About Jimmy's Famous Seafood

6526 Holabird Ave.
Baltimore, MD 21224
View Larger Map

Since 1974, Jimmy's has exhibited a commitment to excellence in the restaurant industry second to none. Although made famous for our award-winning seafood and steamed hard-shell crabs, our menu also includes various tastes from all over the world, such as grilled lamb chops, a montrous, savory prime rib, and barbecued baby back ribs. We have two seating areas - a casual, fun lounge and a beautiful dining room which is divided for those seeking to crack open some hot steamed crabs and those seeking intimacy. Seafood is flown in daily to ensure unrivaled freshness and to allow for new specials every evening!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 12:30am, Sunday: 2:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Dundalk Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 633-4040

Website:
http://www.jimmysfamousseafood.com/

Entertainment:
Jimmy's is a unique experience, with 5 different rooms, each with their own flair and ambiance! The 2nd level bar hosts live bands every Wednesday night, and DJs on Fridays and Saturdays! Please note that all reservations made via Open Table will be accommodated in the dining room, but you are more than welcome to join in on the fun!

Catering:
We have three separate private rooms for catering, hosting parties ranging from 20-250 guests. We specialize in crab feasts, company meeting and presentations, birthday parties, and holiday events. Check out our website or write to Katie@JimmysFamousSeafood.Com for complete details and pricing.

Parking Details:
120 parking spaces available, no charge, outdoors. Valet available on weekends, free of charge.

Executive Chef:
Tony Minadakis

Private Party Facilities:
Two banquet rooms available, holding up to 300 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Katie O'Connor: 4106334040x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 2:00PM

Mon - Fri 2:00PM - 3:45PM 2:00PM - 6:00PM 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Jimmy's Famous Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Baltimore / Maryland
Seafood
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

good for groups (72)
special occasion (61)
fit for foodies (49)
See All
neighborhood gem (41)
great for lunch (40)
kid-friendly (24)
romantic (23)
hot spot (22)
late-night find (21)
great for brunch (20)
vibrant bar scene (11)
notable wine list (8)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
822 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

I read the reviews, saw the episode of d ...

Dined 4 days ago

I read the reviews, saw the episode of diners, drive ins and dives but the crab cakes far exceeded my expectations! I loved everything I ordered (crab toast and broiled seafood combo) my mother ordered the steak and caked and the steak was under cooked but we would definitely come back next time we are in the area.

food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Dissatified again

Dined 5 days ago

I wrote a review about my bad experience on April 8,2016. In that review I mentioned that the manger gave me his card, told me to make sure I called him on my next visit he would make up for my bad experience of April 8, 2016. I made my reservation, approximately and hour or so before my reservation time, I receive a call that the dining room was being used for a private party and if I would mind being seated in the upstairs lounge. My reservation was for 4. I said sure. I called the general manager Kenny to inform him that I had a reservation for 4 at 6:30. He said great I will alert my nephew, Garrett that you are coming and I will make sure he takes care of you. I promise your steak will be cooked to perfection. When I arrived at the restaurant and gave the hostess my name, she replied oh yes Ms. Brown. Kenny told us you were coming in, he's here but he's busy right now. She personally took us upstairs and introduced us to Garrett who had a high top reserved in my name. 2 of us in the party order the $38.00 Tbone ( medium well). They both came about well-well done. We talked to Garrett his reply, yes those are certainly not medium well. He said I will get you 2 new ones. They came back the same. As I was leaving I ran into the Kenny the general manage, again I let him know that i was not satisfied with the way my steak was prepared again. He said you should never order a steak medium well, there is not such thing. I disagree, anyway he said the next time I come to make my reservation personally with him. Yeah right, for what so he can escort me to the upstairs lounge via the employee entrance. That was the only perk we got for mentioning his name. I won't be going back. Steak is one of my favorite dishes, if I can ask for my steak medium well at an high end restaurant like Fleming's and it's cooked to perfection. Don't tell me that there is no such thing as a medium well steak. Very disappointed.

food4
ambience2
service3

This was not my best experience at Jimmy ...

Dined 5 days ago

This was not my best experience at Jimmy's. The food was very tasty and the wait staff was very friendly but somewhat overwhelmed. I made reservations via OpenTable for a birthday celebration two weeks in advance but was called by the restaurant the day before and told the dining hall was previously booked for a private party but my party could be accommodated at the bar. Since it was too late to change our plans, I agreed. We were seated in a very loud bar area with no menus and a setting for six, instead of seven. It was a long wait to order our food and one in the party received his entree much later than the rest of the group. Thankfully, everyone enjoyed their food and the friendliness of the staff made this visit more tolerable.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Definitely a good place to go if you lov ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Definitely a good place to go if you love seafood! My dad really enjoyed the crab cakes, he especially loved that they were all crab and no breadcrumb filler. Sides are shareable.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5

Crab toast is utterly delicious

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Crab toast is utterly delicious

food5
ambience4
service5

The best seafood combo dinner in the Bal ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The best seafood combo dinner in the Baltimore area.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Loved it!

