About Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui

3550 Wailea Alanui Dr
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

What we serve at Ka‘ana, we serve from the heart. We source from local farmers, ranchers, and fishermen. We only put on your plate what we feel is proper to serve. Our pairings speak to the ability to connect the elements of taste, smell, and touch with everything around us.
Our dishes are prepared using techniques from around the culinary world, but thought-out in accordance with our micro-climate. The way we prepare our fish, season our salads, and grill our meat depends not only on its origin, but what the weather tells us, how the swells on the ocean shape our mood, and how the land influences our feelings.
Here we hope to blur the lines between your kitchen and our restaurant, between what is external and what is internal. We invite you in, share our hopes, and create a unique dining experience that connects you to this place and its essence.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Hawaiian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST: 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM

LUNCH: CLOSED

DINNER: 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 573-1234

Website:
http://maui.andaz.hyatt.com/en/hotel/dining/ka_ana-kitchen.html

Parking Details:
complimentary valet

Executive Chef:
Brent Martin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui

Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Hawaii
Best Food
Maui
Fit for Foodies
Maui
Best Restaurants in Wailea ›

Scenic View (57)
Special Occasion (54)
Fit for Foodies (54)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (51)
Romantic (36)
Notable Wine List (23)
Good for Groups (18)
Hot Spot (16)
Kid-friendly (13)
Good for a Date (10)
Waterfront (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Live Music (4)
Fun (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Business Meals (3)
Tapas (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Authentic (2)
Casual (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (1)
Cozy (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
525 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food tastes great, but the portions ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 2 days ago

The food tastes great, but the portions are too little. We expect to spend over $100 at dinner on this trip, but we should at least be full. Add a side or something!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Absolutely the best farm to table I've e ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely the best farm to table I've ever enjoyed!! A little pricey but you won't be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved dining outside. The service was sp ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 3 days ago

Loved dining outside. The service was spot on. We enjoyed sharing everything and were encouraged to. The abalone risotto was something to be remembered. To the end the meal we shared a guava chiffon cake with strawberry ice cream that was perfect.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was very nice, a little pricey but ve ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 5 days ago

It was very nice, a little pricey but very creative, yet simple. Our waiter was great but a slight bit on slow side. Possible short staffed but person in charge of keeping water glass full is amazing. They did a great job with complimentary desserts for my other half. A must try while on Maui

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Best dinner on Maui. Better than Mama's ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Best dinner on Maui. Better than Mama's fish house. Wine list is amazing, service is fabulous. Innovative, fresh menu. We were not expecting this resort restaurant to be this good and it blew us away.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and presentation were top notch ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food and presentation were top notch however some of the dishes were a little overpriced. Overall, a great experience and would return to try more of their delicious creations!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love dining at Ka'ana Kitchen. From th ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I love dining at Ka'ana Kitchen. From the staff, to the ingredients - absolutely superb!

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual, Romantic, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Tapas, Great Beer, Business Meals, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So, so amazing! Everything was beautiful ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

So, so amazing! Everything was beautifully plated and lovely.

We will definitely return.

Tags: Waterfront, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seafood was excellent! Our server wa ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The seafood was excellent! Our server was superb, and each portion of the meal was thoroughly described upon arrival to the table. We had a wonderful experience and look forward to going back.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff is very good and greet you wit ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The staff is very good and greet you with a wonderful smile. Outdoor sitting is just beautiful. As far as the food,it was fine with limited options, but not the best we experienced in Maui by far. There is really only 2 full service restaurants on site so your choices are limited. The brunch is over priced. It has plenty of food, But we came from staying at the four seasons and the food at their brunch was about the same and less expensive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

A restaurant of this caliber located in ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

