About Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC

750-15th Street NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab is the culmination of a partnership between Lettuce Entertain You and Joe's Stone Crab, the legendary seafood restaurant of Miami Beach. Joe's features an extensive selection of seafood, flown in fresh daily, to complement the world's finest Florida Stone Crab claws. Joe's also features signature prime steaks, hand-carved by master butchers such as our 24 oz. Bone-In Rib Eye. Matched with Joe's famous side dishes, dinner only gets better when capped with a slice of key lime pie. Enjoy a generous cocktail in the bustling lounge or the tuxedo-clad service of the dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Everyday 11:30am-4:00pm


Brunch: Sat-Sun 11:30am-2:30pm


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday-Saturday 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
15th and H

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 489-0140

Website:
http://www.joes.net/

Parking Details:
Joe's is located at the southwest corner of 15th Street and H Street NW. Due to traffic restrictions valet parking is available on H Street after 6PM at $12 per vehicle. Before 6PM we recommend garage parking located just East of 15th Street. LAZ Parking, 1412 H St. NW, Washington, DC 20005, $10 after 5:00 PM OR PMI Parking, 1401 H St. NW, Washington, DC 20005, $10 after 5:00 PM.

Public Transit:
Closest metro stop is McPherson Square.

Executive Chef:
Chris Morvis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Lauren or Kelly at joesdcparties@leye.com for all of your private party needs.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Dover Sole - Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Seared Sea Scallops - Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Fried Chicken - Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Roasted Alaskan Halibut - Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Seared Ahi Tuna Salad - Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC

Private Dining

Joe's offers five stylishly decorated private spaces. Jesse’s Room, is the most intimate private space, with restored floor to ceiling vintage millwork and a marble fireplace. At the top of a floating staircase, the mezzanine level is devoted to private dining with dedicated kitchen and full bar.

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (149)
Good for a Date (129)
Good for Anniversaries (122)
See All
Business Meals (120)
Good for Birthdays (101)
Romantic (82)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Good for Groups (62)
Notable Wine List (53)
Bar Seating (46)
Worth the Drive (45)
Cozy (41)
Authentic (39)
Great for Lunch (39)
Vibrant Bar Scene (39)
Hot Spot (38)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
Fun (32)
Happy Hour (31)
Quiet Conversation (31)
People Watching (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Modern Decor (25)
Casual (25)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Historic (22)
Comfort Food (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Healthy (16)
Family Style (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Private Room (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Outstanding Value (15)
Late-night Find (14)
Seasonal (12)
Kid-friendly (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Great Beer (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Quick Bite (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Scenic View (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Waterfront (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2067 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely loved our waiter Jeff Gray. H ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 11 hours ago

Absolutely loved our waiter Jeff Gray. He provided top notch service. The food was excellent, too. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time at Joes and it wo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

This was my first time at Joes and it won't be my last. From the minute my group & I entered the restaurant we were well taken care of. The concierge to the waitress was so professional and friendly. And the food was AWESOME!!! Can't wait to take my husband there for a nice dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, , Cozy, Fun, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great. There is something for ev ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Always great. There is something for everyone. Seafood so fresh you feel you're on the boat that caught it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing time! The seafood is f ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

We had an amazing time! The seafood is fabulous and our waiter, Jeffery, was helpful, personable, and even comped us a free dessert. Some notable dishes are the grilled seafood platter (amazing scallops!) and the whale appetizer. Pricy, but worth it for a special occasion!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Get service. Best Alaskan King crab eve ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Get service.

Best Alaskan King crab ever!

Waiter was knowledgeable and helpful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brian was an outstanding server and we h ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Brian was an outstanding server and we had a blast! We went as a family and this was a special part of our weekend in Washington, D.C. We loved the ambience, delicious meals, pace of our service and overall excellence. We will return whenever we have the opportunity!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality and service has truly gone d ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

The quality and service has truly gone down since my last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Food arrived quickly snd well prepared. ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Food arrived quickly snd well prepared. Enjoyed the dining experience

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The stone crab claws were amazing! I ha ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

The stone crab claws were amazing! I had the signature bone-in ribeye and my friend had the filet and lobster. Our sides were the cream spinach and baked potatoes. We finished the meal of with key lime pie and coffee. Will go again and often. Wait staff was attentive but not overly present. Valet parking on H Street works well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great fresh seafood

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Great fresh seafood

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and wine and superb servi ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food and wine and superb service made for an extremely memorable evening with friends.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our group of five had a great experience ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Our group of five had a great experience at Joe's, the service was impeccable. Our waitress was very friendly and chatty, she was very accommodating. We seemed to be a little rushed between courses, I'm not at all surprised as the place was very busy.

Thanks for the fine meal!

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were both absolutel ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The food and service were both absolutely fantastic! I went for a date with my boyfriend and the restaurant was perfect for the occasion. The key lime pie for dessert was fantastic, as were the Warshore oysters that we got as an appetizer. Both of our main dishes (the tuna and the sea bass) were fantastic, as was the creamed spinach. Our waitress was attentive and the drink server came at least 5 times to refill our water. Overall our experience was fantastic and I would definitely go back again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service.!

