Josephine

4.7
1602 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Special Occasion
Chef Andy Little's inspired cooking and neighborhood hospitality. Reservations highly recommended, but walk-ins always welcome. Open for dinner nightly and brunch on weekends.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon–Thu, Sun 5:00 pm–10:00 pm
Fri, Sat 5:00 pm–11:00 pm
Sat, Sun 10:00 am–3:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(615) 292-7766
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Andy Little
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Elmwood Ave
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary valet is available in front of the restaurant and street parking as well in the surrounding area.
Additional
Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1602 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 3 days ago

Food was good, but over priced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Always consistent and always delicious! One of my very favorite brunch spots!!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 5 days ago

Very disappointed. I’ve had dinner at Josephine several times and was very pleased. However the brunch on Sunday, June 17 was beyond bad. I ordered the J’s breakfast item. The sausage and potatoes were grossly over salted, almost to the point of being inedible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Everything was delicious, and the biscuits were at least as good as Loveless’!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

We went here for our anniversary - the food was great, creative combinations, great drink menu and the service was attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

The experience was very positive. All employees were energetic and welcoming. The food was delicious and we will return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 11, 2018

The food and service were outstanding. The restaurant itself temperature-wise, very warm perhaps due to the sun and how it sets in the afternoon. By the end of the meal I was miserable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

The food choices are unique and the service was excellent. I wasn’t sure if I would enjoy the food was pleasantly surprised. Anyone should give this place a try when visiting the 12 South Area of Nashville.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

The ambiance was wonderful. The restaurant had low lighting and a cozy, romantic feel. Great place for a romantic dinner date!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 10, 2018

The bar tender, Scott, is incredible! Very friendly and a pro at mixing drinks. The hostess was friendly but over sold us on how great our waitress was.

Waitress was ok. She was nice just seemed overwhelmed and a little introvert. We wanted a desert that took 30 mins to bake, only we didn't know that. She should have prompted that when we ordered appetizers. So we did desert at Jeni's Ice cream instead.

My entree' was great. I ordered the duck. However, my wife ordered the halibut and it was the blandest dish I've ever had anywhere. We were very disappointed with it.

They do have free valet parking which was great! I'd recommend getting a reservation. We did and I'm glad we did. The place was hopping 15 mins after we sat down.

Bottom line, I'd go back again but we're not ordering any fish. I'd also hope to get a different waiter/waitress.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

The food at Josephine’s was amazing. The small plates were excellent with a beautiful presentation. Our server was amazing, she was extremely knowledgeable about the wines and recommended a perfect pairing for our meal. We will definately return whenever our travels take us to Nashville.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

In town for the CMA Fest with daughter - and went to Josephine's for a dinner before the concert. Menu is seasonal with interesting and eclectic use of ingredients - we both loved it! Peach salad, amish tomato toast, asparagus soup, and more! Definitely will return when I am back to Nashville.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Everything was so spectacular. Our new favorite restaurant in Nashville!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Friends in town. Great experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Have been here twice for brunch and would definitely return in the future. Don't miss the Pecan Sticky Buns on the brunch menu! Complimentary valet parking available, pleasant staff. My friends and I have ordered: the cinnamon sugar donuts, chicken and waffle, chicken sandwich, J's breakfast, the cheeseburger, the crab cake salad, and the Benedict - all were pleased with their selections. Enjoy!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Celebrated our 20 year Anniversary dinner. Cozy atmosphere. We had the duck breast and quail. Both were delicious except my husband wasn’t a fan of the coleslaw that came with the quail. We met the people sitting next to us which made the night more enjoyable. They were super friendly and gave us lots of tips on where to go while we were visiting Nashville. The peach cobbler is amazing...you definitely should order it before your meal so it’s ready by the time you finish it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Excellent spot for fine cuisine and top wines and craft drinks. Service was spot on and perfect, including focused attention by the manager. Lovely time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Delicious, and the setting was perfect for us to celebrate her birthday :) we loved it!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Ok...but not as good as others. Our service was good, though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Loved this spot. Table wasn’t ready, so we sat at the bar. Scott rocks as both bartender and menu guru. Josephine’s is a keeper!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Staff very helpful and accommodating. Ordered Biscuits and they were to die for!! Crab cake, although a little too crispy on the exterior for me was all crab, little or no filler and very good. Salad compliment was wonderful with tender mixed spring greens and a light refreshing and tasty vinaigrette dressing. A delightful experience!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

