About Julington Creek Fish Camp

Welcome to Julington Creek Fish Camp, Jacksonville’s newest destination restaurant. Savor some of North Florida’s spectacular cuisine and culture while experiencing our beautiful panoramic views!

Whether its date night with friends or a significant other, you’ve got family in town, or maybe just a desire for fresh southern seafood topped with a little R&R, our lively paradise on the banks of Julington Creek is your place. Compare tasting notes with your companions in the airy interior; toast a North Florida sunset on the outdoor deck. Either way, you can’t go wrong.

Julington Creek expands a tradition of Southern Fare Cuisine with fresh ingredients of unmatched quality established by our Palm Valley and North Beach Fish Camps. Call for a reservation today and come be a part of our community! One taste of our culinary concoctions and the warm riverside ambience—and you’ll be hooked. We know you’ll be back again and again.

12760 San Jose Blvd
Jacksonville, FL 32223
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours: Tuesday-Sunday 11am-4pm, Monday-Sunday 4pm-10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 886-2267

Website:
http://www.julingtoncreekfishcamp.com/

Executive Chef:
Tim McGuire

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Julington Creek Fish Camp Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (67)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Scenic View (45)
See All
Casual (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
Special Occasion (36)
Good for a Date (35)
Local Ingredients (31)
Bar Seating (30)
Worth the Drive (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Great for Lunch (27)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Good for Groups (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Authentic (21)
Fun (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Healthy (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Business Meals (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Family Style (8)
Romantic (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
People Watching (7)
Cozy (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great Beer (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Live Sports (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1063 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 2 days ago

Sat outside and enjoyed fresh seafood overlooking the water!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent modern comfort food and quality seafood. The scallops were great, the blackened mahi with collards and grits - wonderful.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Fun, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

Have been to the other 2 fish camps and was looking forward to visiting this one, especially since we live nearby. Made reservations for our anniversary and checked in on time downstairs (despite being stuck in the very small parking lot waiting for the valets to move cars from the drive). We were directed upstairs since that was where our table was and we were told it was ready. We then had to wait in another line upstairs to check in again. While waiting we noticed that some people (I guess those who know about the 2 hostess stands) were coming up the outside steps and getting in line without a reservation. We then were told that the table was not ready, no idea when it would be ready and to wait outside until we got a text. Not the most professional or pleasant hostess upstairs. We opted to sit at the bar, get a drink and an appetizer. The bar tenders were nice, and the appetizer was adequate. Conch fritters with lots of batter but not much seafood. At least you got a decent portion for the price. During that time we noticed empty tables and parties (both large and small) being seated quickly.

After waiting over 20 minutes we were finally seated at a small table next to the waitress drink station and dump sink with a metal bar running right next to the table and everyone who was being sent upstairs walking past. When we asked to speak to a manager he said that he was told that our reservation was 30 minutes after it really was so we really didn't wait. Maybe they need to check their times again. I told him that the table was unacceptable, so he "walked around the whole restaurant" and could only suggest 2 other small tables in corners. He admitted he never went outside and then finally came back and offered a table outside. The place was almost empty out there.

By this time I was so frustrated with what we felt was unprofessional behavior we left. For the prices you pay you should expect better attitude. The wait staff was the only high point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

Had only been there for dinner but this Sunday lunch was amazing. Shrimp and grits with bacon and eggs over medium. It's a foodie's delight when matched with a mimosa!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Casual, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

We had dinner reservations on Saturday evening and simply put, a few things went wrong. I won't go into detail because they aren't necessary and because I am extremely reasonable due my experience in a similar business. At the end of it all, the manager (a female) on 2/18/17 comped our meals. Our waiter was also excellent. The gesture earned them my highest rating because it was the right thing to do. When you make a mistake, raise your hand and admit to it, and do something. Thank you for taking responsibility.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

First let me start by saying that our waitress (Katie) was awesome!

The cocktails are always well made and very refreshing. We had the steamed and raw oysters for an app. and they were amazing, highly recommend when they are in season! Two of us split the Boil Pot for (2), which came out very nice. One of our friends had the Shrimp & Grits (Local Favorite) and the other had the Broiled Seafood Platter (Delish). As always, we will be patronizing again in the near future.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

Our server kristen was great. Seeing old friend Patrick was nice

Tags: Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

This was our third or fourth time eating at JC Fish Camp, and it never disappoints. The food is amazing, the staff is friendly, and you can't beat the views. We love this place and have spent many special occasions here. I can't wait till I pass my nursing boards so we have an excuse to return. Highly recommend!

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Quality food but loud loud louder and loudness beyond comprehension.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The salmon was a bit rage in the center but good.

Food presentation is different every time I get it.

It is extremely loud upstairs & downstairs. Acoustic paneling would be ideal & totally fix the problem. Everyone I talk to complains about the noise.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great blackened Mahi, seafood platter, and flexible on sides.

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I have eaten here several times. You really can't go wrong with this or any of their other Fish Camp restaurants. Consistently great. Have the Blackend Mahi over Grits with Greens. Make's you want to slap your momma. It's that good. . . . LOL

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always fantastic! Yes it's a "fish camp" and my wife gets seafood but I always get the steak special. I'll take it over any of the "steak places"

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent dining experience all the way around! Great service, fantastic food, handcrafted drinks, nice scenery if you sit outside on the deck. Highly recommended!

