About JORY Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa

2525 Allison Lane
Newberg, OR 97132
View Larger Map

The Allison Inn & Spa's acclamined restaurant, JORY pays tribute to Oregon’s agricultural bounty with it's own 1.5 acre vegetable garden and 850 item wine list known for its depth in Willamette Valley producers. Under the direction of Executive Chef Sunny Jin, JORY is one of Oregon's top culinary destinations. Known for delectable Wine Country cuisine, the freshest local ingredients and stunning Willamette Valley vistas, a meal here is inspired. Settle into the elegant yet comfortable dining room accented with fine art and appointments. Outside, soak up the sun on plush outdoor seating on the porch, with sweeping views of Willamette Valley and hazelnut orchards. Or enjoy a roaring cozy fireplace, perfect for an apertif or after dinner conversation.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily, 6:30am - 10:30am
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday, 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Daily 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Springbrook

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 554-2526

Website:
http://www.theallison.com/restaurant

Entertainment:
Each Friday and Saturday join us in The Living Room for a night of vibrant musical entertainment, from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm, complimentary, ***all are welcome***. Past performers have been Michael Allen Harrison, Tom Grant, Karla Harris and more!

Catering:
For those occasion that call for a more customized approach, The Allison Inn & Spa offers private dining services and venues for groups of 20-250.



Since we realize that even serious venues can multi-task and be ideal for social gatherings or celebrations, you’ll discover our catering facilities are perfect for performances, weddings, parties for all occasions, corporate meetings, important board meetings, executive retreats and a ballroom designed for, of all things, dancing the night away.

Parking Details:
COMPLIMENTARY VALET PARKING, available at the main hotel entrance. We encourage you to use this great feature.

Executive Chef:
Sunny Jin

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining Room maximum seating for 12 guests.

Kitchen Chef’s Table – maximum seating for 10 guests are invited to take a front row seat in the kitchen as the culinary staff passionately prepares their evening dinner. Minimum fee applies.

Private Party Contact:
Ken Bolick: 5035542526x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Chanterelle mushroom soup
Brussels Sprouts
Chinook Salmon With Quinoa Cakes
Wagyu Striploin Steak
Jory Benedict
mac n cheese
Flan
Suflê de Chocolate
Duck Breast
Pinot Chocolate Cake
Key Lime Tartlet
Loin Of Lamb With Cauliflower/Potato Gratin

JORY Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Northwest
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked
Willamette Valley
Best Restaurants in Newberg ›

special occasion (32)
fit for foodies (26)
scenic view (26)
See All
notable wine list (24)
romantic (22)
great for lunch (17)
great for outdoor dining (15)
great for brunch (14)
good for groups (9)
neighborhood gem (7)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
664 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service and food were excellent. Wo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 5 days ago

The service and food were excellent. Would highly recommend Jory as a fine dining restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Clearly the best that the Willamette Val ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Clearly the best that the Willamette Valley has to offer. Excellent presentation. Outstanding wine list.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Derrick was awesome . we had lunch out s ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Derrick was awesome . we had lunch out side. Thank you

