Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Jimmy V's Osteria + Bar - Downtown Raleigh

Jimmy V’s Osteria + Bar is a unique and modern restaurant was created with Jimmy Valvano’s passion and commitment to excellence, and a percentage of the restaurant’s revenue will be donated to the V Foundation. Jimmy Valvano’s love for food is the influence behind our menu creation featuring local and seasonal dishes with an emphasis on delicious Italian/American down to earth and traditional comfort foods using local farm grown ingredients and straightforward preparations. Also, Executive Chef Jeff Russell focuses on shareable small-plates, to encourage groups to socialize in a convivial atmosphere, which is warm and inviting for family gatherings, a night on the town or toasting drinks with friends.

420 Fayetteville St
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
City Center

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 256-1451

Website:
http://www.jimmyvsraleigh.com/

Parking Details:
Access valet parking from the roundabout at 421 S. Salisbury St. To access the restaurant go inside the Sheraton Hotel, take a left, go up the escalator, and Jimmy V's Osteria + Bar can be entered directly to your right. Ask your server or host for a stamp to receive special customer discount on valet.

Public Transit:
Raleigh's free R-Line stops just behind us at the Raleigh Convention Center at stop R-13 Cross over Salisbury, enter through the Sheraton, go left up the escalators and come straight ahead until you see Jimmy V's on the right!

Executive Chef:
Tom Stagikas

Private Party Contact:
Kelsie Shortsleeve: (919) 256-1451

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Jimmy V's Osteria + Bar - Downtown Raleigh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (15)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Casual (13)
See All
Fun (11)
Special Occasion (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Wood Oven (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Business Meals (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Romantic (5)
Authentic (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Cozy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great Beer (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Live Sports (3)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Fireplace (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
356 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Loved the ambience and the outdoor area. Food was all very good. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Service was very good and the food was served within a reasonable period of time, and at a very good temperature. Price of our meal was very reasonable, and overall we were very satisfied with our dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The kitchen was very slow. Took 30 minutes to get my husbands side salad out to the table. Our meals arrived 22 minutes later. His steak was cooked perfectly. However, I ordered the Bruschetta and the bread was so hard I could not bite it. I asked the waiter to have the kitchen redo the bread - that took another 10 minutes. We had tickets to a concert that started at 8 and I wasn't able to eat but one piece of bruschetta as we had to leave. Instead I took 2 slices of the bread and ate that on the way to the concert. The waiter was great - this was in no way on him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was great, but took over an hour to get it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We went to Jimmy V's prior to attending a show at the Duke Performing Arts Center on Friday, Mar 10th. We had a reservation for 6:15pm, we were seated promptly and our hostess took our drinks menu. The drinks didn't show up till about 20 mins later, after that she took our food order. We told her we have a show to attend, she told us food should be 20 mins max. At 7:30 we still did not have our food, at 7:45 we asked to cancel our order and just get our checks so we can get to our show. Instantly our food shows up in boxes to go, we told them what would we do with this, it will just sit in the car now and we asked to just cancel our food and get our check, it is now 7:50pm. This was a very bad experience at Jimmy V's and a first, we had been there before and never had to go through anything like this. We left the restaurant without eating anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I was super disappointed with this restaurant. We made a reservation for my birthday/girls night out. We planned 2 hours so that we would be on time for a show we were seeing after dinner. Soon arrival we were seated quickly. However after that things went down hill quickly. Our server got our orders in and drinks on the table about 30 minutes after ordering. Then we did not see her again for an hour. No water, no drink refills and no checking to make sure the food was ok...which it wasnt. Our pizza was cold and our appetizer never came out. We tried several times to track our server down and was met with less than stellar responses from other servers. We even went to the bar to order drinks while we waited and was told they would rather we order through our server and was turned away. Our server came by and asked if we needed drinks, we ordered as welk as ordere desert and she dissapeared again. When we finally got our server to grab our checks she then disappeared for another 20 minutes. Finally 3.5 hours after got there she brought our checks to the table and we were able to pay. No drinks, no desert nothing. We all felt tgat for 60.00 checks that we should have at least gotten our money's worth in the food. Tables around us were also held up and one didn't even get their food, thus having to take it to go. The server brought it to the table and it was the wrong order and then asked them to pay for it anyway. I was super bummed about the whole thing. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant to anyone until they get a good handle on their wait staff, and customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Really good find in downtown Raleigh. Will be back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My first visit to Jimmy V's was disappointing. I live in downtown Raleigh and took visiting family members there for breakfast. It took 20 minutes for our water and coffee to be delivered. The waitress was quiet but friendly; however, when our food was delivered, my omelette was missing key ingredients and my husband's pancakes were hard and cold. During our visit, I witnessed three customers from separate tables get up to steal silverware from other tables because they didn't have any. We all ordered from the menu because the buffet was little more than what you'd receive as a complimentary hotel breakfast.

In all fairness, I have not tried Jimmy V's for lunch or dinner. Perhaps those menus/times are more impressive. I will not be returning there for breakfast, though...far too many great breakfast options downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Had reservations...waited over an hour for raw food and burnt cheese bread...server was not at all contrite but eye rolling and snarky....very disappointed...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The last 3-4 times this place has consistently gotten worse in the food offer and quality.
I used to live this place despite the noisiness and despite the fact that the nice outdoor fireplace area is always closed off. But now I've had enough, it's simply not the same anymore.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

One word, Excellent, from beginning to end.
From the moment our waiter came to the table and took our order, our experience was nothing but top notch.
The waiter was beyond excellent, the pacing of the meal, his quiet unobtrusive service, we even had our silverware changed after each course, such a treat!
I cannot recommend this place enough! It will be new favorite DTR restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was amazing and enjoyed the selection of craft beers. Server was very knowledgeable about the beers. We had 2 teenagers with us and they found something they liked! Pizza especially good and fried oysters were YUM!

