J's on Jackson

3.5
307 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • People Watching
  • Bar Seating
Coming Soon!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Steakhouse, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm


icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(402) 991-1188
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Zeb Rogers
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
What 307 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.5based on recent ratings
3.6
food
4.0
service
3.7
ambience
3.1
value
Noise · Moderate
54% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined on June 10, 2018

A steakhouse... in the Midwest... that can't properly cook a steak... and serves undercooked baked potatoes? Just shut the doors now. I was excited to try this place, but was completely underwhelmed when the food arrived. Here are the specifics:
1). The food is pricey, and the venue is elegantly quaint, so it sets a high expectation in terms of dining satisfaction. Meaning, I don't mind paying $50-60 for a steak, but you can better believe it better be prepared correctly.
2). We gave our order to the very friendly and courteous waitress, who was a sweetheart for sure, but (unfortunately) she is the customer interface for the restaurant.
3). My wife's filet was supposed to be medium, but came out very rare. My filet was supposed to be prepared "black and blue", but... I can't even really describe what the chef really did, but it was completely ruined with no chance of redemption. My sent hers back, only the have the waitress say, "the chef says that was medium, but he cooked it a little longer for you." Negative. The chef put it in the microwave. Again, mine was so ruined it had no hope for any salvation. Not to mention, my baked potato (a staple at a steakhouse) was only halfway cooked. Really guys? Come on...

I would have taken it easy on them if the chef, who clearly is way out of his league, wasn't so snarky. So... it's 8:30 pm on a Saturday night... and this picture is of the kitchen. Just a young guy playing on his phone. Apparently, the chef left right after he screwed up our meal... and left this kid to fix it.

What a joke of a restaurant. The owner needs to fire the entire kitchen staff, to include the chef... if not... this place won't last for much longer.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Very overcooked steaks. Great service, but I wouldn’t call this place a steakhouse.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 27, 2018

The waiter was great but the service itself was really slow for the amount of people there. The potatoe skins were very good. My wife and I both ordered steak medium and they both came between medium well and well done. For the price we paid I expected the steak to be amazing. It wasn’t. I made steak earlier in the week for 1/10th of the price and they were way better.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Empty restaurant is never a good sign, but we were eating early. Waitress was rude and we waited 20 minutes to ask her to bring our check. Food was sub-par with the “bourbon” gravy on the pork chop tasting more like beef gravy from a can.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Food took forever! Food was okay, nothing great!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

When we got there we had to go find someone to seat us. Our sever in the restaurant was also the bartender so that made things not run very smoothly. The appetizers were so so. We had the bruschetta and stuffed mushrooms. Our meals were really good though. I asked for an ameretto sour and was told they didn't have any ameretto at the bar.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Bathrooms were not good! Broken soap dispenser, chipped peeling floors. Our waiter was great but a little inexperienced. Food was excellent!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Salad was good, but steak and rolls were cold. Steak seemed boiled, not broiled. Paper menu inserts were wrinkled and dirty. Disappointed. Poor value.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Wish I had better things to say. Waited an hour for the food, and it wasn’t very good at all. Then it wasn’t really good at all. The waitress tried very hard. It just couldn’t be salvaged.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Father-in-law was in town so had a reservation Saturday evening. Service was not good, food was all right but overpriced for what we received. Every table around us was upset also and couldn't believe how long they were having to wait for drinks and food ect. My wife and father in law and I all agreed we would never eat here again.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 28, 2018

I really liked the location and wanted this to be a good experience, unfortunately it was fairly terrible. Starting off, the location does not have a hostess so we waited ten minutes for anyone to seat us. Other that that the wait staff was friendly and attentive. That is where the positives end. The food is grossly overpriced, both steaks were of below average quality and severely overcooked. The bathrooms were completely disgusting, water damaged and very dirty. I was overcharged on the bill but by that point was anxious to get out of the restaurant. My boyfriend was sick later that night but I was not so I am not sure if that was related to J's food or not. Overall extremely disappointing.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 28, 2018

