About Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui

3550 Wailea Alanui Dr
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

What we serve at Ka‘ana, we serve from the heart. We source from local farmers, ranchers, and fishermen. We only put on your plate what we feel is proper to serve. Our pairings speak to the ability to connect the elements of taste, smell, and touch with everything around us.
Our dishes are prepared using techniques from around the culinary world, but thought-out in accordance with our micro-climate. The way we prepare our fish, season our salads, and grill our meat depends not only on its origin, but what the weather tells us, how the swells on the ocean shape our mood, and how the land influences our feelings.
Here we hope to blur the lines between your kitchen and our restaurant, between what is external and what is internal. We invite you in, share our hopes, and create a unique dining experience that connects you to this place and its essence.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Hawaiian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST: 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM

LUNCH: CLOSED

DINNER: 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 573-1234

Website:
http://maui.andaz.hyatt.com/en/hotel/dining/ka_ana-kitchen.html

Parking Details:
complimentary valet

Executive Chef:
Brent Martin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
  • Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui
Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui

Ka'ana Kitchen at Andaz Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Hawaii
Best Food
Maui
Best Restaurants in Wailea ›

fit for foodies (56)
scenic view (51)
special occasion (50)
See All
great for outdoor dining (48)
romantic (37)
notable wine list (23)
good for groups (17)
hot spot (13)
kid-friendly (12)
great for brunch (8)
neighborhood gem (8)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for lunch (2)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
486 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was very very very very very very ver ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

It was very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very good

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has been one of our favo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant has been one of our favorites but this time round the food was good but not outstanding. Obviously when dining at a resort hotel restaurant you are going to pay higher prices but we had 3 appetizers and a couple of cocktails each and our total including tip was $175.00. Might only consider coming on special occasions in the future.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Not a good experience. 815p reservation ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 7 days ago

Not a good experience.

815p reservation. Seated at 830p. Water at 845p.

Definitely go to Mama's Fish House to know what great food is with the high price that is fully justified.

Noise was high enough to fore our waiter to shout the menu choices.

We were at Andaz anyway, so it was just two floors down.

Tasty food but nothing memorable.

The guava ice cream desert was a hit.

Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

During our visit to Maui we dined at Ka ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

During our visit to Maui we dined at Ka na kitchen three times. Once with friends and twice with 3 children ages 8-3. The staff was wonderful and quality of food superb!! Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

highly recommend the watermelon feta sal ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

highly recommend the watermelon feta salad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

As a vegetarian the server was knowledga ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

As a vegetarian the server was knowledgable and even created an entree to suit my needs. The view was stunning.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We stayed at the Andaz so we ate here 3 ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We stayed at the Andaz so we ate here 3 different times--twice for breakfast and once for dinner. The breakfast buffet is PHENOMENAL and worth it, even though it seemed expensive. The dinner was delicious too--the menu is different than most places we found in Maui. The ahi tataki was a great starter, the Berkshire Pork Belly was fantastic, and the Wagyu Striploin was good as well. We had a mango-cake of sorts for dessert that was also good. I had a One Last Sunset drink that I originally thought was too sweet and the bartender overheard this and made sure to make me a new drink and adjust my drink to my liking. The service was great. The atmosphere--right on the balcony over the bar below with a view of the pools and sunset is great as well. Would recommend this to anyone visiting the Wailea area, and especially if staying at the Andaz.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The flavors are amazing! A little pricey ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The flavors are amazing! A little pricey but what isn't in Wailea? We went there twice in our week at the Anadz. So worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, terrific ocean view.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Delicious food, terrific ocean view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Possibly the best restaurant in the stat ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Possibly the best restaurant in the state! Have been fortunate to dine there several times and have consistently experienced amazing food with an impressive utilization of local ingredients. The menu has changed over time, which is great, but the risotto and octopus have remained for good reason, try them!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were staying at the Andaz where this ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We were staying at the Andaz where this restaurant is located in Maui. The ambiance is very nice. The food is OVERPRICED...and portions tiny. My husband liked the food a lot and that was why we went twice...it was also convenient. The bill gave me heartburn. Did not enjoy the food before or after the bill...the decaf coffee was fabulous!! Pork belly was awful, the watermelon appetizer was okay....desserts were mediocre, as was the buttermilk chicken.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The menu was excellent and the Big Eye w ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The menu was excellent and the Big Eye was outstanding. Our group of 4 had a great table and even better service. It's a vibrant place with appealing atmosphere, you will enjoy it.

Additionally, when we pulled up to the valet, he gave me a ticket, smiled and said return whenever you are done, no validation required. Service like that starts everything off well. The entire evening was great.

