Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 12.14mi
  2. Distance: 12.53mi
  3. Distance: 12.54mi
  4. Distance: 12.60mi
  1. Distance: 12.14mi
  2. Distance: 12.53mi
  3. Distance: 12.54mi
  4. Distance: 12.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 12.14mi
  2. Distance: 12.53mi
  3. Distance: 12.54mi
  4. Distance: 12.60mi
  1. Distance: 12.14mi
  2. Distance: 12.53mi
  3. Distance: 12.54mi
  4. Distance: 12.60mi

About Joseph Decuis

Located in Roanoke, a charming, historic rural community in northeast Indiana (15 minutes from Ft. Wayne, 1.5 hours north of Indianapolis and 3 hours east of Chicago), Joseph Decuis is the showcase for local farm raised food, and is a gourmet experience to remember. Our menu features seasonal dishes with ingredients raised on our farm (and other like minded farms), creatively and artfully prepared by our Chefs. The heart of the restaurant is housed in an old bank building (the vaults are now wine cellars) where you’ll feel as though you’ve stepped back in time to a simpler way of life where time around the table meant something. You’ll enjoy a top-quality meal in quiet, comfortable surroundings with outstanding hospitality.

191 N. Main Street
Roanoke, IN 46783
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Second Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(260) 672-1715

Website:
http://www.josephdecuis.com/

Entertainment:
Our Gallery Board Room is available for parties for up to 20 guests; this room offers a private reception area, and a meeting and dining experience around a table made from ancient teak. The Chairman’s Office is literally the office space used by the owners of Joseph Decuis, and is perfect for private business meetings and dinners. With seating for up to 8 diners, the Chairman’s Office features personal sports and patriotic memorabilia collected over the years, a comfortable sitting area, a round board room table and kitchen for private service.

Catering:
We are happy to offer our outstanding gourmet foods to make your event spectacular. Please contact us for further information and menus.

Executive Chef:
Adam House

Private Party Facilities:
Our Gallery Board Room (and adjacent reception room) are available for private meetings and dining. Located in the attached cottage, this charming room's highlights are the ancient teak table seating 20 and the beautiful artwork on display.
The Chairman's Table welcomes business meetings and presentations. Located above Club Creole, the Chairman's table seats up to 8 guests and features the ultimate in privacy and luxury

Private Party Contact:
Laura Taper: (260) 672-1715

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Laura Taper for further information

Joseph Decuis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (14)
Romantic (14)
Special Occasion (14)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Authentic (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Seasonal (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Cozy (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Healthy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Organic (3)
Casual (2)
Fun (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort by
S
809 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 3 days ago

This restaurant can be good. I've experienced it. But the menu right now is very limited. If you want wagyu beef, no problem. Otherwise the selections are limited. My mother was very disappointed that there was no fish offering other than scallops and didn't see anything on the menu that appealed. In my experience they do better in spring and summer when local produce is available. A couple sitting next to us had traveled all the way from Ohio to experience this restaurant. The chef prepared a special appetizer for them which was completely appropriate. But we were within easy earshot and since I take my mother there 2 times a year at around $100 each time I did wonder "what about us?"

Bottom line - They need to fix their winter/holiday menu .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

The food is exceptional and the service to match. It's an expensive dining experience for Ft. Wayne but worth every penny.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 7, 2017

My third time there in 2 months, Decuis never fails to delight me. The star of the menu is the Waygu, but that’s not really fair - starting with the servers, everyone seems completely focused on serving us and helping us enjoy the efforts of the chefs and the farm. I am so thankful to have a place where I can take my NYC friends and have them lean over and say ‘good pick’.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Ambiance and music was fantastic, service phenomenal, and an overall wonderful experience. The food was very good, but the portions a bit small for the value. We would definitely try it again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 14, 2017

We were there to celebrate my son’s birthday. Couldn’t sit in the bar. Couldn’t sit in the solarium. The only table in the main entry area was located right by the cooking area. It felt really awkward, especially since there is a cozy area by the front windows that could be used for tables of two.

Just saying...

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

When first arriving the staff immediately gave us a tour of the restaurant. We arrived at about 5pm so it was not quite busy yet which allowed us to pick where we wanted to sit. The building is beautiful inside and the food was absolutely amazing. The staff was knowledgeable, friendly and a joy to communicate with. Would love to come back again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

I love this place. Great food! Wonderful staff. The restaurant is perfect to spend a lovely evening with someone special.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

We chose Joseph Decuis for the celebration of the birthdays of our daughter and son-om-;aw because it is a very special place. The conservatory where we dined was beautiful; the service so attentive and the food beyond imagination. Loved the appetizers and main dish, especially the steak. They served the birthday cake we purchased so elegantly. It was an occasion to remember!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

If you have a special occasion, it is worth the price. Even without a special occasion, you should try it at least once so you know how far above average great cuisine can be.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Wow it was supper all around. The food was great every bite. Well worth the money.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great night for my wife's birthday we have wanted to eat here for a while and finally just made it happen. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Exceptionally nice server. Food was tasty. Setting v nice picturesque street. Close to Fort Wayne.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Been a while since my first visit. We enjoyed our visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Fantastic!!!! Well worth the drive

The staff was on their A game. Very friendly. The food was great. Wagyu is the way to go!

