Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Justice - Urban Tavern

3.9
51 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Lunch
  • Good for Groups
  • Neighborhood Gem

Similar Restaurants

About

Like a small town tavern, Justice is always hopping with people from all walks of life. Our tasty menu of hearty food and craft beers embodies our small town philosophy of keeping it local. Our wines, beers, meats, and produce all come fresh from California breweries, wineries and farms.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Comfort Food, Burgers
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday-Thursday: 6am to 11pm
Friday and Saturday: 6am to12am

Happy Hour Daily from 3pm to 6pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(213) 629-1200
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Francis Demitrius
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wine
What 51 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.9based on all time ratings
3.8
food
4.0
service
3.6
ambience
3.4
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on January 18, 2018

We had a large party for a co-worker's farewell. I'm always impressed with the food here. I am on a pretty strict detox cleanse and was still able to find something on the menu that was on my program (with a few small modifications) but still VERY DELICIOUS.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 17, 2018

Food came out cold (French Fries). We weren’t charged happy hour prices for our drinks even though we were there for happy hour. Parking was ridiculous! We were charged almost $15 for parking for a little over 3 hours. You would think that after spending over $300 In your restaurant that parking would be validated.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 26, 2017

Excellent beers, food and even better service. Thanks.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 16, 2017

Couldn't even eat, service wasn't even there for us. We walked out

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 16, 2017

Food was good. But there were not enough servers. We had to constantly grab the attention of our server. I would return in a pinch. It was convenient to dine at this location if attending a theatre event in Little Tokyo.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2017

We made a reservation. We received a call the day of our reservation letting us know there was an event in the restaurant and we could not sit in the restaurant. We were seated in the Lobby of the Double Tree Hotel. Some of the food was okay. However, our main Birthday Guest's food did not arrive at the table until 30+ minutes after everyone else. We refused the meal. We were heading to a concert. When the bill came they did not tell us the tip was already included... Not a good experience... Will not return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2017

Great spot to hang out prior to Dodgers Opening Day this year, was looking for somewhere just like this and was perfect. Only complaint is the service seemed to be overwhelmed when more early morning fans arrived and got too slow.
Breakfast buffet was just right and for the price can't go wrong.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2017

Not super busy when we were there so we were able to kill time after dinner while waiting for a theater show to begin.

Arrived during happy hour and had $5 wine. Nice deal

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 15, 2017

Good food for price and location. Poor service. Not at all busy but still took a long time to catch waiter's attention. Waiter disappeared twice more. After finally ordering, waiter forgot side dishes.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 21, 2017

Would not honor my Open Table reservation

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 17, 2016

Drinks were great.... can't say the same for the food. :/

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 30, 2016

Justice is located steps away from the Hilton Doubletree downtown. Received personable, excellent service from both our servers for dinner and breakfast. They were energetic, had smiling faces, and were busy yet made us feel welcome. Would definitely return.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 27, 2016

They didn't have our reservation.
There was an event going on with the loudest imaginable music.
We left and went elsewhere.
Very poor experience.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 24, 2016

Service is always very slow, not attentive or friendly. Food is OK. Wish it was better because it's in a perfect downtown location near city hall.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 11, 2016

Convenient - we didn't have to drive as we were staying at the hotel. Friendly staff. Good food. Healthy choices available.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 22, 2016

Good food, great service--a good solid go-to for business meetings, friends get-together or to watch a soccer match.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 5, 2016

I joined a group of friends here for an early Sunday dinner. We ordered a variety of items and shared plates so we got a pretty wide sampling. We had the House Cured Meats & Local Cheeses, Justice Wings, Margherita Flat Bread, Roasted Garlic Sunchoke Dip, Fish & Chips, Hand Cut Fries, Elote and Sauteed Spinach. I really wanted to find something stand-out but everything was just ok. We couldn’t really taste the garlic in the sunchoke dip and it really needed to come with more crackers for the amount of dip there was. The braised pear on the meat & cheese platter was tried but pretty much untouched. We had beer and cocktail drinkers in the group. The selection of beers on draft was good. The person that had the cocktail that featured beets didn’t think it lived up to its promise. The thyme cocktail though was liked by all.

