About Justice - Urban Tavern

120 South Los Angeles Street
Los Angeles, CA 90012
View Larger Map

Like a small town tavern, Justice is always hopping with people from all walks of life. Our tasty menu of hearty food and craft beers embodies our small town philosophy of keeping it local. Our wines, beers, meats, and produce all come fresh from California breweries, wineries and farms.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday: 6am to 11pm
Friday and Saturday: 6am to12am

Happy Hour Daily from 3pm to 6pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 629-1200

Website:
http://www.justicela.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Francis Demitrius

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wine

Justice - Urban Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Special Occasion (3)
See All
Fit for Foodies (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
37 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Convenient - we didn't have to drive as ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Convenient - we didn't have to drive as we were staying at the hotel. Friendly staff. Good food. Healthy choices available.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Good food, great service--a good solid g ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Good food, great service--a good solid go-to for business meetings, friends get-together or to watch a soccer match.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good service and location. OK food.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

I joined a group of friends here for an early Sunday dinner. We ordered a variety of items and shared plates so we got a pretty wide sampling. We had the House Cured Meats & Local Cheeses, Justice Wings, Margherita Flat Bread, Roasted Garlic Sunchoke Dip, Fish & Chips, Hand Cut Fries, Elote and Sauteed Spinach. I really wanted to find something stand-out but everything was just ok. We couldn’t really taste the garlic in the sunchoke dip and it really needed to come with more crackers for the amount of dip there was. The braised pear on the meat & cheese platter was tried but pretty much untouched. We had beer and cocktail drinkers in the group. The selection of beers on draft was good. The person that had the cocktail that featured beets didn’t think it lived up to its promise. The thyme cocktail though was liked by all.

The location and service were good but it wouldn’t be my first choice if dining in the area again. We had enough variety that something should have stood out but everything was just ok. I would try somewhere else first.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Forty-five minute lunch

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

So glad I was able to use OpenTable reservation system and follow up by making a call to see if our lunch items could be prepared to coincide with our group's arrival. Our server was great, and she took the care to make it all happen. I think it was Theresa? Give our thanks to everyone on shift for our Thursday, 6-2 1:30 reservation for four. Next time, we'll bring the boss, for his birthday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was amazing! I'm not sure what ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The food was amazing! I'm not sure what we loved the most, the Mac n cheese, tuna tacos or crab cake sandwich! I eat here often and love everything from the staff to the food to the overall ambiance. If you're in the area try their specialty cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An excellent meal. Loved the Citrus Shr ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

An excellent meal. Loved the Citrus Shrimp. Great Ceasar salad and the bread is super. My husband loved his meatloaf. Stephanie our server was delightful. Had dinner there twice recently and we could not have been more pleased.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Justice Tavern is always a great place to dine

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

JT is a downtown jem for restaurants. Decent prices for very enjoyable meals. They always have a special twist on the favorites.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Justice was Served.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

My girlfriend and I had RSVP'd for a Prince tribute event that was being held at Justice. We could have easily went at 9:30 and called it a night but after going online and viewing their menu and pictures we figured we'd give the place a chance. We made our reservation for 8 and upon arrival we were greeted by the General Manager Paul Trevino. He was very gracious and considering the event had not began he informed us that they were somewhat understaffed for that evening.

We sat and observed the ambience as people were being seated and watching the DJ set up for our viewing of Purple Rain. Place is very well designed, looks very high end. Nice bar to catch sports and where we were seated was the center table of the main dining area. Nice lighting and the walls had some very cool art.

As the night progressed and the crowd started coming in you could see where them being short staffed impacted the food coming out sooner. We were waited on by a gentleman by the name of Kyle and I can say that he was nice and attentive considering the event. He and Paul were both very nice and provided exemplary service. I have to tip my hat to both of them for providing great service that night.

For food my girlfriend had the Barista burger and I ordered the Fish and Chips. We were both satisfied with our food for the most part. The wait for the food and my fish could've used a little more salt and my fries were a little on the cooler side of hot knocked a star off. Overall I'd say that the food was good. We both liked the way our food was presented and once again I must commend Kyle for providing exceptional service throughout the evening. I did not only notice him at our table I kept seeing him working every table even as the party had began. He worked hard and provided great service.

Nice ambiance, exceptional service, and the prices were reasonable. We look to have lunch on the patio on a weekend very soon.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Did Easter Kill This Place?

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

We picked this place for our family Easter dinner because the website said, "Justice is your friendly Downtown Los Angeles gastropub without the Downtown Los Angeles prices." and "Like a small town tavern, JUSTICE is always hopping with people from all walks of life." We thought this would be the perfect way to end WonderCon and celebrate the holiday. We were wrong. There was no one there during the entire time of our reservation. The emptiness of the restaurant totally killed the vibe. The food was just OK and still quite expensive. The best part of the night was when I spilled my 1/2 glass of wine and they quickly offered to top it off, very classy.

