About Josephine

2316 12th Ave S
Nashville, TN 37204
View Larger Map

Chef Andy Little's inspired cooking and neighborhood hospitality. Reservations highly recommended, but walk-ins always welcome. For reservations for the X/X:Josephine tasting menu, please call us at 615-292-7766.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday: 5:00pm-11:00pm

Saturday: 10:00am-3:00 pm, 5:00pm- 11:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am-3:00 pm, 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Elmwood Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 292-7766

Website:
http://www.josephineon12th.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available out front and street parking as well in the surrounding area.

Executive Chef:
Andy Little

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Josephine, Nashville, TN
  • Josephine, Nashville, TN
  • Josephine, Nashville, TN

Report a photo problem

Josephine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (74)
Good for a Date (73)
Special Occasion (69)
See All
Creative Cuisine (57)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Romantic (44)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Local Ingredients (38)
Modern Decor (36)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Hot Spot (33)
Cozy (32)
Bar Seating (29)
Great for Brunch (28)
Worth the Drive (25)
Business Meals (25)
Authentic (23)
Casual (22)
Fun (22)
Notable Wine List (22)
Good for Groups (17)
Seasonal (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Comfort Food (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
People Watching (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Outstanding Value (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Healthy (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Organic (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Tapas (6)
Great Beer (4)
Vegan (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Family Style (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Private Room (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Scenic View (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1055 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely one of the best dinners in Na ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely one of the best dinners in Nashville. Service was great And food was outstanding.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Holy cow....for the love of Mary, lay of ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Holy cow....for the love of Mary, lay off the salt!! My tastebuds still haven't come back to life. Lovely atmosphere. Ok service. Not so okay cuisine. Sad tepid cappuccino. It all looked good on paper, but just didn't come to life. Lukewarm and salty beyond words....every. single. dish!....

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Could take it or leave it. Went for brun ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Could take it or leave it. Went for brunch but possibly dinner is better. Definitely wasn't bad but nothing to write home about. We may try again in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Very great food. Exceptional staff. Re ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Very great food. Exceptional staff. Reasonably priced.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I went there for brunch on ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

My friend and I went there for brunch on yesterday (Sunday) and it was a good choice. I ordered the catfish sandwich and he ordered the corned beef hash & eggs and both were good. The seating is snug so if you're big on having space between you and other guests, this may not be the best place for you to visit. It's in a very high traffic area so take advantage of the complimentary valet parking, otherwise you'll spend hours driving around trying to find a parking space.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I run one of the larger Full Service Hot ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 days ago

I run one of the larger Full Service Hotels in the area.

Food Quality and Creativity were Outstanding. Service was very professional and attentive.

No wonder Josephine is a top pick in Nashville for Brunch.

We will definitely be back and tell our friends.

Keep up the great work!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about the place was GREAT! Th ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything about the place was GREAT! The food was amazing, the service was impeccable, I LOVED the decor. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was super excited to eat here again af ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

I was super excited to eat here again after I tried it shortly after first opening. We planned this as a special meal for my birthday. The food was delicious, but the dinner portions weren't worth the price. If price wasn't a factor, I'm sure we'd have had tried more things on app menu, but alas we only got one app to split. We left only moderately satisfied. The noise level and closeness of the tables made us a bit uncomfortable. I really wanted to love it. Perhaps we'll try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The food was amazing. It was well season ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was amazing. It was well seasoned and fresh. The service was A+. We will return the next time we're in Nashville!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We have visited Josephine's frequently a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

We have visited Josephine's frequently and have always been extremely impressed and happy with the food and the service. We had our office Christmas party there and everyone enjoyed!! we just took our best friends last Sat Night and they loved too. Never disappoints!!

Tags: Vegan, Molecular Gastronomy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous brunch. Brown butter syrup for ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fabulous brunch. Brown butter syrup for waffle was best syrup we have ever had. Josephine's eggs Benedict was so yummy. Great atmosphere. Pretty surroundings. People watching , delightful ambience fun and upbeat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I recently visited Josephine on a date n ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I recently visited Josephine on a date night with my husband. Using OpenTable, we made reservations in advance and were seated immediately in the back corner of the restaurant. The table we were placed at was a two-top, and it was a little too close to the neighboring table to be completely comfortable (we could hear their conversation clearly), but the overall ambience of the restaurant was nice. It was small and intimate, but there was still a lot off activity going and you could tell people were enjoying themselves over a nice meal.

