About Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City

212 South Clinton Street
Iowa City, IA 52240
View Larger Map

Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City offers the highest quality steak and seafood in a luxurious atmosphere. We serve only vegetarian organically fed Angus beef, our seafood is always fresh. Complement your entree with one of our signature martinis or choose from our extensive collection of fine wines.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Late Night Bar: Saturday and Sunday Open Until 12:30am

Cross Street:
Burlington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(319) 358-0776

Website:
http://www.josephssteak.com/

Catering:
Our sister restaurant, "The Bread Garden" offers catering.
(319)354-4246

Parking Details:
Parking is available at 3 public ramps, each within one block of Joseph's. Additional parking is available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Isaac Onofre

Private Party Facilities:
Our restaurant has 2 areas that may be partitioned off for private or semi-private parties. There is no rental fee but we may require a signed contract, and a minimum spending requirement or deposit may apply.

Private Party Contact:
Nikki Hill: 3193580776x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Petite Filet Mignon - Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City, Iowa City, IA
  • Lobster Tail - Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City, Iowa City, IA
  • Scallops - Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City, Iowa City, IA

Report a photo problem

Petite Filet Mignon - Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City, Iowa City, IA
Lobster Tail - Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City, Iowa City, IA
Scallops - Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City, Iowa City, IA

Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Cozy (9)
Romantic (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Business Meals (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Fun (2)
Private Room (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
662 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was our third time, and like the firs ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 2 days ago

It was our third time, and like the first two times the drinks, soup and salad, appetizer where great. The steak not so well for $40. You will get a better quality and flavor on Texas Roadhouse for 1/2 the price.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Overpriced...for the just " ok " food... ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Overpriced...for the just " ok " food....nothing outstanding and would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Amazing as always. Still my favorite sp ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amazing as always. Still my favorite spot in Iowa City!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual the food is excellent. We have ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

As usual the food is excellent. We have never had a bad meal at this wonderful steakhouse. The staff and service are very professional and friendly. Best steakhouse in Iowa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great! Family favorite for speci ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always great! Family favorite for special occasions

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere as always! Wai ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great food and atmosphere as always! Waitstaff is always professional. We love Joseph's and treat ourselves at least twice a year!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our meat was very undercooked. We ordere ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our meat was very undercooked. We ordered medium and our steak came out purple it was so rare. I am sure if we would have said something they would have corrected it, but my boyfriend wasn't feeling well and I feel like if your paying $50 for a steak it should be made right the first time!!!

Otherwise everything was pretty good, took desserts home...not that impressed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent evening as always - Joseph's i ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent evening as always - Joseph's is one of my favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, excellent quick service, and ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great food, excellent quick service, and a reasonable price!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Outstanding service! Disappointing ribe ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Outstanding service! Disappointing ribeye. Second time in a row steak has been below average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice place, food was excellent, but very ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Nice place, food was excellent, but very expensive for what you get.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Avoid the large filet - was significantl ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Avoid the large filet - was significantly under cooked, requested medium, was medium rare at best. Get the strip instead. Slow and sloppy kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

Erika as our server was most excellent. ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Erika as our server was most excellent. All of the food was exquisite, as were the cocktails. Everything was top-notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. We were in t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent food and service. We were in town for the weekend visiting our freshman son and wanted to take him out for a nice meal at a nice restaurant and this place really hit the spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

There is some amazing beef available in ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 5, 2016

There is some amazing beef available in Iowa. But for that price, I honestly expected more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

We were in Iowa for the football game. G ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We were in Iowa for the football game. Glad we found this steakhouse. The BEST Brandy Old Fashion's we've had. Food and service were very good also. thought the prices were on the high side as everything is a la carte.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I always have a great steak or meal expe ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I always have a great steak or meal experience at Joseph's! The staff is friendly and good! A great choice for food and to relax from some of the restaurant scenes in the great college town-Iowa City.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding, but more than ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was outstanding, but more than that, the atmosphere permitted us to enjoy ourselves with friends whom we do not see often. The servers were "there" but never in the way. This was a special occasion related to the opening of the U of I new School of Music. It was a great way to celebrate!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinners (steak and handmade mushroom ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Our dinners (steak and handmade mushroom pasta) were outstanding, and so were the waitstaff. The ambiance was elegant, with no televisions in the room, so it was possible to have quiet conversation, even though the restaurant was bustling. Rather expensive, but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was quite palatable and portions ge ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Food was quite palatable and portions generous. I am puzzled why so many Midwest restaurants devote such a large part of their menus to imported seafood when local fare is often so good. The pork chop and local apples was tasty. The wine list was quite passable with high end and some reasonably affordable bottles. The dining room is quiet and does not feel cramped.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service was outstanding!! W ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food and service was outstanding!! We went with friends and were seated right away. The service staff were all very friendly and just overall the atmosphere is very fun and inviting. We have a great experience and will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Joseph's was elegant but not stuffy. Gre ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Joseph's was elegant but not stuffy. Great atmosphere for family gatherings and enjoying classic, indulgent fare. Never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

food was outstanding, crab cake app was ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 17, 2016

food was outstanding, crab cake app was amazing, steaks were perfect. Staff was attentive and friendly

