About Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui

3550 Wailea Alanui Dr
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

What we serve at Ka‘ana, we serve from the heart. We source from local farmers, ranchers, and fishermen. We only put on your plate what we feel is proper to serve. Our pairings speak to the ability to connect the elements of taste, smell, and touch with everything around us.
Our dishes are prepared using techniques from around the culinary world, but thought-out in accordance with our micro-climate. The way we prepare our fish, season our salads, and grill our meat depends not only on its origin, but what the weather tells us, how the swells on the ocean shape our mood, and how the land influences our feelings.
Here we hope to blur the lines between your kitchen and our restaurant, between what is external and what is internal. We invite you in, share our hopes, and create a unique dining experience that connects you to this place and its essence.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Hawaiian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST: 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM

LUNCH: CLOSED

DINNER: 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 573-1234

Website:
http://maui.andaz.hyatt.com/en/hotel/dining/ka_ana-kitchen.html

Parking Details:
complimentary valet

Executive Chef:
Brent Martin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui

Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Hawaii
Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Maui
Best Restaurants in Wailea ›

fit for foodies (53)
scenic view (46)
special occasion (46)
See All
great for outdoor dining (46)
romantic (36)
notable wine list (23)
good for groups (14)
great for brunch (13)
hot spot (11)
great for lunch (8)
kid-friendly (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
neighborhood gem (5)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
462 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You should go! If you miss,you lose your ...

Dined 3 days ago

You should go! If you miss,you lose your life.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food with good service. Menu ...

Dined 5 days ago

Delicious food with good service. Menu is a bit limited but almost every item is local and fresh. Worth a visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Maui! Maybe best of Hawaii. Co ...

Dined 5 days ago

Best in Maui! Maybe best of Hawaii. Complex tasting but perfect matching.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Highly recom ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent food and service. Highly recommended. Will definitely go back next trip to Maui!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wow, great dining experience all round! ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Wow, great dining experience all round! The hotel and restaurant is spectacular, with great views over the tiered infinity pools and the ocean beyond. Warm, gentle breezes create an indoor/outdoor experience. The food is fantastic - really unusual dishes and flavors. The compressed and infused watermelon salad was unlike anything you've had before. The Wagyu Hanger steak was juicy and flavorful, as were the other entrees we ordered. Service couldn't have been more friendly. There's an energy about the staff that lets you know that everyone really enjoys working here, as opposed to so many other restaurants. Well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The view of the Pacific is amazing from ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

The view of the Pacific is amazing from the terrace. Ate there several times during our stay at the Andaz and absolutely everything we ordered was fantastic. Wait staff was extremely attentive and friendly. Can think of nothing to improve. Everything in Maui is expensive and they were in line with the rest of our experiences. I would definitely visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Good and Bad

Dined on June 9, 2016

Found plastic in my daughters dish and was still charged for it. Delicious watermelon salad.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5

Our server Steven was great. Very knowle ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Our server Steven was great. Very knowledgeable about menu and wine list. Everyone treated our kids great and made us feel comfortable. Fried chicken was standout, along with chocolate custard and guava cake desserts! Very cool atmosphere too.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The breakfast here is AMAZING!

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

The breakfast buffet is AMAZING! It is worth the extra money to have breakfast here. Everything is super fresh and the ingredients are local.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cuisine, not just good food.

Dined on June 5, 2016

We have eaten well throughout our visit; however, this is the only one with cuisine as opposed to good food. While not inexpensive, you can easily pay the same or more elsewhere for "non-cuisine" grade. And by cuisine I don't mean "fancy", I mean well-conceived, and thoughtfully prepared and served.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Grey food, reasonable sized portions you ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Grey food, reasonable sized portions you can actually finish. Only complaint would be the limited by the glass wines.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an excellent experience

Dined on May 29, 2016

I booked this reservation for my boyfriend's birthday since he had not been here before. The server, i don't remember her name (tall blonde female), was very friendly, attentive and had great recommendations. The rest of the staff was also very attentive. The food was phenominal. The grilled octopus is the best on the island, it literally melts in your mouth. We had the abalone risotto (server's recommendation) and the lobster. Both were cooked perfectly. The wine selection is very well curated. We had the Ken Wright Pinot Noir. And the coconut sundae (also server's recommendation) was just the right dessert to end the night. It was a very successful birthday dinner. We will definitely be back. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and experience!

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Outstanding food and experience!

food2
ambience4
service3
value3

I did not feel the food was worth the pr ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

I did not feel the food was worth the price. The view was beautiful and the live music at the restaurant below was very pleasant, but I don't think I would return.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service2

Over rated. Average food and presentatio ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Over rated. Average food and presentation. Marketed cleverly, yet way over priced for buffet.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place on Maui.

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

We dined here twice for our best meals during our Maui vacation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant on Maui! Amazing wine li ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Best restaurant on Maui! Amazing wine list. Would definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and beautiful hotel. Great fr ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food and beautiful hotel. Great friendly service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the best meals ever. E ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This was one of the best meals ever. Everything from the moment we entered the restaurant was perfect. The entire staff is gracious, friendly, and understands hospitality. Mark our server and the rest of the service staff did an outstanding job throughout the entire meal. The special birthday dessert presentation was greatly appreciated. We had a suculent watermelon salad and one of the most tender grilled octopus appetizers. The fish and lobster entree courses perfectly prepared. Props to the chef and the entire kitchen staff for putting some love as well as technique into all the dishes. Dining at Ka 'ana Kitchen is a must in Wailea!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the best dinner we had on the i ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

This was the best dinner we had on the island of Maui. We stayed at the Andaz, and took advantage of this on-site restaurant. From service, to presentation, to the quality of ingredients- they did not miss a beat. While waiting for our table, the bartenders made great cocktail recommendations based on our preferences. The meal was absolutely worth the price, I look forward to returning someday.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, views, open kitchen!

