Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.86mi
  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.86mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.86mi
  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.86mi

About Jimmy's Famous Seafood

Since 1974, Jimmy's has exhibited a commitment to excellence in the restaurant industry second to none. Although made famous for our award-winning seafood and steamed hard-shell crabs, our menu also includes various tastes from all over the world, such as grilled lamb chops, a montrous, savory prime rib, and barbecued baby back ribs. We have two seating areas - a casual, fun lounge and a beautiful dining room which is divided for those seeking to crack open some hot steamed crabs and those seeking intimacy. Seafood is flown in daily to ensure unrivaled freshness and to allow for new specials every evening!

6526 Holabird Ave.
Baltimore, MD 21224
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 12:30am, Sunday: 2:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Dundalk Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 633-4040

Website:
http://www.jimmysfamousseafood.com/

Entertainment:
Jimmy's is a unique experience, with 5 different rooms, each with their own flair and ambiance! The 2nd level bar hosts live bands every Wednesday night, and DJs on Fridays and Saturdays! Please note that all reservations made via Open Table will be accommodated in the dining room, but you are more than welcome to join in on the fun!

Catering:
We have three separate private rooms for catering, hosting parties ranging from 20-250 guests. We specialize in crab feasts, company meeting and presentations, birthday parties, and holiday events. Check out our website or write to Katie@JimmysFamousSeafood.Com for complete details and pricing.

Parking Details:
120 parking spaces available, no charge, outdoors. Valet available on weekends, free of charge.

Executive Chef:
Tony Minadakis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

$35 - Surf & Turf Night
$35 - Crab Night
$30 - Steak Night
$30 - Lobster & Pasta Night
Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

$35 - Surf & Turf Night
Details

Each menu includes choices for a first course, entree, and dessert

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service

Valid For: 1 - 6 People

Starts: April 21, 2017

Ends: October 21, 2017

Availability: Thu 3:00PM-11:00PM

$35 - Crab Night
Details

Each menu includes choices for a first course, entree, and dessert

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service

Valid For: 1 - 6 People

Starts: April 21, 2017

Ends: October 21, 2017

Availability: Wed 3:00PM-11:00PM

$30 - Steak Night
Details

Each menu includes choices for a first course, entree, and dessert.

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service, cannot be used with any other discount or special offer.

Valid For: 1 - 6 People

Starts: April 21, 2017

Ends: October 21, 2017

Availability: Tue 3:00PM-11:00PM

$30 - Lobster & Pasta Night
Details

Each menu includes choices for a first course, entree, and dessert

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service

Valid For: 1 - 6 People

Starts: April 21, 2017

Ends: October 21, 2017

Availability: Mon 3:00PM-11:00PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 1:30PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 6:30PM

Thu - Fri 1:30PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:30PM

Private Dining

Jimmy’s Famous Seafood is perfect for bridal showers, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, retirement parties, holiday parties, and corporate events. We have two banquet rooms available holding up to 300 guests.

Jimmy's Famous Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (48)
Worth the Drive (44)
Good for a Date (43)
See All
Good for Groups (41)
Special Occasion (40)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Family Style (28)
Romantic (25)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Great for Lunch (22)
Authentic (22)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Comfort Food (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Fun (18)
Kid-friendly (18)
Business Meals (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Cozy (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Private Room (6)
Historic (4)
Seasonal (4)
Live Sports (4)
Quick Bite (4)
People Watching (3)
Great Beer (3)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1089 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Great space with nautical decor. Food was very heavy but good overall

