Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui

What we serve at Ka‘ana, we serve from the heart. We source from local farmers, ranchers, and fishermen. We only put on your plate what we feel is proper to serve. Our pairings speak to the ability to connect the elements of taste, smell, and touch with everything around us.
Our dishes are prepared using techniques from around the culinary world, but thought-out in accordance with our micro-climate. The way we prepare our fish, season our salads, and grill our meat depends not only on its origin, but what the weather tells us, how the swells on the ocean shape our mood, and how the land influences our feelings.
Here we hope to blur the lines between your kitchen and our restaurant, between what is external and what is internal. We invite you in, share our hopes, and create a unique dining experience that connects you to this place and its essence.

3550 Wailea Alanui Dr
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Hawaiian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST: 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM

LUNCH: CLOSED

DINNER: 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 573-1234

Website:
http://maui.andaz.hyatt.com/en/hotel/dining/ka_ana-kitchen.html

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Isaac Bancaco

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Please join us for our Easter brunch at $98++/person.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (27)
Open Kitchen (27)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Local Ingredients (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Scenic View (24)
Romantic (21)
Special Occasion (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Modern Decor (17)
Waterfront (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fun (9)
Casual (8)
People Watching (8)
Healthy (8)
Seasonal (7)
Authentic (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Live Music (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Business Meals (5)
Family Style (5)
Tapas (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Organic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Private Room (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vegan (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
630 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

For us it came down to value for the cost. This is a place to be seen....loud crowd and music, more so than a place to enjoy a great meal. Don't get me wrong, the ambience is nice, the service was very good, but the cost of being at the andaz outweighed the meal. Octopus and Waygu tapas were good. Their interpretation of chicken and waffles was better than good. White cake desert was above average. Drinks and wine were quite expensive, along with the rest of the meal. No real glaring issues other than our perceived value vs. the other restaurants we went to during this visit to the greatest place on earth.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Amazing !!!!!!!!!! Great view overlooking the pools. Food and staff were fabulous.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Best meal on island. Tia (sic?) was superb. Food was great. We liked all five dishes we shared. Fried chicken and watermelon salad were highlights. Would go again and have heard great things about brunch there. Highly recommended.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Waterfront, Authentic, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This restaurant was in walking distance of our hotel and we wanted to walk home on the beach. The food was excellent and our server was great at explaining all the menu options as many were unusual. My husband and I split the Waipoli Greens salad and Ahi tataki appetizer. They were excellent. I had the Hawaiian Snapper (Fresh Maui Catch of the day) and my husband had the fried chicken. Both were excellent. We enjoyed the table out side overlooking the cascading pools and you could hear the Hawaiin music from the open air bar on the level just below. It was a little pricier than we thought but we were not disappointed.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Awesome food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Good overall but highly priced. Service was excellent and food delivery was well timed.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The food was fine but was not as excellent as it should have been based on the prices. The place is a bit overrated.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very enjoyable evening. The service, food and wine were perfect. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Exquisite food, esp local fish like moon fish, and superb service.

Tags: Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I had some concerns initially about this place because I was unable to truly understand the menu. All of this was put to ease vey quickly as our server took the time to explain the dinner options and the thought behind the menu. We had four separate appetizers and four completely different entrees. We shared many of the different options and everything was absolutely amazing. I personally had the steak which I can honestly say it is a top 3 steak I have had in my life and that is a lot considering I lived in New Orleans for a long period of time. I have never had a New York strip steak so delicately crafted with flavor and tenderness. This is an absolute must eat at dining experience for any couple or friends wanting to be blown away with a unique eating experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Loved this place on our honeymoon. Great food and great service. Only hiccup was they had an issue processing our payment, but since we were staying at the hotel, they were able to work it all out.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Disappointing decline since our last visit in quality of food and underseasoned (if you don't want to season your food, at least put salt and pepper on the table so diners can). Very dilute cocktails. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 3, 2017

All food in Maui is expensive, but the food here was incredible. Best meal of the trip. Excellent wine list as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The lobster creole was to die for! My coctail was $24.00 , Really! Is there no limit to how much you can charge in Wailea! The wine list is also wayyy too expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The menu was confusing. The food was tasty but did not feel there was value for the price.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very romantic setting, watching the beautiful Maui sunset, great service, food came out quick and was delicious!

Tags: Seasonal, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great setting and very interesting menu. Full marks to the chef

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food was sourced locally and the atmosphere was amazing. I would definitely recommend for any new traveler in Wailea! My wife and I had visited several of the places that provided the ingredients too, making it that much more meaningful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We were disappointed. Have eaten here five times in since they opened four years ago, on our annual visits to Maui. It used to be great. The menu has not changed much and the dishes are not as well executed. The octopus was tough this time, as was the chicken. The watermelon in the salad was not sweet and ripe and the walnuts did not seem candied. These are subtle dishes that depend on perfect ingredients and prep. The wagyu beef app. was tasty but not tender. We had better fried chicken at Tin Roof earlier in the week for $9.00 Single shot espresso was served in a 6 oz. coffee cup. Really? Coconut sundae with fudge sauce was yummy.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines dinner-fixed price menu. Food was good, presentation was beautiful but ambiance was horrible especially for the price. We were seated in what was really a public walkway, fine for a casual lunch but not an expensive fixed price menu special evening. Our server did a great job, even though she had a large number of tables. Again special day expensive fixed price menu, they should up the staffing. Generally very disappointed...

