About Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC

750-15th Street NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab is the culmination of a partnership between Lettuce Entertain You and Joe's Stone Crab, the legendary seafood restaurant of Miami Beach. Joe's features an extensive selection of seafood, flown in fresh daily, to complement the world's finest Florida Stone Crab claws. Joe's also features signature prime steaks, hand-carved by master butchers such as our 24 oz. Bone-In Rib Eye. Matched with Joe's famous side dishes, dinner only gets better when capped with a slice of key lime pie. Enjoy a generous cocktail in the bustling lounge or the tuxedo-clad service of the dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Everyday 11:30am-4:00pm


Brunch: Sat-Sun 11:30am-2:30pm


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday-Saturday 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
15th and H

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 489-0140

Website:
http://www.joes.net/

Parking Details:
Joe's is located at the southwest corner of 15th Street and H Street NW. Due to traffic restrictions valet parking is available on H Street after 6PM at $12 per vehicle. Before 6PM we recommend garage parking located just East of 15th Street. LAZ Parking, 1412 H St. NW, Washington, DC 20005, $10 after 5:00 PM OR PMI Parking, 1401 H St. NW, Washington, DC 20005, $10 after 5:00 PM.

Public Transit:
Closest metro stop is McPherson Square.

Executive Chef:
Chris Morvis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Lauren or Kelly at joesdcparties@leye.com for all of your private party needs.

Restaurant Photos

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC

Private Dining

Joe's offers five stylishly decorated private spaces. Jesse’s Room, is the most intimate private space, with restored floor to ceiling vintage millwork and a marble fireplace. At the top of a floating staircase, the mezzanine level is devoted to private dining with dedicated kitchen and full bar.

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Food
District of Columbia
Best Service
District of Columbia
2 More
Seafood
District of Columbia
Most Booked
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (289)
fit for foodies (180)
good for groups (166)
See All
romantic (150)
notable wine list (109)
vibrant bar scene (106)
great for lunch (99)
hot spot (86)
neighborhood gem (56)
great for brunch (45)
late-night find (24)
kid-friendly (16)
scenic view (9)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1542 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The Salmon was excellent, but maybe a bi ...

Dined 3 days ago

The Salmon was excellent, but maybe a bit expensive.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The cocktails, (crab) claws, shrimp and ...

Dined 3 days ago

The cocktails, (crab) claws, shrimp and factually all the surf related stuff was great. [we had the Florida Stone Crab Claws (Select), Madagascar Shrimp and The Whale] Accompanying wine too. Bit of a bummer was the over–salted filet mignon [Filet Oscar] and the Crab Bisque that was off (with unpleasant feeling afterwards)... something you do not expect in this kind of establishment. Overall price quality ratio is a bit on the high side, and I am comparing with a restaurant like Fiola Mare. The atmosphere is uncanny though. Live theatre from the the wide variety of guests and highly trained and pleasant waiters and waitresses.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

I have visited this restaurant many time ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

I have visited this restaurant many times and the amazing thing is that it gets better every time I go. The food is excellent. The service is suburb and you are treated like they really want you to be there. Not a better restaurant in the District!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My daughter and I were celebrating her s ...

Dined 5 days ago

My daughter and I were celebrating her swearing into the Bar. We love Stone Crabs and Lobster, and had them both at this dinner. We also had Key Lime Pie, and Aviations. All were done perfectly. We will return.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place! The service is warmly and ...

Dined 5 days ago

Amazing place! The service is warmly and genuinely attentive, and the food is fabulous! We considered other restaurants for a birthday dinner while vacationing in Washington, D.C. We're so glad we chose Joe's!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The manager is amazing here and the food ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

The manager is amazing here and the food is delicious. Had some small issues with the service, but they were corrected when they were brought up.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The whole experience was excellent excep ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The whole experience was excellent excepting on the reception end where we were made to wait for someone to take us to our table, rather than the reverse

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

The best steaks and seafood in DC couple ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

