About Julington Creek Fish Camp

12760 San Jose Blvd
Jacksonville, FL 32223
View Larger Map

Welcome to Julington Creek Fish Camp, Jacksonville’s newest destination restaurant. Savor some of North Florida’s spectacular cuisine and culture while experiencing our beautiful panoramic views!

Whether its date night with friends or a significant other, you’ve got family in town, or maybe just a desire for fresh southern seafood topped with a little R&R, our lively paradise on the banks of Julington Creek is your place. Compare tasting notes with your companions in the airy interior; toast a North Florida sunset on the outdoor deck. Either way, you can’t go wrong.

Julington Creek expands a tradition of Southern Fare Cuisine with fresh ingredients of unmatched quality established by our Palm Valley and North Beach Fish Camps. Call for a reservation today and come be a part of our community! One taste of our culinary concoctions and the warm riverside ambience—and you’ll be hooked. We know you’ll be back again and again.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours: Wednesday-Sunday 11am-4pm, Monday-Sunday 4pm-10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 886-2267

Website:
http://www.julingtoncreekfishcamp.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Cooney

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Julington Creek Fish Camp Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Seafood
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Most Booked
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
2 More
Neighborhood Gem
Jacksonville
Most Booked
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

scenic view (112)
great for outdoor dining (107)
neighborhood gem (102)
See All
fit for foodies (89)
great for lunch (65)
special occasion (63)
good for groups (61)
kid-friendly (41)
hot spot (34)
vibrant bar scene (28)
great for brunch (27)
romantic (19)
notable wine list (14)
late-night find (8)
Sort By:
Newest
785 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Very good food though noisy, was jammed ...

Dined 4 days ago

Very good food though noisy, was jammed at 5 PM Saturday. Ample staff, Sergio has done a great job with the kitchen.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

It was very nice time and our server did ...

Dined 5 days ago

It was very nice time and our server did a great job

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A dear friend moved way about a year ago ...

Dined 5 days ago

A dear friend moved way about a year ago. She came for a visit; and she requested a lunch with her lady friends at Julington Creek Fish Camp. The service was great; the food was fantastic. I look forward to going back for other occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

3rd time to JFC. First two times were re ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

3rd time to JFC. First two times were really fabulous. This last time....not so much. Got seated (4 plus 2 yr old). Waited and waited for service as the wait staff ignored us. I finally had to grab (so to speak) a waitress and say something. This was especially irritating with an impatient 2 yr old. Waitress said it wasn't her table but she'd take our drink orders. Drinks came back and now she says she will be our waitress. Service was slow and uneven. The "Specials" were not very special either. This was on a Sunday so maybe Sunday isnt the day to go. As I said earlier, the place was great the previous times, but this was the one time I took my daughter and her family and ...this.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We love JCFC! However, it was very loud ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We love JCFC! However, it was very loud and hard to carry on a conversation. Food was great, as always. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great services, delicious food.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great services, delicious food.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food and wonderful service. Go ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful food and wonderful service. Got to have the fried green tomatoes. Blackened Mahi sandwich was outstanding. Love the hush puppies. View of the river/ harbor is nice. Have eaten outside before and enjoyed it.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our 'go to' place for dinner

Dined on May 12, 2016

Consistently good food. Drinks are a bit pricey while dinner entries are reasonably priced. Dining indoors does have a tendency to get loud. Service this visit was average. Nice views of Julington Creek. Small parking lot...so unless you are using valet parking, it could be a challenge.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my family for Mother's Day. Everything we ordered tasted excellent, fresh and cooked perfectly. We had the Broiled Seafood Platter (scallops, cod and shrimp), the baked cod filet, ribeye steak topped with Gorgonzola cheese and the kids fried shrimp. All of the potatoes and veggies with the dishes were well seasoned and cooked perfect. For dessert we had the blueberry bread pudding, which was awesome. It was topped with ice cream and a white chocolate sauce. It was enough for the whole table to grub on. Our server was good. They were a little busy as expected and they were pulled in a few directions at once but did good overall. I would highly recommend to any family and friends.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Table was horrible-next to waiter computer station

Dined on May 8, 2016

I usually love this restaurant. We went on the day before Mother's Day to celebrate early. Our waitress was horrible. She left plates on our table and they were piling up everywhere. We had to hunt her down to take our order and to get more drinks. The food was good but I was disappointed with my fish. It was the "special" and was a large fried fish. It was overcooked and wasn't fun to have to pick through the bones to get the meat. I wouldn't order it again. The scallops were wonderful - and the vegetables were, as always, awesome! I wish we had gotten a better table and a better waitress. Not sure if I'll go again for a special occasion.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food and service is always great. The n ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food and service is always great. The noise level, however, seems to always be very high, especially upstairs in main dining area. Try to sit outside or downstairs if you want to talk to your dinner partner. Food and great wait staff worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

did not like waiting fora table even th ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

did not like waiting fora table even though had a reservation.. whats the point of the reservation. other than that food was great service as well.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The outdoor deck set a nice ambiance all ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The outdoor deck set a nice ambiance allowing our group of 5 to enjoy a nice meal and carry on a conversation with relatively low nose level.

food5
ambience3
service4

Great food, just too noisy. I knew that ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Great food, just too noisy. I knew that going in but chose to eat there because I love the food.

food5
ambience4
service4

Love eating at outside tables as the noi ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Love eating at outside tables as the noise level inside is pretty intense. The Mahi with grits is consistently my favorite-it never disappoints me!!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Awesome food!

