About Joseph Decuis

191 N. Main Street
Roanoke, IN 46783
View Larger Map

Located in Roanoke, a charming, historic rural community in northeast Indiana (15 minutes from Ft. Wayne, 1.5 hours north of Indianapolis and 3 hours east of Chicago), Joseph Decuis is the showcase for local farm raised food, and is a gourmet experience to remember. Our menu features seasonal dishes with ingredients raised on our farm (and other like minded farms), creatively and artfully prepared by our Chefs. The heart of the restaurant is housed in an old bank building (the vaults are now wine cellars) where you’ll feel as though you’ve stepped back in time to a simpler way of life where time around the table meant something. You’ll enjoy a top-quality meal in quiet, comfortable surroundings with outstanding hospitality.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Second Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(260) 672-1715

Website:
http://www.josephdecuis.com/

Entertainment:
Our Gallery Board Room is available for parties for up to 20 guests; this room offers a private reception area, and a meeting and dining experience around a table made from ancient teak. The Chairman’s Office is literally the office space used by the owners of Joseph Decuis, and is perfect for private business meetings and dinners. With seating for up to 8 diners, the Chairman’s Office features personal sports and patriotic memorabilia collected over the years, a comfortable sitting area, a round board room table and kitchen for private service.

Catering:
We are happy to offer our outstanding gourmet foods to make your event spectacular. Please contact us for further information and menus.

Executive Chef:
Adam House

Private Party Facilities:
Our Gallery Board Room (and adjacent reception room) are available for private meetings and dining. Located in the attached cottage, this charming room's highlights are the ancient teak table seating 20 and the beautiful artwork on display.
The Chairman's Table welcomes business meetings and presentations. Located above Club Creole, the Chairman's table seats up to 8 guests and features the ultimate in privacy and luxury

Private Party Contact:
Laura Taper: (260) 672-1715x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Laura Taper for further information

Restaurant Photos

Pecan Bourbon Chocolate Cake
Roast Lamb Ragu
Waygu & Veal Meatloaf With Morel Mushrooms
Gumbo Ya-ya
Split Pea Soup With Bacon And Cream
Pasta Bolognese
Seafood Salad
Carrot And Walnut Cake
Veal Cheek With Polenta And Morels
Pumpkin Bread Pudding
Morel Mushrooms

Joseph Decuis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Indiana
Best Food
Indiana
Best Ambiance
Indiana
5 More
Notable Wine List
Indiana
Romantic
Indiana
Special Occasion
Indiana
Contemporary American
Indiana
Most Booked
Fort Wayne
Best Restaurants in Roanoke ›

special occasion (35)
romantic (28)
fit for foodies (25)
See All
notable wine list (21)
neighborhood gem (13)
good for groups (6)
great for outdoor dining (4)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (2)
great for lunch (2)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
681 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely incredible experience. This i ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely incredible experience. This is very much like a Napa restaurant set I small town Indiana. Amazingly fresh farm to table food, friendly, engaging staff and extensive wine list. Recommend strongly making the drive for this experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Wagyu steaks are absolutely exceptio ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Wagyu steaks are absolutely exceptional, nothing can compare. As for drinks, I had the Floozy which was a little tart but it was a gorgeous pink color. Finally the Caesar salad! It's made of frisée instead of romaine, such a different and interesting texture

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience. Looking forward ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Outstanding experience. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The was an amazing evening! We started w ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The was an amazing evening! We started with Morrell Mushrooms(One of the highlights of the evening!) then we each had a salad(nothing special) and then my wife had steak(WOW) and I had Lamb Chops(Wow). My dessert was OK .....too sweet but ok and my wife had ice cream which was very good. The overall service was outstanding and the staff was very well trained. If you are a steak lover this is a restaurant that you can't miss. For the first time we experienced steak that melts in your mouth.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful dining experience. The food wa ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. The food was exceptional and the service was top notch. The waiter went out of his way to even give us a tour of the restaurant and explain the vision of the owners and the reason for this fabulous restaurant. We all had the Wagyu steak and it was done just right. The vegetables on our plate were fork tender and delicious. Kudos to the chef, staff, and owners. Pleasant atmosphere and the chef's table was like watching artist working with food. We will be back!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious! ...pricey but very ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food was delicious! ...pricey but very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Despite the change in chef and other key ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Despite the change in chef and other key people, the food was very good. I would recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

A wonderful gem in a tiny town tucked in ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

A wonderful gem in a tiny town tucked into the middle of nowhere, but easily accessible.