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had dinner with my family on Valentine's Day. Prior to arriving, no one mentioned that it was a pre-fix four course meal at $200 a head. No ala carte menu. Most of the food was good, but main course fish was over-cooked. View is great, but the food really should be better at those prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Ka'ana accommodated my wife's vegan diet on a very busy Valentine's Day. The prices were typical Valentine's Day "special" set prix fixe. But that happens everywhere. This was the most I have ever spent on a meal and it was twice what we spent at this same restaurant the previous evening which was not a cheap dinner for about the same amount of food and wine. But aside from price, we found it difficult to get a meal in Wailea that had fresh vegetables and proper food that was not over processed or over salted. Ka'ana Kitchen's food was fresh and they really do seem to be sourcing food locally. Our server Carlie was chearful, friendly and attentive. All the wait staff were on the job and functioning like a well-oiled machine. Ka'ana Kitchen was far superior than Morimoto located just below it at the Andaz Hilton.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Me and the wife went her for Valentine's day brunch and had Kiana for our server. She had the best suggestions and gave us a guided tour of the entire set up. The food was amazing, but it was the service that really set it apart. Thanks for giving us a great time in Maui Kiana.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent food and service. We will be returning often.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service, ambiance, and food have been excellent over the years until now. We had a 5:30 Open Table reservation. There was no one there and we were given the table at the end of the porch overlooking the very loud live entertainment guy. What the crap?! Another couple arrived and quickly fled to the other end of the porch as far away as they could possibly get from the loud music.
I ordered "your best Pinot Noir by the glass" and was given the choice of a Willamette from Oregon or a Magnien - the recommended choice - which tasted like a cheap wine and cost $35. Holy crap!! Who charges $35 for a glass of wine that isn't even poured at your table???? Had I known I wouldn't have ordered it, knowing how long such a bottle could have been sitting around for.
Kudos to the chef for the flavors in the Catch of the Day meal and in the Kula green salad. All good except the produce - not much to work with compared to before it seemed. Kudos too to the super efficient water pouring server who looked after all of our needs - quickly replacing utensils that had fallen into the gigantic bowl with fish broth, bringing us bread, etc. He has been excellent over the years and is much appreciated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Finally a high end restaurant on Maui that actually delivers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Interesting, delicious, elegant meal. We were staying at the hotel and Ka'ana Kitchen had great reviews. The setting is peaceful--we sat just outside the restaurant. You can see the chefs cooking at stations, not just an open kitchen but kitchens in the middle of the beautifully lighted dining area. Very appealing! The waiter brought out 3 wines for us to taste before we chose. The food was terrific, really interesting preparations, and each one was outstanding. Dessert--coconut sundae--was awesome!

Tags: Tapas, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Best and most innovative meal we have had on our trip. If you are foodie this is for you. The menu is set up by farmer. we had a lovely watermelon salad to start. We then had the pork belly which was outstanding and the crispy fried chicken with hawaiin cake which was also pretty stellar. to finish we had the s'more-which was not my favorite-it was good but not great. but the chocolate tart like dessert was really good. Our server Gwen was was friendly and had a very pleasant personality. She was very sweet and accommodating to my five year old.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

This was our third visit to this restaurant and each time have been so impressed with service and food. The abalone risotto is superb and reason alone to visit. Our only complaint, and its a small one, is the limited selection of wines by the glass. But we understand that most visitors to Hawaii are into local and craft cocktails, which are excellent. However, we wish that we had more options when dining their. But we will definitely be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 31, 2017

There were many interesting appetizers and employees were telling us their favorites. We decided to order 7 appetizers for dinner. They were all delicious and we were full when we were done. From the time we walked into the hotel, the employees were very pleasant and friendly. We celebrated our Office Managers Birthday, she had a really nice time and everyone was wishing her a Happy Birthday. Overall we had a very nice experience and would return again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Scenic View, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Rock star all the way around!! Food, service was spot on tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food and views were excellent! JD was a wonderful server.

Mahalo!
Angela

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This is the best restaurant on Maui. No question in my mind about that.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Being seated above the not Hawaiian very loud music was not romantic and ruined the atmosphere. Our friendly server helped make up the difference. The food was good not great. Coffee was weak and I will never give 5 stars to an expensive restaurant with weak coffee. Dessert was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 25, 2017

From our waitress to the wine list and food. Phenomenal. We would eat every meal there if we could.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Love this restaurant. Great food and service. The amount of food is just right, never leave feeling stuffed or starved. Expensive, but worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Not overwhelmed as many guest seem to be.
Interesting ideas on the food and ambience, just doesn't quite make it for me in the execution.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Nick was a great wait staff person for breakfast. The baked egg dish and eggs Benedict were both very good. We recommend it for breakfast!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

What a fun and romantic dining experience! I'm glad we came here and each dish was beautifully presented and delicious. Service was really great and very knowledgeable waiter JD! It was a nice way to spend one of our last few evenings in Maui. Meander down after dinner to the fire pit area and have more delicious cocktails! I loved the lime in coconut. For how expensive all the meals are in Maui, this was more than worth it.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great patio over looking beautiful contemporary property and lovely ocean views and colorful skies at sunset! Friendly staff that clearly has tasted all the dishes and has excellent descriptors of each dish. Good luck deciding! Several friends went to this restaurant too during a week of meetings. Seemed we all tried something different and yet we were all impressed! Especially loved the downstairs live band that played- not too loud but so nice to have a background of music during dinner at a level to have a nice conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.