About Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab is the culmination of a partnership between Lettuce Entertain You and Joe's Stone Crab, the legendary seafood restaurant of Miami Beach. Joe's features an extensive selection of seafood, flown in fresh daily, to complement the world's finest Florida Stone Crab claws. Joe's also features signature prime steaks, hand-carved by master butchers such as our 24 oz. Bone-In Rib Eye. Matched with Joe's famous side dishes, dinner only gets better when capped with a slice of key lime pie. Enjoy a generous cocktail in the bustling lounge or the tuxedo-clad service of the dining room.

750-15th Street NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Everyday 11:30am-4:00pm


Brunch: Sat-Sun 11:30am-2:30pm


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday-Saturday 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
15th and H

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 489-0140

Website:
http://www.joes.net/

Parking Details:
Joe's is located at the southwest corner of 15th Street and H Street NW. Due to traffic restrictions valet parking is available on H Street after 6PM at $12 per vehicle. Before 6PM we recommend garage parking located just East of 15th Street. LAZ Parking, 1412 H St. NW, Washington, DC 20005, $10 after 5:00 PM OR PMI Parking, 1401 H St. NW, Washington, DC 20005, $10 after 5:00 PM.

Public Transit:
Closest metro stop is McPherson Square.

Executive Chef:
Chris Morvis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Lauren or Kelly at joesdcparties@leye.com for all of your private party needs.

Private Dining

Joe's offers five stylishly decorated private spaces. Jesse’s Room, is the most intimate private space, with restored floor to ceiling vintage millwork and a marble fireplace. At the top of a floating staircase, the mezzanine level is devoted to private dining with dedicated kitchen and full bar.

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (186)
Good for Anniversaries (160)
Business Meals (150)
See All
Good for a Date (145)
Good for Birthdays (112)
Romantic (100)
Fit for Foodies (85)
Bar Seating (76)
Notable Wine List (76)
Good for Groups (69)
Worth the Drive (67)
Happy Hour (57)
Vibrant Bar Scene (57)
Pre/post Theatre (55)
Great for Lunch (51)
Handcrafted Cocktails (44)
Authentic (43)
Hot Spot (41)
Quiet Conversation (39)
People Watching (37)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Cozy (34)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Fun (30)
Comfort Food (29)
Casual (26)
Tasting Menu (24)
Great for Brunch (22)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Late-night Find (17)
Local Ingredients (14)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Paleo Friendly (12)
Great Beer (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Quick Bite (8)
Healthy (7)
Seasonal (7)
Live Sports (6)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Scenic View (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (3)
Spicy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
3093 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 19 hours ago

always a great time at Joe’s!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The waiter was really nice and very knowledgeable. Very nice place to dine. My birthday was very special I will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, fantastic service. Oysters, king crab, Madagascar shrimp, great bread basket. Service & presentation were perfect. They care about the food & creating a seamless dining experience. I wish all restaurants could do service as well as Joe’s.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a fantastic time celebrating my girl friend's acceptance to business school. Brian was our waiter and he couldn't have done a better job serving us. Overall, a wonderful evening and would highly recommend to anyone.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was amazing. Server was great at first but then made a mistake and gave us attitude. Overall, everything was good, and we did enjoy our dinner.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Our server and sommelier were outstanding. Had a great time all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

We chose Joe's in DC for our client Christmas Lunch, because we always love Joe's in Chicago. The DC location surprised me by having more of a glamorous look - which I liked. My food was great, however two of my clients were not very happy with the salads. How can you advise a client that salads are not what this place is famous for? The seafood and the steak never disappoint. Choose wisely!!
Merry Christmas

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

My coworkers were impressed with the table and food alike. Joe’s was kind enough to give us a round table for 8, which made conversation easy and felt more intimate. They also loved the crab claws and have asked to come back for next year’s holiday luncheon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Always exceptional. The service, the food, and the mood couldn’t be better.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Decent food, not off the charts and a bit pricey due to everything being ala carte. It was fine, decent quality, nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Amazballs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Service was impeccable. Could not have been more pleased.

