Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.81mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.81mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.81mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.81mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.10mi

About Josephine

Chef Andy Little's inspired cooking and neighborhood hospitality. Reservations highly recommended, but walk-ins always welcome. For reservations for the X/X:Josephine tasting menu, please call us at 615-292-7766.

2316 12th Ave S
Nashville, TN 37204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday: 5:00pm-11:00pm

Saturday: 10:00am-3:00 pm, 5:00pm- 11:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am-3:00 pm, 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Elmwood Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 292-7766

Website:
http://www.josephineon12th.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available out front and street parking as well in the surrounding area.

Executive Chef:
Andy Little

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Josephine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (71)
Fit for Foodies (64)
Neighborhood Gem (62)
See All
Special Occasion (62)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Cozy (43)
Romantic (41)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Great for Brunch (36)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Bar Seating (30)
Local Ingredients (27)
Business Meals (26)
Casual (25)
Authentic (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Hot Spot (20)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Fun (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Comfort Food (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Seasonal (10)
People Watching (9)
Tapas (6)
Organic (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Great Beer (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Private Room (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1294 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 16 hours ago

Amazing experience. The chicken for two was divine perfect balance with the kale and roasted potatoes as sides.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

This place would be jam packed if it was in NYC but in Nashville it's super civilized. The chef clearly knows how to pleasure the educated palette. This place was recommended to us by Gwyneth Paltrow's dietician (neither of whom I have ever met or conversed with!) - def worth checking out - we had brunch and enjoyed the well executed corned beef hash with eggs. Will def return to this place. One final point, it's worth knowing that our brunch bill for 2 was $100 including 2 hash, 2 mimosas, 1 bacon side (amazing) and 1 fresh fruit side plus service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great but I didn't receive my birthday cake

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I'm never disappointed when I go to Josephine's! My wife and I were in town visiting friends and always make a point to try to stop in at Josephine's. Hard to believe, but the food and service seems to get even better each time we go.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Casual, Organic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

Our experience was delightful, our server was engaging and knowledgeable, and the food was spectacular from appetizer to dessert. We will be back...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

What a fantastic meal! I am always hesitant to go to the hot spots recommended by critics as I often find them to be overrated. Not the case with Josephine. Every course was delicious - the watermelon with feta appetizer was incredible and the pork chop was hands down the best I've ever had. My daughter had salmon and said the same. Fresh ingredients, perfect portion size, wonderful service and atmosphere. I can't say enough about our dinner and experience. Even with all of the options to choose from in Nashville, we will be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Great ambiance. Food was great. Not at all what we were expecting. Sophisticated, friendly and somewhat casual.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 13, 2017

It had been a year since my last visit to Josephine. I was pleased that we were seated on the side room, makes hearing each other possible. The wine list was comprehensible and affordable, so our choice was excellent. My only critical comment is that the sauce with my appetizer tasted a lot like the sauce with my entree and one was beef while the other was seafood. That kind of thing bothers me.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I had brunch at Josephine yesterday with a party of six for my mom's 50th birthday celebration. The restaurant is in a very hip part of town near Belmont University. Josephine has complimentary valet parking, which is super convenient as the neighborhood does not have a ton of parking. The staff at Josephine were prompt at seating us and provided great customer service. The brunch menu has sweet and savory options that satisfied my table's needs. We ordered the sticky buns and bacon as appetizers, and both were divine. The entrees were quite large and came with a refreshing greens salad. Everyone enjoyed their meal and the ambiance of the restaurant. I would definitely come back here again not only for brunch, but to try their dinner fare as well!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 12, 2017

It is a lively and energetic place on the weekends. I was with great friends I don't see often and we were there for a few hours. The pace of the service was great. Never pushy and very attentive. Unobtrusive, yet very friendly. The food was so delicious. Not fussy, but we'll crafted and carefully thought out plates. Rabbit, duck, beef cheeks along with the usual scallops, salmon or steak. Big flavor! A great diverse wine menu. The desserts were stunning. Why people want to go stand in line at that ice cream place next door instead of having the most perfectly sweetened coconut cake is a mystery to me? You can get ice cream anytime, but not one of Kayla May, the pastey chef's, masterpieces.
Chef Andrew Little knocks it out of the park with this menu. Thank you to Karen Little, the GM, and server Rebecca and the talented kitchen staff for a beautiful evening my friends and I will be talking about for a long time.
ps...we didn't even miss the brussel sprouts. Lol!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The rotisserie chicken was TO DIE for!!! Food service wine- ALL was outstanding

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food was awesome. Scallops and steak were the best. The drinks were just ok. That was the only blemish on the evening.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Wonderful food, great flavors, very unique

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Very good food, interesting menu, but I felt it was expensive for what we got. The portions were small, which suited our crowd, but hearty eaters might be disappointed. No bread offered, which seemed odd to me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 7, 2017

