Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB

Established in 1903 Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB is the recipient of numerous awards as Grand Rapid's number one steakhouse and the accolades are well deserved. Featuring a delicious grass fed beef selection, Judson's Steakhouse puts a high premium on local, quality, and variety. Come experience our Premium Cuts with favorites such as our Tomahawk Ribeye or USDA Grade Prime New York Strip Steak. There are options abound for all tastes, with an ample selection of seafood, chops and house specialties. Enjoy a perfectly paired glass of wine from our award-winning wine cellar. The room is tastefully upscale, while retaining a classically comfortable charm. Our guests are encouraged to come casual, relax and let our competent service staff focus on the job of impressing.

20 Monroe Ave. NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5-pm-10pm, Friday and Saturday 5pm-11pm, and Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Fulton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 356-2000

Website:
http://www.thegilmorecollection.com/judsons.php

Catering:
Catering Options Available

Executive Chef:
Jared Miller

Private Party Facilities:
We have our Bottle Lodge available for parties of 18 or less. Please contact Lue at (616) 356-2000 ext: 46.

Private Party Contact:
Lue Bryant: (616) 356-2000 ext. 46

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
$2.99 Happy Hour 5:00pm-6:00pm: $2.99 beverages
Mondays-Saturdays

Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOB Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
See All
Romantic (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Cozy (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Fun (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Casual (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Scenic View (2)
Authentic (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
651 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice, elegant but a bit relaxed. The service was excellent. The food, delicious. Check out their signature dishes such as the Brussels sprouts and the bacon wrapped filet. Our server suggested the perfect wine for pairing.
We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Food was disappointing and expensive!!! Our server was very nice, ambiance was average- would not go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Disappointed with quality of the food & portion relative to the cost. It was an $80-90 meal for my wife and myself with one beer, one salad (shared) and two dinners. Expected very good or excellent steak and it was just good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Very disappointing. Have gone there a couple times a year for 10 years. Menu is pared down/changed. Prices are up. Service was very slow and they seemed understaffed. Too bad. Was my favorite steakhouse in Grand Rapids at one time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The server was outstanding, with knowledge to recommend. We were not rushed.
The food was well prepared. My wife and I had the higher priced food and were not disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 1, 2017

50% off got us in. we usually only top end dine out for a b'day or other special ocasion

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Excellent food, although the service was a little slow. Our waitress was very nice, but she was busy so we ended up waiting a little longer for our check than we would have liked. But we loved (as always) the brussel sprouts appetizer, the arugula salad special, and the finger steaks special. And the biera misu (not sure how to spell) dessert was the best chocolate dessert we've had in a long time. We'll be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Food was good, service was outstanding! Nice to see the menu had a 'refresh'.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Delicious food and great service. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Still one of our favorite places for a special dinner, the recent remodeling has also resulted in significant menu changes. Gone are: small portion of brussel sprouts, baked potatoes and

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Initial service was good . Server very knowledgeable about menu, apps were great but wife's main course was greatly undercooked, when it came back second time still undercooked and the outside was burnt but good. My meal on the other hand was great so not sure what happened . Will probably give them another shot at a future date. The manager did comp us for the entree

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Fantastic dining experience at Judson's. We love the new menu and the service by Tim was outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2017

When I choose to dine at a what appears to be a finer establishment the last thing I want to find is someone with a gross piece of metal hanging off their nose bringing me drinks. Judson's might as well call themselves a cafe. I promised my Grandmother a fine evening on the town. I ever imagined I'd be so embarrassed. I asked the manager, Vance, if there was a policy about this sort of thing. He replied, 'No.' I will not bring a business associate, in-laws, or anyone else I wish to impress to Judson's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was really good and it is a nice place. They must have been having an off night because the service was really slow.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Good food and service

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great food! Good service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

A nice fine dinning experience. Great food with very knowledgeable servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great service:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Enjoyed the service and great food

