Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City

Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City offers the highest quality steak and seafood in a fine dining atmosphere. We serve only vegetarian organically fed Angus beef, our seafood is always fresh. Complement your entree with one of our signature martinis or choose from our extensive collection of fine wines.

212 South Clinton Street
Iowa City, IA 52240
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Burlington

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(319) 358-0776

Website:
http://www.josephs-steak.com/

Catering:
Our sister restaurant, "The Bread Garden Market" offers catering.
(319) 354-4246

Parking Details:
Parking is available at 3 public ramps, each within one block of Joseph's. Additional parking is available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Kirchner

Private Party Facilities:
For parties of seven or more, please call 319-358-0776.

Joseph's has two areas that may be partitioned off for private or semi-private parties. We may require a signed contract, with a minimum spending requirement or rental fee.

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Geissel: (319) 358-0776

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Special Occasion (19)
Romantic (17)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Business Meals (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Cozy (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Fun (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Private Room (2)
Authentic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
713 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was absolutely fabulous, and the restaurant itself is beautiful. Our service started out a bit slow. Drinks were slow in coming and we never did get a bread basket, but after our server had fewer people to take care of, she was excellent. And, the host was wonderful and making scotch recommendations for my husband. Overall, we had a wonderful evening and would most definitely visit again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

The best overall restaurant in iowa city well run the employees know there stuff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Everything was great (lovely steak!) except they didn't cook my scallops correctly. They revised it but it was still cold in the middle. The didn't charge me for the scallops and so I was satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 29, 2017

I will for sure come back! The best steak I've had in a long time!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 26, 2017

As we are about to leave IC we wanted to go back again to the first place we dined at 10 years ago. Still as great as it was then.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Our server was new but extremely polite an attentive, very easy to understand and acknowledged his newness. The food was excellent! Party of 5 on a Friday night at 6:30 PM. Onion ring appetizer was delicious! Grand Filet Mignon, Porterhouse, Salmon, all delicious. We did not have dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Never been to Iowa city so didn't know what to expect. Quiet Sunday evening. Excellent knowledgeable service. Standard appetizers. Grreat bread. Excellent fish. Not overpriced. Good value. I was alone but would go back with friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was slow at beginning but, once our order was taken, service was excellent. Meals were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

we had very delicious food. outstanding service. our waitress was very knowledgeable about the wine list. we were not rushed during our meal. we also enjoyed appetizers and desert.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We went at noon for my sons graduation day. The food was excellent, atmosphere was nice, and service was exceptional. I would highly recommend this restaurant. Pricey but worth it!

Tags: Disabled Access, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

If you are looking for a nice restaurant in Iowa City, Joseph's is it. It is a steakhouse but they have a variety on the menu. Good bar and good menu. Service was good. As far as steakhouses go, good value for your money.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Joseph's was Fantastic! Excellent service, atmosphere and food!! It felt like we were at a classy steak house in Chicago! Who knew you could get this great of a dining experience in a college town ! 😊 Would definitely go back and recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I had an excellent experience at Joseph's. The food was excellent, the waitress was excellent, the atmosphere was excellent. I went there with my sister for a celebration and was very satisfied with the menu and drink selection. The Oatmeal Pie and Grasshopper cocktail are noteworthy desserts.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Yosemite)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Joseph's was a pleasant surprise. Not only did we have great food we had the best service ever! Peter was very attentive to our needs and fulfilled all of our requests. The French Onion soup was amazing and the Lobster Mac and Cheese was excellent. So glad we found Joseph's on Open Table while visiting Iowa City for a night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Had a great date for boyfriends birthday. Food was amazing and we had wonderful service from Martin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Late arrival and crazy week.... dropped into Joseph's and found the best steak and hash browns... strong service and great bar man!!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 2, 2017

