About Juniper & Ivy

2228 Kettner Blvd
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Juniper and Ivy offers “Refined America Food with Left Coast Edge” Courtesy of acclaimed Chef Richard Blais perhaps most recognizable as the Winner of Bravo’s “Top Chef All-Stars”. Blais brings his wildly creative approach to cooking and cuisine to San Diego; Backed by an All-Star Culinary Team. Excellent Cocktail and Wine Programs paired with Al Fresco Dining, High Energy Design and more makes Juniper and Ivy the newest Destination Restaurant to hit the West Coast.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Service
Sunday - Thursday : 5pm - 10 p.m.
Friday & Saturday : 5pm - 11 p.m.

Bar/Lounge opens daily at 4 p.m.

Cross Street:
On Kettner, between Juniper & Ivy

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 269-9036

Website:
http://www.juniperandivy.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking
Valet available to guests at $5/car + gratuity

Executive Chef:
Richard Blais

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Acclaimed Chef, Richard Blais oversees the 7,500 square-foot restaurant, which is available for buyouts, meetings, cocktail receptions and other special events.

Restaurant Photos

Juniper & Ivy
Juniper & Ivy
Juniper & Ivy
Juniper & Ivy
Juniper & Ivy
Juniper & Ivy
Linguni & Clams
Yodel
Morel Agnolotti
Albacore
Porcini Bread Pudding
Artichoke Panzanella Salad
Bitter Giuseppe
Foie Gras Cookies
Roasted Baby Beets
Ribeye Tartare
Burgundy
Sweet Potato Angolotti
Weissburgunder
Rose
Salted Pistachio Icecream
Coffee Cake
Salted Pistashio Ice Cream
Foie Gras Fig Newton
Champagne
Tribute To Grace Grenache Rosé
Mas De Daumas Gassac Rosé Frizant
Pfalz Pinot Noir Rosé
Wood Fire Grilled Pork Ribs
Our Buttermilk Biscuit
Carne Cruda Asada
Grilled Asparagus
Shaved Pear & Apple Salad
Garden & Grain
Deviled Eggs
In-N-Haute Burger
San Diego Chicken
Spring Lamb
Foie Gras
Dry Aged Short Rib
Sunday Puncher
HERCULES RANCH 1 LB NEW YORK
Beet Violet Ice Cream
French Fries "Animal Style"
'00 Dom Dujac Charmes Chambertin
New York Strip
Squash Blossom Relleno
Cheese
Colle Stefano Rosé
Berkshire Pork Shoulder
Sd Chicken
Crudo Carne Asada With Quail
Carne Cruda Asada Toast
Tj Local Corn
Garden And Grains
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Bahn Mi Toast
sweet potato ravioli
Cheddar And Chive Biscuits Amuse Bouche
In The Ivy
Pear Toast
Binato Potato
A Peanut Butter and Jelly of Sorts
Berkshire Pork Porterhouse
Devil In Disguise
Ensenada White Bass
Local Corn
Boniato Potato
House Charcuterie
Baja Yellowtail
Kumamoto Oysters& Pearls
Tuna Tartare
Nasturtium/ Dungeness Crab/Meyer Lemon Curd/ Dill Pollen
Abalone/ Artichoke/Bone Marrow/Lemon Barbasol
Ahi Tuna/Nicoise/Fava
Slow Roasted Beets
Octopus Terrine
King Salmon/Mango Kimchi/Macadamia
Shaved Asparagus
Dungeness Crab Beignet
White Chocolate Pine Nut Cookies
Tequila+Cucumber+Lime+Mint+ Agave
Radishes With Butter And Salt
Compressed Olives
Mangoporn
Mystery Dish
Crab Fritters
'12 Pascal Janvier Jasnieres Sec
Black Sesame Churro
Little gem lettuce
Bbq Abalone
Lagrein Rosé
buttermilk biscuit
Fluke
Amuse Bouche
J Lassalle Brut
Adelsheim Rosé
California Olives
2013 Rosé Wagner-Stempel
J K Carriere Pinot Noir

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Juniper & Ivy is a left coast cookery with cuisine focused on locally curated products cooked and presented in a radical way. The kitchen, helmed by Chef Richard Blais, artfully churns out an array of avant-grade, yet simple dishes intended to spark conversation among guests.