NOT GREAT FOR THE COST

I was disappointed in J's on Jackson. There is construction going on right out front of the building. This wouldn't have been a problem had they been more organized. You go to one door and it says that it is the bar entrance only and to go to the side restaurant entrance for dining. Then, you go to the side door and inside it says, go to bar to be seated for dining. Then, you go to the bar, to find a completely empty and unmanned bar. A waitress did come walking through and got us to our table. But, it didn't stop there, the bathrooms were not clean, the service slow, they gave me the wrong wine to begin with. The up side was that the waitress, who was training another server, she was very nice. If it weren't for her, I would have rated service lower. But, this poor girl, it seemed she was running the whole time. As for the food, it was a mixed bag. The mushrooms were a bust - they had goat cheese, no meat, no breadcrumbs. The goat cheese was too sharp for the mushroom. I like goat cheese, but it is not why I order an $10 appetizer. But, the ribeye was cooked well and it was very flavorful. The salad I had came with tasty citrus vinaigrette, though there was no croutons and very few vegetables. The spotlight dish was the French onion soup - it was wonderful. In the end, the majority of the meal, the nice wine and the lovely server saved the night for us. I spent $150 for two at a place with poor directions, slow service and dirty restrooms. At check out, they had their credit machine go down, so they had to use an old fashion card slide machine - haven't seen one of those in a while. If this had been a quick dinner, a less expensive dinner, I don't think I would have minded some of the other issues, but for the cost, I could have went to Spencer's, Monarchs, even Prime and Chophouse 301 would have only been maybe $40 or $50 more, and their atmosphere is outstanding at those locations. I expect a lot for this price.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Girlfriend and I always try to find a very nice steakhouse to dine at while traveling and this one appeared to hit the mark but the ambiance was far better than the steak. She got the filet and I got the filet scampi. Both steaks were overcooked (I like medium and she likes medium-rare) and the shrimp with my steak were rubbery. The vegetables were nothing to write home about either but I don't really care about vegetables when I go to a steakhouse:) I'm not very picky but I do go to a considerable number of steakhouses and have to say this was not worth the money per steak. Nice view of old market though and very nice wait staff too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Loved this place. Food was exceptional and service excellent!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Sat at the Bar. Good service. Good food. great location

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

First time to J's on Jackson. Got there for happy hour drinks. Ambiance was very nice, was quiet, and very clean, with nice views. I would like to come back in warmer weather to sit on the patio. The service was very good, and prompt. All our food was very good. It was cooked perfect. The desert was also very good. And it was my sons birthday so they comped the desert. Thank you. We hope to be back!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We had two apps and a glass of wine. Place was nearly empty. Should have taken that sign and left. Server was adequate but not very pleasant. Stuffed mushrooms were undercooked and barely warm. Seafood crepes were warm but limited flavor. Zero chance we would go back. I bet it doesn’t last long.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

This place has a great location and very friendly staff, however our meal was a huge disappointment. We both ordered the 12 oz ribeye (medium) - the meat had good flavor but was cooked almost well done and was very tough. Other plates that went by us looked very good - perhaps we just ordered the wrong thing for this restaurant. Price is way too high for the quality of food. We will not be going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Very outgoing waiter. The food was amazing - salmon was delicious, one of the best steaks ever, and the pasta was perfect. The "cupcake" dessert was awful- couldn't eat it and it really is a brownie, not a cupcake. It was $5.95 and we didn't even eat it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2018

The service that night (Feb 17) left a lot to be desired. They seemed to be completely understaffed for what appeared to be a normal Saturday night in the Old Market. When we arrived, there was no one manning the host station. We waited several minutes, then I went to the bar to inquire. I had to wait several minutes as there was no one manning the bar at the time either. Finally someone behind the bar delivering food to bar patrons offered to serve me. It still took several minutes, and being handed off between two different wait staff to be seated. Our drinks took quite a while to arrive after they were ordered. After that, however, things settled down. The waitress was sweet and extremely apologetic for the initial delays. Our food orders came out in a timely manner. The Loaded Pub Chips were excellent. We really liked the creamy, slightly spicy sauce on them. The 16 oz ribeye that we ordered came out more medium than medium rare. But everything tasted great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

