About Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC

750-15th Street NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab is the culmination of a partnership between Lettuce Entertain You and Joe's Stone Crab, the legendary seafood restaurant of Miami Beach. Joe's features an extensive selection of seafood, flown in fresh daily, to complement the world's finest Florida Stone Crab claws. Joe's also features signature prime steaks, hand-carved by master butchers such as our 24 oz. Bone-In Rib Eye. Matched with Joe's famous side dishes, dinner only gets better when capped with a slice of key lime pie. Enjoy a generous cocktail in the bustling lounge or the tuxedo-clad service of the dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Everyday 11:30am-4:00pm


Brunch: Sat-Sun 11:30am-2:30pm


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday-Saturday 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
15th and H

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 489-0140

Website:
http://www.joes.net/

Parking Details:
Joe's is located at the southwest corner of 15th Street and H Street NW. Due to traffic restrictions valet parking is available on H Street after 6PM at $12 per vehicle. Before 6PM we recommend garage parking located just East of 15th Street. LAZ Parking, 1412 H St. NW, Washington, DC 20005, $10 after 5:00 PM OR PMI Parking, 1401 H St. NW, Washington, DC 20005, $10 after 5:00 PM.

Public Transit:
Closest metro stop is McPherson Square.

Executive Chef:
Chris Morvis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Lauren or Kelly at joesdcparties@leye.com for all of your private party needs.

Restaurant Photos

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Dover Sole - Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Seared Sea Scallops - Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Fried Chicken - Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Roasted Alaskan Halibut - Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Seared Ahi Tuna Salad - Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC, Washington, DC

Private Dining

Joe's offers five stylishly decorated private spaces. Jesse’s Room, is the most intimate private space, with restored floor to ceiling vintage millwork and a marble fireplace. At the top of a floating staircase, the mezzanine level is devoted to private dining with dedicated kitchen and full bar.

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Overall
District of Columbia
Best Food
District of Columbia
3 More
Best Service
District of Columbia
Seafood
District of Columbia
Most Booked
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (167)
Good for a Date (119)
Good for Anniversaries (109)
See All
Good for Birthdays (94)
Business Meals (93)
Romantic (89)
Fit for Foodies (80)
Good for Groups (71)
Notable Wine List (68)
Vibrant Bar Scene (46)
Bar Seating (44)
Hot Spot (44)
Great for Lunch (39)
Worth the Drive (37)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Authentic (35)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Cozy (33)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Happy Hour (31)
People Watching (30)
Fun (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Modern Decor (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Comfort Food (21)
Historic (18)
Casual (17)
Late-night Find (16)
Private Room (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Family Style (13)
Healthy (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Seasonal (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great Beer (4)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1950 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The best food and service we have ever h ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

The best food and service we have ever had in the D. C.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chopped salad was okay, have had bet ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

The chopped salad was okay, have had better elsewhere. Did find it interesting that there were peanuts in it and nowhere was it mentioned that it contained nuts. Fortunately no one at my table has a peanut allergy. The stone crabs and Alaskan king crab legs were both good, although the filet was dry and overcooked. For the prices the food should be unbelievably good and it was just adequate. Service and wait staff was very good, bar area pretty and active. Tables in the dining room were so close together it was a maze to navigate to our table and I am pretty sure it would be a fire hazard. Lots of other restaurants in that price range that I would opt for.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The seasonal Madagascar Shrimp is a must ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

The seasonal Madagascar Shrimp is a must either as an appetizers or with the grilled seafood platter. The only reason for not giving five stars is the valet and coat check. The coat check was going to us four coats, for two people. We honorably returned the other jackets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

sea food was good. not more. two new y ...

