Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Jimmys Taverna

Yasas! Jimmy"s Taverna welcomes you. Join us for the freshest seafood, wood-grilled meats and the most innovative appetizers in Mammoth. Our chefs are classically trained, our service is superb, and our décor is gorgeous. Our world-class wine and spirit selections pair perfectly with our Mediterranean fare making every meal an event. Reservations are recommended. It's the closest you'll come to Greece while in California. Come on in, we've saved you a seat

248 Old Mammoth Road
Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: W-Su 6:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Sierra

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 934-9432

Website:
http://jimmystaverna.com/

Private Party Contact:
Lynnsie Edge: (760) 934-2515

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Jimmys Taverna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for a Date (7)
See All
Authentic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Romantic (5)
Healthy (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Fun (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Casual (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Cozy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
62 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Perfect, tasty Greek & nuovo cuisine, attentive service. A must-visit in Mammoth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Extensive wine list. The trio of dips with Pita bread was excellent - great dips! Everyone enjoyed their food - kids loved the beef and chicken skewers. Crab legs were huge and great flavor. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The food was great but the service was lacking as it appeared that there were only two waiters for the restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We happened upon this restaurant when in Mammoth. We loved it. The wine list is extensive. I had the filet and it was perfect!!! A great experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Crab salad good, Loup de Mer fish good solid after a long ski day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Although we live down the street, I have passed by this restaurant many times without thought. I am so glad I finally tried it as I think it is a local gem. It's a bit pricy but well worth it. All of us had something different and we all enjoyed our meal. I had the "special" which was the filet mignon and it was truly amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

very friendly staff and management. Creative menu. Very fresh and tasty grilled octopus salad. Lamb chops were good but a little too much smoke and could be lighter on the sauce. Filet Oscar was fantastic. Good selection of 1/2 bottles of wine and craft cocktails. Could use more scotch and port options. Service was great

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Casual, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We loved the decor! The atmosphere is wonderful. Knowledgeable and friendly staff. The menu options were great. Loved the flaming cheese Opah!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This was recommended by a friend and did not disappoint. We were happily surprised by the vibrant menu. The food was outstanding! Will definitely be a must stop on our next visit to Mammoth.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Authentic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

One word for the food... amazing! We each had the filet mignon special and it was awesome. The owner wished me a happy birthday with a glass of Champagne, and was very personable. Would definitely eat there again.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We loved the ambiance and food. The 'daily special' was offered and was delicious but at $48 per portion (about $18 dollars more than most other entrees)...I guess we should have checked the price first. Online it indicated that this was family fun and since they don't have a kids menu... $120 spent just on the 3 kids food was unexpected! and the service was very slow so kids were almost asleep by the time the food came and we were there from 7.30pm. The dips were great but we were billed for the additional pita bread we had to request twice in order to eat them...and still didn't have enough....this all said, we did love the restaurant but it will be filled for us as 'special occasion' if we return as a family.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My husband and I had dinner at Jimmy's 2 nights ago--what a wonderful surprise this restaurant was. Wine prices were very reasonable, and the sommelier was great. We split the greek salad as an appetizer, which was a good thing because the portion size was large; it was so fresh and delicious. The olive bread that was served with the meal was out of this world--they get it from Bleu. My "branch" was a classic Greek lamb kabob served with pearl quinoa; seasonings were perfect and the quinoa was especially good, with bits of fresh corn. My husband's entree was the cioppino; the flavors were good, the shrimp was cooked perfectly, but he could have had fewer potatoes in it.
We will definitely come back.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food and service was wonderful. A tiny bit noisy but shd not keep u from going.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Didn't expect this place to be a little fancier than what we are use to at Mammoth but it was exceptionally good and authentic. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Always a pleasure to eat at Jimmy's. Creative, fresh food, beautifully served, and delicious, friendly staff and a comfortable, welcoming atmosphere. The fried cheese alone is worth the visit!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great food, great service, great ambiance. Terrific wine and cocktails. One of our favorites.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Long time Mammoth visitor, first time at Jimmys. The menu is eclectic with Mediterranean touches throughout. Our trio of dips with pita were fabulous. Greek salads wonderful, fresh and large (would split next time). Chicken breast with Greek herbs and seasoning on Moroccan spiced quinoa with wilted greens.

Service was exceptional and was easy to get a table on an otherwise impossible holiday weekend.

We'll be back!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Delicious!! It was perfect. ...from the hummus to the lamb! The Octopus Salad was amazing too...highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good food, extensive wine list, entrees were a bit small, insufficient dining room staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food. Chip the Sommelier was very helpful and friendly.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Outstanding food. Got the filet mignon crab leg special . 10/10. The Somm paired an Italian varietal called Fumin with our meal and this bottle of wine easily could warrant a $100 price tag but was only $40. The asparagus was grilled with a truffle vinegar as well as salt and pepper and was great. Wish I had gotten the Sommelier name cause he was outstanding. Going back later this week to try a grilled fish special.