We had a fantastic brunch at Josephine’s . The biscuits were heavenly, and the quiche delicious. The dish that will keep you coming back is the brown butter hollandaise and scrapple-based Benedict with perfectly poached eggs and perfectly dressed greens. Enjoy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Service was amazing - we went to celebrate my birthday and they even had a birthday card for me as they sat us! We went to dinner early (6ish) so it was not very crowded. Started off with the Nashville Hot Scrapple and the Cheese Platter. We are from the east coast and haven't seen scrapple once since being in Nashville for a year so we had to get it! It was so delicious - it was a small appetizer, but between the cheese plate and both of our entrees, we left very satisfied. My husband got the steak and fries and I got the duck. This was our first time trying duck and we came away calling it our new favorite bird. Everything was seriously delicious and came out very promptly. Our waitress was extremely pleasant and timed the food and drinks perfectly. Would recommend for a special event as it was usually a little more expensive than just a regular dinner we would have out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

I love the atmosphere of Josephine’s. We went for brunch, and we all commented on how good the food was and large portions. Our server was very attentive. Will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 2, 2018

The food is very good, I’ve eaten here twice and liked the food both times. When full it’s noisy but a good scene.. great location. Our waitress was ok but was the only one managing a long row of tables. We we had to wait awhile to order water and a drink. Again the food is good, but I feel the portions are skimpy. I ordered the meatballs which are delicious... but not enough food, just 2 more and a little bit more potatoes etc. And I wouldn’t have been hungry after. The pastrami carrots are also delicious but again there wasn’t much too it. If your really hungry, this is an expensive way to satisfy your appetite regardless of how good the food is, and it is good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Fantastic menu, excellent service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Saw Josephine on Michael Simon's show. Had to try it !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Loved everything !

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Food was delicious. The entree portions are exceedingly small. The $35 halibut was about 3 ounces on top of 4 carrot slices and a couple of potato slices. After a small bowl of asparagus soup, the entree was not enough to send the man home sated.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

I was in town from Connecticut visiting family and friends, just a few days shy of my niece’s birthday. Josephine’s was the perfect spot to celebrate. The staff went above and beyond to make it special. Our dinner and dessert selections were beautifully and creatively presented. Everything was fresh, perfectly prepared and tasted phenomenal. We would highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Josephine’s was amazing! We went on a Sunday night for dinner. From the start everything was great. I don’t typically order cocktails but they all looked so good I had to try them. The Chefs Cocktail was a bourbon drink that was so refreshing and the perfect start to the night. For appetizers we had the pretzel and the chicken wings. They were both out of this world. The chef even gave us an extra chicken wing so everyone in our party could have 2. Both appetizers were a good size for a nice restaurant. Normally I feel underwhelmed with the portion sizes at upscal restaurants but that was not the case at Josephine’s. For dinner everyone at the table tried something different so we could try everything. We had the duck, chicken for 2, morel fettuccine, and the halibut. There wasn’t anything that was less than excellent. The kale with the chicken for 2 was one of the best things I’ve ever eaten. The kale was so light and fluffy. Lastly we had the apple pie and ice cream. For the pie you must order it at the beginning of your meal because they are freshly made to order. I would highly recommend it! The atmosphere was great and the staff was so kind and attentive. We will be back. The staff made the night very special for my family and it is now going to be a tradition anytime they are in town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Pecan sticky buns awesome. Chicken and waffles just ok. Waffle soaked in syrup and chicken small overly fried pieces.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Wow; the 5 of us enjoyed a truly awesome meal and the service was outstanding

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

This was a first visit to Nashville for some in our group. We rented an Airbnb in 13 South and were delighted to find such a charming place to have a delicious Sunday brunch. The food was yummy and the atmosphere charming. I would not only recommend this place but would come back to eat at this establishment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Amazing brunch experience and we look forward to going again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Fabulous food, wonderful cocktails, incredible service and even a special hand-written card congratulating my son and his fiancee on their engagement. Josephine hits it out of the park. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 19, 2018

The food was so so... and the ambiance on the trying to be fkmething but not sure what. The service was friendly.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Our service was wonderful, very attentive and informative. Our server had a great personality and he even shared a few local hotspots for us to visit since we were from our of town. He brought out a candle in the dessert for my friends birthday, very sweet. The hostesses were very nice - we arrived early due to the terrible weather and they promptly sat us. they had a hand written birthday note for my friend as well. Great drinks - the Vodka Mule was awesome. Food was OK - I had the Fish entree and it was beautifully plated but didn't have much flavor. My friend had the Steak entree which had a ton more flavor and it was served with a huge pile of fries! We also had the cheese board and pretzel as an app - cheese board was good, not spectacular. And the pretzel was fine - again, nothing spectacular. The atmosphere was great, very cozy and quaint, decor was beautiful, overall had a really nice vibe. I would go back for drinks at the bar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Josephine didn’t disappoint in any way! Great atmosphere, great service. All six of us loved all of our apps, entrees, desserts and drinks. It was a five star evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Great evening! Apps were cheese plate and soft shell crab over brioche toast with remoulade sauce. The halibut and duck were exceptional. Warm apple cobbler and vanilla ice cream topped off great experience. First time visit but not our last.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
41

Tweets by Josephine