About JJ Astor

505 W Superior St
Duluth, MN 55802
View Larger Map

Welcome to JJ Astor (located on the 16th floor of the Radisson Hotel Duluth), where guests enjoy welcoming service, inspired décor, modern approachability, unparalleled views, and signature dishes.
We have created a contemporary menu utilizing sustainable produce from local farmers and fresh fish from local fishermen.

Whether settling into the oversized armchairs in the lounge, or admiring the view from the inviting sofa style banquettes, the restaurant provides a memorable dining experience for locals and visitors alike.

Authentic portraits, blueprints, and photography from Duluth’s past adorn the teak panels located throughout the restaurant. While the most stunning view is undoubtedly the view of Lake Superior, the interiors also paint a captivating picture of their own.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Everyday: 6:30am - 2pm; Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Everyday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Superior St and 5th Ave W

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(218) 722-8439

Website:
http://www.jjastorsrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Richard Selz

Private Party Facilities:
We can accomodate parties from 1 to 100. Please contact us to arrange your special event.

Private Party Contact:
Richard Selz: 218-722-0591x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sinner Fries - JJ Astor, Duluth, MN
Sauteed Calamari - JJ Astor, Duluth, MN
Scallops - JJ Astor, Duluth, MN
Sweet And Spicy Nuts - JJ Astor, Duluth, MN
Filet And Scallops - JJ Astor, Duluth, MN
Skuna Bay Salmon - JJ Astor, Duluth, MN
Pear And Prosciutto Flatbread With Balsamic - JJ Astor, Duluth, MN
Roasted Duck - JJ Astor, Duluth, MN
Ceasar Salad - JJ Astor, Duluth, MN
Brisket And Poutine - JJ Astor, Duluth, MN
Walleye And Wild Rice Sliders With Red Pepper Sauce - JJ Astor, Duluth, MN
Bibb Salad - JJ Astor, Duluth, MN
Sugar Cookie Martini - JJ Astor, Duluth, MN
Osso Bucco - JJ Astor, Duluth, MN
Bucatini carbonara - JJ Astor, Duluth, MN
Spinach And Artichoke Dip - JJ Astor, Duluth, MN

JJ Astor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Scenic View
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Special Occasion
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Restaurants in Duluth ›

Scenic View (44)
Special Occasion (35)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Romantic (25)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Worth the Drive (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Waterfront (13)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Historic (9)
Business Meals (8)
Fun (7)
Cozy (7)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Casual (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Seasonal (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Authentic (2)
Healthy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
550 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

food was really good. Portion for one me ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

food was really good. Portion for one meal was not great. Gnocchi and vegetables. But flavor was great. Duck Breast was fabulous.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value3

The food was delicious and the service v ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was delicious and the service very good. Our server was very cordial and professional but didn't seem to know the menu very well and couldn't really make any recommendations in response to some questions asked about menu items. We also were overcharged on our bottle of wine but the error was corrected.

I would like to see more moderately priced meals and more choices on the menu.

Overall, we love coming up here on special occasions, particularly for the fourth of July and to see Bentleyville.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We always have great service and a terri ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

We always have great service and a terrific view of Lake Superior and Duluth. The food is reasonably priced and generally well prepared. I was surprised that the tenderloin crustinis ordered by my tablemate were hidden under a mountain of curly endive. She scooped most of it off and it filled a bread plate. The menu has been unchanged in some time, so if you have eaten there recently don't expect an updated menu -- it hasn't changed in a year.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic view, friendly service, fancy ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Fantastic view, friendly service, fancy but relaxed...food was good and served quickly but pricey. The attraction is for the unique/rotating view first and the food second...

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great service. Chef and server accommoda ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great service. Chef and server accommodating to special request.

Always an awesome view.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful way to watch the super moon. G ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful way to watch the super moon. Great way to view the city at night!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very fresh. Wait wasn't too lon ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was very fresh. Wait wasn't too long. Wait staff was very friendly and helpful. They provided plenty of privacy without neglecting our needs such as refills. And the 360 view is unbeatable

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time my wife and I ate there and w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

First time my wife and I ate there and will definitely be back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and the service was w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The food was great and the service was wonderful. The only thing we did not care for was the wait to get to the dining room. We arrived at 4 :45 pm and the elevator did not go to the top floor before 5 pm.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The view is phenomenal! And the experien ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The view is phenomenal! And the experience is one to be had! A revolving restaurant, only one in the Midwest!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone enjoyed the food. Outstanding! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Everyone enjoyed the food. Outstanding! Small menu for lunch/brunch but still gave a variety.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a revolving restaurant and the vie ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It is a revolving restaurant and the view is beautiful at night. I wish I visited during the day to see the view in the daylight.

