About Juniper & Ivy

2228 Kettner Blvd
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Juniper and Ivy offers “Refined America Food with Left Coast Edge” Courtesy of acclaimed Chef Richard Blais perhaps most recognizable as the Winner of Bravo’s “Top Chef All-Stars”. Blais brings his wildly creative approach to cooking and cuisine to San Diego; Backed by an All-Star Culinary Team. Excellent Cocktail and Wine Programs paired with Al Fresco Dining, High Energy Design and more makes Juniper and Ivy the newest Destination Restaurant to hit the West Coast.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Service
Sunday - Thursday : 5pm - 10 p.m.
Friday & Saturday : 5pm - 11 p.m.

Bar/Lounge opens daily at 4 p.m.

Cross Street:
On Kettner, between Juniper & Ivy

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 269-9036

Website:
http://www.juniperandivy.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking
Valet available to guests at $5/car + gratuity

Executive Chef:
Richard Blais

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Acclaimed Chef, Richard Blais oversees the 7,500 square-foot restaurant, which is available for buyouts, meetings, cocktail receptions and other special events.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Juniperivy - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
J&i Interiors - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Semi-private Dining Room - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Juniperivy - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Main Dining Room Floor - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Yodel - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Beef Tartare - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Grilled Octopus - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Gnocci With Pork Belly - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Fried Apple Donut And Coffee Ice Cream - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Oysters and Pearls - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Crab toast - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Bitter Giuseppe - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Foie Gras Cookies - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Burgundy - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Linguni & Clams - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Sweet Potato Angolotti - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Morel Agnolotti - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Albacore - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Porcini Bread Pudding - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Weissburgunder - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Artichoke Panzanella Salad - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Roasted Baby Beets - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Ribeye Tartare - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Foie Gras Fig Newton - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Rose - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Salted Pistachio Icecream - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Coffee Cake - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Champagne - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Salted Pistashio Ice Cream - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Tribute To Grace Grenache Rosé - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Mas De Daumas Gassac Rosé Frizant - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Pfalz Pinot Noir Rosé - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Wood Fire Grilled Pork Ribs - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Carne Cruda Asada - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Grilled Asparagus - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Shaved Pear & Apple Salad - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Garden & Grain - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
In-N-Haute Burger - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Foie Gras - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Spring Lamb - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Baja Yellowtail - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Squash Blossom Relleno - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Kumamoto Oysters& Pearls - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Tuna Tartare - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Nasturtium/ Dungeness Crab/Meyer Lemon Curd/ Dill Pollen - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
King Salmon/Mango Kimchi/Macadamia - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Octopus Terrine - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Slow Roasted Beets - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Abalone/ Artichoke/Bone Marrow/Lemon Barbasol - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Ahi Tuna/Nicoise/Fava - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Shaved Asparagus - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Dungeness Crab Beignet - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
White Chocolate Pine Nut Cookies - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Tequila+Cucumber+Lime+Mint+ Agave - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
In The Ivy - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Radishes With Butter And Salt - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Compressed Olives - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Mangoporn - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Mystery Dish - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Crab Fritters - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Binato Potato - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Crudo Carne Asada With Quail - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
'12 Pascal Janvier Jasnieres Sec - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Dry Aged Short Rib - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Little gem lettuce - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Black Sesame Churro - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Lagrein Rosé - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Bbq Abalone - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
buttermilk biscuit - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
French Fries "Animal Style" - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Fluke  - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Amuse Bouche - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Cheese - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
New York Strip - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
J Lassalle Brut - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Adelsheim Rosé - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
California Olives - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
2013 Rosé Wagner-Stempel - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
'00 Dom Dujac Charmes Chambertin - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
J K Carriere Pinot Noir - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
'13 Tattomer Gruner Veltliner - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
2011 Ribolla Gialla - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Backyard Tiki Bbq - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
'12 Dom Maestracci E Prove Calvi Blanc - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Xarel-Lo - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Spatburgunder - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Sunday Puncher - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
'11 Von Hovel Riesling Kabinett - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Colle Stefano Rosé - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Ahi Tuna Tartare - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Cheddar And Chive Biscuits Amuse Bouche - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Berkshire Pork Shoulder - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Sd Chicken - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Tj Local Corn - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Carne Cruda Asada Toast - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
sweet potato ravioli - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Garden And Grains - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA
Bahn Mi Toast - Juniper & Ivy, San Diego, CA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Juniper & Ivy is a left coast cookery with cuisine focused on locally curated products cooked and presented in a radical way. The kitchen, helmed by Chef Richard Blais, artfully churns out an array of avant-grade, yet simple dishes intended to spark conversation among guests.

