Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.86mi
  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.86mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.86mi
  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.86mi

About Jimmy's Famous Seafood

Since 1974, Jimmy's has exhibited a commitment to excellence in the restaurant industry second to none. Although made famous for our award-winning seafood and steamed hard-shell crabs, our menu also includes various tastes from all over the world, such as grilled lamb chops, a montrous, savory prime rib, and barbecued baby back ribs. We have two seating areas - a casual, fun lounge and a beautiful dining room which is divided for those seeking to crack open some hot steamed crabs and those seeking intimacy. Seafood is flown in daily to ensure unrivaled freshness and to allow for new specials every evening!

6526 Holabird Ave.
Baltimore, MD 21224
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 12:30am, Sunday: 2:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Dundalk Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 633-4040

Website:
http://www.jimmysfamousseafood.com/

Entertainment:
Jimmy's is a unique experience, with 5 different rooms, each with their own flair and ambiance! The 2nd level bar hosts live bands every Wednesday night, and DJs on Fridays and Saturdays! Please note that all reservations made via Open Table will be accommodated in the dining room, but you are more than welcome to join in on the fun!

Catering:
We have three separate private rooms for catering, hosting parties ranging from 20-250 guests. We specialize in crab feasts, company meeting and presentations, birthday parties, and holiday events. Check out our website or write to Katie@JimmysFamousSeafood.Com for complete details and pricing.

Parking Details:
120 parking spaces available, no charge, outdoors. Valet available on weekends, free of charge.

Executive Chef:
Tony Minadakis

Private Party Facilities:
Jimmy’s Famous Seafood is perfect for bridal showers, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, retirement parties, holiday parties, and corporate events. We have two banquet rooms available holding up to 300 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Katie O'Connor: (410) 633-4040 ext. 210

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

$35 - Surf & Turf Night
$35 - Crab Night
$30 - Steak Night
$30 - Lobster & Pasta Night
Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

$35 - Surf & Turf Night
Details

Each menu includes choices for a first course, entree, and dessert

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service

Valid For: 1 - 6 People

Starts: April 21, 2017

Ends: October 21, 2017

Availability: Thu 3:00PM-11:00PM

$35 - Crab Night
Details

Each menu includes choices for a first course, entree, and dessert

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service

Valid For: 1 - 6 People

Starts: April 21, 2017

Ends: October 21, 2017

Availability: Wed 3:00PM-11:00PM

$30 - Steak Night
Details

Each menu includes choices for a first course, entree, and dessert.

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service, cannot be used with any other discount or special offer.

Valid For: 1 - 6 People

Starts: April 21, 2017

Ends: October 21, 2017

Availability: Tue 3:00PM-11:00PM

$30 - Lobster & Pasta Night
Details

Each menu includes choices for a first course, entree, and dessert

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service

Valid For: 1 - 6 People

Starts: April 21, 2017

Ends: October 21, 2017

Availability: Mon 3:00PM-11:00PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 1:30PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 6:30PM

Thu - Fri 1:30PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:30PM

Jimmy's Famous Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (48)
Casual (40)
Good for Groups (40)
See All
Good for a Date (36)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Special Occasion (31)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Romantic (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Fun (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Authentic (16)
Happy Hour (13)
Family Style (12)
Cozy (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Business Meals (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Notable Wine List (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Healthy (4)
Live Sports (4)
Great Beer (4)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Organic (2)
Waterfront (2)
Historic (2)
Spicy (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1158 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Waitress never came to table. Food order was wrong and cold served 4 meals all separately. No drink refills. They put sugar on top of creme brûlée but did not melt it so was nasty. They new meal was bad so they included tip in a meal for 2 adults and 3 kids.

Would not recommend or go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I took my dad out for father's day. Thankfully we had a reservation the place was packed. Our soups came a little late and the server upgraded them to bowls for us. Crab cake dinner was excellent never had a bad meal here. Always a great value for the money

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and service. Steak was cooked to perperfection itJust a little hot in there. My son is vegan there wad not much he could choose from.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Father's day

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Nothing much to share. Nice place food was decent. I drove an hour away to experience and quietly reserve the right to not indulge again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

The food here was top-notch. We had the prime rib with (crab) cake with garlic mash & the stuffed shrimp with asparagus. Everything was really yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

We had crabs and they were great. But, the noise level was terrible. I wish there was something they could do about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

So in love with the place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Pleasant visit for my wife's birthday. Our server was pleasant and accommodating. We appreciated that we were able to substitute oysters for more scallops in our combo dish. The cod was tasty and flaky. The shrimp were HUGE & delicious. Crab cakes were tasty as well. Crab wonton were ok. They looked great, however either the crab or the sauce had a little bit of a bitter taste. Otherwise the good was great! One thing we did notice is that while the gentleman manager seemed to go around checking on diners' experience, he bypassed minority diners. There were about 4 to 5 tables with minorities eating and he went to all other tables to chat.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We were made to wait while hostess and manager tried to figure out seating for group that arrived after we did. We were then sat we ordered shrimp cocktails for appertizers which the waitress spilled the cocktail sauce all over my husband and his seat. Staff did not even clean up area and the manager did not even make an appearance. She apologized but that was about it. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Came for soft crabs with same friends...it's become a tradition. Pretty good but there were three small crabs instead of the two whales as advertised.Might have ordered something else had we known. Waitress was good and attentive. My continued criticism is the noisy people placed near a couple or small group of adults that likes to have conversation. It is impossible to hear and it's annoying. I read this in other reviews as well. Perhaps owner/management should take this information and do something about it. Tell the hostess to put the large noisy crowds with unruly kids someplace where they won't bother others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Something new - Jimmy's automatically added a 18% gratuity for four people eating crabs. The server was very good and might have gotten 20%, but we weren't happy about the tip being included.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food was way too spicey for my taste, I prefer my steak to taste like steak and seafood to taste like seafood. Atmoshere was so so, way too noisy, couldn't even hear my wife sitting across from me. I have had steamed crabs here before and was a great experience.

