Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Jimmy V's Osteria + Bar - Downtown Raleigh

Jimmy V’s Osteria + Bar is a unique and modern restaurant was created with Jimmy Valvano’s passion and commitment to excellence, and a percentage of the restaurant’s revenue will be donated to the V Foundation. Jimmy Valvano’s love for food is the influence behind our menu creation featuring local and seasonal dishes with an emphasis on delicious Italian/American down to earth and traditional comfort foods using local farm grown ingredients and straightforward preparations. Also, Executive Chef Jeff Russell focuses on shareable small-plates, to encourage groups to socialize in a convivial atmosphere, which is warm and inviting for family gatherings, a night on the town or toasting drinks with friends.

420 Fayetteville St
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
City Center

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 256-1451

Website:
http://www.jimmyvsraleigh.com/

Parking Details:
Access valet parking from the roundabout at 421 S. Salisbury St. To access the restaurant go inside the Sheraton Hotel, take a left, go up the escalator, and Jimmy V's Osteria + Bar can be entered directly to your right. Ask your server or host for a stamp to receive special customer discount on valet.

Public Transit:
Raleigh's free R-Line stops just behind us at the Raleigh Convention Center at stop R-13 Cross over Salisbury, enter through the Sheraton, go left up the escalators and come straight ahead until you see Jimmy V's on the right!

Executive Chef:
Tom Stagikas

Private Party Contact:
Kelsie Shortsleeve: (919) 256-1451

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Jimmy V's Osteria + Bar - Downtown Raleigh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
See All
Bar Seating (6)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Authentic (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Great Beer (4)
Fun (4)
People Watching (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Live Sports (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Romantic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
387 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Sat out the outside dining areas as it was a beautiful evening. Shared the Mozzarella Fritta appetizer, was very good. I had the spaghetti and meatballs, two very large meatballs, again very good. My companion had the Smoked Chicken Ravioli, commented it was best she had eaten. Service was good, but a bit sporadic. Only negative was restaurant reported to open table that we did not honor our reservation, which was later corrected after feedback from me.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a great time and Kelly provided awesome service. The wines were terrific and the ambience was exactly what I was looking for. Good food and overall a quality experience. Thanks.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Authentic, Comfort Food, People Watching, Fun, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great food, great service. Only complaint was that the online menu is out of date. One reason we chose Jimmy V's was because of dinner menu items we saw online, that we discovered are no longer offered. According to our server, the menu was changed "a couple of weeks ago". Nevertheless, it was a very good meal and we plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Service was extremely slow, took 15 mins before anyone came to offer drinks. Then once we ordered our drinks, it took another 10 mins to get our cocktails and water. Breakfast buffet was bland. Ordered an omelette and waffles from our waitress and this took over 15 mins. Terrible experience overall. We've been there for dinner and it was great. I hope this was just an off day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 11, 2017

When you have a group with multiple tastes, Jimmy V's is a great choice....

Tags: Authentic, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Chose Jimmy V's for my groups monthly get together, had perused the food and drink menu and there was a good selection. Sat in the covered outdoor area and it was beautiful, service was spot on and the food did not disappoint. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Casual, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great Beer, Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

We had a great time at Jimmy V's and loved the crab dip that we shared together. Our waiter was wonderful and made sure we had everything we needed. My only complaint is that it got to be so loud from people sitting around us that it was hard to hear what the other person was saying. Definitely glad we went here for dinner!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We had higher expectations based upon past reviews. There were a number of differences between the current menu and the menu online, and several of items that we were hoping to try were not available. Menu changes aren't uncommon, of course, but keeping your website up-to-date shows attention to detail. The service was a bit disjointed, as a soup was served after the main course. The Frutti de Mare was typical - nothing really special. That describes the overall experience - we were hoping that Jimmy V's was more than a common hotel restaurant. The meatballs, which were described as oversized (very true) were similarly ordinary, and very little pasta was served with them - probably best to keep them on the appetizer menu and off the main course list. The sauce (or gravy, if you prefer) was overly-sweet, much as you usually associate with less accomplished Italian fare. From conversations with others afterwards, it appears that Jimmy V's got off to a great start, but perhaps they've become complacent, which is unfortunate, as it's in a great downtown location and there is plenty of competition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great meal before walking to a show at Red Hat! Food was fantastic and the restaurant decor and layout added to a very positive first experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 26, 2017

The food was tasty and reasonably priced, and the waiter attentive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

A good place to have a drink and get something to eat. Casual but classy and if you are into sports then lots of nostalgia.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We went here for lunch before a matinee at the Duke Performing Arts Center. The food was very good and our server Raven was great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Nice interior. Great location. I just had breakfast which included biscuits and gravy and pecan waffles. Nothin special, just ok. Coffee was good and so was service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Third time to Jimmy's. It never disappoints.

