About J's on Jackson

1101 Jackson St
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

Coming Soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm


Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 991-1188

Website:
http://jsonjackson.com/

Executive Chef:
Zeb Rogers

J's on Jackson Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Casual (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Cozy (2)
Authentic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
People Watching (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
228 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoyed the Old Market location. The ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed the Old Market location. The restaurant is very loud and noisy. Food was overdone and not as ordered from the menu. We requested bread several times but it never arrived. There were 4 of us but we could only order 2 cups of coffee. . .they ran out of coffee mugs. . .the waiter did apologize, but. . . The cost far outweighed the atmosphere, service and food!

Tags: Quick Bite, Private Room, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

We are there on New Year's Eve so I may ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We are there on New Year's Eve so I may give it a chance again some other time. The table next to us came later and got their food before us. Waiter disappeared quite often. May give it a chance on a non- holiday night because the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

We arrived the hostess seated us and wis ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We arrived the hostess seated us and wished us happy anniversary, which was nice she paid attention to detailed notes on the reservation. We ended up moving from our table into the party room with friends who happened to be here at the same time for NYE. Our waitress wasn't the server for the party room but she accommodated us and still made sure to peep in and grab our plates ask about drinks...all in all was a good experience. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was the worst we have ever h ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The service was the worst we have ever had. It took our server 30 minutes to get us a glass of water and our drinks. We had to ask the hostess to find her once and then later ask her stop back more to check on us. At the end the manager apologized and comped our meals. Good food bad waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

To start the night, we didn't receive dr ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 31, 2016

To start the night, we didn't receive drinks for 20 minutes. My mom and I both ordered a bowl of baked potato soup along with a salad. We were served a cup of cheddar soup without being told they were out of baked potato. Our salad was never brought out either. The waitress seemed inexperienced therefore the service was just okay. It wasn't very busy either. I won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Steaks chewy. All dishes over salted. Wa ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Steaks chewy. All dishes over salted. Waitress forgetful. We gave her two credits cards to split the bill evenly on both. She put all on one and said oh I thought you were worried you didn't have enough credit on one of them. Insulting. We were there at 445pm before the rush only one other party. They placed by the door we asked for another table and they said they were for people with reservations...we had reservations. The table situation was fixed after 5 minutes of standing waiting for them to figure it out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Not a good experience! Our waiter became ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Not a good experience! Our waiter became very short with us once we said we only wanted water to drink. No mention of specials, slow service. I think he was going to ask about dessert but walked away mid sentence. Didn't offer to box up the more than half of our food that was left on the plate.

Both meals (lobster risotto and salmon) were extremely salty tasting. Could not finish either dish.

We have been to J's before and loved it. Not this time. Will be quite some time before we give it another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Food was just okay, not spectacular as t ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was just okay, not spectacular as the prices would indicate. Our waitress was very good however they appeared to be understaffed that evening. There were two large private parties to attend to and our table of two became low priority.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

great service and atmosphere would recom ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 3, 2016

great service and atmosphere would recommend a little pricey

Tags: Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I especially like the back two tables, b ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I especially like the back two tables, by the wine. Please redo the bathroom counter in the women's room. Might have been short staffed. No hostess. Our waiter took great care of us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The dinner we had at J's on Jackson was ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The dinner we had at J's on Jackson was very delicious. Having recently moved to the Omaha area we have tried several restaurants but have only found this one that we would recommend to friends. The server was very attentive to us and offer very good suggestions. The meal was pleasantly presented and served in a time.y manner. Definitely a restaurant we would go back to again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

overall excellent food, service and atmo ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 10, 2016

overall excellent food, service and atmosphere. I would definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant had two groups in privat ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The restaurant had two groups in private rooms. Staff was a little light for the volume of people. Food was better than I recall in past visits. J's does a good job, just not outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

On a lovely warm evening we were able to ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

On a lovely warm evening we were able to have a good steak for dinner on the patio while taking the atmosphere of the old market.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

To say the least it was very disappointi ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 23, 2016

