About Josephine

2316 12th Ave S
Nashville, TN 37204
View Larger Map

Chef Andy Little's inspired cooking and neighborhood hospitality. Reservations highly recommended, but walk-ins always welcome. For reservations for the X/X:Josephine tasting menu, please call us at 615-292-7766.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday: 5:00pm-11:00pm

Saturday: 10:00am-3:00 pm, 5:00pm- 11:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am-3:00 pm, 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Elmwood Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 292-7766

Website:
http://www.josephineon12th.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available out front and street parking as well in the surrounding area.

Executive Chef:
Andy Little

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Josephine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Nashville ›

Fit for Foodies (138)
Neighborhood Gem (127)
Special Occasion (110)
See All
Romantic (67)
Hot Spot (63)
Great for Brunch (58)
Good for Groups (54)
Notable Wine List (46)
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Good for a Date (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Modern Decor (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Business Meals (9)
Cozy (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Fun (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Casual (6)
Authentic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
903 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was outstanding. Our server was exc ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 2 days ago

Food was outstanding. Our server was excellent and offered suggestions when asked. We're planning on going back for the tasting menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good, but the portions wer ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was very good, but the portions were small for the price. Hard to share and allow others to taste.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value1

We had an exceptionally good dining expe ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had an exceptionally good dining experience at Josephine's. Highlights included:

--best ravioli dish that we have ever eaten

--perfect bottle of wine recommended by waiter

--blueberry tart dessert was so delicious that we ordered one to take along as well

My wife also liked the beef cheeks very much and I thought that the pork belly was well prepared.

Waiter knew the menu well and was attentive without interrupting the flow of the evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for brunch. Great cocktails, especi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Went for brunch. Great cocktails, especially the rum & coke. The sticky buns were perfection! The fried chicken especially tasty but the fried catfish fell short. The fish was uncooked in the middle. However, our trusty waiter was quick to take it away and return with a fresh, perfectly cooked one in no time. Overall, a good meal but for the fish faux pas.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant offers complimentary vale ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The restaurant offers complimentary valet. Parking in the area is scarce. We were sat right away. The server was friendly and provided a great service. Both dinners were not good. The beef checks were overpowered by the sauce. The sauce was quite bitter. The duck breast was delicious but the salad mix it was served on was oddly flavored. The dessert was an apple cobbler baked to order. The apple cobbler was made with the skins on the apple. Even with the apples very thinly sliced the skins gave the dessert an odd texture.

Overall I would not recommend the food. At the price point, I expected better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Wonderful Anniversary dinner. And first ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wonderful Anniversary dinner. And first time dining here. 😀👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

First time - delicious - already have ta ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

First time - delicious - already have talked to friends about another trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent! We enjoyed this ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was excellent! We enjoyed this place and we had good service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Good food and atmosphere. Enjoyed hostin ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Good food and atmosphere. Enjoyed hosting out-of-town business guests.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was bland. The small plates and ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The food was bland. The small plates and entrees leave a lot lacking as well as food combining. Same ingredients and flavors on both side, so what's the point? They offer a "full bar" but had no cognac. I settled on wine, although our server never offered me another. Has the ambiance of a sports bar, although the prices and cuisine suggest that of a high end dining experience. Would never go back. Would never recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

We dined here for Sunday brunch. We sha ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We dined here for Sunday brunch. We shared the apple tartan with arugula, goat cheese, pecans and balsamic to start. It was a huge portion for a starter, so really good to share. The flavors combination was fantastic and very fresh. For our main dishes we had Josephine benedict and the omelette. Both were very good. The benedict is not your normal fare -- it's served with scrapple, prosciutto (the menu called it country ham) and brown butter hollandaise-- excellent. I am generally very picky about eggs benedict and this was an outstanding version. We all substituted fruit for the micro salad. The fruit was fresh and well prepared. Overall it was an excellent meal and I would dine there again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Didn't love it. Cocktails were expensive ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Didn't love it. Cocktails were expensive to be all ice. Combination of duck dish... Not good. Lobster was squeaky and fishy. Meal was cold.

Favorite was cauliflower..

I'll have to try brunch.. Heard it's better.

Ambience was nice.. Great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Had to make a last minute change due to ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Had to make a last minute change due to a fire at Husk. Read some reviews and picked Josephine based on a lot of positive write ups. Glad we did. Very charming neighborhood restaurant with great ambiance and better food. Not much nearby, but perfect for a night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, Josephine's is an excellent o ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

