About Josephine

2316 12th Ave S
Nashville, TN 37204
View Larger Map

Chef Andy Little's inspired cooking and neighborhood hospitality. Reservations highly recommended, but walk-ins always welcome. For reservations for the X/X:Josephine tasting menu, please call us at 615-292-7766.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday: 5:00pm-11:00pm

Saturday: 10:00am-3:00 pm, 5:00pm- 11:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am-3:00 pm, 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Elmwood Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 292-7766

Website:
http://www.josephineon12th.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available out front and street parking as well in the surrounding area.

Executive Chef:
Andy Little

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Josephine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Nashville ›

Fit for Foodies (153)
Neighborhood Gem (130)
Special Occasion (121)
See All
Hot Spot (73)
Romantic (72)
Good for Groups (59)
Great for Brunch (58)
Notable Wine List (49)
Vibrant Bar Scene (34)
Great for Lunch (16)
Late-night Find (10)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
860 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was nice. Good food. Small tables clo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 15 hours ago

It was nice. Good food. Small tables close together .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Our appetizers were very good and entree ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our appetizers were very good and entrees were perfectly seasoned but the desserts...the desserts were spectacular. If when you go the No. 9 Blueberry Tart is on the menu, then order two just for yourself. Delicioso!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

The location is terrific and the décor i ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 3 days ago

The location is terrific and the décor is classy. The server was attentive and professional. We ordered ribs, which were perfectly tender and flavorful without any real character, just meat. We also had lobster fettuccine, which was disappointing. The scant amount of lobster was rubbery and stale. The seasoning in the pasta was very citrus forward and salty. It was not a bad flavor but it masked whatever lobster taste there might have been. The tomatoes and spinach described as accompaniments were more like suggestions, insufficient to add any substance. The music playing ranged from head banger to led Zeppelin to jazz to pop. No rhyme or reason. And, the server's really should be aware that their conversations can be heard loud and clear NY diners seated next their station.

Overall, a pleasant enough place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Terrific food! Vibrant scene, noisy but ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined 5 days ago

Terrific food! Vibrant scene, noisy but fun. Different seating options, bar, table, banquet. We specified a table when reserving. Everyone enjoyed the dinner, service was good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything we ordered was delicious! Th ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Everything we ordered was delicious! They prepare meat beautifully! Ribs and duck were both juicy, melt-in-your-mouth and so tasty! Can't wait to come again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food was really outstanding - just a ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our food was really outstanding - just a bit unusual, not too much, and really delicious. We had four different entrees and thought all of them were extra-good, even in comparison to other upscale, similar restaurants. The salads were interesting and a bit different and delicious, too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time here, loved it both times. T ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Second time here, loved it both times. This time we had a group of 12 (2 more then we planned), they handled it in stride and made it at least awkward as possible for the late unexpected additional guests.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very good mixed drinks and appetizers. O ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very good mixed drinks and appetizers. Order the chicken for two and the peach cobbler for dessert. You'll be happy..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great part of the Nashville restaurant s ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great part of the Nashville restaurant scene. Visiting the Nashville area? Try Josephine's You will NOT be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an early dinner before a show; re ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We had an early dinner before a show; restaurant is light and airy; the food was very good (some a little over-salted); small but really nice wine list; service at this early hour was impeccable. I wanted some aioli for my steak and fries (served Euro-style, no garnish, no nothing but yum) which the restaurant did not have on the menu. Our server brought some ketchup, but then surprised me with some aioli the chef made for me. Fantastic dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Neighbourhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I were in Nashville for our ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

My wife and I were in Nashville for our 10 year anniversary and we were looking for a good place to eat. I saw some really good reviews about Josephine and we decided to check it out. I must say, we were not disappointed. The food is fantastic! We started out with the fresh jumbo lump crab and that pretty much set the tone for the rest of our dinner. Probably the best lump crab we've ever had. For dinner I had the Grilled #1 tuna, corn, heirloom tomato, sorrel, herb vinaigrette, and my wife had the Fettuccine, heirloom tomato, spinach, lobster, Old Bay crumb. The flavors for both were outstanding! We finished with the Sweet Corn Custard, Blackberries, Lemon Verbena, and with the No.9 Blueberry Tart, Cream Cheese, Tangerine Lace. Again, both were outstanding. I would highly recommend going to Josephine whenever you are in Nashville.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food, service and everything else for th ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food, service and everything else for that matter was spot on! My wife and I were on a little culinary road trip to celebrate my 40th birthday, I have to say that the food at Josephine was as just as exceptional as our dinners at Husk and 610 Magnolia the two previous nights. I can't wait to visit Nashville again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

All courses exceptional; special cocktai ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

All courses exceptional; special cocktails done to order; tuna special superb; special peach cobbler desser wonderful; daughter's birthday recognized!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful brunch!

