Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.81mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.81mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.81mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.81mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.10mi

About Josephine

Chef Andy Little's inspired cooking and neighborhood hospitality. Reservations highly recommended, but walk-ins always welcome. For reservations for the X/X:Josephine tasting menu, please call us at 615-292-7766.

2316 12th Ave S
Nashville, TN 37204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday: 5:00pm-11:00pm

Saturday: 10:00am-3:00 pm, 5:00pm- 11:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am-3:00 pm, 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Elmwood Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 292-7766

Website:
http://www.josephineon12th.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available out front and street parking as well in the surrounding area.

Executive Chef:
Andy Little

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Josephine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (83)
Neighborhood Gem (80)
Good for a Date (74)
See All
Special Occasion (69)
Creative Cuisine (63)
Good for Anniversaries (60)
Romantic (53)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Great for Brunch (43)
Cozy (41)
Handcrafted Cocktails (35)
Bar Seating (35)
Business Meals (31)
Hot Spot (30)
Local Ingredients (29)
Authentic (27)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Casual (22)
Fun (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Modern Decor (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Seasonal (15)
Healthy (15)
People Watching (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Tasting Menu (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Organic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Scenic View (2)
Private Room (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1235 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The whole experience was wonderful. Great food and great service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We wanted to get out of the hustle bustle from downtown- well worth it! Menu had something for everyone. Prices were reasonable for delicious special dinner. Our waitress was delightful, mingled with us and was great with the banter. The chicken was to die for and I personally loved the buffalo cauliflower.
One of our best meals in Nashville.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic dinner and dessert! Found this by accident and am definitely returning.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on June 18, 2017

It was just okay. This time. We've had better there.

Tags: Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on June 18, 2017

My boyfriend and I went to Sunday Brunch this past Sunday for out anniversary. The food was amazing, the service outstanding, and a perfect date. I will be coming back, especially for those cinnamon doughnuts!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on June 18, 2017

Katherine was a phenomenal server. She is so personable. She did everything that could make our brunch an experience not just a meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on June 18, 2017

Discovered Josephine via Open Table while visiting Nashville for pleasure. Our waiter knew the menu very well and it was his suggestion to get the beef cheeks which I loved. My husband had the chicken and it was delicious. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
·Dined on June 17, 2017

Delicious, fun, great service. We enjoyed our evening. The menu is unique. We ordered the blueberrie cobbler at the start of our meal and it cam out all warm and gooey. Paired with sour cream ice cream that tickled our tastebuds; a perfect ending Yum.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on June 16, 2017

Celebrating having our daughter home from college. Service by Gabriel was wonderful. Food was delicious. Enjoyed at the table were the duck breast, the Josephine steak, the Pork chop and the scallops. Cheese plate served cold instead of room temperature but quick accommodation was offered. Always feel like we've come home to our favorite neighborhood restaurant. Special place for a fun evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on June 15, 2017

Every table has a view of the wait station and the bathrooms. Disappointing for such an upscale establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on June 13, 2017

The service was incredible. The ambiance was great, but it was really hot in there, so if you go in the middle of the summer, request a table away from the window. I ordered scallops which were just average, but our appetizers were wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
·Dined on June 9, 2017

Josephine did not disappoint. We went out for a date and could have stayed all night. The cheese board starter was delicious while our chicken cooked. The wine and cocktail list was fantastic and both our drinks were great. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 7, 2017

Flavorful food and craft cocktails set in modern mid century decorating that will delight you from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on June 6, 2017

It was amazing! The food was excellent! They even had a little sign for my dates birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 6, 2017

Our server was pleasant, friendly and knowledgeable of the menu items, being able to explain to us what Scrapple was... delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on June 4, 2017

Loved the food, and the service was first rate. My only complaint was the noise level. Conversation was difficult. However, the place was crowded, so a certain amount of noise was unavoidable. Overall, I would definitely recommend Josephine for a fun and tasty brunch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on June 3, 2017

Our experience at Josephine on 12th was fantastic! The food was visually beautiful and tasted great. Desert was phenomenal (get the chocolate mousse and a coffee). We would definitely dine there again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 2, 2017

This was amazing. My boyfriend and I enjoyed our meals this evening. We will be back very soon. Thank you!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 29, 2017

Amazing experience. Best food in 12 south, and the perfect nashville destination

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on May 29, 2017

portions were very small. The food was ok, nothing spectacular. Not a very good value for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on May 28, 2017

Overall it was ok but a couple had a baby that cried the entire time we dined . If I am spending a lot of money to have brunch with a friend and want to enjoy good conversation Josephine is not the place . Tables are too close together and the noise level is something to be desired . I will not be considered Josephine again to meet for brunch which is ashamed as the food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
·Dined on May 27, 2017

