About Jolie's

4 New Valley Road
New City, NY 10956
View Larger Map

American comfort food served in an beautiful casual space. From our walnut topped bar, oak wood floors, to our inviting outdoor seating you will feel transported to Manhattan without the commute. Freshly prepared breakfast, lunch & dinner as well as home baked desserts sets this restaurant apart from the rest of the county. Allergy friendly, many gluten free options!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday 11 am - 9 pm, Tuesday -Sunday 9 am - 10pm, weekend brunch served both Saturday & Sunday, breakfast served until 4 pm every day. Early bird dinner served Monday - Thursday 4pm - 6 pm

Cross Street:
Little Tor Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(845) 709-6733

Website:
http://www.joliesrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Joel Faber

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Jolie's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Westchester / Hudson Valley
Best Restaurants in New City ›

neighborhood gem (17)
great for brunch (13)
great for lunch (11)
See All
fit for foodies (10)
special occasion (5)
kid-friendly (5)
good for groups (5)
great for outdoor dining (2)
romantic (2)
late-night find (1)
notable wine list (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Jolies Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to Jolie's for Mother's Day Brunch. I use a walker and found it very difficult to maneuver through the outdoor dining area with the walker. Patrons were very courteous and had no issues with moving and making way for me in both the outdoor area and the very narrow walkways between tables inside. Food was very good, although the waiter had many tables to work and was rather slow getting back to us. They were very busy though and I'm sure that played a large part of the service issues. We would definitely go back though.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food, but very busy

Dined on May 8, 2016

I booked a reservation at Jolie's on Mother's Day for 10:15. we arrived promptly at 10:15 only to find that, not only weren't we going to get a table at our reservation time, but we were going to have to wait an additional 20 minutes just to be seated. Now while this is certainly a pain in the you-know-what, I have to admit that once we were seated the food was excellent! This is probably why it was so busy. So in sum, go there because the food is awesome, but be prepared to wait sometimes because of the crowds.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

Nice Local Neighborhood place

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Good food...drinks were ok nothing great. Service was friendly. Good place to go if you are local and want a decent dinner

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

I feel that this place is in the wrong t ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

I feel that this place is in the wrong town and doesn't get the support it deserves. As a west jester resident I can think of a million places where this restaurant would thrive. The food is always fresh. The take on comfort foods and classic dishes infused with new and fun flavored and ingredients is second to none. You can tell a lot of care and experience goes into this food and I cannot rave enough about the consistency. Every time I go it is just as good, if not better than the last.

food2
ambience2
service3

Average restaurant. Bad music but nice s ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Average restaurant. Bad music but nice service :) Food mediocre

food5
ambience4
service4

I had brunch here and may I say the food ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

I had brunch here and may I say the food was delicious! I had pancakes and turkey bacon and it was so good. This is a nice place to have brunch with a friend or celebrate a birthday or anniversary. The outdoor seating is great too!

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food choices. Each dish had a ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Excellent food choices. Each dish had an individual flavor unique to the main ingredient. Sea bass cooked just right with broccoli and pine it risotto. Crab cake over a veggie medley and tilapia sautéed with veggies and roasted potatoes. Definitely will go again and again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Usual high quality food, great attentive ...

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Usual high quality food, great attentive service and wonderful dining experience

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jolies

Dined on March 27, 2016

People where very nice/ Owner was very friendly Food was very good . My wife had peanut butter bacon and banana

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food as always, great service, fri ...

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

Great food as always, great service, friendly and accommodating atmosphere

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a delicious meal....love my waite ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Always a delicious meal....love my waiter Kevin😊

food5
ambience4
service4

Always amazing food! I've tried quite a ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Always amazing food! I've tried quite a few different items on their menu and each has been tasty. Our table was sticky and service was fairly slow- but very friendly.

food1
ambience3
service1
value3

Not what we hoped for.

Dined on March 5, 2016

My husband and I are new to the area and seeking chef owned and operated restaurants. My simple cheeseburger was not cooked to order and had to be sent back to the kitchen twice which set up a bad dining experience for the both of us. The owner apologized with the excuse that his new chef was not used to his equipment yet. This place is not what we were looking for.

food5
ambience5
service5

Once again a fabulous meal!

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

Once again a fabulous meal!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Place

Dined on February 15, 2016

This place was really good. It was snowing when we went, and there was no one eating when we went, but the food and service was great.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

The blackened chicken risotto is amazing ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The blackened chicken risotto is amazing! Great wine list! Lovely servers! Perfect restaurant for date night or a group of friends.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Usual excellent and accommodating servic ...

vip
Dined on January 27, 2016

Usual excellent and accommodating service paired with terrific food with a great presentation.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service, great ambiance!