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was ok, calamari was way overcooked. Service was good. Food was nothing to make me want to refer it to my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Each time I visit the RDU I make sure I stop by one of my favorite restaurants in the city.

We were about 30 minutes early for our reservation and the hostess was very accommodating. The service was good and our food was absolutely amazing. I tell all of my friends to dine here when they are visiting Raleigh.

I knew Jimmy V personally and I know that he would be proud.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Sports, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We basically drove all the way from Atlanta to see our son at NCSU and to go to Jimmy V's. Once again, it did not disappoint. We did miss the short rib pizza that used to be on the menu, but we tried the spaghetti and meatballs as well as the Jimmy V pizza and both were outstanding. Beer and wine selection were excellent. Service was perfect. I can't get over how superb this restaurant is. Highly, highly recommended and we'll drive all the way from Atlanta to go again!

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Not our first visit to Jimmy V's so we were disappointed the restaurant had a bad night. Service was horribly slow, food was luke warm when it finally arrived...we watched parties at a couple of tables around us just get up and leave. Our server advised us when we sat down Jimmy V's was short staffed....if there had been other options at 6 p.m. on Saturday night we might have tried another spot. According to our server the restaurant was dealing with a new menu, short a cook(s) in the kitchen, a new busboy, down a manager for the evening.....all the makings for a disaster, which is pretty much was. Chicken ravioli was delicious....just not hot enough ... the caramel bread pudding for dessert was tasty. Promised hot bread was never delivered to our table so we just stopped asking. Server was pleasant but seemed to have more than he could handle..... We'll probably go back sometime.....it has to be better than this most recent visit.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Server was courteous,but seemed overwhelmed along with the kitchen. Excellent wings and risotto appetizers. Dinner salad was bland along with the house vinaigrette. Main courses were a mixed bag. Wittenburg burger was forgettable,smoked chicken ravioli was very good. 5:45 reservation and we just barely made the 7:30 show down the block.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful dining experience sharing three starters. Perfect beginning to a night with the NC Symphony.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Wood fired pizza was great!! We sat at the bar and watched the chefs prepare the food.
Great time and the food was fresh and tasty.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Was told the menu changed the day before valentine's day. Not reflected online as chnged. Very minimal and only two entrees.
No beer or cocktail list, only wine. Some elements of food were cold. Slow service even with a prefix menu. 2.5 hours for dinner, wasn't nearly as busy as I thought it would be for the holiday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food, great service, a minor reservation hiccup, but they fixed it right away. The food was enough for leftovers, which were just as good the next day. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I am choosing a special diet right now and the server and chefs were so accommodating! The dish that the chef made for me was amazing! I will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Nice but noisy. Prices seemed high for NC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Our meal at Jimmy V's was a very positive experience - good food - delightful and efficient staff. Our waitress was great - made some good recommendations! Very convenient for a pre-theatre meal in Raleigh. We'll be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Good food but server was inattentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The best part was the food. It's a restaurant, so I expect the food to be the highlight. We had a hard time deciding from the menu or the Restaurant Week special. We opted for the regular menu. My wife had the wings and I went for the cavatelli carbonara. Outstanding is the only way to describe it. I thought the menu was alittle pricey, but then, part of the bill goes to the V Foundation and that is a good cause.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

It was too loud and they had a private party on the other side of a window. We couldn't hear each other talk and party goers kept waving at us through the windows. The ambiance was bad.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We went for the Triangle Restaurant Week special and ended up getting other menu items as well. The food was excellent and our server Andrea was very attentive and made sure our glasses never went dry as well as that there was bread always on the table. I don't know if it's normally as empty as it was but that provided a nice quiet, romantic meal. Would go again, just not an every day thing due to the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

All four of us enjoyed our meals. Our waiter was excellent, though I did not get his name. I love the gluten-free options… Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Husband and another friend had the chicken piccata which was not simply a breast, but included a bone in the leg too--rather unusual. I had the scallops and risotto with asparagus which was good and another friend had a salad and the cheese bread, which she liked. We sat in a "back" room that was heated too much. Allie was friendly and helpful.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My fiancé and I have popped in for drinks before and finally had the pleasure of dining here. The arancini was an amazing start to dinner. For dinner the butternut squash ravioli is a must! Food and ambiance was amazing, our waitress was hard to find at moments but she was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Always great food and great service. We work close by and this is never a miss.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went on Christmas and had the buffet. A little under staffed perhaps? Food was good and will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We go to Jimmy V's for Christmas every year and we love it. Unfortunately, this year they decided to do a buffet. We have two young children and the buffet did have not offer any options for young kids. There was only 3 main options and 2/3 side options. The food was typical buffet like it had been sitting and warmed. The desert bar was a complete mess. Service was poor and slow. After spending $180 on four of us, we went home and to eat again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were there on Christmas day and the whole experience was great. We had the buffet and the the roastbeef was out of this world. The staff was fantastic... quick, helpful & polite. Worth going back again!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our annual Christmas Eve dinner, group of 9. Varied food preferences. Good choices for all of us plus a private area so we could carry on group and individual conversations without disturbing other diners. A great evening for all!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Really enjoyed this restaurant downtown. Nice atmosphere and very large portions. True Italian restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Not at all like the one in macgregor. More of a sports bar with ok food.

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Casual, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Service was attentive and good. Adequate choices in menu. Nice specialty drinks. We had pizzas which were very good. There were 4 of us, so we ordered 4 different pizzas and traded slices. It is within walking distance to downtown performance venues.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great place for Brunch before our Matinée of "A Christmas Carol" at Memorial Auditorium!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.