Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About J's on Jackson

Coming Soon!

1101 Jackson St
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm


Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 991-1188

Website:
http://jsonjackson.com/

Executive Chef:
Zeb Rogers

J's on Jackson Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.4

service

3.3

ambience

3.5

value

2.9

noise

Moderate

52% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Business Meals (3)
See All
Quiet Conversation (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Romantic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great Beer (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Authentic (1)
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Live Sports (1)
People Watching (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
258 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This was a diner celebrating a birthday for one in our party--Waiter was excellent-- my wife and one of our friends ordered the French onion soup which was excellent - I along with the other friend ordered the New York strip medium along with a loaded baked potato. When the steaks arrived the potatoes were cold and both steaks over-cooked to passed well done. I don't blame the waiter for this and we did not request another potato even though it was offered. We did enjoy the complimentary dessert for our friends birthday. All-in-all we enjoyed the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great quality food at a reasonable price. Good variety on the menu.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, People Watching, Fun, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Weak in every way. Surprised a place like this is even on Open Table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great service and very enjoyable

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Live Sports, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Enjoyed the food and our server was very good as well. Delicious drinks and overall good time

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Poor service and very dead place. Out of the wine we wanted and out of pork chops?? Too bad.. great location

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Overall, the service and food quality were very good. There were bathroom/plumbing issues the night 12 of us were there - not pleasant! Additionally, a few people ordered "blended" drinks (Pina Colada) and were told they didn't serve them. Server was very proficient and pleasant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We were very pleased with the restaurant, the food and the service. Terence was an excellent server. The cheese tray appetizer was first rate as was the tenderloin dinner salad. My only, minor, complaint would be that they were out of Titos.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our server was friendly and attentive. No complaints there. There was, however, only one other table occupied at the time.
Glassware wasn't clean. Food was subpar - very little lunch choice and meat was dry and had no flavor. Very disappointing. We won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. Any restaurant that does not take care of their rest rooms can't be trusted to keep their kitchen sanitary and clean. If I lived in Omaha I would have contacted the board of health to report them.

For such a nice restaurant, I was shocked that both the men's and women's rest rooms were so disgusting.

I didn't say anything when I returned to the table but when my friends husband returned from the men's room and had a similar opinion to mine, I shared my opinion with the others at the table.

In the women's room, there was a real problem. There was a disgusting plunger and other assorted grose things stored under the open sink area where I attempted to wash my hands.

It got worse, behind the faucets, there was a considerable built up of dirt, grime, mold or maybe paint that had chipped or dissolved over time. It was a total lack of cleanliness and disrepair.

It was clear that the counter top and especially behind the faucet had not been cleaned in months or maybe years. I'm not exaggerating. I wish I had taken a picture.

For such a lovely restaurant in a perfect location, one would think that they would at least offer a third class bath room.

I have been in much nicer rest rooms in gas stations. In the end, I was very sorry that I recommended this restaurant to my friends as a result of finding it on OpenTable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food excellent. Service quite poor. Looked like they didn't have enough help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I had reservations for Saturday at 6:30, April 8. We got there and had to search to find hostess who said she'd check table and be back, never saw her again so told bartender and he said he'd check, then he disappeared too. Several other patrons were upset as well, one couple saying it took 1 1/2 hours to get appetizers. We left after 20 minutes of waiting since we had concert and didn't want to waste our time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Made reservations for 6:15 for two on a Friday night...We were the first ones in the restaurant. The waiter was ok not very personable. We had a drink and ordered our food. A few more tables filled. Our food came out... and it was COLD. I don't think I need to say more.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Poor and non-accommodating and inflexible service; waiting 1.5hrs for the food; food quality and taste less than mediocre; J's does not even serve sparkling water. Overall a very disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

All of out food was slightly over cooked. I ordered a rib eye steak and was served a strip steak. It I did eat about half of it before the server returned to check on us.. To their credit, when I told them the steak was wrong, they removed it from my bill

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Service was attentive but not overbearing. Our server picked up from our conversation that some in our party had a time sensitive commitment and he timed the meal accordingly without leaving us to feel rushed. The strip steak was amazing!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 30, 2017