Dined on January 17, 2016

Third time at Jolie's, always a great atmosphere and great service, but my food was just good. Mixed reviews from others in my party. Some said it was "the best", others said it was good. Regardless, good food, great service, fair prices; will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Love this place

Dined on January 16, 2016

I have been many times and will continue to go back. Joel, the owner and chef, is fantastic and usually there at the restaurant working in the kitchen. The food is fantastic. I have tried many of the dishes and have yet to be disappointed. The Brunch and dinner menu are different and both are great so I encourage you to try both.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Food

Dined on December 12, 2015

The food is always wonderful. It comes out of the kitchen hot and only the freshest ingredients are used. The chef always comes out to make sure that everything is good. My daughter has allergies and will talk with her about the dishes and how he can adjust them for her.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Resturant

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

This was the 4th visit to this restaurant for my wife and I. Each time we go we cannot believe the freshness of the items. The shrimp cocktail was so fresh the cracked when you bit them. Although I normally would have had the Meatloaf wrapped in bacon I chose to go for the scallops over the Parmesan Polenta, which is to die for. My wife has enjoyed the Maple glazed pork chops but went for the stuffed tilapia, which she loved. Topped off by great service!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

Dined on December 6, 2015

The title of my review says it all. The food was great and the staff, from the owner/chef to the hostess and servers were terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4

Wouldn't go back.

Dined on December 5, 2015

When a customer comes in for the first time I view how considerate a restaurant is as to where they seat them, especially when it isn't crowded. The owner/chef(?) chose to seat us near the kitchen doors. Bad idea. We ordered the hummus as an appetizer. It was very tasty but very salty. We chose not to drink so we stuck with just water. We had a salad to start and, to me, the dressing had a hint of rancidity. The owner showed us a crab cake dish if we chose to order it. It looked wonderful so we did. My wife ordered the roasted chicken with mashed potatoes. The crab cake looked better than it tasted. The chicken was dry, tasteless and the brown mystery sauce was equally flat. In my opinion, it felt that the owner spent a lot of time outside of the kitchen rather than looking after the food being cooked. For a pricey meal without alcohol we did not have a pleasant experience. And for that I would not return to Jolie's.

food5
ambience4
service4

Food is always amazing. Although they ta ...

vip
Dined on November 8, 2015

Food is always amazing. Although they take reservations be prepared to wait for your table. It's worth the wait but there is limited space to stand and the bar is small

food5
ambience5
service5

I have resisted the urge to review this ...

vip
Dined on November 7, 2015

I have resisted the urge to review this restaurant as I didn't want a small sample to skew my opinion. But after dozens of trips here with friends and family I can say without hesitation that this is the best restaurant in Rockland County. Hands down. I try to have different items and I have sampled at least half the offerings. I have yet to have anything that was not fabulous or that I wouldn't order again and recommend. I'm not one to go on and on but I could talking about Jolie's. You must try it. You will not regret it.

food5
ambience4
service5

We were looking for some place new

Dined on October 24, 2015

We recalled reading a write-up about Jolie's in the local newspaper. It came to mind as some place new to try. We are very glad we did! The outstanding Chorizo mac & cheese was recommend by the wait staff. Pork chops were tender and juicy. Mom ate all of her blackened Salmon. The Peanut butter and Banana roll made the meal. Plus it was quiet, so we could have a normal conversation!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Don't Judge a Book by It's Cover

vip
Dined on October 23, 2015

From the outside, it looks like a store in a strip mall. Walk in and the warm decor sets the tone. Dark colors, warm wood tables, tin ceiling. The menu is not large - have been there fore brunch, lunch and dinner - but it is varied. There is something for everyone. The food is very good - from the salads, to the pancakes and sandwiches, the mac and cheese and the fish. My husband had the meatloaf wrapped in bacon - it looked amazing. The mashed potatoes were also great. Have not had a bad meal here.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service2

We had a 7:15 reservation but was not se ...

vip
Dined on October 3, 2015

We had a 7:15 reservation but was not seated until 7:45. They made no attempt to rectify the wait until we said that we expected our drinks on the house due to the wait.

food4
ambience2
service4

Worst table in the house

Dined on October 3, 2015

Only table left was by the drafty door. Small restaurant. Patrons crowd near table waiting to be seated. Very unpleasant dining experience!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing gluten free waffles! So many wo ...

