About Juniper & Ivy

2228 Kettner Blvd
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Juniper and Ivy offers “Refined America Food with Left Coast Edge” Courtesy of acclaimed Chef Richard Blais perhaps most recognizable as the Winner of Bravo’s “Top Chef All-Stars”. Blais brings his wildly creative approach to cooking and cuisine to San Diego; Backed by an All-Star Culinary Team. Excellent Cocktail and Wine Programs paired with Al Fresco Dining, High Energy Design and more makes Juniper and Ivy the newest Destination Restaurant to hit the West Coast.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Service
Sunday - Thursday : 5pm - 10 p.m.
Friday & Saturday : 5pm - 11 p.m.

Bar/Lounge opens daily at 4 p.m.

Cross Street:
On Kettner, between Juniper & Ivy

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 269-9036

Website:
http://www.juniperandivy.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking
Valet available to guests at $5/car + gratuity

Executive Chef:
Richard Blais

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Acclaimed Chef, Richard Blais oversees the 7,500 square-foot restaurant, which is available for buyouts, meetings, cocktail receptions and other special events.

Restaurant Photos

Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Juniperivy - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
J&i Interiors - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Semi-private Dining Room - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Juniperivy - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Main Dining Room Floor - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Yodel - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Beef Tartare - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Grilled Octopus - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Gnocci With Pork Belly - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Fried Apple Donut And Coffee Ice Cream - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Oysters and Pearls - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Crab toast - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Bitter Giuseppe - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Foie Gras Cookies - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Linguni & Clams - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Burgundy - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Sweet Potato Angolotti - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Morel Agnolotti - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Albacore - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Porcini Bread Pudding - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Artichoke Panzanella Salad - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Weissburgunder - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Roasted Baby Beets - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Ribeye Tartare - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Foie Gras Fig Newton - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Rose - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Champagne - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Salted Pistachio Icecream - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Coffee Cake - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Salted Pistashio Ice Cream - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Tribute To Grace Grenache Rosé - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Mas De Daumas Gassac Rosé Frizant - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Pfalz Pinot Noir Rosé - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Wood Fire Grilled Pork Ribs - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Carne Cruda Asada - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Grilled Asparagus - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Shaved Pear & Apple Salad - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Garden & Grain - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
In-N-Haute Burger - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Foie Gras - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Spring Lamb - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Our Buttermilk Biscuit - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Deviled Eggs - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
San Diego Chicken - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
HERCULES RANCH 1 LB NEW YORK - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Beet Violet Ice Cream - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Sunday Puncher - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Baja Yellowtail - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Squash Blossom Relleno - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Kumamoto Oysters& Pearls - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Tuna Tartare - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Nasturtium/ Dungeness Crab/Meyer Lemon Curd/ Dill Pollen - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
King Salmon/Mango Kimchi/Macadamia - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Octopus Terrine - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Slow Roasted Beets - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Abalone/ Artichoke/Bone Marrow/Lemon Barbasol - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Ahi Tuna/Nicoise/Fava - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Shaved Asparagus - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Dungeness Crab Beignet - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
White Chocolate Pine Nut Cookies - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Tequila+Cucumber+Lime+Mint+ Agave - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
In The Ivy - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Radishes With Butter And Salt - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Compressed Olives - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Mangoporn - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Mystery Dish - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Crab Fritters - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Binato Potato - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Crudo Carne Asada With Quail - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
'12 Pascal Janvier Jasnieres Sec - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Dry Aged Short Rib - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Little gem lettuce - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Black Sesame Churro - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Lagrein Rosé - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Bbq Abalone - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
buttermilk biscuit - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
French Fries "Animal Style" - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Fluke  - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Amuse Bouche - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Cheese - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
New York Strip - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
J Lassalle Brut - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Adelsheim Rosé - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
California Olives - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
2013 Rosé Wagner-Stempel - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
'00 Dom Dujac Charmes Chambertin - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
J K Carriere Pinot Noir - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
'13 Tattomer Gruner Veltliner - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
2011 Ribolla Gialla - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Backyard Tiki Bbq - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
'12 Dom Maestracci E Prove Calvi Blanc - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Xarel-Lo - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Spatburgunder - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
'11 Von Hovel Riesling Kabinett - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Colle Stefano Rosé - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Ahi Tuna Tartare - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Cheddar And Chive Biscuits Amuse Bouche - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Berkshire Pork Shoulder - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Sd Chicken - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Juniper & Ivy is a left coast cookery with cuisine focused on locally curated products cooked and presented in a radical way. The kitchen, helmed by Chef Richard Blais, artfully churns out an array of avant-grade, yet simple dishes intended to spark conversation among guests.