Juniper & Ivy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (120)
Creative Cuisine (112)
Good for a Date (106)
See All
Special Occasion (102)
Modern Decor (102)
Open Kitchen (74)
Hot Spot (73)
Good for Anniversaries (69)
Good for Birthdays (59)
Handcrafted Cocktails (59)
Worth the Drive (58)
Romantic (52)
Fun (47)
Tapas (46)
Notable Wine List (44)
Local Ingredients (41)
Bar Seating (38)
Good for Groups (38)
Vibrant Bar Scene (37)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Tasting Menu (34)
People Watching (33)
Molecular Gastronomy (33)
Business Meals (30)
Seasonal (26)
Good Vegetarian Options (26)
Authentic (25)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Healthy (22)
Casual (19)
Organic (14)
Cozy (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Family Style (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Private Room (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Historic (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Spicy (3)
Vegan (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great Beer (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2222 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dinner at Juniper & Ivy was great! The d ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Dinner at Juniper & Ivy was great! The design of the restaurant and views into the kitchen were varied and pleasant. The food was exceptional. The appetizers, sides and main courses were all beautifully plated and delicious. Our waiter also assisted in pairing a great bottle of wine for our meal. We would definitely be returning our next trip back to San Diego.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the Buttermilk Biscuit, Baja Ye ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

We loved the Buttermilk Biscuit, Baja Yellowtail, and Cauliflower Nachos. The Yodel is an amazing desert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time there and everything was perf ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

First time there and everything was perfect. Staff, food, atmosphere. Wonderful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was delicious and the service ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was delicious and the service was outstanding...can't wait to go back

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was way too noisy to converse. I wou ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

It was way too noisy to converse. I would recommend eliminating the music. The food was pretentious and overpriced. The beverages were good and the service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

Even though this may be as good as it ge ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Even though this may be as good as it gets in San Diego, it still has a ways to go. This is definitely a foodie restaurant and ultimately the fare was disappointingly inconsistent. Some of it was unbelievably delicious while items like my $70+ steak were not even good. We saw the man himself in the kitchen so there's little excuse for the quality of the food. The waiter, though competent, was unpolished - a growing trend unfortunately in fine dining. I can say nothing bad, however, about the atmosphere, though. It's the place to be in San Diego. If you go, and you order lucky, you certainly could end up with a five star experience. For me, a near miss.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Inconsistent with previous experiences a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Inconsistent with previous experiences at the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent service and amazing food! It ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service and amazing food! It was a last minute decision and we are so glad we did it! Our food server was fantastic and great knowledge of the menu! Everything was top notch!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly atmosphere, staff very friendly ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Friendly atmosphere, staff very friendly and willing to make the dining experience memorable

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a special occasion for us. Our 4 ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

It was a special occasion for us. Our 47th wedding anniversary. Brian our server was over the top. He made our outstanding meal so special. He took the time to explain certain dishes and we valued his recommendations. The dishes that we chose were wonderful and we enjoyed every bite. We look forward to dining there again.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2 birthdays

