Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi

About Joseph Tambellini

Located in Highland Park, Joseph Tambellini Restaurant offers the very best Italian inspired cuisine.


Owned and Operated by Joseph and his wife Melissa, the entire staff is dedicated to bringing you an overall exceptional dining experience.


Expertly crafted market fresh fish and steaks, fresh pasta, traditional chicken and veal dishes.


Also featuring beautiful hand made signature desserts, and an extensive Italian and Californian wine list.


Warm romantic fine dining in the true Tambellini family tradition.


If you have a First Floor Specific request, Please contact the restaurant by phone to make your reservation. We cannot guarantee First Floor for on-line reservations.
Price (Price reflects the average cost of dinner, including one drink and tip): $31 to $50

5701 Bryant Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Mellon Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 665-9000

Website:
http://josephtambellini.com/

Entertainment:
The owners frequent the dining room to talk with the guests to ensure a unique and comfortable dining experience!

Parking Details:
Plenty of on street parking available.

Public Transit:
Bus stop directly in front, for routes: 71A Highland Park

Executive Chef:
Joseph Tambellini

Private Party Facilities:
We have many options for private parties. We have a semi-private space available for up to 14.
Our private 3rd floor offers space for parties up to 20.
If a larger space is needed, our 2nd floor is also available for up to 40 people. We can also accommodate larger parties using multiple floors. We have held small wedding ceremonies and receptions here as well. Please call us to discuss your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa or Joe Tambelini: (412) 665-9000

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Joseph Tambellini Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Good for a Date (43)
Romantic (40)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Cozy (28)
Authentic (26)
Worth the Drive (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Business Meals (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Outstanding Value (8)
Private Room (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Historic (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Fun (4)
Casual (4)
Family Style (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Spicy (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
1049 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I will admit that my last visit to Tambellini's was not so great. This visit?... Redemption! The food was fantastic and the cocktails were delicious. Tim, our server, was very attentive and knowledgeable of the menu. The only downfall of this place is the price. Over $12 for a cocktail made with Smirnoff? I could buy a whole bottle for that amount. That being said, this is a great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Get the meatball appetizer. Delish! My BF said the lasagna was the best he's ever had. Service was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Best Italian food in the Burgh (Pittsburgh). Food is outstanding with special items being even better. Can be very noisy if you are seated by the bar or a table of loud guests which is always annoying wherever you dine. Wait staff is attentive and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Place was superb, food was out of this world. Our server Adam was excellent, if you go I would recommend Adam as server. Everything about this restaurant is top notch.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Easily one of the best restaurants in Pittsburgh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Awesome as always!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food here is always great! You can always count on a good meal in a warm environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

My only complaint is that the downstairs dining was congested and loud. Servers dipping and dodging patrons and each other. If the volume got turned down a few notches, it would have been the perfect experience. Food and service was top notch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Food consistently great and Adam's service outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The waiter was pretentious, rude and disrespectful.
After waiting a longer time than acceptable, 3 out 4
Dinners arrived cold. He was disinterested and unhelpful!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Delicious, so friendly. Chef comes to meet. Very accommodating. Visit Pittsburgh a few times a year. Will definitely go back and recommend to my friends. Loved it!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great venue, service and food! Staff very friendly! Will definetly reccommend and return!

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Have been to Tambellinis on several occasions and have never had anything but great food. Staff is friendly and attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

could not find a flaw! everyone and every thing was spot on!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Absolutely delicious food! The service was also phenomenal. Worth the cost.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The evening was outstanding, service and dinner was excellent. I would Highly recommend Tambellinis for all occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Visiting from out of town and was looking for a special restaurant that locals would recommend. Everyone in our party of 5 loved their meal. Owner stopped by our table to say hello and made us feel
appreciated. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great restaurant for a romantic date! My boyfriend and I went there to celebrate Valentine's Day and our 2 year anniversary. Food and service was great. Prices were slightly on the higher end.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food is unbelievably good. Great atmosphere if you're looking for a quaint setting. The servers are fantastic.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Everything from the salad to dessert was wonderful! We all loved our meals. Definitely hope to return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Quiet, quaint, delicious meal. We had Meatball Parmesan with tomato basil cream sauce and mafalda caprese. Each were fantastic. Do not leave without trying the tiramisu. One of the best desserts I've ever had!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

You're guaranteed a great meal! Superb service, and the food is always outstanding no matter what you order!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines night

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I've been going to this restaurant for the past 8 years and eat there 2/3 times a year. I just wish I lived closer. I would be a weekly visitor

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was a lovely meal with great food. Very tasty food. We were able to take our 18 month old child without any hassle or harassment considering it was a Valentine's menu/clientele.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Nothing I could possibly say would be enough to describe the entire experience we had. From the moment we stepped inside until we left, this was one of the best dining experiences we've ever had! From the wonderful service to every bite of every mouth watering course, my wife and I couldn't have been more satisfied. In addition, Chef Joe and his wife treated us like family, stopping by to chat, the. enthusiastically explaining what he'd prepared for us and share a few stories of his many years as a Chef, it's easy to see why this is such a wonderful place - he LOVES what he's doing and it shows in EVERY WAY! Tambellini's instantly shot up to our favorite restaurant!

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Been to Jos. Tambelinni's several times before, but not for a few years. Always enjoyed the food and the service/ambience. This time reaffirmed all those feelings. The menu continues to evolve. I had a vegetarian pasta preparation that was well-prepared, presented, and delicious. Reliable favorites, like the fried zucchini and tiramisu, were even better than I recalled. I'm planning to return sooner rather than later.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The service was great and a everything we ordered was amazing!! The corking fee was $25 which some people may find pricy but it made sense for our girls night. Over all a awesome place! Definitely going back!!

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great meal and wonderful service from Tim! Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Most of the food was excellent - zucchini appetizer, house salads (they offered Gorgonzola as an option!), shrimp scampi, dessert. Chicken parm was a bit overcooked. Bread should have been warm. Service was A+++ - our young server was attentive, and his timing was impeccable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Been here almost a dozen times in the last year. Keep going back to find something not to like Haven't been able to do so. On the upper $$ but incredibly delicious and worth the money. Cocktails are great, a tad high but delicious. They work to accommodate everything you want including moving your bar tab to your table ( love that!)

So many choices of great flavors.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Food was superb
Atmosphere very quaint
Loved it
Definitely will return

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 19, 2017

An intimate restaurant with an elegant atmosphere. The food was delicious along with very nice presentation. Our waiter, Aaron, provided excellent service.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had heard good things, and they were all true. Of note, our waitress provided us with a very enjoyably paced experience.... Extremely attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was excellent. Great atmosphere and a warm, friendly staff. The Chef/Owner spoke with us and was very hospitable, saying that if we had any special requests we should let him know. We did feel that our server could have been warmer. On previous visits our servers were quite warm and friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Adam my waiter is by far the ultimate waiter/waitress you could want! Food is excellent.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was my birthday and I wanted to try something more romantic. The food and service was amazing. At one point I heard the hotess asking a waiter how long until they finish and to hurry the patron. However, we were never rushed and again it was a perfect evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Joseph Tambellini never disappoints! Although the meals are pricey, they are consistently outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

As always excellent food, but by far the slowest service I have experienced after many visits.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.