About Jolie's

4 New Valley Road
New City, NY 10956
View Larger Map

American comfort food served in an beautiful casual space. From our walnut topped bar, oak wood floors, to our inviting outdoor seating you will feel transported to Manhattan without the commute. Freshly prepared breakfast, lunch & dinner as well as home baked desserts sets this restaurant apart from the rest of the county. Allergy friendly, many gluten free options!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday 11 am - 9 pm, Tuesday -Sunday 9 am - 10pm, weekend brunch served both Saturday & Sunday, breakfast served until 4 pm every day. Early bird dinner served Monday - Thursday 4pm - 6 pm

Cross Street:
Little Tor Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(845) 709-6733

Website:
http://www.joliesrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Joel Faber

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Jolie's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

4.7

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
See All
Creative Cuisine (1)
Healthy (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Business Meals (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Casual (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
124 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was absolutely delicious! Plates c ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was absolutely delicious! Plates came out hot and food stayed hot till the last bite! Definitely will return and try out their brunch!

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sadly the place has deteriorated. Venue ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Sadly the place has deteriorated. Venue is falling apart. In addition food and service are in need of an overhaul too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

Food and service were outstanding.

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food and service were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After our appetizers our food took almos ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2016

After our appetizers our food took almost an hour to come out. We were 4 people - 3 people got their meals and the 4th person had to wait almost 10 minutes to be served plus one part of that person's meal was late to come out. Prices for the SMALL meals was high -- prices for specials were not announced. This was a very disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Jolies Brunch

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to Jolie's for Mother's Day Brunch. I use a walker and found it very difficult to maneuver through the outdoor dining area with the walker. Patrons were very courteous and had no issues with moving and making way for me in both the outdoor area and the very narrow walkways between tables inside. Food was very good, although the waiter had many tables to work and was rather slow getting back to us. They were very busy though and I'm sure that played a large part of the service issues. We would definitely go back though.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great food, but very busy

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I booked a reservation at Jolie's on Mother's Day for 10:15. we arrived promptly at 10:15 only to find that, not only weren't we going to get a table at our reservation time, but we were going to have to wait an additional 20 minutes just to be seated. Now while this is certainly a pain in the you-know-what, I have to admit that once we were seated the food was excellent! This is probably why it was so busy. So in sum, go there because the food is awesome, but be prepared to wait sometimes because of the crowds.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Nice Local Neighborhood place

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Good food...drinks were ok nothing great. Service was friendly. Good place to go if you are local and want a decent dinner

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

I feel that this place is in the wrong t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2016

I feel that this place is in the wrong town and doesn't get the support it deserves. As a west jester resident I can think of a million places where this restaurant would thrive. The food is always fresh. The take on comfort foods and classic dishes infused with new and fun flavored and ingredients is second to none. You can tell a lot of care and experience goes into this food and I cannot rave enough about the consistency. Every time I go it is just as good, if not better than the last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Average restaurant. Bad music but nice s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Average restaurant. Bad music but nice service :)

Food mediocre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

I had brunch here and may I say the food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2016

I had brunch here and may I say the food was delicious! I had pancakes and turkey bacon and it was so good. This is a nice place to have brunch with a friend or celebrate a birthday or anniversary. The outdoor seating is great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food choices. Each dish had a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2016

Excellent food choices. Each dish had an individual flavor unique to the main ingredient. Sea bass cooked just right with broccoli and pine it risotto. Crab cake over a veggie medley and tilapia sautéed with veggies and roasted potatoes.

Definitely will go again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Small and crowded but the service is ver ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Small and crowded but the service is very good considering. They have a great wine list and good prices on dishes. The food is very good as well and also fun. Tons of mac n cheese dishes to pick from and all your loved comfort foods.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Usual high quality food, great attentive ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2016

Usual high quality food, great attentive service and wonderful dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jolies

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2016

People where very nice/ Owner was very friendly

Food was very good . My wife had peanut butter bacon and banana

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food as always, great service, fri ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2016

Great food as always, great service, friendly and accommodating atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a delicious meal....love my waite ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Always a delicious meal....love my waiter Kevin😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always amazing food! I've tried quite a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2016

Always amazing food! I've tried quite a few different items on their menu and each has been tasty.

Our table was sticky and service was fairly slow- but very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Not what we hoped for.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2016

My husband and I are new to the area and seeking chef owned and operated restaurants.

My simple cheeseburger was not cooked to order and had to be sent back to the kitchen twice which set up a bad dining experience for the both of us.

The owner apologized with the excuse that his new chef was not used to his equipment yet.

This place is not what we were looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

Once again a fabulous meal!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2016

Once again a fabulous meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Place

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2016

This place was really good. It was snowing when we went, and there was no one eating when we went, but the food and service was great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The blackened chicken risotto is amazing ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2016

The blackened chicken risotto is amazing! Great wine list! Lovely servers! Perfect restaurant for date night or a group of friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Usual excellent and accommodating servic ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2016

Usual excellent and accommodating service paired with terrific food with a great presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, great ambiance!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2016

Third time at Jolie's, always a great atmosphere and great service, but my food was just good. Mixed reviews from others in my party. Some said it was "the best", others said it was good. Regardless, good food, great service, fair prices; will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Love this place

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2016

I have been many times and will continue to go back. Joel, the owner and chef, is fantastic and usually there at the restaurant working in the kitchen. The food is fantastic. I have tried many of the dishes and have yet to be disappointed. The Brunch and dinner menu are different and both are great so I encourage you to try both.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Wonderful Food

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 12, 2015

The food is always wonderful. It comes out of the kitchen hot and only the freshest ingredients are used. The chef always comes out to make sure that everything is good. My daughter has allergies and will talk with her about the dishes and how he can adjust them for her.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Resturant

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 6, 2015

This was the 4th visit to this restaurant for my wife and I. Each time we go we cannot believe the freshness of the items. The shrimp cocktail was so fresh the cracked when you bit them.

