About Jimmy V's Osteria + Bar - Downtown Raleigh

420 Fayetteville St
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Jimmy V’s Osteria + Bar is a unique and modern restaurant was created with Jimmy Valvano’s passion and commitment to excellence, and a percentage of the restaurant’s revenue will be donated to the V Foundation. Jimmy Valvano’s love for food is the influence behind our menu creation featuring local and seasonal dishes with an emphasis on delicious Italian/American down to earth and traditional comfort foods using local farm grown ingredients and straightforward preparations. Also, Executive Chef Jeff Russell focuses on shareable small-plates, to encourage groups to socialize in a convivial atmosphere, which is warm and inviting for family gatherings, a night on the town or toasting drinks with friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
City Center

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 256-1451

Website:
http://www.jimmyvsraleigh.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Kuilan

Private Party Contact:
Jim Henning: 9192561451x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Jimmy V's Osteria + Bar - Downtown Raleigh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.1

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (30)
great for outdoor dining (19)
fit for foodies (16)
See All
special occasion (15)
vibrant bar scene (13)
hot spot (13)
great for lunch (12)
neighborhood gem (12)
kid-friendly (8)
late-night find (7)
romantic (5)
great for brunch (5)
notable wine list (3)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
281 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Food was mediocre and atmosphere too loud.

Dined on May 23, 2016

Service was just ok. I remembered from two years ago a much better experience all around. Don't know if we caught it in a bad night or if its under different management. But based on this experience I cannot recommend it.

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

great location for attending events at M ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

great location for attending events at Memorial Hall but dining was just ok....prices for drinks were high and food was average;

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good place for dinner prior to going to ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Good place for dinner prior to going to a concert at Meymandi Concert Hall. Food was very good and service was excellent and efficient, even on a Friday night,

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a wonderful time our family had. Fr ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

What a wonderful time our family had. From the time we entered the restaurant until we left, we were greeted by a very friendly host and was seated immediately. Our server was on top of all our request. He gave us some wonderful suggestions for our main entrees as well as dessert. He was also very kind in accommodating my grand-daughters special pasta request. He made it happen and we were very happy. Since then I have told everyone what a wonderful time we had and that they need to make Jimmy V's their next choice for dinning.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Jimmy V

Dined on April 30, 2016

In Raleigh for the day and found a good Italian restaurant. Wine, service and food was exceptional.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4

Reservation and food order were right. L ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Reservation and food order were right. Loud and busy b/c of a festival, will be back

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was good and I loved the fact that it is a restaurant that accepts reservations so close to the Progress Energy Memorial Auditorium. The place was packed so we expected a bit of a delay in being served, but we were disappointed that it took far too long to get served than it should have. We were seated at 6:20, which should have been plenty of time to eat and make to the symphony by 8:00 but we had to rush through dinner and hurry to the symphony to make it in time. Not the relaxing evening we had planned. However, the server was kind and very appologetic - and the food was very good. Delicious bruschetta!! We will definitely give it another try since they were busy and we understood. Just know that you should be there early if you are hoping to make it to a play or symphony.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Calimari was exceptional

Dined on April 22, 2016

Noisy, average food except for the Calimari which was among the best we've ever had: tiny, tender rings with a light breading and two nice sauces. Tuscan chicken pizza was good flavor in middle but crusts were flavorless and hard.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

A little disappointing

Dined on April 9, 2016

The atmosphere and menu were promising, but the food was not as good as we had hoped and the price was a little high for this lack of quality. The location was great for us, as we were staying in that hotel, but I would not go out of my way to eat here.

food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Not a date spot

Dined on April 2, 2016

Not the greatest place for a nice date. More for causal dinning. Food isn't really as good as I thought it would be for an American-Italian food place. There spaghetti and meatballs had way to much thyme and the meatballs seem way to undercooked.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Too loud for my liking, but location, fo ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Too loud for my liking, but location, food and service make it worth it. I'm sure I'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Hostess Complaint but Great Food/Drinks

Dined on March 12, 2016

My only complaint was that upon arriving my group stood at the hostess stand for about 10 minutes before anyone even acknowledged us. The food and drinks were very good and our waitress was very nice and accommodating.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

You would not expect the food to be this ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

You would not expect the food to be this good in a restaurant named after a former basketball coach in the hotel downtown...but it is!

