Joseph Tambellini

4.6
1315 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Neighborhood Gem
Located in Highland Park, Joseph Tambellini Restaurant offers the very best Italian inspired cuisine.


Owned and Operated by Joseph and his wife Melissa, the entire staff is dedicated to bringing you an overall exceptional dining experience.


Expertly crafted market fresh fish and steaks, fresh pasta, traditional chicken and veal dishes.


Also featuring beautiful hand made signature desserts, and an extensive Italian and Californian wine list.


Warm romantic fine dining in the true Tambellini family tradition.


If you have a First Floor Specific request, Please contact the restaurant by phone to make your reservation. We cannot guarantee First Floor for on-line reservations.
Price (Price reflects the average cost of dinner, including one drink and tip): $31 to $50
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(412) 665-9000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Joseph Tambellini
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We have many options for private parties. We have a semi-private space available for up to 14.
Our private 3rd floor offers space for parties up to 20.
If a larger space is needed, our 2nd floor is also available for up to 40 people. We can also accommodate larger parties using multiple floors. We have held small wedding ceremonies and receptions here as well. Please call us to discuss your individual needs.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Melissa or Joe Tambelini: (412) 665-9000
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Mellon Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Plenty of on street parking available.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Bus stop directly in front, for routes: 71A Highland Park
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
The owners frequent the dining room to talk with the guests to ensure a unique and comfortable dining experience!
Additional
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine
What 1315 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 4 days ago

anniversary dinner, there was a service delay due to a power outage, this was explained to us and apologies for the delay, we were comped on our desert
portions were large and no problems with taking almost half of our dinner home

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Had not been here in quite a long time. Food and service were wonderful. A bit pricy, but you don’t mind as much when the food and service ate outstanding. Our group enjoyed the dining experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Great authentic Italian food. Nice dining room upstairs. A bit of a climb to get there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Great scallops

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Absolutely spectacular -- Joe always has something new and great on the menu to offer with his extra special Italian twist on preparation. Presentation is always impeccable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Love this place. Friendly staff you are welcomed from the time you walk in to the time you leave. Melissa is very attentive to the customers making sure everyone is happy and have what they need.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

The veal I ordered was excellent (Veal Francaise.) So thin, tender and tasty! I ordered a meatball on my side of pasta and it was very good too - nice and soft - not hard like at some restaurants. Bartender made an excellent French 75. Although the restaurant was VERY busy, the service from Charlotte was top-notch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

My wife and I Celebrate our wedding Anniversary there yearly, we like the atmosphere and comfort + great selections on the menu and wine list as well.

It is always special for us to go there and we plan to continue to go there as well.

Thanks for the great service and greats tastes. Sincerely.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

The hostess was very helpful. Very nice entre specials offered. Chopin vodka Martini was expertly prepared and served. Umberto Cesari 2014 was the best Sangiovese I've had. Egg plant Parmesan was excellent. Homemade pasta was a treat. McKensie's table service was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

The food and service were excellent
Adam is the best!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

We are frequent visitors. Always pleased with the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

The food was fabulous! I just returned from Italy a few weeks ago and the ravioli with meat sauce was better than any meal I had in Italy. Also the staff were super friendly and the chef and owner came out to talk to us. Will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 2, 2018

We had reservations for 2 at 7:45pm and they said they needed to clear the table. We were seated at 8 pm and ordered appetizers which came fairly quick. Salads came out about 25 mins after the appetizers and the entrees didn’t come out for another 45 mins after we finished our salads. We got the chicken parm and chicken picatta which shouldn’t have taken that long to prepare. The waiter said there was a private party that back up the kitchen. He never offered to take an appetizer off the bill or a free dessert for the inconvenience. I would have expected a better experience for a classy restaurant. I will not be returning.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Tow of the dinners were served mildly warm. Requested them to reheat but they came back this just warm.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

A very pleasant dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

We had another excellent meal at Tambellini's. The pork chop special with saffron risotto was very tender and my favorite veal marsala was perfect as usual. The best part of the evening was talking with Missy and Joe. They are such gracious hosts and the ambiance is like being welcomed into their home. The have certainly earned all of the recognition for excellent dining over the past ten years.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Service and drinks were great. Crab cakes and salmon so so

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Wonderful. The menu has so many delicious items that it was difficult to choose. We will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2018

The food is average Italian it’s nothing special really we were disappointed. The prices are rather expensive for what you get (9$ for a canoli) there are a lot of upcharges that they don’t tell you about when you’re ordering for example chicken parm there’s an upcharge to get noodles with it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Excellent all around. I’m glad we found this place while on vacation

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Excellent Establishment! Food was delicious! People were all great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Went for dinner with my husband and daughter for early Mother's Day. It was fabulous. We had to wait a few minutes for our table but the staff was very friendly and seated us at the bar while we waited. Food was amazing. Drinks very good. Wonderful atmosphere. It was clear that there are many return customers as many of those around us seemed to know each other. Would recommend Tambellini's for romantic dinner, special occasion or to foodies who like Italian.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Excellent soft shell crabs!
So excited to see them on the menu!
Everything was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Nice dinner with the in-laws

