Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About J's on Jackson

Coming Soon!

1101 Jackson St
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm


Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 991-1188

Website:
http://jsonjackson.com/

Executive Chef:
Zeb Rogers

J's on Jackson Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

3.4

Noise

Quiet

74% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Romantic (4)
See All
Good for Groups (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Casual (2)
Cozy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Fun (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort by
S
286 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 4 days ago

Wedge salad lettuce discolored, service a little uneven, but I would not discourage anyone from going there. The entree chicken scallopini was good. It's a nice place.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 11, 2018

It is a great location. When we arrived at 7 pm, I was surprised there was no one in the main dining area on a Saturday night. It was cold that night with some light snow, but still a surprise for the Old Market. Madison our server was great. The food was good . Really should be more crowded!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 4, 2018

The food was delicious, the service was great and our meal came out promptly even with a larger party dining at the same time. It overall was a really nice night and I would definitely recommend it

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Food was flavorful but meat and mashed potatoes were cool or moderately warm when presented. They brought out new mashed potatoes with the same result, but green beens came back too hot to eat.

Table service was sub-par, took 10-15 minutes to get drinks (beer/wine) yet restaurant was at 50% capacity at the time of our meal.

Went there for our anniversary, called ahead to even make them aware, only to find out they do not do anything for special occasions.

Restrooms were also less than desirable.

I would not recommend for anything beyond casual drinking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 20, 2018

We were disappointed in our salmon dish and thought it was overpriced. We were charged a fee to split the dish and the salmon was over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We waited 15 min to be greeted and get water. The table was in the bar near a freezing window with a reservation! Half of the people didn't like the food. Salmon was overlooked and pork was salty! The steaks were good however.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2017

Good food but they were out of nearly every red wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 18, 2017

A group of four was in town for a concert. Staying in the Old Market, we had numerous options to consider for dinner. Ultimately, we decided to try something different than the staples we were accustomed to (M’s Pub, Stokes, Jams, etc). I was extremely disappointed in the overall experience at J’s on Jackson. The menu looked great and we had heard good things, but it failed to live up to any of those measures.

We are not hard to please, but from the moment we walked in, it was underwhelming. Our waitress worked hard, but she was also the hostess and probably the bar tender as well. There was little flexibility in what they offered for happy hour and service was very slow. The restaurant was not busy, but apppeared to be severely understaffed.

We had a group of four and everyone’s meal was average at best. We weren’t in a hurry, so we were able to wait for everything to arrive, even the appetizers.

I am dissappointed in the overall experience and would not recommend dining here. With so many other great options in the Old Market, go there instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Nothing worth writing about. Food just ok. Would not recommend or go back.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Recommended by some locals. Visited early in the week and was very quiet, not busy. Service was prompt and helpful. Food variety was good, even for the picky eater in the group. Good flavor and value.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 17, 2017

It was great, the atmosphere is perfect for a date

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Had a nice time here. Server was very friendly. The lamb burger was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The bar has way more ambiance than the restaurant. We were looking for a romantic dinner but it was tough with the lights up so bright and the stark decorations/wall/floor.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Everything was great and would be back when downtown

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Great service staff and the food was second to none

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Great service running late to go to a show and they helped get us there on time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Fabulous food & service. Filet scampi was best steak We have ever eaten ! Will definitely go back

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Delicious! The steak was a little over cooked (I ordered medium rare and it was medium), but still very good!

I don't recommend eating steak dinners outside - the food cooled down quickly and the little gnats and flies were very annoying. I would imagine just drinks outside would be great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Was described as a higher end steak house but was more of a bar and casual dining.... Not worth the price charged for the environment.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We felt rushed. The waiter was super nice. The restaurant was mostly empty but the staff was still running around like they were full. There was a hair in our food. Before I noticed that the taste was good

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Good food but service was very poor. They seemed to be very understaffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

It started out bad and got worse! We made a reservation on Open Table and when we got there they couldn't find it. They sat us anyway because they were not busy even though the Lady Gaga concert was that night 1/2 mile away. Our server didn't even bring us water until we were there 15 minutes. Everything was slow. We didn't get 1/2 the food we ordered and the 1/2 we got was done wrong or missing items that it was supposed to come with. We will never go back. It was overpriced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food was excellent. Initial drink order was slow but service was very good after that.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Was in town for a family wedding so my mom, sister, brother, wife and I decided to eat in the old market. Being a Sunday the crowd was thin and they sat us quickly in the bar area. The bartender was our server and gave us plenty of time to make our selections and have us happy hour prices for a few of them. There was plenty of time in between drinks, appetizers and dinner. My wife and I ordered steaks which were pan fried or broiled but not on a grill or wood fired since there were not any grill marks. All in all not bad, would repeat if in the area as the experience was good for the price.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Had a reservation for 4 top for 6:30pm on a Sunday. The restaurant was empty but was told they wouldn't be able to seat us for over an hour. This place has gone down hill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 23, 2017

