About JORY Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa

2525 Allison Lane
Newberg, OR 97132
View Larger Map

The Allison Inn & Spa's acclaimed restaurant, JORY pays tribute to Oregon’s agricultural bounty with its own 1.5 acre vegetable garden and 850 item wine list known for its depth in Willamette Valley producers. Under the direction of Executive Chef Sunny Jin, JORY is one of Oregon's top culinary destinations. Known for delectable Wine Country cuisine, the freshest local ingredients and stunning Willamette Valley vistas, a meal here is inspired. Settle into the elegant yet comfortable dining room accented with fine art and appointments. Outside, soak up the sun on plush outdoor seating on the porch, with sweeping views of Willamette Valley and hazelnut orchards. Or enjoy a roaring cozy fireplace, perfect for an aperitif or after dinner conversation.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily, 6:30am - 10:30am
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday, 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Daily 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Springbrook

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 554-2526

Website:
http://www.theallison.com/restaurant

Entertainment:
Each Friday and Saturday join us in The Living Room for a night of vibrant musical entertainment, from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm, complimentary, ***all are welcome***. Past performers have been Michael Allen Harrison, Tom Grant, Karla Harris and more!

Catering:
For those occasion that call for a more customized approach, The Allison Inn & Spa offers private dining services and venues for groups of 20-250.



Since we realize that even serious venues can multi-task and be ideal for social gatherings or celebrations, you’ll discover our catering facilities are perfect for performances, weddings, parties for all occasions, corporate meetings, important board meetings, executive retreats and a ballroom designed for, of all things, dancing the night away.

Parking Details:
COMPLIMENTARY VALET PARKING, available at the main hotel entrance. We encourage you to use this great feature.

Executive Chef:
Sunny Jin

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining Room maximum seating for 12 guests.

Kitchen Chef’s Table – maximum seating for 10 guests are invited to take a front row seat in the kitchen as the culinary staff passionately prepares their evening dinner. Minimum fee applies.

Private Party Contact:
Ken Bolick: 5035542526x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Brussels Sprouts - JORY Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa, Newberg, OR
Chanterelle mushroom soup - JORY Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa, Newberg, OR
Chinook Salmon With Quinoa Cakes - JORY Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa, Newberg, OR
Wagyu Striploin Steak - JORY Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa, Newberg, OR
Jory Benedict - JORY Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa, Newberg, OR
mac n cheese - JORY Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa, Newberg, OR
Flan - JORY Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa, Newberg, OR
Suflê de Chocolate - JORY Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa, Newberg, OR
Duck Breast - JORY Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa, Newberg, OR
Loin Of Lamb With Cauliflower/Potato Gratin - JORY Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa, Newberg, OR
Pinot Chocolate Cake - JORY Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa, Newberg, OR
Key Lime Tartlet - JORY Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa, Newberg, OR

JORY Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Portland / Oregon
Northwest
Portland / Oregon
Best Overall
Willamette Valley
5 More
Best Food
Willamette Valley
Best Service
Willamette Valley
Best Ambiance
Willamette Valley
Best Value
Willamette Valley
Most Booked
Willamette Valley
Best Restaurants in Newberg ›

Special Occasion (24)
Scenic View (20)
Quiet Conversation (15)
See All
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Romantic (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Business Meals (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Authentic (7)
Cozy (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fireplace (5)
Fun (5)
Organic (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Seasonal (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (3)
Private Room (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Vegan (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Casual (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
716 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was stressed and rushed due to time re ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

I was stressed and rushed due to time restrictions an Snow!

My waitress was attentive, kind and just was a 5star experience! I will be returning for lunch the next 2 days! I really appreciate her gratitude and attention to my food allergies👏🏻

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the best breakfast EVERY at JORY. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

We had the best breakfast EVERY at JORY. It was superb. We will definitely be visiting again. I wish the prices were a little lower, but it's worth experiencing for a special occasion or if you're staying there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful friendly greeting upon arrival ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Wonderful friendly greeting upon arrival. Energetic and informed staff. Food presentation and combinations clever and delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wait staff were attentive without being ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Wait staff were attentive without being intrusive. Our server was able to answer questions we had & helped set the tone for a relaxed evening. Food is delicious and portions are generous. Presentation was beautiful. Atmosphere is not pretentious, just comfortable. The extra touches (palate cleansing sorbet & macaroons to end the meal) were a wonderful addition to our food choices.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought everything was great. Could ha ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 3, 2016

I thought everything was great. Could have used a bit more halibut on my halibut sandwich but still yummy.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant claimed we did not have a ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 31, 2016

