About Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB

20 Monroe Ave. NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Established in 1903 Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB is the recipient of numerous awards as Grand Rapid's number one steakhouse and the accolades are well deserved. Featuring a delicious grass fed beef selection, Judson's Steakhouse puts a high premium on local, quality, and variety. Come experience our Premium Cuts with favorites such as our Tomahawk Ribeye or USDA Grade Prime New York Strip Steak. There are options abound for all tastes, with an ample selection of seafood, chops and house specialties. Enjoy a perfectly paired glass of wine from our award-winning wine cellar. The room is tastefully upscale, while retaining a classically comfortable charm. Our guests are encouraged to come casual, relax and let our competent service staff focus on the job of impressing.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5-pm-10pm, Friday and Saturday 5pm-11pm, and Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Fulton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 356-2000

Website:
http://www.thegilmorecollection.com/judsons.php

Catering:
Catering Options Available

Executive Chef:
Jared Miller

Private Party Facilities:
We have our Bottle Lodge available for parties of 18 or less. Please contact Lue at (616) 356-2000 ext: 46.

Private Party Contact:
Lue Bryant: 6163562000x46

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
$2.99 Happy Hour 5:00pm-6:00pm: $2.99 beverages
Mondays-Saturdays

Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Food
Grand Rapids
Best Value
Grand Rapids
2 More
Romantic
Grand Rapids
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

special occasion (27)
romantic (18)
fit for foodies (11)
See All
good for groups (6)
neighborhood gem (4)
notable wine list (4)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
518 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great Steakhouse ~ excellent steak, wou ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great Steakhouse ~ excellent steak, would have liked a side included with our meal rather than ala carte, especially considering the price of the entree. Subdued atmosphere nice for conversations. Terrific service! Also enjoyed their desserts!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the better steaks in town. Especi ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

One of the better steaks in town. Especially when they do their 2 for 1 deals

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great. Our waitress was ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The service was great. Our waitress was helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. The food was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait staff and food were terrific! T ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The wait staff and food were terrific! The vegetables were so flavorful. Almost the best

part of the meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our Favorite Restaurant Disappoints

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Our favorite restaurant, Judson's, let us down. We've always had top notch experiences in the 10+ years we've been going for special occasions like birthday's and anniversaries. On our waiter's recommendation, I ordered the block steak, which was very tough and not worth the asking price of $30. The other let down was our waiter was too chatty for our tastes. Nice guy, but talked way too much. We have not given up on Judson's and will try again and hope for a better experience.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Under staffed

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Hostess was never at the stand. Hadtofindher,then she was unfriendly food wasfine, unmemorable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

Ran Out of Food

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

At 6:30pm on a Saturday night they ran out of several of their entree selections which was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great Service

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My only complaint was my steak was overcooked. I asked for it MR and it was MW. Manager talked to us and took care of the issue.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

its ok,,, for the price... but not outst ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

its ok,,, for the price... but not outstanding, for the price...

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

We have been here a few times before so ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We have been here a few times before so we know what to expect with the cost but it still is very pricey. I don't like that you don't get anything with the meat that everything is a la cart. Waiter was very slow but luckily we were not in a hurry.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

We had a good meal at Judsons at the BOB ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a good meal at Judsons at the BOB. Our steaks and seafood was cooked just right. We waited for a long time to get our appetizers which was the recommended bruschetta and then within a minute our main course arrived, so they had to take our main courses back to the kitchen and keep them warm. The wait person apologized for that, but stated she had put the order in right after we placed it and there should not have been such a wait. It was her second night there and we thought she did very good. We weren't very impressed with the managers on duty that night. We saw the food at Gillys before we went over to Judsons and in hind sight would have preferred to have eaten there. Prices were better, food looked great and service was excellent at the bar.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Amazing Steak

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Both my wife and I ordered steak and we shared two sides (a la carte). The tenderloin was perfect with the house steak sauce. The ambiance was classy and we had a wonderful time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Food was awesome! The appetizer portions on the small size. It was noted on the “open table” reservation, a special occasion, would have been nice if our waiter had been informed. The birthday girl did get a candle on her dessert, nice touch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great atmosphere! I have lived in Grand ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Great atmosphere! I have lived in Grand Rapids for almost 6 years and never heard about this gem of a restaurant until recently. All I can say is that I have missed a lot over the years! The service was wonderful and the food was great; the staff were very friendly and helpful. I also liked the fact that the tables were not very close together, allowing for more space and a very comfortable dining experience. It is going to be my preferred place for serious steak from now on! I highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Judson's many times. It ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We have eaten at Judson's many times. It is our favorite steakhouse in Grand Rapids.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

We had dinner before a concert last week. Fantastic food, fantastic service, and fantastic location. I highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Our server Tim set the tone by suggesting the bartender create a cocktail based on information he elicited from me. It was spot on delicious blend, so the second one was a no-brainer. We shared crab cake appetizer. It was delicious, crispy on the outside and done just right. Husband had a generous portion of salmon off the featured menu. I had the beef tenderloin. Both were done to perfection. Tenderloin was melt in your mouth tender. We shared individual portions of Brussels sprouts and green beans. Both were tasty blends. So tasty we took the leftover veges home. I'd highly recommend this place for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

