Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Jimmys Taverna

Yasas! Jimmy"s Taverna welcomes you. Join us for the freshest seafood, wood-grilled meats and the most innovative appetizers in Mammoth. Our chefs are classically trained, our service is superb, and our décor is gorgeous. Our world-class wine and spirit selections pair perfectly with our Mediterranean fare making every meal an event. Reservations are recommended. It's the closest you'll come to Greece while in California. Come on in, we've saved you a seat

248 Old Mammoth Road
Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: W-Su 6:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Sierra

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 934-9432

Website:
http://jimmystaverna.com/

Private Party Contact:
Lynnsie Edge: (760) 934-2515

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Jimmys Taverna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
See All
Authentic (8)
Healthy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Romantic (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Casual (4)
Cozy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Fun (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Seasonal (2)
Business Meals (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
54 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

We loved the decor! The atmosphere is wonderful. Knowledgeable and friendly staff. The menu options were great. Loved the flaming cheese Opah!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This was recommended by a friend and did not disappoint. We were happily surprised by the vibrant menu. The food was outstanding! Will definitely be a must stop on our next visit to Mammoth.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Authentic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

One word for the food... amazing! We each had the filet mignon special and it was awesome. The owner wished me a happy birthday with a glass of Champagne, and was very personable. Would definitely eat there again.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We loved the ambiance and food. The 'daily special' was offered and was delicious but at $48 per portion (about $18 dollars more than most other entrees)...I guess we should have checked the price first. Online it indicated that this was family fun and since they don't have a kids menu... $120 spent just on the 3 kids food was unexpected! and the service was very slow so kids were almost asleep by the time the food came and we were there from 7.30pm. The dips were great but we were billed for the additional pita bread we had to request twice in order to eat them...and still didn't have enough....this all said, we did love the restaurant but it will be filled for us as 'special occasion' if we return as a family.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My husband and I had dinner at Jimmy's 2 nights ago--what a wonderful surprise this restaurant was. Wine prices were very reasonable, and the sommelier was great. We split the greek salad as an appetizer, which was a good thing because the portion size was large; it was so fresh and delicious. The olive bread that was served with the meal was out of this world--they get it from Bleu. My "branch" was a classic Greek lamb kabob served with pearl quinoa; seasonings were perfect and the quinoa was especially good, with bits of fresh corn. My husband's entree was the cioppino; the flavors were good, the shrimp was cooked perfectly, but he could have had fewer potatoes in it.
We will definitely come back.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food and service was wonderful. A tiny bit noisy but shd not keep u from going.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Didn't expect this place to be a little fancier than what we are use to at Mammoth but it was exceptionally good and authentic. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Always a pleasure to eat at Jimmy's. Creative, fresh food, beautifully served, and delicious, friendly staff and a comfortable, welcoming atmosphere. The fried cheese alone is worth the visit!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great food, great service, great ambiance. Terrific wine and cocktails. One of our favorites.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Long time Mammoth visitor, first time at Jimmys. The menu is eclectic with Mediterranean touches throughout. Our trio of dips with pita were fabulous. Greek salads wonderful, fresh and large (would split next time). Chicken breast with Greek herbs and seasoning on Moroccan spiced quinoa with wilted greens.

Service was exceptional and was easy to get a table on an otherwise impossible holiday weekend.

We'll be back!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Delicious!! It was perfect. ...from the hummus to the lamb! The Octopus Salad was amazing too...highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good food, extensive wine list, entrees were a bit small, insufficient dining room staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food. Chip the Sommelier was very helpful and friendly.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Outstanding food. Got the filet mignon crab leg special . 10/10. The Somm paired an Italian varietal called Fumin with our meal and this bottle of wine easily could warrant a $100 price tag but was only $40. The asparagus was grilled with a truffle vinegar as well as salt and pepper and was great. Wish I had gotten the Sommelier name cause he was outstanding. Going back later this week to try a grilled fish special.

