Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About JJ Astor

Welcome to JJ Astor (located on the 16th floor of the Radisson Hotel Duluth), where guests enjoy welcoming service, inspired décor, modern approachability, unparalleled views, and signature dishes.
We have created a contemporary menu utilizing sustainable produce from local farmers and fresh fish from local fishermen.

Whether settling into the oversized armchairs in the lounge, or admiring the view from the inviting sofa style banquettes, the restaurant provides a memorable dining experience for locals and visitors alike.

Authentic portraits, blueprints, and photography from Duluth’s past adorn the teak panels located throughout the restaurant. While the most stunning view is undoubtedly the view of Lake Superior, the interiors also paint a captivating picture of their own.

505 W Superior St
Duluth, MN 55802
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Everyday: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Everyday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour in the Lounge Sunday-Thursday 3:00pm-6:00pm

Cross Street:
Superior St and 5th Ave W

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(218) 722-8439

Website:
http://www.jjastorsrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Richard Selz

Private Party Facilities:
We can accomodate parties from 1 to 100. Please contact us to arrange your special event.

Private Party Contact:
Richard Selz: (218) 722-0591

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

JJ Astor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

Noise

Quiet

88% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (30)
Good for a Date (27)
Special Occasion (27)
See All
Romantic (27)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Worth the Drive (12)
Cozy (12)
Waterfront (11)
Business Meals (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Fun (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
People Watching (4)
Authentic (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
703 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

When we first entered the restaurant there was a small crowd milling around so we stood by a sign that said "Please wait to be seated." We stood there for a few minutes and several staff looked at us but not one asked if they could help so then we moved to another sign which apparently was the sign we should have gone to in the first place. In the interest of customer service I would think that staff should be encouraged to at least ask if they can help. Once we were at the correct sign the service was prompt and very polite and our waiter was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We waited 10 minutes at a “please wait to be seated” sign just off the elevator. Then was redirected to the same sign to the right of the elevator- only to wait again 10 minutes. The approaching staff were unfriendly and I felt I was a bother to them. The meal was way overpriced versus the quality/quantity. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a fabulous experience. The food was excellent and our service was great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 5, 2017

Friendly, prompt service. Salmon was nicely cooked and tasted good. Chocolate molten cake was delicious. Great view of the city and at this time of year Bentleyville.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Pricey -- won't visit very often. Food and service was good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

We went shopping with the whole family (mommy, daddy, Jace age 8, Brayden age 7, but made resevations at JJ ASTOR to check out the Bentlyville lights and scenery.

Made a way to stiff of a margarita for my wife. After we sat down, which was 5 minutes ahead of time.... watched the scenery, which was very cool. We waited 50 minutes for our appetizer (small plate tenderloin that finally came), then we waited another 25 minutes till our meal came. The wait was not too col, especially with two small children. Not sure if id ever go back, not a very good experience. The food was good though....the duck was awesome. Not sure about the excessive wait, but it was not very nice.

Being busy is one thing, but it did not seem that busy. In my opinion, the timing was unacceptable.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 2, 2017

The experience at JJ Astor is like no other. It was for a birthday and the waitress made it extra special for my wife bringing an incredible dessert. The food was exquisite and the view was impeccable. We got to see the Bentleyville lights turn on and enjoy the view.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

we went here for my wifes birthday {early December} early reservations, watched the moon rise over lake superior, by the time we finished dessert we had a great view of Bentleyville {much better than fighting the crowds} can't wait for our next opportunity to dine here.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Quick Bite, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

This restaurant had come recommended. I had reservations at another restaurant but told this place was great. It was for my mothers 70th birthday and her friends said she would love it. Parking was horrible....they need valet or a better set up. It was a Friday night...prime time dinner...Valet service should be a norm. Instead we walked through a confusing hotel of dreary grey with notices that said park at your own risk...once in the hallways...no signs that said go this way to the restaurant. Once we arrived, joined by kids in swimwear going up for the view, we were not greeted for 10 minutes from the host. Both bartenders looked at us...but no acknowledgement. We were seated by a host that never said hello or welcome, he only said follow me. He didn't offer to help seat us, take our coats, anything...he merely stood back on the the walkway that did not move and waited for us to get adjusted. He told us our waiter would be right with us and left. 10 minutes later we were greeted with water and a person that turned out to be our waiter appeared....no word, no questions. He returned again & asked if we wanted a drink...we ordered but non-alcholic which seemed to annoy him. We ordered a few appetizers and decided to enjoy the holiday view and just go on with a pleasant evening. Windows & area near windows were filthy. Servers continuously left dirty dishes and glassware under photos which made it difficult to enjoy. Appetizers arrived & they were good. Food arrived and mine was wonderful. However, my mothers...the birthday girl's was horrible....the duck was undercooked and the skin was not crispy as it should be...she got the broccoli ah her veg...is it possible to have mushy burnt broccoli....I can't tell you how bad I felt!!!! She had Creme Brûlée for dessert and commented how this chef must either like to make things raw or burnt as the Creme Brûlée was burnt. The waiter asked how things were and mom said horrible!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 26, 2017

I had planned dinner here as a date with my boyfriend as the nice finish to a fun weekend together. While I had planned on an amazing romantic dinner, I got a horrible waitress (Dawn,) mediocre food, and a decent view I could literally have seen from my room. It took an incredibly long time to be greeted and when we finally got to our table our candle wasn’t lit like the tables around us. The waitress took a long time to greet us and when she took our drink and appetizer order she obviously forgot the appetizer because she asked us later if we wanted one. Also, I ordered pineapple juice which tasted horrible. Dinner was pleasant, but nothing to write home about. Also the bread was burnt and came well after our appetizer. The food was ok but not worth the price. The atmosphere was really cool and you could see the skyline, but when the restaurant rotated past the kitchen, we could see our waitress smoking an e-cig, which was weird because she apparently didn’t have time to refill our water or inquire about the meal. Against my better judgment we ordered dessert, which was decent but would have been better with the coffee I ordered and never got. Anyone planning to eat here should instead go up, look and the view, and then find another place to eat.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 22, 2017

