About Juniper & Ivy

2228 Kettner Blvd
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Juniper and Ivy offers “Refined America Food with Left Coast Edge” Courtesy of acclaimed Chef Richard Blais perhaps most recognizable as the Winner of Bravo’s “Top Chef All-Stars”. Blais brings his wildly creative approach to cooking and cuisine to San Diego; Backed by an All-Star Culinary Team. Excellent Cocktail and Wine Programs paired with Al Fresco Dining, High Energy Design and more makes Juniper and Ivy the newest Destination Restaurant to hit the West Coast.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Service
Sunday - Thursday : 5pm - 10 p.m.
Friday & Saturday : 5pm - 11 p.m.

Bar/Lounge opens daily at 4 p.m.

Cross Street:
On Kettner, between Juniper & Ivy

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 269-9036

Website:
http://www.juniperandivy.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking
Valet available to guests at $5/car + gratuity

Executive Chef:
Richard Blais

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Acclaimed Chef, Richard Blais oversees the 7,500 square-foot restaurant, which is available for buyouts, meetings, cocktail receptions and other special events.

Restaurant Photos

Juniper & Ivy
Juniper & Ivy
Juniper & Ivy
Juniper & Ivy
Juniper & Ivy
Juniper & Ivy
Yodel
Linguni & Clams
Beef Tartare
Grilled Octopus
Gnocci With Pork Belly
Fried Apple Donut And Coffee Ice Cream
Oysters and Pearls
Crab toast
Bitter Giuseppe
Foie Gras Cookies
Morel Agnolotti
Albacore
Porcini Bread Pudding
Artichoke Panzanella Salad
Roasted Baby Beets
Burgundy
Ribeye Tartare
Sweet Potato Angolotti
Weissburgunder
Rose
Foie Gras Fig Newton
Salted Pistachio Icecream
Coffee Cake
Salted Pistashio Ice Cream
Champagne
Tribute To Grace Grenache Rosé
Mas De Daumas Gassac Rosé Frizant
Pfalz Pinot Noir Rosé
Wood Fire Grilled Pork Ribs
Our Buttermilk Biscuit
Carne Cruda Asada
Grilled Asparagus
Shaved Pear & Apple Salad
Garden & Grain
In-N-Haute Burger
Deviled Eggs
San Diego Chicken
Foie Gras
Spring Lamb
Dry Aged Short Rib
Sunday Puncher
HERCULES RANCH 1 LB NEW YORK
Beet Violet Ice Cream
'00 Dom Dujac Charmes Chambertin
French Fries "Animal Style"
New York Strip
Cheese
Colle Stefano Rosé
Berkshire Pork Shoulder
Sd Chicken
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Cheddar And Chive Biscuits Amuse Bouche
Tj Local Corn
Carne Cruda Asada Toast
sweet potato ravioli
Garden And Grains
Bahn Mi Toast
Pear Toast
Baja Yellowtail
Squash Blossom Relleno
Kumamoto Oysters& Pearls
Tuna Tartare
Nasturtium/ Dungeness Crab/Meyer Lemon Curd/ Dill Pollen
King Salmon/Mango Kimchi/Macadamia
Octopus Terrine
Slow Roasted Beets
Abalone/ Artichoke/Bone Marrow/Lemon Barbasol
Ahi Tuna/Nicoise/Fava
Shaved Asparagus
Dungeness Crab Beignet
White Chocolate Pine Nut Cookies
Tequila+Cucumber+Lime+Mint+ Agave
In The Ivy
Radishes With Butter And Salt
Compressed Olives
Mangoporn
Mystery Dish
Crab Fritters
Binato Potato
Crudo Carne Asada With Quail
'12 Pascal Janvier Jasnieres Sec
Little gem lettuce
Black Sesame Churro
Lagrein Rosé
Bbq Abalone
buttermilk biscuit
Fluke
Amuse Bouche
J Lassalle Brut
Adelsheim Rosé
California Olives
2013 Rosé Wagner-Stempel
J K Carriere Pinot Noir
'13 Tattomer Gruner Veltliner

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Juniper & Ivy is a left coast cookery with cuisine focused on locally curated products cooked and presented in a radical way. The kitchen, helmed by Chef Richard Blais, artfully churns out an array of avant-grade, yet simple dishes intended to spark conversation among guests.

