Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 4.24mi
  2. Distance: 4.60mi
  3. Distance: 4.64mi
  4. Distance: 4.68mi
  1. Distance: 4.24mi
  2. Distance: 4.60mi
  3. Distance: 4.64mi
  4. Distance: 4.68mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 4.24mi
  2. Distance: 4.60mi
  3. Distance: 4.64mi
  4. Distance: 4.68mi
  1. Distance: 4.24mi
  2. Distance: 4.60mi
  3. Distance: 4.64mi
  4. Distance: 4.68mi

About JORY Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa

The Allison Inn & Spa's acclaimed restaurant, JORY pays tribute to Oregon’s agricultural bounty with its own 1.5 acre vegetable garden and 850 item wine list known for its depth in Willamette Valley producers. Under the direction of Executive Chef Sunny Jin, JORY is one of Oregon's top culinary destinations. Known for delectable Wine Country cuisine, the freshest local ingredients and stunning Willamette Valley vistas, a meal here is inspired. Settle into the elegant yet comfortable dining room accented with fine art and appointments. Outside, soak up the sun on plush outdoor seating on the porch, with sweeping views of Willamette Valley and hazelnut orchards. Or enjoy a roaring cozy fireplace, perfect for an aperitif or after dinner conversation.

2525 Allison Lane
Newberg, OR 97132
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily, 6:30am - 10:30am
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday, 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Daily 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Springbrook

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 554-2526

Website:
http://www.theallison.com/restaurant

Entertainment:
Each Friday and Saturday join us in The Living Room for a night of vibrant musical entertainment, from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm, complimentary, ***all are welcome***. Past performers have been Michael Allen Harrison, Tom Grant, Karla Harris and more!

Catering:
For those occasion that call for a more customized approach, The Allison Inn & Spa offers private dining services and venues for groups of 20-250.



Since we realize that even serious venues can multi-task and be ideal for social gatherings or celebrations, you’ll discover our catering facilities are perfect for performances, weddings, parties for all occasions, corporate meetings, important board meetings, executive retreats and a ballroom designed for, of all things, dancing the night away.

Parking Details:
COMPLIMENTARY VALET PARKING, available at the main hotel entrance. We encourage you to use this great feature.

Executive Chef:
Sunny Jin

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining Room maximum seating for 12 guests.

Kitchen Chef’s Table – maximum seating for 10 guests are invited to take a front row seat in the kitchen as the culinary staff passionately prepares their evening dinner. Minimum fee applies.

Private Party Contact:
Ken Bolick: (503) 554-2526

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

JORY Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
See All
Notable Wine List (13)
Romantic (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Scenic View (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Cozy (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Seasonal (5)
Casual (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Fireplace (3)
Business Meals (3)
Organic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fun (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Authentic (1)
Live Music (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
773 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Pricey, but worth it once in a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Wonderful selection of wines. Very reasonable prices I think for the quality you receive. Service was very good, attentive. Situated in the beautiful wine country. A must If your a foodie or a wine enthusiasts .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 12, 2017

So wonderful, very impressed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 29, 2017