For the price not really impressed

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

My wife had a steak that was slightly burnt, risotto was undercooked . The place itself needs to be remodeled. Starting to look very dated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Steaks are excellent! For the price of t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Steaks are excellent! For the price of the food the ambiance and vibe was poor. Did not feel like we were at a steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3

Yummy!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Food was amazing! Had stuffed filet as well as roasted brussel sprouts. Service was great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The people are amazing and the service w ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

The people are amazing and the service was wonderful. The Caesar salad was good - too many olives, and honestly I'm not sure why someone would put olives on a Caesar to begin with, but that's my personal preference I suppose. The quality of food was very disappointing. They call themselves a "steakhouse" yet there are maybe 4 choices of steak on the menu, all of which are terribly overpriced. For a $50 steak I expect something that rivals Chop House or Ruth's Chris since the price is the same, but honestly we felt like we paid Chop House prices for Applebee's-quality beef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

Over Rated

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Although the staff was of high quality, the experience was short of a true Chicago steak house.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Best food with great service.!!!!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Best food with great service.!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such great quality food! It was very del ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Such great quality food! It was very delicious! We'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!!!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

Everything was excellent! The scallops are a must try.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Judson's and always eat there wh ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

We love Judson's and always eat there when we're in Grand Rapids for a show. The food is fabulous as is the service. I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

A steakhouse that doesn't offer a fillet or prime rib? A first for us, and a last.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Another great meal at Judson's

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Celebrated New Year's Eve Eve at our favorite restaurant, Judson's. Steaks were outstanding, brussel sprouts were yummy, wine list was extensive, and service (Josh H.) was attentive but respectful. We will return often for other special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing!!! best restaurant in town

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

everything was amazing! We had the best crab cakes ever! The Michigan watercress salad was excellent, I love the seed brittle. Dinner was top of the line!

Excellent wine and the lemon cello was a lovely after dinner drink. We will definitely be back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

Not a bad word to say about Judsons. From the second we walked in to the moment we left was a memory for a life time. Food,service, A++++

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food downtown Grand Rapids

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on December 9, 2015

My wife and I ate at Judson's last Wednesday before the Griffins game. We both had the chicken entrée. The chicken was cooked well and tasted great. The whole dinner was just plain good. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Special occasion for my wife's birthday. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Special occasion for my wife's birthday. Very nice atmosphere! Service was very slow and not to our needs Good arrived steak was not even cooked. Server was no were to be found while my wife ate her food. :30 later he stopped by to see if we would like dessert . Never checked back once the food arrived

Very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Excellent Food and Service

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on November 6, 2015

Thank you goes out to Chef, Adam Brauer for taking care of us. We had a great meal and Leah our server was prompt and very pleasant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Judson's is a gem!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on November 6, 2015

Judson's is a great spot in a great location. The BOB is a terrific venue and located in the midst of so much to do both in the "Big Old Building" and the surrounding area. A good selection of fine food with a solid wine list or selection of other nice beverages... ;-) Definitely worth going to for a nice dinner or a quick stop in the bar for appetizers and beverages prior to an event in The BOB or at the Van Andel Arena across the street.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice meal, great service

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on November 4, 2015

Brought my daughters for a nice downtown dinner. Food was excellent and the service better than that. One of my favorites for a great steak and entrees with a little creativity.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not bad, but not great for the price

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on November 3, 2015

We got to the restaurant and were told to wait a moment while the hostess walked off. She came back and looked our reservation and brought us to our table. The waitress for the table next to us dropped a drink all over the floor and had to pick it up. She was embarrassed and because of it we waited quite a while for our drinks. The food was good but not as good as other restaurants around for the price. I don't think I would go back or suggest it to friends. It was not a bad experience, but definitely not worth the money for us.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Excellent Food and Presentation

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on October 19, 2015

All of our meals were fantastic. Hats off to the chef, as there were great gluten free choices to accommodate my allergies and Celiac Disease.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food and Service

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Judson's Steakhouse in the "Big Old Building" (BOB) in Grand Rapids was an exceptional dining experience. My filet was superb and it was one of the best meals I've had while dining out. I definitely recommend it.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They make things right

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Ordered their Cowboy Steak (24 Oz Ribeye) cooked medium rare. This was a $68 steak, which they had avery limited quantity of. It came out way over done, medium well to we'll done. Needless to say, at that price, I expect it to be right. Staff and management didn't hesitate to offer me the LAST one, cooked properly. Several staff, management, and the chef were very apologetic, as this was also our anniversary date. Second steak was perfect, and they topped it off with a complimentary bottle of wine and dessert for each of us. We were comped nearly $125 off dinner. Much of it was unnecessary, however, greatly appreciated. They kept my business with their friendly, generous staff, and desire to make things right without the slightest hesitation.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Celebrated in Style

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 2, 2015

We celebrated our 25th anniversary at Judson's. It's a smaller venue which I loved all the attention we received. The scallops were DELICIOUS and the steaks DEVINE.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.