Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Olathe

4.3
157 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Quiet Conversation
Johnny’s Italian Steakhouse offers delicious steaks, classic Italian and spectacular seafood in a classic supper clubs atmosphere. We blend traditions of the past with the present by adding a touch of class and a lot of edge.

You will catch the supper club vibe the moment you hear the classic sounds of Sinatra, Dean and Sammy Davis, Jr. as well as contemporary crooners like Michael Bublé and Harry Connick Jr. while you relax and enjoy

A glowing neon Blue Bar™ beckons you in for cocktails at the bar or to relax on soft seating in the lounge. Our bartenders are well versed in their craft so ask for a classic martini, specialty cocktail and a selection from our extensive wine list. Join us for breakfast lunch and dinner in this beautiful hotel restaurant conbination.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Italian, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:00am - 10:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm.
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(913) 815-2323
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Eric Hills
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We have an onsite event coordinate to plan your perfect event. We offer customizeable chef prepared menus with event space to accommodate up to 250 guests with 2600 square feet of meeting space. We also offer an outdoor urban heated terrace for private events.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Mandy Mook : (913) 815-2333
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
S Hospitality Rd
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We offer private parking to accommodate your event and nearby hotels.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We will work with you to plan any special event. We can configure our spaces for groups up to 250. Business conferences, training. seminars, rehearsal dinner and wedding receptions. One call is all it takes and we will walk you through the process.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 157 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.2
service
3.9
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Quiet
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

I ordered the wrong steak, Wasn’t happy with it, they let me order a different one which was AMAZING! Nice job!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Overall we were disappointed with the food at Johnny’s. We started with the calamari as the app and it was so salty we couldn’t finish it. I love salt and it made me pucker up it was so bad.

I got the steak medalians, which were cooked well but had no flavor. I have never had a steak I couldn’t taste and this is the one. The garlic sauce didn’t help and for $28 I was disappointed.

My wife got the shrimp scampi and said the only flavor it had was the abundance of red pepper flakes. If it weren’t for those it would have been bland.

Service was good, our server was nice and friendly.

Overall we won’t be going back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Had been here before and looked forward to another visit. They were overwhelmed with prom night. Service slow at first but manager got involved and paid for an appetizer and first round of drinks. With this type of restaurant it should have not gotten to that level. Disappointed that they were not prepared for a busy night. Food was good. Will try one more time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter brunch. Really enjoyed the Bananas Foster.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

It was excellent. The food arrived quickly and everyone enjoyed their meal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Atmosphere- kids screaming. Not always terrible. Tonight kinda sucked though. Not their fault. Its the parents.

Food- love the stuffed mushrooms. Everything else is just okay.

Service- got told some bs that salads and bread are served after appetizers. That's stupid. If thats the resturants policy then thats ridiculous. Waitress was more concerned about others than our table. Maybe its bc people judge us for dressing plain like we can not possibly go to restaurants on a regular basis or afford an expansive dinner.

We paid 90 for 2 apps the porterhouse and 16 oz prime rib. Expensive dinner for sh*t service.

The only reason to go back is the stuffed mushrooms.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We had have a bad experiences in the past. Our faith has been restored. The food was hot, tasted great and Cassidy was awesome server! I look forward to our next dinner there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Food and service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The food was excellent! The atmosphere was comfortable and pleasant. We will be returning again soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Me and wife loved our dinner i had the parmesaan crusted steak with a stuffed shrimp. It was great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

My wife ask for what she belived a gluten free option from the menu but the chef came out and personally discussed the option of the sauce tjat didn't make it gluten free. He changed the sauce to me her needs. Awesome for the chef to take the effort to change his menu vs saying the restraurant or menu could not meet customer expection. HATS off to Jake to work through my wifes gluten disorder. Veey few restraurant in KS do this for a customer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

We went for my mother’s birthday, as they were staying at the hotel. It was a wonderful experience, and we look forward to coming back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Don't let the fact it's a part of the hotel deter you. Very nice place, great steaks and seafood.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Server was not very attentive, just really didn’t seem like he was interested in being there.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We have eaten at Johnny's Italian Steakhouse several times and those experiences brought us back. But this time, New Year's Eve, the experience wasn't up to par. We arrived for our 6pm reservations and seated promptly. Unfortunately the table of 6 next to us had started their celebration earlier and were very noisy. Usually Johnny's is quite, enabling our dining partners to talk without shouting, but not tonight. Guess you have to expect some patrons to be boisterous this night, but we thought they would act like adults. They didn't.

But let's get to the food. All of us ordered steaks, this being a steakhouse, and the first change in quality was the temperature of the food when served. Many of us said their meat or potatoes we tepid or cold. While personally my ribeye was warmer than that, it was on the done side, when I asked it to be cook medium. Thank goodness for a good cut of meat, or this would have been a bad experience. No one else expressed concern with the degree of doneness with their steaks, and the server did ask about that aspect of our food. But the temperature of the food when served shouldn't be a question at a restaurant like this.

