About Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC

750-15th Street NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab is the culmination of a partnership between Lettuce Entertain You and Joe's Stone Crab, the legendary seafood restaurant of Miami Beach. Joe's features an extensive selection of seafood, flown in fresh daily, to complement the world's finest Florida Stone Crab claws. Joe's also features signature prime steaks, hand-carved by master butchers such as our 24 oz. Bone-In Rib Eye. Matched with Joe's famous side dishes, dinner only gets better when capped with a slice of key lime pie. Enjoy a generous cocktail in the bustling lounge or the tuxedo-clad service of the dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Everyday 11:30am-4:00pm


Brunch: Sat-Sun 11:30am-2:30pm


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday-Saturday 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
15th and H

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 489-0140

Website:
http://www.joes.net/

Parking Details:
Joe's is located at the southwest corner of 15th Street and H Street NW. Due to traffic restrictions valet parking is available on H Street after 6PM at $12 per vehicle. Before 6PM we recommend garage parking located just East of 15th Street. LAZ Parking, 1412 H St. NW, Washington, DC 20005, $10 after 5:00 PM OR PMI Parking, 1401 H St. NW, Washington, DC 20005, $10 after 5:00 PM.

Public Transit:
Closest metro stop is McPherson Square.

Executive Chef:
Chris Morvis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Lauren or Kelly at joesdcparties@leye.com for all of your private party needs.

Restaurant Photos

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC

Private Dining

Joe's offers five stylishly decorated private spaces. Jesse’s Room, is the most intimate private space, with restored floor to ceiling vintage millwork and a marble fireplace. At the top of a floating staircase, the mezzanine level is devoted to private dining with dedicated kitchen and full bar.

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Service
District of Columbia
Seafood
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (275)
fit for foodies (170)
good for groups (159)
See All
romantic (135)
notable wine list (110)
vibrant bar scene (98)
great for lunch (98)
hot spot (80)
neighborhood gem (52)
great for brunch (40)
late-night find (21)
kid-friendly (20)
scenic view (7)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1595 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our service was absolutely awesome and p ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our service was absolutely awesome and professional. Everything from the ambience, service and especially the food was great. I was definitely be returning to Joe's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We didn't like the service at the restau ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

We didn't like the service at the restaurant. The host seems to be in a bad mood. When we asked to be moved to a different table the waiter and host didn't like it. Also one of the waiters spilled water on my uncle and dad.

I will not go back to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

We love Joe's! We've been to the Chicago ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

We love Joe's! We've been to the Chicago outpots many times and to this one in DC a couple of times. The ambiance/decor is exquisite. It makes the diner feel like he/she is getting something special. Service at Joe's anywhere is always top notch. The food is top tier. This time, we had a dozen oysters (variety), which were spot on. My wife had the "legendary" fish and chips, and I had the Alaskan crab roll sandwich. This food is truly delicious. Love it love it love it. Peanut butter (something) pie was to go. My wife ate it in bed that night. Heavenly. We highly recommend Joe's. The original in SoBe might be the true one place to get the stone crabs, but the other Joe's are just wonderful, upscale but hip steak houses--that specialize in seafood. Winners!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having dined at Joe's in Miami Beach a n ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Having dined at Joe's in Miami Beach a number of times, this restaurant matches, if not exceeds the experience of the original. Fantastic food, impeccable service, and unlike the original Joe's not noisy and crowded. It is so great to have a crab alternative to the mallet-wielding Chesapeake crab houses around the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoyed the stone crab but the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

We really enjoyed the stone crab but the King crab legs were our favorite. Some of the best we've ever had! We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Overall an excellent dining experience. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Overall an excellent dining experience. Our server, Bianca, was top notch in every way!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place is beautiful and the food is d ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The place is beautiful and the food is delicious. Located a few blocks from The White House, it's a bit pricy but still worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spectacular! The food is amazing and th ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Spectacular! The food is amazing and the service sheer perfection. Mark G. was incredible. Truly a lasting memory.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of food and the knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The quality of food and the knowledgeable server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have always enjoyed Joes in other cities ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Have always enjoyed Joes in other cities, but this time was horrific.

The food was cold, brought out at different times to all members of our group and the grilled seafood was burnt!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

We had a party of five people at a round ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We had a party of five people at a round table. The down side is that the restaurant is very noisy and it is sometimes hard to hear other guests at the table. The positive is excellent food and service. We had such an amazing night and would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Joe's provides excellent service and the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Joe's provides excellent service and the food is unlike any other restaurant in DC.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were impeccable! The fi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Service and food were impeccable! The fish and chips were amazing. The haddock was so flaky and clean in taste, not greasy for a fried food. The waiter brought us lemon and towels after the appetizer and entree. Just superb! And the hot apple pie ala mode was so good. I haven't had that much apple in an apple pie since my Mom used to bake it for us. Quite a delightful evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow, A-M-A-Z-I-N-G. No other words neede ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Wow, A-M-A-Z-I-N-G.

No other words needed.

Crab legs were out of this world and the warm apple pie was, well, my mouth is watering just thinking about it.

