Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 6 times today

Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB

4.1
753 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
Established in 1903 Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB is the recipient of numerous awards as Grand Rapid's number one steakhouse and the accolades are well deserved. Featuring a delicious grass fed beef selection, Judson's Steakhouse puts a high premium on local, quality, and variety. Come experience our Premium Cuts with favorites such as our Tomahawk Ribeye or USDA Grade Prime New York Strip Steak. There are options abound for all tastes, with an ample selection of seafood, chops and house specialties. Enjoy a perfectly paired glass of wine from our award-winning wine cellar. The room is tastefully upscale, while retaining a classically comfortable charm. Our guests are encouraged to come casual, relax and let our competent service staff focus on the job of impressing.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5-pm-10pm, Friday and Saturday 5pm-11pm, and Closed Sunday
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(616) 356-2000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jared Miller
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We have our Bottle Lodge available for parties of 18 or less. Please contact Lue at (616) 356-2000 ext: 46.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Lue Bryant: (616) 356-2000 ext. 46
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Catering Options Available
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Fulton
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
$2.99 Happy Hour 5:00pm-6:00pm: $2.99 beverages
Mondays-Saturdays
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 753 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.2
service
4.1
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
79% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Great food, great service, gracious setting. Way to go Judson's.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Location, ambience, and service were quite good. The food was average and given the price, not a great value.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Although the canned music was rather loud, Judsons remains our favorite restaurant in Grand Rapids. Waiter Jake did an awesome job and food was outstanding. We'll be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

We were there for a birthday and to see our grandson Spencer who works in the kitchen. We especially liked the appetizer of crostini with mushrooms and onion. Also, we thought the staff was very accommodating.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Delightful staff and the best meal I had in the city! Had the prime rib special, & if I wasn't stuffed, I would have ordered another, as it tasted that good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Steaks were perfect. The sides were really great. The cocktails were very nice. Fairly low key place but the food was very good. Overall I would go back as a very reliable and excellent place to eat. Wine selection was ok but not great. Parking is always a challenge in Grand Rapids and I wish they comped the parking but it is what it is

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 26, 2018

It was a Thursday night about 6:30 and about a third of the tables were full. The food was very good, certainly above average but not necessarily any "wow" moments. The major issue was the incredibly slow service. Our waiter was nice and pleasant but everything took forever. It appeared to me that the restaurant was short-staffed for waiters/waitresses this evening. I understand that this happens from time-to-time and if that was the case, I would have been impressed if the waiter had just fessed up at the beginning of the evening, acknowledging that service time would be slow. I may not like it but i can respect the situation. Instead, nothing was said so now the incredibly slow service comes as 'normal'. And if this is the norm for Judson's, then I won't be back for awhile. There are far too many other great restaurants in GR.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Poor service this time. Never received salad until after entree was delivered. Had to ask. Never received bread until after entree, then salad was delivered. Had to ask. Rib eye was $45 and thinly cut. I've had better meals there over several years.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

We went there on a Wednesday night and everything was great. We both had a half of wedge salad which we agreed was the equal to or competed with the best we have ever had! Our steaks were also some of the best Grand Rapids has to offer.

Our waitress Gabby was excellent and paced the meal perfectly. We totally enjoyed the evening and will be back soon.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Food was good but very pricey. Probably will not go back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 23, 2018

It had been sometime since we were last at Judson's. We were seated promptly but that was the end of quality service. Took waitress 15 minutes to come to our table. Drinks ordered and 10 minute wait. Food ordered and long wait and then wrong dinner order was served. Food was good but service ruined the overall experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The food was good. Not great. I was very unhappy with our server. He started out okay, but by the end was fairly rude for no good reason based on anything we said or did.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 18, 2018

The food was excellent. Always good. The service though.... our waiter was struggling. He had 4 tables and seemed to be flustered. We waited much longer than I would have expected. Very slow. That was a first for us at Judson’s as we’ve always had excellent service there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

My husband and I celebrated a birthday dinner here and enjoyed everything --- great food, friendly service, just the right ambiance for a relaxing evening out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Our waiter, Colin R, made our experience outstanding. He listened, recommended and was right about what to order. The food was exceptional. The restaurant was elegant with a welcoming atmosphere.
Very much enjoyed our dining experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Food was great. The server was very friendly but seemed like he had too many tables and felt like he was running behind. Didn't seem like his fault he was doing his best, just seemed like the only waiter in a large area. Food was great, I highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Server was very slow