I just ordered a glass of wine, but my husband ordered the Chef's special, which was some type of bourbon drink, and he said it was surprisingly good and refreshing (he is usually more a straightforward bourbon and ginger drinker.)

We originally were going to order two separate entrees, but a nice lady filling out water encouraged us to get the Chicken for Two, and we were so impressed! It took a while to come out (about 35 minutes), but they informed us of this prior to placing the order so we knew what to expect. It was the best chicken I think I've ever had - cooked perfectly and so tender you could cut it easily with a fork! The accompanying greens and potatoes were the perfect compliment and there was more than enough for two people. My husband rarely gets excited about food, so I knew it was delicious when he raved about it.

Overall, the service was smooth, if predictable, and we had a great time. I event started googling the recipe for the chicken on the way home in case it was posted online so that I could try to recreate it at home (it's not unfortunately.)

My only regret is that we didn't order the dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Josephines is our go to place for Date n ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Josephines is our go to place for Date night. The ambiance is great, the wait staff is wonderful and knowledgeable and the food is outstanding. You can't go wrong with any menu item. Enjoy!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Josephine is always a favorite. The beef ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Josephine is always a favorite. The beef cheeks entree is my favorite. The food is consistently excellent and everything is good. Highly recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our evening. Great ser ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We really enjoyed our evening. Great service. Excellent food. I had the scallops. My friend had the lamb.

Tags: Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, , Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were at brunch which had a fabulous v ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We were at brunch which had a fabulous variety for any taste palette. Our server was very solicitors of our needs and appreciated ourcelebration. We would definitely return!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Energetic staff, great comfort food, and ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Energetic staff, great comfort food, and great value.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, , Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Outstanding food and service-Casey is th ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Outstanding food and service-Casey is the best! The Duck and Risotto is a must. The Scrapple is always on my order.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved our experience at Josephine's! ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We loved our experience at Josephine's! We were there for a friend's birthday and the food was amazing ( I recommend the steak and beef cheeks) and the ambience was great. The staff were wonderful and I will be back soon!

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Visited Josephine's on a date at the rec ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Visited Josephine's on a date at the recommendation of my boss, we both work in Restaurant industry. I work at a upscale steakhouse and was very impressed with our server Shannon, she was super professional and fun. I gave her a price point for wine and she assisted me in choosing a very nice Bordeaux ($102) to accompany our entrees. She spent ample time sharing her knowledge of the menu and helped us narrow down our choices to the Duck and Ravioli. I absolutely loved both but the Ravioli was the best I have had anywhere so far. The brussel sprouts were fantastic as well, inventive and delish. We finished off with the apple pie and icecream. Make sure to have ample time to wait because it takes 30 minutes to prepare, but it is worth it. Tastes like momma's homemade apple pie. Was around $200 for 2 entrees, app, and dessert before tip. 100% worth it. Great for special occasions or just a nice night out on the town. Go and see for yourself.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first trip to Josephine, but ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 3, 2017

This was my first trip to Josephine, but my parents have been several times. According to them, the quality of both food and service was on par with all previous visits.

I thoroughly enjoyed the food and drinks. The cocktail menu was unique and well executed. The food was straight forward and exquisitely prepared. My pappardelle was perfect and the lamb ragout was delicious. Best of all, the portion sizing was reasonable.

The ambiance was also really pleasant. It had sort of an upscale bistro feel to the decor but lacked the pretentiousness you might expect. The servers were convivial and knowledgeable.

I really can't find any negatives to report. We'll definitely be making a return visit and soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot! The Josephine chicken for 2 ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great spot! The Josephine chicken for 2 is AHmazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't mind dropping $175 on a meal. E ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I don't mind dropping $175 on a meal. Especially with booze and dessert. However, I do expect the meal to be great at that price. I certainly don't expect scallops to be cold and short ribs to be just ok. Disappointed with the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Some temp issues with entree. Replaced ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Some temp issues with entree. Replaced it immediately. Courteous and attentive service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for our anniversary with r ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went there for our anniversary with reservations. Complimentary Valet parking for car. Once inside, we were seated promptly. We asked questions about the craft cocktails, and our server was very knowledgeable and able to describe them well. She was also very good with the wines, and menu.