Really excellent experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner. In many respects we find it to be the best restaurant in Mammoth. The night we ate there several servers and the bartender now showed so service was spotty though understandable.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My teenage sons and I took my husband for a birthday dinner just this past weekend and could not be happier that, after all these years of going to Mammoth, we finally found Jimmy's. The food and service were both excellent! From the host who greeted us when we entered, to our server, to Jimmy, himself, the staff was warm, friendly and helpful. We were able to try multiple items from the menu since the four of us ordered our own appetizers and entrees without overlap. Every single item was delicious from the oysters, to the lamb, to the filet to the cioppino!

If you are looking for a nice dinner and excellent food, look no further! Jimmys Taverna is a great spot with all the positive attributes of fine dining and the casual atmosphere for which Mammoth is known.

We will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We love this place, and it's better than ever. The wine director/majordomo Chip is back with a vengeance. The bartender makes inspired, delicious cocktails and the seafood is the freshest in Mammoth.

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in Mammoth! Delicious Greek food. Very nice wait staff. Friendly and non-stuffy sommelier. A meal to look forward to!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Second time there. Food was good, but very expensive for what you get. Server was very helpful and kind. Good buy overpriced wine selection. Plenty of tables open, probably because of price. But if you have the dough, go for it because 4 of our 6 meals were perfect and it was the only place we could get a reservation for 4 the same day. We are in Mammoth, so if you want quality, fresh seafood you do have to pay more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised by the service and food. Even though it was MLK weekend, we were seated exactly at the time of our reservation. The service was perfect & professional. The food was outstanding. Price-wise, it was about the same cost as eating at any of Mammoth's mid-to-high end restaurants.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great food, and the sommelier made our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Made reservations on open table which were confirmed and then got to the restaurant and they were closed?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Amazing cioppino. ! Service pretty good. Wine did not arrive on time for dinner. Everyone very nice though.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on January 2, 2017

good Greek authentic food! went with family and friends on New Years Day and had a great time!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was poor. They had many open tables, but still seated us 20 minutes late. Then we had to wait at least 20 minutes for hummus and pita, but then our entrees came before our salad. Seriously guys?

Food was mediocre. What kind of Greek restaurant has bland hummus? And who mixes beautiful Dungeness crab with mayonnaise for crab salad?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Beautiful ambiance. Great menu. For starters we had the three different hummus sampler plate and it was so yummy! I had the the whole fish (Loup de mer). It was incredible. My family all enjoyed their meals also. Although a pricier restaurant in mammoth, it is worth it. Good quality and a nice menu selection. I really enjoy it and recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This was the first time we visited Jimmy's Taverna and it was an amazing experience.

Great service great food great atmosphere.
If you're looking for a place to enjoy a nice meal, enjoy the a festive environment, and spend a good time with good friends this is the place....will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The decor was nice but we had the worst service!! The food was cold and we couldn't get a second round of drinks. We had 5:30 reservations and it took forever to get our food. There were only four other tables in the restaurant at that time. Very disappointed!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 22, 2016

This place was excellent in 2015, Greek menu with spanokapita, tirokapita at reasonable prices. I convinced a large group to come there this year which was a huge mistake. The menu is no longer Greek, but generic Mediterranean with couscous and a strange reliance on cilantro as a green side (lots of people can't do cilantro) as if they hadn't heard of arugula. The wait staff was huffy, impatient and rude, annoyed about separate checks. All wines under $40 were sold out and the list was extravagantly expensive. As a couple we paid $144 for one overcooked lamb kebob and four scallops (these were good), plus the inflated wine and 18% service fee for large group. It was a bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 28, 2016

For some strange reason they decided to take all what made them unique and desirable off their menu ( All the Geek specialties ) and decided to become a mediocre, ho hum Mediterannian Restaurant.
No reason to go back, I guess the rest of the clientele can't tell the difference.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Individual plates were either or hit or very miss. My girlfriends steak oskar was superb, while my overcooked turkish kebab heaped on 3 pounds of rice no human can eat was very average. My friend's 3 prawns on a mountain of decorative frisee were very average, why waste a garden, when you could have added another prawn? Price value relationship is definitely off, but you are in Mammoth after all.

Service was also quite slow and unresponsive. Is every server either stoned or exhausted from having to work a double shift?

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2016

They really tried to create and cook special offerings but the quality was poor and odd. Many dishes had an orange sauce which was not tasty. The desserts were of low quality, doughy and not authentic. The staff seemed uncoordinated but they were nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 7, 2016

Have you ever walked into a place and just smiled? That's the way we felt when we walked in the doors here. Beautiful interior design. Nice music. Perfect lighting. And the food was excellent. We will return!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.