About Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab is the culmination of a partnership between Lettuce Entertain You and Joe's Stone Crab, the legendary seafood restaurant of Miami Beach. Joe's features an extensive selection of seafood, flown in fresh daily, to complement the world's finest Florida Stone Crab claws. Joe's also features signature prime steaks, hand-carved by master butchers such as our 24 oz. Bone-In Rib Eye. Matched with Joe's famous side dishes, dinner only gets better when capped with a slice of key lime pie. Enjoy a generous cocktail in the bustling lounge or the tuxedo-clad service of the dining room.

750-15th Street NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Everyday 11:30am-4:00pm


Brunch: Sat-Sun 11:30am-2:30pm


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday-Saturday 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
15th and H

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 489-0140

Website:
http://www.joes.net/

Parking Details:
Joe's is located at the southwest corner of 15th Street and H Street NW. Due to traffic restrictions valet parking is available on H Street after 6PM at $12 per vehicle. Before 6PM we recommend garage parking located just East of 15th Street. LAZ Parking, 1412 H St. NW, Washington, DC 20005, $10 after 5:00 PM OR PMI Parking, 1401 H St. NW, Washington, DC 20005, $10 after 5:00 PM.

Public Transit:
Closest metro stop is McPherson Square.

Executive Chef:
Chris Morvis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Lauren or Kelly at joesdcparties@leye.com for all of your private party needs.

Private Dining

Joe's offers five stylishly decorated private spaces. Jesse’s Room, is the most intimate private space, with restored floor to ceiling vintage millwork and a marble fireplace. At the top of a floating staircase, the mezzanine level is devoted to private dining with dedicated kitchen and full bar.

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (180)
Good for Anniversaries (159)
Business Meals (149)
See All
Good for a Date (147)
Good for Birthdays (130)
Romantic (116)
Bar Seating (74)
Notable Wine List (73)
Fit for Foodies (68)
Worth the Drive (68)
Good for Groups (67)
Happy Hour (57)
Authentic (56)
Quiet Conversation (55)
Vibrant Bar Scene (52)
Pre/post Theatre (48)
Hot Spot (47)
Great for Lunch (45)
Handcrafted Cocktails (40)
Fun (38)
People Watching (32)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Cozy (30)
Comfort Food (28)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Casual (27)
Tasting Menu (23)
Great for Brunch (22)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Late-night Find (18)
Local Ingredients (14)
Paleo Friendly (12)
Great Beer (9)
Disabled Access (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Live Sports (7)
Seasonal (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2904 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

I love Joes for food, service and ambiance. It never disappoints. Great place for a special occasion esp. with a group. Some of the best service in Washington, D.C.!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

One of the best dining experiences my wife and I have had.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

excellent as usual...service, food, atmosphere were outstanding..will return again when in the area..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Start to finish, a great evening. Wonderful bar, great service in the dining room, knowledgeable sommelier, and excellent food. We even saw Wolf Blitzer.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Calamari and halibut cooked to perfection. Great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

WE had a fantastic meal and great service. We were tucked in a back booth and it was a great meal. I would definitely go back. I highly recommend if you are in the DC area and in the mood for steak or seafood.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

Our server Steven was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined 4 days ago

Been to the Chicago and Miami locations, this was the best. The Alaskan King Crabs just melt in your mouth. I could've done without the mashed potatoes and instead do the sweet potatoes. The service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Seafood was amazingly fresh and delicious. The beef was also outstanding. This is a true 5 star restaurant in every sense. The only thing missing was valet parking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Continues to be the best culinary experience I’ve had- than you Bryan

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Originally had a reservation for 3 ppl but ended up having 8 overall and they still fit us into our reservation time and put a table together for us all last minute. Food is outstanding! Service is outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

One of my favorite restaurants, globally speaking. The best combination of steak house and really fresh lobster/crab/sea food. Love it! My only issue last time was that their wine inventory did not have several of the bottles offered in the wine menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Snow crab claws, were over cooked
The tip of claw meat was like powder.
Really hard to get at the meat.
Personally not fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

As always ! Great food - great service - expensive but worth it ! But equally as always , to noisy :-(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The service was excellent, our waitress exceed our expectations.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Our waiter was OUTSTANDING! Fabulous meal & overall superior evening.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Without a doubt one of the best dining experiences that I have had. I took some special customers there. Ms indie and her team really did a spectacular job, from the "leave it to me" attitude with our appetisers of oysters, stonecrab claws to recommending our main courses of Dover sole, bone in ribeye.

