Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 43 times today

Josephine

4.6
1533 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies
Chef Andy Little's inspired cooking and neighborhood hospitality. Reservations highly recommended, but walk-ins always welcome. Open for dinner nightly and brunch on weekends.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon–Thu, Sun 5:00 pm–10:00 pm
Fri, Sat 5:00 pm–11:00 pm
Sat, Sun 10:00 am–3:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(615) 292-7766
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Andy Little
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Elmwood Ave
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary valet is available in front of the restaurant and street parking as well in the surrounding area.
Additional
Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1533 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 3 days ago

The restaurant was crowded, kitchen was slow but overall it was a good brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

You will not be disappointed dining here. The wait staff is top notch and food is excellent. Great variety of menu and has something for everyone. Must try!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Josephine is my favorite restaurant in Nashville and has been for over 3 years! The menu is continually updated and also keeps its staple items in rotation. The Brussels Sprouts is a dark horse starter that should not be missed. The staff is always knowledgeable and very service oriented. I recommend this place to anyone visiting or local for an amazing culinary experience!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Food and service were great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Chicken was fabulous! The steak was really undercooked. Despite the steak’s doneness, all and all, a very good place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Food was great..... Service was good... Value was ok... We will return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 18, 2018

My wife and I shared a very generous portion of brussel sprouts which was prepared with dark cherries, fried Quinoa and peanuts. Very good and tasty but sprouts were gigantic and was a little bitter.

We shared a roast chicken which came with fingerling potatoes and kale. It was a full meal for two and chicken was brined overnight and took 30 minutes to prepare so settle back and enjoy the evening. We ordered the apple tart with ice cream so the waitress was on top of this and submitted the order 30 minutes ahead of time to allow time to bake. This was the hit of the nite for us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Great food and ambiance! Highly recommend rabbit dish.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

My favorite dining experience while visiting Nashville. We ordered the chicken for two which could have fed three easily.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Very good service. The restaurant is a bit dark. Good bar selection.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 12, 2018

We love Josephine. This was my second or third time here and they did not fail to deliver. Food is great. Bibb lettuce salad and the beef tongue appetizers were outstanding. Entree of choice was the Beef Cheeks. Cocktails were good but had fallen off a bit since the last time we visited. If you go without a group sit at the bar as their wait staff seemed a little ignorant of the nuances of their cocktail choices and their bartenders are solid.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Entertaining an out of town business guest

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Unimpressed. Duck was overcooked and blindlingly sweet; wings app was adequate, but no more. Drinks and service good. Many other places to try in metro BNA before needing to give them another try.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

I took my husband here for his birthday and everything was just delicious, especially the steak & fries, and the mousse dessert. The service was outstanding and the atmosphere was just lovely.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

It was absolutely amazing. The only initial drawback was that Saturday was an extremely cold day and we were seated right by the door that just made it unbearable. We asked to move back and our waitress made it happen. Thank you again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

We loved the restaurant but our waiter wasn't good or attentive. Our appetizer came before we even got our drinks, yet the table next to us ordered a glass of wine and got it immediately. The food and atmosphere was wonderful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

We celebrated our anniversary, had a wonderful time. It is a place to enjoy great food and cocktails. Highly recommend for special dates!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Great place to dine. Food consistently delicious. Waitress went above and beyond.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We have been to Josephine off and on for about three years (we LOVE the other options under this owner Burger UP , for instance) yet this final time will be our last. This is our third Easter brunch there and it simply was not good. Donuts and biscuits were the highlights, otherwise, our main entrees were COLD! I had chicken and waffles and my husband had the eggs benedict. Like I said, both dishes were COLD! When we told the waitress she was unapologetic and didn't really seem bothered by it at all. Nice ambiance, but the food and cost are not worth it when there are a plethora of other wonderful dining options in Nashville.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Our server was pleasant, attentive and patient. She guided our evening with grace & poise.
Entrees were delicious and coffee divine. A lovely neighborhood spot to enjoy an evening with friends.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

The salad and frites were both amazing but an aioli would have made it even better!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Food was wonderful, except for my dish. I had the grilled mushroom and the char grilled taste was so powerful, that was all I could taste. The wings appetizer is a MUST! Service was a bit too slow, but they may have been short staffed. All in all it was good and I'll be back to try it again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Continues to impress!! Still one of my top three restaurants in town!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 27, 2018

The four of us enjoyed our meal, but we came away feeling as though it was overpriced for what we got. With so many fantastic restaurants in the area I feel that we can get a better value elsewhere. I can say that the apple cobbler dessert is fantastic, but remember to order early, as it takes a long time. You won't be disappointed with this place, but your pocket book might be.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

The restaurant has a NYC village vibe which I liked. The menu was small but everything was great. Amongst our party of six we had the cheese plate, bibb salad, brussel sprouts, whole chicken, steak frites, grouper, beef cheeks, and the apple cobbler. Everyone really enjoyed their meals including my 13 and 14 year old daughters. The wine was also good. I would definitely recommend it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

My daughter and I had brunch on Sunday. Really enjoy excellently prepared food. Interesting and tasty presentation of eggs Benedict. Boneless chicken with waffles was also lovely - balance of salty and sweet. Syrup was NOT overpowering. Best? Sprouts!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The water glass smelled bad which made water not good, we tried two different glass which had bad odor & taste. So just drank Champagne.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Had the Chicken and Waffles. Sauce used was way too sweet. Overpowered the chicken.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

I wasn’t very impressed with Josephine. Though recommended by a friend, I found the cuisine to be extremely lacking. The ambience and table decor were very trendy, and our server did a good job. However, the meal was extremely expensive and lacked any value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We enjoyed both the crab cake salad as well as the duck confit salad. The duck was very succulent and the crab cake didn't have a lot of breading so it was delicious. We both likes the margaritas on the rocks with salt. Nice, light lunch. Really loud restaurant so we were glad we were in the side porch. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Usually enjoy meals here but kitchen was unusually slow, and waiter didn't check back with us until the end of the meal.....below par for this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

I had the grilled mushroom, and it was really good. My friends both had the cod, and they seemed to enjoy their meals. Service was attentive, and everything was great. Portions were reasonable, so we didn't leave feeling miserably stuffed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

The rare steak was best ever.
Their atmosphere was really good and the server was polite.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Interesting menu not for everyone

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Very cute. The beef tongue was amazing. The rabbit was also pretty good but the sauce was a little on the sweet side for my liking

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Great ambiance. The food was delicious. I ordered the Steak and fries. It came out exactly as I ordered it. The fries were among the best I've ever had. Incredible seasoning. The server was great too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

The food was exceptional for brunch and our service was A+. It’s a great neighborhood bistro

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Wonderful and creative food! For a party of 6 that wanted to chat; however, the noise level was pretty high. LOVE the decor and service. Fabulous chocolate mousse presentation!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

So loud in the restaurant we could not hear each other. Had to shout to be heard.
Food was good but minimal, husband had to have a snack when we got home after eating the scallops. Not enough food. Service was ridiculous. Some staff member kept circling our table like we were supposed to move on, she asked how was everything. My husband started Laughing and said if you would go check on our orders we could tell you! Took a very very long time to get served.
Had absolutely no bar / whiskey selections , wine was a joke. No high end anything.
We will never go back here ever. Not worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Great food and service. You won’t be disappointed. Creative culinary pairings to make your taste buds happy.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
39

Tweets by Josephine