About Josephine

2316 12th Ave S
Nashville, TN 37204
View Larger Map

Chef Andy Little's inspired cooking and neighborhood hospitality. Reservations highly recommended, but walk-ins always welcome. For reservations for the X/X:Josephine tasting menu, please call us at 615-292-7766.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday: 5:00pm-11:00pm

Saturday: 10:00am-3:00 pm, 5:00pm- 11:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am-3:00 pm, 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Elmwood Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 292-7766

Website:
http://www.josephineon12th.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available out front and street parking as well in the surrounding area.

Executive Chef:
Andy Little

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Josephine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Nashville ›

fit for foodies (187)
neighborhood gem (144)
special occasion (136)
See All
hot spot (85)
romantic (83)
good for groups (71)
great for brunch (67)
notable wine list (56)
vibrant bar scene (34)
great for lunch (19)
late-night find (11)
scenic view (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
821 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall, the experience was quite disapp ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined 3 days ago

Overall, the experience was quite disappointing. The waitress truly had the opportunity to make the visit a positive experience – however, instead the waitress didn't care, engaged only one spoken toand had a terrible attitude throughout the dining experience. The food was served warm but not hot, the meals we're sitting under heat lamps for more than eight minutes upon delivery from kitchen. I sure hope this was a fluke, precious experiences have been outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Josephine had been on my list for a whil ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 3 days ago

Josephine had been on my list for a while to try out, and it did not disappoint. Went for brunch on my birthday with three other ladies to celebrate. They hand lettered a card wishing me happy birthday, and the service was impeccable. I would highly recommend their brunch as I got the waffle, two others got the quiche and the last one ordered the Eggs Benedict. We all came away from the experience delighted and stuffed with good food.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service, food and atmosphere were perfec ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service, food and atmosphere were perfect! Very creative seasonal choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my wife and I's favorite dinners ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 5 days ago

One of my wife and I's favorite dinners of all time. The lump crab, beef cheeks, seared tuna and peach cobbler were some of the best ever. Pete also did a great job taking care of us, many thanks for a great evening!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great find. We had heard good ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was a great find. We had heard good things about it, but had never made it to the restaurant. I wish we would have gone sooner. My wife talked about for days. It was great. Very strongly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely ambiance and a unique menu with g ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Lovely ambiance and a unique menu with generally high quality food. I though it was overpriced though. The sauce on the beef cheeks was so overpowering that it was hard to taste the meat or the horseradish risotto underneath.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Beef Cheeks. Duck. Great Wine. If you ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Beef Cheeks. Duck. Great Wine. If you're into elevated cuisine, love the richness of hand crafted food and are willing to pay $200 for a good meal including wine, you have to go! We loved it for celebrating our Anniversary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and both had the fettuccini a ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My husband and both had the fettuccini and it was very good. Dessert was waiters choice, blueberry torte, excellent choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

AMAZING mixed drinks! Would reccomend ge ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

AMAZING mixed drinks! Would reccomend getting a few small plates to share if you're on a budget.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was excellent. Food choices were go ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was excellent. Food choices were good. Drink selection good. Ambience good. Overall experience was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

The peach cobbler was amazing. Truly. T ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The peach cobbler was amazing. Truly.

The pork chop was so fatty. I was disappointed because I so looking forward to my first meal prepared the way the chops are prepared.

Martini was perfection. Icy bits. .. yum.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Love the grilled squash stack and the to ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Love the grilled squash stack and the tomato panzanella. Tuna was amazing. They should feature it more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Josephine was a great restaurant for all ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Josephine was a great restaurant for all of the above occasions. We went for my boyfriends bday and he really enjoyed the food, where we sat, the staff, and the little cookies at the end were a nice little bonus.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our waiter Gabriel was so nice. The food ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Our waiter Gabriel was so nice. The food was very good except the cheese plate was a disappointment. The nuts were extremely salty, and there were only about seven crackers served with the dish. We ask for more crackers and were charged for them!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Superb food and service. We all loved ev ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Superb food and service. We all loved every selection!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was a Josephine's for brunch while vis ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I was a Josephine's for brunch while visiting my daughter who lives in Nashville. We planted ourselves in our seats and chatted for a good 2.5 hours! Never once did we feel that we were being pushed out. In fact, we hadn't even realized so much time had passed. Our waitress Karah was adorable and gave us the exact right amount of attention and GREAT food recommendations. It's in an adorable part of town. AMAZING Blood Mary. Highly recommend. Not inexpensive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our 25th Anniversary at Jo ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We celebrated our 25th Anniversary at Josephine recently and it exceeded our expectations. Service was phenomenal - our waiter was also one of the sommeliers and helped with great pairing recommendations. He was attentive & professional without hovering. We had been to Josephine in the past and had good experiences, was this trip was a notable step above our past visit. We look forward to coming back again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I love taking friends to the restaurants ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I love taking friends to the restaurants of 12th Avenue South...and Josephine has much to recommend it. The service is upbeat and engaging...the dinner selections excellent. The "energetic" noise level was too much for me on Saturday night, though my companion, who sat in the cushioned banquette, seemed to have less of a challenge in this regard!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Nice Place but I would not go to eat the ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Nice Place but I would not go to eat there again. I guess my palate is just too unsophisticated. I took my wife for her birthday because it is hip and trendy with great reviews. And it was a cool environment but the food was just too out there for us.

