About Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City

212 South Clinton Street
Iowa City, IA 52240
View Larger Map

Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City offers the highest quality steak and seafood in a luxurious atmosphere. We serve only vegetarian organically fed Angus beef, our seafood is always fresh. Complement your entree with one of our signature martinis or choose from our extensive collection of fine wines.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,; Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Late Night Bar: Saturday and Sunday Open Until 12:30am

Cross Street:
Burlington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(319) 358-0776

Website:
http://www.josephs-steak.com/

Catering:
Our sister restaurant, "The Bread Garden" offers catering.
(319)354-4246

Parking Details:
Parking is available at 3 public ramps, each within one block of Joseph's. Additional parking is available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Isaac Onofre

Private Party Facilities:
Our restaurant has 2 areas that may be partitioned off for private or semi-private parties. There is no rental fee but we may require a signed contract, and a minimum spending requirement or deposit may apply.

Private Party Contact:
Nikki Hill: (319) 358-0776

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Good for a Date (16)
See All
Romantic (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Cozy (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Business Meals (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Private Room (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Historic (1)
Authentic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Healthy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
678 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Absolutely amazing!! One of the best restaurants I've ever been too!!đź’™

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Our waiter knew the menu very well, he helped us try new things we normally wouldn't of tried. Very pleased.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I took my girlfriend here and we were instantly impressed with the quality and class of the place. The prices are a bit high but the food is excellent. We found a hair in the bread but other than that we were extremely pleased with the place.

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I got the chicken marsala and the chicken was still Pink in the middle. I find this highly unexcepable. Unfortunately, it completely turned me away from coming back seeing as I am pregnant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The New York Strip steak was outstanding. My only issue was for the price another side (potato?) should be included, not just a side salad. Besides that a great place and we'll be going there again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our Waiter Christian , was amazing. The food, the ambiance and the music made the nite special. This is our go to spot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service excellent! My steak was over cooked and for the price, it should have been spot-on. Dessert was amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Everything was top notch. Probably the best steak I've had in the area. Our waiter was very knowledgeable friendly. Great place that we will go back to many more times.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was terrible and the service was lacking. We were disappointed with every bit of the of the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent service, food and ambiance. Highly recommend .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Whenever we visit Iowa City we are sure to go to Josephs. Excellent steaks, the best seafood bisque we've had and outstanding service. The only downside on this trip were that the pre-dinner old fashions were missing the bourbon cherry/burnt orange peel garnish. Maybe the bartender was new?

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Birthday for friend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Joseph's always delivers with creative and mouthwatering plates. I love the food (and drink selection!) so much that it will always be my go-to for a quality dining experience. Great staff and elegantly subdued ambiance.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We found it online. A great, surprisingly good and reasonably priced. Great setting; not too heavy and just the right touch. A restaurant we would drive to. Steaks were really good and they accommodated my temperature perfectly. Diverse menu offered up everything we wanted. Highly recommended.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was our third time, and like the first two times the drinks, soup and salad, appetizer where great. The steak not so well for $40. You will get a better quality and flavor on Texas Roadhouse for 1/2 the price.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great atmosphere and great service. I didn't really think much of the food, I have been to less refined restaurants that give you better food at a lower cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Overpriced...for the just " ok " food....nothing outstanding and would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amazing as always. Still my favorite spot in Iowa City!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

As usual the food is excellent. We have never had a bad meal at this wonderful steakhouse. The staff and service are very professional and friendly. Best steakhouse in Iowa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always great! Family favorite for special occasions

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great food and atmosphere as always! Waitstaff is always professional. We love Joseph's and treat ourselves at least twice a year!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our meat was very undercooked. We ordered medium and our steak came out purple it was so rare. I am sure if we would have said something they would have corrected it, but my boyfriend wasn't feeling well and I feel like if your paying $50 for a steak it should be made right the first time!!!

