About JORY Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa

2525 Allison Lane
Newberg, OR 97132
View Larger Map

The Allison Inn & Spa's acclaimed restaurant, JORY pays tribute to Oregon’s agricultural bounty with its own 1.5 acre vegetable garden and 850 item wine list known for its depth in Willamette Valley producers. Under the direction of Executive Chef Sunny Jin, JORY is one of Oregon's top culinary destinations. Known for delectable Wine Country cuisine, the freshest local ingredients and stunning Willamette Valley vistas, a meal here is inspired. Settle into the elegant yet comfortable dining room accented with fine art and appointments. Outside, soak up the sun on plush outdoor seating on the porch, with sweeping views of Willamette Valley and hazelnut orchards. Or enjoy a roaring cozy fireplace, perfect for an aperitif or after dinner conversation.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily, 6:30am - 10:30am
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday, 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Daily 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Springbrook

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 554-2526

Website:
http://www.theallison.com/restaurant

Entertainment:
Each Friday and Saturday join us in The Living Room for a night of vibrant musical entertainment, from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm, complimentary, ***all are welcome***. Past performers have been Michael Allen Harrison, Tom Grant, Karla Harris and more!

Catering:
For those occasion that call for a more customized approach, The Allison Inn & Spa offers private dining services and venues for groups of 20-250.



Since we realize that even serious venues can multi-task and be ideal for social gatherings or celebrations, you’ll discover our catering facilities are perfect for performances, weddings, parties for all occasions, corporate meetings, important board meetings, executive retreats and a ballroom designed for, of all things, dancing the night away.

Parking Details:
COMPLIMENTARY VALET PARKING, available at the main hotel entrance. We encourage you to use this great feature.

Executive Chef:
Sunny Jin

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining Room maximum seating for 12 guests.

Kitchen Chef’s Table – maximum seating for 10 guests are invited to take a front row seat in the kitchen as the culinary staff passionately prepares their evening dinner. Minimum fee applies.

Private Party Contact:
Ken Bolick: 5035542526x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Brussels Sprouts
Chanterelle mushroom soup
Chinook Salmon With Quinoa Cakes
Wagyu Striploin Steak
Jory Benedict
mac n cheese
Flan
Suflê de Chocolate
Duck Breast
Loin Of Lamb With Cauliflower/Potato Gratin
Pinot Chocolate Cake
Key Lime Tartlet

JORY Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Northwest
Portland / Oregon
Best Overall
Willamette Valley
Best Food
Willamette Valley
5 More
Best Service
Willamette Valley
Best Ambiance
Willamette Valley
Best Value
Willamette Valley
Fit for Foodies
Willamette Valley
Most Booked
Willamette Valley
Best Restaurants in Newberg ›

Special Occasion (36)
Scenic View (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
See All
Notable Wine List (26)
Great for Lunch (25)
Romantic (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Great for Brunch (18)
Good for Groups (10)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
681 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Another favorite of ours that we always ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Another favorite of ours that we always enjoy for lunch or dinner. We can relax knowing we will have a good meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Todd was a great waiter. Entire staff wa ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Todd was a great waiter. Entire staff was excellent

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I ordered your Seafood Stew and it was a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I ordered your Seafood Stew and it was a magnificent. It was a wonderful experience.

Thank you and I will have additional luncheons & Business meetings there.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had our 2nd wedding anniversary dinne ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We had our 2nd wedding anniversary dinner on August 16.

The service was amazing, Jeremy was our server for the night and he did a very nice job,let us feeling very welcomed.

We had our own bottle of wine but the sommelier helped us to decant it perfectly.

Oysters and salmon crudo were pairing amazingly with the Kerner that we find on the wine list.

The wagyu beef and the albacore tuna paired very well with the Barolo.

When we will have another unique date or free time from work we will go back again.

