About Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC

750-15th Street NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab is the culmination of a partnership between Lettuce Entertain You and Joe's Stone Crab, the legendary seafood restaurant of Miami Beach. Joe's features an extensive selection of seafood, flown in fresh daily, to complement the world's finest Florida Stone Crab claws. Joe's also features signature prime steaks, hand-carved by master butchers such as our 24 oz. Bone-In Rib Eye. Matched with Joe's famous side dishes, dinner only gets better when capped with a slice of key lime pie. Enjoy a generous cocktail in the bustling lounge or the tuxedo-clad service of the dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Everyday 11:30am-4:00pm


Brunch: Sat-Sun 11:30am-2:30pm


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday-Saturday 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
15th and H

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 489-0140

Website:
http://www.joes.net/

Parking Details:
Joe's is located at the southwest corner of 15th Street and H Street NW. Due to traffic restrictions valet parking is available on H Street after 6PM at $12 per vehicle. Before 6PM we recommend garage parking located just East of 15th Street. LAZ Parking, 1412 H St. NW, Washington, DC 20005, $10 after 5:00 PM OR PMI Parking, 1401 H St. NW, Washington, DC 20005, $10 after 5:00 PM.

Public Transit:
Closest metro stop is McPherson Square.

Executive Chef:
Chris Morvis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Lauren or Kelly at joesdcparties@leye.com for all of your private party needs.

Restaurant Photos

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC

Private Dining

Joe's offers five stylishly decorated private spaces. Jesse’s Room, is the most intimate private space, with restored floor to ceiling vintage millwork and a marble fireplace. At the top of a floating staircase, the mezzanine level is devoted to private dining with dedicated kitchen and full bar.

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Service
District of Columbia
Seafood
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (260)
Fit for Foodies (144)
Romantic (127)
See All
Good for Groups (112)
Notable Wine List (103)
Vibrant Bar Scene (77)
Hot Spot (72)
Great for Lunch (71)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Good for a Date (42)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Business Meals (35)
Great for Brunch (27)
Kid-friendly (21)
Late-night Find (21)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Bar Seating (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
People Watching (12)
Cozy (11)
Authentic (11)
Historic (10)
Fun (10)
Modern Decor (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Private Room (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Casual (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Family Style (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Scenic View (5)
Healthy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1771 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Tasted good but I got food poisoning fro ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined a day ago

Tasted good but I got food poisoning from the crab cakes...I was the only one who had crab and the only one who became very ill.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

As always, good service, good food, and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

As always, good service, good food, and will return many times

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit to Joe's and we ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

This was our first visit to Joe's and we were absolutely wowed. Fantastic food, warm and friendly service and an atmosphere that is lobbyist's wet dream. We had a terrific time and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

This restaurant nails it in every sense, ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant nails it in every sense, went twice ,consistently excellent,using first rate ingredients,with total focus on customer enjoyment.unfortunately I am a tourist and doubt we will return to Washington but I recommend with confidence

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first visit. I was immediate ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was my first visit. I was immediately impressed with how pretty it is, very classy. Went for Sunday brunch at 11:30 am. Cocktails are half priced and quite tasty. I ordered the steak salad which was excellent! Everyone in my party thoroughly enjoyed their meals. The service was outstanding from everyone we encountered. Looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic, couldn't fault any ...

 
 (Buckinghamshire)
·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely fantastic, couldn't fault any part. My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary and wanted to go somewhere special. Joe's was that place. The food was excellent. The waiting staff were so good and were never "in your face" even when the wine was being topped up you never noticed them.The restaurant is popular but not overcrowded and we were never pressurised to move on even though there was a steady flow of customers.After our lovely meal we went to the bar for cocktails to top off a memorable evening. We will return one day (live in UK). Thanks to everyone at Joe's for helping the two of us to have a great anniversary. Give it a go...you won't regret it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Joe's is our new go-to place for special ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 5 days ago