The quality of the food, its' preparation and presentation are superb. All the facets of personalized service were outstanding.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Organic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Jory is probably one of my favorite restaurants. The food is exceptional. From the burgers and fries to the steaks and fish, we were not let down. The flavors were very complimentary and well thought out. Proportions were spot on and the meats were cooked perfectly. I have nothing bad to say... for once.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We've been here before, and this is a wonderful restaurant - just an aggregate of little things influence this rating. The food was wonderful as expected. The service was woefully slow on this recent Sunday morning. The dining bill was incorrect, but was corrected upon notifying our server. For our anticipated Sunday breakfast, we were seated next to a party of 8-10 with several vociferous babies and toddlers (as they would be expected) - I only surmise our dining experience would have been more pleasant had there been an appropriate family seating area. Lastly on seating: we had requested a window-side table, but didn't get one although several were available. Possibly those may have been kept available for their overnight guests (Allison Inn - check it out - beautiful accommodations), which is fine. But had I been a guest @ $500+ / night, I would have been absolutely furious at the dining experience I had, and would have rated Jory much lower. My expectations are high for Jory and the Allison Inn; The Oregon (Portland area) dining scene is too competitive to overlook details such as this. We'll no doubt return, and I would expect and trust our experience would be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We stayed at the Allison Inn & Spa two evenings. Had dinner at Jory two nights and breakfast two mornings. All four meals were delicious. Staff is friendly and attentive. There were several tables with eight people seated who were enjoying themselves without interfering with our quiet celebration. The ambiance is wonderful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I booked a table for lunch at Jory at The Allison as a skeptic. 'Hotel food' is not usually particularly exceptional - high priced and cookie-cutter. I was so wrong. Jory is a fabulous restaurant with professional, friendly service and, even better, an incredible menu.
I had a halibut sandwich and my companion had a bowl of soup. How can those be exceptional, right? Well, they were. The flavors in my sandwich were fresh, juicy and substantial. And, as a French fries expert, theirs were crisp and hot. The soup was flavorful and had a heat to it (yes, it was warm but that's not the heat I'm referring to).
Great experience. I highly recommend Jory.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 8, 2017

It is a bar menu,a bar ambience and a bar setting. the dining room itself is only used for dinner. We had an inside table with poor lighting despite asking for a window. The wine pairing with the luncheon three-course menu was poor . Well I Hope dinner is worth the trip I'm not sure I would make it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 8, 2017

It was good I had a GPS, because it is tucked away from the main town of Newberg and is attached to a hotel and spa. Very nice. The food was excellent and well-presented. The server was absolutely spot on! Derrick was there when we needed him, but he did not hover. He took his job seriously, and was wonderfully friendly. Just a nice overall experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Lunch was fabulous as was the attentive service. A great place to enjoy wonderful food and be able to have a quiet conversation. The valet service is also amazing. Whatever communication happens between the server and the valet, our cars were waiting for us when we walked out the door. What a neat trick.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 6, 2017

I really enjoyed the food here. We had wine flights and I have never had that outside of beer. It was fun to taste 5 kind of wines. I would have like more fish options. I am not a beef or pork eater so I had ravioli. They did have scallops but that is probably the only seafood I don't care for. The service was wonderful!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Oysters took a long time to come and prices were crazy high. But creative plating

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 1, 2017

I've been a raving fan of Jory originally experiencing their Friday and Saturday night experience. I noticed Sunday evenings the service isn't amazing, but still great. Unfortunately it is dramatically different at lunch where the service and food quality suffer. After three poor lunch experiences I can no longer recommend this restaurant because it is inconsistent.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Sharing meals was enjoyed; thank you for encouraging us to do that. Staff were watchful, needs were met, kind and friendly. We are not used to this extravagant of dining, but were made to feel comfortable and special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The food was not good to végétarien person ! A very few opcion ! The restaurant was very expensive compare to the city!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Jory was over the top beautiful & we had a lovely brunch with our out of town friends. The dishes were creative & all 4 of us loved what we chose. The restaurant, spa, hotel & grounds are definitely 5 star quality.

Tags: Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Was very disappointed and "Underwhelmed" Had arranged to be special lunch treat for wife's BD and had daughter come up from Corvallis, we came from Mac....waited for 15 minutes to get service, even water. Had to contact manager by waving at him..was at 12:30 and only breakfast menu, when saw lunch menu online. Asked if had, told "no by him and waitress...yet when got cocktail menu to look at drinks, had a number of lunch type options and had to change order !! How could they not mention this..Food was good, just whole experience was not worth the expensive cost and not worth it.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Food was amazing!! Doing everything right at Jory!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Sadly disappointing. I'd seen and heard the mixed reviews. We found the menu limited (one seafood entree was fried razor clams) and the quality of the food didn't meet expectations (poor quality lamb, chewy smoked duck). Won't go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

A little pricey, but great food, service and atmosphere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We live a couple miles from the Jory and go there at least a couple times a month for dinner. With the exception of it being difficult to get into, the food, service, and ambiance are always incredible. We know most of the permanent wait staff now and appreciate their attention to detail and pleasant service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very good service and dining experience but very expensive. Couldn't go there on a regular basis. Only on a special occasion. We do realize that it was a Valentines special menu.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We just moved to West Linn a year ago from Northern CA and decided to make it a monthly tradition to go to a nice restaurant for brunch. Once visiting Jory we decided this is where we wanted to spend our once a month brunch. Never have been disappointed. Everyone is so friendly and the menu changes each time we come. We are never rushed we can relax and have a very pleasant time. We look forward to our visit. Thank you Jory Staff for your outstanding service.
The valet parking staff are wonderful too, they meet us with smiles and a nice greeting.
Sending us on our way with smiles and a welcome back soon makes for a nice day.

