About Jimmy's Famous Seafood

6526 Holabird Ave.
Baltimore, MD 21224
View Larger Map

Since 1974, Jimmy's has exhibited a commitment to excellence in the restaurant industry second to none. Although made famous for our award-winning seafood and steamed hard-shell crabs, our menu also includes various tastes from all over the world, such as grilled lamb chops, a montrous, savory prime rib, and barbecued baby back ribs. We have two seating areas - a casual, fun lounge and a beautiful dining room which is divided for those seeking to crack open some hot steamed crabs and those seeking intimacy. Seafood is flown in daily to ensure unrivaled freshness and to allow for new specials every evening!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 12:30am, Sunday: 2:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Dundalk Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 633-4040

Website:
http://www.jimmysfamousseafood.com/

Entertainment:
Jimmy's is a unique experience, with 5 different rooms, each with their own flair and ambiance! The 2nd level bar hosts live bands every Wednesday night, and DJs on Fridays and Saturdays! Please note that all reservations made via Open Table will be accommodated in the dining room, but you are more than welcome to join in on the fun!

Catering:
We have three separate private rooms for catering, hosting parties ranging from 20-250 guests. We specialize in crab feasts, company meeting and presentations, birthday parties, and holiday events. Check out our website or write to Katie@JimmysFamousSeafood.Com for complete details and pricing.

Parking Details:
120 parking spaces available, no charge, outdoors. Valet available on weekends, free of charge.

Executive Chef:
Tony Minadakis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

24.99 - Steak Night
33.99 - Surf & Turf Night
33.99 - Crab Night
$27.99 - Lobster & Pasta Night
Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

24.99 - Steak Night
Details

Each menu includes choices for a first course, entree, and dessert.

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service, cannot be used with any other discount or special offer

Valid For: 1 - 6 People

Starts: December 7, 2016

Ends: March 7, 2017

Availability: Tue 3:00PM-11:00PM

33.99 - Surf & Turf Night
Details

Each menu includes choices for a first course, entree, and dessert

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service

Valid For: 1 - 6 People

Starts: December 7, 2016

Ends: March 7, 2017

Availability: Thu 3:00PM-11:00PM

33.99 - Crab Night
Details

Each menu includes choices for a first course, entree, and dessert

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service

Valid For: 1 - 6 People

Starts: December 7, 2016

Ends: March 7, 2017

Availability: Wed 3:00PM-11:00PM

$27.99 - Lobster & Pasta Night
Details

Each menu includes choices for a first course, entree, and dessert

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service

Valid For: 1 - 6 People

Starts: December 7, 2016

Ends: March 7, 2017

Availability: Mon 3:00PM-11:00PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 1:30PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 6:30PM

Thu - Fri 1:30PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:30PM

Private Dining

Jimmy’s Famous Seafood is perfect for bridal showers, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, retirement parties, holiday parties, and corporate events. We have two banquet rooms available holding up to 300 guests.

Jimmy's Famous Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (40)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Special Occasion (35)
See All
Good for a Date (35)
Good for Groups (34)
Worth the Drive (29)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Family Style (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Romantic (21)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Business Meals (16)
Authentic (16)
Kid-friendly (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Outstanding Value (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Cozy (10)
Fun (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Seasonal (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Private Room (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
People Watching (4)
Live Sports (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Historic (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (3)
Live Music (3)
Fireplace (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Healthy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1021 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant decor is really nice. I m ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

The restaurant decor is really nice. I made a reservation but we arrived early and were seated. There are a lot of menu items so we took awhile to decide what to get. The Cream Of Corn Soup and fried shrimp were very good. It took awhile to get our entrees and when we did, they were room temperature. We could have sent them back to be reheated but since it was seafood we didn't want it to come back rubbery. We let the waitress and manager know and nothing was done about it. So we won't be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

we arrived alittle early and were seated ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

we arrived alittle early and were seated quickly. the waiter was very nice. never had to ask for anything. it was plenty of space to move around without bumping the table of the next guest. nice place to go. I will br back

Tags: Casual, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was absolutely amazingly good price ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was absolutely amazingly good pricey but great my dad said it was worth it