Maybe it was just because it was Easter, but I was seriously disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

firstime

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

food great... wonderful variety & very tasty......Amy as manager was great......the telephone service to contact someone to make reservations and confirm same was pathetic...no one answers...goes to phone tree which dies..made reservation online requesting phone call..never got one....called hotel for help ...none forthcoming.....worst experience i ever had..you must make changes ! i brought in 20 + people for a party !....

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to return

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Location, food and staff are wonderful. The fresh , locally sourced food is beautifully prepared and served with flair in the dining area as well as the tavern. The servers will make you feel welcome, encouraging you 2 relax and linger!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Justice - Urban Tavern is great. They ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2015

Justice - Urban Tavern is great. They have a small but fun happy hour. I tried all the ala carte small plates and enjoyed every bite. Drinks are fun and interestingly named. One down side the bar seats are horribly uncomfortable. they are missing a foot bar on the stool. So as a short person I just kinda dangle there. But other than that it is a great place to dine and I will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

sweet spot

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

Our server took good care of us, and even gave our 3 year old his own set of pancakes without charging extra!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Broader ranger of food than expected

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 5, 2015

The menu was surprisingly bigger and varied than a beer pub would be expected to have. I picked a crab cake sandwich that sounded quite good, but frankly wasn't. Execution was good, but the idea of a breaded crabcake placed between two pieces of bread is too much carb and not enough crab flavor. I will go back and try the menu again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Fancy bar food

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 2, 2015

The short rib sandwich was pretty good, but the fries were a disappointment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Good food, good ambience, good vibe

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 31, 2015

The food here has not disappoint. It's my go-to place for a quick lunch meeting because there is 2-hours free validated parking at the Doubletree Hotel. This is a bonus where parking is such a high commodity in LA.

The menu changes so don't fall in love with any of the dishes. With that said, all the dishes I have had here have been quite good. Also, throw in a bloody mary with gin and every meeting will be a fabulous one.

The one staple is the tuna tartar tacos. I order this as my entree and a soup. It's a light lunch that is just perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great breakfast!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 25, 2015

I have never been to Justice for breakfast but I definitely want to come back. It was a great place for the small group of ten of us. The service was great. The staff was very attentive to our needs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Adequate

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 21, 2015

The food was adequate - not bad but nothing special - our particular waitress was adequate - not particularly engaged in her job or warm to us. But, we had a quiet table and the restaurant location was what we needed. They don't serve any kind of bread so don't ask for it, you'll get a "well, too bad, attitude." (I felt a little light headed and wanted a quick bite to begin the meal.) If you are in the area and need to eat, it's there. The new menu shows promise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

good food but otherwise disappointing

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 23, 2014

The food at Justice is good but there are plenty of places with good food and better service. my entree came with the wrong side dish. when I asked the waiter, he first said that they 'ran out' and then that they 'had changed the menu but hadn't reprinted it yet.' Either way, he should have told me that way before the dish arrived at the table. Food came out of the kitchen so slowly that the 2 hour validated parking wasn't long enough for dinner. When I asked about earning HHonors bonus points for the meal as we do at other Hilton properties I was ignored.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

will try again

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 10, 2014

Had lunch with our staff and they sat us pretty quickly and we ordered not too long thereafter. The food was pretty good, but it took a little too long for the food to be served. One problem was that they left a piece of paper from the cheese on one of the sandwiches. The server was apologetic and took the charge off of the bill. Might try again as they appear to be trying to make things better. Didn't have any alcohol, but they have a pretty good lineup of beers.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Consistently Good!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 1, 2014

I frequent this restaurant because it is in close proximity to my work and has been consistently good. The "House Rubbed Salmon" dish is my favorite! The salmon is always perfectly grilled with part of the skin nicely season and crispy. The dish is accompanied by a red quinoa and a salad with grapefruit slices and vinaigrette dressing. Healthy and delicious! Other dishes are just as tasty. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Warm and friendly

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 5, 2014

Had a lovely dinner with my friend while I was in town. Service was extremely friendly and welcoming. Food was tasty. I recommend the Shrimp and Chorizo appetizer for sure! Had the Braised Short Rib which as very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very disappointed in the food !