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was our first trip to Jimmy's. Great crab cakes! I would suggest reservations, especially on holidays and weekends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We never miss the opportunity to go to Jimmys when we are near Baltimore. It's ALWAYS worth the effort to get there.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was our third time coming to eat at Jimmy's because we absolutely love it. However, this time I was completely shocked by the lack of customer service we were given. Each time we have came in the past, we have always had an energetic, inviting, and helpful server. This time we had Jenna G, and I must say it was a completely different experience. She was rushing us from the beginning to the end. We brought along my in-law's who have never been before after bragging about how wonderful this place was, my fiancé and I were so embarrassed. My father-in-law had questions about the menu, she was no help, she didn't even seem interested in helping. We thought maybe it's because it's Easter, maybe they are short staffed, regardless the reason, it was still completely unacceptable. She came to check on us, a total of about 3-4 times, which includes taking our order. So on top of the lack of attention and care for us, when it came time to box our food, each other time we have came the server boxes our food for us, not this time-- we watched other servers box their tables, Jenna just handed us the boxes and went about her business. To make things worse, and this is what put me over the edge, I have NEVER had a waitress charge us a service charge while dining here and anywhere else with a party of 4! Most places only charge that for parties of 6 or more. I don't know if this was her action or the restaurant's decision for the holiday, but it should have been mentioned when the check was dropped off, to avoid double tipping. I am very upset about this dining experience, but of course, we will be back for the wonderful food, but if we ever get this waitress again, we will be requesting another.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Checked this place out after seeing it featured on DDD. Loved the whole experience. We had the crab ball apps, the Garlic King Crabs, Seafood Alfredo and fried Cod. The food was excellent especially the Garlic King Crabs, I get crab a fair amount and these were exceptional and priced fairly for what you get. I would not recommend the crab mac and cheese, the pasta was overcooked and it wasn't that flavorful, didn't have either a good cheese flavor or crab flavor. The rolls that come with the food are very good, a sweet onion flavor. Our waiter was super friendly and very helpful and accommodated substitutions easily. The overall vibe was chill, not fancy but a solid seafood spot. We had a rez and didn't have to wait.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Warehouse Wonder-I was throughly surprise when we entered Jimmys. The outside is rather bleak but the inside is completely renovated and has an upscale design. The menu is large which often means that the restaurant has too many items to truly make anything well. Fortunately in our case this wasn't true. My companion had the Seafood combination and I had the Dynamic Duo. They were both excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had lunch on Easter Sunday with my husband and sister. The food was really good and our waiter was very attentive without being intrusive. I liked the decor and the amount of room between the tables....I HATE feeling like I'm sitting in my neighbor's lap! My husband and sister didn't agree, but I thought the chairs weren't very comfortable. I would indeed return to dine here and recommend this restaurant to family and friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was my first time coming to Jimmy's and I was bringing my boyfriend for his birthday. It was the first birthday of his we were celebrating together and it meant a lot to me to make it a special dinner. Jimmy's did not disappoint. We both loved the atmosphere and decor, the customer service was outstanding and the food was excellent. We ate everything we possibly could and still had enough leftover for dinner the next day - so we got to experience the food twice. :) I'd definitely recommend Jimmy's to my friends and family, and I myself look forward to returning again.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fun, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Best seafood ever! Prices are great.
This restaurant is better than all its competitors. I see why the walls are full of pictures with all the sports superstars and local business people. Great restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The food was awesome. Everything was perfectly cooked. Wait staff was very nice and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The food was excellent!!!
You must try the oyster rockafeller!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Crab cakes!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had a 5:30 reservation and were seated promptly. Our appetizer, soups , and main entrees were delicious. We had an attentive waiter and our service was good .
My only issue :
Mother in law using a walker directed to a bathroom that is clearly not accessible. I feel like your staff should be able to make that judgment call.
This was my third visit since January. I will be back again

Tags: Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Best seafood I've had outside of Louisiana, great service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We traveled from NY to Baltimore MD for my husbands birthday dinner at Jimmy's Famous Seafood and it was well worth the trip! The service was awesome, the meal (we both had surf and turf) was delicious (best crab cakes we ever had, we will be ordering some for delivery soont) and the desserts were noteworthy. Our waitress, Rini, and the host, Kenneth, made the visit special. They were so friendly and attentive. This is a must not miss restaurant. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I went on a Saturday evening. It is best to make reservations. The wait without a reservation in the dining room was an hour 15 min. They do have two bar areas where you can purchase food and have drinks. The food was very good. The crab cakes are filled with crab meat. I had the stuffed shrimp also. Everything was good and filing. MAKE RESERVATIONS!!!!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Most amazing crab cakes, server was superb and helpful with dinner choices !!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food! Had snow crab clusters, half and half soup which was beyond amazing and smith island cake! Others at the table had the ecstasy pasta and sushi! All was ridiculously good! We have never had a bad meal or experience at Jimmys! Our server deserves a shout out too but I forgot her name...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Saw this restaurant on the Food Network and had to try it out. Everything tasted great. Food was reasonably priced. A great place for good seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great service and recommendations. Food was deliciously unbelievable!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My wife and I stopped at this restaurant April 1 to have lunch. We were shocked at the prices. We ended up splitting nachos. They were ok.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Our server was great, attentive a d accommodating. The app I chose was ok. But the entree of crabcakes was really good and so were the sides. I will definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Jimmy's did not disappoint! We shared a few appetizers - a couple of oyster samplers and calamari. They were very good and just the right amount. The wedge salad was amazing and we all had crab cakes. These are the best crab cakes I have ever had! If you are in Baltimore, go to Jimmy's!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great place, and the Seafood UFO was to die for. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I made our reservations on Open Table. We were seated immediately despite the growing line of other waiting for a table. We were greeted warmly by our server Ryan. He was personable and very engaging. Our service was very good. Four stars rather than 5 for service: my side of coleslaw did not arrive with my entree. I finally saw Ryan and stopped him to let him know that I did not get my coleslaw side item. I had already finished eating when it arrived. If I waited, my entree would have been cold. Next, the root beer...I did not like the taste of the root beer. Although we were not charged for it, I was not offered an alternative beverage.