Tags: Spicy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Neicy was our waitress/server and was awesome!! We will request her every time. I plan to bring my family and colleagues in the near future!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The food and service were great! The waitress was very attentive and courteous. The best mussels ever and crab cake was perfect. It was a celebration For my niece's high school graduation. Everyone enjoyed their food. The only reason I cannot give 5 stars is because there were some rowdy, drunken customers that were loud and kept dropping things that were there and killed the mood. I think management should have done more to address that situation. I will definitely go back. I just hope nothing like that occurs again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Food was great 👌🏽👌🏽👌🏽👌🏽👌🏽👌🏽👌🏽👌🏽👌🏽👌🏽👌🏽

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2017

came for Hard Shell crabs, was not told had to be in certain room at time of reservation or confirmation. The crab room was very loud for elderly, fortunately, we were to busy eating to talk!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We went for my husbands birthday, great food, great service, will definitely go again. Will request Sharon, she was AWESOME!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The cream of crab soup was delicious! And the jumbo steamed crabs ! Worth every dollor.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We very much enjoyed out lunch at Jimmy's. The crabcakes were divine! The service was very good and everyone enjoyed their meal. We got the sampler appetizer with crab balls, shrimp, scallops, and oysters. It had something for everyone to get the meal started. Perfect :)

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The cream of crab soup was so velvety delicious and the crab cakes were the best I've ever had!

We traveled from Alaska to try this place and it was so worth it!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Best crabs in town! Great service! Management remembered us from previous visit!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great Food! We had the stuffed shrimp and stuffed lobster. The waitress was nice and attentive to our needs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 27, 2017

First, the negatives: Despite our reservation, my wife and I were seated at a table for four. Our waitress was pleasant, but left us for extended periods of time. It was very busy, so he i'm sure that was why. However, you never want to feel neglected. In fact, our salads came out after our entrees.

The positives: 90% of our food was absolutely fabulous. The rest was good. Our crab dip appetizer was the best I've had anywhere. I has the steak and crab cake dinner. Crab cake was chock full off lump crab meat. The NY strip steak was tasty, seasoned well, but overdone - I asked for medium well, but it was well done - no pink, and a little dry. My wife ordered Alaskan crab legs with grilled asparagus. The crab legs were delicious, but a modest portion for the price. The asparagus was overdone, with little crunch. Overall, seafood dishes were excellent, but the non-seafood was sub-par.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This place is great! The food was amazing and the place was great, everyone was super friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great crabcakes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 26, 2017

First time there for my party of three. Had crab dip appetizer followed by the crab cakes and coleslaw. Super tasty and plenty to eat. Jimmy's amber ale was nice with the lunch. Definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Must do Crab Toast. If you eat nothing else crab in Baltimore you must have the toast. The Crab Cakes were incredible as well as the Crab Balls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We came for the happy hour and sat by the bar. Unfortunately the waitress was new who did not take our order correctly nor understand the menu very well. The food is fair but I do not think it is comparable to other restaurant in Baltimore nor by Food Network. The deal for happy hour is good but keep in mind - you got what you paid for...

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Sports, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Jimmy's oysters were outstanding. Everything we ordered was really good, from the side salads to the main course and sides. Returned in three weeks of having eaten there recently for the first time in about two years. Just wish Jimmy's was closer to Timonium.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Had a great time and a terrific meal. This place delivers on the promise. Totally recommend it. Great crab cakes!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Too bad theirs not a zero on here. This would have been my first eating at this establishment; however, my friends and I never got seated. I had a 1:30pm reservation but tried to modify to 3pm. The restaurant or OpenTable would not let me modify the reservation. I called the restaurant to change it but was told I couldn't modify the reservation. I made it there at 1pm but my friends got lost since they were from out of town. I negotiated holding the reservation until 2pm. I told them at 2pm my friends just went through the 95 tunnel thinking they would work with me. I was told they couldn't accommodation us. The manager told my friend that "he was not going to let her intimidate him!" The restaurant hostess and management was so rude. Recommended we sit at the bar with 4 minor children. We even requested to be split up, but the answer was still no. From their actions, they didnt want our business. The hostess submitted to OpenTable that I was a "No Show." Tell any lie to cover up your ignorant mentality. I dont plan on patronizing this establishment and I will not give a referral for anyone to eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Amazing, even with the filet well done. Was still exceptional.
Food excellent, service outstanding

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Welcome to Baltimore and the best local Chesapeake style.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The food was outstanding and delicious. The service not so much, I felt as if the staff was very overwhelmed with larger parties. I requested to add two additional people to my reservation and was told they were booked soild meanwhile for the 3.5 hours I was there multiple tables went untouched. The service was slow, we were seated about an hour before our entree order was taken, that was due to a child in the party asking if she was going to get to eat. I would give them another try other day before making a final decision.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was excellent. The food came out fast within 15 mins of order. Will definitely go back

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We wanted variety of side. My mom dont like the sides.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had a great meal for Mother's Day! Mom was very happy!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went on Mother's Day. Excellent food and service, not too crowded, seated as soon as we arrived. The only complaint was that there was a special menu for Mother's Day, so it was a smaller selection of items compared to the regular menu.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

BEST CRABS I've had. Well seasoned, heavy, reasonable and excellent service/server. Cream of Crab soup was primo. Didn't feel rushed, busy atmosphere but staff was relaxed and handled it well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.