About Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC

750-15th Street NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab is the culmination of a partnership between Lettuce Entertain You and Joe's Stone Crab, the legendary seafood restaurant of Miami Beach. Joe's features an extensive selection of seafood, flown in fresh daily, to complement the world's finest Florida Stone Crab claws. Joe's also features signature prime steaks, hand-carved by master butchers such as our 24 oz. Bone-In Rib Eye. Matched with Joe's famous side dishes, dinner only gets better when capped with a slice of key lime pie. Enjoy a generous cocktail in the bustling lounge or the tuxedo-clad service of the dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Everyday 11:30am-4:00pm


Brunch: Sat-Sun 11:30am-2:30pm


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday-Saturday 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
15th and H

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 489-0140

Website:
http://www.joes.net/

Parking Details:
Joe's is located at the southwest corner of 15th Street and H Street NW. Due to traffic restrictions valet parking is available on H Street after 6PM at $12 per vehicle. Before 6PM we recommend garage parking located just East of 15th Street. LAZ Parking, 1412 H St. NW, Washington, DC 20005, $10 after 5:00 PM OR PMI Parking, 1401 H St. NW, Washington, DC 20005, $10 after 5:00 PM.

Public Transit:
Closest metro stop is McPherson Square.

Executive Chef:
Chris Morvis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Lauren or Kelly at joesdcparties@leye.com for all of your private party needs.

Restaurant Photos

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC

Private Dining

Joe's offers five stylishly decorated private spaces. Jesse’s Room, is the most intimate private space, with restored floor to ceiling vintage millwork and a marble fireplace. At the top of a floating staircase, the mezzanine level is devoted to private dining with dedicated kitchen and full bar.

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Washington, D.C. Area
Seafood
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (288)
Fit for Foodies (181)
Good for Groups (155)
See All
Romantic (144)
Notable Wine List (116)
Vibrant Bar Scene (101)
Great for Lunch (96)
Hot Spot (91)
Neighborhood Gem (66)
Great for Brunch (41)
Late-night Find (25)
Kid-friendly (25)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1670 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We live about an hour west of Washington ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

We live about an hour west of Washington DC and arranged dinner for a friend in Arlington for his birthday. We normally select suit/tie type restaurants when making the infrequent trip into the city but one of the guests is loathe to even consider a tie. I don't think he wears underwear either. So, we had to find a place that was in the $100 per person price range but that didn't require a suit and tie.

From the reviews, Joe's sounded like the right mix. And sure enough, it was a perfect evening. The table staff made us feel under dressed. The dining room looked like something from a cruise ship. A sea of tables, a bar, and staff in black tux gracefully going from table to table. Guests were wearing everything from suits or gowns to polo shirts and shorts.

The dinner was outstanding. The lobster was so tender that it could be cut with a fork and the steak was done to perfection. The signature crab claws were equally tasty as was the lump crab cake. And if you go, do not pass up desert. We sampled each of the deserts and every one of them was just wonderful.

I will say that while the meal was really tasty, the table staff was a pleasure. I wish I had written down the fellows name. But he would rank up there with one of the best staff I have had serve a table. My only guess is that he trained in some sort of dance because his motions were so fluid that it was almost like watching a dancer.

The only negative that I can come up with is that it was loud. I mean the kind of loud you get when you have a huge open room filled with a sea of tables and everyone trying to talk over everyone else. We gave up on trying to have a conversation and part of the reason I don't know the staff's names was that I couldn't hear much of anything they were saying. It could be that we were in the far back left corner where sound was bouncing off the walls. But my ears were ringing when I walked out onto the relatively quiet street.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was great and the service was a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was great and the service was amazing. The waiter was alway paying close attention to us, and helping us with every need.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scrumptious food, outstanding service, w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Scrumptious food, outstanding service, wonderful ambiance. Loved it!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always say that even your favorite res ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

