Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About JJ Astor

Welcome to JJ Astor (located on the 16th floor of the Radisson Hotel Duluth), where guests enjoy welcoming service, inspired décor, modern approachability, unparalleled views, and signature dishes.
We have created a contemporary menu utilizing sustainable produce from local farmers and fresh fish from local fishermen.

Whether settling into the oversized armchairs in the lounge, or admiring the view from the inviting sofa style banquettes, the restaurant provides a memorable dining experience for locals and visitors alike.

Authentic portraits, blueprints, and photography from Duluth’s past adorn the teak panels located throughout the restaurant. While the most stunning view is undoubtedly the view of Lake Superior, the interiors also paint a captivating picture of their own.

505 W Superior St
Duluth, MN 55802
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Everyday: 6:30am - 2pm; Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Everyday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Superior St and 5th Ave W

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(218) 722-8439

Website:
http://www.jjastorsrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Richard Selz

Private Party Facilities:
We can accomodate parties from 1 to 100. Please contact us to arrange your special event.

Private Party Contact:
Richard Selz: (218) 722-0591

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

JJ Astor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

4.0

ambience

4.6

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (30)
Good for a Date (24)
Romantic (20)
See All
Special Occasion (18)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Waterfront (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Business Meals (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fun (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Historic (4)
Casual (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Authentic (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Private Room (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
 (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Vegan (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
622 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

As always, the view at J.J. Astor is the star of the show. I mean- a revolving restaurant with a view of Lake Superior and Duluth?!? It's magnificent. It was fun, and the service was good. The Easter Buffet was somewhat lackluster in my opinion. No omelette station, no hash browns, no bacon. The fruit platter was mainly melon which was unripe, woody, and flavorless. Stick with ripe fruit! I'd rather have less options if they are RIPE. Desserts were definitely not homemade and were a little dry and straight from a refrigerator. I saw a patron peel a piece of plastic packaging off of a piece of cheesecake. It would've been nice to have some house-made cake or pastries. Even desserts from a local bakery would be so much better than something off the truck. I think with a little more chef-inspired care and maybe a bit more creativity, this would have been well worth the $25 ea. price. I also saw a manager berate the cook slicing the ham on the buffet, blaming him for a patron not being told nuts were in the pre-made, muffins. I felt bad for him. I think the manager seemed super stressed out and the atmosphere kind of reflected that strain. Who knows what was going on. But did I mention THE VIEW?? It is amazing. I would still go there, and have been going there for many many years. It is a gem in Duluth. I have had some great meals there too in the past. I can't help but love the place in spite of a slightly less than impressive Easter experience. I would've preferred to order off the typical brunch menu.

Tags: , , , ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

My wife and I rediscovered this restaurant about over a year ago. We love to go there pre theatre.
I took friends there this weekend and we had a magical evening. Osso bucco was highly recommended by our excellent waiter and it proved to be better than I have had in Milan. Service, Panther Manhattan, and the wonderful vistas made for a "wow" dining experience. To steal from General McArthur, "I shall return!"

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We were there for lunch on a Sunday and it was very quiet. There was no one at the reception desk when we arrived at noon, but we only had to wait a few minutes. No brunch options as their website suggested. Portions are generous. The view of Duluth is unique and noteworthy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Friendly staff, great customer service, good food and beautiful view

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My husband and I were very excited to eat here on my birthday. While the physical experience was cool (seeing all of downtown Duluth from our table), the other inconveniences made the night overrated and overpriced. My husband and I don't eat gluten, and their menu was not very accommodating. We ordered the sirloin and the filet, and they were underwhelming. It wasn't very busy for a Saturday night, but our server must have been very distracted chatting up there other tables in our area. He never came back to replenish our drinks but he did manage to have a ten minute conversation with the table next to us regarding the history of Duluth. He brought bread to our table, and I said no thanks. He just said "you're welcome," put the bread down, and walked away. It took FOREVER for him to come back with the check and when I asked him to take a photo of us, he said "yeah, hold on" and disappeared for another 10 minutes. He really made the night less than enjoyable for us. I would only recommend this restaurant if you're willing to spend a lot of money on subpar food. You might be better off at Applebee's.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The food was great! Had walleye, asparagus and a mojito all done perfectly! Great service! Had crem brûlée for dessert , was really good!
Will be back next trip to Duluth!

