Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Jimmys Taverna

Yasas! Jimmy"s Taverna welcomes you. Join us for the freshest seafood, wood-grilled meats and the most innovative appetizers in Mammoth. Our chefs are classically trained, our service is superb, and our décor is gorgeous. Our world-class wine and spirit selections pair perfectly with our Mediterranean fare making every meal an event. Reservations are recommended. It's the closest you'll come to Greece while in California. Come on in, we've saved you a seat

248 Old Mammoth Road
Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: W-Su 6:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Sierra

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 934-9432

Website:
http://jimmystaverna.com/

Private Party Contact:
Lynnsie Edge: (760) 934-2515

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Jimmys Taverna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (4)
Romantic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
See All
Fit for Foodies (3)
Authentic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Tapas (1)
Casual (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
69 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

What a night! An incredible meal, starting with flaming Saganaki cheese accompanied by super Grey Goose martini's. The meal that followed? Super. The staff was outstanding. Our anniversary dinner was an complete success.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

We've been to Jimmy's a number of times, and everything we've had has been delicious. Atmosphere is very pleasant. One of the two best restaurants in Mammoth!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Ate at the bar on a quiet Sunday evening, Rack of lamb was delicious and perfectly cooked. Appetizer was octopus salad which was delicious. A tad on the pricy side as the two specials were $50 @ $46 respectively.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Beautiful place, and the food was good overall, but my halibut was way over cooked. Still good but a bit disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Fantastic food. The octopus is great. Wine list is extensive and had won many awards from wine spectator and the service was impeccable.

Do not miss the baklava dessert it is so worth it!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 28, 2017

A+ service, food and drink! Perfectly cooked rack of lamb and filet mignon. They went above and beyond to make sure everything was to our liking. I'm lame and don't know what I'm ordering when it comes to new cocktails. I ordered a rum drink that looked good, but it was to strong for me. I told the waiter when he asked how I liked it, not really meaning to complain, and he asked what I felt like, and the bartender made me a custom cocktail at no extra charge. Dinner specials and the baklava dessert were awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Perfect, tasty Greek & nuovo cuisine, attentive service. A must-visit in Mammoth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Extensive wine list. The trio of dips with Pita bread was excellent - great dips! Everyone enjoyed their food - kids loved the beef and chicken skewers. Crab legs were huge and great flavor. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The food was great but the service was lacking as it appeared that there were only two waiters for the restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We happened upon this restaurant when in Mammoth. We loved it. The wine list is extensive. I had the filet and it was perfect!!! A great experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Crab salad good, Loup de Mer fish good solid after a long ski day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Although we live down the street, I have passed by this restaurant many times without thought. I am so glad I finally tried it as I think it is a local gem. It's a bit pricy but well worth it. All of us had something different and we all enjoyed our meal. I had the "special" which was the filet mignon and it was truly amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 31, 2017

very friendly staff and management. Creative menu. Very fresh and tasty grilled octopus salad. Lamb chops were good but a little too much smoke and could be lighter on the sauce. Filet Oscar was fantastic. Good selection of 1/2 bottles of wine and craft cocktails. Could use more scotch and port options. Service was great

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Casual, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We loved the decor! The atmosphere is wonderful. Knowledgeable and friendly staff. The menu options were great. Loved the flaming cheese Opah!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This was recommended by a friend and did not disappoint. We were happily surprised by the vibrant menu. The food was outstanding! Will definitely be a must stop on our next visit to Mammoth.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Authentic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

