Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.81mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.81mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.81mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.81mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.10mi

About Josephine

Chef Andy Little's inspired cooking and neighborhood hospitality. Reservations highly recommended, but walk-ins always welcome. For reservations for the X/X:Josephine tasting menu, please call us at 615-292-7766.

2316 12th Ave S
Nashville, TN 37204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday: 5:00pm-11:00pm

Saturday: 10:00am-3:00 pm, 5:00pm- 11:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am-3:00 pm, 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Elmwood Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 292-7766

Website:
http://www.josephineon12th.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available out front and street parking as well in the surrounding area.

Executive Chef:
Andy Little

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Josephine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (77)
Good for a Date (74)
Neighborhood Gem (74)
See All
Creative Cuisine (61)
Special Occasion (60)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Romantic (45)
Bar Seating (37)
Local Ingredients (37)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Great for Brunch (30)
Hot Spot (28)
Worth the Drive (28)
Business Meals (28)
Fun (25)
Cozy (25)
Modern Decor (25)
Casual (21)
Authentic (21)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Seasonal (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Comfort Food (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
People Watching (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Healthy (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Tasting Menu (11)
Outstanding Value (9)
Open Kitchen (6)
Organic (4)
Great Beer (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Tapas (3)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1180 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

We went in for my husband's birthday, but I have been several times before. This is one of my favorite restaurants. Best food and service in town! Our waitress, Abby, went out of her way to make my husband's birthday special, and was a wonderful help in making decisions. A great spot for a romantic date, special occasion, or even a get together with friends. Next time, I will sit at the bar. Also, the bartender makes an excellent old fashioned.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

We loved it. Service was attentive. Good wine list. Our table ordered steak & fries, fettucine, beef cheeks, and brussel sprouts. Never had beef cheeks before but they were delicious, like pieces of roast beef served on a nice horseradishy orzo. In terms of stars, I almost dropped it one because it is not a cheap date, but it's worth it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent food and wonderful waitress. I highly recommend the Buffalo cauliflower!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent brunch!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Brunch was delicious! The feta, spinach quiche was incredible! I want to go back just for that. My husband follows a strict diet and said his omelette was cooked to perfection! I highly recommend for a girls dinner or date night!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Late reservation was no problem. Started with an awesome soft pretzel and a funky cheese plate. Very happy with the mains although the fries were a little salty. Intimidating wine menu, but if you know what to look for, a good selection. Awesome cobbler and keep making cookies!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

food is phenomenal! try the scrapple.. i promise you will not be disappointed! the sticky buns are delicious! our server could've been a little more friendly but it was easter sunday and the place was busy. definitely a good place for brunch!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our Easter Sunday lunch at Josephine's and would live to come back sometime. Service, food and decor were fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was incredibly average, but the service was excellent. I'll go back just for that. Brunch is great as well.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Server bumbled request for cocktail served other than as listed (seems like for $12 it should be the way you want) and took umbrage with my being less than delighted with feeble messy attempt. Off to a bad start. Food great as always but ambiance strained which was a shame. Despite chilly, perfunctory service still got the expected 25% tip so guess all ended well. Sadly, the new Nashville restaurant scene seems to put more importance on its staff's satisfaction than its customers...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We love coming to Josephine's. The menu is great and always changing, except they do keep on our favorite which is the Josephine Chicken for two. Highly recommend it!! Wine list is a little pricey, though it's probably standard for restaurants to have 2-2.5x mark up on the price of a bottle. Our server was very knowledgable about the wine list and able to direct us to a more budget friendly, but delicious bottle of red.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great food. Very innovative and interesting combinations. Service was fantastic. The wood burning grill created a nice scent through out the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Josephine is always a reliably good spot in a fun neighborhood! The food is good and the ambiance is exactly what you'd want - whether a sun filled brunch or a dark, romantic dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Very tasty food and great service!!
Noisy but fun noisy, not obnoxious👍🏼

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The beef cheeks were amazing and the brussels sprouts complimented them perfectly. The portion size of the bib lettuce was so big that we shared one serving among the three of us. It was by far the best meal that we had while in Nashville!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was excellent and we were very pleased. I definitely recommend the rabbit.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

you guys did a great job, thanks for the service, food is amazing as usual and price is pretty good. noisy but to be expected almost anywhere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great food! Great drinks! Great service! Shannon was kind, personable , and knowledgeable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Took my girlfriend here, and it was an outstanding evening. Many thanks for the wonderful folks there who helped enable a fantastic evening.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Great service and ambiance. Food fell short of expectations, particularly relative to cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Absolutely delicious. We had some great cocktails and enjoyed the chicken for two. Which was so good. We also shred the apple cobbler for dessert.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The place is great. The menu needs to get better and have more options. We literally had like 4 options that we didn't even like but ordered cause we had to

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Outstanding service and fantastic food. Was delicious

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Not the easiest menu to order from. Had higher expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Buffalo cauliflower was overdressed. Only vegetarian large plate was a hazelnut ravioli. Filling was so sweet should have been a dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great Business Dinner Location!! Always can depend on the quality of the food, excellent service and perfect ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Josephines was excellent! The service was great and very friendly. The food was delicious and lovely atmosphere. The only thing is it was very loud

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Well, half of us enjoyed our meal, the other half did not. The appetizers were fabulous! We ordered Brussel sprouts, Cauliflower and Ribs ~ each one was tastier than the last. For dinner the chicken for 2 was plentiful and fabulous! On the other hand, the skirt steak was under cooked and bland. Not the experience we wanted for out-of-town guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Nice place in a up and coming part of time. Good food and service- modern decor with open kitchen.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We went there for Sunday Brunch. It was my husbands 50th birthday. When we arrived they had our table ready and had a birthday card at the table. Nice touch. Then when we ordered the donuts they also put a candle in there for his birthday. We had the eggs Benedict and it was delish! Perfect portion sizes and the dish was very good without any part of the flavors overpowering the other. The waitress was excellent. She knew when to show up and not show up and paced the meal well. Definitely a spot to go again. Ambiance was very nice and you can dress nice or very casual. Overall great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This restaurant has wonderful selection of brunch and lunch food. The Sticky Buns were to die for and the Quiches was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Josephine is one of my top favorite Nashville restaurants. Great atmosphere and awesome food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great ambience and service. Food and cocktails were on point. We loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We had an excellent experience. Highly recommend the cauliflower!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Unique menu and absolutely delicious! I tried a small plate of tongue delicacy and was a huge surprise. So good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 22, 2017

This is the best food I have experienced in a long time. Fabulous

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 20, 2017

A great room, a great meal and very friendly staff! Wonderful meal.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great vibe for social voyeurism, yummy food, excellent drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 19, 2017

In Nashville, our first visit, while our daughter decides on Vanderbilt Law after participating in the accepted students events. Nice restaurant, very good food. Loved the Brussels, also shared the chicken which was more than enough for three of us and even brought some leftovers back to hotel with us! Waitress Abby was so kind, found out about our daughters big accomplishment and treated for desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.