About Joseph Tambellini

5701 Bryant Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
View Larger Map

Located in Highland Park, Joseph Tambellini Restaurant offers the very best Italian inspired cuisine.


Owned and Operated by Joseph and his wife Melissa, the entire staff is dedicated to bringing you an overall exceptional dining experience.


Expertly crafted market fresh fish and steaks, fresh pasta, traditional chicken and veal dishes.


Also featuring beautiful hand made signature desserts, and an extensive Italian and Californian wine list.


Warm romantic fine dining in the true Tambellini family tradition.


If you have a First Floor Specific request, Please contact the restaurant by phone to make your reservation. We cannot guarantee First Floor for on-line reservations.
Price (Price reflects the average cost of dinner, including one drink and tip): $31 to $50

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Mellon Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 665-9000

Website:
http://josephtambellini.com/

Entertainment:
The owners frequent the dining room to talk with the guests to ensure a unique and comfortable dining experience!

Parking Details:
Plenty of on street parking available.

Public Transit:
Bus stop directly in front, for routes: 71A Highland Park

Executive Chef:
Joseph Tambellini

Private Party Facilities:
We have many options for private parties. We have a semi-private space available for up to 14.
Our private 3rd floor offers space for parties up to 20.
If a larger space is needed, our 2nd floor is also available for up to 40 people. We can also accommodate larger parties using multiple floors. We have held small wedding ceremonies and receptions here as well. Please call us to discuss your individual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa or Joe Tambelini: (412) 665-9000

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Molten Chocolate Cake - Joseph Tambellini, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Tiaramasu - Joseph Tambellini, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Melissa's Seafood Special - Joseph Tambellini, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Delmonico Steak - Joseph Tambellini, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Cheese Ravioli - Joseph Tambellini, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Veal Parmagiana - Joseph Tambellini, Pittsburgh, PA

Report a photo problem

Molten Chocolate Cake - Joseph Tambellini, Pittsburgh, PA
Tiaramasu - Joseph Tambellini, Pittsburgh, PA
Melissa's Seafood Special - Joseph Tambellini, Pittsburgh, PA
Delmonico Steak - Joseph Tambellini, Pittsburgh, PA
Cheese Ravioli - Joseph Tambellini, Pittsburgh, PA
Veal Parmagiana - Joseph Tambellini, Pittsburgh, PA

Joseph Tambellini Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (53)
Good for a Date (43)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Romantic (37)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Worth the Drive (31)
Cozy (27)
Authentic (26)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Notable Wine List (15)
Business Meals (15)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Private Room (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Historic (5)
Casual (4)
Family Style (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fun (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Spicy (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1016 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

An intimate restaurant with an elegant a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

An intimate restaurant with an elegant atmosphere. The food was delicious along with very nice presentation. Our waiter, Aaron, provided excellent service.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had heard good things, and they were ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

We had heard good things, and they were all true. Of note, our waitress provided us with a very enjoyably paced experience.... Extremely attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Great atmosphere and ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was excellent. Great atmosphere and a warm, friendly staff. The Chef/Owner spoke with us and was very hospitable, saying that if we had any special requests we should let him know. We did feel that our server could have been warmer. On previous visits our servers were quite warm and friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Adam my waiter is by far the ultimate wa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Adam my waiter is by far the ultimate waiter/waitress you could want! Food is excellent.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my birthday and I wanted to try s ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was my birthday and I wanted to try something more romantic. The food and service was amazing. At one point I heard the hotess asking a waiter how long until they finish and to hurry the patron. However, we were never rushed and again it was a perfect evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Joseph Tambellini never disappoints! Al ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Joseph Tambellini never disappoints! Although the meals are pricey, they are consistently outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always excellent food, but by far the ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

As always excellent food, but by far the slowest service I have experienced after many visits.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Always excellent food and service. It is ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always excellent food and service. It is a pleasure to visit a restaurant with such consistently good quality.

