About Joseph Tambellini

5701 Bryant Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
View Larger Map

Located in Highland Park, Joseph Tambellini Restaurant offers the very best Italian inspired cuisine.


Owned and Operated by Joseph and his wife Melissa, the entire staff is dedicated to bringing you an overall exceptional dining experience.


Expertly crafted market fresh fish and steaks, fresh pasta, traditional chicken and veal dishes.


Also featuring beautiful hand made signature desserts, and an extensive Italian and Californian wine list.


Warm romantic fine dining in the true Tambellini family tradition.


If you have a First Floor Specific request, Please contact the restaurant by phone to make your reservation. We cannot guarantee First Floor for on-line reservations.
Price (Price reflects the average cost of dinner, including one drink and tip): $31 to $50

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Mellon Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 665-9000

Website:
http://josephtambellini.com/

Entertainment:
The owners frequent the dining room to talk with the guests to ensure a unique and comfortable dining experience!

Parking Details:
Plenty of on street parking available.

Public Transit:
Bus stop directly in front, for routes: 71A Highland Park

Executive Chef:
Joseph Tambellini

Private Party Facilities:
We have many options for private parties. We have a semi-private space available for up to 14.
Our private 3rd floor offers space for parties up to 20.
If a larger space is needed, our 2nd floor is also available for up to 40 people. We can also accommodate larger parties using multiple floors. We have held small wedding ceremonies and receptions here as well. Please call us to discuss your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa or Joe Tambelini: (412) 665-9000

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Joseph Tambellini Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Good for a Date (39)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Romantic (33)
Cozy (26)
Authentic (24)
Worth the Drive (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Business Meals (10)
Private Room (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Historic (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Fun (4)
Casual (4)
Family Style (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Healthy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1032 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great restaurant for a romantic date! My ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

Great restaurant for a romantic date! My boyfriend and I went there to celebrate Valentine's Day and our 2 year anniversary. Food and service was great. Prices were slightly on the higher end.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is unbelievably good. Great atm ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

The food is unbelievably good. Great atmosphere if you're looking for a quaint setting. The servers are fantastic.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything from the salad to dessert was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything from the salad to dessert was wonderful! We all loved our meals. Definitely hope to return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quiet, quaint, delicious meal. We had Me ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Quiet, quaint, delicious meal. We had Meatball Parmesan with tomato basil cream sauce and mafalda caprese. Each were fantastic. Do not leave without trying the tiramisu. One of the best desserts I've ever had!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You're guaranteed a great meal! Superb s ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

You're guaranteed a great meal! Superb service, and the food is always outstanding no matter what you order!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Valentines night

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentines night

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I've been going to this restaurant for t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

I've been going to this restaurant for the past 8 years and eat there 2/3 times a year. I just wish I lived closer. I would be a weekly visitor

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as always

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a lovely meal with great food. Ve ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was a lovely meal with great food. Very tasty food. We were able to take our 18 month old child without any hassle or harassment considering it was a Valentine's menu/clientele.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nothing I could possibly say would be en ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Nothing I could possibly say would be enough to describe the entire experience we had. From the moment we stepped inside until we left, this was one of the best dining experiences we've ever had! From the wonderful service to every bite of every mouth watering course, my wife and I couldn't have been more satisfied. In addition, Chef Joe and his wife treated us like family, stopping by to chat, the. enthusiastically explaining what he'd prepared for us and share a few stories of his many years as a Chef, it's easy to see why this is such a wonderful place - he LOVES what he's doing and it shows in EVERY WAY! Tambellini's instantly shot up to our favorite restaurant!

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been to Jos. Tambelinni's several times ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Been to Jos. Tambelinni's several times before, but not for a few years. Always enjoyed the food and the service/ambience. This time reaffirmed all those feelings. The menu continues to evolve. I had a vegetarian pasta preparation that was well-prepared, presented, and delicious. Reliable favorites, like the fried zucchini and tiramisu, were even better than I recalled. I'm planning to return sooner rather than later.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great and a everything w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The service was great and a everything we ordered was amazing!! The corking fee was $25 which some people may find pricy but it made sense for our girls night. Over all a awesome place! Definitely going back!!

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal and wonderful service from Ti ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great meal and wonderful service from Tim! Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most of the food was excellent - zucchin ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Most of the food was excellent - zucchini appetizer, house salads (they offered Gorgonzola as an option!), shrimp scampi, dessert. Chicken parm was a bit overcooked. Bread should have been warm. Service was A+++ - our young server was attentive, and his timing was impeccable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Been here almost a dozen times in the la ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Been here almost a dozen times in the last year. Keep going back to find something not to like Haven't been able to do so. On the upper $$ but incredibly delicious and worth the money. Cocktails are great, a tad high but delicious. They work to accommodate everything you want including moving your bar tab to your table ( love that!)