The Halls

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was excellent here. Our server did a great job too. This was our first time here and we loved it. We definitely will be back. It is a very nice setting too.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 10, 2017

VERY GOOD FOOD AND OUTSTANDING SERVICE. WE WOULD DEFINITELY RETURN.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was gourmet and well prepared and displayed. Only drawback was that the majority of the dining room was curtained off due to offseason at the hotel

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Organic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our meal was first class, everyone's food was very good.
Would like to visit more often for business and pleasure.
Have stayed at the Hotel having dinned in the restaurant, very impressive.
One of the very best places in Oregon to dine and stay.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Historic, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food was perfect, waiter was attentive and aware of no dairy/no gluten, even brought gluten free bread and a dairy free menu!Excellent!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I want to say that I had dinner with two other people and theirs was fine. In my case my main entrée, which was the Lamb, was very poor. The meat was mostly grizzle. When I mentioned it to the hostess as we were leaving she said she would let the kitchen know. Not the response I wanted to hear from a very expensive restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great food & service. Took my wife for her birthday & we had a blast. Everything was delicious & they were very accommodating. Highly would recommend for a date night or special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We live just up the hill from The Allison and come for brunch or lunch quite often. This was maybe the 2nd or 3rd time for dinner and it was the most horrible dinner thus far. The cocktails, wine and first and middle courses were great. The entrees however, were awful. No flavor, dry and an all around disappointment. Looks like we will be sticking with brunch and lunch from now on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It was hubby's 70th birthday, so a special meal was in order. Our waiter was terrific and attentive, and made good suggestions. I opted for the sea scallops -- note that this dish includes only two scallops, and our waiter suggested I add an extra scallop (for additional charge), and he was right - two would not have been quite enough. And I was delighted by the preparation, a great combination of flavors and textures. The hubs chose the 8-oz. ribeye steak, which was very tender and cooked a perfect medium rare, with delicious seasoning. The potato accompaniment was an au gratin style and yummy, albeit rather rich. A great experience as always!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Here for lunch Christmas Eve. Such gracious servers and scrumptious lunch selections. Two of ordered the burger which came with fries. Excellently prepared with Wabi beef. I had the fisherman stew, also excellent with the broth being light and at the same time rich. All seafood was fresh and delicious. My daughter ordered the huevoa rancheros. Also excellent

Will do this again next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had superb meals with quite a few choices. We had a very attentive waiter who forsaw our every need. The view was terrific. We felt like we got our money's worth, even thoughit is on the expensive side. The pumpkin creme brule for dessert was outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food is always amazing here. The staff is incredibly attentive. You are never rushed through a course. One of the biggest things I noticed is that your next course will not come out until you are done with your present one. The value is in the food, atmosphere, and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Our food was wonderful. We each had a small salad with our meal. It was so fresh and beautifully done. I have had always had great food and service.
Our Pinot chocolate cake was fabulous! Love the Jory ❤️

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Healthy, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Went for the weekend and could only get a 1pm seating. Place was mostly empty??? Very light staff on hand and menu was lame. Ended up eating off lounge menu. Definitely not the hype it gets. Would recommend R/W in downtown Newberg

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I was stressed and rushed due to time restrictions an Snow!
My waitress was attentive, kind and just was a 5star experience! I will be returning for lunch the next 2 days! I really appreciate her gratitude and attention to my food allergies👏🏻

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We had the best breakfast EVERY at JORY. It was superb. We will definitely be visiting again. I wish the prices were a little lower, but it's worth experiencing for a special occasion or if you're staying there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.