About Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Middleton

Johnny’s is reminiscent of the classic supper clubs of the 1940’s and 1950’s. It blends traditions of the past with the present adding a touch of class and a lot of edge. The sophisticated design of the restaurant is welcoming and warm; the illuminated lighting creates an air of mystique and privacy. The classic sounds of Sinatra, Dean and Sammy Davis, Jr. as well as contemporary crooners like Michael Bublé and Harry Connick Jr. surround the restaurant and infuse an aura and rhythm all of it’s own.

A glowing neon Blue Bar™ invites you for cocktails served on the custom granite bar or to relax on soft seating in the lounge. Enjoy classic martinis, specialty cocktails and an extensive wine list, all of which sets Johnny’s stage presence.

8390 Market Street
Middleton, WI 53562
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 831-3705

Website:
http://www.johnnysitaliansteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Monthly Culinary Classes provided by Chef Michael. Visit johnnysitaliansteakhouse.com/middleton for more details.

Catering:
We offer customizable catering menus for all occasions. Visit johnnysitaliansteakhouse.com/middleton for additional details.

Parking Details:
We offer a private lot surrounding the restaurant, shopping, and nearby hotels.

Executive Chef:
Michael Studzinski

Private Party Facilities:
We offer private dining for groups of up to 60 guests in the restaurant. You may chose from our banquet menus or create a customized menu for your event.

Private Party Contact:
David Martin: (608) 831-3705

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Middleton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
See All
Romantic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Authentic (2)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
142 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 2, 2017

The ambiance and location is great. I want to give 5 stars for food but my husbands steak was dry. We’ve been here twice and each time the service is slow. Could be a really great restaurant if they can fix these things.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2017

The restaurant wasn't open for Thanksgiving even though we made reservations. Our Thanksgiving dinner was ruined!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2017

It was a good meal. Food & drinks were good. Nothing over the top but a good date restaurant. It was extremely quiet when we went. There were maybe 5 other groups in the whole place so that was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Food was overcooked. Service in bar area was terrible - the manager actually took our drink order after we waited 15 minutes and we had to ask if someone could help us. Waitress at table was good - no qualms there. We expected more and it wasn't delivered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Our waiter Mitch was OUTSTANDING!! The best waitstaff we have had in years-and we've had many good experiences as we go out every week. Personable and attentive to us, awesome to our grandson and attentive to my food allergy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic, Organic, Fun, Healthy, Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great meal, great service. Our House Salad was missing its dressing, but once we let our waitress know, she took care of it right away. I will be back the next time we pass through the Madison area!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 7, 2017

The food is fabulous. A group of 4 for dinner and we all had something different. The Beef Wellington was cooked perfectly. And the Rib Eyes and Filet were wonderful. The good and service were so good we came back the next day for lunch. The French Onion soup was prepared to perfection.

Tags: Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Small birthday celebration of 3 resulted in the normal consistent good service and food at a reasonable price that we expect from Johnny's.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I took out of town friends for dinner. They raved about their food choices! I have never been disappointed by any of my selections at Johnny's. I have eaten lunch and dinner there several times. They have simple and decadent entrees and desserts. On Wednesday evening they even have an entree that is almost nonexistent on dinner menus, but a mouthwatering step back in time: beef Wellington! The only caveat is the price of a bottle of cheap moscato; too high. Otherwise a great place to enjoy reasonable dining.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Went for lunch. Had the steak special with garlic mashed potatoes. The steak was perfectly cooked and the potatoes were fluffy and very garlicy. A great value for $11.00. Service was also excellent and well paced.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Mom's Birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Very nice Sunday Brunch, and a great value. The carved roast beef was melt-in-you-mouth tender. The beef, an omelette station, made to order waffles plus other assorted hot dishes and assorted sweets .... all for a great price make this a go-to spot for us. We have always found the service to be top notch!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

We went for restaurant week and the food was fantastic! Our server did not check in much and bar drinks were extremely slow but otherwise great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 25, 2017

I've eaten here on various occasions and have always enjoyed the food. You get a good value for your money, and will not be disappointed in the choices. I chose a terrific New York strip steak and had enough for two meals! The menu features several "comfort " foods as well as vegetarian options, enough to please the whole group! They also have several seating areas and can definitely accommodate groups. The two desserts we shared were yummy! One was a superb limoncello cake and the other a chocolate mousse cake; definitely good to save room!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Casual, Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Food was delicious. We got the portabello tortellini and lasagna. Service was very feiendly.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food. This is the second time I had to request bread. Seriously, it should arrive when you are seated or with the drink order. We were told that they serve it with the Salad. Kinda of a disconnect with the other restaurants in town. The crab cake appetizer is one cake. Very good but not a value at the price. Go for the sausage stuffed mushrooms instead. They are to die for and you get 5 large ones. The steaks were perfectly done and the salads were large. The lobster bisque was 5 stars. Service was very good and wine pours generous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Made reservations for my husband's birthday dinner on 6/24/17 and it was the WORST service we have EVER experienced. We were sat and ignored for 20 minutes, every server that walked by ignored us. The manager happened to walk by, offered to get us our drinks and said our waitress would be over soon. 5 minutes to get a glass of water and another 5 minutes for my husband to get a Moscow mule, which by the way, was brought over by another server who SLAMMED it down in front of him so hard that it splashed on his clothing. She walked away without saying a word. A couple minutes later our waitress FINALLY comes by and looks confused when I ask for the check. I explain we are leaving due to how we are being treated. She offers to bring us free bread while he "enjoys" his drink. The bread that is supposed to be complimentary for everyone else except for us I guess. Btw, EVERYONE else that came in after us was served and catered to immediately. I will NEVER return to Johnny's and will never recommend them to anyone I know. Only giving them a star because it is required, not because they deserve any stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

