Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui

What we serve at Ka‘ana, we serve from the heart. We source from local farmers, ranchers, and fishermen. We only put on your plate what we feel is proper to serve. Our pairings speak to the ability to connect the elements of taste, smell, and touch with everything around us.
Our dishes are prepared using techniques from around the culinary world, but thought-out in accordance with our micro-climate. The way we prepare our fish, season our salads, and grill our meat depends not only on its origin, but what the weather tells us, how the swells on the ocean shape our mood, and how the land influences our feelings.
Here we hope to blur the lines between your kitchen and our restaurant, between what is external and what is internal. We invite you in, share our hopes, and create a unique dining experience that connects you to this place and its essence.

3550 Wailea Alanui Dr
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Hawaiian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST: 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM

LUNCH: CLOSED

DINNER: 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 573-1234

Website:
http://maui.andaz.hyatt.com/en/hotel/dining/ka_ana-kitchen.html

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Isaac Bancaco

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
See All
Scenic View (20)
Romantic (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Healthy (14)
Waterfront (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Authentic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Fun (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Live Music (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Casual (6)
Good for Groups (4)
Organic (4)
Business Meals (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Tapas (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Cozy (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
732 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

We dined there on our last day of our Maui vacation. We got there apparently at the same time as everybody else so staff was extremely busy. Still they made an effort to take care of us in a calm way.
WE had the watermelon salad and green ceviche as starters and fish of the day and Ahi as entrees. which all turned out to be well prepared and of great fresh and unique taste.
Overall, while on the expensive side, definitely worth the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 3 days ago

Horrible service starting with the hostess to the server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Babymoon on vacation great spot for dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 17, 2017

We've enjoyed frequent dining at this lovely restaurant in the snappy newish Maui Andaz since it opened. Great service, innovative cuisine and the octopus is still to die for. The dining al fresco here has always been sublime as the restaurant overlooks a lovely poolside bar just beneath the restaurant, leading the eye to ocean and sunset views just beyond. The setting has been so idyllic one has to wonder why they would screw it all up by turning the pool bar into a sports bar with huge flat screen TVs. Mind you, I've nothing against sports bars, just not when I'm trying to enjoy a lovely oceanside dinner. Verdict: Fine dining now with the ambiance of a brew pub.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 16, 2017

This was definitely the best meal we had on our trip, but it's also one of the best meals we've ever had. We loved EVERY dish we tried.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Amazing food. Pricey, but delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Service is always the BEST at the Andaz and all their restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

We had a wonderful time. The food is superb. The flavor combinations are amazing. The service exceptional. The wine list is excellent too! The watermelon salad and wagyu beef dishes were my favorite. The free valet parking is also a wonderful addition. Andaz has the dining experience mastered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Excellent meal and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 25, 2017

The food was excellent. You can't get a bad meal. The atmosphere can be causal or more fancy, really however you want to enjoy your meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Waterfront, Casual, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Outstanding. Do the six course kitchen chefs table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great place. Dinner menus change frequently, and the food preparation is unique and outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Forgot our food - gave us check and disappeared - weird - we waited and waited . Friendly about misunderstanding once waiter came back - brought food - this is when it went south. Menu is silly - farm to table mish-mash of weird choices - I had pork belly which was dropped on top of mushy spinach (I think it was spinach) - seriously inedible - actually quite terrible, spit into napkin bad... Wife's dish was not good either - after all confusion with bill - no comps, nothing. Just a "sorry about that"!and we were given back the same check - valet took 20 minutes - other reviews are positive - people very friendly, maybe we had bad luck...

I will say this - the decor, view, and ambience are incredible.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2017

A feast for our tastebuds with superior service from the moment you arrive and through the entire experience. A special thanks to our wonderful, knowledgeable server Stephen who made the evening more special than we dreamed.

Tags: Healthy, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Fabulous food and outstanding service. Enjoyed live music from the bar below.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Staff is ultra attentive to everything. Your glass will never be empty, you will not look for help and they come ensure everything is ok several times. Awesome date dinner place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 1, 2017

My husband and I had a great time on date night out in Maui. Beautiful hotel, wonderful ambience, stellar food and service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Ka'ana Kitchen was our best meal in Maui HANDS DOWN! The food was absolutely delicious with unique and local tastes, the drinks were outstanding and the service was 100% filled with the Aloha spirit!! Wish we had a chance to go more than once! We will definitely be back during our next trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Food and service are excellent. Try the Green Ceviche a must have and the ahi

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Food was a ten!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Excellent diverse and fresh food. Waitress was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The best food in Wailea, hands down! Try the compressed watermelon!!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We stayed at Andaz, so the restaurant was the default for onsite breakfast. It was a great way to start each day in Maui. The food was great, particularly the locally sourced and Asian-influenced options - and the fresh juice bar incorporated into the buffet was over the top. We had dinner a couple of times as well - and the food was as tasty as it was beautiful. The service was particularly attentive (in the mornings Eddie and Kristin, and in the evening John W and Jeff). If you eat outside the view's a pretty good bonus.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2017

My risotto was very good. Son had the kaygu beef - was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Place was amazing! We had a wonderful meal! It is very expensive but worth it! My husband got the fried chicken and I got the lobster! Both were delicious! Drinks were also exceptional!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Great dinner once again. The garlic noodles, tuna and burrata salad, Wagyu beef and Fried Chicken with waffles were all wonderful. The coconut sundae was also a big hit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The food was very interesting and different- we loved the fried chicken!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Loved the flavors and the family-style dining. We were able to try an array of delicious dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2017

My overall experience at ka'ana kitchen was a VERY good one. The food was delightful and the service was quick and easy. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a spot to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The view is spectacular. The service is like eating with well trained family. The servers are. It only well trained but are personable, and empathetic

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Wonderful dinner with my husband for the first evening of our honeymoon...all very perfect!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Amazing food and great ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Amazing restaurant very personal service, setting is on the water in an amazing setting. Looks over 3 negative edge pools to the amazing ocean.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We had gone here with high hopes. Many of our friends love this restaurant. Service was off for a place of this caliber. Nothing needed to be ordered on our next visit. Nothing memorable besides my wife's company. We went for breakfast and dinner so we tried.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Beautiful setting and excellent service but the menu was hard to understand, requiring the waiter to explain it for what seemed like 10 minutes. The menu is designed so that all entrees are shared yet the portion size is ridiculously small and the prices unreasonably high. The food was tastey enough but for the value we would never dine there again or recommend it. We understand and are happy to the pay the high prices of this type of fine dining but this was absurd. Morimoto also at the Andez is high priced but much better food and value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Beautiful resurant with a great unusually unique menu. Our food was wonderful and the watermelon salad was fabulous. We will definitely return next year on our Maui trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Our server was pretty unfriendly and when we ordered another drink acted as though we couldn't afford another.
She gave the vibe and attitude that she was upset she got our table as if we couldn't afford it and wouldn't tip??
We wouldn't dine here if we couldn't afford it.
We still tipped nicely but won't be returning as the service sucks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Food was amazing, everything was spectacular! watermelon salad to die for, and the shrimp risotto, wow 👍

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great night with awesome food. John, our waiter was outstanding. We love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.