About Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Olathe

12080 South Strang Line Road
Olathe, KS 66062
View Larger Map

Johnny’s Italian Steakhouse offers delicious steaks, classic Italian and spectacular seafood in a classic supper clubs atmosphere. We blend traditions of the past with the present by adding a touch of class and a lot of edge.

You will catch the supper club vibe the moment you hear the classic sounds of Sinatra, Dean and Sammy Davis, Jr. as well as contemporary crooners like Michael Bublé and Harry Connick Jr. while you relax and enjoy

A glowing neon Blue Bar™ beckons you in for cocktails at the bar or to relax on soft seating in the lounge. Our bartenders are well versed in their craft so ask for a classic martini, specialty cocktail and a selection from our extensive wine list. Join us for breakfast lunch and dinner in this beautiful hotel restaurant conbination.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Italian, American

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:00am - 10:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm.
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
S Hospitality Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 815-2323

Website:
http://johnnysitaliansteakhouse.com/olathe/

Parking Details:
We offer private parking to accommodate your event and nearby hotels.

Executive Chef:
Jose Salgado

Private Party Facilities:
We have an onsite event coordinate to plan your perfect event. We offer customizeable chef prepared menus with event space to accommodate up to 250 guests with 2600 square feet of meeting space. We also offer an outdoor urban heated terrace for private events.

Private Party Contact:
Todd Sloan: (913) 815-2323

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Olathe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Quiet

59% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
See All
Business Meals (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Casual (3)
Cozy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
Private Room (2)
Romantic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Live Music (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fun (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
111 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I've read some negative reviews on this ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

I've read some negative reviews on this review site, and I didn't encounter any of those negatives... food was very good, service was very good, and I enjoyed the ambience.

This is a very nice restaurant that you'll enjoy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is good but not outstanding. I hat ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Food is good but not outstanding. I hate warm ceaser salads. Portions were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was wonderful and food was outst ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was wonderful and food was outstanding. Love this place..the ambience is great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not impressed and would not recommend to ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Not impressed and would not recommend to my friends. I want to give some allowances since it was restaurant week, but I only saw 2 large tables and about 3 other either 2 or 4 tops. Took along time to get our wine, in fact they were out of the bottle of wine we requested and instead of giving us another bottle of equal or better value for the same price, they gave us back to pick another so we just order a glass of wine. Took 45 min for appetizers and then 20 min later our meal which I felt was just okay food and not fantatic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I got the grab cake sandwich and it was ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

I got the grab cake sandwich and it was ok. Could of used a little more flavor. The fries I got with my meal was undercooked and soggy. Also my wife's steak was undercooked for her liking.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We went to Johnny's during Kansas City R ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

We went to Johnny's during Kansas City Restaurant week for the first time. We didn't realize it was part of the Hilton Garden Inn. The steak and pasta weren't bad. The stuffed mushrooms and crap coquettes, were less than expected. While we knew the lunch would be a fixed price of $15 each, we were very surprised when we go the bill to see the prosecco we ordered were $11 each.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Food was very good and the atmosphere is ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was very good and the atmosphere is very nice, service was OK but could have been better-felt like there may have been a training issue

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Menu was varied and the steaks were good ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Menu was varied and the steaks were good though my wife's needed to be cooked longer because she likes it well done. Our server, Cassidy (spell?), was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

What more can I say. All of us ladies lo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 12, 2017

What more can I say. All of us ladies loved our luncheon steak meal last Thursday. You all were terrific!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Private Room, Healthy, , Cozy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can get better steaks for less money ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

You can get better steaks for less money at a lot of places. Service was not good as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

Our first time and we had a great experi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our first time and we had a great experience! The menu had a great deal of variety and the food and service were excellent. We will return

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Music, Authentic, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good service, great food and amazing app ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Good service, great food and amazing appetizers. We will come back here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely Christmas Eve dinner with our f ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

A lovely Christmas Eve dinner with our family. Great variety on the menu for all ages. A hidden gem in Olathe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The room was nicely arranged fro the off ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The room was nicely arranged fro the office party we had. The convenient bar just outside the dining room was great as we all filtered in for the meal. Great bar host. Joe has the job down to an art. The food was wonderful, great selection and service, and all was clean and decorated tastefully. Some review may not have rated price friendly, but for the meals and service we got, I would say just about right in the ball park for a better place to eat.

Tags: Bar Seating, Private Room, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was not the greatest. We had ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our server was not the greatest. We had to ask for things multiple times before getting them. He didn't seem to be paying attention.

I had the veal sinatra. The sauce was very good but the veal was a bit leathery. It did not seem to be top quality veal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We were celebrating our anniversary, and ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary, and decided to stay close to home. Service was okay, however, i ordered filet medallions medium, and the other two steaks at our table were ordered medium rare, and theirs were done medum and mine was medium rare. I sent it back to have them correct, however when it came out the inside was still rare and the outside tasted like burnt meat. Extremely disappointing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Quite pleasant. One meal was cold and v ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Quite pleasant. One meal was cold and veal wasn't up to par. Waiter was very good as were all servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Had an enjoyable evening wth good servic ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Had an enjoyable evening wth good service and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good and a good value. At ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Food was very good and a good value. Attention at the table was lacking. Bar scene was good with excellent service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

We really enjoyed Johnny's Italian Steak ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We really enjoyed Johnny's Italian Steakhouse! We had great service and amazing food. Will definitely be returning!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, wait staff were strugglin ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was good, wait staff were struggling and even with open table we had to wait at least 15 min at the bar. On the walk to the bar we passed at least 3 tables that we would have been happy to sit at. Bar service took 10 min. Or waiter was ok, food was pretty good but not a place to repeat, they need to work on their experience and timing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