Really excellent experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner. In many respects we find it to be the best restaurant in Mammoth. The night we ate there several servers and the bartender now showed so service was spotty though understandable.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My teenage sons and I took my husband for a birthday dinner just this past weekend and could not be happier that, after all these years of going to Mammoth, we finally found Jimmy's. The food and service were both excellent! From the host who greeted us when we entered, to our server, to Jimmy, himself, the staff was warm, friendly and helpful. We were able to try multiple items from the menu since the four of us ordered our own appetizers and entrees without overlap. Every single item was delicious from the oysters, to the lamb, to the filet to the cioppino!

If you are looking for a nice dinner and excellent food, look no further! Jimmys Taverna is a great spot with all the positive attributes of fine dining and the casual atmosphere for which Mammoth is known.

We will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We love this place, and it's better than ever. The wine director/majordomo Chip is back with a vengeance. The bartender makes inspired, delicious cocktails and the seafood is the freshest in Mammoth.

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in Mammoth! Delicious Greek food. Very nice wait staff. Friendly and non-stuffy sommelier. A meal to look forward to!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Second time there. Food was good, but very expensive for what you get. Server was very helpful and kind. Good buy overpriced wine selection. Plenty of tables open, probably because of price. But if you have the dough, go for it because 4 of our 6 meals were perfect and it was the only place we could get a reservation for 4 the same day. We are in Mammoth, so if you want quality, fresh seafood you do have to pay more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised by the service and food. Even though it was MLK weekend, we were seated exactly at the time of our reservation. The service was perfect & professional. The food was outstanding. Price-wise, it was about the same cost as eating at any of Mammoth's mid-to-high end restaurants.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Made reservations on open table which were confirmed and then got to the restaurant and they were closed?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Amazing cioppino. ! Service pretty good. Wine did not arrive on time for dinner. Everyone very nice though.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on January 2, 2017

good Greek authentic food! went with family and friends on New Years Day and had a great time!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was poor. They had many open tables, but still seated us 20 minutes late. Then we had to wait at least 20 minutes for hummus and pita, but then our entrees came before our salad. Seriously guys?

Food was mediocre. What kind of Greek restaurant has bland hummus? And who mixes beautiful Dungeness crab with mayonnaise for crab salad?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Beautiful ambiance. Great menu. For starters we had the three different hummus sampler plate and it was so yummy! I had the the whole fish (Loup de mer). It was incredible. My family all enjoyed their meals also. Although a pricier restaurant in mammoth, it is worth it. Good quality and a nice menu selection. I really enjoy it and recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This was the first time we visited Jimmy's Taverna and it was an amazing experience.

Great service great food great atmosphere.
If you're looking for a place to enjoy a nice meal, enjoy the a festive environment, and spend a good time with good friends this is the place....will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The decor was nice but we had the worst service!! The food was cold and we couldn't get a second round of drinks. We had 5:30 reservations and it took forever to get our food. There were only four other tables in the restaurant at that time. Very disappointed!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 22, 2016

This place was excellent in 2015, Greek menu with spanokapita, tirokapita at reasonable prices. I convinced a large group to come there this year which was a huge mistake. The menu is no longer Greek, but generic Mediterranean with couscous and a strange reliance on cilantro as a green side (lots of people can't do cilantro) as if they hadn't heard of arugula. The wait staff was huffy, impatient and rude, annoyed about separate checks. All wines under $40 were sold out and the list was extravagantly expensive. As a couple we paid $144 for one overcooked lamb kebob and four scallops (these were good), plus the inflated wine and 18% service fee for large group. It was a bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 28, 2016

For some strange reason they decided to take all what made them unique and desirable off their menu ( All the Geek specialties ) and decided to become a mediocre, ho hum Mediterannian Restaurant.
No reason to go back, I guess the rest of the clientele can't tell the difference.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Individual plates were either or hit or very miss. My girlfriends steak oskar was superb, while my overcooked turkish kebab heaped on 3 pounds of rice no human can eat was very average. My friend's 3 prawns on a mountain of decorative frisee were very average, why waste a garden, when you could have added another prawn? Price value relationship is definitely off, but you are in Mammoth after all.

Service was also quite slow and unresponsive. Is every server either stoned or exhausted from having to work a double shift?