I am sure a real foodie would like this place, but it taught me that I am not in this category.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

My wife and I brought my daughter for a ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My wife and I brought my daughter for a visit to Belmont University and I made a reservation the day before we dined there via opentable. I had never heard of Josephine, but I will certainly let others know of it. We had a wonderful meal, service was excellent, and the ambiance added to our overall wonderful experience of Belmont and the surrounding 12th Ave. S. area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

When I'm visiting Nashville Josephine Re ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

When I'm visiting Nashville Josephine Restaurant is a go to spot for a cut above dinner during the work week . The food is well prepared and presented by their excellent servers. I had one of the best pork chops ever. The scrapple appetizer was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Good food. We we were especially pleased ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Good food. We we were especially pleased with the scrapple. Also had the beef tongue, beef cheeks, and the duck. The duck was cooked perfectly, but the accompaniments were nothing special.

Table are close together, which encouraged conversation between "neighbors". Nice atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was perfect and service was com ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was perfect and service was completely on point. The only complaint is that the restaurant was a little on the loud side.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall just OK. Serviceable and nice bu ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Overall just OK. Serviceable and nice but really nothing special. I've never had more salt on my French fries nor such a piddly amount of ketchup to go with them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

excellent food and service. Somewhat of ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

excellent food and service. Somewhat of a hidden, forgotten, gem due to Nashville's new foodie areas. As good as ant meal ive had in a long time!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We started with the Bibb Lettuce Salad w ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We started with the Bibb Lettuce Salad with bacon, croutons, radishes, herb buttermilk dressing, one of our favorites! I had the seared tuna which was excellent. My date had the chicken for two (half we took home), it had delicious crisp new potatoes. We did not have dessert, but the French Press coffee is the nice way to end the dinner, with great flavor.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Josephine is one of my all time 12S favo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Josephine is one of my all time 12S favorites. The food is consistently delicious and creative. The waitstaff explains the dishes beautifully, offering great advice on their favorites. The kitchen handles food restrictions exceptionally well and the servers are well informed and handle special requests without making guests self conscious. The valet service is a real bonus and the guys are super friendly and fast. I've never regretted recommending Josephine to friends traveling to Nashville. It's really, really good. Across the board.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group of 6 had a great time. Very un ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Our group of 6 had a great time. Very unusual menu which made it fun. We sat in a booth that faced the windows. It was horrible until the sun went down . We had to hold our menus up over our eyes . Great desserts.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Spectacular service, top notch food and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Spectacular service, top notch food and dining experience without the fuss or pretentiousness.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great Nashville restaurant!! ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This is a great Nashville restaurant!! Great food, service and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Half the items we ordered were quite nic ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Half the items we ordered were quite nice--especially the asparagus and crab. But the other half left much to be desired: the roasted salsa overpowered the grilled squash and the duck main dish was both under cooked (we had to send it back) and flavorless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

We had a 6:00 Sat. night reservation and ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had a 6:00 Sat. night reservation and the restaurant was busy but not crowded. Seated immediately. Had a very nice waitress. My husband really enjoyed the Spaetzel. I had the Pappardelle and it was just okay. It was my third time to the restaurant but my first for dinner. I'll certainly go back but probably for brunch or lunch.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were the second couple in the restaur ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We were the second couple in the restaurant that evening (at 5:00 PM) and it took over an hour for our food to be served. As the restaurant filled with patrons, they, too, were complaining about the long delay in receiving their food. When my wife's steak arrived, it was cold! Our waitress was very good. The cook staff was noisy; the recorded music was loud and "noisy"; and therefore, the bar patrons were noisy. In our opinion, during the last two or three years, this restaurant has gone from a quiet, nice locale with a special menu for a special occasion, to one of noise, heavy drinking by a younger set, and slow food. I know this is where the profit is, but it will cost you some older, reliable customers!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Visited for Saturday brunch. My daughte ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Visited for Saturday brunch. My daughter and I ordered 2 of the less pricey items on the menu. The food was good enough, and our server was very good. I did pay $9 for a single mimosa. I do like the atmosphere of the place, but just don't think it's worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Amazing food, great service! Lovely sitt ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Amazing food, great service! Lovely sitting , highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Anniversary dinner and tried for the 1st ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Anniversary dinner and tried for the 1st time. Excellent dish concepts unless anyone is a vegetarian and then the entree are pieced together. Had an issue where the veg option was arranged to be the entree and both the portion size and pricing were sad. Causing a sour note on an otherwise good evening. The server went above and beyond to rectify but shame on the manager for not having thought through the scenario and provided a normal portion for a fair price to begin with. Loved the use of Porter Road Butcher meats however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful. Great place for foodies.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Wonderful. Great place for foodies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We had a great time at Josephine's for m ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We had a great time at Josephine's for my boyfriend's birthday! Great selection of drinks, food options that were both tasty and quite different from each other, and great seating. The wait staff was friendly and timely. Food took a little while to come out of the kitchen, but I would rather it be prepared fresh and carefully than thrown together!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service were great. My frie ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The food and service were great. My friend really enjoyed and was surprised by her cocktail as not tasting traditional which was a plus for her. Nice wine list. We sat at a round table which is my favorite shape for a table. I love the farm to table aspect and appreciate the creative variety of offerings over a set menu kind of thing.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and service! However, not the ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food and service! However, not the place for a quiet, intimate conversation. Soooo loud!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.