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Excellent food and service.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply outstanding service they cater to ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Simply outstanding service they cater to you in ways I'd never thought a place to find would I love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came to Joe's for my birthday dinner, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I came to Joe's for my birthday dinner, it was one of the only Steakhouses that was open late night (past 10:30pm) except for Old Ebbitt . We got to Joe's at 10:15 and were seated promptly, almost as soon as we sat down bread was brought to our table with water, the waiter was extremely knowledgeable about the specials, recommendations and the wine list.

I ordered a steak and a Moscow mule, unfortunately, I forget which steak I ordered but it was cooked perfectly! The mule was probably the best mule I've ever had - seriously. The food was a bit expensive, but not for DC standards, but it was fantastic, it really was.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

In one word - FABULOUS. Because Open Tab ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

In one word - FABULOUS. Because Open Table mandates I use at least fifty characters. Another FABULOUS.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was very professional and f ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our waitress was very professional and friendly but she spent WAY too much time trying to get us to sign up for some app - we were trying to have family conversation and she just kept coming back over and over and over again to see if we had done it. Besides that she was wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The ambiance and professionalism was out ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The ambiance and professionalism was outstanding. That was the best part of the night. The steak was wonderful, but I will say I have had better at other competing restaurants. The lobster and scallops were overcooked. All in all I enjoyed my dining experience and I would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Everything was PHENOMENAL. My favorite s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Everything was PHENOMENAL. My favorite steakhouse is Bourbon Steak and I changed my mind last minute to try a place I haven't been to. I am so glad I tried Joe's and I love their selection of seafood as I am a seafood lover as well. Stone crab, king crab, prawns, oysters, they were all very fresh and the porterhouse was good as well.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Could not have been a better dinner. Gre ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Could not have been a better dinner. Great service, food and drinks. Didn't hurt that we had the awesome corner booth in the main room. Will be back!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Joe's Prime on a number of ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I've been to Joe's Prime on a number of occasions (for lunch and dinner) and the food is great, the ambience is wonderful and the service is on point.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Joe's in DC at least 10 tim ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I've been to Joe's in DC at least 10 times. The food, service and ambience is always top flight. I highly recommend this establishment.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My first time to this restaurant and ove ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 4, 2017

My first time to this restaurant and overall very satisfied and will return again. The food was great and the service was friendly and well timed. I enjoyed the sea scallops and will return to try other dishes. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who is visiting the D.C. area, and looking for casual dining.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic! I was blown away by ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Food was fantastic! I was blown away by the Grilled Seafood Platter. Peanut butter pie for dessert is an absolute MUST!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The stone crab I got was previously froz ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The stone crab I got was previously frozen and very small. I often dine at the original Joe's Stone Crab in Miami so I have a good basis for comparison. Very disappointed in the DC location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent food quality, very fresh! Fant ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent food quality, very fresh! Fantastic service and recommendations by DavideG!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The space is magnificent. The rest not s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The space is magnificent. The rest not so much. Seafood too salty. Dipping sauces overpowering. Coleslaw with too much vinegar. John Dory fish could be fresher. Prices too high.

A good place to sit by the bar and to have some seafood with your beer. Fine dining it is not.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Excellent food! Outstanding service. O ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food! Outstanding service. One of our favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing although I believe ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was amazing although I believe we went given a side for one of our entrees. Very cozy and romantic for the occasion which was my fiancee birthday. Alil disappointed I let them know on the reservation and on arrival about the occasion and they did not celebrate (brownie sundae & acknowledgment) as I was told they would.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, , Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Love love love that they didn't have a s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Love love love that they didn't have a silly menu for New Year's Eve, just their great food, everything excellent, great booth, great waiter, a wonderful experience all around

Tags: Historic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Private Room, People Watching, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely exceptional from start to fin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Absolutely exceptional from start to finish. My wife and I absolutely love this place. My dry aged rib eye was perfect- temperature, marbling, crust. Easily the best steak I have ever had and great with the mashed potatoes. I found the texture of lyonnaise potatoes to clash with the steak a bit so I asked for them to be swapped for the mashed and it was no issue. Hot emergency replacement potatoes to my face in about 2 minutes flat.

Of course the claws were phenomenal as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. One of the best

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and service. One of the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We had a wonderful time and the food and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a wonderful time and the food and service was outstanding! Great choice for us to celebrate the New Year!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food and quality service. We wer ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amazing food and quality service. We were treated with respect and everything tasted so good. This is a great place visit in DC.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, , Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service. The Madagascar shrimp i ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing service. The Madagascar shrimp is awesome!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I are just awakening from ou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My wife and I are just awakening from our "food coma" as a result from the Alaskan King Crab meal we were privileged to at Joe's. Along with our waiter Robert W and the rest of the staff, we could not have chosen a better place to celebrate New Years Eve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing, service was amazing, e ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was amazing, service was amazing, entire experience awesome!! Will be going back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we've been to the Vegas location but nev ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

we've been to the Vegas location but never been to DC! Food was great, service great, peanut butter pie amazing!

Tags: Historic, Bar Seating, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Stephen was a fantastic waiter and overl ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Stephen was a fantastic waiter and overly accommodating! Food was good, however, surprising that something seemed lacking in the flavor of most dishes for the cost of the entrees. The steaks were definitely great quality cuts of meat, but just "good" flavor. Maybe it's just nostalgia that brings folks back, but I'm not sure there was anything so over-the-top that we must go back or bring out-of-town guests. We had a wonderful time as a family, so I have no complaints about our night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.