Tags: , Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food are always exceptio ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The service and food are always exceptional. The entire staff goes the extra mile to make every occasion special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Parking was easy (on street) and the ven ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Parking was easy (on street) and the venue is quite charming. The entrance becomes a bit chaotic as soon as you step in the door though. Coat check. Reservation desk. Patrons leaving but not yet out the door. Other patrons entering with us. People seated at the bar right inside the door. Meanwhile, the door keeps opening and closing. It was a frigid January night when we went. I was very glad we were not seated on the first floor, inside the front door. Too cold! Instead, we were seated at a lovely table upstairs and quite out-of-the-way where it was wonderfully quiet. Our waiter was incredibly attentive and recommended some winning daily specials. The food was all very delicious and beautifully presented. The entryway needs to be re-designed but, overall, it was a lovely experience for this party of 2.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Joseph Tambellini never disappoints and ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Joseph Tambellini never disappoints and the experience dining here is consistently enjoyable! We enjoyed another outstanding meal attractively plated presented by an attentive, knowledgeable, personable and professional server. From the appetizers to the entrees each selection was delicious and so well prepared- that is why we make frequent return visits to this restaurant- one of Pittsburgh's best and not to be missed!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Joseph and Melissa Tambellini have creat ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Joseph and Melissa Tambellini have created a warm, welcoming environment with gracious but relaxed service, and touches of elegance. The carefully crafted wine list demonstrates knowledge of Italian reds in particular, as well as good values. It pairs with the excellent food--Italian favorites (including the pasta course accompanying each entrée), perfectly prepared seafood (the scallops and stuffed shrimp were divine), and on this New Year's Eve, wonderful beef options. This has become our New Year's Eve tradition because we want the feel of an excellent neighborhood restaurant that knows this is a special occasion, and we want superb food coupled with fine wine. Regulars were welcomed with hugs. The dining room sparkled. Specially crafted cocktails were delicious, and we ended our meal with chocomartinis, saving the tiramisu for our next visit. Something to look forward to in the new year.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crabcakes were the best my 82 yr old Aun ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Crabcakes were the best my 82 yr old Aunt and I have ever eaten! My husband had the pork chop and it was delicious and I wanted to trade him and I'm a vegan!!!!

Thank you for a decadent meal we will never forget and our server Adam was perfect!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is excellent! Have been there ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food is excellent! Have been there 1/2 dozen times, and the overall experience consistently exceeds expectations. Owners say hello and mingle with guests. We will continue to go and recommend to friends. Worth a 1 hour drive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, , Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

From the starters through our entrees, e ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

From the starters through our entrees, everything tasted fresh and prepared perfectly. The menu is classic Pittsburgh Italian prepared with great skill.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and atmosphere!

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best Italian restaurant, hands down ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The best Italian restaurant, hands down in the Pittsburgh area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tambellinis is a must. We have never bee ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Tambellinis is a must. We have never been disappointed. Filet Medallions are superb as well as the Pork Tenderloin.

Service is efficient and professional.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, service and atmosphere for a ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Good food, service and atmosphere for a special occasion or just a good night out.

Tags: , Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Other than it being an attractive restau ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Other than it being an attractive restaurant, a converted Victorian home, there is not much to say. Obviously, known customers get preferential treatment. Even though we made our reservation well ahead of time, four of us were crowded into a small table, while two men that, obviously knew the owner, were seated at a much larger round table that could have easily sat four or more. It was hard not to notice that known customers received much faster service. My son ordered a $48 steak, medium rare, that came medium to well, and not particularly tender. The waitress seemed to have a replacement problem, but did bring another, eventually. Still, a poor steak. The rest of our party felt that the food was okay, but, by no means, exceptional. Drinks were good. Will not be returning anytime soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Outstanding food and service! Great pla ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Outstanding food and service! Great place for authentic Italian food.

Tags: Romantic, , Private Room, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, homemade pasta was fantastic ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great food, homemade pasta was fantastic. Service was very friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My 2 daughters and family went there to ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

My 2 daughters and family went there to celebrate my 70th birthday and we all enjoyed it. The food was excellent, our service staff was very attentive, and the 2nd floor was fairly quiet. My husband and I are thinking of going back with friends.