So many choices of great flavors.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was superb Atmosphere very quaint ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Food was superb

Atmosphere very quaint

Loved it

Definitely will return

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An intimate restaurant with an elegant a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 19, 2017

An intimate restaurant with an elegant atmosphere. The food was delicious along with very nice presentation. Our waiter, Aaron, provided excellent service.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had heard good things, and they were ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had heard good things, and they were all true. Of note, our waitress provided us with a very enjoyably paced experience.... Extremely attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Great atmosphere and ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was excellent. Great atmosphere and a warm, friendly staff. The Chef/Owner spoke with us and was very hospitable, saying that if we had any special requests we should let him know. We did feel that our server could have been warmer. On previous visits our servers were quite warm and friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Adam my waiter is by far the ultimate wa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Adam my waiter is by far the ultimate waiter/waitress you could want! Food is excellent.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my birthday and I wanted to try s ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was my birthday and I wanted to try something more romantic. The food and service was amazing. At one point I heard the hotess asking a waiter how long until they finish and to hurry the patron. However, we were never rushed and again it was a perfect evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Joseph Tambellini never disappoints! Al ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Joseph Tambellini never disappoints! Although the meals are pricey, they are consistently outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always excellent food, but by far the ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

As always excellent food, but by far the slowest service I have experienced after many visits.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Always excellent food and service. It is ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always excellent food and service. It is a pleasure to visit a restaurant with such consistently good quality.

Tags: , Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food are always exceptio ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The service and food are always exceptional. The entire staff goes the extra mile to make every occasion special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Parking was easy (on street) and the ven ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Parking was easy (on street) and the venue is quite charming. The entrance becomes a bit chaotic as soon as you step in the door though. Coat check. Reservation desk. Patrons leaving but not yet out the door. Other patrons entering with us. People seated at the bar right inside the door. Meanwhile, the door keeps opening and closing. It was a frigid January night when we went. I was very glad we were not seated on the first floor, inside the front door. Too cold! Instead, we were seated at a lovely table upstairs and quite out-of-the-way where it was wonderfully quiet. Our waiter was incredibly attentive and recommended some winning daily specials. The food was all very delicious and beautifully presented. The entryway needs to be re-designed but, overall, it was a lovely experience for this party of 2.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Joseph Tambellini never disappoints and ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Joseph Tambellini never disappoints and the experience dining here is consistently enjoyable! We enjoyed another outstanding meal attractively plated presented by an attentive, knowledgeable, personable and professional server. From the appetizers to the entrees each selection was delicious and so well prepared- that is why we make frequent return visits to this restaurant- one of Pittsburgh's best and not to be missed!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Joseph and Melissa Tambellini have creat ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Joseph and Melissa Tambellini have created a warm, welcoming environment with gracious but relaxed service, and touches of elegance. The carefully crafted wine list demonstrates knowledge of Italian reds in particular, as well as good values. It pairs with the excellent food--Italian favorites (including the pasta course accompanying each entrée), perfectly prepared seafood (the scallops and stuffed shrimp were divine), and on this New Year's Eve, wonderful beef options. This has become our New Year's Eve tradition because we want the feel of an excellent neighborhood restaurant that knows this is a special occasion, and we want superb food coupled with fine wine. Regulars were welcomed with hugs. The dining room sparkled. Specially crafted cocktails were delicious, and we ended our meal with chocomartinis, saving the tiramisu for our next visit. Something to look forward to in the new year.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crabcakes were the best my 82 yr old Aun ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Crabcakes were the best my 82 yr old Aunt and I have ever eaten! My husband had the pork chop and it was delicious and I wanted to trade him and I'm a vegan!!!!

Thank you for a decadent meal we will never forget and our server Adam was perfect!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is excellent! Have been there ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food is excellent! Have been there 1/2 dozen times, and the overall experience consistently exceeds expectations. Owners say hello and mingle with guests. We will continue to go and recommend to friends. Worth a 1 hour drive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, , Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

From the starters through our entrees, e ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

From the starters through our entrees, everything tasted fresh and prepared perfectly. The menu is classic Pittsburgh Italian prepared with great skill.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and atmosphere!

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best Italian restaurant, hands down ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The best Italian restaurant, hands down in the Pittsburgh area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tambellinis is a must. We have never bee ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Tambellinis is a must. We have never been disappointed. Filet Medallions are superb as well as the Pork Tenderloin.

Service is efficient and professional.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, service and atmosphere for a ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Good food, service and atmosphere for a special occasion or just a good night out.

Tags: , Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Other than it being an attractive restau ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Other than it being an attractive restaurant, a converted Victorian home, there is not much to say. Obviously, known customers get preferential treatment. Even though we made our reservation well ahead of time, four of us were crowded into a small table, while two men that, obviously knew the owner, were seated at a much larger round table that could have easily sat four or more. It was hard not to notice that known customers received much faster service. My son ordered a $48 steak, medium rare, that came medium to well, and not particularly tender. The waitress seemed to have a replacement problem, but did bring another, eventually. Still, a poor steak. The rest of our party felt that the food was okay, but, by no means, exceptional. Drinks were good. Will not be returning anytime soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Outstanding food and service! Great pla ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Outstanding food and service! Great place for authentic Italian food.

Tags: Romantic, , Private Room, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, homemade pasta was fantastic ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great food, homemade pasta was fantastic. Service was very friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My 2 daughters and family went there to ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

My 2 daughters and family went there to celebrate my 70th birthday and we all enjoyed it. The food was excellent, our service staff was very attentive, and the 2nd floor was fairly quiet. My husband and I are thinking of going back with friends.

Tags: , Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating an early Christmas. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We were celebrating an early Christmas. Food was delicious and atmosphere was great. Perfect choice to celebrate the Holiday.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.