About Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City

212 South Clinton Street
Iowa City, IA 52240
View Larger Map

Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City offers the highest quality steak and seafood in a luxurious atmosphere. We serve only vegetarian organically fed Angus beef, our seafood is always fresh. Complement your entree with one of our signature martinis or choose from our extensive collection of fine wines.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Late Night Bar: Saturday and Sunday Open Until 12:30am

Cross Street:
Burlington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(319) 358-0776

Website:
http://www.josephssteak.com/

Catering:
Our sister restaurant, "The Bread Garden" offers catering.
(319)354-4246

Parking Details:
Parking is available at 3 public ramps, each within one block of Joseph's. Additional parking is available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Isaac Onofre

Private Party Facilities:
Our restaurant has 2 areas that may be partitioned off for private or semi-private parties. There is no rental fee but we may require a signed contract, and a minimum spending requirement or deposit may apply.

Private Party Contact:
Nikki Hill: 3193580776x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Iowa
Best Service
Iowa
Best Ambiance
Iowa
3 More
Romantic
Iowa
Steak
Iowa
Most Booked
Iowa City
Best Restaurants in Iowa City ›

special occasion (39)
romantic (25)
fit for foodies (15)
See All
notable wine list (15)
good for groups (8)
neighborhood gem (7)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
579 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graduation cebration

Dined on May 15, 2016

Joseph's was a great place to go for celebrating. It took a bit to get seated (we had a reservation) but they gave us the first round of drinks so no complaints! The food was delicious and worth the wait. A bit crowded but all in all I would go back.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

We were looking forward to a wonderful g ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We were looking forward to a wonderful graduation celebration after the University of Iowa commencement. We booked our reservations at Joseph's over a year ago. The restaurant called us a week ahead and TOLD us to be on time and we only had 1 1/2 hours to dine because there would be a party after us. We understood and arrived on time where we were told there would be a 15 minute wait but we could get drinks and appetizers at the bar while we waited. OUR WAIT TURNED INTO 45 MINUTES, WHAT HAPPENED TO GETTING THE PARTIES OUT ON TIME?? We were extremely disappointed in the service and felt we had been lied to. We also heard a party say they knew the management and we feel they were put ahead of us. We noticed the hostesses bussing tables, and running around. Our waiter had 4 tables in the back, where 3 were seated at the same time. Our time at Joseph's was not what we expected and we will not be going back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were excellent! Noah, o ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Food and service were excellent! Noah, our waiter, could not have been more attentive even though it was an extremely busy night.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Staff was friendly and food was good Goo ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Staff was friendly and food was good Good wine list

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the best meals I've had ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

This was one of the best meals I've had for sure it made my top 10 list. The food was cooked perfectly I had no problem with it at all the time getting the food out was quick and the waiters and waitress seemed very friendly and nice people definitely my new favorite spot to go to

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a find

Dined on May 7, 2016

Recommended by a friend during our visit to Iowa city. We are steakhouse lovers and Joseph's was honestly one of the best we have ever been to. Each table is curtained off a clever design that adds privacy. The best Bourbon old fashioned I have ever had. Dinner was perfect. The staff VERY well trained and the wine list had some great vintages at very reasonable prices. I highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

First time and had a great experience

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Been to IC about a half dozen times and have found a great variety of restaurants of high quality. Joseph's has been on the list to try and we had a chance this trip. Had a very nice experience with great food and service. Joseph's is one of the more or most expensive restaurants in IC. Would I pick it for a celebration? Absolutely and I plan to return.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I can't, it was bad for a steak house.

Dined on April 29, 2016

A prime steak at 40 dollars ala carte should match at least, Mortons, Ruth Chris, Chicago Chop House. It did not. My steak was thin and very rough for a RibEye. While cooked to medium rare a steak house ribeye should be 1-1/2" thick to 2" thick and choice or prime. Theirs was not at all at 3/4". I can do better from the grocery store at my home for quality steaks. I felt robbed by the prices and quality of this whole dining experience. If they are going to charge those prices, they better step up both the quality of food and the dining experience. The fire alarm going off with fire fighters showing up did not help the experience other than offering an amusing period. Not a good experience at all. This was a 35 year Annivesary dinner for us. I will never go back. I will not recommend this establishment to anyone going to Iowa City. If they think this was haute cuisine steak house dining in Iowa, they should get out of Iowa to explore the better dining establishments of the real world.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food, too expensive for everyday

Dined on April 29, 2016

I treated my college son to an excellent steak dinner. My fish of the day was outstanding, but at $40 for a smallish piece, it was a splurge. The restaurant is great, nice setting, attentive service so I highly recommend it for a special occasion. I was grateful that my son's roommates decided not to join us!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Engagement dinner

