About Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City

212 South Clinton Street
Iowa City, IA 52240
View Larger Map

Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City offers the highest quality steak and seafood in a luxurious atmosphere. We serve only vegetarian organically fed Angus beef, our seafood is always fresh. Complement your entree with one of our signature martinis or choose from our extensive collection of fine wines.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Late Night Bar: Saturday and Sunday Open Until 12:30am

Cross Street:
Burlington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(319) 358-0776

Website:
http://www.josephssteak.com/

Catering:
Our sister restaurant, "The Bread Garden" offers catering.
(319)354-4246

Parking Details:
Parking is available at 3 public ramps, each within one block of Joseph's. Additional parking is available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Isaac Onofre

Private Party Facilities:
Our restaurant has 2 areas that may be partitioned off for private or semi-private parties. There is no rental fee but we may require a signed contract, and a minimum spending requirement or deposit may apply.

Private Party Contact:
Nikki Hill: 3193580776x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Petite Filet Mignon
  • Lobster Tail
  • Scallops
Petite Filet Mignon
Lobster Tail
Scallops

Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Iowa
Best Food
Iowa
Most Booked
Iowa City
Best Restaurants in Iowa City ›

Special Occasion (33)
Romantic (22)
Notable Wine List (12)
See All
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Groups (9)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
593 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were seated right away at a very quie ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were seated right away at a very quiet table as requested through open-table. Service was outstanding and the waitress was knowledgeable about all our questions. Drinks served quickly and soups were saved in ample time. Entrees were not long delayed. Water glass and bread never empty. if you want a quiet place with very good food this is the best in Iowa City.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Decided to try the small plates. We orde ...

vip
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Decided to try the small plates. We ordered 3. They were all very good, but we asked the waiter to bring them one at a time, starting with the cold one. Unfortunately he brought all 3 at the same time which led to a hurried dinner and did not allow us to savor each one individually.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Great night at Joseph's. The food was d ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great night at Joseph's. The food was delicious and the service was top notch. Our server was very well versed on the wine list and suggested an amazing wine. We were in a back corner which was quiet and romantic. Great service, great food, great night!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In town from California for a family eve ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

In town from California for a family event and wanted a nice restaurant for dinner for six. Saturday night at 6:45 would have been impossible where we live but no problem here. Steaks were best, salads and sides very good, fish passable, service excellent, atmosphere refined and a really good wine list. Beautiful round table in front of a window.

Only negative for us was how dark it was. If we wanted privacy or romance perhaps it would have been okay. Easy fix though: we pulled up the shade that covered the window (no one objected) and the long lasting twilight lit things up perfectly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I throughly enjoyed my evening atJoseph' ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I throughly enjoyed my evening atJoseph's. The Walleye Special that I enjoyed was superb. The service was outstanding as was

Everything about the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Joseph’s is a top restaurant. We enjoy ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Joseph’s is a top restaurant. We enjoy bring our family and friends there. The meals are always exquisite.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We've been to Joseph's at least ten time ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We've been to Joseph's at least ten times and it never gets old...good wine and great food. We will be back for more!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our service was excellent and the food was wonderful too. Have already recommended this place to friends. Peter did a wonderful job.

Thank you.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The finest meal I have had in quite some ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The finest meal I have had in quite some time. All of the food was good, most of it was outstanding, and some of it was unbelievably superb. Even the slight hiccup of an under cooked steak was quickly addressed, with excellent results. The only downside was the cost. Expensive, but it was still worth it. I will remember this meal for a long time, maybe even forever.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Upscale restaurant, private . I had the ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Upscale restaurant, private .

I had the black pepper ribeye with the hollandaise sauce and red wine Demi sauce on the side.

I give this dish a 10!

The teamwork between the servers was very impressive.