It was a very nice restaurant , our server was very good but I think it was a very busy weekend so service was a bit slow. The food was excellent

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Wedge salad lettuce discolored, service a little uneven, but I would not discourage anyone from going there. The entree chicken scallopini was good. It's a nice place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

It is a great location. When we arrived at 7 pm, I was surprised there was no one in the main dining area on a Saturday night. It was cold that night with some light snow, but still a surprise for the Old Market. Madison our server was great. The food was good . Really should be more crowded!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

The food was delicious, the service was great and our meal came out promptly even with a larger party dining at the same time. It overall was a really nice night and I would definitely recommend it

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Food was flavorful but meat and mashed potatoes were cool or moderately warm when presented. They brought out new mashed potatoes with the same result, but green beens came back too hot to eat.

Table service was sub-par, took 10-15 minutes to get drinks (beer/wine) yet restaurant was at 50% capacity at the time of our meal.

Went there for our anniversary, called ahead to even make them aware, only to find out they do not do anything for special occasions.

Restrooms were also less than desirable.

I would not recommend for anything beyond casual drinking.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 20, 2018

We were disappointed in our salmon dish and thought it was overpriced. We were charged a fee to split the dish and the salmon was over cooked.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We waited 15 min to be greeted and get water. The table was in the bar near a freezing window with a reservation! Half of the people didn't like the food. Salmon was overlooked and pork was salty! The steaks were good however.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 19, 2017

Good food but they were out of nearly every red wine.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 18, 2017

A group of four was in town for a concert. Staying in the Old Market, we had numerous options to consider for dinner. Ultimately, we decided to try something different than the staples we were accustomed to (M’s Pub, Stokes, Jams, etc). I was extremely disappointed in the overall experience at J’s on Jackson. The menu looked great and we had heard good things, but it failed to live up to any of those measures.

We are not hard to please, but from the moment we walked in, it was underwhelming. Our waitress worked hard, but she was also the hostess and probably the bar tender as well. There was little flexibility in what they offered for happy hour and service was very slow. The restaurant was not busy, but apppeared to be severely understaffed.

We had a group of four and everyone’s meal was average at best. We weren’t in a hurry, so we were able to wait for everything to arrive, even the appetizers.

I am dissappointed in the overall experience and would not recommend dining here. With so many other great options in the Old Market, go there instead.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 4, 2017

Nothing worth writing about. Food just ok. Would not recommend or go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 24, 2017

Recommended by some locals. Visited early in the week and was very quiet, not busy. Service was prompt and helpful. Food variety was good, even for the picky eater in the group. Good flavor and value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 17, 2017

It was great, the atmosphere is perfect for a date

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 15, 2017

Had a nice time here. Server was very friendly. The lamb burger was delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 14, 2017

The bar has way more ambiance than the restaurant. We were looking for a romantic dinner but it was tough with the lights up so bright and the stark decorations/wall/floor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

Everything was great and would be back when downtown

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 12, 2017

Great service staff and the food was second to none

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 12, 2017

Great service running late to go to a show and they helped get us there on time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 12, 2017

Fabulous food & service. Filet scampi was best steak We have ever eaten ! Will definitely go back

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 7, 2017

Delicious! The steak was a little over cooked (I ordered medium rare and it was medium), but still very good!

I don't recommend eating steak dinners outside - the food cooled down quickly and the little gnats and flies were very annoying. I would imagine just drinks outside would be great!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 9, 2017

Was described as a higher end steak house but was more of a bar and casual dining.... Not worth the price charged for the environment.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8