It was our second time there in 2 days. Was awesome. They reserved a great table for us and Tyler our waiter was the best! We even had the manager stop by as he recognized we were repeat customers. If I lived in Middleton I would be there all the time

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Girlfriend's Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

It was so good we are going back tonight and have requested our same waiter Tyler.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great food and service! The only complaint is our booth was too dark- couldn't read the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Amazing dining experience . Food was awesome. Love this place. We will be back. Waitstaff was knowledgeable and did an amazing job.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We have been there several times. The food is great and prepared spot on. The service there is kinda slow. This time they had a mix up in servers and took about 10 mins to get our drinks and order an appetizer. The server was very apologetic. After that everything went smoother. The food is delicious! They offered a free desert for our anniversary.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We were not impressed. Our dinner should have come with focaccia bread, but we never got it. My husband remembered it at the end. We were one of the only people there, so being too busy can't be an excuse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Best food in madison and I've been to most of the good spots

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 23, 2017

The food was excellent. It looked great and tasted even better. Everything was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Need baked potato without onion powder. Alergic to onions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Enjoyed Mother's Day Brunch. However, was totally amazed to see so many people dressed like they were at a picnic or ready to weed the garden. Really lowered the overall experience. Our waiter, Jeffrey, was terrific, very personable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My mother In law was with us and she is in a wheel chair ( motorized) and with the tables crammed together there was no room for to use her chair. We had to seat her and bring her chair back to the car and had to get her plates for her and she could not move. Not wheel chair friendly. However the food and services where very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our waiter was also a bartender and he did an admirable job on a busy Saturday night (pre-Mother's Day & Prom). He was upbeat, attentive, and fast. This was our second time there and still haven't made it into one of the regular dining rooms. We ate in the bar area both times. Perhaps next time...

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We went to Johnny's to celebrate our daughter's graduation from UW-Madison. The food was excellent! We enjoyed our appetizers and dinners. The service, however, left a lot to be desired. Our dinner was delivered by a food runner and we were not visited by our server again until well after our meals were finished. We were never asked if we wanted to order more drinks, which we would have. We ordered a dessert and then cancelled it because it took too long. Unfortunately, the poor service took away much of our celebratory attitude that evening. The food was excellent so we would recommend the restaurant, but would hope others would have a more positive experience from their server. That can really ruin a nice evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We went to celebrate my son's graduation from college. We reserved a table on line..... Very slick. We were seated within 5 minutes of our party's arrival. Great service, fantastic food, and quiet ambiance. The only annoyance was..... Our table was super wabbley, and when my husband cut his steak, our water glasses would spill. Not a big deal and even became a game after a bit. I highly recommend this establishment. 😊

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We were promptly seated in the bar area and our water took our drink orders. 15 minutes later he returned to tell us that they had to find and wash glasses in order to make our cocktails. They should be up shortly ( the place was not that busy). He took our food order. Brought the drinks and before we had time to enjoy them served our salads. Our entrees were served before we had time to finish the salad course. Bottom line, the food was great, the service rushed to the point we were'nt served bread or asked for another round of drinks. It felt like they were short staffed. Not the casual dining experience we were after. A point for older adults, lighting is very dark and it's hard to read the menu.

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food & service were excellent. A little pricey, but fine for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Fantastic all around! Will be back for sure!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Bar was less than stocked for first choice items, we had to make other choices. Food was "ok". Not great, but not bad. Table salad was pretty skimpy for 4 people.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food was good, the service was amazing. Jeffreys service is what makes people come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Johnny's is a good all around restaurant. Selections include beef, seafood, pasta, wines, drinks from the bar and a nice selection of deserts and appetizers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I asked about their allergy-friendly menu before being seated. The two young ladies started asking me questions that were really none of their business, but I began to answer. (Medical reasons.) I was in the middle of asking if I could end up speaking to a chef when Mack (no idea if he was the manager or anything) cut me off and began lecturing me about how one of my allergens is in everything (as if I didn't know how problematic it was) & told me he would not inconvenience the staff for me. He told me I shouldn't go out. I turned to leave, he began back peddaling, but my hand was on the door. We'd been there many times before my diagnosis. Never again. And I will be very vocal about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We enjoyed Johnny's as a place to unwind by ourselves after a weekend with family. It was quiet on Sunday, and perfect for us.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.