The service was out of this world and the food was out of this universe you have got to go to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While visiting, we came here because of ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

While visiting, we came here because of trip advisor reviews and so glad we did. We had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere as always was nice. It's ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The atmosphere as always was nice. It's been a couple of years since we went and it was refreshing to go back. The crab cake appetizer was decent, light and well appetizing but not show stopping. I had the lobster Mac n' Cheese which at $28 for the serving was little bit of a whomp-whomp-whaaaaa for the price. It came out quite saucy and very rich. However the next day, the left overs were on-point. The wife had prime rib, which was done to perfection. Seasoning was great and the cut was sufficient for the price. The quality of the meat was also great. My mouth is slavering just thinking about it now. She had a Moscow Mule, our first and it was very refreshing. I had a flight of the ReUnion beers which were average to good. Service was prompt and more than courteous to our every need. Overall a pretty good experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Graduation cebration

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Joseph's was a great place to go for celebrating. It took a bit to get seated (we had a reservation) but they gave us the first round of drinks so no complaints! The food was delicious and worth the wait. A bit crowded but all in all I would go back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking forward to a wonderful g ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We were looking forward to a wonderful graduation celebration after the University of Iowa commencement. We booked our reservations at Joseph's over a year ago. The restaurant called us a week ahead and TOLD us to be on time and we only had 1 1/2 hours to dine because there would be a party after us. We understood and arrived on time where we were told there would be a 15 minute wait but we could get drinks and appetizers at the bar while we waited. OUR WAIT TURNED INTO 45 MINUTES, WHAT HAPPENED TO GETTING THE PARTIES OUT ON TIME?? We were extremely disappointed in the service and felt we had been lied to. We also heard a party say they knew the management and we feel they were put ahead of us. We noticed the hostesses bussing tables, and running around. Our waiter had 4 tables in the back, where 3 were seated at the same time. Our time at Joseph's was not what we expected and we will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Food and service were excellent! Noah, o ...

vip
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food and service were excellent! Noah, our waiter, could not have been more attentive even though it was an extremely busy night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff was friendly and food was good Goo ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Staff was friendly and food was good

Good wine list

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was one of the best meals I've had ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This was one of the best meals I've had for sure it made my top 10 list. The food was cooked perfectly I had no problem with it at all the time getting the food out was quick and the waiters and waitress seemed very friendly and nice people definitely my new favorite spot to go to

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a find

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Recommended by a friend during our visit to Iowa city. We are steakhouse lovers and Joseph's was honestly one of the best we have ever been to. Each table is curtained off a clever design that adds privacy. The best Bourbon old fashioned I have ever had. Dinner was perfect. The staff VERY well trained and the wine list had some great vintages at very reasonable prices. I highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time and had a great experience

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Been to IC about a half dozen times and have found a great variety of restaurants of high quality. Joseph's has been on the list to try and we had a chance this trip. Had a very nice experience with great food and service. Joseph's is one of the more or most expensive restaurants in IC. Would I pick it for a celebration? Absolutely and I plan to return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

I can't, it was bad for a steak house.

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

A prime steak at 40 dollars ala carte should match at least, Mortons, Ruth Chris, Chicago Chop House. It did not. My steak was thin and very rough for a RibEye. While cooked to medium rare a steak house ribeye should be 1-1/2" thick to 2" thick and choice or prime. Theirs was not at all at 3/4". I can do better from the grocery store at my home for quality steaks. I felt robbed by the prices and quality of this whole dining experience. If they are going to charge those prices, they better step up both the quality of food and the dining experience. The fire alarm going off with fire fighters showing up did not help the experience other than offering an amusing period. Not a good experience at all. This was a 35 year Annivesary dinner for us. I will never go back. I will not recommend this establishment to anyone going to Iowa City. If they think this was haute cuisine steak house dining in Iowa, they should get out of Iowa to explore the better dining establishments of the real world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent food, too expensive for everyday

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

I treated my college son to an excellent steak dinner. My fish of the day was outstanding, but at $40 for a smallish piece, it was a splurge. The restaurant is great, nice setting, attentive service so I highly recommend it for a special occasion. I was grateful that my son's roommates decided not to join us!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Engagement dinner

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

I took my now fiancée to Josephs for dinner before taking her to the coffeeshop where we met to propose and the dinner could not have been a better prelude to the evening! Josephs is by far the most classically romantic restaurant in Iowa City and I look forward to coming back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been twice now and both times it ...

vip
 (Iowa)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We have been twice now and both times it was amazing. The food and service is great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good but not anything to actual ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Food was good but not anything to actually rave about. Atmosphere was nice and the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Food

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The food and service were very good, actually, better than expected. The only setback was that the full ala carte menu was a bit pricey, especially for a college town. Even more expensive than some Chicagoland steakhouses. It was good though to get away from the usual pub food in Iowa City and take the kids somewhere to get a quality steak.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Always an excellent choice

