Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi

About Joseph Tambellini

Located in Highland Park, Joseph Tambellini Restaurant offers the very best Italian inspired cuisine.


Owned and Operated by Joseph and his wife Melissa, the entire staff is dedicated to bringing you an overall exceptional dining experience.


Expertly crafted market fresh fish and steaks, fresh pasta, traditional chicken and veal dishes.


Also featuring beautiful hand made signature desserts, and an extensive Italian and Californian wine list.


Warm romantic fine dining in the true Tambellini family tradition.


If you have a First Floor Specific request, Please contact the restaurant by phone to make your reservation. We cannot guarantee First Floor for on-line reservations.
Price (Price reflects the average cost of dinner, including one drink and tip): $31 to $50

5701 Bryant Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Mellon Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 665-9000

Website:
http://josephtambellini.com/

Entertainment:
The owners frequent the dining room to talk with the guests to ensure a unique and comfortable dining experience!

Parking Details:
Plenty of on street parking available.

Public Transit:
Bus stop directly in front, for routes: 71A Highland Park

Executive Chef:
Joseph Tambellini

Private Party Facilities:
We have many options for private parties. We have a semi-private space available for up to 14.
Our private 3rd floor offers space for parties up to 20.
If a larger space is needed, our 2nd floor is also available for up to 40 people. We can also accommodate larger parties using multiple floors. We have held small wedding ceremonies and receptions here as well. Please call us to discuss your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa or Joe Tambelini: (412) 665-9000

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Joseph Tambellini Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Good for a Date (42)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Romantic (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Authentic (25)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Cozy (23)
Notable Wine List (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Business Meals (8)
Casual (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Private Room (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Healthy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Spicy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Family Style (2)
Vegan (2)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1125 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful as always. Thanks so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious food, great selections, impeccable service, very pleasant atmosphere. We will return for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

We enjoyed our dinner. We had the salmon in horseradish and the lobster tails. Both entree's were cooked perfectly. The accompanying pasta side was tasty and not overwhelming. We split a yummy dessert (butterscotch cake with ice cream). Service was friendly and efficient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Everything was superb! Our server was outstanding! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

One of the best Italian restaurants outside of Italy. I use to go to the one downtown as a kid. This one is even better than my fond memories. A notch above, highly recommended.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed everything but especially the food!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

It was as wonderful as the last time. Joe & Melissa spoke to every single table. Gave the feeling that they knew every patron by first name. Food was exceptional as were the seasonal cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 14, 2017

As always, Tambellini's has great food, attentive and polished servers, and a warm and cozy ambiance which creates an unforgettable and most enjoyable evening. The soft shell crabs are outstanding and the best I have had anywhere- they are sweet, tender and very "meaty". I look forward to soft shell season and would not dine anywhere else to enjoy them! Thank you Joe and Missy for another great dining experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent! A great find driving home from vacation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Always a great dinner & experience dining at Tambellini's. Joe & Melissa are always kind & friendly, stopping by the table to chat is always a pleasure. The servers are excellent & make the entire experience their eager for us to return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 6, 2017

I rarely write reviews, but I can't resist: Tambellini's is the best for fabulous food and great service. We were visiting family in Pittsburgh. (We are from Vancouver, Wash.) So many tempting choices on the menu, but I settled on the meatballs with tomato basil cream sauce. It's rare that a restaurant doesn't overdo the cream and make the dish too cloying. This was a perfect balance of the acidic tomato to cream ratio. I can't wait until my next visit to the 'Burgh so I can return to Tambellini's. Hmmm, that's going to be too long. I'd go tonight if I were back in Pittsburgh.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Organic, Vegan, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Each time we dine here is better than the last and that's saying a lot because we're already anticipating a fantastic dinner and entire dining experience! Simply put, everything about Joseph Tambellini's is THE BEST!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 5, 2017

What a fantastic quaint restaurant! Salad fantastic ribeye out of this world. Right up there with the best. Mastros Watergate hotel, Trump hotel D.C. the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We went for dinner on our anniversary. Everything was delicious from the appetizers to the dessert. We drove and hour and fifteen minutes to get there. Well worth the drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Lamb shank was awesome. Not a menu item but glad I had it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The restaurant looked amazing. The food and service were great. I definitely recommend this restaurant for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

As always, Joe and Missy never disappoint. Our dinners were excellent ( Sea Scallops Sardinian and Veal Marsala). We love that this is one of the few restaurants that include soup/salad and a pasta side with the main entrees. The service is impeccable from the greeting at the front door to our favorite waiter, Michael. He expertly paces the service and knows when to stop by and check on our drinks and meals. We also enjoyed an after dinner drink at the bar served by Mike. He is attentive even when extremely busy. Joe and Missy have created a warm, welcoming atmosphere to enjoy the wonderful menu. It is no mystery why Joseph Tambellini's is voted in top ranks of restaurants annually. Bravo!!