vip
Dined on August 29, 2015

Amazing gluten free waffles! So many wonderful gluten options that I actually ordered TWO meals in one sitting. My family had to roll my overstuffed self out.

food1
ambience4
service2

Food Just Not Right

Dined on August 1, 2015

We tried this restaurant a year ago. The pasta sauce was way too salty. I could hardly eat it. And the waiter forgot my order so I had to watch everyone else eat until mine came. There are not that many good restaurants in Rockland County so last weekend, we decided to give them another try, hoping they had just had a bad day. Once again, my food was way too salty. And my husband ordered a steak medium rare. It came well done. They were very gracious about cooking another but he had to wait while the rest of our group ate their dinner. We like the atmosphere and really wanted them to succeed. But they just cannot seem to get things right. We will not be back.

food4
ambience4
service5

Very Good Neighborhood Place

Dined on July 25, 2015

Our go to place in the neighborhood. Everything was great except for an octopus appetizer that had far too little octopus for $19.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice local restaurant

vip
Dined on July 24, 2015

Went for brunch. Food was really good and our server was excellent. My only issue was I introduced myself to the owner because he was a friend of a friend and he was very unfriendly. I was a little disappointed about that.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

I really like this place just I didn't w ...

Dined on June 21, 2015

I really like this place just I didn't want brunch. Probably my mistake as it was a Sunday afternoon. Food was great but not what I wanted at the moment.

food4
ambience2
service1

Disappointing first impression

vip
Dined on June 19, 2015

We tried Jolie's on account of the other online reviews which were largely very positive. Our food was good; not "off the charts," but solid and flavorful. That's about the extent of the positive things I can say however. To say that the service was poor is a gross understatement. We arrived 5 minutes before our reservation time on a busy Friday night, and were told by the hostess that our table was almost ready. There was no room at the crowded bar in the tiny bistro space, so we waited outside. Luckily it was a nice night. She even brought us drinks, which was most welcomed. Sounds good right ? Twenty five minutes later, and still no table. When I inquired why another group of four had been seated ahead of us, I was told that "they are regulars and they spoke with (the hostess') boss--presumably the bartender. If you're into that kind of thing (being treated like a second class diner), Jolie's is for you! Once we finally were seated (30 minutes late), we could barely get water or bread let alone service as there was only one server for 17 tables. Yes, you read that right. When we spoke with the chef later he told us he had a server call out and there was "a local high school graduation." I understand that stuff happens but clearly there was a lack of planning and corners cut. Jolie's had potential, but as the saying goes, you only get one chance to make a first impression.

food5
ambience5
service5

Jolie's food far exceeds its location and price.

Dined on June 2, 2015

The owner Chef, Joel is a great chef and host. Jolies menu is very eclectic. Each dish he makes has his own special touch and flavor. His menu includes comfort foods as well as interesting seafood dishes. The biggest winner for me is always the grilled octopus appetizer. He prepares it to perfection every time. His cowboy steak for two is fantastic and at only $45 is unbelievable. This is a chef and restaurant that is worth the trip from anywhere.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice neighborhood restaurant

vip
Dined on May 26, 2015

Nice neighborhood restaurant with delicious food and nice menu options. A bit pricey for midweek drop by dinner. ($100 with tip) for salad, salmon and coffee

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5

Will not be disappointed

Dined on May 22, 2015

I am always looking for my next meal to be better than the last. Jolie's was a great find down a side street where I live. The server was super attentive and knowledgable. We weren't pressured to put in apps and main course at the same time. I had a grilled octopus salad on a white bean puree that will change your mind about octopus. The chef made his way to every table and explained that he slowed steamed it 4.5 hours, then marinated it, the to the saute pan and grill...it melted in my mouth. My main course was equally as delectable. I had soft shell crab over a watermelon, feta, red onion salad. Exquisite. My fiancee had the Chimichurri steak which came out cooked more than med rare and in a heart beat he had a new plate w/ a well cooked steak and homemade sauce that took his breath away. We also ordered martini's that weren't shaken enough and were kind of warm, no problem again...they took they back and they were perfect. We would definately go there again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

New City Gem

Dined on May 10, 2015

The food was delicious and fresh, with lots of options especially for brunch. The staff was accommodating, friendly and warm, We felt very welcomed there and will definitely make Jolie's a "go to" place when we want to make sure we have a good time.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Don't go for brunch on holiday!

vip
Dined on May 10, 2015

Waited 40 minutes to get seated with our reservation. Many patrons upset. Once seated, food and service were fine. They just need to learn how to manage capacity better.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.