About Josephine

2316 12th Ave S
Nashville, TN 37204
View Larger Map

Chef Andy Little's inspired cooking and neighborhood hospitality. Reservations highly recommended, but walk-ins always welcome. For reservations for the X/X:Josephine tasting menu, please call us at 615-292-7766.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday: 5:00pm-11:00pm

Saturday: 10:00am-3:00 pm, 5:00pm- 11:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am-3:00 pm, 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Elmwood Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 292-7766

Website:
http://www.josephineon12th.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available out front and street parking as well in the surrounding area.

Executive Chef:
Andy Little

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Josephine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Nashville ›

fit for foodies (188)
neighborhood gem (142)
special occasion (135)
See All
hot spot (90)
romantic (88)
good for groups (66)
great for brunch (63)
notable wine list (59)
vibrant bar scene (36)
great for lunch (16)
late-night find (11)
kid-friendly (9)
scenic view (7)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
787 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Half the items we ordered were quite nic ...

Dined 5 days ago

Half the items we ordered were quite nice--especially the asparagus and crab. But the other half left much to be desired: the roasted salsa overpowered the grilled squash and the duck main dish was both under cooked (we had to send it back) and flavorless.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a 6:00 Sat. night reservation and ...

Dined 5 days ago

We had a 6:00 Sat. night reservation and the restaurant was busy but not crowded. Seated immediately. Had a very nice waitress. My husband really enjoyed the Spaetzel. I had the Pappardelle and it was just okay. It was my third time to the restaurant but my first for dinner. I'll certainly go back but probably for brunch or lunch.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We were the second couple in the restaur ...

Dined 5 days ago

We were the second couple in the restaurant that evening (at 5:00 PM) and it took over an hour for our food to be served. As the restaurant filled with patrons, they, too, were complaining about the long delay in receiving their food. When my wife's steak arrived, it was cold! Our waitress was very good. The cook staff was noisy; the recorded music was loud and "noisy"; and therefore, the bar patrons were noisy. In our opinion, during the last two or three years, this restaurant has gone from a quiet, nice locale with a special menu for a special occasion, to one of noise, heavy drinking by a younger set, and slow food. I know this is where the profit is, but it will cost you some older, reliable customers!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Visited for Saturday brunch. My daughte ...

Dined 5 days ago

Visited for Saturday brunch. My daughter and I ordered 2 of the less pricey items on the menu. The food was good enough, and our server was very good. I did pay $9 for a single mimosa. I do like the atmosphere of the place, but just don't think it's worth the price.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing food, great service! Lovely sitt ...

Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food, great service! Lovely sitting , highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Anniversary dinner and tried for the 1st ...

Dined 6 days ago

Anniversary dinner and tried for the 1st time. Excellent dish concepts unless anyone is a vegetarian and then the entree are pieced together. Had an issue where the veg option was arranged to be the entree and both the portion size and pricing were sad. Causing a sour note on an otherwise good evening. The server went above and beyond to rectify but shame on the manager for not having thought through the scenario and provided a normal portion for a fair price to begin with. Loved the use of Porter Road Butcher meats however.

food5
ambience5
service4

Wonderful. Great place for foodies.

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful. Great place for foodies.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great time at Josephine's for m ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

We had a great time at Josephine's for my boyfriend's birthday! Great selection of drinks, food options that were both tasty and quite different from each other, and great seating. The wait staff was friendly and timely. Food took a little while to come out of the kitchen, but I would rather it be prepared fresh and carefully than thrown together!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food and service were great. My frie ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The food and service were great. My friend really enjoyed and was surprised by her cocktail as not tasting traditional which was a plus for her. Nice wine list. We sat at a round table which is my favorite shape for a table. I love the farm to table aspect and appreciate the creative variety of offerings over a set menu kind of thing.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service! However, not the ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food and service! However, not the place for a quiet, intimate conversation. Soooo loud!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Josephine was one of the best restaurant ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Josephine was one of the best restaurants I've been to in a long time . You can't go wrong here !!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Pricey, small portions....but excellent ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Pricey, small portions....but excellent service from Karah! Great atmosphere...for a date.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My first time at Josephine, and there is ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

My first time at Josephine, and there is no doubt that I'll be back. The food was farm-fresh, the cocktails were handled with care and finesse, and the overall experience was great. The only negatives I could think of is that the place gets a little loud on crowded nights, and the service isn't rushed so if you're in a rush or like your food our quickly, this might not be a great fit for you. My wife and I were there for our anniversary and were well taken care of with dessert and cookies included. The chocolate Panna cotta was amazing. Great food in a great neighborhood. Definitely recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beef tongue and beef cheeks! If the rest ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Beef tongue and beef cheeks! If the rest of the head is anywhere near as good as these two dishes it should be on the menu soon! Great service and cocktails, too!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best of Nashville: creative /delici ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The best of Nashville: creative /delicious food, imaginative plating's. We had almost everything on the small plates menu and loved every one of them. The rabbit was delicious as well. All four of us voted this the best of Nashville.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

The beef cheeks was outstanding, as was ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The beef cheeks was outstanding, as was my wife's duck risotto. Also highly recommended is the cheese plate and the pretzel. Compliments to the chef!

