About JORY Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa

2525 Allison Lane
Newberg, OR 97132
View Larger Map

The Allison Inn & Spa's acclamined restaurant, JORY pays tribute to Oregon’s agricultural bounty with it's own 1.5 acre vegetable garden and 850 item wine list known for its depth in Willamette Valley producers. Under the direction of Executive Chef Sunny Jin, JORY is one of Oregon's top culinary destinations. Known for delectable Wine Country cuisine, the freshest local ingredients and stunning Willamette Valley vistas, a meal here is inspired. Settle into the elegant yet comfortable dining room accented with fine art and appointments. Outside, soak up the sun on plush outdoor seating on the porch, with sweeping views of Willamette Valley and hazelnut orchards. Or enjoy a roaring cozy fireplace, perfect for an apertif or after dinner conversation.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily, 6:30am - 10:30am
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday, 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Daily 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Springbrook

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 554-2526

Website:
http://www.theallison.com/restaurant

Entertainment:
Each Friday and Saturday join us in The Living Room for a night of vibrant musical entertainment, from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm, complimentary, ***all are welcome***. Past performers have been Michael Allen Harrison, Tom Grant, Karla Harris and more!

Catering:
For those occasion that call for a more customized approach, The Allison Inn & Spa offers private dining services and venues for groups of 20-250.



Since we realize that even serious venues can multi-task and be ideal for social gatherings or celebrations, you’ll discover our catering facilities are perfect for performances, weddings, parties for all occasions, corporate meetings, important board meetings, executive retreats and a ballroom designed for, of all things, dancing the night away.

Parking Details:
COMPLIMENTARY VALET PARKING, available at the main hotel entrance. We encourage you to use this great feature.

Executive Chef:
Sunny Jin

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining Room maximum seating for 12 guests.

Kitchen Chef’s Table – maximum seating for 10 guests are invited to take a front row seat in the kitchen as the culinary staff passionately prepares their evening dinner. Minimum fee applies.

Private Party Contact:
Ken Bolick: 5035542526x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

JORY Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Portland / Oregon
Notable Wine List
Portland / Oregon
Northwest
Portland / Oregon
1 More
Most Booked
Willamette Valley
Best Restaurants in Newberg ›

special occasion (38)
fit for foodies (33)
notable wine list (33)
See All
scenic view (31)
romantic (24)
great for lunch (21)
great for brunch (18)
great for outdoor dining (12)
good for groups (10)
neighborhood gem (8)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
651 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic dinning experience, the servic ...

Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic dinning experience, the service was amazing. Our food was creative, seasonal, delicious and was artfully presented. Can't wait to eat here again, loved every dish. The servers are knowledgeable about the dishes and were able to suggest wine pairings, which isn't always the case in other fine dinning establishments. Would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food was superb. Amazing pla ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Service and food was superb. Amazing place

food4
ambience4
service4

Lunch menu can have more variety, more c ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Lunch menu can have more variety, more choices

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on May 8, 2016

An amazing experience. Incredible service... fantastic food... everything was top notch!!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful Setting

Dined on May 7, 2016

This is a very nice setting. We were there early for breakfast. It is very close to Portland but makes you feel like you are miles away in the country. The Service was very friendly. They probably could have been a little quicker getting our food to the table but it was a great presentation and the taste was also very good. It is a little spendy for breakfast so I probably won't be eating here too often but I would definitely go back for special occasions and to try the dinner menu.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Repeated Enjoyment

Dined on May 2, 2016

Another perfectly prepared meal at Jory for my wife's birthday. Many seasonal and local ingredients.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great local wine list, asparagus salad w ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Great local wine list, asparagus salad was excellent and salmon was cooked perfectly

food4
ambience3
service2
value1

Disapppoining

Dined on April 18, 2016

Waited a long time for food. Brought out our first plates, then bread. We were surprised at the change in order of food delivery. The tables around us seemed to get the food in the correct order. After some more time, the main course was brought out, cold. My wife has never in our 34 years of marriage sent a plate back, but she felt this food needed some heat, even a little. They must have changed the plates so when they were returned, the duck was served without jus on the duck. So, another call to the server. Tough night, for them it seemed, and ourselves. Would not consider a return visit, too disappointing

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A pleasant elegant repass...............

Dined on April 17, 2016

When one wants to enjoy the combination of elegant and relaxed, The Alison is the choice. Absolutely incredible service and ambience highlight the excellently prepared and presented menu choices. . A walk around the Alison to enjoy the gardens and art is a must after dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Utterly reliable quality in food and ser ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

Utterly reliable quality in food and service. Our local gem.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the Jory never disappoints. T ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

As always, the Jory never disappoints. The food is divine, service impeccable. It is a gem in our area.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Pampered

Dined on February 27, 2016

The JORY restaurant paid attention to detail -- the salad greens noticeably fresh, the potatoes with breakfast done perfectly, the servers attentive but not intrusive. We felt extremely pampered by our stay at the Allison Inn, and the meals we ate at Jory contributed to that.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Lunch!

