Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 12.14mi
  2. Distance: 12.53mi
  3. Distance: 12.54mi
  4. Distance: 12.60mi
  1. Distance: 12.14mi
  2. Distance: 12.53mi
  3. Distance: 12.54mi
  4. Distance: 12.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 12.14mi
  2. Distance: 12.53mi
  3. Distance: 12.54mi
  4. Distance: 12.60mi
  1. Distance: 12.14mi
  2. Distance: 12.53mi
  3. Distance: 12.54mi
  4. Distance: 12.60mi

About Joseph Decuis

Located in Roanoke, a charming, historic rural community in northeast Indiana (15 minutes from Ft. Wayne, 1.5 hours north of Indianapolis and 3 hours east of Chicago), Joseph Decuis is the showcase for local farm raised food, and is a gourmet experience to remember. Our menu features seasonal dishes with ingredients raised on our farm (and other like minded farms), creatively and artfully prepared by our Chefs. The heart of the restaurant is housed in an old bank building (the vaults are now wine cellars) where you’ll feel as though you’ve stepped back in time to a simpler way of life where time around the table meant something. You’ll enjoy a top-quality meal in quiet, comfortable surroundings with outstanding hospitality.

191 N. Main Street
Roanoke, IN 46783
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Second Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(260) 672-1715

Website:
http://www.josephdecuis.com/

Entertainment:
Our Gallery Board Room is available for parties for up to 20 guests; this room offers a private reception area, and a meeting and dining experience around a table made from ancient teak. The Chairman’s Office is literally the office space used by the owners of Joseph Decuis, and is perfect for private business meetings and dinners. With seating for up to 8 diners, the Chairman’s Office features personal sports and patriotic memorabilia collected over the years, a comfortable sitting area, a round board room table and kitchen for private service.

Catering:
We are happy to offer our outstanding gourmet foods to make your event spectacular. Please contact us for further information and menus.

Executive Chef:
Adam House

Private Party Facilities:
Our Gallery Board Room (and adjacent reception room) are available for private meetings and dining. Located in the attached cottage, this charming room's highlights are the ancient teak table seating 20 and the beautiful artwork on display.
The Chairman's Table welcomes business meetings and presentations. Located above Club Creole, the Chairman's table seats up to 8 guests and features the ultimate in privacy and luxury

Private Party Contact:
Laura Taper: (260) 672-1715

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Laura Taper for further information

Joseph Decuis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
See All
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Authentic (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Business Meals (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Organic (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Cozy (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Historic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Casual (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
787 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 15, 2017

11 anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great spot for a business or casual meal.Good food options,nice wine selection and great ambiance!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Delicious food and relaxing atmosphere. The wine list is extensive with a wisely selection of wine, the outdoor setting is very romantic at night, and the service is almost perfect. I enjoyed the fresh bread, and even more when I dump it in the melting beef rendered fat that was brought to the table in a candle shape (genius). My friends and I shared appetizers and dessert but I will come back to try out one of the entrees.
I am a big fan of dessert so I was a little disappointed with the limited dessert selection.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Always a dining experience at Joseph Decius. Excellent service, attentive and informed wait staff. The food is second to none. Worth the drive from Indy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Delicious food! Awesome atmosphere! Service was phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 16, 2017

They are rated the number one restaurant on Open Table in Indiana for a reason. They are a unique, farm to table, gourmet restaurant with an extensive wine list. They grow all their food including the Wagyu beef and organic chicken. It you don't live in the area it would be wise to stay on their farm which is an excellent B&B.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This was our first visit to JD. While we enjoyed all the food very much, our favorites were probably the pork board and squash blossoms. Unfortunately, both my husband and I were not THAT impressed by the beef. It was good. We just weren't sure we'd be able to pick it out of a lineup!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 13, 2017

excellent food and service; specialized menu was a very nice touch; very expensive; use to paying 20-30% less for similar food

