About Jimmy's Famous Seafood

6526 Holabird Ave.
Baltimore, MD 21224
View Larger Map

Since 1974, Jimmy's has exhibited a commitment to excellence in the restaurant industry second to none. Although made famous for our award-winning seafood and steamed hard-shell crabs, our menu also includes various tastes from all over the world, such as grilled lamb chops, a montrous, savory prime rib, and barbecued baby back ribs. We have two seating areas - a casual, fun lounge and a beautiful dining room which is divided for those seeking to crack open some hot steamed crabs and those seeking intimacy. Seafood is flown in daily to ensure unrivaled freshness and to allow for new specials every evening!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 12:30am, Sunday: 2:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Dundalk Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 633-4040

Website:
http://www.jimmysfamousseafood.com/

Entertainment:
Jimmy's is a unique experience, with 5 different rooms, each with their own flair and ambiance! The 2nd level bar hosts live bands every Wednesday night, and DJs on Fridays and Saturdays! Please note that all reservations made via Open Table will be accommodated in the dining room, but you are more than welcome to join in on the fun!

Catering:
We have three separate private rooms for catering, hosting parties ranging from 20-250 guests. We specialize in crab feasts, company meeting and presentations, birthday parties, and holiday events. Check out our website or write to Katie@JimmysFamousSeafood.Com for complete details and pricing.

Parking Details:
120 parking spaces available, no charge, outdoors. Valet available on weekends, free of charge.

Executive Chef:
Tony Minadakis

Private Party Facilities:
Two banquet rooms available, holding up to 300 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Katie O'Connor: 4106334040x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Mozzarella Sticks
fish tacos
Steamed Maryland Blue Crabs
Cream of Crab Soup
Seafood Skins
loaded baked potato
Mussels Nirvana
1 1/4 lb. Whole Fresh Maine Lobster
Maui Calamari Salad
Reeses Peanutbutter Cheesecake
Crab toast
Crabcake Potato Skins
Oysters Rockefeller
Stuffed Shrimp

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 2:00PM

Mon - Fri 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Jimmy's Famous Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Baltimore / Maryland
Seafood
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

good for groups (58)
special occasion (48)
fit for foodies (42)
See All
neighborhood gem (30)
great for lunch (27)
kid-friendly (19)
hot spot (16)
romantic (13)
great for brunch (11)
late-night find (9)
vibrant bar scene (9)
notable wine list (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
838 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wife's birthday celebration. First time ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Wife's birthday celebration. First time visit. Will return. Friday night visit. Seated promptly and prior to actual reservation time. Attentive staff. Loud, difficult to hear server or each other. Multiple appetizers and steak and seafood entrees, all served promptly, at the appropriate temperature, CRABCAKE was awesome!! Parking was difficult. Special note to restaurant made via opentable was either not received or ignored, but really did not distract from overall visit. Good value and appropriately priced.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was great , food was very good a ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was great , food was very good and would recommend if you live nearby . I don't think I'd travel 50 miles again for it though but if I was in the neighborhood I'd go back .

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I have eaten dinner with my family acros ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I have eaten dinner with my family across the country for many years and we have come to one conclusion . Jimmys is simply the best and most consistent for great food and service . As always we were greeted by the most professional staff . Not only the crab cakes which they are famous for but the pasta and steaks were outstanding . I am not the type of person to write a review but Jimmys staff and food is so outstanding I just had to let it be known . SIMPLY BLISS !!! Can't wait to return .

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We went to Jimmys for crabs with some fr ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We went to Jimmys for crabs with some friends. We got the jumbos which were pricey but they were the best crabs I ever had!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

20% tip

Dined on June 11, 2016

They automatically apply a 20% tip no matter size of your party and we were only 2. The servings are large. Nearly everyone we saw had to-go bag. May give it another chance but did not find it to be that good for the price.

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The restaurant reminded me of a diner.

Dined on June 6, 2016

The menu was of the laminated sort. Because the ambiance and location were not pleasant, it affected the food experience. To me, this was on the same level as Red Lobster. Very over rated.

food5
ambience5
service5

Love Jimmy's Famous Seafood. Best prime ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Love Jimmy's Famous Seafood. Best prime rib in Maryland

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, delicious food.