It wasnt as i expected. It doesnt seem like someone read the note i left when i reserved. It was my husbands 40th bthday, i wanted a special table and maybe a special dessert to make him feel special. The waiter didnt even know what we were celebrating and didnt offer anything beyond expectations and we had a regular table as if we needed no reservation.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The service and the food were both excellent. We'll definitely be back when we're in town again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Our lobster tails were paper thin and stringy. Our waiter did not disclose our salads were an upgrade and did not offer the choice of soup or salad to one in our party after he ordered a bake potato. Leaving all of us w the impression that it would be in replace of the soup or salad. I had given advance notice on bday guest. Waiter brings a dinky candle on a saucer! Wow. That's not classy. We were looking for fine dining. My husband is terminally ill and we were celebrating his 70th bday. It was a struggle to get him out for a dining experience and we were left wanting so much more. Our friends felt the same. We did not complain while we were there as we did not want to disrupt the other guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The reservation time was honored-no waiting! The food was reasonably priced and very good. It was on the quiet side but was fine for our group. Service was excellent and pleasant. I did not care for the margarita I ordered. It was a little bitter tasting and seemed strong. I would recommend this restaurant to my friends.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The entrees (at least the four I have had) are simply excellent and elegantly presented. The service is very good as is the ambience. One of the two best restaurants in Iowa City!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We had a wonderful Birthday meal. Our waitress was excellent and the food was perfectly prepared. We have a lot of picky eaters, yet everyone's meal was prepared as ordered. Not an easy task.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The team at Joseph's was outstanding. I wanted to ensure that I had flowers on the table when we were seated and the Manager Christian met me before they opened so they would there. The wait staff were wonderful. 100% recommend for a romantic getaway.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My filet, which I ordered medium rare, came out as medium; however, it was so tasty I could not complain. An excellent cut of meat. Be sure to try the Boursin potatoes as a side dish. And while I personally like and enjoy Brussels sprouts, the saved sprouts lose something in the translation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner, celebrating my wife's birthday. Joseph's is a restaurant we can count on for outstanding service, food, wine and cocktails. For a change I had the braised short ribs; they were delicious and falling off the bone. Another successful dinner.

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Food was great and our waitress Kelly was outstanding. A most enjoyable evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was fantastic and the ambiance was relaxing and warm. However, for how expensive the menu is, the portion sizes are relatively small. The food quality is definitely worth the money for a special occasion though!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Fantastic steak and service. I rarely order steak at restaurants as my family raises Angus on their farm. However, the 16 oz. ribeye was awesome. The waiter was professional and knowledgable. You get what you pay for.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 10, 2017

First visit. We had a great experience and will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We had a great dinner. The steaks were wonderful, along with the service and wine. We would definitely recommend Joseph's Steakhouse to other people. We live in NYC, and found Joseph's to be as good or better than any restaurant in New York. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food and environment! Quiet romantic atmosphere as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The quality of the food and service was no where near Morton's Steakhouse. If I am paying Morton's prices, I would like Morton's quality.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Visited Joseph's for our anniversary. Our server was very attentive and the food was excellent. I had the chopped salad and my spouse had the french onion soup, the best ever. The scallops were exceptional and the ribeye delicious. Very nice restaurant and one of our favorites in Iowa City.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Although the food was ok, it was too loud and we couldn't hear each other talk. We had a large party next to us and a party of 2 on the other side. It had the right atmosphere but way too loud. Also, the waiter was too much of a salesman and my guests were put off by it. He kept trying to upsell.

My filet was ok, but I have had tastier filets at other steakhouses for less price. We ordered two sides to share. The mashed potatoes lacked flavor but the spinach and mushroom was very tasty however too loaded in butter.

We also ordered dessert, the creme brulee sampler. The mocha was very good and flavorful but the raspberry was too tart. Also the sugar crust was barely there.

I loved the decor and unassuming entrance. You could easily miss it. It was ok but we will try other steakhouses before heading back to Joseph's

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Our waiter knew the menu very well, he helped us try new things we normally wouldn't of tried. Very pleased.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Absolutely amazing!! One of the best restaurants I've ever been too!!💙

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I took my girlfriend here and we were instantly impressed with the quality and class of the place. The prices are a bit high but the food is excellent. We found a hair in the bread but other than that we were extremely pleased with the place.

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I got the chicken marsala and the chicken was still Pink in the middle. I find this highly unexcepable. Unfortunately, it completely turned me away from coming back seeing as I am pregnant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The New York Strip steak was outstanding. My only issue was for the price another side (potato?) should be included, not just a side salad. Besides that a great place and we'll be going there again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our Waiter Christian , was amazing. The food, the ambiance and the music made the nite special. This is our go to spot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.