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for a fabulous meal from ren ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great place for a fabulous meal from renowned chef. The home made ravioli with crab was divine as was the trio of chocolate pudding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chicken dish was fantastic, as well ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The chicken dish was fantastic, as well as the burger! Derrick was our server, and he was wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate breakfast, lunch and dinner there. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Ate breakfast, lunch and dinner there. Not sure which meal is referenced. The wine recommendations were very good and very reasonable. Enjoyed the food and service.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I love the quiet elegance and crazy long ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I love the quiet elegance and crazy long wine list at Jory, and had been looking forward to finding a time to have lunch there with some friends. As usual, the wine options were great, and the food was very good (a bit expensive for the value in my opinion). It was disappointing that because it was Monday July 4 there was a very breakfast-heavy brunch menu offered at 1pm, with no sandwiches and really very little for someone like me who prefers savory to sweet.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We celebrated our anniversary here and h ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary here and had the most amazing and memorable dinner ever. The service was excellent. The meal impeccable and just amazing. A real treat! On top of it we felt so special because the chef hand scribed "Happy Anniversary" in chocolate on our dessert plates and gave us dessert on the house. Everything about the Allison is customer-service oriented and they pay attention to every detail. The JORY is just another extension of the quality, service and product coming together for a 5-star experience that you can expect at the Allison. We will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were great. Will defini ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Food and service were great. Will definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had brunch at JORY restaurant on Satu ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had brunch at JORY restaurant on Saturday and both ordered the crab cakes with hollandaise sauce, country potatoes and a salad. The crab cakes were generously filled with crab meat and wonderfully flavored. Service was attentive, friendly, and prompt. The wine list is exceptional! We will definitely be returning again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food professionally presented ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Very good food professionally presented. Nice wine list. Great location and atmosphere. Worth the price? Probably not compared to other top restaurants. However a great place for a special dinner given the area of Oregon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Jory was mostly excellent, with exceptio ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Jory was mostly excellent, with exceptional food, a wonderful Oregon-strong wine list and generally good service. Our only issue was that our waiter had a habit of disappearing for long stretches. Granted, it was a pretty slow night, but we sometimes went 10-15 minutes without seeing a single staffer, so something as simple as asking for more water or butter became an annoyance.

Probably an off night, but we expected better from Jory.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

this restaurant is a gem!!! amazing food ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

this restaurant is a gem!!! amazing food, amazing service !!! 5 star, farm to table, perfect meal!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dinning experience, the servic ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Fantastic dinning experience, the service was amazing. Our food was creative, seasonal, delicious and was artfully presented. Can't wait to eat here again, loved every dish. The servers are knowledgeable about the dishes and were able to suggest wine pairings, which isn't always the case in other fine dinning establishments. Would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service and food was superb. Amazing pla ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Service and food was superb. Amazing place

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lunch menu can have more variety, more c ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Lunch menu can have more variety, more choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Outstanding!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

An amazing experience. Incredible service... fantastic food... everything was top notch!!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful Setting

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This is a very nice setting. We were there early for breakfast.

It is very close to Portland but makes you feel like you are miles away in the country. The Service was very friendly. They probably could have been a little quicker getting our food to the table but it was a great presentation and the taste was also very good. It is a little spendy for breakfast so I probably won't be eating here too often but I would definitely go back for special occasions and to try the dinner menu.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Repeated Enjoyment

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Another perfectly prepared meal at Jory for my wife's birthday. Many seasonal and local ingredients.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great local wine list, asparagus salad w ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Great local wine list, asparagus salad was excellent and salmon was cooked perfectly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disapppoining

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Waited a long time for food. Brought out our first plates, then bread. We were surprised at the change in order of food delivery. The tables around us seemed to get the food in the correct order. After some more time, the main course was brought out, cold. My wife has never in our 34 years of marriage sent a plate back, but she felt this food needed some heat, even a little. They must have changed the plates so when they were returned, the duck was served without jus on the duck. So, another call to the server. Tough night, for them it seemed, and ourselves. Would not consider a return visit, too disappointing

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

A pleasant elegant repass...............

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

When one wants to enjoy the combination of elegant and relaxed, The Alison is the choice.

Absolutely incredible service and ambience highlight the excellently prepared and presented

menu choices. . A walk around the Alison to enjoy the gardens and art is a must after dining

experience.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Utterly reliable quality in food and ser ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Utterly reliable quality in food and service. Our local gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, the Jory never disappoints. T ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

As always, the Jory never disappoints. The food is divine, service impeccable. It is a gem in our area.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pampered

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

The JORY restaurant paid attention to detail -- the salad greens noticeably fresh, the potatoes with breakfast done perfectly, the servers attentive but not intrusive. We felt extremely pampered by our stay at the Allison Inn, and the meals we ate at Jory contributed to that.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Perfect Lunch!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

We had a lovely lunch on a quiet Wednesday. The restaurant is spacious, elegant, has beautiful views and exemplary service. The wine list is extensive -a little spendy, but we were happy with our choice. We split the delicious Brussels sprouts starter, and enjoyed our mains of seafood stew and sweet potatoe gnocchi. They personalized our delicious desserts to reflect our 43rd Valentine's anniversary. We'd love to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a little dissapointing