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 29, 2014

Very disappointed in the food ! I had high hopes that this could be a regular lunch spot or if nothing else for special occasions due to the great location. I went with a large party, the service was good and they were accommodating but nobody loved thier meal. The chopped salad was bland, the baby kale sprouts were burned and the bread pudding was doughy. If I knew they hired a new chef I would try it again otherwise my advice is skip it !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

We went to your location, with a party o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 27, 2014

We went to your location, with a party of 6, for lunch and had a quick turn around time frame. Your staff was wonderful, took our order quickly,

and we got our food back, so fast... Thank you for having a staff so deligent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Downtown Justice

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 10, 2014

Comfortable but unremarkable interior, spiced up a bit by some graphics on the walls. The new buildings downtown have taken away many of the surface parking lots but parking under Weller Court off of 2nd Street was still available, although a little pricey. Wine by the glass selection was a little limited but there was something there for everyone. Mushroom flat bread, a shared beet salad, grilled salmon and short ribs were all very tasty and left us too full for desert. This adds another place to dine before heading up the hill to the Ahmanson.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great salad over chicken. A little too m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 6, 2014

Great salad over chicken. A little too much dressing. Next time I'll get it on the side.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Justice -Urban Tavern

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 15, 2014

This place has great food, an exciting and open atmosphere, and very attentive wait-staff.

At first glance, it seems out of place in Little Tokyo. But once inside, it is a perfect fit for the

area! The only drawback is a lack of on-site parking. However, the public parking lot across

the street at $1.00 per hour solves that problem!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

VERY Rude Server

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 14, 2014

The server (Marco) was not friendly or helpful. In fact, he was quite rude. He even (literally) THREW the check on the table BEFORE we were even half-way finished with our meal, stating, "Here's your check, guys."

To make matters worse, he grabbed some plates from the table before we had finished eating our food.

It was the worst service I've ever experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Birthday Brunch?

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 10, 2014

I was looking for a weekday brunch place in downtown and stumbled upon this restaurant online. I was very much looking forward to this place. Unfortunately, they didn't have the brunch option which was highly disappointing. The burger I ordered was very good, juicy, and not overcooked. They had good beer options and wine on tap is not the best. Parking situation was good, everyone can park at the doubletree. But word of advice just because you get your ticket validated in the restaurant does not mean you will get you parking waived. Apparently, you still have to validate it at the hotel front desk. I would suggest that the restaurant update their hours for brunch and their menus.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Fantastic!

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 27, 2014

We had a group lunch with 12 people, which was wonderful. Was also there several times during the week in the evenings. Food was great, wine list and bar was extensive, and staff were fantastic! If you are in Downtown Los Angeles, do yourself a favor and stop by!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

American Urban Casual

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2014

Very open and light; separate bar/bar table area from dining area. Nice bar, great service. Mainly American food at reasonable prices. No culinary masterpieces, but basically good food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Lunch Spot

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2014

This seems to be the lunch spot for DDAs, PDs, city attorneys, and judges. (Not surprising given the name!) Great environment, good food, and ample space for a happy hour gathering. Truly enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not great, but good value for price

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 20, 2014

The menu is limited, so we had hoped the few items offered would be done well. Instead, it was meh. The beets in the roasted beet salad were undercooked and tasteless. The entrees were better: the braised short rib was very tender and tasty, as were the cheddar grits that accompany it. Fish and chips were a little soggy, but not bad. Everything is locally sourced (yay!) but judging by the asparagus, it's clear that the chef doesn't dash down to the farmer's market and carefully select the choicest stalks. But what do you expect for $18 entrees? Value received.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

best burger in town

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 1, 2014

I have visited Justice twice in the last month. I am typically not a burger lover, but upon rave reviews I went against my norm and ordered up. I cannot believe how delicious this burger was. From the pickles to the marinated tomatoes, flavorfull beef, I was in heaven. I am sure the other items on the menu are equally as delicious, but I cannot see ordering anything else. Seriously the BEST BURGER.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

BABES AND BURGERS

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 1, 2014

I was fortunate to make a reservation for your great eatery as it was in the same Doubletree by Hilton that I was shooting 5 Beautiful Long Beach Wilson High School Graduates and their 2 lucky dates for their prom photos in the Japanese Garden on the roof. The girls were over an hour late, but you we're more than gracious to extend our reservation and give us fantastic service and delicious food. I know that Justice will now become one of my favorite restaurants in downtown LA, and I'm pretty sure all the grads will return as well. Keep up the great eating experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Comfort Food; Nice Ambiance

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 11, 2014

Very new restaurant and still getting their act together, but overall a great experience. Kind of an American menu, with lots of comfort food. The burgers were sensational and fish and chips were moist and flavorful. The mac and cheese was a disappointment...not hot and the cheese was just liquid. Great, friendly service.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Justice Served

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 11, 2014

Great bar seating. High bar tables are equipped with outlets to power your chargers and laptops. Great selection of craft beer and their hamburger is AMAZING!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.