Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui

What we serve at Ka‘ana, we serve from the heart. We source from local farmers, ranchers, and fishermen. We only put on your plate what we feel is proper to serve. Our pairings speak to the ability to connect the elements of taste, smell, and touch with everything around us.
Our dishes are prepared using techniques from around the culinary world, but thought-out in accordance with our micro-climate. The way we prepare our fish, season our salads, and grill our meat depends not only on its origin, but what the weather tells us, how the swells on the ocean shape our mood, and how the land influences our feelings.
Here we hope to blur the lines between your kitchen and our restaurant, between what is external and what is internal. We invite you in, share our hopes, and create a unique dining experience that connects you to this place and its essence.

3550 Wailea Alanui Dr
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Hawaiian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST: 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM

LUNCH: CLOSED

DINNER: 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 573-1234

Website:
http://maui.andaz.hyatt.com/en/hotel/dining/ka_ana-kitchen.html

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Isaac Bancaco

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Local Ingredients (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Open Kitchen (25)
Romantic (22)
Waterfront (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Special Occasion (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Modern Decor (14)
Live Music (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Healthy (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Authentic (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Organic (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Seasonal (6)
Cozy (6)
Casual (5)
Business Meals (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
People Watching (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tapas (3)
Vegan (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Family Style (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Private Room (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
 (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
 (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
676 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was good, but not great for all the hype. Definitely not good value. Limited menu with overpriced entries and appetizers that leave you unsatisfied. Ambience was excellent - great outdoor seating.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

it was a great choice to have a dinner at Ka'ana , especially if you stay at Andaz resort . The food was surprisingly amazing, we got 27 oz steak for $69 ONLY, Father's Day special. It tastes really great. And the Maui Sea bass was delicious too. The green avocado salad was so fresh and tasty. Nice mood here, enjoy live music if you come after 5:30pm with downstair's bar.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent food, cool layout. Limited menu in a good way - everything is fresh and local.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The kitchen is not a place for a "bargain" meal, it's a great experience and a great meal. Cocktails are wonderful. Service is outstanding, food is inventive and wonderful. We sit at one of the bars. You have a personal bar tender, the food is made in the open. Our bartender was Archer, he does a great job and is very personable.
We will go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The food was wonderful! Local produce used in dishes. Service great.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Excellent food!!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We ate our breakfast here. The menu was extensive and creative. The mimosas were delicious. The meal was fabulous. We left very satisfied and happy that we chose to dine there.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Food was amazing, took care for my allergy but the food was amazing we shared ever and had the shrimp risotto( amazing), watermelon salad, grilled octopus and fresh catch. So fresh and flavors amazing. Pricey but worth it for special vacation.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Beautiful food, with exceptional flavors and textures. The service was outstanding and it was so lovely sitting outside watching the sunset enjoying yummy dishes !

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Great atmosphere. Beautiful and seasonal menu. Awesome service 👏🏼

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2017

A great tasting menu and good for sharing - fun and creative food

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We live on Oahu and love to sneak away to Maui from time to time. Oahu has some
amazing restaurants that we enjoy quite often. This was our second visit to Ka'ana
Kitchen and we were so delighted with our choices, that our server, Gwen assisted
in selecting - we wish we had another night to experience on this short trip to Wailea.

Everything we selected was just outstanding, and the overall winner was the chicken
entree - that we both wishes we had our own rather than sharing.....it was just so
yummy with very unique flavors.

You will not be disappointed...very creative, fresh, locally sourced veggies and fish
and pretty much everything on the menu is a winner. Bring a 'dart' so you can make
your selection without being frustrated:):):). Bon Appetit!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We were extremely disappointed... $300.00 for the three of us (including tip). Food quality was less than expected (requested salt to bring out some flavor), one entre dish quantity very small compared to others. Service was not to be found. Had to ask for Iced Tea and water refills, empty cocktail glasses sat on table, had to ask for table to be reset, food took forever to arrive... not the check though, it was brought immediately... Poor, very poor!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 15, 2017

So delicious and such creative dishes. Not huge portions but everything was beautiful and very well thought out in its preparation and presentation.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Andaz is my favorite place. I booked this for a place 2 weeks in advanced for Mother's I can take my mom for Mother's Day. Upon getting their 15 mins early I checked in with the girl in the front holding the Pad checking everyone in, and she told me and my mom to sit to the side and wait for my hostess. After siting there for about 20 mins, I got up and asked how long more would we need to wait because I saw her check in about 10 other reservations as we sat there. She told me she had forgot and checked up in already. What kind of service is this?

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food was good although the portions were extremely small. And the prices were rediculously expensive. It was more expensive to eat here than at Merriman's in Kapalua, and Maerriman's is the best on Maui. Get over yourself Ka'ana Kitchen. Also the drinks were $18 each and they were weak. If you spend $18 on a cocktail you expect to get your money's worth. I will never eat here again. Although the live music was awesome. This would be a great place, if the prices came down about 40% across the board.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Fresh, local ingredients paired so well! Enjoyed every bite.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 8, 2017

After being seated we were poured water and then waited over 20 minute before our waiter arrived at all. There was no apology and from there it took time to get drinks food etc...overall for a party of 2 our dinner took 2 hours.