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Over rated

Dined on March 3, 2016

We had food at the level found in any average restaurant, but this was pricey for what we got. Lousy meatballs and chain type pizza. Maybe some staff are good but ours was unfriendly, he forgot items we ordered, and seemed frustrated to give details on menu items. There was a loud group music with dancing out in the courtyard and a bar full of yelling guys over a basketball game. Could hardly talk with out yelling ourselves, so that ruined the evening for us. Basically a nice looking place where the limited menu gives you choices from wings and pizza to filet with blue cheese. Have an idea I should have ordered the steak, as it was recommended as excellent by a neighbor.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Food?

Dined on February 21, 2016

We waited 90 minutes for our food, however it never arrived. We were told that they were backed up because of a birthday party that was taking place at the same time. I didn't find this excuse acceptable considering the majority of patrons had reservations. There are many great options in downtown Raleigh, this was a disappointment.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on February 21, 2016

Celebrated our daughter's 26th birthday here last Saturday night after the State basketball game. Great service, great food, great atmosphere! We'll be back!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always good!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Food is always delicious, the oven baked chicken wings are always a staple at our table. The pizza's are exceptional, the pasta's are very delicious as well. We love coming to Jimmy V's it is always good!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

You won't go away hungry!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Jimmy V's always delivers on its promise to feed you well. Consistent cooking and great bar drinks. Portions are very large, so come hungry. Service is always top-notch.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and great servive

Dined on February 15, 2016

We went for Valentine's Day and expected some issues being a busy night. Pleasantly surprised !!! The service was perfect and so was the food. This was our first time and will be back for sure!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Chris the server

Dined on February 14, 2016

We enjoyed our waiter Chris, he was very attentive and personable. We ate at Jimmy V's for Valentine's Day with my daughter and he made sure she felt extra special. We had a really great time!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Poor service

Dined on February 13, 2016

The restaurant wasn't very busy but they sure had a hard time keeping orders straight between a few tables. Ended up waiting 20 minutes before our appetizer came out, then 2 min later our main courses were at the table. For the prices charged you expect fine dinning with flawless service. Food was good but was rushed when everything came out at once.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Food

Dined on February 13, 2016

It was our first time going, we sat close to the kitchen and got to see all the food going out. Everything looked and smelled amazing. We opted for the Lobster Spaghetti and Scallop Risotto dinners, both were very good and I can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

We were pretty disappointed

Dined on February 13, 2016

The pizza was very chewy and seemed liked the cheese was heated in a microwave rather than just baked. The burger was overdone and tasted burnt . The only thing we really liked were the french fries. Sorry Jimmy V's!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

First time; I'll be back!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Went on Valentines day. The tables were a little close, so you could hear your neighbors conversations. Even though it was a busy time, the service didn't suffer at all; our waiter remained call, professional, and relaxed. Our plates were ~$30 each, but the portion sizes were good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had a great night with my daughter. It ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

Had a great night with my daughter. It was a fun place with lots of good food, good service. I would recommend highly to my friends. We will definitely return. Thanks for a good evening.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant Week Find

Dined on January 30, 2016

The truffle fries were excellent and a great side or starter. Seafood ravioli was also delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

NO fuss pizzas, sandwichs and other appetizers.

vip
Dined on January 8, 2016

Great location, pizzas are tasty and thin. Service can be a bit more attentive, but it wasnt lacking. There is a outdoor area with heaters for the cold temps that would be very fun. Cannot beat the location in the Sheraton right on Fayetteville street , downtown near the Marriott, etc.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Saturday Nite Find

Dined on January 3, 2016

We went downtown Raleigh location on a Saturday Night, it wasn't busy we think because of the cold weather. I was expecting a more in depth menu it seemed a little limited in choices. I got a pizza that was ok, my husband got some veal pasta that was too peppery but the service was excellent would go back for lunch not dinner. No real kids menu either- this is a great lace for adults to hang out for groups or private time.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

