About Jimmy's Famous Seafood

6526 Holabird Ave.
Baltimore, MD 21224
View Larger Map

Since 1974, Jimmy's has exhibited a commitment to excellence in the restaurant industry second to none. Although made famous for our award-winning seafood and steamed hard-shell crabs, our menu also includes various tastes from all over the world, such as grilled lamb chops, a montrous, savory prime rib, and barbecued baby back ribs. We have two seating areas - a casual, fun lounge and a beautiful dining room which is divided for those seeking to crack open some hot steamed crabs and those seeking intimacy. Seafood is flown in daily to ensure unrivaled freshness and to allow for new specials every evening!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 12:30am, Sunday: 2:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Dundalk Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 633-4040

Website:
http://www.jimmysfamousseafood.com/

Entertainment:
Jimmy's is a unique experience, with 5 different rooms, each with their own flair and ambiance! The 2nd level bar hosts live bands every Wednesday night, and DJs on Fridays and Saturdays! Please note that all reservations made via Open Table will be accommodated in the dining room, but you are more than welcome to join in on the fun!

Catering:
We have three separate private rooms for catering, hosting parties ranging from 20-250 guests. We specialize in crab feasts, company meeting and presentations, birthday parties, and holiday events. Check out our website or write to Katie@JimmysFamousSeafood.Com for complete details and pricing.

Parking Details:
120 parking spaces available, no charge, outdoors. Valet available on weekends, free of charge.

Executive Chef:
Tony Minadakis

Private Party Facilities:
Two banquet rooms available, holding up to 300 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Katie O'Connor: 4106334040x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

fish tacos
Steamed Maryland Blue Crabs
Cream of Crab Soup
Seafood Skins
Mussels Nirvana
loaded baked potato
Reeses Peanutbutter Cheesecake
1 1/4 lb. Whole Fresh Maine Lobster
Maui Calamari Salad
Mozzarella Sticks
Crabcake Potato Skins
Oysters Rockefeller
Stuffed Shrimp
Crab toast

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 2:00PM

Mon - Fri 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Jimmy's Famous Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Good for Groups (53)
Special Occasion (50)
Fit for Foodies (45)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Great for Lunch (29)
Romantic (22)
Hot Spot (19)
Kid-friendly (17)
Late-night Find (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Casual (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Family Style (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Fun (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Business Meals (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Seasonal (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Private Room (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Authentic (1)
Cozy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
Newest
908 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was a little slow, but this ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service was a little slow, but this could have been due to a large party celebrating a birthday at the time. The crab cakes and soft crabs we well done and tasty and my wife tells me that the flounder was good as well. I originally found the restaurant online after researching a photo of a milkshake I saw online. I really had my heart set on this milkshake, but they did not have the ingredients to make it the night I was there; we had to get chocolate cake instead. The overall value is good, very comparable to similar restaurants. I will probably go back at some time

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I always have a fabulous time at Jimmy's ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

I always have a fabulous time at Jimmy's. it is my number 1 place to eat crabs. The crabs always steamed to perfection. The service is impeccable. My girl, Rini is the gold standard by which all servers should be measured.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and customer service.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ir was good but nothing that special to ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Ir was good but nothing that special to remember. My husband's fish was rather dry but the crab balls were really good. It is more a family style restaurant but I can't imagine the noise level if the place is full. The service was quick and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

Jimmy's Seafood was very impressive. No ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Jimmy's Seafood was very impressive. Not expecting much when we pulled up the food my wife and I had was both high quality and big portions. The fries are among the best I have had in quiet awhile and the service was very attentive. Crab cakes are the special but the menu has lots of options. For the short drive from Baltimore this is one that is not to be missed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Justin was very attentive and pleasant. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Justin was very attentive and pleasant.

