About Joseph Tambellini

5701 Bryant Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
View Larger Map

Located in Highland Park, Joseph Tambellini Restaurant offers the very best Italian inspired cuisine.


Owned and Operated by Joseph and his wife Melissa, the entire staff is dedicated to bringing you an overall exceptional dining experience.


Expertly crafted market fresh fish and steaks, fresh pasta, traditional chicken and veal dishes.


Also featuring beautiful hand made signature desserts, and an extensive Italian and Californian wine list.


Warm romantic fine dining in the true Tambellini family tradition.


If you have a First Floor Specific request, Please contact the restaurant by phone to make your reservation. We cannot guarantee First Floor for on-line reservations.
Price (Price reflects the average cost of dinner, including one drink and tip): $31 to $50

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Mellon Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 665-9000

Website:
http://josephtambellini.com/

Entertainment:
The owners frequent the dining room to talk with the guests to ensure a unique and comfortable dining experience!

Parking Details:
Plenty of on street parking available.

Public Transit:
Bus stop directly in front, for routes: 71A Highland Park

Executive Chef:
Joseph Tambellini

Private Party Facilities:
We have many options for private parties. We have a semi-private space available for up to 14.
Our private 3rd floor offers space for parties up to 20.
If a larger space is needed, our 2nd floor is also available for up to 40 people. We can also accommodate larger parties using multiple floors. We have held small wedding ceremonies and receptions here as well. Please call us to discuss your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa or Joe Tambelini: 412-665-9000x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Molten Chocolate Cake
  • Tiaramasu
  • Melissa's Seafood Special
  • Delmonico Steak
  • Cheese Ravioli
  • Veal Parmagiana
Molten Chocolate Cake
Tiaramasu
Melissa's Seafood Special
Delmonico Steak
Cheese Ravioli
Veal Parmagiana

Joseph Tambellini Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Food
Pittsburgh
Neighborhood Gem
Pittsburgh
5 More
Italian
Pittsburgh
Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Food
Pittsburgh
Neighborhood Gem
Pittsburgh
Italian
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Highland Park ›

Special Occasion (76)
Neighborhood Gem (61)
Romantic (47)
See All
Fit for Foodies (42)
Notable Wine List (31)
Good for Groups (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Hot Spot (13)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
871 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was exceptional and made fresh! ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was exceptional and made fresh!! The service was good, and the restaurant itself was clean, inviting, and pleasant. The food was a little high priced, but the quality and freshness made the price more bearable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was outstanding and served so g ...

vip
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The food was outstanding and served so graciously. The fried zucchini was the best we've had in ages. Seafood was lovely and fresh and the pork chop was delicious, juicy... This was a fine dinner and we hope to repeat very soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great, generally but not exclusively Ita ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great, generally but not exclusively Italian inspired fine dining.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Good as usual. Even the fussy baby ate ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Good as usual. Even the fussy baby ate the Fede pasta.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Great flounder special! The Arabiata is ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great flounder special! The Arabiata is spicy but fabulous .

Joseph is incredibly warm and it was just a perfect dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent as was the food. W ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service was excellent as was the food. We were a party of six and everyone enjoyed their meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of Pittsburgh's best fine dining res ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

One of Pittsburgh's best fine dining restaurants. I would go there all the time if it wasn't so pricey. My budget just won't allow it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is a must try restaurant! Our waite ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is a must try restaurant! Our waiter was amazing, and the food was great. It was an overall wonderful experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was fine but not exceptio ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The restaurant was fine but not exceptional. Wine list was decent and there were good selections of food but I thought it was expensive for what you got. My pasta was fine but just average. The service was okay but again nothing special. For the money spent I just did not think it was a good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

The atmosphere/ambiance inside the resta ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The atmosphere/ambiance inside the restaurant was dead. Sat outside on a beautiful August evening, and it was lovely. Food and wine was delicious too!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

