About Josephine

2316 12th Ave S
Nashville, TN 37204
View Larger Map

Chef Andy Little's inspired cooking and neighborhood hospitality. Reservations highly recommended, but walk-ins always welcome. For reservations for the X/X:Josephine tasting menu, please call us at 615-292-7766.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday: 5:00pm-11:00pm

Saturday: 10:00am-3:00 pm, 5:00pm- 11:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am-3:00 pm, 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Elmwood Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 292-7766

Website:
http://www.josephineon12th.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available out front and street parking as well in the surrounding area.

Executive Chef:
Andy Little

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Josephine, Nashville, TN
Josephine, Nashville, TN

Josephine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Nashville ›

Fit for Foodies (87)
Neighborhood Gem (84)
Special Occasion (78)
See All
Good for a Date (67)
Creative Cuisine (57)
Romantic (52)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Great for Brunch (40)
Modern Decor (38)
Hot Spot (34)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Local Ingredients (33)
Cozy (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Notable Wine List (27)
Bar Seating (26)
Authentic (24)
Business Meals (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Fun (20)
Good for Groups (20)
Casual (18)
Great for Lunch (15)
Seasonal (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Comfort Food (15)
People Watching (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Healthy (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Family Style (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Tapas (4)
Great Beer (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Private Room (2)
Scenic View (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
 (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Music (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
 (1)
Wood Oven (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
997 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyed our visit to Josephine. Excelle ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

Enjoyed our visit to Josephine. Excellent menu and well prepared meal. Satisfied a wide age range of diners in our party. Good, attentive service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the most amazing time! That chick ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

I had the most amazing time!

That chicken was mind blowing and the pretzel bread made me jealous. ..thank you for such a wonderful place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is always a pleasure to go to Josephi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

It is always a pleasure to go to Josephine's. The food and drinks are always fantastic and the service is great. It doesn't hurt that the ambiance is so cool and chic. Love it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Chicken!!! Unreal

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The Chicken!!! Unreal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and atmosphere were both great. I ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Food and atmosphere were both great. I would highly recommend the lump crab appetizer and the beef cheeks. Next time we are in Nashville, we will go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff was awkward, rabbit had bones ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wait staff was awkward, rabbit had bones, ravioli filling was thin and there was only 5 of them

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The Josephine Benedict was delicious. I ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The Josephine Benedict was delicious. I didn't care for all of the lettuce - no dressing to speak of -but the poached eggs on scrapple and ham were lovely. It was Sunday brunch and very noisy and crowded but with our Open Table reservation, we were seated immediately. The server was prompt and polite and ensured we made it to Tpac on time. I plan to return to try a different meal soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I LOVED the cinnamon sugar donuts and th ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I LOVED the cinnamon sugar donuts and the vibe of the restaurant as a whole

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for the first time for my wife's bi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Went for the first time for my wife's birthday. I'd researched a lot of restaurants we've never tried, and the menu here sounded outstanding. We weren't disappointed. I had the beef cheeks with horseradish risotto which was amazing. She had steak with these fries that were delicious. Good selection of wine and a small, but good, selection of craft draft beer.

I would go back without hesitation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great time. A little chilly ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food, great time. A little chilly as the door is always being opened.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dine here every time we visit Nashvil ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We dine here every time we visit Nashville - that should tell you how much we love it!

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food and Service were terrific. My only ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food and Service were terrific. My only complaint is the seating. I'm not a fan of bench seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The Josephine Benedict was a hit at our ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The Josephine Benedict was a hit at our table! We all enjoyed the unique flavors of the scrapple - rather than the traditional English muffin. Excellent bloody mary, too! We will return. Valet parking is a real treat as the street can be busy there. Enjoy!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I made reservations on behalf of my in-l ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I made reservations on behalf of my in-laws for their 44th anniversary. I had been to Josephine's numerous times and was not surprised that they thoroughly enjoyed everything. I've long been a fan of their steak dishes, and the buffalo cauliflower appetizer (which I highly recommend). My in-laws both got swordfish and raved about it. Well done and thanks! Highly recommend this restaurant for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at Josephine is phenomenal. The ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food at Josephine is phenomenal. They sat us at the front of the restaurant between two other dinners and you could totally over hear all their conversations. We ended up making friends with them and having a good conversation, but if you're looking for privacy it might be an issue at this place. We had the Brussels sprouts (delicious!), swordfish and duck (delicious)! The food was wonderful.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had the scallops and pork chop along wit ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Had the scallops and pork chop along with the brussel sprouts. Everything was fabulous. The scallops melted in your mouth and the corn was unbelievable. The pork chop was so tender and juicy. The brussel sprouts were our favorite. The cherries in them were a great taste. We can't wait to come back with friends!

Tags: Tapas, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our lunch was delicious! (Brussels sprou ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our lunch was delicious! (Brussels sprouts highly recommended!) Service was attentive and fast for individually prepared courses. Side salad was very fresh!