To say the least it was very disappointing...... The last time I was in the quality of the wine had gone down tremendously the time before that the food was spectacular the wine list was amazing and I highly recommended J's On Jackson to everyone. However, today: My chicken was overcooked and extremely dry, the sauce had no seasoning to it and was very bland, the steak was not medium rare, and the crab meat on it looked as though it went through a puree machine. My list could go on and on...... it's sad to see such a great location and what once was a top notch restaurant go so far down hill.... do not expect this place to stay open for much longer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

J's has THE BEST CALAMARI I have ever ha ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

J's has THE BEST CALAMARI I have ever had!! The steaks were perfect. Our waiter was very friendly and attentive. I would highly recommend checking this place out for dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was very good, the restaurant w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our food was very good, the restaurant was quiet and the service was good. I would recommend.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was appropriate - attentive ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 28, 2016

The service was appropriate - attentive but not overbearing. The menu selections could have been a little more varied but what was there was OK. Our food was prepared properly and served hot. Flavors were good and overall this is a nice place for a dinner.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Parents weekend...don at Creighton. Als ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Parents weekend...don at Creighton. Also a birthday celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were the only people dining at 630 pm ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We were the only people dining at 630 pm so it started off a bit odd. Our server was very friendly but charged extra for 2 different items without letting us know it would occur and was not stated on menu clearly. Food came quick but was quite disappointing and was over priced for what we received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was over cooked. Ordered a steak me ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food was over cooked. Ordered a steak medium and it came out well, did not bring out the mushrooms and onions that I ordered. My wife's salmon was also over cooked. Sides were bland and the inside was filled with smoke from the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

When you walk into a restaurant on a Sat ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 20, 2016

When you walk into a restaurant on a Saturday night and it's empty, it should be a sign. The menu was nice, but the food quality felt like the chef had been preparing only the same dishes for the past few years - the magic seemed lost. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great either. It was uneventful. The music was fitting for a bar, not a dining restaurant. The number of burned out lightbulbs, the amount of dust laying around, and the dated/used furnishings show a lack of caring and pride. This seems like a once proud establishment that has fallen. Is Robert Irvine on the way?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

A group of us went for my birthday, and ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 3, 2016

A group of us went for my birthday, and the food was great, as usual. However, they appeared to be very understaffed and we waited about 30 minutes for our bottle of wine (and to order our entrées), only to be told they couldn't find the wine we had ordered, so our server brought another bottle (that was actually pretty bad) and offered it to us at a discounted price. We didn't want to wait another half hour for something else so we accepted it, as our charcuterie plate had already been at our table for about 10 minutes. My entrée came out wrong so it was sent back and I got what I had ordered after another 10 minutes. I have been there many times for lunch, but this was my first dinner experience at J's, and it will probably be my last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The absolute WORST service I've experien ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The absolute WORST service I've experienced in a long time. I made a reservation and expected to be greeted by someone at the host stand when we arrived. We stood around for 15 minutes before deciding to go find someone to tell us what was going on. No one was behind the bar and the waiters were too busy to notice. We had to put our own table together outside(even though we had a reservation). I got my own plates, napkins and silverware. Good thing I wasn't too thirsty because our waters were never refilled. I ordered a bottle of wine, they didn't have it, picked another one, they didn't have it, so he brought out another one and charged me the price of the second bottle, not the first. We had a request for a 'virgin' margarita and they said they couldn't make it, which we thought was weird. Picked another drink and about 30 minutes later the waiter brought out a virgin margarita and the other drink. Unorganized, unimpressed. The food was okay but was dry, as if its at under the warmer a little too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Steaks are superb and the wine was very ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Steaks are superb and the wine was very good. Nice atmosphere with view of the old Market

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a disappointment, I thought we were ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Such a disappointment, I thought we were dining at a top notch steakhouse, embarrassing really. I will never visit this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Never Again

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 5, 2016

I don't mind paying $90 for a dinner for 2...if it's worth it! J's on Jackson was definitely not worth it. Food was "ok", but not great, the service was slow 35-40min wait from the time we placed our orders