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

quite..amazing view.. food met expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Amazing place. Cant wait to go back! The food was amazing, staff amazing too!

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I have dined here several times over the years and while the view is superb, I am always hopeful the food will improve. Alas, this time time proved no different. Although the menu looks somewhat impressive, the actual meal tasted more like Old Country Buffet than what you would expect at a high-end restaurant. This was not nearly worth the $150.
Clam chowder was more like watery broth with clam shells. The meatloaf, which used to be a unique flavor & creative design, is now akin to a Stouffers version with a piece of bacon in the middle. My girlfriends' pasta dish was absolutely bland with an undistinguishable sauce.
The house cab was OK.
This should be a prime dining location but until a proper (I'm guessing more expensive) chef and/or kitchen is brought in, it will remain mediocre at best.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The JJ Astor is on top of the Radisson in downtown Duluth. The restaurant revolves and in one hour you do a complete revolution which allows you to see the harbor and the hills of Duluth. Even on a cloudy rainy day the view is impressive.

I fully expected that because of the speculator view that the food would be a bit expensive and of lower quality or smaller portions. But the price was quite reasonable, the quality was good, and the portions were ample. I had a stuffed meatloaf that was wonderful.

Finally, our server was great. He was so upbeat, so attentive without being overbearing, and added considerably to our enjoyment of the lunch.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

My girlfriend and I decided to dine at the hotel restaurant here. Gorgeous views. The restaurant revolves around the whole hotel, takes about an hour. Comfy and cozy setting, low lighting. The sinner fries are a must. I had the walleye, and it was a bit over cooked, and the noodles were a bit undercooked. For the value, not good. But my girlfriend's kings fettuccine was outstanding. Ordered two main courses, app, and two sodas, $80 with no tip. Little pricy but you're paying for the outstanding views of Duluth.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I will be honest. We weren't sure what to expect after reading other reviews. Our experience was awesome. Chad our waiter was awesomely attentive. Food was wonderful. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Rotating view absolutely must see.

Great view and service. Prices high, but must see if you are visiting Duluth.
You can find something on the menu. (Blackberry salad for $8 was good).

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This place was horribly overpriced for the quality of food we got. Both my husband and I felt the food tasted super bland and overall just were not pleased.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Great food, great ambiance. As someone who gets motion sickness, the rotation took some getting used to.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Our meals were excellent. The filets were tender and perfectly done, despite differing requests for how they were to be cooked. The salads were crisp and tasty, both the blackberry and the caesar. Drinks were good and not overpriced. Breakfast in the morning was also very good. I can recommend the Eggs Benedict in particular, which had an extremely tasty house-made Hollandaise Sauce. Our servers for both meals were attentive without being intrusive and very up on the sights to be seen, particularly in the morning. The view, of course, needs no recommendation. We were there years ago for a previous anniversary, and are very glad to have returned for this one. Not sure how the noise level rating works, but it was a very comfortable level for table conversation. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was a neat experience with the rotating view for date night. However if you are sensitive to motion I will warn that it can cause you to get slightly dizzy. Food is a bit pricey but we knew that going into it and the food was good. It's worth trying at least once.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was just OK, but we would go back for the wonderful view and the novelty of the rotating restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Overall, meh. Wish I had decided to eat at one of the other restaurants in town. Our service was good, the decor was great but the food wasn't good and served too hot to enjoy.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very nice valentine's dinner at JJ Astor. We had made reservations but arrived a little early and was seated right away. They had a special menu for the evening and the meals that we had were very good. Ambiance is what makes this place a go to spot, can't beat the view.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Although the breakfast is just average, I would recommend coming for the view...This is a rotating restaurant after all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A special place for me, celebrating a happy re-memory with my love. Food was outstanding, must try the blackberry salad, classic walleye and 16oz steak and I personally recommend A scotch neat throughout. The service was attentive and professional and such an amazing view of the lake, the city and the lights! And I live here! Best food I've eaten in this city no comparison.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Authentic, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food and service was excellent. The revolving restaurant has great views. I highly recommend this place for a wonderful meal. It is a little pricey but well worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Loved the view for 360 degrees. My salad had quite a bit of old lettuce. Blood Mary was plain. Didn't see enough of my server. Again, love how the restaurant rotates. Very unique and special!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great views! Our dinners were done to perfection and the cocktails were correctly made.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Pluses:
Great view
Nice ambiance

