About Joseph Tambellini

5701 Bryant Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
View Larger Map

Located in Highland Park, Joseph Tambellini Restaurant offers the very best Italian inspired cuisine.


Owned and Operated by Joseph and his wife Melissa, the entire staff is dedicated to bringing you an overall exceptional dining experience.


Expertly crafted market fresh fish and steaks, fresh pasta, traditional chicken and veal dishes.


Also featuring beautiful hand made signature desserts, and an extensive Italian and Californian wine list.


Warm romantic fine dining in the true Tambellini family tradition.


If you have a First Floor Specific request, Please contact the restaurant by phone to make your reservation. We cannot guarantee First Floor for on-line reservations.
Price (Price reflects the average cost of dinner, including one drink and tip): $31 to $50

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Mellon Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 665-9000

Website:
http://josephtambellini.com/

Entertainment:
The owners frequent the dining room to talk with the guests to ensure a unique and comfortable dining experience!

Parking Details:
Plenty of on street parking available.

Public Transit:
Bus stop directly in front, for routes: 71A Highland Park

Executive Chef:
Joseph Tambellini

Private Party Facilities:
We have many options for private parties. We have a semi-private space available for up to 14.
Our private 3rd floor offers space for parties up to 20.
If a larger space is needed, our 2nd floor is also available for up to 40 people. We can also accommodate larger parties using multiple floors. We have held small wedding ceremonies and receptions here as well. Please call us to discuss your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa or Joe Tambelini: 412-665-9000x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Molten Chocolate Cake - Joseph Tambellini, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Tiaramasu - Joseph Tambellini, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Melissa's Seafood Special - Joseph Tambellini, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Delmonico Steak - Joseph Tambellini, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Cheese Ravioli - Joseph Tambellini, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Veal Parmagiana - Joseph Tambellini, Pittsburgh, PA
Molten Chocolate Cake - Joseph Tambellini, Pittsburgh, PA
Tiaramasu - Joseph Tambellini, Pittsburgh, PA
Melissa's Seafood Special - Joseph Tambellini, Pittsburgh, PA
Delmonico Steak - Joseph Tambellini, Pittsburgh, PA
Cheese Ravioli - Joseph Tambellini, Pittsburgh, PA
Veal Parmagiana - Joseph Tambellini, Pittsburgh, PA

Joseph Tambellini Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Food
Pittsburgh
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
5 More
Italian
Pittsburgh
Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Food
Pittsburgh
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Italian
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Highland Park ›

Special Occasion (47)
Good for a Date (36)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Romantic (33)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Worth the Drive (24)
Authentic (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Cozy (18)
Business Meals (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Private Room (7)
Casual (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Fun (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Historic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Healthy (3)
Family Style (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
923 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The entrance is crowded and not very inv ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

The entrance is crowded and not very inviting. However, once we were seated the food was amazing and service was amazing. They honored our seating request per our reservation. Appetizers and food arroved in a timely manor. Fried zucchini was out of this world.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

For the first time since I moved to Pitt ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

For the first time since I moved to Pittsburgh in 1980, my guests and I were asked to leave a restaurant to make room for others. This insult came as I finished my espresso and just after paying a rather large tab for four dinners, with two bottles of wine. I almost anticipated this because throughout the meal, the server was at our table applying steady if gentle pressure to get on with it. Let's be clear. Four professionals, a little more than two hours for dinner, on a Friday night, with a substantial tab--"others are waiting for this table."

Well, not returning.

BTW: eat out a lot, at lots of high end places here and around US. So, if in the 'Burgh try other places. There are many.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

One of best, if not best, meal we'be ha ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

One of best, if not best, meal we'be had.

Quality, presentation, quantity and service was simply outstanding and we cannot wait to go back!

