Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 4/26
Time
8:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

J's on Jackson

4.1
294 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Perfect For:
  • Casual
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
Coming Soon!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Steakhouse, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm


icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(402) 991-1188
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Zeb Rogers
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
What 294 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.2
service
3.9
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
81% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Loved this place. Food was exceptional and service excellent!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Sat at the Bar. Good service. Good food. great location

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

First time to J's on Jackson. Got there for happy hour drinks. Ambiance was very nice, was quiet, and very clean, with nice views. I would like to come back in warmer weather to sit on the patio. The service was very good, and prompt. All our food was very good. It was cooked perfect. The desert was also very good. And it was my sons birthday so they comped the desert. Thank you. We hope to be back!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We had two apps and a glass of wine. Place was nearly empty. Should have taken that sign and left. Server was adequate but not very pleasant. Stuffed mushrooms were undercooked and barely warm. Seafood crepes were warm but limited flavor. Zero chance we would go back. I bet it doesn’t last long.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

This place has a great location and very friendly staff, however our meal was a huge disappointment. We both ordered the 12 oz ribeye (medium) - the meat had good flavor but was cooked almost well done and was very tough. Other plates that went by us looked very good - perhaps we just ordered the wrong thing for this restaurant. Price is way too high for the quality of food. We will not be going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Very outgoing waiter. The food was amazing - salmon was delicious, one of the best steaks ever, and the pasta was perfect. The "cupcake" dessert was awful- couldn't eat it and it really is a brownie, not a cupcake. It was $5.95 and we didn't even eat it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2018

The service that night (Feb 17) left a lot to be desired. They seemed to be completely understaffed for what appeared to be a normal Saturday night in the Old Market. When we arrived, there was no one manning the host station. We waited several minutes, then I went to the bar to inquire. I had to wait several minutes as there was no one manning the bar at the time either. Finally someone behind the bar delivering food to bar patrons offered to serve me. It still took several minutes, and being handed off between two different wait staff to be seated. Our drinks took quite a while to arrive after they were ordered. After that, however, things settled down. The waitress was sweet and extremely apologetic for the initial delays. Our food orders came out in a timely manner. The Loaded Pub Chips were excellent. We really liked the creamy, slightly spicy sauce on them. The 16 oz ribeye that we ordered came out more medium than medium rare. But everything tasted great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

It was a very nice restaurant , our server was very good but I think it was a very busy weekend so service was a bit slow. The food was excellent

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Wedge salad lettuce discolored, service a little uneven, but I would not discourage anyone from going there. The entree chicken scallopini was good. It's a nice place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

It is a great location. When we arrived at 7 pm, I was surprised there was no one in the main dining area on a Saturday night. It was cold that night with some light snow, but still a surprise for the Old Market. Madison our server was great. The food was good . Really should be more crowded!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

The food was delicious, the service was great and our meal came out promptly even with a larger party dining at the same time. It overall was a really nice night and I would definitely recommend it

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Food was flavorful but meat and mashed potatoes were cool or moderately warm when presented. They brought out new mashed potatoes with the same result, but green beens came back too hot to eat.

Table service was sub-par, took 10-15 minutes to get drinks (beer/wine) yet restaurant was at 50% capacity at the time of our meal.

Went there for our anniversary, called ahead to even make them aware, only to find out they do not do anything for special occasions.

Restrooms were also less than desirable.

I would not recommend for anything beyond casual drinking.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 20, 2018

We were disappointed in our salmon dish and thought it was overpriced. We were charged a fee to split the dish and the salmon was over cooked.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We waited 15 min to be greeted and get water. The table was in the bar near a freezing window with a reservation! Half of the people didn't like the food. Salmon was overlooked and pork was salty! The steaks were good however.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 19, 2017

Good food but they were out of nearly every red wine.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 18, 2017

A group of four was in town for a concert. Staying in the Old Market, we had numerous options to consider for dinner. Ultimately, we decided to try something different than the staples we were accustomed to (M’s Pub, Stokes, Jams, etc). I was extremely disappointed in the overall experience at J’s on Jackson. The menu looked great and we had heard good things, but it failed to live up to any of those measures.

We are not hard to please, but from the moment we walked in, it was underwhelming. Our waitress worked hard, but she was also the hostess and probably the bar tender as well. There was little flexibility in what they offered for happy hour and service was very slow. The restaurant was not busy, but apppeared to be severely understaffed.