A restaurant of this caliber located in a touristy hotel doesn't do the restaurant much justice. The chefs execute the dishes well and attention is definitely set on the food. The problem is: it's in a hotel. A hotel sees people of all walks come in and go. A hotel of this caliber costs a ton, so the average joe walks in expecting something more than what's doable because of what they've spent to get to Maui and the Andaz. The chefs work there butt off to make people's night special when majority of the guests deserve sub par food and service. The guests just don't understand the technique and ideas behind the plating. So chefs, don't get flustered when a sun burnt kid wearing a Maui t-shirt sends your food back because he was expecting something better.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Waterfront, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lets just say I'm planning our next stay ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Lets just say I'm planning our next stay at the andaz very soon. ka'aana café was the best way me and my family could start our morning ! from the moment we walked in we were greeted with aloha, each morning we sat in a different area and both were wonderful, I really liked the netting around the balcony that kept the birds out! the choices of food were outstanding, we did not hold back and licked our plates clean! the fresh pressed juice topped it off! thank you so much for the hard work, my memory of this place the best it could be!

OH and defiantly can't forget about the most delicious dinner !!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Waterfront, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced wine list and food menu. Bot ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Overpriced wine list and food menu. Bottle of good champagne priced at $280 which could be purchased at a restaurant down the street (2 mins away) for $170...food was well prepared, presented and had good Flavors.

Tags: Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Although we live not too far from the An ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Although we live not too far from the Andaz, my husband and I never been to either hotel's restaurants. We decided to plan our date night at the Ka'ana Kitchen. The best part was the view and our Margaritas, plus the conversation with the experienced barmen. The restaurant is beautiful, especially loved the open kitchen and clean-lines interior design.

Unfortunately the rest of our dining experience did not match our expectations nor the price value. We arrived on time, but the table wasn't ready, and then the hostess "couldn't" find us even though we were seating right next to her, waiting for our table. During the dinner there was a mix-up with our order, which was then fixed, yet id did disrupt the order of the meal. The main entree was served nearly cold. The meal was not bad, portions are too small (i.m.o), and I would like to see our server to be more familiar with the menu.

There were few other details that contributed to the experience, like poor lighting outside, missing napkin and diaper changing!!! at the next table.

My husband and I really enjoy fine dining, unfortunately this experience was not one of them. At the end of the dinner we were left with disappointment. When paying high price at the restaurant, to me not only it includes gourmet meal and drinks, but attentive service, comfortable seating and nice ambience. Sadly most of the value components were missing.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Kahana Kitchen My wife and I moved from ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Kahana Kitchen

My wife and I moved from NYC to Hawaii five years ago. After teaching children for forty years and wine programs for thirty years in NYC we have been able to find some amazing culinary delights on the islands of Hawaii. For our last three Wedding Anniversaries we have celebrated that special day by going to the Ka'ana Kitchen at the Andaz on Maui. For our 47th this year we had two amazing experiences at The Ka'ana Kitchen. The following is a list of the dishes we had in total. Smoked Kaua'i Shrimp, Kona Clams, Kona Lobster, Wagyu Hanger steak, Buttermilk Fried Chicken,Berkshire Pork Belly and Maui caught fish. EVERYTHING was amazing. What's also important to know is that the entire waitstaff goes out of their way to make each and every evening a special event. Service is quick and impeccable. The wine sommeliers know each and every wine and can help you marry a wine to you feast. I can only suggest to reserve a table on the lanai overlooking the ocean and the setting sun in the west. It's a true farm to table restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were just in Maui and ate here twice. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We were just in Maui and ate here twice. We love this place. If you like family dining, then this is the place. The service was excellent and we never felt pressured to order more or order faster. Just a nice relaxed pace, beautiful setting and incredible food. We would have eaten here a third time, but had to leave the island.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Fun, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful scenery, goodhand mixed cockta ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Beautiful scenery, goodhand mixed cocktails and excellent fish. We would put the quality of the food on par with mommas fish house, and the cocktails were even better. Service was good and the wine list kept us happy.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Overall good quality food with an intere ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Overall good quality food with an interesting concept-Table tasting style. Buttermilk fried chicken was really good. Some items seemed excessively priced. Good for groups

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Great setting and good service. Food wa ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great setting and good service. Food was excellent but too expensive. Limited menu- need more greens!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I went to Ka'ana kitchen ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My husband and I went to Ka'ana kitchen on our honeymoon. We were extremely disappointed. The menu is extremely limited, the prices are very high, the portion sizes are quite small, and the wait staff was snobby. That being said, the food we did have was good. We have never left a restaurant hungry until going to Ka'ana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Amazing food

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not worth the price. Slow dinner service ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Not worth the price. Slow dinner service. Great breakfast buffet, though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Small portions

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Small portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

We love the ambience Food was excellent, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We love the ambience

Food was excellent, best dinner we had in Maui

Service was great

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor service and uninformed wait staff ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Poor service and uninformed wait staff

Very disappointing given the high cost of food and wine.

Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Great upscale place to take the family o ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great upscale place to take the family on vacation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

AMAZING!!!!! The bigeye tuna was fantast ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

AMAZING!!!!! The bigeye tuna was fantastic! I would recommend this place to anyone. The only down side is that it is expensive... But it's totally worth it !!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful view is the plus to this resta ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Beautiful view is the plus to this restaurant, unfortunately the value isn't there. Granted you're on a resort and it is Hawaii, but the food is way overpriced. The atmosphere is a mix of family dining and couples while the food seems to attempt to cater to a fine dining experience. Nice place, just not a romantic, fine dining restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Everything in the menu we ordered was mi ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Everything in the menu we ordered was mild to spicy. Even the dessert. Small portions for the price. Service was slow. I had to ask for the waitress from the when i needed something. Not too impressed. Surprising since in a 5star hotel.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Food was delicious and easy to share. Th ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food was delicious and easy to share. The menu is not intimidating and service was friendly and professional.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The name means 'to share'. Its just ext ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The name means 'to share'. Its just extra expensive with small plates. Friends we went with were celebrating an anniversary and they made no mention. Not enough food for what we paid. Wouldn't recommend or go back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The experience was excellent. Our waitre ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The experience was excellent. Our waitress, Ashli, was very pleasant and helpful. Her food recommendations were spot on. The octopus was fabulous. The catch of the day was delicious. It was accompanied by smashed green peas (yummy!) and fresh vegetables which made the dish even better. My husband had a steak and he thoroughly enjoyed it. They use all fresh ingredients that are local which made the dishes we ordered even better. Overall a great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go to Ka'ana Kitchen every year since ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We go to Ka'ana Kitchen every year since they opened for my daughter's birthday. This year was her 10th birthday. Every year, the staff gives her extra special treatment, including birthday cupcakes. But even better is that almost every staff member we passed wished her a happy birthday all throughout our visit. It made her feel so special, she was glowing by the time we left.

Thank you so much for helping my little girl feel so wonderful on her special day! We appreciate you so much!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food & great wine selection.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great food & great wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The restaurant encourages to share the f ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The restaurant encourages to share the food, so we ordered two appetizers and one entrée. Ahi appetizer is to die for: presentation is flawless and every bite is a celebration in your mouth. Ahi just melts, sauces complement its taste, panna cotta is the best I ever tried, even tomatoes are a firework of taste!

Ambiance is great, service is impeccable: our water glasses never went empty.

Highly recommended place!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place offers upscale fusion cuisine ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This place offers upscale fusion cuisine which can sometimes be a liability :-). I discovered I really dislike sweet pickled mushrooms and pineapple as toppings for my lobster. Actually had to eat all that desert-like stuff first and then enjoy my lobster/pork dish.

Hanger steak appetizer was great and the coconut sundae was yummy especially the chiffon cake part.

Service was impeccable and artisan cocktail selection was impressive. Not sure we'll come back, there are better places around here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The food was good but portion sizes coul ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The food was good but portion sizes could have been bigger and the prices were high on the wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Unique, fun menu in a relaxed atmosphere ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Unique, fun menu in a relaxed atmosphere. Great service!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was very very very very very very ver ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

It was very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very good

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has been one of our favo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

This restaurant has been one of our favorites but this time round the food was good but not outstanding. Obviously when dining at a resort hotel restaurant you are going to pay higher prices but we had 3 appetizers and a couple of cocktails each and our total including tip was $175.00. Might only consider coming on special occasions in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.