My husband and I first visited this restaurant (3) yrs ago and it was VERY good - great service, great food; we went back several months later and the service was so-so, food was still very good( we both ordered the same food that we did months ago); so we recently went again.... and it was TERRIBLE! We had a reservation for 5:30; a very friendly lady told us to seat ourselves( no prob); they had maybe ... 5 or 6 other very small groups there...our waitress was very sweet but everything took WAY TOO LONG... and even tho we both once again ordered the same entrees that we have lived in the past... the food was cold and tasteless ; overall I was really,really disappointed; I saw what look ed like 2 or 3 waitstaff other that our little gal, and they were not that busy ... anyway , I couldn't believe how bad the food was. I don't know if we'll ever go back....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This was a diner celebrating a birthday for one in our party--Waiter was excellent-- my wife and one of our friends ordered the French onion soup which was excellent - I along with the other friend ordered the New York strip medium along with a loaded baked potato. When the steaks arrived the potatoes were cold and both steaks over-cooked to passed well done. I don't blame the waiter for this and we did not request another potato even though it was offered. We did enjoy the complimentary dessert for our friends birthday. All-in-all we enjoyed the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great quality food at a reasonable price. Good variety on the menu.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, People Watching, Fun, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Not good at all! The food, service, ambiance, all of it! I wish we would have turned around when the place was empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Weak in every way. Surprised a place like this is even on Open Table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great service and very enjoyable

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Live Sports, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Enjoyed the food and our server was very good as well. Delicious drinks and overall good time

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Poor service and very dead place. Out of the wine we wanted and out of pork chops?? Too bad.. great location

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Overall, the service and food quality were very good. There were bathroom/plumbing issues the night 12 of us were there - not pleasant! Additionally, a few people ordered "blended" drinks (Pina Colada) and were told they didn't serve them. Server was very proficient and pleasant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We were very pleased with the restaurant, the food and the service. Terence was an excellent server. The cheese tray appetizer was first rate as was the tenderloin dinner salad. My only, minor, complaint would be that they were out of Titos.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our server was friendly and attentive. No complaints there. There was, however, only one other table occupied at the time.
Glassware wasn't clean. Food was subpar - very little lunch choice and meat was dry and had no flavor. Very disappointing. We won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. Any restaurant that does not take care of their rest rooms can't be trusted to keep their kitchen sanitary and clean. If I lived in Omaha I would have contacted the board of health to report them.

For such a nice restaurant, I was shocked that both the men's and women's rest rooms were so disgusting.

I didn't say anything when I returned to the table but when my friends husband returned from the men's room and had a similar opinion to mine, I shared my opinion with the others at the table.

In the women's room, there was a real problem. There was a disgusting plunger and other assorted grose things stored under the open sink area where I attempted to wash my hands.

It got worse, behind the faucets, there was a considerable built up of dirt, grime, mold or maybe paint that had chipped or dissolved over time. It was a total lack of cleanliness and disrepair.

It was clear that the counter top and especially behind the faucet had not been cleaned in months or maybe years. I'm not exaggerating. I wish I had taken a picture.

For such a lovely restaurant in a perfect location, one would think that they would at least offer a third class bath room.

I have been in much nicer rest rooms in gas stations. In the end, I was very sorry that I recommended this restaurant to my friends as a result of finding it on OpenTable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food excellent. Service quite poor. Looked like they didn't have enough help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I had reservations for Saturday at 6:30, April 8. We got there and had to search to find hostess who said she'd check table and be back, never saw her again so told bartender and he said he'd check, then he disappeared too. Several other patrons were upset as well, one couple saying it took 1 1/2 hours to get appetizers. We left after 20 minutes of waiting since we had concert and didn't want to waste our time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Made reservations for 6:15 for two on a Friday night...We were the first ones in the restaurant. The waiter was ok not very personable. We had a drink and ordered our food. A few more tables filled. Our food came out... and it was COLD. I don't think I need to say more.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.