At $170 for two people I'd expect a premium experience. It was cheap tables on a concrete floor, average service, average food. No wow factor at any level. There are far too many other restaurants within 4 blocks that do a better job for less.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We didn't think the salmon tasted right and let the waitress know. She came back and said, "...yea, the cooks thought it might be an issue with the salmon....", nothing more was said or done. We paid full price and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Wine bar needs restocked. Everything we ordered they out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We went to J's on Jackson to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The atmosphere was great, the food was amazing & the bartender made a fabulous Old Fashioned. The only issue we had (and it was a very small one) was the waitress left our drinks sitting on the bar for quite a while before bringing them to the table. We happened to be sitting very close to the end of the bar and heard the bartender ask why the drinks had not been delivered yet just as we were about to ask where they were. All in all it was a great experience and I will definitely recommend it to friends.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food and service. My only comment is that I had heard great things about the porkchop but when I ordered, they were out. I guess we will just have to go back again to try it!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This place needs a lot of work. The food was mediocre. Dry chicken, presentation was bad on the lobster risotto, our bread was stale. The decor looks outdated, crayons or pen mark on the menu. The waitresses hair was greasy and was getting in the food when she was carrying it over. Another waitresses bra cup was showing. People kept dropping things. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Awesome dinner and service! We had great time. Friendly service, very accommodating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Delicious ! Excellent service and the forget me not martini is to die for!

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Met business associates and the staff sat us in a great location. Steaks were incredible. My out of town associates said they were the best they had eaten. Great local place for great steaks. Services excellent. Well will be returning.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great job the whole Team!!! My fiancée was very delighted about the place and wished she was a millionaire to go in the kitchen and just distribute $ bills to all the cook Team

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Good food & service. VERY disappointed with having to sit in the bar with reservations when there were open tables in dining room. Hostess rude.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Chicken was awful! Tasted like processed chicken. Very disappointed. I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Restaurant was very understaffed. As far as I could tell there were on two waitresses and one bartender on a Saturday night. My steak I ordered was actually good, but two people at our table sent their dishes back because they were cold. It was my first time there and I doubt I'll go back. For the cost of the dishes here there are many other places to go in Omaha.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Server was prompt, friendly and not pushy. We will be back.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We enjoyed the Old Market location. The restaurant is very loud and noisy. Food was overdone and not as ordered from the menu. We requested bread several times but it never arrived. There were 4 of us but we could only order 2 cups of coffee. . .they ran out of coffee mugs. . .the waiter did apologize, but. . . The cost far outweighed the atmosphere, service and food!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We are there on New Year's Eve so I may give it a chance again some other time. The table next to us came later and got their food before us. Waiter disappeared quite often. May give it a chance on a non- holiday night because the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service was the worst we have ever had. It took our server 30 minutes to get us a glass of water and our drinks. We had to ask the hostess to find her once and then later ask her stop back more to check on us. At the end the manager apologized and comped our meals. Good food bad waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We arrived the hostess seated us and wished us happy anniversary, which was nice she paid attention to detailed notes on the reservation. We ended up moving from our table into the party room with friends who happened to be here at the same time for NYE. Our waitress wasn't the server for the party room but she accommodated us and still made sure to peep in and grab our plates ask about drinks...all in all was a good experience. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 31, 2016

To start the night, we didn't receive drinks for 20 minutes. My mom and I both ordered a bowl of baked potato soup along with a salad. We were served a cup of cheddar soup without being told they were out of baked potato. Our salad was never brought out either. The waitress seemed inexperienced therefore the service was just okay. It wasn't very busy either. I won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Steaks chewy. All dishes over salted. Waitress forgetful. We gave her two credits cards to split the bill evenly on both. She put all on one and said oh I thought you were worried you didn't have enough credit on one of them. Insulting. We were there at 445pm before the rush only one other party. They placed by the door we asked for another table and they said they were for people with reservations...we had reservations. The table situation was fixed after 5 minutes of standing waiting for them to figure it out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Not a good experience! Our waiter became very short with us once we said we only wanted water to drink. No mention of specials, slow service. I think he was going to ask about dessert but walked away mid sentence. Didn't offer to box up the more than half of our food that was left on the plate.
Both meals (lobster risotto and salmon) were extremely salty tasting. Could not finish either dish.
We have been to J's before and loved it. Not this time. Will be quite some time before we give it another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was just okay, not spectacular as the prices would indicate. Our waitress was very good however they appeared to be understaffed that evening. There were two large private parties to attend to and our table of two became low priority.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 2, 2016

great service and atmosphere would recommend a little pricey

Tags: Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I especially like the back two tables, by the wine. Please redo the bathroom counter in the women's room. Might have been short staffed. No hostess. Our waiter took great care of us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.