My husband ordered the seafood "platter" with steak and crab cake. The crab cake was delicious and would be worth the return visit on its own. The steak was chewy. It was ordered to be med-rare. It was more medium. I ordered the "Asian" soft-shelled crab entree. It was a disappointing entree. the body of the crabs were done but the legs and carapace were not. The lighting was so dim that I did not notice but once I put them in my mouth, I knew immediately that the legs were undercooked. Eating the carapace was like chewy paper or cellophane. I would not recommend that soft-shelled crab entree. I should have ordered the traditional fried soft-shelled crab but did not see it among the choices. I am sure they would have prepared it had I inquired. The coleslaw was good but I like mine to be a bit creamier.

Value: for what we got vs what we paid for our dinner, we surely should have received two sides instead of only one without having to pay extra for it.

Ambiance: The restaurant is beautifully understated. Not formal looking but a classy environment with bare wood tables, exposed brick, and the noise level was not so loud that I had to speak loudly. The lighting was a bit too dim for me. I am a senior citizen and I don't like dim lights when eating. I cannot see how to season my food in very dim lighting.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Everything was perfect we came from Philly and will definitely be going back. Our server Ryan E. was the absolute best please thank him again for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Jimmy's isn't romantic, or fancy, or beautiful. But- they have great seafood, and plentiful, at a great price. Dress is very casual.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 22, 2017

I took my teenage kids there and we enjoyed the food. There was a mixup with the seafood alfredo, but the wait staff was prompt in getting it replaced with a delicious crab cake for my daughter. My son had honey bbq wings and I had salmon imperial with asparagus. There was a simple mix up with the person carrying the food...they actually gave me the food of the person in front of me. Other than that mix up the service was great and the food was delicious. I would recommend Jimmy's to all of my friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Best crabcakes ever--2 huge 8 oz on the dinner plate. Great Greek salad and to die-for onion rolls. It's a long haul from the Inner Harbor despite being listed as being in the Downtown section of Baltimore. Restaurant is a little dark. Waiter was not with it the day we dined, although pleasant enough.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We visited Jimmy's Famous Seafood on way back to CT from NC because it was on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives. The food was excellent!!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I have been to this restaurant many times. I always brings with me and they come away with the same views, great food, service, and ambiance.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food overpriced. Steak burned and I ordered medium. Crab cakes were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We drove four hours just to eat at Jimmy's for my husband's birthday. It was totally worth the drive. We've never had seafood so fresh, it put OBX seafood to shame! It's a little expensive, but that could be the difference in cost of living. The customer service was outstanding. The entire experience was fantastic! We would do it again in a heart beat.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Overall good experience- my wife and I both got the crab cakes - they were good not as big as advertised and expensive - $20 for one. G&M still has the best crab cakes

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Everything was absolutely amazing. Best crab cakes we have ever had.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Took a friend from out of town because she saw it on food network. The service was horrible and I will never go back. Lots of other places with better crab cakes and service in Baltimore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Based on the reviews and being featured on the Food Channel, I was excited to eat here. Unfortunately, the crab cakes were a huge let down and needed to be better flavored. I could have visited a local establishment versus traveling to Baltimore.

Even worse was the dessert. I ordered the strawberry cheesecake. It was very soft and lacked flavor. There appears to be a theme of the food lacking flavor. The chefs should revisit recipes and investigate the reasons for their lack of seasoned food.

The only praise I can give this restaurant is for their tasty custom-made cocktails.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Worth the 90 minute drive. Make a reservation and be delighted with soft lighting, excellent customer service and scrumptious dining. It can accommodate small and large parties from celebratory affairs to a family night out. You won't be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Too dark, I have seen people using phone flashlights to see the menu. The md.crabsoup was good but had very little crabmeat in it. Prices are a little higher than other places. Very loud, but I guess that's the customers.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great crab cake, ribeye steak was ok. Atmosphere was comfortable. Felt it was on the pricey side for what I got. Draft beer, ribeye, garlic mashed potatoes, add 5oz. Crab cake = about 42 bucks + tip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.