About Josephine

2316 12th Ave S
Nashville, TN 37204
View Larger Map

Chef Andy Little's inspired cooking and neighborhood hospitality. Reservations highly recommended, but walk-ins always welcome. For reservations for the X/X:Josephine tasting menu, please call us at 615-292-7766.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday: 5:00pm-11:00pm

Saturday: 10:00am-3:00 pm, 5:00pm- 11:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am-3:00 pm, 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Elmwood Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 292-7766

Website:
http://www.josephineon12th.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available out front and street parking as well in the surrounding area.

Executive Chef:
Andy Little

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Josephine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Nashville ›

fit for foodies (172)
neighborhood gem (131)
special occasion (123)
See All
romantic (95)
hot spot (86)
great for brunch (72)
good for groups (55)
notable wine list (55)
vibrant bar scene (41)
great for lunch (19)
late-night find (10)
kid-friendly (8)
scenic view (8)
great for outdoor dining (6)
 (6)
 (5)
 (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
757 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great dinner experience

Dined 4 days ago

The food and wine was delicious, and the service was great. Among our favorites were the brussel sprouts appetizer and the chicken thigh entree. The dessert choices were a bit limited, which was slightly disappointing. However, they sent us home with a small box of homemade molasses cookies which was a nice gesture. They were tasty as well! We would definitely return.

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food. But there are lots of restau ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great food. But there are lots of restaurants in Nashville whose food is just as sophisticated and tasty, but with larger plates for less money.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Dinner

Dined 5 days ago

We were visiting Nashville and wanted to have some good food. This was great! The pappardelle with lamb was amazing!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Dinner at Josephine's

Dined 5 days ago

The ambience of Josephine's was great. Our server was wonderful and very attentive the whole evening. I had the scallops, my husband had the hanger steak. The food was delicious and very flavorful, but the amount of food you get is not worth the price tag. Everything else about the place was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a perfect dining experience. Bes ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Always a perfect dining experience. Best restaurant in Nashville for a reason! The fabulous and gorgeous manager Ashley always makes us feel so at home when we come in. Can't wait to go back!

food5
ambience2
service4
value5

Enjoyed despite some issues

Dined 6 days ago

Very loud room. The Manhattan-like drink with Cynar was an epic fail: All four of us tasted it and found it undrinkable. First time I have ever sent back a drink. A friend paid the bill, so I don't know whether it was comped. But my lamb pappardelle was excellent, and my wife really enjoyed the gnocchi as well as her glass of wine.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We met friends for dinner on a Tues nigh ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

We met friends for dinner on a Tues night. We all thought our dinner choices were excellent! My scallops with black eyed pea and arugula salad was perfectly cooked and seasoned, and the lamb pappardelle and the chicken thigh "chowder" were also deemed wonderful. A slightly noisy bustling place, we had a great time!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and Service are fantastic!

Dined on May 24, 2016

We ordered a bottle of wine and several small plates. The server spaced everything perfectly. The dishes were wonderful. We were not disapointed with anything.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A good visit

Dined on May 23, 2016

The service was friendly and solicitous and timely. The menu had lots of choices that were attractive and creative, but not over the top or too heavily seasoned as many places do these days. We will go often.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Very good

Dined on May 23, 2016

This was a last minute choice our last night in Nashville. Don't pay any mind to the negative online reviews. The server was courteous, even accommodating my special drink request. BRUSSEL SPROUTS..... GET THEM! My sister and I both enjoyed the swordfish entree. We weren't impressed with the dessert offerings so we got ice-cream next door at Jeni's. 3 stars for the service only because my son made advance plans to pay our bill but our server got it mixed up, so we lost out.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I could not have been more p ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I could not have been more pleased with our meal and our service. We were in town for the weekend from Memphis and our friends recommended this restaurant. The food was great. The brussel sprout appetizer was awesome and our entrees were superb. Our server was extremely knowledgable about the menu and gave us many great suggestions. She even gave us recommendations about other great places to eat and visit while in Nashville. Needless to say, we will definitely come back to Josephine in the near future.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

The food was good but the dinner portion ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The food was good but the dinner portions were so small we were hungry when we left. Also, the wines were overpriced. We were disappointed with the restaurant and went for ice cream next door. That was good

food5
ambience5
service5

Always delicious

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Always delicious

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the better experiences in Nashvil ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

One of the better experiences in Nashville. Don't miss this one

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2

Expected a lot more after reading about ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Expected a lot more after reading about it. We actually left without eating.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I like the local neighborhood feel of th ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I like the local neighborhood feel of the place. I liked the small plates, several different vegi choices(which was our attraction to the place). Disappointed in the wines. Ordered by the glass since my dinner companion wanted beer and I ordered the most expensive selection and it tasted very watery, not like a Sonoma normally takes.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I cancelled a reservation at a "go to" r ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I cancelled a reservation at a "go to" restaurant when out of town friends visit based on the recommendation of young foodie friend. We were underwhelmed. Food was okay but nothing special, certainly at $50/ with drinks. No compelling reason to return.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing birthday lunch

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food, great service, great environment! My girlfriends and I enjoyed brunch at Josephine's. The sticky buns were awesome, the wine was great, and the crab cakes were amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

great location excellent brunch try the ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

great location excellent brunch try the donut holes

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Nice find in Nashville

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

In the process of relocating to Nashville and had heard good things about Josephine's. We had a terrific dinner which included an appetizer (hot tennessee ?? Can't recall the name on the menu), a salad with stacked butter lettuce and a buttermilk dressing, a baby carrot / miso appetizer (really unique and tasty) and a beef entree that was like short ribs. Everything was delicious. On par with Seattle restaurants. Wine menu was really good and we found some of our favorite Oregon Pinots on it. Restaurant is very nice inside. Tables are a tad close together in my opinion though we did strike up a nice conversation with the couple dining next to us. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we had was delicious! Brussel ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Everything we had was delicious! Brussels sprouts for starter. Beef cheek,rabbit, and duck for main dish were all great. Strawberry and rhubarb crumble for dessert. We would recommend everything we had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Beef cheeks and Sweet briar cocktail.

