Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 29 times today

Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City

4.6
801 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steak
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City offers the highest quality steak and seafood in a fine dining atmosphere. We serve only vegetarian organically fed Angus beef, our seafood is always fresh. Complement your entree with one of our signature martinis or choose from our extensive collection of fine wines.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steak, Seafood, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(319) 358-0776
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Andrew Kirchner
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
For parties of seven or more, please call 319-358-0776.

Joseph's has two areas that may be partitioned off for private or semi-private parties. We may require a signed contract, with a minimum spending requirement or rental fee.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Rebecca Geissel: (319) 358-0776
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Our sister restaurant, "The Bread Garden Market" offers catering.
(319) 354-4246
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Burlington
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is available at 3 public ramps, each within one block of Joseph's. Additional parking is available on the street.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 801 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Food, drinks, service and ambiance. All great. Will absolutely return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

I visited Joseph's Steakhouse on this past Saturday and enjoyed a nice meal with my fiance. The food was good although it was not as good as I thought it would be. That may have been due to the restaurant being so busy or the fact that we were seated next to a large and obnoxiously loud party that I could not enjoy my food. I will try again during the week and hopefully will have a better experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

We found your restaurant based on food reviews, but found the ambiance to be rowdy and loud. We would have preferred a more romantic environment. Server Michael was excellent. Food was commensurate with price. Disappointed with noise.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We were celebrating a birthday & it was done extremely well. Joseph’s drinks are amazing. Appetizer are extensive & can be shared. Main course (steaks for us) were cooked perfectly & great options for crusts or sauce. Fantastic server - who also gave great suggestion for birthday dessert. Restaurant is a little more intimate (maybe more adult appropriate). Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

We had the prime rib and it was delicious. We paired it with a bottle of Blue-Eyed Boy. We really enjoyed the wine. The sommelier opened the wine and we tasted it. He then shook it and it tasted completely different. The service was very good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Was there to celebrate an anniversary. Food was good but very noisy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

We sat at the bar and Our bartender Brett was fantastic and went above and beyond just serving us This is not the first time Brett served us we were very happy he was working this nite he makes great cocktails and is very knowledgeable about all types of wine. A great employee In our opinion We had a pleasant evening We have had several meals at Joseph's it's the best overall restaurant in Iowa city. We are from the Chicago area and visit Iowa city to see our kid who goes to the university. We recommend Joseph's highly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

This place is a must! Great food and great service. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Great meal. Our server Martin was outstanding!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Awesome experience! Definitely a must.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Very good! We enjoyed the food prior to going to Hancher show. I

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

My wife and I went there for our Anniversary. We loved it. It was an awesome experience. We were not disappointed at all with the restaurant. We did have a table of 4 came. They were loud and obnoxious but not the fault of the restaurant at all. They tried to talk with them in a lower voice but hey you always have a couple of bad apples. Thanks for the wonderful experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Wonderful evening. Fantastic meal! Patrick was our waiter, ask for him!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Joseph's! Peter, our waiter, was incredibly attentive and made our meal that much more special. He made excellent wine recommendations, food notations, and was among the most professional waiters we've ever had. The ambiance was private, elegant, but not pretentious. We will certainly return. Thank you for making our meal special!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2018

We were looking for a nice place to have dinner while visiting Iowa. Found Joseph’s on Open Table. Great Food, Great Service, and Great Prices!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Great waiter Michael who was personable and caring.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

We celebrated our Son's 22nd birthday and everything was perfect. The service , food and ambiance. Will return very soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Josephs has an amazing menu but still manage to come up with some pretty awesome specials that keep you coming back for more!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 12, 2018

It wasn't very busy and it took about 10 minutes for the server to come over. For the amount we paid we expected better service. She seemed very nervous also. There was a big party in the back room, which left it short staffed in the dining area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Excellent as usual

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

One of our faves in Iowa City. The service at the bar could have been better but it was busy. Noah was our server, he was amazing. Super knowledgeable about the menu, personable with a great sense of humor.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2018

My husband and I have made Joseph's the location of our anniversary since 2010 and recently added my birthday as it's the only location in town where I can get a perfectly cooked prime rib.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Great birthday dinner! Everything was superb!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 31, 2018

