About JJ Astor

505 W Superior St
Duluth, MN 55802
View Larger Map

Welcome to JJ Astor (located on the 16th floor of the Radisson Hotel Duluth), where guests enjoy welcoming service, inspired décor, modern approachability, unparalleled views, and signature dishes.
We have created a contemporary menu utilizing sustainable produce from local farmers and fresh fish from local fishermen.

Whether settling into the oversized armchairs in the lounge, or admiring the view from the inviting sofa style banquettes, the restaurant provides a memorable dining experience for locals and visitors alike.

Authentic portraits, blueprints, and photography from Duluth’s past adorn the teak panels located throughout the restaurant. While the most stunning view is undoubtedly the view of Lake Superior, the interiors also paint a captivating picture of their own.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Everyday: 6:30am - 2pm; Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Everyday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Superior St and 5th Ave W

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(218) 722-8439

Website:
http://www.jjastorsrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Richard Selz

Private Party Facilities:
We can accomodate parties from 1 to 100. Please contact us to arrange your special event.

Private Party Contact:
Richard Selz: (218) 722-0591

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

JJ Astor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (41)
Good for a Date (27)
Special Occasion (25)
See All
Romantic (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Worth the Drive (13)
Cozy (11)
Waterfront (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Authentic (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Fun (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Casual (4)
Business Meals (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Historic (3)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
608 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, great ambiance. As someone who gets motion sickness, the rotation took some getting used to.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Our meals were excellent. The filets were tender and perfectly done, despite differing requests for how they were to be cooked. The salads were crisp and tasty, both the blackberry and the caesar. Drinks were good and not overpriced. Breakfast in the morning was also very good. I can recommend the Eggs Benedict in particular, which had an extremely tasty house-made Hollandaise Sauce. Our servers for both meals were attentive without being intrusive and very up on the sights to be seen, particularly in the morning. The view, of course, needs no recommendation. We were there years ago for a previous anniversary, and are very glad to have returned for this one. Not sure how the noise level rating works, but it was a very comfortable level for table conversation. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was a neat experience with the rotating view for date night. However if you are sensitive to motion I will warn that it can cause you to get slightly dizzy. Food is a bit pricey but we knew that going into it and the food was good. It's worth trying at least once.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was just OK, but we would go back for the wonderful view and the novelty of the rotating restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Overall, meh. Wish I had decided to eat at one of the other restaurants in town. Our service was good, the decor was great but the food wasn't good and served too hot to enjoy.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very nice valentine's dinner at JJ Astor. We had made reservations but arrived a little early and was seated right away. They had a special menu for the evening and the meals that we had were very good. Ambiance is what makes this place a go to spot, can't beat the view.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Although the breakfast is just average, I would recommend coming for the view...This is a rotating restaurant after all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A special place for me, celebrating a happy re-memory with my love. Food was outstanding, must try the blackberry salad, classic walleye and 16oz steak and I personally recommend A scotch neat throughout. The service was attentive and professional and such an amazing view of the lake, the city and the lights! And I live here! Best food I've eaten in this city no comparison.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Authentic, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food and service was excellent. The revolving restaurant has great views. I highly recommend this place for a wonderful meal. It is a little pricey but well worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Loved the view for 360 degrees. My salad had quite a bit of old lettuce. Blood Mary was plain. Didn't see enough of my server. Again, love how the restaurant rotates. Very unique and special!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great views! Our dinners were done to perfection and the cocktails were correctly made.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Pluses:

Great view

Nice ambiance

Minuses:

Slow service

Food so-so

Fine if you are not expecting too much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Overall pretty decent place. The view was great. The rotating dinimg was a little to get used to but a good experience. The food was pretty good. My steak was a fair amount rarer than i had asked but still good. I dis find a piece of hard plastic fried with our calimarie. The staff was very generouse taking care of it tho with taking the app off the bill and giving us a free desert.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The resturant had a wonderful atmosphere, and had a touch of class about it. The service was professional however I had to ask for a refill on my beverage.

The food was prepared well. I ordered the NY Strip, while the food was perfectly prepared I was not impressed with the cut of meat, as I had to perform surgery to find the good parts.

I would recommend this to a couple for a date night. It is ok for kids too as they'll appreciate the resturants signature revolving feature.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The view is Great!

The Food was outstanding!

There's not a bad seat at all.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The scenic view in this revolving restaurant is awesome and the coziness for intimate conversation perfect

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Poor service, the food was not good and extremely over priced. Waited 20 min. with a reservation for our table. Then were seated at a "divided" table with other patrons. For what they charge you should get your own table. They were trying to get more money by cramming people onto the same tables. Went back for a "free breakfast" and waited to be seated for another 15 min. after a server said she would be "right with us". We watched other people walk out because they could get nobody to seat them. Do not waste your money here. The duck was some of the worst I have ever had and my husband's filet was way over done. The view is great though. Stop up and have a drink for the view if you like but skip the meal.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My boyfriend and I came to JJ Astor for date night and to celebrate my birthday; this restaurant is a great excuse to pull out some fancy attire but a casual style is also welcome. This place emits an atmosphere of romanticism through their food and their view. Their complimentary bread is delicious, their yucca mashed potatoes are the greatest potatoes I've ever tasted, (I asked for the recipe, unsuccessfully, but they will disclose the ingredients), and they provide mouthwatering cheesecake for birthdays. The deration of our visit allowed for us to circle the entire aerial view of Duluth; it was late and the lights were beautiful and we captured a picture with the bridge behind us. If you're looking for a romantic night out in Duluth I highly recommend JJ Astor.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Service was alright, food was alright, the view was great. Definitely worth going once, but would try another place next time.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

It was very cool seeing Bentleyville from resteraunt while we ate.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We wanted to see Bentleyville from their view. We had a fantastic meal in September. We thought we would see if the restaurant could do it again, checking for consistency. Our order was identical. The food was fantastic again. It was served hot. The pricing is not out of line. Will we return? A definite YES!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Very disappointed overall. Food was fine, but the service was very disappointing.