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Fun, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The best restaurant in jax!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Way too loud in upstairs dining. Food was good, but pricey.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Made another trip to this outstanding restraunt, food was excellent as in the past. Server was great, knew his stuff, and more than attentive! The atmosphere on the river is worth the drive too!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Making reservations was very easy . The valet parking was extremely backed up and chaotic. We were seated at a nice table immediately as per our reservation. Our server was not very good. Brought us warm wine glasses and we requested ones that were not warm. He completely forgot to bring them back and we had to get them from the bar. He was very personable but lacked the intuitiveness of a great server - such as taking our forks and then serving the meal without replacing them. (I ate half of my meal with an oyster fork before he returned for me to ask for a real one.) Ahi tuna was cooked perfectly and the spicy seafood pasta was excellent. We enjoy this restaurant but find the service here consistently average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Had reservations at 630 and we didn't get our table until 646 then we waited 4 more minutes for a server to greet us. I've never had to wait this long for a reservation EVER and never will here again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

good food, great service, better make a reservation

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Enjoyed a Friday evening here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Our waiter and waitress were outstanding, I forgot their name I'm sorry to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We always enjoy going here. Great food and location.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 7, 2017

A great dining experience. Food is outstanding, service was excellent. Having a reservation is a must!

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food and good service. A nice outdoor area. Spacious, airy, attractive dining room though a bit busy and mildly noisy. One big negative was the valet parking. They have a large parking lot but only allow two rows of self-parking - the rest of the lot is blocked of for valet use. Yes, it's "complimentary" but you, I and the rest of the universe know this is not so. We were there at a busy time and it was very cold that night. We had to wait 10 minutes freezing in the cold because they were backed up on fetching cars. Very unpleasant. End that practice and just let people park!

Otherwise it was great. But the valet parking racket was unfortunate.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I ordered the catfish which I always do. But this time the batter it was fried in was different and not very tasty. It was dry and thick and did not go with the lightness of the fish. Very chewy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Good thing food was so good. Even with free valet parking it's still not good. And the ambient noise inside is deafening.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food was excellent. Service wasn't very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great food, great service and ideal inside window table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Waterfront, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Service was excellent. We both had fried shrimp, but I also had oysters. My friend had fries, I had grits. She said her fries were good, nothing different. My grits were delicious. The shrimp and oysters were battered perfectly, just enough, but not heavy. The slaw wasn't good enough to finish, not a really crisp taste. The hush puppies were ok.

I enjoy Julington Creek Fish Camp, but it's a little pricey for seafood that's found all over town.

Friendly atmosphere and service, and portions are a good size.

I'll go back, but it will have to be a special occasion again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Delicious food right around the corner. Always good...a bit pricey but worth it. Best shrimp and grits around!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Shrimp and grits is my go to meal but there isn't much I've had there that isn't great! The view is beautiful. A little noisy upstairs but worth the trip every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great time! Our server Amanda was terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food for all ages. Both family friendly and great for special date.

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always enjoy this restaurant for all it has to offer.

Unique specials, delicious and outstanding service

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Amazing food. We're definitely returning during this visit to Florida.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Amazing food can't wait to go back blackened mahi-mahi on grits with collards and oyster starter

Tags: Comfort Food, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 25, 2017

As usual, the food was very good. We hit it on a slow night so the usually loud room was quiet and peaceful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We've been going here since they opened and 99% of the time the service is great and so is the food except this time. We went for lunch at 1PM and sat in the dinning room, which only had about 9 people and our party was 4 of those 9. Waiter did not come after being seated and I had to call him over. We ordered the cod, the special, and it took forever for it to come and was only warm when delivered and very bland. Waiter never came back for refills or clear the table while we talked and he had to be called. We had desert and it was good. Sorry to say, this was a very disappointing meal and service. We will try it again but I think I know where this is headed, which is sad. Sorry Julington but your staff needs work.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Roxanne was great! She helped with selections and was a super waitress overall!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food, service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The server was outstanding - very busy time but we were in and out in good time - chef did super job cooking my cod without oil or butter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

It was our

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My only complaint is the noise level, sitting outside was much better. Otherwise the food is very good and the staff was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Quick meal with my toddler. Food is good and worth the wait. The only thing I ever dislike here is the view of the marina parking lot and the trash lying around. Such a great restaurant with a great water view ruined by the business next door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food has always been amazing. Great service. The view was outstanding. Shrimp and grits my go to favorite. Dave the bartender makes super drinks!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I had the Mahi mahi which was fabulous! The waiter was very accommodating to my requests! Would definitely dine there again!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Finally! A bit more upscale, very good service , fresh ingredients, wonderful seafood. Have enjoyed dinner here several times and will continue to do so!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I NEVER order steak while at a fish restaurant but because I was steak hungry, I did. It was AMAZZZZING! Gorgonzola topped, it was purely delightful! The serving was generous and the zucchini was good enough to make me believe I could survive if I became a vegan. Just delicious!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.