Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB

Established in 1903 Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB is the recipient of numerous awards as Grand Rapid's number one steakhouse and the accolades are well deserved. Featuring a delicious grass fed beef selection, Judson's Steakhouse puts a high premium on local, quality, and variety. Come experience our Premium Cuts with favorites such as our Tomahawk Ribeye or USDA Grade Prime New York Strip Steak. There are options abound for all tastes, with an ample selection of seafood, chops and house specialties. Enjoy a perfectly paired glass of wine from our award-winning wine cellar. The room is tastefully upscale, while retaining a classically comfortable charm. Our guests are encouraged to come casual, relax and let our competent service staff focus on the job of impressing.

20 Monroe Ave. NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5-pm-10pm, Friday and Saturday 5pm-11pm, and Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Fulton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 356-2000

Website:
http://www.thebob.com/judsonssteakhouse/

Catering:
Catering Options Available

Executive Chef:
Jared Miller

Private Party Facilities:
We have our Bottle Lodge available for parties of 18 or less. Please contact Lue at (616) 356-2000 ext: 46.

Private Party Contact:
Lue Bryant: (616) 356-2000 ext. 46

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
$2.99 Happy Hour 5:00pm-6:00pm: $2.99 beverages
Mondays-Saturdays

Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Special Occasion (23)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
See All
Quiet Conversation (16)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Business Meals (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Cozy (8)
Romantic (7)
Casual (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Authentic (2)
Healthy (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort by
S
701 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Great dinner with our family!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Celebrated my wife's birthday at Judson's last Thursday, and had two amazing dinners: a free lobster tail for my wife, and a blackened hangar steak for me. Each entrée was fabulous, as was the huge baked potato that we ordered to share. We also shared a wedge salad to start our meal - more that enough for sharing. The salad was a bit over-dressed and soggy, but otherwise delicious! Service was extremely friendly and helpful, but was surprisingly slow, given that the restaurant was ~80% empty. Overall, an enjoyable food experience, and we will certainly be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on January 3, 2018

Our food was fantastic. I had the 16 oz. Delmonico and my wife had their Pime Rib. The clam chowder was great. The service was also outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Arrived and no one was at the hostess stand. We waited 3-4 minutes and then asked the bartender for help. Still took a few more minutes for someone to greet us.

We then were told they did not have our reservation. I pulled up the confirmation and the hostess said they must have given it to someone else and we needed to wait so they could clear a table for us. We were sat at a booth right next to the kitchen door, which was loud and not ideal. We were told our server would be with us in 5-7 minutes. Not a good start...

Food was great, service was fine, although we felt rushed. This was an 8 o’clock reservation, which I understand is a little late for Grand Rapids, but the restaurant is open until 11, so there should have been no need to hurry us out.

It was apparent that they were understaffed for a Saturday night. If we go back we will probably avoid going during the weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Hello,
My husband and I came to Judson's steakhouse to enjoy a nice meal. We had been really looking forward to coming to this establishment again.
However, we were disappointed. It wasn't a terribly busy night and we made reservations. It took 30 minutes for our waitress to come over and get us our drinks. The hostess actually had to get us water beforehand because we requested it.
By the time we finally met our waitress she said "I apologize I just got distracted."
We then waited another 20 minutes for our second round of drinks.
I try to understand how a restaurant runs but I also expect exceptional service and unfortunately that's not what I received tonight.

Thank you for your time.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Very enjoyable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 30, 2017

We are glad we made the choice to eat at Judson’s for my birthday this year! Not only do they have amazing Gregslist offers but the food was awesome and the service was amazing! I will be back for more and not just on my birthday this is a great date night out!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Came to Judson's for my Birthday, greeted and seated immediately by the hostess. Shortly after we were greeted by our waiter Jake, who was very knowledgeable with the menu, offered recommendations and was super friendly. The dinner was unrushed as we were in no hurry but could be if you were. The food was excellent and the ambiance was just perfect for our occasion. I highly recommend Judson's for a truly wonderful experience!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 22, 2017

Christmas work dinner. Great stuffed fillet and the bar tender is always great to let experiment with your pallet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 15, 2017

Great service and great food from locally sourced areas.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Even though located in downtown Grand Rapids, parking was nearby and convenient. Nice atmosphere, relatively private seating. My steak, the Delmonico, was quite good and, although expensive, was a typical price for a good steakhouse. I especially enjoyed the brussels sprouts on the side. What is also nice is that the restaurant is across the street from Van Andel Arena, which is great if you are going to a show or a hockey game.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 5, 2017

the waiters did not know what they were doing salads were served before appetizer was finished and same with the main course