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Fun place to meet friends for a Friday n ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Fun place to meet friends for a Friday night dinner. Vibrant scene but too loud for good conversation. Funky menu without a lot of options, but food was good. Did not care for the pork belly wrapped in cheese but that was probably my mistake in ordering! Great service and good drinks.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Too noisy

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Yes, the noise level does matter. And we may have been in the quietest spot! Food was good, not outstanding, and, unfortunately, my expectations were very high. The tongue appetizer is delicious and I liked the grilled zucchini and squash. We shared two other appetizers that I thought were okay. I did not like the cauliflower. I can't recommend our entrees: the chicken for 2 (dry) and the duck (overcooked). I would try the restaurant again, on a weeknight, and order differently. Wine was relatively well priced.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The swordfish and chops were amazing. Ha ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The swordfish and chops were amazing. Had a bottle of wine that really good and not overly priced. You must get the made to order cobbler. Simply amazing! And to top it off, complimentary gingerbread cookies to go.

food5
ambience5
service5

Extra kudos for letting me push my res b ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Extra kudos for letting me push my res back when my out of town guests got lost. Beef tongue, asparagus, rabbit dumplings, and beef cheeks were fantastic. Vacherin and Napoleon were both excellent as was our waiter. Can't wait to go back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Highly recommend!

Dined on June 8, 2016

My friend and I choose a different Nashville restaurant prior to our TPAC Broadway series. Josephine more than met our expectations. The food was excellent, delicious and beautifully presented. I had swordfish, cooked perfectly. My friend had the sea scallops. Peach cobbler for dessert! Yum! I've read previous posts about noise level, and I could see later evening with bar, etc. that could be an issue. Everything about Josephine was great for us!

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

A very unpleasant experience

Dined on June 7, 2016

On a Monday evening with many tables open...our server was distracted, slow and inattentive. I've been to Josephine for brunch and cocktails and had a nice time. I expected dinner to be the same. I don't want a red carpet rolled out..but dinner for 2 with ONE cocktail each was $110 pre tax and tip. At this price point I do expect better service. I looked for a manager the entire time we ate, I never saw one. Food was ok. But waiting and waiting on drinks, AND having to inquire about our food after 30 minutes going by...really ruined the evening.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a delicious brunch. The mimosa wa ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

We had a delicious brunch. The mimosa was perfect...champagne with a splash of OJ.

food5
ambience5
service5

A small group enjoyed an early dinner (5 ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

A small group enjoyed an early dinner (545pm) on a Saturday at Josephine's before going to the TPAC. We had a wonderful time. The waitress was delightful and recommended different dishes. We loved the appetizers, especially the cauliflower, and the pretzel bread. The peach dessert, using fresh peaches from the Peach Truck, was absolutely amazing. I highly recommend. The dinner was great and so were the drinks. This was our first time at this restaurant and we will definitely return.

food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Our first visit, for anniversary. Food ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Our first visit, for anniversary. Food Ok, interesting, but a bit pricey, incomplete bar choices (no premium bourbon i.e. Maker's Mark). No bread served with dinner, had to purchase "Pretzel bread" as only choice. The location is EXTREMELY congested with traffic and pedestrians. approachings gridlock as the evening gets later. Perhaps it is more appealing to a younger clientel.