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

2 birthdays

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Yellowtail fantastic. Great wine selecti ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Yellowtail fantastic. Great wine selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We kept hoping that the next dish would ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We kept hoping that the next dish would be better but all three were just awful. The oysters with dipndot cheese garnish had a nasty bitter taste. Too bad because the oysters themselves were of excellent quality. The beef carpaccio was slightly better but a meager portion and no flavor points of note. The squid with tomatoes and potatoes was so bad I may never eat oysters or squid again. Such a disappointment and for 4 glasses of wine and three meager dishes the $150 price tag added insult to injury. Would never go back. Highly over rated. I think the chef is trying too hard; sacrificing good taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Fantastic--cutting edge dining and decor ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Fantastic--cutting edge dining and decor--delicious and unique cuisin including superb small plates for great variety. Gracious, prompt, attentive service. Favorite of any we tried in San Diego--wish we had a twin in San Francisco.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing, the cocktails were ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was amazing, the cocktails were refreshing and the service from hostess to the waiter was flawless. I've already recommended the restaurant and will be back. Thank you for making my lady's birthday special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is very creative and always delicio ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food is very creative and always delicious. Service is impeccable. Nice to have valet service as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So, let me start by saying that overall ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

So, let me start by saying that overall we enjoyed our evening at Juniper & Ivy, and the food was generally pretty good. The reconceived deviled eggs are justifiably famous, the yellowtail tostadas were tasty in a low-key way, the wacky uni with cara cara oranges and green olives worked and so on. There was just one rub and it was a genuinely problematic one: our octopus dish had just one scrawny tentacle in it. So, we mentioned it to our server, who sent over her manager, who noted our complaint...and then did nothing about it on the bill. So, sorry, server, but I deducted the price of the dish from your tip. I know it wasn't your issue, but this is between you and your manager now. If the restaurant is more concerned with $16 in revenue than diner satisfaction, then you should be working elsewhere anyway. In any event, J&I is a restaurant with good food but one that also appears to be cutting corners and doesn't care about its customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value5

We had a lovely dinner! It was fun to sh ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We had a lovely dinner! It was fun to share the small plates and The wait staff gave excellent recommendations. Our desserts were awesome! It was a fabulous evening. We also enjoyed the music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing. The service was th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food was amazing. The service was the best I have had in a long time. The staff was very friendly. Chef Blais even came out and took a picture with my wife and I. I will eat there many more times.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best restaurant in San Diego! Every ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The best restaurant in San Diego! Every single plate was fantastic, flavour in every single bite!!! Congratulations to the Chef and his team!!

Worth a visit!!

Thank you for a lovely dinner

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was okay. Waiter forgot about us ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Service was okay. Waiter forgot about us a lot. The front of the kitchen chef who was finalizing the dressing of the plates kept running his hands through his hair and beard which was a little. disconcerting. Veggie options were great; New York and biscuit - meh. Overall attitude of the staff was a bit snooty. I was hoping for a better experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Dinner reservation to celebrate New Year ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Dinner reservation to celebrate New Years day, 2017. Dissappointedeater was disappointed at the whole experience because it was EXCELLENT!!!! No negative things to say! Though we regret that we did not order 1 more order of Foie Gras Cookies to go. As we enter the door, 4 people at the front all greeted us with welcome and A Happy New Year with a smile! Hostess took us to our seat at the end of the room talking to us. The place is huge! The waiter was very informative, service was excellent, staff was helpful, what a fun concept in the restroom where you share the sinks. Menu was unique, seasonal and clever. Another disappointment was that we could not order the whole menu at this visit . We did order a lot. 8 dishes, 2 desserts and 2 drinks. A reason to come back. We left with a full tummy, happy and with a memorable experience we will share forever. See you soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, , Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We came for our wedding anniversary last ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We came for our wedding anniversary last and felt a lot more welcomed. We remembered the food being better too. Our experience this time felt less welcoming/cozy. Maybe it was a busier night or our table was not as private.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was excellent as was the service. G ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food was excellent as was the service. Go for the biscuit appetizer! Noise level was acceptable. Nice ambiance. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Second time around. Various selectio ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Second time around.