Dined on February 10, 2016

We had a lovely lunch on a quiet Wednesday. The restaurant is spacious, elegant, has beautiful views and exemplary service. The wine list is extensive -a little spendy, but we were happy with our choice. We split the delicious Brussels sprouts starter, and enjoyed our mains of seafood stew and sweet potatoe gnocchi. They personalized our delicious desserts to reflect our 43rd Valentine's anniversary. We'd love to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

It was a little dissapointing

Dined on February 6, 2016

Having ate there multiple times in 2015, our 2016 experiences just didn't live up to what they had in the past. Its expensive, but that is fine if the food and service demand it. For lunch we were seated and let our waiter know that we were in a rush (Which wasn't a problem because they weren't busy). 10 minutes later we still didn't even have water. We sat there until the manger happened to walk by and notice us. One of the bartenders seemed a little pretentious and put out by having to serve us drinks, and the bar/seating service left a ton to be desired. The flat bread was under cooked and chewy and the pork belly dried out and room temperature. The dinner drinks and food were fabulous but the other 3 meals were 100% not worth the time or the price. Sure hope they just have new staff and get back to where they were, because when staying at The Allison part of the experience has always been dining at Jory.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impressive

Dined on January 11, 2016

I took a friend for lunch to celebrate her retirement.I think I had mentioned that when I made the reservation. When we arrived we had a glasses of champagne waiting for us to start her celebration. That was such a wonderful beginning to our delicious lunch. We had a table with a beautiful view of Chehalem valley. Megan was our server. She was so impressive for her attention to details in everything we needed. It was a delightful. relaxing and amazing food and ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful food, service and setting

Dined on January 1, 2016

We had a wonderful brunch for 4 on New Year's Day. The food was so delicious and the service just great. Of course the restaurant is surrounded by the vineyards, and even this time of year it is lovely. All the grounds and interior is impeccably maintained. I have food sensitivities and really appreciate the efforts that staff/kitchen went through to make sure the food was safe for me to eat. It was not only safe but well prepared. All four of us loved our meals.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

biscuts

Dined on December 27, 2015

These were amazing first time I had them, second time wonderful in the middle but seemed a little to done on the outside. Crunchy you might say.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Christmas Eve lunch

Dined on December 24, 2015

The menu was limited but what we ordered was excellent. Service was also great. Our table location didn't allow us to enjoy the view, but we still enjoyed the overall experience. We will return when the weather is better and hopefully be seated by a window to better enjoy the setting. Highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a wonderful experience!

Dined on December 8, 2015

The food, the staff, the view always wonderful. Would definitely recommend for any special event ! We did a birthday and the decoration on the carrot cake dessert was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

A great place

Dined on December 8, 2015

The food and service were excellent and the setting could not be better. We had an excellent wait person and the whole staff was upbeat and friendly. We could not be happier with our experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful as usual!

vip
Dined on December 1, 2015

Wonderful as usual!

food5
ambience5
service5

Foodie and oenophile heaven

Dined on November 12, 2015

JORY always offers a wonderful dining experience and spectacular food. This visit was no exception. The mushroom soup was delectable, the rabbit with agnolotti a perfect 10, the smoked halibut a treat, and the fromage blanc cheesecake simply divine. I enjoy the formality with which the food is served, and the impeccable presentation. JORY is a gem and I look forward to my next visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow, just wow

Dined on November 11, 2015

The most amazing lunch we have had in a very long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service, delicious food and wi ...

vip
Dined on October 26, 2015

Wonderful service, delicious food and wine, outstanding environment - what's not to love? Just sit down, settle-in and experience a taste of heaven on earth.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great Lunch

Dined on October 23, 2015

Met for lunch before wine tasting - perfect spot. Really great wine list, and menu had nice options. Food was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Everything

vip
Dined on October 12, 2015

Jory is a great place for everything! We eat there everytime we are in the wilamette Valley. Jeffery was an informed solicitious server and the food was well prepared, creative and delicious. the room overlooks the valley and at sunset it is beautiful. only negative was in the reservation through opentable. We made the reservation @ a week/10 days before and were only offered 5:30 or after 8 although we preferred 630_645. When we left at 730 and all the time we were eating,there were a number of open tables throughout the entire time. I suggest if you reserve through opentable and take an alternate time you call the restaurant -they will usually change the time for you.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best of the Best