Maybe it was the event taking place this night, but overall this experience will have us questioning our return. That's too bad considering the positive nature of our other visits.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 23, 2017

Very quiet and private for a date night

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Very disappointed...based on other ratings I had high expectations. This place is fine for a restaurant in a Holiday inn Express, but the previous reviews made it sound like a classy steakhouse. Mid tier steakhouse at best.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 16, 2017

It was just ok. Sometimes restaurants attached to hotels leave a bit to be desired and that is how I ended up feeling about this one. It just felt lackluster - especially for the prices.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 2, 2017

I have been to Johnny's Steak House in the past and really enjoyed the food and experience. This time around, although the bread, salad and wine were all good, our main courses were a let down to say the least (steak was not prepared right, was not flavorful, mashed potatoes were cold, and shrimp were undercooked and lacked flavor and were not hot). I was happy that such a swankier place actually opened up in Olathe (which is basically restaurant chainville), but I do not think my wife and I will be back. This is really too bad.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 3, 2017

Food quality and portion size subpar.
Friends ordered seafood dishes, with very few mussels and poor quality as well as lobster with hardly any lobster (langostino-like not lobster).
Cappuccino not great ... waiter informed me it was machined made and just pressed the button.
Overall fair experience and would not recommend to friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 1, 2017

Excellent Steak! The place was terrific!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 28, 2017

The restaurant provided a quiet place to have dinner with friends and the food was extremely good! We will go back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 13, 2017

The host was slow to greet us, the table was not ready at reservation time, and as we observed, the wait staff seemed stressed/rushing around. After the initial less than favorable impression, however, things improved. We were offered a seat at the bar and compimentary drinks, then shown to a nice table within about 10-15 minutes. Our waiter was appropriately attentive. The food was excellent, and we had a hard time choosing as the menu was full of tasty sounding items. The restaurant has nice ambiance and is quiet, easily allowing conversation. We are likely to stop in again the next time we pass through town!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 5, 2017

The pork chop medallion was very good and the accomodated our large group very well.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 4, 2017

Server was terrific.
Food in both dinners was overdone.
Dressings on salads were much too heavy in volume.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2017

Johnny's is always a good choice for a quiet but elegant and superb meal. Several of our friends and neighbors also know about you ad use you on a regular basis. GOOD JOB!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 29, 2017

Greats-- drinks; appetizers (shrimp); steaks; dessert
Mediocre--salads (caesar--too much dressing & spinach--"warm" bacon dressing was not
Service was slow to get to us but then was attentive
Table could have been wiped a little cleaner
We did enjoy our evening.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 23, 2017

The food was wonderful , also the drinks were very good. Our server was good but not very personable but the service was good . The only thing I didn't like about my experience there was the noise level was very loud hard to communicate with a date .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

Daughters 30th birthday celebration. Food was amazing and service fantastic. We will be back

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 22, 2017

Located in a Hilton property and very nice for that venue. Clean, good service, excellent food...just a nice spot for a quiet evening with friends.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 14, 2017

Have been here many times. Was very disappointed with the quality of our meal. Prime rib was over cooked and very chewy. Baked potato was not done and only warm.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food and service. Tables spaced to aid quiet dining for pleasant conversation. We'll go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 19, 2017

Very good food and ambience. The service is always excellent!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 18, 2017

Tables weren't cleaned. When we got seated the booth was filthy and hadn't been cleaned from the last table. The tables round us weren't cleaned and still had dirty plates etc. it stayed that way during our entire dinner...
On a good note. The wine was good

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2017

Would of given the food 4.5 stars, however my wife ordered pasta and it came with a lot of spinach and sun dried tomatoes. She doesn't like either and felt that the menu that was otherwise discriptive should of noted both the spinach and sun dried tomatoes as ingredients. She picked through her food. When I mentioned this to the server, he said agreed and would pass it on. I ordered a prime rib medium rare. I was brought medium. They were out. It was 7:00 on a Saturday. Still very good! A little too well done dor my personal preference.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 25, 2017

Good service, nice atmosphere, and subpar food. Had a chain feel between the inexperienced wait staff and processed food that lacked character or uniqueness.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2017

Great location inside our hotel which made it very convenient.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 3, 2017

Service was sub par, waited 15 just for out drink order to be taken.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2017

Good wine selection. Excellent steak options. Enjoyed the sausage bread appetizer. The lemon zellow dessert was fantastic. Leo was attentive waiter.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2017

We have really enjoyed Johnny's every time we've dined there. This time we spent some time at the bar while waiting for friends and discovered the beautiful bar area and a fun atmosphere. Joseph, the bartender, really engaged all the patrons and made it so much fun! When dining, we had wonderful service, the food was delicious and once again we had a great dining experience.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4