The location and service were good but it wouldn’t be my first choice if dining in the area again. We had enough variety that something should have stood out but everything was just ok. I would try somewhere else first.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2016

So glad I was able to use OpenTable reservation system and follow up by making a call to see if our lunch items could be prepared to coincide with our group's arrival. Our server was great, and she took the care to make it all happen. I think it was Theresa? Give our thanks to everyone on shift for our Thursday, 6-2 1:30 reservation for four. Next time, we'll bring the boss, for his birthday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2016

The food was amazing! I'm not sure what we loved the most, the Mac n cheese, tuna tacos or crab cake sandwich! I eat here often and love everything from the staff to the food to the overall ambiance. If you're in the area try their specialty cocktails!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2016

An excellent meal. Loved the Citrus Shrimp. Great Ceasar salad and the bread is super. My husband loved his meatloaf. Stephanie our server was delightful. Had dinner there twice recently and we could not have been more pleased.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2016

JT is a downtown jem for restaurants. Decent prices for very enjoyable meals. They always have a special twist on the favorites.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 30, 2016

My girlfriend and I had RSVP'd for a Prince tribute event that was being held at Justice. We could have easily went at 9:30 and called it a night but after going online and viewing their menu and pictures we figured we'd give the place a chance. We made our reservation for 8 and upon arrival we were greeted by the General Manager Paul Trevino. He was very gracious and considering the event had not began he informed us that they were somewhat understaffed for that evening.

We sat and observed the ambience as people were being seated and watching the DJ set up for our viewing of Purple Rain. Place is very well designed, looks very high end. Nice bar to catch sports and where we were seated was the center table of the main dining area. Nice lighting and the walls had some very cool art.

As the night progressed and the crowd started coming in you could see where them being short staffed impacted the food coming out sooner. We were waited on by a gentleman by the name of Kyle and I can say that he was nice and attentive considering the event. He and Paul were both very nice and provided exemplary service. I have to tip my hat to both of them for providing great service that night.

For food my girlfriend had the Barista burger and I ordered the Fish and Chips. We were both satisfied with our food for the most part. The wait for the food and my fish could've used a little more salt and my fries were a little on the cooler side of hot knocked a star off. Overall I'd say that the food was good. We both liked the way our food was presented and once again I must commend Kyle for providing exceptional service throughout the evening. I did not only notice him at our table I kept seeing him working every table even as the party had began. He worked hard and provided great service.

Nice ambiance, exceptional service, and the prices were reasonable. We look to have lunch on the patio on a weekend very soon.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 27, 2016

We picked this place for our family Easter dinner because the website said, "Justice is your friendly Downtown Los Angeles gastropub without the Downtown Los Angeles prices." and "Like a small town tavern, JUSTICE is always hopping with people from all walks of life." We thought this would be the perfect way to end WonderCon and celebrate the holiday. We were wrong. There was no one there during the entire time of our reservation. The emptiness of the restaurant totally killed the vibe. The food was just OK and still quite expensive. The best part of the night was when I spilled my 1/2 glass of wine and they quickly offered to top it off, very classy.

Maybe it was just because it was Easter, but I was seriously disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 22, 2016

food great... wonderful variety & very tasty......Amy as manager was great......the telephone service to contact someone to make reservations and confirm same was pathetic...no one answers...goes to phone tree which dies..made reservation online requesting phone call..never got one....called hotel for help ...none forthcoming.....worst experience i ever had..you must make changes ! i brought in 20 + people for a party !....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 14, 2015

Location, food and staff are wonderful. The fresh , locally sourced food is beautifully prepared and served with flair in the dining area as well as the tavern. The servers will make you feel welcome, encouraging you 2 relax and linger!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 10, 2015

Justice - Urban Tavern is great. They have a small but fun happy hour. I tried all the ala carte small plates and enjoyed every bite. Drinks are fun and interestingly named. One down side the bar seats are horribly uncomfortable. they are missing a foot bar on the stool. So as a short person I just kinda dangle there. But other than that it is a great place to dine and I will be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2015

