About Jimmy's Famous Seafood

6526 Holabird Ave.
Baltimore, MD 21224
View Larger Map

Since 1974, Jimmy's has exhibited a commitment to excellence in the restaurant industry second to none. Although made famous for our award-winning seafood and steamed hard-shell crabs, our menu also includes various tastes from all over the world, such as grilled lamb chops, a montrous, savory prime rib, and barbecued baby back ribs. We have two seating areas - a casual, fun lounge and a beautiful dining room which is divided for those seeking to crack open some hot steamed crabs and those seeking intimacy. Seafood is flown in daily to ensure unrivaled freshness and to allow for new specials every evening!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 12:30am, Sunday: 2:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Dundalk Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 633-4040

Website:
http://www.jimmysfamousseafood.com/

Entertainment:
Jimmy's is a unique experience, with 5 different rooms, each with their own flair and ambiance! The 2nd level bar hosts live bands every Wednesday night, and DJs on Fridays and Saturdays! Please note that all reservations made via Open Table will be accommodated in the dining room, but you are more than welcome to join in on the fun!

Catering:
We have three separate private rooms for catering, hosting parties ranging from 20-250 guests. We specialize in crab feasts, company meeting and presentations, birthday parties, and holiday events. Check out our website or write to Katie@JimmysFamousSeafood.Com for complete details and pricing.

Parking Details:
120 parking spaces available, no charge, outdoors. Valet available on weekends, free of charge.

Executive Chef:
Tony Minadakis

Private Party Facilities:
Two banquet rooms available, holding up to 300 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Katie O'Connor: 4106334040x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

fish tacos
Steamed Maryland Blue Crabs
Cream of Crab Soup
Seafood Skins
loaded baked potato
Mussels Nirvana
1 1/4 lb. Whole Fresh Maine Lobster
Maui Calamari Salad
Reeses Peanutbutter Cheesecake
Mozzarella Sticks
Crab toast
Crabcake Potato Skins
Oysters Rockefeller
Stuffed Shrimp

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 2:00PM

Mon - Fri 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Jimmy's Famous Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Baltimore / Maryland
Seafood
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

good for groups (59)
special occasion (53)
fit for foodies (40)
See All
neighborhood gem (33)
great for lunch (28)
kid-friendly (20)
hot spot (16)
romantic (13)
great for brunch (12)
late-night find (9)
vibrant bar scene (6)
notable wine list (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
852 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Chipped water glass. Restaurant week men ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined a day ago

