About Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Middleton

Johnny’s is reminiscent of the classic supper clubs of the 1940’s and 1950’s. It blends traditions of the past with the present adding a touch of class and a lot of edge. The sophisticated design of the restaurant is welcoming and warm; the illuminated lighting creates an air of mystique and privacy. The classic sounds of Sinatra, Dean and Sammy Davis, Jr. as well as contemporary crooners like Michael Bublé and Harry Connick Jr. surround the restaurant and infuse an aura and rhythm all of it’s own.

A glowing neon Blue Bar™ invites you for cocktails served on the custom granite bar or to relax on soft seating in the lounge. Enjoy classic martinis, specialty cocktails and an extensive wine list, all of which sets Johnny’s stage presence.

8390 Market Street
Middleton, WI 53562
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 831-3705

Website:
http://www.johnnysitaliansteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Monthly Culinary Classes provided by Chef Michael. Visit johnnysitaliansteakhouse.com/middleton for more details.

Catering:
We offer customizable catering menus for all occasions. Visit johnnysitaliansteakhouse.com/middleton for additional details.

Parking Details:
We offer a private lot surrounding the restaurant, shopping, and nearby hotels.

Executive Chef:
Michael Studzinski

Private Party Facilities:
We offer private dining for groups of up to 60 guests in the restaurant. You may chose from our banquet menus or create a customized menu for your event.

Private Party Contact:
David Martin: (608) 831-3705

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Middleton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (11)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
See All
Good for Groups (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Romantic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Cozy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Casual (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Authentic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Outstanding Value (0)
Sort By:
S
123 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

It was our second time there in 2 days. Was awesome. They reserved a great table for us and Tyler our waiter was the best! We even had the manager stop by as he recognized we were repeat customers. If I lived in Middleton I would be there all the time

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Girlfriend's Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

It was so good we are going back tonight and have requested our same waiter Tyler.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great food and service! The only complaint is our booth was too dark- couldn't read the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Amazing dining experience . Food was awesome. Love this place. We will be back. Waitstaff was knowledgeable and did an amazing job.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We have been there several times. The food is great and prepared spot on. The service there is kinda slow. This time they had a mix up in servers and took about 10 mins to get our drinks and order an appetizer. The server was very apologetic. After that everything went smoother. The food is delicious! They offered a free desert for our anniversary.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We were not impressed. Our dinner should have come with focaccia bread, but we never got it. My husband remembered it at the end. We were one of the only people there, so being too busy can't be an excuse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Best food in madison and I've been to most of the good spots

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The food was excellent. It looked great and tasted even better. Everything was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Need baked potato without onion powder. Alergic to onions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My mother In law was with us and she is in a wheel chair ( motorized) and with the tables crammed together there was no room for to use her chair. We had to seat her and bring her chair back to the car and had to get her plates for her and she could not move. Not wheel chair friendly. However the food and services where very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our waiter was also a bartender and he did an admirable job on a busy Saturday night (pre-Mother's Day & Prom). He was upbeat, attentive, and fast. This was our second time there and still haven't made it into one of the regular dining rooms. We ate in the bar area both times. Perhaps next time...

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We were promptly seated in the bar area and our water took our drink orders. 15 minutes later he returned to tell us that they had to find and wash glasses in order to make our cocktails. They should be up shortly ( the place was not that busy). He took our food order. Brought the drinks and before we had time to enjoy them served our salads. Our entrees were served before we had time to finish the salad course. Bottom line, the food was great, the service rushed to the point we were'nt served bread or asked for another round of drinks. It felt like they were short staffed. Not the casual dining experience we were after. A point for older adults, lighting is very dark and it's hard to read the menu.

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We went to celebrate my son's graduation from college. We reserved a table on line..... Very slick. We were seated within 5 minutes of our party's arrival. Great service, fantastic food, and quiet ambiance. The only annoyance was..... Our table was super wabbley, and when my husband cut his steak, our water glasses would spill. Not a big deal and even became a game after a bit. I highly recommend this establishment. 😊

