About Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui

3550 Wailea Alanui Dr
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

What we serve at Ka‘ana, we serve from the heart. We source from local farmers, ranchers, and fishermen. We only put on your plate what we feel is proper to serve. Our pairings speak to the ability to connect the elements of taste, smell, and touch with everything around us.
Our dishes are prepared using techniques from around the culinary world, but thought-out in accordance with our micro-climate. The way we prepare our fish, season our salads, and grill our meat depends not only on its origin, but what the weather tells us, how the swells on the ocean shape our mood, and how the land influences our feelings.
Here we hope to blur the lines between your kitchen and our restaurant, between what is external and what is internal. We invite you in, share our hopes, and create a unique dining experience that connects you to this place and its essence.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Hawaiian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST: 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM

LUNCH: CLOSED

DINNER: 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 573-1234

Website:
http://maui.andaz.hyatt.com/en/hotel/dining/ka_ana-kitchen.html

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Isaac Bancaco

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui, Wailea, HI
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui, Wailea, HI
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui, Wailea, HI
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui, Wailea, HI
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui, Wailea, HI
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui, Wailea, HI

Report a photo problem

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Please join us for a four course prix fixe menu this Valentine's Day

Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Romantic (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
See All
Creative Cuisine (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Special Occasion (19)
Modern Decor (18)
Open Kitchen (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Scenic View (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Healthy (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Waterfront (9)
Authentic (9)
Casual (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Family Style (7)
People Watching (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Cozy (6)
Fun (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Seasonal (6)
Business Meals (5)
Live Music (5)
Vegan (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Tapas (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
581 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great buffet breakfast but extremely pri ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great buffet breakfast but extremely pricey. Yet we still visited twice during our stay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We loved the location in the Andaz above ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

We loved the location in the Andaz above great live music outdoors below. We loved the fun of picking dishes with local ingredients to taste and share. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. Would come again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfection in every since of the word! Q ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Perfection in every since of the word! Quite different experience yesterday and today from a few days ago. From remembering my name and making it a truly intimate dining experience to the wonderful food, ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, John, was terrific. He help ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Our server, John, was terrific. He helped us understand and navigate the unique menu so that we could appreciate the chef's vision. We enjoyed our cocktails and appreciated that John was gracious in granting our request to delay starting the food service so we could enjoy our drinks before diving into the food. Standouts include the Wagyu steak and papaya salad and the clam appetizers. The abalone risotto was unique and very tasty as was the preparation of the Lobster dish with a slightly spicy broth. Bread is served only on request, so do make that request - it was quite good. We enjoyed a shared dessert and coffee as well. Our outside table was nice because we had a nice view of another part of the Andaz resort and the weather was so nice outside, too. If you're staying at one of the other Wailea resorts, chances are you can use the resort shuttle to drop you off and pick you up from the Andaz (we used the Fairmont Shuttle) which makes it an easy "commute."

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wine list a little far out,only a few Ca ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Wine list a little far out,only a few Calif,or Oregonwines by the glass.

Waiter explains any dish so this is a plus. Had the lamb rage & my husband had the grilled He'e (octopus) & enjoyed it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I'm staying at the hotel and had a reser ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

I'm staying at the hotel and had a reservation at 10am. When I arrived I explained the same and was told it was first come, first serve. I again explained that I had a reservation and was told it didn't matter because it was first come, first serve. I was left thinking, "what's the point in making reservations then?" I understand a few minutes wait with a reservation, but I had to wait for five parties to be seated ahead of me. Some of them probably had reservations, but I doubt all did. Furthermore, I dined for an hour and my server only came back once to see if I needed anything. I'm a little disappointed as the service was remarkably different yesterday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good food, great ambiance, and awesome s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Good food, great ambiance, and awesome service. Absurdly expensive like the majority of the restaurants in Wailea, but you know that going in. The menu is limited, but everything was good and fresh. Go early for sunset and sit outside, the views are amazing.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Terrific food! Wow what a kitchen! Imp ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Terrific food! Wow what a kitchen! Impressive prep area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here, and it was a great choi ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 6, 2017