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

I brought two business clients from Tennessee for some great seafood and was not disappointed. Be careful that your eyes are not larger than your stomach. A tremendous value for the price. The portions are large and delicious. Crab cakes larger than a baseball. Side order portions more than large enough to share with 2-3 others. Everyone in my party of six loved their meals. I'd recommend Jimmy's in a minute!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service ! This restauran ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great food and service ! This restaurant knows how to make you feel at home . Food is awesome . My choice when I dine in Baltimore .

food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Continued Customer

Dined on May 8, 2016

When we were first seated we were forgotten about, So i went to the front to get help. Then we were paired with a waitress by the name of Becky, she was very pleasant and made the visit great. The food was wonderful as always. I visit Jimmys alot, and I have definitely told many people about this place. I'm not a big fan of mixed vegetables but, the dish that was served on Sunday with your crab cake meal was excellent. Seasoned very well. My visit to Jimmys for mothers day was very nice.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food is good, but far and away the m ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is good, but far and away the most outstanding part of our dining experience was the crab cakes. Possibly the best crab cakes Inhave had anywhere. They serve two very large snowball size cakes. On Mother's day 2016, the price was $34 for the crab cake dinner.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Trip

Dined on May 8, 2016

I came to Jimmy's Famous Seafood to treat my mother for Mother's Day. I love this restaurant and I was excited to take her for her first time. I was disappointed with the Mother's Day menu because it lacked a lot of things. The food I ordered, did taste different than what it has in the past, but was still pretty yummy. I will come here on a day that isn't a holiday, therefore, I am not so limited. Jimmy's will forever be one of my favorites, this just wasn't an ideal day to go. The server was amazing! I forget his name :/

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Not planning to go back

Dined on May 8, 2016

Crab cakes were great. Rest of food was ok. Wrong order brought to table. Kind of loud and hard to have quiet conversation. Automatic service charge at $100 (which is not too hard to do with three meals an app and beverages). Did not see it. Informed management about some of problems and they chose to continue to debate rather than apologize for bringing wrong meal to my wife.

food5
ambience4
service2

Awesome sushi !!!

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Awesome sushi !!!

food5
ambience4
service4

Fabulous crab cakes

Dined on May 3, 2016

Fabulous crab cakes

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best Restaruant in Balitmore, MD

Dined on April 30, 2016

The taste, texture, smell and presentation of restaurant's food was excellent. The atmosphere, staff knowledge and attentiveness, the speed of service, the general impression of the restaurant was excellent. I definitely would returned to try more dishes.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

There is no place anywhere on earth that ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

There is no place anywhere on earth that has a better crab cake ! I travel everywhere across the states and when I come to Baltimore this is where I dine every night I am in town . I can honestly say I have never had a bad meal . My friend ate seafood ecstasy and there was enormous amounts of shrimp scallops and crabmeat throughout the dish . HEAVEN !!!! And you won't forget the service very friendly and in touch with each table . The management was at the table for every course . This guy made sure we were happy . Food and service at its best .

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Crab Cakes

Dined on April 24, 2016

The Crabcakes were AWESOME, the girl who took care of us was very nice, just took a little too long to get everything, almost two hours, but all in all I would recommend this place to anyone!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Best Crabcakes in Baltimore!

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We came here on a Saturday night with a party of 5. I made reservations through OpenTable which was really easy. Our table was ready as soon as we arrived. The chairs at our table were not comfortable at all (we were told the restaurant is remodeling so all the new furniture is not in place yet). I had a coconut martini during a previous visit and it was no longer on the menu, I asked if I could order one anyway, fortunately the bartender had the ingredients to make it and I was able to enjoy it. The other guests in my party enjoyed their drinks as well. We went with the crab dip appetizer and a dozen oysters. Jimmy's has the best crab dip in the area. We ordered a variety of entrees and have no complaints. Portions were huge, dinners were tasty and we all left full. We took dessert home. We love eating here and will be back again! My parents were in town visiting from Syracuse NY. They really enjoyed their meal and said that Jimmy's has the best crab cakes they have ever had.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was extremely helpful, taking ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The staff was extremely helpful, taking the time to explain about the history of jimmy's. He also answered any questions about sizing and portions. They definitely made the end of our trip to Baltimore a good one.

food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Well.....

Dined on April 15, 2016

We had friends from overseas and had lots of catching up to do. We were new to Baltimore and had eaten separately at other establishments the previous night specializing in crab cakes. A soon as we sat down at our table, it became apparent that conversation would be impossible due to the high noise level in the restaurant, so the social aspect of the meal was awkward. One of my guest ordered crab cakes, ate 1/2 of the two that were served and was done. She claimed to be too full from the previous night's eating binge and I believe it since I took her leftovers home and enjoyed them. My wife ordered the seafood Alfredo and enjoyed it very much. My other guest ordered the Scampi and left about half of it, but claimed it was good. Personally, I had enough crab cake the previous night and asked the waiter about the fried oysters. he raved about them and said that they were very large. Based on his recommendation I ordered them and, unfortunately, were some of the worst I had. They were big, but they were encased in a concrete like batter that contradicted most of my good experiences with fried oysters which had a light batter. I left most of them but took them home. They were no better when I gave them a second try there. Bottom line is that next time I would not order the fried oysters and would not go there for to have a conversation over dinner. Other than that, sure.

food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Birthday Celebration

Dined on April 4, 2016

Kenny was very kind and helpful...our waitress, not so much. The bathrooms are TINY and were not especially clean (not disgusting but didn't appear that they had been checked - stalls were entirely too narrow). The food was very good. Kenny checked on everyone's meal and when one person said they were not pleased with the lobster (too tough), he brought them a new one that was prepared perfectly. The "no multiple checks" policy is annoying too. It took us so much more time to figure out who had what, tax and tip (about 30 minutes) and the staff was ready to go home. Why not just split it and save the time. Time is money, right? Overall, I'd go back...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good crab cakes, plenty of lump crab meat.