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Having ate there multiple times in 2015, our 2016 experiences just didn't live up to what they had in the past. Its expensive, but that is fine if the food and service demand it. For lunch we were seated and let our waiter know that we were in a rush (Which wasn't a problem because they weren't busy). 10 minutes later we still didn't even have water. We sat there until the manger happened to walk by and notice us. One of the bartenders seemed a little pretentious and put out by having to serve us drinks, and the bar/seating service left a ton to be desired. The flat bread was under cooked and chewy and the pork belly dried out and room temperature. The dinner drinks and food were fabulous but the other 3 meals were 100% not worth the time or the price. Sure hope they just have new staff and get back to where they were, because when staying at The Allison part of the experience has always been dining at Jory.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Impressive

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 11, 2016

I took a friend for lunch to celebrate her retirement.I think I had mentioned that when I made the reservation. When we arrived we had a glasses of champagne waiting for us to start her celebration. That was such a wonderful beginning to our delicious lunch. We had a table with a beautiful view of Chehalem valley. Megan was our server. She was so impressive for her attention to details in everything we needed. It was a delightful. relaxing and amazing food and ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful food, service and setting

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We had a wonderful brunch for 4 on New Year's Day. The food was so delicious and the service just great. Of course the restaurant is surrounded by the vineyards, and even this time of year it is lovely. All the grounds and interior is impeccably maintained. I have food sensitivities and really appreciate the efforts that staff/kitchen went through to make sure the food was safe for me to eat. It was not only safe but well prepared. All four of us loved our meals.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

biscuts

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

These were amazing first time I had them, second time wonderful in the middle but seemed a little to done on the outside. Crunchy you might say.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Christmas Eve lunch

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

The menu was limited but what we ordered was excellent. Service was also great. Our table location didn't allow us to enjoy the view, but we still enjoyed the overall experience. We will return when the weather is better and hopefully be seated by a window to better enjoy the setting. Highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Always a wonderful experience!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 8, 2015

The food, the staff, the view always wonderful. Would definitely recommend for any special event ! We did a birthday and the decoration on the carrot cake dessert was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great place

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 8, 2015

The food and service were excellent and the setting could not be better. We had an excellent wait person and the whole staff was upbeat and friendly. We could not be happier with our experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful as usual!

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 1, 2015

Wonderful as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Foodie and oenophile heaven

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 12, 2015

JORY always offers a wonderful dining experience and spectacular food. This visit was no exception. The mushroom soup was delectable, the rabbit with agnolotti a perfect 10, the smoked halibut a treat, and the fromage blanc cheesecake simply divine. I enjoy the formality with which the food is served, and the impeccable presentation. JORY is a gem and I look forward to my next visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow, just wow

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 11, 2015

The most amazing lunch we have had in a very long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service, delicious food and wi ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on October 26, 2015

Wonderful service, delicious food and wine, outstanding environment - what's not to love? Just sit down, settle-in and experience a taste of heaven on earth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Lunch

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

Met for lunch before wine tasting - perfect spot. Really great wine list, and menu had nice options. Food was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful Everything

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on October 12, 2015

Jory is a great place for everything! We eat there everytime we are in the wilamette Valley. Jeffery was an informed solicitious server and the food was well prepared, creative and delicious. the room overlooks the valley and at sunset it is beautiful.

only negative was in the reservation through opentable. We made the reservation @ a week/10 days before and were only offered 5:30 or after 8 although we preferred 630_645. When we left at 730 and all the time we were eating,there were a number of open tables throughout the entire time. I suggest if you reserve through opentable and take an alternate time you call the restaurant -they will usually change the time for you.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best of the Best

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 23, 2015

My wife and I travel the world and love to sample the cuisine that has been highly recommended by critics and fellow travelers. I can honestly say that Jory is up there with the very best. The quality of the ingredients, the appeal of the plate design, the knowledgeable staff, the fantastic wine list, all make for meals that are memorable and healthy. We have eaten in most of the recommended restaurants in the area of Allison, where we stay, and none can match Jory for eating pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.