I ordered risotto and the it was bit too soft and too much cheese in the risotto. Overall it is ok but better stay away from the risotto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We love this place, took 14 year old dau ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We love this place, took 14 year old daughter here for the first time last night and she thought it was pretty cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service was very good as well as entrée ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Service was very good as well as entrées select. Starter selection could be improved.....Clam Chowder was fantastic.

Prices a little bit to the high side I thought, the meal was fantastic.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious food and great atmosphere, fre ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Delicious food and great atmosphere, frendily staff and reservations actually made a difference almost no wait

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the view is fantastic and the atmo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

While the view is fantastic and the atmosphere should have been romantic, our evening was shared by a large party (20+ people) just two tables away. Who could have known? They seemed like a lovely family. Our reservations were for 8:00, we were seated promptly and the restaurant was not overly busy. We don't often get the opportunity to splurge and wanted to stretch our evening to the fullest. Our server was really good for most of our visit but seemed to want to rush us the closer it got to 10:00. Not pleased with that. Also not pleased with the food to be honest. Yes, we were expecting to pay top dollar, but along with that was the expectation that the food would be especially good. Right off the top they were out of French Onion soup. Being out of a listed menu item always sets me off... Anyway my husband had the clam chowder. It seems as though they had run out of that too and quickly tired to put together another batch - the soup was really thin, not at all chowder like, and the potatoes were horribly undercooked. At $35 I would expect to get a really, really good steak, but this one was just average. Nothing more than one would get at Perkins! There wasn't any seafood on the entrée menu so I ordered scallops from the hors d'oeuvre selections. The server did advise that I might want to get something additional since there are only two scallops, so I ordered the crab cakes as well. Again, nothing special - I could do just as good at home in my own kitchen. Not to be completely negative I will say the blackberry salad was terrific! But overall, I think I would make my appetite wait another 1/2 hour and go up the shoreline Kamloops at Superior Shores. That was a meal to brag about.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I loved the view of the Duluth from this ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I loved the view of the Duluth from this restaurant. Great servers at the JJ Astor!

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

The views are great, it takes probably a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The views are great, it takes probably an hour and 15 minutes to circle completely so if you want a quick bite to eat this place is probably not for you. It seems they time the service so you're able to enjoy the complete rotation.

Food portions are large; by the time we received our main course we couldn't finish it but that didn't stop us from taking it back to our room for a late snack later.

The service was excellent, our server was very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view of the lake and the city as you ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The view of the lake and the city as you revolve is quite amazing. Our server was very pleasant and efficient. The food was fine, but nothing spectacular.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Extremely disappointing. Brought a famil ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Extremely disappointing. Brought a family member there for a special occasion - poor food, poor service and poor ambience. Wallpaper coming loose from the walls, almost our entire meal left on the plate because we couldn't choke it down. We had to flag our waitperson down to get our check, after sitting throughout our entire meal with dirty plates from our first 2 courses. Premium price for terrible food/terrible experience. I never take the time to write a review, but please take my advice and skip this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Clean restaurant with unique rotating vi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Clean restaurant with unique rotating view. Excellent food, great service. A bit pricey, but not outrageous. Definitely worth it during our short (2-day) stay.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had a nice time, the food was good but ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I had a nice time, the food was good but the French Fries were soggy and too salty. The waitress was nice and very accommodating. The restaurant was clean and the view was great as always.

Sandra Mckittrick

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Fun, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was fine. Overpriced but fine. Good v ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

It was fine. Overpriced but fine. Good views, mediocre food.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We found jj astor's food to be pricey an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 29, 2016

