About JJ Astor

505 W Superior St
Duluth, MN 55802
View Larger Map

Welcome to JJ Astor (located on the 16th floor of the Radisson Hotel Duluth), where guests enjoy welcoming service, inspired décor, modern approachability, unparalleled views, and signature dishes.
We have created a contemporary menu utilizing sustainable produce from local farmers and fresh fish from local fishermen.

Whether settling into the oversized armchairs in the lounge, or admiring the view from the inviting sofa style banquettes, the restaurant provides a memorable dining experience for locals and visitors alike.

Authentic portraits, blueprints, and photography from Duluth’s past adorn the teak panels located throughout the restaurant. While the most stunning view is undoubtedly the view of Lake Superior, the interiors also paint a captivating picture of their own.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Everyday: 6:30am - 2pm; Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Everyday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Superior St and 5th Ave W

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(218) 722-8439

Website:
http://www.jjastorsrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Richard Selz

Private Party Facilities:
We can accomodate parties from 1 to 100. Please contact us to arrange your special event.

Private Party Contact:
Richard Selz: 218-722-0591x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

JJ Astor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

noise

Quiet

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Scenic View
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked
Duluth
Best Restaurants in Duluth ›

scenic view (61)
special occasion (45)
romantic (43)
See All
fit for foodies (14)
late-night find (11)
great for brunch (10)
great for lunch (9)
neighborhood gem (9)
notable wine list (6)
hot spot (5)
good for groups (5)
kid-friendly (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
482 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Our 27th Anniversary

Dined on May 20, 2016

First time here and the food was fantastic. The service was OK, but that is all. The crab cakes with berry salsa were out of this world. I had the salmon which was good but the risotto was killer. My wife had the tuna and would only let me have one bite it was so good. Overall, we had a great time and will be returning for the food, and the view which was awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Don't waste your money

Dined on May 19, 2016

Under staffed, brussel sprouts were a hash swimming in bacon grease, pasta with shrimp for $22 had 2 shrimp..., not worth the money and food not good

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have enjoyed eating here on several o ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We have enjoyed eating here on several occasions. The food is good, solid fare- with flare thought behind both the breakfast and dinner offerings. The only downside is the desserts are pretty uninspired. The views are gorgeous as the restaurant rotates 360°. It's especially pretty during the holidays. The service is always excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I was celebrating Mother's Day with my s ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I was celebrating Mother's Day with my son. We had a great waitress, excellent drinks and a great small plate (tempura shrimp). The food and the service were excellent except for the filet mignon which was below average. It seemed like it may have been tenderized - sort of mushy? For a $37 entree that was disappointing. However - we love the revolving view and the atmosphere and will return again and try something different.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique restaurant, Beautiful views, Delicious food

Dined on May 7, 2016

The service was fabulous. Wait staff was very professional, courteous and attentive. Food was top-notch, beautiful presentation and exceptional taste. The fact that restaurant rotates in a complete circle creating a panoramic view of downtown Duluth, the canal, and Lake Superior makes for a very unique experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Definitely an amazing experience!

Dined on April 24, 2016

I will definitely do it again when I go back to Duluth!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great New York Strip! Loved the view!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great New York Strip! Loved the view!

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Some things were great , others ok

Dined on April 22, 2016

We loved the restaurant itself. It was quiet, and comfortable, and of course we loved the view. My boyfriend had a New York Strip. It was very fatty and hard to eat. He tried to cut off edible parts, but it was very chewy and most had to be thrown away. The service was polite, but a little hard to track down at times.

Tags: late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

If you are looking for a great meal in D ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

If you are looking for a great meal in Duluth you have to try JJA. We had stuffed meatloaf which was phenomenal and the Seafood special, which was a generous portion of walleye, shrimp, and scallops. Everything was prepared perfectly, served hot and the service was first class! And of course the revolving restaurant view of the water and the hill... Magical! I look forward to going back again!

food4
ambience4
service4

Unique ambiance, loved the changing scen ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Unique ambiance, loved the changing scenery. Really good food with great company.

food5
ambience5
service2
value5

wonderful food/cranky waiter

Dined on April 9, 2016

The filet mignon is outstanding. I normally hate any kind of steak. So glad I took a risk. It was worth the price. My husband had their signature meatloaf. It is always wonderful. Our waiter was in a bad mood and he kind of wrecked the meal. He's waited on us before, so we know it's not his personality. It's funny how much that affected our experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Charming view, decent food

Dined on April 9, 2016

The view from the rotating restaurant was wonderful at sunset. Service was great, food decent but pricey.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We enjoyed our recent visit

Dined on March 20, 2016

The view was nothing short of spectacular. The food is wonderful and the service was great. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

JJ Astor shines

Dined on March 17, 2016

We were stranded in Duluth for 2 days due to a snowstorm along hiway 61 up to Thunder Bay, Canada. We decided to enjoy our time at the Radisson, and eat at the convenient top-floor revolving restaurant. Breakfast was enjoyable, nicely presented, and exactly as ordered. I booked our dinner on Open Table. The food for both meals was excellent, as were the servers, Candice at breakfast and Jeremy at dinner. The clam chowder was different (clams still in their shells) and very tasty. My husband had the meat-loaf entree, which was delicious and plentiful. It had been recommended by our morning server, Candice. I had a seafood medley - walleye, prawns, and scallops. It, too, was very delicious and plentiful. I would definitely recommend JJ Astor to any visitor to Duluth.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening

Dined on March 7, 2016

My husband and I went to JJ Astors for our anniversary dinner. It exceeded our expectations. The service was phenomenal, the ambiance was magical (took us back in time to a classier era), the food delicious and overall it was a wonderful anniversary dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

For the price - not good!