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Wonderful brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had friends in from Atlanta...we want ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had friends in from Atlanta...we wanted them to see 12 South neighborhood. Josephine's was a great choice for Sunday brunch. Do have the sticky buns!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A little louder than I personally would ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

A little louder than I personally would have liked, but the food was very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We are local & love to have brunch here- ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We are local & love to have brunch here-BUT this time something changed!

our waitress (I believe her name was Alyssa) was horrible-did not know the menu

and when our food arrived did not come by to see if we needed anything- which we did( butter,

pepper and toast) Also when we ordered she did not follow up with what came with our food nor our choices or options when we ask.

The sticky buns as always were excellent but our waffle and eggs were cold.

this was not the norm on the food- I have to say usually the food is awesome---but that was not the case during our last visit.

Seems the employees were to busy socializing with each other to care about customers! Other people felt the same way-

They need to step up the service & people skills to keep up in Nashville as there are tons of other great places to dine in the Foodie city----

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

My spouse and I dined at Josephine on a ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My spouse and I dined at Josephine on a recent Friday evening. We have eaten here several times, though not for about 3 months. Our overall impression was that the food was not as good as we have had in the past. We started with cocktails, which were nicely prepared and timely delivered by our server, who was marvelous through the entire meal. For appetizers, we chose the hot scrapple, and the grilled zucchini and summer squash salad. The squash salad was terrific: slices of grilled zucchini and yellow summer squash in a light, flavorful dressing-- a delightful summer starter. The scrapple however was a disappointment-- much less flavorful than expected and having the texture of deviled ham. For entrees we chose the braised beef cheeks and the monkfish. The beef cheeks were very good--flavorful and falling-apart tender, and served over a rich risotto . A heavy dish, to be sure, and perhaps a better choice in winter weather; but very good. The monkfish was not to our liking. It seem to have been breaded, and perhaps sautéed; in any case, it was tough and dry, and not a pleasing preparation and between the two of us we barely touched half the dish. The unevenness of the food was a surprise, for we've eaten here several times before and always been impressed by the food. So we will likely give Josephine a bit of a rest before returning.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

I have been to Josephine maybe 7 or 8 ti ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I have been to Josephine maybe 7 or 8 times now. It was wonderful at first, then seemed to slip a little a time or two, but for the past 4 or 5 times that I've been over about the last year, it has been superb.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service at Josephine was very friend ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The service at Josephine was very friendly and very prompt. The food was great and we had a variety of items off the menu. I would highly recommend this place for supper! Free valet parking was a bonus also.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We arrived as the restaurant opened and ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We arrived as the restaurant opened and were seated and served quickly. Food was good and the service left little to be desired. One small thing: the waitress offered a second drink to those in our parties who ordered from the bar but did not offer to refill the coffee cups of those who preferred that beverage. The level of noise made conversation across the table easy.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I've lived in Nashville for 6 years and ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I've lived in Nashville for 6 years and never visited Josephine's until it was recommended to me by a friend. Although I wouldn't consider myself a foodie, the waitress was incredibly helpful and nice, and I didn't by anymeans feel out of place. The food was incredible and the location is perfect for a date. Walk next door for Jeni's afterwards and then check out 12 south and Sevier Park.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is always our "go to" resteraunt. W ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This is always our "go to" resteraunt. We can always rely on Excellent service, great food and fantastic service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great nice restaurant n the 12S n ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Really great nice restaurant n the 12S neighborhood. On a street with lots of casual dining, crowded bbQ and taco bars, this was a great venue for a quiet date with my husband. Lovely atmosphere and many appealing choices on the menu. Amazing shared seasonal peach cobbler for dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Abby was great!

