Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB

Established in 1903 Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB is the recipient of numerous awards as Grand Rapid's number one steakhouse and the accolades are well deserved. Featuring a delicious grass fed beef selection, Judson's Steakhouse puts a high premium on local, quality, and variety. Come experience our Premium Cuts with favorites such as our Tomahawk Ribeye or USDA Grade Prime New York Strip Steak. There are options abound for all tastes, with an ample selection of seafood, chops and house specialties. Enjoy a perfectly paired glass of wine from our award-winning wine cellar. The room is tastefully upscale, while retaining a classically comfortable charm. Our guests are encouraged to come casual, relax and let our competent service staff focus on the job of impressing.

20 Monroe Ave. NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5-pm-10pm, Friday and Saturday 5pm-11pm, and Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Fulton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 356-2000

Website:
http://www.thegilmorecollection.com/judsons.php

Catering:
Catering Options Available

Executive Chef:
Jared Miller

Private Party Facilities:
We have our Bottle Lodge available for parties of 18 or less. Please contact Lue at (616) 356-2000 ext: 46.

Private Party Contact:
Lue Bryant: (616) 356-2000 ext. 46

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
$2.99 Happy Hour 5:00pm-6:00pm: $2.99 beverages
Mondays-Saturdays

Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

Noise

Quiet

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
See All
Quiet Conversation (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Cozy (12)
Romantic (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Authentic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Casual (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Scenic View (2)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
680 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I recently celebrated my birthday at Judson's. We had great food (hangar steak and lobster tail) and great friendly and helpful service. The only downside was that food service was exceptionally slow, even though the restaurant was nearly empty (Thursday night). Still, we enjoyed our evening, and the food quality really made for a great experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Expertly prepared roasted marrow bone and extremely delicious baseball steak Oscar. Service was super too. Thank you Melinda! I'm not from the area and the last time we were in Grand Rapids we made the mistake of going to Ruth's Chris'. What a disappointment that was. Truth be known, I'm rarely a steakhouse kind of guy but here, I'll make the exception. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 1, 2017

I really enjoy the beef tenderloin with demi-glace . The servers are thoughtful and helpful.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Enjoyed their signature Delmonica steak. Very good crispy brussel sprouts and the tomato herb butter that came with the bread was delicious. Good atmosphere and great service. Not cheap but not too overpriced either.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

Food was delicious; service was excellent; overall experience. Our first time at Judson's and we'll definitely come again. A perfect experience before going to the play.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

the food was just so so for price my steak was very fatty

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on October 19, 2017

Great service, fantastic food and drinks. Very nice atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 18, 2017

It was good but not great. It was not on par with the Chicago Steakhouses nor does it rival the decore. Very overpriced and just average for the steak. They missed on the French Onion soup by leaving bay leaf in the soup. Almost motel like, not unique.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Food was excellent and service matched it. Highly recommend for any occasion or just a night out to talk!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

tim and Mandy excellent people and servers. Keep them, hard to find these talented people.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

My out of town client's like your place but the service has much to be desired! The biggest problems are that the wait staff forgets your requests, says inappropriate things and sometimes downright insulting things.

If it were not for my client's I would be done with you. Seriously unimpressed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Went for Art Prize, nice to sit down, great staff, quiet, clean and prices were very reasonable for the quality and quantity!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We love Judson's. They have great food with great service - oftentimes, we can find one but not the both combined at the same restaurant. I highly recommend this restaurant for a fantastic meal. We look forward to the next time we are in town to eat there again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Rated a bit down on service only because our meals were somewhat slow coming out of the kitchen tonight. However, it was worth the wait. Everyone noted that their food was exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was my first time to Judsons and I wasn't disappointed. The service and food was delicious, really hit the spot!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Tim took care of us the best he could. My hangar steak was over cooked (they made it right tho)... my wife's sirloin was good. Service was slow. There wasn't much interest in doing anything for us after the steak mistake - I had to ask for it.

In the end, we had an ok meal in a restaurant that seems to have lost its way. I would have appreciated some proactive planning for our anniversary since I shared comments as such in my reservation.