Dined on April 2, 2016

I had the fried crab cake , while one of guests had broiled who thought it was a little burnt on outside but was okay inside. Other guest enjoyed brunch entrée, eggs benedict but she also thought her crab cakes were a little burnt on outside.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food & service was excellent . I got ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

The food & service was excellent . I got the duo with fried shrimp & broiled crab cake which was excellent .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and great atmosphere

Dined on March 27, 2016

This was our second visit to Jimmy's this year and the second time was just as good if not better than the first visit. Our first visit was during Restaurant Week and the offerings did not disappoint. Our second visit was for Easter dinner and the food was delicious and our server excellent. Planning our next visit for an anniversary celebration and can hardly wait!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

If you want to taste the best food and w ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

If you want to taste the best food and wine this is the place for you . Why should I take my family anywhere else ? All my family took a vote and it was unanimous our family dinner place from now on is Jimmys . The staff is very friendly and they make sure you are satisfied. I honestly for the first time can say I had a perfect dining experience . You will see us again jimmy .

food4
ambience3
service4

Great food!

Dined on March 20, 2016

Great food!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food great service

Dined on March 15, 2016

Very good seafood, crab cakes, stuffed mushrooms, clams casino. Very good waiter named Alex, brought my check back after I over calculated the bill. The error would have been in his favor, but he brought it back and had me correct it. Kudos to him. All in all a great "neighborhood joint" and more. Would definitely go back for more

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

There is not a place on earth that I wou ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

There is not a place on earth that I would rather eat . Every time I come to Jimmys they treat me and my family so sincerely nice . The food and service is always at a high level . You can tell the management wants it to be perfect and it is . I can't believe the crab cakes are always huge and cooked perfectly and the steak melts in your mouth . Such great quality . Another great dining experience .

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great Food

Dined on March 4, 2016

We went on Surf and Turf night. The crab cakes were delicious. For $30 you picked Surf and Turf, plus a side and dessert. A great deal. We started with the crab dip appetizer which was creamy and perfectly tasty on the toasted bread. We did have to ask for more garlic toast, since there was much more dip then bread. For dessert I had the Creme Brulle, it was really good. Cooked just right and not overly sweet. The service was a little off. Our first waitress left abruptly due to an emergency and the replacement staff was good, but our food came out at different times and she was confused with the order. I'll chalk it up to being thrown another table.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome Food and great service.

Dined on February 28, 2016

Great for casual dinning! Large portions and great value

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant blew me away ! I was wel ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

This restaurant blew me away ! I was welcomed with open arms and seated immediately . The service was superb . I love a server that cares about everything and offers you all extra things with having to ask . The food was the best I have had and cooked perfectly . The management really took time to make sure you were happy . I know where I am going when I am in Baltimore . The best !

food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Our waitress was absolutely horrible.

Dined on February 20, 2016

Very inattentive, rude and unprofessional. We barely saw our waitress, she kept forgetting things and would take a very long time to check on us or even bring our order. Others that arrived after we did received their food before us.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food , great service ! They make y ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

Great food , great service ! They make you feel like you are appreciated and not just another person eating . I will go back just to be treated like a king again .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Service was quick and very good. The menu is extensive but since we went on Valentine's Day it was a set menu, which made choosing a lot easier. We both got the crab cakes - they were delicious!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

I would definitely recommend Jimmy's. Th ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

I would definitely recommend Jimmy's. The seafood and service was phenomenal. I can't wait until I'm in Baltimore again to visit and experience the wonders of Jimmy's. My mouth is ware if already.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best

Dined on February 14, 2016

The best around very friendly people very nice on the inside very fast service would definitely be back

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place, fantastic food

Dined on February 14, 2016

We go to Jimmy's seafood every Valentine's Day and any time we are passing through Baltimore. It is always a great experience and the food is always great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a great experience. The food was ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

It was a great experience. The food was fantastic. I was a little disappointed that we got there 15 mins early. There were a lot of unseated tables but still had to wait 10 minutes past our reservations time.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Huge portions

Dined on February 14, 2016

You will not leave Jimmy's hungry. Can't comment on the desserts because there is never enough room to eat one more bite. Although not gourmet, they cook to order. You will get a hot, tasty, well prepared meal and the value for dollar is very good. The crabs are fresh and fun to eat. Try Jimmy's, it will become a casual dining favorite.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding!!!

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Outstanding!!!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.