Various selections all led to the same conclusion. Food was just OK. Server continually pressed us from the time we took our seats. Getting handed a menu and then approached within 1 minute for cocktails is awkwardly premature. That was fine actually, it was the 10 other "full-court presses" during the meal that displayed an over-motivated sense of turning a table.

Eh! NEXT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Always a great dine! The ambiance is wo ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Always a great dine! The ambiance is wonderful with nice high ceilings for quiet dining. The food was great, as usual. But this evening, the service was better than outstanding. Our server, Brian, was attentive and very knowledgeable, having studied at a culinary school. We have no complaints.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was delicious and beautifully ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything was delicious and beautifully presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious. Our waiter was very ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was delicious. Our waiter was very friendly and courteous. Love the buttermilk biscuits and the whole striped bass was awesome!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Out of this world food and phenomenal se ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Out of this world food and phenomenal service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing experience. On top of ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Absolutely amazing experience. On top of a divine meal, Chef Blais came to our table to wish us a happy anniversary and thank us for coming. You won't be disappointed no matter what you get. The deviled eggs were a sublime appetizer as were the half dozen oysters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We return again and again. Very complex ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We return again and again. Very complex, original and delightful taste treats in every dish! As an example, "Foie Gras Cookies" had a very delicate, delightful and complex taste which continued to evolve and develop on the palate for half a minute or more--amazing!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came about 22 minutes late. I called ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We came about 22 minutes late. I called in advance. They said it would be OK. But they only hold the table 20 min. LES, the General Manager was fantastic and helped us to our table. He came by more than once to check on us. Our server, ALEXIS V., was fantastic. She knew the menu in and out and was friendly suggestive and timely. All of our food came out perfectly. We ordered seconds of our favorite plates. We had a 6 month old baby with us, and we got treated amazingly. The restaurant never ceases to amaze me. Thank you so much for a great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Fun, Tapas, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stick with sharing the small plates, and ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Stick with sharing the small plates, and leave room for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I rarely use the word Extraordinary, but ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I rarely use the word Extraordinary, but J&I is just that. Full disclosure: I am a Top Chef groupie and I've always loved Richard Blais ; however, I was a bit worried about too much "uniqueness". There were very unique takes on many traditional dishes, ie Deviled Eggs, and each one was so perfect. The most incredible thing was the restraint...taking every taste to the very edge without any overpowering. Just go. Really

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Juniper and Ivy is my favorite restauran ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Juniper and Ivy is my favorite restaurant whenever I visit SAN Diego. The service is spot on and the ever changing menu selections inventive and delicious! It is consistently excellent in service, atmosphere and of course, the food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time dining at Junipe ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was our first time dining at Juniper & Ivy, have had a gift card for a long time but always found it difficult to get a reservation. I can see why, our evening was amazing! Shared a few small plates and enjoyed a couple glasses of wine. Each item was beautifully prepared, the combination of tastes with each food brought out the flavor in each bite. Loved the beets and the biscuit, both unique and flavorful. Our meal was paced nicely and the service excellent! We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. For two people we ordered an ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food. For two people we ordered an appetizer, something from the raw bar, toast and three small plates. Took suggestions on what to order from the waiter and all were fantastic. It was plenty of food. Looking forward to going back to try more items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was excellent. The plates are ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was excellent. The plates are a little small and it isn't cheap but it is as good as any restaurant I have been to in SD.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Restaurant does not sound energetic. Whe ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Restaurant does not sound energetic. When crowded it's just painfully loud. Although I live in Arizona as a Foodie I've eaten at J&I about 6 times in the last 18 months. Food is consistently unique and very good. I've had a variety of appetizers, small plates and entrées all with positive results. Service has been professional and very good to great. Well worth a stop if you can get in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Good food but not great

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good food but not great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.