About Kamei Royale Downtown

Traditional and new? Yes we have them both.



Established in 1976, Kamei Royale was the first Japanese restaurant to introduce the now famous BC Roll and various original sushi dishes found in Vancouver. Presenting the largest counter-top sushi bar and an exhilarating Robata grill showcasing the chef's skills.



Kamei Royale has renovated and renewed itself again in 1990. Bringing forth a brand new bar lounge and Tatami rooms the massive floor space can easily accommodate up to 200 tour groups. Also, with the karaoke lounge now bustling, everyone can enjoy our popular drinks and dishes while singing away to the latest songs ranging from every corner of the planet!

1066 W. Hastings
Vancouver, BC V6E 2X3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: closed

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Burrard St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 687-8588

Website:
http://kameiroyale.com/

Entertainment:
The largest sushi bar in Vancouver to enjoy chef's creation before your eyes. Installed with large TV to enjoy sports and all other entertainment. Karaoke at late night for everyone to join to make a great memory.

Parking Details:
Free Underground Parking after 6:00pm for Kamei Royale customers. Please do not purchase a parking ticket.

Public Transit:
7 minutes walk from 635 Burrard St. SkyTrain station.


002, 022, 032, 044, N22 bus stops right in front of the Burrard Building entrance. Adding, there is 240, 241, 242, 246, 247, 250, 251, 252, 253, 254, 257, N24 bus station near by.

Private Party Facilities:
Kamei Royale is the only remaining restaurant which can provide a private Japanese Tatami room which doors can be closed. Due to the new regulation, no other restaurant may obtain rights to recreate closed Tatami room like Kamei Royale offers.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Kamei Royale Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Tasting Menu (3)
Business Meals (3)
Casual (2)
See All
Fit for Foodies (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Authentic (1)
Family Style (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Creative Cuisine (0)
Fun (0)
Great for Lunch (0)
Cozy (0)
Spicy (0)
Sort By:
S
53 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great customer service 👍food just normal... just our table to small and wobbling, I asked for bigger table... was declined ... says busy, but not really. It was alright, but now going back for special occasion. There is more better place than this one... free parking is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We like this restaurant, have been coming for years. Freshest sashimi, sea urchin is to die for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (México)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Nice place, good food and excelent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

久々の日本食にはホッとします

海鮮が美味しかったです

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 9, 2017

outstanding sashimi, service a bit slow, old location service was much better. but the food was great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The staff are friendly, the food is good, but if you are looking for a typical west coast sushi joint you may be in for a surprise as the menu items are quite different. There was a large party going on while I was dining at Kamei, so one of my orders was delayed, but the staff gave us a complimentary appetizer while we were waiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Authentic and delicious cuisine. Prices similar to nearby "posh" restaurants but tasted better, was more comfortable, and wasn't pretentious. Upon request, steamed gyoza vs serving it fried, fantastic. Friendly, kind, and patient staff that helped us have a delicious and friendly meal. Really appreciated that staff pointed out both alcohol deals (10% off sake bottle) and special cuisine.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Always has a solid menu selection to please a variety of tastes.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Had a fantastic meal, the food was expertly prepared and delicious. I feel the new location has lost a bit of the purely Japanese charm as the old one but still, just as fantastic. My one qualm with the meal was the tempura, served perfectly hot, and with a great crunch except the oil they used left a lingering oily taste. I'll be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was authentic and they err very accommodating when we were running a little late! The prices were also very reasonable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great selection of Sakes.... extensive food menu. Grilled eel bowl fabulous. Also Katsu-do

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food very fresh, service good, we all enjoyed very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Osysters are not fresh, I had a donzen of osysters after I had stomach pain

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Free parking after 6 pm - nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great food! Reasonable prices.
There was a bd party that made things a little noisy but acceptable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I was very disappointed. Very expensive restaurant. Small portions and none of the dishes were extraordinary compared to other Japanese restaurants frequent in Vancouver and elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Excellent food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 13, 2015

We went here on the last night they were open before the big move to Coal Harbour in Vancouver. We always love the food here and look forward to the new location. We took a baby in a stroller with us and they were very good about finding us a table that worked for everyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 28, 2015

It is very good to have 2 hours free parking after 6pm so that can drive to there for dinner while some other are working at downtown. Great arrangement.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2015

This restaurant is in close proximity to the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver (currently directly across the street) and to many of the other downtown hotels. The menu is diverse and extensive - pleasing to many palates. It is reasonably priced and the service is quick, making this a place that I would recommend and return to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 26, 2015

We totally enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant. The server was very cheerful and helpful in explaining the dishes. The presentation was beautiful. The salad dressing and the tenpura were very delicious.
The sashimi was fresh and tasty. We certainly will come back and recommend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 17, 2015