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

I really enjoy the place.. it was a special place to go on a date. It was quiet and the service was excellent!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 2, 2017

entrees very good. asparagus was under cooked and very woody.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Excellent meal and service. Prime Rib and Hangar steak were delicious! Best baked potato ever. Loved our server!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 1, 2017

My wife and I visited Judson's on a Friday night in early January. At 6:00 p.m., the restaurant was quite quiet, though it did fill up as the evening progressed. The food was excellent and presented well. We both enjoyed the hangar steak. Each was cooked to our different specifications and was delicious. The staff was courteous and helpful without being too officious. Atmosphere was just what we needed after a busy week.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 1, 2017

Good service and food but make sure to run beer taps a little bit when first opening for the evening to clear the off taste with first pours to customers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Great venue and wait staff was very good. Unfortunately all three of our steaks were over cooked / seared to long on one side.

Waiter provide free dessert which were excellent . Hopefully a one time mistake

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 22, 2017

The meal was excellent, though I was not particularly fond of the grilled Brussel sprouts - a bit too cooked/burnt and I did not care for the onions included with them. Overall, though, very good. The steak was great - a filet mignon sort of steak; really good! And the server was great - lots of personality and fun to have serve us. We will definitely be back, but probably only for a special occasion, as was this night - dinner before going to Les Miz at DeVos Place.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 22, 2017

Wonderful experience all around. Thumbs way up!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 17, 2017

My wife and I recently celebrated my birthday at Judson's. We had great food (hangar steak and lobster tail) and great friendly and helpful service. The only downside was that food service was exceptionally slow, even though the restaurant was nearly empty (Thursday night). Still, we enjoyed our evening, and the food quality really made for a great experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Expertly prepared roasted marrow bone and extremely delicious baseball steak Oscar. Service was super too. Thank you Melinda! I'm not from the area and the last time we were in Grand Rapids we made the mistake of going to Ruth's Chris'. What a disappointment that was. Truth be known, I'm rarely a steakhouse kind of guy but here, I'll make the exception. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 1, 2017

I really enjoy the beef tenderloin with demi-glace . The servers are thoughtful and helpful.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Enjoyed their signature Delmonica steak. Very good crispy brussel sprouts and the tomato herb butter that came with the bread was delicious. Good atmosphere and great service. Not cheap but not too overpriced either.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

Food was delicious; service was excellent; overall experience. Our first time at Judson's and we'll definitely come again. A perfect experience before going to the play.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

the food was just so so for price my steak was very fatty

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on October 19, 2017

Great service, fantastic food and drinks. Very nice atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 18, 2017

It was good but not great. It was not on par with the Chicago Steakhouses nor does it rival the decore. Very overpriced and just average for the steak. They missed on the French Onion soup by leaving bay leaf in the soup. Almost motel like, not unique.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Food was excellent and service matched it. Highly recommend for any occasion or just a night out to talk!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

tim and Mandy excellent people and servers. Keep them, hard to find these talented people.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

My out of town client's like your place but the service has much to be desired! The biggest problems are that the wait staff forgets your requests, says inappropriate things and sometimes downright insulting things.

If it were not for my client's I would be done with you. Seriously unimpressed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Went for Art Prize, nice to sit down, great staff, quiet, clean and prices were very reasonable for the quality and quantity!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We love Judson's. They have great food with great service - oftentimes, we can find one but not the both combined at the same restaurant. I highly recommend this restaurant for a fantastic meal. We look forward to the next time we are in town to eat there again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Rated a bit down on service only because our meals were somewhat slow coming out of the kitchen tonight. However, it was worth the wait. Everyone noted that their food was exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was my first time to Judsons and I wasn't disappointed. The service and food was delicious, really hit the spot!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Tim took care of us the best he could. My hangar steak was over cooked (they made it right tho)... my wife's sirloin was good. Service was slow. There wasn't much interest in doing anything for us after the steak mistake - I had to ask for it.

In the end, we had an ok meal in a restaurant that seems to have lost its way. I would have appreciated some proactive planning for our anniversary since I shared comments as such in my reservation.

Oh well. No reason to go back I guess.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

We asked for our steak medium rare, and it came to the table prepared medium. We sent that steak back for a new one.. 20 minutes later that one came out prepared
Medium. We had a concert to attend so we didn't have
Time for a third try. The manager did take the steak off our bill which was only fair. When your restaurant is named with Steakhouse in it you better know how to cook it!! The service was fine as well as the manager. We were here 3 years ago for our anniversary, and that meal was outstanding along with the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

We went out for restaurant week and we had an amazing time. Will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

New menu left much to be desired, especially when compared to previous menus. Overcooked steak and lamb. Didn't feel like the "treat" that it used to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.