I always say that even your favorite resteraunt will let you down occasionally. Actual it was my wife who ordered the Haddock. Way overdone. Not a drop f moisture left n it. I was upset when I found out latter in the evening that she did not send I back. Otherwise drinks to desert....fantastic. First time ordering the NY strip. One of the best strips I have had. Just broiled with a little S&P. The flavor was all in the meat. My friends from Sri Lanka had stone crabs, stuffed shrimp and a porterhouse. All outstanding. We split a couple key lime pies for desert and I could tell everyone wished they ordered there own.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome menu, service, and food. Will ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Awesome menu, service, and food. Will definitely come back next time we're in DC!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Totally enjoyed your food service was su ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Totally enjoyed your food service was superb. Grandson fussy eater ate everything!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing service from beginning to end. W ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Amazing service from beginning to end. Willing to accommodate requests (stone crab warmed vs chilled)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing. Must try key-lime pie, ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food was amazing. Must try key-lime pie, the best!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant is stuffy didn't provide very ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Restaurant is stuffy didn't provide very good value for what you pay. The food was OK, but definitely could use some improvement. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

The service and food are always wonderfu ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The service and food are always wonderful. I was not disappointed.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding experience, wonderful wait s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Outstanding experience, wonderful wait staff, excellent food!!! Our son chose Joes as his celebration location as he leaves for college. Every part of the night exceeded our expectations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the king crab! This is my favorite ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Love the king crab! This is my favorite place for crab legs and the Alaskan king crab is wonderful. Large menu, steaks are great too. Very personable wait staff, knowledgeable and they don't rush you out. We had dinner on Saturday night at 6:30pm and were in the booth til at least 9:30. Desserts are great too. I like the separation between the bar area and the main dining room. Beautiful building.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service is outstanding

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The service is outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

From the minute we walked in the door, w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

From the minute we walked in the door, we felt Welcome. Even thought it was a Friday night, we were seated immediately. One of the Managers, Kathy Voss, came to talk to us (it was my Husbands Birthday), and she was delightful. She to,d us our waitress would be Martha , and that she was wonderful. She wasn't kidding. Martha was great. Very attentive . Combined, we had Stone Crabs, Steak Tartar, Tomato Salad, Petit Filet, the Hanger Steak, and the Ahi Tuna Tenderloin, with the Cheesy Mashed and the best Spinach I've ever had in my life! Everything we ordered, was out of this world good. Oh, and did I mention how absolutely gorgeous the restaurant was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience. Love sitting and dinin ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great experience. Love sitting and dining in the bar area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had cocktails, a couple apps and four ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had cocktails, a couple apps and four different entrees and EVERY SINGLE dish was superb! Service was stellar, we wanted for nothing the entire night. It was all of our first visit, but we travel to D.C. often and will definitely return!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server, Robert, was incredible. He r ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Our server, Robert, was incredible. He really knew the menu, made us feel so welcome and like he was genuinely happy to be there. The wine list was exclllent and the food was perfection. When we come back to the area we will absolutely be visiting again. Hopefully with Robert!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steak and lobster. Amazing wine li ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great steak and lobster. Amazing wine list. Fabulous desserts!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always like to take my mother out for ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I always like to take my mother out for dinner 2-3 times a month. I mean you only get one right?Since I knew we would be in the area, I decided on Joe's Seafood, and she loved everything about it. The food (as usual) was absolutely wonderful. Of course, she chose the Porterhouse and could not be any more happier with the "taste of perfection", as she always says. It's a great spot for any occasion, and definitely my go-to for special occasions and the occasional 1st date.

If there has to be a negative of any kind, it would be from the our most recent visit. The host, as we walked in, was really engage in conversation with another person, so our acknowledgement was short and shy of the utmost customer service. Lastly, I noticed one of the busboys seem to wait at the table longer than he should, to me it can make you feel rushed if he is collecting dinnerware without asking if you are done.