We had a group of four and everyone’s meal was average at best. We weren’t in a hurry, so we were able to wait for everything to arrive, even the appetizers.

I am dissappointed in the overall experience and would not recommend dining here. With so many other great options in the Old Market, go there instead.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 4, 2017

Nothing worth writing about. Food just ok. Would not recommend or go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 24, 2017

Recommended by some locals. Visited early in the week and was very quiet, not busy. Service was prompt and helpful. Food variety was good, even for the picky eater in the group. Good flavor and value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 17, 2017

It was great, the atmosphere is perfect for a date

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 15, 2017

Had a nice time here. Server was very friendly. The lamb burger was delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 14, 2017

The bar has way more ambiance than the restaurant. We were looking for a romantic dinner but it was tough with the lights up so bright and the stark decorations/wall/floor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

Everything was great and would be back when downtown

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 12, 2017

Great service staff and the food was second to none

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 12, 2017

Great service running late to go to a show and they helped get us there on time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 12, 2017

Fabulous food & service. Filet scampi was best steak We have ever eaten ! Will definitely go back

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 7, 2017

Delicious! The steak was a little over cooked (I ordered medium rare and it was medium), but still very good!

I don't recommend eating steak dinners outside - the food cooled down quickly and the little gnats and flies were very annoying. I would imagine just drinks outside would be great!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 9, 2017

Was described as a higher end steak house but was more of a bar and casual dining.... Not worth the price charged for the environment.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 26, 2017

We felt rushed. The waiter was super nice. The restaurant was mostly empty but the staff was still running around like they were full. There was a hair in our food. Before I noticed that the taste was good

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 19, 2017

Good food but service was very poor. They seemed to be very understaffed.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 19, 2017

It started out bad and got worse! We made a reservation on Open Table and when we got there they couldn't find it. They sat us anyway because they were not busy even though the Lady Gaga concert was that night 1/2 mile away. Our server didn't even bring us water until we were there 15 minutes. Everything was slow. We didn't get 1/2 the food we ordered and the 1/2 we got was done wrong or missing items that it was supposed to come with. We will never go back. It was overpriced!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 5, 2017

Food was excellent. Initial drink order was slow but service was very good after that.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 30, 2017

Was in town for a family wedding so my mom, sister, brother, wife and I decided to eat in the old market. Being a Sunday the crowd was thin and they sat us quickly in the bar area. The bartender was our server and gave us plenty of time to make our selections and have us happy hour prices for a few of them. There was plenty of time in between drinks, appetizers and dinner. My wife and I ordered steaks which were pan fried or broiled but not on a grill or wood fired since there were not any grill marks. All in all not bad, would repeat if in the area as the experience was good for the price.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 23, 2017

Had a reservation for 4 top for 6:30pm on a Sunday. The restaurant was empty but was told they wouldn't be able to seat us for over an hour. This place has gone down hill.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 23, 2017

My husband and I first visited this restaurant (3) yrs ago and it was VERY good - great service, great food; we went back several months later and the service was so-so, food was still very good( we both ordered the same food that we did months ago); so we recently went again.... and it was TERRIBLE! We had a reservation for 5:30; a very friendly lady told us to seat ourselves( no prob); they had maybe ... 5 or 6 other very small groups there...our waitress was very sweet but everything took WAY TOO LONG... and even tho we both once again ordered the same entrees that we have lived in the past... the food was cold and tasteless ; overall I was really,really disappointed; I saw what look ed like 2 or 3 waitstaff other that our little gal, and they were not that busy ... anyway , I couldn't believe how bad the food was. I don't know if we'll ever go back....

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 7, 2017

This was a diner celebrating a birthday for one in our party--Waiter was excellent-- my wife and one of our friends ordered the French onion soup which was excellent - I along with the other friend ordered the New York strip medium along with a loaded baked potato. When the steaks arrived the potatoes were cold and both steaks over-cooked to passed well done. I don't blame the waiter for this and we did not request another potato even though it was offered. We did enjoy the complimentary dessert for our friends birthday. All-in-all we enjoyed the evening.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 30, 2017

Great quality food at a reasonable price. Good variety on the menu.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 24, 2017

Not good at all! The food, service, ambiance, all of it! I wish we would have turned around when the place was empty.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 21, 2017

Weak in every way. Surprised a place like this is even on Open Table

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2017

Great service and very enjoyable

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2017

Enjoyed the food and our server was very good as well. Delicious drinks and overall good time

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8