About Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB

20 Monroe Ave. NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Established in 1903 Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB is the recipient of numerous awards as Grand Rapid's number one steakhouse and the accolades are well deserved. Featuring a delicious grass fed beef selection, Judson's Steakhouse puts a high premium on local, quality, and variety. Come experience our Premium Cuts with favorites such as our Tomahawk Ribeye or USDA Grade Prime New York Strip Steak. There are options abound for all tastes, with an ample selection of seafood, chops and house specialties. Enjoy a perfectly paired glass of wine from our award-winning wine cellar. The room is tastefully upscale, while retaining a classically comfortable charm. Our guests are encouraged to come casual, relax and let our competent service staff focus on the job of impressing.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5-pm-10pm, Friday and Saturday 5pm-11pm, and Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Fulton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 356-2000

Website:
http://www.thegilmorecollection.com/judsons.php

Catering:
Catering Options Available

Executive Chef:
Jared Miller

Private Party Facilities:
We have our Bottle Lodge available for parties of 18 or less. Please contact Lue at (616) 356-2000 ext: 46.

Private Party Contact:
Lue Bryant: 6163562000x46

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
$2.99 Happy Hour 5:00pm-6:00pm: $2.99 beverages
Mondays-Saturdays

Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Special Occasion (14)
See All
Romantic (10)
Business Meals (9)
Cozy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
People Watching (4)
Historic (4)
Casual (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Healthy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Seasonal (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vegan (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
607 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

New menu is disappointing. What happened ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

New menu is disappointing. What happened to the great less than talked about steakhouse alternatives in Grand Rapids. Pick one thing and do it well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

This was my first time to Judson's and m ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

This was my first time to Judson's and my husbands second (it has been 10 years though). We got right in and seated. The hostess was friendly and our server was great. She knew the menu and was happy to explain any items that we had questions on. The food was outstanding and ticket to table time was just right. My only tiny complaint is that we lost our server for a short period of time towards the end of dinner (needed a refill on drinks) but it really was not a big problem. I would definitely recommend Judson's for a great dinner and evening out.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good experience. Waitor was excell ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very good experience. Waitor was excellent. Couple of large tables made the noise level higher. Love the food and atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and great service! Our server ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great food and great service! Our server was very attentive and the food was prepared just as we ordered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently great food and service in a ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Consistently great food and service in a wonderful old timber and brick historical building. Judson's is located within the BOB in downtown Grand Rapids. Their steaks are great. My favorite is the Delmonico. The rest of the menu is very creative and tasty. This is a can't miss spot.

Tags: , Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Vegan, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I've had great service and food in the r ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I've had great service and food in the restaurant in the past. potentially due to holidays service was understaffed and or we just ended up with a waitress that was not the best. Food was still very good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Hearing that Judson's was remodeling soo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Hearing that Judson's was remodeling soon, we dined there between Christmas and New Year's Eve. Judson's is our favorite restaurant and our experience this time did not disappoint. We both had the stuffed filet mignon, with my wife choosing a side of brussel sprouts and I opted for the au gratin potatoes. Both sides were excellent. Waiter Tommy was respectful of our space and not innterruptive. He was also very helpful in choosing the right wine. Overall, the experience was on a par with the quality we have come to expect from a Gilmore Restaurant. We hope they don't make too many radical changes at Judson's.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Menu confusing. "Special" was bait and ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Menu confusing. "Special" was bait and switch...NOT APPRECIATED!! On line no mention of $20. ceiling on second meal.

One steak had to be sent back, near raw. Second time around, about the same. This is a mere shadow of what use to be a good steak restaurant.

Don't waste your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I want to cry when a $45 steak is over c ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I want to cry when a $45 steak is over cooked... The bartender was as always fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Steaks were overcooked and over priced. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Steaks were overcooked and over priced. Too many other great steak houses in GRR to settle. What a shame, it used to be so great. Still love the setting and location.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Promised that we would have plenty of ti ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Promised that we would have plenty of time and still be on time for our concert. ..once we finally received our food, had to hurry through it in order to make the start of the performance. Did not have time to relax and enjoy the good food.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Not the restaurant that it used to be. S ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Not the restaurant that it used to be. Steak was overdone( they did comp the steak), portion of sides was extremely small for price , and service time was extremely slow. Hour and half to get our food. Way better options in GR for steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Being our first time we were thoroughly ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Being our first time we were thoroughly happy with everything this restaurant had to offer. Our waiter, Steven, was a delight, answering all our questions and making suggestions . Our food was delicious and plentiful .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was fabulous and our server, Sa ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Our meal was fabulous and our server, Santo, was very attentive and personable. We will definitely go there again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

They got rid of the bacon wrapped scallo ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 19, 2016

They got rid of the bacon wrapped scallops! I can't imagine what they were thinking. I am not likely to return for a while, as this place is one of about a dozen decent steakhouses within a short walk from downtown. BRING BACK THE BACON WRAPPED SCALLOPS!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This was our first time there and we lov ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 19, 2016

This was our first time there and we loved it! The food was delicious. The service was great. I would definitely recommend eating here. We were a group of six and are already talking about going back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere, great food, and good va ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Nice atmosphere, great food, and good value. Waiter was helpful and attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Disappointing menu. Too few side options ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Disappointing menu. Too few side options. Potatoes were hard. Steaks are way over-priced. Can definitely get a much better steak meal in GR for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

We were hoping for a great meal on our e ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We were hoping for a great meal on our evening out. Our bill was over 160.00 plus and the food wasn't any better then Apples Bee. For the cost we would have been much better going to Roth Chris. My steak came out like it had been blow torched. I have never seen a steak that looked like charcoal lump and the sliced potato's were uncooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Steaks were over priced $42-45. No side ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Steaks were over priced $42-45. No side included. No baked potato on menu. Everything alacarte. Won't begoing back.

