About JJ Astor

505 W Superior St
Duluth, MN 55802
View Larger Map

Welcome to JJ Astor (located on the 16th floor of the Radisson Hotel Duluth), where guests enjoy welcoming service, inspired décor, modern approachability, unparalleled views, and signature dishes.
We have created a contemporary menu utilizing sustainable produce from local farmers and fresh fish from local fishermen.

Whether settling into the oversized armchairs in the lounge, or admiring the view from the inviting sofa style banquettes, the restaurant provides a memorable dining experience for locals and visitors alike.

Authentic portraits, blueprints, and photography from Duluth’s past adorn the teak panels located throughout the restaurant. While the most stunning view is undoubtedly the view of Lake Superior, the interiors also paint a captivating picture of their own.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Everyday: 6:30am - 2pm; Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Everyday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Superior St and 5th Ave W

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(218) 722-8439

Website:
http://www.jjastorsrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Richard Selz

Private Party Facilities:
We can accomodate parties from 1 to 100. Please contact us to arrange your special event.

Private Party Contact:
Richard Selz: 218-722-0591x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sinner Fries
Scallops
Sauteed Calamari
Sweet And Spicy Nuts
Filet And Scallops
Skuna Bay Salmon
Pear And Prosciutto Flatbread With Balsamic
Roasted Duck
Ceasar Salad
Brisket And Poutine
Walleye And Wild Rice Sliders With Red Pepper Sauce
Bibb Salad
Osso Bucco
Sugar Cookie Martini
Bucatini carbonara
Spinach And Artichoke Dip

JJ Astor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Scenic View
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked
Duluth
Best Restaurants in Duluth ›

scenic view (50)
special occasion (33)
romantic (31)
See All
fit for foodies (14)
great for brunch (13)
great for lunch (11)
late-night find (10)
good for groups (9)
hot spot (7)
neighborhood gem (7)
kid-friendly (5)
notable wine list (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
500 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful setting but I wish the menu wo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wonderful setting but I wish the menu would vary more

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Booking a table was easy. I was greeted ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Booking a table was easy. I was greeted by two waiters right away letting me know the hostess will be right with me. Took me about 20 minutes to be seated and it was not busy. The view and ambiance was great. My waiter seemed unhappy and crabby. Did not smile. Did not ask how we were. Looked very annoyed. The food was very very salty.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

Service was excellent. Food was ok. I wi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was ok. I will definatly pass on the fingerling potatoes if I go there again. They tasted like they had been soaked in vineagar all day. Never have really been to a "fancy" restaurant before but the prices were outrageous for what was received. $100 for 2 people and walked out hungry. I would go again for the view and to maybe try some dessert. Maybe.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We had breakfast and everything was deli ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had breakfast and everything was delicious! The pancake was ginormous and my toddler who rarely eats at almost the whole thing. The eggs benedict was one of the best I've had. It was so nice to sit and see the city of Duluth throughout our meal.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The special treat provided by JJ Astor i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The special treat provided by JJ Astor is the panoramic view over Duluth and Lake Superior that it affords. The slowly revolving dining area atop the downtown Radisson Hotel takes about an hour to make its circuit. While not inexpensive, the menu items are reasonably priced for this type of venue.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

The view is always great.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The view is always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

having a sugar free lifestyle is hard to ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

having a sugar free lifestyle is hard to go eat anywhere. They were very accomedating and willing to work around my needs. The food was phenomenal! My husband and I have also ate at the stratosphere in Vegas and I'm not kidding when I say that this blows it out of the water! Everything was on point...food, service, environment..loved it all! Can't wait to come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait staff were friendly and knowle ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The wait staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The food was tastyour and cooked to my satisfaction. The rotating restaurant provided great views of the city and harbor..