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I ordered a $45 rib tip - I was literally server two minuscule pieces of meat that would have both fit in my mouth at the same time. (My wife got the same thing - also two small pieces of meat).
Had I known the smallness of the portion I would have never ate at this place.
Biggest dining ripoff I ever experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My husband and I went for our anniversary. 1 glass of wine, 1 beer, 1 appetizer, 2 entrées, 1 dessert= $100.00 before tip. Totally worth it. I had the duck and it was so good. Tender, not greasy and the blueberry sauce was perfect with it. I could detail everything we ordered but I'll sum it up by saying it was all great. No prices on the menu but we did stay away from their steaks because we knew they were very expensive. I read a review that said elegant casual dress code (no jeans, etc) didn't see it posted anywhere but I would say that seemed accurate.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Good but not up to the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We went for our 5 year anniversary. They made us custom menus. The servers was amazing. She was very helpful. Food was amazing BEST STEAK EVER. The actual owner was in there dining and came up to and asked how was our meal and had a nice little conversation with us. Definitely worth it. 5 stars across the board.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Organic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Could not have had a better experience! It is a beautiful restaurant in a lovely little town with a new head chef that has taken an already renowned restaurant to the next level!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Quick Bite, Live Sports, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Casual, Healthy, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Best steak we've ever had. We loved dining here and staying at the JD Inn. A magical experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This visit was to celebrate our 17 year wedding anniversary. The food, service, and atmosphere were excellent. We would recommend dining here for any occasion. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This was our first time at this restaurant and the food was outstanding! I also need to compliment our waiter Nick as he was well versed in the menu and wine. He privided great recommendations and did well In his timing to check in us and pour is additional wine. We really enjoyed the experience! Beautiful place inside as well!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Went for a casual dinner - burgers, hot dogs. This is not an everyday event here, but is a nice change of pace. Same excellent quality as their usual menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We had a great meal , great service. The wagu beef is expensive but delicious ! Nice for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was a fixed price Easter lunch that we have attended in the past. The service was outstanding , the setting was beautiful but the food was disappointing. I feel that the quality has slipped over the past years. My frittata was overcooked - I have had a better one at Bob Evans. The first courses were very good but both of the mains were not up to par and the beignets were doughy in the middle. A lovely place but not worth the dollars. So sorry!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Truly exceptional dining experience on April 3. The owners were very gracious and welcoming, and the chefs' work was outstanding. Wagyu beef not to be missed, but everything we ordered was excellent. Highly recommend this gem.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Perfect evening. Cocktails were fantastic, our meal and desserts were even better. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 25, 2017

One of my best dining experiences - the wagyu was incredible and the service was perfect. I wish that I lived closer and could make it a regular occurrence!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We had not been to Joseph Decuis for quite a while, and were very pleasantly pleased by the service, food, & lack of noise where we were seated. All in all, it was a great experience. We plan to return more often.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Joseph Decuis has won awards as the best farm to fork restaurant in Indiana. The meal and service was very good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent everything. Expensive for sure.. wine was marked pretty high as were the steaks.. but everything was over the top delicious. Great spot for special occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Ordered the grass fed wygu with mashed potatoes. One of the best tasting meals I've ever had. On the downside, wife ordered pork chop with greens. It was a thin breaded tenderloin that was dry and lacked flavor. Pickling on greens was overpowering. For desert she ordered the apple cake and thought it tasted amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I have been visiting Joseph Decuis for over 15 years, probably three times per year. Unfortunatly I have been very disappointed the last 3 or 4 times. Service is superb, friendly, professional and attentive. However the food itself no is longer special. It's good, but not great. I had the Duck on this visit and it was overcooked. My wife had the grouper and it was quite average and that is being generous.

Desserts are particularly plain. I tried the new apple cake in hopes of something to change my mind, it did not persuade me. In the past the apps, and entrees were special, we made a habit of leaving for dessert and coffee elsewhere.