Juniper & Ivy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
San Diego
American
San Diego
Most Booked
San Diego
3 More
Fit for Foodies
San Diego
American
San Diego
Most Booked
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Little Italy ›

Fit for Foodies (177)
Special Occasion (152)
Hot Spot (110)
See All
Creative Cuisine (107)
Good for a Date (98)
Modern Decor (87)
Open Kitchen (77)
Romantic (77)
Good for Anniversaries (72)
Good for Groups (72)
Notable Wine List (66)
Neighborhood Gem (65)
Good for Birthdays (60)
Handcrafted Cocktails (59)
Vibrant Bar Scene (55)
Worth the Drive (51)
Fun (46)
Local Ingredients (45)
Tapas (41)
Bar Seating (41)
People Watching (34)
Molecular Gastronomy (34)
Seasonal (29)
Tasting Menu (27)
Authentic (26)
Business Meals (26)
Healthy (23)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Casual (22)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Happy Hour (16)
Organic (13)
Late-night Find (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Cozy (8)
Family Style (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Private Room (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Historic (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Spicy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
2117 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We're fans of Chef Blaise and since we w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

We're fans of Chef Blaise and since we were coming to San Diego we had to visit his restaurant. Ambiance and food were great and chef Blaise was on the kitchen. We asked our waiter if we could compliment the chef and sure did he came and took a picture with us. Overall it was an awesome experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Amazing food, service and ambiance!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing food, service and ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful meal from start to finish. It' ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

Beautiful meal from start to finish. It's not a restaurant for an everyday meal--it's pricy--but for a special occasion, you can't miss this. And don't skip dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wanted to try this place for quite a whi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Wanted to try this place for quite a while. Glad i did but feel like i can put it on the "been there_done that " list.

Decor industrial chic... Like all others of this type, exposed ductwork ceiling and cement surfaces means it is a bit difficult to carry on a conversation due to noise level.

Service was very attentive but not intrusive.

Nice enough rustic syyle presentation on dishes.

Enjoyed the inventive take on deviled eggs. Cute, clever, tasty. Pink snapper take on ceviche was skimpy portion and would be better without the avocado in the lime sauce. The venison medallions were divine--should be upsized and offered as entree--definitely the highlight of the meal. The bbq carrots as veg...looked nice, taste: meh. Whole sea bass competent but nothing special tho' the bed of broccolini it was on was very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Phenomenal meal with innovative combinat ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Phenomenal meal with innovative combinations. Loved my squid ink linguine with uni! Service was attentive and all employees were very good-natured. Will definitely be coming back when I return to San Diego.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was knowledgeable and engaging ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

The staff was knowledgeable and engaging and the atmosphere open but warm. All those things added to the dining experience but it was the food that makes this place stand out. There is no such thing as a simple dish on this menu. Every selection reflected layers of taste, texture and complexity that 'Foodies' would appreciate and everyone else would simply enjoy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Finally got to go to this restaurant tha ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Finally got to go to this restaurant that consistently gets excellent reviews, boy were we disappointed. We tried appetizers, small plates, pasta's and desserts. The dishes were pricey and looked creative and interesting but the descriptions were far better than the food itself. We spent time with out waiter and asked him to recommend dishes and followed his guidance. I had a Foie Gras Cookie, a tasteless filling in a refrigerated soggy sweet cookie, no dates or grapes accompanied the dish as advertised . This was followed by Baja Stone Crab. Thinking about the delicious Stone Crab I've had in Florida, or the Dungeness Crab we had for Thanksgiving it was not eve close. It was a small portion of crab, that could have come out of a can, in a salad presentation. Next was a three small super Al Dente Wild Mushroom Tortelloni, with a thin mushroom vegetable sauce. My wife had a Baby Beet Salad she enjoyed. The desserts were good. Overall, expensive, poor value and mediocre food and I was hungry when I left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Great fun. All the food is amazing, per ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Great fun. All the food is amazing, perfect in taste and composition.

Plates are small but this is not an all you can eat buffet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere, excellent service and ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

Great atmosphere, excellent service and delicious food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The oysters and venison were amazing; ho ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

The oysters and venison were amazing; however, the octopus was lackluster and disappointing

Tags: Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wow. I often shy away from places that ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Wow. I often shy away from places that are hyped. But this place deserves hype as a wonderful location and ambiance. Oh yeah, the food was interesting, creative and very very good, much of it being sublime, actually.

The menu is based on a tapas style, so you will share lots of different flavors, textures and presentations. Be prepared to try things that are outside your comfort zone as well.

A special evening made better because days after, our party is still discussing the food. This is the kind of place that is an event because it is fairly unique.

