About JJ Astor

505 W Superior St
Duluth, MN 55802
View Larger Map

Welcome to JJ Astor (located on the 16th floor of the Radisson Hotel Duluth), where guests enjoy welcoming service, inspired décor, modern approachability, unparalleled views, and signature dishes.
We have created a contemporary menu utilizing sustainable produce from local farmers and fresh fish from local fishermen.

Whether settling into the oversized armchairs in the lounge, or admiring the view from the inviting sofa style banquettes, the restaurant provides a memorable dining experience for locals and visitors alike.

Authentic portraits, blueprints, and photography from Duluth’s past adorn the teak panels located throughout the restaurant. While the most stunning view is undoubtedly the view of Lake Superior, the interiors also paint a captivating picture of their own.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Everyday: 6:30am - 2pm; Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Everyday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Superior St and 5th Ave W

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(218) 722-8439

Website:
http://www.jjastorsrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Richard Selz

Private Party Facilities:
We can accomodate parties from 1 to 100. Please contact us to arrange your special event.

Private Party Contact:
Richard Selz: 218-722-0591x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sinner Fries
Sauteed Calamari
Scallops
Sweet And Spicy Nuts
Filet And Scallops
Skuna Bay Salmon
Pear And Prosciutto Flatbread With Balsamic
Roasted Duck
Ceasar Salad
Brisket And Poutine
Walleye And Wild Rice Sliders With Red Pepper Sauce
Bibb Salad
Sugar Cookie Martini
Osso Bucco
Bucatini carbonara
Spinach And Artichoke Dip

JJ Astor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Romantic
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Scenic View
Minneapolis - St. Paul
1 More
Most Booked
Duluth
Best Restaurants in Duluth ›

Scenic View (47)
Special Occasion (34)
Romantic (27)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Late-night Find (6)
Waterfront (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fun (2)
Historic (1)
Casual (1)
Cozy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Authentic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
522 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fabulous atmosphere, food and drinks!! A ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous atmosphere, food and drinks!! A must if your ever in Duluth!! The rotating 360 degree view is absolutely stunning!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love JJs. We stay at the Radisson an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We love JJs. We stay at the Radisson and eat at JJ's when we are in Duluth. You cannot beat the view and the food is good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We went for an early dinner around 6:00 ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We went for an early dinner around 6:00 on a Saturday evening in September. We were promptly seated and attended to by our server. The slow rotation of the restaurant took a bit of getting used to, but was entertaining and interesting. I'm not sure if this is something to complain about, but our main course came out too quickly. We were not done with our appetizer when it arrived. I would say the food was a bit overpriced, but nothing crazy. All in all it was a good dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner was delicious . Our party of 4 ea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Dinner was delicious . Our party of 4 each had something different and all enjoyed our meals immensely. Wait staff was very friendly and helpful.

We went a little before dusk and the view in the revolving dining room was spectacular. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We felt well cared for, without the serv ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We felt well cared for, without the server hovering. My salmon was excellent, as was my husband's pork chop. We were not excited about the dessert options, so tried the molted chocolate cake. I'm guessing it was a food service cake they just heated up. The decor was nicely updated and the atmosphere was comfortable, not stuffy. I'm so glad the revolving restaurant is still here, the views are spectacular! You can sit back and watch the world go by. We would certainly go back when in the Duluth area, but stop at the ice cream shop for dessert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful being able to see all of downt ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Wonderful being able to see all of downtown Duluth while dining. I had the Seafood special. Very good but big enough two people could split. We ordered iced tea to drink and they were out. Almost seemed upset that my table did not order cocktails. Will go back again next time I am in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

In my opinion the classiest restaurant i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

In my opinion the classiest restaurant in Duluth. Spectacular view with warm service (thank you, Dawn) and awesome food (yes, in my opinion better than highly rated St. Paul Grill...especially for...don't laugh...walleye and steaks). Suprisingly robust wine list. Make no mistake that in no way is this fine restaurant a reflection of the hotel from which it rents space...which was a huge dissappointment. This restaurant experience was one of our trip's highlights. Parents...unless you have well trained and quiet kiddos, please don't ruin others' dining experience just to give the kids a grand view of the city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our wedding anniversary he ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary here. It was a wonderful evening. Perfect view, the service and dinner perfect. This is a great place to celebrate any special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and ambience. There ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great food, service and ambience. There was a noisy intoxicated lady that had the world's most obnoxious laugh that kind of dragged the evening down a notch or two....

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I love the views at JJ Astor, the food w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I love the views at JJ Astor, the food was good but my cocktail was not made correctly and it was not good. The views keep me coming back to this place but after eating dinner here I think I prefer the breakfast food to the dinner menu. Still one of my favorite restaurants in the entire state because the views are unbelievable and it is a very well kept restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The ambiance is great and the view spect ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The ambiance is great and the view spectacular. The food was prepared just the way you like. Wait staff attentive.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was good. The menu was limited ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was good. The menu was limited for lunch. It took a very long time for the food to come after placing our order.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Prices are high for Duluth area. Food i ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Prices are high for Duluth area. Food is mediocre. Service was slow and not good overall. However, the view is great!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

great food, view was exceptional, servic ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

great food, view was exceptional, service was perfect.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were fantastic as usual ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service and food were fantastic as usual. Our server was very attentive, made wonderful recommendations and was very upbeat. We took our kids who are 12 & 14 to experience the view. They loved it. They ordered from the adult menu so the food choices we a little outside their box but, they were very pleased in the end. The presentation of the food is always wonderful. It is truly a fine dining experience that wont be forgotten.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Duck was amazing, rotating view was very ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Duck was amazing, rotating view was very neat of duluth harbor. My steak was okay at best. I'd go back for another go round....."revolving restaurant pun intended".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The food and atmosphere were wonderful b ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food and atmosphere were wonderful but the experience was made less pleasant by our waiter. We ate breakfast on a Friday morning and it took over 15 minutes just to get coffee. He was not the most pleasant person and kept apologizing and telling us why it was done this way or that way. Everyone else we dealt with were pleasant and our food was very good. There were lots of choices for kids too. We would go back and hope for a different waiter.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Went for a birthday. The food was great ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Went for a birthday. The food was great as was the atmosphere and view. The only down side is the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

