Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About JJ Astor

Welcome to JJ Astor (located on the 16th floor of the Radisson Hotel Duluth), where guests enjoy welcoming service, inspired décor, modern approachability, unparalleled views, and signature dishes.
We have created a contemporary menu utilizing sustainable produce from local farmers and fresh fish from local fishermen.

Whether settling into the oversized armchairs in the lounge, or admiring the view from the inviting sofa style banquettes, the restaurant provides a memorable dining experience for locals and visitors alike.

Authentic portraits, blueprints, and photography from Duluth’s past adorn the teak panels located throughout the restaurant. While the most stunning view is undoubtedly the view of Lake Superior, the interiors also paint a captivating picture of their own.

505 W Superior St
Duluth, MN 55802
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Everyday: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Everyday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour in the Lounge Sunday-Thursday 3:00pm-6:00pm

Cross Street:
Superior St and 5th Ave W

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(218) 722-8439

Website:
http://www.jjastorsrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Richard Selz

Private Party Facilities:
We can accomodate parties from 1 to 100. Please contact us to arrange your special event.

Private Party Contact:
Richard Selz: (218) 722-0591

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

JJ Astor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

Noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (31)
Romantic (24)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Special Occasion (17)
Cozy (12)
Business Meals (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Waterfront (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fun (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Casual (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Authentic (3)
People Watching (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
684 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We went for a honeymoon dinner. Duluth has always been special to us and we had never been to JJ Astor. Well worth the time to go - service was great, food was superb!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Usually great food and service, yet not so much this time around. Only checked in our table of 6 one time. Steaks were definitely well done, not the medium as ordered. Ordered spicy pecans to take home, only to find out they were plain after getting home. Embarrassing to drive all the way from the cities for a dinner with my parents.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Wonderful experience! Glad we chose it for our 5 year anniversary dinner!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Food was good (maple salmon, meatloaf, crab cakes), as was service. When I made the reservations I specified this was a wedding anniversary celebration dinner and it would have been nice if they had aknowledged it somehow. But overall it was nice.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Food fine. Didn't care for rotating aspect made me feel dizzy. Bathrooms were very dirty, service was slow. Meal was expensive.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Had an awesome time although wasnt impressed with the bartender I ordered a drink and it didn't taste good ask him to remake it he did but felt like he was mad about it the second one still wasnt very good but I decided not to complain Hopefully when I'm there again this weekend there is a different bartender

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Steak was done rare and should have been medium. Sent back and they fixed. Asparagus was thin, over cooked and shriveled. Very disappointing for the price. This is my favorite restaurant when visiting Duluth so this was a bummer.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Excellent food but the turning of the room could make you feel a little woozy😝

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food and service was great! Hotel could use some updating in common areas.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Excellent meal, wonderful staff, awesome view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We had a fabulous dinner! Four of us with two of us celebrating our birthdays. Dinners were yummy-not cheap-but worth every penny with the circle of the restaurant and the quiet evening.....Fantastic for those special events or for the out of town tourist.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

So we were in town for pleasure and read reviews on places to dine while in Duluth and landed on JJ Astors. The reivews were pretty accurate. The view was awesome and the rotating 360 degree roof top restaurant was certainly unique. The food was ok and pricey with a limited menu. The service was very good and friendly. Overall things were ok with a nice view with a supper club type feel.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We were there Friday night, with Chad as our waiter. He was very good and also introduced us to Vikre gin, which is excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

The scallops and NY Strip were wonderful! Service was slower than usual but it seemed busier than normal. It's always a great pick if you want quiet dinner with a spectacular view.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

We had been warned that the food was just "okay," but we enjoyed our meals very much. The view is stunning and the decor is fun, if a bit worn-looking. Our server was inattentive and rude, but we could see that the other servers were good. When our table rotated near the bar, we became aware that our server was flirting with a woman in the bar, which explained why he never bothered to check in on us. ;) A nice Anniversary choice all around.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

You can't beat the view of the harbor. The food is excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We took my 88 yr old mom and her friend there. With the exception of the plaster that was falling down on one spot of the ceiling by the window, it was great! It was easy for them to move around and bathroom was close. Waiters were friendly and knowledgeable about the food and the Duluth history. Food was excellent and the view we had was fabulous! Will definitely go back!

Tags: Disabled Access, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 6, 2017

My wife and I ordered the Walleye dinners described as pan seared with a lemon caper butter sauce over fettucine. The Walleye was over-breaded and mushy, the butter sauce tasted like it was made from lard, the fettucine was sparce and overcooked (like plastic). I ordered a Margarita which did not seem to have any tequila or any other alcohol in it. It also had a very artificial flavor to it -- didn't taste like a Margarita or any other drink I have ever had -- the aftertaste was awful. My wife ordered a martini, when bringing it to the table, the bartender bumped his elbow and a good portion of the martini splashed out of the glass, he served it that way; didn't even take it back to the bar to top it off. Very disappointing -- even the beautiful view did not make up for the awful food and drink. Won't be back!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