Calamari sushi roll was fabulous as are jimmys oysters, and 1/2 & 1/2 soup

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This wasv my second time going. I will b ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This wasv my second time going. I will be going again. My server was BRIAN. He great with all his suggestions. If you like calamari it is very good here. They are known for their crab cakes. They are good and portions are great. But for me Jerrys has better . Overall this is a great place for a meal . I am putting this on my list as a definite go-to spot. Can't back to try something different.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place. Crab cakes are the bes ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Love this place. Crab cakes are the best in Baltimore. They have amazing cocktails. Portions are huge, you always go home with leftovers. be sure to take home dessert too, oreo cheesecake is a must!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The food is always great and the streame ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food is always great and the streamed crabs were very tasty. Our server was very nice but new and didn't interact with us like other servers did at the surrounding tables. We had to ask another server to ask her to come to our table for drink refills The restaurant is very loud nothing to buffer the surrounding table conversations.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The food was very enjoyable. The service ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was very enjoyable. The service was impeccable. The young lady that waited on our table remembered that I mentioned that we were there to celebrate my girlfriend birthday. At the end of the course she brought her a coconut cake of her choosing and all the staff sang happy birthday. Simply Delightful!!! Very Sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an exceptional experience, great ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We had an exceptional experience, great food & drinks, OUTSTANDING SERVICE from Kaitlin which made for an unforgettable night.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went with a friend who is a transplan ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I went with a friend who is a transplant to Maryland and loves crab cakes. We both enjoyed ours. The servings are generous.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I travel interstate 95 through Baltimore ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

I travel interstate 95 through Baltimore twice a month and I just found a restaurant that can't be beat . I can't believe I have missed out eating here for four years . The management told me they have been serving their guest for 45 years . I won't go anywhere else again when I travel through Baltimore. The best food I have eaten . Huge crabcakes! To top it off it was the most courteous service . Good food and great service I'll be back .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great time for a birthday party. O ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Had a great time for a birthday party. Our server was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to Jimmy's many , many time ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We have been to Jimmy's many , many times, and have never had a complaint about anything there. However, we were there last night, and the waiter was not very good at his job. He took our orders, but when the food was delivered by another person, he brought out only one person's order of food. Then we trying to find our waiter for several minutes, to no avail. Finally, my wife summoned another waiter over, and told him about the error and he got the situation straightened out. Then the original waiter brought the rest of our order to the table.

I would have expected that our original waiter would have said something to us about how he goofed when he put the order in at the kitchen, and that he was sorry about the mix-up. He said nothing. Unless this was his first day on the job, it is inexcusable.

The food was o.k., but our experience was not !!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

This restaurant is exceptional! Some of ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This restaurant is exceptional! Some of the best food and service on the East Coast. Will definitely be going back whenever we're in Baltimore!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to eat food was excellent c ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great place to eat food was excellent crab stuffed lobster was very good👍🏻

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Greek salad is the best in town. Cr ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The Greek salad is the best in town. Crabs were really outstand and Renee our server was excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

If you want to be feel like someone ap ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

If you want to be feel like someone appreciates you and wants you to really enjoy your evening . If you want to have the best crab cake on earth . If you want to be surrounded by a family oriented restaurant and really personal service then you must try this restaurant because I just experienced all of the above and more . I am so happy my friend told me about Jimmys . I will bring my family back every chance I get .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jimmy's is such a neighborhood favorite ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Jimmy's is such a neighborhood favorite and I really want to like it. The food is very hit or miss; my boyfriend loved the crab soup but his crab legs were so over cooked he only ate half, and my oysters were very small and inexpertly shucked, but my scallop entrée was delicious. Combined with the very loud acoustics and extremely uncomfortable chairs, I just don't think we'll go back. But I think it's the kind of place you have to try and decide for yourself, so give it a try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Drinks where very bad!!!! They would not ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Drinks where very bad!!!! They would not take them back because it was a speciality drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a great dinner. Waiter forgot t ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Overall a great dinner. Waiter forgot to bring the sides for our meal but otherwise he was efficient and the remodeled dining room was beautiful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I don't usually write about my experienc ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I don't usually write about my experience at a restaurant but I was so excited about this restaurant I couldn't help myself . I must say I was impressed with they way I was welcomed and taken to my table . The crab cakes were just enormous and had so much crabmeat and no filler . Steak to die for . New York strip that was cooked perfect . On top of all this my waiter was just so professional with out being overbearing . He was there when we needed him . There are very few if any restaurants like Jimmys . We will be back .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter Justin, was the best. He was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Our waiter Justin, was the best. He was very efficient, friendly and personable. Justin would stop back to our table quite often to make sure everything was ok. I would request to sit in his area on my next visit. The food was exceptional and the serving portion was over and above. Everyone, from very professional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went we saw it on Diners Drive in and Di ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Went we saw it on Diners Drive in and Dives. Lucked up it was week. Will go back to try regular menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The appetizing Entrée and dessert was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The appetizing Entrée and dessert was delicious although the service could have been better over all done I was good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