Juniper & Ivy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
San Diego
Most Booked
San Diego
American
San Diego
1 More
Most Booked
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Little Italy ›

Fit for Foodies (387)
Special Occasion (318)
Hot Spot (276)
See All
Good for Groups (165)
Neighborhood Gem (147)
Notable Wine List (145)
Vibrant Bar Scene (140)
Romantic (129)
Late-night Find (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Great for Lunch (16)
Great for Brunch (12)
Kid-friendly (8)
Scenic View (2)
Bar Seating (1)
 (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Casual (1)
Tapas (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1939 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

If you can tone down the noise somehow. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

If you can tone down the noise somehow. It's difficult to hear and have a pleasant conversation. My husband said he would like a larger quantity. We ordered the salmon dish that was very pricey and received a small piece. Although very delicious he said he won't order it again because the quantity did not match the price!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was ok. Probably won't go back. Nice ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

It was ok. Probably won't go back. Nice place. Very light. Good desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

modern, trendy, upscale. interesting co ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 4 days ago

modern, trendy, upscale. interesting combinations, delicious cocktails! dessert was incredible. small portions, but the food was so rich it was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location, atmosphere is cool but ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great location, atmosphere is cool but super loud, food excellent, professional service. Good cocktails.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love bringing out of town guests to Juni ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

Love bringing out of town guests to Juniper & Ivy. It's in a great lively neighborhood and the food is inventive and delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food. All dishes were very uni ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food. All dishes were very unique but well executed. The sashimi and rockfish were outstanding. Tremendous wine list also.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This was our second time at the restaura ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was our second time at the restaurant. The food is amazing and it is my daughter's favorite place. We decided to go there to celebrate her 21st birthday. I had noted that on the reservation and the waiter joked with he about it and was very nice. We opted to pass on desert since we had cake at home but assumed they would offer her something in honor of her special day. I don't think I've ever eaten at a restaurant that didn't. When the waiter came back to see what we wanted to order I said we would pass and he said "OK well happy birthday" and that was it. For a restaurant at this level I expected more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The service was outstanding and the food ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 6 days ago

The service was outstanding and the food was superb. Valet parking was a plus! Getting there early was a very good idea. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience, and will consider Juniper and Ivy for another special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a great restaurant! We already kne ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 7 days ago

What a great restaurant! We already knew of Richard Blais but never tasted his food. Wow! There were 5 of us and we each picked 2 dishes to share. They were all delicious! I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was a lovely meal. We ate at the c ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 7 days ago

This was a lovely meal. We ate at the chef bar and really enjoyed watching the team prepare the meals. Our favorites of the night were the Coronado Uni, biscuit and stone crab raviolo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was as expected and excellent. Serv ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was as expected and excellent. Service and ambiance were better than expected. Only complaint was with portions; I'm not a big eater and ordered two plates with an appetizer but still a little hungry. Oh well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Mac N Headcheese Nuggets: A+ Baja Yello ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Mac N Headcheese Nuggets: A+

Baja Yellowtail: A+

Andouille Sausage: A+

Carne Cruda Asada: B+

Stone Crab Raviolo: B-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Biscuits, the yodel, and the cookie they ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Biscuits, the yodel, and the cookie they give at the end were the highlights of our dinner. Excellent service. Will come back again to try more dishes, since the ones we got were so-so.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was amazing! Very attentive and ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Service was amazing! Very attentive and friendly. I enjoyed the variety of food and drink options. Some were not as great as others, but that could have been more of wrong choices on our parts. The biscuit was seriously the best thing on the whole menu. Do not leave without ordering one! Also, I would highly recommend the ahi sashimi. I was not blown away by their cocktail list though. Overall, would definitely recommend - was a great dining experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating our 35th wedding ann ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary. The restaurant was made aware of the occasion at the time the reservations were made. Upon arrival and throughout we were treated to excellent service and attention. The food was magnificent. Our table, however, was tiny, open, and stuck against a wall. Did not offer any sense of intimacy. It was a Friday night so the venue was full. It is a large open space which seemed to magnify sound. It was difficult to hear our server over the noise. It was too loud to hold close personal conversations. Not the ambience [noise level/seating] we were expecting, or would have chosen. Not the place for a romantic evening. Maybe mid-week is a little less boisterous. Other than that, we highly recommend this venue for its service, selection of wines and the food, excellent. We would be happy to return, with friends, but not for an intimate dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