Dined on April 26, 2016

I took my now fiancée to Josephs for dinner before taking her to the coffeeshop where we met to propose and the dinner could not have been a better prelude to the evening! Josephs is by far the most classically romantic restaurant in Iowa City and I look forward to coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been twice now and both times it ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

We have been twice now and both times it was amazing. The food and service is great!!

food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Great Food

Dined on April 17, 2016

The food and service were very good, actually, better than expected. The only setback was that the full ala carte menu was a bit pricey, especially for a college town. Even more expensive than some Chicagoland steakhouses. It was good though to get away from the usual pub food in Iowa City and take the kids somewhere to get a quality steak.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always an excellent choice

Dined on April 9, 2016

After visiting for quite a few years the quality and service is still exceptional

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Both my filet and my husband's pork chop ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Both my filet and my husband's pork chop were outstanding and the wine selection very good.

food5
ambience5
service4

Very nice great food great drinkers very ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Very nice great food great drinkers very quite. Loved the onion rings !!

food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Great Place for Steaks

Dined on March 27, 2016

If you are looking for special occasion dining featuring great steaks and an extensive wine list in Iowa City and can afford a big splurge then Joseph's is your place. I do have a few quibbles, however, which leads me to say now that I've tried Joseph's I will be more likely to go to Blackstone or other less expensive steak places in IC in the future. The rice was a little too spicy for my taste and the wine was over-priced for what it was. The place is noisy also-- not the place for a quiet, romantic date. Dinner was at least 35% more than it would be at other fine steak places in town, although the portions are more generous and the service is great at Joseph's. Interesting choice for a splurge, but in general, not worth the extra expense.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional

Dined on March 18, 2016

High-quality steakhouse in the middle of Iowa City. High price tag, but to be expected in a restaurant of this caliber. I had the ribeye, my wife had the petite filet, both were perfectly prepared. I could probably live off of the loaded hash browns for the rest of my life.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice meal as always at Josephs

Dined on February 26, 2016

We had a lovely meal at Josephs. Neither of us were overly hungry that night, so we ordered light. I ordered a steak/shrimp salad, which was light and delicious. My husband ordered a bacon cheeseburger, which was very good as well. I ordered a glass of the Roth Cabernet, which was smooth, full-bodied, and very good. The service was amazing and the ambiance was top notch. The only reason I did not give 5 stars, was because the carrot cake was so so. Usually I dive into carrot cake. It was a three layer cake, with minimal frosting, and was not super moist. For my taste - the more frosting the better! So it didn't get eaten at our table. Otherwise, the restaurant is always a favorite of ours! Check it out. It is a great place to eat!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First class in every way

Dined on February 21, 2016

A romantic setting for a first class experience. Our steaks were fabulous, the cheescake yummy Our server was quietly efficient and gracious. It is an expensive place but for a special day it can't be topped in Iowa City

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Visiting our daughter at U of Iowa, we had wonderful service and food at Joseph's! Peter was a great knowledgeable waiter, and the steaks were better than we had several weeks earlier at a top Minneapolis steak house. Wine list was fantastic as well!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoyable dining experience

Dined on February 15, 2016

If you want an excellent meal - no hurry, no noise, very enjoyable dining experience that is so hard to come by these days - - - go to Joseph's. Get your wallet out - but it is worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

good but not great

Dined on December 31, 2015

Consistently good but without the snap-crackle-and-pop of a big city steakhouse; OK but not great value but getting out with my family (our college-student sons home on break) was worth it; we ran up the bar bill (fantastic martinis; nice wine selection) but they zeroed out the side dish charges, which was nice. Service was very, very good. $325 for 5 people not including tip but was a very pleasant evening out...

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't go wrong with this choice. The foo ...

vip
Dined on December 17, 2015

Can't go wrong with this choice. The food was outstanding, had the ribeye which was cooked to perfection. The service was great. I would dine here for any and all occasions!👍🏾👍🏾👍🏾

food4
ambience3
service4

Some of the best food in Iowa City

Dined on December 12, 2015

Joseph's Steakhouse has great food. Crab cakes--crisp on the outside, creamy on the inside. Delicious. Beef filet was cooked perfectly. The meat chef is a master. Cocktails are first-class.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Not a better choice in Iowa City!

vip
Dined on November 14, 2015

We chose Joseph's to celebrate Son and Fiancee's engagement with a great dinner. We were not disappointed and had a wonderful dinner. The wait staff was knowledgeable and attentive (but didn't hover!). The menu had a broad and interesting food and wine selections. Meals were prepared excellently and timing between courses was perfect. Made for a great evening - nice ambience with a popular bar and a dining room that made it easy to have a conversation across the table. We'll keep Joseph's on our list for our next trip to Iowa City.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

We always eat at Joseph's when we come t ...

