About Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB

20 Monroe Ave. NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Established in 1903 Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB is the recipient of numerous awards as Grand Rapid's number one steakhouse and the accolades are well deserved. Featuring a delicious grass fed beef selection, Judson's Steakhouse puts a high premium on local, quality, and variety. Come experience our Premium Cuts with favorites such as our Tomahawk Ribeye or USDA Grade Prime New York Strip Steak. There are options abound for all tastes, with an ample selection of seafood, chops and house specialties. Enjoy a perfectly paired glass of wine from our award-winning wine cellar. The room is tastefully upscale, while retaining a classically comfortable charm. Our guests are encouraged to come casual, relax and let our competent service staff focus on the job of impressing.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5-pm-10pm, Friday and Saturday 5pm-11pm, and Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Fulton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 356-2000

Website:
http://www.thegilmorecollection.com/judsons.php

Catering:
Catering Options Available

Executive Chef:
Jared Miller

Private Party Facilities:
We have our Bottle Lodge available for parties of 18 or less. Please contact Lue at (616) 356-2000 ext: 46.

Private Party Contact:
Lue Bryant: 6163562000x46

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
$2.99 Happy Hour 5:00pm-6:00pm: $2.99 beverages
Mondays-Saturdays

Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Quiet

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Service
Grand Rapids
Romantic
Grand Rapids
1 More
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

Special Occasion (23)
Romantic (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Business Meals (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Cozy (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Casual (1)
People Watching (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
Newest
538 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had a wonderful experience! Our waiter T ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 4 days ago

Had a wonderful experience! Our waiter Tomas was pleasant and knowledgeable on pairings. Selected a great wine to go with our meal. Everything was delicious!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to dinner before our symphony co ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 5 days ago

We went to dinner before our symphony concert. The wait staff was very attentive and lovely. Drinks came immediately, great recommendations on the food, the steak was amazing!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a 50% off coupon and thought we c ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had a 50% off coupon and thought we couldn't possibly be disappointed with the value. It was not adequate. My husband's $88 bone-in rib-eye was not nearly worth the value. It was fatty and at least a third inedible. We frequent fine dining all over and the steak was not even close to what we would expect and have had value from places such as Ruth's Chris or Chop House at a comparable price. My 6 x $5 per shrimp (I ordered 6) were awful. My husband ate 1, begrudgingly, and I had 2 and left the other 3 becasue I ran out of enough lemon to render the 2 I had edible becasue they tasted so fishy. When the server offered to clear the plate I said "take it" and mentioned that the shrimp was fishy. He cleared it after asking for clarification of what I said, and that was that. We have a 25% coupon left and agree that it is definitely not worth returning for. Sad commentary. No reason to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Nice referral to an area we were unfamil ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Nice referral to an area we were unfamiliar with. Good food and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed my birthday dinner! Like the at ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Enjoyed my birthday dinner! Like the atmosphere, great food, outstanding service.

Never had a bad experience at Judson's.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I go there for the tenderloin which is g ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I go there for the tenderloin which is great. In general food is tasty and portions are sensable. Ambiance and decor is enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Delmonico Steak was the best I have ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The Delmonico Steak was the best I have ever eaten!!! Just amazing!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The waiter at Judson's was very knowledg ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The waiter at Judson's was very knowledgeable and attentive. The steaks were delicious and the brussel sprouts are worth getting as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating our anniversary with ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary with friends, I have a gluten problem and the waiter Santo steered me in the right direction. In fact I could eat any of the desserts so he sub a dessert for me and was so attentive and thoughtful. He is a valuable person to your restuarant. We will come back again had a very good experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for dinner before a concert ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great place for dinner before a concert at the Arena!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal and service I have had in a ve ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Best meal and service I have had in a very long time. Came at the suggestion of a coworker and was very, very satisfied!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was awesome we had very good se ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food was awesome we had very good service it's a great place to go for a special occasion. But it's very disappointing how far you have to walk to use the restroom especially in a restaurant of that caliber.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We went for our wedding anniversary and ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We went for our wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time. Our waiter Tim was fantastic and the food was great. The soft lighting and quiet atmosphere was perfect for our night out. I have to also compliment their bartender who mixed up 2 martinis that fit the tastes I was looking for to a "T".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fine steakhouse. Great food, wine list a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Fine steakhouse. Great food, wine list and knowledgable staff.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Best place for steak that we know of. S ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Best place for steak that we know of. Service is top-notch. Plenty to do after dinner in the many venues available nearby.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak and salad. A great cube of well ag ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Steak and salad. A great cube of well aged strip topped with a mushroom and pearl onion ragout served over garlicky mashed potatoes. One served a perfect medium, the second ok medium rare ( could have been handled a bit more gently to avoid the well to medium edges) No complaining though, the meat was delicious. And one might think lettuce had no new twists. Both the wedge and caesar had tasteful twist. I especially like the maple bacon and roquefort dressing on the wedge, while the caesar was topped with tasty parmesan crisps.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As a steak restaurant this place falls b ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

