About J's on Jackson

1101 Jackson St
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

Coming Soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm


Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 991-1188

Website:
http://jsonjackson.com/

Executive Chef:
Zeb Rogers

J's on Jackson Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.2

service

3.1

ambience

3.4

noise

Moderate

64% would recommend it to a friend

great for outdoor dining (8)
special occasion (6)
good for groups (6)
See All
neighborhood gem (5)
notable wine list (5)
scenic view (5)
fit for foodies (4)
great for lunch (3)
hot spot (1)
kid-friendly (1)
great for brunch (1)
romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
202 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Such a disappointment, I thought we were ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Such a disappointment, I thought we were dining at a top notch steakhouse, embarrassing really. I will never visit this restaurant again.

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Never Again

Dined on June 5, 2016

I don't mind paying $90 for a dinner for 2...if it's worth it! J's on Jackson was definitely not worth it. Food was "ok", but not great, the service was slow 35-40min wait from the time we placed our orders

food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Never Again

Dined on May 30, 2016

My husband & I traveled to Omaha to celebrate our 1 yr wedding anniversary. I made a reservation for 7:45 the evening before Memorial Day. When we showed up, there was a sign posted to go to the bar area & we'd be seated by the bartender. We waited 10 min to before being approached by an agitated bartender/manager to seat us. We were sat at an unset table, brought water & handed menus. No mention of who our waiter would be or when they'd be over. We sat there for 30 min being unacknowledged by servers & said bartender/manager as they whizzed by us. Finally one waiter stopped, asked if we'd been helped & told us he would just take our table, like us being there was such an inconvenience. After we placed our order & received our drinks, we were left there to wait 40 min for our food. During this time we had finished our drinks & had not been served a bread basket (other tables had). When we finally got our food it was OK. Mine had not come with what was stated on the menu, which I didn't mention be we were already pretty peeved & hungry. Right after we received our food (by a different server) our server came to check on us. We didn't see him again until we had finished. My husband spent 5 min flagging down someone to advise our server we wanted our check. When he came with our check he explained they were really short handed & had only one cook & that we should come back another time and everything would be better. I advised him we weren't coming back, that we were from out of town & this was a lasting first impression. He talked to bartender/manager to see if he could give us a complementary dessert, which we passed on bc we were pretty upset & just wanted to move on with our night. It's sad be we were prepared to drop a decent amount of money, but felt very un-welcomed, rushed, and as though we were a nuisance. I would not recommend this place to anyone visiting.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

MichelleH

Dined on May 17, 2016

Our overall experience was very enjoyable and I would most definitely return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jackson St gem

Dined on May 11, 2016

The food is always excellently prepared and presented on the plate. the wine list has some very nice selections as well. Half price wine Wednesday's are a bargain.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice for a business dinner

Dined on May 5, 2016

I would definitely go back, even though our server mixed up the steak orders.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience2
service2

The menu online was completely different ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The menu online was completely different from the menu at the place, we ended up leaving and going to 360 steakhouse at the Harris Casino

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

server was excellent

Dined on April 29, 2016

food was delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We had a reservation and waited for abou ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

We had a reservation and waited for about 20 minutes to be seated after our reservation time. We ordered drinks right away. I received my wine more than 30 minutes later. During that time a waitress tried to deliver and appetizer to us that we didn't order. Clearly it was mistake and it was kindly just offered to us (the best part of the experience). Our food took quite a long time. My husband's food was divine...he had the duck. I ordered the ribeye medium rare and it came out closer to medium well. At the end our server had split our check inexplicably. We were there for more than two hours. Overall just not a good experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

HORRIBLE!!! THEY SHOULD BE ASHAMED!!