If you like food but not 'trendy' food t ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

If you like food but not 'trendy' food that disappoints, you will love Juniper and Ivy. Not pretentious despite the celebrity chef. Food was among the best I've had. The service was outstanding. The atmosphere is casual, cool.

Best items I tried were the snap peas and Milk and Honey dessert.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wanted to try this place since they've ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I wanted to try this place since they've opened. I've only heard great things and I can say that the food was quite good. But honestly the one thing that sticks in my mind about this place was the hip hop music they were playing. Completely out of place! I have no idea who chose the hip hop music but it does not fit with the character of the restaurant, it was brash and way too loud. It felt more like a nightclub than a restaurant that we easily spent more than $125 per person at.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything we tried was filled will amaz ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Everything we tried was filled will amazing flavors.

Service was phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The entire experience was fantastic. Our ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The entire experience was fantastic. Our waitress Jonelle was wonderful very knowledgeable about the food. We shared several small plates the corned duck breast was delicious served with figs and creamed corn. We also shared the lamb shank which was cooked perfectly and fall off the bone tender. The blueberry sorbet in the corn semifrideo was beyond words.

The restaurant is beautiful and fun. Will definitely return next time I'm in San Diego.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special occasion which the staff dealt w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Special occasion which the staff dealt with incredibly well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I cannot say enough about how wonderful ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I cannot say enough about how wonderful this experience was. This was our third time and we will continue to come back (we come to San Diego every year for vacation). Matt, our server, was exceptional, the Sommelier extraordinarily knowledgeable, the kitchen amazing.

Where to begin....The Dry Reisling we selected paired beautifully with all our plates (and it was from one of our favorite places - Kick On Ranch in Santa Barbara). The flavors and plating were impeccable. The Pork Belly Ravioli, Snap Peas, BBQ Carrots (BBQ Carrots??!!), Pork Ribs, Octopus.....just divine.

And for our anniversary dessert? They bought it for us! What a treat! (Thank you, Chef Bradley)

DO NOT MISS THIS RESTAURANT! It is worth the price

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food excellent the portion size smal ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food excellent the portion size small. It was a little overpriced but to do it once or twice a year is fine. The service was excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing food...as always. The menu alwa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Amazing food...as always. The menu always offers unique options. Hard to decide what to go with.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Our fourth visit, every time fabulous . ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our fourth visit, every time fabulous . This visit we sat at the chef's counter watching the kitchen. It was fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We decided to check out Juniper and Ivy ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We decided to check out Juniper and Ivy to get the Richard Blais experience, and it was definitely a great time. The starters were delicious - the raw and toast menus were our favorite. Entrees varied in size, but were flavorful, even though the duck was overcooked for my taste. Don't skip dessert either - the almond joy and banana cream dishes are fantastic!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

We tried several of the small plates as ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We tried several of the small plates as recommended by our server, and we saw several other tables doing the same thing. All the food items we ordered were excellent and very tasty. The place is a bit pricey, but you should know that before you even arrive at the place as the head Chef is a television personality on many of the popular competition shows. The drinks were also very pricey, so we only had one each. What I didn't care for was the close-quarters seating that jams as many people as possible into the available floorspace. We were seated on a long bench with tables for two with only about 18" separating the tables, and because it was so loud, it was difficult to have a converasation. But oh - the desert! We had the Yodel and it is served up by pouring hot chocolate all over it to melt it together -- oh yum! A must have if you visit this place. Over all, four stars.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

An excellent find in San Diego! Very att ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

