About Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui

3550 Wailea Alanui Dr
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

What we serve at Ka‘ana, we serve from the heart. We source from local farmers, ranchers, and fishermen. We only put on your plate what we feel is proper to serve. Our pairings speak to the ability to connect the elements of taste, smell, and touch with everything around us.
Our dishes are prepared using techniques from around the culinary world, but thought-out in accordance with our micro-climate. The way we prepare our fish, season our salads, and grill our meat depends not only on its origin, but what the weather tells us, how the swells on the ocean shape our mood, and how the land influences our feelings.
Here we hope to blur the lines between your kitchen and our restaurant, between what is external and what is internal. We invite you in, share our hopes, and create a unique dining experience that connects you to this place and its essence.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Hawaiian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST: 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM

LUNCH: CLOSED

DINNER: 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 573-1234

Website:
http://maui.andaz.hyatt.com/en/hotel/dining/ka_ana-kitchen.html

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Isaac Bancaco

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui, Wailea, HI
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui, Wailea, HI
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui, Wailea, HI
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui, Wailea, HI
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui, Wailea, HI
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui, Wailea, HI
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui, Wailea, HI
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui, Wailea, HI
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui, Wailea, HI
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui, Wailea, HI
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui, Wailea, HI
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui, Wailea, HI

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Aloha! Thank you for choosing Ka'ana Kitchen for your Christmas Eve plans. A credit card will be required to hold your reservation. We will require cancellation at least 72 hours in advance of your reservation or you will be subject to a $25 per person charge. We look forward to welcoming you!

Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Hawaii
Best Service
Maui
Best Restaurants in Wailea ›

Special Occasion (37)
Scenic View (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
See All
Fit for Foodies (29)
Romantic (28)
Good for a Date (28)
Notable Wine List (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Open Kitchen (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Modern Decor (17)
Waterfront (17)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Authentic (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fun (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Healthy (7)
Casual (7)
Business Meals (7)
Live Music (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Tapas (5)
Seasonal (5)
Family Style (5)
People Watching (4)
Cozy (4)
Organic (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Private Room (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
 (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
 (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
557 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice restaurant with view of the ocean d ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Nice restaurant with view of the ocean during the day. Overlooks the pool. Open kitchen with great staff. Very modern and hip place to eat..

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

This was one of those places one will cr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was one of those places one will cry for the money. We went there for Thanksgiving and it was all wrong from the host who was a grumpy rude man to the food that was oily, cheap quality but fine dining prices. Never again! We paid as much h as for Mamas Gish House and believe me it's far from it in every respect.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Abalone risotto was excellent. Loved the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Abalone risotto was excellent. Loved the farm to table concept and the view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing!

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience. Outstanding.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Amazing experience. Outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

EXCELLENT dinner! My husband and I retur ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 16, 2016

EXCELLENT dinner! My husband and I returned to Maui in November and made it a point to stop at this restaurant. On Tuesday night we sat outdoors, and at 730PM were able to enjoy the live music from the bar below. Two acoustic guitarists who did a great job and brought a fantastic vibe.

FOOD was DELICIOUS!!! Menu is seasonal - but for what it's worth - shrimp appetizer was flavorful, and the ahi appetizer was also fresh, tasty. Fried chicken is sublime & a great change of pace after eating fish nonstop for a week (I love the tuna & other fresh fish on Maui!)

IF you are looking for something delicious, cooked fresh, and interesting for the palate try this restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was very good but portions were qui ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was very good but portions were quite small. Expensive for the portion size.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I dined here a couple years ago for a fr ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I dined here a couple years ago for a friends birthday and was very impressed with everything: great, attentive service and delicious food! I was looking forward to dining at Ka'ana kitchen and staying at Andaz.

I had dinner with friends here for my birthday and it was the most disappointing fine dining experience that I've ever had. The food was still delicious, however, the service was severely lacking.

It was noted in the reservation that it was a celebration for a birthday and it was overlooked by everyone who served us: from the hostess to the food runners and even our server.

We were not asked if we'd like another round of drinks when some of our glasses were empty before our entrees were dropped.

The dessert we ordered came and my friends wanted to sing to me. One went to ask our server for a candle. The runner came to our table to hand her a candle with his backpack on; he obviously was trying to run out of there as fast as he could. He also stated, "oh did you need a lighter too?"

One of my friends had one so he just left. I'd never had that happen to me and was shocked that it happened in a restaurant of this caliber.