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

My wife and I had dinner at Joseph Tambellinis on a Saturday night. The meal started w free bread and a delicious sun dried tomato / garlic oil dipping sauce. We ordered the zucchini as an appetizer that was good but nothing special. The wine came around the same time as the zucchini and was nicely priced for a restaurant of this caliber. We each had a salad that was included w the entree (no cheese) and we laughed about the reviews complaining about the cheese upcharge. Don’t get the $3 cheese if you don’t want it! Lol. Dinner was excellent. I had the chicken parmigiana and my wife had the chicken Romano. Those two dishes were the stars of the show. The pasta that came with was perfect al dente and served in a unique and flavorful marinara / cream sauce. We will be back for sure! Service was very good and the main room had a nice pulse.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

My husband and I went here for a date on a Saturday night. The staff is very friendly and the food was terrific. It's overall pretty fancy so not an every day spot - but definitely a good place for a night out. I would have loved to sit outside but it was raining - will go back for that! Looked very cute.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Incredible food, impeccable experience, a must try if in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Great restaurant! The crab balls are amazing. Homemade pasta is also great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

We told our waitress that we wanted to “eat Italian style” and while she looked at us quizzically, we explained that we wanted our pasta first, then our meat and salad at the end; she and the kitchen wonderfully accommodated us. The Malfada Giancarlo was delicious. I will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Coming from out of town, I was looking for a nice restaurant in the Highland Park/Shadyside area that was either a good steakhouse or Italian restaurant, and I found both with Joseph Tambellini. A decent wine list was also a necessity and I was not disappointed. We arrived a little before our reservation time and was immediately seated. They have an outside eating area, but it was a bit cool and we were seated inside. It is cozy, but plenty of room and we were not disturbed by the other diners. Wine prices about what was expected for a fine dining restaurant and we ordered up a few bottles. Nice selection of California and Italian wines, as well as a few other Old World and New World selections...something for everyone.

Appetizers were delicious and amble for our party of four. I had the NY Strip and it was prepared to perfection. Had a side of the eggplant parm which was also well prepared and you can tell is was “homemade”. Other diners had the Veal Chop, Raviolis, and Fresh Fish selection. We all raved about the meal. The best was the desserts (and we are not big dessert eaters) but we shared and devoured the Butterscotch cake and Tiramisu. Both were out of the world! The Tiramisu was soooo light and creamy!

We are looking forward to a return trip to Joseph Tambellini.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 28, 2018

The matre de or manager on duty that evening ruined my birthday celebration and overall experience by requesting that we decide on dessert quickly because the table had to be turned in the two hour time allotted for our dinner. We explained that it took 20 minutes to receive our first drink which delayed our placing our appetizer order and subsequent entree order. It wasn’t as if we sitting to take up the table. He offered no apologize or free dessert if we even moved to the bar to finish it. The wait service and food were really good but that one experience will keep me from coming back and or recommending Tambellini’s without sharing this experience. The manager could have handled the situation so much better while keeping the customer in mind first. The end result would have been a positive review than the one I am writing now.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Very expensive vs quality of food. This is an old Pittsburgh establishment that is what it is. Nothing special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Awesome friendly staff. Food was fantastic. Great desserts. Definately a redo for us.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 25, 2018

An extremely disappointing experience last night 4/25 from this well-reviewed Joseph Tambellini restaurant – disgraces the proud legacy of Tambellini-named restaurants in Pittsburgh. Briefly: my wife, another couple and me. I ordered veal chop. Arrived under-cooked and mostly fat. Worked at it a while trying to find veal. All agreed it was unacceptable and waiter agreed it was undercooked and that additional cooking might reduce fat content. Although skeptical, to be polite, I agreed they give it a try. Dish returned after others finished their dinner. Still mostly fat and after cutting extensively to find bits of veal, gave up and returned plate with chunks of fat to waitstaff stating it was a failed meal. Almost $300 bill included $55 for veal chop absent even the minimal offer of complementary dessert (which we had no interest in). Asked Matre’d to address and after strange long wait he returned with dish showing they found 3 more slivers of veal hidden amongst the fat. Insulting and disgusting. Again, asked him to make an appropriate adjustment -- after another wait received new bill with an $8 reduction. Pitiful. They join a very short list of never-again restaurants. This is 1st negative restaurant review I have written—hope it to be the last.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Joseph’s is the best restaurant in Pittsburgh!!! Every time, Joseph exceeds our expectations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Excellent!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Our first dinner here two years ago was wonderful. This one was quite upsetting and ruined our wedding anniversary. Imagine being seated for dinner at a very top of the line restaurant and being out in just "one hour and 15 minutes and paying over $200.00+????" Promptly seated for our 6:15 reservation; server was very prompt and told us about specials; ordered our cocktails. Melissa came over to wish us happy anniversary and thanked us for sharing our day with them. Ordered calamari as appetizer. When served ordered entrée and salads. Unfortunately after the appetizer all went downhill. the Buratta salad was overdressed with balsamic dressing; presentation of wedge salad was ordinary. Had not even finished salad or first glass of wine when dinner was served. Halibut special was fine but presentation was disappointing; pork chop was good but again presentation...we serve better presentations at home. The night before our cousins were there for dinner (3 of them) and had a lovely, leisurely dinner that was about 2 hours. Know that "regular patrons" are important but so are occasional patrons. We even made a comment to our server who just said I'm sorry. I would have written to the restaurant but my husband did not want to do to that. Many Thanks for ruining our 46th anniversary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Outstanding service and excellent food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Always a lovely dinner in elegant surroundings. A neighborhood restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

The meal was great. I have eaten here several times and have not been disappointed. One of my favorite restaurants !

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
33