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Had excellent service and great food! Nice spot for a special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My girlfriend and I came here for our 7 year anniversary based off a recommendation from a friend, and it did not disappoint. The bacon-wrapped stuffed filet was phenomenal, as were the creamed vegetables. Tommy was our waiter and he did a fantastic job of adding to the experience of Judson's. He was very knowledgeable and engaging while allowing us enough space to enjoy the occasion we were celebrating. I would not only recommend Judson's to a friend, but I would recommend they ask for Tommy as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Didn't like sitting by window watching all the smokers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Please bring back the baked potato!! Go back to the old menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The steak was great, very flavorful. The waiter (Steve) did an excellent job. He was very pleasant and knew the menu very well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Judsons is our favorite "special occasion" restaurant as it is an upscale establishment with a high end menu but they have Amazing stuffed steaks and potatoes which we just love! I don't even like steak but their preparation and presentation make it a delicious meal!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Fantastic service!! Delmonico, potatoes and greens were delicious! Duck app is highly recommended!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We have eaten here many times, and this last time was a very busy Saturday evening in the BOB during the Irish Fest on 3-18. The service was extremely slow, from the moment we sat down. Desert never showed up (we canceled it after 25 min.) All in all, it was an hour and 45 minute meal, and we had ordered right away when the drinks were delivered. We are chalking this up to being an off night at one of our favorites and will still return. The food is worth it, and the service was friendly, just maybe understaffed that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food is very good and cooked just how you want it. The meal is spaced out so you are not rushed. Excellent service and atmosphere is quiet enough to have a good conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Everything for our special occasion reservation was outstanding. Sam, our waitress, was impeccable, the food was delicious and one of the best things was how our group of 6 could actually hear each other talking! Even though the restaurant was busy, the noise level was so low that we commented on it multiple times how enjoyable it was.
Thank you for a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Things ran a bit slow Saturday night. I realize that influenza and norovirus are prevalent in GR currently, so due to illness Judson's may have been short on staff. That being said, we ordered a salad that never made it onto the bill much less the table, and service was slow. The food and drinks were nice, but I was hoping to be wowed a bit more for the price of the meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Overall we had a good experience. The table next to us had a drunk guest which we wish the staff would have addressed. Swearing and commenting on women made it an uncomfortable experience. Our waiter was fantastic. Food was good, however a little pricey for what you get.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was very disappointing as all the veggies tasted like they hadn't been washed and we hardly cooked and still hard. Steak was well cooked, potatoes were disappointing like the veggies - very limited menu not many options.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

went for our anniversay. was not disapointed the food was great steak was perfectly cooked.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Went to Judson's for Date night, my husband loved his New York Strip, would've liked another potato option. My lamb was yummy too. Service was good. timely with personality

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The server (Santo) was great and the food was excellent. The portions were not small as some of the reviews stated and we chose to go with the lamb maybe a little over done for me but the flavor was awesome and salmon plate was to die for and my girlfriend loved it for her Birthday dinner! we started with the wild mushroom brochette and I would highly recommend it but it is filling. The highlight of the night was the cheesecake I wish I knew the name of but it was Oreo Carmel Moka something and it was the best my girlfriend and have ever had so thank you! Oh yeah after eating it and telling our server Santo how much we loved it he proceeded to tell us how happy he was that we enjoyed being it was a third generation Italian recipe that his great grandmother passed down and he made it! I guess he does other desserts on the weekends for the restaurant to offer! Over all great experience and enjoyed being treated so well!

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Awesome waitress. Food was great but VERY expensive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great dining experience good food servers were awsome food was alittle pricey for the portions.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Ordered split Ceasar salad and I was hardly big enough to split. Ordered Delmonico steak $45 to split , came just warm not even hot. Sauce for the top was actually COLD. Asked for sautéed mushrooms and they had to go back and cook them. We added salt they had zero flavor. Left without desert. Is not the same as a few years ago when we came. Prob won't be back .

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The filet was outstanding! The brussel sprouts so good I think my kids would eat them. The server ( Steve ) was charming, knowledgeable, and polite. The timing of dishes and drink was impeccable. The atmosphere puts you in a relaxing mood and melts all worry. I felt more comfortable than I do at home. I ate, felt like, and was treated like a king. Thank you Steve and Judson's! I will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Jusdon's, while very beautiful, was disappointing and underwhelming. The 'shareables', which were described by the waiter as 'for the table' were extremely small portions. For example, we ordered the crab cakes, and while delicious, it was clear that there was only enough food for 2, not the table of 4 we had. Our entrees were delicious, but for the price, were underwhelming. As for the staff, our waiter, while friendly, was inattentive and didn't seem to take it seriously that we were trying to speed through dinner as we had other engagements to get to.

Overall, it's an impressive place for a date or a special occasion, but for getting together with friends for dinner, I'd recommend going elsewhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.