Tags: , Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating an early Christmas. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We were celebrating an early Christmas. Food was delicious and atmosphere was great. Perfect choice to celebrate the Holiday.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good food and service. Excellent ne ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Very good food and service. Excellent neighborhood restaurant in a nice neighborhood.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food quality was inconsistent. Bean and ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Food quality was inconsistent. Bean and crab ball appetizers were both excellent. Veal special, I was told, was amazing, eggplant parmigiana was a disappointment as was the side pasta dish that was drenched is sauce. Tiramisu had a great taste, but had a bit too much excess liquid. Service was impeccable!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our dinner but the only part ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner but the only part of the meal that I did not care for was the side dish of pasta. Also did not like the parking arrangements.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This offers the perfect romantic, boiste ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This offers the perfect romantic, boisterous but still classy Italian experience! Can't believe I haven't been here sooner. Lovely place.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience as always!!

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great experience as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing. Service was great. It ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Food was amazing. Service was great. It was a lot louder than usual. The only complaint I have, is I was seated near the bar and I overheard way too much complaining coming from a few employees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Although our meal was good. It was not e ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Although our meal was good. It was not exceptional and prices are high so I expect more. I would say pasta dishes are best. Desert was just OK .. tiramisu was not the traditional and was more of a creamy desert instead of traditional espresso soaked. The zucchini was not like the "famous" shaved thin zucchini that they are known for. It was cut thin and slightly greasy. My monkfish was just OK, pasta on side was excellent and husbands steak was very good. Again, our meal was not bad, I guess I just expect more for the money and from a place like this.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I have been enjoying the food created by ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I have been enjoying the food created by Joseph Tambellini since he opened his own place in Highland Park and long before that when he was head chef at another venue in the South Hills. His main menu is authentic Italian with his specials showing an elegant flair for upscale food. No matter which way you go on your food selection, you will not be disappointed. The restaurant is beautiful white tablecloth, but not stuffy or stiff, and the service is always flawless. Near or far, it's worth the drive if you want a lovely dining out experience. He never disappoints.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

People talking on their phones and crowd ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 13, 2016

People talking on their phones and crowds gathered at the bar waiting to be seated took away from the ambiance.

Food was relatively unimaginative for the price and the times.

Server came across as too junior for the price point.

Wines were good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Have been to the restaurant about six ti ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Have been to the restaurant about six times this year. Before last Sunday, all meals were excellent

On Sunday, my Delmonico steak and my son'd stuffed pork chop were under cooked. These had to be sent back. This throws off the rhythm of the meal. Our wives were eating while we waited, then they wait while we tried to eat.

My steak was heavily gristled, so much so that half was unedible.

All told, a very disappointing evening. My son was not thrilled with the pork chop, but was being kind by not saying much since we were treating he and his wife.

William Sproule

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Joseph Tambellini is always a treat. Th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Joseph Tambellini is always a treat. The food is well prepared, nicely seasoned, and the portions are generous. The service is attentive without being intrusive. The atmosphere is very pleasant. Overall I REALLY enjoy this restaurant and I will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is me and my girlfriends favorite r ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This is me and my girlfriends favorite restaurant! All the meals are delicious I usually get a veal dinner and she usually gets eggplant parm which is awesome! Ask for Adam who is a terrific server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The entrance is crowded and not very inv ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The entrance is crowded and not very inviting. However, once we were seated the food was amazing and service was amazing. They honored our seating request per our reservation. Appetizers and food arroved in a timely manor. Fried zucchini was out of this world.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

For the first time since I moved to Pitt ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

For the first time since I moved to Pittsburgh in 1980, my guests and I were asked to leave a restaurant to make room for others. This insult came as I finished my espresso and just after paying a rather large tab for four dinners, with two bottles of wine. I almost anticipated this because throughout the meal, the server was at our table applying steady if gentle pressure to get on with it. Let's be clear. Four professionals, a little more than two hours for dinner, on a Friday night, with a substantial tab--"others are waiting for this table."

Well, not returning.

BTW: eat out a lot, at lots of high end places here and around US. So, if in the 'Burgh try other places. There are many.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value5

One of the best (possibly THE BEST) rest ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

One of the best (possibly THE BEST) restaurant in Pittsburgh. The food was great, and the ambiance and service were outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious meal, upstairs seating ideal f ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Delicious meal, upstairs seating ideal for quiet conversations, definitely will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.