Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi

About Joseph Tambellini

Located in Highland Park, Joseph Tambellini Restaurant offers the very best Italian inspired cuisine.


Owned and Operated by Joseph and his wife Melissa, the entire staff is dedicated to bringing you an overall exceptional dining experience.


Expertly crafted market fresh fish and steaks, fresh pasta, traditional chicken and veal dishes.


Also featuring beautiful hand made signature desserts, and an extensive Italian and Californian wine list.


Warm romantic fine dining in the true Tambellini family tradition.


If you have a First Floor Specific request, Please contact the restaurant by phone to make your reservation. We cannot guarantee First Floor for on-line reservations.
Price (Price reflects the average cost of dinner, including one drink and tip): $31 to $50

5701 Bryant Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Mellon Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 665-9000

Website:
http://josephtambellini.com/

Entertainment:
The owners frequent the dining room to talk with the guests to ensure a unique and comfortable dining experience!

Parking Details:
Plenty of on street parking available.

Public Transit:
Bus stop directly in front, for routes: 71A Highland Park

Executive Chef:
Joseph Tambellini

Private Party Facilities:
We have many options for private parties. We have a semi-private space available for up to 14.
Our private 3rd floor offers space for parties up to 20.
If a larger space is needed, our 2nd floor is also available for up to 40 people. We can also accommodate larger parties using multiple floors. We have held small wedding ceremonies and receptions here as well. Please call us to discuss your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa or Joe Tambelini: (412) 665-9000

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Joseph Tambellini Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Good for a Date (36)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Romantic (34)
Worth the Drive (28)
Authentic (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Cozy (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Notable Wine List (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Groups (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Business Meals (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Casual (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Bar Seating (3)
Spicy (3)
Fun (3)
Organic (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1159 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

We had greens n beans, meatball parmesan, and malfada with meatball and sausage. The food was great as always! Mixed drinks were good, too.

Reservation was for 7:45 but didn't get seated until after 8. It felt like we got passed over because we waited outside to be out of the way and many people that came in after us were seated ahead of us. That was disappointing. I eventually had to go inside and ask for status and both times a host went to check and never came back. I'll probably make sure I choose the early seating next time.

The waiter was exceptional. I've always had great service, here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Top restaurant in Pittsburgh, bar none. consistently great (not good, great) food in a white table cloth, upscale atmosphere. a little hard to get to unless you live near the zoo - but worth the drive. service is top notch.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

As always, the food was great, Adam our server is outstanding as is the entire staff.
Looking forward to our next visit

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Always Great !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

This was our fourth time coming there since we go every year on our anniversary. They continue to go above and beyond every time we are there. We will be back for several years to come

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We really enjoyed the meal. The food was a creative spin on traditional Italian cuisine. Our party was a little confused about the seating of our party of four. We were shown the to the second floor dining room where we were seated directly next to another table in the corner. The small space required the wait staff to squeeze in between one of our chairs and the table next to us. It was very annoying to my sister in law. Keep in mind, the rest of the second floor dining room was empty. Perhaps another table would have been more comfortable for us. But other than that issue, the food and the atmosphere was lovely.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

We enjoyed our visit to Tambellini's very much. The food was excellent and the waiter was terrific. We will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Unbelievable dinner experience would recommend for any occasion

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

All 3 of us knew the Tambellini name, but this was our 1st visit to Joseph Tambellini's. Our service was lovely and the chef stopped by to check on our dinners and even offered to bring a few more bites! Famous fried zucchini appetizer was delicious as was the sole special and shrimp scampi and the tiramisu! Generous servings gave us a chance to take enjoy some at home. Will definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 2, 2017

As always, the food was delicious. All five of us had tasty meals and the desserts were spectacular. Our server was efficient, cordial and helpful. All said, a splendid experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Delicious food, wonderful service, elegant but not stuffy atmosphere. Joseph and Missy, along with the entire staff, always make it a memorable experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Food was exceptionally good. Server Adam was wonderful . So professional and efficient .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Dinner was delicious. It was birthday family gathering and all eight of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals! The zucchini appetizer is a must have. Ask for the horseradish sauce with it.
The service was impeccable! Adam did a fabulous job! He was personable and very professional. The evening was a fabulous combination of great food coupled with great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Done there once a year or so.Always terrific but expensive.Owner,chef Joe is very friendly and interested in his guests.Staff is professional.Will go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 26, 2017

One of the best meals I have had in Pittsburgh. The server was extremely knowledgeable, friendly and attentive to our needs.