We arrived 15-20 minutes before our reservation and were seated in the lounge. This was fine. Nobody bothered to come by and take our drink order though. Eventually, a busboy walked by and asked "Did you guys need anything?" and took our drink order.

Once seated, we never got bread, water was never refilled, and for the most part never checked on.

Maybe they were understaffed (on a Friday?), but it left a sour taste.

The food was good, although it felt overpriced. For as much as we spent, we could have gone somewhere much nicer with better service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great view, a little pricy for a meal with only 1 course.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food was good but a bit overpriced. You are coming for the view and the novelty though and those are 100% worth it.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great way to taken in the lights of Bentleyville and stay warm!! Food was great, as was the service. Would definitely go again for another special occasion- about pricey to enjoy on a "regular" night out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The view is great, the rotating floor is unique and an experience in and of itself. The menu is very limited with average quality considering the price. The service was not very good, long wait time to get drinks, bread basket, food, etc. The draw is the view, rotating floor, and ambiance, not the food or service so much.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great view of Bentleyville lights in Duluth! The food was great with creative seasoning in top notch standards for white linen dining.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Too pricey for what you get. It was $6 martinis so that was nice and the view of Bentleyville was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 21, 2016

My friend and I had a wonderful meal and view, the only down side was our waitress I felt she was hurrying us through the meal. She was not very friendly and no offer for cracked pepper at our table. I was at the resteraunt a few weeks earlier and we had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We enjoyed our evening and taking in the view of Bentleyville with all the holiday lights was an added bonus! Service was good and the food was nicely presented and tasty.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent experience, beautiful views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Not only is the view fabulous - overlooking Duluth and Lake Superior, but the food is very very good. Good value and nice pairings. Monday night the service was off, but I would give it another chance! Definitely would go again.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Not much of an option on the dinner menu. Would have been nice to have cheaper options like the lunch menu

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The view was great, the food was, too, and our waitress Sheila was right there. It was a great place to meet up with friends before the play at the Duluth Playhouse, and we all agreed we would definitely do that again.

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Casual, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Service was extremely slow, over an hour wait for our food. Since there is not that many tables I expected more efficient service. After the hour wait one of our steaks had to be sent back because it was not cooked correctly. A simple apology would have been nice. Food was ok, not very impressed for the price. Only reason I would recommend is for the views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The view was amazing all the way around! The food topped it off, it was great food. No exaggeration. I got some chicken mozzarella sandwich but I can't recall the name.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

food was really good. Portion for one meal was not great. Gnocchi and vegetables. But flavor was great. Duck Breast was fabulous.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was delicious and the service very good. Our server was very cordial and professional but didn't seem to know the menu very well and couldn't really make any recommendations in response to some questions asked about menu items. We also were overcharged on our bottle of wine but the error was corrected.

I would like to see more moderately priced meals and more choices on the menu.

Overall, we love coming up here on special occasions, particularly for the fourth of July and to see Bentleyville.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We always have great service and a terrific view of Lake Superior and Duluth. The food is reasonably priced and generally well prepared. I was surprised that the tenderloin crustinis ordered by my tablemate were hidden under a mountain of curly endive. She scooped most of it off and it filled a bread plate. The menu has been unchanged in some time, so if you have eaten there recently don't expect an updated menu -- it hasn't changed in a year.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Fantastic view, friendly service, fancy but relaxed...food was good and served quickly but pricey. The attraction is for the unique/rotating view first and the food second...

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great service. Chef and server accommodating to special request.

Always an awesome view.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful way to watch the super moon. Great way to view the city at night!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was very fresh. Wait wasn't too long. Wait staff was very friendly and helpful. They provided plenty of privacy without neglecting our needs such as refills. And the 360 view is unbeatable

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

First time my wife and I ate there and will definitely be back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The food was great and the service was wonderful. The only thing we did not care for was the wait to get to the dining room. We arrived at 4 :45 pm and the elevator did not go to the top floor before 5 pm.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The view is phenomenal! And the experience is one to be had! A revolving restaurant, only one in the Midwest!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Everyone enjoyed the food. Outstanding! Small menu for lunch/brunch but still gave a variety.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It is a revolving restaurant and the view is beautiful at night. I wish I visited during the day to see the view in the daylight.

I ordered risotto and the it was bit too soft and too much cheese in the risotto. Overall it is ok but better stay away from the risotto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We love this place, took 14 year old daughter here for the first time last night and she thought it was pretty cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Service was very good as well as entrées select. Starter selection could be improved.....Clam Chowder was fantastic.

Prices a little bit to the high side I thought, the meal was fantastic.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.