Dined on March 3, 2016

For $37 the meal was not even close to what was expected. My wife had filet that was tiny and thin - not good!!!! The best was my appetizer which was great - the shrimp! My wife's birthday - pretty disappointing!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

Salad after Main Course

Dined on March 1, 2016

The waiter was very inattentive. We received our appetizer with no plates and ended up using our bread plates. We didn't receive the bread until the main course anyhow. We did not receive our salads until after he noticed this while delivering the main course. There were no salad forks and the salad was soggy. When we notified him of this he simply stated oh it must have sat too long with the dressing. The restaurant rotates and some of the light bulbs were out, so during times we could barely see the food. If your expectations are not set for fine dining you will survive. I was very disappointed as this was a very special occasion for us.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful every time! Amazing food!

Dined on February 28, 2016

My husband and I have a tradition of going to JJ Astor each February. It started when we were just dating...now we go back each year for the memories and fantastic food! The service is always impeccable! The menu changes so you can always try something new and exciting! And the view is breath-taking!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Service, Nice Date Spot

Dined on February 23, 2016

Had a great lunch date. Quiet so you could enjoy conversation, but still somewhat lively. Service was great. Knowledgeable and kind server! Food was delicious and so was the recommended cocktail and dessert! Of course, the views are stunning!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

Save your money. Go elsewhere.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Upon arrival we were greeted by a very nice lady who warmly welcomed us and showed us to out table. That was the highlight of the experience. The waiter was snobbish and made us feel unwelcomed. Furthermore the food was cold when it was served to us, and the overall quantity & quality was poor. The overall bill for two came to $86 +tip and I can say the only thing that made any of the experience worth while was the coat check and the view.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Valentines Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

The restaurant is on the 16th floor of the Radisson Hotel. Every seat is a window seat and it slowly spins 360° around the city.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent service, food quality mixed

Dined on February 14, 2016

Romantic spot with beautiful views. Service was outstanding. Unfortunately two steak dinners within our group were terribly tough.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentine's Day Date

Dined on February 13, 2016

It was a very beautiful. The service was excellent, the views are beautiful, the food was very good. Would go back for special occasion again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Nice ambiance, poor food quality

Dined on February 13, 2016

The Steak was so full of grissle that both people who ordered it, couldn't finish it. The potatoes were seasoned with something that made them taste like vinegar. The menu is very limited. We will not be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely beautiful restaurant with the ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Absolutely beautiful restaurant with the best view! The food was incredible and the ambiance was breathtaking! Will definitely be back soon!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Service Outstanding, food so-so

Dined on January 29, 2016

Nice personal couples celebration with a beautiful view. The service and drinks were awesome, but our food, just so-so. I had J.J. Astor's Chicken and the sauce with the pasta was extremely salty. I have had the Meatloaf (as a comfort food) on a previous visit that was pretty dry also. My companion's dinners on both occasions was very good. We'll give it another try and explore the menu differently. Menu was simple, nice entre' choices, not too complex.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fabulous!

Dined on January 23, 2016

The rotating floor gives a spectacular nighttime view of the city of Duluth/Lake Superior shore area. The pork tenderloin done medium well is terrific. I highly recommend it. The green beans taste so good that next time I'm there, I'll pay extra for an extra scoop. Make reservations online as I would hate to show up and they couldn't seat you. The bar would make a nice place to sit for a while anyway. I'll definitely be back on a summer evening so I can see the view the area in the daylight. My wife and I enjoyed it very much. Our Waiter, Chad did a fine job! I expect to pay a little more for a fine dining experience. I've paid more somewhere else and I wasn't happy with what I received. This place is fabulous and I will be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Best view of the Twin Ports

Dined on January 10, 2016

JJ Astor is an old standby with great views from the top of the hotel. You can see all of the Twin Ports area and way out onto Lake Superior- largest fresh water lake in the World! Especially fun to watch when a big 1,000 ft. long "Laker" or "Salty" boat comes into port! Even though they are in between Chef's at this writing (January 2016) they are doing a very nice job maintaining the quality and variety of the food being served. Cindy was an outstanding server!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

A lovely experience.