We found jj astor's food to be pricey and only fair in quality. We ordered the warm olive appetizer which was very good and plentiful. We also ordered the scallops appetizer which had only two scallops (for $15), and there were three of us. I'm the one that didn't get one, but I understand that they tasted good. Our entrees were only fair. We had the walleye, the duck, and the chicken. None of them had anything that made them stand out. They were rather blah. The side dishes were pretty good though. The brussel sprouts were VERY good! For dessert we had creme brule' and tiramisu. Both of those were really tasty, as was the coffee. We love the revolving restaurant and the views. The retro decor was fine too. Our waitress was friendly and competent. I believe that they could tweak their menu and lower their prices at least $5 a plate, and customers would be much more pleased with jj astor's.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Did not like the stuffed meatloaf--too d ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Did not like the stuffed meatloaf--too dense and rich. Puréed potatoes did not present well but tasted ok. Drinks overpriced but good. Food overpriced for quality. Steak and scallops were just average, but definitely not worth the high price. Bread good, lobster dip and toast very good. Lava cake small, dense , definitely not Melt-in-your-mouth, and expensive. The scenery and service were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We had a terrific time at JJ Astor. The ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We had a terrific time at JJ Astor. The food and service was great and the rotating view of Duluth was outstanding. My filet mignon was tasty, tender, and cooked just right. I would highly recommend this fine restaurant to anyone visiting Duluth.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff excellent....friendly and pat ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Wait staff excellent....friendly and patient....seating arranged for maximum view of hillside and waterfront

Tags: Late-night Find, Waterfront, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Fabulous atmosphere, food and drinks!! A ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Fabulous atmosphere, food and drinks!! A must if your ever in Duluth!! The rotating 360 degree view is absolutely stunning!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love JJs. We stay at the Radisson an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We love JJs. We stay at the Radisson and eat at JJ's when we are in Duluth. You cannot beat the view and the food is good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We went for an early dinner around 6:00 ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We went for an early dinner around 6:00 on a Saturday evening in September. We were promptly seated and attended to by our server. The slow rotation of the restaurant took a bit of getting used to, but was entertaining and interesting. I'm not sure if this is something to complain about, but our main course came out too quickly. We were not done with our appetizer when it arrived. I would say the food was a bit overpriced, but nothing crazy. All in all it was a good dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner was delicious . Our party of 4 ea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Dinner was delicious . Our party of 4 each had something different and all enjoyed our meals immensely. Wait staff was very friendly and helpful.

We went a little before dusk and the view in the revolving dining room was spectacular. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We felt well cared for, without the serv ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 8, 2016

We felt well cared for, without the server hovering. My salmon was excellent, as was my husband's pork chop. We were not excited about the dessert options, so tried the molted chocolate cake. I'm guessing it was a food service cake they just heated up. The decor was nicely updated and the atmosphere was comfortable, not stuffy. I'm so glad the revolving restaurant is still here, the views are spectacular! You can sit back and watch the world go by. We would certainly go back when in the Duluth area, but stop at the ice cream shop for dessert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful being able to see all of downt ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Wonderful being able to see all of downtown Duluth while dining. I had the Seafood special. Very good but big enough two people could split. We ordered iced tea to drink and they were out. Almost seemed upset that my table did not order cocktails. Will go back again next time I am in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

In my opinion the classiest restaurant i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 2, 2016

In my opinion the classiest restaurant in Duluth. Spectacular view with warm service (thank you, Dawn) and awesome food (yes, in my opinion better than highly rated St. Paul Grill...especially for...don't laugh...walleye and steaks). Suprisingly robust wine list. Make no mistake that in no way is this fine restaurant a reflection of the hotel from which it rents space...which was a huge dissappointment. This restaurant experience was one of our trip's highlights. Parents...unless you have well trained and quiet kiddos, please don't ruin others' dining experience just to give the kids a grand view of the city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our wedding anniversary he ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 25, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary here. It was a wonderful evening. Perfect view, the service and dinner perfect. This is a great place to celebrate any special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and ambience. There ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great food, service and ambience. There was a noisy intoxicated lady that had the world's most obnoxious laugh that kind of dragged the evening down a notch or two....

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I love the views at JJ Astor, the food w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 21, 2016

I love the views at JJ Astor, the food was good but my cocktail was not made correctly and it was not good. The views keep me coming back to this place but after eating dinner here I think I prefer the breakfast food to the dinner menu. Still one of my favorite restaurants in the entire state because the views are unbelievable and it is a very well kept restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The ambiance is great and the view spect ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The ambiance is great and the view spectacular. The food was prepared just the way you like. Wait staff attentive.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was good. The menu was limited ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was good. The menu was limited for lunch. It took a very long time for the food to come after placing our order.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Prices are high for Duluth area. Food i ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Prices are high for Duluth area. Food is mediocre. Service was slow and not good overall. However, the view is great!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.