About Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC

750-15th Street NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab is the culmination of a partnership between Lettuce Entertain You and Joe's Stone Crab, the legendary seafood restaurant of Miami Beach. Joe's features an extensive selection of seafood, flown in fresh daily, to complement the world's finest Florida Stone Crab claws. Joe's also features signature prime steaks, hand-carved by master butchers such as our 24 oz. Bone-In Rib Eye. Matched with Joe's famous side dishes, dinner only gets better when capped with a slice of key lime pie. Enjoy a generous cocktail in the bustling lounge or the tuxedo-clad service of the dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Everyday 11:30am-4:00pm


Brunch: Sat-Sun 11:30am-2:30pm


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday-Saturday 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
15th and H

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 489-0140

Website:
http://www.joes.net/

Parking Details:
Joe's is located at the southwest corner of 15th Street and H Street NW. Due to traffic restrictions valet parking is available on H Street after 6PM at $12 per vehicle. Before 6PM we recommend garage parking located just East of 15th Street. LAZ Parking, 1412 H St. NW, Washington, DC 20005, $10 after 5:00 PM OR PMI Parking, 1401 H St. NW, Washington, DC 20005, $10 after 5:00 PM.

Public Transit:
Closest metro stop is McPherson Square.

Executive Chef:
Chris Morvis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Lauren or Kelly at joesdcparties@leye.com for all of your private party needs.

Private Dining

Joe's offers five stylishly decorated private spaces. Jesse’s Room, is the most intimate private space, with restored floor to ceiling vintage millwork and a marble fireplace. At the top of a floating staircase, the mezzanine level is devoted to private dining with dedicated kitchen and full bar.

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (153)
Good for a Date (136)
Business Meals (130)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (124)
Good for Birthdays (98)
Romantic (93)
Fit for Foodies (64)
Good for Groups (62)
Bar Seating (59)
Notable Wine List (58)
Great for Lunch (50)
Worth the Drive (49)
Vibrant Bar Scene (45)
Authentic (45)
Quiet Conversation (45)
Pre/post Theatre (41)
Happy Hour (40)
Hot Spot (39)
People Watching (39)
Cozy (37)
Fun (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Historic (30)
Comfort Food (26)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Casual (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Modern Decor (22)
Private Room (22)
Outstanding Value (20)
Family Style (18)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Healthy (15)
Late-night Find (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Seasonal (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Local Ingredients (9)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great Beer (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Scenic View (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Live Sports (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Waterfront (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
2198 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Been a fan of Joe's in Miami Beach and was thrilled when the DC location opened. Service and quality are on par with the original--the stone crabs are always a treat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Food and service were great. Unfortunately we had a terrible table, which was at the entrance to the dinnng room. Make sure to ask for something better when you make your reservation or arrive at the restaurant. Place was also quite loud, FYI

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a small snafu when we first walked in. Matt, the manager, was accommodating and sent us (4) stems of Prosecco. Bianca was a wonderful server and she took great care of us. She was friendly, knowledgeable, and funny! Our food had great flavor but was lukewarm. Also, our end of the dinner latte's were warm, not hot. In spite of the food temperature, we had an enjoyable evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

I lived in Miami and Loved Joe's Stone Crab..... I moved to Chicago and a few months later they opened a Joe's downtown, four blocks from my apartment.....I then moved to Washington D.C.... It took them a bit longer, but finally a Joe's opened up here in the District and it is a beautiful space / building for the restaurant.

Regarding the food and staff-- the city where you happen to be dining doesn't matter. The quality is so consistent, each and every meal at each and every location...it's very impressive. The staff clearly enjoy working there. They really know what they are doing...incredibly professional.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Fun, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was amazing. First time having stone crab and it was so fresh and good. Best seafood hands down!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

This was my first time visiting Joe's and my friends absolutely loved it. It started off a little shaky since when we checked in for 5 with only 4 guests present, they told us we would have to wait until the 5th person to arrive to be seated. That issue was quickly resolved after talking to the host and insisting that we be seated. The Drinks were great! The appetizers of Stone Crab, calamari and Oysters Rockefeller were all delicious. Everyone's entree was perfectly cooked and the sides were all equally amazing. We ended with dessert and we each tried something different. My favorites were the fudge pie and tres leches cake. Finally out server Tony was amazing! He was very attentive and knowledgeable regarding the menu and able to recommend great choices. We will definitely return soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Glasgow)·Dined 4 days ago

Whilst on vacation in Washington we made a visit to Joes and we were not disappointed. The service was excellent and the food was some of the best I have tasted. We had the rock crab legs for an appetiser with Joes signature mustard dip - these are a must if you are visiting. We followed this with the mixed grilled seafood - this was exceptional. The sides are extremely large portions so one between 2 is more than enough. I will definitely be back to Joes.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Perhaps the best steak I've had in DC. Great service and the waitress allowed plenty of time to enjoy the meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Always great food at Joe's but the service and attention is what makes it really stand out. We had a toddler with us, which can be challenging in a nicer restaurant, but the staff was great. We always bring our family here when they visit because we can guarantee a good time with good food and something to please everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Our waiter was excellent, serving size was good, and food was delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and service were top notch. The staff were very attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 20, 2017

