About Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui

3550 Wailea Alanui Dr
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

What we serve at Ka‘ana, we serve from the heart. We source from local farmers, ranchers, and fishermen. We only put on your plate what we feel is proper to serve. Our pairings speak to the ability to connect the elements of taste, smell, and touch with everything around us.
Our dishes are prepared using techniques from around the culinary world, but thought-out in accordance with our micro-climate. The way we prepare our fish, season our salads, and grill our meat depends not only on its origin, but what the weather tells us, how the swells on the ocean shape our mood, and how the land influences our feelings.
Here we hope to blur the lines between your kitchen and our restaurant, between what is external and what is internal. We invite you in, share our hopes, and create a unique dining experience that connects you to this place and its essence.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Hawaiian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST: 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM

LUNCH: CLOSED

DINNER: 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 573-1234

Website:
http://maui.andaz.hyatt.com/en/hotel/dining/ka_ana-kitchen.html

Parking Details:
complimentary valet

Executive Chef:
Brent Martin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui

Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Hawaii
Best Overall
Maui
Best Food
Maui
Best Restaurants in Wailea ›

Fit for Foodies (56)
Scenic View (53)
Great for Outdoor Dining (48)
See All
Special Occasion (47)
Romantic (31)
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Hot Spot (13)
Kid-friendly (13)
Great for Brunch (9)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
506 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I went to Ka'ana kitchen ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I went to Ka'ana kitchen on our honeymoon. We were extremely disappointed. The menu is extremely limited, the prices are very high, the portion sizes are quite small, and the wait staff was snobby. That being said, the food we did have was good. We have never left a restaurant hungry until going to Ka'ana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Amazing food

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not worth the price. Slow dinner service ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Not worth the price. Slow dinner service. Great breakfast buffet, though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Small portions

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Small portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

We love the ambience Food was excellent, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We love the ambience

Food was excellent, best dinner we had in Maui

Service was great

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor service and uninformed wait staff ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Poor service and uninformed wait staff

Very disappointing given the high cost of food and wine.

Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Great upscale place to take the family o ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great upscale place to take the family on vacation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

AMAZING!!!!! The bigeye tuna was fantast ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

AMAZING!!!!! The bigeye tuna was fantastic! I would recommend this place to anyone. The only down side is that it is expensive... But it's totally worth it !!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful view is the plus to this resta ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Beautiful view is the plus to this restaurant, unfortunately the value isn't there. Granted you're on a resort and it is Hawaii, but the food is way overpriced. The atmosphere is a mix of family dining and couples while the food seems to attempt to cater to a fine dining experience. Nice place, just not a romantic, fine dining restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Everything in the menu we ordered was mi ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Everything in the menu we ordered was mild to spicy. Even the dessert. Small portions for the price. Service was slow. I had to ask for the waitress from the when i needed something. Not too impressed. Surprising since in a 5star hotel.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Food was delicious and easy to share. Th ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food was delicious and easy to share. The menu is not intimidating and service was friendly and professional.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The name means 'to share'. Its just ext ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The name means 'to share'. Its just extra expensive with small plates. Friends we went with were celebrating an anniversary and they made no mention. Not enough food for what we paid. Wouldn't recommend or go back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The experience was excellent. Our waitre ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The experience was excellent. Our waitress, Ashli, was very pleasant and helpful. Her food recommendations were spot on. The octopus was fabulous. The catch of the day was delicious. It was accompanied by smashed green peas (yummy!) and fresh vegetables which made the dish even better. My husband had a steak and he thoroughly enjoyed it. They use all fresh ingredients that are local which made the dishes we ordered even better. Overall a great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go to Ka'ana Kitchen every year since ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We go to Ka'ana Kitchen every year since they opened for my daughter's birthday. This year was her 10th birthday. Every year, the staff gives her extra special treatment, including birthday cupcakes. But even better is that almost every staff member we passed wished her a happy birthday all throughout our visit. It made her feel so special, she was glowing by the time we left.

Thank you so much for helping my little girl feel so wonderful on her special day! We appreciate you so much!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food & great wine selection.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great food & great wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The restaurant encourages to share the f ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The restaurant encourages to share the food, so we ordered two appetizers and one entrée. Ahi appetizer is to die for: presentation is flawless and every bite is a celebration in your mouth. Ahi just melts, sauces complement its taste, panna cotta is the best I ever tried, even tomatoes are a firework of taste!

Ambiance is great, service is impeccable: our water glasses never went empty.

Highly recommended place!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place offers upscale fusion cuisine ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This place offers upscale fusion cuisine which can sometimes be a liability :-). I discovered I really dislike sweet pickled mushrooms and pineapple as toppings for my lobster. Actually had to eat all that desert-like stuff first and then enjoy my lobster/pork dish.

Hanger steak appetizer was great and the coconut sundae was yummy especially the chiffon cake part.

Service was impeccable and artisan cocktail selection was impressive. Not sure we'll come back, there are better places around here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The food was good but portion sizes coul ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The food was good but portion sizes could have been bigger and the prices were high on the wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Unique, fun menu in a relaxed atmosphere ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Unique, fun menu in a relaxed atmosphere. Great service!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was very very very very very very ver ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

It was very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very good

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has been one of our favo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

This restaurant has been one of our favorites but this time round the food was good but not outstanding. Obviously when dining at a resort hotel restaurant you are going to pay higher prices but we had 3 appetizers and a couple of cocktails each and our total including tip was $175.00. Might only consider coming on special occasions in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Not a good experience. 815p reservation ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Not a good experience.