After the show

Dined on December 27, 2015

My party of 4 recently visited Jimmy V' s for supper after The Nutcracker at nearby Memorial Auditorium. We walked from the auditorium to the restaurant and were thrilled with the quality and value of our meal! Will definitely go back, and have already recommended it to some friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service1

We dined there after a 2 hour wait for f ...

vip
Dined on December 26, 2015

We dined there after a 2 hour wait for food after we placed our order on Christmas Day. We were pleased that a restaurant was open on a holiday and would be willing to cut some slack on the food delay BUT we couldn't even get beverages. Finally after about an hour they did give us some bread. I had the pizza. The kitchen must have run out of ingredients as there was almost nothing on the pizza-sauce, cheese, sausage etc. The other entree was a filet for $32. The meat was tender but completely tasteless and smothered in some type of sauce reminiscent of A1. We decided to slice the steak and put on the pizza which made an edible combination. I think this restaurant needs a Chef Ramsey makeover STAT!

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Service was very slow

Dined on December 26, 2015

I made reservations for a party of 5 for Christmas day for 7:30 p.m., and when we arrived, we were immediately seated, however, it took forever for us to get our dinner. I understand that situations arise when a restaurant may be short staffed, however, the way the situation was handled was not satisfactory. The waiter had to be asked on several occasions for basics like bringing bread to the table. Our appetizer arrived late and cold, and had to be returned. Our dinner took over an hour to get to the table. The food was tasty, hot, and the portions were generous, but the delay in the service ruined the overall experience. They did offer to give us dessert for free for our wait. I would have a real hard recommending this place to anyone moving forward.

food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Christmas Meal

Dined on December 25, 2015

I don't think my family had a representative Jimmy V's Osteria meal. The restaurant has a good to even better reputation. With that said, our meal was tasteless, overcooked and a little bit better than left overs. Even the fresh hot bread was cool in the center. We will assume that the regular cooking staff had the day off. Wish I had known in advance I would of made a frozen dinner instead.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good Food that Fights Cancer

Dined on December 25, 2015

Our Christmas Day visit was great. We did not choose the Holiday Pre Fixe meal, although it looked fantastic. Since this was our first visit we bounced around the standard menu with: zucchini fries, Jimmy V's meatballs, and the BBQ chicken pizza. Only fault I can find with the meal was our table for two was a little small for the number of plates and glasses the wait staff brought to the table. Also, so happy that a portion of every meal goes to fight cancer through donations to The Jimmy V Foundation.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious

Dined on December 18, 2015

Really delicious evening. The rosemary wings were amazing. Definitely going back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

quality of food

Dined on December 16, 2015

Salad dressing had much to much vinegar. Tuscan pizza nothing special Server was good

food1
ambience2
service4

Salty, greasy pizza

Dined on December 11, 2015

This was our first visit. Very loud and busy on a Friday night, but seated promptly thanks to a reservation. Great waiter who was attentive and made sure we got to our event on time. Starter meatballs were great as was mixed green salad and complimentary bread. But all three pizzas ordered were so salty and greasy that they were inedible. Even my daughters cheese pizza off the kids menu was gross. Disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place

Dined on November 28, 2015

I loved this place it's my first time but I will be back..., best meatballs I have ever had.... Great service ...a must go.....

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service3

traditional thanksgiving dinner .

Dined on November 26, 2015

Jimmy V's offered a prefixed thanksgiving menu. The food was quite good , the room was filled with lots of TV 's with football on no music just football. I think i may have been the only one disappointed with the ambience .

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently terrific dining experience

Dined on November 17, 2015

The food is high-quality, as is the service and general ambience. Just a top dining experience that is among the top in Raleigh.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5

Great Spot for Brunch

Dined on November 8, 2015

Visited a couple of weeks ago, and it was every bit as charming as when I discovered this spot last year. Hope you get Andrew for your server - he is a great guy and does a super job. Plan on sharing whatever you order because the portions are oversized!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.