Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.81mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.81mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.81mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.81mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.10mi

About Josephine

Chef Andy Little's inspired cooking and neighborhood hospitality. Reservations highly recommended, but walk-ins always welcome. For reservations for the X/X:Josephine tasting menu, please call us at 615-292-7766.

2316 12th Ave S
Nashville, TN 37204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday: 5:00pm-11:00pm

Saturday: 10:00am-3:00 pm, 5:00pm- 11:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am-3:00 pm, 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Elmwood Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 292-7766

Website:
http://www.josephineon12th.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available out front and street parking as well in the surrounding area.

Executive Chef:
Andy Little

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Josephine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (75)
Good for a Date (71)
Neighborhood Gem (63)
See All
Special Occasion (57)
Creative Cuisine (56)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Romantic (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Bar Seating (33)
Worth the Drive (32)
Local Ingredients (32)
Hot Spot (29)
Great for Brunch (28)
Casual (28)
Business Meals (28)
Fun (26)
Cozy (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Modern Decor (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Seasonal (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Authentic (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Healthy (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
People Watching (9)
Open Kitchen (6)
Organic (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Tapas (4)
Great Beer (4)
Scenic View (3)
Vegan (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1142 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

This is the best food I have experienced in a long time. Fabulous

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

A great room, a great meal and very friendly staff! Wonderful meal.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

Great vibe for social voyeurism, yummy food, excellent drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

In Nashville, our first visit, while our daughter decides on Vanderbilt Law after participating in the accepted students events. Nice restaurant, very good food. Loved the Brussels, also shared the chicken which was more than enough for three of us and even brought some leftovers back to hotel with us! Waitress Abby was so kind, found out about our daughters big accomplishment and treated for desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

Always good. Always consistent. One of my Nashville faves.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

Brussel sprouts, beef tongue for small plates. Whole Chicken for two with potatoes and kale - the Neal and service was a 10+. Our server Sara was professional polite and very attentive. Noise level allows for conversation in normal voice level. Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome place for fine food and ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Quiche was phenomenal! Will definitely go back for brunch and will try for dinner. Also, the best fries I've ever had!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Josephine's is my new favorite Nashville Restaurant. The food was wonderful, and our waitress was very friendly and helpful in our picking out what to order. Portions were just the right size. It was very very good. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We went on a Wed, for our anniversary. I thought it would be 'fine dining', based on the prices and menu. But the portions were so small, and the food just OK. $120 for the two of us (no drinks for me or desert for either of us). We don't mind spending that much if we love the food, and get enough to eat. But it just wasn't the case with this 'trendy' spot. I'll stick to Husk, Watermark, Margot, or anywhere in New Orleans!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Loved my drinks and apps. but the duck was a little for my liking. Service was great otherwise!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Healthy, Seasonal, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Fantastic food, great location, wonderful services, food presentation was excellent as well.
We enjoyed the Pretzel as an appetizer. The flavor was very good, mustard drip very tasty, unusual & fun appearance, like a small loaf.
Excellent selection of drinks, three beers on tap, nice options, plus good bottled selection.
Dinner selections: Hazelnut Ravioli with butternut purée sauce, and Pappardelle a lamb & bacon sauced pasta - both amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Original, creative AND delicious. Unique scrapple but so tasty we had it as an appetizer instead of a side. Great corned beef hash and hamburger!

This is my new Sunday brunch spot. Professional staff that know how to course meals. Great vibe and always packed with a mixed crowd. Valet parking which makes it so easy in 12 south.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

They're famous for their brussel sprouts and I see why. They are fabulous and the best ones I've ever had. The kids even loved them. Fantastic place and highly recommended!

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Spectacular. Great crab cakes and eggs Benedict. For a light brunch drink, try the Breakfast 52. Love this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Always a good time. Food was good. Not many dairy free options but enjoyed the steak and eggs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food! Unique experience! Went for bunch and got the Benedict. It was wonderful! Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Get the pecan sticky bun with a cup of french press coffee -- 100% on point!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I always love my meal at Josephine's hands down one of our favorite places in town. I have had better service there before though. Nothing bad about service just not as amazing as usual.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Busy place with an attractive group of customers. Sort of hip feeling, but nothing to write home about other than being in a hot location with good people watching.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Had a great experience at Josephine on Friday night! Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and also super friendly. The buffalo cauliflower and soft pretzel were to die for! The favorite entree of the night was the Pappardelle. We had let them know in advance that we had a birthday in our group and they left a cute card in the center of the table, which was a nice, thoughtful touch. Would recommend to anyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 9, 2017

