Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.86mi
  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.86mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.86mi
  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.86mi

About Jimmy's Famous Seafood

Since 1974, Jimmy's has exhibited a commitment to excellence in the restaurant industry second to none. Although made famous for our award-winning seafood and steamed hard-shell crabs, our menu also includes various tastes from all over the world, such as grilled lamb chops, a montrous, savory prime rib, and barbecued baby back ribs. We have two seating areas - a casual, fun lounge and a beautiful dining room which is divided for those seeking to crack open some hot steamed crabs and those seeking intimacy. Seafood is flown in daily to ensure unrivaled freshness and to allow for new specials every evening!

6526 Holabird Ave.
Baltimore, MD 21224
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 12:30am, Sunday: 2:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Dundalk Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 633-4040

Website:
http://www.jimmysfamousseafood.com/

Entertainment:
Jimmy's is a unique experience, with 5 different rooms, each with their own flair and ambiance! The 2nd level bar hosts live bands every Wednesday night, and DJs on Fridays and Saturdays! Please note that all reservations made via Open Table will be accommodated in the dining room, but you are more than welcome to join in on the fun!

Catering:
We have three separate private rooms for catering, hosting parties ranging from 20-250 guests. We specialize in crab feasts, company meeting and presentations, birthday parties, and holiday events. Check out our website or write to Katie@JimmysFamousSeafood.Com for complete details and pricing.

Parking Details:
120 parking spaces available, no charge, outdoors. Valet available on weekends, free of charge.

Executive Chef:
Tony Minadakis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 1:30PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 6:30PM

Thu - Fri 1:30PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:30PM

Private Dining

Jimmy’s Famous Seafood is perfect for bridal showers, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, retirement parties, holiday parties, and corporate events. We have two banquet rooms available holding up to 300 guests.

Jimmy's Famous Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (44)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Good for a Date (39)
See All
Special Occasion (36)
Worth the Drive (36)
Good for Groups (35)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Family Style (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Romantic (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Authentic (19)
Business Meals (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Kid-friendly (16)
Fun (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Outstanding Value (13)
Cozy (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Great for Brunch (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Seasonal (7)
Quick Bite (5)
Private Room (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Live Sports (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (4)
Historic (4)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1062 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 20 hours ago

Everything was perfect we came from Philly and will definitely be going back. Our server Ryan E. was the absolute best please thank him again for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

I took my teenage kids there and we enjoyed the food. There was a mixup with the seafood alfredo, but the wait staff was prompt in getting it replaced with a delicious crab cake for my daughter. My son had honey bbq wings and I had salmon imperial with asparagus. There was a simple mix up with the person carrying the food...they actually gave me the food of the person in front of me. Other than that mix up the service was great and the food was delicious. I would recommend Jimmy's to all of my friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

We visited Jimmy's Famous Seafood on way back to CT from NC because it was on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives. The food was excellent!!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I have been to this restaurant many times. I always brings with me and they come away with the same views, great food, service, and ambiance.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food overpriced. Steak burned and I ordered medium. Crab cakes were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We drove four hours just to eat at Jimmy's for my husband's birthday. It was totally worth the drive. We've never had seafood so fresh, it put OBX seafood to shame! It's a little expensive, but that could be the difference in cost of living. The customer service was outstanding. The entire experience was fantastic! We would do it again in a heart beat.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Overall good experience- my wife and I both got the crab cakes - they were good not as big as advertised and expensive - $20 for one. G&M still has the best crab cakes

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Everything was absolutely amazing. Best crab cakes we have ever had.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Took a friend from out of town because she saw it on food network. The service was horrible and I will never go back. Lots of other places with better crab cakes and service in Baltimore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Based on the reviews and being featured on the Food Channel, I was excited to eat here. Unfortunately, the crab cakes were a huge let down and needed to be better flavored. I could have visited a local establishment versus traveling to Baltimore.

Even worse was the dessert. I ordered the strawberry cheesecake. It was very soft and lacked flavor. There appears to be a theme of the food lacking flavor. The chefs should revisit recipes and investigate the reasons for their lack of seasoned food.