We went here for hoco and it was a lot f ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We went here for hoco and it was a lot fancier then i had imagined, for those of you who have been to newport grill it was kind of like that, the food was amazing, my girlfriend had a steak which melted in your mouth and our waitress was amaziny

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Slow service, over priced food, bad atmo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Slow service, over priced food, bad atmosphere. We ad to send tow of our 5 meals back as one was cold and the other was a steak that was over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent steaks. Didn't try the Italian ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Excellent steaks. Didn't try the Italian options this trip.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

If I was saying at the hotel and didn't ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 21, 2016

If I was saying at the hotel and didn't have a vehicle, I would dine there. On second thought, I would walk 200 feet and eat at the best BBQ joint in KC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We had excellent service. The food was d ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 14, 2016

We had excellent service. The food was decent but over priced for the quality. It was hard to enjoy the food because we ordered several appetizers and entrees and all the food came out together making the meal feel very rushed and overwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

The fillet with garlic mashed is mouthwa ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The fillet with garlic mashed is mouthwatering. The Lobster Mac n Cheese is divine. Beware, a bowl of soup is closer to a tureen; it was huge!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Fun, Bar Seating, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

My husband and I went for our anniversar ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 6, 2016

My husband and I went for our anniversary dinner at 5:re were only 3 other tables and 1 couple at the bar. We were seated immediately by a nice hostess. Our waiter came over about 2 minutes later telling us he was training and bring us water. When he brought the water he suggested an appetizer and said he'd be back. He had yet to take our drink order or point out the drink menu. He was gone before we could say anything. When he returned he asked if he could get an appetizer put in. My husband responded that we'd like to order drinks. He said okay (no "Oh, I'm sorry about that.") The drinks from the bar were great.

The house salad states on the menu that it is served family style. When I inquired if we'd need to order the same salad dressing, they said yes. We also asked for no tomatoes if there were any. The trainee said no problem and the trainer said, "They're just grape tomatoes you can take off." Salads arrived separately plated, one with tomatoes and one without. the brought out mediocre bread. They tell you there is Parmesan cheese and olive oil for dipping but did not provide a plate in addition to each of our bread plates.

Our food was timed well following the salad anc bread. My ribeye and husband's prime rib were cooked to order and the garlic mashed potato side was good and a nice sized portion. They did comp a dessert for our anniversary. We choose a chocolate lava cake with cinnamon ice cream. Like our other food, it was good.

Drinks: A+

Food: A-

Service and details that warrant their price point: F

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

This isn't my first time at Johnny's, bu ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 3, 2016

This isn't my first time at Johnny's, but it was a bit different. There were 3 people in my group and it was a business dinner. For some reason, it seemed as though we were being rushed out from the time we ordered the first appetizer. We ordered the Shrimp Brochetta which was very good. It just seemed that the salads were coming quickly after the appetizer followed immediately by the dinner and check. I wasn't feeling the love this time. I felt somehow the staff was trying to sabotage my business dinner. It wasn't really busy either. I ordered the crab stuffed snapper. They seem to use the Bumble Bee crabmeat in the can to make their stuffing. Didn't really taste like crab, but looked like it. Nothing to write home about.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Beautiful decor and great service with v ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Beautiful decor and great service with very good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time there food was good service w ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 23, 2016

First time there food was good service was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I was in Olathe for a conference last we ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 20, 2016

I was in Olathe for a conference last week and this restaurant came highly recommended for their steaks. I ordered the not cheap rib eye and it was basically inedible. It was full of gristle. The waiter was attentive, the ambience was great, and the wine list was sufficient. The food was mediocre. The bread was stale, the mashed garlic potatoes were good, and the greens were soggy. Terribly disappointed. I will not be returning.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

First time eating there. It was great. T ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 20, 2016

First time eating there. It was great. The appitizer was great , our entrée was phoenomenal and the dessert was great. We loved it . It was our anniversary and was a fitting end to a wonderful day . We will definitely be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was Sunday night so the brunch group ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was Sunday night so the brunch group had been there. Not the best time for dining. But Johnny's is usually very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Was eager to go. Somewhat disappointed i ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 5, 2016

Was eager to go. Somewhat disappointed in quality. Not likely to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We were a party of 4. We were seated qu ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 2, 2016

We were a party of 4. We were seated quickly but our waiter was a bit less than attentive.

We tried to order a bottle of wine only to be told "sorry, we're out of that". We waited for our drink order which was delivered when our appetizer was delivered. I ordered a smothered steak and asked for it to be Medium Rare. We waited a long time for our dinner to be served and I was asked if my steak was cooked OK? It was so overdone but we were so hungry I didn't want my dining guest to have to wait for another steak to be cooked. Our server was removing our plates as soon as we put our forks down. He tried to take my sons plate and he wasn't even finished with his dinner. This restaurant should retrain their servers. No plates are to be removed BEFORE all the guests are finished. I felt that we were being rushed out the door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

great find

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 31, 2016

we just moved here from San Francisco and had yet to find a decent restaurant in Olathe.

That changed. This place is great and the food is too.

Try it for yourself.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Omg the sausage bread was huge and extre ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Omg the sausage bread was huge and extremely delicious, salad dressing with honey balsamic is to die for and leafy greens were still fresh even though close to closing, steaks came out slightly over cooked but ribeye potion was enough to fill me up :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Not bad

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Food is great have been here several times before. Hostess seemed in a hurry to seat us and the server acted like she didn't want to be there. There was only 3 other tables in the restaurant but server would disappear for long periods of time, then acted annoyed when we asked for an appetizer or more bread.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Excellent service. Outstanding food. Coo ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent service. Outstanding food. Cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.