Our server took good care of us, and even gave our 3 year old his own set of pancakes without charging extra!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2015

The menu was surprisingly bigger and varied than a beer pub would be expected to have. I picked a crab cake sandwich that sounded quite good, but frankly wasn't. Execution was good, but the idea of a breaded crabcake placed between two pieces of bread is too much carb and not enough crab flavor. I will go back and try the menu again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2015

The short rib sandwich was pretty good, but the fries were a disappointment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2015

The food here has not disappoint. It's my go-to place for a quick lunch meeting because there is 2-hours free validated parking at the Doubletree Hotel. This is a bonus where parking is such a high commodity in LA.

The menu changes so don't fall in love with any of the dishes. With that said, all the dishes I have had here have been quite good. Also, throw in a bloody mary with gin and every meeting will be a fabulous one.

The one staple is the tuna tartar tacos. I order this as my entree and a soup. It's a light lunch that is just perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2015

I have never been to Justice for breakfast but I definitely want to come back. It was a great place for the small group of ten of us. The service was great. The staff was very attentive to our needs.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 20, 2015

The food was adequate - not bad but nothing special - our particular waitress was adequate - not particularly engaged in her job or warm to us. But, we had a quiet table and the restaurant location was what we needed. They don't serve any kind of bread so don't ask for it, you'll get a "well, too bad, attitude." (I felt a little light headed and wanted a quick bite to begin the meal.) If you are in the area and need to eat, it's there. The new menu shows promise.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 22, 2014

The food at Justice is good but there are plenty of places with good food and better service. my entree came with the wrong side dish. when I asked the waiter, he first said that they 'ran out' and then that they 'had changed the menu but hadn't reprinted it yet.' Either way, he should have told me that way before the dish arrived at the table. Food came out of the kitchen so slowly that the 2 hour validated parking wasn't long enough for dinner. When I asked about earning HHonors bonus points for the meal as we do at other Hilton properties I was ignored.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 10, 2014

Had lunch with our staff and they sat us pretty quickly and we ordered not too long thereafter. The food was pretty good, but it took a little too long for the food to be served. One problem was that they left a piece of paper from the cheese on one of the sandwiches. The server was apologetic and took the charge off of the bill. Might try again as they appear to be trying to make things better. Didn't have any alcohol, but they have a pretty good lineup of beers.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 1, 2014

I frequent this restaurant because it is in close proximity to my work and has been consistently good. The "House Rubbed Salmon" dish is my favorite! The salmon is always perfectly grilled with part of the skin nicely season and crispy. The dish is accompanied by a red quinoa and a salad with grapefruit slices and vinaigrette dressing. Healthy and delicious! Other dishes are just as tasty. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 4, 2014

Had a lovely dinner with my friend while I was in town. Service was extremely friendly and welcoming. Food was tasty. I recommend the Shrimp and Chorizo appetizer for sure! Had the Braised Short Rib which as very good.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 29, 2014

Very disappointed in the food ! I had high hopes that this could be a regular lunch spot or if nothing else for special occasions due to the great location. I went with a large party, the service was good and they were accommodating but nobody loved thier meal. The chopped salad was bland, the baby kale sprouts were burned and the bread pudding was doughy. If I knew they hired a new chef I would try it again otherwise my advice is skip it !!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 27, 2014

We went to your location, with a party of 6, for lunch and had a quick turn around time frame. Your staff was wonderful, took our order quickly,
and we got our food back, so fast... Thank you for having a staff so deligent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 9, 2014

Comfortable but unremarkable interior, spiced up a bit by some graphics on the walls. The new buildings downtown have taken away many of the surface parking lots but parking under Weller Court off of 2nd Street was still available, although a little pricey. Wine by the glass selection was a little limited but there was something there for everyone. Mushroom flat bread, a shared beet salad, grilled salmon and short ribs were all very tasty and left us too full for desert. This adds another place to dine before heading up the hill to the Ahmanson.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 6, 2014

Great salad over chicken. A little too much dressing. Next time I'll get it on the side.

Report
Helpful
1
2

Tweets by Justice - Urban Tavern