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Even the vegetables are good! The beef is exquisite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Food was delicious and service was excellent. My only criticism is that
the food was a little too salty.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

What a lovely place. We enjoyed the vegetables from their farm and delicious bread. So glad they have saved some buildings on the small town Main Street in Roanoke.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Went to celebrate my husbands birthday. We were seated outside in the courtyard which was beautiful. Great setting, wonderful food rally made a special evening for us to enjoy!

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

The experience overall was pleasant, as the décor was on point, and the ambience of the restaurant pleased. That being said, our server dropped the ball on a few occasions; combined with the uniqueness of the food offerings, I felt as if I would of enjoyed a premium meal elsewhere. Certainly the Wagyu beef sliders were the highlight of the night, as they melted in my mouth. Combined with the zucchini bread and fresh butter, the appetizers hit the spot. The meal itself was entirely adequate. I got the chicken, and while tasty, it took some work getting the meat off the chicken leg. The vegetables were pickled, which is not my cup of tea, but tasted decent. My date purchased the Sea bass, which was a little on the salty side (she disagreed) and the potatoes she asked for on the side differed from the small red potatoes I got (which were divine) and seemed quite dry. With that exception, I would have preferred her vegetables, as their preparation was much more to my liking. I don't plan on returning again unless it's to have those Wagyu sliders, as most of the entrees were outside of what I was comfortable eating, and asking for something I wanted seemed to be too much of a hassle to change.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Amazing quality food. We had filet and it did not disappoint. We prefer med-well and it was done perfectly. Vegetables were fantastic and the sauce sent the whole meal over the top. Thank you.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Amazing! Love the classical dining atmosphere combined with a good vibe suited for any foodie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We celebrated our 9th wedding anniversary they made it very special to us had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on July 15, 2017

11 anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great spot for a business or casual meal.Good food options,nice wine selection and great ambiance!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Delicious food and relaxing atmosphere. The wine list is extensive with a wisely selection of wine, the outdoor setting is very romantic at night, and the service is almost perfect. I enjoyed the fresh bread, and even more when I dump it in the melting beef rendered fat that was brought to the table in a candle shape (genius). My friends and I shared appetizers and dessert but I will come back to try out one of the entrees.
I am a big fan of dessert so I was a little disappointed with the limited dessert selection.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Always a dining experience at Joseph Decius. Excellent service, attentive and informed wait staff. The food is second to none. Worth the drive from Indy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Delicious food! Awesome atmosphere! Service was phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 16, 2017

They are rated the number one restaurant on Open Table in Indiana for a reason. They are a unique, farm to table, gourmet restaurant with an extensive wine list. They grow all their food including the Wagyu beef and organic chicken. It you don't live in the area it would be wise to stay on their farm which is an excellent B&B.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This was our first visit to JD. While we enjoyed all the food very much, our favorites were probably the pork board and squash blossoms. Unfortunately, both my husband and I were not THAT impressed by the beef. It was good. We just weren't sure we'd be able to pick it out of a lineup!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 13, 2017

excellent food and service; specialized menu was a very nice touch; very expensive; use to paying 20-30% less for similar food

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I ordered a $45 rib tip - I was literally server two minuscule pieces of meat that would have both fit in my mouth at the same time. (My wife got the same thing - also two small pieces of meat).
Had I known the smallness of the portion I would have never ate at this place.
Biggest dining ripoff I ever experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My husband and I went for our anniversary. 1 glass of wine, 1 beer, 1 appetizer, 2 entrées, 1 dessert= $100.00 before tip. Totally worth it. I had the duck and it was so good. Tender, not greasy and the blueberry sauce was perfect with it. I could detail everything we ordered but I'll sum it up by saying it was all great. No prices on the menu but we did stay away from their steaks because we knew they were very expensive. I read a review that said elegant casual dress code (no jeans, etc) didn't see it posted anywhere but I would say that seemed accurate.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Good but not up to the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We went for our 5 year anniversary. They made us custom menus. The servers was amazing. She was very helpful. Food was amazing BEST STEAK EVER. The actual owner was in there dining and came up to and asked how was our meal and had a nice little conversation with us. Definitely worth it. 5 stars across the board.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Organic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Could not have had a better experience! It is a beautiful restaurant in a lovely little town with a new head chef that has taken an already renowned restaurant to the next level!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Quick Bite, Live Sports, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Casual, Healthy, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Best steak we've ever had. We loved dining here and staying at the JD Inn. A magical experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This visit was to celebrate our 17 year wedding anniversary. The food, service, and atmosphere were excellent. We would recommend dining here for any occasion. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This was our first time at this restaurant and the food was outstanding! I also need to compliment our waiter Nick as he was well versed in the menu and wine. He privided great recommendations and did well In his timing to check in us and pour is additional wine. We really enjoyed the experience! Beautiful place inside as well!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Went for a casual dinner - burgers, hot dogs. This is not an everyday event here, but is a nice change of pace. Same excellent quality as their usual menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.