About Joseph Tambellini

5701 Bryant Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
View Larger Map

Located in Highland Park, Joseph Tambellini Restaurant offers the very best Italian inspired cuisine.


Owned and Operated by Joseph and his wife Melissa, the entire staff is dedicated to bringing you an overall exceptional dining experience.


Expertly crafted market fresh fish and steaks, fresh pasta, traditional chicken and veal dishes.


Also featuring beautiful hand made signature desserts, and an extensive Italian and Californian wine list.


Warm romantic fine dining in the true Tambellini family tradition.


If you have a First Floor Specific request, Please contact the restaurant by phone to make your reservation. We cannot guarantee First Floor for on-line reservations.
Price (Price reflects the average cost of dinner, including one drink and tip): $31 to $50

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Mellon Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 665-9000

Website:
http://josephtambellini.com/

Entertainment:
The owners frequent the dining room to talk with the guests to ensure a unique and comfortable dining experience!

Parking Details:
Plenty of on street parking available.

Public Transit:
Bus stop directly in front, for routes: 71A Highland Park

Executive Chef:
Joseph Tambellini

Private Party Facilities:
We have many options for private parties. We have a semi-private space available for up to 14.
Our private 3rd floor offers space for parties up to 20.
If a larger space is needed, our 2nd floor is also available for up to 40 people. We can also accommodate larger parties using multiple floors. We have held small wedding ceremonies and receptions here as well. Please call us to discuss your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa or Joe Tambelini: 412-665-9000x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Molten Chocolate Cake
  • Tiaramasu
  • Melissa's Seafood Special
  • Delmonico Steak
  • Cheese Ravioli
  • Veal Parmagiana
Molten Chocolate Cake
Tiaramasu
Melissa's Seafood Special
Delmonico Steak
Cheese Ravioli
Veal Parmagiana

Joseph Tambellini Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Food
Pittsburgh
Best Service
Pittsburgh
8 More
Neighborhood Gem
Pittsburgh
Italian
Pittsburgh
Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Food
Pittsburgh
Best Service
Pittsburgh
Neighborhood Gem
Pittsburgh
Romantic
Pittsburgh
Italian
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Highland Park ›

special occasion (91)
neighborhood gem (73)
fit for foodies (59)
See All
romantic (55)
notable wine list (36)
good for groups (21)
great for outdoor dining (15)
hot spot (12)
kid-friendly (4)
late-night find (2)
great for lunch (2)
scenic view (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
854 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A restaurant for the wealthy. Prices wer ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 4 days ago

A restaurant for the wealthy. Prices were outrageous. $25 for a regular plate of pasta. (Tomato basil, arribiata, marinara, etc) fish was in the $30's and $40's. Cheapest glass of wine was $9.50. Besides that, the service was great. Our waitress was on top of everything. The food was excellent. There is no doubt about it, but unfortunately for this middle class guy, my wife and I won't be back for the foreseeable future because of the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was excellent... Service just OK... ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent... Service just OK... Noise level upstairs was annoying ... Too many small children combined with poor dinner manners/parental guidance... Just made what we had planned as a nice dinner into a "cannot wait to eat and leave" experience... First time there and the ratings were high... Did not expect such an unruly crowd

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4

Truly a "white glove" dining experience ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Truly a "white glove" dining experience from food to service. Meals were delicious, with one of my party's steak cooked to perfection. Our server was knowledgeable, thoughtful and efficient and friendly. Don't let the entree prices dissuade you- they include a side of pasta of the night with a special salad; pretty good given most places now offer everything ala carte. This just jumped to my top ten of PGH restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Holly was an excellent service. Every bi ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Holly was an excellent service. Every bite was impeccable and reasonably priced. Wine list was a decent value. Don't miss this place if you are in the Burgh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food preparation was unique which we ap ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food preparation was unique which we appreciated. Kim our server was knowledgeable and capable. Very friendly. Close quarters for dining, but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant atmosphere, professional service ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Elegant atmosphere, professional service and outstanding cuisine. The best of the Tambellini's, if not the best in the Burgh. Highly, highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just as our party of 6 got our drink ord ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Just as our party of 6 got our drink order, the lights flickered and went out. We had ordered food. We sat waiting while others continued to enter and be seated. We weren't told, but it became obvious we would not be served dinner. Someone should have told us about the problems and offered to comp our drinks for the inconvenience of having to leave and scramble to locate another restaurant that could accommodate all of us on a Saturday night at 8:00PM. The food is very expensive, most meals $40.00 and beyond. They did not show any customer appreciation or respect and for that I would not recommend Tambellinis. I wouldn't know if the food was good?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Excellent food and service. Would highl ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent food and service. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is truly a neighborhood ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This restaurant is truly a neighborhood gem. Food was great as always, wait staff, etc. Joe (owner) stopped to say hello and thanked us for dining at his restaurant. Will be back in the future many, many times.