As always, Josephine's is an excellent option in the 12th South area. Bibb Lettuce and the Chicken for two were perfectly prepared and tasty. Food and service have always been excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I love the neighborhood Josephine is loc ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I love the neighborhood Josephine is located in. The ambiance was very nice, dark, more contemporary, with a central bar and open views to the kitchen. The host was great, warm and genuine as was the wait staff and wait support. The menu was smaller than expected but offered a nice selection for everyone. The by-the-glass, wine list was also well rounded. Everything tasted nice, and was well cooked. We had an issue with over salted fries (I love salt on my fries, but it was way too salty), it was replaced quickly but unfortunately was again over salted. The issue was genuinely taken care of by our waitress. We passed on the desert option though. Overall, the food definitely had some minor creative twists, and was well done and nicely plated, and the Dutch/Germanic influences could definitely be tasted, however, it was not a "wow" experience. The price is justified for the service and quality of food, but I don't think I would go a second time with so many local options, therefore the 3 stars. For four stars, I should want to go again, for 5 stars, it would have to be a truly amazing, and unique experience. No regrets though, we had a nice time.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Was a real gem in a great neighborhood. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Was a real gem in a great neighborhood. The server was very accommodative when we asked to move tables because of the sun.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was delicious! I especially ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Everything was delicious! I especially loved the scrapple, and the Rose of Barbera!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Maybe we hit this restaurant on an off n ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Maybe we hit this restaurant on an off night but we found the experience highly disappointing. High price point with average to poor food. Everything we had was over-salted...even the brie on the cheese plate had such a strong taste of salt that no one at our table could eat it. The other appetizer, pork belly, was completely hidden by a huge chunk of mozzarella which was all you could taste of the dish. The best of our meals was the monkfish. The duck, beef cheeks & flank steak were all heavily salted. One of our diners had the flank steak with fries; there was so much salt on the fries that you could see the salt from across the table. We had to send that plate back. I will say that our server was wonderful and offered a free desert for the trouble. The deserts were the best part of the meal. The price point of this was at almost fine dining levels which did not match the caliber of the food. Very disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Meal was very good. Thought there would ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Meal was very good. Thought there would be more selections. Prices were a bit high on the apps and the dessert. We did not have the dessert. Nice wine selection as well. Glad I tried it but not one I am running back to.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I would say LOUD not energetic but LOUD ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I would say LOUD not energetic but LOUD was not an option so I picked the loudest option because it was NOT moderate. Not good for conversations unless you like yelling. dislike the way restaurants want to sound busy when they really are not. the crispy pork belly was not crispy. there was no stouts or porters offered on the menu. the lazy paloma sucked. I get why it was called lazy. while the steak was good and cooked perfectly and the duck was wonderfully done they were a bit over priced. the Honey lavender vinaigrette was different.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Every bite of everyone's dish was excell ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Every bite of everyone's dish was excellent. But the portions leave you a bit peckish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

The sticky bun with cherries and pistach ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The sticky bun with cherries and pistachios was a must when we went to Josephine to try the brunch menu. It did not disappoint. I highly recommend it!

Everything was wonderful, and the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent (Sunday Brunch) b ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was excellent (Sunday Brunch) but the place was so noisy my wife and I could scarcely hear oneanother

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

Food was under seasoned or not seasoned ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was under seasoned or not seasoned at all. Husband's fried chicken was good, but bland. His biscuit was not fresh and quite hard from being kept warm. My omelet bland and the spinach and mushrooms I requested in the omelet, were on the top. My friend's BLT had overcooked bacon and the bread was so overcooked it crunched when she bit into it. The cocktails weren't anything special. My mimosa was the worst I've ever had. The quality and preparation of the food should be better for the prices they are charging. We won't be returning. It is a very pretty restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Great food, ambience, and service!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food, ambience, and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seldom does one receive such fantastic s ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Seldom does one receive such fantastic service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We took out of town guests, who are big ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We took out of town guests, who are big foodies. Everything we ordered was exceptional. I will definitely go back and would recommend to anyone for a great meal with interesting choices and nice atmosphere. The specialty cocktails were great too!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit put Josephine in our to ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

First time visit put Josephine in our top tier restaurants in the Nashville/Franklin area. All courses were inventive and melt-in-your-mouth delicious (eg. beef cheeks!). The bar aced our Vieux Carre's, so that was a big win! Desserts were to die for and service, thank you Rebecca, was excellent! We'll be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another wonderful experience here. Very ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Another wonderful experience here. Very quickly becoming our go for date nights. We will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My server was wonderful and seemed genui ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

My server was wonderful and seemed genuinely connected to the menu. She was also knowledgeable regarding the wine list, which was very helpful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a disappointment. My third visit, a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Such a disappointment. My third visit, and declining food quality each time. I ordered the skirt steak and it was so heavily smoked and salted that it was inedible. When I left all but two bites on the plate, the waitress didn't even ask if there was an issue with the steak. Wouldn't return, and certainly wouldn't recommend to a friend, especially based on the price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Wonderful service and a great spot for f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Wonderful service and a great spot for fresh, succulent food (and healthy options) while still satisfying your southern cravings. Highly suggest the apple cobbler when they offer it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Monkfish dish was excellent, beef cheeks ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Monkfish dish was excellent, beef cheeks were very good. Desserts were great. Wine / drink list gave us everything we wanted. Service (Kacy) was great. We will be back for the 10-course meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

TooK my daughters for Sunday Brunch . ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

TooK my daughters for Sunday Brunch . Slow service and mediocre food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Fantastic food, but service could have b ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Fantastic food, but service could have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

It was nice. Good food. Small tables clo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

It was nice. Good food. Small tables close together .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Lovely setting with leather seating and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Lovely setting with leather seating and tile floors. Easy valet parking. Diverse brunch offerings. Food was good, but unbelievably salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

After reading several articles and blogs ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

After reading several articles and blogs about dining in Nashville, we settled on Josephine for our final dinner. What a wonderful decision that was! Every single bite of our food was perfection. Our server was knowledgeable, attentive and just the right amount of personality to not interfere with our conversation. My only regret is that we were too full for dessert.

Tags: Great Beer, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Josephine is one of our favorites! Never ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Josephine is one of our favorites! Never disappointed!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful. I really enjoyed ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was wonderful. I really enjoyed the beet and pistachio salad and my scallops were perfectly cooked. We also enjoyed Nutella layer cake for dessert. Delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.