Juniper & Ivy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
San Diego
American
San Diego
Most Booked
San Diego
4 More
Fit for Foodies
San Diego
Hot Spot
San Diego
American
San Diego
Most Booked
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Little Italy ›

fit for foodies (420)
special occasion (342)
hot spot (295)
See All
good for groups (174)
notable wine list (158)
vibrant bar scene (152)
neighborhood gem (149)
romantic (123)
late-night find (40)
great for outdoor dining (25)
great for lunch (15)
great for brunch (10)
kid-friendly (9)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1851 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The uni dish was by far the most memorab ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 15 hours ago

The uni dish was by far the most memorable and highly recommended followed closely by the bone marrow. The entire staff was incredibly friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious, beautiful and inventive food, ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious, beautiful and inventive food, wonderful staff and gorgeous space design. Consistently top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely loved this place! Food was ec ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely loved this place! Food was eclectic and tasty, service fabulous - going to take my whole family there for my birthday dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was good except the dishes we ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was good except the dishes were dirty with caked on food. We have to get 3 or 4 plates each to find a clean one and even our waiter saw they were dirty. Really ruined what should have been great dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We love this place !!! Every time we ar ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We love this place !!! Every time we are in the area we try to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite restaurant in San Di ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

This is my favorite restaurant in San Diego & I brought my sister who was visiting from out of town. Overall, we had a great time & the food was amazing. The peach/burrata dish was to die for & the yellowtail was another highlight. Oh, so was that honey ice cream dessert. Yum. I wanted it to be a perfect experience for my sister but it wasn't. For one, our server was nice but obviously distracted. We ordered the pork belly small plate & the carne & egg toast & both were served rare, although it wasn't indicated on the menu, nor did our server mention it. The dishes were good, but it gave my sister a stomach ache the next morning as she wasn't used to eating rare red meat/pork. Also when the check came another table's order had been added to ours, nearly doubling the price. Not a mistake I would expect from a restaurant of this caliber. However we still had a nice time & I appreciate the uniqueness & diversity of the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

It's an extremely amazing place were any ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

It's an extremely amazing place were anyone of any age can enjoy themselves. Food is to good for words and the service was unbelievable! Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I don't live locally and was in town for ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

I don't live locally and was in town for Comic Con and booked this without any recommendations and I can't say more about how much I really liked it. The vibe was relaxed and the interior was rustic and artsy. We did a bunch of plates that we shared and everyone of them was great. The service was good too, not too in your face but attentive enough.

I would highly recommend this place. For those at the con on business that dined closer to the event...have at it. This place was well worth the short cab or uber ride.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice- lot of small plate options wh ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice- lot of small plate options which we enjoyed.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is awesome, the service is awes ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food is awesome, the service is awesome and the menu selection is wide! All in all it is never a disappointment to eat at Juniper & Ivy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous in every way this is one of our ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous in every way this is one of our favorite San Diego restaurants that consistently delivers delicious food, great drinks with friendly & knowledgable service.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to Juniper & I ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

This was our second visit to Juniper & Ivy, and it did not disappoint. We closed out Comic-con last year with a great meal here, so we chose it to celebrate my birthday during Comic-con this year and brrought along friends. Everything was wonderful, from pasta to fish to beef, and the desserts were fantastic. We also grabbed an order of schmaltz fries from Richard Blais' Crack'd Shack next door and those are worth another trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made reservations for dinner to celeb ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 7 days ago

We made reservations for dinner to celebrate my son's Birthday. We didn't know what to expect, but the food, the service and the vibe exceeded our expectations. The creativity in making the food and it's presentation were awesome. And everything not just looked good but tasted even better. The small plates give you the chance to try so many different things and we were not disappointed once. Thanks for making our outing an enjoyable special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was literally the BEST food I've ev ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 7 days ago