Dined on September 23, 2015

My wife and I travel the world and love to sample the cuisine that has been highly recommended by critics and fellow travelers. I can honestly say that Jory is up there with the very best. The quality of the ingredients, the appeal of the plate design, the knowledgeable staff, the fantastic wine list, all make for meals that are memorable and healthy. We have eaten in most of the recommended restaurants in the area of Allison, where we stay, and none can match Jory for eating pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Monday Escape

Dined on September 21, 2015

Sunny day, nice views, big 'ol burger, good fries and some cold beer for me and nice wine for the lady.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious meal at Jory

Dined on September 16, 2015

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful dinner here last week. Stayed 2 nights at the Allison, and had dinner there after a day of vineyard tours. The setting is beautiful, the waitstaff excellent. My husband started with a gorgeous salad and then had the tuna over noodles and I had the soup followed by filet. All was so very delicious. We finished with a fruit cobbler, which was good, but not our favorite. And we were really quite full!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Eat outside

Dined on September 13, 2015

Wonderful brunch menu with excellent portions. The view from the patio is very relaxing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Came for lunch

Dined on September 5, 2015

The food was excellent and very reasonably priced. We lingered talking for more than an hour and a half and felt no urging to "move on".

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic food served with finesse

Dined on August 27, 2015

My husband and I enjoyed a fabulous dinner at Jory. We had read some okay reviews and wondered if it would just be an overpriced, overrated restaurant. Yes, the entrees are a bit pricey but you get some really outstanding quality on the food they serve. I had the pleasure of ordering the salmon and every morsel was worth it. The salad and greens are extremely fresh and local, as well as their hazelnuts which really add quite a flair to almost anything. We are locals but had yet to partake in such an enjoyable experience. The food design and décor are very creative, and they serve these little "in betweens" which are grapefruit sherbets to cleanse the palate. All in all, my husband and I were won over by Jory's chef's delights and we hope to visit again soon. It's a great special occasion to celebrate anything spot. Thanks.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4

Fine Dining Restaurant

vip
Dined on August 21, 2015

JORY is a fine dining restaurant with an outstanding ambiance. The wait staff are professional, helpful and attentive. My wife's salmon was excellent while my rabbit was only average. The value of the meal was less than average because of relatively high cost and, for me, only an average quality entree. If my entree were better, JORY would receive at least four stars and perhaps even five.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating our 46th anniversary ...

Dined on August 19, 2015

We were celebrating our 46th anniversary here and it was perfect! The ambiance and scenery were beautiful! We chose to dine outside and it was such a perfect evening! No one else was outside because of the heat, so we had it to ourselves. The wait staff were so incredibly friendly and attentive to our needs! Thank u! Loved it and will recommend it to our friends

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Special Night

Dined on August 17, 2015

Great choice for our 35th wedding anniversary. Everything was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

everything I hoped it would be and more

Dined on August 15, 2015

beautifil grounds, beautiful interior, we came in on the weekend during the lunch hour and they were serving their weekend brunch which did not include salmon. They made an exception and I was able to have the delicious salmon. We sat outside with the beautiful view. I highly recommend this place!! Great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Outstanding Food

Dined on August 12, 2015

This restaurant was very, very good. Food was outstanding and you can bring your own wine from your day in the Willamette Valley for a small corkage fee. Service started out very slow, but by the end was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic dinning experience. From the ...

vip
Dined on August 12, 2015

Fantastic dinning experience. From the greeting at the hostess desk to our seat on the terrace, everything exceeded expectations. We started with some good cocktails then moved on to oysters and soup. The main courses were phenomenal, especially the Wagyu striploin. Wine list was great, and deserts were above average. Service was excellent. When anywhere near Newberg, find some time to have dinner here.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

A true gem

Dined on August 12, 2015

Our true regret about our Pacific Northwest Wine Circle Tour ( Kelowna, Walla Walla, the Willamette) is that we had only one night at the Allison Inn and, therefore, only one dinner at Jory. We had high expectations - and they were completely exceeded. Sat at the Chef's table (Travis was a great source of information about what we should focus on the next day in the Dundee Hills and the Wine Director put us on to the Dusky Goose Pinot which then took us to Penner-Ash the following morning). Eleven Madison Park remains my favourite but Jory is now right up there with Per Se and 110 de Talivant. We go to Whistler every winter and I think we have now found the place to which we shall return late in the summer most years.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1

Our Saturday brunch was not what I expec ...

Dined on August 8, 2015

Our Saturday brunch was not what I expected or hoped for, particularly because it was the one clunky note in an otherwise lovely weekend stay at the Allison. The food was good- not great, but tasty. Our service, however was dismal- and while at first I wanted to think our server was just struggling with our table (even though we had nothing complicated) but I overheard her with two adjacent tables having similar problems with running drinks, coordinating timing of food, etc. For Jory to be the type of restaurant it professes to be (and in the location it is) their service needs to be impeccable. Yesterday it definitely was not.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.