Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 4.24mi
  2. Distance: 4.60mi
  3. Distance: 4.64mi
  4. Distance: 4.68mi
  1. Distance: 4.24mi
  2. Distance: 4.60mi
  3. Distance: 4.64mi
  4. Distance: 4.68mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 4.24mi
  2. Distance: 4.60mi
  3. Distance: 4.64mi
  4. Distance: 4.68mi
  1. Distance: 4.24mi
  2. Distance: 4.60mi
  3. Distance: 4.64mi
  4. Distance: 4.68mi

About JORY Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa

The Allison Inn & Spa's acclaimed restaurant, JORY pays tribute to Oregon’s agricultural bounty with its own 1.5 acre vegetable garden and 850 item wine list known for its depth in Willamette Valley producers. Under the direction of Executive Chef Sunny Jin, JORY is one of Oregon's top culinary destinations. Known for delectable Wine Country cuisine, the freshest local ingredients and stunning Willamette Valley vistas, a meal here is inspired. Settle into the elegant yet comfortable dining room accented with fine art and appointments. Outside, soak up the sun on plush outdoor seating on the porch, with sweeping views of Willamette Valley and hazelnut orchards. Or enjoy a roaring cozy fireplace, perfect for an aperitif or after dinner conversation.

2525 Allison Lane
Newberg, OR 97132
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily, 6:30am - 10:30am
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday, 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Daily 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Springbrook

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 554-2526

Website:
http://www.theallison.com/restaurant

Entertainment:
Each Friday and Saturday join us in The Living Room for a night of vibrant musical entertainment, from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm, complimentary, ***all are welcome***. Past performers have been Michael Allen Harrison, Tom Grant, Karla Harris and more!

Catering:
For those occasion that call for a more customized approach, The Allison Inn & Spa offers private dining services and venues for groups of 20-250.



Since we realize that even serious venues can multi-task and be ideal for social gatherings or celebrations, you’ll discover our catering facilities are perfect for performances, weddings, parties for all occasions, corporate meetings, important board meetings, executive retreats and a ballroom designed for, of all things, dancing the night away.

Parking Details:
COMPLIMENTARY VALET PARKING, available at the main hotel entrance. We encourage you to use this great feature.

Executive Chef:
Sunny Jin

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining Room maximum seating for 12 guests.

Kitchen Chef’s Table – maximum seating for 10 guests are invited to take a front row seat in the kitchen as the culinary staff passionately prepares their evening dinner. Minimum fee applies.

Private Party Contact:
Ken Bolick: (503) 554-2526

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

JORY Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Worth the Drive (15)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Scenic View (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Romantic (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Seasonal (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Organic (4)
Cozy (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Music (1)
Authentic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
819 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I had a wonderful night celebrating our 5 year anniversary. The food was amazing and the service was excellent! We will definitely go back for another special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 17, 2017

With no knowledge of Jory's other than recommendations from friends, we elected to have our anniversary dinner there. The patio was a good introduction, as it's a quiet and scenic place for a before-dinner drink (great drink menu, by the way). Dinner itself was outstanding - the food was terrific, service was outstanding and the view is as good as fine artwork. Altogether a marvelous dining experience, not just another meal out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 10, 2017

