Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 4.24mi
  2. Distance: 4.60mi
  3. Distance: 4.64mi
  4. Distance: 4.68mi
  1. Distance: 4.24mi
  2. Distance: 4.60mi
  3. Distance: 4.64mi
  4. Distance: 4.68mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 4.24mi
  2. Distance: 4.60mi
  3. Distance: 4.64mi
  4. Distance: 4.68mi
  1. Distance: 4.24mi
  2. Distance: 4.60mi
  3. Distance: 4.64mi
  4. Distance: 4.68mi

About JORY Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa

The Allison Inn & Spa's acclaimed restaurant, JORY pays tribute to Oregon’s agricultural bounty with its own 1.5 acre vegetable garden and 850 item wine list known for its depth in Willamette Valley producers. Under the direction of Executive Chef Sunny Jin, JORY is one of Oregon's top culinary destinations. Known for delectable Wine Country cuisine, the freshest local ingredients and stunning Willamette Valley vistas, a meal here is inspired. Settle into the elegant yet comfortable dining room accented with fine art and appointments. Outside, soak up the sun on plush outdoor seating on the porch, with sweeping views of Willamette Valley and hazelnut orchards. Or enjoy a roaring cozy fireplace, perfect for an aperitif or after dinner conversation.

2525 Allison Lane
Newberg, OR 97132
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily, 6:30am - 10:30am
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday, 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Daily 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Springbrook

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 554-2526

Website:
http://www.theallison.com/restaurant

Entertainment:
Each Friday and Saturday join us in The Living Room for a night of vibrant musical entertainment, from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm, complimentary, ***all are welcome***. Past performers have been Michael Allen Harrison, Tom Grant, Karla Harris and more!

Catering:
For those occasion that call for a more customized approach, The Allison Inn & Spa offers private dining services and venues for groups of 20-250.



Since we realize that even serious venues can multi-task and be ideal for social gatherings or celebrations, you’ll discover our catering facilities are perfect for performances, weddings, parties for all occasions, corporate meetings, important board meetings, executive retreats and a ballroom designed for, of all things, dancing the night away.

Parking Details:
COMPLIMENTARY VALET PARKING, available at the main hotel entrance. We encourage you to use this great feature.

Executive Chef:
Sunny Jin

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining Room maximum seating for 12 guests.

Kitchen Chef’s Table – maximum seating for 10 guests are invited to take a front row seat in the kitchen as the culinary staff passionately prepares their evening dinner. Minimum fee applies.

Private Party Contact:
Ken Bolick: (503) 554-2526

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

JORY Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Worth the Drive (13)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Romantic (11)
Scenic View (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Open Kitchen (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Organic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Cozy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Casual (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
791 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

We enjoyed our meal very much- my salmon was cooked perfectly and my husband greatly enjoyed his pork entree (huge serving of pork belly!). We had a nice view of the outdoor area of the resort.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The highlight was Tim, the bartender. The service did not live up to the hype, nor did the food. Wine list was fantastic.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great restaurant! We keep going back to Jory when in wine country.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Wonderful mother-daughter time, for lunch.
Will return with special people for savored time.
Maybe spa, too.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Organic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Delicious food and the view from the patio is breathtaking. Highly recommend!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Halibut bland, not worth the price. Wine list seriously overpriced. Lovely decor, responsive service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We arrived early and we're still nicely accommodated. A lovely brunch

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Organic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 26, 2017