Minuses:
Slow service
Food so-so

Fine if you are not expecting too much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Overall pretty decent place. The view was great. The rotating dinimg was a little to get used to but a good experience. The food was pretty good. My steak was a fair amount rarer than i had asked but still good. I dis find a piece of hard plastic fried with our calimarie. The staff was very generouse taking care of it tho with taking the app off the bill and giving us a free desert.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The resturant had a wonderful atmosphere, and had a touch of class about it. The service was professional however I had to ask for a refill on my beverage.

The food was prepared well. I ordered the NY Strip, while the food was perfectly prepared I was not impressed with the cut of meat, as I had to perform surgery to find the good parts.

I would recommend this to a couple for a date night. It is ok for kids too as they'll appreciate the resturants signature revolving feature.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The view is Great!
The Food was outstanding!
There's not a bad seat at all.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The scenic view in this revolving restaurant is awesome and the coziness for intimate conversation perfect

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Poor service, the food was not good and extremely over priced. Waited 20 min. with a reservation for our table. Then were seated at a "divided" table with other patrons. For what they charge you should get your own table. They were trying to get more money by cramming people onto the same tables. Went back for a "free breakfast" and waited to be seated for another 15 min. after a server said she would be "right with us". We watched other people walk out because they could get nobody to seat them. Do not waste your money here. The duck was some of the worst I have ever had and my husband's filet was way over done. The view is great though. Stop up and have a drink for the view if you like but skip the meal.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My boyfriend and I came to JJ Astor for date night and to celebrate my birthday; this restaurant is a great excuse to pull out some fancy attire but a casual style is also welcome. This place emits an atmosphere of romanticism through their food and their view. Their complimentary bread is delicious, their yucca mashed potatoes are the greatest potatoes I've ever tasted, (I asked for the recipe, unsuccessfully, but they will disclose the ingredients), and they provide mouthwatering cheesecake for birthdays. The deration of our visit allowed for us to circle the entire aerial view of Duluth; it was late and the lights were beautiful and we captured a picture with the bridge behind us. If you're looking for a romantic night out in Duluth I highly recommend JJ Astor.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Service was alright, food was alright, the view was great. Definitely worth going once, but would try another place next time.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

It was very cool seeing Bentleyville from resteraunt while we ate.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We wanted to see Bentleyville from their view. We had a fantastic meal in September. We thought we would see if the restaurant could do it again, checking for consistency. Our order was identical. The food was fantastic again. It was served hot. The pricing is not out of line. Will we return? A definite YES!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Very disappointed overall. Food was fine, but the service was very disappointing.

We arrived 15-20 minutes before our reservation and were seated in the lounge. This was fine. Nobody bothered to come by and take our drink order though. Eventually, a busboy walked by and asked "Did you guys need anything?" and took our drink order.

Once seated, we never got bread, water was never refilled, and for the most part never checked on.

Maybe they were understaffed (on a Friday?), but it left a sour taste.

The food was good, although it felt overpriced. For as much as we spent, we could have gone somewhere much nicer with better service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great view, a little pricy for a meal with only 1 course.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food was good but a bit overpriced. You are coming for the view and the novelty though and those are 100% worth it.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great way to taken in the lights of Bentleyville and stay warm!! Food was great, as was the service. Would definitely go again for another special occasion- about pricey to enjoy on a "regular" night out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The view is great, the rotating floor is unique and an experience in and of itself. The menu is very limited with average quality considering the price. The service was not very good, long wait time to get drinks, bread basket, food, etc. The draw is the view, rotating floor, and ambiance, not the food or service so much.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.