Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB

Established in 1903 Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB is the recipient of numerous awards as Grand Rapid's number one steakhouse and the accolades are well deserved. Featuring a delicious grass fed beef selection, Judson's Steakhouse puts a high premium on local, quality, and variety. Come experience our Premium Cuts with favorites such as our Tomahawk Ribeye or USDA Grade Prime New York Strip Steak. There are options abound for all tastes, with an ample selection of seafood, chops and house specialties. Enjoy a perfectly paired glass of wine from our award-winning wine cellar. The room is tastefully upscale, while retaining a classically comfortable charm. Our guests are encouraged to come casual, relax and let our competent service staff focus on the job of impressing.

20 Monroe Ave. NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5-pm-10pm, Friday and Saturday 5pm-11pm, and Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Fulton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 356-2000

Website:
http://www.thegilmorecollection.com/judsons.php

Catering:
Catering Options Available

Executive Chef:
Jared Miller

Private Party Facilities:
We have our Bottle Lodge available for parties of 18 or less. Please contact Lue at (616) 356-2000 ext: 46.

Private Party Contact:
Lue Bryant: (616) 356-2000 ext. 46

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
$2.99 Happy Hour 5:00pm-6:00pm: $2.99 beverages
Mondays-Saturdays

Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

76% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (17)
Special Occasion (15)
Romantic (13)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Cozy (9)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Casual (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Authentic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
668 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

We love Judson's. They have great food with great service - oftentimes, we can find one but not the both combined at the same restaurant. I highly recommend this restaurant for a fantastic meal. We look forward to the next time we are in town to eat there again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Rated a bit down on service only because our meals were somewhat slow coming out of the kitchen tonight. However, it was worth the wait. Everyone noted that their food was exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was my first time to Judsons and I wasn't disappointed. The service and food was delicious, really hit the spot!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Tim took care of us the best he could. My hangar steak was over cooked (they made it right tho)... my wife's sirloin was good. Service was slow. There wasn't much interest in doing anything for us after the steak mistake - I had to ask for it.

In the end, we had an ok meal in a restaurant that seems to have lost its way. I would have appreciated some proactive planning for our anniversary since I shared comments as such in my reservation.

Oh well. No reason to go back I guess.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

We asked for our steak medium rare, and it came to the table prepared medium. We sent that steak back for a new one.. 20 minutes later that one came out prepared
Medium. We had a concert to attend so we didn't have
Time for a third try. The manager did take the steak off our bill which was only fair. When your restaurant is named with Steakhouse in it you better know how to cook it!! The service was fine as well as the manager. We were here 3 years ago for our anniversary, and that meal was outstanding along with the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

We went out for restaurant week and we had an amazing time. Will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

New menu left much to be desired, especially when compared to previous menus. Overcooked steak and lamb. Didn't feel like the "treat" that it used to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Went for steak dinner. Food was excellent. Service was good. Steak melts in your mouth.
I would definitely go there again. Also loved the building it was in, The BOB. Lots to do after dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Excellent! My meal was perfect but husband's a little stingy on the scallops. ONLY TWO!!

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We all ordered from the Restaurant Week menu, and it was superb. Everything was perfectly prepared and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Went to Judsons for Restaurant Week with friends and was underwhelmed with our meals. Portions were very small. The plum salad could have used a bit of sweetness. While the 2 small lamb chops were tasty, the frisée served with it was like eating another salad. Would have preferred something hot, perhaps a starch. Dessert was good but again pretty tiny. Friends who had the steak had tiny potatoes and small pieces of broccoli. Those who ordered scalllops had 2 on their plate. We certainly weren't full when we left and didn't feel our meals were worth what we paid. No reason to rush back to Judsons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great night celebrating our first anniversary our waiter was the best giving us fantastic recommendations. The food was also great did the 3 course menu which was well worth the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Always have a meal at Judson's on every trip to Grand Rapids, never disappointed! Love their steaks, their French Onion Soup and their wait staff!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food was good. It wasn't hot but warm. I had steak and vegetables, the vegetables was hotter than the steak. A friend and I went for Restaurant week and it was my second time at this restaurant. I may try it again but won't be in a big hurry to go back any time soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

