About Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Middleton

8390 Market Street
Middleton, WI 53562
View Larger Map

Johnny’s is reminiscent of the classic supper clubs of the 1940’s and 1950’s. It blends traditions of the past with the present adding a touch of class and a lot of edge. The sophisticated design of the restaurant is welcoming and warm; the illuminated lighting creates an air of mystique and privacy. The classic sounds of Sinatra, Dean and Sammy Davis, Jr. as well as contemporary crooners like Michael Bublé and Harry Connick Jr. surround the restaurant and infuse an aura and rhythm all of it’s own.

A glowing neon Blue Bar™ invites you for cocktails served on the custom granite bar or to relax on soft seating in the lounge. Enjoy classic martinis, specialty cocktails and an extensive wine list, all of which sets Johnny’s stage presence.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 831-3705

Website:
http://www.johnnysitaliansteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Monthly Culinary Classes provided by Chef Michael. Visit johnnysitaliansteakhouse.com/middleton for more details.

Catering:
We offer customizable catering menus for all occasions. Visit johnnysitaliansteakhouse.com/middleton for additional details.

Parking Details:
We offer a private lot surrounding the restaurant, shopping, and nearby hotels.

Executive Chef:
Michael Studzinski

Private Party Facilities:
We offer private dining for groups of up to 60 guests in the restaurant. You may chose from our banquet menus or create a customized menu for your event.

Private Party Contact:
David Martin: 6088313705x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Stuffed Mushrooms - Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Middleton, Middleton, WI
Shrimp Bruschetta - Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Middleton, Middleton, WI
Johnny's Veal Sinatra - Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Middleton, Middleton, WI
Berry Cheesecake - Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Middleton, Middleton, WI
Flirtini - Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Middleton, Middleton, WI
tortellini - Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Middleton, Middleton, WI
Seared Salmon & Artichoke Pasta - Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Middleton, Middleton, WI
Parmesan Steak And Shrimp - Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Middleton, Middleton, WI
Scallop And Arugula Pasta - Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Middleton, Middleton, WI
Goat Cheese Salad - Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Middleton, Middleton, WI
Angel Hair Pasta - Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Middleton, Middleton, WI
Reuben Sandwich - Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Middleton, Middleton, WI
Sushi Grade Ahi Tuna Nicoise Salad - Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Middleton, Middleton, WI
Seafood Pasta Pomodoro - Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Middleton, Middleton, WI
Salmon with goat cheese - Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Middleton, Middleton, WI

Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Middleton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Madison
Best Restaurants in Middleton ›

Romantic (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for a Date (5)
See All
Great for Brunch (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Business Meals (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Casual (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Historic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
91 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food is ALWAYS great here and the am ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

The food is ALWAYS great here and the ambiance in the dining area is perfect. That being said, being placed in the bar area in a half circle booth made for four people was not an ideal setting for a couple and the dining party should be asked prior to being seated in the bar if that is acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service and great food. Can't wait ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great service and great food. Can't wait untill they build in Sun Prairie.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

After a play at Spring Green we chose t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 19, 2016

After a play at Spring Green we chose to dine at Johnny's Italian Steakhouse. We remembered the restaurant from a visit over two years ago. I'm glad we found it. Well worth it! The food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always love coming to eat here when I ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I always love coming to eat here when I am visiting family in Middleton. Always have a great meal with wonderful service.

A word of warning though if you have a loved one with vision issues. The ambiance is very dark. The booths by the bathrooms have some chandeliers above so they are brighter and the bathroom hallway lights help for low vision people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came to jonnys for my birthday dinner ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We came to jonnys for my birthday dinner was wonderful starting with our waiter

wine list was great along with the food would recommend this restaurant to to our family and friends we been here before too for a Sunday brunch and also lunch never have had a bad meal we will be back again soon

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat at the bar for a couple of drinks ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We sat at the bar for a couple of drinks. They weren't made to our taste. They were very willing to change the drink to our liking. Enjoy the bar staff. The dining area is pleasant, with great waitresses, good food, and good wine. We have been here twice in the last month and hope to continue coming here. Very enjoyable.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wife and I visiting from out of state,ta ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wife and I visiting from out of state,taking my Mother out for dinner. We both felt ill from the food that evening, food was nothing special, Mother had prime rib medium rare but was too tough to eat, took it home to the dog. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

We have been here five times. Three out ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We have been here five times. Three out of the five were terrible experiences. Not sure why we kept going back other than the location by where we work. This time our server completely ignored us when asked for a second cup of coffee. She also only said oh! To my comment that my fish was raw. Didn't even offer to cook it more. We even had to ask to get water and refills were hard to get. Since there was no one at the host stand to talk to when we left I wrote to the restaurant from their website about our experience. That was two days ago and I haven't heard a word.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Salad was wilted. Steak was steamed. Mas ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Salad was wilted. Steak was steamed. Mashed potatoes were tasteless except for garlic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

A typical chain restaurant ambiance, ser ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 19, 2016

A typical chain restaurant ambiance, service, food preparation, and value. Nothing particularly wrong, yet not very memorable. Steaks were a bit too oversea ones, perhaps to overcome lower grade of beef. Prices reasonable and service prompt and attentive. Reasonably good wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We made reservations days in advance but ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We made reservations days in advance but were seated in the bar. They said they had large parties and it would be noisy in the dining room. It turned out fine but wasn't what we envisioned. The food was delicious and the service was wonderful. We will certainly be going again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was excellent. Thank you, Liz

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Food was excellent.