I have NEVER been disappointed eating at Jory's. The service in great and this time I was dining with a friend who has Celiac disease and is also dairy intolerant. The chef prepared the same meal that I was eating, only was able to accommodate her dietary needs and she raved about it. They are always willing to go the "extra mile". Love that chef!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Had a reservation for 1:00 WE GOT THERE AT 12"50, THE HOSTESS WENT TO SEAT US AT A LITTLE CORNER TABLE EVEN THOUGH THE RESTAURANT WAS I/4 FULL, I ASKED FOR A WINDOW SO SHE HAD TO CHECK WITH THE MANAGER, THEN CAMe BACK AND WENT TO SEAT US AT ANOTHER CORNER Table. I said with all the empty window seats why are you putting us in a corner> finally the mgr got us a table by the window, but now had to find a server, who as he told us was the bar tender, but he was glad to serve us,now we were in the empty back restaurant, by the window with no menus and no server, finally after getting a busser we got a cup of coffee. the rest of the service was good, but the food is over priced and not that special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Arrived for brunch on Saturday. Valet team was on the spot and complimentary with our brunch reservations. Hostess was very accommodating rearranging our seating choice to an outside table. Ordered Bloody Mary's which were delicious. Service was okay. My wife ordered the crab benedict which was fabulous and I ordered the shrimp and grits which was also fabulous and we shared both plates. The menu indicated sides that weren't presented when delivered. When questioned our waitress indicated that the menu says one thing but that isn't reality? But they brought the one piece of toast (not two) anyway. All in all we would return for the setting alone and the food, overall, was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food was delicious but service really lacking. After being seated for brunch, was 10 minutes to get someone's attention to ask for coffee. Drinks same thing, wait staff had to be reminded (in one instance 2 times) of orders previously placed. They cleared my silverware after first dish, said "be right back with new silverware" and after a while brought next course and hurried off, still no silverware. Had to nab my own fork and knife from another table! Wrong orders twice brought to our table. We were three people, spent $150 for brunch, would have expected way more in service. Have received much better service for much less expensive brunch. Excellent food, disappointment of overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food is veryw good. However the service leaves quite a bit to be desired.
1) two glasses of sparkling wine as an apertif came out barely chilled;
2) server poured still water into sparkling for us both and it took two attempts to get both replaced
3) pacing between courses was uneven and time between being checked on by the servers too long
4)noted on my reservation this was a birthday celebration. No acknowledgement at any point during the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Jory is one of our favorite restaurants - excellent food and service. We love the Allison Inn&Spa - everything is perfect and we have been there many times for our anniversary.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Our first time at Jory was amazing -- delicious, quiet, impeccable service, absolutely satisfying meal in a beautiful setting. Enjoyed a walk around the grounds afterwards to cap it off. Will bring a book next time and curl up in a leather chair in the lobby or outside in the shade of the meadow walk. Very peaceful. Great place to rejuvenate.

Tags: Disabled Access, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

This restaurant served farm fresh eggs and wonderful apple bacon. The service was outstanding!

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Our server, Jeremy, really made our experience special. He was very helpful, as was the rest of the staff. The food was fantastic, too.

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great ambience and comfortable seats. The food was excellent with the exception of the duck breast which had soggy skin. The salmon and scallops were very good. The deserts were absolutely fabulous. Expect to spend several hours for dinner.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Lovely setting, superb food. We ate early, because Open Table indicated no later reservations were available, which was incorrect. Call the restaurant if Open Table tells you they are full.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

California family in town and wanted to check out an Oregon Winery/vineyard. Called the concierge at Allison for a recommendation. Lunch reservations at Jory at 1pm so asked for a winery close enough to tour and still be on time for lunch. Recommendation was Rex Hill and it was not on a par with a Napa California (in spite of $45 each charge) tour but it was okay enough. The lunch at the Jory made all the difference and all the more so b/c of our waiter Craig. We ordered a coffee with dessert but somehow it didn't come. However, after we had paid and taken a look out on the patio Craig came with the coffee in a to go cup, which pleased us.

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Came in with reservation. Restaurant was empty. Asked for outside table. Without barely looking the host said no. Put us in the empty corner total forgot about us for 20 min. No bread or anyone to take out order. We flagged down a few server everyone said ok they will look for our server. My son was so hungry so we walked out to look for food for him because we knew we can't get it here within the next 30 min. We walked to and tell manager he looked puzzle and did nothing so we walked out. 5 min later he ran to elevator and Offer us free lunch. We don't need a free meal we need service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Any meal at Jory is an enjoyable experience. Service is great, food is tasty and plated to perfection. The view is amazing as well.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, People Watching, Fun, Special Occasion, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Fabulous food and wine make Jory a must visit in the Willamette Valley.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The food was good. The service was very slow. Would be better for a nice romantic dinner vs brunch. The view was spectacular.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Very accommodating restaurant if you have food allergies. Dinner was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Always, always, always excellent food and service! I have never been disappointed eating here in his beautiful establishment. Wait staff are well trained and also friendly and helpful with the menu.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Food and service are both great. We enjoyed breakfast and dinner. Servers were attentive and knowledgeable. They were out of various items throughout our stay - bananas, multigrain bread, smoked salmon. That was the only negative.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