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Excellent food, service and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We had an awful service experience here. The food was pretty good, but our server was very rude and condescending.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 29, 2017

What a wonderful spot for our anniversary dinner! Their homemade pasta was other worldly. Authentic Italian food combined with some very creative modern expressions. The setting was in a great neighborhood that made it feel cozy, and the multiple dinning rooms including outdoor seating provide for some different dining experiences. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2017

First, I have been to the restaurant many times and always on the weekend never had a bad meal. This was my 1st weekday visit and the food was far below their usual standard. The service was A+ . My Granddaughter ordered pasta with a Arrabbiata Sauce the presentation of the food was a D-. The soup had more egg ragged and little if any pastina. We will be back, but never during a weekday.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We utterly enjoy Tambellinis every time we go. Even with our two young granddaughters , the staff goes out of their way to be attentive and kind. Thank you
We wish they were closer to our home. Kudos again to Tambellinis.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Fantastic food. Great service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Typical Tambellini dining experience--fantastic food and unbelievable service by Adam

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 21, 2017

I love this place however this visit was a bit disappointing , we received a very nice greeting and were seated immediately with our reservation. The manager talked to every table but ours,even the table next to us, not sure if it was because we were not dressed up - we were coming from work. It also seemed that dinner service was a bit rushed. I couldn't eat the side dish because it had red onions in it but I wasn't offered a replacement so I paid $53.00 for a steak and no side, that was disappointing.

I would still recommend this as a dining option in the area - maybe this was just an off night. But there are a lot of great places to eat in Pittsburgh these days and one off night can really impact a business.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fathers Day was even more special tonight as it was the first time we brought my younger son and his girlfriend here. Like us, they were blown away by everything we ordered, including the best meatballs you'll ever eat (sorry grandma and mom!) and a Parmesan encrusted park chop big enough to feed 4! Joe outdoes himself every time we're here and tonight was no exception. As always, the service was outstanding and the staff super friendly. Easily our favorite restaurant in all of Western Pa!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I had Diner with my son for Fathers day and everything was superb

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

No question...my favorite restaurant in the city. The food is outstanding, as well as the service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had a wonderful experience celebrating my Aunt's 90th birthday. I will definitely go back again. It is A must try

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I can't say enough about this restaurant! We went there to celebrate my sons graduation and it was a very pleasant experience from beginning to end. We ordered 3 different appetizers and all of them we're delicious. Our entrees were to die for! The service was spectacular. Our waiter was the best we've had in a long time. I highly recommend this restaurant and I'm looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Virginia spots were not good at all. Waiter condescending and not attentive. Expectations were not met.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We had a fabulous meal. The owners, Joe and Missy, were delightful and made a point of making us feel welcome and special. We will return.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I enjoyed the restaurant and food. My only complaint is that the restrooms are upstairs, not handicapped accessible. The tables are fairly close together.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This was our first visit to Joseph Tambellini and we will definitely be back. The food was excellent, service could not have been better. The atmosphere was perfect! The fact that you see Joseph and his wife Melissa both there gives it that family atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The food and the service was excellent. Price was high though for two pasta dishes.

Tags: Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We were there to celebrate a special occasion as made the reservation as it was a favorite of my parents. While the location was a bit of a trek from our hotel downtown, the food quality was excellent and worth the trip. Of particular note was the eggplant parmesan and the cheese ravoli. Huge portions along with the great quality of ingredients. The only drawback was the ventilation. Halfway through dinner it became quite stuffy and had no air movement. But if you are in the area, I'd recommend you stop by Tambellini.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The food was fantastic, cooked perfectly. I love the ambiance of this restaurant it's so cozy, perfect for a date night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 23, 2017

EXCELLENT FOOD

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Delightful restaurant. Loved the pace of the dinner. Lovely room, comfortable and pleasant. Very attentive staff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We enjoy Tambelini's often for family dinners as well as. Usiness dinners and am never disappointed. Joe and his staff are very friendly and attentive and the quality of the food is great. A true hidden gem!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.