About Jimmy V's Osteria + Bar - Downtown Raleigh

420 Fayetteville St
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Jimmy V’s Osteria + Bar is a unique and modern restaurant was created with Jimmy Valvano’s passion and commitment to excellence, and a percentage of the restaurant’s revenue will be donated to the V Foundation. Jimmy Valvano’s love for food is the influence behind our menu creation featuring local and seasonal dishes with an emphasis on delicious Italian/American down to earth and traditional comfort foods using local farm grown ingredients and straightforward preparations. Also, Executive Chef Jeff Russell focuses on shareable small-plates, to encourage groups to socialize in a convivial atmosphere, which is warm and inviting for family gatherings, a night on the town or toasting drinks with friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
City Center

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 256-1451

Website:
http://www.jimmyvsraleigh.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Kuilan

Private Party Contact:
Jim Henning: (919) 256-1451

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Jimmy V's Osteria + Bar - Downtown Raleigh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Casual (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Fun (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Authentic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Cozy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Romantic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
325 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My fiancé and I have popped in for drink ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

My fiancé and I have popped in for drinks before and finally had the pleasure of dining here. The arancini was an amazing start to dinner. For dinner the butternut squash ravioli is a must! Food and ambiance was amazing, our waitress was hard to find at moments but she was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Always great food and great service. We ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Always great food and great service. We work close by and this is never a miss.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on Christmas and had the buffet. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went on Christmas and had the buffet. A little under staffed perhaps? Food was good and will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We go to Jimmy V's for Christmas every y ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We go to Jimmy V's for Christmas every year and we love it. Unfortunately, this year they decided to do a buffet. We have two young children and the buffet did have not offer any options for young kids. There was only 3 main options and 2/3 side options. The food was typical buffet like it had been sitting and warmed. The desert bar was a complete mess. Service was poor and slow. After spending $180 on four of us, we went home and to eat again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

We were there on Christmas day and the w ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were there on Christmas day and the whole experience was great. We had the buffet and the the roastbeef was out of this world. The staff was fantastic... quick, helpful & polite. Worth going back again!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our annual Christmas Eve dinner, group o ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our annual Christmas Eve dinner, group of 9. Varied food preferences. Good choices for all of us plus a private area so we could carry on group and individual conversations without disturbing other diners. A great evening for all!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Really enjoyed this restaurant downtown. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Really enjoyed this restaurant downtown. Nice atmosphere and very large portions. True Italian restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not at all like the one in macgregor. Mo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Not at all like the one in macgregor. More of a sports bar with ok food.

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Casual, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

Service was attentive and good. Adequate ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Service was attentive and good. Adequate choices in menu. Nice specialty drinks. We had pizzas which were very good. There were 4 of us, so we ordered 4 different pizzas and traded slices. It is within walking distance to downtown performance venues.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for Brunch before our Matiné ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great place for Brunch before our Matinée of "A Christmas Carol" at Memorial Auditorium!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Jimmy V's for a business lunc ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We went to Jimmy V's for a business lunch. I was happy how easy it was to make a reservation online. My butternut Squash Ravioli w/ Shrimp was unique and delicious. Service was great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect in every way. Arrived 15 minutes ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Perfect in every way. Arrived 15 minutes early for a reservation and was promptly accommodated with our table. The butternut squash ravioli and beef tenderloin were out of this world - best cut of meat I have ever experienced. Just a completely fantastic experience! Highly recommended.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Fun, Casual, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food. Place doesn't overwhelm yo ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Awesome food. Place doesn't overwhelm you with atmosphere however the food and service are solid. I would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Jimmy V's was the perfect place for lunc ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Jimmy V's was the perfect place for lunch before a matinee with the NC Symphony Holiday Pops. Food was excellent, wait staff very good. I would definitely make this a top choice next time I am having lunch in Raleigh. Easy access from the City Parking ramp was also welcomed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on Thanksgiving for brunch. Serv ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went on Thanksgiving for brunch. Service was great but the food was not. Ordered off the menu rather than the buffet. Eggs were undercooked, breakfast potatoes were bland and the pecan waffle was actually inedible. And I'm not that picky. Coffee was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

We love this restaurant and have dined h ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We love this restaurant and have dined here several years in a row when in Raleigh for the weekend. The service was terrible, which was a first for us. We still enjoyed the food and atmosphere and will go again and hope for a better, more engaging and helpful server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

The waitress did not want to be there an ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The waitress did not want to be there and from her actions let it be known. For some reason she made me keep turning around in my seat and handing me my food and condiments and there was plenty of space around myself and the table. She fell short with the other guests also. The food was good but the bread was stale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The place had a great ambiance but felt ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The place had a great ambiance but felt food for the price could have had more flavor . Portions fairly small for price. Staff was great. Wish menu had a few more options

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I had the Black and Blue salad. The stea ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2016

I had the Black and Blue salad. The steak was cooked perfectly and the salad greens were fresh. Others at our table had a pizza and thought it was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Overall, a great experience. I would def ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Overall, a great experience. I would definitely go back for a special occasion. I had the scallops with risotto. I was disappointed in that there was very little cauliflower and only 4 scallops. (I'm accustomed to having no less than 5 scallops when I order them.) Now, the food that I did have was very good, but I just thought they went a little light on those two things.