Dined on May 10, 2016

The combination of foods and presentations were amazing! The ambiance was very romantic and the open kitchen concept kitchen was really great! The way that everything flowed from the service to the food was on point. The views were also amazing! Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed dining at the Chef's Table wi ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We enjoyed dining at the Chef's Table with Rebecca as the line chef in front of us. It was so much fun. Everyone in the kitchen was high energy and we felt like we were I. A cooking class. The food was outstanding!! We have enjoyed dining here before and have never been disappointed!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is AMAZING! Such interesting ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

This place is AMAZING! Such interesting ingredient combinations that totally work - octopus with goat cheese, ahi with burrata, who knew?? Gorgeous views and fabulous service. Interesting fresh twist on tropical cocktails. Love seeing the open kitchen at work.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Suprised this was so good!

Dined on May 3, 2016

I got a nice seat with a view, and I was happy until a party of 20 got together and just stood in the stair way, I could not hear myself think! Why did the staff let this go on. It almost ruined our dinner. We asked to be moved, when in my opinion they should have done something about the misplaced crowd of people. The food was great, octopus salad, Lobster Créole, great Champaign. I would come back...

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and ambience!

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

I absolutely loved dinner here - my favorite restaurant in Maui.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent good and service. We ate outsi ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Excellent good and service. We ate outside watching the sun set over the Pacific.

food5
ambience5
service5

An experience like no other on the islan ...

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

An experience like no other on the island. The chef and his team were wonderful! Make sure you get their version of chicken and waffles and don't miss the octopus salad! It's a true infusion of taste!

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was excellent and the service ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Everything was excellent and the service is outstanding. Great variety of food that is different and it changes daily.

food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Expensive

Dined on April 14, 2016

Dined here, food was good, we ordered a lot of food and still left hungry. Cocktails are awesome and the wine selection is nice too

food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible flavors. Great pairings by th ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Incredible flavors. Great pairings by the glass. Great service. A must eat!

food5
ambience5
service5

Sat outside. Really great

Dined on April 5, 2016

Sat outside. Really great

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ka'ana Kitchen is amazing. Love it !

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

the Ka'ana Kitchen has great food and fabulous service down to a science. this is always great. I have been multiple times this year and last year and they never fail to deliver the best of everything. You will not be disappointed !! Rebecca K

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is lovely to come back to a restauran ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

It is lovely to come back to a restaurant and find that, if anything, it's improved. The service, food, everything was great. The only problem is their reservation process. They only seem to take reservations for 5:30 and 8:30. So if that is the case it is worth while calling and asking to be put through to the restaurant. They will do their best to accommodate your preferences! The downstairs bar is also lovely. We will back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Grilled Octopus fabulous great wines Jo ...

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

Grilled Octopus fabulous great wines John our server was very knowledgeable about the wines and great attending my family. I chose early seating because I brought my grandchildren and he was so kind and patient with them ages 6 and 8 A perfect evening

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great for breakfast and dinner

Dined on March 25, 2016

We are here twice on our recent trip to Wailea. We were staying at a nearby hotel and could walk along the ocean path to Andaz which was great. The ambiance and decor is great and tables are well spaced. This place is pricey but the quality of the food was worth it. Breakfast buffet is looked great. I had the cinnamon roll pancakes from the a la carte menu which were amazing. Dinner with spouse and 2 tweens was also a very nice night out. The menu is a bit limited but the kids liked trying new things as we shared most plates family style. We had the lobster, fried chicken, shrimp and a few other items and all were good. There is also a kids menu. Great place for excellent food in a casual warm atmosphere.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyable, one-of-a-kind, Maui food journey

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Local, delicious food prepared with integrity and creativity. JD was extremely knowledgeable and attentive. He helped us choose some fantastic plates to share, coursed them perfectly and paired wines with each. We especially loved the grilled octopus with asparagus salad and the Maui Gold pineapple with housemade speck and chèvre, wagyu hanger and amazing abalone risotto. One of our best meals in Maui, and really just about anywhere. Note: we were seated on the lanai which definitely elevated the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Food quality not as good as previous vis ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Food quality not as good as previous visits and per other reviews, high prices and appetizer sizes for entrees. Won't be back

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing as always!

Dined on March 19, 2016

This restaurant is incredible in all aspects: the service- JD and his crew are spot on! The freshness of all that's offered. My Opa was so wonderfully prepared! My husband's dish was the lobster, delish! He started with the shrimp appetizer and it was great. The flavors are well thought of and it's absolutely our favorite restaurant on Maui. It's a must, don't even think of skipping this place. Prices are high but so is everything else on the island! You might as well enjoy what you pay for!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you're in Maui, you should definitely eat here!

Dined on March 17, 2016

Ka'ana is a farm-to-table concept kitchen. I recommend sitting outside where they often have live music. The risotto was the best I've ever had! Our server was attentive and engaging. Highly recommended for romantic evening! Visit around 5:30/6 to watch the sunset.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

sued

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Very disappointed in our experience. The server seemed "put out" to answer our questions. She got one of our entrée orders wrong and we had to wait for the correction. There were no apologies. While the food was tasty, it was very pricey. They should offer some wines at less than $20/glass, or $75/bottle.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.