Although I normally would have had the Meatloaf wrapped in bacon I chose to go for the scallops over the Parmesan Polenta, which is to die for.

My wife has enjoyed the Maple glazed pork chops but went for the stuffed tilapia, which she loved. Topped off by great service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 6, 2015

The title of my review says it all. The food was great and the staff, from the owner/chef to the hostess and servers were terrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wouldn't go back.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 5, 2015

When a customer comes in for the first time I view how considerate a restaurant is as to where they seat them, especially when it isn't crowded. The owner/chef(?) chose to seat us near the kitchen doors. Bad idea. We ordered the hummus as an appetizer. It was very tasty but very salty. We chose not to drink so we stuck with just water. We had a salad to start and, to me, the dressing had a hint of rancidity. The owner showed us a crab cake dish if we chose to order it. It looked wonderful so we did. My wife ordered the roasted chicken with mashed potatoes. The crab cake looked better than it tasted. The chicken was dry, tasteless and the brown mystery sauce was equally flat. In my opinion, it felt that the owner spent a lot of time outside of the kitchen rather than looking after the food being cooked. For a pricey meal without alcohol we did not have a pleasant experience. And for that I would not return to Jolie's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Food is always amazing. Although they ta ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2015

Food is always amazing. Although they take reservations be prepared to wait for your table.

It's worth the wait but there is limited space to stand and the bar is small

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I have resisted the urge to review this ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2015

I have resisted the urge to review this restaurant as I didn't want a small sample to skew my opinion. But after dozens of trips here with friends and family I can say without hesitation that this is the best restaurant in Rockland County. Hands down. I try to have different items and I have sampled at least half the offerings. I have yet to have anything that was not fabulous or that I wouldn't order again and recommend. I'm not one to go on and on but I could talking about Jolie's. You must try it. You will not regret it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were looking for some place new

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2015

We recalled reading a write-up about Jolie's in the local newspaper. It came to mind as some place new to try. We are very glad we did! The outstanding Chorizo mac & cheese was recommend by the wait staff. Pork chops were tender and juicy. Mom ate all of her blackened Salmon. The Peanut butter and Banana roll made the meal.

Plus it was quiet, so we could have a normal conversation!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Don't Judge a Book by It's Cover

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2015

From the outside, it looks like a store in a strip mall. Walk in and the warm decor sets the tone. Dark colors, warm wood tables, tin ceiling. The menu is not large - have been there fore brunch, lunch and dinner - but it is varied. There is something for everyone. The food is very good - from the salads, to the pancakes and sandwiches, the mac and cheese and the fish. My husband had the meatloaf wrapped in bacon - it looked amazing. The mashed potatoes were also great. Have not had a bad meal here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had a 7:15 reservation but was not se ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2015

We had a 7:15 reservation but was not seated until 7:45. They made no attempt to rectify the wait until we said that we expected our drinks on the house due to the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Worst table in the house

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2015

Only table left was by the drafty door. Small restaurant. Patrons crowd near table waiting to be seated. Very unpleasant dining experience!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Amazing gluten free waffles! So many wo ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 29, 2015

Amazing gluten free waffles! So many wonderful gluten options that I actually ordered TWO meals in one sitting. My family had to roll my overstuffed self out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food Just Not Right

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2015

We tried this restaurant a year ago. The pasta sauce was way too salty. I could hardly eat it. And the waiter forgot my order so I had to watch everyone else eat until mine came. There are not that many good restaurants in Rockland County so last weekend, we decided to give them another try, hoping they had just had a bad day. Once again, my food was way too salty. And my husband ordered a steak medium rare. It came well done. They were very gracious about cooking another but he had to wait while the rest of our group ate their dinner. We like the atmosphere and really wanted them to succeed. But they just cannot seem to get things right. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

Very Good Neighborhood Place

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2015

Our go to place in the neighborhood. Everything was great except for an octopus appetizer that had far too little octopus for $19.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice local restaurant

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 24, 2015

Went for brunch. Food was really good and our server was excellent. My only issue was I introduced myself to the owner because he was a friend of a friend and he was very unfriendly. I was a little disappointed about that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I really like this place just I didn't w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 21, 2015

I really like this place just I didn't want brunch. Probably my mistake as it was a Sunday afternoon. Food was great but not what I wanted at the moment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Disappointing first impression

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2015

We tried Jolie's on account of the other online reviews which were largely very positive. Our food was good; not "off the charts," but solid and flavorful. That's about the extent of the positive things I can say however. To say that the service was poor is a gross understatement. We arrived 5 minutes before our reservation time on a busy Friday night, and were told by the hostess that our table was almost ready. There was no room at the crowded bar in the tiny bistro space, so we waited outside. Luckily it was a nice night. She even brought us drinks, which was most welcomed. Sounds good right ? Twenty five minutes later, and still no table. When I inquired why another group of four had been seated ahead of us, I was told that "they are regulars and they spoke with (the hostess') boss--presumably the bartender. If you're into that kind of thing (being treated like a second class diner), Jolie's is for you! Once we finally were seated (30 minutes late), we could barely get water or bread let alone service as there was only one server for 17 tables. Yes, you read that right. When we spoke with the chef later he told us he had a server call out and there was "a local high school graduation." I understand that stuff happens but clearly there was a lack of planning and corners cut. Jolie's had potential, but as the saying goes, you only get one chance to make a first impression.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.