About Josephine

2316 12th Ave S
Nashville, TN 37204
View Larger Map

Chef Andy Little's inspired cooking and neighborhood hospitality. Reservations highly recommended, but walk-ins always welcome. For reservations for the X/X:Josephine tasting menu, please call us at 615-292-7766.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday: 5:00pm-11:00pm

Saturday: 10:00am-3:00 pm, 5:00pm- 11:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am-3:00 pm, 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Elmwood Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 292-7766

Website:
http://www.josephineon12th.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available out front and street parking as well in the surrounding area.

Executive Chef:
Andy Little

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Josephine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (71)
Fit for Foodies (61)
Neighborhood Gem (58)
See All
Special Occasion (57)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Romantic (41)
Local Ingredients (39)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Cozy (32)
Bar Seating (31)
Great for Brunch (29)
Casual (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Worth the Drive (28)
Hot Spot (27)
Fun (24)
Business Meals (24)
Modern Decor (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Good for Groups (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Authentic (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Seasonal (13)
Outstanding Value (12)
People Watching (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Healthy (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Tapas (6)
Organic (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Vegan (4)
Great Beer (4)
Family Style (3)
Scenic View (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Historic (1)
 (1)
Quick Bite (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
 (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1098 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 3 days ago

Keisha took our orders and was a delight. She was knowledgeable about the cocktail menu and wine offerings. She is a friendly intelligent young woman and added a lot to our experience at Josephine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Dined at Josephine for my boyfriend's birthday and had an excellent time. The ambiance, service and food were perfection and we are already planning our next meal.

Thanks for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Seasonal, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We just LOVE Josephine! I've been twice now, and my boyfriend once. It's just perfect. We practically licked all of our plates! We'll be back :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Private Room, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Such a wonderful experience! Pleasant waiting staff that was helpful with menu selections. Awesome location that is walking distances to other events!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Loved this place! Noise level is high and prices are a bit steep as well, BUT - that said my boyfriend and I loved our experience & we felt it was worth a little splurge. Very cool room and vibe - DELISH food and cocktails. As a vegetarian, I did not feel deprived. I got the Brussel sprouts which were amazing & the hazelnut ravioli. Such a delicious meal and substantial portions. Did not have dessert because we opted for Jeni's ice cream right next door but lovely dinner and experience. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 16, 2017

What a great neighborhood gem! During our stay in Nashville, we were a close walk from a delightful B&B (The Caroline House - which I highly recommend!) who recommended Josephine. Our server, Karah, was absolutely great!! My husband and I shared the beef tongue (prepared deliciously and like we've never had before), the cheese plate (which included an amazing cheese from Green Dirt Farm) and the scallops. The chef, Andy Little, was just named a semifinalist by the James Beard Foundation for the Best Chef in the Southeast category. And since Josephine's opening in 2013, that's quite impressive and we can see why!

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Dinner was wonderful. Service was very good. It's great to have this restaurant in twelfth south.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went for my wife's birthday. The beef cheeks were super tender and delish. The molten lava cake with sorbet was to die for. Had a Malbec with our meal. Made for a wonderful night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Josephine's was recommended by a friend, and it had great Yelp and Open Table Reviews. We were out for a much-needed date date, so the price was not a deciding factor. The service was wonderful. It was a Sunday night, so it wasn't too crowded or to loud. Everything that came out to us and to the neighboring tables looked amazing. We ordered the ribs for an appetizer. They were absolutely phenomenal! We have both eaten some great BBQ, and these were top notch. The hubs got the beef cheeks and he really liked them. They were tender and tasty. He said they were just like a really good piece of pot roast. I ordered the rabbit. I've always wanted to try rabbit, so why not? I was disappointed. The individual components-rabbit, dumplings, apple, mushroom, and sweet and sour sauce were all so good, but there was just SO MUCH sauce. If they would have plated it with 1/3 as much, I think it would have been perfect.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very cool restaurant with lovely ambiance and lively crowd. Drinks were off the charts and the food was fantastic. Even the Brussel Sprouts were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We love Josephine's. Great spot, terrific food, and nice environment.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Unique menu items, upscale dining without feeling stuffy. We want to go back and try the chicken for two!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great service and delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I took my girlfriend here for a Friday night date. It was a very nice experience. We arrived from out of town around 30 minutes before our reservation, so we grabbed a drink at the bar. They had a great selection of mixed drinks so it was easy for both of us to find something we thought we would like. When it was time for us to be seated, we were led to a two person table in very close proximity to a couple seated next to us. It wasn't awkward as I at first feared it would be, because the noise level in the restaurant was at a good level and drowned out the other couple's conversation. Once we had looked through the menu and placed our orders, the food did not take long to arrive at our table. I ordered the beef cheek and my date had the swordfish. My date really enjoyed her meal as she enjoyed the assortment of sides on the plate and the portion was substantial. My beef cheek was incredible and melted in my mouth. It was also served over a bed of horseradish risotto. However, my portion was TINY. The dish was $28 and I left feeling like I had only had an appetizer at most. Overall, Josephine was a good experience, but if we go back I will definitely make sure to order something different to get more value out of my experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our hopes were set high for our evening at Josephine, but we were placed immediately next to the front door on one of the chilliest nights, even though the restaurant had many open seats. After waiting for water and our server for 15 minutes, we were able to get our table moved, but then delayed service even further. This just made our night fall short of a memorable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The menue presented the diner with a variety of unique options. For the less adventurous there was also more traditional menue items. Our server was very attentive and had a through knowledge of the menue. Food was attractively displayed. Th restaurant offered a very nice dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Dined at the bar, perfect meal and service, great cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 5, 2017

