Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City

Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City offers the highest quality steak and seafood in a fine dining atmosphere. We serve only vegetarian organically fed Angus beef, our seafood is always fresh. Complement your entree with one of our signature martinis or choose from our extensive collection of fine wines.

212 South Clinton Street
Iowa City, IA 52240
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Burlington

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(319) 358-0776

Website:
http://www.josephs-steak.com/

Catering:
Our sister restaurant, "The Bread Garden Market" offers catering.
(319) 354-4246

Parking Details:
Parking is available at 3 public ramps, each within one block of Joseph's. Additional parking is available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Kirchner

Private Party Facilities:
For parties of seven or more, please call 319-358-0776.

Joseph's has two areas that may be partitioned off for private or semi-private parties. We may require a signed contract, with a minimum spending requirement or rental fee.

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Geissel: (319) 358-0776

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Good for a Date (18)
Romantic (17)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Business Meals (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Cozy (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Authentic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Private Room (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
730 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Joseph's is perhaps one of the best restaurants I have been to. I am from NYC, and am spoiled with quality food/beverages. I have recently visited Iowa twice and have been to Joseph's three times. Their steaks, carpaccio, scallops, chicken Marsala are some of the best food I've had the pleasure of having. Service is impeccable. I must mention that Martin, Peter, and Noah, are phenomenal and so well versed in their jobs. You will not regret it. Worth every penny!! It is my go to place from this point forward.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Took my son back to school and stopped here again. Had Ahi Tuna and the Kale and Spinach salad with a cocktail. Great quality food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Waitress less than capable for a restaurant of this caliber
Food good but not warm enough
Table dark
Honestly
I believe a capable wait staff could have made this a memorable meal
The way it was
It was over priced for the value
This was s very important dinner for us as we had special friends fir a very special occasion and she just dropped the ball at every moment of specialness
Even though I specifically called ahead to say we want the bill
She brought two bills!!!
Disappointed again

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Birthday celebration but our server did not provide a dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Joseph's Steakhouse is a good option for up-market dining in Iowa City. The steak is consistently excellent, although most of the appetizer and dessert options are fairly standard steakhouse fare. The cocktail list is surprisingly good, with some interesting options, and the wine list is decent although dominated by young wines.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great place. Great food and Great friendly an informed service. I thoroughly enjoyed dining here.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We enjoyed our meal and it was quiet enough to carry on a conversation without distraction.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Best part of the meal was the appitizer. Unfortunately, we were let done with everything from that point on. IMO the experience was extremely overpriced and the products seemed of poor quality. I'd save some money and hit up another establishment downtown Iowa City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I must say that the waiter Peter made us have a great culinary experience. All what he suggested was absolutely delicious!! crab cajes, carpaccio, filet mignon......want to go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Reliably great steak (my favorite in Iowa City)

Great bar / mixed drinks

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Peter was an amazing waiter. Top notch !

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 2, 2017

By far the best steak I have ever ordered, it was indescribable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The ambience at Joseph's is quiet and romantic. Our service from Peter was outstanding. Unfortunately the food was very disappointing. The steaks were thin, very fatty, and overcooked. The potatoes and Brussels sprouts were also dry. The chocolate cake was fantastic and the highlight of our meal. This might be a good spot to go just for drinks and a fancy dessert.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The restaurant is beautiful and the staff was very friendly. Noah did a greasy job of making us feel welcome and creating a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great food, great service. The waiter was awesome. Wonderful wine and drink list to choose from. The appetizer was very delicious and recommended by the waiter. He did an excellent job of explaining the menu and making recommendations.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Everything was perfect! The waitstaff was exceptional, the food was amazing and the atmosphere was very elegant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The food was absolutely fabulous, and the restaurant itself is beautiful. Our service started out a bit slow. Drinks were slow in coming and we never did get a bread basket, but after our server had fewer people to take care of, she was excellent. And, the host was wonderful and making scotch recommendations for my husband. Overall, we had a wonderful evening and would most definitely visit again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The best overall restaurant in iowa city well run the employees know there stuff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Everything was great (lovely steak!) except they didn't cook my scallops correctly. They revised it but it was still cold in the middle. The didn't charge me for the scallops and so I was satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I will for sure come back! The best steak I've had in a long time!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Our server was new but extremely polite an attentive, very easy to understand and acknowledged his newness. The food was excellent! Party of 5 on a Friday night at 6:30 PM. Onion ring appetizer was delicious! Grand Filet Mignon, Porterhouse, Salmon, all delicious. We did not have dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 26, 2017

