Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City

Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City offers the highest quality steak and seafood in a fine dining atmosphere. We serve only vegetarian organically fed Angus beef, our seafood is always fresh. Complement your entree with one of our signature martinis or choose from our extensive collection of fine wines.

212 South Clinton Street
Iowa City, IA 52240
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Burlington

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(319) 358-0776

Website:
http://www.josephs-steak.com/

Catering:
Our sister restaurant, "The Bread Garden Market" offers catering.
(319) 354-4246

Parking Details:
Parking is available at 3 public ramps, each within one block of Joseph's. Additional parking is available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Kirchner

Private Party Facilities:
For parties of seven or more, please call 319-358-0776.

Joseph's has two areas that may be partitioned off for private or semi-private parties. We may require a signed contract, with a minimum spending requirement or rental fee.

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Geissel: (319) 358-0776

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Romantic (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Business Meals (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Casual (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Fun (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
744 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was wonderful! This place is known for its beef and it did not disappoint.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We have been coming to Joseph’s for years for a special meal after football games with long time friends. This time it felt like the restaurant was a little off its game. The food as always was very good. We had a large party of 16 and asked to split the check evenly by couple - no special math required. They have always done this in the past for us but said it was too difficult to do. We said we had a birthday and asked for a surprise dessert. Our server went right to the individual and let the cat out of the bag. And last the service was sluggish. I recognize large parties can be a challenge so they probably should have had a second server.

We’ll be back I’m sure but really expect a better experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2017

This place is a must go in Iowa City. The food is excellent, the Ribeye is very tender, and the scallop is super fresh. The environment is great there, good for birthday. The waiter was also great, a very nice and kind guy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 23, 2017

This restaurant was phenomenal! My husband and I took our daughter and her boyfriend here when we visited them on a football weekend. There were many wonderful options on the menu, it was hard to decide what to order. The wait staff was very attentive and quite knowledgeable about all the entrees on the menu. When the food arrived, the presentation was amazing. We loved the curtains that separate the tables, giving us privacy. It was a beautiful and quiet restaurant where you could actually carry on a conversation and hear each other speak. We will definitely be going back here. It wasn't that expensive. No more than any fine dining restaurant worth going to in a bigger city.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

I booked my reservation online and it was very simple. I was greeted at the entrance with a welcome and a smile. I took a seat at the bar and the bartender greeted me in the same manner. After the rest of my dinner party arrived we took our seats and our server Noah greeted in the same manner. Love to see the consistency within Josephs. I had the rib-eye and my business partner had the salmon. Both plates were excellent and I would recommend this to anyone. I have been to Josephs before and had the same great customer experience. If you are in town and looking for a great dining experience for any occasion, this is the place to go.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Very attentive and friendly wait staff. The steak is truly outstanding. Also the chicken marsala. We liked the curtains between tables which provided extra privacy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

My boyfriend and I went for our anniversary, we both got French onion soup which was a little too salty for the both of us. He got the rack of lamb and I got a ribeye, both ordered medium rare and both of our meats were way underdone. I ordered a glass of moscato which was delicious. Because the food service was a little slow we were comped two desserts, which was very kind of them. Our waitress was wonderful and very attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food was done very well. Good selection. Waiter was very good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Loved the service and the food. Very busy and noisy but was a football weekend.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Excellent presentation and steak with accoutrements, side dishes and wine selection for an anniversary dinner. Excellent professional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 31, 2017