We have not always found steak houses to be fine dining, but this place is. We're in Iowa City only 4 times a year, and this was our first try for here. We're Open Table fans for restaurants across the country (only 4 in Iowa City at this point). Anyway, this was excellent dining: seafood bisque, wedge salad, creamed spinach, petit filet mignon, Kansas City Strip Steak, baked potato. Really very fine food. Interesting 20 foot curtains that are semi sheer separate the dining tables, making an interesting separateness of the tables. We will be back next time we're in Iowa City.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 29, 2018

The Alaskan Salmon was one of the best meals I've ever had. I absolutely love salmon and order it nearly every time I go to a restaurant that has it. This was excellent! The vegetables and rice were very good as well. We also ordered the brussel sprouts with bacon and that too was excellent. The hostess was very nice. Rob, our waiter, was extremely attentive and knowledgeable. Couldn't have had a better experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 22, 2018

Excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

It was a wonderful experience for our family. I definitely would go again. You could have one seafood options. I know you are a steakhouse and of course it is the midwest but several more entree seafood options would be great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Celebration dinner, excellent food, onion rings were outstanding! Loved the whole meal really. Pricy, but felt like we got what we paid for.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 9, 2018

It was our first time at Joseph’s. We enjoyed our experience and our server was fabulous . It was a great night for my husbands birthday .

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We were excited to go to Joseph’s for New Years Eve. We expected the prices, but with it we expect service.my Wife ordered the Grand fillet mignon. First off they could not cook it properly so they had to butterfly it. This kind of seems to defeat the purpose of ordering a grand fillet mignon. My wife also ordered the steak Oscar style. When it was delivered it had no additional dressing on it. It had to be taken back for the lobster and sauce to be added. The waiter did not bring us any bread in fact we had asked for it over halfway through our meal. My drink sat empty for half the meal and when I ordered the second drink it didn’t come till we were almost completely finished. He then off to to comp the last drink. A nice gesture but on a botched $225 meal not such a big move. Overall I can see the appeal of the steakhouse, definitely a beautiful environment, but I certainly would not hire and train to wait staff for a restaurant quite so pricey and especially on a big night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2017

Was there for a date night. Semi-private table with warm and romantic ambiance. Chilean sea bass was perfectly prepared and my husband loved his venison steak. Server was knowledgeable about the food and wine menus and was very friendly. Will be back and would recommend to others for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 21, 2017

The food was excellent, but several other factors contributed to this being a special occasion of fine dining. Our waitress was especially good, knowledgeable and unobtrusive, obviously very well trained. And the curtains between the tables was a nice touch -- gave you the sensation of private dining. We felt very special. Worth the money.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 20, 2017

The food and service were excellent . Also...ten minutes after leaving the restaurant I got a phone call to say that I had double-tipped. I had failed to notice that the bill already had a tip included, and I had added a further tip. Very nice follow up from them (although I am not a fan of having the tip baked into a bill!).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 18, 2017

We arrived for a dinner of five and were warmly greeted. Along with an expansive menu and trendy wine list, our server allowed us plenty of time to chat and select our meals. The food was exquisite as was the wine. Steaks cooked to order and salmon was delicious. A most wonderful dinner. Thank you for your fine service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 14, 2017

They were out of lobster and the waiter didn't know that until our soup and salad came. I filet was not cooked enough and the waiter forgot that I sent it back. Food was decent but the wait staff started out good and then went downhill.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 13, 2017

Excellent service and food. Our server, Peter, was extremely helpful with his suggestions for desert.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 13, 2017

Joseph's has declined since my last visit. Salad arrived before initial cocktail did. Salad was not mixed with dressing (lazy kitchen practice). Steak was well-cooked, but coated with MSG. Still recovering. Ordered sautéed mushrooms, which appeared to have been dumped from a can. First batch arrived cold.

Given the prices, diners desire more. Will not be going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 11, 2017

As always we had an amazing experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Dined three times during my stay at Joseph's. Each meal was absolutely amazing. Wine list was excellent and the hand crafted drinks tasted perfect. Diffenantly will go back when I visit Iowa City.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 9, 2017

An excellent option in Iowa City if you’re in the mood for meat. Both the steak and rack of lamb were very tasty, and the Brussel sprouts and creamed spinach were as expected at a steakhouse. We got a sneak preview of the soon-to-be new wine list, and it’s excellent and will be extremely reasonably priced. Service is friendly, though a bit spotty.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
21