The only praise I can give this restaurant is for their tasty custom-made cocktails.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Worth the 90 minute drive. Make a reservation and be delighted with soft lighting, excellent customer service and scrumptious dining. It can accommodate small and large parties from celebratory affairs to a family night out. You won't be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Too dark, I have seen people using phone flashlights to see the menu. The md.crabsoup was good but had very little crabmeat in it. Prices are a little higher than other places. Very loud, but I guess that's the customers.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great crab cake, ribeye steak was ok. Atmosphere was comfortable. Felt it was on the pricey side for what I got. Draft beer, ribeye, garlic mashed potatoes, add 5oz. Crab cake = about 42 bucks + tip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our server Ryan was excellent. The food came out hot and prepared perfectly. It was a special occasion and Jimmy's did not disappoint.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Walked in to enjoy dinner while visiting Baltimore for a day trip and there was a two hour wait so we made a reservation online and went to the bar downstairs to enjoy a drink while waiting. Bar atmosphere and drinks were phenomenal. The bartenders were friendly and handmade our mojitos. Once upstairs, the food was absolutely amazing! My only complaint was that our waitress did not introduce herself when she poured our waters and then did not come back for almost 10 more minutes. Everything else was exceptional!

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The best crab cakes ever. I may never eat them again because I don't live near Jimmy's. Salad fair but side veggies delicious. The shrimp were fine, nothing special. But oh those crab cakes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Normally, I enjoy Jimmy's for their seafood selection. This particular evening I would rate my meal acceptable at best. The filet was overcooked, lobster was overcooked, soups arrived late, and the waitress though nice was not very attentive (forgot to bring steak knives, butter for lobsters, and didn't receive the side of mac to go). Her timing was definitely off. By the time she came back to check on us, it was too late to address the overcooked steaks. With this all said and done, we will return again for their scrumptious mozzarella bites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Best crab cakes hands down! Everything was well seasoned

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Waiter not functioning on all cylinders this particular evening. Otherwise, this was good as usual.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Hands down the best crab cakes I ever had! Will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I had the most amazing birthday dinner at Jimmy's on March 4th. My server Brandon had two very large tables (one with almost 30 people) and he handled it amazingly. The appetizers took a little long because they were busy but we ordered our food and appetizers all at once which made the process a lot smoother. I can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual, Romantic, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Really great food!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Once again the food and service was great! Sharon is a fantastic server! She is attentive, friendly, professional and just a real sweetie. Whenever we dine at Jimmy's, we always ask to be seated where she is serving. We just love her!! Jimmy's, you have a GEM in SHARON!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Any restaurant that has 300 selections on it's menu probably doesn't do any of them really well. Jimmy's is an example of that. The food is tired and poorly presented. Even the famous crab cake seemed old and soggy. To me, this appears to be a place living on its reputation rather than delivering a fresh, modern dining experience. The service was attentive, engaging, and enjoyable. My dinner companion was sensational!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Thank God I found this place on Instagram! The service was top notch, as our server Yanni was very helpful with our menu suggestions.

The crab cakes lived up to the hype - and that's saying a lot!

We had drinks in the bar afterwards, which was featuring the UFC Fights. Next time, we'll have a meal there - seems very upbeat and fun!

5 stars!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I came in here with high hopes, and left extremely impressed! I certainly did not expect such a classy place in Dundalk! Upon arrival, there was a group arguing with the host because they didn't have reservations and weren't properly dressed, which my wife & I both agreed was a breath of fresh air, as too often these days establishments run for the money and allow kids to dress down. The service from Brandon was perfect - very knowledgeable of the specialty drinks and crab cakes! We saw this place on Food Network, and many pro wrestlers frequent it, so we knew it was the real deal! The portions were huge, and the prices were reasonable for the quality! We also enjoyed a drink at the bar afterwards, where they were hosting trivia night. Overall, a 5 star experience. We will be back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was great. Just what our friends said. Definitely will go back when in the area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Saw the pictures of crab cakes online, and was taken back. Wife and I love seafood and will travel to try. It was a two drive for us but well worth every mile. The crab cakes were delicious. We had them for as a starter. We didn't even use the dip, it comes with. Service was okay, young waiter appeared to be catering to my beautiful wife, lol. Entrees were delicious too. Nice portions at somewhat reasonable prices. They offered a special for 40, soup or salad, choice of a few entrees and dessert. It was worth the price! I had two cocktails but I would order a soda next time. Drinks were served in a small glass and not very strong. I'll definitely be taking another drive to dine here in the near future.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This is my 2nd time writing a review...I was much nicer in the first review and decided to give the restaurant a 2nd chance. My husband and I have frequent this restaurant on several different occasions and basically depending on the day of the week and who's in the building seems to determine if you can get a table. THE FOOD IS GREAT!!! But the service is not what I would hope for in 2017 with all of the cultural challenges that we face as Americans. My husband and I are African American's and the first couple of times we came here we wore dress clothing and drove in our Porsche. Back in January we drove in my husbands pick up truck and were more dressed down and we were refused service, supposedly because we were dressed down. Mind you, times before that we've come dressed down and my husband in a Steelers hoodie, which we remember clearly because the owner/manager came over and gave us flak. Well this past weekend we came casual dress and we were told they were on reservation ONLY and no tables were available. So, I went on open table and wala there were several open reservations. Oh did I mention we stepped outside my husband called and wala again there was a reservation. So, when we came back in a hour later (After waiting on the truck because we live an hour away) the host (guy pictured on the wall) was super shocked. Needless to say we were treated like JERKS, but the food was great as usual. Did I mention that this same night Ray Rice was in the building, what a treat, even though were STEELERS fans!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The crabcakes were everything that they were touted to be. They are the best that I ever had. Just don't go to Jimmy's if you want a nice, quiet dinner. The noise level was incredibly loud. It was impossible to have a decent conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food wasn't as good as my other visits. Also there was an issue with our drinks I had the cotton candy martini and it tasted like grape kool-aid, and they said they could not remake it. Then my mother and aunt had long Island ice tea and both taste so sweet myother added water to hers and still could not drink it. Finally the manager agreed to remake theirs. It was not a good Birthday dinner for me but I made the best of it. I would not recommend any longer to people. I think a restaurant of its long time running should accommodate the customer better especially when spending over $200 .