My second time at Joe's, this was a business dinner. I gave the food 4/5 because the lobster on my surf and turf was undercooked. The stone crab appetizer was outstanding. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Excellent Food and Service and I plan to go back because the stuffed mushrooms are delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Dante was so wonderful. Made us feel at home. Great service and helped us order well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Excellent service - our server was very good. By far, best desserts of anyone restaurant we have been to.... Thanks to our server, we tried three different desserts.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Best stone crabs in the US. Period. Professional waiters, attention to detail, amazing experience. Not cheap, $100+ per person for food but all top shelf. Go, relax, enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

A wonderful, intimate place. We celebrated our engagement and were greeted with complimentary champagne. The wait staff was amazing and took great care of us. We were never rushed and enjoyed a relaxing night with great food!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had a great time. Knowledgeable and friendly staff. Great food. We are looking forward to returning.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was better!!!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Although the food was very good, the whole experience was shadowed by our waiting to be seated. Despite the fact we had a reservation, we had to wait for over 20 min, seeing others that arrived after us just go ahead and be seated. Around 15 min in the process I mentioned it to the gentleman in the reception who just told me to wait. I did mention the fact again to the hostess seating us, and after that the staff made all efforts to compensate, however, all were upset at that point. Would expect better from this well reviewed restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT!

EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT!

EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT!

EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Family Style, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I sent me Dover sole back because there was no meat on it. Sent back my sea bass because it had no flavor. Then I got the lobster. That was delish!! Don't know if I'll go back.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Birthday celebration; have been doing this for the past 4 yrs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Amazing food and excellent service. We were able to sit down and pace our dinner in a beautiful restaurant. The food and wine were all above expectations. High recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I enjoyed lunch - the food was good - I'm not a fan of crabs so didn't have them but I understand they're outstanding. The wine list is exceptional - our choice (NED Pinot Grigio) was excellent with our lunch choices. This is a very large restaurant with upstairs and downstairs dining and it's very well laid out -booths on the side around a large bar (not noisy thought) so you can be in the thick of things or share a quiet corner . There is an elevator to the 2nd floor restrooms and the restaurant seems completely handicap accessible.

We plan to go back often

Oh yes - the key lime pie is out of this world! Get some to take home

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I had a salad with steak. The lettuce was old and the steak was undercooked and had chunks of gristle. My companion had the two sorriest looking fish tacos I've ever seen. The soup could have come out of a can. The bread was good though. The restaurant was basically empty at 12:30. I was very disappointed with this meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Eveything was fantastic from the food to service to ambiance this was one of the best dining experiences I have ever had

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The food here is fantastic. Every item that we ordered was cooked to perfection. I will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fried chicken is incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food and the service was awsome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Classy place with excellent service and superb seafood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Joe's as always is consistent top quality food. It does not matter if you are in DC, Chicago or Vegas you can count on a great meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Delicious food. Stone crabs are a must get. They were out of friend chicken but heard that it is a must have. Steak perfectly cooked, delicious lobster.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Amazing food and service! A very memorable experience. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our server Callie was outstanding and very attentive and knowledgeable

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The service from start to finish was exceptional. The host extremely professional. Our server absolutely over the top with explaining the menu and making recommendations from the menu. OMG, the food was to die for. I enjoyed every bite, of both mine and my husband food. I am extremely picking when it comes to others food. I will recommend others

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was superb! The sea bass is the best I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was a special occasion that turn out Great. My wife and mom truly enjoyed themselves. Thanks a lot I am the MAN!!!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Romantic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I really loved the food.Delicious! I had the Madagascar Shrimp, the corn bread and the Fish tacos. I highly recommend it. The service was quick and the decor was romantic.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We enjoyed the restaurant. Wait staffers are great. Food was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Date night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great service and food, one of Washington DC's gems.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was great and service was excellent. I do think their computer charged full price for what were supposed to be half price brunch cocktails. I compared to their on line regular wine menu prices after I got home. So best get clarification on those prices before ordering. I should have but didn't.

But that wouldn't keep me from coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The absolute best seafood and amazing ambiance, we had an a to die for meal and the best service. You cannot beat this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We went for our anniversary. It was delightful. We ate like royalty - and paid like it too. But it was worth it. Stone crab was delicious - as were the oysters and shrimp. Main courses were massive and rich. Desserts were amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food and the service was excellent. Highly recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fabulous get together of friends/coworkers/spouses. Delicious. Wonderful champagne and seafood.

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Healthy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent Service, Food was awesome cant say enough good things about this place. If your in Washington DC you have to eat here !!

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

First time there and was not disappointed. We had a wonderful waiter who was helpful without being pushy. He helped us pick out a wonderful wine. Then we began with the stone crab claws as an appetizer. Excellent. My wife had the seafood platter while I chose the bone-in filet, both of which we shared as a surf n turf. Then we finished the meal by splitting a piece of key lime pie. Never rushed. Just a fun place with a wonderful vibe. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My favorite place to go in DC. Consistently delicious, amazing service, and interesting rotational menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.