Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City

Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City offers the highest quality steak and seafood in a luxurious atmosphere. We serve only vegetarian organically fed Angus beef, our seafood is always fresh. Complement your entree with one of our signature martinis or choose from our extensive collection of fine wines.

212 South Clinton Street
Iowa City, IA 52240
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,; Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Late Night Bar: Saturday and Sunday Open Until 12:30am

Cross Street:
Burlington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(319) 358-0776

Website:
http://www.josephs-steak.com/

Catering:
Our sister restaurant, "The Bread Garden" offers catering.
(319)354-4246

Parking Details:
Parking is available at 3 public ramps, each within one block of Joseph's. Additional parking is available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Isaac Onofre

Private Party Facilities:
Our restaurant has 2 areas that may be partitioned off for private or semi-private parties. There is no rental fee but we may require a signed contract, and a minimum spending requirement or deposit may apply.

Private Party Contact:
Nikki Hill: (319) 358-0776

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Romantic (18)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Cozy (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Business Meals (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Private Room (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Authentic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fun (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
688 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was great and our waitress Kelly was outstanding. A most enjoyable evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was fantastic and the ambiance was relaxing and warm. However, for how expensive the menu is, the portion sizes are relatively small. The food quality is definitely worth the money for a special occasion though!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Fantastic steak and service. I rarely order steak at restaurants as my family raises Angus on their farm. However, the 16 oz. ribeye was awesome. The waiter was professional and knowledgable. You get what you pay for.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 10, 2017

First visit. We had a great experience and will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We had a great dinner. The steaks were wonderful, along with the service and wine. We would definitely recommend Joseph's Steakhouse to other people. We live in NYC, and found Joseph's to be as good or better than any restaurant in New York. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food and environment! Quiet romantic atmosphere as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The quality of the food and service was no where near Morton's Steakhouse. If I am paying Morton's prices, I would like Morton's quality.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Visited Joseph's for our anniversary. Our server was very attentive and the food was excellent. I had the chopped salad and my spouse had the french onion soup, the best ever. The scallops were exceptional and the ribeye delicious. Very nice restaurant and one of our favorites in Iowa City.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Although the food was ok, it was too loud and we couldn't hear each other talk. We had a large party next to us and a party of 2 on the other side. It had the right atmosphere but way too loud. Also, the waiter was too much of a salesman and my guests were put off by it. He kept trying to upsell.

My filet was ok, but I have had tastier filets at other steakhouses for less price. We ordered two sides to share. The mashed potatoes lacked flavor but the spinach and mushroom was very tasty however too loaded in butter.

We also ordered dessert, the creme brulee sampler. The mocha was very good and flavorful but the raspberry was too tart. Also the sugar crust was barely there.

I loved the decor and unassuming entrance. You could easily miss it. It was ok but we will try other steakhouses before heading back to Joseph's

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Our waiter knew the menu very well, he helped us try new things we normally wouldn't of tried. Very pleased.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Absolutely amazing!! One of the best restaurants I've ever been too!!💙

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I took my girlfriend here and we were instantly impressed with the quality and class of the place. The prices are a bit high but the food is excellent. We found a hair in the bread but other than that we were extremely pleased with the place.

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I got the chicken marsala and the chicken was still Pink in the middle. I find this highly unexcepable. Unfortunately, it completely turned me away from coming back seeing as I am pregnant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The New York Strip steak was outstanding. My only issue was for the price another side (potato?) should be included, not just a side salad. Besides that a great place and we'll be going there again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our Waiter Christian , was amazing. The food, the ambiance and the music made the nite special. This is our go to spot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service excellent! My steak was over cooked and for the price, it should have been spot-on. Dessert was amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Everything was top notch. Probably the best steak I've had in the area. Our waiter was very knowledgeable friendly. Great place that we will go back to many more times.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was terrible and the service was lacking. We were disappointed with every bit of the of the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent service, food and ambiance. Highly recommend .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Whenever we visit Iowa City we are sure to go to Josephs. Excellent steaks, the best seafood bisque we've had and outstanding service. The only downside on this trip were that the pre-dinner old fashions were missing the bourbon cherry/burnt orange peel garnish. Maybe the bartender was new?

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Birthday for friend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Joseph's always delivers with creative and mouthwatering plates. I love the food (and drink selection!) so much that it will always be my go-to for a quality dining experience. Great staff and elegantly subdued ambiance.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We found it online. A great, surprisingly good and reasonably priced. Great setting; not too heavy and just the right touch. A restaurant we would drive to. Steaks were really good and they accommodated my temperature perfectly. Diverse menu offered up everything we wanted. Highly recommended.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was our third time, and like the first two times the drinks, soup and salad, appetizer where great. The steak not so well for $40. You will get a better quality and flavor on Texas Roadhouse for 1/2 the price.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great atmosphere and great service. I didn't really think much of the food, I have been to less refined restaurants that give you better food at a lower cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Overpriced...for the just " ok " food....nothing outstanding and would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amazing as always. Still my favorite spot in Iowa City!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

As usual the food is excellent. We have never had a bad meal at this wonderful steakhouse. The staff and service are very professional and friendly. Best steakhouse in Iowa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always great! Family favorite for special occasions

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great food and atmosphere as always! Waitstaff is always professional. We love Joseph's and treat ourselves at least twice a year!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our meat was very undercooked. We ordered medium and our steak came out purple it was so rare. I am sure if we would have said something they would have corrected it, but my boyfriend wasn't feeling well and I feel like if your paying $50 for a steak it should be made right the first time!!!

Otherwise everything was pretty good, took desserts home...not that impressed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent evening as always - Joseph's is one of my favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great food, excellent quick service, and a reasonable price!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Outstanding service! Disappointing ribeye. Second time in a row steak has been below average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Nice place, food was excellent, but very expensive for what you get.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Avoid the large filet - was significantly under cooked, requested medium, was medium rare at best. Get the strip instead. Slow and sloppy kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Erika as our server was most excellent. All of the food was exquisite, as were the cocktails. Everything was top-notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent food and service. We were in town for the weekend visiting our freshman son and wanted to take him out for a nice meal at a nice restaurant and this place really hit the spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 5, 2016

There is some amazing beef available in Iowa. But for that price, I honestly expected more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We were in Iowa for the football game. Glad we found this steakhouse. The BEST Brandy Old Fashion's we've had. Food and service were very good also. thought the prices were on the high side as everything is a la carte.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.