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Never Again

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 30, 2016

My husband & I traveled to Omaha to celebrate our 1 yr wedding anniversary. I made a reservation for 7:45 the evening before Memorial Day. When we showed up, there was a sign posted to go to the bar area & we'd be seated by the bartender. We waited 10 min to before being approached by an agitated bartender/manager to seat us. We were sat at an unset table, brought water & handed menus. No mention of who our waiter would be or when they'd be over. We sat there for 30 min being unacknowledged by servers & said bartender/manager as they whizzed by us. Finally one waiter stopped, asked if we'd been helped & told us he would just take our table, like us being there was such an inconvenience. After we placed our order & received our drinks, we were left there to wait 40 min for our food. During this time we had finished our drinks & had not been served a bread basket (other tables had). When we finally got our food it was OK. Mine had not come with what was stated on the menu, which I didn't mention be we were already pretty peeved & hungry. Right after we received our food (by a different server) our server came to check on us. We didn't see him again until we had finished. My husband spent 5 min flagging down someone to advise our server we wanted our check. When he came with our check he explained they were really short handed & had only one cook & that we should come back another time and everything would be better. I advised him we weren't coming back, that we were from out of town & this was a lasting first impression. He talked to bartender/manager to see if he could give us a complementary dessert, which we passed on bc we were pretty upset & just wanted to move on with our night. It's sad be we were prepared to drop a decent amount of money, but felt very un-welcomed, rushed, and as though we were a nuisance. I would not recommend this place to anyone visiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

MichelleH

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 17, 2016

Our overall experience was very enjoyable and I would most definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Jackson St gem

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 11, 2016

The food is always excellently prepared and presented on the plate.

the wine list has some very nice selections as well. Half price wine Wednesday's are a bargain.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice for a business dinner

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 5, 2016

I would definitely go back, even though our server mixed up the steak orders.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The menu online was completely different ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 30, 2016

The menu online was completely different from the menu at the place, we ended up leaving and going to 360 steakhouse at the Harris Casino

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

server was excellent

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 29, 2016

food was delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a reservation and waited for abou ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 23, 2016

We had a reservation and waited for about 20 minutes to be seated after our reservation time. We ordered drinks right away. I received my wine more than 30 minutes later. During that time a waitress tried to deliver and appetizer to us that we didn't order. Clearly it was mistake and it was kindly just offered to us (the best part of the experience). Our food took quite a long time. My husband's food was divine...he had the duck. I ordered the ribeye medium rare and it came out closer to medium well. At the end our server had split our check inexplicably. We were there for more than two hours. Overall just not a good experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

HORRIBLE!!! THEY SHOULD BE ASHAMED!!

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 23, 2016

My daughter and her friends made reservations for prom night at 6:30. They sat at their table for over two hours with no food served!! My daughter called me crying so as her mother, I went to the restaurant to address this with the manager. The manager said he couldn't find the waiter anywhere and that he had no clue what was happening. How do you not notice a 10 top of kids dressed in formal gowns and tuxes sitting in your restaurant that long with NO FOOD?!?! I told him he needed to go ask the kitchen how much longer. He came back and told me another 20 minutes!! 2 1/2 hours to get food?? The place wasn't even busy, many open tables! He didn't even offer ANYTHING!! You're the manager, you can tell the kitchen to expedite their ticket? Offer them some bread or appetizers...NOTHING!! I told the kids to all get up and leave as this was unacceptable and they were already an hour late to their prom. Manager told me to call him on Monday, which I did and was told he was unavailable. I left a message and never heard from him! How sad for these kid's first prom, they ended up eating popcorn and nachos from the concessions stand at their dance for their prom dinner!! J's on Jackson should be ashamed of themselves!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Poor management - very long wait times