The restaurant claimed we did not have a reservation. They reluctantly sat us once I showed them my reservation on my open table app.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

We enjoy coming for special occasions. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We enjoy coming for special occasions. This time it was my wife's birthdayand the visit of our son and his wife who live in Virginia.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Per their advertising, very fresh ingred ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Per their advertising, very fresh ingredients of quality! All was pseudo-elegant, and truly a lovely setting! But there were no flavours/savours/tasty-treat moments! BLAH, BLAND, BORING non-personality dishes...we had a squash salad, halibut and chips and 2 hamburger/cheeseburgers! Only 'good' part was the french fries!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We are regular patrons of Jory, often st ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We are regular patrons of Jory, often stopping by on a whim to sit at the kitchen counter and let Chef Amy feed us whatever she recommends off the menu that day. We also book the chef's table at least once a year and gather our friends together for a meal that is almost performance art.

Whether you're looking for a casual place for lunch, or an elegant place for dinner, Jory covers all the bases, and does so with excellent service and fantastic food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my top 5 all time dining experien ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 19, 2016

One of my top 5 all time dining experiences. I would have rated noise level as quiet except one four top table was talking loud enough that it could be heard throughout the dining room

Tags: Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great spot for weekend getaways, busin ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 18, 2016

A great spot for weekend getaways, business meetings, weddings, anniversaries and other occasions. Good food, great wines, nice atmosphere with a pleasant view.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Staying at the Allison was a treat in it ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Staying at the Allison was a treat in itself, and the dining room was exceptional as well ! I had a wonderful beef dinner that was delicious. Service is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable time.

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Very enjoyable time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

After spending a couple of days in the O ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 3, 2016

After spending a couple of days in the Oregon Wine Country, our group of five ladies (age 35-65) enjoyed a wonderful breakfast at Jory. Everything from the Mimosas to the Crab Cake Eggs Benedict to the pancakes and omelette were extremely tasty and beautifully presented. Having everyone's meal delivered in unison by the servers was quite a show and made us feel so special!! Wonderful conclusion to our "girls' trip".

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience totaling 10 meals. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Excellent experience totaling 10 meals. The dining room and kitchen staff are the most pleasant we have met.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful place for my niece,s 30th birt ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Wonderful place for my niece,s 30th birthday! Food is always awesome and the service exceptional! Been there many times for special occasions .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good but service was no go ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Food was very good but service was no good. I waited over 20 minutes before serving drinks.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

My only disappointment was the location ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 25, 2016

My only disappointment was the location of our table. It was tucked behind a wall by a door leading to the outdoor patio so our view was obstructed. I wish I had been more assertive at expressing my concern!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Misty the server was awesome. Gave us s ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Misty the server was awesome. Gave us some recommendations on wineries to visit in the area.

Her replacement server, while Misty was on break, wasn't really there. Only showed up during the bill time. So I hope Misty got the total tip.

The food: Ordered the heirloom tomato salad. Very very good. Bread very very good.

My halibut sandwich was awesome. The combination of flavors made it work very well.

My friend ordered the hamburger which cost more than mine. The burger OK, the truffled fries were worth the whole dish. Truffled fries were spectacular.

We will be back. Next time I am going to take my husband here. We had outside dining. A beautiful day, quiet and this place makes life worth living.

Thank you!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and menu

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great service and menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lunch was excellent, service was slow th ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Lunch was excellent, service was slow though and the soup was not served hot, was barely warm.

Great cocktails, excellent menu.

Better experiences with dinner there.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Jory is a must while in Newberg! To vis ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Jory is a must while in Newberg! To visit the on site Chef's Garden, then review the menu and see what your eating was picked so freshly and cleanly with care. What a wonderful menu, unforgettable food and a phenomenal atmosphere. I will always want to go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Family Style, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Tapas, Comfort Food, People Watching, Cozy, Healthy, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about the Jory and the Alliso ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Everything about the Jory and the Allison Inn makes me happy. We will return as often as possible.

Tags: Organic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The team at the Alison needs to work on ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 12, 2016

The team at the Alison needs to work on improved service. Sat a good 10 minutes before the waiter showed. Then he asked if we had chosen a drink yet....Problem was they had never even brought us a drink menu. We weren't the only couple complaining as we heard another couple across from us very frustrated as well.

This being said, the food was wonderful and the restaurant ambience is very nice...