Great fun and one unforgetable dining experience..."my customer said to me"

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Our experience was outstanding - not just the food, but our waiter was so kind and helpful with a terrific sense of humor. I have a food allergy and thought I had ordered something that I could eat - when it arrived we knew I couldn't eat it and explained to the waiter and without dropping a beat - he took it right back and brought me a dish I could eat. I hadn't mentioned it because the menu didn't state that the grilled dish was in a sauce. He apologized for not telling me - how could he know?? He also contributed a piece of key lime pie because he heard us discussing it, on his dime. Kudos to Joe's for having a wonderful wait staff with kind hearts. We'll be back when we're in Washington again!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Always a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Went to Joe's for my hubbies birthday and it was absolutely amazing. We're planning on doing much more there as far as happy hours and lunches

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Superb seafood, service and ambiance. Chopped seafood salad and crab cakes both excellent choices for lunch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 9, 2017

This placed was recommended to us by a friend. So glad we tried this place out! The rib-eyes were delicious; the atmosphere was romantic and welcoming; and the customer service was superb! Our server, Jeff was wonderful! We will definitely be stopping by here when we come back to D.C. *Key lime pie was the icing on the cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Joe's is an excellent dining venue to make a good impression while eating an incredible dish. I have eaten their 3 times and have had the best service and food. The maî·tre d'was very professional. As a chef myself "par excellent"

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We had a great time celebrating my girlfriend's birthday. Everything was wonderful. Food was great. Service was good. Ambiance was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Just perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

This was my second time at Joe’s in DC, and it did not disappoint. The food was amazing! What makes this place so special is the service. Unmatched in any restaurant I’ve ever visited. Can’t wait to return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great food service.... could not ask for mote

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 6, 2017

We went for the stone crabs. they were good but not great. They had a little of the vinegary after taste. Perhaps not super fresh. The rest of dinner was excellent and the service was fantastic .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 6, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary and had a wonderful evening. Jim, our server, was fantastic. Ordered 2 of the Madagascar shrimp and 1 crabcake to share as our appetizer. I was hesitant about the jumbo shrimp, worried it would be tasteless, as most large shrimp are, at least to me. It was delicious, as was the full of crab, crabcake. We shared a ribeye, 1 lb. of king crab and sautéed mushrooms. Everything was perfectly cooked. The server brought us a glass of champagne and also a dessert to share. The evening was perfect. It was worth the expense! Thank you for making our anniversary dinner special.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Good food. Service ok felt like we were being judged because of our race.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Fantastic! I had the delicious Ahi Tuna ...highly recommend! My colleague had the petit filet and it was perfect. Patrick did an incredible job in his recommendations and attentiveness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Excellent food and great service.
Stone crab claws and shrimp were great!
Look forward to returning!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Best steak ever? I think so. The bone-in filet was otherworldly. I want another. The pumpkin pie offering was super too. Out of town client was impressed. You get what you pay for.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Best Oysters Rockefeller we have ever had!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Have been to Joe's before at this location. Food is always very good. Had early reservation for brunch. Was not busy at all, but still took about 30 minutes to get seated and a drink. Seated at nice table but next to a family with small kids who were fussy and it became a distraction. Not sure why we couldn't have been seated at a different table. Should have asked. Waiter was knowledge and polite.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2017

This place is amazing. I love the atmosphere! The food was very delicious. Portions could be a little larger considering it costs a pretty penny but overall I had a fabulous time and intend on coming back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Our best meal during a 4-day weekend trip to DC! Our waiter was fabulous and made great recommendations making our dinner a true highlight!

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner. I usually enjoy professional servers. But ours tonight I think was going to be performing at the comedy club later. He was a little too cheeky for my tastes and only a mediocre waiter. Other than that it was a nice time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.