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2016

They really tried to create and cook special offerings but the quality was poor and odd. Many dishes had an orange sauce which was not tasty. The desserts were of low quality, doughy and not authentic. The staff seemed uncoordinated but they were nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 7, 2016

Have you ever walked into a place and just smiled? That's the way we felt when we walked in the doors here. Beautiful interior design. Nice music. Perfect lighting. And the food was excellent. We will return!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on January 2, 2016

From the moment we walked in, we were made to feel like we were tolerated, as opposed to being appreciated. The hostess greeted us by explaining that the restaurant was full, as opposed to asking us if we had a reservation - which we did. She then disappeared and started clearing the many empty tables - all of them, as opposed to one that could seat the 5 of us. The entire staff seemed to be more interested in cleaning up, getting ready for the next day and getting out of there, as opposed to dealing with us. There was nobody behind us and the restaurant was maybe 40% full. At least two well-dressed (managers, I think) staff walked by us several times as we were left to sit and wonder, never once asking if we were being taken care of. We were seated about 15 minutes later. I got the sense again that we should feel lucky to be addressed at all. We really are nobody in the grander scheme of things. We're not Royalty, Glitterati or any thing else special and we understand that. The staff at Jimmy's Taverna made us feel that same way: nobody. Spend a few dollars at a nice restaurant and it is reasonable to expect that for a brief moment in an otherwise humdrum life, we'll be appreciated. Not at this restaurant. We won't be back and I don't think they want us there anyway. Word does spread though...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2016

Our reservation was at 7:30 and we did not get seated until 8:30. The restaurant was only half full, so my guess is that they did not have staffing. Whatever the reason I don't think that is any way to treat a guest. I am not going back there again even though I liked the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2016

We arrived timely for our reservation, and ended up waiting 35 minutes for our table due to "staffing issues". Restaurant was half empty, but only 2 waiters to cover entire room. 2 hostesses were milling around and doing nothing, while short-staffed waiters busted their behinds to work the room. Our waiter worked hard and food was very good, but greeter should have been honest and not had us wait (and we should not have waited) 35 minutes after a designated reservation time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2015

Good service unfortunately wasn't enough to save the dining experience. We were expecting traditional Greek fare but instead were informed that the concept has been changed to generalist Mediterranean. Taverna's identity crisis did not translate well to halfway decent food. Expensive for the mediocre dishes that you get - stay away from the lobster ravioli and seafood stew in particular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 5, 2015

Been there twice & it is one of the best seafood restaurants in Mammoth Lakes. Service was prompt & very friendly, full bar & expansive wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2015

If you're looking for something different when visiting Mammoth - give it a try, just be prepared for an expensive bill. The atmosphere was lovely with beautiful white lights/lanterns, broken tile floors and lots of traditional Greek "blue". The Olivada dip with grilled pita appetizer was tasty. The aveglemono soup had good, but mild flavor and was more like a risotto vs. soup given the orzo to broth ratio (definitely thicker than what I'm used to). Although the bowl was large, $9 for the soup seemed too high.

For dinner, I had the salmon. The fish was flakey and perfectly seasoned (delicious!), but unfortunately the potato cakes were bland and the kale was very greasy and bland (no seasoning other than olive oil seemed to have been used). My husband had the fish stew -- while it had a fair amount of seafood in it, it too was very bland.

There were A LOT of kids in the restaurant, so I was surprised that there weren't any kid items on the menu. When I inquired, the waiter told me they had 2 options - chicken nuggets or chicken pita. My son chose the pita which came with big chunks of tomato and onion (odd for kids) - it was quite large (adult portion), but since it wasn't on the menu I was surprised to see the $12 price tag when I got the bill.

Overall it was a good experience - definitely different than the usual steak or burger places we go to in Mammoth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2014

We have been to most restaurants in Mammoth and have never had such a poor service!

First, the hostess who seated us was unprofessional, and then the waiter (Jacob) was very rude and inattentive and made our experience really unpleasant!

Although we had multiple entrees, appetizers, wine etc. (and ended up paying almost $250 for 2 adults and 2 kids), they still charged $5 for one small side of rice that we asked for one of the kids (which was not on the menu).

This was our second visit to this place, it was really disappointing and I don't think we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2014

Some tables are really lousy - cold and drafty. Wait staff were really apologetic, but no action taken. Food was good...would not go back. Disorganized in kitchen- brought wrong food multiple times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.