Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

Joseph Decuis

4.5
832 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Special Occasion
Located in Roanoke, a charming, historic rural community in northeast Indiana (15 minutes from Ft. Wayne, 1.5 hours north of Indianapolis and 3 hours east of Chicago), Joseph Decuis is the showcase for local farm raised food, and is a gourmet experience to remember. Our menu features seasonal dishes with ingredients raised on our farm (and other like minded farms), creatively and artfully prepared by our Chefs. The heart of the restaurant is housed in an old bank building (the vaults are now wine cellars) where you’ll feel as though you’ve stepped back in time to a simpler way of life where time around the table meant something. You’ll enjoy a top-quality meal in quiet, comfortable surroundings with outstanding hospitality.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner
Tue–Sat 5:00 pm–9:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(260) 672-1715
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Adam House
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Our Gallery Board Room (and adjacent reception room) are available for private meetings and dining. Located in the attached cottage, this charming room's highlights are the ancient teak table seating 20 and the beautiful artwork on display.
The Chairman's Table welcomes business meetings and presentations. Located above Club Creole, the Chairman's table seats up to 8 guests and features the ultimate in privacy and luxury
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Laura Taper: (260) 672-1715
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We are happy to offer our outstanding gourmet foods to make your event spectacular. Please contact us for further information and menus.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Second Street
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Our Gallery Board Room is available for parties for up to 20 guests; this room offers a private reception area, and a meeting and dining experience around a table made from ancient teak. The Chairman’s Office is literally the office space used by the owners of Joseph Decuis, and is perfect for private business meetings and dinners. With seating for up to 8 diners, the Chairman’s Office features personal sports and patriotic memorabilia collected over the years, a comfortable sitting area, a round board room table and kitchen for private service.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Please contact Laura Taper for further information
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 832 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.6
service
4.7
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Quiet
82% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 4 days ago

The service was terrible. Food was just ok. The library is a beautiful space. Definitely seen better days at this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Had a wonderful time. The staff was great and really friendly. Fine dining but not stuffy.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 14, 2018

I have longed to dine here for years and have attempted to before, but had to cancel due to bad weather. So, I was delighted to find the Spring luncheon event had reservations available. I went with a friend and was largely underwhelmed. Soup course was wonderful, but it was about three ounces. Salad course was OK, if they are getting winter greens locally I could understand them being a bit coarse and bitter. The main course -- chicken croquettes with bowtie pasta left a lot to be desired. The chicken was so gamey tasting -- wondered if there was some type of organ meat mixed in (menu didn't state that.) I'm a fairly adventuresome eater, but I left 3/4 of it. If it had been a knock-my-socks-off meal, I would've felt OK about paying the expensive price, but frankly they mailed it in and I left feeling cheated. Would not return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We celebrated our anniversary at Joseph Decuis. We had a wonderful time. The staff was friendly and attentive. The food was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Great service, expensive food. Would go again, for special occasions only. Beautiful atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 14, 2018

We were disappointed with our overall experience. The menu is very limited if you do not want steak. The steak my husband ordered was good but not worth $70 that he paid. I had sea bass with bone marrow and quite frankly it was all bad. The fish was not at all like sea bass I have had in the past. Also had the crab avocado salad to start and the flavor was very overpowered by the picked vegetables in it. We won’t be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We had a nice dinner w friends and a great wine!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Fabulous dinning experience. Their Waygu beef is outstanding. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 9, 2018

My wife and I have visited on a number of occasions and always enjoyed our experience, but last Friday our experience wasn't so good. I had the wagyu beef which was good, but the smallest serving I have ever seen and for the price I was disappointed. My wife had the red fish dinner and this was the poorest meal I have ever seen or tasted. It was served whole, was gray looking and nested in a bed of soggy spinach and was very salty. It was unpleasant to look at or eat. I hope this isn't a trend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Amazing food, atmosphere, service and people. We will be returning soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

This was our first timing dining at this small local gem. The food was amazing. They craft the menu based on local ingredients, and everything was delicious. The service was similarly amazing. The attentive waitstaff was always on hand to check up on us. It was a nice quiet evening, great for our special occasion. We will definitely be returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Hands down best steaks in the state and definitely up there world wide!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We have been to Decuis on a number of times. The service is always excellent. We were disappointed in the food. We had to send the mussels back (not opened) . The duck was OK but whatever it was setting on was inedible. Desert was not up to their normal serving.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Joseph Decius never disappoints. The service was quick and friendly. We arrived early, but were seated right away. I went with my boyfriend for an endgagement dinner. He said the steak was the best he’s ever had... like he was eating butter. A wonderful evening with good food and service. I’ll be back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

The food was excellent and the service was fantastic also definitely going back for sure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