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

My husband and I spent the last night of ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 6, 2016

My husband and I spent the last night of our spectacular Oregon vacation dining at The Jory. It was an incredible evening, fabulous food and outstanding service without hovering. Loved every moment! Geoffrey was terrific. We can't wait for our next stay at The Allison Inn & Spa and visit to The Jory.

Tags: Disabled Access, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Organic, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stayed at the beautiful Allison Inn, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 6, 2016

We stayed at the beautiful Allison Inn, and had the pleasure of dining at the Jory restaurant. The restaurant has a beautiful outdoor area. The tables are not close and very private. We wanted something light after a day of wine tasting. We ordered a salad and gazpacho appetizer, and then split the salmon entree. All were well prepared and the portions were generous. Glad we split/shared our order. We also tried a couple of wine tastings, which was a fun way to sample other Willamette wines.

Service was attentive and professional. Definitely one of the nicest restaurants in the area.

One complaint I had:

We wanted a later reservation, as we typically eat around 8. I asked for a later reservation, and was told they were fully booked. So we kept the 6:30 reservation that I made 5 weeks in advance. The Allison recommends to book in advance. As the evening progressed, the dining room was under capacity easily till 8pm. The Jory could have accommodated a later reservation. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always good food. It's a great restaura ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Always good food. It's a great restaurant for special occasions and everyday dining.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Let me start with the positive aspects o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Let me start with the positive aspects of our meal at Jury's. The meal was outstanding . I had the pork loin with peaches and my husband had the Wagyu beef. Incredibly well played and super good. We had the pork belly appetizer which was so deliciously salty and yummy.

On the negative side when we got there a few minutes early, without a good explanation they said if you could wait in the bar until your appointed time. Then they never came and got us. At almost 10 minutes after our reserved time , my husband had to go ask if our table was ready . Needless to say this started out our evening poorly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Our server was outstanding. Excellent at ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our server was outstanding. Excellent attendance at our table. In the background but came around at the right time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent brunch. The French toast was a ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent brunch. The French toast was amazing and my husband really enjoyed the Jory Benedict. The atmosphere was very relaxing and inviting.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jory is one of our favorites in the wine ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Jory is one of our favorites in the wine country and we are constantly taking friends there. Now that the weather is a bit cooler, we look forward to eating out on the terrace. Since we do go frequently, we appreciate the menu modifications that prevent us from getting bored as the chefs seem to be very creative. We will continue and hope to sleep over again some night and enjoy dinner there!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was great, food was great ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 29, 2016

The atmosphere was great, food was great. The service was a little slow and the staff was not as knowledgeable as I would have expected.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our outdoor view over the resort and hor ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Our outdoor view over the resort and horizon set the stage for a memorable evening and dinner. Every bite was perfectly seasoned and cooked. Salmon skin beautifully crisp; Wagyu beef seared to medium rare as requested. Both melted in our mouths. Our server said "Trust me", on the wine selection, and he did not disappoint...each of us receiving a glass which beautifully enhanced our menu choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the second time I have dined th ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 25, 2016

This was the second time I have dined there. One of the ladies enjoyed her hamburger. I was trying to be low carb and selected the salmon skewers with kale. The skewers were small and the kale was very course. Because there wasn't much on the plate I ended up eating the bread to

try and fill the gap. There wasn't anything special about our meals. It is a nice location though.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Another favorite of ours that we always ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Another favorite of ours that we always enjoy for lunch or dinner. We can relax knowing we will have a good meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Todd was a great waiter. Entire staff wa ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Todd was a great waiter. Entire staff was excellent

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I ordered your Seafood Stew and it was a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 18, 2016

I ordered your Seafood Stew and it was a magnificent. It was a wonderful experience.

Thank you and I will have additional luncheons & Business meetings there.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had our 2nd wedding anniversary dinne ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 17, 2016

We had our 2nd wedding anniversary dinner on August 16.

The service was amazing, Jeremy was our server for the night and he did a very nice job,let us feeling very welcomed.

We had our own bottle of wine but the sommelier helped us to decant it perfectly.

Oysters and salmon crudo were pairing amazingly with the Kerner that we find on the wine list.

The wagyu beef and the albacore tuna paired very well with the Barolo.

When we will have another unique date or free time from work we will go back again.

Thank you for your service

DARIO & SHEENA PISONI

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vegetarian offerings are pathetic salad ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Vegetarian offerings are pathetic salad for appetizer followed by a cold salad for entree

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Jory is always a pleasure for any occasi ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Jory is always a pleasure for any occasion, any weather. Good food, great service! Yea!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.