About Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui

3550 Wailea Alanui Dr
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

What we serve at Ka‘ana, we serve from the heart. We source from local farmers, ranchers, and fishermen. We only put on your plate what we feel is proper to serve. Our pairings speak to the ability to connect the elements of taste, smell, and touch with everything around us.
Our dishes are prepared using techniques from around the culinary world, but thought-out in accordance with our micro-climate. The way we prepare our fish, season our salads, and grill our meat depends not only on its origin, but what the weather tells us, how the swells on the ocean shape our mood, and how the land influences our feelings.
Here we hope to blur the lines between your kitchen and our restaurant, between what is external and what is internal. We invite you in, share our hopes, and create a unique dining experience that connects you to this place and its essence.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Hawaiian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST: 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM

LUNCH: CLOSED

DINNER: 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 573-1234

Website:
http://maui.andaz.hyatt.com/en/hotel/dining/ka_ana-kitchen.html

Parking Details:
complimentary valet

Executive Chef:
Brent Martin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Hawaii
Best Food
Maui
Fit for Foodies
Maui
1 More
Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Maui
Best Restaurants in Wailea ›

fit for foodies (56)
scenic view (47)
great for outdoor dining (46)
See All
special occasion (43)
romantic (40)
notable wine list (27)
good for groups (16)
great for brunch (12)
hot spot (11)
great for lunch (9)
kid-friendly (9)
neighborhood gem (6)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
444 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant on Maui! Amazing wine li ...

Dined 5 days ago

Best restaurant on Maui! Amazing wine list. Would definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and beautiful hotel. Great fr ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food and beautiful hotel. Great friendly service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the best meals ever. E ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This was one of the best meals ever. Everything from the moment we entered the restaurant was perfect. The entire staff is gracious, friendly, and understands hospitality. Mark our server and the rest of the service staff did an outstanding job throughout the entire meal. The special birthday dessert presentation was greatly appreciated. We had a suculent watermelon salad and one of the most tender grilled octopus appetizers. The fish and lobster entree courses perfectly prepared. Props to the chef and the entire kitchen staff for putting some love as well as technique into all the dishes. Dining at Ka 'ana Kitchen is a must in Wailea!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the best dinner we had on the i ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

This was the best dinner we had on the island of Maui. We stayed at the Andaz, and took advantage of this on-site restaurant. From service, to presentation, to the quality of ingredients- they did not miss a beat. While waiting for our table, the bartenders made great cocktail recommendations based on our preferences. The meal was absolutely worth the price, I look forward to returning someday.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, views, open kitchen!

Dined on May 10, 2016

The combination of foods and presentations were amazing! The ambiance was very romantic and the open kitchen concept kitchen was really great! The way that everything flowed from the service to the food was on point. The views were also amazing! Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed dining at the Chef's Table wi ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We enjoyed dining at the Chef's Table with Rebecca as the line chef in front of us. It was so much fun. Everyone in the kitchen was high energy and we felt like we were I. A cooking class. The food was outstanding!! We have enjoyed dining here before and have never been disappointed!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is AMAZING! Such interesting ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

This place is AMAZING! Such interesting ingredient combinations that totally work - octopus with goat cheese, ahi with burrata, who knew?? Gorgeous views and fabulous service. Interesting fresh twist on tropical cocktails. Love seeing the open kitchen at work.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Suprised this was so good!

Dined on May 3, 2016

I got a nice seat with a view, and I was happy until a party of 20 got together and just stood in the stair way, I could not hear myself think! Why did the staff let this go on. It almost ruined our dinner. We asked to be moved, when in my opinion they should have done something about the misplaced crowd of people. The food was great, octopus salad, Lobster Créole, great Champaign. I would come back...

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and ambience!

