Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About J's on Jackson

Coming Soon!

1101 Jackson St
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm


Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 991-1188

Website:
http://jsonjackson.com/

Executive Chef:
Zeb Rogers

J's on Jackson Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.4

ambience

3.4

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

57% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Casual (4)
See All
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Authentic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Special Occasion (2)
People Watching (2)
Romantic (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Cozy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Private Room (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Healthy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
248 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food excellent. Service quite poor. Looked like they didn't have enough help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I had reservations for Saturday at 6:30, April 8. We got there and had to search to find hostess who said she'd check table and be back, never saw her again so told bartender and he said he'd check, then he disappeared too. Several other patrons were upset as well, one couple saying it took 1 1/2 hours to get appetizers. We left after 20 minutes of waiting since we had concert and didn't want to waste our time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Made reservations for 6:15 for two on a Friday night...We were the first ones in the restaurant. The waiter was ok not very personable. We had a drink and ordered our food. A few more tables filled. Our food came out... and it was COLD. I don't think I need to say more.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

All of out food was slightly over cooked. I ordered a rib eye steak and was served a strip steak. It I did eat about half of it before the server returned to check on us.. To their credit, when I told them the steak was wrong, they removed it from my bill

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Poor and non-accommodating and inflexible service; waiting 1.5hrs for the food; food quality and taste less than mediocre; J's does not even serve sparkling water. Overall a very disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Service was attentive but not overbearing. Our server picked up from our conversation that some in our party had a time sensitive commitment and he timed the meal accordingly without leaving us to feel rushed. The strip steak was amazing!

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 30, 2017

At $170 for two people I'd expect a premium experience. It was cheap tables on a concrete floor, average service, average food. No wow factor at any level. There are far too many other restaurants within 4 blocks that do a better job for less.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We didn't think the salmon tasted right and let the waitress know. She came back and said, "...yea, the cooks thought it might be an issue with the salmon....", nothing more was said or done. We paid full price and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Wine bar needs restocked. Everything we ordered they out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We went to J's on Jackson to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The atmosphere was great, the food was amazing & the bartender made a fabulous Old Fashioned. The only issue we had (and it was a very small one) was the waitress left our drinks sitting on the bar for quite a while before bringing them to the table. We happened to be sitting very close to the end of the bar and heard the bartender ask why the drinks had not been delivered yet just as we were about to ask where they were. All in all it was a great experience and I will definitely recommend it to friends.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food and service. My only comment is that I had heard great things about the porkchop but when I ordered, they were out. I guess we will just have to go back again to try it!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This place needs a lot of work. The food was mediocre. Dry chicken, presentation was bad on the lobster risotto, our bread was stale. The decor looks outdated, crayons or pen mark on the menu. The waitresses hair was greasy and was getting in the food when she was carrying it over. Another waitresses bra cup was showing. People kept dropping things. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Awesome dinner and service! We had great time. Friendly service, very accommodating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Delicious ! Excellent service and the forget me not martini is to die for!

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Met business associates and the staff sat us in a great location. Steaks were incredible. My out of town associates said they were the best they had eaten. Great local place for great steaks. Services excellent. Well will be returning.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great job the whole Team!!! My fiancée was very delighted about the place and wished she was a millionaire to go in the kitchen and just distribute $ bills to all the cook Team

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good food & service. VERY disappointed with having to sit in the bar with reservations when there were open tables in dining room. Hostess rude.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Chicken was awful! Tasted like processed chicken. Very disappointed. I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Restaurant was very understaffed. As far as I could tell there were on two waitresses and one bartender on a Saturday night. My steak I ordered was actually good, but two people at our table sent their dishes back because they were cold. It was my first time there and I doubt I'll go back. For the cost of the dishes here there are many other places to go in Omaha.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Server was prompt, friendly and not pushy. We will be back.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed the Old Market location. The restaurant is very loud and noisy. Food was overdone and not as ordered from the menu. We requested bread several times but it never arrived. There were 4 of us but we could only order 2 cups of coffee. . .they ran out of coffee mugs. . .the waiter did apologize, but. . . The cost far outweighed the atmosphere, service and food!