I'm not sure if it was an off night for the staff or what was going on. It was just a very disappointing experience; it's unfortunate that the service level didn't match the food. We had lunch the following day at Morimoto and had a great experience there.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

So I really anticipated having a really ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 8, 2016

So I really anticipated having a really great meal .... everyone said I would. But, sad to say...I did not. The food was not good. I won't say disgusting, but I'm thinking it. Chicken was not up to par.. I like good food. I cannot recommend this place. I was thinking that it had something to do with the last reservation time, but the standard should be maintained from the beginning of the day until closing. I cannot return. I cannot recommend. Some in my party declined eating after they saw the food. Thank you for your attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Incredible, try the octopus appetizer. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Incredible, try the octopus appetizer. Everything we had was phenomenal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Isaac Bancaco was the reason we cam ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Chef Isaac Bancaco was the reason we came to try this place out--wonderful person and great culinary creator--now promoted to executive chef and no longer hands on chef. My only complaint was the rack of lamb (most expensive item on the menu), initially served too rare and after redo was very sinewy and tough. Seafood dishes were excellent and make sure to leave room for dessert!

Tags: Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Disabled Access, Private Room, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had an awesome dinner, coursed out a num ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Had an awesome dinner, coursed out a number of different items and shared them. Had wonderful wine paired with each course. John our waiter was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent and creative dishes. The octop ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent and creative dishes. The octopus salad and abalone risotto were outstanding. Our waiter was extremely helpful in making suggestions, as well as ensuring the meal was well paced. Although prices are very high, they were worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were on Maui for 1 week for our anniv ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We were on Maui for 1 week for our anniversary & a birthday & had dinner every night at a four or five star restaurant. People say the views are great. I had a better view from our hotel cabana. We were on the lanai & had a great view of the bartenders shaking drinks below, & people looking at their phones & a TV we couldn't see. The restaurant was freezing inside, so we asked for the lanai. On the other side of the lanai was a very loud singer who needs more lessons.

We ordered the watermelon salad which I thought was delicious. My husband ordered the beet salad which was just OK. This restaurant stresses farm to table, so I don't understand why they have to pour on sauces that drown the flavor of the vegetables. This was the case with the beets. One time my husband took a bite & said "What is that?" And I said "It's a beet." He couldn't even taste it.

I ordered Niihau lamb and he ordered the fried chicken. The chicken is chicken thighs rolled in cornflakes & we were told they were sweet and tasted like "chicken and waffles." The lamb was OK, but nothing special. It was on a bed of butternut squash& some other vegetables that I can't recall & again, were advertised farm to table. But there was so much butter in the vegetables that I couldn't eat them. As I said before, why have these fresh fabulous ingredients if you drown them in sauce or butter? That's missing the point. Any chef can put a slab of butter in anything and make it taste good. The chicken was OK but nothing special.

We ordered coconut ice cream for desert. Ice cream is my favorite food group & coconut my favorite flavor and whenever it is available, wherever in the world we are, I eat it. This tasted like honey ice cream. I couldn't taste any coconut. The waiter, who was very attentive and gave us good service, said there was no honey in it and lots of coconut. ????? He kindly took it off the bill without our asking.

We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was fair. We ordered the wagyu ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was fair. We ordered the wagyu beef and it was very, very tough. Need more of a variable for wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

The restaurant did not have our dinner r ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The restaurant did not have our dinner reservation made through OpenTable, but they found a table for us. The service was friendly, and the food was delicious!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was excited to try this place but defi ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I was excited to try this place but definitely overrated. Perhaps dinner is better, but breakfast was not... same old hotel food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Amazing!!! Spectacular outside eating!! ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Amazing!!! Spectacular outside eating!! EXTREMELY FLAVORFUL FUN, BEAUTIFUL STAFF, BEAUTIFUL HOTEL.... in all caps because YESSSSS, I'm SCREAMING with excitement over this experience!