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Great Beer, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good. Server (Jose) could've be ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was good. Server (Jose) could've been a lil more attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The place was PACKED! They had stopped t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The place was PACKED! They had stopped taking walk-in. The kitchen got overwhelmed. The food was still fantastic, just very slow and not delivered as it should have. 1/2 the entrees, long wait before the rest. Off night. Will still recommend and return, maybe not on a Saturday night....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We were 10 minutes late for reservations ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were 10 minutes late for reservations due to traffic so they would not honor it. We had to sit in bar area which very loud and not a romantic environment. Our seafood was over cooked and steaks under cooked. Servers didn't care much!! Will not be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

This our first time and I was extremely ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This our first time and I was extremely impressed. I have heard a lot about Jimmies and saw them on channel 45. The service time, the food and our waiter were excellent. I cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place doesn't care about customer s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This place doesn't care about customer service because they rudely turned is away because we arrived early for our reservation. The place was half empty and they refused to accommodate us. It was obvious they didn't want our business and we were more than happy to take our business to Timbuktu. Which by the has better crab cakes and outstanding customer service. A big thumbs down to Jerry Seafood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We drove from Harrisburg, Pennsylvania t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We drove from Harrisburg, Pennsylvania to try Jimmy's. We arrived around 4:00 pm and there empty parking spots and empty tables. We were asked if we had a reservation and replied no. We were informed that they were only seating reservations and given take out as an option. I explained that take out was not an option because of the drive. We were again told there were no tables. We walked out the door and I stopped to check OpenTable on my phone. I found Jimmy's and was able to make a 4:15 reservation. We were promptly seated then. I don't understand why the young lady did not seat us and just make that time slot unavailable. Once seated we waited 15 mintues without a server stopping at our table. We were about to leave when the manager (I assume he was management) noticed we had not been helped. Within seconds we had a server (Alex) at our table. From that point the service was exceptional and the food was excellent. I had the Jimmy's oysters and my wife had the crab cakes. I will definitely make the 1.5 hour drive again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Was in Baltimore with my daughter and ha ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Was in Baltimore with my daughter and had heard great things about Jimmy's. Unfortunately we must have picked the wrong day to go. We had an 8:00 reservation and were surprised at how packed the place still was. Once seated we waited about 15 minutes before being greeted. We finally got our one and only serving of drinks 25 minutes in. We waited another hour for our dinner. My steak was excellent and Chesapeake style was amazing! I wish the service had been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Our reservation was at 7:15, we were not ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our reservation was at 7:15, we were not seated until 8:10. We were all over starved and a little aggravated by the time we sat down. It took forever for the waitress to bring drinks and bread.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

The food was amazing! The staff was pre ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was amazing! The staff was pretty friendly as well. The only thing I did not like was that an 18% tip was automatically added to the bill (for a party of four) and once I paid they waiter was expecting another tip.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This place was amazing! TJ our waiter wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This place was amazing! TJ our waiter was phenomenal! The crab cakes and steak were so good. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been several years since I've been there ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Been several years since I've been there, other that the redone interior, the food and service still the same as years ago, awesome, will be going back more often!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The manager Kenny was very rude and cond ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The manager Kenny was very rude and condescending when I asked for a new steak. My steak was burnt when I asked for it well done. After I informed him I was 9 months pregnant and would not eat undercooked meat, he said oh well I should have ordered it medium well. He refuses to rectify the situation and said I could get another steak but I would have to pay for both. I will never return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Everyone was very warm and friendly, gre ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Everyone was very warm and friendly, great team work amongst the wait staff. They where very knowledgeable about all the items on the menu plus the specials my kids and myself had a wonderful time.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was excellent. Only negative ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Everything was excellent. Only negative was we felt rushed by our server. Brought the bill before we were ready to leave (ended up ordering more drinks anyways) and he tried taking our dessert twice before we were finished.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food. Good service. They expedite ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great food. Good service. They expedite off the line which has been a dying staple in the restaurant industry. Goes a long way to hot n fresh seafood. Applaud the presence of owners and there attention to the customer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Drove from Philadelphia just for the exp ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Drove from Philadelphia just for the experience. I was not let down or disappointed. The food was amazing, ambience was perfect, and the service was great

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a great place. My husband and I wen ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Such a great place. My husband and I went there for resturant week - the portions were so big and the food was excellent. They have such a great variety within their menu and the crabcakes were amazing. We really enjoyed it and will definitely be coming back for more!!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great experience and the food was delici ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great experience and the food was delicious. We were greeted with a smile and the"tower of power"deserves a repeat visit!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Not cheap, but you get what ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food. Not cheap, but you get what you pay for. Very noisy on a Saturday night.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