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We enjoyed our delicious dinner of crab cakes, the appetizer were also great specifically I loved the fried calamari.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Wouldn't recommend. The food seemed too dry and not a lot of flavor. Also the lunch was too costly for the taste of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was great but the service was frustrating. I order soup and a meal, the meal came out first, then the soup. I ended up not even eating the soup, if I had, my meal would have been cold. The server admitted he had forgotten to bring the soup but offered nothing as a consolidation. Overall, we were very happy with the food itself but the service made it a somewhat frustrating experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2017

All the food we ordered was so good fresh and hot! Can't wait to go back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Outstanding crab cakes! Delicious! Best in the area, which is saying a lot!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I'd seen this restaurant on the Food Network on a couple different shows, so maybe my expectations were too high. I was not impressed. The restaurant was recently renovated so although it was clean and updated, there was one small window in the dining room so it is very dark! Maybe ok for dinner, but we were there for brunch. For us the ambience stunk because the restaurant was empty and dark. The food was just ok, in my opinion. The crab cake was the best. Full of sweet lump crab meat with very little filler, but still well seasoned. The cream of crab soup was a bit thick and nothing I haven't tasted before. The crab dip was basic crab and a lot of cream cheese. Maybe too much cream cheese because that was the overwhelming taste. The cocktails were yummy. The service wasn't very good. We were one of three seated tables and our girl was MIA most of the time. When we inquired about our drinks that took about 15 minutes to get to us, the waitress rudely stated that there was not a morning bartender available. Well, maybe you shouldn't open for brunch if you can't find staff to fill your morning shifts. Bottom line, this restaurant is about 4 miles away from Fells Point, so I would suggest staying in town and eating something were there is some atmosphere. You really won't be missing out on anything special.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was my first time dining here and my overall experience was decent. I started off with the crab dip. It had a lot of crab meat but the sour cream over powered the taste. I would not recommend it if you don't care for sour cream. For my entree, I ordered the stuffed T-bone. The steak was cooked to my liking but I didn't care for the stuffing because once again It tasted of sour cream. For my side I had the crab macaroni and cheese which was bland, needed more cheese and the cheese that was on top was hard. Knowing what I know now I will be better prepared when ordering my food. My boyfriend enjoyed his steak and crab cake dinner. They give you your money's worth.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Bar Seating, Cozy, Family Style, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

They were very busy so it was understandable but two orders in my party were incorrect (kitchen mistake). Never a problem, but I had ordered grilled shrimp that came out fried so when I informed staff of the mistake they brought "grilled" shrimp right out to me. It was cold, tasted very fishy, and was extremely overcooked. I didn't complain because I could tell that they were too busy to deal with further complaints, but it was the worst meal I've had in a while. Fantastic waitress though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was amazingly fresh! The Saturday dinner special was a reasonable price. Our waitress Meagan was very down to earth and caring she made sure our needs were met. I'll definitely will be back😁 With more people.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.