About Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB

Established in 1903 Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB is the recipient of numerous awards as Grand Rapid's number one steakhouse and the accolades are well deserved. Featuring a delicious grass fed beef selection, Judson's Steakhouse puts a high premium on local, quality, and variety. Come experience our Premium Cuts with favorites such as our Tomahawk Ribeye or USDA Grade Prime New York Strip Steak. There are options abound for all tastes, with an ample selection of seafood, chops and house specialties. Enjoy a perfectly paired glass of wine from our award-winning wine cellar. The room is tastefully upscale, while retaining a classically comfortable charm. Our guests are encouraged to come casual, relax and let our competent service staff focus on the job of impressing.

20 Monroe Ave. NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5-pm-10pm, Friday and Saturday 5pm-11pm, and Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Fulton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 356-2000

Website:
http://www.thegilmorecollection.com/judsons.php

Catering:
Catering Options Available

Executive Chef:
Jared Miller

Private Party Facilities:
We have our Bottle Lodge available for parties of 18 or less. Please contact Lue at (616) 356-2000 ext: 46.

Private Party Contact:
Lue Bryant: (616) 356-2000 ext. 46

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
$2.99 Happy Hour 5:00pm-6:00pm: $2.99 beverages
Mondays-Saturdays

Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

70% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Special Occasion (16)
See All
Romantic (15)
Business Meals (12)
Cozy (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Casual (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Fun (4)
Historic (4)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (3)
Great Beer (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Authentic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
619 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was very disappointing as all the v ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was very disappointing as all the veggies tasted like they hadn't been washed and we hardly cooked and still hard. Steak was well cooked, potatoes were disappointing like the veggies - very limited menu not many options.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

went for our anniversay. was not disapoi ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

went for our anniversay. was not disapointed the food was great steak was perfectly cooked.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value3

Went to Judson's for Date night, my husb ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went to Judson's for Date night, my husband loved his New York Strip, would've liked another potato option. My lamb was yummy too. Service was good. timely with personality

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome waitress. Food was great but VER ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Awesome waitress. Food was great but VERY expensive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The server (Santo) was great and the foo ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The server (Santo) was great and the food was excellent. The portions were not small as some of the reviews stated and we chose to go with the lamb maybe a little over done for me but the flavor was awesome and salmon plate was to die for and my girlfriend loved it for her Birthday dinner! we started with the wild mushroom brochette and I would highly recommend it but it is filling. The highlight of the night was the cheesecake I wish I knew the name of but it was Oreo Carmel Moka something and it was the best my girlfriend and have ever had so thank you! Oh yeah after eating it and telling our server Santo how much we loved it he proceeded to tell us how happy he was that we enjoyed being it was a third generation Italian recipe that his great grandmother passed down and he made it! I guess he does other desserts on the weekends for the restaurant to offer! Over all great experience and enjoyed being treated so well!

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great dining experience good food server ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great dining experience good food servers were awsome food was alittle pricey for the portions.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Ordered split Ceasar salad and I was har ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Ordered split Ceasar salad and I was hardly big enough to split. Ordered Delmonico steak $45 to split , came just warm not even hot. Sauce for the top was actually COLD. Asked for sautéed mushrooms and they had to go back and cook them. We added salt they had zero flavor. Left without desert. Is not the same as a few years ago when we came. Prob won't be back .

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

The filet was outstanding! The brussel ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The filet was outstanding! The brussel sprouts so good I think my kids would eat them. The server ( Steve ) was charming, knowledgeable, and polite. The timing of dishes and drink was impeccable. The atmosphere puts you in a relaxing mood and melts all worry. I felt more comfortable than I do at home. I ate, felt like, and was treated like a king. Thank you Steve and Judson's! I will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jusdon's, while very beautiful, was disa ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Jusdon's, while very beautiful, was disappointing and underwhelming. The 'shareables', which were described by the waiter as 'for the table' were extremely small portions. For example, we ordered the crab cakes, and while delicious, it was clear that there was only enough food for 2, not the table of 4 we had. Our entrees were delicious, but for the price, were underwhelming. As for the staff, our waiter, while friendly, was inattentive and didn't seem to take it seriously that we were trying to speed through dinner as we had other engagements to get to.

Overall, it's an impressive place for a date or a special occasion, but for getting together with friends for dinner, I'd recommend going elsewhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Great service and flavor - YUM. The env ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great service and flavor - YUM. The environment was very comforting and a great time to spend with friends and family - with laughter and great food.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality of food is reliably good. Steaks ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Quality of food is reliably good. Steaks are cooked as ordered and are tasty. New menu selection is good. Room may become noisy if there are tables with larger groups celebrating something.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

New menu is disappointing. What happened ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

New menu is disappointing. What happened to the great less than talked about steakhouse alternatives in Grand Rapids. Pick one thing and do it well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

This was my first time to Judson's and m ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This was my first time to Judson's and my husbands second (it has been 10 years though). We got right in and seated. The hostess was friendly and our server was great. She knew the menu and was happy to explain any items that we had questions on. The food was outstanding and ticket to table time was just right. My only tiny complaint is that we lost our server for a short period of time towards the end of dinner (needed a refill on drinks) but it really was not a big problem. I would definitely recommend Judson's for a great dinner and evening out.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good experience. Waitor was excell ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very good experience. Waitor was excellent. Couple of large tables made the noise level higher. Love the food and atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and great service! Our server ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great food and great service! Our server was very attentive and the food was prepared just as we ordered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently great food and service in a ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Consistently great food and service in a wonderful old timber and brick historical building. Judson's is located within the BOB in downtown Grand Rapids. Their steaks are great. My favorite is the Delmonico. The rest of the menu is very creative and tasty. This is a can't miss spot.