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

My daughter and her friends made reservations for prom night at 6:30. They sat at their table for over two hours with no food served!! My daughter called me crying so as her mother, I went to the restaurant to address this with the manager. The manager said he couldn't find the waiter anywhere and that he had no clue what was happening. How do you not notice a 10 top of kids dressed in formal gowns and tuxes sitting in your restaurant that long with NO FOOD?!?! I told him he needed to go ask the kitchen how much longer. He came back and told me another 20 minutes!! 2 1/2 hours to get food?? The place wasn't even busy, many open tables! He didn't even offer ANYTHING!! You're the manager, you can tell the kitchen to expedite their ticket? Offer them some bread or appetizers...NOTHING!! I told the kids to all get up and leave as this was unacceptable and they were already an hour late to their prom. Manager told me to call him on Monday, which I did and was told he was unavailable. I left a message and never heard from him! How sad for these kid's first prom, they ended up eating popcorn and nachos from the concessions stand at their dance for their prom dinner!! J's on Jackson should be ashamed of themselves!!!

food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Poor management - very long wait times

Dined on April 23, 2016

I rarely write reviews, but needed to in this case. We had reservations at 6:30 on Saturday night (4/23/16) with tickets to a show at 8:00. At any other restaurant, that's plenty of time to eat and make it to the show. Not here. We weren't seated until 6:45. Not a huge deal, but still...that's what reservations are for. We immediately ordered food and drinks as we knew what we wanted. Then, it took 45 minutes to just get our drinks, the excuse being that the bar was "slammed." Well, obviously we still were waiting on our food, but we have kids...so we know how to eat fast and could have still made it work. Another 15 minutes went by and nothing. We got a hold of our waitress and were told the place was short staffed in the kitchen and bar. Now, knowing in advance there was something going on at the Orpheum, the CenturyLink Center, prom season, and the general nice weather that evening you'd think the mgmt. would have been better prepared. OR if staffing was that large of a problem, then limit seating or taking less reservations. Us, and 3 other tables around us had to get up and leave without our food to attend the various events - 1 of those tables had been there even before us. Thankfully we were not charged for the drinks and our waitress was very nice and helpful. That was probably the only good thing about this visit. The menu looked good, but with no chance to taste anything we'll never know. We will not be giving this place a 2nd chance.

food1
ambience3
service2

Table wasn't ready when we showed up on ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Table wasn't ready when we showed up on time for our reservation. It took over 20 minutes after being seated to even get asked what we want to drink. Took another fifteen minutes to get said it. Then another 25 minutes before our order was taken. After waiting two hours, we had to leave without even getting our food because we didn't want to miss our show. Literally, the worst dining experience I've ever had. The entire staff seemed overwhelmed and understaffed. Felt very sorry for them.

food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Disappointing visit

Dined on April 23, 2016

We were overall extremely disappointed with our service. We had a reservation and had to wait for 10-15 minutes for our table. The waiter was prompt at first but after ordering we waited an additional 20+ minutes for our drinks. One of the drinks was wrong but after waiting for so long you don't dare send it back. We then proceeded to wait longer for our appetizers and ended up waiting just over an hour in total for our entrees. The waiter seemed to disappear for extended periods of time and the overall restaurant seemed unprepared for a Saturday night with prom and Amy schumer both happening. When our food finally arrived the chicken pasta I ordered wasn't even hot. Again after waiting so long you don't cleared send it back. Luckily (sarcasm) we only had 5 minutes to inhale our food before we had to power walk to the Century Link to make it to our show in time. We handed the waiter our payment as he brought the food and hadn't returned by the time we were finished even though we specifically told him we were now in a rush situation. The food was decent although the calamari was not good - cold and chewy. We sat outside which was fun, but there was so much garbage in the streets it kept blowing into us. Was excited to try J's but unfortunately probably won't be back.

food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Really disapointed with this experience

Dined on April 16, 2016

I've been to J's several times and have really enjoyed my experience there. I won't let this experience prevent me from going in the future. We had a show at the Holland Center on Saturday evening at 7 PM. We made reservations for 5:30. The majority of the party was promptly sat at 5:30 . The restaurant was pretty quiet since it was so early in the evening. Unfortunately, the waiter didn't make it to our table for about 15 minutes to take the initial drink order. After the server returned to the table 10 minutes later with our drinks, one of the members of our party told the server that we needed to be at the show a few blocks away by 7. The waiter was annoyed and told us that he couldn't guarantee that the food would be out in time. I was pretty annoyed since we waited so long for the server to come to the table. Luckily for us, the food came out in good time and most everyone had the opportunity to eat. The server, again, was missing in action when it came time to pay the tab. The majority of the party left while a few stayed behind to pay the check. I realize that J's is not McDonald's and it's not a fast food restaurant. However, the restaurant was not busy and we had to wait for an extended period of time for the waiter to appear to help us. Also, after we made him aware that we had a hard stop, he disappeared before providing us with a check