Dined on November 14, 2015

We always eat at Joseph's when we come to town to watch the Hawkeyes play football. The last two times we sat at the bar and really enjoyed it. Our wait person was a delight. We will be back.

food3
ambience5
service5

Not bad

Dined on November 2, 2015

Food was good, but overpriced. Have had better risotto pretty much anywhere else for $27. Some of it was still crunchy from not being done correctly. Waitress was amazing, friendly, always smiling, and we always had a full beverage.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Our favorite Iowa City restaurant

Dined on October 31, 2015

When visiting Iowa City, we never miss the opportunity to visit Joseph's! It is definitely a gem in this great college town. We love the dry-aged steaks and all of the seafood. This weekend, we enjoyed a 22 ounce bone-in ribeye, a petite filet Oscar-style, and sea bass. The steaks are cooked perfectly to temperature. Try the loaded hash browns and don't forget to open with a delicious Caesar salad, lobster bisque or French onion soup. You can tell that we have a lot of favorites at Joseph's. The service is always attentive and well-educated in the selections. The wine and drink menus are exceptional also. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. I highly rec ...

Dined on October 25, 2015

Excellent food and service. I highly recommend Joseph's Steakhouse.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Experience

Dined on October 23, 2015

We were visiting from Dallas and San Diego. Josephs was recommended by a local. We were very impressed with the sea bass and steak. Great 5 star service as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

First time diners

Dined on October 22, 2015

This was a very pleasurable dining experience . Our server was knowledgable, friendly, and attentive. The lobster tail was succulent and the NY strip steak very favorable although slightly too well done. I take responsibility for that as I ordered it incorrectly. There are several sides to choose from to accompany an impressive selection of main entrees. There is also a good choice of sandwiches and salads for the lighter appetite. The decor and ambiance lends itself to the intimate feel that fine dining should exhibit. We are looking forward to a return visit soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Perfect dinner on a football weekend

vip
Dined on October 9, 2015

This was our first dining experience at Joseph's and being able to make reservations at a white table cloth resturant in a college town on football weekend was a real plus. Our server was attentive and was present at the right times for additional beverages, bread and water. The food (steaks of course) was excellent - filets and strips were perfectly served at the temperature requested. So nice ! We left some room for dessert and shared the chocolate cake and cheesecake - both were moist and very rich in flavor. We will definitely be returning.

food5
ambience5
service5

A great find in Iowa City!

vip
Dined on October 9, 2015

In Iowa City for the first time for Iowa Football weekend. Great food, nice, City location. Parking garage across the street. Our Fish selections were fresh & well prepared. Attentive service! Highly recommend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service3

Not up to Par

vip
Dined on September 12, 2015

Usually Josephs is top notch but they were off their game this time. All things were made right food wise. This next comment is something out of their control.....there was a child of about 4 eating at a table next to us.....eating as much as a child of 4 sits and eats...which is not much. Rather than having a romantic dinner, we felt as if we were at Chucky Cheese. What were his parents thinking.

food5
ambience5
service5

Upscale Downtown Gem

vip
Dined on September 12, 2015

Arriving from Texas our evening was filled with with impeccable service, a superb steak and favorite wine. The potatoes are a must have and request Erin as your server.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent steak

Dined on September 4, 2015

Very good service and food. First class restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Iowa City's Fine Dining Experience

Dined on August 18, 2015

This was the perfect place for our anniversary dinner. We had heard good things about Joseph's and some of the reviews we read were in keeping with what we heard, but some were not all that good. Most of the bad reviews were concerning the prices. However, the prices are not out of line with what you have to pay in upscale steak houses in larger cities for a fine dining experience. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal, service and atmosphere!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great service, great food

Dined on July 30, 2015

Great service, great food

food4
ambience4
service5

Overall good

Dined on July 10, 2015

Drinks, food, atmosphere and server were good overall. A very large noisy group came in towards the end of our meal and ruined the end of our meal due to noise and distractions. My prime rib was good, but I've had better and I was hoping it would be slightly better. My wife had the seared tuna which was ok to very good depending on which piece you had and what was available to complement it. Our appetizers were very good and the seafood bisque soup was excellent. We tried some of the house martinis, one we liked, the other we didn't. We ended with creme brulee which was good, but part of it had a house strawberry syrup or something but we didn't care for that. Our server was polite and pleasant. For an evening that was very special we were hoping for slightly better results.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVED IT !!

Dined on July 6, 2015

We went for our Silver Anniversary and we loved it. The atmosphere was quiet for a romantic dinner. The service was top notch. The steaks were perfect. I had the Grand Filet and my wife had the Ribeye. Don't miss out on the Loaded Hash Browns, they were incredible !! We had a memorable experience. I worked for many years as a Maitre D' in Denver, Co. at Steakhouses and French Restaurants. Joseph's is EXCELLENT !! It is a bit pricey but you definitely get your money's worth. I HIGHLY recommend Joseph's !!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.