A wonderful place to have lunch in a cute little neighborhood. I had the quiche and the homemade fries and the fries were SPECTACULAR! The bourbon cocktails are delicious as well. My husband had the eggs Benedict and it was unique and delicious. I also had my 50th birthday there a few weeks ago and it was so fun. The steak was perfectly cooked. My mouth is watering thinking about it right now. This is one of my new favorites!

Tags: Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, People Watching, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very limited menu for brunch. The sticky buns were good everything else was just okay. Nothing outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I have allergies. While I thought our server was thoughtful and careful. I could not have any of the appetizers except the cheese plate I thought the kitchen could have tried harder to come up with something.There are so

Many people with different dietary needs . It could have been , It was Saturday night and you were very busy. This was our third visit . We loved the hostess .First time we were placed at front door and froze . Second visit our sever was amazing and brunch was special . Our last visit was questionable .

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Loved this restaurant! Can't wait to go back. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was so good! Nice vibe and great tasting food. Cozy room and polite service. Glad we tried it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Awesome food- great value!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I have been here several times and have always been disappointed with the food. Just average for the price and atmosphere. Will not be back for the food; will enjoy the bar for drinks and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Upscale, superior service and great food! Waitress was outstanding. Birthday occasion and this restaurant did not disappoint. Thank you Josephine!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food was good, but not spectacular. We have eaten brunch there a couple of times and enjoyed it very much, but dinner disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 30, 2017

My friend and I greatly enjoyed our dinner at Josephine. The Josephine chicken for two was outstanding. I was having difficulty hearing him from across the table, however, so the server helped us to move and adjust the table so that we would be closer. The server was competent and fun and the Brussels sprouts were also delicious. Thank you for a lovely evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Second visit to this restaurant. I want to LOVE it, and the food is definitely the draw. However, our party of 4 was seated and it took us quite some time to receive drinks. Once our waitress got to us, it was much better. Just took longer than expected at first. The most disappointing part of the experience was the noise level. We had reservations for 9pm and apparently everyone else has had plenty to drink at that point in the evening. The party sitting adjacent to us was so loud that we could not hear each other talk. It made for a pretty irritating situation. The chicken for two had the most amazing potatoes and the kale salad was delish! We didn't stick around for the cobbler because waiting 30 minutes for our dessert to cook seemed a bit ridiculous, and we were tired of listening to the other table's conversation. I will try it again. Maybe 3rd time is a charm!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The Hangar steak my husband ordered was delicious and super tender. My first menu selection was Parpardelle with ground lamb and bacon sauce. It was not my taste at all, very strong game taste. The waitress was kind enough to take it back and allow me to pick another entree. However, it took her quite a while to come back to the table to take my order for my second entree so my husband was done and I decided to order it to go. I ordered the scallops, and they were cooked perfectly, However, all the entree consisted of was 5 or 6 thin scallops and a few small pieces of root vegetables. Not quite worth the price in my mind. The food was good, but lacked a good starter menu, and small portions. Not worth the price, and likely wouldn't go for a return trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Thanks Bloomy Rind for a spectacular first course cheese plate. Lamb ragu pasta was amazing, superb cocktails rounded out by a phenomenal Almond sponge cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 25, 2017