Chipped water glass. Restaurant week menu was HORRIBLE. No kid options offered. Out of crab claws for sampler. Multiple items we ordered were not correct. Server was overwhelmed. We were her only table on our side of the seating area. She lost us among her other tables. Food was ok at best. Came to jimmys to be blown away and left unhappy. Will never return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Delicious food and excellent service. Th ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Delicious food and excellent service. The seafood combination is like a tasting platter only with large portions. The crab dip was a great start and the crab cakes live up to their reputation. We also had their Tar Heel drink which nicely added to the meal. We live a distance away but worth the drive and we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved this restaurant! Crab cakes with ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I loved this restaurant! Crab cakes without a doubt the best anywhere . From the appetizers to desserts not one thing to complain about simply perfection. The staff from the time we walked into the restaurant until we left was on point . The gentleman walking around the restaurant was amazing he seemed to know everyone . He took us upstairs and introduced us to a new bar and lounge . I didn't want to leave the energy was upbeat . I really recommend to go there after having a great experience in the restaurant. The staff at Jimmys sincerely want you to stay and enjoy . Thanks to everyone we will visit again .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was GREAT. We went ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food and service was GREAT. We went to Jimmy's based on word of mouth and seeing the pictures on Torrey and Chanel Smith's Instagram page. It was almost an hour drive for us but it was worth it. We were greeted as soon as we arrived and we were seated early. We did have to wait a few minutes before our server came. That was the only downside to our meal. Our server recommended great dished and we each got something that she recommended. The servings were plenty and each one of us brought some of our food home. We will be going back to Jimmy's next month.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was awesome besides the light ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Everything was awesome besides the lighting. Food was delicious and the set up of the restaurant was very cool. Nice and clean, but I could barely read my menu. Garlic bread was marvelous.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Although we reserved jumbo crabs we were ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Although we reserved jumbo crabs we were told only large crabs were available. When I protested only then some jumbos were found but not enough to complete our order. We ordered some medium crabs. The jumbos were very good but the mediums didn't taste good so most went to waste. The Maryland crab soup and the cream of crab was good but the half and half disappointed. Our waitress seemed to be new and it showed but she was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We came for the soft crabs and were not ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We came for the soft crabs and were not disappointed. Just as good as last year. However I think out waitress needs a tad bit more improvement. No rolls for us like other tables, steered us wrong on the brussel sprouts, baked potatoes were cold. Not sure she cared to see how we were doing or check on us. But we'll be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The service and food were excellent!! De ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The service and food were excellent!! Definitely plan on going back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Flew into Baltimore and found the best r ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Flew into Baltimore and found the best restaurant ever ! I love it here . Many families enjoying dinner together . Just a warm friendly atmosphere . The fish is fresh and very high quality steak . The pasta portions are huge and heaping amounts of fresh seafood throughout the pasta . Mmmmm ! Service is very friendly and professionally done . Just great . I will proudly bring my friends back so I can Bragg . Thank you for a great start to my Independence Day celebrations .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The crabs and jumbo shrimp are fantastic ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The crabs and jumbo shrimp are fantastic. I recommend calling ahead to order the size crabs that you want. The jumbo's and extra large seem to go quickly. We requested the jumbo's and had to settle for extra large which were great. Our server Brian was very attentive to our needs.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This was my second visit and it was a gr ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was my second visit and it was a great dining experience. The staff was professional, friendly, and we had a very personal dining experience. The food was excellent. Great presentation and taste. The portion size was appropriate for the price. I would recommend Jimmy's Famous Seafood if you are looking for a great dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was good. The food is ver ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The atmosphere was good. The food is very pricey, and the quality to me was not what I expected. Bring lots of money if you plan to eat here. We probably won't return due to my husband wasn't happy nor my father about the No Hat policy. We were en route to an Orioles game, and my husband does not ever take his hat off due to being bald. But others especially women were allowed to keep theirs on. What's the difference? This place would be good for a special occasion, but I wouldn't recommend for kids 7 and under. But don't take my opinion, I could be wrong.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

No complaints! Was in Baltimore for a co ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

No complaints! Was in Baltimore for a convention but would consider 90 minute drive from philly to enjoy thier crab cakes again! Great experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was awesome and our service was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The food was awesome and our service was great. Our server was only with Jimmy's 1 week but he was wonderful.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Wife's birthday celebration. First time ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Wife's birthday celebration. First time visit. Will return. Friday night visit. Seated promptly and prior to actual reservation time. Attentive staff. Loud, difficult to hear server or each other. Multiple appetizers and steak and seafood entrees, all served promptly, at the appropriate temperature, CRABCAKE was awesome!! Parking was difficult. Special note to restaurant made via opentable was either not received or ignored, but really did not distract from overall visit. Good value and appropriately priced.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was great , food was very good a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was great , food was very good and would recommend if you live nearby . I don't think I'd travel 50 miles again for it though but if I was in the neighborhood I'd go back .