Dined on June 4, 2016

Great service, delicious food. In fact these were the best crab cakes we've ever had and we've sampled some of the best over the years in Maryland. Reni our waitress made us feel very welcome on our first visit to this restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magnificent Megan

Dined on June 3, 2016

The Meal was everything Diners, Dives and Drive Thru said it would "5 star". Great ambiance, our group of 10 ranged in age (12-61) we all enjoyed the experience. Our server ( Megan) was amazing!! She represented the staff well. I have spent 3 days talking up her service as the " icing on a well made cake. Personable, attentive, energetic and good knowledge of the menu. We will be back!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Memorial Day with my family and my sons ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Memorial Day with my family and my sons birthday . My family insists on Jimmys every time and I must say I do to . How can you not come to this restaurant . When you walk in they welcome you like you are a celebrity . The food is the best . Consistently great . Crab cakes that are like baseballs and no filler all crab . Steak and pasta , wow delicious ! You don't find servers that actually want you to enjoy yourself and get want you need anymore but at Jimmys they do . I must mention the manager he has the staff all together and is very real and sincere and caring when it comes to his customers ,the best . Thank you sir for a wonderful Memorial Day and birthday dinner I will ask for you when I return and how did you remember my name . Oh I can't forget to mention Ashlyn the bartender perfect lady .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great crab cake!

Dined on May 29, 2016

We ate in the dining area downstairs and it was really nice! Our server was awesome and our food turned out perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The seafood was so fresh... The scallops ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The seafood was so fresh... The scallops were bomb.

food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Great food and service off the beaten path!

Dined on May 29, 2016

The stuffed lobster and the pan fried soft shell crab were delicious. Super attentive staff, from the hostess to the waiter. And the value for the quality and portions was absolutely there. I have to admit that when we pulled up to the restaurant, the location seemed sketchy and the exterior left much to be desired. DON'T let that deter you! The minute we walked in, we found it to be an inviting atmosphere with excellent service and the food was delicious! Clearly a local favorite for many, off the beaten path...but worth going!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jimmies Seafood was awesome!

Dined on May 28, 2016

Went down to Baltimore with my daughter and grandson for a road trip to the Harbor and decided to try out Jimmies because I saw an episode last year on Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives, on the food network so I wanted to see if the crab cakes were really as good as they said they were. They were Awesome!!!! The manager came out and talked to everyone at each table, I really appreciated that because it made us feel like they really appreciated us coming out to the restaurant. I'm planning to go back in August or September!!!! Was a great road trip!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

I read the reviews, saw the episode of d ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I read the reviews, saw the episode of diners, drive ins and dives but the crab cakes far exceeded my expectations! I loved everything I ordered (crab toast and broiled seafood combo) my mother ordered the steak and caked and the steak was under cooked but we would definitely come back next time we are in the area.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Crab Cakes!

Dined on May 22, 2016

The crab cakes were soooo good. The portions are generous, I ate leftovers for 2 days. When in the area, I'd definitely check out Jimmy's Famous Seafood again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Dissatified again

Dined on May 21, 2016

I wrote a review about my bad experience on April 8,2016. In that review I mentioned that the manger gave me his card, told me to make sure I called him on my next visit he would make up for my bad experience of April 8, 2016. I made my reservation, approximately and hour or so before my reservation time, I receive a call that the dining room was being used for a private party and if I would mind being seated in the upstairs lounge. My reservation was for 4. I said sure. I called the general manager Kenny to inform him that I had a reservation for 4 at 6:30. He said great I will alert my nephew, Garrett that you are coming and I will make sure he takes care of you. I promise your steak will be cooked to perfection. When I arrived at the restaurant and gave the hostess my name, she replied oh yes Ms. Brown. Kenny told us you were coming in, he's here but he's busy right now. She personally took us upstairs and introduced us to Garrett who had a high top reserved in my name. 2 of us in the party order the $38.00 Tbone ( medium well). They both came about well-well done. We talked to Garrett his reply, yes those are certainly not medium well. He said I will get you 2 new ones. They came back the same. As I was leaving I ran into the Kenny the general manage, again I let him know that i was not satisfied with the way my steak was prepared again. He said you should never order a steak medium well, there is not such thing. I disagree, anyway he said the next time I come to make my reservation personally with him. Yeah right, for what so he can escort me to the upstairs lounge via the employee entrance. That was the only perk we got for mentioning his name. I won't be going back. Steak is one of my favorite dishes, if I can ask for my steak medium well at an high end restaurant like Fleming's and it's cooked to perfection. Don't tell me that there is no such thing as a medium well steak. Very disappointed.