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious meal, upstairs seating ideal f ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious meal, upstairs seating ideal for quiet conversations, definitely will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As far as I am concerned Best Food in Pi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

As far as I am concerned Best Food in Pittsburgh, Service is outstanding

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We eat here for special occasions and fo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We eat here for special occasions and for no special reason and we are never disappointed.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic service coupled with incredibl ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Fantastic service coupled with incredible food and the most friendly staff you'll find on the Pittsburgh area make this of the best (if not the best) dining experiences in the area. Worth your time and your dollar, it will not dissappoint.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for a Date, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and fantastic service. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Outstanding food and fantastic service. We went for a special occasion and it met all of our expectations.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Jose ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Joseph TAMBELLINI'S. We were able to talk and visit in a fairly quiet atmosphere.

Our dinners were delicious.

We look forward to coming back when we return from Florida in the spring.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent dinner and a very enjoyable ev ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent dinner and a very enjoyable evening for my family celebrating a special anniversary. Loved the atmosphere in the house, very cozy and comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When you look at the table at the end of ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

When you look at the table at the end of the meal and realize you are smiling in total satisfaction, and your belly, tongue, and brain are singing Kumbaya in unison. It's a good day.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Joseph Tambellini's pulls off that rare ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Joseph Tambellini's pulls off that rare combinations of presenting a consistently wonderful dining experience with top notch ingredients, preparations and service, while at the same time making you feel welcome and at home.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The meal was wonderful. From the zucchin ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The meal was wonderful. From the zucchini app to the stuffed shrimp we loved it all. Desserts were decadent. Highly recommend for whatever special occasion you are celebrating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a classic, upscale Pittsburgh di ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 10, 2016

This is a classic, upscale Pittsburgh dining experience. The menu has a little bit of something for everyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our favorites, and it didn't disa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

One of our favorites, and it didn't disappoint. The food is fantastic, and the service very good. The chef and his wife always personally welcome us. It's our favorite for a nice date or special occasion. Definitely order the fried zucchini appetizer and whatever burrata the chef is offering. I also chose the ravioli, and my husband chose one of the specials. All wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was terrific!

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hands down the best steak in town, this ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Hands down the best steak in town, this time a bone-in delmonico. Chicken parm is insanely good. This place never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated our daughters 21st birthday. ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Celebrated our daughters 21st birthday. Chef Joe met us at the table with prosecco and then sent over a few of his specialty meatballs. His attentiveness was extra special to our group. We ordered the ravioli off the menu, and a couple specials, branzini and a 24 ounce bone-in Veal Milanese. All of them were over the top great. The service was top notch as well. We are from out of town, and make a hobby of searching out good food wherever we go. This restaurant ranks right up at the top for food, service, and overall enjoyment of a meal. HIGHLY RECOMMEND for your Italian fix!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Because the restaurant is pricey, this i ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Because the restaurant is pricey, this is a place we save for special occasions--and it never disappoints. I recommend their signature Tam"bellini" drink for starters. The salmon I ordered melted in my mouth, the sides and desserts were excellent and the service (as always!) was superb. We will definitely return in the future for another scrumptious dinner!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing experience; from being greeted a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Amazing experience; from being greeted as we walked in the door to the time we payed our bill the staff was amazing. The food was incredable and good size. Would recommend this for a celebration to a business meeting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very nice selection of entrees. The appe ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Very nice selection of entrees. The appetizers were very well done. Especially the fried zucchini. My steak was just right. The desserts were also great.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Everything was great except for how jamm ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Everything was great except for how jammed in we were. I was on a first date and had a hard time talking because I could literally hear everyone's conversation around us. Food and service were awesome.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Our favorite in the Pittsburgh area

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our favorite in the Pittsburgh area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always superb. Best in the Burgh!

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always superb. Best in the Burgh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food, great place, Recommend h ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 28, 2016

excellent food, great place, Recommend highly for any occasion

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Casual, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we always enjoy dining here - great food ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

we always enjoy dining here - great food, great service, great atmosphere!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great appetizers, salads and enters...go ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great appetizers, salads and enters...good wine, &

very attentive/helpful waiter. Only concern was the desert creme brûlée was in a very hard shell & even our waiter had hard time cutting it into edible pieces.