Tags: , Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Vegan, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I've had great service and food in the r ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I've had great service and food in the restaurant in the past. potentially due to holidays service was understaffed and or we just ended up with a waitress that was not the best. Food was still very good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Hearing that Judson's was remodeling soo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Hearing that Judson's was remodeling soon, we dined there between Christmas and New Year's Eve. Judson's is our favorite restaurant and our experience this time did not disappoint. We both had the stuffed filet mignon, with my wife choosing a side of brussel sprouts and I opted for the au gratin potatoes. Both sides were excellent. Waiter Tommy was respectful of our space and not innterruptive. He was also very helpful in choosing the right wine. Overall, the experience was on a par with the quality we have come to expect from a Gilmore Restaurant. We hope they don't make too many radical changes at Judson's.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Menu confusing. "Special" was bait and ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Menu confusing. "Special" was bait and switch...NOT APPRECIATED!! On line no mention of $20. ceiling on second meal.

One steak had to be sent back, near raw. Second time around, about the same. This is a mere shadow of what use to be a good steak restaurant.

Don't waste your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I want to cry when a $45 steak is over c ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I want to cry when a $45 steak is over cooked... The bartender was as always fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Steaks were overcooked and over priced. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Steaks were overcooked and over priced. Too many other great steak houses in GRR to settle. What a shame, it used to be so great. Still love the setting and location.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Promised that we would have plenty of ti ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Promised that we would have plenty of time and still be on time for our concert. ..once we finally received our food, had to hurry through it in order to make the start of the performance. Did not have time to relax and enjoy the good food.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Not the restaurant that it used to be. S ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Not the restaurant that it used to be. Steak was overdone( they did comp the steak), portion of sides was extremely small for price , and service time was extremely slow. Hour and half to get our food. Way better options in GR for steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Being our first time we were thoroughly ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Being our first time we were thoroughly happy with everything this restaurant had to offer. Our waiter, Steven, was a delight, answering all our questions and making suggestions . Our food was delicious and plentiful .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was fabulous and our server, Sa ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Our meal was fabulous and our server, Santo, was very attentive and personable. We will definitely go there again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

They got rid of the bacon wrapped scallo ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 19, 2016

They got rid of the bacon wrapped scallops! I can't imagine what they were thinking. I am not likely to return for a while, as this place is one of about a dozen decent steakhouses within a short walk from downtown. BRING BACK THE BACON WRAPPED SCALLOPS!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This was our first time there and we lov ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 19, 2016

This was our first time there and we loved it! The food was delicious. The service was great. I would definitely recommend eating here. We were a group of six and are already talking about going back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere, great food, and good va ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Nice atmosphere, great food, and good value. Waiter was helpful and attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Disappointing menu. Too few side options ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Disappointing menu. Too few side options. Potatoes were hard. Steaks are way over-priced. Can definitely get a much better steak meal in GR for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

We were hoping for a great meal on our e ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We were hoping for a great meal on our evening out. Our bill was over 160.00 plus and the food wasn't any better then Apples Bee. For the cost we would have been much better going to Roth Chris. My steak came out like it had been blow torched. I have never seen a steak that looked like charcoal lump and the sliced potato's were uncooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Steaks were over priced $42-45. No side ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Steaks were over priced $42-45. No side included. No baked potato on menu. Everything alacarte. Won't begoing back.

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

There were four of us and we had three o ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 8, 2016

There were four of us and we had three of the specialty steaks. No one was willing to try and finish the 16oz steak. They were cook perfectly and delicious. Will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Business meal following a long day at a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Business meal following a long day at a tradeshow. Warm comfortable atmosphere, great service and great steaks. Mix fantastic martinis. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to unwind while talking business .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unfortunately 2 of our steaks were charr ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Unfortunately 2 of our steaks were charred badly and had to be sent back. I am actually surprised those were sent out and not caught at the pass. The other couple we were with were done eating well before us. The food is generally good when it is prepared correctly and not tasting of char.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food and service. From the wed ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent food and service. From the wedge salad to the scallop appetizer to the stuffed filet and perfectly cooked asparagus - it was great

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Before dining I read the reviews! most w ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Before dining I read the reviews! most we're very good but they all specified slow, poor service and excellent food! I thought it could not be that bad! Well it was worse! We waited at the maitre d s for 15 minutes for our table and there were 8 empty tables already . ! we sat down and then waited 10 minutes for a waiter to take drink order! So we immediately ordered our entire meal! as we had a previous commitment in an hour and 15 minutes1 so we then waited 15 more minutes for our drink order, 2 beers and they arrived after our salads! dinner then arrived exactly 1 hour after ordered and we never saw a waiter again to replace our drinks until the maincourse arrived. !! So the food was excellent but how many complaints are necessary before you change the floor stafff and managers!!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

We ordered steak and chicken and the Por ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We ordered steak and chicken and the Portions were very small

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We totally enjoyed our experience and lo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We totally enjoyed our experience and love the food and the service but I found it to be a little noisy but that was probably because it was so full

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was great and the food was d ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The service was great and the food was delicious. We celebrated our engagement here and had a great time. The wine was great and our server was always checking up on us making sure we were doing alright. A little bit pricey but for a celebration it was well worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time this past Friday. The server ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 4, 2016

First time this past Friday. The server was fantastic. She asked what out plans were after dinner and made sure to adjust the service accordingly. Had the surf and turf that was on special. Steak was perfectly cooked and tastefully seasoned. Shrimp was cooked to perfection. Potatoes were flavorful. Overall we had a great experience that rivaled other top steakhouses in the city.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.