My friend and I had the best paella for lunch. It was better than even in Spain!! The outdoor setting was lovely. Our server (she has only worked there a couple of weeks) was exceptional and made the experience perfect. The Veuve was enjoyed but pricey.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Our first time dining at Jory. I now know to try to reserve an outdoor table during nice weather. The grounds are attractive and it such a treat to have lunch on their deck. Our waiter was very accommodating -- moving us to an outdoor table as soon as one became available. The kitchen was also very accommodating, preparing shared plates in the kitchen. It's always the sign of a good restaurant when they are willing to do that for their guests!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We had a great experience at Jory. Service was outstanding - the staff has clearly been very well-trained. The food was excellent, from beginning to end. Everything was exquisitely seasoned, very fresh, and creative without trying too hard. The staff brought several amuse-bouches and intermezzos between courses, compliments of the chef. The dessert we had (bananas foster bread pudding with rum sauce) was one of the best desserts I've ever tasted! The meal was perfectly paced, and we never felt like we were rushed or waiting too long. We will definitely come back to this wonderful restaurant!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This was not a WOW food experience particularly for the price and the prices were anticipated! Wait staff was helpful in picking our wine. With the increase in dinners, the attentiveness seemed to dwindle...dessert took about 25 min from order and coffees were cold and delivered after dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We went there for breakfast at their last seating before serving lunch. All the options looked delicious. I special ordered the classic Eggs Benedict but with smoked salmon instead of ham and it was so good! The house smoked salmon provided all the salty, smoky goodness that dish needed. The chef was very accommodating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We went to Jory for my husbands birthday. We loved the Mussels and Frites for an appetizer. I ordered the salmon and my husband ordered the Rib Eye, both dishes had a lovely presentation but were lukewarm. Our waitress while nice ,did not come back soon enough so we went ahead and ate. I'm not sure if the food temp colored our opinion but the flavor seemed off. They made a beautiful birthday presentation of an outstanding dessert , a fruit crisp. We loved the Austin Knoll Pinot which is from the Allison Inn .

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Had dinner there to celebrate a milestone birthday for my wife. Everything was excellent and the wait staff goes to great lengths to assure that every need is taken care of. Outstanding menu which serve anyone's requirements. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great lunch before our spa appointment and they even recreated an old menu item for me. Would go again!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Interesting menu in a relaxed setting overlooking beautiful gardens

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We had an extremely pleasant lunch. We were treated extremely well by a knowledgeable and attentive server. The food was delicious and interesting. The desserts were worthy of a photograph to commemorate our anniversary.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My wife and I went for Sunday brunch on our way out of town after three days of wine tasting/buying. We had heard that it was over the top good but had not been there . The physical plant is very open, well designed, decorated, and pleasant. The food was good but not near the caliber of the three restaurants in the area that we had had dinner on this and previous trips. The food was well prepared but just not very imaginative or wonderful. For example the crab benedict was on crab cakes in lieu of an English muffin which is fine and even imaginative. But, the crab cake had so much bread on the outside it could have doubled for an English muffin until you cut into it. Portions were small and over all the food quality was just so - so for a two person no alcohol brunch for $75.00. One final thing, the service, while attentive, was unbelievably slow and they weren't all that busy. Our waiter was very pleasant but he was so slow I began to watch him and he wasn't capable of doing two things on a trip from the kitchen. It took 40 minutes to get our first course so he had to walk a lot on his shift. So, overall I would not recommend the place, especially considering the local alternatives. This place caters to those who come to the Willamette Valley with Ken Wright and Mike Etzel on their brain and too much money in their pocket. After all, $420 a night for overnight accommodations in rural Oregon is really high; high enough that they should have the best restaurant in the area hands down and they aren't even close.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Open Kitchen, Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Pricey, but worth it once in a while.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Wonderful selection of wines. Very reasonable prices I think for the quality you receive. Service was very good, attentive. Situated in the beautiful wine country. A must If your a foodie or a wine enthusiasts .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 12, 2017

So wonderful, very impressed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 29, 2017