I love Josephine. The food is terrific and the vibe is cool, if coolly indifferent, but 2 1/4 hours for a two-course meal on a Monday night when the place is 2/3 full is inexcusable. The service wasn't rude. It just wasn't. Did I have a fine dinner? Yes. Should I have had that fine dinner in two-thirds of the time? Yes. When I find out that's the case, I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Very good food. Menu options somewhat limited. Pricey ($100 for 2 before tip, no drinks) but what you'd expect for 12 South. Service was stellar - valet attendant saw us getting up from table (which was in the back corner - not exactly next to the window) and he ran to get the car before we were outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We went to Josephine for our anniversary after getting recommendations from people in two different age groups. One sat at the bar and loved it (younger person) and one went with his significant other and another couple resulting in similar rave reviews but sitting at a table. We sat at the side of the room near the front. The sun was too bright for the first 30 minutes or so of sitting across from the wall even though there was a sun shade pulled over the window. The server was excellent, the scrapple appetizer, pork chop and steak...okay the fries that accompanied the steak, not the steak, were excellent. The drink from the bar, beer choices and wine list had some great options. Dessert was a blueberry cobbler for two with sour cream ice cream ending the meal with big smiles.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Pretty restaurant, and service was great. However, the food (brunch menu) was awful, especially considering the price. The corn beef hash and eggs was delivered lukewarm at best, and consisted only of runny scrambled eggs atop cold corned beef that was missing what makes the dish a "hash". My friend's BLT was mediocre and again, served with cold over salted french fries. Given the high end dining price, I would have expected higher quality dishes. The brunch menu was also very skimpy in general. I'm sure their dinner presentation is much better, but steer clear of this place for brunch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food was good and the wait staff were very pleasant and well-informed. The only small negative was the wait time for our food. We were there for brunch and it wasn't extremely crowded. Overall a great place...will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The beef tongue app was great. My cocktail was good, my dates was watered down. Everything else just so so.
Got the duck and it was fatty and seemed undercooked and not much flavor. The salad it was on was pretty good. Overall not much food there for an entree.
The steak and fries were adequate, nothing mind blowing. Just good. Wanted better than just good for the price. Not a good value considering the final bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Exceptional as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food was great and the service fantasic. Only downside is it has a lot of booths in close proximity which are both uncomfortable and make having an intimate, private conversation difficult.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Totally loved this place! The food was amazing and so was the accompanying drinks.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Starting with the fact that we showed up with plus two on a reservation for four and the lovely hostess rearranged a table for us for six in seconds, the experience was superb. I have only left a tip larger than 20% a handful of times in my life. This was such an occasion at 30%. Impeccable, attentive, non-intrusive, respectful, polite and friendly server and wait staff. I will ask for one of Abby's tables in the future - perfect waiter. Dirty plates were quietly whisked away, clean utensils magically appeared, water glasses filled by nameless, invisible assistants. The food was very good bordering on exceptional. One diner out of our party of six thought her scallops were nothing special, but the other five diners (including me) really liked the food - spot-on levels of cooking and temperature, creative yet not overpowering sides with wonderful entrees. The small plates were delightful to pass around and share. Too satiated to order desert, but the desert menu looked great. This is a very contemporary place to see and be seen in a very trendy area away from Broadway and the Gulch. Great (beautiful) people watching. I will definitely go back the next time I am in Nashville.

Tags: Organic, Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food was amazing!!! We loved Richard as our server!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Nice meal good drinks
Extremely LOUD like crazy LOUD .People dressed in all kinds of things from shorts and tees to jackets ..kind of disappointing but not their fault. I mean this is a "nice place" skip the ball cap and the tee shirt. Or go to burger up? I don't know I am kinda old school.
Great cookies at the hostess stand don't miss those if you go, but don't go if you want to talk to anyone ...we were a table of 4 and I could only speak to my immediate right or left not across the table ...it was that loud.
I just don't get it with the noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Pretty typical for this type of place - at least the food wasn't too salted.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We had an excellent dinner meal- we started with the Beef Tongue appetizer, which was fantastic, with a couple of the menu specialty cocktails, which were also excellent. Our entrees were the rabbit and duck, and our dessert was a blackberry cobbler with sour cream ice cream. All was excellent, in fact we feel like this is one of our top 3 or 4 venues in the Nashville area, which is saying a lot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Wish I lived closer- I'd be here every weekend! Love love love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Food is outstanding. Very unique, bold flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 19, 2017

A wonderful meal and great service! Josephine's never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 19, 2017

This restaurant was outstanding in every way. The food was superb and the service was excellent. The location was within walking distance of the B&B we were staying at.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We have visited Nashville for over fifty years and are continually enthralled with the eclectic vibe of the city. It is quickly becoming a major foodie & shopping hub.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The food and service were first rate...my only problem was the noise was too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great food - bartender Robert treated us very well. Thank you for a great evening!

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Everything was delicious! The chicken dinner for two was a simple dish prepared perfectly! The kale was the shining star. We also tried the beef tongue and were a little intimidated, but it was fantastic.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Attendees were very pleased with the accommodations and food. Appreciate the return call from the restaurant when their were problems with the Open Table website when trying numerous times to change time of reservation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 11, 2017

This restaurant was definitely over priced and over rated. The food was good but it did not match the price per item. The cheese plate was skimpy, the steak was far too salty and the amount of wine per glass was too little for the price charged. I'm not sure what all the fuss is about. I could have gotten a much tastier meal for the price at several other places within walking distance.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Delicious meal; excellent service; outstanding dessert choices.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.