About Jimmy's Famous Seafood

6526 Holabird Ave.
Baltimore, MD 21224
View Larger Map

Since 1974, Jimmy's has exhibited a commitment to excellence in the restaurant industry second to none. Although made famous for our award-winning seafood and steamed hard-shell crabs, our menu also includes various tastes from all over the world, such as grilled lamb chops, a montrous, savory prime rib, and barbecued baby back ribs. We have two seating areas - a casual, fun lounge and a beautiful dining room which is divided for those seeking to crack open some hot steamed crabs and those seeking intimacy. Seafood is flown in daily to ensure unrivaled freshness and to allow for new specials every evening!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 12:30am, Sunday: 2:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Dundalk Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 633-4040

Website:
http://www.jimmysfamousseafood.com/

Entertainment:
Jimmy's is a unique experience, with 5 different rooms, each with their own flair and ambiance! The 2nd level bar hosts live bands every Wednesday night, and DJs on Fridays and Saturdays! Please note that all reservations made via Open Table will be accommodated in the dining room, but you are more than welcome to join in on the fun!

Catering:
We have three separate private rooms for catering, hosting parties ranging from 20-250 guests. We specialize in crab feasts, company meeting and presentations, birthday parties, and holiday events. Check out our website or write to Katie@JimmysFamousSeafood.Com for complete details and pricing.

Parking Details:
120 parking spaces available, no charge, outdoors. Valet available on weekends, free of charge.

Executive Chef:
Tony Minadakis

Private Party Facilities:
Two banquet rooms available, holding up to 300 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Katie O'Connor: 4106334040x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

fish tacos
Steamed Maryland Blue Crabs
Cream of Crab Soup
Seafood Skins
Mussels Nirvana
loaded baked potato
Reeses Peanutbutter Cheesecake
1 1/4 lb. Whole Fresh Maine Lobster
Maui Calamari Salad
Mozzarella Sticks
Crabcake Potato Skins
Oysters Rockefeller
Stuffed Shrimp
Crab toast

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 2:00PM

Mon - Fri 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Jimmy's Famous Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Baltimore / Maryland
Seafood
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Good for Groups (68)
Special Occasion (66)
Fit for Foodies (54)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Great for Lunch (34)
Romantic (24)
Hot Spot (21)
Kid-friendly (20)
Late-night Find (18)
Great for Brunch (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Notable Wine List (6)
Scenic View (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
895 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I travel interstate 95 through Baltimore ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 2 days ago

I travel interstate 95 through Baltimore twice a month and I just found a restaurant that can't be beat . I can't believe I have missed out eating here for four years . The management told me they have been serving their guest for 45 years . I won't go anywhere else again when I travel through Baltimore. The best food I have eaten . Huge crabcakes! To top it off it was the most courteous service . Good food and great service I'll be back .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great time for a birthday party. O ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

Had a great time for a birthday party. Our server was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to Jimmy's many , many time ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

We have been to Jimmy's many , many times, and have never had a complaint about anything there. However, we were there last night, and the waiter was not very good at his job. He took our orders, but when the food was delivered by another person, he brought out only one person's order of food. Then we trying to find our waiter for several minutes, to no avail. Finally, my wife summoned another waiter over, and told him about the error and he got the situation straightened out. Then the original waiter brought the rest of our order to the table.

I would have expected that our original waiter would have said something to us about how he goofed when he put the order in at the kitchen, and that he was sorry about the mix-up. He said nothing. Unless this was his first day on the job, it is inexcusable.