Thank you for your service

DARIO & SHEENA PISONI

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vegetarian offerings are pathetic salad ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Vegetarian offerings are pathetic salad for appetizer followed by a cold salad for entree

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Jory is always a pleasure for any occasi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Jory is always a pleasure for any occasion, any weather. Good food, great service! Yea!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I went Jory for their Sunday ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My wife and I went Jory for their Sunday brunch to celebrate our 38th anniversary. We were fortunate to be seated outdoors on the deck which offers a wonderful view of the valley. Everything was perfect. The meal was at a relaxed pace and allowed us to enjoy the outdoor setting to it's fullest.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was a terrific dining experience. Ni ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

It was a terrific dining experience. Nice to be outside on the deck and look out the beautiful landscape. Pleasant service and good food!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous from start to finish. We ate o ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fabulous from start to finish. We ate out on the deck and it was gorgeous. The service was fabulous as well.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit to Oregon and we were ce ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Our first visit to Oregon and we were celebrating our 34th wedding anniversary. The dining environment was comfortable and the service was attentive and well timed. We enjoyed our first course and main course dishes. I enjoyed the wood fired Waygu and my wife enjoyed her fish dish. Though the wine by the glass list is varied, my wife is partial to Rieslings that are on the dry side, and the selection was a bit limited. However, the server's recommendation for an alternative turned out to be a good choice. Overall, it was a very pleasant dinner experience in a wonderful setting and beautiful facility.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was so perfect. The service w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Everything was so perfect. The service was spot on. Present,

informative, and helpful while not being intrusive. The food exceeded expectations! Perfect portions and amazing seasoning. The ambience was peaceful. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

celebrate my husband birthday here and ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

celebrate my husband birthday here and we love this place so much. great environment with a great view. the service here is beyond great. Every single person that work here are professional and kind. the food is amazing good! You will not be disappointed dining here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service top notch as expected. ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food and service top notch as expected. It was a little annoying finding a parking space. Some idiot decided to set aside about 40 spaces for electric vehicles, non of which were actually being used by patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This gorgeous property in Newberg (?!) i ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This gorgeous property in Newberg (?!) is a beautiful destination for dining. Ingredients are excellent (local King salmon, greens grown on the property, etc.), but the menu could use a more creative hand. Servers need some professional training to rise above the small-town overly solicitous, awkwardly timed, interrupting interactions with diners. The wine list, appropriate for a wine country resort, is well populated with excellent wines by the glass, as well as the bottle, and represents a great depth and breadth of offerings from the local wineries and elsewhere. Overall, a lovely setting with great potential for a real destination -- hope the dining experience can rise to match to the surroundings.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

The Jory restaurant is consistently outs ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The Jory restaurant is consistently outstanding. The menu food and service are spot on. It is a relaxed fun place to eat and is not a bit pretentious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have eaten at Jory's several time and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I have eaten at Jory's several time and must say I was a little disappointed in the service for our lunch. I know the waitperson stressed that everything was "made fresh" at the restaurant, but I didn't think that applied to the chocolate cake dessert we ordered. We were a little short on time at that point and when she was asked about it she replied, "I told you everything was made from scratch and it is still in the oven". She didn't offer an alternative and even though we were short on time, we elected to wait for it. It isn't a huge deal but perhaps when we ordered it she could have told us it would take x number of minutes to prepare it as it had to be baked.

As usual the food was delicious and all of us enjoyed the different things we ate.

Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

My wife and I spent two nights at the Al ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My wife and I spent two nights at the Allison. We ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and had room service twice. It was all very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The service and food were excellent. Wo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The service and food were excellent. Would highly recommend Jory as a fine dining restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Clearly the best that the Willamette Val ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Clearly the best that the Willamette Valley has to offer. Excellent presentation. Outstanding wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Derrick was awesome . we had lunch out s ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Derrick was awesome . we had lunch out side. Thank you