Go! You won't regret it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely worth the trip. This was one ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Definitely worth the trip. This was one of the best dining experiences we have had. The Wagyu steak was phenomenal. The morels, brussel sprout salad, and gumbo were outstanding. Looking forward to our return trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

World - class dining in a small town fee ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

World - class dining in a small town feel with a fantastic ambiance

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous, as always

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Joseph Decuis is always great and our last evening there was even better than usual. The service was flawless and friendly, the drinks were perfect and the food was delicious. A Creole Kiss martini is a must!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An unexpected gem in what has become a d ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

An unexpected gem in what has become a destination town. The smiles and attentiveness you receive when you enter continue throughout the evening. We chose the intimate bar dining area, but will visit again to sit in the garden atrium room or in the dining room that is open to the kitchen. All rooms allow easy conversation. The wine pairing suggestions by their sommelier enhanced the each unique, delicious and beautiful offering. They did not complain when we had to take photos of the beautiful presentations. They even allowed us to make changes to the entree sides. The morel mushrooms, seafood gumbo, shaved brussels sprout salad and wagyu steak are a must. I know why people drive from Indianapolis and Chicago to dine here and/or at The Joseph Decuis Farmstead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have wanted to dine at Joseph Decuis s ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

I have wanted to dine at Joseph Decuis since I first read about it in Midwest LIving Magazine. I was thrilled to finally be able to give it a try and was not disappointed. I can't wait to visit again and this time I hope to be able to schedule the farm tour.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Chicago Dame's delight

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This place is fabulous. Easily in the mix with Tru, Everest and the late Charlie Trotter's. Even in the running with the Inn at Little Washington. Delicious morels. Wonderful sweetbreads. Perfectly prepared pavlova. Can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steak

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The steak was amazing, but small. The sides were not very good. I would also say the gumbo was average and the salmon salad was sub par.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

not your everyday meal

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

The food and atmosphere was delightful! It's expensive so not everyone could afford it often.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upscale in a quant little town

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Everything was top notch. It's a bit pricey but reasonable for the quality experience that it is.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Savor The Moment

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

My friends and I make a reservation here twice a year. We make it a point to gather for special occasions. We thought we would try other restaurants and explore the food scene, but decided that Joseph Decuis is our spot. We appreciate that we are never rushed through our meal and have plenty of opportunity to talk as well as enjoy the ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always say try the duck, but the duck ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

I always say try the duck, but the duck was out of this world! Also, the cheese plate can easily be split by 4 people as a dessert. The rest of the party had scallops and halibut, but the cuts of meet (beef and pork) were jaw dropping in size and freshness. I would recommend anything on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Definitely an experience

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The setting and service are both excellent. The food was amazing. Much like the fancy, artistic plates of upscale restaurants that you see on TV. Be prepared to pay for such elegance though. Dinner for two, and two drinks was well over two hundred dollars not including tip. That being said, my date was very happy with the experience. Great place for a special occasion

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a fan of Decuis. We sat in the di ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Always a fan of Decuis. We sat in the dining room, which was fine; however, our table for 2 was pushed right up against the wall by the track lighting. While there was always some light on the conversation, it was a bit too bright.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Went to Joseph Decuis for Valentines Day, the food was phenomenal, the environment was more than you could ask for. The only problem we had was not getting any service for 10 minutes, which was the hostesses fault.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

expensive night out

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Be prepared for good food with a high cost. Generally good was tasty and we'll presented but some items over salted.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Incredible food. We were late and the l ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Incredible food. We were late and the last reservation of the night, but he staff was great and never rushed is a bit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef's tasting menu (only offered Mon-Th ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 22, 2015

Chef's tasting menu (only offered Mon-Thu) was outstanding! Absolutely worth the effort on a weeknight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love going to Joseph Decuis! The food ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

We love going to Joseph Decuis! The food is incredible and the service is wonderful! Everyone makes you feel so welcome. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Joseph Decuis

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on November 30, 2015

This is the best restaurant in the NE part of Indiana. Every aspect of it it tops!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

celebration

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

We had a delightful experience. The food was excellent, the waitress was helpful and not overbearing, and the atmosphere was conducive to enjoying the time we were spending with your cousins.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Gem in A Small Town- Great Experience

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

My husband and I share the same anniversary as his grandparents. We were married 60 years to the day from when they were first wed. For the last two years we have celebrated together and feel so honored that they don't mind sharing this special day.