Tom Roscoe

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Joseph Tambellini. Joe makes th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We love Joseph Tambellini. Joe makes the most amazing Chicken Parmesan I have ever tasted. I have loved everything I have ever tasted here! We also love the fact that Joe personally visits each table. I get to this restaurant any chance I get!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food unbelievable service. De ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Fantastic food unbelievable service. Definitely return in order

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great pasta and a fabulous waitress. De ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great pasta and a fabulous waitress. Definitely will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Not as good as usual. The food was good, ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Not as good as usual. The food was good, one meal came out cold. The service was slow and we were so hungry we didn't send the dish back. As always one of my favorite restaurants in Pittsburgh, any time I come to town I will return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

The restaurant was good overall. The wa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The restaurant was good overall. The waitress was very good and we enjoyed having her wait on us. The big problem is the crab cakes that my wife ordered were burnt. She should have sent

them back but she tried to eat around the burnt areas but the more she tried the more the burnt areas ruined the crab taste. Actually, they should not even served them because the entire outside was burned on both crab cakes. We have eaten here before with friends from Pittsburgh who brought us to this restaurant several years ago. We knew the name because we

lived in Pa. until 1985 and used to eat at a Tambellini's on route 51.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Unbeatable marinara and meatballs. Seafo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Unbeatable marinara and meatballs. Seafood cooked to perfection. Worth the cost.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Restaurant was recommended to us as a "m ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Restaurant was recommended to us as a "must do" while visiting Pittsburgh. We received a very gracious phone call ahead of time to confirm our reservation and provide help with directions which we needed and that set the tone for a special dining experience. Food was very authentic but with an updated twist and wine list offered many good and interesting choices along the price spectrum. Our server appeared to be new (we've all been there at one point in our own careers) but there was an experienced professional subtly hanging back to make sure service went well; it did and was paced perfectly. Slightly pricey but worth it. Our best dining out experience over a 4-day stay in Pittsburgh.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My family and I enjoyed our meals very m ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My family and I enjoyed our meals very much - everything we ate was truly excellent. Adam was our waiter and he was great - very attentive and personable. A serving of pasta comes with each entree that you can get as a second course or as a side dish to your meal. We all chose it to be a second course. I ordered a fish entree, so when that arrived, at that point all I was eating was the fish on a dish. There were no other accompaniments like asparagus spears or any other kind of vegetable. I didn't want the pasta as a side dish to my fish because I didn't think it would pair well. That is probably the only thing I didn't like about the meal - it might just "be me" but when I am eating a protein I like to break it up with a veggie.

One other thing to note: My son ordered a scotch. I don't know anything about scotch but from what I've been told it wasn't one of the higher end brands. When we received our bill, my husband didn't look at the itemization - he just looked at the bottom line, added the tip and then we were off. Once we were home, we happened to take another look at the bill and saw that we were charged twice for one dessert but we weren't charged for the scotch. We figured it was a wash and left it at that. A few hours later, Adam called me saying they caught the error about the scotch and asked permission to revise our credit card charge - an additional $30. We happened to be in the Grand Concourse recently and saw the same scotch there for about half that price.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We were in Oakmont for the US Open & a l ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were in Oakmont for the US Open & a long time friend recommended Joseph Tambellini's wonderful restaurant.

It did not disappoint. Excellent service & food. We had just visited downtown Pittsburgh & enjoyed the Duquesne Incline. We weren't dressed in our best attire, but nonetheless felt quite comfortable.

Anyone traveling in this area should make an effort to find this amazing restaurant, you'll have wonderful dining experience. Exceptional service!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always good. Feature was one of the bes ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Always good. Feature was one of the best meals ever. Five of the six of us really enjoyed it. One meal was incorrect. Rather than taking the food back to keep warm, the waiter just brought the extra shrimp and asparagus, and at first was trying to tell us there were shrimp on the cod. Not a nice way to do things.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

If you want a true dining experience vis ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

If you want a true dining experience visit Joseph Tambellini. The owner is the chef and the food is out of this world. The bartender Holly was very nice to talk to while we had a very short wait for our table to be ready. Our servers Erin and Charlotte were very friendly and efficient . I loved it here and wish we lived closer as it would be one of our favorite places to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Italian restaurant in Pittsburgh! ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Best Italian restaurant in Pittsburgh! We have had consistently wonderful experiences here - from the atmosphere and service to the delicious food. Joey is a most gracious host, and comes out of the kitchen often to treat everyone like they are an old friend, even if you are meeting for the first time. I would highly recommend trying it for any occasion. And even though it's nearly impossible, try to save room for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious. Our server was exce ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was delicious. Our server was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The staff was excellent and the food ver ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The staff was excellent and the food very good. We had a most enjoyable meal - best margarita I've had. We were however with an older couple that used walkers. There is no handicap access. While the staff was exceedingly helpful in having our older guests get up the steps, a handicap ramp and railing at a side entrance would it so very much easier