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for a fabulous meal from ren ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great place for a fabulous meal from renowned chef. The home made ravioli with crab was divine as was the trio of chocolate pudding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chicken dish was fantastic, as well ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The chicken dish was fantastic, as well as the burger! Derrick was our server, and he was wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate breakfast, lunch and dinner there. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Ate breakfast, lunch and dinner there. Not sure which meal is referenced. The wine recommendations were very good and very reasonable. Enjoyed the food and service.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I love the quiet elegance and crazy long ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I love the quiet elegance and crazy long wine list at Jory, and had been looking forward to finding a time to have lunch there with some friends. As usual, the wine options were great, and the food was very good (a bit expensive for the value in my opinion). It was disappointing that because it was Monday July 4 there was a very breakfast-heavy brunch menu offered at 1pm, with no sandwiches and really very little for someone like me who prefers savory to sweet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We celebrated our anniversary here and h ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary here and had the most amazing and memorable dinner ever. The service was excellent. The meal impeccable and just amazing. A real treat! On top of it we felt so special because the chef hand scribed "Happy Anniversary" in chocolate on our dessert plates and gave us dessert on the house. Everything about the Allison is customer-service oriented and they pay attention to every detail. The JORY is just another extension of the quality, service and product coming together for a 5-star experience that you can expect at the Allison. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were great. Will defini ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Food and service were great. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had brunch at JORY restaurant on Satu ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had brunch at JORY restaurant on Saturday and both ordered the crab cakes with hollandaise sauce, country potatoes and a salad. The crab cakes were generously filled with crab meat and wonderfully flavored. Service was attentive, friendly, and prompt. The wine list is exceptional! We will definitely be returning again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food professionally presented ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Very good food professionally presented. Nice wine list. Great location and atmosphere. Worth the price? Probably not compared to other top restaurants. However a great place for a special dinner given the area of Oregon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Jory was mostly excellent, with exceptio ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Jory was mostly excellent, with exceptional food, a wonderful Oregon-strong wine list and generally good service. Our only issue was that our waiter had a habit of disappearing for long stretches. Granted, it was a pretty slow night, but we sometimes went 10-15 minutes without seeing a single staffer, so something as simple as asking for more water or butter became an annoyance.

Probably an off night, but we expected better from Jory.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

this restaurant is a gem!!! amazing food ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

this restaurant is a gem!!! amazing food, amazing service !!! 5 star, farm to table, perfect meal!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dinning experience, the servic ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Fantastic dinning experience, the service was amazing. Our food was creative, seasonal, delicious and was artfully presented. Can't wait to eat here again, loved every dish. The servers are knowledgeable about the dishes and were able to suggest wine pairings, which isn't always the case in other fine dinning establishments. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service and food was superb. Amazing pla ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Service and food was superb. Amazing place

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lunch menu can have more variety, more c ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Lunch menu can have more variety, more choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Outstanding!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

An amazing experience. Incredible service... fantastic food... everything was top notch!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful Setting

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This is a very nice setting. We were there early for breakfast.

It is very close to Portland but makes you feel like you are miles away in the country. The Service was very friendly. They probably could have been a little quicker getting our food to the table but it was a great presentation and the taste was also very good. It is a little spendy for breakfast so I probably won't be eating here too often but I would definitely go back for special occasions and to try the dinner menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Repeated Enjoyment

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Another perfectly prepared meal at Jory for my wife's birthday. Many seasonal and local ingredients.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great local wine list, asparagus salad w ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Great local wine list, asparagus salad was excellent and salmon was cooked perfectly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disapppoining

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Waited a long time for food. Brought out our first plates, then bread. We were surprised at the change in order of food delivery. The tables around us seemed to get the food in the correct order. After some more time, the main course was brought out, cold. My wife has never in our 34 years of marriage sent a plate back, but she felt this food needed some heat, even a little. They must have changed the plates so when they were returned, the duck was served without jus on the duck. So, another call to the server. Tough night, for them it seemed, and ourselves. Would not consider a return visit, too disappointing

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

A pleasant elegant repass...............

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

When one wants to enjoy the combination of elegant and relaxed, The Alison is the choice.

Absolutely incredible service and ambience highlight the excellently prepared and presented

menu choices. . A walk around the Alison to enjoy the gardens and art is a must after dining

experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Utterly reliable quality in food and ser ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Utterly reliable quality in food and service. Our local gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.