Highly recommended!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Josephine Eggs Benedict is maybe the bes ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Josephine Eggs Benedict is maybe the best brunch plate I've ever tasted --fresh, tasty --an original turn on this delight.

I also recommend the small doughnuts --yummy.

The hash is a bit over-the-top salty and rather ordinary.

Overall -- a great dining experience (service is outstanding).

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food rude waitress. Would return a ...

 
 (México)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food rude waitress. Would return and recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

This was our first visit to Nashville, a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was our first visit to Nashville, and Josephine was the best restaurant we found during our stay. Everything was excellent, especially the Brussel

Sprouts and the swordfish. Also enjoyed the cookies they handed us on our way out. Loved the ambiance.

A real find!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chicken was delicious and the apple ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The chicken was delicious and the apple cobbler was amazing. First time to Josephine but will definitely be back! I strongly recommend it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and ambience. A litt ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great food, service and ambience. A little on the pricey side but everything was excellent.

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Family Style, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed a fabulous dinner with our fr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We enjoyed a fabulous dinner with our friends at Josephine's!! The food was absolutely delicious and the staff was very knowledgeable and efficient. We would highly recommend this restaurant to foodies and those wanting a fantastic meal! We will be back!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service were outstanding. G ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The food and service were outstanding. Great selection of wines. Located in a trendy district that is worth going outside of downtown Nashville.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very welcoming atmosphere. Friendly, at ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Very welcoming atmosphere. Friendly, attentive and knowledgeable staff. Our cheese plate was brought out with a detailed description of all three cheeses, the Steak Josephine was cooked perfectly and the hazelnut raviolis were unbelievable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very nice restaurant in 12 South area, w ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Very nice restaurant in 12 South area, which we were glad to see as first-time visitors to Nashville. Food quite good, service 'Southern-friendly' - not northern efficient, but all good in the setting...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The brunch menu is very good. We both h ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The brunch menu is very good. We both had the omelet with salad and fries. I had a mimosa. The salad was fresh; fries were crispy. Also was intrigued by the Eggs Josephine with scrapple and the quiche plate. The service inside was good but the valet parking was terrible. I had to wait 20 minutes for my car. They had only one valet on duty. If you are in the neigborhood and can walk, I would highly recommend it!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Visiting Nashville for the weekend and w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Visiting Nashville for the weekend and went to Josephine's for Sunday Brunch. The menu is limited but you can't go wrong with any of the entrees. We tried the eggs Benedict which were amazing. We ordered the cinnamon donuts for dessert which melted in your mouth. The service was great. Loved the rock music selection they played in the background.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was simply incredible. I would ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was simply incredible. I would recommend a couple of apps and sharing entrees if possible. Great place for an evening date night.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Perfect combination of outstanding food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Perfect combination of outstanding food , location and atmosphere

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Casual, Good for Groups, Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our entire dining experience was excelle ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our entire dining experience was excellent. Our server was very knowledgeable and very helpful with some of our dietary restrictions. The meal was presented with flair. Our whole family enjoyed the experience and will be happy to come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An attentive server made for quick servi ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 5, 2016

An attentive server made for quick service. The beef cheeks were simply amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and carefully pre ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The food was delicious and carefully prepared. The wait staff was agreeable and efficient. I loved the ambiance and the open kitchen view. I will definitely return to Josephine.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Fun, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were looking for a special ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 2, 2016

My wife and I were looking for a special place to celebrate our coming together after being apart for two weeks. Josephine's was that special place in every sense of the word.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This a go-to when we have friends or bus ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This a go-to when we have friends or business clients in Nashville. Food is always excellent and the service is attentive but not rushed. Beef Cheeks are always as the top of the list for dinner. Scallops were perfect and the brussels sprouts and buffalo cauliflower are always a great starter. Can't wait for the next visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant was very busy and did not ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 31, 2016

The restaurant was very busy and did not have enough staff. It took forever to get our check, so we paid in cash. Wife does not want to eat at this place again. I normally diner for lunch very different experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Overall good food, and lovely atmosphere ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Overall good food, and lovely atmosphere, but some hits and misses. The rabbit was delicious with heavenly dumplings. The Beef tongue was too rich and would have benefited from some bread to sop up the sauce. Brussel sprouts were unusual and very good. The signature apple crisp with ice cream was...fine. Nothing to write home about and certainly not worth $18.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a fabulous brunch the Pistachio & ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a fabulous brunch the Pistachio & Cherry Sticky Buns were awesome. The Benedict was very good. The fried chicken and biscuit was dark meat chicken, prefer white. Overall was a fun time!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice atmosphere, friendly staff, an ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Very nice atmosphere, friendly staff, and fabulous food

Tags: Seasonal, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always enjoy Josephine. Food was very go ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always enjoy Josephine. Food was very good as usual. One complaint - I am eight months pregnant and the hostess sent us to a very tight two top table where I had to squeeze in and out of my seat. I feel like this is something they could have been more observant of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.