This was literally the BEST food I've ever eaten! Yes, it's expensive. Yes, the portions are small (that's why they called our selections small plates). BUT, the quality and flavors were so extraordinary that it was worth every penny. Two of us shared the octopus, mission fig toast, stone crab raviolo, and of course, a Yodel for dessert. The grapefruit cocktail and french press coffee were the icing on the cake. Service was very good except for forgetting our wine order. Servers were charming. Ambiance a little noisy but not unbearable. If you have a big appetite or want an intimate conversation, this is probably not for you. If you appreciate genius in the kitchen with perfectly cooked food, beautifully blended flavors, and an adventurous menu, Juniper and Ivy is heaven on earth. Kudos to Chef Blaise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We've been to Juniper & Ivy with a group ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We've been to Juniper & Ivy with a group of 5-6 twice now during Comic Con - everyone pronounced some of the food as fantastic and the rest as a great "experience" - like the deviled eggs. We came fairly early so it was not too busy, service was excellent both times, knowledgable servers and good timing of food. Will go back every year - would do more if we lived in San Diego. Only thing that could be a disappointment was that Richard Blais did not come in those evenings - we are big fans of his from Top Chef and have also eaten at his Flip Burger in Birmingham which was also wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was one of the best culinary experiences ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Was one of the best culinary experiences we have ever had. The food was spectacular. The serving sizes were perfect. The 4 of us split 8 apps, an entree and two desserts. So glad our server (Vanessa) told us the serving sizes to a tee. Being able to taste all the different items was amazing. The food came out at all the right times we weren't rushed at all. Les the general manager came to our table many times to talk and see how we were doing. GREAT FOOD EVEN BETTER SERVICE.....A MUST IF COMING TO SAN DIEGO

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This being our first time to J&I, we did ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This being our first time to J&I, we didn't know what to expect...But, we were soon put at ease with the varieties of Delicious food that were presented to us...From "snacks" to entrees, it was all out of this world...A Great time was had by all!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful! Be sure to get the yodel. I w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Wonderful! Be sure to get the yodel. I was expecting people to be more dressed up, but most diners were dressed casually. Will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every item we ordered came out perfectly ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Every item we ordered came out perfectly prepared. From the hostess to servers and everyone staff in between, we were greeted in a friendly yet professional manner. The ambience was a bit of an old barnyard look with a hip vibe. We enjoyed it there. Definitely returning to J&I when we come back to San Diego.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

J&I was wonderful!! The deviled eggs wer ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

J&I was wonderful!! The deviled eggs were so incredible! Service was impeccable and the manager is very personable. Enjoyed every minute (and every small plate we tried)!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoyed the small plates but t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We really enjoyed the small plates but thought the entree (duck) was overpriced and overcooked on the hot plate that it was served on. The restaurant is extremely loud so definitely not a place to go when you want to have dinner conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Its been a while... We haven't been here ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Its been a while...

We haven't been here in quite a while but it was definitely worth revisiting.

We met some friends here to catch up and had a great time. The cocktails were excellent to start as well as the recommended wine with the main courses.

The octopus appetizer was stellar...I didn't know you could make octopus so tender. The beet salad is also worth a try.

I was a tad noisy but it was not overwhelming. We will definitely keep J & I in our regular rotation from now on.

Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit. Our server was ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This was our first visit.

Our server was great although I will say the place has a little of the hipster holier than thou vibe to ir.

W

Unfortunately, when it comes down to it, it's all about the food.

Most of the dishes were average

I'll rate our dishes:

Oysters - 3, fishy, not recommended $21

Pork tortelloni- 4, good but weird $13

Snap peas - 5 excellent $8

Cheese puffs - 4 $0

Octopus - 4, excellent taste but super small portions $16

Duck- 3 rubbery texture, definitely not great $31

Halibut - overcooked 3 $35

Overall average.

Overpriced

Small portions

Wine list? Bring your own and pay the corkage!