One word for the food... amazing! We each had the filet mignon special and it was awesome. The owner wished me a happy birthday with a glass of Champagne, and was very personable. Would definitely eat there again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We loved the ambiance and food. The 'daily special' was offered and was delicious but at $48 per portion (about $18 dollars more than most other entrees)...I guess we should have checked the price first. Online it indicated that this was family fun and since they don't have a kids menu... $120 spent just on the 3 kids food was unexpected! and the service was very slow so kids were almost asleep by the time the food came and we were there from 7.30pm. The dips were great but we were billed for the additional pita bread we had to request twice in order to eat them...and still didn't have enough....this all said, we did love the restaurant but it will be filled for us as 'special occasion' if we return as a family.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My husband and I had dinner at Jimmy's 2 nights ago--what a wonderful surprise this restaurant was. Wine prices were very reasonable, and the sommelier was great. We split the greek salad as an appetizer, which was a good thing because the portion size was large; it was so fresh and delicious. The olive bread that was served with the meal was out of this world--they get it from Bleu. My "branch" was a classic Greek lamb kabob served with pearl quinoa; seasonings were perfect and the quinoa was especially good, with bits of fresh corn. My husband's entree was the cioppino; the flavors were good, the shrimp was cooked perfectly, but he could have had fewer potatoes in it.
We will definitely come back.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The food and service was wonderful. A tiny bit noisy but shd not keep u from going.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Didn't expect this place to be a little fancier than what we are use to at Mammoth but it was exceptionally good and authentic. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Always a pleasure to eat at Jimmy's. Creative, fresh food, beautifully served, and delicious, friendly staff and a comfortable, welcoming atmosphere. The fried cheese alone is worth the visit!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food, great service, great ambiance. Terrific wine and cocktails. One of our favorites.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Long time Mammoth visitor, first time at Jimmys. The menu is eclectic with Mediterranean touches throughout. Our trio of dips with pita were fabulous. Greek salads wonderful, fresh and large (would split next time). Chicken breast with Greek herbs and seasoning on Moroccan spiced quinoa with wilted greens.

Service was exceptional and was easy to get a table on an otherwise impossible holiday weekend.

We'll be back!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Delicious!! It was perfect. ...from the hummus to the lamb! The Octopus Salad was amazing too...highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Impressed! Loved the freshness of the food and the knowledge of wine from the staff and sommelier. Will come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good food, extensive wine list, entrees were a bit small, insufficient dining room staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food. Chip the Sommelier was very helpful and friendly.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Outstanding food. Got the filet mignon crab leg special . 10/10. The Somm paired an Italian varietal called Fumin with our meal and this bottle of wine easily could warrant a $100 price tag but was only $40. The asparagus was grilled with a truffle vinegar as well as salt and pepper and was great. Wish I had gotten the Sommelier name cause he was outstanding. Going back later this week to try a grilled fish special.

Really excellent experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner. In many respects we find it to be the best restaurant in Mammoth. The night we ate there several servers and the bartender now showed so service was spotty though understandable.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My teenage sons and I took my husband for a birthday dinner just this past weekend and could not be happier that, after all these years of going to Mammoth, we finally found Jimmy's. The food and service were both excellent! From the host who greeted us when we entered, to our server, to Jimmy, himself, the staff was warm, friendly and helpful. We were able to try multiple items from the menu since the four of us ordered our own appetizers and entrees without overlap. Every single item was delicious from the oysters, to the lamb, to the filet to the cioppino!

If you are looking for a nice dinner and excellent food, look no further! Jimmys Taverna is a great spot with all the positive attributes of fine dining and the casual atmosphere for which Mammoth is known.

We will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We love this place, and it's better than ever. The wine director/majordomo Chip is back with a vengeance. The bartender makes inspired, delicious cocktails and the seafood is the freshest in Mammoth.

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in Mammoth! Delicious Greek food. Very nice wait staff. Friendly and non-stuffy sommelier. A meal to look forward to!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Second time there. Food was good, but very expensive for what you get. Server was very helpful and kind. Good buy overpriced wine selection. Plenty of tables open, probably because of price. But if you have the dough, go for it because 4 of our 6 meals were perfect and it was the only place we could get a reservation for 4 the same day. We are in Mammoth, so if you want quality, fresh seafood you do have to pay more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised by the service and food. Even though it was MLK weekend, we were seated exactly at the time of our reservation. The service was perfect & professional. The food was outstanding. Price-wise, it was about the same cost as eating at any of Mammoth's mid-to-high end restaurants.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food, and the sommelier made our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Made reservations on open table which were confirmed and then got to the restaurant and they were closed?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amazing cioppino. ! Service pretty good. Wine did not arrive on time for dinner. Everyone very nice though.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on January 1, 2017

good Greek authentic food! went with family and friends on New Years Day and had a great time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was poor. They had many open tables, but still seated us 20 minutes late. Then we had to wait at least 20 minutes for hummus and pita, but then our entrees came before our salad. Seriously guys?

Food was mediocre. What kind of Greek restaurant has bland hummus? And who mixes beautiful Dungeness crab with mayonnaise for crab salad?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Beautiful ambiance. Great menu. For starters we had the three different hummus sampler plate and it was so yummy! I had the the whole fish (Loup de mer). It was incredible. My family all enjoyed their meals also. Although a pricier restaurant in mammoth, it is worth it. Good quality and a nice menu selection. I really enjoy it and recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.