ABALONE RISOTTO--- OMG!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was fabulous and helpful thro ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Our server was fabulous and helpful throughout the meal. He almost came across as the manager of the place. He made our first visit memorable and provided great recommendations for both food and drink. We always felt attended to without over service. I wish I had room for the desert and to stay longer. Sitting out on the patio is a must and the restaurant has a great vibe for all ages.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Authentic, Scenic View, Healthy, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was out too long so everything was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Food was out too long so everything was cold and soggy and nasty.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Lovely outdoor seating with a gentle bre ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Lovely outdoor seating with a gentle breeze off the ocean, stellar service, great wine list. We've dined there on several occasions and the place never disappoints. Oh, and if you are a fan of grilled octopus this should be your "don't miss" dish. Mouthwatering. Amazing. The best.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb in every way. Exciting dishes, be ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Superb in every way. Exciting dishes, beautifully presented, with friendly and attentive service. Attractive, contemporary space in the Andaz hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Honestly the food was good but we had ha ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Honestly the food was good but we had had so many amazing meals for a lot less money. I don't think I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We didn't realize at first how the exper ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We didn't realize at first how the experience would be about sharing. There are small and large portions. And what a lovely meal it was! The staff is very knowledgeable and guided us thru the options. Lovely and will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I'm very happy to finally find my favori ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2016

I'm very happy to finally find my favorite restaurant in Wailea. In addition to the relaxing ocean view, outdoor dining at Ka'ana Kitchen, with its excellent food/beverage selection and quality of service, was simply outstanding.

Based on the starters and entrees we enjoyed (Cold noodles, clams, lobster, pork belly, ahi tuna on a bed of roasted vegetables) it was evident that they were prepared meticulously using the freshest ingredients. With the help of our primary server (J.D.), a bottle of 2012 Pinot Noir from Ken Wright Cellars was the perfect pairing for the food selection. Desert which consisted of a moist guava cake and a strip of white chocolate complemented the fresh brewed Kona coffee specially blended for Andaz.

From the valet parking staff to the hosts, all servers were friendly, respectful, attentive and efficient. They truly showed the essence of customer appreciation for local residents and tourists alike. Keep up the great job!!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Organic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Waterfront, Vegan, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and the service was fanta ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Delicious food and the service was fantastic. Very quiet and romantic!! Beautiful view

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lex was amazing from beginning to end! G ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Lex was amazing from beginning to end! Great experience and restaurant! Aloha and Mahalo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food are amazing here. O ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The service and food are amazing here. Obvious that this restaurant really cares about its customers.

Tags: Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Seasonal, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had mahi-mahi it was over cooked and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We had mahi-mahi it was over cooked and chewy. Overpriced and small portions. Definitely a trendy place. I won't be back

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Small menu but so much quality, innovati ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Small menu but so much quality, innovative, creative and most delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food tastes great, but the portions ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food tastes great, but the portions are too little. We expect to spend over $100 at dinner on this trip, but we should at least be full. Add a side or something!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Absolutely the best farm to table I've e ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Absolutely the best farm to table I've ever enjoyed!! A little pricey but you won't be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved dining outside. The service was sp ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Loved dining outside. The service was spot on. We enjoyed sharing everything and were encouraged to. The abalone risotto was something to be remembered. To the end the meal we shared a guava chiffon cake with strawberry ice cream that was perfect.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was very nice, a little pricey but ve ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 20, 2016

It was very nice, a little pricey but very creative, yet simple. Our waiter was great but a slight bit on slow side. Possible short staffed but person in charge of keeping water glass full is amazing. They did a great job with complimentary desserts for my other half. A must try while on Maui

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Best dinner on Maui. Better than Mama's ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Best dinner on Maui. Better than Mama's fish house. Wine list is amazing, service is fabulous. Innovative, fresh menu. We were not expecting this resort restaurant to be this good and it blew us away.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and presentation were top notch ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food and presentation were top notch however some of the dishes were a little overpriced. Overall, a great experience and would return to try more of their delicious creations!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love dining at Ka'ana Kitchen. From th ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 11, 2016

I love dining at Ka'ana Kitchen. From the staff, to the ingredients - absolutely superb!

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual, Romantic, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Tapas, Great Beer, Business Meals, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So, so amazing! Everything was beautiful ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 10, 2016

So, so amazing! Everything was beautifully plated and lovely.

We will definitely return.

Tags: Waterfront, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seafood was excellent! Our server wa ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The seafood was excellent! Our server was superb, and each portion of the meal was thoroughly described upon arrival to the table. We had a wonderful experience and look forward to going back.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff is very good and greet you wit ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 8, 2016

The staff is very good and greet you with a wonderful smile. Outdoor sitting is just beautiful. As far as the food,it was fine with limited options, but not the best we experienced in Maui by far. There is really only 2 full service restaurants on site so your choices are limited. The brunch is over priced. It has plenty of food, But we came from staying at the four seasons and the food at their brunch was about the same and less expensive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.