The quality of the food, its' preparation and presentation are superb. All the facets of personalized service were outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Organic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Jory is probably one of my favorite restaurants. The food is exceptional. From the burgers and fries to the steaks and fish, we were not let down. The flavors were very complimentary and well thought out. Proportions were spot on and the meats were cooked perfectly. I have nothing bad to say... for once.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We've been here before, and this is a wonderful restaurant - just an aggregate of little things influence this rating. The food was wonderful as expected. The service was woefully slow on this recent Sunday morning. The dining bill was incorrect, but was corrected upon notifying our server. For our anticipated Sunday breakfast, we were seated next to a party of 8-10 with several vociferous babies and toddlers (as they would be expected) - I only surmise our dining experience would have been more pleasant had there been an appropriate family seating area. Lastly on seating: we had requested a window-side table, but didn't get one although several were available. Possibly those may have been kept available for their overnight guests (Allison Inn - check it out - beautiful accommodations), which is fine. But had I been a guest @ $500+ / night, I would have been absolutely furious at the dining experience I had, and would have rated Jory much lower. My expectations are high for Jory and the Allison Inn; The Oregon (Portland area) dining scene is too competitive to overlook details such as this. We'll no doubt return, and I would expect and trust our experience would be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We stayed at the Allison Inn & Spa two evenings. Had dinner at Jory two nights and breakfast two mornings. All four meals were delicious. Staff is friendly and attentive. There were several tables with eight people seated who were enjoying themselves without interfering with our quiet celebration. The ambiance is wonderful.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I booked a table for lunch at Jory at The Allison as a skeptic. 'Hotel food' is not usually particularly exceptional - high priced and cookie-cutter. I was so wrong. Jory is a fabulous restaurant with professional, friendly service and, even better, an incredible menu.
I had a halibut sandwich and my companion had a bowl of soup. How can those be exceptional, right? Well, they were. The flavors in my sandwich were fresh, juicy and substantial. And, as a French fries expert, theirs were crisp and hot. The soup was flavorful and had a heat to it (yes, it was warm but that's not the heat I'm referring to).
Great experience. I highly recommend Jory.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 8, 2017

It is a bar menu,a bar ambience and a bar setting. the dining room itself is only used for dinner. We had an inside table with poor lighting despite asking for a window. The wine pairing with the luncheon three-course menu was poor . Well I Hope dinner is worth the trip I'm not sure I would make it

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 8, 2017

It was good I had a GPS, because it is tucked away from the main town of Newberg and is attached to a hotel and spa. Very nice. The food was excellent and well-presented. The server was absolutely spot on! Derrick was there when we needed him, but he did not hover. He took his job seriously, and was wonderfully friendly. Just a nice overall experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Lunch was fabulous as was the attentive service. A great place to enjoy wonderful food and be able to have a quiet conversation. The valet service is also amazing. Whatever communication happens between the server and the valet, our cars were waiting for us when we walked out the door. What a neat trick.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 6, 2017

I really enjoyed the food here. We had wine flights and I have never had that outside of beer. It was fun to taste 5 kind of wines. I would have like more fish options. I am not a beef or pork eater so I had ravioli. They did have scallops but that is probably the only seafood I don't care for. The service was wonderful!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Oysters took a long time to come and prices were crazy high. But creative plating

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 1, 2017

I've been a raving fan of Jory originally experiencing their Friday and Saturday night experience. I noticed Sunday evenings the service isn't amazing, but still great. Unfortunately it is dramatically different at lunch where the service and food quality suffer. After three poor lunch experiences I can no longer recommend this restaurant because it is inconsistent.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Sharing meals was enjoyed; thank you for encouraging us to do that. Staff were watchful, needs were met, kind and friendly. We are not used to this extravagant of dining, but were made to feel comfortable and special.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The food was not good to végétarien person ! A very few opcion ! The restaurant was very expensive compare to the city!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Jory was over the top beautiful & we had a lovely brunch with our out of town friends. The dishes were creative & all 4 of us loved what we chose. The restaurant, spa, hotel & grounds are definitely 5 star quality.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Was very disappointed and "Underwhelmed" Had arranged to be special lunch treat for wife's BD and had daughter come up from Corvallis, we came from Mac....waited for 15 minutes to get service, even water. Had to contact manager by waving at him..was at 12:30 and only breakfast menu, when saw lunch menu online. Asked if had, told "no by him and waitress...yet when got cocktail menu to look at drinks, had a number of lunch type options and had to change order !! How could they not mention this..Food was good, just whole experience was not worth the expensive cost and not worth it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Food was amazing!! Doing everything right at Jory!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Sadly disappointing. I'd seen and heard the mixed reviews. We found the menu limited (one seafood entree was fried razor clams) and the quality of the food didn't meet expectations (poor quality lamb, chewy smoked duck). Won't go back again.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

A little pricey, but great food, service and atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We live a couple miles from the Jory and go there at least a couple times a month for dinner. With the exception of it being difficult to get into, the food, service, and ambiance are always incredible. We know most of the permanent wait staff now and appreciate their attention to detail and pleasant service.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.