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We very much enjoyed the scenic 360 degr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We very much enjoyed the scenic 360 degree view of the city! The atmosphere was very peaceful. I would definitely go back another time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are out of towners and ate here for o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We are out of towners and ate here for our anniversary. My wife's steak was excellent, as was my walleye. They give a generous pour on wine and scotch. Great views! We'll make reservations for next time we're in Duluth!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The restaurant was not busy, which is us ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The restaurant was not busy, which is usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Revolving Harbor and Duluth City View

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

There is no match for this great experience of watching the city of Duluth, the harbor, lift bridge, courthouse and Depot Museum--while catching up with friends and enjoying brunch. Our wait staffer was new and made errors but didn't lose her grace. The menu is limited but there were choices and the food was good.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Amazing

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The view was beautiful and the food was wonderful we went there for my birthday they threw in a cheesecake that was nice of them

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is such a lovely setting for a memorable dining experience, with ever-changing views, great food & service.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing View Of The Duluth Harbour

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The scallop appetizer is phenomenal! Service is excellent!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Looks, ten, Food, three.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

From the song lyric, “Dance, ten, Looks, three -That ain't it, kid!”

The beautiful view and surroundings still do not make up for an overall dismal food experience. We gave this place another shot when in Duluth arriving on the Friends of the 261 Steam Train excursion this past Saturday.

We ate here years ago and had bad food and lots of poor excuses from management then and still bad food this time albeit the management response was somewhat better. Had it not been raining, we would have fared better in Canal Park.

Our arrival was an troubling adventure on a horrendously slow elevator that dumped us off with the car about a foot higher than the floor.

The crab cake appetizer was bland as could be and the accompanying blackberry salsa did not improve the missing flavor.

Caesar salads were served on warm plates and were just ok.

The New York strip was bone in, appeared more like a Rib Eye and ate like a round steak. Full of fat and gristle with an odd taste. Not even close to being what you would expect priced at $35. Adding panko crusted shrimp cost $12 . For that I got two. Granted they were of good size and character.

The Chicken Risotto came across as glop. Nothing close to a true risotto with the rice being way over cooked and the thin chicken dry and tasteless. Both probably tired from spending too much time hanging around after being done ahead of time.

Service was the star here along with the view of course. We were well taken care of with our server who was on top of everything. Certainly not her fault that the kitchen could not deliver on the basics.

The manager was alerted and came over albeit without introducing herself and seemed to listen to our concerns. And while it was nice that she did take the steak off the bill, that is never our interest in calling out bad food. I have doubts that anything will change.

The hotel deserves a better product that would match the spectacular view.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Wonderful 360 deg. scenic views!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

The food was delicious, our waitress was wonderful and the view was awesome. Couldn't ask for a better dinner date.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

OUTSTANDING

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Not only was the food outstanding, the staff was exceptional! The restaurant manager was spectacular and our waiter, Chad was top notch! We will definitely return for future events! Thank-you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our 27th Anniversary

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

First time here and the food was fantastic. The service was OK, but that is all. The crab cakes with berry salsa were out of this world. I had the salmon which was good but the risotto was killer. My wife had the tuna and would only let me have one bite it was so good.

Overall, we had a great time and will be returning for the food, and the view which was awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Don't waste your money

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Under staffed, brussel sprouts were a hash swimming in bacon grease, pasta with shrimp for $22 had 2 shrimp..., not worth the money and food not good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

We have enjoyed eating here on several o ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We have enjoyed eating here on several occasions. The food is good, solid fare- with flare thought behind both the breakfast and dinner offerings. The only downside is the desserts are pretty uninspired. The views are gorgeous as the restaurant rotates 360°. It's especially pretty during the holidays. The service is always excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was celebrating Mother's Day with my s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I was celebrating Mother's Day with my son. We had a great waitress, excellent drinks and a great small plate (tempura shrimp). The food and the service were excellent except for the filet mignon which was below average. It seemed like it may have been tenderized - sort of mushy? For a $37 entree that was disappointing. However - we love the revolving view and the atmosphere and will return again and try something different.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Unique restaurant, Beautiful views, Delicious food

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The service was fabulous. Wait staff was very professional, courteous and attentive. Food was top-notch, beautiful presentation and exceptional taste. The fact that restaurant rotates in a complete circle creating a panoramic view of downtown Duluth, the canal, and Lake Superior makes for a very unique experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely an amazing experience!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I will definitely do it again when I go back to Duluth!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great New York Strip! Loved the view!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great New York Strip! Loved the view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Some things were great , others ok

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We loved the restaurant itself. It was quiet, and comfortable, and of course we loved the view.

