About Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Olathe

12080 South Strang Line Road
Olathe, KS 66062
View Larger Map

Johnny’s is reminiscent of the classic supper clubs of the 1940’s and 1950’s. It blends traditions of the past with the present adding a touch of class and a lot of edge. Today there are eight locations in Iowa, Illinois, Wisconsin, Nebraska and Kansas. First and foremost, Johnny’s is a steakhouse complimented with a rich Italian background. The sophisticated design of the restaurant is welcoming and warm; the illuminated lighting creates an air of mystique and privacy. The classic sounds of Sinatra, Dean and Sammy Davis, Jr. as well as contemporary crooners like Michael Bublé and Harry Connick Jr. surround the restaurant and infuse an aura and rhythm all of its own. A glowing neon Blue Bar™ invites you for cocktails served on the custom granite bar or to relax on soft seating in the lounge. Enjoy classic martinis, specialty cocktails and an extensive wine list, all of which sets Johnny’s stage presence. Johnny’s offers lunch, dinner, and breakfast in hotel adjournment settings.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Italian, American

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:00am - 10:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm.
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
S Hospitality Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 815-2323

Website:
http://johnnysitaliansteakhouse.com/olathe/

Parking Details:
We offer private parking to accommodate your event and nearby hotels.

Executive Chef:
Jose Salgado

Private Party Facilities:
We have an onsite event coordinate to plan your perfect event. We offer customizeable chef prepared menus with event space to accommodate up to 250 guests with 2600 square feet of meeting space. We also offer an outdoor urban heated terrace for private events.

Private Party Contact:
Todd Sloan: 9138152323

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Olathe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Kansas City South ›

fit for foodies (8)
special occasion (7)
romantic (5)
See All
great for lunch (4)
good for groups (3)
neighborhood gem (3)
kid-friendly (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
75 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

great find

Dined on May 31, 2016

we just moved here from San Francisco and had yet to find a decent restaurant in Olathe. That changed. This place is great and the food is too. Try it for yourself.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Omg the sausage bread was huge and extre ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Omg the sausage bread was huge and extremely delicious, salad dressing with honey balsamic is to die for and leafy greens were still fresh even though close to closing, steaks came out slightly over cooked but ribeye potion was enough to fill me up :)

food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Not bad

Dined on May 29, 2016

Food is great have been here several times before. Hostess seemed in a hurry to seat us and the server acted like she didn't want to be there. There was only 3 other tables in the restaurant but server would disappear for long periods of time, then acted annoyed when we asked for an appetizer or more bread.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service. Outstanding food. Coo ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent service. Outstanding food. Cooked to perfection.

food4
ambience4
service4

Best place for a business meeting lunch ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Best place for a business meeting lunch in Olathe

food4
ambience2
service3

We enjoyed a very good meal at Johnny's ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We enjoyed a very good meal at Johnny's for Mother's Day. However, we didn't expect to be in a banquet room and a buffet at the hotel instead of the actual restaurant. Live music was nice, food was good (prime rib and desserts were outstanding) but the atmosphere was a disappointment.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very pleasantly surprised. A nice upscal ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Very pleasantly surprised. A nice upscale restaurant in Olathe. Finally! The prices were very reasonable and the portions large. We will definitely be back.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Full menu, but execution lacks

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

This restaurant has a nice menu with many dishes that appeal. However, a number of elements of the experience do not fulfill the promise of the menu. To start, one of our orders differed between what we ordered and what was delivered. They made it right, but meanwhile I had to eat my dish (lest it be cold) while my companion waited for her replacement. The food was well prepared, but had overtones of commercial kitchens that pre-cook items for later finishing. I suppose the downside of a large menu is that the preparations are not likely to be cooked entirely to order in all cases. The wine list had a number of bottles that looked good, and the wines by the glass were a well-rounded selection.

food4
ambience4
service4

Good spot in the Olathe area for busine ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Good spot in the Olathe area for business lunches with customers.

food5
ambience5
service5

Every time we eat at Johnnys the food an ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Every time we eat at Johnnys the food and service is great! The Easter brunch was outstanding!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great for Special Occasions!

Dined on March 27, 2016

We have mostly gone to Johnny's for holidays. It so good though that we're planning to try it out for regular date nights.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good night

Dined on March 19, 2016

Excellent food and service. Significantly better than last visit, will definitely return

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary

Dined on March 6, 2016

My wife and I went there for our wedding anniversary. The food was very good. We had the zucchini fries for an appetizer which were awesome (but very filling). My wife had the shrimp scampi and I had the veal parmesan. Both dishes were outstanding. Unfortunately we were both too full for desert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our first time to Johnny's and we ...