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We made reservations and when we arrived, we were told that we would have to wait 10-15 minutes. A few minutes later we were seated because a group who got seated right away (without reservations), got up and left. When I make reservations I expect to be seated at the reservation time

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

We really enjoyed the service and the atmosphere. It was my birthday and we truly enjoyed our time there. We enjoyed lobster and steak, and shared the Truffle Au Gratin Dauphine Potatoes. The wine list was lovely, and we enjoyed looking at it and choosing our wines, as well. We would highly recommend Judson's Steakhouse.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

My husband and I had the most delicious meals! Excellent steak, and the wild salmon was out of this world! It was a wonderful evening, and a great place to celebrate our 45th Anniversary. Service was very good, even though it was a busy evening, and our waitress couldn't have been more pleasant and efficient. Just an all-around great experience! (We were first-timers!) Definitely an A+ experience!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Took a bit to be seated because hostess was no where to be found. Two employees walked right by without saying a word.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 29, 2018

We chose this restaurant out of convenience to 20Monroe Live. It is good for that aspect as there is an entry to the venue on the 2nd floor of the building and the staff was ver cognizant of the time frame we were in. The servers were very friendly and helpful. However when it came to the food, presentation was very nice but quality could be improved.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

First time there, and nothing that great about it that makes us want to go back. From the moment we walked in, there was nobody there to greet us and it took a couple minutes for anyone to even acknowledge we were there. Service was quite slow, the restaurant was not even close to being full and the prices were high for the small portions you receive. They are known for their steak and mine wasn't that great.. overcooked and no flavor. Have had better from everyday chain restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Celebrated a birthday and had a great experience with an awesome waiter.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 23, 2018

The night we went, the dining area was a bit smelly, and the service was very slow - it took 40min to get our order delivered.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Not sure what happened with Judson’s. In the past service was great, dinners were excellent, and there were more choices on the menu.
They were out of drinks specials, and entrees Service was at a snails pace.
Just seems like a forgotten establishment. Wouldn’t recommend. Too many new places to check out in downtown GR

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Food was great but ambiance isn’t too quiet.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Great meal again.

Wedge Salad, Signature Bacon Wrapped Boursin Stuffed Filet, Brussel Sprouts and Truffle Au Gratin Dauphine Potatoes can't be beat.

Our server, Mackenzie, also did a great job!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

This place charges the same as a top tier steak houses but it's not.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Party of 4. Excellent service by our server Brock. Food and drinks were very good. Oysters, Crab Cakes, Salad, New York strip, Delmonico, Lobster Mac and cheese, Yukon mashed, Asparagus, Manhattans, Mule, Sangria - Everything was spot on. Left full and had leftovers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Great food and great wine. Server was friendly and did a great job!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Excellent Food and Service. We really enjoy coming here for dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 8, 2018

We had a 6pm reservation on a Thursday night, and were seated right away. All the staff were very attentive. They were running $20 prime rib special and it was A LOT of food. Definitely recommend this restaurant for dinner!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 7, 2018

25 mins before any food was served to us .
2 hour supper is outrageous .

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

We were a party of six and everybody’s steaks were done perfectly...also the three dozen oysters we had were great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Everything was outstanding! Service, food and value. This was our 6th time there

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 3, 2018

We were seated in an area with a breeze. We moved to another area and it was too lit. Martini was tasty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Everything I've ever had there is really good, but the steaks are very good. I've never had a bad cut.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 20, 2018

We went to Judson's for our Anniversary on a Monday, so it was really empty. Didn't matter, because everything was great! Our waiter, Tim, was very helpful in helping us decided what we would want to eat (but let's face it, if you come to Judson's, you're likely getting a steak of some kind). I've been once before, and I was dreaming about their garlic mushrooms. We got them again, and they did not disappoint. We would probably go a lot more often if 1)We didn't have a young child and 2)If it wasn't so expensive. But it's great if you want to celebrate something.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Absolutely loved our meal. Our waiter knew a great detail of the wines featured, and even gave us reccomendations and samples to test our pallet. We ordered the tomahawk steak with the lobster tail. I don’t think I will ever eat anything better in my life. I wish I took the bone home with me and put it on my trophy mantle. The vaneltines deal they had for the meal made the overall dinner even better!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
19