Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi

About Joseph Tambellini

Located in Highland Park, Joseph Tambellini Restaurant offers the very best Italian inspired cuisine.


Owned and Operated by Joseph and his wife Melissa, the entire staff is dedicated to bringing you an overall exceptional dining experience.


Expertly crafted market fresh fish and steaks, fresh pasta, traditional chicken and veal dishes.


Also featuring beautiful hand made signature desserts, and an extensive Italian and Californian wine list.


Warm romantic fine dining in the true Tambellini family tradition.


If you have a First Floor Specific request, Please contact the restaurant by phone to make your reservation. We cannot guarantee First Floor for on-line reservations.
Price (Price reflects the average cost of dinner, including one drink and tip): $31 to $50

5701 Bryant Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Mellon Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 665-9000

Website:
http://josephtambellini.com/

Entertainment:
The owners frequent the dining room to talk with the guests to ensure a unique and comfortable dining experience!

Parking Details:
Plenty of on street parking available.

Public Transit:
Bus stop directly in front, for routes: 71A Highland Park

Executive Chef:
Joseph Tambellini

Private Party Facilities:
We have many options for private parties. We have a semi-private space available for up to 14.
Our private 3rd floor offers space for parties up to 20.
If a larger space is needed, our 2nd floor is also available for up to 40 people. We can also accommodate larger parties using multiple floors. We have held small wedding ceremonies and receptions here as well. Please call us to discuss your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa or Joe Tambelini: (412) 665-9000

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Joseph Tambellini Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (53)
Good for a Date (45)
Romantic (41)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Authentic (28)
Cozy (27)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Worth the Drive (17)
Notable Wine List (13)
Business Meals (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Private Room (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Casual (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Fun (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Historic (4)
Family Style (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1087 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was fantastic, cooked perfectly. I love the ambiance of this restaurant it's so cozy, perfect for a date night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

EXCELLENT FOOD

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Delightful restaurant. Loved the pace of the dinner. Lovely room, comfortable and pleasant. Very attentive staff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We enjoy Tambelini's often for family dinners as well as. Usiness dinners and am never disappointed. Joe and his staff are very friendly and attentive and the quality of the food is great. A true hidden gem!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

chicken old, over cooked, or poor quality. odd for this restaurant which is typically excellent. regardless, given process, not acceptable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 18, 2017

food ,service both great as always
can get a bit noisy at times
management is very attentive and friendly

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The food is always outstanding and everyone does a great job of making you feel welcome

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We enjoyed our meal and the service was very good. The part I did not like was someone from the kitchen, maybe Joseph, standing at our table, talking to the couple next to us for 15 - 20 minutes. It was very annoying and distracting. If you want to catch up with friends, make a date and enjoy a sit down meal. It really put a damper on an otherwise enjoyable experience. If I recommend this restaurant, I would warn them of this annoyance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 9, 2017

You really can't go wrong at Joe's! The food is wonderful and very creative but also has a side of Italian and Pittsburgh Flair! Joe and the entire staff make you feel special and he comes around to every table to make sure your happy. You want a special meal "Eat at Joe's"!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Private Room, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very good eating experience. Parking was problematic, but I would return for the pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I had eaten at Tambellini's on Route 51, and always loved it. The Highland Park location is every bit as good, just a little more intimate. My friends and I loved it...the food was amazing; the service was wonderful; and the location was very convenient. Great restaurant!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The combination of great food, great service, and ambiance create a very nice dining experience. From a review of the menu, Tambellinis may seem to be "dependable Italian." But the fresh, delicious ingredients and traditional yet creative cooking distinguish this restaurant above such a description. The home made meatballs are a must, either as an appetizer or with your dish. The escarole and beans were very good. The chefs are also very accommodating for any personal customizing you might want to give any dish. The owner suggested the flounder with a DuClair sauce for my friend who is gluten-free; it sounded so good I decided to try it myself, and it was a great choice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had another fine meal at Tambellini. The food is always very good and the service and ambiance excellent. We loved the salmon special as well as the soft shell crab special. Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

No question that Joseph Tambellini is my favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh. Outstanding food and service in a beautiful and friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Joe and Melissa are the ultimate hosts.
The food is always great, and the atmosphere is conducive to a fine dining experience.
This is a reliable restaurant for a great meal and a wonderful evening.
Check out the new outdoor seating area!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Chad was a great server. He gave great suggestions and we had the. He'd make us things not even on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

First visit. Veal Marsala was scrumptious and very tender. My guests were please to find the soft shell crabs and a strip steak special, both of which they greatly enjoyed. My 2 year old grandson was treated warmly and his food cam quickly, which made the evening go well. Warm goodbyes also were nice. Server Holly was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

When we are near Pittsburgh we always make a reservation at Joseph Tambellinis. We are frequent travelers all over the United States and always visit the top rated restaurants in the area we are visiting. We consider this place one of the best. So if you consider yourself a foodie and don't mind paying for a quality meal, I would strongly recommend a visit.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Greeted by the chef/owner was a nice surprise. Great and attentive staff. Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Awesome service and always delicious food!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was pretty good... the AC did not work well at all making it uncomfortable to sit and eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 11, 2017

