Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.81mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.81mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.81mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.81mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.10mi

About Josephine

Chef Andy Little's inspired cooking and neighborhood hospitality. Reservations highly recommended, but walk-ins always welcome. For reservations for the X/X:Josephine tasting menu, please call us at 615-292-7766.

2316 12th Ave S
Nashville, TN 37204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday: 5:00pm-11:00pm

Saturday: 10:00am-3:00 pm, 5:00pm- 11:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am-3:00 pm, 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Elmwood Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 292-7766

Website:
http://www.josephineon12th.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available out front and street parking as well in the surrounding area.

Executive Chef:
Andy Little

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Josephine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (56)
Special Occasion (50)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
See All
Fit for Foodies (47)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Bar Seating (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Local Ingredients (28)
Romantic (26)
Great for Brunch (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Casual (24)
Notable Wine List (22)
Hot Spot (22)
Business Meals (20)
Authentic (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Healthy (15)
Fun (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Cozy (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Seasonal (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Tapas (6)
Great Beer (5)
Organic (5)
People Watching (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1353 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Service was impeccable. Food was delicious but way over-priced. Steak was perfectly prepared but about the size of a McDonald's hamburger for $28.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Good food. A bit strange on how people walked in ahead of people with reservations. Food was good. Nice ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 15, 2017

The restaurant was highly recommended by locals. The drinks were amazing I had a bulleit old fashioned. They had a great wine list. The buffalo cauliflower is amazing. I had the scallops for dinner. They were large and cooked perfect. The corn, sausage and gazpacho added a unique smoky flavor. Others at the table had cod, duck and beef cheeks. Everything was delicious. The service was amazing as well. The restaurant is decorated with a lot of cool texture and is industrial. Best smelling bathroom in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We were in town for the weekend. Food, service, and ambiance were awesome. We will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 13, 2017

It is usually a better experience than it was this night. The food took longer than normal to come out and was somewhat cold. In addition, the rabbit was full of bones to which was not appetizing. I completely understand these things happen, but this was my particular experience on this evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Tables were a bit too close to have a romantic dinner. For the price, i dont feel like i got enough and my main (Pappardelle) was average, expected better, wont get it again. Brussel sprouts app was yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Disappointed. Nothing was "wrong" it just wasn't great like everything I had heard.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Our best dinner by far, on a weekend trip from Canada

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Service was okay - not as welcoming and processional as other Nashville restaurants we frequent. Apps and entrees interesting and very good. Brussels Sprouts & Buffalo Cauliflower apps fresh and tasty (cauilflower a LARGE app). Salmon fresh and well prepared to order. Pork chop and Steak were well prepared - not the best of cuts - but very tasty. Very cozy and comfortable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Fantastic farm to table experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The service and ambiance were very good. I had the omelet and it was exceptional. It is located in a very fun and lively part of Nashville. I live here and can visit a new restaurant daily almost. If you are a local or a visitor put Josephine on your to-do list!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Josephine is one of those 'gems that elevates one's appreciation for food and the effort that goes into it. We enjoyed several appetizers, few deserts and as our entree, we had the beef cheeks. Our favorite appetizer was the scrapple (you heard me right, scrapple!) and for the desert the dutch apple pie. The cheeks were perfect in every way possible.

If you haven't dined there yet, find a way to get there and sample the great cuisine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

We'll be back. The Sazerac cocktail was outstanding. So was the wine recommended by our terrific and knowledgeable waiter. Frisee salad was perfect. Scallops with a complex sauce -- creative and healthy. Steak frites -- good Parisian comfort food. And the hot apple pie-tart-torte -- whatever it was was fabulous. The parking valet remembered our faces and got our to us before we could fish the claim check out. Valet service is free but please tip generously. These folks are working hard.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Came to town to take my nieces to dinner. Josephine was Perfect! Entree was spectacular and desert was the best I have had anywhere in years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 2, 2017