My wife and I were here for our date nig ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My wife and I were here for our date night. We were not impressed with the food. It did not live up to its reputation. We were very disappointed!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was really good but what most i ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food was really good but what most impressed me was the service. It's been a very long time since I have experienced a waiter that actually stayed on top of their guest and a welcome and thank you from the management . This type of service makes me want to come back . Great food great service you don't find like they have at Jimmys anywhere else . I can't wait to come back when I am in town . Baltimore you are fortunate to have such a nice restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I went for restaurant week and the food ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I went for restaurant week and the food didn't seem as good as I remembered however the waiter gets an A+ and was very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Food was very average except for crab ca ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was very average except for crab cakes and scallops. They were excellent. Recently remodeled and lost its old style charm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Our experience was excellent! The serve ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our experience was excellent! The servers were prompt and polite. The food was outstanding. Very big portions and very tasty. Great value. Will go again.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit to Jimmy's. Heard about ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our first visit to Jimmy's. Heard about and have driven by, but Restaurant Week" tempted us in.

The reviews we read in advance talked about good food but many indicated lousy service.

That was a real potential put off, but we have it a shot. Service isn't lousy, isn't great either, waitress MIA from time to time but the food arrived and it was good.

Portion sizes were big, but given the prices, I suppose that's good. Restaurant week menu only, and we don't typically order dessert, but we were paying for it ( one price, three courses ) so it was brought - and taken on home. I would have far preferred an ala carte menu- but we were locked in.

The crab cake was ok, jumbo fried shrimp very pedestrian and a bit shy of jumbo, scallops were good. Vegetable came (chunks of squash and zucchini) and is was Luke warm and has bread chunks? Or some other non veg filler. Not

So we had a decent meal with fair service, pushing $100 for two - no alcohol - which was IMHO a bit pricey for what we got.

The main room has very attractive decor but boy was it noisy - again for "upscale" that was a turn off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I had visiting here once prior. This ti ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I had visiting here once prior. This time it was restaurant week. So we took the family. I loved it again. My husband couldn't stop raving about it. We are already planning our next visit so we took a menu home. There are so many great things on the menu. We have tried a lot of items and they have all been great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

WOW!!! The food was spectacular and the ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

WOW!!! The food was spectacular and the service was great!!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was delicious. our waiter justi ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

the food was delicious. our waiter justin was terrific. he was very attentive and even suggested alternate choices that turned out to be better. he made sure we weren't rushed even though it was restaurant week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

We were there based upon review from Din ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were there based upon review from Diners, Drive In and Dives

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Truly enjoy the food, the drop nod, and ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Truly enjoy the food, the drop nod, and the atmosphere. Jimmy's definitely not overrated and worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jimmy's is one of my favorite places to ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Jimmy's is one of my favorite places to eat in Baltimore-period! I love the friendly staff that gets to know you by name, but never makes you feel bad about being a regular. I began coming for happy hour (which is really awesome), graduated into actual dinner, and then the food truck began coming to my job! The food is always just as great as I remembered for the previous visit. I come to Happy Hour with girlfriends and reserve dinner with my Mom. I also think the celebrity photos are a really nice touch. More people should know about Jimmy's! It is a really great place to just hang out or dress up for a romantic dinner/special occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Noisy environment with poor service. Ou ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Noisy environment with poor service. Our waiter took our menus off the table before we could order. We said we need the menu to select our order. As we were taking our first bit of our appetizer our main course was being served not to mention that the server held hot cream if crab soup directly over an eight year old child head a face until I said please move that before an accident happens. Since our main course couldn't be held in the kitchen it was cold once we began to eat it. Everyone didn't have silverware and it took 10 minutes for the server to come back. It was my husband's birthday, and he order the reeces peanut butter cheese cake. It DIDN'T have the toppings on it and the server told him it us the same thing just without a peanut butter cup, she basically told my husband just eat what I gave you, because even after he said this Isn't what I asked for she never changed it out.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

Two words, Chicken Chesapeake. It will ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Two words, Chicken Chesapeake. It will change your life.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.