The food was o.k., but our experience was not !!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Great place to eat food was excellent c ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great place to eat food was excellent crab stuffed lobster was very good👍🏻

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Greek salad is the best in town. Cr ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The Greek salad is the best in town. Crabs were really outstand and Renee our server was excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

If you want to be feel like someone ap ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

If you want to be feel like someone appreciates you and wants you to really enjoy your evening . If you want to have the best crab cake on earth . If you want to be surrounded by a family oriented restaurant and really personal service then you must try this restaurant because I just experienced all of the above and more . I am so happy my friend told me about Jimmys . I will bring my family back every chance I get .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jimmy's is such a neighborhood favorite ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Jimmy's is such a neighborhood favorite and I really want to like it. The food is very hit or miss; my boyfriend loved the crab soup but his crab legs were so over cooked he only ate half, and my oysters were very small and inexpertly shucked, but my scallop entrée was delicious. Combined with the very loud acoustics and extremely uncomfortable chairs, I just don't think we'll go back. But I think it's the kind of place you have to try and decide for yourself, so give it a try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Drinks where very bad!!!! They would not ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Drinks where very bad!!!! They would not take them back because it was a speciality drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a great dinner. Waiter forgot t ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Overall a great dinner. Waiter forgot to bring the sides for our meal but otherwise he was efficient and the remodeled dining room was beautiful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I don't usually write about my experienc ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I don't usually write about my experience at a restaurant but I was so excited about this restaurant I couldn't help myself . I must say I was impressed with they way I was welcomed and taken to my table . The crab cakes were just enormous and had so much crabmeat and no filler . Steak to die for . New York strip that was cooked perfect . On top of all this my waiter was just so professional with out being overbearing . He was there when we needed him . There are very few if any restaurants like Jimmys . We will be back .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter Justin, was the best. He was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Our waiter Justin, was the best. He was very efficient, friendly and personable. Justin would stop back to our table quite often to make sure everything was ok. I would request to sit in his area on my next visit. The food was exceptional and the serving portion was over and above. Everyone, from very professional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went we saw it on Diners Drive in and Di ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Went we saw it on Diners Drive in and Dives. Lucked up it was week. Will go back to try regular menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The appetizing Entrée and dessert was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The appetizing Entrée and dessert was delicious although the service could have been better over all done I was good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

My wife and I were here for our date nig ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My wife and I were here for our date night. We were not impressed with the food. It did not live up to its reputation. We were very disappointed!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was really good but what most i ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food was really good but what most impressed me was the service. It's been a very long time since I have experienced a waiter that actually stayed on top of their guest and a welcome and thank you from the management . This type of service makes me want to come back . Great food great service you don't find like they have at Jimmys anywhere else . I can't wait to come back when I am in town . Baltimore you are fortunate to have such a nice restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I went for restaurant week and the food ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I went for restaurant week and the food didn't seem as good as I remembered however the waiter gets an A+ and was very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Food was very average except for crab ca ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was very average except for crab cakes and scallops. They were excellent. Recently remodeled and lost its old style charm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Our experience was excellent! The serve ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our experience was excellent! The servers were prompt and polite. The food was outstanding. Very big portions and very tasty. Great value. Will go again.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit to Jimmy's. Heard about ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our first visit to Jimmy's. Heard about and have driven by, but Restaurant Week" tempted us in.

The reviews we read in advance talked about good food but many indicated lousy service.

That was a real potential put off, but we have it a shot. Service isn't lousy, isn't great either, waitress MIA from time to time but the food arrived and it was good.

Portion sizes were big, but given the prices, I suppose that's good. Restaurant week menu only, and we don't typically order dessert, but we were paying for it ( one price, three courses ) so it was brought - and taken on home. I would have far preferred an ala carte menu- but we were locked in.

The crab cake was ok, jumbo fried shrimp very pedestrian and a bit shy of jumbo, scallops were good. Vegetable came (chunks of squash and zucchini) and is was Luke warm and has bread chunks? Or some other non veg filler. Not

So we had a decent meal with fair service, pushing $100 for two - no alcohol - which was IMHO a bit pricey for what we got.