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

I absolutely loved dinner here - my favorite restaurant in Maui.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent good and service. We ate outsi ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Excellent good and service. We ate outside watching the sun set over the Pacific.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was excellent and the service ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Everything was excellent and the service is outstanding. Great variety of food that is different and it changes daily.

food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible flavors. Great pairings by th ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Incredible flavors. Great pairings by the glass. Great service. A must eat!

food5
ambience5
service5

Sat outside. Really great

Dined on April 5, 2016

Sat outside. Really great

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ka'ana Kitchen is amazing. Love it !

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

the Ka'ana Kitchen has great food and fabulous service down to a science. this is always great. I have been multiple times this year and last year and they never fail to deliver the best of everything. You will not be disappointed !! Rebecca K

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is lovely to come back to a restauran ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

It is lovely to come back to a restaurant and find that, if anything, it's improved. The service, food, everything was great. The only problem is their reservation process. They only seem to take reservations for 5:30 and 8:30. So if that is the case it is worth while calling and asking to be put through to the restaurant. They will do their best to accommodate your preferences! The downstairs bar is also lovely. We will back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Grilled Octopus fabulous great wines Jo ...

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

Grilled Octopus fabulous great wines John our server was very knowledgeable about the wines and great attending my family. I chose early seating because I brought my grandchildren and he was so kind and patient with them ages 6 and 8 A perfect evening

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great for breakfast and dinner

Dined on March 25, 2016

We are here twice on our recent trip to Wailea. We were staying at a nearby hotel and could walk along the ocean path to Andaz which was great. The ambiance and decor is great and tables are well spaced. This place is pricey but the quality of the food was worth it. Breakfast buffet is looked great. I had the cinnamon roll pancakes from the a la carte menu which were amazing. Dinner with spouse and 2 tweens was also a very nice night out. The menu is a bit limited but the kids liked trying new things as we shared most plates family style. We had the lobster, fried chicken, shrimp and a few other items and all were good. There is also a kids menu. Great place for excellent food in a casual warm atmosphere.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyable, one-of-a-kind, Maui food journey

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Local, delicious food prepared with integrity and creativity. JD was extremely knowledgeable and attentive. He helped us choose some fantastic plates to share, coursed them perfectly and paired wines with each. We especially loved the grilled octopus with asparagus salad and the Maui Gold pineapple with housemade speck and chèvre, wagyu hanger and amazing abalone risotto. One of our best meals in Maui, and really just about anywhere. Note: we were seated on the lanai which definitely elevated the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Food quality not as good as previous vis ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Food quality not as good as previous visits and per other reviews, high prices and appetizer sizes for entrees. Won't be back

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing as always!

Dined on March 19, 2016

This restaurant is incredible in all aspects: the service- JD and his crew are spot on! The freshness of all that's offered. My Opa was so wonderfully prepared! My husband's dish was the lobster, delish! He started with the shrimp appetizer and it was great. The flavors are well thought of and it's absolutely our favorite restaurant on Maui. It's a must, don't even think of skipping this place. Prices are high but so is everything else on the island! You might as well enjoy what you pay for!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you're in Maui, you should definitely eat here!

Dined on March 17, 2016

Ka'ana is a farm-to-table concept kitchen. I recommend sitting outside where they often have live music. The risotto was the best I've ever had! Our server was attentive and engaging. Highly recommended for romantic evening! Visit around 5:30/6 to watch the sunset.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

sued

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Very disappointed in our experience. The server seemed "put out" to answer our questions. She got one of our entrée orders wrong and we had to wait for the correction. There were no apologies. While the food was tasty, it was very pricey. They should offer some wines at less than $20/glass, or $75/bottle.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

