About Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab is the culmination of a partnership between Lettuce Entertain You and Joe's Stone Crab, the legendary seafood restaurant of Miami Beach. Joe's features an extensive selection of seafood, flown in fresh daily, to complement the world's finest Florida Stone Crab claws. Joe's also features signature prime steaks, hand-carved by master butchers such as our 24 oz. Bone-In Rib Eye. Matched with Joe's famous side dishes, dinner only gets better when capped with a slice of key lime pie. Enjoy a generous cocktail in the bustling lounge or the tuxedo-clad service of the dining room.

750-15th Street NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Everyday 11:30am-4:00pm


Brunch: Sat-Sun 11:30am-2:30pm


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday-Saturday 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
15th and H

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 489-0140

Website:
http://www.joes.net/

Parking Details:
Joe's is located at the southwest corner of 15th Street and H Street NW. Due to traffic restrictions valet parking is available on H Street after 6PM at $12 per vehicle. Before 6PM we recommend garage parking located just East of 15th Street. LAZ Parking, 1412 H St. NW, Washington, DC 20005, $10 after 5:00 PM OR PMI Parking, 1401 H St. NW, Washington, DC 20005, $10 after 5:00 PM.

Public Transit:
Closest metro stop is McPherson Square.

Executive Chef:
Chris Morvis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Lauren or Kelly at joesdcparties@leye.com for all of your private party needs.

Private Dining

Joe's offers five stylishly decorated private spaces. Jesse’s Room, is the most intimate private space, with restored floor to ceiling vintage millwork and a marble fireplace. At the top of a floating staircase, the mezzanine level is devoted to private dining with dedicated kitchen and full bar.

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (193)
Business Meals (151)
Good for a Date (150)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (138)
Romantic (116)
Good for Birthdays (110)
Fit for Foodies (83)
Notable Wine List (78)
Good for Groups (75)
Bar Seating (71)
Worth the Drive (67)
Authentic (63)
Vibrant Bar Scene (62)
Quiet Conversation (56)
Hot Spot (54)
Cozy (51)
Great for Lunch (46)
Happy Hour (45)
People Watching (45)
Modern Decor (38)
Pre/post Theatre (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (38)
Comfort Food (38)
Historic (37)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Fun (37)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Casual (30)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Private Room (26)
Family Style (26)
Outstanding Value (25)
Great for Brunch (19)
Healthy (18)
Tasting Menu (16)
Late-night Find (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Seasonal (10)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Scenic View (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Fireplace (5)
Vegan (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Great Beer (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Live Sports (2)
Organic (2)
Spicy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Live Music (1)
Waterfront (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
2373 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Spectacular evening! The food was incredible, the service could not have been better and Marc (our server) was the perfect addition to our evening. We were celebrating a big anniversary and could not have thought of a better place (or way) to spend it. Thank you!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a great time and plan on returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service and atmosphere. The food was delectable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Expensive, but well worth it. top notch food and service.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

This was my first time at Joe's, the waiter was very detailed with providing pertinent information regarding my tables choice of meals and THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT !!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and drinks. This was my third time at Joe's and it was fabulous. We ordered a lot of food and it was all delicious. Madagascar shrimp, stone crab and crab legs for an appetizer. Then tuna steaks as an entree and Havana dream for dessert. Didn't think we were going to be able to eat it all but it was so good, we had to! Love this place. Oh and one of the best brunch cocktails I've had in a long time, beachy peach!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

A great place to dine in DC! No what you feel like - steak, seafood or other entrees, you'll find it at Joe's. We even found it quieter than we anticipated considering how many people were there. By the way, try the crab bisque; you'll be very glad you did!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely fantastic food and service. We would recommend this for fine dining. 5th time at this restaraunt.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Joe's was fabulous!! We had an awesome waiter Carlos that gave excellant menu suggestions...Madagascar shrimp was amazing the biggest prawns I've ever seen...stone crab claws and King Crab legs were outstanding as well!! EASILY BEST MEAL IN DC!!! One of the best meals ever!! Coconut cream pie also delicious!!
All menu items are a la carte so the menu can be pricey but we were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and felt the meal was well worth the price...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

I have eaten at this location dozens of times and it never disappoints. I had the scallop entrée and they were hands down the best scallops I have ever had. My guest had the sea bass, which I have had many times before, and my guest loved it. Lastly our server was a gentleman by the name of Jeffery. Jeffery was an excellent server had a ton of information about the menu and a very nice demeanor, a true professional.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Family Style, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic food and even better service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