Dined on May 2, 2016

Nothing from a can here and you can taste it! Lots of big flavors! Best grits I've ever had! It's a little expensive but worth the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Pleasant dinner

Dined on May 2, 2016

Food was great, service was quick and efficient. Noise level above what I would prefer.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

GREAT service and excellent food!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Tanner was a wonderful server. GREAT FOOD, flavor and portions. Thanks Tanner. :)

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Graduation night

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great food. Great fresh fish. Every time. It was a wonderful evening.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Not as great as in the past

Dined on April 29, 2016

My husband and I go to this restaurant every week. It's our favorite. This most recent time, the food just was not as good as usual. Typically, the fish specials are amazing and on this night it was very disappointing.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

We weren't seated until 20 minutes or so ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

We weren't seated until 20 minutes or so after our reservation time. The manager did give us complimentary appetizers.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Graduation dinner

Dined on April 28, 2016

This has turned out to be my favorite neighborhood restaurant. It is the one place we go that we know we will constantly have fresh seafood. The manager is always there to make sure your dining experience it great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food

Dined on April 28, 2016

Great food and drinks. The catch of the day was fantastic . The service was good. The only negative would be the lack comfortable seating . It seems to be to encourage eating quickly and moving on to accommodate next patrons. I hate to be hurried .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food but pricey. One of my gu ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Excellent food but pricey. One of my guests felt her cod was too dry but requesting tartar sauce solved that issue.

food5
ambience5
service5

We went on a whim because we were in the ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

We went on a whim because we were in the area. So thankful we did that place is absolutely killer fresh delicious seafood we couldn't have asked for a better meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service!

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was amazing and the server was very knowledgable. Chriss' recommendations were spot on! You have to leave room for the bread pudding!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great visit to Fish Camp!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Had the Snapper bites as an appetizer this time - which were delicious! Shrimp & grits and Hot Mama margarita are my default choices and favorites! We were able to sit on the patio this time and enjoy the beautiful sunset.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great view

Dined on April 24, 2016

Received a gift card for Christmas, took my husband here for his birthday! Invited another couple and had an excellent view with great food. The food was great and the keylime pie, wow.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Fresh Seafood

Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and I both ordered fresh fish and that's what it was. Fresh. This is so unusual in most restaurants nowadays. Mostly frozen seafood is what we get but the tuna and the mahi were super fresh and delicious. Will definitely go back next time in Jax.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The folks that work there, like working ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The folks that work there, like working there, and that rubs off on us the client. Friendly, fun professional, great food, view. We met locals that go regularly. When we are in the area we will be back. We live 5 hours away.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service will have us beco ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Great food and service will have us becoming regulars here. Absolutely loved it and the server was fantastic.

food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Happy Birthday?

Dined on April 19, 2016

The place is small, and way over priced especially for the portions they serve. It is just not worth the time or effort driving there.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Inconsiderate Guests

Dined on April 16, 2016

The only problem we had was a very late seating even though we had reservations. The situation was twofold: we added to our party the day of the reservation and the guests ahead of us were inconsiderate in not leaving in a timely manner. However, JCFC, kindly made up for the problem by comping apps and providing a knowledegable, efficient food server. The food was delicious and everyone enjoyed the evening. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Anniversary

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was great. However, we were doubly charged for our fish dish, and got no apology. That was a big disappointment.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Service way too fast.

Dined on April 15, 2016

Entree came while appetizer still being finished. Wine finally arrived for the last bite of shrimp. Cocktails small and over priced. And very noisy. Can just about hear yourself talk. Will probably not return.

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Came to restaurant for dinner on Saturda ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Came to restaurant for dinner on Saturday night. The outside eating area looked nice and inviting.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always wonderful. We keep comin ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Food is always wonderful. We keep coming back again and again for the bread pudding. Sitting outside is best if only because it can get loud inside but I love coming to Julington Creek Fish Camp.

food5
ambience5
service5

We love this place, the Food and atmosph ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

We love this place, the Food and atmosphere is great and the Shrimp and grits are fantastic!!!

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Love this Place

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

My husband and I visit this place often because we are in walking distance from it. We have gone for Sunday brunch, late night drinks and apps, as well as dinner. They have really good food and a great outdoor area that overlooks St. Johns River.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was great, except parking and ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Everything was great, except parking and the truly overwhelming noise. It was impossible to have a private conversation. Just SO LOUD! We left quickly after dinner because we couldn't hear each other.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.