About Joseph Tambellini

5701 Bryant Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
View Larger Map

Located in Highland Park, Joseph Tambellini Restaurant offers the very best Italian inspired cuisine.


Owned and Operated by Joseph and his wife Melissa, the entire staff is dedicated to bringing you an overall exceptional dining experience.


Expertly crafted market fresh fish and steaks, fresh pasta, traditional chicken and veal dishes.


Also featuring beautiful hand made signature desserts, and an extensive Italian and Californian wine list.


Warm romantic fine dining in the true Tambellini family tradition.


If you have a First Floor Specific request, Please contact the restaurant by phone to make your reservation. We cannot guarantee First Floor for on-line reservations.
Price (Price reflects the average cost of dinner, including one drink and tip): $31 to $50

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Mellon Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 665-9000

Website:
http://josephtambellini.com/

Entertainment:
The owners frequent the dining room to talk with the guests to ensure a unique and comfortable dining experience!

Parking Details:
Plenty of on street parking available.

Public Transit:
Bus stop directly in front, for routes: 71A Highland Park

Executive Chef:
Joseph Tambellini

Private Party Facilities:
We have many options for private parties. We have a semi-private space available for up to 14.
Our private 3rd floor offers space for parties up to 20.
If a larger space is needed, our 2nd floor is also available for up to 40 people. We can also accommodate larger parties using multiple floors. We have held small wedding ceremonies and receptions here as well. Please call us to discuss your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa or Joe Tambelini: 412-665-9000x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 4:00PM - 5:45PM

Fri 4:00PM - 5:30PM

Joseph Tambellini Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Food
Pittsburgh
Best Service
Pittsburgh
14 More
Best Value
Pittsburgh
Neighborhood Gem
Pittsburgh
Romantic
Pittsburgh
Italian
Pittsburgh
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Pittsburgh
Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Food
Pittsburgh
Best Service
Pittsburgh
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Best Value
Pittsburgh
Neighborhood Gem
Pittsburgh
Romantic
Pittsburgh
Italian
Pittsburgh
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Highland Park ›

special occasion (100)
neighborhood gem (79)
romantic (74)
See All
fit for foodies (64)
notable wine list (35)
good for groups (28)
hot spot (15)
great for outdoor dining (8)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (3)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
825 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had been to Tambellini's on two other ...

Dined 4 days ago

I had been to Tambellini's on two other occasions, in recent months. These were for work functions. I wanted to take my wife knowing that she would enjoy the food. We, specifically, loved the salad with fresh mozzarella and heirloom tomatoes, the meatball that we shared and small bowl of pasta before our meal. We had seafood, steak, dessert and coffee and enjoyed every facet. Again, I had 2 experiences that were very positive, so returning did not require too much thought.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Good local spot. Not great. Very expensi ...

Dined 4 days ago

Good local spot. Not great. Very expensive. Nice atmosphere. Friendly. Easy parking.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Italian Treasure

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Wonderful evening at Joseph Tambellini's. From cocktails to dessert it could not have been better. We started with the very tasty and always consistent fried zucchini with our cocktails. All of our dinners were perfect and each came with either a soup (chicken pastina which tasted more homemade than mama's) or salad to start and a side of the most delicious pasta. I had shrimp scampi which was perfectly sauteed in a butter, wine, lemon sauce. My husband and our friend had chicken marsala which he claimed was the "best ever!" Our other friend had the eggplant parmesean and every morsel was gone! We ended the evening with tiramisu and creme brulee. Are you drooling? Need I say more??!! Despite a crazy evening catering to groups of diners celebrating college graduation our waiter was knowledgeable and attentive from start to finish. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food in Pittsburgh hands down.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Best food in Pittsburgh hands down.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, food was superb. Greens and b ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

As always, food was superb. Greens and beans were so good we took a to-go order to enjoy at home. Had pasta Alfredo with chicken - excellent but they should get linguine or fettecine noodles!! Pork chop special with risotto in ramp sauce- outstanding!! We were too full to try desert. Maybe next trip