One of the greatest meals and experiences of my life

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We celebrated our 32nd anniversary at Jory and it was the 3rd year in a row we have done so. We also stayed at the resort for the evening and had a terrific breakfast in the morning. Don't miss the banana and pecan roasted pancakes-amazing.

There are no real words to describe the experience as it is simply outstanding to dine here. The flavors of all the dishes popped, the service was outstanding and the wine list was superb. We look forward to our 33rd at Jory and 4 years in a row!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Our dishes were excellently conceived and prepared. I loved the deep fried soft boiled egg used to garnish my salmon skewer starter. The salmon was perfectly cooked. My mushroom salad was very good and I loved the morels. My husband's paella was very good as well. We enjoy eating brunch and lunch at Jory when we come to Oregon wine country for the day or when we are on vacation. I think the lighting could be improved. It's a little too dark for me. Some more spot lighting would be a nice addition.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Our meal was lovely and relaxing. Servers were very attentive. Really enjoyed my fresh fish. Duck was a little undercooked. Salads were delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We enjoyed our meal very much- my salmon was cooked perfectly and my husband greatly enjoyed his pork entree (huge serving of pork belly!). We had a nice view of the outdoor area of the resort.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The highlight was Tim, the bartender. The service did not live up to the hype, nor did the food. Wine list was fantastic.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great restaurant! We keep going back to Jory when in wine country.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Service was excellent. Food was good but not knock your socks off. There are not that many fine dining locations to choose from in this area. This is fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Wonderful mother-daughter time, for lunch.
Will return with special people for savored time.
Maybe spa, too.

Tags: Cozy, Organic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Delicious food and the view from the patio is breathtaking. Highly recommend!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Halibut bland, not worth the price. Wine list seriously overpriced. Lovely decor, responsive service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We arrived early and we're still nicely accommodated. A lovely brunch

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Organic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 26, 2017

My friend and I had the best paella for lunch. It was better than even in Spain!! The outdoor setting was lovely. Our server (she has only worked there a couple of weeks) was exceptional and made the experience perfect. The Veuve was enjoyed but pricey.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Our first time dining at Jory. I now know to try to reserve an outdoor table during nice weather. The grounds are attractive and it such a treat to have lunch on their deck. Our waiter was very accommodating -- moving us to an outdoor table as soon as one became available. The kitchen was also very accommodating, preparing shared plates in the kitchen. It's always the sign of a good restaurant when they are willing to do that for their guests!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We had a great experience at Jory. Service was outstanding - the staff has clearly been very well-trained. The food was excellent, from beginning to end. Everything was exquisitely seasoned, very fresh, and creative without trying too hard. The staff brought several amuse-bouches and intermezzos between courses, compliments of the chef. The dessert we had (bananas foster bread pudding with rum sauce) was one of the best desserts I've ever tasted! The meal was perfectly paced, and we never felt like we were rushed or waiting too long. We will definitely come back to this wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This was not a WOW food experience particularly for the price and the prices were anticipated! Wait staff was helpful in picking our wine. With the increase in dinners, the attentiveness seemed to dwindle...dessert took about 25 min from order and coffees were cold and delivered after dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We went there for breakfast at their last seating before serving lunch. All the options looked delicious. I special ordered the classic Eggs Benedict but with smoked salmon instead of ham and it was so good! The house smoked salmon provided all the salty, smoky goodness that dish needed. The chef was very accommodating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.