FOOD WAS ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL AND WELL PRESENTED. AWESOM VIEW OF THE CITY AND HARBOR. GREAT PLACE TO SHARE WIFES BIRTHDAY!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

The staff and servers were pleasant and attentive. Great experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

I recently went to JJ’s for my anniversary. My hunny had never been to Duluth before and I thought it would be a great chance to give him a beautiful view. The food was excellent, definitely get the sinner fries. Our waitress was very knowledgeable and so helpful. I would recommend to everyone.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 26, 2017

We had a great time, very good food, and a wonderful waitress.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

Dinner was a great experience. Good food with a good view. Great dinner service. We enjoyed it so much we decided to go back for breakfast. That was a mistake. Breakfast was bland and service was poor. Would not recommend doing breakfast.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

A wonderful evening. Good food. A wonderful view. Quiet enough to easily visit. My fourth visit this year and I don't live in town.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

I felt the food was a bit over priced for the quality, didn't seem fresh or well prepared. However service was great and everyone was friendly. Something I was highly dissatisfied with was the cleanliness of the bathroom. It's was dirty, toilet paper on the floor, feminine products overflowing from bins, water all over the counter, soap dispenser wasn't working so there was a store bought soap container that was written on with black marker indicating it was for the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

Great view at night, food was good, waitress was wonderful, just a little pricey for me, but we only go once every couple of years.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We went for a honeymoon dinner. Duluth has always been special to us and we had never been to JJ Astor. Well worth the time to go - service was great, food was superb!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Usually great food and service, yet not so much this time around. Only checked in our table of 6 one time. Steaks were definitely well done, not the medium as ordered. Ordered spicy pecans to take home, only to find out they were plain after getting home. Embarrassing to drive all the way from the cities for a dinner with my parents.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Wonderful experience! Glad we chose it for our 5 year anniversary dinner!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Food was good (maple salmon, meatloaf, crab cakes), as was service. When I made the reservations I specified this was a wedding anniversary celebration dinner and it would have been nice if they had aknowledged it somehow. But overall it was nice.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Food fine. Didn't care for rotating aspect made me feel dizzy. Bathrooms were very dirty, service was slow. Meal was expensive.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Had an awesome time although wasnt impressed with the bartender I ordered a drink and it didn't taste good ask him to remake it he did but felt like he was mad about it the second one still wasnt very good but I decided not to complain Hopefully when I'm there again this weekend there is a different bartender

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Steak was done rare and should have been medium. Sent back and they fixed. Asparagus was thin, over cooked and shriveled. Very disappointing for the price. This is my favorite restaurant when visiting Duluth so this was a bummer.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Excellent food but the turning of the room could make you feel a little woozy😝

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food and service was great! Hotel could use some updating in common areas.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Excellent meal, wonderful staff, awesome view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We had a fabulous dinner! Four of us with two of us celebrating our birthdays. Dinners were yummy-not cheap-but worth every penny with the circle of the restaurant and the quiet evening.....Fantastic for those special events or for the out of town tourist.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

So we were in town for pleasure and read reviews on places to dine while in Duluth and landed on JJ Astors. The reivews were pretty accurate. The view was awesome and the rotating 360 degree roof top restaurant was certainly unique. The food was ok and pricey with a limited menu. The service was very good and friendly. Overall things were ok with a nice view with a supper club type feel.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We were there Friday night, with Chad as our waiter. He was very good and also introduced us to Vikre gin, which is excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

The scallops and NY Strip were wonderful! Service was slower than usual but it seemed busier than normal. It's always a great pick if you want quiet dinner with a spectacular view.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

We had been warned that the food was just "okay," but we enjoyed our meals very much. The view is stunning and the decor is fun, if a bit worn-looking. Our server was inattentive and rude, but we could see that the other servers were good. When our table rotated near the bar, we became aware that our server was flirting with a woman in the bar, which explained why he never bothered to check in on us. ;) A nice Anniversary choice all around.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

You can't beat the view of the harbor. The food is excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We took my 88 yr old mom and her friend there. With the exception of the plaster that was falling down on one spot of the ceiling by the window, it was great! It was easy for them to move around and bathroom was close. Waiters were friendly and knowledgeable about the food and the Duluth history. Food was excellent and the view we had was fabulous! Will definitely go back!

Tags: Disabled Access, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 6, 2017

My wife and I ordered the Walleye dinners described as pan seared with a lemon caper butter sauce over fettucine. The Walleye was over-breaded and mushy, the butter sauce tasted like it was made from lard, the fettucine was sparce and overcooked (like plastic). I ordered a Margarita which did not seem to have any tequila or any other alcohol in it. It also had a very artificial flavor to it -- didn't taste like a Margarita or any other drink I have ever had -- the aftertaste was awful. My wife ordered a martini, when bringing it to the table, the bartender bumped his elbow and a good portion of the martini splashed out of the glass, he served it that way; didn't even take it back to the bar to top it off. Very disappointing -- even the beautiful view did not make up for the awful food and drink. Won't be back!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

The walleye meal was very good. The main attraction for this restaurant is the revolving dining room for spectacular views of Lake Superior and the surrounding area. The dining room walls need some serious updating. Our server acted like he was too busy to take care of us even though there were several empty tables.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, great food, excellent service!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Had a great time. Views are spectacular. The service was great. Food was absolutely delicious. Fantastic place for a date or a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.