Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui

What we serve at Ka‘ana, we serve from the heart. We source from local farmers, ranchers, and fishermen. We only put on your plate what we feel is proper to serve. Our pairings speak to the ability to connect the elements of taste, smell, and touch with everything around us.
Our dishes are prepared using techniques from around the culinary world, but thought-out in accordance with our micro-climate. The way we prepare our fish, season our salads, and grill our meat depends not only on its origin, but what the weather tells us, how the swells on the ocean shape our mood, and how the land influences our feelings.
Here we hope to blur the lines between your kitchen and our restaurant, between what is external and what is internal. We invite you in, share our hopes, and create a unique dining experience that connects you to this place and its essence.

3550 Wailea Alanui Dr
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Hawaiian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST: 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM

LUNCH: CLOSED

DINNER: 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 573-1234

Website:
http://maui.andaz.hyatt.com/en/hotel/dining/ka_ana-kitchen.html

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Isaac Bancaco

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (34)
Good for a Date (34)
Fit for Foodies (34)
See All
Open Kitchen (33)
Scenic View (32)
Local Ingredients (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Romantic (26)
Waterfront (22)
Special Occasion (20)
Modern Decor (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Authentic (11)
Live Music (11)
Seasonal (10)
Fun (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Healthy (9)
People Watching (8)
Cozy (8)
Casual (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Organic (5)
Business Meals (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Private Room (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Family Style (4)
Tapas (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Vegan (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
648 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Our server, John, was excellent, knowledgeable, friendly and helpful, as were his support staff. The food was outstanding, flavorful, creative and visually appealing, though my wife's Wagyu beef was slightly tougher than good marbling alone would suggest. But overall, a fantastic meal in a magical setting, overlooking the sun setting over the beach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent Service, Food and Ambiance! We love the freshness of their menu and also love to watch our dining delights (menu choices) being prepared right before our eyes; such artistry and so ONO!! Definitely a must for locals as well as visitors. Mahalo to all!

Tags: Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Food awesome, JD best waiter, choices great, outdoor seating the best, music from downstairs was really good, wine by the glass choices great, friendly staff and informative

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Best meal we had in Maui. This was a spectacular meal, even beats Mama's Fishouse(which we love)! We'll definitely return!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Hot Spot, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Organic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Outstanding meal, best in Maui. Arrive early and try specialty drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The portion sizes were super small. For example, the Shrimp Risotto was 4 shrimp and the Bigeye Ahi had four small pieces for $46. Everything tasted good but it was way over priced for the super small portions.

Tags: , ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Amazing night. Service was great and the view was great

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Staff extremely inefficient at seating, bringing menus and drink refills etc. The food was wonderful as usual. It's a shame they've forgotten how to serve and to wait on their customers. I long for the days when the Andaz just opened and the wait staff dressed appropriately and were professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The food, from the watermelon to the ahi to the noodles , was incredible. The sommelier, Charlie, was spot on with his choice of wine!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Amazing food, a great band was playing at the bar while we watched the sun set from the balcony. Our server was very attentive and the sommelier was also incredibly knowledgeable and helpful..he didn't push the most expensive wine on us just what he thought was best. The dinner wasn't cheap, but worth it for our last night in Hawaii.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The cuisine is excelllent , extremely well prepared and presented. Good variety of selections with vegetarian options as well
Swrvice was attentive
The design is attractive and well designed with an open kitchen Interior and exterior dining
I'm certain the host thought we would appreciate sitting outdoors overlooking the bar and music but I think if the options are open they should ask
The bar area below was a bit noisy. But then the music began and it improved
Again it is certainly a should try restaurant on Maui

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Ka'ana Kitchen, Apple Store meets fine dining. The food was innovative and well executed. The staff should learn how to listen better to the clientele. AND, for heaven sake, SLOW down. With that said, the food was FUN to eat and its presentation was clever. Good job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 30, 2017

very good very friendly nice service !

table was not clean ....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Absolutely superb! One of the best dining experiences we've ever had. Go for dinner during live music and snag an outdoor seat if possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 26, 2017

From the food to the service and everything else, you couldn't ask for a better dining experience! I HIGHLY recommend this fine dining establishment for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

First date night away from the newborn! And a belated birthday, and an anniversary. But really no reason needed to go to Ka'Ana kitchen 👌🏻

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We found that Ka'ana Kitchen had an interesting approach to the Farm-table dinner service and a creative menu! Our server asked if it was our first time at the Ka'ana? He quickly explained how the menu worked... important to know because some of the dishes are quite small and the menu at first glance is a little confusing. Once we understood the menu, it was easy to make choices. We were impressed how the menu celebrated each of the contributors, from the local fisherman who caught the fish for that night's entree, to the farms that provided the tomatoes. I would recommend ordering several dishes and sharing! The flavor of each dish was outstanding.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Live Music, Fun, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 20, 2017