The one high spot for the evening was the Wagyu Tartar, phenomenal. However for the price and quality of the other items I doubt we will be returning any time soon. Just a note, this opinion is based on previous and current Chef's offerings.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Staff and chefs were superb. My fiancee's meat was a little pinker than she liked, but the waiter brought out a little glass of wine to say they were sorry she had to wait on her food. Great staff!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Delicious pre-fix menu that left us BEYOND stuffed. The dishes were delicious and rich. The Wagyu beef was incredible!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was a lovely evening- however I don't think the food was worth the price.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great price fix menu. Never a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This was my 2nd visit to Joseph Decuis and it was outstanding. My wife and I both had the grass fed fillet and it was awesome. We ordered the beet appetizer and it did not disappoint. We ordered soup as well, I had the gumbo and my wife had the clam chowder. I loved both. For dessert, we had a lemon tart and it was good as well. My only complaint was that they were out of the first 2 bottles of wine that we ordered. But this did not detract from a wonderful evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great experience overall. Food was wonderful and service was very good. Everyone was very positive and the restaurant is a very nice place. Cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The filet and vegetables were delish. I would have loved to have more vegetables. The bread brought to the table was great. The desserts we ordered were to rich for me but they were good. It was a nice touch to be able to choose a special handmade knife to cut our steaks with. The only complaint I have is that it was very cold in the atrium seating area. I wish we had been in a different room or it had been warmer.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We wanted to give this restaurant another chance because the service and meal was mediocre during a previous visit. At that time, we had reserved a table in the bar area but were told that a large event had taken all the tables thereby moving us to the atrium. The food was mediocre and ambiance not to our liking. This was a dress up celebration with our daughter but due to the change in seating we were placed next to a couple dressed in shorts and T shirt. Following this last diner event we found that the scallops were no longer available, one salad was poorly made, too much vinegar, and the main meals were good but quite small compared to the price charged. Never again will we dine at Decuis ! Over priced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The Waygu Beef was outstanding both my wife and I hade the Ribeye. Oh my gosh is was phenomenal. Didn't want to swallow.
Had a nice Pinot Syrah by Orin Swift did not disappoint.
Brussels sprouts salad was a very good start.
Would highly recommend all of the above.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Always Outstanding! Never disappointed in 10 + years.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This establishment had the potential of being rated 5 stars, but fell way short despite many of the favorable reviews. The restaurant purports to be world class and I must admit I was impressed with the wine list when I first read through it. I chose three different bottles of wine and they were out of each one. Finally we found a French Bordeaux that they had in stock. While we waited on the wine, another waitress reviewed the menu. Many of the entrees were not available. In fact, they had to review so many replacement entrees our table joked they needed to have an addendum to their menu. Finally, after 30 minutes of tracking down a wine, the waiter finally took our order. Several of us ordered salads and after quite a bit of time, I asked for some bread, which the waiter finally brought out. Then the salads came. My wife ordered the JD Farm Salad. It was advertised to include Manchego Cheese but arrived without it. My wife had to wait and ask the waitress for the cheese. The main meal finally arrived (they are not in a rush by the way), and my daughter's flank steak and sides were stone cold. My Scallops with Butternut Squash Puree were luke warm at best. We had to track someone down to complain about the cold flank steak. I guess they used a microwave oven to warm it up as it came back fairly quickly, but now it was over done. By the way, there were only 3 small scallops for a cost of $34. It took forever to get the bill and both my wife and I had to track down the waiter to get it. Apparently the waiter felt bad about the evening and did take 50% off the cost of the wine, but that gesture is not enough to make me want to come back to this establishment. Maybe this was an off night for the restaurant and staff, but note there are some other reviews that are not so positive either. Looks like it may be a hit or miss kind of place. I won't make another $600 gamble on this place again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This place easily exceeded my expectations. I was pleasantly surprised at every turn; from our coats being taken to being able to hand select our own steak knives, this place delivered.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.