About Jimmy V's Osteria + Bar - Downtown Raleigh

420 Fayetteville St
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Jimmy V’s Osteria + Bar is a unique and modern restaurant was created with Jimmy Valvano’s passion and commitment to excellence, and a percentage of the restaurant’s revenue will be donated to the V Foundation. Jimmy Valvano’s love for food is the influence behind our menu creation featuring local and seasonal dishes with an emphasis on delicious Italian/American down to earth and traditional comfort foods using local farm grown ingredients and straightforward preparations. Also, Executive Chef Jeff Russell focuses on shareable small-plates, to encourage groups to socialize in a convivial atmosphere, which is warm and inviting for family gatherings, a night on the town or toasting drinks with friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
City Center

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 256-1451

Website:
http://www.jimmyvsraleigh.com/

Parking Details:
Access valet parking from the roundabout at 421 S. Salisbury St. To access the restaurant go inside the Sheraton Hotel, take a left, go up the escalator, and Jimmy V's Osteria + Bar can be entered directly to your right. Ask your server or host for a stamp to receive special customer discount on valet.

Public Transit:
Raleigh's free R-Line stops just behind us at the Raleigh Convention Center at stop R-13 Cross over Salisbury, enter through the Sheraton, go left up the escalators and come straight ahead until you see Jimmy V's on the right!

Executive Chef:
Tom Stagikas

Private Party Contact:
Kelsie Shortsleeve: (919) 256-1451

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Jimmy V's Osteria + Bar - Downtown Raleigh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Fun (10)
See All
Casual (10)
Special Occasion (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Authentic (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Business Meals (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Cozy (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Romantic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
People Watching (2)
Fireplace (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
337 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Was told the menu changed the day before ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

Was told the menu changed the day before valentine's day. Not reflected online as chnged. Very minimal and only two entrees.

No beer or cocktail list, only wine. Some elements of food were cold. Slow service even with a prefix menu. 2.5 hours for dinner, wasn't nearly as busy as I thought it would be for the holiday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great food, great service, a minor reser ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food, great service, a minor reservation hiccup, but they fixed it right away. The food was enough for leftovers, which were just as good the next day. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am choosing a special diet right now a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I am choosing a special diet right now and the server and chefs were so accommodating! The dish that the chef made for me was amazing! I will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice but noisy. Prices seemed high for N ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Nice but noisy. Prices seemed high for NC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Our meal at Jimmy V's was a very positiv ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Our meal at Jimmy V's was a very positive experience - good food - delightful and efficient staff. Our waitress was great - made some good recommendations! Very convenient for a pre-theatre meal in Raleigh. We'll be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food but server was inattentive

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Good food but server was inattentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

The best part was the food. It's a resta ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The best part was the food. It's a restaurant, so I expect the food to be the highlight. We had a hard time deciding from the menu or the Restaurant Week special. We opted for the regular menu. My wife had the wings and I went for the cavatelli carbonara. Outstanding is the only way to describe it. I thought the menu was alittle pricey, but then, part of the bill goes to the V Foundation and that is a good cause.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

It was too loud and they had a private p ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

It was too loud and they had a private party on the other side of a window. We couldn't hear each other talk and party goers kept waving at us through the windows. The ambiance was bad.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

We went for the Triangle Restaurant Week ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We went for the Triangle Restaurant Week special and ended up getting other menu items as well. The food was excellent and our server Andrea was very attentive and made sure our glasses never went dry as well as that there was bread always on the table. I don't know if it's normally as empty as it was but that provided a nice quiet, romantic meal. Would go again, just not an every day thing due to the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All four of us enjoyed our meals. Our wa ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

All four of us enjoyed our meals. Our waiter was excellent, though I did not get his name. I love the gluten-free options… Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Husband and another friend had the chic ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Husband and another friend had the chicken piccata which was not simply a breast, but included a bone in the leg too--rather unusual. I had the scallops and risotto with asparagus which was good and another friend had a salad and the cheese bread, which she liked. We sat in a "back" room that was heated too much. Allie was friendly and helpful.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

My fiancé and I have popped in for drink ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My fiancé and I have popped in for drinks before and finally had the pleasure of dining here. The arancini was an amazing start to dinner. For dinner the butternut squash ravioli is a must! Food and ambiance was amazing, our waitress was hard to find at moments but she was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Always great food and great service. We ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Always great food and great service. We work close by and this is never a miss.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on Christmas and had the buffet. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went on Christmas and had the buffet. A little under staffed perhaps? Food was good and will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We go to Jimmy V's for Christmas every y ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We go to Jimmy V's for Christmas every year and we love it. Unfortunately, this year they decided to do a buffet. We have two young children and the buffet did have not offer any options for young kids. There was only 3 main options and 2/3 side options. The food was typical buffet like it had been sitting and warmed. The desert bar was a complete mess. Service was poor and slow. After spending $180 on four of us, we went home and to eat again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

We were there on Christmas day and the w ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were there on Christmas day and the whole experience was great. We had the buffet and the the roastbeef was out of this world. The staff was fantastic... quick, helpful & polite. Worth going back again!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our annual Christmas Eve dinner, group o ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our annual Christmas Eve dinner, group of 9. Varied food preferences. Good choices for all of us plus a private area so we could carry on group and individual conversations without disturbing other diners. A great evening for all!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Really enjoyed this restaurant downtown. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Really enjoyed this restaurant downtown. Nice atmosphere and very large portions. True Italian restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not at all like the one in macgregor. Mo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Not at all like the one in macgregor. More of a sports bar with ok food.