We dined while visiting D.C. from Boston.
Have been to many highly rated restaurants around the country. This experience was A+ all the way around. Great food service and atmosphere. One of our best family dining experiences ever while away on vacation.
Our server Jenny was such a pleasure to get to know. She is welcoming and professional.
We hope to visit again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

We were very pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Seafood grill platter - shrimp was soft and mushy in places. Drawn butter wasn't kept warm.
Potatoes with the onions atop is a no.
Banana dessert was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

This is a restaurant for grownups The bar is wonderful (as are the drinks - try Happy Hour). You will be able to talk - sorry if you want your ears to bleed this is not the joint.

Food is very American and very good. Portions are more than adequate (the slice of apple pie is obscene its so big - I ate vey bite!)

This is our go to restaurant for our bi-monthly "get together with the girls" - AND its my go to play for nice, discreet business lunches - two very different events - Joe's never disappoints.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Jenny was very accommodating with our group. It was a tough group to handle because of cultural differences. She was able to have the chefs cut all the meals into smaller pieces for a family style dinner. I would definitely come back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Wonderfull meal!! Excelent service. Expensive food. I will come back

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Fantastic service! Meal was incredible. Crab is a must!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Delicious meal, WONDERFUL service.
A must try....the Lump Crab Cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Excellent seafood salad with no mayonnaise--style dressing. Wonderful for visitors who appreciate fine seafood

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 18, 2017

It's ok, but won't be coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Fabulous everything! I had only been to Joe's in Vegas and this was my first time to the D.C. Location. I can say nothing other than it remains one of my favorite restaurants in both of these cities. Food is excellent, ambiance and service is impeccable. Love the menu. I enjoy eating in the bar area as much as in the main restaurant rooms. The Stone Crab is out of this world. I didn't want a whole order because I was the only one in my party eating it and our waiter was happy to accommodate me with a smaller portion which was not offered on the menu. Love this restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Good food. Avoid the cauliflower unless you want a 1000 calorie treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very attentive staff, from the front podium to the wait staff, knowledgeable about menu and wine choices/suggestions. Reasonable pries, fast, but not rushed service; and, nice desert menu! Will return again...

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

A colleague recommended Joe's and it was even better than I had expected. The wait staff are extremely friendly, the food and drinks were absolutely delicious, and the ambience was fun -- upscale but not too fussy. I cannot wait to go back!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Stone crab excellent!! Great service!! Modern comfortable atmospheres!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter dinner. The stone crabs were superb.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It was my birthday and I'm so glad I chose this place. I plan to come back, EVERYTHING WAS GREAT!!

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Sunday brunch menu was the best. Please go, your taste buds will LOVE you. Lol

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Love the stone crabs and enjoyed the crab Louis salad too

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The seafood is amazing but honestly stone crab is over rated. I don't get it. small amount of meat with a tendon running through it. King crab is much better. My advice stick with the seafood and/or steak.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Take advantage of the valet parking, it is cheaper than a garage and much easier than street parking. Get there early and have a drink or two at the bar - happy hour is half price on signature cocktails. The food is pricey, but very good. I would recommend sticking with the seafood.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Atmosphere and wait staff were great however the food was mediocre at best.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Initially, was very slow to be served and had to request a manager. Definition of slow would be waiting more than 15 minutes to be offered cocktails with less 20% patron capacity. Once this issue was resolved service improved. Unfortunately, some of our food came out over cooked and we did not want to complain. Overall, we had a good time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Crab bisque was insanely excellent! Filet and tail also quite delicious. Looking forward to visiting D.C. again just for Joe's!

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Carlos was our waiter and he was fantastic! Anticipated our every need and his menu recommendations were on point!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Solid choice for seafood and steak. Old school service in very well kept (looked brand new) dining room. Perfect for date or special occasion. Would definitely recommend and will definitely go back. Our server was outstanding!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

GREAT RESTURANT GREAT SERVICE THE FOOD WAS GOOD. THE WAIT WASN'T LONG GREAT BAR SERVICE AND THE CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS GREAT!!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

One of the best menus ever! And all the food was relish!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Awesome meal! Very good waiter. Steaks were great. Very nice family dinner

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.