The best steaks and seafood in DC coupled with outstanding service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was outstanding. I will ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Food and service was outstanding. I will be going back soon and would recommend to others. This was my first time trying Stone Crabs and I absolutely loved them.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Surprised to find the place full of fami ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Surprised to find the place full of families and small children for Father's Day! the staff was excellent and given one would not think of the restaurant as a child-friendly environment, the staff deserves an award for managing all the toddlers and babies on this special day.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Ambiance awesome...our waiter Oscar was ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Ambiance awesome...our waiter Oscar was fantastic. Brunch was delicious

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food. Awesome service. Crabs, ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Very good food. Awesome service. Crabs, salad, and steak were amazing. Not formal restaurant but still very nice classy ambiance.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Now this is how you should dine! Thank ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Now this is how you should dine! Thank you Martha for an amazingly delightful dining experience. You coddled us and cajoled us, you made sure we chose the right food to get the most out of our evening at Joe's. We loved everything you served us, making the evening something special and memorable!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

most excellent, make it your DC dining e ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

most excellent, make it your DC dining extravaganza

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have dined at Joe's on several occasio ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I have dined at Joe's on several occasions and the pleased that it is consistently enjoyable.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Picked Joe's based on Trip Advisor revie ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Picked Joe's based on Trip Advisor reviews for our wedding anniversary. The menu appeared to have what my wife and I could enjoy. We were not disappointed. We arrived for a 2:30 meal in business casual. There were several there in shorts and jeans. The service was outstanding and attentive. We were treated with an anniversary champagne toast and an after dinner dessert. We had the Select stone crab, two Madagascar shrimp (they were huge), oven roasted chicken (it was a half chicken), Alaskan king crab. My crab came with two sides and my wife ordered Lyonnaise potatoes and salad for her chicken. All was very good. After the shrimp and stone crab we were feeling full. We brought lots of leftovers home. The sides were ala carte and more than enough for two. Oh ...and the drinks were half price on that Saturday afternoon. We had watermelon margarita and white wine sangria.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good quality food and service. Easy ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Very good quality food and service. Easy access and stays open late.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I like how the servers cut the crab legs ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I like how the servers cut the crab legs for you. Also the fact they bring lemon and hot towel to wash your hands after.

food5
ambience5
service5

Jumbo stone crab was delicious! Also the ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Jumbo stone crab was delicious! Also the happy hour is a great deal and super tasty. The King Crab Roll is the best sandwich I've ever had. Also the staff are delightful and helpful. Can't wait to return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I am so going back. Everything was spot ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I am so going back. Everything was spot on from the service to the food. I had an excellent dining experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5

Ahi Tuna Salad is very good

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Ahi Tuna Salad is very good

food5
ambience5
service4

Great service from the host, bartender, ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Great service from the host, bartender, and waiter.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Brought some business colleagues visitin ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Brought some business colleagues visiting from CA to Joe's and we were not disappointed. The food was delicious - crab appetizers were great (very good dipping sauce), dinner was excellent (sake salmon was big hit), and the key lime pie and blueberry pie were also big hits. The service was very good without being overbearing. Overall, an outstanding dining experience. Will definitely return.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant. Great food. Calamari ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Great restaurant. Great food. Calamari is the best I have had! Love the sea bass too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful meal. From the stone cr ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

What a wonderful meal. From the stone crab claws to the blueberry pie, the meal was outstanding. The service was phenomenal, and our waitress was attentive and knowledgable. The atmosphere was buzzing and the building itself was stunning. What a great meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Almost as good as Joe's in Miami and you ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Almost as good as Joe's in Miami and you can get a reservation!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sever made great suggestions and was ver ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Sever made great suggestions and was very attentive

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was excellent and helpful. Best ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was excellent and helpful. Best lump crab cake app ever. Deserts were comped.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

First time visiting this restaurant and ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

First time visiting this restaurant and we absolutely loved it. From the elegant setting to our servers. We were explained every detail to any question we may have had. The food was delicious, this will definitely be one of our newest addition to dinning

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was cooked and tested very fres ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was cooked and tested very fresh. we had their oyster amd mixed grill and overall was worth it.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service1

We were on our return visit to Joes afte ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