In downtown Vancouver, you can find a sushi place on nearly every street, and it's generally fairly fresh and good. However, if you are looking for an elevated sushi experience with top notch quality and choices, come to Kamei. This is a fantastic place to take friends, or to take someone for their first sushi. The ambiance is that of a quality restaurant, the service is fabulous (though sometimes a bit slow when they are busy), and the sushi is simply delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 17, 2015

There is something for every tastes at this restaurant - if you would like some privacy, ask for a tatami room

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 12, 2015

This is not an exceptional Japanese restaurant. In a city that has so many excellent ones, we expected this to be among them, but it wasn't. We did ask for and get a tatami room, which gave our party of four a nice privacy. But the food was not notable. The tea was fine, but the fried tofu was nearly flavourless. One of our party was brought the wrong meal. The portions were small for the price. The salted edamame was my favourite thing, but that's hard to get wrong. With no drinks other than tea, and only one ice cream dessert, $150 seemed high for four people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 9, 2015

Food was outstanding, the best Japanese food I ever tasted in Vancouver! The seafood rice and yakisoba highly recommended. The staff was so nice and welcoming, and I liked to see the hostess wearing traditional kimono. I will definitely go there again and recommend this place to all my friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2015

Fish/sashimi is fresh but nothing notable for the remainder of the menu. A bit over priced for what it is

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2015

We were told about this place by our hotel, just up the street. Located in a business tower, the place only has a small sign on the steer level, so look for it. We got 3 sushi rolls and all were fantastic, very fresh and reasonably priced. We will come back when in the area!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 24, 2015

Visit Kamei Royale Downtown, if you need to meet friends, spend a quiet evening with family, or have a special occasion. You should not worry about the food quality - it would be fresh, safe, and authentically Japanese. Wonderful feature to serve set of sashimi, sushi, and tempura on the wooden boats will attract attention of your friends, who visit this place for a first time. We visited Kamei Royale five times for lunch and dinner and were always satisfied. They have a short "European wine" list but, of course, this place is mostly for sake and beer drinkers. Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 24, 2015

Service staff was inattentive. Never came back after we said we'll need a minute to look at the drink order (we actually had to go get the server, who was not busy). Similar thing happened to our second round food order.
There was 15% gratuity already added on a group of 4 adults & 1 infant. I questioned this, and the server confirmed any party of 5+ (even with an infant) will incur an automatic gratuity. (looking at their menu online now, it says the gratuity will be added on a group of 6. liars...). Unheard of.
Safe to say we will never go back, and, and will definitely not recommend to any of our friends/colleagues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 23, 2015

Very expensive for the type of food and taste that you can at most japanese restaurant. Ambiance was noisy we felt more in a Izakawa "japanese pub" where people were shouting.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 1, 2015

Food was great but service was very poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Perth / WA)·Dined on January 23, 2015

We were a group of 5 adults and 1 one year old.
We ordered a varied selection of food.
It was all great
We'll come again next time we're in vancouver

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 17, 2015

Good gathering place and convenient.
The rolls and sashimi were yummy~~
The steamed mussels with white wine sauce are acceptable as they are quite small and the taste was not as rich as I expected.
However, overall the food were delicious,

thank you for services & food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
·Dined on January 1, 2015

Once again this restaurant served an amazing new years eve dinner. Food is always amazing and staff are friendly and attentive without being over the top.

Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 24, 2014

We met with friends for a pre christmas celebration. Our waiter (a first in our many visits) was efficient and attentive). The food came hot (or cold) and on time and made for a perfect evening. One of our favourites in Vancouver every time we visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 20, 2014

Group of seven had dinner at the restaurant. Seating arrangement allowed for good interaction amongst the group. Food was very good and we did not have to wait very long between dishes. Service and was excellent - we had one guest with a nut allergy and the servers made recommendations and really looked after the individual. I certainly recommend the restaurant for dinning.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 26, 2014

Excellent food, great rooms for groups. Loved the sliding door cubicle on the corner great to have a business meeting and eat at the same time. All the food was FRESH and appreciated the loads of ginger on request! Delist.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 12, 2014

The lobster soup and the seafood salad were excellent. However, the unagi (eel) was terribly boney and had a dried out taste. It should not be served. The tempura would have been good if the batter had been crisp.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 31, 2014

A former must go to restaurant for my adult kids when they return to Vancouver, the sushi was not well made, but worse is the nori was shockingly not crisp, making the sushi difficult to chew.
Service is also slow when we go with large groups. It was good this time for a party of 3.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 26, 2014

Service is wonderful , quick but they don't rush you. All the dishes we preferred are very tastey . We were in one of the separate rooms I love the traditional lower table and shoes off .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.