About Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Middleton

8390 Market Street
Middleton, WI 53562
View Larger Map

Johnny’s is reminiscent of the classic supper clubs of the 1940’s and 1950’s. It blends traditions of the past with the present adding a touch of class and a lot of edge. The sophisticated design of the restaurant is welcoming and warm; the illuminated lighting creates an air of mystique and privacy. The classic sounds of Sinatra, Dean and Sammy Davis, Jr. as well as contemporary crooners like Michael Bublé and Harry Connick Jr. surround the restaurant and infuse an aura and rhythm all of it’s own.

A glowing neon Blue Bar™ invites you for cocktails served on the custom granite bar or to relax on soft seating in the lounge. Enjoy classic martinis, specialty cocktails and an extensive wine list, all of which sets Johnny’s stage presence.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 831-3705

Website:
http://www.johnnysitaliansteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Monthly Culinary Classes provided by Chef Michael. Visit johnnysitaliansteakhouse.com/middleton for more details.

Catering:
We offer customizable catering menus for all occasions. Visit johnnysitaliansteakhouse.com/middleton for additional details.

Parking Details:
We offer a private lot surrounding the restaurant, shopping, and nearby hotels.

Executive Chef:
Michael Studzinski

Private Party Facilities:
We offer private dining for groups of up to 60 guests in the restaurant. You may chose from our banquet menus or create a customized menu for your event.

Private Party Contact:
David Martin: 6088313705x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Parmesan Steak And Shrimp
Seared Salmon & Artichoke Pasta
Stuffed Mushrooms
Shrimp Bruschetta
Johnny's Veal Sinatra
Berry Cheesecake
Flirtini
tortellini
Goat Cheese Salad
Scallop And Arugula Pasta
Reuben Sandwich
Sushi Grade Ahi Tuna Nicoise Salad
Angel Hair Pasta
Seafood Pasta Pomodoro
Salmon with goat cheese

Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Middleton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Madison
Best Restaurants in Middleton ›

special occasion (19)
romantic (13)
good for groups (9)
See All
fit for foodies (8)
great for lunch (6)
notable wine list (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (3)
neighborhood gem (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
72 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great first time there - we went on my b ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great first time there - we went on my birthday with my twin grandkids and we received excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were celebrating a birthday and had a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were celebrating a birthday and had a wonderful. The service was excellent as was our greeting both coming and going from the front desk. My one suggestion to improve the dining experience is to lower the level of music. The selection was fine but it was a little too loud to accompany dining.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent. Our ser ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food and service were excellent. Our server was very nice and welcoming. I had the strip steak special, rubbed with coffee and accompanied by Brussels sprouts; and it was marvelous. We had a very nice evening at Johnny's

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The sausage mushroom appetizer is filled ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The sausage mushroom appetizer is filled with spicy Italian sausage and covered in cheese. Very good. The sauce with the shrimp cocktail was excellent and the bread was warm from the oven. The Caesar salad was large and well dressed. The house salad is served family style. Steaks are fork tender and served with potato or veggie of the day. Kudos to the chef for preparing a perfect rare steak! The wine pours are generous and the desserts were very large. All the food was very good. This dinner was early on a Thursday night and it was not very busy. The service was slow.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Somewhat disappointed

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Been to Johnny's many times and have always been pleased. This time, I mentioned in reservation that it was husband's birthday. That was not acknowledged by any staff. Service was mediocre. Food did not meet usual high standards. Husband's Drunken Steak was somewhat tough, which he never experience before. The meal was good, just not great like we've come to expect. They need to kick up food quality and service a few notches in order to command their prices.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Steaks were tough and not very flavorabl ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Steaks were tough and not very flavorable. Disappointing for a Steakhouse. I'll stick with pasta dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Better than expected

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We had dinner on the patio. The service, wine and food was excellent.

Definitely coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came here from the Mustard Museum. Grea ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Came here from the Mustard Museum. Great food, nice menu, very quiet mid day on a Saturday in May.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a great meal with a very nice waitress. The cavatappi with sausage was excellent as was the Johnny's steak. We carried out the limoncello dessert to eat at home. That was good as well. Really nice salad with great dressing and great foccacia bread. Overall one of our better meals in Madison.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good food; good service

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Tonight was our third visit. We always look forward to the toasted ravioli appetizer. Salads are ample and tasty. Tonight I had Salmon Fiorintino which had a sesame crust crunch, spinach, and pine nuts. I chose broccoli as my side. Our server was attentive, quick, and well informed about the menu. It is also easy to have a private conversation in a booth. Desserts were tempting. However, we passed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicous and worth it