The food was delicious! Our waiter was excellent and very helpful in explaining food selections to us! We loved the Signature Bacon Wrapped Stuffed Filet Mignon and the Au Gratin Potatoes! We also had a sweet potato-type of dessert that was incredible!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The BOB is an interesting building, when we ask for a good steak place, Judsons was recommended. The service was great, willing to make menu changes to meet dietary needs.
The food was excellent and vibe was interesting. I would recommend it for any meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Nice, elegant but a bit relaxed. The service was excellent. The food, delicious. Check out their signature dishes such as the Brussels sprouts and the bacon wrapped filet. Our server suggested the perfect wine for pairing.
We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Food was disappointing and expensive!!! Our server was very nice, ambiance was average- would not go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Disappointed with quality of the food & portion relative to the cost. It was an $80-90 meal for my wife and myself with one beer, one salad (shared) and two dinners. Expected very good or excellent steak and it was just good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Very disappointing. Have gone there a couple times a year for 10 years. Menu is pared down/changed. Prices are up. Service was very slow and they seemed understaffed. Too bad. Was my favorite steakhouse in Grand Rapids at one time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The server was outstanding, with knowledge to recommend. We were not rushed.
The food was well prepared. My wife and I had the higher priced food and were not disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 1, 2017

50% off got us in. we usually only top end dine out for a b'day or other special ocasion

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Excellent food, although the service was a little slow. Our waitress was very nice, but she was busy so we ended up waiting a little longer for our check than we would have liked. But we loved (as always) the brussel sprouts appetizer, the arugula salad special, and the finger steaks special. And the biera misu (not sure how to spell) dessert was the best chocolate dessert we've had in a long time. We'll be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Food was good, service was outstanding! Nice to see the menu had a 'refresh'.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Delicious food and great service. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Still one of our favorite places for a special dinner, the recent remodeling has also resulted in significant menu changes. Gone are: small portion of brussel sprouts, baked potatoes and

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great steak, best in Grand Rapids in my opinion. Great Creekstone options and the appetizers and sides are also delicious. Must try the Brussels sprouts if you go as this is one of the few restaurants I have been to that can actually make them properly. One of the best restaurants in Grand Rapids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Initial service was good . Server very knowledgeable about menu, apps were great but wife's main course was greatly undercooked, when it came back second time still undercooked and the outside was burnt but good. My meal on the other hand was great so not sure what happened . Will probably give them another shot at a future date. The manager did comp us for the entree

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Fantastic dining experience at Judson's. We love the new menu and the service by Tim was outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2017

When I choose to dine at a what appears to be a finer establishment the last thing I want to find is someone with a gross piece of metal hanging off their nose bringing me drinks. Judson's might as well call themselves a cafe. I promised my Grandmother a fine evening on the town. I ever imagined I'd be so embarrassed. I asked the manager, Vance, if there was a policy about this sort of thing. He replied, 'No.' I will not bring a business associate, in-laws, or anyone else I wish to impress to Judson's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was really good and it is a nice place. They must have been having an off night because the service was really slow.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Good food and service

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great food! Good service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

A nice fine dinning experience. Great food with very knowledgeable servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great service:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Enjoyed the service and great food

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Had excellent service and great food! Nice spot for a special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My girlfriend and I came here for our 7 year anniversary based off a recommendation from a friend, and it did not disappoint. The bacon-wrapped stuffed filet was phenomenal, as were the creamed vegetables. Tommy was our waiter and he did a fantastic job of adding to the experience of Judson's. He was very knowledgeable and engaging while allowing us enough space to enjoy the occasion we were celebrating. I would not only recommend Judson's to a friend, but I would recommend they ask for Tommy as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Didn't like sitting by window watching all the smokers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Please bring back the baked potato!! Go back to the old menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.