About Jimmys Taverna

248 Old Mammoth Road
Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
View Larger Map

Yasas! Jimmy"s Taverna welcomes you. Join us for the freshest seafood, wood-grilled meats and the most innovative appetizers in Mammoth. Our chefs are classically trained, our service is superb, and our décor is gorgeous. Our world-class wine and spirit selections pair perfectly with our Mediterranean fare making every meal an event. Reservations are recommended. It's the closest you'll come to Greece while in California. Come on in, we've saved you a seat

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: W-Su 6:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Sierra

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 934-9432

Website:
http://jimmystaverna.com/

Private Party Contact:
Lynnsie Edge: 7609342515

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Jimmys Taverna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

0

service

0

ambience

0

value

0

0% would recommend it to a friend
Sort By:
Newest
25 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Jimmys what used to be a Greek Taverna

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

For some strange reason they decided to take all what made them unique and desirable off their menu ( All the Geek specialties ) and decided to become a mediocre, ho hum Mediterannian Restaurant. No reason to go back, I guess the rest of the clientele can't tell the difference.....

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Pretty Average

Dined on February 21, 2016

Individual plates were either or hit or very miss. My girlfriends steak oskar was superb, while my overcooked turkish kebab heaped on 3 pounds of rice no human can eat was very average. My friend's 3 prawns on a mountain of decorative frisee were very average, why waste a garden, when you could have added another prawn? Price value relationship is definitely off, but you are in Mammoth after all. Service was also quite slow and unresponsive. Is every server either stoned or exhausted from having to work a double shift?

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Nice place but food not

Dined on February 15, 2016

They really tried to create and cook special offerings but the quality was poor and odd. Many dishes had an orange sauce which was not tasty. The desserts were of low quality, doughy and not authentic. The staff seemed uncoordinated but they were nice.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were thrilled to find this restaurant.

Dined on January 7, 2016

Have you ever walked into a place and just smiled? That's the way we felt when we walked in the doors here. Beautiful interior design. Nice music. Perfect lighting. And the food was excellent. We will return!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service1

From the moment we walked in, we were ma ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

From the moment we walked in, we were made to feel like we were tolerated, as opposed to being appreciated. The hostess greeted us by explaining that the restaurant was full, as opposed to asking us if we had a reservation - which we did. She then disappeared and started clearing the many empty tables - all of them, as opposed to one that could seat the 5 of us. The entire staff seemed to be more interested in cleaning up, getting ready for the next day and getting out of there, as opposed to dealing with us. There was nobody behind us and the restaurant was maybe 40% full. At least two well-dressed (managers, I think) staff walked by us several times as we were left to sit and wonder, never once asking if we were being taken care of. We were seated about 15 minutes later. I got the sense again that we should feel lucky to be addressed at all. We really are nobody in the grander scheme of things. We're not Royalty, Glitterati or any thing else special and we understand that. The staff at Jimmy's Taverna made us feel that same way: nobody. Spend a few dollars at a nice restaurant and it is reasonable to expect that for a brief moment in an otherwise humdrum life, we'll be appreciated. Not at this restaurant. We won't be back and I don't think they want us there anyway. Word does spread though...

food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Good Food--Bad Management

Dined on January 2, 2016

Our reservation was at 7:30 and we did not get seated until 8:30. The restaurant was only half full, so my guess is that they did not have staffing. Whatever the reason I don't think that is any way to treat a guest. I am not going back there again even though I liked the food.

food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Food and waiter salvaged evening

vip
Dined on January 2, 2016

We arrived timely for our reservation, and ended up waiting 35 minutes for our table due to "staffing issues". Restaurant was half empty, but only 2 waiters to cover entire room. 2 hostesses were milling around and doing nothing, while short-staffed waiters busted their behinds to work the room. Our waiter worked hard and food was very good, but greeter should have been honest and not had us wait (and we should not have waited) 35 minutes after a designated reservation time.

food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Disappointing dinner

Dined on December 31, 2015

Good service unfortunately wasn't enough to save the dining experience. We were expecting traditional Greek fare but instead were informed that the concept has been changed to generalist Mediterranean. Taverna's identity crisis did not translate well to halfway decent food. Expensive for the mediocre dishes that you get - stay away from the lobster ravioli and seafood stew in particular.

food5
ambience4
service4

Great Seafood & Service

Dined on September 5, 2015

Been there twice & it is one of the best seafood restaurants in Mammoth Lakes. Service was prompt & very friendly, full bar & expansive wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3

Unexpected atmosphere in the high sierras

Dined on January 2, 2015

If you're looking for something different when visiting Mammoth - give it a try, just be prepared for an expensive bill. The atmosphere was lovely with beautiful white lights/lanterns, broken tile floors and lots of traditional Greek "blue". The Olivada dip with grilled pita appetizer was tasty. The aveglemono soup had good, but mild flavor and was more like a risotto vs. soup given the orzo to broth ratio (definitely thicker than what I'm used to). Although the bowl was large, $9 for the soup seemed too high. For dinner, I had the salmon. The fish was flakey and perfectly seasoned (delicious!), but unfortunately the potato cakes were bland and the kale was very greasy and bland (no seasoning other than olive oil seemed to have been used). My husband had the fish stew -- while it had a fair amount of seafood in it, it too was very bland. There were A LOT of kids in the restaurant, so I was surprised that there weren't any kid items on the menu. When I inquired, the waiter told me they had 2 options - chicken nuggets or chicken pita. My son chose the pita which came with big chunks of tomato and onion (odd for kids) - it was quite large (adult portion), but since it wasn't on the menu I was surprised to see the $12 price tag when I got the bill. Overall it was a good experience - definitely different than the usual steak or burger places we go to in Mammoth.

food2
ambience1
service1

Poor service!

vip
Dined on December 30, 2014

We have been to most restaurants in Mammoth and have never had such a poor service! First, the hostess who seated us was unprofessional, and then the waiter (Jacob) was very rude and inattentive and made our experience really unpleasant! Although we had multiple entrees, appetizers, wine etc. (and ended up paying almost $250 for 2 adults and 2 kids), they still charged $5 for one small side of rice that we asked for one of the kids (which was not on the menu). This was our second visit to this place, it was really disappointing and I don't think we will be back.

food4
ambience1
service1

Good food, lousy tables.