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food & service were excellent. A little pricey, but fine for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Fantastic all around! Will be back for sure!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Bar was less than stocked for first choice items, we had to make other choices. Food was "ok". Not great, but not bad. Table salad was pretty skimpy for 4 people.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food was good, the service was amazing. Jeffreys service is what makes people come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Johnny's is a good all around restaurant. Selections include beef, seafood, pasta, wines, drinks from the bar and a nice selection of deserts and appetizers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I asked about their allergy-friendly menu before being seated. The two young ladies started asking me questions that were really none of their business, but I began to answer. (Medical reasons.) I was in the middle of asking if I could end up speaking to a chef when Mack (no idea if he was the manager or anything) cut me off and began lecturing me about how one of my allergens is in everything (as if I didn't know how problematic it was) & told me he would not inconvenience the staff for me. He told me I shouldn't go out. I turned to leave, he began back peddaling, but my hand was on the door. We'd been there many times before my diagnosis. Never again. And I will be very vocal about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We enjoyed Johnny's as a place to unwind by ourselves after a weekend with family. It was quiet on Sunday, and perfect for us.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I ordered my steak medium rare and it was closer to well done. One of the guys in my party had the same problem. The server was nice but the bartender was rude. Rolled his eyes and shook his head when we added two drinks to the bar bill. And then he was complaining to his coworker about the size of his tip from a different party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Johnny's was highly recommended for our anniversary dinner on March 4th 2017. We liked the ambiance of the restaurant and were happy with the menu choices. The foccacia bread was phenomenal. We ordered the calamari appetizers and drinks. When we began to eat the calamari, we noticed was a bit salty, but thought no big deal. Then as we got further into the bowl we were surprised the amount of oil in the bowl. The remaining calamari was very salty and drenched in oil, so much that it upset our stomachs. She was very happy with her ribeye steak. My Prime Rib was OK. Was cooked very good but a lacked seasoning. The complimentary Mounds dessert we chose and coffee was delicious. We were very happy over all with Johnny's Italian Steakhouse. The waiter was very attentive and personable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Music was very loud, our server, Sarah, was unfriendly and seemed annoyed to be working there, drinks were mediocre and meal was very expensive and rather bland. Head to Ruth Chris or Fleming's - way better food, atmosphere and service. My husband and I were extremely dissatisfied and will never be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

When I came home from a 3 week training deployment, my girlfriend and I combined my birthday, coming home, early valentines day dinner together. Something a little nicer compared to where we usual go when we go out to eat. I was surprised to see that so many items on their menu were very reasonably priced especially considering how much you get and how good it is! deferentially going back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Drinks took awhile and we're wrong but overall really good food. Would go back.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 10, 2017

What happened to Johnny's? It used to be one of our favorite restaurants to go to. We went for my birthday on a Thursday night. Not busy at all. The service was slow. I had the stuffed snapper with garlic mashed potatoes. The edge of the fish was burnt, inedible, and they tried to cover it with sauce. The potatoes and fish were way too salty, I couldn't eat it. My daughter had potatoes as well, and she could not eat them either. The spinach salad was not very good either, I had to take out the sun dried tomatoes, no thank you. We won't be back.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Decent enough food. Given hot plates for the cold salad, just like the lunch room in third grade. Nice server, but a bit unattentive -- possibly stretched too thin. I think Johnny's was better when Chef Rod was running the show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 24, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed Johnnie's for Madison Restaurant Week. The food, service, and location was excellent.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised by the ambiance of Johnny's. The dark wood and Sinatra music were great. Our waiter was attentive. The menu was very interesting with some unique salads. We were there during restaurant week so the choices among our group were limited. The stuffed mushrooms were delicious and the steaks were perfectly done to order. The creme brule was the best we have had.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great experience. Service was slow. Food was done to perfection

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was good and the noise level was low enough for easy conversation.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The food is ALWAYS great here and the ambiance in the dining area is perfect. That being said, being placed in the bar area in a half circle booth made for four people was not an ideal setting for a couple and the dining party should be asked prior to being seated in the bar if that is acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great service and great food. Can't wait untill they build in Sun Prairie.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 19, 2016

After a play at Spring Green we chose to dine at Johnny's Italian Steakhouse. We remembered the restaurant from a visit over two years ago. I'm glad we found it. Well worth it! The food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I always love coming to eat here when I am visiting family in Middleton. Always have a great meal with wonderful service.
A word of warning though if you have a loved one with vision issues. The ambiance is very dark. The booths by the bathrooms have some chandeliers above so they are brighter and the bathroom hallway lights help for low vision people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We came to jonnys for my birthday dinner was wonderful starting with our waiter
wine list was great along with the food would recommend this restaurant to to our family and friends we been here before too for a Sunday brunch and also lunch never have had a bad meal we will be back again soon

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We sat at the bar for a couple of drinks. They weren't made to our taste. They were very willing to change the drink to our liking. Enjoy the bar staff. The dining area is pleasant, with great waitresses, good food, and good wine. We have been here twice in the last month and hope to continue coming here. Very enjoyable.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wife and I visiting from out of state,taking my Mother out for dinner. We both felt ill from the food that evening, food was nothing special, Mother had prime rib medium rare but was too tough to eat, took it home to the dog. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We have been here five times. Three out of the five were terrible experiences. Not sure why we kept going back other than the location by where we work. This time our server completely ignored us when asked for a second cup of coffee. She also only said oh! To my comment that my fish was raw. Didn't even offer to cook it more. We even had to ask to get water and refills were hard to get. Since there was no one at the host stand to talk to when we left I wrote to the restaurant from their website about our experience. That was two days ago and I haven't heard a word.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.