The main room has very attractive decor but boy was it noisy - again for "upscale" that was a turn off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I had visiting here once prior. This ti ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I had visiting here once prior. This time it was restaurant week. So we took the family. I loved it again. My husband couldn't stop raving about it. We are already planning our next visit so we took a menu home. There are so many great things on the menu. We have tried a lot of items and they have all been great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

WOW!!! The food was spectacular and the ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

WOW!!! The food was spectacular and the service was great!!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was delicious. our waiter justi ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

the food was delicious. our waiter justin was terrific. he was very attentive and even suggested alternate choices that turned out to be better. he made sure we weren't rushed even though it was restaurant week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

We were there based upon review from Din ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were there based upon review from Diners, Drive In and Dives

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Truly enjoy the food, the drop nod, and ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Truly enjoy the food, the drop nod, and the atmosphere. Jimmy's definitely not overrated and worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jimmy's is one of my favorite places to ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Jimmy's is one of my favorite places to eat in Baltimore-period! I love the friendly staff that gets to know you by name, but never makes you feel bad about being a regular. I began coming for happy hour (which is really awesome), graduated into actual dinner, and then the food truck began coming to my job! The food is always just as great as I remembered for the previous visit. I come to Happy Hour with girlfriends and reserve dinner with my Mom. I also think the celebrity photos are a really nice touch. More people should know about Jimmy's! It is a really great place to just hang out or dress up for a romantic dinner/special occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Noisy environment with poor service. Ou ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Noisy environment with poor service. Our waiter took our menus off the table before we could order. We said we need the menu to select our order. As we were taking our first bit of our appetizer our main course was being served not to mention that the server held hot cream if crab soup directly over an eight year old child head a face until I said please move that before an accident happens. Since our main course couldn't be held in the kitchen it was cold once we began to eat it. Everyone didn't have silverware and it took 10 minutes for the server to come back. It was my husband's birthday, and he order the reeces peanut butter cheese cake. It DIDN'T have the toppings on it and the server told him it us the same thing just without a peanut butter cup, she basically told my husband just eat what I gave you, because even after he said this Isn't what I asked for she never changed it out.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

Two words, Chicken Chesapeake. It will ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Two words, Chicken Chesapeake. It will change your life.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I visited Jimmy's during Baltimore Resta ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I visited Jimmy's during Baltimore Restaurant Week, I had to select one place form that long list but their menu looked to be the best. They did not disappoint. I expect to go back when it's not a special event. One word of warning. Then portions are really big. No, wait. That's a good thing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Whenever you want to know you will have ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Whenever you want to know you will have good food and service choose Jimmys famous seafood . I took a friend for restaurant week and as usual everything was perfect . The service and food always quality . The staff and management always there to make you feel special . Simply the best !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service! I would go ba ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great food, great service! I would go back and suggest to friends!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had originally ordered stuffed shrimp, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I had originally ordered stuffed shrimp, but something was wrong with it. They quickly corrected the problem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for restaurant week and to celebrat ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Went for restaurant week and to celebrate my friend's birthday. The food was amazing and the service was awesome! Will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to Jimmy's several times be ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I have been to Jimmy's several times before this meal. Unfortunately, it was not close to being as good as it has in the past. I doubt that I will be returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The customer service was very profession ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The customer service was very professional the servers were very professional in serving the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chipped water glass. Restaurant week men ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Chipped water glass. Restaurant week menu was HORRIBLE. No kid options offered. Out of crab claws for sampler. Multiple items we ordered were not correct. Server was overwhelmed. We were her only table on our side of the seating area. She lost us among her other tables. Food was ok at best. Came to jimmys to be blown away and left unhappy. Will never return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Being as seafood is their specialty they ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Being as seafood is their specialty they need to learn how to prepare shrimp. Brought wrong appetizer to friend but it was good. Great waiter--he didn't bring the appetizer his helper did.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

The staff was friendly, Johnny on the sp ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The staff was friendly, Johnny on the spot, our server answered all our questions and gave very good recommendations. I have told so many friends about my excellent treatment and service. I will be back again and again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food at a great establishment. I'l ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food at a great establishment. I'll definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We ordered Jumbo crabs and their were ba ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We ordered Jumbo crabs and their were barely legal size, huge disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Great food and set up! Beautiful place. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food and set up! Beautiful place. Bad part was that we went during restaurant week so we felt a bit rushed getting out appetizers (which were huge and good), and main course. Slow down and enjoy yourself here! Great place to eat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.