Dined on February 25, 2016

It was our first time to Johnny's and we would definitely return in the future. All three of our meals were delicious and well presented. The staff and management were also very attentive.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Okay Steakhouse...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

This was not our favorite steakhouse. It was good, but they undercooked the steak that my husband ordered quite a bit. For a steakhouse you would think that is one thing they would get right... Overall it was so-so, not our most favorite Olathe place.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Good food, bad value

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was okay and not bad. Very good quality rib-eye wasted with no seasoning. Similar to Carraba's but twice the price. Very good ambiance.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the steak was cooked right to my liking!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Smothered steak was very good, prices lower than some other steak place ive been to on plaza, would definitely go agian!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice place with good food

Dined on February 11, 2016

Took my girlfriend here for Valentine's day. Overall, we had a good experience. The building was a little echo-y so you could here the people sitting in the bar at times. The appetizers were amazing! Would highly recommend the sampler platter! The food was a little pricey for what you got, but still very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent service at the bar

Dined on February 2, 2016

Excellent service at the bar

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Resturant week

Dined on January 25, 2016

We had the 2 steak dishes and they swapped the shrimp for me and it was great

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2

This was our first and last time here. W ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

This was our first and last time here. We thought the food was way overpriced for what you got. I did the prime rib and asked for medium and I came out still red and cool to the touch. Didn't send it back because was afraid it might not come back. Waiter forgot the salad until the meal came out. She did the restaurant week menu and the steak and shrimp was covered so much in sauce you couldn't taste the food. It was a plate of cream sauce ( even over the potatoes) All in all it lacked flavor and way overpriced.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better Food Than Capital Grille- Hiding in Olathe!

Dined on January 23, 2016

Even though I ate here in December, and had drinks here the week before, I couldn't wait to go back again this year for restaurant week. The prime rib egg roll with guacamole and Siracha is fantastic and so filling. We had it last year and wish it was on the regular menu. I also had steak and I cannot emphasize enough the fact that it was superior to the steak I had earlier in the week at Capital Grille. At first our table was surprised that the restaurant week menu included your choice of only two courses. However, the portions were so generous and delicious that I couldn't have imagined having a third course. Every time we go to Johnny's we always get the zucchini straws because they are so good! The bartender, Joseph, is really fun! I could not have eaten dessert. We figured out after the fact that our bills for the 6 of us were not properly divided between couples and that the restaurant charged me $10 less on my credit card than the total plus tip that I had written on the receipt. I think the waiter was inadvertently shorted and he didn't deserve that. I'm not sure why the bill wasn't booked the way I wrote it.... Regardless, I will visit this restaurant again soon. Oh yeah, they also have KC BIer Company's awesome Dunkel on tap & they sell the delicious Rancho Zabaco Zinfindel by the glass too!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and atmosphere.

Dined on January 23, 2016

The food was plentiful and delicious. The wait staff is professional and even the manager helped out. It was a wonderful experience and we hope to return soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed a great band and great food

Dined on January 23, 2016

We enjoyed a great band and great food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I an glad that we decided to go on a night out.

Dined on January 23, 2016

My husband and I have never been to Johnnys and wanted to give it a try. OMG!! it was very good. we were greeted at the front door within seconds of entering. very entergetic group of greeters. our waitress was excellent and very helpful with the wine selection. the food came out fast and hot. our appetizer was heavenly. so overall i would recommend this restraunt to everyone that is asking.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Restaurant Week 2016

Dined on January 21, 2016

I didn't realize the restaurant was attached to a hotel, but the ambiance was nice. The food was amazing, and our server was excellent. I would definitely recommend.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service

Dined on January 20, 2016

Regina was fantastic. Great knowledge and personality

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great!

Dined on January 16, 2016

My husband and I came here for Restaurant Week as well as to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. We told the restaurant a head of time and the staff all signed a Congratulations card for us regarding our anniversary. The food was so good and well priced for a special occasion. My husband ordered off the main menu, not the specials for Restaurant Week. He ordered the "Heart of Italy" and got Chicken, Fettuccine and sirloin for a reasonable price and was very full. We ordered the banana cheesecake for dessert. I don't like cheesecake, but this was delicious! We don't really have the income to eat out often, but I am very glad we picked Johnny's and we will happily return for other special occasions! Thank you Johnny's and the staff for such a great 10 year celebration!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First time here

Dined on January 10, 2016

The atmosphere is great, much nicer than a "typical" hotel restaurant. It was shockingly empty for a Saturday night. I wasn't sure what to expect as reviews are all over the board. Dinner was very good. We had the prime rib with the caesar salad and the goat cheese salad. All were VERY good. Dessert was the banana cheesecake and ist was also very good. Service was great. We will definitely return. It is not our favorite steakhouse, but the fact that it is easy to get in to is always nice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for Special Occasions

Dined on January 1, 2016

This has become our go-to restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Johnnies

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

Excellent quality of food and spectacular service. I will definitely be back and tell my friends!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service3

Christmas Eve 2015. I ordered a spinach ...