First time here, and it was a great choice! We had a fantastic meal along with great service and wonderful atmosphere. The capper to this meal was the best dessert (Coconut Sundae) I can remember eating in a long time; maybe ever! Sit outside; enjoy a sunset and a great meal at Andaz!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The best restaurant in Maui. Great servi ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The best restaurant in Maui. Great service and great food. Would highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the restaurant on New Years a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to the restaurant on New Years and there was a set menu for $150 a person. This was not indicated on open table when we booked and was a surprise to us upon arrival at the restaurant. This was our New Years plan and it was too late to make alternate arrangements. I would have liked to have been informed when booking this restaurant. Otherwise, the food was good and the great vibe in the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Chose this establishment for New Year's ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Chose this establishment for New Year's Eve 4-course dinner. What a mistake! It felt like the restaurant gave the night off to their regular staff and found holiday replacements for them. The hostess was inhospitable, seating us at a table with blinding sunlight with no shade or window treatments. There was another table (that remained empty for the duration of our meal) which she refused to move us to, even though it was no more than 4 ft from our existing table but was not in direct sunlight. The food was mediocre, lacking balance or depth. Three of the four courses were cold-served and prepared in advance. Main course (risotto) was served warm. Our server provided minimal attention. He took our order and didn't come back to our table until an hour into the meal. (Assistants provided refills of water on a regular basis though). Our server stood at his station conversing with other staff which was about 15ft from our table. During this time, he didn't even glance at our table. I have photos of his laziness but that's digressing from this restaurant review. He came back to our table after one hour to ask about our satisfaction of the meal ( during course 2 of 4). At this point, I asked for the dinner rolls that I wanted to have while waiting for course #1. This meal experience was akin to a startup venue with inexperienced staff and chefs, and was definitely not reflective of a respected establishment (It's located in an upscale hotel with previously good reviews). The meal cost approx $560 for 3 people (no alcohol).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

staff are fairly well train and friendly ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

staff are fairly well train and friendly, somewhat helpful on the wine list, could be better inform,quite knowledgable about the food and how they are prepared. overall the wait person is very friendly when she found out that we live in the same area.

the menu is outstanding using the high quality of local products.

outstanding job for the management.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Check out the menu before going-very lim ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Check out the menu before going-very limited in choices especially if you're looking for seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Brunch was wonderful but very pricey. I ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Brunch was wonderful but very pricey. I would have like to have been informed of the Christmas rate prior to booking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Not my first time dining here but my fri ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Not my first time dining here but my friend visiting from Arizona loved it. Food, drinks and service perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful Christmas Eve meal he ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a wonderful Christmas Eve meal here and the food was delicious! One of my tablemates forgot their leftovers to go box and when he went back, it was already thrown out. :( Maybe too efficient, but we understood. The food was that good... my friend was really sad not to have the leftovers for the next day.

Tags: Waterfront, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely phenomenal. One of the best m ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal. One of the best meals I've had. Every dish was spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overpriced even for a resort restaurant. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Overpriced even for a resort restaurant. Food is average at best. Had a 55$ 7 oz wagyu steak that was very hard and not tasty. Had to ask for a knife steak. Breakfast is no better. 18$ granola yoghurt with mashed up fruit. Said we did not like it, waiter just took it and walked away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

The food was very fresh however the port ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The food was very fresh however the portions are kids portions for what they charge, I found it overpriced. Huge plates for very small portions. Service was pleasant and efficient, that kept my rating from being lower.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Incredible ahi bursts appetizer ! Amazin ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Incredible ahi bursts appetizer !

Amazing abalone risotto !

Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. Our only complai ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was excellent. Our only complaint is that the wine options are all very expensive, most well above $100/bottle. Options for more moderate priced bottles of wines were extremely limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great! Best on the island! Gwen ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was great! Best on the island! Gwen was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ka'ana Kitchen was spectacular! The food ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Ka'ana Kitchen was spectacular! The food was wonderful and so was the service. We had A+ service...the quality and fresh ingredients wonderful. We'do come back again and again. The topper was the birthday surprise dessert!! Music and ambience was fantastic!!! Absolutely memorable. Thank you!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Live Music, Casual, Wood Oven, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice restaurant with view of the ocean d ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Nice restaurant with view of the ocean during the day. Overlooks the pool. Open kitchen with great staff. Very modern and hip place to eat..

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

This was one of those places one will cr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was one of those places one will cry for the money. We went there for Thanksgiving and it was all wrong from the host who was a grumpy rude man to the food that was oily, cheap quality but fine dining prices. Never again! We paid as much h as for Mamas Gish House and believe me it's far from it in every respect.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Abalone risotto was excellent. Loved the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Abalone risotto was excellent. Loved the farm to table concept and the view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing!

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience. Outstanding.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Amazing experience. Outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

EXCELLENT dinner! My husband and I retur ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 16, 2016

EXCELLENT dinner! My husband and I returned to Maui in November and made it a point to stop at this restaurant. On Tuesday night we sat outdoors, and at 730PM were able to enjoy the live music from the bar below. Two acoustic guitarists who did a great job and brought a fantastic vibe.

FOOD was DELICIOUS!!! Menu is seasonal - but for what it's worth - shrimp appetizer was flavorful, and the ahi appetizer was also fresh, tasty. Fried chicken is sublime & a great change of pace after eating fish nonstop for a week (I love the tuna & other fresh fish on Maui!)