Otherwise everything was pretty good, took desserts home...not that impressed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent evening as always - Joseph's is one of my favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great food, excellent quick service, and a reasonable price!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Outstanding service! Disappointing ribeye. Second time in a row steak has been below average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Nice place, food was excellent, but very expensive for what you get.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Avoid the large filet - was significantly under cooked, requested medium, was medium rare at best. Get the strip instead. Slow and sloppy kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Erika as our server was most excellent. All of the food was exquisite, as were the cocktails. Everything was top-notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent food and service. We were in town for the weekend visiting our freshman son and wanted to take him out for a nice meal at a nice restaurant and this place really hit the spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 5, 2016

There is some amazing beef available in Iowa. But for that price, I honestly expected more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We were in Iowa for the football game. Glad we found this steakhouse. The BEST Brandy Old Fashion's we've had. Food and service were very good also. thought the prices were on the high side as everything is a la carte.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I always have a great steak or meal experience at Joseph's! The staff is friendly and good! A great choice for food and to relax from some of the restaurant scenes in the great college town-Iowa City.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was outstanding, but more than that, the atmosphere permitted us to enjoy ourselves with friends whom we do not see often. The servers were "there" but never in the way. This was a special occasion related to the opening of the U of I new School of Music. It was a great way to celebrate!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Our dinners (steak and handmade mushroom pasta) were outstanding, and so were the waitstaff. The ambiance was elegant, with no televisions in the room, so it was possible to have quiet conversation, even though the restaurant was bustling. Rather expensive, but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Food was quite palatable and portions generous. I am puzzled why so many Midwest restaurants devote such a large part of their menus to imported seafood when local fare is often so good. The pork chop and local apples was tasty. The wine list was quite passable with high end and some reasonably affordable bottles. The dining room is quiet and does not feel cramped.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food and service was outstanding!! We went with friends and were seated right away. The service staff were all very friendly and just overall the atmosphere is very fun and inviting. We have a great experience and will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Joseph's was elegant but not stuffy. Great atmosphere for family gatherings and enjoying classic, indulgent fare. Never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 17, 2016

food was outstanding, crab cake app was amazing, steaks were perfect. Staff was attentive and friendly

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 16, 2016

3 of us shared the tuna tartare appetizer. Yum! Hubby and I shared small plates. Son got salad and steak with blue cheese. Everything was delicious. Service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The atmosphere was outstanding, very quiet and private. The food was amazing and well worth the drive. The service was great, very attentive to our needs and glass were never empty.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were seated right away at a very quiet table as requested through open-table. Service was outstanding and the waitress was knowledgeable about all our questions. Drinks served quickly and soups were saved in ample time. Entrees were not long delayed. Water glass and bread never empty. if you want a quiet place with very good food this is the best in Iowa City.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Decided to try the small plates. We ordered 3. They were all very good, but we asked the waiter to bring them one at a time, starting with the cold one. Unfortunately he brought all 3 at the same time which led to a hurried dinner and did not allow us to savor each one individually.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great night at Joseph's. The food was delicious and the service was top notch. Our server was very well versed on the wine list and suggested an amazing wine. We were in a back corner which was quiet and romantic. Great service, great food, great night!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 24, 2016

This place is like home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 17, 2016

In town from California for a family event and wanted a nice restaurant for dinner for six. Saturday night at 6:45 would have been impossible where we live but no problem here. Steaks were best, salads and sides very good, fish passable, service excellent, atmosphere refined and a really good wine list. Beautiful round table in front of a window.

Only negative for us was how dark it was. If we wanted privacy or romance perhaps it would have been okay. Easy fix though: we pulled up the shade that covered the window (no one objected) and the long lasting twilight lit things up perfectly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 9, 2016

I throughly enjoyed my evening atJoseph's. The Walleye Special that I enjoyed was superb. The service was outstanding as was

Everything about the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Joseph’s is a top restaurant. We enjoy bring our family and friends there. The meals are always exquisite.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 2, 2016

We've been to Joseph's at least ten times and it never gets old...good wine and great food. We will be back for more!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our service was excellent and the food was wonderful too. Have already recommended this place to friends. Peter did a wonderful job.

Thank you.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 28, 2016

The finest meal I have had in quite some time. All of the food was good, most of it was outstanding, and some of it was unbelievably superb. Even the slight hiccup of an under cooked steak was quickly addressed, with excellent results. The only downside was the cost. Expensive, but it was still worth it. I will remember this meal for a long time, maybe even forever.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.