As we are about to leave IC we wanted to go back again to the first place we dined at 10 years ago. Still as great as it was then.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Never been to Iowa city so didn't know what to expect. Quiet Sunday evening. Excellent knowledgeable service. Standard appetizers. Grreat bread. Excellent fish. Not overpriced. Good value. I was alone but would go back with friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server Peter was very personal. We loved our graduation celebration.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service was slow at beginning but, once our order was taken, service was excellent. Meals were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

we had very delicious food. outstanding service. our waitress was very knowledgeable about the wine list. we were not rushed during our meal. we also enjoyed appetizers and desert.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We went at noon for my sons graduation day. The food was excellent, atmosphere was nice, and service was exceptional. I would highly recommend this restaurant. Pricey but worth it!

Tags: Disabled Access, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

If you are looking for a nice restaurant in Iowa City, Joseph's is it. It is a steakhouse but they have a variety on the menu. Good bar and good menu. Service was good. As far as steakhouses go, good value for your money.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Joseph's was Fantastic! Excellent service, atmosphere and food!! It felt like we were at a classy steak house in Chicago! Who knew you could get this great of a dining experience in a college town ! 😊 Would definitely go back and recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I had an excellent experience at Joseph's. The food was excellent, the waitress was excellent, the atmosphere was excellent. I went there with my sister for a celebration and was very satisfied with the menu and drink selection. The Oatmeal Pie and Grasshopper cocktail are noteworthy desserts.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Yosemite)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Joseph's was a pleasant surprise. Not only did we have great food we had the best service ever! Peter was very attentive to our needs and fulfilled all of our requests. The French Onion soup was amazing and the Lobster Mac and Cheese was excellent. So glad we found Joseph's on Open Table while visiting Iowa City for a night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Had a great date for boyfriends birthday. Food was amazing and we had wonderful service from Martin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Late arrival and crazy week.... dropped into Joseph's and found the best steak and hash browns... strong service and great bar man!!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 1, 2017

It wasnt as i expected. It doesnt seem like someone read the note i left when i reserved. It was my husbands 40th bthday, i wanted a special table and maybe a special dessert to make him feel special. The waiter didnt even know what we were celebrating and didnt offer anything beyond expectations and we had a regular table as if we needed no reservation.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The service and the food were both excellent. We'll definitely be back when we're in town again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Our lobster tails were paper thin and stringy. Our waiter did not disclose our salads were an upgrade and did not offer the choice of soup or salad to one in our party after he ordered a bake potato. Leaving all of us w the impression that it would be in replace of the soup or salad. I had given advance notice on bday guest. Waiter brings a dinky candle on a saucer! Wow. That's not classy. We were looking for fine dining. My husband is terminally ill and we were celebrating his 70th bday. It was a struggle to get him out for a dining experience and we were left wanting so much more. Our friends felt the same. We did not complain while we were there as we did not want to disrupt the other guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The reservation time was honored-no waiting! The food was reasonably priced and very good. It was on the quiet side but was fine for our group. Service was excellent and pleasant. I did not care for the margarita I ordered. It was a little bitter tasting and seemed strong. I would recommend this restaurant to my friends.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The entrees (at least the four I have had) are simply excellent and elegantly presented. The service is very good as is the ambience. One of the two best restaurants in Iowa City!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We had a wonderful Birthday meal. Our waitress was excellent and the food was perfectly prepared. We have a lot of picky eaters, yet everyone's meal was prepared as ordered. Not an easy task.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The team at Joseph's was outstanding. I wanted to ensure that I had flowers on the table when we were seated and the Manager Christian met me before they opened so they would there. The wait staff were wonderful. 100% recommend for a romantic getaway.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.