For us it came down to value for the cost. This is a place to be seen....loud crowd and music, more so than a place to enjoy a great meal. Don't get me wrong, the ambience is nice, the service was very good, but the cost of being at the andaz outweighed the meal. Octopus and Waygu tapas were good. Their interpretation of chicken and waffles was better than good. White cake desert was above average. Drinks and wine were quite expensive, along with the rest of the meal. No real glaring issues other than our perceived value vs. the other restaurants we went to during this visit to the greatest place on earth.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Left much to be desired. Restaurant not busy, yet felt like service was not there. Beverages not very tasty.. Even a basic Pina colada tasted wrong, their signature drink bland. Food choices described as family style, yet portion not generous enough to be appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Amazing !!!!!!!!!! Great view overlooking the pools. Food and staff were fabulous.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Best meal on island. Tia (sic?) was superb. Food was great. We liked all five dishes we shared. Fried chicken and watermelon salad were highlights. Would go again and have heard great things about brunch there. Highly recommended.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Waterfront, Authentic, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This restaurant was in walking distance of our hotel and we wanted to walk home on the beach. The food was excellent and our server was great at explaining all the menu options as many were unusual. My husband and I split the Waipoli Greens salad and Ahi tataki appetizer. They were excellent. I had the Hawaiian Snapper (Fresh Maui Catch of the day) and my husband had the fried chicken. Both were excellent. We enjoyed the table out side overlooking the cascading pools and you could hear the Hawaiin music from the open air bar on the level just below. It was a little pricier than we thought but we were not disappointed.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Awesome food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Good overall but highly priced. Service was excellent and food delivery was well timed.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The food was fine but was not as excellent as it should have been based on the prices. The place is a bit overrated.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very enjoyable evening. The service, food and wine were perfect. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Exquisite food, esp local fish like moon fish, and superb service.

Tags: Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I had some concerns initially about this place because I was unable to truly understand the menu. All of this was put to ease vey quickly as our server took the time to explain the dinner options and the thought behind the menu. We had four separate appetizers and four completely different entrees. We shared many of the different options and everything was absolutely amazing. I personally had the steak which I can honestly say it is a top 3 steak I have had in my life and that is a lot considering I lived in New Orleans for a long period of time. I have never had a New York strip steak so delicately crafted with flavor and tenderness. This is an absolute must eat at dining experience for any couple or friends wanting to be blown away with a unique eating experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Loved this place on our honeymoon. Great food and great service. Only hiccup was they had an issue processing our payment, but since we were staying at the hotel, they were able to work it all out.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Disappointing decline since our last visit in quality of food and underseasoned (if you don't want to season your food, at least put salt and pepper on the table so diners can). Very dilute cocktails. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 3, 2017

All food in Maui is expensive, but the food here was incredible. Best meal of the trip. Excellent wine list as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The lobster creole was to die for! My coctail was $24.00 , Really! Is there no limit to how much you can charge in Wailea! The wine list is also wayyy too expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The menu was confusing. The food was tasty but did not feel there was value for the price.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very romantic setting, watching the beautiful Maui sunset, great service, food came out quick and was delicious!

Tags: Seasonal, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great setting and very interesting menu. Full marks to the chef

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food was sourced locally and the atmosphere was amazing. I would definitely recommend for any new traveler in Wailea! My wife and I had visited several of the places that provided the ingredients too, making it that much more meaningful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We were disappointed. Have eaten here five times in since they opened four years ago, on our annual visits to Maui. It used to be great. The menu has not changed much and the dishes are not as well executed. The octopus was tough this time, as was the chicken. The watermelon in the salad was not sweet and ripe and the walnuts did not seem candied. These are subtle dishes that depend on perfect ingredients and prep. The wagyu beef app. was tasty but not tender. We had better fried chicken at Tin Roof earlier in the week for $9.00 Single shot espresso was served in a 6 oz. coffee cup. Really? Coconut sundae with fudge sauce was yummy.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines dinner-fixed price menu. Food was good, presentation was beautiful but ambiance was horrible especially for the price. We were seated in what was really a public walkway, fine for a casual lunch but not an expensive fixed price menu special evening. Our server did a great job, even though she had a large number of tables. Again special day expensive fixed price menu, they should up the staffing. Generally very disappointed...

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had dinner with my family on Valentine's Day. Prior to arriving, no one mentioned that it was a pre-fix four course meal at $200 a head. No ala carte menu. Most of the food was good, but main course fish was over-cooked. View is great, but the food really should be better at those prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Ka'ana accommodated my wife's vegan diet on a very busy Valentine's Day. The prices were typical Valentine's Day "special" set prix fixe. But that happens everywhere. This was the most I have ever spent on a meal and it was twice what we spent at this same restaurant the previous evening which was not a cheap dinner for about the same amount of food and wine. But aside from price, we found it difficult to get a meal in Wailea that had fresh vegetables and proper food that was not over processed or over salted. Ka'ana Kitchen's food was fresh and they really do seem to be sourcing food locally. Our server Carlie was chearful, friendly and attentive. All the wait staff were on the job and functioning like a well-oiled machine. Ka'ana Kitchen was far superior than Morimoto located just below it at the Andaz Hilton.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.