Dined on December 26, 2014

Some tables are really lousy - cold and drafty. Wait staff were really apologetic, but no action taken. Food was good...would not go back. Disorganized in kitchen- brought wrong food multiple times.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic!

Dined on August 17, 2014

Everything about this place was fantastic. Fish was fresh and everything we ordered had lots of flavor. We'll be back again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Enjoyed the restaurant!

Dined on July 28, 2014

Have come to Jimmy's Taverna with my family two years in a row when vacationing in Mammoth Lakes. The food is really good. Seafood is a specialty but other options are available too. A treat to have delicious Greek food in Mammoth. Recommendation for the restaurant: Please give more grilled pita bread with dip appetizers. Would have preferred not to need to ask for more. (Six little triangles of grilled pita per dip.)

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always reliable!

Dined on April 21, 2014

Went to the traditional Easter dinner. Must have been 12 courses -- we literally had leftovers for 2 days! So good -- baby lamb, chicken, homemade breads, awesome desserts. They are not always open, but when they are, you'll get a great meal at a reasonable price. Great wine list too! If you like Greek food, this is the place!

food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal at mammoth

Dined on March 7, 2014

Amazing meal. Appetizers w octopus, Greek salad and calamari. Grilled whole fish (a Mediterranean Sea bass) with kale and rice. Original , perfectly done.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service3

Overpriced

Dined on March 3, 2014

Exciting to have something new to try in Mammoth, and I had high hopes based on other reviews. The greek salad was quite good and fresh. Lamb kebabs felt like a pretty small portion for $27, and were overcooked. I'm not sure I will be going back.

food4
ambience4
service2

The food was very good but

Dined on February 22, 2014

The food was very good but there were some problems. We felt that some items were overpriced. In particular, the appetizer dips. The charge was $15 for three dips. We were all suprised with the dips turned out to be about three tablespoons each. That seemed a bit excessive. We also had a problem when one of our table ordered a whole fish. Every other time I've seen that ordered in a restaurant, the server fileted the fish. The server explained that he didn't know how to do that. He said the kitchen was "too busy" to help. So, one of our party fileted the fish for the person that ordered it. The food at Jimmy's Taverna was excellent but it's not a value proposition.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we ordered was great!

Dined on February 22, 2014

Especially the grilled fish. Service was very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4

Great option for dinner in Mammoth

Dined on February 17, 2014

This past weekend I went to Jimmy's for the second time. I tried it last year when they opened, and again over President's weekend. I took three friends who had never been. We ordered a bunch of appetizers and dips, and shared everything along with one grilled sea bass. The food was outstanding. The only things we didn't like were the hummus (way too much garlic) and the baklava (more like cake than baklava). The eggplant, octopus, calamari, lamb, shrimp, saganaki, and grilled fish were all delicious. Also, the grilled pita, as simple as it is, was perfect. The restaurant's computers weren't working but the staff went out of its way to accommodate and were very attentive. I will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

Dined on February 13, 2014

The food was excellent and the staff was very friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service1

Good Food, OK service

vip
Dined on January 19, 2014

The food was really good. Good selection on the menu. Overall pretty well prepared. One of us ordered the seafood stew. Despite the menu stating whitefish, the cook put in salmon. In my opinion, salmon can over power seafood soups. The wine by the glass list was good. The service could really be improved. The "sommelier" took a long time to come to the table. In fact, she didn't even come over till after our appetizers had arrived. In general, I like to taste my wine before the tasting my food. The waiter was poorly attentive and got my order wrong. Overall, a good restaurant, but there are opportunities for improvement.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and ambience

Dined on January 5, 2014

loved this place. the fish was superb, maybe the best I've ever had. The wait staff was meticulous and well trained/experienced. There were answers for every question and the food was hot and perfectly presented. Chip, the 'wine geek' (sommelier) is a hoot and will come up with any wine u wish for...and do it with a huge smile. I highly recommend this place, much more than another snooty restaurant in Mammoth that starts with an N.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2

New Year's Eve

Dined on January 1, 2014

The food was great but a price fix menu that we were not aware of when we made the reservation. We had 2 youth picky eaters and we're not able to order them food from their regular menu, which is what we were all looking forward to. Otherwise the food was very good but it took us over 2 hours to complete our meal which made the teens more unhappy. We will have to try again on a regular day

food4
ambience4
service5

Greek Food at Mammoth

Dined on December 14, 2013

Excellent Greek food at a location where one might not expect to find such a restaurant. The seafood "soup" (main course dish) was excellent, the Calamari appetizer was unusual but excellent, same with the chocolate cake desert. However, the best thing about this restaurant was the very thoughtful and charming person who served our table. I do not know if all of the wait staff are as helpful, but she was just great.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.