About Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB

20 Monroe Ave. NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Established in 1903 Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB is the recipient of numerous awards as Grand Rapid's number one steakhouse and the accolades are well deserved. Featuring a delicious grass fed beef selection, Judson's Steakhouse puts a high premium on local, quality, and variety. Come experience our Premium Cuts with favorites such as our Tomahawk Ribeye or USDA Grade Prime New York Strip Steak. There are options abound for all tastes, with an ample selection of seafood, chops and house specialties. Enjoy a perfectly paired glass of wine from our award-winning wine cellar. The room is tastefully upscale, while retaining a classically comfortable charm. Our guests are encouraged to come casual, relax and let our competent service staff focus on the job of impressing.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5-pm-10pm, Friday and Saturday 5pm-11pm, and Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Fulton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 356-2000

Website:
http://www.thegilmorecollection.com/judsons.php

Catering:
Catering Options Available

Executive Chef:
Jared Miller

Private Party Facilities:
We have our Bottle Lodge available for parties of 18 or less. Please contact Lue at (616) 356-2000 ext: 46.

Private Party Contact:
Lue Bryant: 6163562000x46

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
$2.99 Happy Hour 5:00pm-6:00pm: $2.99 beverages
Mondays-Saturdays

Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Romantic (10)
See All
Good for Birthdays (9)
Business Meals (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Cozy (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Historic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Fun (2)
Casual (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Family Style (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Authentic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
553 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and service. From the wed ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent food and service. From the wedge salad to the scallop appetizer to the stuffed filet and perfectly cooked asparagus - it was great

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Before dining I read the reviews! most w ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Before dining I read the reviews! most we're very good but they all specified slow, poor service and excellent food! I thought it could not be that bad! Well it was worse! We waited at the maitre d s for 15 minutes for our table and there were 8 empty tables already . ! we sat down and then waited 10 minutes for a waiter to take drink order! So we immediately ordered our entire meal! as we had a previous commitment in an hour and 15 minutes1 so we then waited 15 more minutes for our drink order, 2 beers and they arrived after our salads! dinner then arrived exactly 1 hour after ordered and we never saw a waiter again to replace our drinks until the maincourse arrived. !! So the food was excellent but how many complaints are necessary before you change the floor stafff and managers!!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

We ordered steak and chicken and the Por ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We ordered steak and chicken and the Portions were very small

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We totally enjoyed our experience and lo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We totally enjoyed our experience and love the food and the service but I found it to be a little noisy but that was probably because it was so full

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was great and the food was d ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The service was great and the food was delicious. We celebrated our engagement here and had a great time. The wine was great and our server was always checking up on us making sure we were doing alright. A little bit pricey but for a celebration it was well worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time this past Friday. The server ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 4, 2016

First time this past Friday. The server was fantastic. She asked what out plans were after dinner and made sure to adjust the service accordingly. Had the surf and turf that was on special. Steak was perfectly cooked and tastefully seasoned. Shrimp was cooked to perfection. Potatoes were flavorful. Overall we had a great experience that rivaled other top steakhouses in the city.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful place for our anniversary dinn ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Wonderful place for our anniversary dinner. We found this restaurant during Restaurant Week several years ago when we traveled to Grand Rapids to celebrate our engagement. We make a trip back (from Indiana) on the same anniversary/birthday weekend to celebrate almost every year. A few years ago on someone's suggestion we changed restaurants and we were very disappointed, back to Judson's we went! This is our kind place. It is in a convenient location, the seating is such that you can have quiet conversation, the service is top notch, and the food is to excellent. We are somewhat simple eaters, so the French Onion Soup, New York Strip, asparagus, Brussel sprouts, BIG loaded baked potato, and vanilla cheese cake are our go to choices. The portions are huge and everything was cooked to our specifications. We cannot wait to come back again. Also thank you to our waiter Tim (we highly suggest asking for Tim to serve you) for making our evening spectacular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was terrible, waited fifteen min ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Service was terrible, waited fifteen minutes to get our drink order. Food was not as good as in the past, steak very gristly and potatoes were burned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

they tried to seat us at the worst table ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 15, 2016

they tried to seat us at the worst table in the place while some nice ones were available - they were being held for someone "Special" although we also had reservartions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Outstanding!

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, food and atmosphere. Hig ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great service, food and atmosphere. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed with service. Not extremel ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Disappointed with service. Not extremely crowded, but waiter was delayed at the beginning. Also during the meal. Hostess had to take our drink orders. Craft beer was slow in delivery and not very cold. Had a discount e-mail and informed waiter at time of order and were thanked for giving the information. When bill arrived the offer was not reflected. Had to bring it to his attention. Probably will not return for sometime. Food was quite good and well presented.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

I thought the food was way over priced f ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 6, 2016

I thought the food was way over priced for what it was. I wouldn't go back for that reason alone. You were as much as Capital Grill and that place is way nicer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

We had been there many times in the past ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 6, 2016

We had been there many times in the past; maybe this was just a bad night.

Ordered the fish special and it was dry/over cooked. Service was not the norm either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Had a wonderful experience! Our waiter T ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Had a wonderful experience! Our waiter Tomas was pleasant and knowledgeable on pairings. Selected a great wine to go with our meal. Everything was delicious!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to dinner before our symphony co ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We went to dinner before our symphony concert. The wait staff was very attentive and lovely. Drinks came immediately, great recommendations on the food, the steak was amazing!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a 50% off coupon and thought we c ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had a 50% off coupon and thought we couldn't possibly be disappointed with the value. It was not adequate. My husband's $88 bone-in rib-eye was not nearly worth the value. It was fatty and at least a third inedible. We frequent fine dining all over and the steak was not even close to what we would expect and have had value from places such as Ruth's Chris or Chop House at a comparable price. My 6 x $5 per shrimp (I ordered 6) were awful. My husband ate 1, begrudgingly, and I had 2 and left the other 3 becasue I ran out of enough lemon to render the 2 I had edible becasue they tasted so fishy. When the server offered to clear the plate I said "take it" and mentioned that the shrimp was fishy. He cleared it after asking for clarification of what I said, and that was that. We have a 25% coupon left and agree that it is definitely not worth returning for. Sad commentary. No reason to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Nice referral to an area we were unfamil ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Nice referral to an area we were unfamiliar with. Good food and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed my birthday dinner! Like the at ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Enjoyed my birthday dinner! Like the atmosphere, great food, outstanding service.