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 23, 2016

I rarely write reviews, but needed to in this case. We had reservations at 6:30 on Saturday night (4/23/16) with tickets to a show at 8:00. At any other restaurant, that's plenty of time to eat and make it to the show. Not here. We weren't seated until 6:45. Not a huge deal, but still...that's what reservations are for. We immediately ordered food and drinks as we knew what we wanted. Then, it took 45 minutes to just get our drinks, the excuse being that the bar was "slammed." Well, obviously we still were waiting on our food, but we have kids...so we know how to eat fast and could have still made it work. Another 15 minutes went by and nothing. We got a hold of our waitress and were told the place was short staffed in the kitchen and bar. Now, knowing in advance there was something going on at the Orpheum, the CenturyLink Center, prom season, and the general nice weather that evening you'd think the mgmt. would have been better prepared. OR if staffing was that large of a problem, then limit seating or taking less reservations. Us, and 3 other tables around us had to get up and leave without our food to attend the various events - 1 of those tables had been there even before us. Thankfully we were not charged for the drinks and our waitress was very nice and helpful. That was probably the only good thing about this visit. The menu looked good, but with no chance to taste anything we'll never know. We will not be giving this place a 2nd chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Table wasn't ready when we showed up on ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Table wasn't ready when we showed up on time for our reservation.

It took over 20 minutes after being seated to even get asked what we want to drink. Took another fifteen minutes to get said it. Then another 25 minutes before our order was taken.

After waiting two hours, we had to leave without even getting our food because we didn't want to miss our show. Literally, the worst dining experience I've ever had. The entire staff seemed overwhelmed and understaffed. Felt very sorry for them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Disappointing visit

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 23, 2016

We were overall extremely disappointed with our service. We had a reservation and had to wait for 10-15 minutes for our table. The waiter was prompt at first but after ordering we waited an additional 20+ minutes for our drinks. One of the drinks was wrong but after waiting for so long you don't dare send it back. We then proceeded to wait longer for our appetizers and ended up waiting just over an hour in total for our entrees. The waiter seemed to disappear for extended periods of time and the overall restaurant seemed unprepared for a Saturday night with prom and Amy schumer both happening. When our food finally arrived the chicken pasta I ordered wasn't even hot. Again after waiting so long you don't cleared send it back. Luckily (sarcasm) we only had 5 minutes to inhale our food before we had to power walk to the Century Link to make it to our show in time. We handed the waiter our payment as he brought the food and hadn't returned by the time we were finished even though we specifically told him we were now in a rush situation. The food was decent although the calamari was not good - cold and chewy. We sat outside which was fun, but there was so much garbage in the streets it kept blowing into us. Was excited to try J's but unfortunately probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Really disapointed with this experience

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2016

I've been to J's several times and have really enjoyed my experience there. I won't let this experience prevent me from going in the future.

We had a show at the Holland Center on Saturday evening at 7 PM. We made reservations for 5:30. The majority of the party was promptly sat at 5:30 . The restaurant was pretty quiet since it was so early in the evening. Unfortunately, the waiter didn't make it to our table for about 15 minutes to take the initial drink order. After the server returned to the table 10 minutes later with our drinks, one of the members of our party told the server that we needed to be at the show a few blocks away by 7. The waiter was annoyed and told us that he couldn't guarantee that the food would be out in time. I was pretty annoyed since we waited so long for the server to come to the table.

Luckily for us, the food came out in good time and most everyone had the opportunity to eat. The server, again, was missing in action when it came time to pay the tab. The majority of the party left while a few stayed behind to pay the check.

I realize that J's is not McDonald's and it's not a fast food restaurant. However, the restaurant was not busy and we had to wait for an extended period of time for the waiter to appear to help us. Also, after we made him aware that we had a hard stop, he disappeared before providing us with a check

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Do not recommend

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 10, 2016

Service was poor. Had to wait for 15 min or more before we were even acknowledge. My husband ordered a Steak that looked like it was purchased from hy vee. Order with blue cheese crumbles which he never received. Very fatty and thin. No flavor. I ordered the French onion soup that had was awful and a chicken salad that was awful. management walked by several times and didn't say a word.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.