It is expensive, but worth it. You are paying for the food, not the view of the water or whatever. That being said, the ambiance and decoration is terrific and interesting. People watching is great and fun, everyone appears to be happy in sharing this experience. Service was friendly, attentive and prepared to make good recommendations.

The drink menu is a real compliment as well, and you should save room for dessert.

Overall: Awesome place. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my third time there, but had be ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was my third time there, but had been a year. The food was delicious and interesting, but the portions were ridiculously small. For the small plates, about 2 oz. for 11-13 dollars. We ordered about 8 plus a meal for a table of 4 and went and had pizza afterwards.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Great food and service. A must visit res ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food and service. A must visit restsurant in San Diego!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We were seated promptly upon arrival a f ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were seated promptly upon arrival a few minutes ahead of our reservation time. Excellent guidance from our server on menu items and whether they were tapas size or larger. We experimented with some unusual dishes including octopus with egg and poke. Everything was delicious. Desserts were also very tasty. Excellent experience all around .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Creative, seasonal menu. All three fish ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Creative, seasonal menu. All three fish dishes - ono, sea bass and ahi - we had were fresh and succulent. The appetizers were unusual but interesting. Not all the main dish vegetable sides worked or were even edible, but the other gems made those only slight annoyances. The service was excellent, but you sit very close to other diners so you hear all conversations next to you, and the restaurant is quite noisy. I'd recommend for an unusual, tasty dining experience, but won't return due to terrible parking and high prices.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Fully expecting a new hipster/farm-to-ta ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Fully expecting a new hipster/farm-to-table place with overpriced tiny portions we were truly blown away.

We Googled "hot new restaurants in San Diego" and Juniper & Ivy came up. After reading through the menu and perusing the Yelp photos we made a reservation (yeah for reservations!).

The ambiance feels both classy and comfortable, and every person we encountered was genuinely kind, patient and not once did it feel stuffy or pretentious.

Our waitress (Xx) was spectacular. Her menu suggestions were all spot on and tasty. Our drinks were always full, our table clean, and as if she could sense when we needed her she'd float in and out of our area.

I enjoyed each sip of my Malbec and the hubby enjoyed his Dubs Tickler

*only regret... we didn't reserve the Chef's table! How cool it would've been to sit in the kitchen and watch Chef Richard Blais do his thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great mixologist--Blair. Karen, our wait ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great mixologist--Blair. Karen, our waitress, was very fun. Delicious meal. Carrots are over the top!

Highly recommended. Go next door for a nightcap and bocce with Curtis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I initially came here for a marketing ev ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 22, 2016

I initially came here for a marketing event a few months back. This is a great restaurant for dining and very, "San Diego!" I returned for my fiance's birthday dinner, she loved it. Great cocktails, great atmosphere. We will definitely returning.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I felt our server was not the best, he t ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 21, 2016

I felt our server was not the best, he tried to make us order more than we wanted, because he said that is what you are expected to order, more plates, we were 2 people and he said not enough only 4 plates to share !!!! most people order 3 per person!!!! to us what we ordered was enough. The manager came to check on us and was extremely kind and caring to see if we were happy. It is a different restaurant, nice quality of food and great fusion of flavors, but a little too pricey for their plate size. Check the menu before you go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Fabulous foods. Love small plates to sav ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fabulous foods. Love small plates to savor different wonderful flavors.

Best for 4 or more to share.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Positives: attentive service and pleasa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Positives: attentive service and pleasant surroundings

Negatives: attempt at a creative menu failed, difficult to put together a coherent meal

                    from the menu options, portions were very small and high priced, extremely

                   poor value,  a very disappointing meal and experience
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

From the moment the three of us walked i ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2016

From the moment the three of us walked in we knew our meal would be special. Our waiter was exceptionally knowledgeable about the food and the wine. We shared three appetizers, had two entries, two small plates and two desserts and all were very impressive. The food was prepared lovingly with surprising elements and taste combinations. Bravo. The wine selection was amazing and we were able to have two bottles of stellar Italian white, a glass of a wonderful red and an bubbly rose that paired superbly with our two desserts.

The service was impeccable and very attentive. I rank it highest in service of any restaurant in San Diego.

We had a wonderful time at Juniper & Ivy, it was a wonderful culinary adventure in very able hands.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love this place. The food was wonder ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We love this place. The food was wonderful. Richard Blais was in the kitchen which was a big highlight for me as I have been a fan since his first top chef appearance. We simply love this place

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Get the deviled eggs! Probably the best ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Get the deviled eggs! Probably the best and most exciting bite of food I've ever had. Richard Blais is a magician with food. The halibut was phenomenal and I will dream about the gnocchi for a long time. Perfect service as well. The octopus was good but I preferred the other dishes we had. We tried an assortment for our table and we loved every bite. You must end with the yodel. It's such an amazingly delicious dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just ordinary food. Why the 'real' food ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Just ordinary food. Why the 'real' food were so different from those posted in the homepage?