Tags: Vegan, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ambiance and service are great, but food ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Ambiance and service are great, but food is pricey.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always great food and service. The meat ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Always great food and service. The meatballs are a MUST!!! My husband loves the steak special and the Arrabiata pasta sauce. Pasta dishes are delicious as well. We have never had any complaints after dining at "Joey's"!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I visited this restaurant ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 16, 2016

My husband and I visited this restaurant last night for our 1st wedding anniversary (pretty special event). The food was definitely a 5 star review- the portions were generous, they give you a house salad, bread, and a side of pasta before you even get your huge entree. My husband had the veal chop (so great and huge), and I had the special of New York Strip (also delicious and HUGE). We ended our night with the lava cake which was to die for- highly recommend! You can't leave without getting their desert!!

But why give the restaurant a 4 star review? The only reason we are rating this experience as a 4 and not a 5 star review is due to the service. When attending a restaurant with such good reviews, and paying a pretty penny for the food, you expect top of the line service. I would like to note that our waitress could have been new, but if that was the case someone should have been assisting her. The hostess recognized our 1st wedding anniversary, but the server did not mention anything at all. She was very concerned with a table of 6 behind us- it took at least 10 minutes to get water and another 5 after that to get our wine. We had to ask about the specials not on the menu, and she spilled Parmesan cheese all over my dress when putting it on my salad (I didn't care just wanted a small apology). It would have been nice (since we reserved the table through open table and noted our anniversary), if the waitress could have acknowledged or even asked if we were celebrating since this was our first time at the restaurant and the hostess acknowledged it before we said anything. I have been to many nice places, so this is why I feel that I can be critical of the service. My husband and I would try this experience again though, and hope for better service or that our waitress has gotten more experience there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

It is a great place with friendly people ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 14, 2016

It is a great place with friendly people and great food

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I had a great dining exp ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 8, 2016

My husband and I had a great dining experience and would definitely come again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Joseph Tambellini is always very good. J ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Joseph Tambellini is always very good. Joseph is the chef and he comes out and visits a few tables every time we are there. It makes you feel good when the chef comes out and greets the patrons. His wife also works at the restaurant and she also makes you feel welcomed. Great place, fantastic food and not over priced for what you get.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A true gem of a restaurant conveniently ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 8, 2016

A true gem of a restaurant conveniently located near Highland Park. Melissa and Joe are wonderful, customer oriented owners. You will find her mixing with the guests with the intention of getting their honest and sincere feedback and to ensure everything about their visit to this wonderful spot met or exceeded their highest expectation. If you haven't been here don't wait a second longer make a reservation now.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love this familly run resteraunt. Gr ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We love this familly run resteraunt. Great staff. Awesome food. Super service. Every year we come to Pittsburgh for a Steelers game and every year we come back to JT for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and excellent service! T ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Delicious food and excellent service! This restaurant is by far my favorite in Pittsburgh!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food in a classy but not Duffy ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Very good food in a classy but not Duffy setting, friendly and helpful staff, at a good price. Loved it!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first visit to Joseph Tambelli ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 2, 2016

It was my first visit to Joseph Tambellini's and I can say without a doubt it is the finest Italian cuisine in the greater Pittsburgh area. Some might say it is a bit pricey but for the soup or salad course, pasta course and the entree course, it is well worth every dollar. The attentive staff, owners mingling throughout the restaurant, it certainly makes you feel at home.

Cocktails can be a bit pricey but it depends on what is your pleasure! Having family coming from out of town. It will definitely be our dinner destination with them.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a wonderful experience for myse ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This was a wonderful experience for myself and my wife. The food and service was excellent. Adam was great as our server. It was a great time!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall our experience was positive. Ev ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Overall our experience was positive. Everyone but me enjoyed the meal that they ordered.

I ordered the Mafalda Caprese which I did not care for. Compared to the dishes that were served to the other people in our party I thought that this had an off-putting presentation. The dish was not at all what I had expected. Not to embarrass my family I did not complain. I just wouldn't recommend the Mafalda Caprese nor would I order it again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.