It was all wonderful as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 26, 2017

The place is very aesthetically pleasing and our server was pretty friendly but my husband and I weren't impressed with the menu or wine list at all. I think that pretzel appetizer is what sold me on the place. I had salmon which was just okay. They had a great pasta and mushroom dish but would not add any protein like chicken to it so I passed on that. I honestly can't remember what my husband ordered but whatever it was, was a very small portion because an hour later he was complaining that he was hungry again. I let them know that it was our wedding anniversary and most places at least give you a small free dessert but not this place. Overall, it was a disappointing experience, especially for the price. I would not recommend this place to other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on May 25, 2017

Deliciously different choices

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on May 24, 2017

Traveling to Nashville and went to Josephine on a friend's recommendation
The menu was creative and wide ranging with choices of small plates and enters that ranged from vegetable to scrapple and rabbit to scallops
The server was knowledgeable, personable and efficient
We enjoyed a plate of Brussel sprouts with a peanut vinaigrette, the chef's take on scrapple (a childhood favorite) and the scallops. All were excellent
There a is a very solid bar and wine list
Downside ? Noise - the design and modern interior reflects noise and little sound is absorbed or muffled. At 2/3's full it was 8.5 on a 10 scale - my totally subjective noise meter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 22, 2017

Was all that we had hoped for. We had the cheese plate and butter lettuce for starters and my husband had the Josephine steak /fries and I had the PRB Pork Chop! Cooked to perfection. Service was impeccable Great atmosphere. Have recommended to my friends already ! Will def be back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 22, 2017

We had dinner here on a Sunday night so the restaurant was not overly crowded but still had plenty of buzz. The waitress recommendations for drinks, starters and entrees were very accurate and helpful. Ribs, brussel sprouts and scallops were prepared artfully and lifted to a succulent place that would satisfy any selective, hard-to-please foodie. The dessert special - a 30 minute made-to-order blueberry cobbler with sour cream flavored ice cream -- was "as advertised" and finished off the meal superbly. Thank you for a fantastic evening.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on May 22, 2017

The menu is excellent. It is not extensive but the five of us who experienced Josephine each found something to delight us. Called farmhouse fare, the menu offerings are creative, appropriately-sized, and everything is fresh. There are a variety of "small" dishes that can be ordered as apetizers or several to make a meal. I thought the service was exceptional. I also like the setting of the restaurant on 12th Avenue South. I am certain to make this one of my frequented places.

Tags: Disabled Access, Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Authentic, Late-night Find, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 21, 2017

Quickly becoming one of my favorites for Brunch. Incredible value and typically have reservations available.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 20, 2017

This is the first time that my wife & I both wanted to grab a bite after dinner. The portions were small. The food was good, but not great. The drinks had a little more ice than I'm used to, but they were good. If I'm going to drop some change there are a couple of better options in town. I suggest Rolf & Daughters, The Watermark, or Chauhan Ale & Masala House.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was great! We would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 19, 2017

WOW as usual

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 14, 2017

Quiche was a tad soggy and for the price, the corn beef and eggs were no better than any other restaurant. BUT the appetizer of brussels sprouts were amazing - probably my favorite part of the Mother's Day brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on May 14, 2017

Enjoyed a wonderful Mother's Day brunch here. Service was excellent and all 5 of us enjoyed our food choices. Nice in the 12th S area to have the free valet parking (your should still tip!).

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 13, 2017

The most disappointing restaurant ever. Server was great, BUT the food was TERRIBLE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
·Dined on May 13, 2017

My first time to Josephine's will not be my last. Although a bit on the pricey side, the food was delicious, the serving staff was excellent and they have valet parking! I highly recommend the brussell sprouts appetizer - AMAZING! Their brunch choices are excellent and they let us linger and talk without making us feel rushed. I look forward to trying lunch and/or dinner at some point!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 13, 2017

A little pricey but overall very good. Went for brunch on a Saturay; I would highly recommend the fried donuts! Service was good, food was good, and it's in a great location (12 South).

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our server was excellent. She was attentive and made good recommendations. We were celebrating our son' s graduation and this was a great spot to to off the day.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 12, 2017

Mother's Day. Good cocktails and good lighting. Can't complain!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 12, 2017

The brussels sprouts and duck were amazing, which made the beef tongue appetizer and the rabbit - which were merely very good - a little bit of a disappointment. Blueberry cobbler with sour cream ice cream for two, though, absolutely made the evening. To die for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.