Thank you,

Liz

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an amazing dinner. Food was excel ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We had an amazing dinner. Food was excellent as well as the service

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostess was unfriendly. Server was a lit ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Hostess was unfriendly. Server was a little dry, but warmed up as the meal progressed. The food was delicious. Would definitely dine there again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We each had steaks and they were some of ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We each had steaks and they were some of the best we've had in town. Desserts were also amazing. I'd say it's my favorite restaurant I've been to in this price range (in Madison).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Excellent service. Large po ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food. Excellent service. Large portions and yummy desserts.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good and wine was excellent and service ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Good and wine was excellent and service exceeded expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always exceptional, server was g ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food is always exceptional, server was great. Only complaint we had mentioned to each other was our table. The restaurant had maybe 30 there (plenty of open tables!) and we ended up being seated next to the kitchen door.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great first time there - we went on my b ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great first time there - we went on my birthday with my twin grandkids and we received excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were celebrating a birthday and had a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 19, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday and had a wonderful. The service was excellent as was our greeting both coming and going from the front desk. My one suggestion to improve the dining experience is to lower the level of music. The selection was fine but it was a little too loud to accompany dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent. Our ser ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food and service were excellent. Our server was very nice and welcoming. I had the strip steak special, rubbed with coffee and accompanied by Brussels sprouts; and it was marvelous. We had a very nice evening at Johnny's

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The sausage mushroom appetizer is filled ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 23, 2016

The sausage mushroom appetizer is filled with spicy Italian sausage and covered in cheese. Very good. The sauce with the shrimp cocktail was excellent and the bread was warm from the oven. The Caesar salad was large and well dressed. The house salad is served family style. Steaks are fork tender and served with potato or veggie of the day. Kudos to the chef for preparing a perfect rare steak! The wine pours are generous and the desserts were very large. All the food was very good. This dinner was early on a Thursday night and it was not very busy. The service was slow.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Somewhat disappointed

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Been to Johnny's many times and have always been pleased. This time, I mentioned in reservation that it was husband's birthday. That was not acknowledged by any staff. Service was mediocre. Food did not meet usual high standards. Husband's Drunken Steak was somewhat tough, which he never experience before. The meal was good, just not great like we've come to expect. They need to kick up food quality and service a few notches in order to command their prices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Steaks were tough and not very flavorabl ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Steaks were tough and not very flavorable. Disappointing for a Steakhouse. I'll stick with pasta dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Better than expected

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 3, 2016

We had dinner on the patio. The service, wine and food was excellent.

Definitely coming back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came here from the Mustard Museum. Grea ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Came here from the Mustard Museum. Great food, nice menu, very quiet mid day on a Saturday in May.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a great meal with a very nice waitress. The cavatappi with sausage was excellent as was the Johnny's steak. We carried out the limoncello dessert to eat at home. That was good as well. Really nice salad with great dressing and great foccacia bread. Overall one of our better meals in Madison.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good food; good service

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 5, 2016

Tonight was our third visit. We always look forward to the toasted ravioli appetizer. Salads are ample and tasty. Tonight I had Salmon Fiorintino which had a sesame crust crunch, spinach, and pine nuts. I chose broccoli as my side. Our server was attentive, quick, and well informed about the menu. It is also easy to have a private conversation in a booth. Desserts were tempting. However, we passed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicous and worth it

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was incredible from the bread and salads at the beginning to the entrées. The service was great, the atmosphere was fun. We really enjoyed our whole experience while at Johnny's Italian Steakhouse! We have been here before, and it never fails to impress us. Absolutely will be back again. Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner, portion size appropria ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Excellent dinner, portion size appropriate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So-So

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2016

I enjoyed many of the food offerings but was decidedly unimpressed with the staff. Maybe Im just old now, but everyone seemed about 10 years too young to be in their positions. I felt the hostess and host couldnt have been more than 15. Our waiter also tried to be "chummy" but ended up just sounding immature to a couple of men. Im sure they may get better with age, but I dont have that kind of time

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Great Dinner at Johnny's Steak House

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2016

The day after Valentines Day 2/15. Was an excellent first visit (date night). We will definitely go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service!

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Veal Sinatra was absolutely delicious. My husband had a ribeye cooked rare, which he said was the best he has had anywhere in years. The limoncello raspberry torte cake was wonderful, as was the crème brulee. The menu is extensive, and we will be back soon to work our way through it. Bravo!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

It was a wonderful experience eating her ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2016

It was a wonderful experience eating here. Service was excellent.....food was extremely tasty......tiramisu was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Prompt service. Great atmosphere

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Prompt service. Great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent valentines day dinner.

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2016

This was the first time my wife and I dined at Johnny's Italian Steakhouse. The food was top notch and the atmosphere was very romantic. The only thing missing were some candles on the table. Our server made sure to take his time going over the specials and demonstrated a willingness to help when needed. We will definitely make this our special occasion spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was fabulous. Service was outstandi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was fabulous. Service was outstanding. Highly recommend the stuffed mushrooms. We had lunch for an early Valentine's day. Very reasonable. Will visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak house in Madison area

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Your restaurant serves the best steaks in the Madison area. Your service is great and knowledgeable. We feel we get great value for our experience at your restaurant. Keep up the good work! The 2 items you might consider offering are creamed spinach and lamb chops.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic with a club charm

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 9, 2016

Felt like a club in a Frank Sinatra movie, very cool if you like history. Our steaks were to perfection, our only issue is no real steak knives? which wasn't a problem as the steaks were so tender but would have been handy to slice the bread. I will definitely go back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All was good except for the following. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 7, 2016

All was good except for the following. Had to request butter for the baked potato, also had to request water.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.