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

After visiting for quite a few years the quality and service is still exceptional

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Both my filet and my husband's pork chop ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Both my filet and my husband's pork chop were outstanding and the wine selection very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very nice great food great drinkers very ...

vip
 (Iowa)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Very nice great food great drinkers very quite. Loved the onion rings !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Place for Steaks

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

If you are looking for special occasion dining featuring great steaks and an extensive wine list in Iowa City and can afford a big splurge then Joseph's is your place. I do have a few quibbles, however, which leads me to say now that I've tried Joseph's I will be more likely to go to Blackstone or other less expensive steak places in IC in the future. The rice was a little too spicy for my taste and the wine was over-priced for what it was. The place is noisy also-- not the place for a quiet, romantic date. Dinner was at least 35% more than it would be at other fine steak places in town, although the portions are more generous and the service is great at Joseph's. Interesting choice for a splurge, but in general, not worth the extra expense.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Exceptional

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

High-quality steakhouse in the middle of Iowa City. High price tag, but to be expected in a restaurant of this caliber. I had the ribeye, my wife had the petite filet, both were perfectly prepared. I could probably live off of the loaded hash browns for the rest of my life.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice meal as always at Josephs

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

We had a lovely meal at Josephs. Neither of us were overly hungry that night, so we ordered light. I ordered a steak/shrimp salad, which was light and delicious. My husband ordered a bacon cheeseburger, which was very good as well. I ordered a glass of the Roth Cabernet, which was smooth, full-bodied, and very good. The service was amazing and the ambiance was top notch. The only reason I did not give 5 stars, was because the carrot cake was so so. Usually I dive into carrot cake. It was a three layer cake, with minimal frosting, and was not super moist. For my taste - the more frosting the better! So it didn't get eaten at our table. Otherwise, the restaurant is always a favorite of ours! Check it out. It is a great place to eat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First class in every way

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

A romantic setting for a first class experience. Our steaks were fabulous, the cheescake yummy Our server was quietly efficient and gracious. It is an expensive place but for a special day it can't be topped in Iowa City

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Visiting our daughter at U of Iowa, we had wonderful service and food at Joseph's! Peter was a great knowledgeable waiter, and the steaks were better than we had several weeks earlier at a top Minneapolis steak house. Wine list was fantastic as well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable dining experience

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

If you want an excellent meal - no hurry, no noise, very enjoyable dining experience that is so hard to come by these days - - - go to Joseph's. Get your wallet out - but it is worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

good but not great

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Consistently good but without the snap-crackle-and-pop of a big city steakhouse; OK but not great value but getting out with my family (our college-student sons home on break) was worth it; we ran up the bar bill (fantastic martinis; nice wine selection) but they zeroed out the side dish charges, which was nice. Service was very, very good. $325 for 5 people not including tip but was a very pleasant evening out...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Can't go wrong with this choice. The foo ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

Can't go wrong with this choice. The food was outstanding, had the ribeye which was cooked to perfection. The service was great. I would dine here for any and all occasions!👍🏾👍🏾👍🏾

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Some of the best food in Iowa City

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

Joseph's Steakhouse has great food. Crab cakes--crisp on the outside, creamy on the inside. Delicious. Beef filet was cooked perfectly. The meat chef is a master. Cocktails are first-class.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Not a better choice in Iowa City!

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

We chose Joseph's to celebrate Son and Fiancee's engagement with a great dinner. We were not disappointed and had a wonderful dinner. The wait staff was knowledgeable and attentive (but didn't hover!). The menu had a broad and interesting food and wine selections. Meals were prepared excellently and timing between courses was perfect. Made for a great evening - nice ambience with a popular bar and a dining room that made it easy to have a conversation across the table. We'll keep Joseph's on our list for our next trip to Iowa City.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We always eat at Joseph's when we come t ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

We always eat at Joseph's when we come to town to watch the Hawkeyes play football. The last two times we sat at the bar and really enjoyed it. Our wait person was a delight. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Not bad

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on November 2, 2015

Food was good, but overpriced. Have had better risotto pretty much anywhere else for $27. Some of it was still crunchy from not being done correctly.

Waitress was amazing, friendly, always smiling, and we always had a full beverage.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.