We were on our return visit to Joes after a celebratory evening dinner went wrong on many levels. We thought it was a fluke and we'd try again because the food was great even if the service was spotty. This time it was dangerous. One of our guests asked about a dish and specifically stated she has a severe allergy to avocados -and the server said it was fine there were no avocados in the dish. When it arrived my guest had a bite only to then see that there was indeed avocados in it. With her epi-pen at the ready, we talked about it with the server who was dismissive and defensive and said she will let the chef know. We didn't think it was the Chef's fault but her fault for not knowing and then not even apologizing for the error or not taking a moment to check before stating it was fine. After several benedryls our guest recovered the next day but to not even to show concern or to apologize was unacceptable. We will not be dining there again. If you have any food allergies be forewarned and stay away!

food5
ambience4
service5

Everything crab related was fabulous, es ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Everything crab related was fabulous, especially the king crab legs. We started with a plate of stone crab claws for the table and then two of us ordered the king crab legs. Our 96 year old mother had the halibut, which was good, but after she was done she shared our king crab legs, which she downed with gusto. We all thought we were full but somehow managed to finish of a slice of key lime pie and the peanut butter pie. The desserts were divine. I gained two pounds that night! Fabulous meal, fun experience, excellent waiter. Quite a varied clientele, from young families with babies to groups of smartly dressed older folks.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and the customer se ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was amazing and the customer service was as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

The maitre d' was very rude to me when I ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The maitre d' was very rude to me when I arrived. My husband was valet parking and he would not seat me until as he put it "I 'll seat you as soon as he walks through that door". For some reason It took more than ten minutes for my husband to finish with the valet. I had made a reservation more than two weeks prior to the date of our dinner and had confirmed less than two hours before arrival. To keep me standin in the lobby area for that length of time was uncalled for as they knew I would be dining at Joe's. Additionally during the ten minutes, this man loudly and exuberantly constantly chattered about table numbers and engaged in banter with co workers. It just put a damper on the entire evening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our go-to when we have out of to ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

This is our go-to when we have out of town business guests. The service is fantastic. The food is always perfect. Even out of season stone crabs - I was really surprised how sweet they were. I won't hesitate to order them again. The steaks are excellent - cooked perfectly to order and served hot. And the seafood platter is great And the prices? let's just say that while not cheap - the prices are lower than almost all DC steak houses - including the next evening when I saw the wine we had at Joe's on a local menu priced at 25% higher then we paid at Joe's. So, keep that in mind. Excellent food at good value

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and excellent service. B ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Wonderful food and excellent service. Both the seafood lovers and the red meat crowd was delighted.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gem in D.C. Capitol

Dined on June 8, 2016

My guest and I had a great time. Food was exceptional and service excellent! They even had a cab waiting for us when we were done!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Loud and unruly kids

Dined on June 7, 2016

Went for a special occasion, 13th wedding anniversary, only to be seated in an area with 2 unruly kids and clueless tourist parents. Was hard not to be distracted by them because they were shooting balloons all over the dining room. Food was expensive, but good, not sure the value equals the cost, $235 for 2 people though. Surprised that they didn't offer complimentary desert since we were celebrating a special event that I mentioned when I made the reservation.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to eat

Dined on June 6, 2016

I was looking for a great place to celebrate my husband and our 7 year anniversary . I googled the website for the best restaurants in DC and this one out of ten came up. It was given 4.5. So I mentioned to my husband for us to give it a try. I must say, it far exceeded our expectation. The bill was high but it was worth it. I got what I paid for. From the time I stepped into the restaurant until I left, the staff was very attentive . Joe I believe was our waiter and he was very professional, well dressed, and gave some good recommendations, in terms of the food selection. I had the oysters, stone crab claws, and for dinner my husband and I had the wild sockeye salmon. It was delicious and the grilled asparagus was the best. You got to try it. The restaurant itself was very clean, there were alot of servers ready to serve and the atmosphere was great. One thing that stood to me is that, I needed to see my waiter , but he was assisting someone else. I signaled to another waiter and I asked her if she could get Joe for me , she responded by asking if there was something that she could help me with. I thought that was very nice. Rather than saying, I will go and get him for you, she offered to assist me. I recommend this restaurant and we will be back again. The time we went was around 6:15 pm.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

See below

Dined on June 6, 2016

I ordered the soft shell crabs which had a thick coating and I couldn't really taste the crab. The accompanying onion rings were soggy. My friend ordered a salad which she said was delicious.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.