 
 (London)·Dined 3 days ago

sea food was good. not more.

two new york strip steaks were just dry, not cooked medium as asked but also generally sad. not worth the price and far from what is to be expected from this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I am honestly still thinking about just ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

I am honestly still thinking about just how good last nights dinner was... From the stone crabs that were exquisite, to the oysters rockefeller that were to die for, to the beef wellington special that was amazing, the meal was absolutely fantastic. Joe's is obviously going to be expensive, but every dollar is seen in the staff's attention to detail from the beginning of service to the end. However, speaking about the staff, our server, Kylie, was fantastic. She did an amazing job guiding us through the extensive menu, and leading us towards the options that were no doubt the right choice for our palettes. We will absolutely be returning the next time we are in DC, and cannot wait to see Kylie again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always outstanding and the a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

The food is always outstanding and the atmosphere is vibrant. The service that day was slow and unattentive, which is very unusual for Joe's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Everything about Joe's was quite good, p ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything about Joe's was quite good, particularly the food and pleasant, focused service. However, we had an early table and there was a slight sense of urgency in the staff to turn the table---entrees arrived before appetizers were finished, etc. In the future, I would go later in the evening and enjoy a more leisurely pace to the dinner.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Celebrated our wedding anniversary at th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Celebrated our wedding anniversary at this venue, and could not be more impressed with the service, menu and atmosphere. Highly recommend for special occasions, and the food was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Although the restaurant was packed, we f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Although the restaurant was packed, we felt as if we were the only diners. Grace took impeccable care of us, and ever server knew immediately when to pour the water, the wine, to bring the bread, and to take away the food.

I am a vegetarian and ordered two delicious salads; my friends swore that they dined on the best steaks ever.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service -- we were in ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service -- we were in DC for 6 days and ate at Joe's twice. Manhattan Clam Chowder was unparalleled and the calamari was "melt-in-your-mouth" -- not the usual gnawing on rubber bands. I heartily recommend this restaurant. Make sure you have reservations, though. It's a busy place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Bar Seating, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was fantastic Food was superb

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Waiter was fantastic

Food was superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and always an enjoyable di ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Great service and always an enjoyable dining experience. Try the porterhouse. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a fabulous dinner! Oscar was a gr ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a fabulous dinner! Oscar was a great server and the support staff was excellent as well. Overall we were very pleased with all of the food. The calamari was okay.... Not great. Everything else was excellent! Thanks for a great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing. Try the tiger pra ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was amazing. Try the tiger prawn! Expensive ($15 each). But amazing. Stone crabs were good. We had two steaks family style. Amazing. Wine was a great find. Everything was very awesome. Would highly recommend.

Note lots of people with kids there. If I had kids I wouldn't take then to Joe's, but the kids were all well behaved. Try it out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

joes combines fabulous stone crabs, fabu ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

joes combines fabulous stone crabs, fabulous steaks fabulous appetizers with wonderful service Theor steaks are better than most steak houses@

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter took good care of us on Thanksgiv ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Waiter took good care of us on Thanksgiving. Food is always impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My family and I were in town for the Tha ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My family and I were in town for the Thanksgiving holiday. We had our Thanksgiving dinner at Joe's . Great food, good ambiance and attentive service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thanksgiving for five adults with broadl ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving for five adults with broadly divergent food preferences...the perfect choice of restaurant! Atmosphere, service, food were all superb. We even went over the top with the great pies...thanks. My family and friends were very happy though stuffed.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Private Room, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two of us had the Thanksgiving menu and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Two of us had the Thanksgiving menu and one Chilean Sea Bass.

The Thanksgiving dinner was almost too much. The white meat turkey - three hearty slices - was moist and tender, the dark meat confit was excellent, too (and thank you for including some dark meat). That along with the rest of the items were just as good.

The sea bass was a good-sized portion and served with baby bok choi and shitake mushrooms. It is topped with a miso glaze. I'm not a fish eater, but this would convert me.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter Robert was wonderful, in fact ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our waiter Robert was wonderful, in fact all of the serving staff was lovely. The Dover sole and steak was delicious. We go between New York and Nashville so we are foodies, this was a restaurant we would definitely frequent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was outstanding. Our waiter ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The service was outstanding. Our waiter was Victor and he was awesome. The food came out faster than I've ever experienced and it was still exceptional. The 24 oz bone-in ribeye is to die & enough for 2!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent service by Robert! The seafood ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent service by Robert! The seafood appetizers were excellent. My wife had tuna steak, which was very good. My 3 adult children had different cuts of steak which were all excellent. I had a ribeye, which was surprisingly disappointing. Flavorful, but very tough. Cooked properly to medium rare, but still tough. While a very nice dining experience, not a good value. I don't plan on returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Beautiful place with above average servi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Beautiful place with above average service. Food was ok/good and for the prices I expected it to be a lot better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Loved it so much we returned for lunch t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Loved it so much we returned for lunch two days later. Great service, good food, very authentic seafood atmosphere which we have missed living in Utah. Real seafood, fresh, perfectly prepared. And, perfect service, just the right amount too. Next time we are in DC, which I hope is soon, we'll be here.