Joe's is our new go-to place for special occasions. We were there to celebrate three wedding anniversaries in our family. Every aspect of the evening was wonderful. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. My favorite dish at the table was the Alaskan King Crab Legs. I've had it there before and it did not disappoint. The Dover Sole was the next favorite of several of us. The desserts were unbelievable, especially the peanut butter pie and the chocolate fudge cake. My mouth is watering just thinking about them!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Madagascar shrimp was amazing and the BL ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Madagascar shrimp was amazing and the BLT wedge salad was very tasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

good is fabulous.. service is hit or mis ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

good is fabulous.. service is hit or miss. please see private note for further details.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Excellent Service. A bit loud so not a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent Service. A bit loud so not a place for a romantic date.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great Food and Better Service - great st ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great Food and Better Service - great stop in the Heart of DC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great looking restaurant but very expens ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great looking restaurant but very expensive

Had stone crabs they were just ok for the price. We live in Palm beach florida where the stone crabs are much better . My bone in filet was small for $50 but tender and flavorful

The total bill was $500 for 4 people.

We were on vacation in Washington and dined at other restaurants we liked better.

Overall probably would not return to Joe's

In Washington.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was great, server was wooden, noise ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was great, server was wooden, noise level high but not at our table, pircey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The service was good unfortunately the f ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

The service was good unfortunately the food was below par. Our soup, baked potato and one entrée was served cold. perhaps given the timing of the historical event taking place in the city at the time the kitchen was overwhelmed.

Nonetheless, because of the nice atmosphere and service I will allow for a second impression to redeem themselves.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Spectacular. Selected on a whim and not ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Spectacular. Selected on a whim and not disappointed! We had outstanding service and food. Definitely will visit when back in DC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous from start to finish! We were ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Fabulous from start to finish! We were in town with friends celebrating a special occasion...great place to dine!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Exciting ambiance both at the vibrant ba ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Exciting ambiance both at the vibrant bar and large elegant dining room; this is clearly a gathering place for DC Movers and Shakers.

The seafood is outstanding, the wine list extensive, and the service is impeccable.

A great place for a "special meal" but the Happy Hour at the bar is also apparently great fun and good value...

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Celebrating my sister's birthday. We w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Celebrating my sister's birthday. We were very pleased with our choices, however, we did not like the macaroni and cheese. Can't wait to return to try other dishes. A Plus for our waiter David. He added a special touch to our evening.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Joe's seafood is done simply, not hidden ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Joe's seafood is done simply, not hidden by a lot of sauces or accoutrements. All we ordered was seafood and the spinach stuffed mushrooms. The mushrooms were cooked until tender, without any loss of flavor; the stuffing was delicious and cheesy but didn't overpower the spinach. Madagascar shrimp are so large that you kinda hope no one sees that you're going to snarf down this charred monstrocity, but hey, you do and you know you would do it again.

The wait staff is always friendly and accommodating. Joe's offers valet parking We will certainly be back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As usual good food and stone crabs but w ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

As usual good food and stone crabs but what made it great was our waiter Bianca - she was superb!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fun, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our favorite "go to restaurant" ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This is our favorite "go to restaurant" for special occasions. Our server (Bonnie) was fabulous and really helped make it a fun night to celebrate my son's birthday!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was awesome and the serving siz ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was awesome and the serving sizes were generous. We were seated on time. Our waiter was knowledgeable and friendly and made great suggestions. The drinks were very tasty as well. I will definitely return

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Joe's for our anniversary. W ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We went to Joe's for our anniversary. We ate some oysters, hash browns, steak tartar, and had a very nice bottle of champagne. We sat at the bar an received exceptional service. They only gave us 11 oysters so the bartender had them bring us two more with all of the accouterments in minutes. They also gave us a free slice of key lime pie. The atmosphere is very lively with a lot of upscale tourists from the US and abroad. Fun night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding experience from start to fin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Outstanding experience from start to finish! Our food server, Tony, was exceptional. Our cocktails were incredible, High West Double Rye Manhattan made to perfection. Tableside service was like no other we have experienced anywhere. The food, from appetizers through entrees, was simply amazing, fresh, flavorful, prepared and presented flawlessly. My son enjoyed his eleventh birthday and my daughter her eighth and one-half like no other to date, as the management and staff completely surprised us with an incredible, simply unforgettable dessert presentation. Regrettably, we are ruined to expect this dining experience to ever be matched anywhere else ever again, that is, unless we visit Joe's again, which we most certainly will!