Disappointing - Big Bill and Little Food

Dined on March 13, 2016

Ka'ana Kitchen was recommended by our hotel and also appeared on some recommended lists. The food was very good, we had the tune, steak, squash, abalone. All good, but the portions were shockingly small for the prices charged. Between two of us we spent $150 on food and left hungry. I could not bring myself to ordering more food. So, good food and if you are a foodie you will probably enjoy this resturaunt. If you are looking for a quality meal and leave satisfied without spending $200 on food, this may not be for you. My wife and I were disappointed. It was a Saturday night and there were lots of empty tables at 7:30. Probably an indication that others feel the same. Perhaps the most outrageous aspect of the evening was the red wine we ordered. We ordered 4 glassed of red wine for $80. The wine was served in white wine glasses and there was condensation on the outside of the glasses because the wine was cold - white wine temperature. There was no bouquet to the wine due to the temperature and glass. We mentioned the cold temperature of the red wine to the server, he told us that is the way it is supposed to be and we never heard back. I am certain that is not the case, or there was an error. Perhaps I am wrong, but at a minimum I expected the server to come back and explain why the red wine was served at such a cold temperature. In any case, we will not be returning and would recommend that you find a better alternative in Maui unless you are a hard core foodie and dont mind spending $400 for a good bottle of cold wine and a full stomach.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quiet spot with great food!

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

We live nearby and enjoy an occasional dinner at Andaz. Food and service are great. I find their menu somewhat limited and wish they would offer more specials for variety.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Something to experience!

Dined on March 5, 2016

The food is fresh and delicious! It's very scenic and the service caters to your every need. One of my favorites on the island.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

The tasting menu is amazing. You are sitting right next to the chef who interacts with you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ka'ana kitchen amazing farm to table dining

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Great dinner! We had the tako, Kaua'i shrimp, and Pork Belly along with the decadent chocolate mousse dessert! So worth eating here! Amazing service, great drinks, and such creative, delicious locally sourced gourmet cuisine!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Nice but pricey

Dined on February 24, 2016

Depends on what you are looking for. Sharing concept is nothing new coming from a big, European family but sharing pricey plates is not what was expected. Server added something to our selection because he thought it wasn't balanced. Fine if he's paying but we ended up paying for it.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4

Food and service were exceptional. Howev ...

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

Food and service were exceptional. However, the dining experience is significantly different inside vs. outside. Inside seating is surprisingly uncomfortable, especially at one of the banquettes, and for the money it was a slight letdown. If you like wine be prepared to spend double what you pay for food on wine. Very few affordable wine options.

food4
ambience4
service5

Came here for breakfast and it was legit ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Came here for breakfast and it was legit. Chef prepared a poached egg on tomato with avocado. Quality selection for a buffet and great homemade juices

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best Meal

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

Our meal at Ka'ana was the best dinner we had during a 3-week trip to the Hawaiian islands. From appetizers to dessert, each dish was perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Very Disappointing!

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

We had dinner on Valentine's Day. The cost was $140 per person before cocktails and tax and tip. It was a total ripoff!!! While we did not have a problem with the special limited menu per se, we did have a problem with the food quantity. While each of the 4 courses were good to very good, I rated the food fair because: (1) My oyster cocktail had only 2 of the smallest oysters that I have ever had. (2) My wife's octopus appetizer was mostly greens with 3 small pieces of octopus therein. (3) We both had the cold lobster main course which consisted of a lot of greens and only about 1/8 lb of lobster meat. (4) My sesame noodles and my wife's fig salad were very good. (5) Our deserts were OK. As to service, three times the waiters/waitresses brought someone else's meals to us. Our second course was served just as we were finishing our first course. It took a long time for our main course to be served to us. Finally, there was only two of us and the restaurant added an 18% tip to the bill provided to me without highlighting that the tip was included (and, of course, the credit card receipt still included a space for another tip). I do not object to the amount of the tip (despite the fact that the service was poor); however, I do object to the very unusual practice of adding a tip when there was less than 4 or 6 people at the table. While I noticed that the tip was included in the bill, I suspect that some/many other customers did not notice it and then added another tip. With our 2 martini's and a bottle of wine, our total bill for dinner for two was $460.00; the meal and service were not worth it!! I recognize that this was Valentine's Day when the restaurant was very busy; therefore, I can accept the poor service. However, there is no excuse for serving an insulting quantity of food for $140 per person. Since the food (what there was of it) was good to very good, we will try the restaurant again next year on a "regular" day.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic Valentine's Day!