We decided that while other Fort Wayne restaurants were good enough we wanted something extraordinary and classy, enter Joseph Decuis. From our first steps in, to our seating, to an impromptu tour of the restaurant the experience blew us all away. They personalized our menus' with 62nd Anniversary for our grandparents and 2nd for ours.

The menu itself was truly amazing, the starters, the wine, the entrees, dessert and aperitifs were unmatched anywhere else.

My husband and I travel around the world, and this was a great Gem to find in a small sleepy town of Roanoake, IN.

Please visit this if you want the most amazing time you have ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful restaurant...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on November 25, 2015

We recently celebrated our 43rd wedding anniversary at Joseph Decuis. The food was delicious...I would definitely recommend the butternut squash soup. It was the best soup I ever ate. I did not like the frisee Caesar salad with duck confit. It was too salty. The Holland sole and lobster carbonara were also delicious. Dessert was a toasted almond mocha creme brulee. Also wonderful. Service was friendly and beyond reproach.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Delightful Dining Experience

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on November 20, 2015

You can't do better for a dining experience than Joseph Decuis. Plan to spend a delightful evening dining in rural Indiana.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The real deal...this is one of the best ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 17, 2015

The real deal...this is one of the best restaurants in the Midwest - period . The Waygu beef literally melts in your mouth like butter- like no other steak you've ever eaten. The menu ...the staff ...the room itself ...amazing !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorites!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 16, 2015

Joseph Decuis has been our "special" restaurant for birthdays, anniversaries, Christmas gifts, etc. The food is always wonderful and the service impeccable. We especially love the "Club Room" with its more casual atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Totally enjoyed

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Everything was great and a bonus to have tesla charging station!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Perfect from start to finish. Wonderful, ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Perfect from start to finish. Wonderful, interesting menu, great cocktails, decent wine list. Expensive but oh so worth it. Can't wait to go back! One of our party, a dedicated foodie, pronounced it the best restaurant in Indiana. I agree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As Good As It Gets

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on November 11, 2015

Joseph Decuis has been our go-to, special occasion dining spot for over 10 years and we continue to be amazed at the consistent level of excellence they are able to maintain. At our most recent meal, we chose the chef's tasting menu: 6 courses accompanied by a matched wine flight. The food was nothing short of amazing, portions perfectly sized, served with elegance by a knowledgeable, personable staff. The accompanying wines were remarkably well-matched to the food. This is as fine a dining experience as you can hope to have outside of one of the world's great cities. And all right here in charming downtown Roanoke, Indiana.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best. Meal. Ever

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

We had heard good things about Joseph Decuis, but we had no idea just how amazing our dining experience would be. The meal was pricey, but as it was the best meal I have ever had I think it was a fair trade. We had the Wagyu beef and so should you! :)

Who knew such a gem was hiding in tiny Roanoke? It easily eclipsed meals I have had in Chicago, Indianapolis and Miami, and the atmosphere is just fantastic.

The only downside was that the service was not quite at the level of the food. Our server was not always around when we needed her and we were asked twice if we wanted more bread, we said yes both times, and got bread never.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Just get the steak

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

I know what you're thinking. That's a lot of money for one steak. But it's not just a steak. It's the best freaking steak of your life. Every bite is a juicy, beefy, explosion. We also had the crab cakes as an appetizer and they were also very delicious. However, the star of the show was the Wagyu ribeye. I'll have dreams about that steak for the rest of my life.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on October 20, 2015

Excellent food and service. Would highly recommend to others seeking fine dining.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Farm to Table Find

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

I started my meal with a delicious roasted beet salad and then had the Wagyu steak special which was prepared just as requested and was very tender and flavorful. My husband had the lobster carbonara which he greatly enjoyed. Everything we had was excellent including a shared slice of buttermilk pie, which was a new dessert to us. The service was also excellent. We were celebrating our 40th anniversary and Decuis was the perfect place for a quiet evening together.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.