I had the rabbit. While a little sweeter that I prefer, it was still very good. My wife had the Steak Frites. The Steak was a little rarer than she preferred, ( I'd probably ask for the next temperature up next time - example their Med-rare would be my medium) but was well seasoned, and the Frites were crispy and seasoned well.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Josephine was recommended as one of Nash ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Josephine was recommended as one of Nashville's finest places,

the cauliflower appetizer was the bullseye!! Our waiter was charming but no one knew who JOSEPHiNE BAKER was!!!! I was happy to educate!!! No one knew who Josephine was either ;)

...interesting!! GREAT ambiance and we had the very special table fit for royalty!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Casual, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It started with the perfect dirty martin ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

It started with the perfect dirty martini and then came the most delicious pork chop I have ever eaten. Then we walked out with complimentary, wonderful molasses cookies, recipe attached. An amazing dinner and we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cheese plate was great but the bread was ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Cheese plate was great but the bread was so hard it ruined the experience. The wait staff apologized but said all the bread was hard. It was nice to have a good vegetarian choice. The pumpkin ravioli was pretty good, but it was not visually appealing. Will go back, but a few changes would take this from a 4 to a 5. The wait staff was very polite, and the atmosphere was very relaxing and quiet. Loved the free cookies from the hostess as we departed. And, the parking is always very convenient with the valet right in front of the restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Really, really enjoyed our meal and even ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Really, really enjoyed our meal and evening! Nice unusual app, great scallops and steak for entree and unusual dessert. Convenient valet parking. Left with left over brussel sprouts... and, yummy gingerbread cookies with the recipe! We plan to be back at least quarterly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Josehine's was a great find and a must g ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Josehine's was a great find and a must go to when visiting Nashville. The food was delicious and beautifully plated, our server was friendly and knowledgeable of the menu and the decor was terrific! A bit out of the way but well worth the drive!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fun, Romantic, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was wonderful and the food ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Our waitress was wonderful and the food was amazing! Some of the tables were a little close together for my liking; but overall a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Made a reservation after reading about t ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Made a reservation after reading about this restaurant in Garden and Gun. The brussel sprouts were a must and lived up to the rave reviews we had read about them. The Josephine benedict was delicious as well as the fried oyster sandwich . Two thumbs up from this mother and son.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was excellent. I was not inpr ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our server was excellent. I was not inpressed by the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was fantastic – loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been wanting to try Josephine for t ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Have been wanting to try Josephine for two years. I ordered ravioli and it was too sweet for my tastes. The Brussel sprouts were amazing and the other guest liked her lamb pappardelle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular. Best Eggs Benedict of my li ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Spectacular. Best Eggs Benedict of my life. Great salad as well.

Tags: Hot Spot, , Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding for breakfast. Dined here wi ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Outstanding for breakfast. Dined here with my wife in search of southern inspired brunch and we found an impressive take on fried chicken. The quiche (my go to) is creamy and loaded with top quality ingredients.

Awesome atmosphere and professional service. Located in a great neighborhood with a lot to do nearby. Check them out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

My husband and I went to Josephine for o ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My husband and I went to Josephine for our 11 year anniversary. This was a super splurge for us, however it did not disappoint. The food and drinks were amazing. It was a great fine dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice dinner. Food was prepared as order ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Nice dinner. Food was prepared as ordered and we had a good time dining at the bar.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

From beginning to end an enjoyable first ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 7, 2016

From beginning to end an enjoyable first experience. As a matter of fact, my dinner companion and I lost track of time enjoying our wine, appetizer, entree and dessert (!) we lost track of time and was late to a concert!! Service was professional and timely-- a welcomed experience in restaurant customer service these days. Menu is traditional and eclectic at the same time (a positive attribute ). The following is not a negative but something to note--- the dining space is a bit too shoulder to shoulder for my preference. Not ideal for private conversation especially for business conversation. Again, just a note to first time diners.

A return visit is in my near future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.