About Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC

750-15th Street NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab is the culmination of a partnership between Lettuce Entertain You and Joe's Stone Crab, the legendary seafood restaurant of Miami Beach. Joe's features an extensive selection of seafood, flown in fresh daily, to complement the world's finest Florida Stone Crab claws. Joe's also features signature prime steaks, hand-carved by master butchers such as our 24 oz. Bone-In Rib Eye. Matched with Joe's famous side dishes, dinner only gets better when capped with a slice of key lime pie. Enjoy a generous cocktail in the bustling lounge or the tuxedo-clad service of the dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Everyday 11:30am-4:00pm


Brunch: Sat-Sun 11:30am-2:30pm


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday-Saturday 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
15th and H

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 489-0140

Website:
http://www.joes.net/

Parking Details:
Joe's is located at the southwest corner of 15th Street and H Street NW. Due to traffic restrictions valet parking is available on H Street after 6PM at $12 per vehicle. Before 6PM we recommend garage parking located just East of 15th Street. LAZ Parking, 1412 H St. NW, Washington, DC 20005, $10 after 5:00 PM OR PMI Parking, 1401 H St. NW, Washington, DC 20005, $10 after 5:00 PM.

Public Transit:
Closest metro stop is McPherson Square.

Executive Chef:
Chris Morvis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Joe's offers five stylishly decorated private spaces. Jesse’s Room, is the most intimate private space, with restored floor to ceiling vintage millwork and a marble fireplace. At the top of a floating staircase, the mezzanine level is devoted to private dining with dedicated kitchen and full bar.

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Food
District of Columbia
Seafood
District of Columbia
1 More
Most Booked
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (317)
fit for foodies (204)
good for groups (181)
See All
romantic (173)
notable wine list (134)
vibrant bar scene (127)
hot spot (115)
great for lunch (103)
neighborhood gem (60)
great for brunch (42)
late-night find (27)
kid-friendly (17)
scenic view (14)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1480 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Been to Vegas Joe's, always good. First ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

Been to Vegas Joe's, always good. First time in DC Joe's and it was excellent, great service and help with ordering and food was all top notch.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good meal and good service. Love cr ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Very good meal and good service. Love crabs so this is a fun experience for me

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Probably the best meal I have ever had. ...

Dined 5 days ago

Probably the best meal I have ever had. It is classic food done to perfection.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUTSTANDING FOOD! GREAT SERVICE!

Dined 5 days ago

This was my second time dining with clients at Joe's. The food was once again incredible! In addition, the waitress from my previous visit, "GRACE" served us again and was as gracious as ever. The biggest thrill for me was that my client was over joyed with the entire dining experience, and that is PRICELESS! Thank you, Joe's!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Went there for a dinner on a Thursday ni ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Went there for a dinner on a Thursday night. The food was what you expect in any steakhouse - great steaks, lobster, crab, nothing inventive. The service was too casual and inattentive. Would I go back? Absolutely not.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sometimes you don't want to write a revi ...

Dined 6 days ago

Sometimes you don't want to write a review of an excellent restaurant because it could persuade others to go, and then there's more competition for reservations. This is such a situation. Fourth visit to Joe's, and each has been better than the last. My only complaint is that the "hello" speech from the server makes them unavailable to their other tables -- it could be shorter. But other than that, everything -- food, service, menu -- was exceptional, and exceeded by already high expectations.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service and delicious food. Strawb ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great service and delicious food. Strawberry and rhubarb pie was so delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent

Dined 7 days ago

We always try to eat at Joes when in the 4 cities where they have restaurants. My wife is a lover of stone crabs and they are always great here.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5

Great! Went back the next day for lunch.

Dined 7 days ago

Great! Went back the next day for lunch.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

High quality seafood & service

Dined on May 17, 2016

What stands out most to me at Joe's -- and I've only been here twice -- is the high quality of service, and the outstanding food. I've always gone with the fish, and I've brought people here who love seafood. I understand they have great beef too, but that's not my thing. Brought some old friends we haven't seen in years, and had a wonderful time. Our waitress Martha and her team were FANTASTIC. They made the night for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I both ordered the mixed gri ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

My wife and I both ordered the mixed grill dinner. The shrimp was a little dry and tough, but the food was very good overall. The service in this restaurant is outstanding. At the table across from us, the party had a little girl that feel asleep. The waiter put two chairs together so she could lie down. He then grabbed two table cloths, folded one into a pillow and used the other as a blanket. Now that's a great example of customer service!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Best seafood in the DC area! Had a great ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Best seafood in the DC area! Had a great night out with my parents and my girlfriends family. First time they met and it was all perfect. Thanks Eric and Paul for making us feel special

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant and service. Waite ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent restaurant and service. Waiter found out my wife had a food allergy and really took care of us. Wished I could remember his name, but excellent service.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service friendly, exceptional. Food spectacular

Dined on May 13, 2016

We could not have been treated better. From the bar scene and friendly conversations with the maitre d to the lovely waitress.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding restaurant!!! Food was deli ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Outstanding restaurant!!! Food was delicious, service was amazing, and perfect spot for a special occasion celebration!! Thanks to Joe's!! We will definitely be back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

dinner for 4

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great bar and ambiance, restaurant was loud, food was typical to steak, seafood high end restaurant.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Joe's Seafood! Great service & goo ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Love Joe's Seafood! Great service & good food! Always have a great experience when I done there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My family and I absolutely loved the foo ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

My family and I absolutely loved the food and service. I will be back. Thank you!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual great food. Best Stone Crabs an ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

As usual great food. Best Stone Crabs anywhere Joe's in D.C. Is my favorite, I love the fact it's in an old bank.

