definitely go there again and recommend this place to all my friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2015

Fish/sashimi is fresh but nothing notable for the remainder of the menu. A bit over priced for what it is

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2015

We were told about this place by our hotel, just up the street. Located in a business tower, the place only has a small sign on the steer level, so look for it. We got 3 sushi rolls and all were fantastic, very fresh and reasonably priced. We will come back when in the area!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.