The service was great. The waitress sat us near a door and there was live music being played outside that made it too noisy to sit there. They understood the problem and moved us promptly. The waiter was top notch -very professional. This place is good to catch up with an out of town guest (as was my case) or a date.

My bill for 2 dinners and 2 cocktails was around $100, so I will not be coming here weekly. However, I would come back for a date or if I had friends in town.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Service and the atmosphere were great! T ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Service and the atmosphere were great! The food was just okay. I had the zucchini fries as an appetizer and the bolognese as an entree.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Made a reservation for Labor Day breakfa ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Made a reservation for Labor Day breakfast. Buffet was mediocre. Eggs overcooked, very hum-drum offerings for $15. There was also nobody else in the place. I guess others knew something we didn't. I'm sure Jimmy V's does much better with non-buffet meals but this was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Limited menu, with poorly executed dishe ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Limited menu, with poorly executed dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

The downtown venue seems to be a scaled ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The downtown venue seems to be a scaled down version of the one in Cary.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Had a great meal and the service was exc ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Had a great meal and the service was excellent that made the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We decided to check out Jimmy V's during ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We decided to check out Jimmy V's during Restaurant Week, as my mother was visiting us from out of town and my wife had mentioned wanting to try it out. Unfortunately, the Restaurant Week offerings were limited and not all too appealing, so we all ended up ordering off the regular menu, which was 'okay'....nothing all too special, and not what we had expected as far as quality and taste of food. Our server was good, and attentive, and the atmosphere is inviting and nice for a Friday evening. The food was not bad, but did not live up to our expectations. We probably will not be returning anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We tried Jimmy V's during restaurant wee ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We tried Jimmy V's during restaurant week. Appetizer salad was great. Main course was chicken parm with gnocchi. It was really good! We got some sort of dessert that looked like little funnel cakes - wouldn't order these again as they were pretty bland.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great service - helpful on all qu ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Always great service - helpful on all questions and friendly and attentive. Every item on the menu that I have ordered so far has been wonderful. I have eaten there several times and have not been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall a good experience. Bruschetta is ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Overall a good experience. Bruschetta is top notch. The cavatappi bolognese was just okay, a bit bland. I would say it's slightly overpriced for the quality of food but the portion sizes are huge so that's a plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Although the food was too salty, the ove ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Although the food was too salty, the overall experience was great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I'm disappointed - I made it a point to ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 29, 2016

I'm disappointed - I made it a point to ask for a special dessert for my boyfriend and they did nothing - didn't even mention it when we arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very nice environment! Our entire party ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Very nice environment! Our entire party had a fantastic time! Thank you!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server (female but forgot name) was ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our server (female but forgot name) was good but slow. We waited a long time for her and while eating meals but when she came, she was great. French fries were burnt and she noticed and replaced without us asking. Sat outside..flies were very bad, need fans to prevent them and food was on the brick wall so ants were awful. Chicken sandwich was great...grilled to perfection. Ceasar salad had a funny after taste.Ordered pasta with bolognese to go and took forever even though I told the server when we placed our dining in order. Got home and it was only pasta....they forgot the bolognese....very disappointed. Came because of email announcing new brunch.....it was a horrible brunch and we will not be back for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Was really loud because of some private ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Was really loud because of some private event on the patio but the food was great and the atmosphere was lively. My kids enjoyed the atmosphere (14, 13, & 10). They were really busy and apologetic for service lapses. Overall a good experience. We will go back but only if there isn't a band on the patio.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We ordered mostly appetizers and were no ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 16, 2016

We ordered mostly appetizers and were not pleased with the meal overall.

  • hall of fame wings = not the best

-zucchini fries = not the best

  • wood-fired wings = best of what we had

-Rocco's pie = second best

We tried several different drinks which were also, subpar.

  • Homegrown Arold Palmer = not the best

  • Hashtag = not the best

  • Where's the Umbrella = less than stellar

  • Moscato = best by far

The high-light of the night was our waiter, Stephen. He was attentive and very curteous. We truly enjoyed him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Loved it....everything was excellent

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Loved it....everything was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While the filet steak salad was very tas ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 9, 2016

While the filet steak salad was very tasty, there wasn't much in it besides steak and lettuce; would have been nice to have some nuts or other "specialty items" included. The best part was the waitress - she's a gem!!! Great personality and fun the kid around with.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Good service, tasty food, limited menu, ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Good service, tasty food, limited menu, but good atmosphere

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Decent food, indifferent waiter, sat in ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Decent food, indifferent waiter, sat in the "outdoor" area with our party of 6 on a Sunday after High School graduation at the Convention Center.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great place to gather to celebrate a gra ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great place to gather to celebrate a graduation. Food and drinks were excellent and our server Josh was really great

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.