This was our first time dining at Josephine. My husband and I decided to celebrate our anniversary here the other night, and we are very glad we did! The food was incredible (especially the small plates) and our waiter was friendly. My only minor complaint was that it was a bit noisy. Other than that, we had a great time and would definitely consider returning again in the future for another special occasion!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Two people in our party ordered the salmon and became extremely ill that evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great place for brunch. Simple food done well! The sticky bun alone is worth the trip.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We enjoyed brunch at Josephine's on our 11th wedding anniversary. Everything was wonderful! Would happily return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Service was good, food was acceptable quality, noise level moderate, price of entrees high for what one got. Fries were delicious.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

SO delicious! Abby was such a fantastic server as well. Overall, we had such a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting or currently living in the Nashville area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Slow service, slow to get us to a table even though there were open table, good food, difficult parking even for the valet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 24, 2017

I can't say enough about the service and food - loved everything about it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The service was great. It truly felt like we were guests and our host was paying special attention that we were happy. Each course was a winner from the beef tongue to the rabbit to the berry cobbler & sour cream ice cream. It was definitely a meal to remember.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Had an awesome brunch here. Loved getting a bit from downtown and walking this cute neighborhood.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

The entire menu is a must experience! Great drinks, wine, appetizers, entrees and desserts. We are never disappointed and always confident to recommend Chef Andy and his beautiful Staff. Thank you!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Organic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Server insisted we get the scallops and they were cold and unseasoned. No flavor and the gazpacho was not a good touch. Husband got the steak and it was fine but not worth the price we paid. We came here for our anniversary and I wish we'd gone to a nice steakhouse instead. For $125 I could have gotten a lot more and a better meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We enjoyed a lovely, tasty and satisfying Sunday brunch with our daughter and her friend. The bloody Marys were just the right amount of spicy. The eggs benedict over scrapple was delicious and unique. The biscuit that came with the chicken and biscuit was the best I've ever tasted! The chicken was perfect---moist on the inside and just the right amount of crunch on the outside. The side salads were so generous and the perfect accompaniment to the rich deliciousness of the entrees. Daughter's friend wasn't especially hungry and asked for just scrambled eggs and toast, and not only did they accommodate her special request, but they dressed it up beautifully. And the pecan rolls! O. M. G. I have no words, so drool-worthy! The service was impeccable---our waitress appeared at just the right moments and our meals were served in good time. I know there are so many other good restaurants in Nashville, but whenever we return, I would have a hard time not returning to Josephine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Was here for a Saturday Brunch with girlfriends. The food was excellent and the waiter very attentive. Would definitely recommend this restaurant for any occasion! Will visit again when we return to Nashville!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food was hands down amazing and the atmosphere was so cool.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I went to Josephine for a ladies' dinner, and everything we ate was jaw dropping good. The small plates were unique and delicious and the entrees memorable. Definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The buffalo cauliflower appetizer was amazing. Really enjoyed the chicken for two as well. Great atmosphere is a good area of town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 13, 2017

This was a business meal for a group of six physicians. They enjoyed the atmosphere, friendliness of the staff and raved about the food! They have asked me to keep Josephine on the list of our restaurants for business meetings. Thank you.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Visiting from CT so took a recommendation from some locals. Great brunch. Delicious homemade donuts!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Always consistent. Good food, good service, good time!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Loved the food. We had a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Very fresh ingredients and strong drinks. Quiet enough to have great conversation with friends

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 4, 2017

For Josephine's price, the value was just not there. We started off with the cheese plate which contained 3 cheeses (all great) with some crostini and nuts. The nuts were in place of the usual accompaniments such as onions, mustard, marmalade, etc. I get they were trying to be different but the nuts should be replaced or should at least not substitute the usual accompaniments. Considering this is a nice restaurant, that seemed like a "bar" food lazy choice. We also ordered the rabbit and steak. Steak and frites were great and cooked to order, but nothing special by any means. The rabbit was on the border of flavorless and came with dumplings as well as bacon, mushrooms, etc. The dumplings were an interesting addition because they seemed like breaded and fried dough, but had no flavor at all and were cold.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Tasty food. Not a huge menu but nice choices. Tables were kind of close. Service was good but almost felt rushed by how quickly the food was served. Overall we had a very nice experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food took a while to come out, but they told us the kitchen was backed up, so no big deal. They were great about splitting up checks, which was awesome for our large group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Amazing food. The prices are a little higher, but the quality is worth it. Besides, you can't go wrong with homemade scrapple!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.