Small, quiet and traditional French/European style dining environment. They will take your coat and let you you choose from a set of locally hand crafted knives for your steak, although you don't even need much of teeth to enjoy a steak dinner - let alone knives. Fresh wagyu (American-bred fullblooded Kobe) from their own farm combined with exquisite preparation is likely to be one of the best steaks you ever had. We were served a candle made out of wagyu fat which melts over spices and herbs to make a very unique dip for the bread. Never realized animal fat by itself can be so delicious! It is expensive, but still great value considering quality of food, service and overall experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Servers were very nice and attentive. It seems if you don't order the fancy beef you are not getting the best of what they offer. I did enjoy the wedge salad and the bread. However, the main course left me feeling disappointed. Lovely atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Didn't know it was a preview meal,of the James Beard event in NYC. Food was nor what I would have ordered. Very slow service between courses. Cocktail was excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Very nice ambiance for a quiet NYE dinner for two. Will come again when outside dining open.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 20, 2017

It was a good date, but my Wagyu was nothing special and the clam chowder soup was not that great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 20, 2017

Amazing restaurant. A Fort Wayne gem!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 19, 2017

Team Joseph Decuis knocked it out of the park! Thank you so much for making my friend's 30th birthday one to remember. Everyone's appetizers, entrees, cocktails and desserts were all prepared and served to perfection. Not to mention a personalized birthday menu and an after dinner tour! They really know how to make their guests feel like VIPs. I cannot thank everyone enough for a night none of us will forget!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 15, 2017

Great restaurant. Staff was exceptional as was the food!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 12, 2017

This restaurant can be good. I've experienced it. But the menu right now is very limited. If you want wagyu beef, no problem. Otherwise the selections are limited. My mother was very disappointed that there was no fish offering other than scallops and didn't see anything on the menu that appealed. In my experience they do better in spring and summer when local produce is available. A couple sitting next to us had traveled all the way from Ohio to experience this restaurant. The chef prepared a special appetizer for them which was completely appropriate. But we were within easy earshot and since I take my mother there 2 times a year at around $100 each time I did wonder "what about us?"

Bottom line - They need to fix their winter/holiday menu .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 11, 2017

The food is exceptional and the service to match. It's an expensive dining experience for Ft. Wayne but worth every penny.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 7, 2017

My third time there in 2 months, Decuis never fails to delight me. The star of the menu is the Waygu, but that’s not really fair - starting with the servers, everyone seems completely focused on serving us and helping us enjoy the efforts of the chefs and the farm. I am so thankful to have a place where I can take my NYC friends and have them lean over and say ‘good pick’.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 17, 2017

Ambiance and music was fantastic, service phenomenal, and an overall wonderful experience. The food was very good, but the portions a bit small for the value. We would definitely try it again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 14, 2017

We were there to celebrate my son’s birthday. Couldn’t sit in the bar. Couldn’t sit in the solarium. The only table in the main entry area was located right by the cooking area. It felt really awkward, especially since there is a cozy area by the front windows that could be used for tables of two.

Just saying...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 10, 2017

When first arriving the staff immediately gave us a tour of the restaurant. We arrived at about 5pm so it was not quite busy yet which allowed us to pick where we wanted to sit. The building is beautiful inside and the food was absolutely amazing. The staff was knowledgeable, friendly and a joy to communicate with. Would love to come back again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 9, 2017

I love this place. Great food! Wonderful staff. The restaurant is perfect to spend a lovely evening with someone special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 27, 2017

We chose Joseph Decuis for the celebration of the birthdays of our daughter and son-om-;aw because it is a very special place. The conservatory where we dined was beautiful; the service so attentive and the food beyond imagination. Loved the appetizers and main dish, especially the steak. They served the birthday cake we purchased so elegantly. It was an occasion to remember!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 5, 2017

If you have a special occasion, it is worth the price. Even without a special occasion, you should try it at least once so you know how far above average great cuisine can be.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 4, 2017

Wow it was supper all around. The food was great every bite. Well worth the money.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 29, 2017

Great night for my wife's birthday we have wanted to eat here for a while and finally just made it happen. Loved it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 23, 2017

Exceptionally nice server. Food was tasty. Setting v nice picturesque street. Close to Fort Wayne.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 21, 2017

Been a while since my first visit. We enjoyed our visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 16, 2017

Fantastic!!!! Well worth the drive

The staff was on their A game. Very friendly. The food was great. Wagyu is the way to go!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 15, 2017

Even the vegetables are good! The beef is exquisite.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 8, 2017

Food was delicious and service was excellent. My only criticism is that
the food was a little too salty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 26, 2017

What a lovely place. We enjoyed the vegetables from their farm and delicious bread. So glad they have saved some buildings on the small town Main Street in Roanoke.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
21