Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui

What we serve at Ka‘ana, we serve from the heart. We source from local farmers, ranchers, and fishermen. We only put on your plate what we feel is proper to serve. Our pairings speak to the ability to connect the elements of taste, smell, and touch with everything around us.
Our dishes are prepared using techniques from around the culinary world, but thought-out in accordance with our micro-climate. The way we prepare our fish, season our salads, and grill our meat depends not only on its origin, but what the weather tells us, how the swells on the ocean shape our mood, and how the land influences our feelings.
Here we hope to blur the lines between your kitchen and our restaurant, between what is external and what is internal. We invite you in, share our hopes, and create a unique dining experience that connects you to this place and its essence.

3550 Wailea Alanui Dr
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Hawaiian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST: 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM

LUNCH: CLOSED

DINNER: 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 573-1234

Website:
http://maui.andaz.hyatt.com/en/hotel/dining/ka_ana-kitchen.html

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Isaac Bancaco

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
See All
Creative Cuisine (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Romantic (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Waterfront (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Fun (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Business Meals (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Organic (4)
Live Music (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Casual (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vegan (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Cozy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Tapas (2)
Authentic (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
710 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Excellent diverse and fresh food. Waitress was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

The best food in Wailea, hands down! Try the compressed watermelon!!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

My risotto was very good. Son had the kaygu beef - was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Place was amazing! We had a wonderful meal! It is very expensive but worth it! My husband got the fried chicken and I got the lobster! Both were delicious! Drinks were also exceptional!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Great dinner once again. The garlic noodles, tuna and burrata salad, Wagyu beef and Fried Chicken with waffles were all wonderful. The coconut sundae was also a big hit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The food was very interesting and different- we loved the fried chicken!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Loved the flavors and the family-style dining. We were able to try an array of delicious dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2017

My overall experience at ka'ana kitchen was a VERY good one. The food was delightful and the service was quick and easy. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a spot to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The view is spectacular. The service is like eating with well trained family. The servers are. It only well trained but are personable, and empathetic

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Wonderful dinner with my husband for the first evening of our honeymoon...all very perfect!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Amazing food and great ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Amazing restaurant very personal service, setting is on the water in an amazing setting. Looks over 3 negative edge pools to the amazing ocean.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We had gone here with high hopes. Many of our friends love this restaurant. Service was off for a place of this caliber. Nothing needed to be ordered on our next visit. Nothing memorable besides my wife's company. We went for breakfast and dinner so we tried.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Beautiful setting and excellent service but the menu was hard to understand, requiring the waiter to explain it for what seemed like 10 minutes. The menu is designed so that all entrees are shared yet the portion size is ridiculously small and the prices unreasonably high. The food was tastey enough but for the value we would never dine there again or recommend it. We understand and are happy to the pay the high prices of this type of fine dining but this was absurd. Morimoto also at the Andez is high priced but much better food and value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Beautiful resurant with a great unusually unique menu. Our food was wonderful and the watermelon salad was fabulous. We will definitely return next year on our Maui trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Our server was pretty unfriendly and when we ordered another drink acted as though we couldn't afford another.
She gave the vibe and attitude that she was upset she got our table as if we couldn't afford it and wouldn't tip??
We wouldn't dine here if we couldn't afford it.
We still tipped nicely but won't be returning as the service sucks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Food was amazing, everything was spectacular! watermelon salad to die for, and the shrimp risotto, wow 👍

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great night with awesome food. John, our waiter was outstanding. We love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Our 2nd visit here and won't be our last ,. different exciting combinations of fresh ingredients , probably my favourite in the states .. GEOFF AUSTRALIA

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Excellent cocktails, service was on point, and do yourself a favor, get the fried chicken. Easily the best thing we ate. Sat outside and the views were spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Beautiful food and friendly service, couldn't fault it.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Fantastic service and food quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very good food, very expensive, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Nice setting, good service, meals creatively prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Wonderful food! Awesome farm to table concept! Definitely will be indulging in more!

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Live Music, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great server!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Food was excellent unusual and fun! Octopus was eruptions. The bean noodle dish was horrible, but the rest of the entrees and as we say, " pupus", were delicious.
Ambience was exceptional. Wait staff were attentive but not hovering.. definitely one of my favorite dinning establishments

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 3, 2017

It's been two years since last we were in Maui, but I still have fond memories of our meal at Ka'ana Kitchen. We were very excited to have the chance to dine there again this trip. The meal was EXQUISITE!! Every taste blew my mind. My wife and I shared everything (which is the style here). We had three small plates and two big plates. Our small plates were black sesame noodles, hanger steak and watermelon salad. Though they were all delicious, the hanger steak was my favorite. The char was just perfect and the beef was melt in your mouth tender. Our mains were the risotto with shrimp and corn and the ahi tuna with purple sweet potatoes. The only fault I can find with the risotto is there were only three shrimp. One or two more would have been nice. My wife loved the ahi, but I thought it could have benefited from a bit more seasoning. (But really, this is me being a little nit picky). Dessert was AMAZING. We ordered the coconut sundae. OMG!! And the s'more cake which was a very fancy version of the classic. My final tip is you really can't go wrong here. Every item on the menu will entice you and you will second guess yourself as you see beautiful plates of food pass on their way to other tables. But don't doubt yourself. Whatever you ordered will make you certain it was the best choice!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Seasonal, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Overpriced and over-rated. Nice spot with a great view though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Ridiculously overpriced. 15 dollar watermelon salad was worth about 2 dollars. Place is chic and pretty especially with the sunset. Food however is overpriced and a rip

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We had such a wonderful experience. The Fried Chicken was out of this world! And our server JD could not have been better!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Overall food was excellent!
Different/fun flavors and pairings of food.
Waiter was too over the top and loved to talk about himself... and then got defensive when we asked specifics about the menu. Very strange experience. They don't appear to care much if you're celebrating an anniversary.

Overall I'd rate it a 3.75/5

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The waiter and staff were phenomenal and so educated on the delicacy of all meals. They had a passion for explaining and representing each unique plate. You will not find better food anywhere. The ingredients and love in each presentation is overwhelmingly amazing. We loved it! The staff makes the entire experience way more enjoyable. You can't tell if anyone is a food runner because even the manager will pitch in with such positive vibes for every task. It's an incredible dining experience. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Food was good, but not great for all the hype. Definitely not good value. Limited menu with overpriced entries and appetizers that leave you unsatisfied. Ambience was excellent - great outdoor seating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

it was a great choice to have a dinner at Ka'ana , especially if you stay at Andaz resort . The food was surprisingly amazing, we got 27 oz steak for $69 ONLY, Father's Day special. It tastes really great. And the Maui Sea bass was delicious too. The green avocado salad was so fresh and tasty. Nice mood here, enjoy live music if you come after 5:30pm with downstair's bar.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Excellent food, cool layout. Limited menu in a good way - everything is fresh and local.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The kitchen is not a place for a "bargain" meal, it's a great experience and a great meal. Cocktails are wonderful. Service is outstanding, food is inventive and wonderful. We sit at one of the bars. You have a personal bar tender, the food is made in the open. Our bartender was Archer, he does a great job and is very personable.
We will go back.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 31, 2017

My husband and I stayed at the Andaz and we heard wonderful things about this restaurant. We were not dissappointed!! The food was fresh and light but with so much flavor. Sunset was beautiful from the patio. We will definitely come again on our next visit!

Tags: Casual, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The food was wonderful! Local produce used in dishes. Service great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Excellent food!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.