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was incredible from the bread and salads at the beginning to the entrées. The service was great, the atmosphere was fun. We really enjoyed our whole experience while at Johnny's Italian Steakhouse! We have been here before, and it never fails to impress us. Absolutely will be back again. Thank you!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So-So

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

I enjoyed many of the food offerings but was decidedly unimpressed with the staff. Maybe Im just old now, but everyone seemed about 10 years too young to be in their positions. I felt the hostess and host couldnt have been more than 15. Our waiter also tried to be "chummy" but ended up just sounding immature to a couple of men. Im sure they may get better with age, but I dont have that kind of time

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Great Dinner at Johnny's Steak House

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The day after Valentines Day 2/15. Was an excellent first visit (date night). We will definitely go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Veal Sinatra was absolutely delicious. My husband had a ribeye cooked rare, which he said was the best he has had anywhere in years. The limoncello raspberry torte cake was wonderful, as was the crème brulee. The menu is extensive, and we will be back soon to work our way through it. Bravo!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

It was a wonderful experience eating her ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

It was a wonderful experience eating here. Service was excellent.....food was extremely tasty......tiramisu was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Prompt service. Great atmosphere

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Prompt service. Great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent valentines day dinner.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This was the first time my wife and I dined at Johnny's Italian Steakhouse. The food was top notch and the atmosphere was very romantic. The only thing missing were some candles on the table. Our server made sure to take his time going over the specials and demonstrated a willingness to help when needed. We will definitely make this our special occasion spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was fabulous. Service was outstandi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was fabulous. Service was outstanding. Highly recommend the stuffed mushrooms. We had lunch for an early Valentine's day. Very reasonable. Will visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak house in Madison area

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Your restaurant serves the best steaks in the Madison area. Your service is great and knowledgeable. We feel we get great value for our experience at your restaurant. Keep up the good work! The 2 items you might consider offering are creamed spinach and lamb chops.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic with a club charm

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

Felt like a club in a Frank Sinatra movie, very cool if you like history. Our steaks were to perfection, our only issue is no real steak knives? which wasn't a problem as the steaks were so tender but would have been handy to slice the bread. I will definitely go back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All was good except for the following. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

All was good except for the following. Had to request butter for the baked potato, also had to request water.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Ambiance is...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Ambiance is pleasant, but it was WAY too DARK!!! Service was great, but we did feel a bit rushed.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

customer

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Busy on a Saturday night! Which is a good thing. My friend was in a wheelchair and we were seated at one of the smaller booths on the side and we were cramped, but managed.

Our water and coffee was filled a lot - awesome! Our waitress was great, but I wish she had told me that goat cheese salad was 4 dollars! Way too much!

I probably won't get the calamari again - I have had it before and it was not soggy - it needs to have more crunch to it.

Prime rib was out at 7 pm? My friend was disappointed, but ended up getting the ribeye.

Also thought my dessert was dry - the mounds torte was way too dry - not getting that again. I will be back though.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Restaurant Week

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Have been to Johnny's before and had wonderful meal. This last weeks offering of the New York strip steak wasn't the best, done to perfection but had fat and little tuff. Salad very good, dessert, I would never put cayenne pepper in the chocolate mousse ever again. Very distracting and mouth hot when finished eating.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious Restaurant Week lunch w/ excellent picks

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

An excellent choice for Restaurant Week lunch. All the choices sounded so good it was very difficult to choose. Some of us ordered different things so we could share. The flavors, portions and presentation were excellent. Service was at a quick pace, but didn't feel like we were rushed or being pushed out. We will definitely try Johnny's for dinner some time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a reservation only to discover plans ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Had a reservation only to discover plans changed so we called the restaurant and asked for an earlier reservation time . they nicely accommodated us and moved our reservation to an half hour earlier. Once again we discovered things were going faster than anticipated so we decided to have a drink and relax at the restaurant until our reservation time. We checked in and went to the bar. Imagine our disappointment when we saw people without reservations being seated. To our dismay we were finally seated and it was at our original reservation time. Don't know if they thought it wouldn't be busy during restaurant week, but it took forever to get a waitstaff to take our order. However, food came out fast. Can't say the same for drinks from the bar once we were seated. To top it off, we received an email confirming our new reservation time. I will probably try this place once again to see if this was just a fluke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

We had always considered Johnny's Italia ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 5, 2016

We had always considered Johnny's Italian Steak House as one of our favorites. Therefore,

we invited another couple to go there with us. We were saddened at their disappointment.