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Casual, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

Service was attentive and good. Adequate ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Service was attentive and good. Adequate choices in menu. Nice specialty drinks. We had pizzas which were very good. There were 4 of us, so we ordered 4 different pizzas and traded slices. It is within walking distance to downtown performance venues.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for Brunch before our Matiné ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great place for Brunch before our Matinée of "A Christmas Carol" at Memorial Auditorium!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Jimmy V's for a business lunc ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We went to Jimmy V's for a business lunch. I was happy how easy it was to make a reservation online. My butternut Squash Ravioli w/ Shrimp was unique and delicious. Service was great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect in every way. Arrived 15 minutes ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Perfect in every way. Arrived 15 minutes early for a reservation and was promptly accommodated with our table. The butternut squash ravioli and beef tenderloin were out of this world - best cut of meat I have ever experienced. Just a completely fantastic experience! Highly recommended.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Fun, Casual, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food. Place doesn't overwhelm yo ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Awesome food. Place doesn't overwhelm you with atmosphere however the food and service are solid. I would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Jimmy V's was the perfect place for lunc ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Jimmy V's was the perfect place for lunch before a matinee with the NC Symphony Holiday Pops. Food was excellent, wait staff very good. I would definitely make this a top choice next time I am having lunch in Raleigh. Easy access from the City Parking ramp was also welcomed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on Thanksgiving for brunch. Serv ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went on Thanksgiving for brunch. Service was great but the food was not. Ordered off the menu rather than the buffet. Eggs were undercooked, breakfast potatoes were bland and the pecan waffle was actually inedible. And I'm not that picky. Coffee was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

We love this restaurant and have dined h ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We love this restaurant and have dined here several years in a row when in Raleigh for the weekend. The service was terrible, which was a first for us. We still enjoyed the food and atmosphere and will go again and hope for a better, more engaging and helpful server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

The waitress did not want to be there an ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The waitress did not want to be there and from her actions let it be known. For some reason she made me keep turning around in my seat and handing me my food and condiments and there was plenty of space around myself and the table. She fell short with the other guests also. The food was good but the bread was stale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The place had a great ambiance but felt ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The place had a great ambiance but felt food for the price could have had more flavor . Portions fairly small for price. Staff was great. Wish menu had a few more options

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I had the Black and Blue salad. The stea ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2016

I had the Black and Blue salad. The steak was cooked perfectly and the salad greens were fresh. Others at our table had a pizza and thought it was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Overall, a great experience. I would def ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Overall, a great experience. I would definitely go back for a special occasion. I had the scallops with risotto. I was disappointed in that there was very little cauliflower and only 4 scallops. (I'm accustomed to having no less than 5 scallops when I order them.) Now, the food that I did have was very good, but I just thought they went a little light on those two things.

The service was great. The waitress sat us near a door and there was live music being played outside that made it too noisy to sit there. They understood the problem and moved us promptly. The waiter was top notch -very professional. This place is good to catch up with an out of town guest (as was my case) or a date.

My bill for 2 dinners and 2 cocktails was around $100, so I will not be coming here weekly. However, I would come back for a date or if I had friends in town.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Service and the atmosphere were great! T ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Service and the atmosphere were great! The food was just okay. I had the zucchini fries as an appetizer and the bolognese as an entree.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Made a reservation for Labor Day breakfa ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Made a reservation for Labor Day breakfast. Buffet was mediocre. Eggs overcooked, very hum-drum offerings for $15. There was also nobody else in the place. I guess others knew something we didn't. I'm sure Jimmy V's does much better with non-buffet meals but this was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Limited menu, with poorly executed dishe ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Limited menu, with poorly executed dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

The downtown venue seems to be a scaled ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The downtown venue seems to be a scaled down version of the one in Cary.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Had a great meal and the service was exc ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Had a great meal and the service was excellent that made the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We decided to check out Jimmy V's during ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We decided to check out Jimmy V's during Restaurant Week, as my mother was visiting us from out of town and my wife had mentioned wanting to try it out. Unfortunately, the Restaurant Week offerings were limited and not all too appealing, so we all ended up ordering off the regular menu, which was 'okay'....nothing all too special, and not what we had expected as far as quality and taste of food. Our server was good, and attentive, and the atmosphere is inviting and nice for a Friday evening. The food was not bad, but did not live up to our expectations. We probably will not be returning anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We tried Jimmy V's during restaurant wee ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We tried Jimmy V's during restaurant week. Appetizer salad was great. Main course was chicken parm with gnocchi. It was really good! We got some sort of dessert that looked like little funnel cakes - wouldn't order these again as they were pretty bland.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great service - helpful on all qu ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Always great service - helpful on all questions and friendly and attentive. Every item on the menu that I have ordered so far has been wonderful. I have eaten there several times and have not been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall a good experience. Bruschetta is ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Overall a good experience. Bruschetta is top notch. The cavatappi bolognese was just okay, a bit bland. I would say it's slightly overpriced for the quality of food but the portion sizes are huge so that's a plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.