Fantastic 'great' wine list (e.g. 30 yrs old bottles from France), but house wine list was just ok.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food. My girlfriend could not wait ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great food. My girlfriend could not wait for dessert which she loved

Very good experience EXCEPT the noise

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous dinner. Just reading the menu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Fabulous dinner. Just reading the menu was enough to get my taste buds pinging, but the arrival of the food was also very dramatic. I had the oysters to start, which were beautifully presented steaming away with wasabi and Yuzu pearls, literally heavenly for every bite. I followed by two small plates, one with the griddled octopus, which was cooked to perfection and the combination with the egg and mash was delightful. Also slow cooked pork belly was flavoursome and tender. Desert was a pumpkin based dish also delicious. Service was friendly and very good. Only one slight quibble was that I informed our server I was wheat intolerant which she was great for main recommendations but forgot for desert and I ended up with a cake component I couldn't eat. But that was the only minor issue as the restaurant was frankly delightful a very good ambience with subtle sophistication

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Can't go wrong with anything. We were a ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Can't go wrong with anything. We were a group of 4 and tried multiple small plates and entrees family style. Everything was AMAZING! Don't let the veggies and grains dish fool you...it's out of this world! Yum...will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Nicely appo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Excellent food and service. Nicely appointed interior.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was well above what I expected. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The food was well above what I expected. Delicious and creative!! The staff was friendly, courteous, and inviting, and was very helpful in describing the dishes and giving suggestions. Open kitchen concept allowed you to watch the chefs make your food. We brought our one year old with us and it was such a great experience for us all, (bringing a baby to any restaurant proves to be challenging at times, but they made her feel comfortable and even offered her a complimentary plate of fruits, very much appreciated.) We will definitely be going back again soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a waste. Noisy , crowd, busy and n ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

What a waste.

Noisy , crowd, busy and not tasty.

The food looks great, but horrible taste.

Fuagra cookies had after taste of soap, for sure wasn't fresh, BBQ carrots got burn to death taste, chicken was fine, and the yodel is sweet with no proportion at all . I thought that it will be way better.

I'm sorry but we won't come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We had the duck Caesar, crab toast, squi ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had the duck Caesar, crab toast, squid pasta, pork belly, and sea bass. We loved everything except for the crab toast- it didn't have much flavor. The duck salad was the best. The restaurant is very cool inside. It is really loud, so if quiet=romantic to you, it may not fit the bill. Our server was great and on top of everything. Overall a wonderful dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall nice experience. Service was gre ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Overall nice experience. Service was great despite the rude front of house bartender. I get that he was busy but should not be annoyed at guests for ordering a drink..he is a Bartender!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was great. This was our second chan ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was great. This was our second chance at feasting here. I asked for a booth with lots of time ahead but unfortunately didn't get one. However, had we gotten the booth we might not have had the wonderful server and the gentleman that bussed our table. Great service. Bilingual server - made things easier for my mom. Delicious food. Looking forward to next time.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Organic, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food presented in a very creati ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Fabulous food presented in a very creative manner. Above all, the restaurant is extremely well staffed with very well-trained and knowledgeable servers! They are so awesome that I had to pause before leaving the restaurant solely to observe their orchestrated efficiency throughout the restaurant! As a successful business owner, this is a rarity and well appreciated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every bite great. Terrific service from ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Every bite great. Terrific service from Selena

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top drawer service, especially if you're ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Top drawer service, especially if you're a wine drinker. Their Somm had great knowledge and the perfect recommendations. A++

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Healthy, Private Room, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The smoked biscuit was quite surprising. ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The smoked biscuit was quite surprising. The carrots were quite tasty. Dessert of Milk and Honey had the right palate cleansing characteristics.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Great Vibe. Awesome service. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food. Great Vibe. Awesome service. Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Juniper and Ivy in San Diego's trendy Li ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Juniper and Ivy in San Diego's trendy Little Italy was a fun and lively evening. A family get together in an exciting restaurant with a varied and interesting menu. We loved the open kitchen, high wood/beam ceilings, and elegant feel, yet casual and intimate ambiance. The wine collection/selection is stunning, and we were curious and excited to dine in Chef Richard Blais, from Top Chef, hip restaurant. We were not disappointed. From buttermilk biscuits to seafood selections and pasta.............the menu provided an array of choices. We were so happy to learn that we could book our reservation in advance via Open Table, so easy and an immediate confirmation. A wonderful and vibrant experience! Service was outstanding. Would highly recommend all who are interested in a Special evening with delectable dining.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Private Room, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.