An excellent find in San Diego! Very attentive service with great detail in wine selection and excellent suggestions for sampling "small plates". Innovative cuisine with trendy atmosphere. Casual, yet quality of food definitely suited for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and the food selection was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great service and the food selection was a nice mix of unique and noticeable. We will be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

4th time I have dined here and gets bett ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

4th time I have dined here and gets better every time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants in San D ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in San Diego. The small plates are always great, and the buttermilk biscuits are amazing. Grab the chef's counter if you can - it's fun to watch how everything is put together and get to chat with the staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was excited to take a foodie on a date ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I was excited to take a foodie on a date here and sadly it did not live up to the hype. The services was okay at best. The drinks were adequate and the food was very subpar. There are many other better restaurants to go to if you want actual foodie foods. If you are looking for over salted, un-creative dishes come here.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

We sought out Juniper & Ivy because we w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We sought out Juniper & Ivy because we were aware of Richard Blais from TopChef, knowing that he is a very creative chef. We traveled and stayed in San Diego specifically to enjoy a meal here, and we were absolutely not disappointed.

The food was exceptional. We chose to get multiple smaller dishes to get the best variety we could in a single meal. Every bite was an experience.

However, in addition to the quality of the food, we were extremely impressed with the attentiveness and friendliness of the staff, from the moment we walked in, to our servers, and even the manager on the night.

This is definitely a place that we will return to, and we could not recommend it highly enough.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food, awesome service!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Awesome food, awesome service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for our honeymoon dinner! They t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We went for our honeymoon dinner! They treated us to champagne and complimentary dessert! Loved the eggplant parm!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a special dinner to take my cousi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was a special dinner to take my cousin and her husband to dinner. She is quite a foodie- she works in the restaurant business. Food and service were amazing- the host Dan, took very special care of us, as did our servers. They were friendly and enthusiastic- just what you would desire from people in the customer service business. Our server allowed me to taste two wines by the glass before I decided- this is a really nice touch and one that I very much appreciate.- We especially loved the single biscuit appetizer (enough for 3 people to share, really), the ancient grains and grilled veggies (beautiful presentation and delicious), spicy carrots and the lamb shank. They have small plates and entree options. The entrees are very generous in size- best to split one, especially if you try 2-3 small plates first. Our deserts were some kind of decadent banana creation and a chocolate roll of some kind- definitely first rate. We left really full. The decor is very cool and the place was HOPPING! The only thing I didn't care for is that it is VERY noisy- I'm hard of hearing. That's just me, however. You will enjoy eating here- it's a lot of fun and excellent food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can't call raw steak tartar carne as ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

You can't call raw steak tartar carne asada. Not good.

The sugar snaps with cojita cheese were awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Horrible food. So overrated.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Horrible food. So overrated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

Made this place a stop on my wife and I ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Made this place a stop on my wife and I's honeymoon and had high expectations. When we arrived we were offered 'an interactive chef's table experience' which basically meant being stuffed at the end of a bar looking into part of the kitchen. None of the was interactive and the best action we saw waiters pouring water. The food was adequate but not spectacular. We had the lamb shanks, baja shrimp and the carrots as a side. Honestly the lamb was hard to eat out of the dish it was served in. The shrimp was good and the only thing would consider if I ever went back again. Our cocktails were good and probably the only highlight.

Again the service was OK, only really tended to for drink and food orders. We weren't made feel overly welcome and felt like they just wanted to get us on and out as soon as possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

All of the food was fabulous as well as ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

All of the food was fabulous as well as the cocktails. The bar had the comfiest stools I had ever experienced. They were mostly seating inside but the outside patio area looked very lovely and romantic. Would highly recommend for a date night or a special occasion as the food is pricy and you will want to order some appetizers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was dining alone at Juniper & Ivy, so ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I was dining alone at Juniper & Ivy, so the hostess asked if I wanted to sit at the Chef's Counter, where I could watch the action in the kitchen. It was the perfect suggestion and I thoroughly enjoyed myself. Several servers and managers chatted with me, and everyone made me feel completely comfortable and welcome. The food was wonderful too, especially the seasonal vegetable-based dishes. And the Almond Joy dessert, with its crispy meringue and coconut sorbet, is on my list of all time best desserts.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.