IF you are looking for something delicious, cooked fresh, and interesting for the palate try this restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was very good but portions were qui ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was very good but portions were quite small. Expensive for the portion size.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I dined here a couple years ago for a fr ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I dined here a couple years ago for a friends birthday and was very impressed with everything: great, attentive service and delicious food! I was looking forward to dining at Ka'ana kitchen and staying at Andaz.

I had dinner with friends here for my birthday and it was the most disappointing fine dining experience that I've ever had. The food was still delicious, however, the service was severely lacking.

It was noted in the reservation that it was a celebration for a birthday and it was overlooked by everyone who served us: from the hostess to the food runners and even our server.

We were not asked if we'd like another round of drinks when some of our glasses were empty before our entrees were dropped.

The dessert we ordered came and my friends wanted to sing to me. One went to ask our server for a candle. The runner came to our table to hand her a candle with his backpack on; he obviously was trying to run out of there as fast as he could. He also stated, "oh did you need a lighter too?"

One of my friends had one so he just left. I'd never had that happen to me and was shocked that it happened in a restaurant of this caliber.

I'm not sure if it was an off night for the staff or what was going on. It was just a very disappointing experience; it's unfortunate that the service level didn't match the food. We had lunch the following day at Morimoto and had a great experience there.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

So I really anticipated having a really ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 8, 2016

So I really anticipated having a really great meal .... everyone said I would. But, sad to say...I did not. The food was not good. I won't say disgusting, but I'm thinking it. Chicken was not up to par.. I like good food. I cannot recommend this place. I was thinking that it had something to do with the last reservation time, but the standard should be maintained from the beginning of the day until closing. I cannot return. I cannot recommend. Some in my party declined eating after they saw the food. Thank you for your attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Incredible, try the octopus appetizer. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Incredible, try the octopus appetizer. Everything we had was phenomenal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Isaac Bancaco was the reason we cam ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Chef Isaac Bancaco was the reason we came to try this place out--wonderful person and great culinary creator--now promoted to executive chef and no longer hands on chef. My only complaint was the rack of lamb (most expensive item on the menu), initially served too rare and after redo was very sinewy and tough. Seafood dishes were excellent and make sure to leave room for dessert!

Tags: Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Disabled Access, Private Room, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had an awesome dinner, coursed out a num ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Had an awesome dinner, coursed out a number of different items and shared them. Had wonderful wine paired with each course. John our waiter was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent and creative dishes. The octop ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent and creative dishes. The octopus salad and abalone risotto were outstanding. Our waiter was extremely helpful in making suggestions, as well as ensuring the meal was well paced. Although prices are very high, they were worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were on Maui for 1 week for our anniv ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We were on Maui for 1 week for our anniversary & a birthday & had dinner every night at a four or five star restaurant. People say the views are great. I had a better view from our hotel cabana. We were on the lanai & had a great view of the bartenders shaking drinks below, & people looking at their phones & a TV we couldn't see. The restaurant was freezing inside, so we asked for the lanai. On the other side of the lanai was a very loud singer who needs more lessons.

We ordered the watermelon salad which I thought was delicious. My husband ordered the beet salad which was just OK. This restaurant stresses farm to table, so I don't understand why they have to pour on sauces that drown the flavor of the vegetables. This was the case with the beets. One time my husband took a bite & said "What is that?" And I said "It's a beet." He couldn't even taste it.

I ordered Niihau lamb and he ordered the fried chicken. The chicken is chicken thighs rolled in cornflakes & we were told they were sweet and tasted like "chicken and waffles." The lamb was OK, but nothing special. It was on a bed of butternut squash& some other vegetables that I can't recall & again, were advertised farm to table. But there was so much butter in the vegetables that I couldn't eat them. As I said before, why have these fresh fabulous ingredients if you drown them in sauce or butter? That's missing the point. Any chef can put a slab of butter in anything and make it taste good. The chicken was OK but nothing special.

We ordered coconut ice cream for desert. Ice cream is my favorite food group & coconut my favorite flavor and whenever it is available, wherever in the world we are, I eat it. This tasted like honey ice cream. I couldn't taste any coconut. The waiter, who was very attentive and gave us good service, said there was no honey in it and lots of coconut. ????? He kindly took it off the bill without our asking.

We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was fair. We ordered the wagyu ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was fair. We ordered the wagyu beef and it was very, very tough. Need more of a variable for wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

The restaurant did not have our dinner r ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The restaurant did not have our dinner reservation made through OpenTable, but they found a table for us. The service was friendly, and the food was delicious!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.