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was awesome from appetizer to t ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The food was awesome from appetizer to the salad to the entrée. Our waiter was attentive, friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

Scallop dish was excellent. Pasta's very ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Scallop dish was excellent. Pasta's very good. Sesame Calamari dish was tasty but the sauce was thick and too strong. Waitress did a great job. A nice evening out

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Just Okay

Dined on May 7, 2016

This was not my first time to J.Tambellin's, but the first for my children and mother. For the amount charged for the items, I wasn't impressed. The dining room upstairs had a 4-top that was over-served and talking very loudly about inappropriate topics for anyone to overhear, let alone my 10, 13 & 16 year old children. Our server was in the weeds with the amount of tables she had, and was disappointed no one other than our server checked in on our table. If you have a party of 6 or more, this may not be the right venue for your dinner.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good choice

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Joseph Tambellini is always excellent. I think this was my 3rd or 4th time, and each time it's superb. Our waiter was personable without being too familiar, the dining room is cozy without being crowded, and the food is just excellent. It's not a place that's revolutionizing Italian food; it's just making excellent food. It also feels like an extremely good value, even though it is not cheap.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The escarole and beans were scrumptious ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

The escarole and beans were scrumptious and so was everything else. Our waiter was very special and he added to our enjoyment of the excellent food.

food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic dinner with great service!!

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Fantastic dinner with great service!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upscale

Dined on May 3, 2016

This is a lovely venue with excellent food and service. It's like stepping into a fine restaurant in NYC

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, attentive,knowledgeable ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Great ambiance, attentive,knowledgeable wait staff. New York strip was on of the best I've had

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FANTASTIC!!!!

Dined on April 17, 2016

This was my second time here and it lived up to my memory from the first visit! The food is fantastic, the eggplant parmesan to die for! All of the dishes ordered were perfection! We are tough critics of Italian cuisine, since my husband is Italian and I am a pretty good cook. I make my own pasta every week, make my own sauce, etc. So when we both say fantastic, we mean FANTASTIC!!!!! My only regret is that I don't live in Pittsburgh, so I can only come back when I am visiting. We live outside of Philadelphia and have been to many Italian restaurants in South Philly, not one is as good as Joseph Tambellini's!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Love tambellini's. Food is spectacular ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Love tambellini's. Food is spectacular and the portions are huge.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible salmon,and halibut

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

One of Joe's specials was a horseradish-encrusted salmon. My husband devoured it. I ate the halibut special, which was one of the top five dinners I've ever eaten anywhere, any place. We loved the apricot-infused salad dressing (salads included with dinners). Cocktails prices a bit steep.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mark S.

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

In a word... Outstanding. Food and service is terrific. A "go-to" restaurant. Never disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1

We had friends from NYC and wanted to ta ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

We had friends from NYC and wanted to take them to an amazing dinner. We were so disappointed from the time we sat down. Service was terrible. Our waitress continually apologized for drinks and food being slow but never put us to the front of the line. We had to ask for more water on serval occasions brought me the wrong side and didn't notice until I pointed it out. And the reataurant wasn't even busy when we got there but a restaurant of this caliber should handle it. And it wasn't cheap! Food was good not great but takes a lot out of it when you're not having a good experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a Delicious Meal

Dined on March 27, 2016

We have frequented Tambellini's for the past 2 years now. The food is always excellent & the service friendly & without delay. A truely pleasurable dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous

Dined on March 27, 2016

The staff was welcoming and friendly, the bartender was engaging and the food was fantastic. We could not have had a better experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great as always.

Dined on March 24, 2016

One of our favorites. A place to be considered when for some place special. A great place to enjoy fine food with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Restaurant

Dined on March 24, 2016

My family loves the meatballs and pasta and fish dishes Joe serves. Food is excellent and so is the atmosphere. Friendly staff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the best dinner! We will definite ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

We had the best dinner! We will definitely return the next time we are in town. The chef even walked around and talked to every table.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of a Kind

Dined on March 18, 2016

The guys all loved the Delmonico! I loved the veal romano, best I've ever had! Actuallly ordered the same thing on both visits. The Alfedo is out of this world. Brought leftovers home to son who said its the best alfredo ever! We'l be back with our 18 and 22 year old children real soon! Charlotte was our server and was very nice accomodating!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best. In. Pittsburgh.