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Disappointed

Dined on May 31, 2016

I took a friend for her birthday and we were both very disappointed. She ordered the duck breast with mushroom risotto and she said the risotto was good, but she did not enjoy the duck that much. I ordered the steak and fries. The fries were limp and did not have the garlic flavor the waiter described. The hangar steak was a little salty and no better for the price than chain steak house offerings. We ordered a small plate for an appetizer at the suggestion of the waiter. It was described as mainly a roasted carrot dish. We were surprised to find that it was served chilled and had very little carrots. Most of the dish consisted of tasteless couscous. When I told the waiter that we were disappointed in the small plate, he seemed not to care at all. Definitely not worth the money and I will not be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Good place, okay food

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Food was apricey for the actual taste and enjoyment. Don't mind paying nearly $30 for scallops, but they just didn't have a lot of taste or depth. My girlfriends beef dish was kind of bland as well. The small plates were much better however. I liked the Lamb tar tar (never had lamb tar tar before), and the kale salad was very tasty. Service and ambiance were awesome. However, it is hard to recommend this place to a friend. Food quality wasn't worth the $120 (after tip) price tag. Just for note, I'm from San Francisco (was just visiting Nashville), and I'm used to paying high prices for good food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Food 10; Service 3

Dined on May 31, 2016

Most especially pleased you were open on Memorial Day Monday! I've lived in NYC for 20 years and have had the pleasure of working in Michelin starred restaurants. When I visit my hometown I like to try good restaurants on the bourgeoning food scene in Nashville. I was highly impressed with the food; I would pay twice as much for the same quality and flavor in NYC. There is an apparent high quality skill set working in your kitchen. For me, the service felt rushed. The waiter spoke with identical descriptions of items to my neighboring table; entrees arrived prior to clearing first course and wasn't cleared or forks replaced; and the waiter spilled water on the table EVERY TIME he refilled, without apology or concern. Overall, I was pleased and believe the food was James Beard worthy; service, not as much.

food5
ambience4
service5

Creative food with interesting and delic ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Creative food with interesting and delicious flavors. Delicious dinner with excellent service. First rate by any measure.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great dinner experience

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food and wine was delicious, and the service was great. Among our favorites were the brussel sprouts appetizer and the chicken thigh entree. The dessert choices were a bit limited, which was slightly disappointing. However, they sent us home with a small box of homemade molasses cookies which was a nice gesture. They were tasty as well! We would definitely return.

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food. But there are lots of restau ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Great food. But there are lots of restaurants in Nashville whose food is just as sophisticated and tasty, but with larger plates for less money.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Dinner

Dined on May 27, 2016

We were visiting Nashville and wanted to have some good food. This was great! The pappardelle with lamb was amazing!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Dinner at Josephine's

Dined on May 27, 2016

The ambience of Josephine's was great. Our server was wonderful and very attentive the whole evening. I had the scallops, my husband had the hanger steak. The food was delicious and very flavorful, but the amount of food you get is not worth the price tag. Everything else about the place was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a perfect dining experience. Bes ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Always a perfect dining experience. Best restaurant in Nashville for a reason! The fabulous and gorgeous manager Ashley always makes us feel so at home when we come in. Can't wait to go back!

food5
ambience2
service4
value5

Enjoyed despite some issues

Dined on May 25, 2016

Very loud room. The Manhattan-like drink with Cynar was an epic fail: All four of us tasted it and found it undrinkable. First time I have ever sent back a drink. A friend paid the bill, so I don't know whether it was comped. But my lamb pappardelle was excellent, and my wife really enjoyed the gnocchi as well as her glass of wine.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We met friends for dinner on a Tues nigh ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

We met friends for dinner on a Tues night. We all thought our dinner choices were excellent! My scallops with black eyed pea and arugula salad was perfectly cooked and seasoned, and the lamb pappardelle and the chicken thigh "chowder" were also deemed wonderful. A slightly noisy bustling place, we had a great time!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and Service are fantastic!

Dined on May 24, 2016

We ordered a bottle of wine and several small plates. The server spaced everything perfectly. The dishes were wonderful. We were not disapointed with anything.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A good visit

Dined on May 23, 2016

The service was friendly and solicitous and timely. The menu had lots of choices that were attractive and creative, but not over the top or too heavily seasoned as many places do these days. We will go often.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Very good

Dined on May 23, 2016

This was a last minute choice our last night in Nashville. Don't pay any mind to the negative online reviews. The server was courteous, even accommodating my special drink request. BRUSSEL SPROUTS..... GET THEM! My sister and I both enjoyed the swordfish entree. We weren't impressed with the dessert offerings so we got ice-cream next door at Jeni's. 3 stars for the service only because my son made advance plans to pay our bill but our server got it mixed up, so we lost out.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I could not have been more p ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I could not have been more pleased with our meal and our service. We were in town for the weekend from Memphis and our friends recommended this restaurant. The food was great. The brussel sprout appetizer was awesome and our entrees were superb. Our server was extremely knowledgable about the menu and gave us many great suggestions. She even gave us recommendations about other great places to eat and visit while in Nashville. Needless to say, we will definitely come back to Josephine in the near future.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.