Tags: Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Joe's has quickly become our absolute favorite restaurant if we are going in to the city for any type of event. We have now had three meals and held a large birthday party at Joe's and have walked away thrilled from every visit. The food is tremendous, and the service has always been very attentive and helpful without being overbearing. It is not an inexpensive meal, but we have always felt that the overall experience is worth the price.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Our experience was AMAZING. Excellent service, beautiful ambiance, delectable food. I will definitely be back and have already recommended this restaurant to family and friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Joes is a nice place to go when celebrating special occasions but I wouldn't recommend going often because the prices are too high for a meal that you can get at another good restaurant for half as much.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

The service is great.....The creamed spinach was a MUST HAVE !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2017

The food was really excellent and the service very good - for the most part. However, our waiter got a large table towards the end and was a bit rushed after that. We had the crab bisque, seafood platter, Filet with their Madeira sauce, a grilled jumbo shrimp special as well as the turtle and peanut butter pie. The steak was cooked and seasoned to perfection and so was the rest of the meal. Their wine by the glass list is a bit slim but I had a very nice Champagne and Nebbiolo so it was ok. Definitely not a place where you go every day but great for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

Dinner before holiday party

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Our group was celebrating a birthday and was our 1 st time at Joe’s. Everything was wonderful, the food, service and ambience
Patrick was our server and he was terrific, great recommendations, flexible with options and attentive. Between our group of 6 we sampled many items from the entire menu, nothing was a disappointment. The beef Wellington and the Chilean sea bass and stone crabs were special favorites. We will definitely return

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2017

The service was great. The food recommendation was good. The staff was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Best Banana Cream Pie ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Had a wonderful time. Amazing crabs. Our server was really great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Awesome as always!!! Thanks!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Birthday dinner was great. Food was amazing and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Leicestershire)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Excellent seafood and steaks, superb service, expensive but at the same time could not be faulted. Victor Gomez an outstanding waiter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 8, 2017

best, most tasty seafood i have ever had! service was excellent too!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Wonderful service and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Must say this visit was better than the last time. Did have to send the potato dish back, little heavy handed on the salt. Even on the Steak. Also the food could be hotter temperature wise, the potato dish was just warm but not hot. David our server was wonderful as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Our second time dining a Joe's and it proved to be as satisfying as the first. Both the seafood (crab cakes) and steak (filet) were top quality and prepared properly - something not all higher end restaurants can do in my experience. Service was very good. Pleasant ambiance. Will return in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Six of us went for Christmas lunch. Four of us got the Stone Crab lunch special for $40. Stone crabs were very good but the cracker got a little carried away. The shell on the crabs was pulverized on several of them. They did allow us to substitue the four hashbrown we would have gotten with 1 mashed potatoes, 1 tomato and 2 hashbrown. However they only gave us one hashbrown. The one hashbrown we got was too salty. The rest of the food was top notch and not a bad value considering the ambiance and the type of food.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Disappointed in steak, very expensive, just not the quality I would expect for price and reputation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Great service, food, and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 6, 2017

This is my third visit to Joe's. I love this place, the service on the dining room side of the house is impeccable. I had a Madagascar prawn, excellent. The sea bass flavors are like no other, my favorite. Definitely going again. 5 star all the way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 6, 2017

Great food. Excellent service. Good for a business lunch. You're not rushed. Reservation process is straight forward.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Birthday dinner that was personalized and truly attentive! Great evening with great memories

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Always a great visit Joe’s does it all great event

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 4, 2017

Our family was celebrating my son passing the DC bar and his swearing in ceremony. It was our first time there and it was an enjoyable experience. Our server (I wish I could remember her name) was the best. She was proactive, responsive and definitely participated in ensuring our celebration was exactly what we expected. My husband and I will be back soon and I will recommend this as a great place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2017

The food was delicious! Frist time tried the stone crab and loveed it! We were lucky it was the season for...The service gets a 5 star from me. We were amazed. We will definitely go back to try the steaks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

We were celebrating our anniversary so we wanted to try Joe’s Seafood because we heard it had great food and atmosphere. We were disappointed. My husband had the seafood pasta and he loved the moderate portion size which didnt leave him over stuffe. I had the grilled seafood which was cooked perfectly and tasted delicious. We also couldn’t go to Joe’s without trying their signature stone crabs. They were okay...I’m not over the moon about them. I would definitely go back to Joe’s and recommend it for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

My party, with a 5PM Sunday reservation, was immediately seated upon arrival. The wait staff was attentive and friendly; really outstanding service. Steaks were perfectly cooked; lobster tails, shrimp and scallops also fantastic and the side dish was a very generous portion. Another member of my party thought the stone crab claws were sweet and delicious, however, I found them lacking in any taste at all. Overall, it was a wonderful dinner, and Joe's will be my go to pre theatre spot anytime I am seeing a show at National.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.