Attentive staff and creative dishes. See ya again soon, Raleigh.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, People Watching, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Very good delicious pizza! Fast service. Enjoyable environment.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We stayed at the Sheraton for a few days and liked this place so much we ate there 3 times. The pizza was great and the mac and cheese was the best I ever had.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Unfortunately, our graduation party at Jimmy V's was not the experience I had expected for our celebration. Four of the twelve guests wood food fired pizzas which were terribly greasy and crust was under cooked. Overall food was simply not good. Service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Was not impressed at all. At 6pn the restaurant was out of three things I ask for. Really???? At 6pm on a Friday night??? No excuse! Definitely not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Came here because it was convenient to theater. The waiter was excellent and helped us move quickly through the meal (as we requested) so that we would not be late. Even helped secure umbrellas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Jimmy V is the place to be and a special spot for my husband and I next year.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

$132 to eat, park & tip is a bit much for a buffet brunch. For this price one expects excellence but they just didn't deliver. First reservation was difficult to get. I kept getting message that desired date & time was unavailable yet the place was only sparsely occupied. Next a reminder call stated that I needed call back & confirm. Food was just par. I had a Trout Eggs Benedict but couldn't cut the muffin with the knife supplied. Staff was very pleasant & the deserts were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have eaten here every year for Mother's Day for the past 3 years because the buffet is really good and we love the open air concept. I was quite turned off when I made a reservation 6 day before Mother's Day and the earliest I could get was 2pm. I called the restaurant on Fri evening to let them know of a change in our party and the hostess told me we could come in for a noon reservation. I was very excited because that was our initial desired time. We arrive at noon and stayed for about 1.5 hours..... the restaurant was NEVER busy at all. There were many tables available the entire time. On top of that, some Moms were given roses and others (like me) were not. I noticed a large basket full behind the hostess stand and a few tables with roses. Not a deal breaker but odd. For $150 we my go somewhere else next year.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We dined here for Mother's Day and had reservations. We arrived a few minutes early and they attempted to sit us at a high top with my elderly mother. The hostess was appalled that we requested a different table. The restaurant was almost empty and there was a regular table already set for 8 that they could have easily swapped with out table but instead they set a new table for us. The other empty table set for 8 was empty for over an hour after we arrived. When we were finally seated our waitress brought coffee but took no other drink orders. We sat for another 15 minutes before drink orders were taken. Took a long time to get the drink orders and at that time I told the waitress we were ready to order. She took our orders and then we waited. We never saw our waitress again until the food slowly started to arrive. She never came to refill any drinks. It took a very long time to even get our food and the waitress brought two meals and then we waited for the rest, it took us over 20 minutes to get everybody's food. We have manners and wait for everyone to have their food before we begin to eat so only the last person to get their food had hot food. The waitress then finally showed back up to refill drinks when we were almost finished eating, we finished eating. She brought the check and the. Never came back to collect payment. We had to go to hostess stand to pay and the. Were charged an 18% gratuity for horrible service and cold food. Made for a miserable Mother's Day brunch. Will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

FIRST TIME EXPERIENCE; made a reservation but when we arrived they didn't seem to have one. Sat for 4-6 minutes before being greeted. It was busy but not slammed so the service definitely could have been better. We all got the brunch buffet and it's a bit disappointing too. Eggs, bacon, sausage, and potatoes were the only hot options. Sad pastry selection, limited bagels, and generic cream cheese. With the presentation and selection options, $7-8 would be have been a more appropriate price point compared to $14. It wasn't the best place to celebrate an early mothers day brunch but it wasn't horrible either, just expensive and with the service lacking. By the time we left, there was only one other table and that didn't really change the level of service we received. We just felt like they maybe wanted us to leave? Thankfully Krispy Kreme was just a short drive away so we saved the morning!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great food and waiter was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great service from Kelly & very friendly staff. Was a fun night. Good food & drinks.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always enjoy Jimmy Vs before and after the NC Symphony. A bit pricey, but that's the cost of eating downtown. Service was great as usual!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Went here before prom and had a great time! Sat outside and there was a beer festival downtown so it was pretty loud but understandable. Food was great if a bit expensive and they were very accommodating when my friends wanted to split something. Service was great and everyone was very nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