We had a great meal. Every thing about ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had a great meal. Every thing about the meal was prepared correctly. This may be the best place in Pgh to frequent if you want 1st class service and an unbelievable meal. The owners (Joe & Missy) are wonderful. They go out of their way to try and make everyone's experience at their place outstanding. I highly recommend going to Jospeh Tambellini's for a dinner - special occasion or not. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner as always...another enjoyab ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great dinner as always...another enjoyable evening - superb veal dishes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our service was outstanding! All the foo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Our service was outstanding! All the food was great, we ordered way too much though.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I LOVE THE FOOD AT JOSEPH TAMBELLINI I ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I LOVE THE FOOD AT JOSEPH TAMBELLINI IT'S A LITTLE PRICEY, BUT I LOVE THE WHITE TABLECLOTH SERVICE THE FOOD IS VERY WELL PREPARED I DO HAVE A SLIGHT COMMENT I ORDERED THE LEMON SOLE WITH CRABMEAT THE SOLD WAS NOT QUITE FRESH I DID NOT SEND IT BACK, BUT I DO THINK MOST PEOPLE CAN TELL WHEN FISH IS NOT PERFECTLY FRESH. OTHERWISE IT WAS VERY GOOD

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything about Joseph Tambellini's is ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Everything about Joseph Tambellini's is fabulous from the moment you arrive. You are greeted at the door by, Rick, the Maitre'D who is very knowledgeable about the food and wines served there. You arrive at your table and your server is there to take your drink order within seconds. The appetizers are delicious especially the meatball. There are daily specials and some homemade pasta on the menu along with seafood, steaks and various other items. Every time I go there the entire experience is top notch. I would highly recommend this fine restaurant to all my friends and family. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Disappointed in atmosphere and food. Se ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Disappointed in atmosphere and food. Service was ok. Overall expensive mediocre food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

A restaurant for the wealthy. Prices wer ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

A restaurant for the wealthy. Prices were outrageous. $25 for a regular plate of pasta. (Tomato basil, arribiata, marinara, etc) fish was in the $30's and $40's. Cheapest glass of wine was $9.50. Besides that, the service was great. Our waitress was on top of everything. The food was excellent. There is no doubt about it, but unfortunately for this middle class guy, my wife and I won't be back for the foreseeable future because of the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was excellent... Service just OK... ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was excellent... Service just OK... Noise level upstairs was annoying ... Too many small children combined with poor dinner manners/parental guidance... Just made what we had planned as a nice dinner into a "cannot wait to eat and leave" experience... First time there and the ratings were high... Did not expect such an unruly crowd

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4

Truly a "white glove" dining experience ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Truly a "white glove" dining experience from food to service. Meals were delicious, with one of my party's steak cooked to perfection. Our server was knowledgeable, thoughtful and efficient and friendly. Don't let the entree prices dissuade you- they include a side of pasta of the night with a special salad; pretty good given most places now offer everything ala carte. This just jumped to my top ten of PGH restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Holly was an excellent service. Every bi ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Holly was an excellent service. Every bite was impeccable and reasonably priced. Wine list was a decent value. Don't miss this place if you are in the Burgh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had out of town guests from North Car ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We had out of town guests from North Carolina. They were impressed with the staff and the meal. Our guests spoke so highly of the meatballs! The service was unreal - We didn't have to ask for anything it was like the servers had ESP with our table. The owner stopped by our table to check in on our meal. A great experience for a Wednesday night. Our guest were highly impressed as were we. Highly recommend Joseph Tambellini's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food preparation was unique which we ap ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food preparation was unique which we appreciated. Kim our server was knowledgeable and capable. Very friendly. Close quarters for dining, but well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant atmosphere, professional service ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Elegant atmosphere, professional service and outstanding cuisine. The best of the Tambellini's, if not the best in the Burgh. Highly, highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Would highl ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent food and service. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is truly a neighborhood ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This restaurant is truly a neighborhood gem. Food was great as always, wait staff, etc. Joe (owner) stopped to say hello and thanked us for dining at his restaurant. Will be back in the future many, many times.

Tom Roscoe

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Joseph Tambellini. Joe makes th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We love Joseph Tambellini. Joe makes the most amazing Chicken Parmesan I have ever tasted. I have loved everything I have ever tasted here! We also love the fact that Joe personally visits each table. I get to this restaurant any chance I get!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food unbelievable service. De ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Fantastic food unbelievable service. Definitely return in order

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great pasta and a fabulous waitress. De ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great pasta and a fabulous waitress. Definitely will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Not as good as usual. The food was good, ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Not as good as usual. The food was good, one meal came out cold. The service was slow and we were so hungry we didn't send the dish back. As always one of my favorite restaurants in Pittsburgh, any time I come to town I will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