Never had a bad experience at Judson's.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I go there for the tenderloin which is g ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 7, 2016

I go there for the tenderloin which is great. In general food is tasty and portions are sensable. Ambiance and decor is enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We spent our anniversary here. Food is ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 6, 2016

We spent our anniversary here. Food is very good and my filet was excellent. Everything is a la carte. Prices are not cheap but food quality helps bridge some of that gap.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The Delmonico Steak was the best I have ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The Delmonico Steak was the best I have ever eaten!!! Just amazing!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The waiter at Judson's was very knowledg ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 23, 2016

The waiter at Judson's was very knowledgeable and attentive. The steaks were delicious and the brussel sprouts are worth getting as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating our anniversary with ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary with friends, I have a gluten problem and the waiter Santo steered me in the right direction. In fact I could eat any of the desserts so he sub a dessert for me and was so attentive and thoughtful. He is a valuable person to your restuarant. We will come back again had a very good experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for dinner before a concert ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great place for dinner before a concert at the Arena!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal and service I have had in a ve ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Best meal and service I have had in a very long time. Came at the suggestion of a coworker and was very, very satisfied!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was awesome we had very good se ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food was awesome we had very good service it's a great place to go for a special occasion. But it's very disappointing how far you have to walk to use the restroom especially in a restaurant of that caliber.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We went for our wedding anniversary and ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We went for our wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time. Our waiter Tim was fantastic and the food was great. The soft lighting and quiet atmosphere was perfect for our night out. I have to also compliment their bartender who mixed up 2 martinis that fit the tastes I was looking for to a "T".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fine steakhouse. Great food, wine list a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Fine steakhouse. Great food, wine list and knowledgable staff.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Best place for steak that we know of. S ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Best place for steak that we know of. Service is top-notch. Plenty to do after dinner in the many venues available nearby.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak and salad. A great cube of well ag ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Steak and salad. A great cube of well aged strip topped with a mushroom and pearl onion ragout served over garlicky mashed potatoes. One served a perfect medium, the second ok medium rare ( could have been handled a bit more gently to avoid the well to medium edges) No complaining though, the meat was delicious. And one might think lettuce had no new twists. Both the wedge and caesar had tasteful twist. I especially like the maple bacon and roquefort dressing on the wedge, while the caesar was topped with tasty parmesan crisps.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As a steak restaurant this place falls b ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 25, 2016

As a steak restaurant this place falls between the mass steak places like Outback and the real steak places like Chop House and Ruth's Chris. Unfortunately, the prices are in the upper range rather than lower range making this a poor choice unless really pressed for a table (which there were plenty available as I think we were one of perhaps 3 or 4 tables that night). Quality of the steak was not any better than what could have done at home - not sure it was even Prime grade. Overall, plan ahead and get reservations at a real steak restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Another excellent experience. We were no ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Another excellent experience. We were not able to secure our preferred server (Tim) but the server who looked after our needs did a splendid job. We continue to be impressed with the menu and the preparation of the items--always delicious and artfully presented. I am a stickler for details and knocked my Overall Rating down one notch because my cocktail (a Negroni) lacked two elements that it normally has: 1) an orange peel garnish (this is mandatory), and 2) the beautiful single block of crystal clear ice (this time it was built with crushed ice and, though clear as can be, was a little bit of a letdown). Judson's is more of a special occasion restaurant for us, but we almost always leaving wondering, "Why don't we come here more often?" We'll need to get into the habit of doing just that; this place is a gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food service and atmosphere were ter ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food service and atmosphere were terrific. We chose the restaurant to have steak. My NY strip was prepared perfectly and it was delicious. Portions were more than enough yet not obscene. Our server was professional and engaging. He balanced fun food discussion with with just enough privacy. Overall the reataurant gets an A!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Steakhouse ~ excellent steak, wou ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great Steakhouse ~ excellent steak, would have liked a side included with our meal rather than ala carte, especially considering the price of the entree. Subdued atmosphere nice for conversations. Terrific service! Also enjoyed their desserts!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was on-the-spot with service ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Our server was on-the-spot with service and recommendations. Knew the menu inside and out, down to the ingredients. The Filet was incredible. The crab appetizer was also very good.

Save room for dessert - the chocolate cake will feed your table.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the better steaks in town. Especi ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 1, 2016

One of the better steaks in town. Especially when they do their 2 for 1 deals

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great. Our waitress was ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 25, 2016

The service was great. Our waitress was helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. The food was fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait staff and food were terrific! T ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 18, 2016

The wait staff and food were terrific! The vegetables were so flavorful. Almost the best

part of the meal.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our Favorite Restaurant Disappoints

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 6, 2016

Our favorite restaurant, Judson's, let us down. We've always had top notch experiences in the 10+ years we've been going for special occasions like birthday's and anniversaries. On our waiter's recommendation, I ordered the block steak, which was very tough and not worth the asking price of $30. The other let down was our waiter was too chatty for our tastes. Nice guy, but talked way too much. We have not given up on Judson's and will try again and hope for a better experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.