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Beef cheeks and Sweet briar cocktail.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had the beef cheeks and were blown aw ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We had the beef cheeks and were blown away (again) so good...love the personable service and eclectic ambiance...10 outta10!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on May 9, 2016

Favorite place in Nashville. Duck risotto is the best dish! Great serves and amazing atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Josephines

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was good, it was a bit loud for my taste. Service was excellent

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fine Dining in Nashville

Dined on May 8, 2016

Rather than "energetic" I would describe the noise level as too loud. Some additional baffling would greatly enhance the dining experience...being able to carry on a conversation is a perquisite to an enjoyable evening out.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service3

Menu too limited

Dined on May 8, 2016

Menu too limited

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was great and service was very attentive.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was deliciously prepared. It is a great spot for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Small portions and overpriced

Dined on May 5, 2016

Haven eaten here several times, I've had better at this place. Small portions and overpriced, but that's the theme of 12th south dining. Sloppy rushed service for $75 pp, and very loud.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A pleasant find!

Dined on May 3, 2016

Food was great. Drinks were great. Our server, Keshia, was great. We live in NYC and are both in the service industry, and have eaten at some of the finest places around, and this place held up with the best. Very happy to find injd the swordfish. My wife had the lamb bolognese. Both delicious. Go eat and enjoy!

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From NYC

Dined on May 2, 2016

Went to dinner at Josephine while traveling from NYC. The food was great and our server had some good recommendations and was a pleasure to engage with. I really liked the lamb tartare. The scallops were cooked very well and the beef cheeks were delicious. I ordered the duck and it was probably my least favorite of the entrees but it was good. We shared a cheese plate, and the kale salad as well. We spoke with the manager before leaving to let her know how much we enjoyed our evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Josephine Exceeds Expectations

Dined on May 1, 2016

Totally hip & fun, Josephine is our new favorite restaurant in Nashville! As a professional private charter luxury yacht chef for almost 20 years, I know exactly whether or not food is being prepared & served by someone who is passionate about their menu. The menu is creative, well plated and perfectly presented by a very attentive staff. We will look forward to dining here again soon!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice dinner at Josephine

Dined on April 30, 2016

I enjoyed a very nice dinner with my husband at Josephine last Saturday night. The food and drinks were excellent. The portion size was a little small for my hungry husband. Our server was great. I wish we would have gotten a table in the main part of the restaurant (we were sat at the small side/addition part of the restaurant). Overall a very nice dinner. We went next door for ice cream after dinner.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Scrapple hound

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food is better every time, just don't get hooked on a selection as the menu changes often.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience

Dined on April 30, 2016

Overall fantastic experience. Our waiter, Pete I believe, was very helpful in suggesting popular entrees. We got the buffalo cauliflower and brussel sprouts to start. Would have liked to see more blue cheese or maybe a side of dipping sauce with the cauliflower but the brussel sprouts were fantastic. I enjoyed the meal with a toft collins and a pinot noir. Very affordable drinks. Toft collins wasn't my favorite but the wine was nice. I had the duck breast for my meal which was exquisite, rich, and delicious. My friend got the rabbit which was equally as lovely. We finished the meal with an earl grey chocolate panna cotta that was to die for. It had the perfect hint of early grey and a strawberry jam on top that I would take a bath in. Amazing. Well done Josephines.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

As with every other time we have been to ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

As with every other time we have been to Josephine the food and service were outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5

What a delight Josephine is! We had a fa ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

What a delight Josephine is! We had a fabulous time there, great food, service and ambience. Located in quaint 12 South, it's a gem!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, outstanding food, and ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Excellent service, outstanding food, and a very nice ambience. Can't ask for more.

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Disappointing Service on a date with my husband

Dined on April 24, 2016

I had heard rave reviews about Josephine's brunch so my husband and I made reservations and had brunch before attending the ballet. After sitting down - horrible seats btw - so what's the point in making reservations there - the waitress sat us down and gave us the menus and walked away. Any other restaurant in Nashville of similar price point to Josephine's would talk to you about the menu for a minute, but she just walked away. The waitress then seated a group of her friends next to us and chatted with them for a long time while encroaching on our space since the tables were so close together. She brought them free coffee soda's and recommended items from the menu. I had to flag her down to get more water because she was talking about her instagram account so much with her friends. After the poor service, I would have hoped the food would be decent, but it wasn't. My husband and I don't have much time alone and when we do, we hope it's a good experience. I have to say, I was more than disappointed by the service here and will never be eating here again. Nor will I recommend it to my friends, in fact I will tell them about my horrible experience, because you all ruined part of my day date.

food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Medicore, plenty others are far superior.

Dined on April 24, 2016

The tasting menu might be rated as number 1! We were in the main restaurant. The food was average. My lamb pasta was pretty inedible. No flavor and reams over pasta rolled up as as reel impossible for the flavour to penetrate. Our simple little local restaurant makes It 100 times tastier and better. Brussel sprouts were pretty good but have had better. There are plenty of other Nashville restaurants that are way superior. Not worth the drive out although the atmosphere in the restaurant was warm and buzzing.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.