As a steak restaurant this place falls between the mass steak places like Outback and the real steak places like Chop House and Ruth's Chris. Unfortunately, the prices are in the upper range rather than lower range making this a poor choice unless really pressed for a table (which there were plenty available as I think we were one of perhaps 3 or 4 tables that night). Quality of the steak was not any better than what could have done at home - not sure it was even Prime grade. Overall, plan ahead and get reservations at a real steak restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Another excellent experience. We were no ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Another excellent experience. We were not able to secure our preferred server (Tim) but the server who looked after our needs did a splendid job. We continue to be impressed with the menu and the preparation of the items--always delicious and artfully presented. I am a stickler for details and knocked my Overall Rating down one notch because my cocktail (a Negroni) lacked two elements that it normally has: 1) an orange peel garnish (this is mandatory), and 2) the beautiful single block of crystal clear ice (this time it was built with crushed ice and, though clear as can be, was a little bit of a letdown). Judson's is more of a special occasion restaurant for us, but we almost always leaving wondering, "Why don't we come here more often?" We'll need to get into the habit of doing just that; this place is a gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food service and atmosphere were ter ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food service and atmosphere were terrific. We chose the restaurant to have steak. My NY strip was prepared perfectly and it was delicious. Portions were more than enough yet not obscene. Our server was professional and engaging. He balanced fun food discussion with with just enough privacy. Overall the reataurant gets an A!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Steakhouse ~ excellent steak, wou ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great Steakhouse ~ excellent steak, would have liked a side included with our meal rather than ala carte, especially considering the price of the entree. Subdued atmosphere nice for conversations. Terrific service! Also enjoyed their desserts!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was on-the-spot with service ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Our server was on-the-spot with service and recommendations. Knew the menu inside and out, down to the ingredients. The Filet was incredible. The crab appetizer was also very good.

Save room for dessert - the chocolate cake will feed your table.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the better steaks in town. Especi ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

One of the better steaks in town. Especially when they do their 2 for 1 deals

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great. Our waitress was ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The service was great. Our waitress was helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. The food was fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait staff and food were terrific! T ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The wait staff and food were terrific! The vegetables were so flavorful. Almost the best

part of the meal.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our Favorite Restaurant Disappoints

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Our favorite restaurant, Judson's, let us down. We've always had top notch experiences in the 10+ years we've been going for special occasions like birthday's and anniversaries. On our waiter's recommendation, I ordered the block steak, which was very tough and not worth the asking price of $30. The other let down was our waiter was too chatty for our tastes. Nice guy, but talked way too much. We have not given up on Judson's and will try again and hope for a better experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Under staffed

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Hostess was never at the stand. Hadtofindher,then she was unfriendly food wasfine, unmemorable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

Ran Out of Food

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

At 6:30pm on a Saturday night they ran out of several of their entree selections which was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great Service

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My only complaint was my steak was overcooked. I asked for it MR and it was MW. Manager talked to us and took care of the issue.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

its ok,,, for the price... but not outst ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

its ok,,, for the price... but not outstanding, for the price...

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

We have been here a few times before so ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We have been here a few times before so we know what to expect with the cost but it still is very pricey. I don't like that you don't get anything with the meat that everything is a la cart. Waiter was very slow but luckily we were not in a hurry.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

We had a good meal at Judsons at the BOB ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a good meal at Judsons at the BOB. Our steaks and seafood was cooked just right. We waited for a long time to get our appetizers which was the recommended bruschetta and then within a minute our main course arrived, so they had to take our main courses back to the kitchen and keep them warm. The wait person apologized for that, but stated she had put the order in right after we placed it and there should not have been such a wait. It was her second night there and we thought she did very good. We weren't very impressed with the managers on duty that night. We saw the food at Gillys before we went over to Judsons and in hind sight would have preferred to have eaten there. Prices were better, food looked great and service was excellent at the bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Amazing Steak

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Both my wife and I ordered steak and we shared two sides (a la carte). The tenderloin was perfect with the house steak sauce. The ambiance was classy and we had a wonderful time.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Food was awesome! The appetizer portions on the small size. It was noted on the “open table” reservation, a special occasion, would have been nice if our waiter had been informed. The birthday girl did get a candle on her dessert, nice touch.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great atmosphere! I have lived in Grand ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Great atmosphere! I have lived in Grand Rapids for almost 6 years and never heard about this gem of a restaurant until recently. All I can say is that I have missed a lot over the years! The service was wonderful and the food was great; the staff were very friendly and helpful. I also liked the fact that the tables were not very close together, allowing for more space and a very comfortable dining experience. It is going to be my preferred place for serious steak from now on! I highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Judson's many times. It ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We have eaten at Judson's many times. It is our favorite steakhouse in Grand Rapids.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

We had dinner before a concert last week. Fantastic food, fantastic service, and fantastic location. I highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Our server Tim set the tone by suggesting the bartender create a cocktail based on information he elicited from me. It was spot on delicious blend, so the second one was a no-brainer. We shared crab cake appetizer. It was delicious, crispy on the outside and done just right. Husband had a generous portion of salmon off the featured menu. I had the beef tenderloin. Both were done to perfection. Tenderloin was melt in your mouth tender. We shared individual portions of Brussels sprouts and green beans. Both were tasty blends. So tasty we took the leftover veges home. I'd highly recommend this place for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

For the price not really impressed

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

My wife had a steak that was slightly burnt, risotto was undercooked . The place itself needs to be remodeled. Starting to look very dated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Steaks are excellent! For the price of t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Steaks are excellent! For the price of the food the ambiance and vibe was poor. Did not feel like we were at a steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3

Yummy!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Food was amazing! Had stuffed filet as well as roasted brussel sprouts. Service was great!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.