It was a very enjoyable evening and our waitress, Shannon helped immensely. The menu was imaginative and a good taste sensation. When we had questions, Shannon provided knowledgable answers. The food was worth the trip from Clarksville and we hope the chef receives the James Beard award for best chef.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great food, great service, great prices. This is a must try if you are in the Nashville area.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

An attractive spot in a hip neighborhood of Nashville. Short menu promised interesting cuisine, carefully prepared and attentively served- and it did not disappoint! Not crazy about the cocktails- a little fruity, overly iced and sweet, would have preferred them served up in a pedestal glass. The desserts were totally "worth it"- delicious innovations of old standards. Busy on Monday night. Reservations needed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This is one of my favorites. Our waitress, I think her name was Abby, was really outstanding and helpful

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food, fantastic service. It was a little cramped for my liking, but a great experience overall.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I went to Josephine's with high hopes. I had heard such good things. We had an early reservation (5pm) and were greeted in a very lackluster way. The hostess looked as though we were inconveniencing her. Our server was great but the food was really average. Both our dishes arrived just a tad cold - not enough to send back but disappointing. My wine tasted like the last glass of a bottle that had been opened the day before (Seghesio Zin). The decor didn't feel fresh or cozy. Ultimately, not a very special experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Visiting Nashville for the weekend and came upon Josephine. Loved it! I highly recommend the chicken for 2. Best I have ever had. Love the decor too!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Casual, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The Nashville dining scene has set a very high bar for great food and Josephine exceeded my high expectations in every facet. Highly recommend!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We went to Josephine to celebrate a special occasion. The first time for us and it meets the high bar that is set for Nashville restaurants these days. I had the Bibb lettuce salad with home made ranch dressing and scrapple/corn meal croutons, and the beef cheeks with horseradish risotto entree. I hate to get stuck on a single dish, but I’ll be hard put to not order this again if it’s still on the menu. My wife had the crispy chicken skin and quick-pickle appetizer, which is right up her alley. Unfortunately her pasta was a bit over salted. Here’s how good they are. We pointed that out just to inform them, and they took it off the bill, which was not our intention. Shannon was our excellent server.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

It had been a while since I'd been to Josephine (for happy hour and dinner at the bar as well as dinner and brunch in the restaurant) and when my out-of-town friend asked me to recommend a place where she could treat us to dinner, we thought of Josephine. Things have changed. I thought I'd remembered table cloths -- but definitely remember a more upscale atmosphere. The large round table for our reservation of three didn't find the ambience bill and made conversation not as intimate. The service was rushed. Very pleasant and polite servers but certainly had come down a notch or two since my last visit. Quite noisy. No 'pre-meal' treat from the kitchen or a feeling of special attention -- which all diners should receive. Small portions. Delicious food. I will go back (probably to the bar) but won't suggest it as an upscale place again. Wine by the glass continues to be a bit expensive in comparison.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We've always had great food and a great evening at Josephine's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Over priced food. I will pay 28 dollars for a 5 star meal. The beef cheeks were great but not 28 dollars great. Most of the veggie appetizers were 14/15 dollars. Service was good. Wine was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Despite telling our server when we needed to leave and him double check into confirm, we didn't get 3/4 of our dishes until 20-30min before we had to cash out and leave for a concert. Spotty service but food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I've been to Josephine several times and the food is always great. This time was no exception -- the food was delicious. Don't forget to get some cookies for the road! What a lovely and personal touch! If you haven't tried Josephine yet, don't wait another day!

p.s. The brunch is great as well!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Everything about this meal was excellent. The service, the restaurant itself, the drinks, and of course the food were just fantastic. Can't say enough about great it was! An absolute must try if you're in Nashville!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

3 out of 4 of us had the snapper. The flavor of the fish was nice and delicate. The service team poured a tomato paste on the dish and it completely took over the fish. The portion was pretty small as well. We had 2 starters for 4 of us along with entrees and wine. We left hungry so I was a little disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Some of the best food I've had. We ordered the rabbit, the duck, the braised beef cheeks, and the steak and fries. Our kids ate with us (they are kind of foodies and are super well behaved) but it's not a kid-friendly menu. We just brought them hoping they'd eat something. The brussels sprouts were some of the best. The crispy chicken skins app was the best version I've had. The duck (my main course) was cooked to perfection. The Rabbit was the juiciest rabbit I've ever tasted. The braised beef cheeks had an umami flavor that I don't ever think I could replicate. The steak, while just a hanger steak, was SO full of flavor.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The only reason we don't go to Josephine's more is because...I don't know why. I've never had a bad meal. The last experience was weekend brunch and it was very enjoyable. The steak and eggs is quite flavorful and they do have some of the best drinks in town.

Definitely on the list of top restaurants in Nashville.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.