Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Sun, 4/22
Time
11:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Middleton

4.2
174 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Perfect For:
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Special Occasion
Johnny’s is reminiscent of the classic supper clubs of the 1940’s and 1950’s. It blends traditions of the past with the present adding a touch of class and a lot of edge. The sophisticated design of the restaurant is welcoming and warm; the illuminated lighting creates an air of mystique and privacy. The classic sounds of Sinatra, Dean and Sammy Davis, Jr. as well as contemporary crooners like Michael Bublé and Harry Connick Jr. surround the restaurant and infuse an aura and rhythm all of it’s own.

A glowing neon Blue Bar™ invites you for cocktails served on the custom granite bar or to relax on soft seating in the lounge. Enjoy classic martinis, specialty cocktails and an extensive wine list, all of which sets Johnny’s stage presence.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Italian, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(608) 831-3705
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Rebecca Riehn
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We offer private dining for groups of up to 60 guests in the restaurant. You may chose from our banquet menus or create a customized menu for your event.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
David Martin: (608) 831-3705
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We offer customizable catering menus for all occasions. Visit johnnysitaliansteakhouse.com/middleton for additional details.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Market Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We offer a private lot surrounding the restaurant, shopping, and nearby hotels.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Monthly Culinary Classes provided by Chef Rebecca. Visit johnnysitaliansteakhouse.com/middleton for more details.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We love to host birthdays and anniversaries. Join us for a special lunch or dinner for a special day
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 174 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.1
service
4.3
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined a day ago

We had reservations, were seated late and then they didn't tell the waitstaff who we belonged too. Once she knew, Julie rocked it! Goat cheese salad was awesome!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Excellent food and service. The salads are large enough to share. Beef melts in your mouth. Desserts to die for...

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Entrees were great, but I wasn't expecting the salad served family style (we were 4 adults). Coffee served with dessert was cold.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

We dine out frequently and are very particular. I must say I was pleasantly surprised! Everything was great! We tried to make reservations for their Easter Sunday buffet brunch. They were already full. I can understand why.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 25, 2018

We made an online reservation so we didn't have to wait but still had to wait about 10-15 minutes and they weren't busy. Waited another 10 minutes for our server to come to our table. Waited another 10 minutes for our waters. 15 minutes for our appitizers, another 15 minutes for our salad after the appitizer was finished. 20 more minutes for our food. Our steak was to be cooked medium well and it was medium rare. We waited another 15 minutes to pay the bill. All in all it took us over an hour and a half to not not even finish our meals because the wait for everything was so long. We were both under the weather and wanted a quiet relaxing dinner. It was loud and super slow. Not how we thought our anniversary would go. The food was good not great. We won't go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Our server was easily the best server that I’ve ever personally experienced, EVER! Needless to say we will be frequenting this place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Great food, reasonable prices, great atmosphere, awesome bar!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 15, 2018

3 complaints:
1) I was the 4th of my party to arrive and I was told I was the first, so I was asked to wait. I waited. Only to find out :20 later I was the 4th to arrive and the other 3 were waiting. Entirely ridiculous and unacceptable.
2) The older guy at the front should not be customer facing. HIs listening skills are horrific. "How many in your party? "2." 3?" "2." 60 seconds go by and this is repeated. Saw it happen with multiple customers arriving.
3) 2 waiter/waitresses were entirely confused...1 would be plenty, but apparently it is a goal that the confusion at the front should carry through for the entire dining experience. Double the drink orders taken, double the meal orders taken, unbelievable...we found ourselves laughing at the disorganization.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Always a great experience !

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Slow service. We hardly saw our waiter. In 45 minutes we got our appetizer, bread, had to flag down the floor manager for water refills, and no entree. Almost an hour elapsed when another server brought us our food. Two of the pasta portions for the chicken parm were cold. My lasagna was luke warm. When it arrived it looked good- good portion and neat. I sent it back for it to be warmed and another dish was brought 5-7 minutes later. Very obviously microwaved, sloppy melted cheese and smaller portion than the first dish. The side sausage was boiled and the skin was rubbery. It tasted okay but appeared as if it was prepared by a kid just plopped down on the plate and a soupy mess. As for reasons why it was luke warm the excuses that followed was because there was a "big party" and the kitchen was "slammed". No offer to make the meal right by comping a cent. The food was okay but not worth the $. When Im in the area I may or may not return. I understand a restaurant can have a bad night. Even though our server was scarce and non-existent until the check was brought then hovered around other waitstaff were very busy and attentive to their guests. I guess we just drew the shortest straw this particular evening seems to be the story as of late.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Had been there occasionally in past but recently revisited with family members. Returned two weeks in a row due to excellent experience > wonderful ambiance, really delicious food and great service. Would definitely recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Everything was wonderful

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Very nice Valentines Day dinner.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 9, 2018

We were seated near the crowded bar in a curved booth so that people were always standing right in front of us having their own loud conversations. This was not very conducive to a relaxing evening and was very distracting. Why not give people an option to sit in the quiet and empty dining room rather than in the periphery of some guy's birthday celebration? I noticed the other booths of couples not associated with the party in the middle of the room seemed to be similarly distracted. The food didn't really make up for the terrible ambiance, it was fine but nothing special. We won't be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 4, 2018