My boyfriend had a New York Strip. It was very fatty and hard to eat. He tried to cut off edible parts, but it was very chewy and most had to be thrown away. The service was polite, but a little hard to track down at times.

Tags: late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

If you are looking for a great meal in D ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

If you are looking for a great meal in Duluth you have to try JJA. We had stuffed meatloaf which was phenomenal and the Seafood special, which was a generous portion of walleye, shrimp, and scallops. Everything was prepared perfectly, served hot and the service was first class! And of course the revolving restaurant view of the water and the hill... Magical! I look forward to going back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique ambiance, loved the changing scen ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Unique ambiance, loved the changing scenery. Really good food with great company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

wonderful food/cranky waiter

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The filet mignon is outstanding. I normally hate any kind of steak. So glad I took a risk. It was worth the price. My husband had their signature meatloaf. It is always wonderful. Our waiter was in a bad mood and he kind of wrecked the meal. He's waited on us before, so we know it's not his personality. It's funny how much that affected our experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Charming view, decent food

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The view from the rotating restaurant was wonderful at sunset. Service was great, food decent but pricey.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We enjoyed our recent visit

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The view was nothing short of spectacular. The food is wonderful and the service was great. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

JJ Astor shines

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

We were stranded in Duluth for 2 days due to a snowstorm along hiway 61 up to Thunder Bay, Canada. We decided to enjoy our time at the Radisson, and eat at the convenient top-floor revolving restaurant. Breakfast was enjoyable, nicely presented, and exactly as ordered. I booked our dinner on Open Table. The food for both meals was excellent, as were the servers, Candice at breakfast and Jeremy at dinner.

The clam chowder was different (clams still in their shells) and very tasty. My husband had the meat-loaf entree, which was delicious and plentiful. It had been recommended by our morning server, Candice. I had a seafood medley - walleye, prawns, and scallops. It, too, was very delicious and plentiful. I would definitely recommend JJ Astor to any visitor to Duluth.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

My husband and I went to JJ Astors for our anniversary dinner. It exceeded our expectations. The service was phenomenal, the ambiance was magical (took us back in time to a classier era), the food delicious and overall it was a wonderful anniversary dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the price - not good!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

For $37 the meal was not even close to what was expected. My wife had filet that was tiny and thin - not good!!!!

The best was my appetizer which was great - the shrimp!

My wife's birthday - pretty disappointing!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Salad after Main Course

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

The waiter was very inattentive. We received our appetizer with no plates and ended up using our bread plates. We didn't receive the bread until the main course anyhow. We did not receive our salads until after he noticed this while delivering the main course. There were no salad forks and the salad was soggy. When we notified him of this he simply stated oh it must have sat too long with the dressing. The restaurant rotates and some of the light bulbs were out, so during times we could barely see the food. If your expectations are not set for fine dining you will survive. I was very disappointed as this was a very special occasion for us.

Tags: scenic view
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

Wonderful every time! Amazing food!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

My husband and I have a tradition of going to JJ Astor each February. It started when we were just dating...now we go back each year for the memories and fantastic food! The service is always impeccable! The menu changes so you can always try something new and exciting! And the view is breath-taking!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Service, Nice Date Spot

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Had a great lunch date. Quiet so you could enjoy conversation, but still somewhat lively. Service was great. Knowledgeable and kind server! Food was delicious and so was the recommended cocktail and dessert!

Of course, the views are stunning!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Save your money. Go elsewhere.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Upon arrival we were greeted by a very nice lady who warmly welcomed us and showed us to out table. That was the highlight of the experience. The waiter was snobbish and made us feel unwelcomed. Furthermore the food was cold when it was served to us, and the overall quantity & quality was poor. The overall bill for two came to $86 +tip and I can say the only thing that made any of the experience worth while was the coat check and the view.

Tags: scenic view
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

Excellent Valentines Dinner

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The restaurant is on the 16th floor of the Radisson Hotel. Every seat is a window seat and it slowly spins 360° around the city.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, food quality mixed

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Romantic spot with beautiful views. Service was outstanding. Unfortunately two steak dinners within our group were terribly tough.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.