Mahalo Ka'ana!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friendly staffs, beautiful food presenta ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Friendly staffs, beautiful food presentation w lacked luster tastes... Trying too hard to execute the concept of "farm to table" which in itself not unique at all!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

While our stay in Andaz Maui, we had bre ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

While our stay in Andaz Maui, we had breakfast and dinner here. While breakfast was very good, dinner was even better. I had the lobster and my wife had the risotto. Lobster was delicious but I would say that the abalone risotto was one of the best i've ever had. I would strongly recommend the risotto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I really enjoyed the share a plate exper ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I really enjoyed the share a plate experience. My spouse and I ordered 4 appetizers and one entrée. And then the main dish (Kona lobster) was served. I did not know if I should laugh or cry. $43 for 1/2 of a very small lobster tail. No more than an ounce of meat. The clams, wagyu beef, octopus, smoked shrimp were fantastic and yes, even my 2 bites of lobster. Except for being felt like I was robbed on my lobster order I had a relatively good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This restaurant started out as a lovely ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This restaurant started out as a lovely experience with a knowledgable waiter and a truly delicious first course. We were enjoying the sum total of a Hawaiian night when on comes an average singer with the loudest microphone blare singing his own songs mixed in with Taylor swift. Our enjoyment factor disappeared. We suffered thru the main course, turned down dessert and got out of there as fast as we could at quite a pretty penny. One culinary note. The white fish was quite dry. On the other hand , the octopus salad was divine, the watermelon salad inventive - finally, the joyous taste of real watermelons as they are meant to be. Why not gentle Hawaiian music. We can get all that other noise at home. We come here for a different experience

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We live on Maui and love everything abou ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We live on Maui and love everything about Kaana kitchen. The staff is amazing! The food is fantastic! The view is incredible!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Under staffed servers w attitude under p ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Under staffed servers w attitude under pressure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

The staff was very accommodating in allo ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The staff was very accommodating in allowing me to hang out at the open kitchen where I took photos and video with my cellphone. I even was able to chat with the chefs as they plated the meals. In addition, the staff was also very kind in allowing me to take pictures of my meals in areas with better lighting. Aside from the great friendly staff, the food was very good. I also enjoyed the overall atmosphere of having an open kitchen in the restaurant. I will definitely be back again and will also recommend Ka'ana Kitchen to others.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Get.the.Octopus. It's truly sublime. Att ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Get.the.Octopus. It's truly sublime. Attentive service and I would definitely come back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best breakfast buffet ever and I don't l ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Best breakfast buffet ever and I don't like Buffets!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome plates, awesome service!!! Every ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Awesome plates, awesome service!!! Every thing is presented in a small plates type delivery. The watermelon salad is un expected and very refreshing! And the Ahi Poke is to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were great. Only compla ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food and service were great. Only complaint is that the music from the lounge below is way ok loud if you are sitting outside for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

You should go! If you miss,you lose your ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

You should go! If you miss,you lose your life.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food with good service. Menu ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Delicious food with good service.

Menu is a bit limited but almost every item is local and fresh.

Worth a visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best in Maui! Maybe best of Hawaii. Co ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Best in Maui! Maybe best of Hawaii.

Complex tasting but perfect matching.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Highly recom ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent food and service. Highly recommended. Will definitely go back next trip to Maui!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow, great dining experience all round! ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Wow, great dining experience all round! The hotel and restaurant is spectacular, with great views over the tiered infinity pools and the ocean beyond. Warm, gentle breezes create an indoor/outdoor experience. The food is fantastic - really unusual dishes and flavors. The compressed and infused watermelon salad was unlike anything you've had before. The Wagyu Hanger steak was juicy and flavorful, as were the other entrees we ordered. Service couldn't have been more friendly. There's an energy about the staff that lets you know that everyone really enjoys working here, as opposed to so many other restaurants. Well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The view of the Pacific is amazing from ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The view of the Pacific is amazing from the terrace. Ate there several times during our stay at the Andaz and absolutely everything we ordered was fantastic. Wait staff was extremely attentive and friendly. Can think of nothing to improve. Everything in Maui is expensive and they were in line with the rest of our experiences. I would definitely visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good and Bad

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Found plastic in my daughters dish and was still charged for it. Delicious watermelon salad.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Our server Steven was great. Very knowle ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Our server Steven was great. Very knowledgeable about menu and wine list. Everyone treated our kids great and made us feel comfortable. Fried chicken was standout, along with chocolate custard and guava cake desserts! Very cool atmosphere too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The breakfast here is AMAZING!

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The breakfast buffet is AMAZING! It is worth the extra money to have breakfast here. Everything is super fresh and the ingredients are local.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cuisine, not just good food.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We have eaten well throughout our visit; however, this is the only one with cuisine as opposed to good food. While not inexpensive, you can easily pay the same or more elsewhere for "non-cuisine" grade. And by cuisine I don't mean "fancy", I mean well-conceived, and thoughtfully prepared and served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Grey food, reasonable sized portions you ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Grey food, reasonable sized portions you can actually finish. Only complaint would be the limited by the glass wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always an excellent experience

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I booked this reservation for my boyfriend's birthday since he had not been here before. The server, i don't remember her name (tall blonde female), was very friendly, attentive and had great recommendations. The rest of the staff was also very attentive. The food was phenominal. The grilled octopus is the best on the island, it literally melts in your mouth. We had the abalone risotto (server's recommendation) and the lobster. Both were cooked perfectly. The wine selection is very well curated. We had the Ken Wright Pinot Noir. And the coconut sundae (also server's recommendation) was just the right dessert to end the night. It was a very successful birthday dinner. We will definitely be back. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and experience!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Outstanding food and experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I did not feel the food was worth the pr ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I did not feel the food was worth the price. The view was beautiful and the live music at the restaurant below was very pleasant, but I don't think I would return.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Over rated. Average food and presentatio ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Over rated. Average food and presentation. Marketed cleverly, yet way over priced for buffet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Best place on Maui.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

We dined here twice for our best meals during our Maui vacation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant on Maui! Amazing wine li ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Best restaurant on Maui! Amazing wine list. Would definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.