Been to Johnny’s several times, but this was our first time trying their brunch. It was excellent! Everything I tried was delicious. Lots of choices, from breakfast items to prime rib, as well as an impressive dessert table and made to order waffles and omelettes. We had the bottomless mimosas (a steal at $5.50) and those were really good too. I will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Fantastic filet mignonette. Cocktails were great along with the service, the ambiance and the desserts. Great night!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Even with reservations were seated in the bar in a booth rather than at a table, difficult for conversation, also the waitress was rude. We will not be back, as this is our 2nd negative experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 25, 2018

Food was served very hot and was delicious

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 25, 2018

Great first time experience. Was a bit disappointed in the steak though. Everything else was excellent and the service was great as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 25, 2018

Service and food was great. It’s a small chain and surprisingly menu has relatively good choices. Wine menu was very light (literally 4 cabs) unlike spirits has lot more to offer which is unusual for a steakhouse

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 24, 2018

The ONLY downside of my experience was that I was seated at my table for at least 10 minutes before I was acknowledged.

I got the impression that Andrea was not to be my server, but she noticed that I didn't even have any water and had been sitting there for quite a while. She seemed to take it upon herself to assign herself to my table and took great care of me from that moment on!

I had a Restaurant Week Lunch and it was the VERY best Restaurant Week lunch I have EVER had (and I have had Restaurant Week Lunches at Lucille, Rare, Doolittle's, Johnny Delmonico's, The Avenue Club, Biaggi's, Bonfyre, Nonno's, The Statehouse, Porta Bella, The Wise @ Hotel Red, Inca Heritage & Bluephies. At least these are the ones I can recall!).

I had the salmon spread, incredible steak and garlic mashed potatoes & the limoncello cake with raspberry sauce. Everything was fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2018

Wonderful food selection for Restaurant Week Menu. Pleasant and courteous staff.
Always a treat to eat here. Mitch was an outstanding server.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

We picked this restaurant randomly during our visit to Madison, we were not disappointed!!! Everyone was extremely accommodating. The drinks were delicious, our entire meal was absolutely perfect. We dine out frequently and as of recent have not had such a truly wonderful dining experience! Well done Johnny’s Italian steakhouse!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2018

I've never been disappointed in their service or food. Always good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 19, 2018

We had a good business dinner, but the wait staff was just "off". One food tray dropped, one of my drinks was wrong and another was turned over by the server. Beef was cooked to the right temp, pricing was good and menu had lots of tempting options. Will try again when in town.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 18, 2018

Many of us feel this is an underrated restaurant in the sea of choices in the West Madison/Middleton area. The food quality and selection has always been incredible. Where they seem to always struggle is the service. Our server last night was definitely there because she had to be. What I mean by that is she was abrupt when she interacted with our table EVERY TIME. She seemed to be too busy and distracted to offer anywhere near friendly service. For a minute I thought I was in an East Coast, high volume restaurant. This is almost always to case here as well. Not sure how the staff is being trained but some coaching on friendly service would go a long way.

That being said our meal was fantastic. So if you can put up with poor service for great food, I’d recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 13, 2018

I had a great time at Johnny's. Took my Mom there for a belated birthday lunch. We went a little bit off-hour at about 2 PM and the place was nice and quiet. We got good attention from the server, who would show up at just the right time, and the food was good. The art and architecture were visually stimulating.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Just a fair meal at a somewhat expensive price point.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Excellent service, great food, attentive staff, reasonable prices. Well worth a second visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

The food was very good and the service exceptional! We will be going back very soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2017

Lunch was very enjoyable. There is a diverse menu which meant something for everyone but made it hard to pick just one! I guess it's a good problem to have. We had a server who was very attentive.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 9, 2017

We were out for a date night. They were busy at 6p.m. I think there was a Christmas Party or two. We had a drink in the bar area and were seated promptly when we told them we were ready. We were seated in a booth in the bar area and our waitress was one of the Bartenders. Her attention was spread thin to us because she was making drinks for the rest of the patrons.
Our entrees arrived an hour after we were seated. The food was good but we seemed to pick the wrong time on the wrong night.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 1, 2017

The ambiance and location is great. I want to give 5 stars for food but my husbands steak was dry. We’ve been here twice and each time the service is slow. Could be a really great restaurant if they can fix these things.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 23, 2017

The restaurant wasn't open for Thanksgiving even though we made reservations. Our Thanksgiving dinner was ruined!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 19, 2017

It was a good meal. Food & drinks were good. Nothing over the top but a good date restaurant. It was extremely quiet when we went. There were maybe 5 other groups in the whole place so that was nice.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 30, 2017

Food was overcooked. Service in bar area was terrible - the manager actually took our drink order after we waited 15 minutes and we had to ask if someone could help us. Waitress at table was good - no qualms there. We expected more and it wasn't delivered.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 7, 2017

Our waiter Mitch was OUTSTANDING!! The best waitstaff we have had in years-and we've had many good experiences as we go out every week. Personable and attentive to us, awesome to our grandson and attentive to my food allergy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 22, 2017

Great meal, great service. Our House Salad was missing its dressing, but once we let our waitress know, she took care of it right away. I will be back the next time we pass through the Madison area!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 6, 2017

The food is fabulous. A group of 4 for dinner and we all had something different. The Beef Wellington was cooked perfectly. And the Rib Eyes and Filet were wonderful. The good and service were so good we came back the next day for lunch. The French Onion soup was prepared to perfection.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 3, 2017

Small birthday celebration of 3 resulted in the normal consistent good service and food at a reasonable price that we expect from Johnny's.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5