About John Barleycorn Wrigleyville

3524 N. Clark Street
Chicago, IL 60657
View Larger Map

This sports-loving Wrigleyville sibling of the Lincoln Park stalwart gives Cubs fans all the space they need to spread out. The handsome two-story space features the familiar nautical theme downstairs, and the second floor, which is fitted with a soaring barrel ceiling, features a stage showcasing live entertainment and plush booths that are big enough to fit your whole team. Fans love that there’s no shortage of flat-screen TVs, including two 100-inch projection screens showing both college and pro teams. This location offers a something-for-everyone menu (Buffalo-style chicken wings, half-pound burgers and beer-battered fish and chips) and can accommodate 30-900 for private parties.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Burgers

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Friday: 5:00am - 2:00am, Saturday: 5:00pm - 3:00am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 549-6000

Website:
http://www.johnbarleycorn.com/wrigleyville/

Public Transit:
Red Line Train: Addison stop CTA Bus: #22 Clark, #152 Addison

Restaurant Photos

  • John Barleycorn Wrigleyville
John Barleycorn Wrigleyville

John Barleycorn Wrigleyville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.7

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Energetic

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
Chicago / Illinois
Best Restaurants in Wrigleyville ›

Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
See All
Kid-friendly (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Sort By:
Newest
17 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good burger before the game. Chose this ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Good burger before the game. Chose this restaurant because of location and had heard about it from others.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

A reasonable place near Wrigley Field wh ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

A reasonable place near Wrigley Field where you can get a reservation for a small group before a Cubs game.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great place to go for a Cubs game; honor ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great place to go for a Cubs game; honored our reservation without any problems. Service and food was spot on..however my only comment is that I wish they had the volume from the music turned down a little. We were sitting close to the street and still had a hard time hearing our conversations over the sound of the music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

ordered a wide range of items from the m ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

ordered a wide range of items from the menu. when food arrived the fresh cut potato chips were actually dripping oil and were soggy way under cooked. after taking a bite of the chicken sandwich i called the waitress over and informed her i was not happy with the pink chicken ( way undercooked again). then my wife had to refuse her burger bites way over cooked ( heavy charred) this was our 3rd time eating here and it was our last time as well.

lots of luck on your experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

We made our reservation on opentable for ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We made our reservation on opentable for our party of 11 that afternoon. When we arrived at the restaurant they had no record of it and weren't ready for us. The hostess was not very helpful but I persisted and she brought me to her manager, Leo. Leo was awesome and worked diligently to put three tables together from various parts of the restaurant to accommodate our group. It was a really busy time since the Cubs Game had just ended, but he made it happen. Our out of town guests lived their food and it ended up being a great experience. Thank you Leo!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Wrigleyville area restaurant-tavern that ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Wrigleyville area restaurant-tavern that would take a reservation on the day of a Cubs game.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and service very good! A good spot ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food and service very good! A good spot to go to before or after a Cubs game. Th avocado chicken sandwich was excellent!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Find next to the Wrigley Field for ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great Find next to the Wrigley Field for pre game dining. The atmosphere was awesome and the place was extremely clean compared to some of the other establishments in the area. Food and the mixed drinks were excellent. Service was quick and courteous.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only issue with our visit was that I ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

My only issue with our visit was that I took the time to make a reservation through Open Table but when we got there, they did not have our reservation. I showed them the confirmation I received and they did not have anything. It ended up not mattering because they had seating for our party of 10. During our visit they were very attentive - great early bird specials for our first stop of the evening!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Slow service before Cubs game

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2015

While we obviously expected service to be slow before a game, it was horri5ly slow. The waitress said food would take 15-20 minutes, but it ended up taking over 45 minutes. We missed the start of the game as a result. If you go before a game, make sure it is at least 1.6 hours before game time and order right away.

The service was poor as well for drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Didn't even get seated.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 16, 2015

Had a reservation but apparently we were supposed to show up 30 minutes prior to actually reserve our reservation?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

AWFUL experience!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 31, 2015

We made a reservation for 7:15pm on a Saturday night. When we arrived at the restaurant, there was a Blackhawks game on so we were told that we would be seated upstairs. We headed upstairs to a table with a reserved sign on it. Sat at the table for a half hour and no server ever came. Finally we just went up to the bar to get a drink. We found out that the bar had only 1 bartender to serve over 100 people. While 1 member of our party was getting drinks, another member tried to find out how we get a waitress to order food as we have been at the restaurant for nearly an hour now. We were told by the manager that the only way to get food was to go downstairs and order at the bar down there (which was over 10 people deep everywhere!) and then wait for the food and walk it back upstairs ourselves. At this point we had to leave. What is the point in offering a reservation when you cannot even order food?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Disappointed

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 28, 2014

I remember the good old john barleycorn. This new place is ridiculous! There was no food to order and no drink menu. I'm sorry but why advertise this stuff. I miss the old barleycorn.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Rude staff

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 27, 2014

Manager was rude. Would never recommend restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Do not go here with a large group

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 26, 2014

The music was so loud no one could talk. The waitress got 5/9 orders completely wrong(probably because the music was so loud she couldn't hear our orders). And we were unable to split the bill more than 2 ways. Don't go here with a large group. I was very dissapointed.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Management and hostesses need help!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2014

This restaurant is probably fine if you don't need to be anywhere else for a few days, but don't go here if you are in a hurry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Worst experience ever!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2014

Of 8 meals ordered, 3 were wrong and one - a simple burger - didn't come until everyone else was done. Wine was poor quality and because we were upstairs we were told we could only have red wine. Martinis were served in water glasses and were, indeed, watered down. On the positive side the manager gave us significant concessions on the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.