Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui

What we serve at Ka‘ana, we serve from the heart. We source from local farmers, ranchers, and fishermen. We only put on your plate what we feel is proper to serve. Our pairings speak to the ability to connect the elements of taste, smell, and touch with everything around us.
Our dishes are prepared using techniques from around the culinary world, but thought-out in accordance with our micro-climate. The way we prepare our fish, season our salads, and grill our meat depends not only on its origin, but what the weather tells us, how the swells on the ocean shape our mood, and how the land influences our feelings.
Here we hope to blur the lines between your kitchen and our restaurant, between what is external and what is internal. We invite you in, share our hopes, and create a unique dining experience that connects you to this place and its essence.

3550 Wailea Alanui Dr
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Hawaiian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST: 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM

LUNCH: CLOSED

DINNER: 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 573-1234

Website:
http://maui.andaz.hyatt.com/en/hotel/dining/ka_ana-kitchen.html

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Isaac Bancaco

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Details

Sharing food with the people you love is a big part of traditional
Hawaiian culture. Join us this Valentine’s Day for a delicious
four-course prix fixe dinner at $155++/person in Ka’ana Kitchen.

Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
See All
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Romantic (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Scenic View (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Authentic (9)
Waterfront (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Healthy (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Organic (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Fun (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Live Music (4)
Seasonal (4)
Casual (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Tapas (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort by
S
786 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 19 hours ago

Fabulous food. Really wonderful dining experience. Can’t wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Our favorite, must dine at place in Maui. Never fails to surprise our palates.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 16, 2018

The food just wasn't very good. We can't say that we would return for another visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Portions extremely small for the price they ask. This is not molecular michlen art, come on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Food - awesome!! Had Octopus and Ahi Tataki as starters, fish and Wagyu striploin as mains - all were perfectly prepared. Charlie the wine Somm provided excellent pairings and Mike, our server, was on point. Highly recommended...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (München)·Dined on January 9, 2018

We had the seared tuna belly for starters, it was OK, but not really super fresh. Our seabass entree was too spicy and the wagyu strip loin tasted like ordinary beef. The wine list impressed with its selection and shocked with the prices. The restaurant does not come up with what we expected from our Andaz experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Ka’ana has never disappointed. Staff is great; very attentive. A big shout out to Chef Isaac, Archer, and Charlie!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Great dinner and service was even lucky enough to be present for a surprise performance from a fire dancer. Really enjoyed our dinner here. Even better was breakfast the next day. Their breakfast buffet is absolutely outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 3, 2018

Lovely room and outdoor dining area. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2018

For context on this review, my boyfriend and I ate here on New Years Eve when they had a four course prix fixe menu for $175 per person. In short, the meal was bland, boring, and in no way worth the cost.

For our first course, both of us had the fried oysters. They took nearly 30 min to arrive and were overcooked and rather flavorless. For the second, my boyfriend had the grilled octopus and I had the shrimp. This was the highlight of the meal for both of us. The main course he had was grey snapper. It was blackened and acceptable but in no way original in its preparation. I had lobster, also acceptable but largely bland. The desserts were equally unremarkable.

The highlights were the wine advisor who recommended an excellent Pinot Noir that paired well with dinner, although that bottle and pretty much the entire wine list was overpriced by about 25%, even for Hawaii. I also ordered a second glass of champagne a la carte after the complimentary glass that came with dessert. It was terrible AND $29 per glass.

I have no problem paying for high quality and unique dining experiences. This was neither. Maui is packed with other dining experiences that are less expensive, more authentic, and of higher quality. Avoid this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Had a pretty poor experience. Started with an arrogant hostess. Food was pretty good but portions extremely small, while ordering specifically asked if it would be enough food was assured it would be else we can order more, however then said kitchen was shut. Left hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 27, 2017

The corkage fee is absolutely ridiculously high!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Horrible service. Left one hour at table without getting the first course - food served only after complaint
Champagne bottle put on table without opening
Initially sat outside the restaurant in noisy aisle
Horrible inattentive service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Phenomenal. We ate here for Christmas dinner, so it was a 3 course menu. Everything was really delicious with very creative dishes from start to finish. If this is any indicator of their regular menu, I would absolutely recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Christmas with my dad ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Wonderful meal and service. It's expensive but worth the drive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 22, 2017