Come with an appetite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

It could be a lot friendlier. I liked one pasta dish we had and not the other so much.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We had been hearing about Joseph Tambellini's from family and at the last minute searched on Open Table and wow, the restaurant did not disappoint. We live in the South Hills of Pittsburgh but definitely worth the drive for us. The staff is great, friendly, inviting and pleasant to talk with. The bar is cozy and the bartender was very friendly. The food was very authentic Italian and we enjoyed our meals. Will return again and we would highly recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This is our go to place for Italian food when in Pittsburgh! Great homemade pasta and service. Its like eating at you Italian mothers house. Be sure and order the stuffed peppers as an appetizer if you like great sausage and can stand a little heat. Our favorite on the menu.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This is probably our favorite Italian restaurant. We have never had even a semi-bad meal here. Joe is wonderful with his customers, coming out and chatting with us/them every visit. We usually come for family birthday dinners and have to sit downstairs because of older folks that can't do the steps. We sat upstairs this time and the waiter that we normally have downstairs came up to say hello to us. Now, I wouldn't call us "regulars" (we've probably been here 6-8 times the past year), so for him to see our name, remember us and stop up is incredible. It just shows that Joe runs a great business and it shows in his employees. Go to Tambellini's, you will NOT be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Amazing food and very friendly staff. Since we were vegetarians, though the options were less they created some instant additions to help us have a great dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Amazing!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Holly was an excellent and knowledgeable
waitress! We were impressed how we were given clean silverware with our entree, wish more establishments did this; it seems like a forgotten gesture. The overall experience was worthwhile and definitely will return. Thank you.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

If you are looking for a great dinner, this is the place to go. My husband and I have been back 3 times this year and have never been disappointed in the food or service!!! Best Italian Restaurant in Pittsburgh!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Delicious from beginning to end!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 29, 2017

First visit for us. We were actually seated a few minutes early even though it was a busy Saturday. Great attention from all staff members. Good meal. Relaxed atmosphere. Will dine here again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We travel from out of state each year to eat at Joseph Tambellini's restaurant. The excellent food and service cannot be beat. It is a memorable dining experience!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Very well run restaurant. Courteous greeting by professional staff when you walk in the door.
Promptly seated and greeted by the waiter Adam.
This fellow really knows how to serve a party of six diners with no problem.
Food was excellent and service was outstanding.
The chef came to the table to ensure all was well.
Would highly recommend.
Also reasonable wine pricing.
Will definitely return with pleasure!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

I thought the pricing was a tad too high for the quality and quantity of our appetizers and entrees.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We love this restaurant. The food and attitude of staff and owner/chef is wonderful. I'd love a little hipper décor and vibe, but overall great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Take a stroll back to the 1960's, the way good Italian restaurants used to be. Parking was a problem, despite its being in a residential neighborhood. The staff was super - properly friendly, informed, attentive. At 7:15 on a weeknight it was 80+% full. Lots of cell phone out, few jackets, lots of guests who had clearly eaten the large portions T's offers. The food was good but heavy, covered in lots of sauce. Bread - yummy with an (to me) inventive dipping sauce. The calamari with sesame seeds was like candy - could be a meal in itself. The pasta course was good, too, but unnecessary given the volume and weight of the food. Salad also very good. My main course - chicken marsala - was disappointing. The sauce - which smothered the chicken - was mostly button mushrooms. I could see shitakis but not taste them. A cocktail was fairly priced. Good selection of wines by the glass also at fair prices. The specials all sounded good. I had to ask the prices - all about $10 more than most menu prices. I will look farther for my kind of Italian restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great experience from the minute we entered the restaurant. Service was great. My cesar salad was perfection, and so was calamari, and my side of pasta. I loved the wine that was recommended to us. Wonderful...will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

My husband and I were very pleased with our dining experience. The food was delicious and the service was outstanding! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great food consistently. Recommended especially for special occasions

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Wonderful as always. Thanks so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Delicious food, great selections, impeccable service, very pleasant atmosphere. We will return for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner. We had the salmon in horseradish and the lobster tails. Both entree's were cooked perfectly. The accompanying pasta side was tasty and not overwhelming. We split a yummy dessert (butterscotch cake with ice cream). Service was friendly and efficient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Everything was superb! Our server was outstanding! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

One of the best Italian restaurants outside of Italy. I use to go to the one downtown as a kid. This one is even better than my fond memories. A notch above, highly recommended.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed everything but especially the food!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

It was as wonderful as the last time. Joe & Melissa spoke to every single table. Gave the feeling that they knew every patron by first name. Food was exceptional as were the seasonal cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.