service was slow and food was not good. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

service was slow and food was not good. DO NOT GO THERE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We had a Terrific Caesar salad! The Cala ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a Terrific Caesar salad! The Calamari was excellent as was my Sazerac cocktail. Our server was very helpful. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding, I enjoyed the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was outstanding, I enjoyed the best walleye dinner ever. We were celebrating a significant birthday and between drinks, one appetizer between 4 people, dinner and salads the bill was surprising expensive. I will not do that again but would go with my husband and myself and stick to water and the main course.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful setting but I wish the menu wo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wonderful setting but I wish the menu would vary more

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

First time there-was amazing. Can't beat ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

First time there-was amazing. Can't beat the view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Booking a table was easy. I was greeted ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Booking a table was easy. I was greeted by two waiters right away letting me know the hostess will be right with me. Took me about 20 minutes to be seated and it was not busy. The view and ambiance was great. My waiter seemed unhappy and crabby. Did not smile. Did not ask how we were. Looked very annoyed. The food was very very salty.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

Service was excellent. Food was ok. I wi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was ok. I will definatly pass on the fingerling potatoes if I go there again. They tasted like they had been soaked in vineagar all day. Never have really been to a "fancy" restaurant before but the prices were outrageous for what was received. $100 for 2 people and walked out hungry. I would go again for the view and to maybe try some dessert. Maybe.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We had breakfast and everything was deli ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had breakfast and everything was delicious! The pancake was ginormous and my toddler who rarely eats at almost the whole thing. The eggs benedict was one of the best I've had. It was so nice to sit and see the city of Duluth throughout our meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The special treat provided by JJ Astor i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The special treat provided by JJ Astor is the panoramic view over Duluth and Lake Superior that it affords. The slowly revolving dining area atop the downtown Radisson Hotel takes about an hour to make its circuit. While not inexpensive, the menu items are reasonably priced for this type of venue.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

The view is always great.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The view is always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

having a sugar free lifestyle is hard to ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

having a sugar free lifestyle is hard to go eat anywhere. They were very accomedating and willing to work around my needs. The food was phenomenal! My husband and I have also ate at the stratosphere in Vegas and I'm not kidding when I say that this blows it out of the water! Everything was on point...food, service, environment..loved it all! Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait staff were friendly and knowle ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The wait staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The food was tastyour and cooked to my satisfaction. The rotating restaurant provided great views of the city and harbor..

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We very much enjoyed the scenic 360 degr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We very much enjoyed the scenic 360 degree view of the city! The atmosphere was very peaceful. I would definitely go back another time.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are out of towners and ate here for o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We are out of towners and ate here for our anniversary. My wife's steak was excellent, as was my walleye. They give a generous pour on wine and scotch. Great views! We'll make reservations for next time we're in Duluth!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The restaurant was not busy, which is us ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The restaurant was not busy, which is usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Revolving Harbor and Duluth City View

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

There is no match for this great experience of watching the city of Duluth, the harbor, lift bridge, courthouse and Depot Museum--while catching up with friends and enjoying brunch. Our wait staffer was new and made errors but didn't lose her grace. The menu is limited but there were choices and the food was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Amazing

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The view was beautiful and the food was wonderful we went there for my birthday they threw in a cheesecake that was nice of them

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is such a lovely setting for a memorable dining experience, with ever-changing views, great food & service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing View Of The Duluth Harbour

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The scallop appetizer is phenomenal! Service is excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Looks, ten, Food, three.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

From the song lyric, “Dance, ten, Looks, three -That ain't it, kid!”

The beautiful view and surroundings still do not make up for an overall dismal food experience. We gave this place another shot when in Duluth arriving on the Friends of the 261 Steam Train excursion this past Saturday.

We ate here years ago and had bad food and lots of poor excuses from management then and still bad food this time albeit the management response was somewhat better. Had it not been raining, we would have fared better in Canal Park.

Our arrival was an troubling adventure on a horrendously slow elevator that dumped us off with the car about a foot higher than the floor.

The crab cake appetizer was bland as could be and the accompanying blackberry salsa did not improve the missing flavor.

Caesar salads were served on warm plates and were just ok.

The New York strip was bone in, appeared more like a Rib Eye and ate like a round steak. Full of fat and gristle with an odd taste. Not even close to being what you would expect priced at $35. Adding panko crusted shrimp cost $12 . For that I got two. Granted they were of good size and character.

The Chicken Risotto came across as glop. Nothing close to a true risotto with the rice being way over cooked and the thin chicken dry and tasteless. Both probably tired from spending too much time hanging around after being done ahead of time.

Service was the star here along with the view of course. We were well taken care of with our server who was on top of everything. Certainly not her fault that the kitchen could not deliver on the basics.

The manager was alerted and came over albeit without introducing herself and seemed to listen to our concerns. And while it was nice that she did take the steak off the bill, that is never our interest in calling out bad food. I have doubts that anything will change.

The hotel deserves a better product that would match the spectacular view.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Wonderful 360 deg. scenic views!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

The food was delicious, our waitress was wonderful and the view was awesome. Couldn't ask for a better dinner date.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

OUTSTANDING

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Not only was the food outstanding, the staff was exceptional! The restaurant manager was spectacular and our waiter, Chad was top notch! We will definitely return for future events! Thank-you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.