815p reservation. Seated at 830p. Water at 845p.

Definitely go to Mama's Fish House to know what great food is with the high price that is fully justified.

Noise was high enough to fore our waiter to shout the menu choices.

We were at Andaz anyway, so it was just two floors down.

Tasty food but nothing memorable.

The guava ice cream desert was a hit.

Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

During our visit to Maui we dined at Ka ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

During our visit to Maui we dined at Ka na kitchen three times. Once with friends and twice with 3 children ages 8-3. The staff was wonderful and quality of food superb!! Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

highly recommend the watermelon feta sal ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

highly recommend the watermelon feta salad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

As a vegetarian the server was knowledga ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

As a vegetarian the server was knowledgable and even created an entree to suit my needs. The view was stunning.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We stayed at the Andaz so we ate here 3 ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We stayed at the Andaz so we ate here 3 different times--twice for breakfast and once for dinner. The breakfast buffet is PHENOMENAL and worth it, even though it seemed expensive. The dinner was delicious too--the menu is different than most places we found in Maui. The ahi tataki was a great starter, the Berkshire Pork Belly was fantastic, and the Wagyu Striploin was good as well. We had a mango-cake of sorts for dessert that was also good. I had a One Last Sunset drink that I originally thought was too sweet and the bartender overheard this and made sure to make me a new drink and adjust my drink to my liking. The service was great. The atmosphere--right on the balcony over the bar below with a view of the pools and sunset is great as well. Would recommend this to anyone visiting the Wailea area, and especially if staying at the Andaz.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The flavors are amazing! A little pricey ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The flavors are amazing! A little pricey but what isn't in Wailea? We went there twice in our week at the Anadz. So worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, terrific ocean view.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Delicious food, terrific ocean view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Possibly the best restaurant in the stat ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Possibly the best restaurant in the state! Have been fortunate to dine there several times and have consistently experienced amazing food with an impressive utilization of local ingredients. The menu has changed over time, which is great, but the risotto and octopus have remained for good reason, try them!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were staying at the Andaz where this ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We were staying at the Andaz where this restaurant is located in Maui. The ambiance is very nice. The food is OVERPRICED...and portions tiny. My husband liked the food a lot and that was why we went twice...it was also convenient. The bill gave me heartburn. Did not enjoy the food before or after the bill...the decaf coffee was fabulous!! Pork belly was awful, the watermelon appetizer was okay....desserts were mediocre, as was the buttermilk chicken.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The menu was excellent and the Big Eye w ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The menu was excellent and the Big Eye was outstanding. Our group of 4 had a great table and even better service. It's a vibrant place with appealing atmosphere, you will enjoy it.

Additionally, when we pulled up to the valet, he gave me a ticket, smiled and said return whenever you are done, no validation required. Service like that starts everything off well. The entire evening was great.

Mahalo Ka'ana!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friendly staffs, beautiful food presenta ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Friendly staffs, beautiful food presentation w lacked luster tastes... Trying too hard to execute the concept of "farm to table" which in itself not unique at all!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

While our stay in Andaz Maui, we had bre ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

While our stay in Andaz Maui, we had breakfast and dinner here. While breakfast was very good, dinner was even better. I had the lobster and my wife had the risotto. Lobster was delicious but I would say that the abalone risotto was one of the best i've ever had. I would strongly recommend the risotto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I really enjoyed the share a plate exper ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I really enjoyed the share a plate experience. My spouse and I ordered 4 appetizers and one entrée. And then the main dish (Kona lobster) was served. I did not know if I should laugh or cry. $43 for 1/2 of a very small lobster tail. No more than an ounce of meat. The clams, wagyu beef, octopus, smoked shrimp were fantastic and yes, even my 2 bites of lobster. Except for being felt like I was robbed on my lobster order I had a relatively good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This restaurant started out as a lovely ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This restaurant started out as a lovely experience with a knowledgable waiter and a truly delicious first course. We were enjoying the sum total of a Hawaiian night when on comes an average singer with the loudest microphone blare singing his own songs mixed in with Taylor swift. Our enjoyment factor disappeared. We suffered thru the main course, turned down dessert and got out of there as fast as we could at quite a pretty penny. One culinary note. The white fish was quite dry. On the other hand , the octopus salad was divine, the watermelon salad inventive - finally, the joyous taste of real watermelons as they are meant to be. Why not gentle Hawaiian music. We can get all that other noise at home. We come here for a different experience

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We live on Maui and love everything abou ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We live on Maui and love everything about Kaana kitchen. The staff is amazing! The food is fantastic! The view is incredible!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Under staffed servers w attitude under p ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Under staffed servers w attitude under pressure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

The staff was very accommodating in allo ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The staff was very accommodating in allowing me to hang out at the open kitchen where I took photos and video with my cellphone. I even was able to chat with the chefs as they plated the meals. In addition, the staff was also very kind in allowing me to take pictures of my meals in areas with better lighting. Aside from the great friendly staff, the food was very good. I also enjoyed the overall atmosphere of having an open kitchen in the restaurant. I will definitely be back again and will also recommend Ka'ana Kitchen to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Get.the.Octopus. It's truly sublime. Att ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Get.the.Octopus. It's truly sublime. Attentive service and I would definitely come back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best breakfast buffet ever and I don't l ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Best breakfast buffet ever and I don't like Buffets!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.