Dined on February 15, 2016

We really enjoyed the 4 course meal for Valentine's day. Service was spot on, the food was delicious. We had a table with partial ocean/pools view. The ambiance was quiet and romantic. It was a lot of fun, and we didn't feel rushed. It was a perfect night capped off with a cocktail down at the fire pit below while fireworks went off at the Grand Wailea. Good times.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2

Over priced Poor service ... Very Rushed ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Over priced Poor service ... Very Rushed. Mediocre Food Really disappointed

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

High aspirations. Room to grow.

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

We have dined at many excellent restaurants on Maui, but Ka'ana Kitchen appeared on our radar only recently. Maui born Isaac Bancaco drew lots of attention after moving from the Grand Wailea to Andaz. He has since move on, and up, the management chain and no longer supervises Ka'ana Kitchen directly. The offerings for our dinner on Valentines Day were for a set menu of four courses with three options each. Not a tasting menu, but still adhering to local sourcing. First course options included Watermelon Salad, Somen Noodles, or Grilled Octopus. We tried the salad and octopus. Both were excellent. Watermelon salad ingredients were discrete but complementary flavors of fruit, candied walnuts, feta cheese and arugula. Fresh as could be. The octopus was almost sweet and very succulent with watercress and asparagus bits. These flavors melded nicely. The octopus was tender and succulent. A jewel. For the second course we chose the Kula Figs and Wagyu Hanger, leaving Kumamoto Oysters which we have enjoyed many times at home. Figs with gorgonzola, Waipoli greens and local orange centered around the fig with nice, local, but not special flavors of orange or greens. Wagyu was wasted on the Hanger, which had nothing unique to offer, and the peanuts stood alone beside the papaya and basil. Course three options included Lobster, Ratatouille and "Tajima Striploin." Despite participation in the making of the movie by the same name, The French Laundry never offered Ratatouille on its menu. So we went with the Lobster and meat (again). We were surprised to see no local non-shell fish anywhere on the menu. The Lobster was simple and delicious with hints of vanilla and delicate white asparagus. The "striploin" sauces read well as mole and ulu tamale, but they didn't spark a thrill of unique or exceptional flavors. Of the three desserts the Waialua Estate Chocolate flourless cake really was a special flavor set.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

poor service, average food

Dined on February 14, 2016

service was incredibly poor, waiter completely frazzled and inattentive; food quality is not as good as it used to be, very overpriced and expensive wine list. Would not recommend

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food.

Dined on February 12, 2016

Great food, service and environment. Enjoyed our evening very much.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service with great friends!

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

We had a great meal with Johnny Waishaar as our server. He gave us excellent service and recommendations and we loved our meal! Mr. Drake

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

They took their best dish off the menu

vip
Dined on February 5, 2016

For reasons unknown, the fried chicken , which was divine, is no more. Such a disappoinent, especially when no explanation was forthcoming. Octopus salad was excellent. Pricey, but the quality of the ingredients is topnotch. When the out the chicken back on the menu, I will be back. Otherwise, probably not.

Tags: fit for foodies, outdoor eating, romance, special occasions, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Just OK

Dined on February 3, 2016

We ate at Ka'ana kitchen for our wedding anniversary. Despite flagging this in our reservation, no one at the restaurant made any mention of it during our meal. The restaurant was about 1/2 full when we arrived, but they proceeded to seat us at the worst table in the place. We had to ask twice for a better table - not impressed. Food was OK, but nothing to rave about. The abalone risotto was the standout, but everything else was average. Drinks are very expensive, as they are in all restaurants at the hotel. Definitely does not live up to the hype, but I found this to be typical of all of the restaurants in Wailea area.

Tags: scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.