Overall, the atmosphere was amazing and the service from our head waiter was impeccable. And as long as my mom was happy, I was too!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

For lunch - you can get tastier food and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

For lunch - you can get tastier food and a meal sized portion elsewhere. Disappointed. Too expensive, too stingey with the portions, and only delicious food could make up for that. The taste, though, was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent service and food

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Excellent service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my first time coming here, but th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

It was my first time coming here, but the experience was amazing I came for my husbands birthday and I can honestly say I couldn't have picked a better place to go. The food from the appetizers, to dinner, then to desert was delicious. Our server Michael was very attentive and polite. I will definitely be coming back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Joe's has become a favorite spot for fam ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Joe's has become a favorite spot for family get togethers. Great place, great food, outstanding service, great location with reasonable valet parking. A little noisy because it was quite busy even on a Monday evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My first time at the DC place, was a bit ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

My first time at the DC place, was a bit skeptical it would be as good as the original, but it is! And no lines and they take reservations!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely one of the best service. We h ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Definitely one of the best service. We had 3 servers/attendants waiting on us. The food was also delicious. We had the crab claws those were overpriced, 70.00 for 5 . The waiter kind pushed them but nothing special for 70.00. The chillean sea bass was delicious ! The sides come family style which was good. We ordered four the asparagus was breaded and tasty. The mashed was good and I dont even eat mashed potatoes. We went during the week in summer while visiting DC is was a good location just walking distance from the W Hotel. It seemed alot of Business Professional but also mixed crowd. Our bill was over 400 for five people. 2 drinks 3 desserts and 2 apps besides our main dishes.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It was really lovely. We went to celebra ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

It was really lovely. We went to celebrate my husbands birthday and we were both pleased and will be back. The Madagascar shrimp were giant. The scallops were sweet and done perfectly and the filet was like butter. The sauces were very interesting and delicious. Our server was very knowledgeable and steered us in the right direction when wondering what to try. My husband got a brownie with ice cream and a candle which was a nice touch. We will be back and it would be a great place to bring friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we are most impressed by the superb and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

we are most impressed by the superb and personal service and fantastic ambiance. food is very impressive too, just to be clear.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Troy is the best in DC. Beau ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our waiter Troy is the best in DC. Beautiful ambiance, terrific food and drink, and reasonable priced...what more could we have asked for?????

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top 2 ever.

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Top 2 ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our reservation was for 6:30 PM. We were ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our reservation was for 6:30 PM. We were seated 18 minutes into our reservation, in the bar. For some reason they didn't have a table available for us in the dining room. Our reservation was made 2 weeks in advance. What's the point of a reservation if you are going to be seated in the bar, almost 20 minutes late. Great food but after that experience, especially with such high prices, we will likely not be back. There are many excellent restaurants in DC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server, Bonnie Kenna, rendered the b ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our server, Bonnie Kenna, rendered the best service I have had in a DC restaurant in a long, long time. Brava Bonnie.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent, but the service ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was excellent, but the service was even better. A busy waiter that can make you feel like you're his only customer is a rarity. On top of that, he was knowledgeable and guided us to excellent choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant....excellent food.. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Wonderful restaurant....excellent food...will return soon

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place was amazing. Best seafood and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The place was amazing. Best seafood and service hands down!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The quality of the food was excellent an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The quality of the food was excellent and the service was superb!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating a birthday for my da ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday for my daughter. The service was excellent and the food delicious. Everyone enjoyed their meals from the fish, to seafood, to steaks - all were good. The stone crabs as an appetizer was very good and would highly recommend. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I were very pleased as we ce ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

My wife and I were very pleased as we celebrated our 43rd wedding anniversary at Joe's. The food was exceptional. The service was equally so. Our waiter, Mike, treated us as special guests and was very informed explaining the menu. He also adroitly handled a situation doing a food mishap - we accidentally dropped part of our appetizer. He quickly provided a replacement with no muss or fuss. - Joe's food is outstanding - flavorful and prepared to order. We also were able to enjoy celebrations with neighboring tables. All and all a memorable occasion that convinced us we need to return to Joe's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great, the waiter was upbeat ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Service was great, the waiter was upbeat and very social....without being a pain...Food was very good. This was my first time going, I will definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent seafood and steaks. Disappoint ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Excellent seafood and steaks. Disappointed with location of bathrooms. Table was cramped for 4 people. Would recommend. Food was sensational.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Waiter was excellent, food exceptional, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Waiter was excellent, food exceptional, atmosphere inviting. Took my adult stepson there for his b-day with his younger sisters (10&12), and everyone enjoyed their meal. The peach huckleberry pie was spectacular.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.