This is my 4th business trip to Pittsburgh and I'd heard about Italian food in or near Bloomfield was the best. So I did some research and decided to try Joseph Tambellini's. It was worth the drive! The bartender makes an excellent classic cocktail. The food is outstanding! You must try the wedding soup, the meatball, and a signature salad(I recommend Cesar) for starters. I chose the mafalda caprese(a homemade pasta) for dinner and it was amazing!
Now let's talk about the service...
The service is 3 star at best. My server Holly was good but not 5 star she wasn't attentive, my beverage glass went empty, and she overall rushed us through dinner even though the restaurant wasn't packed and she didn't have that many tables. The atmosphere in the restaurant is stuffy and not very welcoming but the food is amazing. I will try other restaurants in the Bloomfield area before returning to this one.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Me and my girlfriend took my dad and mom here for my dad's birthday. And it was just a perfect experience. Me and my gf go here a lot and always enjoy it, but this was my folks first time and Joseph the owner/chef really made my dad feel special when he stopped by the table to chat for a few minutes and we all enjoyed our meals as always. Our server, Adam was terrific as always, we always request Adam. I would highly recommend this restaurant, the owners, staff always make it an a terrific evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This is our first dine in experience. We had take out a few times and were always pleased. I love this restaurant! Great food, warm ambience, and extremely friendly people!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was outstanding, presented beautifully and service was very good. It is very pricey but a wonderful place to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

As always, excellent food only exceeded by Adam, waiter who without a doubt is the most service oriented wait staff I have ever experienced.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Overall, I felt very the experience was very good. The food was fantastic. They were very accommodating through and through. The art on the walls, lighting, and general style of the place made it feel like the right place for my fiance and me to celebrate our week-old engagement.

I only had two real issues with the restaurant. The first was the location: it's tucked away with no sign that I ever saw, which made finding it very difficult to find. Along with that, there was no parking to speak of, meaning you could walk three or more blocks if the street parking is full. My other issue was that some of the other diners in the restaurant were mildly rude, both in terms of noise level (they were very loud and could be clearly heard across the room), were mildly inappropriate with their language (occasional f-bombs, more-often-than-not "d*" and "s*"), and the subject matter was disturbing (e.g. shooting people, killing, blood and guts).

Overall though, this was a fantastic experience, and I'd definitely recommend it to others.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Always a treat to enjoy a meal at Joe's. We've known and enjoyed this Chef for many years. Look forward to returning.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 4, 2017

I took my bride to Joseph Tambelini's for our Anniversary dinner. First time at this restaurant and was not disappointed. We dined in the upstairs room which was cozy and quiet...which was exactly what we desired. This is a very upscale Italian/Continental cuisine restaurant with pricing on the upper end, but not stratospheric. Good portions for the money.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Another excellent meal with Missy and Joe. Seafood Melissa and halibut were so tasty. Service was pleasant and professional. We highly recommend Joseph Tambellini's!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We -- Frank and his "haram" (4 of us, 1 guy and 3 gals, who regularly dine together on Sat nights) -- decided on Tambellini's to celebrate one of our birthdays. Joe knocked it out of the park once again! First, an amazing lasagna special with prosciutto, arugula, artichoke hearts, and béchamel sauce was ordered by all of us...the first time we all did that! It was truly decadent, luscious, and HUGE! Before that, the beans & greens were to die for, as was the amazing arugula & fresh buffalo mozzarella salad, also ordered and enjoyed by all of us. We finished off with a wonderful warm chocolate lava cake to celebrate our friend's birthday...ahhhhh...perfect pairing with the red wine! One of the best meals we've had there! Our waiter was the best, on top of everything! I'm ashamed that I can't remember his name, but I'll find out and request him again for sure!! Thanks Missy and Joe and staff for another wonderfully awesome evening!!! Always a delight!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We celebrated our Anniversary at Joseph Tambellini's. The food, service and atmosphere were excellent. I would highly recommend the fried zucchini and meatball parmesan with marinara sauce.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal it was outstanding. We had the best waitress Holly P, she was fantastic. Will return cause this is a wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 28, 2017

My wife and I went there for my birthday. We hadn't been to Tambellini's in years and were in the mood for great Italian food. We were not disappointed. The food was tremendous and our waiter, Chad, was exceptional. He had all the specials memorized and new where the beef/fish came from. He was also very attentive. The only thing I wish Chad would have done was let me know the price of the steak special. Admittedly I should have asked but I never imagined it would be $58. Other than that it was a marvelous dining experience.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This is the best Italian meal I've had in Pittsburgh. Yes it is a bit pricey, but well worth it. Everything was fabulous, and the salad was so good, I nearly licked the plate.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I will admit that my last visit to Tambellini's was not so great. This visit?... Redemption! The food was fantastic and the cocktails were delicious. Tim, our server, was very attentive and knowledgeable of the menu. The only downfall of this place is the price. Over $12 for a cocktail made with Smirnoff? I could buy a whole bottle for that amount. That being said, this is a great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Get the meatball appetizer. Delish! My BF said the lasagna was the best he's ever had. Service was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My wife and I go for special occasions like our anniversary or her birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Best Italian food in the Burgh (Pittsburgh). Food is outstanding with special items being even better. Can be very noisy if you are seated by the bar or a table of loud guests which is always annoying wherever you dine. Wait staff is attentive and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Place was superb, food was out of this world. Our server Adam was excellent, if you go I would recommend Adam as server. Everything about this restaurant is top notch.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.