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have eaten dinner with my family acros ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I have eaten dinner with my family across the country for many years and we have come to one conclusion . Jimmys is simply the best and most consistent for great food and service . As always we were greeted by the most professional staff . Not only the crab cakes which they are famous for but the pasta and steaks were outstanding . I am not the type of person to write a review but Jimmys staff and food is so outstanding I just had to let it be known . SIMPLY BLISS !!! Can't wait to return .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Jimmys for crabs with some fr ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We went to Jimmys for crabs with some friends. We got the jumbos which were pricey but they were the best crabs I ever had!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

20% tip

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

They automatically apply a 20% tip no matter size of your party and we were only 2. The servings are large. Nearly everyone we saw had to-go bag. May give it another chance but did not find it to be that good for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The restaurant reminded me of a diner.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The menu was of the laminated sort. Because the ambiance and location were not pleasant, it affected the food experience. To me, this was on the same level as Red Lobster. Very over rated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Love Jimmy's Famous Seafood. Best prime ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Love Jimmy's Famous Seafood. Best prime rib in Maryland

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, delicious food.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great service, delicious food. In fact these were the best crab cakes we've ever had and we've sampled some of the best over the years in Maryland. Reni our waitress made us feel very welcome on our first visit to this restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Magnificent Megan

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The Meal was everything Diners, Dives and Drive Thru said it would "5 star". Great ambiance, our group of 10 ranged in age (12-61) we all enjoyed the experience. Our server ( Megan) was amazing!! She represented the staff well. I have spent 3 days talking up her service as the " icing on a well made cake. Personable, attentive, energetic and good knowledge of the menu.

We will be back!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorial Day with my family and my sons ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Memorial Day with my family and my sons birthday . My family insists on Jimmys every time and I must say I do to . How can you not come to this restaurant . When you walk in they welcome you like you are a celebrity . The food is the best . Consistently great . Crab cakes that are like baseballs and no filler all crab . Steak and pasta , wow delicious ! You don't find servers that actually want you to enjoy yourself and get want you need anymore but at Jimmys they do . I must mention the manager he has the staff all together and is very real and sincere and caring when it comes to his customers ,the best . Thank you sir for a wonderful Memorial Day and birthday dinner I will ask for you when I return and how did you remember my name . Oh I can't forget to mention Ashlyn the bartender perfect lady .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great crab cake!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We ate in the dining area downstairs and it was really nice! Our server was awesome and our food turned out perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seafood was so fresh... The scallops ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The seafood was so fresh... The scallops were bomb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service off the beaten path!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The stuffed lobster and the pan fried soft shell crab were delicious. Super attentive staff, from the hostess to the waiter. And the value for the quality and portions was absolutely there. I have to admit that when we pulled up to the restaurant, the location seemed sketchy and the exterior left much to be desired. DON'T let that deter you! The minute we walked in, we found it to be an inviting atmosphere with excellent service and the food was delicious! Clearly a local favorite for many, off the beaten path...but worth going!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Jimmies Seafood was awesome!

 
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Went down to Baltimore with my daughter and grandson for a road trip to the Harbor and decided to try out Jimmies because I saw an episode last year on Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives, on the food network so I wanted to see if the crab cakes were really as good as they said they were. They were Awesome!!!! The manager came out and talked to everyone at each table, I really appreciated that because it made us feel like they really appreciated us coming out to the restaurant. I'm planning to go back in August or September!!!! Was a great road trip!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I read the reviews, saw the episode of d ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I read the reviews, saw the episode of diners, drive ins and dives but the crab cakes far exceeded my expectations! I loved everything I ordered (crab toast and broiled seafood combo) my mother ordered the steak and caked and the steak was under cooked but we would definitely come back next time we are in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Crab Cakes!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The crab cakes were soooo good. The portions are generous, I ate leftovers for 2 days. When in the area, I'd definitely check out Jimmy's Famous Seafood again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Dissatified again