Oh well. No reason to go back I guess.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

We asked for our steak medium rare, and it came to the table prepared medium. We sent that steak back for a new one.. 20 minutes later that one came out prepared
Medium. We had a concert to attend so we didn't have
Time for a third try. The manager did take the steak off our bill which was only fair. When your restaurant is named with Steakhouse in it you better know how to cook it!! The service was fine as well as the manager. We were here 3 years ago for our anniversary, and that meal was outstanding along with the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

We went out for restaurant week and we had an amazing time. Will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

New menu left much to be desired, especially when compared to previous menus. Overcooked steak and lamb. Didn't feel like the "treat" that it used to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Went for steak dinner. Food was excellent. Service was good. Steak melts in your mouth.
I would definitely go there again. Also loved the building it was in, The BOB. Lots to do after dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Excellent! My meal was perfect but husband's a little stingy on the scallops. ONLY TWO!!

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We all ordered from the Restaurant Week menu, and it was superb. Everything was perfectly prepared and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Went to Judsons for Restaurant Week with friends and was underwhelmed with our meals. Portions were very small. The plum salad could have used a bit of sweetness. While the 2 small lamb chops were tasty, the frisée served with it was like eating another salad. Would have preferred something hot, perhaps a starch. Dessert was good but again pretty tiny. Friends who had the steak had tiny potatoes and small pieces of broccoli. Those who ordered scalllops had 2 on their plate. We certainly weren't full when we left and didn't feel our meals were worth what we paid. No reason to rush back to Judsons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great night celebrating our first anniversary our waiter was the best giving us fantastic recommendations. The food was also great did the 3 course menu which was well worth the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Always have a meal at Judson's on every trip to Grand Rapids, never disappointed! Love their steaks, their French Onion Soup and their wait staff!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food was good. It wasn't hot but warm. I had steak and vegetables, the vegetables was hotter than the steak. A friend and I went for Restaurant week and it was my second time at this restaurant. I may try it again but won't be in a big hurry to go back any time soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

The food was delicious! Our waiter was excellent and very helpful in explaining food selections to us! We loved the Signature Bacon Wrapped Stuffed Filet Mignon and the Au Gratin Potatoes! We also had a sweet potato-type of dessert that was incredible!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The BOB is an interesting building, when we ask for a good steak place, Judsons was recommended. The service was great, willing to make menu changes to meet dietary needs.
The food was excellent and vibe was interesting. I would recommend it for any meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Nice, elegant but a bit relaxed. The service was excellent. The food, delicious. Check out their signature dishes such as the Brussels sprouts and the bacon wrapped filet. Our server suggested the perfect wine for pairing.
We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Food was disappointing and expensive!!! Our server was very nice, ambiance was average- would not go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Disappointed with quality of the food & portion relative to the cost. It was an $80-90 meal for my wife and myself with one beer, one salad (shared) and two dinners. Expected very good or excellent steak and it was just good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Very disappointing. Have gone there a couple times a year for 10 years. Menu is pared down/changed. Prices are up. Service was very slow and they seemed understaffed. Too bad. Was my favorite steakhouse in Grand Rapids at one time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The server was outstanding, with knowledge to recommend. We were not rushed.
The food was well prepared. My wife and I had the higher priced food and were not disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 1, 2017

50% off got us in. we usually only top end dine out for a b'day or other special ocasion

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Excellent food, although the service was a little slow. Our waitress was very nice, but she was busy so we ended up waiting a little longer for our check than we would have liked. But we loved (as always) the brussel sprouts appetizer, the arugula salad special, and the finger steaks special. And the biera misu (not sure how to spell) dessert was the best chocolate dessert we've had in a long time. We'll be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Food was good, service was outstanding! Nice to see the menu had a 'refresh'.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Delicious food and great service. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Still one of our favorite places for a special dinner, the recent remodeling has also resulted in significant menu changes. Gone are: small portion of brussel sprouts, baked potatoes and

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great steak, best in Grand Rapids in my opinion. Great Creekstone options and the appetizers and sides are also delicious. Must try the Brussels sprouts if you go as this is one of the few restaurants I have been to that can actually make them properly. One of the best restaurants in Grand Rapids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Initial service was good . Server very knowledgeable about menu, apps were great but wife's main course was greatly undercooked, when it came back second time still undercooked and the outside was burnt but good. My meal on the other hand was great so not sure what happened . Will probably give them another shot at a future date. The manager did comp us for the entree

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.