Too bad, not a keeper

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The noise inside was just short of madd ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The noise inside was just short of maddening. The outside area was just a bit better. The food was excellent and the servers did repeat in order to be understood at short range.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Fabulous, all of it! Complex, interesti ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Fabulous, all of it! Complex, interesting, perfectly cooked and seasoned plates.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was good enough but the dishe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Everything was good enough but the dishes felt a bit contrived and the flavors didn't go together all that well. We would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

What truly made my experience was the ho ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

What truly made my experience was the host staff. I called and asked for wine to be waiting and for a note to be written to my guest. As busy as they were it was done. The food was phenomenal, service and sommelier were outstanding. Who knew an obscure bottle of Tokaj was exactly what I wanted. Thanks again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, interesting menu. Waitres ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food, interesting menu. Waitress was good, but with the food runners the wine service could have been better

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Chef Blais is so talented! He also happe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Chef Blais is so talented! He also happens to be a really nice guy. He came to our table and was so gracious. We got to take a photo with him which totally made my entire day! We went to San Diego for the weekend for our Anniversary just to eat here and Juniper and Ivy did NOT disappoint!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance excellent food and wine l ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great ambiance excellent food and wine list with excellent pairings by the in house sommelier

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, but it didn't live up to the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Good food, but it didn't live up to the hype. Very loud; not conducive to conversations (the waiter had to repeat himself several times to discuss menu items). They also were not very receptive to special requests (my wife and i both have food allergies). And when i requested a simple side-salad with my sea bass (which was perfectly cooked!), their only options were more elaborate side dishes.

Nice bar, but very crowded.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

This was our first visit to Juniper & Iv ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our first visit to Juniper & Ivy. The service was terrific, and it's a lively & fun place to enjoy an evening. We were a tad disappointed with the food - it was very good, but not great - but it's reasonably-priced. We probably wouldn't choose it again for a celebratory meal for two people (birthday, anniversary, whatever), where we wanted outstanding food -- but we would certainly be happy to return for a get-together with a group of friends.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for foodies. Eclectic menu. Wonder ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great for foodies. Eclectic menu. Wonderful opportunity to explore a variety of foods since plates are shareable. Our server Gino was fabulous! I look forward to visiting again next time I'm in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great, inventive food and small portions ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great, inventive food and small portions make it fun to try different smaller dishes. If you opt to sit outside the patio is lovely, however the restaurant is directly under the flight path to the airport, so be prepared to hear planes flying over rather low and loud throughout your meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

By far one of the most amazing meals I'v ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

By far one of the most amazing meals I've ever had. Each dish was perfection and the service was top notch. I would recommend to everyone... this is a San Diego gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was creative and fun! Our servi ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was creative and fun! Our service wasn't great but we will definitely go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

The restaurant is very nice but overall ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The restaurant is very nice but overall the experience was not what we expected. When we arrived, they gave us the worst table they have: right above the kitchen, even if a better table was still available. What was that? Profiling? We are not cool enough to stay in the center of the room? A lot of smell and noise were coming from the kitchen. We changed table eventually.

The food presentation is very good, but it didn't have a lot of taste. The portions are small compared to the price.

It's a nice place but I'm not sure it's worth the money.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

It was a trendy restaurant , and we all ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

It was a trendy restaurant , and we all had a fabulous dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was so impressed with Juniper & Ivy. I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I was so impressed with Juniper & Ivy. It started when I called to request a change to my reservation to add 4 people. The woman I spoke with on the phone was incredibly accommodating and professional and they worked with me patiently to make it happen. WOW! I have not had service like that from a restaurant in a long time. Then, once we'd arrived at the restaurant, the hostess was wonderful. She gave us time to have a drink in the bar, and kept gently reminding us to pay our tab before moving to our table. They were efficient (keeping us on time) without being pushy or making us feel badly.

Our server and the other staff were fantastic. We were a party of 8 with two teenagers and a difficult parent (mine). They maneuvered through that mine field with grace and skill. Food and wine were fantastic. Service was over the top. Thank you for a great birthday dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter Mike was awesome. He made the ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our waiter Mike was awesome. He made the perfect suggestions and spent real time with us explaining the vision of the owners and what the experience they are offering should be. He excelled at delivering that experience and I will be back with a large party of 30 two weeks from now.

I travel 45 weeks every year and dine at the best restaurants in the USA and abroad. Juniper & Ivy made my top 5.

I'm in San Diego every month and this restaurant will always be on my travel agenda. Great job guys, you knocked it out of the park.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.