Dined on March 13, 2016

Tambellini is in my top 3 for food in Pittsburgh but service / ambience make it a clear number 1 overall. Few places are so classy and friendly at the same. A good friend or special visitor I would always take there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Fine Dining

Dined on March 12, 2016

We truly enjoyed a very well presented and outstanding dinner.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

fantastic! One of my favorite places to ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

fantastic! One of my favorite places to eat--service is great, food is fabulous and ambiance perfect. We love it!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

Considerate Service

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

Lovely, intimate setting with really good Italian food. Service was outstanding- so considerate. When I asked for help deciding between 2 entrees, our server asked the chef if I could have both. Perfect!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Tired

Dined on March 6, 2016

Made a reservation, called and requested a very specific birthday dessert for my daughter...arrived to have to wait, hostess talked to us but not about wait time or getting us a drink of best place to stand while waiting b:c there is no where to stand. The bartender ignored us until the rest of the older "regulars" were served, twice. Waitress was friendly but unpolished. Dinner was okay. Took 15 min just to get bread (it is now 8:40 and my kids are starving. Ate dinner and were presented dessert menus...no one told the waitress about the dessert I requested so the surprise was not a surprise. Overall not a great experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I just arrived home from our ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

My wife and I just arrived home from our first visit to Joseph Tambellini's. No one is a bigger "Foodie" than me. I love to cook and am very good at it. When we go out to dinner I expect to be wowed. I expect a dinner better than I can prepare. Joseph Tambellini, YOU wowed me! EVERY aspect of my dinner was awesome! Delicious from the bread with dipping oil to the coffee and cannoli for the finish. The service was impeccable. YOU know how to do it right!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food Service was great Wonderf ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Excellent food Service was great Wonderful neighborhood restaurant Love the location Decor and service

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very nice

Dined on February 27, 2016

I enjoyed my experience. The food and the service were good, but my expectations were very high because of the many Open Table reviews that I've read. I'm afraid it fell just a little short for the price that we paid. Some of the food was average and at times the service wasn't paced well. However, I will go back because there were many positives. It just didn't blow me away like I had hoped.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I dined here for our four ye ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

My wife and I dined here for our four year anniversary dinner. We were beyond pleased with our service, meal and general atmosphere of the restaurant. Our food selections were top notch. We will definitely return. Thank you again, for a pleasant experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!!!

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

Our meal and service was outstanding. We got to spend some time talking with the owner and the chef after dinner. Great conversation! The food was amazing. The restaurant is a special. I highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food. Worth it just for the bread ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Great food. Worth it just for the bread dipping sauce!

food5
ambience5
service5

Our first time. Excellent food, service ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Our first time. Excellent food, service and atmosphere. It quickly became one of our favorite restaurants!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome as always!! We LOVE our server ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Awesome as always!! We LOVE our server Adam! The atmosphere, food and the staff will keep us coming back again and again! It brings back my favorite childhood memories of dining and growing up with the Mt Washington restaurant !! Love feeling like family as soon as we walk in the door! Bravo Joe and Melissa!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

WONDERFUL!

Dined on February 15, 2016

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful Valentine's Dinner. The food was amazing and the service was simply wonderful. Upon recommendation from our server Kim, we had the Crab Ball appetizer which was one of the best first courses I have ever had. The ONLY "complaint" I had was that there was so much from which to choose on the menu that I had a hard time choosing! We will be back soon!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five Hearts

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

The Valentine's Day menu was well thought out: many choices and good ones. We've been to restaurants on holidays, and the special menu is so skimpy that you feel like walking out. Not so at Joe's! Our server Melissa was very attentive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful as always!!!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Terrific service and food!!! A favorite of ours for special occasions or if you just want a great meal!!! Top notch service!!! A real gem of a restaurant !!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.