About Julington Creek Fish Camp

12760 San Jose Blvd
Jacksonville, FL 32223
View Larger Map

Welcome to Julington Creek Fish Camp, Jacksonville’s newest destination restaurant. Savor some of North Florida’s spectacular cuisine and culture while experiencing our beautiful panoramic views!

Whether its date night with friends or a significant other, you’ve got family in town, or maybe just a desire for fresh southern seafood topped with a little R&R, our lively paradise on the banks of Julington Creek is your place. Compare tasting notes with your companions in the airy interior; toast a North Florida sunset on the outdoor deck. Either way, you can’t go wrong.

Julington Creek expands a tradition of Southern Fare Cuisine with fresh ingredients of unmatched quality established by our Palm Valley and North Beach Fish Camps. Call for a reservation today and come be a part of our community! One taste of our culinary concoctions and the warm riverside ambience—and you’ll be hooked. We know you’ll be back again and again.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours: Wednesday-Sunday 11am-4pm, Monday-Sunday 4pm-10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 886-2267

Website:
http://www.julingtoncreekfishcamp.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Cooney

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Julington Creek Fish Camp Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Seafood
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Most Booked
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
2 More
Neighborhood Gem
Jacksonville
Most Booked
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

scenic view (111)
great for outdoor dining (109)
neighborhood gem (95)
See All
fit for foodies (79)
good for groups (71)
great for lunch (67)
special occasion (67)
kid-friendly (52)
hot spot (34)
great for brunch (29)
vibrant bar scene (27)
romantic (14)
notable wine list (12)
late-night find (10)
Sort By:
Newest
808 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great service, but very nois ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great food, great service, but very noisy. Group to our side was very loud, screaming young'un who was out of control, etc.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Sergio runs the best kitchens in Jax, al ...

Dined 5 days ago

Sergio runs the best kitchens in Jax, all the 'fish camps' are great. Restaurant is too noisy for my liking, prices are going up which is a shame. We eat there several times a month but may cut back due to price escalation.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific food with great view! Friendly ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Terrific food with great view! Friendly service every time. Make reservation a few days in advance.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always enjoy JCFC. Food is consistently ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Always enjoy JCFC. Food is consistently very good and we often order from the specials menu. Manager Matt frequently goes table to table checking that all is good. I like that!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love everything about Julington Creek ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We love everything about Julington Creek Fish camp and NEVER have a bad experience! The food is fabulous and the ambiance is perfect!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Food and service were good as always and ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Food and service were good as always and the noise level was high as always.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very good food and service. Glad to fin ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Very good food and service. Glad to finally have a good seafood place in the neighborhood.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent perfectly cooked fresh seafood ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent perfectly cooked fresh seafood. I elected olive oil and lemon instead of butter for coming which helps bring out fresh seafood flavors. Simply delicious. Butter is necessary with frozen seafood but don't do it here. Will return whenever I'm back in town. Great for dates, views or larger groups

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view, great food. Finally, a good ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Great view, great food. Finally, a good restaurant at this beautiful location. Never had a bad meal here. You will need reservations because it's popular.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love coming here!! the food is alway ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

We love coming here!! the food is always great and the services is the best!! We will be back!

food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Waiting for table when we had a reservation!

Dined on June 10, 2016

We left our home when prompted by Open Table, arriving about 10 minutes before our 7 p.m. reserved time! We stood and waited for several minutes even though there were at least 2 open tables! I asked the hostes and she told me the open booth was being held for 6:45 group who was late! She said we would need to wait for our "assigned" table. The manager, Fawn, came over and asked if she could help. I told her I didn't understand why we couldn't be seated at one of the 2 open tables. She confirmed that the booth was being held for 6:45 group (now 20 + minutes late) and other table was a 6 top! Our group was 4! She pointed to our assigned table & said the group was paying & would leave shortly! The group was STILL eating! Fawn looked again & rushed off! We were finally seated about 15 minutes late! Clearly a reservation there means little. More than 5 groups were seated ahead of us. Thanks for letting me share our experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A rare treat! Fresh, delicious food, wi ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

A rare treat! Fresh, delicious food, with great service.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yummy

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

It was a Wed. night and very crowded for an early dinner. Our server Nikki was great. She added lots of humor to the hectic atmosphere. I had the Shrimp and grits which was very good and my husband had the Fried Fish, both were excellent. Started off with a Greek Salad for me and Grilled Octopus & White Bean Salad for him. Again both were good.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Food; Unfriendly bartender

Dined on June 4, 2016

Great food; great table service and friendly wait staff for our party of five. We frequent JCFC often for personal and business events. Bartender needs some lessons in customer service. Last I checked patrons pay the bills, so acting like your too busy to notice someone standing at the bar is unacceptable; we had dinner reservation at 4:45 so the bar was not busy: same experience last time my wife and I ate there around 7:30! The wait staff and food compensate for the poor bartender service, but it's ashame you don't get a 100% satisfaction at such a cool-vibe place! Mandarin resident!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Go Fish!