Tags: Quick Bite, Private Room, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We are there on New Year's Eve so I may give it a chance again some other time. The table next to us came later and got their food before us. Waiter disappeared quite often. May give it a chance on a non- holiday night because the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The service was the worst we have ever had. It took our server 30 minutes to get us a glass of water and our drinks. We had to ask the hostess to find her once and then later ask her stop back more to check on us. At the end the manager apologized and comped our meals. Good food bad waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We arrived the hostess seated us and wished us happy anniversary, which was nice she paid attention to detailed notes on the reservation. We ended up moving from our table into the party room with friends who happened to be here at the same time for NYE. Our waitress wasn't the server for the party room but she accommodated us and still made sure to peep in and grab our plates ask about drinks...all in all was a good experience. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 31, 2016

To start the night, we didn't receive drinks for 20 minutes. My mom and I both ordered a bowl of baked potato soup along with a salad. We were served a cup of cheddar soup without being told they were out of baked potato. Our salad was never brought out either. The waitress seemed inexperienced therefore the service was just okay. It wasn't very busy either. I won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Steaks chewy. All dishes over salted. Waitress forgetful. We gave her two credits cards to split the bill evenly on both. She put all on one and said oh I thought you were worried you didn't have enough credit on one of them. Insulting. We were there at 445pm before the rush only one other party. They placed by the door we asked for another table and they said they were for people with reservations...we had reservations. The table situation was fixed after 5 minutes of standing waiting for them to figure it out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Not a good experience! Our waiter became very short with us once we said we only wanted water to drink. No mention of specials, slow service. I think he was going to ask about dessert but walked away mid sentence. Didn't offer to box up the more than half of our food that was left on the plate.
Both meals (lobster risotto and salmon) were extremely salty tasting. Could not finish either dish.
We have been to J's before and loved it. Not this time. Will be quite some time before we give it another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was just okay, not spectacular as the prices would indicate. Our waitress was very good however they appeared to be understaffed that evening. There were two large private parties to attend to and our table of two became low priority.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 3, 2016

great service and atmosphere would recommend a little pricey

Tags: Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I especially like the back two tables, by the wine. Please redo the bathroom counter in the women's room. Might have been short staffed. No hostess. Our waiter took great care of us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The dinner we had at J's on Jackson was very delicious. Having recently moved to the Omaha area we have tried several restaurants but have only found this one that we would recommend to friends. The server was very attentive to us and offer very good suggestions. The meal was pleasantly presented and served in a time.y manner. Definitely a restaurant we would go back to again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 10, 2016

overall excellent food, service and atmosphere. I would definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The restaurant had two groups in private rooms. Staff was a little light for the volume of people. Food was better than I recall in past visits. J's does a good job, just not outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

On a lovely warm evening we were able to have a good steak for dinner on the patio while taking the atmosphere of the old market.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 23, 2016

To say the least it was very disappointing...... The last time I was in the quality of the wine had gone down tremendously the time before that the food was spectacular the wine list was amazing and I highly recommended J's On Jackson to everyone. However, today: My chicken was overcooked and extremely dry, the sauce had no seasoning to it and was very bland, the steak was not medium rare, and the crab meat on it looked as though it went through a puree machine. My list could go on and on...... it's sad to see such a great location and what once was a top notch restaurant go so far down hill.... do not expect this place to stay open for much longer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

J's has THE BEST CALAMARI I have ever had!! The steaks were perfect. Our waiter was very friendly and attentive. I would highly recommend checking this place out for dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our food was very good, the restaurant was quiet and the service was good. I would recommend.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 28, 2016

The service was appropriate - attentive but not overbearing. The menu selections could have been a little more varied but what was there was OK. Our food was prepared properly and served hot. Flavors were good and overall this is a nice place for a dinner.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Parents weekend...don at Creighton. Also a birthday celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We were the only people dining at 630 pm so it started off a bit odd. Our server was very friendly but charged extra for 2 different items without letting us know it would occur and was not stated on menu clearly. Food came quick but was quite disappointing and was over priced for what we received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.