Can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ahi tuna filet mignon was out of thi ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The ahi tuna filet mignon was out of this world! If you are a tuna lover, you have to try this. The apple ice with vanilla ice cream was definitely worth mentioning. One of the best meals I'v e ever eaten!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

beautiful spot with excellent food and s ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

beautiful spot with excellent food and superior service. Treated my 4 year old very well. The noise level is not too bad.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service! We will be back ASAP! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent service! We will be back ASAP! Great time for us!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't come later at night. Service is no ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Don't come later at night. Service is not nearly as good as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

The food was delicious. Loved the table ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food was delicious. Loved the table side service! Top notch service at this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice dinner. We had stone crab was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Very nice dinner. We had stone crab was nice, while the Madagascar shrimp wil lime aioli was a little to overcooked. For entres we had dover sole with delicious brown butter sauce and a sea food platter. Together with a nice bottle of champagne this was a very nice meal. We had a free slice of very nice lemon pie because we were dining a Joe's for the first time. This dinner totaled 380 USD including tax and tips - some sould say this a bit pricy ... a given this the overall rating should maybe 3,5 stars!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant is not up the standards ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This restaurant is not up the standards of its prices. I spend $200 dinner, the sole was overcooked, and the scallops also, tasty but they were chewy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I've dined at every Joes location across ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I've dined at every Joes location across the country. I've never had such dismal service and poor food quality. Extremely disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Awesome Madagascar shrimp. Great service ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Awesome Madagascar shrimp. Great service.

Pricey, but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When you die and go to heaven hopefully ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

When you die and go to heaven hopefully Joe's will be on the first block. They have the best seafood, steak and meat and don't forget the a la carte veggies and potatoes. The portions are huge so try to take home for a second meal if you can. Desserts are out of this world as well. The service staff are really nice but have too many tables when the place gets really full.

I would go back time and time again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

While the food was good, and the service ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

While the food was good, and the service fine, we felt that there was little to no ambiance. Rather cold and corporate. We'd rather go someplace that feels special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Not much of dress code. But seems to be ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Not much of dress code. But seems to be just the way it is these days.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Joe's is always a great place to eat. I ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Joe's is always a great place to eat. I looked to it as a "highlight meal" during our visit. However while we were in town we found some unexpected places that were fantastic. This does not take away from Joe's. It is meant that you can get great meals in DC area without dropping $300.00 for 2 people. I welcomed the expense as I always look forward to Joe's when I visit a city that one is located. If you are going to spend $$ on a meal then Joe's should be your choice as the service and food is of high quality.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Incredible service. Amazing food. The se ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Incredible service. Amazing food. The sea bass was a big hit with our group. Highly recommend starting with a seafood sampler appetizer course - we had shrimp, stone crab, king crab & oysters. Must do the Shrimp. We also were excited to try the stone crab which has a different but delicious taste. As part of this sampler one large claw each was perfect for us.

Key lime and peanut butter pie were delicious. Latter almost getting another order despite being a large portion.

Corkage fee is $25 per 750ml bottle. They limit 2 and won't open if the wine is on their list which is published on their website.

We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappoints: Joe's stone crab has ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Never disappoints: Joe's stone crab has become the place to grab that 5 star meal with uncompromising service after the theater or any evening event. With DC traffic who has time before the show, but Joe's is the best for after the show. A robust wine list, that compliments any meal. From the famous stone crabs, to king crab, to scallops to surf and turf. They do it right. It's 1920's speakeasy meets new millennium cuisine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ah-mazing - as always. Probably dine he ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Ah-mazing - as always. Probably dine here once a month - tried it for after theatre spot. So fun! Place was lively, service fantastic and the food never disappoints Hard to find good later evening spots in DC - either they are bars with lots of drinks and little good food - or places that are closing. Not Joe's! full menu, yummy cocktails - and the best service in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! Fabulous location for a great resta ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Wow! Fabulous location for a great restaurant! We have been to the original Joe's in Florida and the Washibgton is as good or if possible better. We had the stone crabs, shrimps various salads and sides, everything was superb. Our server was very helpful and attentive. Highl recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is excellent. Service - average. Ma ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food is excellent. Service - average. Maybe it was the particular waiter we had

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent food and service from beginnin ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent food and service from beginning to end!II would gladly go again and again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a great experience! The stone crab ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Just a great experience! The stone crab was as good as advertised. All service staff were pleasant, attentive and personable. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding!..Oscar, was exc ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Service was outstanding!..Oscar, was exceptional and readily available with suggestions and answers..

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent seafood and steak. Waitress w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Excellent seafood and steak. Waitress was very friendly.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday lunch for my assistant. She ado ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Birthday lunch for my assistant. She adored the Ahi Tuna Filet Mignon. My Seafood Salad was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful restaurant! The food was incr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Wonderful restaurant! The food was incredible, service was outstanding. It was a little fancier than we anticipated, but not snooty at all. We were celebrating our sons 12 birthday and they comp'ed the desserts, very nice touch. Had oysters, Stone crab and steak. All were awesome. Would recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On June 26, 2016 I hosted a party of fiv ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

On June 26, 2016 I hosted a party of five, three of whom were experiencing Joe's for the first time. We were seated immediately. Our waitress, a professional with extensive knowledge of all the menu items for which we had questions, gave us menu recommendations that proved to be gustatory gems.

Calamari, equal to that of my favorite Italian Restaurant, Christina's, now tied for first place. I had the sea food platter, scallops, lobster and Madagascar shrimp grilled and seasoned far beyond my best expectations.

Barbara had four huge jumbo shrimp stuffed with lump crab meat, also grilled and seasoned exquisitely. My daughter had two gigantic crab cakes, no filler and said they were to die for.

Our guests Jimmy and Regina had the Chilean Sea Bass. He said not only can't we get fish like this in Houston I can't remember fish grilled with so much flavor.

We shared four side dishes, all of which were excellent, especially the the fried asparagus and four cheese shell macaroni.

The only complaint is that the food should have been hotter

The ladies shared the enormous serving of key lime pie. I had the chocoholics delight; vanilla ice cream smothered in chocolate fudge that hardens.

Tables were nicely spaced, bus staff were very attentive. Drinks were excellent.

I highly recommend Joe's as must do seafood house. We'll be back..

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.