Dined on December 24, 2015

Christmas Eve 2015. I ordered a spinach salad with warm bacon dressing and it was served cold. I mean the bacon fat was hard on the spinach. I sent it back and the manager Megan agreed with me about the bacon fat and she apologized. I also ordered a rib eye cooked medium and I came out rare. I already sent the salad back so I choked down the steak. The mashed potatoes were great. Megan offered us the Baileys Cheesecake so we accepted it and it had no Baileys taste and was one of those frozen cheesecakes. Our check was $85 and we left a $15 tip because our waiter was accommodating. We are not picky people but hard bacon grease in your salad is awful. The steak had no seasoning so the salt and pepper shaker was well used at our table. We won't be back and I'm not sure where the 5 star reviews came from unless those reviewers expectations are low

food4
ambience4
service4

Nice Dinner

Dined on November 21, 2015

First time there. Food was very good. Prime Rib was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Relaxing experience

Dined on November 1, 2015

Relaxing experience

food4
ambience4
service3

Dinner with friends

Dined on September 18, 2015

Dinner prior to movie. Food was very good. Among the 4 of us we had the salmon, ribeye, sirloin and sea bass. All were very well prepared and tasty. Service was average at best. Asked for the ice in the shaker with the cosmopolitan, didn't get it, asked for rum and coke in a tall glass, it came in a regular glass. Jack Danials and 7up was very weak. Second round was better. Food was good, atmosphere was good. Nothing so bad that would keep us from going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Another Outstanding Dinner

Dined on August 7, 2015

We have eaten at Johnny's several times, but this is the first time we have asked two other couples to join us on Friday, August 7. Everything about the evening was wonderful. And the comments from the other two couples confirmed our recommendation to eat there. One great aspect of the restaurant is the ability to hear one another. We sat around a rectangle table and had no difficulty carrying on a conversation. But the highlight of the evening was the food. Everyone raved about the taste and quality of the food. One remarked about the menu variety and the ability to find several items that look appealing. I had the 12 oz. prime rib and was pleasantly surprised that the entire cut of meat was marvelous. You know the outside ring will be tender, but the inside portion can sometimes be tough. Not in this case. Good throughout. And the portions are large. Of the six of us, five took away food for later. I was the only one that chomped through my prime rib and left a mostly clean plate. Just couldn't get through all of the mashed potatoes. Too much. Certainly a hidden gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4

Great food but lacked energy

vip
Dined on July 31, 2015

My spouse said the Goat Cheese salad was as good as any restaurant we've dined at. Everyone enjoyed their meal and the food prices were very reasonable. We thought the wine was a little over priced. Unfortunately, not a hot spot on a Friday evening out.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience4
service2

Mediocre, at best

Dined on June 27, 2015

Honestly, the service was mediocre and so was the food. I hate to leave poor reviews, but I left feeling like we had spent an awful lot for what we got. The atmosphere is nice and inviting, although the staff was not. My husband ordered a beer -- they were out of the seasonal which he wanted. I ordered a nice glass of wine which I felt was priced okay. We did order an appetizer - the toasted ravioli. The ravioli were very good, but the sauce tasted like it was previously frozen. My husband ordered lobster bisque instead of salad. Although we assumed there would be an up-charge, there was no mention of it at the time of ordering. We were shocked when she brought out a huge bowl (not a cup). When we got the bill, they had charged $9!! When we questioned it, the waitress explained that there is a "small" up-charge ($9 is small?!?) and that the reason is because all the other soups can be served in a cup, but the bisque is only offered as a bowl (??)..... might have been nice if she had mentioned it. By the way, it tasted nasty, so paying $9 for it was a blow. We both ordered filets, medium. I received mine well done and I'm being kind saying my husband's was medium-well. I ordered steamed veggies on the side. She explained that they are actually sauted, which was fine with me. When my plate came, it was apparent that they were steam-in-bag veggies like I make at home...and had NO seasoning on them at all. The waitress also charged us for a dessert we didn't order, but did remove that from the bill -- the soup, not so much. The next day, I received a message from Open Table mentioning that we had missed our reservation, which we clearly had not! So they didn't acknowledge our reservation either. Overall, a disappointing experience. We won't be returning, or suggesting this place to friends.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great Surprise. Wonderful experience

Dined on May 10, 2015

Went for Mother's Day Brunch hosted by Johnny's Italian Restaurant in Hilton Garden Hotel. Great setting, fantastic service and amazing selection of food choices. Will definitely do this again.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3

The potatoes were good

Dined on April 28, 2015

Overall it wasn't a terrible experience. There were a few areas that had room for improvement. For example, I think it's fairly standard that if you order an appetizer that it come before your salads. We got our salads first, and then our appetizer so for awhile it felt like we were being overwhelmed with food. When the entrees came, they were somewhat disappointing. One of us had the medallions the other had the petit filet, both were overcooked, but we didn't want to wait for them to be recooked so we didn't make mention of it. The potatoes were good, though.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.