By far the best restaurant in Wailea and probably one of the best restaurants in Maui. Great food, service and energy every time we dine. Thanks for making our evening so special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Awesome experience! Server was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Delicious small plates that are perfect to share with a wonderful sunset view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 20, 2017

Food was very good especially the olive bread-Maitre D' was a bit clueless when seating is--nice open plan kitchen

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 14, 2017

We had drinks at the poolside bar before dinner at sunset. They had live music. The atmosphere was wonderful the entire night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 13, 2017

good!!!!
good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Lovely outdoor table overlooking the ocean. Meals were delicious and beautifully presented. Attentive wait staff. Great place for a special evening

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 6, 2017

This place is awesome and every foodie will love it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 5, 2017

Best meal in Maui!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 5, 2017

Great food and service. My second time there. The octopus, the watermelon salad, and the waygu entree were wonderful. At they recommended, we shared the diverse dishes as if they were tapas. One small glitch... at the end of the meal I asked the hostess if I could order a desert to bring home to my wife. She said that "we don't do take-out". I guess I could have ordered it as part of the meal and asked to take it home in a "doggy-bag".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2017

Knowledgeable staff, delicious food, decent wine selection and lovely ambience. Had a lovely meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

The food was amazing. The only complaint we had is the service was really slow.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Fabulous experience at Ka'ana Kitchen, starting with a great cocktail--the Ka'ana Old Fashioned, and our shared starter of the grilled octopus. Probably the best version of octopus we have ever had. The rest of the meal was great, and the choices made it difficult to choose. Great view, great ambiance, great service.

Tags: Authentic, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 29, 2017

Food was amazing! We had the fried chicken and shrimp risotto both were exceptional and we would go back again! Service was also quick and thorough! Thanks for a wonderful night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 27, 2017

Food was good, not outstanding but quantities were small and price very high. Ambiance is great.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Enjoyed the ambiance and great service along with amazing food and the bar below has poolside drinks and live music.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Great breakfast buffets for 5 days, with excellent cheerful friendly staff (especially Jansen and Nic), even open kitchen cooking staff. Dinner was something else. It was a really off night, I guess. We are pretty low maintenance; we didn't need a cocktail or a glass of wine, as some guests do. But we waited 30 minutes for a server to come over; he said he wasn't informed that we were there. Chris must have forgotten to put our main order in. It was a long wait for Fried chicken and Risotto. The menu was hard to understand listed in columns by theme, but not clear which were starters or entrees. The food was overpriced even for Maui Wailea resort standards (we live here, and ate out in Wailea all week. We had a great dinner at The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea 2 nights before.) I posted on Facebook that Fried Chicken was $44, and the response among my 5000 friends around the world ranged from disbelief and hysterical laughter ("you were taken for a ride!"); I quickly took down the post. Watermelon salad was basic, and desserts were simple. Not a good value. Disappointing, as we have been enjoying our staycation at Andaz all week.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 23, 2017

The food is good but not great. The service is excellent. However the prices are outrageous. This may be the second most expensive restaurant on Maui. In my opinion, the value is not there

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 22, 2017

Great location at the Andaz! We loved sitting on the patio and had awesome service! Can be a little pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 22, 2017

A local Maui friend recommended the Ka'ana Kitchen and we decided to try it for my birthday. The location and set up of the restaurant is great and we had a nice table. The service was good and the food was not bad to almost good. But - for the price and portion sizes - the food was marginally bland at times. Overall it was not bad, but not good enough to come back or recommend.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 21, 2017

Not the meal the drinks nor the service are worth the price this place is grossly overrated And over priced.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2017

The locally sourced ingredients were put together in interesting dishes. The food was very good. It was fun to watch the operations in the open kitchen and bar. Next time we will try to get seats at the counter of the kitchen/bar. Professional and pleasant staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Organic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Local fish dish was solid. Deconstructed chocolate tres leches dessert was genius!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Everything was perfect! Farm to table food is amazing, servers are so cool and refined all at the same time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.