The lighting was so dark they had to use cell phone lights to read the menu. The bar was filled

with young adults that were very noisy and we were seated near the bar. It was hard for older

people to hear one another. The food was good as we had expected, but the ambiance was a

big disappointment.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

I ordered the Shrimp Scampi. It was co ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on December 15, 2015

I ordered the Shrimp Scampi. It was covered In a heavy sauce. I did not enjoy it. The restaurant is beautiful and the service was great. We were seated in the bar area despite having reservations and the noise level was high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Birthday dinner

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Took my wife there for her birthday. Met up with another couple. The food was great and our service was outstanding. Have never had a disappointing meal at Johnny's.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food, friendly staff

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Had yet another fabulous meal at Johnny's. The veal Milanese was perfection and my son's Heart of Italy Trio was delicious and an abundant portion. Great martini menu!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Steaks

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on November 3, 2015

Always have really good meat at Johnny's. The steaks were cooked well, tender, and juicy. Stuffed ravioli were large and crisp (marinara is pretty generic, but ok). Love the sausage in the stuffed mushrooms., and the spinach salad is the best around.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We'd go back

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on October 19, 2015

The staff were friendly from the hostess who seated us to the server Tyler who we liked. We liked the feel of the place. We have moved to the West side from Atlanta GA after being in a major food city for 10 years and Chicago for years before that - we are looking for regular spots. My wife's steak was good as were her sides, I tried them all. My chicken parm was disappointing, tasted texture wise etc microwaved. As did our app cups of onion soup - super hot bowls, luke warm soup - which echoed the chicken parm. Flavor-wise the soup would have been a lot better not nuked as would the cheese. At this price point cummon, esp with ads for your chef to give cooking classes. I debated doing a review and we'd like to give Johnny's another try - we loved Delmonico's and the Edgewater for similar but a neighborhood place would be a great addition.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great Night with Friends

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Had a great night out with my husband and a very good friend. Went shopping at Greenway Station first, then to a very nice evening for dinner. Everything was excellent,

steak perfect, stuffed shrimp out of this world, and the veal was perfect.

Had a booth it was great seclude but could see all the action going on around us.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Early on Friday night

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on October 9, 2015

We were on our way to a WI badger hockey game so this was very convenient. Had eaten here 1 other time and had one of the best steaks ever eaten. This time not so much. The food was ok, but just ok. I had the crab stuffed shrimp, stuffing was very dry and the shrimp were so small they hardly held the stuffing, epic fail. My husband had the Heart of Italy combination plate, it was ok, not bad, but certainly nothing special.

Happy hour at the bar was nice. Good bartender. We didn't try any of the Happy hour Apps, but think I will stick to that if we go again. I would give a 2.5 out of 5 stars for overall rating. I would recommend Johnny's to others, but tell them not to have 5 star hopes.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great food, mediocre service

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on October 2, 2015

This was our second visit. We came back because we experienced great food and service the first time. This time the food was again very good. Not so much with service. First, there was some confusion about where we were to be seated. We were asked to stand near a table until the confusion was resolved. Then our server did not appear until I complained about the slowness of her appearance. Next our entree salads took a very long time to appear. A manager came to us to explain the salads were prepared incorrectly as the reason for the delay and had to be redone. The waitress, who was aware of the reason for the delay, never informed us of the problem. The one service issue they did get right was someone running after us in the parking lot with my credit card. I apparently left it at the table.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Great dinding experience

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary and it couldn't have been any more perfect. From the bar staff to a "divine" dinner. We'd recommend this to everyone and will surely visit again.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

dissappointed

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 14, 2015

Had a special request for my wife's birthday and they did nothing. Only saving grace was a great bartender and a nice waitress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Really good food and excellent service!! ...

vip
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on August 18, 2015

Really good food and excellent service!! We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

large portions prices moderate.

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 18, 2015

Italian beef was good but no hot giardiniera. and very little mild was served with sandwich. Caesar salad served with it very good. Companions tuna salad was disappointing. Very little tuna and appeared over cooked.. My wife's turkey and pear sandwich and soup were interesting and good. Jonny's Italian appetizer was filling and a meal in itself.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

All three of our lunch selections earned kudos!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 16, 2015

Hard to find, but once we located Johnny's, we were very pleased with this new restaurant (to us at least). Although there weren't a ton of people there by the time we arrived at 1:30 on a Sunday, service was a bit spotty - forgotten or long waits on items (soup spoon, tea, ciabatta). Patience paid off - all three of us really felt that our entrees were excellent! We look forward to the next time, and for more experienced wait staff by then....

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.