Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Olathe

Johnny’s Italian Steakhouse offers delicious steaks, classic Italian and spectacular seafood in a classic supper clubs atmosphere. We blend traditions of the past with the present by adding a touch of class and a lot of edge.

You will catch the supper club vibe the moment you hear the classic sounds of Sinatra, Dean and Sammy Davis, Jr. as well as contemporary crooners like Michael Bublé and Harry Connick Jr. while you relax and enjoy

A glowing neon Blue Bar™ beckons you in for cocktails at the bar or to relax on soft seating in the lounge. Our bartenders are well versed in their craft so ask for a classic martini, specialty cocktail and a selection from our extensive wine list. Join us for breakfast lunch and dinner in this beautiful hotel restaurant conbination.

12080 South Strang Line Road
Olathe, KS 66062
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Italian, American

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:00am - 10:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm.
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
S Hospitality Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 815-2323

Website:
http://johnnysitaliansteakhouse.com/olathe/

Parking Details:
We offer private parking to accommodate your event and nearby hotels.

Executive Chef:
Jose Salgado

Private Party Facilities:
We have an onsite event coordinate to plan your perfect event. We offer customizeable chef prepared menus with event space to accommodate up to 250 guests with 2600 square feet of meeting space. We also offer an outdoor urban heated terrace for private events.

Private Party Contact:
Jose Salgado: (913) 815-2323

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Olathe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

65% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
See All
Quiet Conversation (5)
Business Meals (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Romantic (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Cozy (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Fun (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Private Room (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Authentic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Casual (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Live Music (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
120 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great location inside our hotel which made it very convenient.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Service was sub par, waited 15 just for out drink order to be taken.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Good wine selection. Excellent steak options. Enjoyed the sausage bread appetizer. The lemon zellow dessert was fantastic. Leo was attentive waiter.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We have really enjoyed Johnny's every time we've dined there. This time we spent some time at the bar while waiting for friends and discovered the beautiful bar area and a fun atmosphere. Joseph, the bartender, really engaged all the patrons and made it so much fun! When dining, we had wonderful service, the food was delicious and once again we had a great dining experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I would have had a better steak at the nearby Texas Roadhouse.

My expectations were high as Johnny's bills itself as a quality restaurant. But the disappointment began right after entering the front door.

I had reservations for 9. The restaurant was open until 10. Yet there was no one at the front desk to greet me and my party. I walked around, not seeing any staff, until I walked into the bar and mentioned I had reservations but there was no one to seat us. He looked around and, not finding whoever he was looking for, seated us and left to find our waitress.

Ok, no big deal, perhaps they were getting high in the back.

To accompany my meal I ordered a California Merlot and my wife had the only German white wine on the menu which was a Reisling from the Mosel region. My wine was served hot; hotter than room temperature as if the bottle was stored in the kitchen and much warmer than a red should be served. My wife's white wine was appropriately chilled and actually quite sweet as she likes and so I asked to see the bottle so I could remember the maker and vintage. I was unhappy to see the $8 small glass of wine she had came from a bottle that I knew sells for $7 retail ("Relax" brand)

I ordered a ribeye steak expecting to receive a nice thick, marbled steak. Instead the steak was about 3/4 inch thick and lean. It was accompanied by 2 cups of mashed potatoes (a ridiculous amount) and a plain Caesar salad with bottled dressing. My wife's filet was similarly thin and dry.

We skipped the dessert and left.

This restaurant was a true disappointment. It masquerades (and prices it's menu) as a quality restaurant when actually it is no better than Outback. The atmosphere and ambiance is nice but it doesn't make up for the poor quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Wonderful service. I understand restaurant Week can be exhausting but you would never know it here.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We were excited to get Johnny's for restaurant week. The food and martinis were great. However, we had a 7:00 reservation and when we arrived at 6:55, we were told (rudely) it'd be a minimum of a 20 minute wait because "we just sat 15 tables!" I was surprised, because my understanding of a reservation is that it holds my spot... after our wait, we were seated at a high top table in the bar. Again, not what we were looking for. They had a great live musician that night, but it was SO loud that my husband and I basically screamed at each other the whole meal. This was definitely not the serene date night we were looking for. The food was good, but not good enough to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We visited Johnny's for the first time as part of KC's Restaurant Week and were impressed by the friendliness of the staff and the quality of the food. Our server, Willy, was attentive and helpful when he learned it was our first visit and helped us through the menu, making suggestions that proved to be good ones. We look forward to visiting again soon to try some of the other menu choices.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I've read some negative reviews on this review site, and I didn't encounter any of those negatives... food was very good, service was very good, and I enjoyed the ambience.

This is a very nice restaurant that you'll enjoy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Food is good but not outstanding. I hate warm ceaser salads. Portions were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Service was wonderful and food was outstanding. Love this place..the ambience is great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Not impressed and would not recommend to my friends. I want to give some allowances since it was restaurant week, but I only saw 2 large tables and about 3 other either 2 or 4 tops. Took along time to get our wine, in fact they were out of the bottle of wine we requested and instead of giving us another bottle of equal or better value for the same price, they gave us back to pick another so we just order a glass of wine. Took 45 min for appetizers and then 20 min later our meal which I felt was just okay food and not fantatic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I got the grab cake sandwich and it was ok. Could of used a little more flavor. The fries I got with my meal was undercooked and soggy. Also my wife's steak was undercooked for her liking.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We went to Johnny's during Kansas City Restaurant week for the first time. We didn't realize it was part of the Hilton Garden Inn. The steak and pasta weren't bad. The stuffed mushrooms and crap coquettes, were less than expected. While we knew the lunch would be a fixed price of $15 each, we were very surprised when we go the bill to see the prosecco we ordered were $11 each.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was very good and the atmosphere is very nice, service was OK but could have been better-felt like there may have been a training issue