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

There were four of us and we had three o ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 8, 2016

There were four of us and we had three of the specialty steaks. No one was willing to try and finish the 16oz steak. They were cook perfectly and delicious. Will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Business meal following a long day at a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Business meal following a long day at a tradeshow. Warm comfortable atmosphere, great service and great steaks. Mix fantastic martinis. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to unwind while talking business .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unfortunately 2 of our steaks were charr ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Unfortunately 2 of our steaks were charred badly and had to be sent back. I am actually surprised those were sent out and not caught at the pass. The other couple we were with were done eating well before us. The food is generally good when it is prepared correctly and not tasting of char.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food and service. From the wed ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent food and service. From the wedge salad to the scallop appetizer to the stuffed filet and perfectly cooked asparagus - it was great

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Before dining I read the reviews! most w ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Before dining I read the reviews! most we're very good but they all specified slow, poor service and excellent food! I thought it could not be that bad! Well it was worse! We waited at the maitre d s for 15 minutes for our table and there were 8 empty tables already . ! we sat down and then waited 10 minutes for a waiter to take drink order! So we immediately ordered our entire meal! as we had a previous commitment in an hour and 15 minutes1 so we then waited 15 more minutes for our drink order, 2 beers and they arrived after our salads! dinner then arrived exactly 1 hour after ordered and we never saw a waiter again to replace our drinks until the maincourse arrived. !! So the food was excellent but how many complaints are necessary before you change the floor stafff and managers!!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

We ordered steak and chicken and the Por ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We ordered steak and chicken and the Portions were very small

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We totally enjoyed our experience and lo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We totally enjoyed our experience and love the food and the service but I found it to be a little noisy but that was probably because it was so full

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was great and the food was d ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The service was great and the food was delicious. We celebrated our engagement here and had a great time. The wine was great and our server was always checking up on us making sure we were doing alright. A little bit pricey but for a celebration it was well worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time this past Friday. The server ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 4, 2016

First time this past Friday. The server was fantastic. She asked what out plans were after dinner and made sure to adjust the service accordingly. Had the surf and turf that was on special. Steak was perfectly cooked and tastefully seasoned. Shrimp was cooked to perfection. Potatoes were flavorful. Overall we had a great experience that rivaled other top steakhouses in the city.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful place for our anniversary dinn ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Wonderful place for our anniversary dinner. We found this restaurant during Restaurant Week several years ago when we traveled to Grand Rapids to celebrate our engagement. We make a trip back (from Indiana) on the same anniversary/birthday weekend to celebrate almost every year. A few years ago on someone's suggestion we changed restaurants and we were very disappointed, back to Judson's we went! This is our kind place. It is in a convenient location, the seating is such that you can have quiet conversation, the service is top notch, and the food is to excellent. We are somewhat simple eaters, so the French Onion Soup, New York Strip, asparagus, Brussel sprouts, BIG loaded baked potato, and vanilla cheese cake are our go to choices. The portions are huge and everything was cooked to our specifications. We cannot wait to come back again. Also thank you to our waiter Tim (we highly suggest asking for Tim to serve you) for making our evening spectacular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was terrible, waited fifteen min ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Service was terrible, waited fifteen minutes to get our drink order. Food was not as good as in the past, steak very gristly and potatoes were burned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

they tried to seat us at the worst table ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 15, 2016

they tried to seat us at the worst table in the place while some nice ones were available - they were being held for someone "Special" although we also had reservartions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Outstanding!

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, food and atmosphere. Hig ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great service, food and atmosphere. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed with service. Not extremel ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Disappointed with service. Not extremely crowded, but waiter was delayed at the beginning. Also during the meal. Hostess had to take our drink orders. Craft beer was slow in delivery and not very cold. Had a discount e-mail and informed waiter at time of order and were thanked for giving the information. When bill arrived the offer was not reflected. Had to bring it to his attention. Probably will not return for sometime. Food was quite good and well presented.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

I thought the food was way over priced f ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 6, 2016

I thought the food was way over priced for what it was. I wouldn't go back for that reason alone. You were as much as Capital Grill and that place is way nicer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

We had been there many times in the past ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 6, 2016

We had been there many times in the past; maybe this was just a bad night.

Ordered the fish special and it was dry/over cooked. Service was not the norm either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Had a wonderful experience! Our waiter T ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Had a wonderful experience! Our waiter Tomas was pleasant and knowledgeable on pairings. Selected a great wine to go with our meal. Everything was delicious!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to dinner before our symphony co ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We went to dinner before our symphony concert. The wait staff was very attentive and lovely. Drinks came immediately, great recommendations on the food, the steak was amazing!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a 50% off coupon and thought we c ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had a 50% off coupon and thought we couldn't possibly be disappointed with the value. It was not adequate. My husband's $88 bone-in rib-eye was not nearly worth the value. It was fatty and at least a third inedible. We frequent fine dining all over and the steak was not even close to what we would expect and have had value from places such as Ruth's Chris or Chop House at a comparable price. My 6 x $5 per shrimp (I ordered 6) were awful. My husband ate 1, begrudgingly, and I had 2 and left the other 3 becasue I ran out of enough lemon to render the 2 I had edible becasue they tasted so fishy. When the server offered to clear the plate I said "take it" and mentioned that the shrimp was fishy. He cleared it after asking for clarification of what I said, and that was that. We have a 25% coupon left and agree that it is definitely not worth returning for. Sad commentary. No reason to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.