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Good Steaks,Overpriced Stone Crabs

Dined on May 12, 2016

As former Wine and Food Editor of the Washingtonian Magazine, I was looking for a repeat of an excellent meal I had some months ago. It was good, but ultimately disappointing. The jumbo stone crabs were seriously overpriced; the steaks were very good, but lacked the flavor of our previous visit, and the sides, especially the steamed asparagus, was excellent. Desserts were appropriately evil.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorite restaurants. The foo ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants. The food and service are always superb! Their customer service demonstrates how they value you as a customer. Love Joe's for all occasions.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second visit and food was marvellous

Dined on May 11, 2016

I had the same grilled seafood platter as the first visit just because it was so good. We had a guest from Sydney Australia and she was very impressed with the overall experience. Our waiter was exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 9, 2016

Having grown up in Miami, Joe's Stone Crabs was a celebration staple. Once married it became my husbands as well. So, it was fitting to celebrate my husbands birthday at Joe's. The service was excellent, Mike and team took great care of us. From the delicious ceviche to the signature large stone crabs and Joe's mustard, hashed browns, creamed spinach and key lime pie- it was the perfect dinner and we'll look forward to the next one there. While pricey, it is worth it in service, freshness and quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Best Dover sole in the US. Table-side d ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Best Dover sole in the US. Table-side de-boning. No detail forgotten.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was just great the was excell ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Everything was just great the was excellent ,waiter was the best. Have already told several people would definitely go back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Class!

Dined on May 9, 2016

While vacationing in DC, we're so happy we found Joe's. Great food, excellent service. Can't wait to return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Highly recommend pan sautéed branzino, c ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Highly recommend pan sautéed branzino, crispy brussel sprouts, baked sweet potato with pecan butter, and boston cream pie.

food1
ambience1
service1

My mother and I had a very nice time at ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

My mother and I had a very nice time at Joe's. The food was amazing and we loved the service. I will definitely return in the near future.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous

Dined on May 7, 2016

Picked Joes for my daughters birthday dinner. It was our first time eating here. Food was fabulous, and the service was amazing. If you haven't tried this place, make it a must and request Martha as your server.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter Robert was very attentive, pr ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our waiter Robert was very attentive, professional. The food was good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

Dined on May 7, 2016

I've had my eye on this place to take the wife for date night. This place was absolutely fantastic. The food was great, the drinks were great, our service was great. I will be going back to this place again (after I pay mortgage). But I will definitely hit this place again.

Tags: romantic, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent seafood and desserts. Cocktail ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent seafood and desserts. Cocktails done well, sommelier was excellent. They take care of you well here.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience

Dined on May 5, 2016

If you are looking for more of an upscale dining experience while visiting DC, this is the restaurant for you. Staff was excellent in serving our needs and our server was very knowledgeable and helpful in our food selections. This was our first visit to this establishment and we will definitely be back when we next visit. Great ambiance, great service, great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food - Good Atmosphere - Excellent Staff

Dined on May 3, 2016

When you first enter, it appears that the restaurant is simply a high-end bar with some tables surrounding the area. But the main dining room is actually towards the back, and when you go through, the environment completely changes to a very fine dining experience. This restaurant is high end and classy in many ways. I thoroughly enjoyed my steak, and the shrimp cocktail is worth the visit. Service staff is impeccable and they definitely have their logistics down to an art.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for a celebration dinner

Dined on May 1, 2016

Overall great experience that was well worth the cost. Our server overheard "congratulations" spoken at the table and surprised us with complimentary champagne and dessert. Hospitality goes a long way with me so this left a nice impression.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Grilled Seafood Platter

Dined on May 1, 2016

Grilled Seafood Platter

food2
ambience4
service4

My wife and I knew this was going to be ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

My wife and I knew this was going to be a high end (read expensive) meal; the service met our expectation as did the ambience. The food unfortunately did not. We've had better for less. Namely, while the scallops were done perfectly the shrimp and lobster were quite over cooked. Dessert did not disappoint, to end on a positive note.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

FUN Brunch with the Girls

Dined on May 1, 2016

Was a lovely brunch. Food was very good - the service was EXCELLENT!!! Was with a bunch of girl friends. The dining room is large enough that we could be seated a little away from other diners and could be a little loud and have a lot of fun.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We try others but keep coming back

Dined on May 1, 2016

Consistently good. Always very good service and top quality food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Excellent & Fresh Seafood

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

My wife and I came here during a vacation in DC and we were not disappointed with the FANTASTIC service we received. Our waiter was so friendly and attentive and it was not in an annoying way. We enjoyed him checking up on us considering how busy the restaurant was. His recommendations were spot on and the seafood here is cooked to perfection and very fresh. Its definitely a great place for a special occasion.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.