It was late so the place was all ours, meaning so was the service. I ordered the chicken Marsala and my husband had the ribeye. We split the loaded hashbrowns. Those were good but nothing very special. Probably wouldn't order them again since I'm actually more of a creamed spinach girl anyway. The space is nice with some privacy for each table and the service was really attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Clean & quiet ambience. Staff was friendly & helpful. Crab Cakes were best I've had in a while. Braised short ribs were done to near perfection. A bit pricey but to be expected for this type of restaurant. Overall, good experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Outstanding service. Food preparation and presentation was excellent overall. Able to accommodate even the most difficult food allergies and sensitivities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Always delicious & excellent service! Iowa city's best!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Joseph's is perhaps one of the best restaurants I have been to. I am from NYC, and am spoiled with quality food/beverages. I have recently visited Iowa twice and have been to Joseph's three times. Their steaks, carpaccio, scallops, chicken Marsala are some of the best food I've had the pleasure of having. Service is impeccable. I must mention that Martin, Peter, and Noah, are phenomenal and so well versed in their jobs. You will not regret it. Worth every penny!! It is my go to place from this point forward.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Took my son back to school and stopped here again. Had Ahi Tuna and the Kale and Spinach salad with a cocktail. Great quality food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Waitress less than capable for a restaurant of this caliber
Food good but not warm enough
Table dark
Honestly
I believe a capable wait staff could have made this a memorable meal
The way it was
It was over priced for the value
This was s very important dinner for us as we had special friends fir a very special occasion and she just dropped the ball at every moment of specialness
Even though I specifically called ahead to say we want the bill
She brought two bills!!!
Disappointed again

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Birthday celebration but our server did not provide a dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Joseph's Steakhouse is a good option for up-market dining in Iowa City. The steak is consistently excellent, although most of the appetizer and dessert options are fairly standard steakhouse fare. The cocktail list is surprisingly good, with some interesting options, and the wine list is decent although dominated by young wines.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great place. Great food and Great friendly an informed service. I thoroughly enjoyed dining here.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We enjoyed our meal and it was quiet enough to carry on a conversation without distraction.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Best part of the meal was the appitizer. Unfortunately, we were let done with everything from that point on. IMO the experience was extremely overpriced and the products seemed of poor quality. I'd save some money and hit up another establishment downtown Iowa City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I must say that the waiter Peter made us have a great culinary experience. All what he suggested was absolutely delicious!! crab cajes, carpaccio, filet mignon......want to go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Reliably great steak (my favorite in Iowa City)

Great bar / mixed drinks

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Peter was an amazing waiter. Top notch !

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 2, 2017

By far the best steak I have ever ordered, it was indescribable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The ambience at Joseph's is quiet and romantic. Our service from Peter was outstanding. Unfortunately the food was very disappointing. The steaks were thin, very fatty, and overcooked. The potatoes and Brussels sprouts were also dry. The chocolate cake was fantastic and the highlight of our meal. This might be a good spot to go just for drinks and a fancy dessert.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The restaurant is beautiful and the staff was very friendly. Noah did a greasy job of making us feel welcome and creating a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great food, great service. The waiter was awesome. Wonderful wine and drink list to choose from. The appetizer was very delicious and recommended by the waiter. He did an excellent job of explaining the menu and making recommendations.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Everything was perfect! The waitstaff was exceptional, the food was amazing and the atmosphere was very elegant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The food was absolutely fabulous, and the restaurant itself is beautiful. Our service started out a bit slow. Drinks were slow in coming and we never did get a bread basket, but after our server had fewer people to take care of, she was excellent. And, the host was wonderful and making scotch recommendations for my husband. Overall, we had a wonderful evening and would most definitely visit again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The best overall restaurant in iowa city well run the employees know there stuff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Everything was great (lovely steak!) except they didn't cook my scallops correctly. They revised it but it was still cold in the middle. The didn't charge me for the scallops and so I was satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I will for sure come back! The best steak I've had in a long time!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Our server was new but extremely polite an attentive, very easy to understand and acknowledged his newness. The food was excellent! Party of 5 on a Friday night at 6:30 PM. Onion ring appetizer was delicious! Grand Filet Mignon, Porterhouse, Salmon, all delicious. We did not have dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 26, 2017

As we are about to leave IC we wanted to go back again to the first place we dined at 10 years ago. Still as great as it was then.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Never been to Iowa city so didn't know what to expect. Quiet Sunday evening. Excellent knowledgeable service. Standard appetizers. Grreat bread. Excellent fish. Not overpriced. Good value. I was alone but would go back with friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server Peter was very personal. We loved our graduation celebration.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service was slow at beginning but, once our order was taken, service was excellent. Meals were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

we had very delicious food. outstanding service. our waitress was very knowledgeable about the wine list. we were not rushed during our meal. we also enjoyed appetizers and desert.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.