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Menu was varied and the steaks were good though my wife's needed to be cooked longer because she likes it well done. Our server, Cassidy (spell?), was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 12, 2017

What more can I say. All of us ladies loved our luncheon steak meal last Thursday. You all were terrific!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Private Room, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

You can get better steaks for less money at a lot of places. Service was not good as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our first time and we had a great experience! The menu had a great deal of variety and the food and service were excellent. We will return

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Music, Authentic, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Good service, great food and amazing appetizers. We will come back here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

A lovely Christmas Eve dinner with our family. Great variety on the menu for all ages. A hidden gem in Olathe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The room was nicely arranged fro the office party we had. The convenient bar just outside the dining room was great as we all filtered in for the meal. Great bar host. Joe has the job down to an art. The food was wonderful, great selection and service, and all was clean and decorated tastefully. Some review may not have rated price friendly, but for the meals and service we got, I would say just about right in the ball park for a better place to eat.

Tags: Bar Seating, Private Room, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our server was not the greatest. We had to ask for things multiple times before getting them. He didn't seem to be paying attention.
I had the veal sinatra. The sauce was very good but the veal was a bit leathery. It did not seem to be top quality veal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary, and decided to stay close to home. Service was okay, however, i ordered filet medallions medium, and the other two steaks at our table were ordered medium rare, and theirs were done medum and mine was medium rare. I sent it back to have them correct, however when it came out the inside was still rare and the outside tasted like burnt meat. Extremely disappointing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Quite pleasant. One meal was cold and veal wasn't up to par. Waiter was very good as were all servers.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Had an enjoyable evening wth good service and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Food was very good and a good value. Attention at the table was lacking. Bar scene was good with excellent service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We really enjoyed Johnny's Italian Steakhouse! We had great service and amazing food. Will definitely be returning!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was good, wait staff were struggling and even with open table we had to wait at least 15 min at the bar. On the walk to the bar we passed at least 3 tables that we would have been happy to sit at. Bar service took 10 min. Or waiter was ok, food was pretty good but not a place to repeat, they need to work on their experience and timing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We went here for hoco and it was a lot fancier then i had imagined, for those of you who have been to newport grill it was kind of like that, the food was amazing, my girlfriend had a steak which melted in your mouth and our waitress was amaziny

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Slow service, over priced food, bad atmosphere. We ad to send tow of our 5 meals back as one was cold and the other was a steak that was over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Excellent steaks. Didn't try the Italian options this trip.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 21, 2016

If I was saying at the hotel and didn't have a vehicle, I would dine there. On second thought, I would walk 200 feet and eat at the best BBQ joint in KC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 14, 2016

We had excellent service. The food was decent but over priced for the quality. It was hard to enjoy the food because we ordered several appetizers and entrees and all the food came out together making the meal feel very rushed and overwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The fillet with garlic mashed is mouthwatering. The Lobster Mac n Cheese is divine. Beware, a bowl of soup is closer to a tureen; it was huge!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Fun, Bar Seating, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 6, 2016

My husband and I went for our anniversary dinner at 5:re were only 3 other tables and 1 couple at the bar. We were seated immediately by a nice hostess. Our waiter came over about 2 minutes later telling us he was training and bring us water. When he brought the water he suggested an appetizer and said he'd be back. He had yet to take our drink order or point out the drink menu. He was gone before we could say anything. When he returned he asked if he could get an appetizer put in. My husband responded that we'd like to order drinks. He said okay (no "Oh, I'm sorry about that.") The drinks from the bar were great.

The house salad states on the menu that it is served family style. When I inquired if we'd need to order the same salad dressing, they said yes. We also asked for no tomatoes if there were any. The trainee said no problem and the trainer said, "They're just grape tomatoes you can take off." Salads arrived separately plated, one with tomatoes and one without. the brought out mediocre bread. They tell you there is Parmesan cheese and olive oil for dipping but did not provide a plate in addition to each of our bread plates.

Our food was timed well following the salad anc bread. My ribeye and husband's prime rib were cooked to order and the garlic mashed potato side was good and a nice sized portion. They did comp a dessert for our anniversary. We choose a chocolate lava cake with cinnamon ice cream. Like our other food, it was good.

Drinks: A+
Food: A-
Service and details that warrant their price point: F

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2016

This isn't my first time at Johnny's, but it was a bit different. There were 3 people in my group and it was a business dinner. For some reason, it seemed as though we were being rushed out from the time we ordered the first appetizer. We ordered the Shrimp Brochetta which was very good. It just seemed that the salads were coming quickly after the appetizer followed immediately by the dinner and check. I wasn't feeling the love this time. I felt somehow the staff was trying to sabotage my business dinner. It wasn't really busy either. I ordered the crab stuffed snapper. They seem to use the Bumble Bee crabmeat in the can to make their stuffing. Didn't really taste like crab, but looked like it. Nothing to write home about.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Beautiful decor and great service with very good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 23, 2016

First time there food was good service was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 20, 2016

I was in Olathe for a conference last week and this restaurant came highly recommended for their steaks. I ordered the not cheap rib eye and it was basically inedible. It was full of gristle. The waiter was attentive, the ambience was great, and the wine list was sufficient. The food was mediocre. The bread was stale, the mashed garlic potatoes were good, and the greens were soggy. Terribly disappointed. I will not be returning.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.