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3 of us shared the tuna tartare appetize ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 16, 2016

3 of us shared the tuna tartare appetizer. Yum! Hubby and I shared small plates. Son got salad and steak with blue cheese. Everything was delicious. Service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The atmosphere was outstanding, very qui ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The atmosphere was outstanding, very quiet and private. The food was amazing and well worth the drive. The service was great, very attentive to our needs and glass were never empty.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated right away at a very quie ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were seated right away at a very quiet table as requested through open-table. Service was outstanding and the waitress was knowledgeable about all our questions. Drinks served quickly and soups were saved in ample time. Entrees were not long delayed. Water glass and bread never empty. if you want a quiet place with very good food this is the best in Iowa City.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Decided to try the small plates. We orde ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Decided to try the small plates. We ordered 3. They were all very good, but we asked the waiter to bring them one at a time, starting with the cold one. Unfortunately he brought all 3 at the same time which led to a hurried dinner and did not allow us to savor each one individually.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Great night at Joseph's. The food was d ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great night at Joseph's. The food was delicious and the service was top notch. Our server was very well versed on the wine list and suggested an amazing wine. We were in a back corner which was quiet and romantic. Great service, great food, great night!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is like home.

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 24, 2016

This place is like home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

In town from California for a family eve ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 17, 2016

In town from California for a family event and wanted a nice restaurant for dinner for six. Saturday night at 6:45 would have been impossible where we live but no problem here. Steaks were best, salads and sides very good, fish passable, service excellent, atmosphere refined and a really good wine list. Beautiful round table in front of a window.

Only negative for us was how dark it was. If we wanted privacy or romance perhaps it would have been okay. Easy fix though: we pulled up the shade that covered the window (no one objected) and the long lasting twilight lit things up perfectly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I throughly enjoyed my evening atJoseph' ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 9, 2016

I throughly enjoyed my evening atJoseph's. The Walleye Special that I enjoyed was superb. The service was outstanding as was

Everything about the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Joseph’s is a top restaurant. We enjoy ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Joseph’s is a top restaurant. We enjoy bring our family and friends there. The meals are always exquisite.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We've been to Joseph's at least ten time ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 2, 2016

We've been to Joseph's at least ten times and it never gets old...good wine and great food. We will be back for more!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our service was excellent and the food was wonderful too. Have already recommended this place to friends. Peter did a wonderful job.

Thank you.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The finest meal I have had in quite some ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 28, 2016

The finest meal I have had in quite some time. All of the food was good, most of it was outstanding, and some of it was unbelievably superb. Even the slight hiccup of an under cooked steak was quickly addressed, with excellent results. The only downside was the cost. Expensive, but it was still worth it. I will remember this meal for a long time, maybe even forever.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Upscale restaurant, private . I had the ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Upscale restaurant, private .

I had the black pepper ribeye with the hollandaise sauce and red wine Demi sauce on the side.

I give this dish a 10!

The teamwork between the servers was very impressive.

The service was out of this world and the food was out of this universe you have got to go to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While visiting, we came here because of ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 25, 2016

While visiting, we came here because of trip advisor reviews and so glad we did. We had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere as always was nice. It's ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 11, 2016

The atmosphere as always was nice. It's been a couple of years since we went and it was refreshing to go back. The crab cake appetizer was decent, light and well appetizing but not show stopping. I had the lobster Mac n' Cheese which at $28 for the serving was little bit of a whomp-whomp-whaaaaa for the price. It came out quite saucy and very rich. However the next day, the left overs were on-point. The wife had prime rib, which was done to perfection. Seasoning was great and the cut was sufficient for the price. The quality of the meat was also great. My mouth is slavering just thinking about it now. She had a Moscow Mule, our first and it was very refreshing. I had a flight of the ReUnion beers which were average to good. Service was prompt and more than courteous to our every need. Overall a pretty good experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Graduation cebration

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Joseph's was a great place to go for celebrating. It took a bit to get seated (we had a reservation) but they gave us the first round of drinks so no complaints! The food was delicious and worth the wait. A bit crowded but all in all I would go back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking forward to a wonderful g ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2016

We were looking forward to a wonderful graduation celebration after the University of Iowa commencement. We booked our reservations at Joseph's over a year ago. The restaurant called us a week ahead and TOLD us to be on time and we only had 1 1/2 hours to dine because there would be a party after us. We understood and arrived on time where we were told there would be a 15 minute wait but we could get drinks and appetizers at the bar while we waited. OUR WAIT TURNED INTO 45 MINUTES, WHAT HAPPENED TO GETTING THE PARTIES OUT ON TIME?? We were extremely disappointed in the service and felt we had been lied to. We also heard a party say they knew the management and we feel they were put ahead of us. We noticed the hostesses bussing tables, and running around. Our waiter had 4 tables in the back, where 3 were seated at the same time. Our time at Joseph's was not what we expected and we will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.