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Mal servicio , mala comida , servicio de ...

vip
 (México)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Mal servicio , mala comida , servicio deficiente y poca atención.

La ensalada de arugula , no tenía arugula , solamente mucha cebolla por lo que la regresamos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great experience! This is a terrific res ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great experience! This is a terrific restaurant. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They gave me a free slice of key lime pi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 22, 2016

They gave me a free slice of key lime pie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bread? OK but not what you'd expect for ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Bread? OK but not what you'd expect for a place like this.

Service? Prompt and attentive.

Food? Stellar! At least the grilled seafood platter with lobster, Madagascar shrimp, and scallops. The grill flavor is superb. Some of the best food overall I've had. Everything on this plate is superb.

The calamari and the raw oysters were good too.

But the favorite of the evening was the coconut cream pie, simply divine. OMG, so good. You won't find a better coconut cream pie or dessert anywhere. And the chocolate dessert isn't bad, but can't hold a candle next to that pie!

I'd come back. I'd come back just for that pie!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible first-time dining experience. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Incredible first-time dining experience. Everything was delicious. Even prepared "OFF-the-menu" vegan/vegetarian options for my date. Blown away. New favorite. ARY our server gave us impeccable service!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriends and I went to Joe's for m ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My girlfriends and I went to Joe's for my birthd

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food! Excellent service!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Excellent food! Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was very impressed with the service,fo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I was very impressed with the service,food and overall decor. The food was delicious,if a bit pricey.I had a seafood salad and a slice of key lime pie which were wonderful.My friend enjoyed her lunch as well, and we decided to heave a repeat performance in December during the holidays.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Fun, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stone crab was brilliant. Go Large piece ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Stone crab was brilliant. Go Large pieces....solid chunks and not the least bit watery like everywhere you ever have crab.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Unfortunately I brought my mom here as a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Unfortunately I brought my mom here as a send off. We both liked the ambiance in a way. I ordered the pan sauteed branzino based on the photo on opentable which showed 3 pieces, my plate came out with 2 pieces. When inquired, I was told it only comes with 2 pieces. Unfortunately for some reason, I can not upload the photo. They only brought one bread/roll basket also, with 4 small rolls. It is a great place if you are NOT looking for a really great meal, maybe for meeting an important person to talk business. The waiter was so so. My grade: C-

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Ignored by wait staff because of a large ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Ignored by wait staff because of a large party next to is. Server was absent, not even ensuring that we had our water glasses filled.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Tasty crab cakes but very small. Pumpkin ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Tasty crab cakes but very small. Pumpkin chiffon pie was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent! I loved the deco ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food was excellent! I loved the decor. The service was excellent except the server was a little too efficient by removing a glass of wine I hadn't finished and removing sauces still being used. Server needs to ask customer before removing items from the table. This was my first visit but definitely not my last.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This is the place for outstanding seafoo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This is the place for outstanding seafood & filet mignon. The maître d' went out of his way to reseat me to make me feel comfortable, since I was dining alone; he brought me to a corner banquette in the bar, where there was a lively happy hour crowd. Though in the corner, the service was great. I could enjoy a veritable feast in relative privacy. The stone crab was a bit over-priced, considering there was less meat in the large ones than promised, but what I tasted was very sweet. The lobster/filet combination was delicious, and the portion just right; however, the Caesar salad was a bit disappointing. The Grey Goose dry martini I ordered in the main dining room was the best I've tasted, and well chilled. Joe's gives people a choice at happy hour to get 1/2 off any of their wines by the glass, and the choices are excellent. I would definitely put Joe's at the top of my list for my next trip to Washington.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The décor of this restaurant is the firs ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The décor of this restaurant is the first thing you admire. It must have been a bank at one time because it has giant pillars and large rooms with high ceilings. The staff look like secret service because they have those do dads in their ears. The food was fabulous and the service completely professional. It's not a cheap place so might save it for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special treat to eat here. Great food an ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Special treat to eat here. Great food and service.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.