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I wrote a review about my bad experience on April 8,2016. In that review I mentioned that the manger gave me his card, told me to make sure I called him on my next visit he would make up for my bad experience of April 8, 2016. I made my reservation, approximately and hour or so before my reservation time, I receive a call that the dining room was being used for a private party and if I would mind being seated in the upstairs lounge. My reservation was for 4. I said sure. I called the general manager Kenny to inform him that I had a reservation for 4 at 6:30. He said great I will alert my nephew, Garrett that you are coming and I will make sure he takes care of you. I promise your steak will be cooked to perfection. When I arrived at the restaurant and gave the hostess my name, she replied oh yes Ms. Brown. Kenny told us you were coming in, he's here but he's busy right now. She personally took us upstairs and introduced us to Garrett who had a high top reserved in my name. 2 of us in the party order the $38.00 Tbone ( medium well). They both came about well-well done. We talked to Garrett his reply, yes those are certainly not medium well. He said I will get you 2 new ones. They came back the same. As I was leaving I ran into the Kenny the general manage, again I let him know that i was not satisfied with the way my steak was prepared again. He said you should never order a steak medium well, there is not such thing. I disagree, anyway he said the next time I come to make my reservation personally with him. Yeah right, for what so he can escort me to the upstairs lounge via the employee entrance. That was the only perk we got for mentioning his name. I won't be going back. Steak is one of my favorite dishes, if I can ask for my steak medium well at an high end restaurant like Fleming's and it's cooked to perfection. Don't tell me that there is no such thing as a medium well steak. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

After I made reservations on Open Table ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

After I made reservations on Open Table I called and was told that there was a dress code. I was ok with that because we were celebrating our 6th wedding anniversary. When we arrive for a 6 pm reservation we were told that the dining room was closed until 7, we were being moved to another location. The lady said it was the same food and service and that it was a nice area. We followed her back outside, in the rain, up a steep staircase, in high heels and a dress, to a bar!! Then she tried to sit us at the bar. There was a place card set at the bar with our last name on it. I immediately became upset. I kindly explained that we did not drive from South Jersey and get dressed up for this. It's bad enough that we have to sit in the bar, now you think I'm going to sit at the bar!? At this point we were moved to a stand alone table against the wall of the bar. I was very unhappy about this. The food was outstanding. The bartender was very nice and the drinks were yummy. But unfortunately this is the first anniversary where we don't have a romantic pics of us sitting at a dinner table.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

This was not my best experience at Jimmy ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This was not my best experience at Jimmy's. The food was very tasty and the wait staff was very friendly but somewhat overwhelmed. I made reservations via OpenTable for a birthday celebration two weeks in advance but was called by the restaurant the day before and told the dining hall was previously booked for a private party but my party could be accommodated at the bar. Since it was too late to change our plans, I agreed. We were seated in a very loud bar area with no menus and a setting for six, instead of seven. It was a long wait to order our food and one in the party received his entree much later than the rest of the group. Thankfully, everyone enjoyed their food and the friendliness of the staff made this visit more tolerable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Definitely a good place to go if you lov ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Definitely a good place to go if you love seafood! My dad really enjoyed the crab cakes, he especially loved that they were all crab and no breadcrumb filler. Sides are shareable.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Crab toast is utterly delicious

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Crab toast is utterly delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The best seafood combo dinner in the Bal ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The best seafood combo dinner in the Baltimore area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Loved it!

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

I brought two business clients from Tennessee for some great seafood and was not disappointed. Be careful that your eyes are not larger than your stomach. A tremendous value for the price. The portions are large and delicious. Crab cakes larger than a baseball. Side order portions more than large enough to share with 2-3 others. Everyone in my party of six loved their meals. I'd recommend Jimmy's in a minute!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food and service ! This restauran ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Great food and service ! This restaurant knows how to make you feel at home . Food is awesome . My choice when I dine in Baltimore .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Continued Customer

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

When we were first seated we were forgotten about, So i went to the front to get help. Then we were paired with a waitress by the name of Becky, she was very pleasant and made the visit great. The food was wonderful as always. I visit Jimmys alot, and I have definitely told many people about this place. I'm not a big fan of mixed vegetables but, the dish that was served on Sunday with your crab cake meal was excellent. Seasoned very well. My visit to Jimmys for mothers day was very nice.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

The food is good, but far and away the m ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is good, but far and away the most outstanding part of our dining experience was the crab cakes. Possibly the best crab cakes Inhave had anywhere. They serve two very large snowball size cakes. On Mother's day 2016, the price was $34 for the crab cake dinner.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.