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Do not recommend

Dined on April 10, 2016

Service was poor. Had to wait for 15 min or more before we were even acknowledge. My husband ordered a Steak that looked like it was purchased from hy vee. Order with blue cheese crumbles which he never received. Very fatty and thin. No flavor. I ordered the French onion soup that had was awful and a chicken salad that was awful. management walked by several times and didn't say a word.

food4
ambience4
service1
value2

J's

Dined on March 19, 2016

Service was very slow. Steaks were good but overpriced. I think there was one waiter for the entire place. They were not busy so there really was no excuse. Doubt we go back.

food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Dissapointed

Dined on February 28, 2016

Always wanted to try this place. Ambiance, steak and wine bar concept sounded great. We were in with another couple on Saturday night. When we first walked in 7:00 pm, the place was empty except for the bar, that should have been our first clue. They had one waiter, and two people busing tables and watering. The waiter worked is tail off but as a few more tables filled up he was not able to keep up. It took twenty minutes to get a drink and another twenty-twenty five to get our appetizer. Menu was very interesting, but after an hour and a half from sitting down our food arrived and obviously had been sitting in the kitchen for a very long time. The sandwiches were not in any shape to eat (bread soaked and meat did not taste fresh) and the medium rare steaks were now well done, dry and tough. Fortunately we were able to drink while waiting to take some of the sting away, until the food arrived. I asked for the manager and upon his arrival I explained the delays and had him look at our food. I also suggested that the other help including himself maybe should have been helping this waiter get fresh food out rather than walking around with nothing to do. He was kind and apologized and also took the food off the bill. I explained that was not necessary, I was only trying to bring to his attention. Its too bad we love wine and steaks, but not with that kind of wait and quality of meat we experienced. Wine list is nice!

food3
ambience4
service1
value2

No Training = Lost Revenues

Dined on February 15, 2016

I dined at J's last night for Valentine's Day. Consequently, I read previous reviews just hours before my reservation but unfortunately it was too late to make a change. Number 1, the menu is not the same as the one on their own site. Number 2, we were seated right away and ordered drinks right away but had to wait for about 15 minutes before the drinks arrived. I ordered a Grand Marnier at the cost of $10 per glass so you'd think they'd at least want to get 2 or more in front of me, NOPE! Because the meal took so long to show up after ordering, my glass sat empty for a long time before my meal arrived. This, after our server walked by our table at least 7 times never stopping to ask if we'd like another drink. HINT: One additional drink by me at $10 and by my date at $7.50 would have improved my $88 bill to beyond $100 thus increasing both the tip and the revenues for the restaurant. I found it hard to place blame on the server as she came off as nice but it was apparent that she had no hospitality training. Perhaps she's a family member who needed a job...not recommended! J's is supposed to be a higher class restaurant establishment so a minimum expectation would include a server who smiles, has cordial and even fun conversations, not totally surprised when I said "thank you", and someone not too overly focused on the busy-work i.e., taking and placing orders, running food and drinks, and ringing up bills. I was lucky to have the company I was with but unfortunately the mood was somewhat adversely impacted by the failure of this place meet the service-level expectations. By the way, the steak that I ordered was cooked to perfection but my date ordered a stuffed chicken dish but only one of the two pieces of chicken came as stuffed. Nevertheless, good tasting food but service needs improvement.

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Not Happy

Dined on February 15, 2016

Fist and foremost the food was excellent. The service was beyond questionable. We arrived at 7pm for our 7pm reservation and stood for eight minutes before being greeted and then were told our table was not ready. We ushered to the bar and sat another 5 minutes before we were asked if we’d like a drink and were also asked if we’d like to order? She didn't realize or wasn't told we were waiting for a table. So now we have slow greeting, slow bar service, and lack of communication between the Head of the House and Bartender. The bartender should have been aware we were waiting for a table and asked; would you like to eat the bar instead of waiting for a table? Just in that phrasing she acknowledges the situation and offers a solution. Next, we were hungry so we ordered an appetizer at the bar but after 15 minutes were seated, still no appetizer, but were told the appetizer would be sent to our table. We were seated and another 10 minutes passed to get water and order. Oh yeah still no appetizer. We finally, received our appetizer but it was after our soup came out 10 minutes later. The meal was excellent but never did anyone say we’re sorry for the delays or how about we pick up the appetizer or the wine. Then I left a half bottle of wine there when we left! I wouldn’t be so critical if this were the first time service was bad but in 2 of 4 visits in the last year it’s been like this. For the price I’ll go to the competitors who I've find have excellent food too. Also, my girl was not pleased with the service and was unhappy. That violates my happy girl happy life philosophy!