I also noted in my reservation it was a special occasion and that was not taken into consideration.

The food was good and the restaurant was nice but the service for us was not good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food was delicious as always! We ordered the calamari salad, the daily fish and the shrimp risotto. Love the view... service tonight was just adequate. Our server didn't go out of his way to make us feel welcome, he was aloof.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I had dinner and next day breakfast. Dinner was good. It seems fusion style and looked exotic. Children's menu need to be improved. Local fish and vegitables were good. Morning buffet was better than last day's dinner.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Absolutely fantastic! We were a party of 3 and shared appetizers and main courses, so we could try multiple items. We were all raving about literally every single thing we were served. We had been to a number of other fine dining restaurants prior to our reservation here, including Duo Steak and Mama's Fish House. While both of those other restaurants have special places in our hearts and we love them, our meal at K'aana Kitchen was the best we had during this trip to Maui. The buttermilk chicken is out of this world good. We also had the Lobster Creole and the Maui Caught Fish entree. Portions were very reasonable for the items our waiter noted as "entree" items. For appetizers, we had the Watermelon Salad, the Wagyu Hanger Steak, and the Pork Belly. Appetizers are somewhat small, but the quality and presentation justifies the price. The music from the pool/bar below the restaurant was a bit loud, but it was nice music and it added to the ambiance. The view of the ocean is lovely. We had a wonderful time. Our expectations were exceeded, and our expectations were high! Thank you!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Experience was amazing! Totally above and beyond! Everyone was so friendly and we were totally impressed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Ka'Ana Kitchen was a nice pleasant surprise for my wife and I. We were celebrating our 30th year of marriage and chose Ka'Ana Kitchen for dinner our last night in Maui. The hotel lobby and views are so beautiful so it's a perfect setting. I had the Shashimi appetizer and the seared Tuna a main course, accompanied with a glass of 2013 Groth Cabernet. The meal was really good and we loved the ambience as well. 5 Stars for this place!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great ambiance, beautiful setting, amazing food but very expensive- buyer beware!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Chef's table dining experience was amazing. Wine pairings were also amazing. Highly recommend doing this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our waiter went from table to table with the same "description" of the menu because it was difficult to understand. We shared the octopus appetizer which was very bland. My husband had the "fried chicken which was tough & chewy. I would only let the waiter pour a little of the rich sauce over my fish. this place is trying to hard to be fancy. I only gave it 2 stars because of the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Our server, John, was excellent, knowledgeable, friendly and helpful, as were his support staff. The food was outstanding, flavorful, creative and visually appealing, though my wife's Wagyu beef was slightly tougher than good marbling alone would suggest. But overall, a fantastic meal in a magical setting, overlooking the sun setting over the beach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Poor experience - either very bad service or not gay friendly. Either way, was very disappointing. Food quality was fine. Good view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Excellent Service, Food and Ambiance! We love the freshness of their menu and also love to watch our dining delights (menu choices) being prepared right before our eyes; such artistry and so ONO!! Definitely a must for locals as well as visitors. Mahalo to all!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Food awesome, JD best waiter, choices great, outdoor seating the best, music from downstairs was really good, wine by the glass choices great, friendly staff and informative

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Best meal we had in Maui. This was a spectacular meal, even beats Mama's Fishouse(which we love)! We'll definitely return!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Hot Spot, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Organic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Outstanding meal, best in Maui. Arrive early and try specialty drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The portion sizes were super small. For example, the Shrimp Risotto was 4 shrimp and the Bigeye Ahi had four small pieces for $46. Everything tasted good but it was way over priced for the super small portions.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: , ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Amazing night. Service was great and the view was great

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Staff extremely inefficient at seating, bringing menus and drink refills etc. The food was wonderful as usual. It's a shame they've forgotten how to serve and to wait on their customers. I long for the days when the Andaz just opened and the wait staff dressed appropriately and were professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The food, from the watermelon to the ahi to the noodles , was incredible. The sommelier, Charlie, was spot on with his choice of wine!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Amazing food, a great band was playing at the bar while we watched the sun set from the balcony. Our server was very attentive and the sommelier was also incredibly knowledgeable and helpful..he didn't push the most expensive wine on us just what he thought was best. The dinner wasn't cheap, but worth it for our last night in Hawaii.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The cuisine is excelllent , extremely well prepared and presented. Good variety of selections with vegetarian options as well
Swrvice was attentive
The design is attractive and well designed with an open kitchen Interior and exterior dining
I'm certain the host thought we would appreciate sitting outdoors overlooking the bar and music but I think if the options are open they should ask
The bar area below was a bit noisy. But then the music began and it improved
Again it is certainly a should try restaurant on Maui

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Ka'ana Kitchen, Apple Store meets fine dining. The food was innovative and well executed. The staff should learn how to listen better to the clientele. AND, for heaven sake, SLOW down. With that said, the food was FUN to eat and its presentation was clever. Good job.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 30, 2017

very good very friendly nice service !

table was not clean ....

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.