Tags: Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful experience at Joe's! Th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

What a wonderful experience at Joe's! The service was impeccable, the food was fabulous, and we were in heaven with every bite. While everything on the menu looks great, you simply must try the Madagascar Shrimp! We truly loved our dinner at Joe's and will be going again the next time we're in DC!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Modern Decor, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A day or so into a visit to DC, I found ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

A day or so into a visit to DC, I found out that Joe's had opened there. Being a fan of both the Miami and Chicago restaurants, I had to try it. First, getting a reservation was not difficult, and we were not disappointed. A good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food and our server,David Major wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great food and our server,David Major was very knowledgeable about the menu and made great suggestions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The steak and crab bisque were great! Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The steak and crab bisque were great! The fish wasn't amazing but still good! Definitely a pricey place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

From the moment we walked in the front d ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

From the moment we walked in the front door and were greeted by a warm hello, we enjoyed Joe's. We both had a delicious sustainable crab claw to start which you can enjoy handily with your fingers as they then pamper you with a lemon & warm cloth hand wash. One of us had the tomato onion salad along with two crab cakes. Delicious! I ordered the sole which was expertly deboned at table side. The flavor was delectable. It came with smooth mashed potatoes topped with Parmesan cheese and panko. Plentiful enough to share.

Friends had eaten at Joe's and suggested we ask for Grace as our server. So glad we did. She is pure delight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the place and the service was outs ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Loved the place and the service was outstanding. Menu had great options.

Tags: Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Fun, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We don't often eat at chain restaurants ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We don't often eat at chain restaurants while on vacation but wanted some good seafood. Joe's did not disappoint. The 6 oz apppetizer of cold Alaskan King crab legs with drawn butter was especially good. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We are from the West Coast so we had to ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We are from the West Coast so we had to start with Stone Crabs as an appetizer since there is nothing like them out our way. They are tasty and fun to eat (finger food). We then switched over to a Filet and Lobster with a baked potato side (a la cart), and finished off with a Raspberry Pie a la mode. They also have a full bar and a modest to pricey wine list. Excellent restaurant

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service and delicious food. C ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent service and delicious food. Chilean sea bass was outstanding as was the Dover sole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service and delicious food. Gr ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent service and delicious food. Grace was our server and she was terrific. I would definitely recommend this great spot to everyone! Sheila R

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Our server Bridget was beyond our expect ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Our server Bridget was beyond our expectations. Patient, informative and fun!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time. I server well info ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had a great time. I server well informed us on the menu. The chilean sea bass was great, and prime steak fantasticly flavored, tender to the tongue whoa. Makes me want to go back as type. Great atmosphere sound not noticeable, you can have a conversation with shouting. Thanks we had a great time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I reserved a table for our 1 ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

My wife and I reserved a table for our 19th Wedding Anniversary at Joe's Seafood. We both ordered the filet. My wife ordered the petite filet while I ordered the bone-in Filet. My filet was the best tasting filet that I have ever had. It was seasoned perfectly. We also had the stone crabs which were served cold but still delicious. Our waiter could have been more attentive to us & he never asked if we were observing a special occasion. I'm also pretty sure that when I made the reservations I mentioned that this was for our anniversary. That being said the ambiance & the service was delightful. The food was magnificent! And in the end I mentioned that since it was our anniversary that I would order desert. That "hint" garnered two complimentary glasses of champagne which was a nice way to end the meal. Overall we had a wonderful anniversary meal! We both loved the experience!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Food and service were spectacular. Price ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food and service were spectacular. Prices were what you would expect for a high end sea food establishment. Would recommend it for anybody visiting in Washington DC.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a great experience. Family of 4, al ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

What a great experience. Family of 4, all being a bit tired of travelling and eating out. That was untill we had our out standing dinner at Joe's with great food, fresh quality ingredients, service with a smile, all within a great ambience. Only problem was that the servings were too big, so we could not finish the delicious meal (and it deserved to be finised).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Outstanding food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.