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Very good place for excellent food, great service and fun and relax environment! We enjoy this place and visit it regularly. Their Baked Cod is my wife's favorite, I like their Shrimp & Grits and the many specials they have all the time.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

The scallop appetizer was cheesy and del ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

The scallop appetizer was cheesy and delicious. Dinner was amazing - linguini and broiled seafood platter, both enjoyed by both diners! The dessert - chocolate torte - was unbelievably tasty.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and hospitality

Dined on May 28, 2016

It was our first time eating at the restaurant. I love the relaxed feel of this place. My wife and I definitely would return to try more dishes. The seafood was amazing and cooked to perfection. She had the shrimp and I had the trout. The portion you receive is well worth the money spent. Service was well-timed and friendly. No one will leave disappointed. We even learned about the area surrounding the restaurant from another customer sitting besides us. Everything was very welcoming, warming, delicious, and worth coming back again and again. I highly recommend making reservations online prior to coming to dine. Website is quite easy to maneuver around for any age.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very pleased with our first visit. We wi ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Very pleased with our first visit. We will certainly return very soon.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Noisy. Very hard to carry on a conversat ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Noisy. Very hard to carry on a conversation . Food was good

food5
ambience5
service4

Great outdoor deck overlooking creek and ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Great outdoor deck overlooking creek and marina. Plan for a relaxing meal as service is not fast.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best clam strips ever, and we try th ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

The best clam strips ever, and we try them just about every where we travel. Sat outside, food was great, will be back!

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this restaurant. great food, nice f ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Love this restaurant. great food, nice folks, beautiful ambiance, and very clean.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, selection, and service. ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Fantastic food, selection, and service. This place never fails to impress.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Very good food though noisy, was jammed ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Very good food though noisy, was jammed at 5 PM Saturday. Ample staff, Sergio has done a great job with the kitchen.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

It was very nice time and our server did ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

It was very nice time and our server did a great job

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A dear friend moved way about a year ago ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

A dear friend moved way about a year ago. She came for a visit; and she requested a lunch with her lady friends at Julington Creek Fish Camp. The service was great; the food was fantastic. I look forward to going back for other occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

3rd time to JFC. First two times were re ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

3rd time to JFC. First two times were really fabulous. This last time....not so much. Got seated (4 plus 2 yr old). Waited and waited for service as the wait staff ignored us. I finally had to grab (so to speak) a waitress and say something. This was especially irritating with an impatient 2 yr old. Waitress said it wasn't her table but she'd take our drink orders. Drinks came back and now she says she will be our waitress. Service was slow and uneven. The "Specials" were not very special either. This was on a Sunday so maybe Sunday isnt the day to go. As I said earlier, the place was great the previous times, but this was the one time I took my daughter and her family and ...this.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We love JCFC! However, it was very loud ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We love JCFC! However, it was very loud and hard to carry on a conversation. Food was great, as always. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great services, delicious food.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great services, delicious food.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food and wonderful service. Go ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful food and wonderful service. Got to have the fried green tomatoes. Blackened Mahi sandwich was outstanding. Love the hush puppies. View of the river/ harbor is nice. Have eaten outside before and enjoyed it.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our 'go to' place for dinner

Dined on May 12, 2016

Consistently good food. Drinks are a bit pricey while dinner entries are reasonably priced. Dining indoors does have a tendency to get loud. Service this visit was average. Nice views of Julington Creek. Small parking lot...so unless you are using valet parking, it could be a challenge.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my family for Mother's Day. Everything we ordered tasted excellent, fresh and cooked perfectly. We had the Broiled Seafood Platter (scallops, cod and shrimp), the baked cod filet, ribeye steak topped with Gorgonzola cheese and the kids fried shrimp. All of the potatoes and veggies with the dishes were well seasoned and cooked perfect. For dessert we had the blueberry bread pudding, which was awesome. It was topped with ice cream and a white chocolate sauce. It was enough for the whole table to grub on. Our server was good. They were a little busy as expected and they were pulled in a few directions at once but did good overall. I would highly recommend to any family and friends.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Table was horrible-next to waiter computer station

Dined on May 8, 2016

I usually love this restaurant. We went on the day before Mother's Day to celebrate early. Our waitress was horrible. She left plates on our table and they were piling up everywhere. We had to hunt her down to take our order and to get more drinks. The food was good but I was disappointed with my fish. It was the "special" and was a large fried fish. It was overcooked and wasn't fun to have to pick through the bones to get the meat. I wouldn't order it again. The scallops were wonderful - and the vegetables were, as always, awesome! I wish we had gotten a better table and a better waitress. Not sure if I'll go again for a special occasion.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food and service is always great. The n ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food and service is always great. The noise level, however, seems to always be very high, especially upstairs in main dining area. Try to sit outside or downstairs if you want to talk to your dinner partner. Food and great wait staff worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

did not like waiting fora table even th ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

did not like waiting fora table even though had a reservation.. whats the point of the reservation. other than that food was great service as well.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The outdoor deck set a nice ambiance all ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The outdoor deck set a nice ambiance allowing our group of 5 to enjoy a nice meal and carry on a conversation with relatively low nose level.

food5
ambience3
service4

Great food, just too noisy. I knew that ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Great food, just too noisy. I knew that going in but chose to eat there because I love the food.

food5
ambience4
service4

Love eating at outside tables as the noi ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Love eating at outside tables as the noise level inside is pretty intense. The Mahi with grits is consistently my favorite-it never disappoints me!!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Awesome food!

Dined on May 2, 2016

Nothing from a can here and you can taste it! Lots of big flavors! Best grits I've ever had! It's a little expensive but worth the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Pleasant dinner

Dined on May 2, 2016

Food was great, service was quick and efficient. Noise level above what I would prefer.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.