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food

Dined on February 15, 2016

The new york strip, blue chips and blue cheese burger were very good. Disappointed that they were out of Beef and scallops dish. Service was a little slow and didn't get a drink menu until we asked after our food arrived.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Disappointed this time

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

I have been to J's several times (both locations). This was the firs t time i have been disappointed, and unfortunately it was on Valentine's Day, when i wanted to make a good impression. We waited a while to be greeted at the door, and our server seemed to covering the door at times - once was while he was in the middle of serving our wine. We ended up pouring our own glasses. We both ordered the Wedge salad and it was the worst wedge ever. It was like a full head of lettuce cut 3 ways (instead of 1 single wedge) with barely any bacon and a small amount of dressing that was a terrible homemade version of bleu cheese (mostly sour cream and very little bleu; no crumbles at all). I asked for more bacon and dressing to try and save my salad but by the time those arrived they already brought out the entrees. We both had ribeye steaks (yes, not very original but we were both in the mood for steak i guess). The steaks were prepared nicely - this was probably the highlight of the meal. The vegetables were soggy and inconsistent. They felt like leftovers and were very disappointing. I was also underwhelmed by my potato wedges. We drank two bottle of wine, which put us in a pretty good mood at the time, but looking back on this meal, we are so disappointed that we spent $200 (with tip) on a sub-par meal. I guess I figured out why J's was one of the few restaurants that actually had openings on Valentine's Day... I likely won't be returning any time soon.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We were impressed. Love the food and the service.

Dined on February 14, 2016

There was no rush to finish our food. We loved the "open space" concept, but wished the lights would be lower and candles on the table.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Good food, service not so great (at these prices)

Dined on February 14, 2016

We tried J's on the day before valentine's day. The service was fair. I swear our waiter had 12 tables which makes NO sense (restaurants don't normally do this!). So, it took some time to get greeted and drinks after being seated. We both ordered steaks and they were wonderful. I think I ate my entire meal! So, the food was great and I wasn't impressed with the service. That is somewhat frustrating when it's 35.00 per steak entree.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4

Steak was great. Sides were cold. Servic ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Steak was great. Sides were cold. Service was very good. Got put in a separate room by cash register that had little in the way of atmosphere.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

J's on Jackson

Dined on February 14, 2016

It was OK. For the price, we were surprised at the lack of selection with the menu. I don't mind spending a few bucks on a meal but it didn't knock my socks off. Ordered the lobster bisque soup and something else was brought out. I would go back if someone else was footing the bill. Considerably better than the restaurant that was there before, the Passport.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Overpriced

Dined on January 23, 2016

We gave eaten here several times and have had good steak before. This time, I had a ribeye that was kind of tough and was cooked medium when I ordered medium rare. Vegetables were undercooked. Prices are high -- $11 for a glass of wine and over $30 per steak. Service was excellent.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Ghost town

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

My salmon and our apps were great, but the guys' steak was just ok. Our server was great. It was just weird that we were the only table there for quite some time.

food1
ambience2
service1
value1

I would recommend with concerns....

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

I would recommend J's on Jackson with major reservations. We have previously enjoyed J's but our experience on New Year's Eve was a train wreck! Management was totally unprepared for the evening. Our 8:30 reservation became a 9:30 seating. Our appetizer was delivered after our entree. ALL were cold. AND It appeared that we were the last of the guests at 11:00. By the end of our meal, the wait staff was exhausted and indifferent. So disappointing.