This waiter was extremely slow. Kind of ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This waiter was extremely slow. Kind of ghetto. Food was good though. Took forever for it to come out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

The starters, Greek Salad and half & hal ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The starters, Greek Salad and half & half Maryland crab soup were outstanding. Salad big enough for two (the waiter was nice enough to bring an extra plate) and the soup was absolutely some of the best anyone at our table ever had. My wife had the soft-crab po boy. It had three crabs on it. Amazing. My shrimp salad and crab cake wrap was quit good, but after I saw my wife's sandwich, I wish had ordered that. The couple we went with said they will be back soon. They live a lot closer than we do.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was phenomenal. The seafood sam ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The food was phenomenal. The seafood sampler for restaurant week was delicious as was the cream of crab. Our server, Rini, was phenomenal and we will definitely be coming back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Jimmy's for a business lunch/din ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Went to Jimmy's for a business lunch/dinner after the holidays. Jimmy's was recommended by a co-worker but I had never been there. The service was wonderful and the food was even better. I had the crab cake, which was full of crab meat. Everyone in our group (5) enjoyed the food!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waiter seemed like he forgot about is an ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Waiter seemed like he forgot about is and was not very welcoming...he was at his other tables up front more than he came to us...he turned y'all thumbs up down

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

It was my first experience and it fell o ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was my first experience and it fell on restaurant week. It was a great time, the portions were huge, you were able to choose from a 3 coarse meal and everything was delicious.

Tags: , Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Family Style, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Got seated right away. Food was deliciou ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Got seated right away. Food was delicious. Our waitress was nice and always paid attention to our needs. It was our first time and we tried it for Restaurant week and even thought it was packad, we felt like the only people there because of the excellent service. Please try the cheesecake creme brulee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Food was tasty. Great tha ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great service. Food was tasty. Great that parking is available on site

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very pleasant evening eating steamed cra ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very pleasant evening eating steamed crabs-Jumbos! Other meals were quite good especially the Crab Imperial!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

As always the seafood and service is exc ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

As always the seafood and service is exceptional. We will be back for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was good but my Sangria worst ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Everything was good but my Sangria worst i ever had n waitress stated she could not ake off the bill other than that everything was delicious....Chicken Chesapeake n ted velvet cake is to die for

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great and the service was good ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food was great and the service was good until it was time to go plus additional funds was taking from one of my guests credit cards

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

The food was wonderful! Good value and ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was wonderful! Good value and exceptional wait staff.

Tags: , Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food & service. The dining room c ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great food & service. The dining room could be a little brighter though. It was a little dark & hard to see the menu.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Authentic, Casual, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The awesome crab cakes and very good ser ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The awesome crab cakes and very good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We can't say enough about our recent exp ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We can't say enough about our recent experience. Not only were the signature crab cakes the best we have ever had, the service and entire experience was second to none. Thank you to our wonderful waitress who introduced our eleven year old son to the general manager so our son could ask questions about the food business. The GM was so inspiring our son was star struck. This was a great meal, but even more important to us, we left feeling special. Thank you!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been here several times and the fo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We've been here several times and the food is always great. They done some renovations so the interior dinning area looks upbeat and up-to-date, not that it was horrible before. There is a upstairs that's more of a night club atmosphere and the lower level has a small bar, dine dining area, and more causal dinning area to the rear that seems to be reserved for those who love to indulge in crabs. Overall this is a nice restaurant, the hostess could be a little more friendly, she just drops the menu at the table and takes off. Of course the waiters/waitresses make up for her lack of character. The owner/manager walks around greeting guest most times we've been there. The only down fall is they have a 'dress code" which was unbeknown to use because we've been several times prior and my husband wore a hoody, but the last couple of times we've attempted to dine here we got turned around for a zip up hoodies and flat sneakers. Of course this time we were prepared with no hoodie. Only to find that there were some other guest that didn't have on the proper attire for the fine dining area. So, its really a hit or miss depending on how crowded they are. All in all this is a nice, reasonably priced, delicious place to eat. I recommend the 8oz filet, calamari, mac n cheese, and stuffed shrimp...all great options.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This experience at Jimmy's was very surp ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This experience at Jimmy's was very surprising because I've only had good experiences there. We were seated and two other parties that arrived after us received their food before us. The server brought us water and never came back to the table. He looked at us but never came back to let us know the food was coming so after waiting over forty minutes we left. The manager wanted us to stay as the food was on the way but we declined. This could have been avoided had the server provided better customer service and informed us of the delay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.