food5
ambience1
service5
value5

After I made reservations on Open Table ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

After I made reservations on Open Table I called and was told that there was a dress code. I was ok with that because we were celebrating our 6th wedding anniversary. When we arrive for a 6 pm reservation we were told that the dining room was closed until 7, we were being moved to another location. The lady said it was the same food and service and that it was a nice area. We followed her back outside, in the rain, up a steep staircase, in high heels and a dress, to a bar!! Then she tried to sit us at the bar. There was a place card set at the bar with our last name on it. I immediately became upset. I kindly explained that we did not drive from South Jersey and get dressed up for this. It's bad enough that we have to sit in the bar, now you think I'm going to sit at the bar!? At this point we were moved to a stand alone table against the wall of the bar. I was very unhappy about this. The food was outstanding. The bartender was very nice and the drinks were yummy. But unfortunately this is the first anniversary where we don't have a romantic pics of us sitting at a dinner table.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service3

This was not my best experience at Jimmy ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

This was not my best experience at Jimmy's. The food was very tasty and the wait staff was very friendly but somewhat overwhelmed. I made reservations via OpenTable for a birthday celebration two weeks in advance but was called by the restaurant the day before and told the dining hall was previously booked for a private party but my party could be accommodated at the bar. Since it was too late to change our plans, I agreed. We were seated in a very loud bar area with no menus and a setting for six, instead of seven. It was a long wait to order our food and one in the party received his entree much later than the rest of the group. Thankfully, everyone enjoyed their food and the friendliness of the staff made this visit more tolerable.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Definitely a good place to go if you lov ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Definitely a good place to go if you love seafood! My dad really enjoyed the crab cakes, he especially loved that they were all crab and no breadcrumb filler. Sides are shareable.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5

Crab toast is utterly delicious

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Crab toast is utterly delicious

food5
ambience4
service5

The best seafood combo dinner in the Bal ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The best seafood combo dinner in the Baltimore area.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Loved it!

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

I brought two business clients from Tennessee for some great seafood and was not disappointed. Be careful that your eyes are not larger than your stomach. A tremendous value for the price. The portions are large and delicious. Crab cakes larger than a baseball. Side order portions more than large enough to share with 2-3 others. Everyone in my party of six loved their meals. I'd recommend Jimmy's in a minute!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service ! This restauran ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great food and service ! This restaurant knows how to make you feel at home . Food is awesome . My choice when I dine in Baltimore .

food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Continued Customer

Dined on May 8, 2016

When we were first seated we were forgotten about, So i went to the front to get help. Then we were paired with a waitress by the name of Becky, she was very pleasant and made the visit great. The food was wonderful as always. I visit Jimmys alot, and I have definitely told many people about this place. I'm not a big fan of mixed vegetables but, the dish that was served on Sunday with your crab cake meal was excellent. Seasoned very well. My visit to Jimmys for mothers day was very nice.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food is good, but far and away the m ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is good, but far and away the most outstanding part of our dining experience was the crab cakes. Possibly the best crab cakes Inhave had anywhere. They serve two very large snowball size cakes. On Mother's day 2016, the price was $34 for the crab cake dinner.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Trip

Dined on May 8, 2016

I came to Jimmy's Famous Seafood to treat my mother for Mother's Day. I love this restaurant and I was excited to take her for her first time. I was disappointed with the Mother's Day menu because it lacked a lot of things. The food I ordered, did taste different than what it has in the past, but was still pretty yummy. I will come here on a day that isn't a holiday, therefore, I am not so limited. Jimmy's will forever be one of my favorites, this just wasn't an ideal day to go. The server was amazing! I forget his name :/

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Not planning to go back

Dined on May 8, 2016

Crab cakes were great. Rest of food was ok. Wrong order brought to table. Kind of loud and hard to have quiet conversation. Automatic service charge at $100 (which is not too hard to do with three meals an app and beverages). Did not see it. Informed management about some of problems and they chose to continue to debate rather than apologize for bringing wrong meal to my wife.

food5
ambience4
service2

Awesome sushi !!!