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

New years eve

Dined on January 1, 2016

I had a reservation and wasn't sat for over 40 minutes after the scheduled time and waited yet another 45 minutes for the food. Our waiter came to our table only 3 times to get our order, grab our plates, and our check. It was quite horrible especially since the bartender seemed to be the one who was doing all the running around for us with drinks and food. We had no one come to our table till the bartender came to our table asking if we needed anything else...this was over 20 to 25 minutes after our waiter got our initial drinks. The service was just miserable and I always knew it to be a great place to eat. Three of us got the same meal and they all seemed to be different when it came to what was on our plates. One of our plates seemed to be very soupy. I personally was embarrassed because I talked the place up to my friends about how good it was and it was quite the opposite.

food1
ambience2
service2
value1

New Year's Eve Dinner Disappointment

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

My fiancé and I had New Year's Eve dinner at J's on Jackson. It was extremely disappointing. When we were seated we were not given a wine list, wait time for service was delayed, the mussels we ordered came with no bowl for the shells and no bread and my chicken was overdone. When I asked for some additional brown sauce that came with the chicken I was given cold white gravy. It turned out the Syrah wine the waitress brought to the table turned out to be a $103 bottle instead of the $38 bottle we ordered but since we did not scrutinize the presentation close enough we paid the bill. We had to admit the wine was very good. Even though it was a holiday the waitress did honor my discount card for one free entrée which took out some of the sting of the bill.

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Went to J's on New Years Eve. Had a rea ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Went to J's on New Years Eve. Had a reasonably early reservation. Got seated by the door. Cold and drafty. Wait staff service was not that good. J's was busy but not that bad. Had a very limited menu..........only 4 entrée items if I remember right. I had the peppercorn rib eye. All I could taste was the peppercorn sauce on the steak. The meat was not flavorful at all. My wife and I had gone there about 6 weeks ago when they had a full. Had a steak...............it was fabulous then. I might go back again but it won't be for New Year's or any other time when they had a limited menu. Was more than disappointed....................not a great night out for dinner with my wife.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Too expensive and small portions

Dined on January 1, 2016

Atmosphere was ok, seating and service was ok also. I was very surprised with the cost verse the size of the portions. Portions were way too small for the cost. I will not come back, also not enough choices on the menu.

food2
ambience5
service5
value2

New Years Eve

Dined on December 31, 2015

We love J's on Jackson so made a reservation for New Years Eve not knowing that there was a special menu. We love the regular menu. We were very disappointed by the New Years Eve menu. Will continue to be fans of J's on Jackson but will stay away from the special menu nights. Our service is always excellent.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good service

Dined on December 28, 2015

Food was good, service was excellent. Unfortunately my steak wasn't cooked properly the first time but the way they handled it was superb.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2

Disappointed

Dined on December 13, 2015

Finding a reservation on open table was great. Steaks were wonderful. Really good. Homemade chips were good. Soup was excellent. Garlic Mashed Potatoes were bad - tasted like instant. Scallops and beef special was not good. Expensive. limited menu

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience5
service4

Menu

Dined on December 12, 2015

Recently changed the menu. There isn't much to select from! Sadly this once was a favorite spot. Will not go back with the current menu.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service!

Dined on November 15, 2015

We had amazing service. Our waiter Raj did a great job! Had a Ceasare salad, baeked potato and filet and it was delicious!! I would go back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4

Not my favorite restaurant in Omaha but ...

Dined on November 15, 2015

Not my favorite restaurant in Omaha but definitely a place worth trying. The service was probably the best part of the night - our server was very attentive and went out of her way to make sure that we had everything we needed and that our meals were prepared appropriately.

food5
ambience3
service5

This was a second visit. We have enjoyed ...

vip
Dined on October 17, 2015

This was a second visit. We have enjoyed the ambiance and fast and friendly service. This is one of the better restaurants in the Old Market. We will be back.

food2
ambience3
service4

undercooked/overcooked

Dined on October 16, 2015

We came here to dine on the recommendation of someone in Fremont Nebraska. We were given a great review from that local. The waitress we had was fine, but the menu was not. At 6:30, the items we wanted for dinner were on the menu, but unavailable. ?????? On to different choices. I ordered a filet w/ garlic mashed and it came w/ green beans. Great steak and beans. Potatoes were a tad on the cool side. My dining partner chose swordfish . This came w/ an augratin potato stack and a vegetable. Half of the fish was over cooked the other half was fine. Potatoes were not edible as they were still hard..... as in way........undercooked. For the price of our dinners, well, just say we were underwhelmed. We would eat at their Fremont location, but would not try J.'s on Jackson again. P.S. , we are from S. Dakota and just happened upon the Fremont location a few years ago.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.