Dined on December 28, 2015

My kids and I treated my husband to JJ Astor for his birthday. It has fantastic views! We love the revolving floor. Food was excellent. Staff friendly, and helpful without being overbearing. It was higher priced than I was expecting, but then we don't go out to eat much.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

TERRIBLE Service, wonderful food & view

Dined on December 28, 2015

The view of Bentleyville and the rest of Duluth was beautiful, the environment was unique and interesting, the food was delicious, but our waiter, Jeremy, was HORRIBLE. He didn't bring bread until after the meal was served, failed to notice or fill drinks, and when we asked for a dip, he was so busy chatting with other groups, and we waited sooo long, that we ended up having to ask a different waitress to get it for us, and warm our food as it was now cold. He was rude, disrespectful, and made us feel as if he saw us as less than human. We were not worth his time or attention and he does not deserve to maintain his position at such a fine restaurant, as he is a horrible reflection of a very nice restaurant. Could not have been more disappointed.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It was only ok. I expected a lot more. M ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

It was only ok. I expected a lot more. My salad was drenched in dressing and my salmon was over-cooked. My husband's New York steak was very good, though. We went on Christmas Eve which was booked solid with reservations. It's one thing to stop serving alcohol at 8:00, but putting the chairs up on the bar and basically closing down with a full dining room of people? That's just unwelcoming. We felt rushed and did not stay for dessert.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3

The views of Bentleyville and the Duluth ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

The views of Bentleyville and the Duluth harbor and city were spectacular. The food was good but not quite up to par with the prices, though perhaps the setting makes up for that. Our waitperson was okay but hurried it seemed to have us leave, as we were near the end of the evening on Christmas eve. But as we left we saw other guests just starting their entrees so we felt unnecessarily rushed. For a dinner that was over $150 per couple, we thought, "really, was it worth it to be rushed out the door?" Perhaps better luck next time, but it may be awhile before we return.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Poor service

Dined on December 19, 2015

Our server seemed annoyed and disinterested to say the least. He never said anything to us except to ask us what we wanted. He did not bring bread until we were almost done eating, we had to wait with empty drinks for almost 10 minutes before he offered to get us more drinks and then had to wait even longer for them to come from the bar. He also had to be tracked down so we could pay our tab. The food was good, but the service made our experience unenjoyable. Probably would not return.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice

Dined on December 17, 2015

We dine at JJ Astor's a couple times a year, the ambiance is spectacular and the food always delicious. To be able to see the harbor, Bentleyville, and the downtown scenery is an added bonus.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great view, good food, bad waitress

Dined on December 16, 2015

The view made it worth it, and the food was good. But when we're partying that much, we expected excellent service. Our waitress seemed annoyed we were there, like she assumed we weren't good enough to be there. Good for a one time visit

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service2

December 12th visit

Dined on December 13, 2015

We came in for dinner. We were having a weekend getaway in Duluth and wanted to try something different with a great view of the city. This restaurant did offer a great view. The server was very short, never offered us ideas on the menu or drinks of what he thought were good options, never introduced himself. Seemed bored or rushed. We ordered the pear and proscutto flatbread, it was rock hard and dry, The prscutto was thick and rock hard like it was old or had been cooked to long ang sat under a heat lamp. For the 15.00 price for a small app I would have thought ebtter quality. We also got the whitefishes cakes which had good flavord, but were also very dry... dissapoiting. This restaurant is in a quite environment, but yet they let people come up the elevator and in between tables to lok out the glass, inches away from the nice quiet dinner I am trying to have with my significant other. I would give this expierence a 3-10

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

GREAT View

Dined on December 11, 2015

Good food, average wait time to get food. GREAT view, on the high side of price range for what you get.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

You can't beat the view!

Dined on December 6, 2015

My fiance and I went to JJ Astor for a romantic night out and it sure didn't disappoint! The view can't be beat as you revolve around with views of Lake Superior and downtown Duluth. The food was delicious and the staff were very friendly. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a fun, unique night out!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

very fancy and romantic kind of spendy

Dined on December 5, 2015

The food and the view were great. I just think the prices were a bit high. $21 for a piece of stuffed meat loaf pureed potatoes and gravy, not even a vegetable or anything with it. $32 for a new York strip, pureed potatoes and mixed vegetables. Expected to be high for a steak but it was a little unreasonable. $9 for a small Caesar salad $8 for a bowl of clam chowder And $8 for creme Brulee (delicious!) Almost $100 for two people! Wouldn't recommend bringing kids here (at least not during dinner time) unless they're not picky eaters.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5

Dining At Radisson Duluth

Dined on December 4, 2015

We arrived on time and were seated immediately in a nice booth. We were close to the bar area so there were several folks who were enjoying themselves and as the group grew we did ask to be moved away from this scene. The waitress was very cordial and went looking for another seating spot. She came back if 3- minutes and asked us to follow her. It was another booth with a great view of the Duluth down town area and as the seating area rotated around the building we were greeted with a spectacular view of the Bentley Light display. We had good food except some of the meals were cool - not cold- so the waitress took the meals back to warm them plus she added more food to each. At the end of our meal the waitress insisted that we have dessert on the café since we did have to wait a bit for our food. The waitress was very efficient, takin our order and then allowing us to "yak" a bit as we requested before bringing our food.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.