The walleye meal was very good. The main attraction for this restaurant is the revolving dining room for spectacular views of Lake Superior and the surrounding area. The dining room walls need some serious updating. Our server acted like he was too busy to take care of us even though there were several empty tables.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, great food, excellent service!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Had a great time. Views are spectacular. The service was great. Food was absolutely delicious. Fantastic place for a date or a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had breakfast. The food was really good. Everyone liked their selections. The views were great.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Scenic View, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Susan Frye and Sally Elk were there last night for a 7 pm reservation. I wish I had learned the name of our waiter. 40ish, salt-pepper hair, some facial hair. Wonderful young man. Great waiter. Courteous and knowledgeable. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Went to JJ Astor's to discuss a savage business takeover with my partner. Good ol' JJ's provided a wonderful dining service, coupled with an unbeatable environment. Will be returning again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Opentable Reservation was not available a few hours after it was set. Staff seemed aloof and disinterested. Unique view and menu didn't overcome lackluster support staff.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We chose JJ Astor as a place to celebrate our fortieth anniversary because of the excellent level of service and the quality of the meals that they offer. Our server did everything to make certain that our special day was memorable. Add the beautiful view of Duluth, the harbor, and Superior and you have a magical time!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Food was very Good! Service was impressive! Fabulous view!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We went to JJ Astor's for our anniversary. We had very, very slow service! They were also out of 2 of the items we wanted to order that evening. We ended up with OK food, great drinks and OK dessert...all of which were over priced! The server was very sweet but she had too many tables and just forgot about us. Also if you get motion sickness I wouldn't dine here, the revolving motion made me and my husband sick and neither one of us get motion sick! It moves very slow but still messes with your head and stomach.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Although I used open table to make the reservation, they did not have it. They had no problem seating us.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 4, 2017

You pay for the view... but it's worth it. If this is your first trip to Duluth, as it was for us, there's no better place to get a spectacular view of the harbor while you dinner than this. If you're a Duluth native or frequent visitor, it might not be as impressive. The food and service were very good, but make no mistake: Duluth is a foodie town, and there are even better options at this price range. The JJ Astor experience is all about the view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

We had a very enjoyable experience. The view was spectacular, our server was amazing and the meal was prepared exactly how we wanted. Try the Peach and Prosecco drink. It's awesome!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The service was wonderful, the food, the best we have experienced on our vacation & the view-amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

If you go to JJ go for the awesome service, or the bartenders that know how to make the best Jameson/Coke you'll ever have, or go for the AMAZING cheesecake, but dont go for great steak, or good pirtion size, because you will be dissatisfied. Couldn't eat the whole steak, it was like eating rubber with no flavor. The mashed potato Puree was great, but there was maybe 3 spoon fulls.....

Also, the drinks are upwards of $10/EA so bring your wallet!

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food was good, the service and ambiance were great. Found a couple favorite wines on their list and hubby's martini was excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We loved our evening at JJ Astor! Everyone had delicious food and the view is spectacular.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Amazing view of the lake superior. The food was OK tasting. The price of the food I think is overprice because the taste was not really super good. My kids didn't like what they ordered.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Four of us visited JJ Astor to celebrate our wedding anniversaries. We loved everything about the restaurant: the ambiance, the food, the service, the wine, and beer choices. Our waitress was very attentive, and we had a hard time choosing among all the dinner choices. All of us were pleased with the entree we selected-seafood, duck, and steak. And when it came to dessert, well, they were on the house because we were celebrating 34 and 44 years of wedded bliss~ We all would highly recommend JJ Astor for a wonderful evening out.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic, Bar Seating, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We had high hopes for this. We were in town from Minneapolis (we are obviously spoiled for nice dinners) to celebrate the 4th and more importantly, our Engagement Anniversary. I noted that in our reservation, as most places here in the cities will at least mention it when you arrive or are seated...nothing with JJ Astor. Hostess was cute and nice but made sure to remind us twice about our 90 minute time limit on being there. I get it on the 4th but it was 6:30!! Fireworks were 4 hours away. Service started great...ended horrible. A group of 12 was sat next to us (fine of course), and we were then ignored as they got all of her attention. Servers were also talking about guests in front of us (who needed to leave, who had been sitting too long, etc...not professional). Food...okay, not great by any means. Crab cakes were good, NY strip was not seasoned or cooked well, why would you put Yukon Golds in a blender? Oh..the lemon/raspberry cake was good, but obviously out of a frozen box from a food distributor. Coffee would have been nice to have offered with dessert?? We were also never offered a second glass of wine or drink...isn't that where your money is?? I dunno...just expected more for the price. Also, please update your online menu, as the real menu is TINY with limited options compared to what you advertise. Will be going elsewhere next time in town, that's for sure!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The place was empty upon arrival. It took 10 minutes for the waiter to appear after seating. The Waiter didn't have a clue for wine or beer selection, went off to ask. Returned with a wine list, and told me they didn't have a lager. I explained that Bud, Miller, Coors were all lagers. He disappeared again. The Fillet Mignon was cooked marginally at best, and the vegetables were mushy. Cruddy service and marginal food should cost $120. Avoid this place, though there appears to be little in Duluth for fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 23, 2017

A spectacular view and good service, but the food was underwhelming at best. The menu prices would suggest fine dining but that was certainly not the case. I had the king's alfredo. The chicken was overcooked and dry. The shrimp was rubbery. The pasta was good but drowned in too much sauce. We will not be going back. You can eat much better for less in Duluth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.