The restaurant was good overall. The wa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The restaurant was good overall. The waitress was very good and we enjoyed having her wait on us. The big problem is the crab cakes that my wife ordered were burnt. She should have sent

them back but she tried to eat around the burnt areas but the more she tried the more the burnt areas ruined the crab taste. Actually, they should not even served them because the entire outside was burned on both crab cakes. We have eaten here before with friends from Pittsburgh who brought us to this restaurant several years ago. We knew the name because we

lived in Pa. until 1985 and used to eat at a Tambellini's on route 51.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Unbeatable marinara and meatballs. Seafo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Unbeatable marinara and meatballs. Seafood cooked to perfection. Worth the cost.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Restaurant was recommended to us as a "m ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Restaurant was recommended to us as a "must do" while visiting Pittsburgh. We received a very gracious phone call ahead of time to confirm our reservation and provide help with directions which we needed and that set the tone for a special dining experience. Food was very authentic but with an updated twist and wine list offered many good and interesting choices along the price spectrum. Our server appeared to be new (we've all been there at one point in our own careers) but there was an experienced professional subtly hanging back to make sure service went well; it did and was paced perfectly. Slightly pricey but worth it. Our best dining out experience over a 4-day stay in Pittsburgh.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My family and I enjoyed our meals very m ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My family and I enjoyed our meals very much - everything we ate was truly excellent. Adam was our waiter and he was great - very attentive and personable. A serving of pasta comes with each entree that you can get as a second course or as a side dish to your meal. We all chose it to be a second course. I ordered a fish entree, so when that arrived, at that point all I was eating was the fish on a dish. There were no other accompaniments like asparagus spears or any other kind of vegetable. I didn't want the pasta as a side dish to my fish because I didn't think it would pair well. That is probably the only thing I didn't like about the meal - it might just "be me" but when I am eating a protein I like to break it up with a veggie.

One other thing to note: My son ordered a scotch. I don't know anything about scotch but from what I've been told it wasn't one of the higher end brands. When we received our bill, my husband didn't look at the itemization - he just looked at the bottom line, added the tip and then we were off. Once we were home, we happened to take another look at the bill and saw that we were charged twice for one dessert but we weren't charged for the scotch. We figured it was a wash and left it at that. A few hours later, Adam called me saying they caught the error about the scotch and asked permission to revise our credit card charge - an additional $30. We happened to be in the Grand Concourse recently and saw the same scotch there for about half that price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We were in Oakmont for the US Open & a l ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were in Oakmont for the US Open & a long time friend recommended Joseph Tambellini's wonderful restaurant.

It did not disappoint. Excellent service & food. We had just visited downtown Pittsburgh & enjoyed the Duquesne Incline. We weren't dressed in our best attire, but nonetheless felt quite comfortable.

Anyone traveling in this area should make an effort to find this amazing restaurant, you'll have wonderful dining experience. Exceptional service!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always good. Feature was one of the bes ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Always good. Feature was one of the best meals ever. Five of the six of us really enjoyed it. One meal was incorrect. Rather than taking the food back to keep warm, the waiter just brought the extra shrimp and asparagus, and at first was trying to tell us there were shrimp on the cod. Not a nice way to do things.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

If you want a true dining experience vis ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

If you want a true dining experience visit Joseph Tambellini. The owner is the chef and the food is out of this world. The bartender Holly was very nice to talk to while we had a very short wait for our table to be ready. Our servers Erin and Charlotte were very friendly and efficient . I loved it here and wish we lived closer as it would be one of our favorite places to eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Italian restaurant in Pittsburgh! ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Best Italian restaurant in Pittsburgh! We have had consistently wonderful experiences here - from the atmosphere and service to the delicious food. Joey is a most gracious host, and comes out of the kitchen often to treat everyone like they are an old friend, even if you are meeting for the first time. I would highly recommend trying it for any occasion. And even though it's nearly impossible, try to save room for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious. Our server was exce ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was delicious. Our server was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The staff was excellent and the food ver ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The staff was excellent and the food very good. We had a most enjoyable meal - best margarita I've had. We were however with an older couple that used walkers. There is no handicap access. While the staff was exceedingly helpful in having our older guests get up the steps, a handicap ramp and railing at a side entrance would it so very much easier

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The patio is open. Great place to sit a ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The patio is open. Great place to sit and relax - enjoy the breeze after a long day of work. You must get the Meatballs. I would highly recommend the stuffed banana peppers - outstanding. The standard menu is great and will not disappoint. However, the daily specials are off the chart. I would recommend listening to the daily specials before making your selection. The service is great and the owners will check in on your party to make sure all is going well during you meal. This is the best restaurant in Pgh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.