HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today

Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City

4.4
783 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steak
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries (26)
  • Special Occasion (24)
  • Good for a Date (23)
Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City offers the highest quality steak and seafood in a fine dining atmosphere. We serve only vegetarian organically fed Angus beef, our seafood is always fresh. Complement your entree with one of our signature martinis or choose from our extensive collection of fine wines.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steak, Seafood, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(319) 358-0776
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Andrew Kirchner
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
For parties of seven or more, please call 319-358-0776.

Joseph's has two areas that may be partitioned off for private or semi-private parties. We may require a signed contract, with a minimum spending requirement or rental fee.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Rebecca Geissel: (319) 358-0776
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Our sister restaurant, "The Bread Garden Market" offers catering.
(319) 354-4246
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Burlington
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is available at 3 public ramps, each within one block of Joseph's. Additional parking is available on the street.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 783 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4  based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Quiet
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
JohnM (Des Moines)
3.0  Dined on February 12, 2018

It wasn't very busy and it took about 10 minutes for the server to come over. For the amount we paid we expected better service. She seemed very nervous also. There was a big party in the back room, which left it short staffed in the dining area.

Report
Helpful
vipFinicky (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Excellent as usual

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Des Moines)
5.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

One of our faves in Iowa City. The service at the bar could have been better but it was busy. Noah was our server, he was amazing. Super knowledgeable about the menu, personable with a great sense of humor.

Report
Helpful
Ushi (Des Moines)
4.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

My husband and I have made Joseph's the location of our anniversary since 2010 and recently added my birthday as it's the only location in town where I can get a perfectly cooked prime rib.

Report
Helpful
vipDowntownDiner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

Great birthday dinner! Everything was superb!

Report
Helpful
vipDurham (Raleigh)
4.0  Dined on January 31, 2018

We have not always found steak houses to be fine dining, but this place is. We're in Iowa City only 4 times a year, and this was our first try for here. We're Open Table fans for restaurants across the country (only 4 in Iowa City at this point). Anyway, this was excellent dining: seafood bisque, wedge salad, creamed spinach, petit filet mignon, Kansas City Strip Steak, baked potato. Really very fine food. Interesting 20 foot curtains that are semi sheer separate the dining tables, making an interesting separateness of the tables. We will be back next time we're in Iowa City.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
5.0  Dined on January 29, 2018

The Alaskan Salmon was one of the best meals I've ever had. I absolutely love salmon and order it nearly every time I go to a restaurant that has it. This was excellent! The vegetables and rice were very good as well. We also ordered the brussel sprouts with bacon and that too was excellent. The hostess was very nice. Rob, our waiter, was extremely attentive and knowledgeable. Couldn't have had a better experience.

Report
Helpful
vipTimothy (Las Vegas)
5.0  Dined on January 22, 2018

Excellent!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Des Moines)
5.0  Dined on January 19, 2018

It was a wonderful experience for our family. I definitely would go again. You could have one seafood options. I know you are a steakhouse and of course it is the midwest but several more entree seafood options would be great.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on January 12, 2018

Celebration dinner, excellent food, onion rings were outstanding! Loved the whole meal really. Pricy, but felt like we got what we paid for.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Des Moines)
5.0  Dined on January 9, 2018

It was our first time at Joseph’s. We enjoyed our experience and our server was fabulous . It was a great night for my husbands birthday .

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Des Moines)
2.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

We were excited to go to Joseph’s for New Years Eve. We expected the prices, but with it we expect service.my Wife ordered the Grand fillet mignon. First off they could not cook it properly so they had to butterfly it. This kind of seems to defeat the purpose of ordering a grand fillet mignon. My wife also ordered the steak Oscar style. When it was delivered it had no additional dressing on it. It had to be taken back for the lobster and sauce to be added. The waiter did not bring us any bread in fact we had asked for it over halfway through our meal. My drink sat empty for half the meal and when I ordered the second drink it didn’t come till we were almost completely finished. He then off to to comp the last drink. A nice gesture but on a botched $225 meal not such a big move. Overall I can see the appeal of the steakhouse, definitely a beautiful environment, but I certainly would not hire and train to wait staff for a restaurant quite so pricey and especially on a big night.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Des Moines)
5.0  Dined on December 23, 2017

Was there for a date night. Semi-private table with warm and romantic ambiance. Chilean sea bass was perfectly prepared and my husband loved his venison steak. Server was knowledgeable about the food and wine menus and was very friendly. Will be back and would recommend to others for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Des Moines)
4.0  Dined on December 21, 2017

The food was excellent, but several other factors contributed to this being a special occasion of fine dining. Our waitress was especially good, knowledgeable and unobtrusive, obviously very well trained. And the curtains between the tables was a nice touch -- gave you the sensation of private dining. We felt very special. Worth the money.

Report
Helpful
Carnivore (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on December 20, 2017

The food and service were excellent . Also...ten minutes after leaving the restaurant I got a phone call to say that I had double-tipped. I had failed to notice that the bill already had a tip included, and I had added a further tip. Very nice follow up from them (although I am not a fan of having the tip baked into a bill!).

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
53