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Never fails to please.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My friends and I have chosen Joseph Tambellini to celebrate our special occasions three times this year. We love this restaurant. The service is excellent. The food is phenomenal. It's pricey, but so worth it. I leave there stuffed full and totally satisfied. I only wish I could eat there every day.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Adam was wonderful! He made a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Our server Adam was wonderful! He made a special night out with the in-laws even better than expected. He made us feel very welcome and took very good care of us. The food was excellent, as always, Can't wait to go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tasty food and kind staff.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The waitress was very friendly and took the time to explain everything. The best chicken parm and Alfredo me and my bf have had (trust me, we've had a lot) and I'm in love with the house salad, there was fruit and the best vinigarette ever

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for my in-laws 50th wedding anni ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We went for my in-laws 50th wedding anniversary. The food was fantastic and so was the service! Thank you for a memorable evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THE PASTA WAS SLIGHTLY OVERCOOKED.BUT OU ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

THE PASTA WAS SLIGHTLY OVERCOOKED.BUT OUTSIDE OF THAT EVERYTHING WAS GREAT. THE MEATBALLS WE GOT FOR OUR APPETIZERS WERE EXCELLENT. THE HOUSE SALAD WAS ALSO EXCELLENT.WE LOVED OUR WAITRESS. SHE WAS THE BEST. ALSO THE CHEF CAME OVER TO THE TABLE AND SAID A FEW WORDS , THAT WAS VERY NICE.WE WILL BE BACK . THANK YOU FOR A VERY NICE DINING EXPERIENCE.

ROBERT HENSCHEL

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been to Tambellini's on two other ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I had been to Tambellini's on two other occasions, in recent months. These were for work functions. I wanted to take my wife knowing that she would enjoy the food. We, specifically, loved the salad with fresh mozzarella and heirloom tomatoes, the meatball that we shared and small bowl of pasta before our meal. We had seafood, steak, dessert and coffee and enjoyed every facet. Again, I had 2 experiences that were very positive, so returning did not require too much thought.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good local spot. Not great. Very expensi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Good local spot. Not great. Very expensive.

Nice atmosphere. Friendly. Easy parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

An Italian Treasure

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Wonderful evening at Joseph Tambellini's. From cocktails to dessert it could not have been better. We started with the very tasty and always consistent fried zucchini with our cocktails. All of our dinners were perfect and each came with either a soup (chicken pastina which tasted more homemade than mama's) or salad to start and a side of the most delicious pasta. I had shrimp scampi which was perfectly sauteed in a butter, wine, lemon sauce. My husband and our friend had chicken marsala which he claimed was the "best ever!" Our other friend had the eggplant parmesean and every morsel was gone! We ended the evening with tiramisu and creme brulee. Are you drooling? Need I say more??!! Despite a crazy evening catering to groups of diners celebrating college graduation our waiter was knowledgeable and attentive from start to finish. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food in Pittsburgh hands down.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Best food in Pittsburgh hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, food was superb. Greens and b ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

As always, food was superb. Greens and beans were so good we took a to-go order to enjoy at home. Had pasta Alfredo with chicken - excellent but they should get linguine or fettecine noodles!! Pork chop special with risotto in ramp sauce- outstanding!! We were too full to try desert. Maybe next trip

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was awesome from appetizer to t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The food was awesome from appetizer to the salad to the entrée. Our waiter was attentive, friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Scallop dish was excellent. Pasta's very ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Scallop dish was excellent. Pasta's very good.

Sesame Calamari dish was tasty but the sauce was thick and too strong.

Waitress did a great job.

A nice evening out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Just Okay

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This was not my first time to J.Tambellin's, but the first for my children and mother. For the amount charged for the items, I wasn't impressed. The dining room upstairs had a 4-top that was over-served and talking very loudly about inappropriate topics for anyone to overhear, let alone my 10, 13 & 16 year old children.

Our server was in the weeds with the amount of tables she had, and was disappointed no one other than our server checked in on our table.

If you have a party of 6 or more, this may not be the right venue for your dinner.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Always a good choice

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Joseph Tambellini is always excellent. I think this was my 3rd or 4th time, and each time it's superb. Our waiter was personable without being too familiar, the dining room is cozy without being crowded, and the food is just excellent.

It's not a place that's revolutionizing Italian food; it's just making excellent food. It also feels like an extremely good value, even though it is not cheap.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The escarole and beans were scrumptious ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

The escarole and beans were scrumptious and so was everything else. Our waiter was very special and he added to our enjoyment of the excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic dinner with great service!!

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Fantastic dinner with great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Upscale

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

This is a lovely venue with excellent food and service. It's like stepping into a fine restaurant in NYC

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.