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Awesome sushi !!!

food5
ambience4
service4

Fabulous crab cakes

Dined on May 3, 2016

Fabulous crab cakes

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best Restaruant in Balitmore, MD

Dined on April 30, 2016

The taste, texture, smell and presentation of restaurant's food was excellent. The atmosphere, staff knowledge and attentiveness, the speed of service, the general impression of the restaurant was excellent. I definitely would returned to try more dishes.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

There is no place anywhere on earth that ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

There is no place anywhere on earth that has a better crab cake ! I travel everywhere across the states and when I come to Baltimore this is where I dine every night I am in town . I can honestly say I have never had a bad meal . My friend ate seafood ecstasy and there was enormous amounts of shrimp scallops and crabmeat throughout the dish . HEAVEN !!!! And you won't forget the service very friendly and in touch with each table . The management was at the table for every course . This guy made sure we were happy . Food and service at its best .

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Crab Cakes

Dined on April 24, 2016

The Crabcakes were AWESOME, the girl who took care of us was very nice, just took a little too long to get everything, almost two hours, but all in all I would recommend this place to anyone!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Best Crabcakes in Baltimore!

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We came here on a Saturday night with a party of 5. I made reservations through OpenTable which was really easy. Our table was ready as soon as we arrived. The chairs at our table were not comfortable at all (we were told the restaurant is remodeling so all the new furniture is not in place yet). I had a coconut martini during a previous visit and it was no longer on the menu, I asked if I could order one anyway, fortunately the bartender had the ingredients to make it and I was able to enjoy it. The other guests in my party enjoyed their drinks as well. We went with the crab dip appetizer and a dozen oysters. Jimmy's has the best crab dip in the area. We ordered a variety of entrees and have no complaints. Portions were huge, dinners were tasty and we all left full. We took dessert home. We love eating here and will be back again! My parents were in town visiting from Syracuse NY. They really enjoyed their meal and said that Jimmy's has the best crab cakes they have ever had.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was extremely helpful, taking ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The staff was extremely helpful, taking the time to explain about the history of jimmy's. He also answered any questions about sizing and portions. They definitely made the end of our trip to Baltimore a good one.

food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Well.....

Dined on April 15, 2016

We had friends from overseas and had lots of catching up to do. We were new to Baltimore and had eaten separately at other establishments the previous night specializing in crab cakes. A soon as we sat down at our table, it became apparent that conversation would be impossible due to the high noise level in the restaurant, so the social aspect of the meal was awkward. One of my guest ordered crab cakes, ate 1/2 of the two that were served and was done. She claimed to be too full from the previous night's eating binge and I believe it since I took her leftovers home and enjoyed them. My wife ordered the seafood Alfredo and enjoyed it very much. My other guest ordered the Scampi and left about half of it, but claimed it was good. Personally, I had enough crab cake the previous night and asked the waiter about the fried oysters. he raved about them and said that they were very large. Based on his recommendation I ordered them and, unfortunately, were some of the worst I had. They were big, but they were encased in a concrete like batter that contradicted most of my good experiences with fried oysters which had a light batter. I left most of them but took them home. They were no better when I gave them a second try there. Bottom line is that next time I would not order the fried oysters and would not go there for to have a conversation over dinner. Other than that, sure.

food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Birthday Celebration

Dined on April 4, 2016

Kenny was very kind and helpful...our waitress, not so much. The bathrooms are TINY and were not especially clean (not disgusting but didn't appear that they had been checked - stalls were entirely too narrow). The food was very good. Kenny checked on everyone's meal and when one person said they were not pleased with the lobster (too tough), he brought them a new one that was prepared perfectly. The "no multiple checks" policy is annoying too. It took us so much more time to figure out who had what, tax and tip (about 30 minutes) and the staff was ready to go home. Why not just split it and save the time. Time is money, right? Overall, I'd go back...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good crab cakes, plenty of lump crab meat.

Dined on April 2, 2016

I had the fried crab cake , while one of guests had broiled who thought it was a little burnt on outside but was okay inside. Other guest enjoyed brunch entrée, eggs benedict but she also thought her crab cakes were a little burnt on outside.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food & service was excellent . I got ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

The food & service was excellent . I got the duo with fried shrimp & broiled crab cake which was excellent .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and great atmosphere

Dined on March 27, 2016

This was our second visit to Jimmy's this year and the second time was just as good if not better than the first visit. Our first visit was during Restaurant Week and the offerings did not disappoint. Our second visit was for Easter dinner and the food was delicious and our server excellent. Planning our next visit for an anniversary celebration and can hardly wait!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.