If you're looking for a nice dinner for a special occasion, or just a treat yo self night, Josephine is the perfect option. I could've had the brussel sprouts alone for my meal. PHENOMENAL. My friend and I split the steak & fries (best fries in the world) and the pork chop w/kale salad because we couldn't decide. Both were fantastic. Totally worth the price for a special night of amazing food. If I could afford it I'd eat there once a week!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Cons: Honestly, I was very disappointed with my experience. The value was the biggest knock for me. I got the Josephine steak, which was ok, but was very small and too salty. My date got the Hazelnut ravioli, which consisted of five Chef Boyardee-sized raviolis (for $26!). I really hate complaining, but there are too many fantastic restaurants in Nashville within the same price range to ever warrant going back to this place.

Pros: The ambience is nice and the staff was pleasant. Also, Jeni's ice cream is right next door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 24, 2017

I always have a great experience at the Josephine for brunch, so when we decided to host a business dinner here, I was excited to try their dinner menu. Everyone loved what they ordered. The wait staff was courteous and efficient. The atmosphere is fun, casual and conducive to conversation. We will dine there again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The quality of the food is tolerable at best. We've ordered scallops and we got one scallop sliced in 4-5 slices. I do recognize the value and importance to save money, but not at the expense of customer's experience and wallet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Everything was fine. Food was very good and there were not a lot of people there. Good enough to go back to but nothing special to write home about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

fabulous as always! food, service, all was on par!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had our annual post Christmas business team dinner at Josephine. It was a great meal everyone enjoyed with wonderful service.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Delish but honestly those portions are borderline embarrassing- so small. Thank goodness we ordered the Brussels sprouts app and the pretzel app or the four of us would've gone home hungry.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Excellent and definitely order the apple pie when you arrive

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Had dinner here with 4 others - we shared three appetizers and each got an entree (I had the pork chop). Food was excellent, service was great, and loved the atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Absolutely one of the best dinners in Nashville. Service was great And food was outstanding.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Holy cow....for the love of Mary, lay off the salt!! My tastebuds still haven't come back to life. Lovely atmosphere. Ok service. Not so okay cuisine. Sad tepid cappuccino. It all looked good on paper, but just didn't come to life. Lukewarm and salty beyond words....every. single. dish!....

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Could take it or leave it. Went for brunch but possibly dinner is better. Definitely wasn't bad but nothing to write home about. We may try again in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very great food. Exceptional staff. Reasonably priced.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My friend and I went there for brunch on yesterday (Sunday) and it was a good choice. I ordered the catfish sandwich and he ordered the corned beef hash & eggs and both were good. The seating is snug so if you're big on having space between you and other guests, this may not be the best place for you to visit. It's in a very high traffic area so take advantage of the complimentary valet parking, otherwise you'll spend hours driving around trying to find a parking space.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I run one of the larger Full Service Hotels in the area.

Food Quality and Creativity were Outstanding. Service was very professional and attentive.

No wonder Josephine is a top pick in Nashville for Brunch.

We will definitely be back and tell our friends.

Keep up the great work!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Everything about the place was GREAT! The food was amazing, the service was impeccable, I LOVED the decor. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I was super excited to eat here again after I tried it shortly after first opening. We planned this as a special meal for my birthday. The food was delicious, but the dinner portions weren't worth the price. If price wasn't a factor, I'm sure we'd have had tried more things on app menu, but alas we only got one app to split. We left only moderately satisfied. The noise level and closeness of the tables made us a bit uncomfortable. I really wanted to love it. Perhaps we'll try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was amazing. It was well seasoned and fresh. The service was A+. We will return the next time we're in Nashville!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We have visited Josephine's frequently and have always been extremely impressed and happy with the food and the service. We had our office Christmas party there and everyone enjoyed!! we just took our best friends last Sat Night and they loved too. Never disappoints!!

Tags: Vegan, Molecular Gastronomy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.