A lot more casual than I had hoped. Food was decent but nothing special. Jimmy Vs is more of a hotel restaurant rather than a destination restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Had a good business lunch celebration for our team at Jimmy V's. The food was good, service was excellent, and overall atmosphere was nice. I would highly recommend, and expect we will return again. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Seemed more bar than restaurant. The service was slow to arrive, and the waitress couldn't answer any of our questions about the menu. The food tasted good but was overpriced for what we got ($17 spaghetti and meatballs?), except perhaps the chef's special, gnocchi which was excellent! Not good enough to justify a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Loved the ambience and the outdoor area. Food was all very good. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Service was very good and the food was served within a reasonable period of time, and at a very good temperature. Price of our meal was very reasonable, and overall we were very satisfied with our dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The kitchen was very slow. Took 30 minutes to get my husbands side salad out to the table. Our meals arrived 22 minutes later. His steak was cooked perfectly. However, I ordered the Bruschetta and the bread was so hard I could not bite it. I asked the waiter to have the kitchen redo the bread - that took another 10 minutes. We had tickets to a concert that started at 8 and I wasn't able to eat but one piece of bruschetta as we had to leave. Instead I took 2 slices of the bread and ate that on the way to the concert. The waiter was great - this was in no way on him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was great, but took over an hour to get it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We went to Jimmy V's prior to attending a show at the Duke Performing Arts Center on Friday, Mar 10th. We had a reservation for 6:15pm, we were seated promptly and our hostess took our drinks menu. The drinks didn't show up till about 20 mins later, after that she took our food order. We told her we have a show to attend, she told us food should be 20 mins max. At 7:30 we still did not have our food, at 7:45 we asked to cancel our order and just get our checks so we can get to our show. Instantly our food shows up in boxes to go, we told them what would we do with this, it will just sit in the car now and we asked to just cancel our food and get our check, it is now 7:50pm. This was a very bad experience at Jimmy V's and a first, we had been there before and never had to go through anything like this. We left the restaurant without eating anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I was super disappointed with this restaurant. We made a reservation for my birthday/girls night out. We planned 2 hours so that we would be on time for a show we were seeing after dinner. Soon arrival we were seated quickly. However after that things went down hill quickly. Our server got our orders in and drinks on the table about 30 minutes after ordering. Then we did not see her again for an hour. No water, no drink refills and no checking to make sure the food was ok...which it wasnt. Our pizza was cold and our appetizer never came out. We tried several times to track our server down and was met with less than stellar responses from other servers. We even went to the bar to order drinks while we waited and was told they would rather we order through our server and was turned away. Our server came by and asked if we needed drinks, we ordered as welk as ordere desert and she dissapeared again. When we finally got our server to grab our checks she then disappeared for another 20 minutes. Finally 3.5 hours after got there she brought our checks to the table and we were able to pay. No drinks, no desert nothing. We all felt tgat for 60.00 checks that we should have at least gotten our money's worth in the food. Tables around us were also held up and one didn't even get their food, thus having to take it to go. The server brought it to the table and it was the wrong order and then asked them to pay for it anyway. I was super bummed about the whole thing. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant to anyone until they get a good handle on their wait staff, and customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Really good find in downtown Raleigh. Will be back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My first visit to Jimmy V's was disappointing. I live in downtown Raleigh and took visiting family members there for breakfast. It took 20 minutes for our water and coffee to be delivered. The waitress was quiet but friendly; however, when our food was delivered, my omelette was missing key ingredients and my husband's pancakes were hard and cold. During our visit, I witnessed three customers from separate tables get up to steal silverware from other tables because they didn't have any. We all ordered from the menu because the buffet was little more than what you'd receive as a complimentary hotel breakfast.

In all fairness, I have not tried Jimmy V's for lunch or dinner. Perhaps those menus/times are more impressive. I will not be returning there for breakfast, though...far too many great breakfast options downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Had reservations...waited over an hour for raw food and burnt cheese bread...server was not at all contrite but eye rolling and snarky....very disappointed...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.