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Our server Abby was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent cuisine and a friendly, attent ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent cuisine and a friendly, attentive wait staff. The section we sat in was relatively quiet, which made conversation easy. Be sure to stay for dessert!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I'm a big fan of braised meats because t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I'm a big fan of braised meats because the rough cuts that benefit from it are so delicious. I had the beef cheeks, and they were expertly done. They offered a nice assortment of dishes, including vegetarian. The bar, which is the centerpiece of the room, is beautifully designed. The waiter we experienced was courteous and competent. My impression was that the staff was well-trained. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Group Bookings, Romance, Neighbourhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely experience! Service was excelle ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

A lovely experience! Service was excellent, food well above average (amazing french fries!)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot! I had been here for brunch a ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great spot! I had been here for brunch and loved it. Dinner was very good too. The beef cheeks were wonderful and my date ordered the duck, also delicious. I would recommend to anyone!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I'm new to Nashville and I'm trying new ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I'm new to Nashville and I'm trying new restaurants. This was my first time at Josephine's. I'm from Atlanta and have eaten in many fine food establishments across North America and Europe. I sat at the bar and started with a Texas Margarita, a 5 on a scale Worst 1- to- 10 Best. The Bibb lettuce salad had a nice herb buttermilk dressing with fresh greens and radish. The bacon and croutons were somewhat absent. I give it a 6. For my entree I had the Fettuccine with heirloom tomato, spinach, crab, Old Bay crumb. It needed something and I asked for Parmesan and cracked pepper. I give it a 6.5. The bartender was absent when I needed something and asked the servers twice to get him of what I was in need of last night. It was not busy and he stood in the back away from customers at the front. He spent most of his time talking to a waiter.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Overpriced & underfed. Had heard great t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Overpriced & underfed.

Had heard great things about Josephines & decided to give it a try on a recent visit to Nashville. While ambiance & service was ok, was disappointed by both quality & quantity of food. Understand the concept of "small plates" & in fact, this my favorite way to try new ingredients & flavor blendings but.....

$16 for 3 tablespoons of a crab & bean mixture?

$24 for 5 ravioli?

Asked for a piece of bread to accompany the pasta & was told I would have to order the pretzel bread?

I don't expect to pay $150 for dinner & leave hungry.

Plenty of other great restaurants in Nashville - I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

We thoroughly enjoyed the food at Joseph ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the food at Josephine. Have the pretzel bread--it comes out piping hot and nearly melts in your mouth. The salad with watermelon topped by frisee was a delightful complement of textures and flavors. If they are still serving the peach cobbler, definitely take the plunge and order it the required 30 minutes in advance. It's a clever presentation -- the cobbler in its own cast iron skillet and the ice cream in miniature carton. That is besides being a divine dessert!

The problem at Josephine was the excruciatingly slow service . And I mean SLOOOOOOOW. The time between various courses was so long, our stomachs had forgotten about the previous course. We gave the restaurant two tries --a dinner and the brunch--and experiences the snail like pacing both times. So I would say it is a problem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Fantastic food, great service.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Fantastic food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great neighborhood find. Food was excel ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great neighborhood find. Food was excellent; traffic can be challenging in this neighborhood but worth the visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had an awesome experience at Josephin ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We had an awesome experience at Josephine! Everything was top notch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We took a party of 9 and had an amazing ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We took a party of 9 and had an amazing time. The staff was very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall, the experience was quite disapp ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Overall, the experience was quite disappointing. The waitress truly had the opportunity to make the visit a positive experience – however, instead the waitress didn't care, engaged only one spoken toand had a terrible attitude throughout the dining experience. The food was served warm but not hot, the meals we're sitting under heat lamps for more than eight minutes upon delivery from kitchen. I sure hope this was a fluke, precious experiences have been outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Josephine had been on my list for a whil ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Josephine had been on my list for a while to try out, and it did not disappoint. Went for brunch on my birthday with three other ladies to celebrate. They hand lettered a card wishing me happy birthday, and the service was impeccable. I would highly recommend their brunch as I got the waffle, two others got the quiche and the last one ordered the Eggs Benedict. We all came away from the experience delighted and stuffed with good food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I've never been disappointed in the food ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I've never been disappointed in the food at Josephine's. We had a selection of appetizers for the table, have to say the pork belly and scrapple were fantastic, for entrees we had the Josephine's Chicken for 2 and the hangar steak. Both were good, but the Josephine Chicken for 2 is fantastic - one of our favorite menu items and would highly recommend it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service, food and atmosphere were perfec ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Service, food and atmosphere were perfect! Very creative seasonal choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.