About Jillian's

74155 El Paseo
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Romantic. Inviting. Original. Uncompromising quality. Superb cuisine graciously served in an extraordinary atmosphere, is the unique inspiration of proprietors Jay and June Trubee

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
International, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Dress Code Observed, Business Casual but No Shorts for Gentlemen Please
Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm (times change seasonally)


Cross Street:
Portola

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 776-8242

Website:
http://jilliansfinedining.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music in the lounge nightly.

Executive Chef:
Jay G. Trubee

Private Party Facilities:
Jillian's guests will experience a masterful Eclectic cuisine in a style of dining where the traditions of southern Italy and regional American cuisine are paired with elegant wines. We will gladly customize a menu to complement and enhance your event.

Private Party Contact:
June Trubee: 8776491573

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Thanksgiving open at 3:00 PM with special menu
Christmas Eve open at 5:00 PM with Holiday Additions to the menu.
New Years Eve 5:30, 6:00 PM and 9:00, 9:30 PM seating's
Valentine's Day open at 5:00 PM with special menu
Open Mother's Day

Jillian's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Food
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Service
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
13 More
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Fit for Foodies
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Notable Wine List
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Romantic
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Overall
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Food
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Service
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Fit for Foodies
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Notable Wine List
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Romantic
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Desert ›

special occasion (80)
romantic (74)
fit for foodies (64)
See All
great for outdoor dining (54)
notable wine list (32)
neighborhood gem (30)
good for groups (10)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
206 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I had an early Friday evenin ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I had an early Friday evening dinner. Staff were attentive and pleasant. Cocktails were good. My wife's salad had no dressing. Her steak was undercooked. Both were easily correctable, but why the need to correct? Since we were dining early, they were not yet busy, so I'm assuming the errors were just lack of attention. Ambiance is nice. Will probably return and dine on patio. Seems like a wonderful setting

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the gaspacho (delightful with cra ...

Dined 3 days ago

We had the gaspacho (delightful with crabmeat garnish) lamb ribs (the most succulent either of us have ever had) and the date dessert (really... To die for) Jean, our waiter as good as any waiter we have encountered in Europe where waiters are true professionals who take their professions seriously. The patio was quite romantic too. The best restaurant in the valley.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner celebrations.

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food and service were both beyond amazing! The live piano music was great and the interior was cozy and romantic.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always the best

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Always the best

food5
ambience5
service5

An excellent experience and will definit ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

An excellent experience and will definitely be returning.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Corkage

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my Mom here for Mother's Day dinner. It was very nice, good ambiance and service but when I saw the bill I was shocked to see I'd been charged $30.00 for corkage fee. It wasn't an inexpensive meal but the corkage was over the top! I glad I went there but will never eat there again.

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Not worth the $$

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The wine list is marginal, and they were out of some wines by the glass because they were "closing in a couple of weeks" for the summer. The food was OK, but not worth the price point. The service was OK, but not great. There are better options in the area.

food2
ambience3
service5

Well fourth time here sat inside by pian ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Well fourth time here sat inside by pianist our Server Fernando was excellent For food we had Brussel sprout salad which was excellent and the special tomato mozzarella salad with basil And pine nuts which could of been better the tomatoes were ice cold almost to the point that they froze so the texture of the tomatoes had broken down too bad it would of been a better dish For wine 2013 Domain Drouhin which was delicious Entrees Stroganoff excellent The special white fish a little too much flour in the breading It was deceived to us as a dusting but was a bit heavier sort of overpowered the delicate fish. We also had the Sea bass cheeks which were good but then again why coat them in flour with a heavy hand ? It really takes away from the flavor of the fish . Having been turned away with shorts on I was surprised to see a man at the table next to us in shorts . When I Asked the senior hostess she replied in a smug manner well he had long pants when he came in He must of changed ? Not a very good response and totally unprofessional Food 3 stars Service Fernando 5 stars Management zero stars

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

wonderful restaurant for special occasio ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

wonderful restaurant for special occasions or just a wonderful night of dinning out. Ambience is wonderful and so quaint and the food is amazing! The deserts are particularity wonderful as well.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Would never hesitate to go back there. ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Would never hesitate to go back there. Food was fabulous Had a wonderful birthday celebration with our friends

food5
ambience5
service4

We had a wonderful evening, excellent fo ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a wonderful evening, excellent food, perfect outdoor seating, romantic and very special. It is a longstanding restaurant but a new discovery for us. It will be our go to in the desert.

food4
ambience5
service5

Took a friend for her birthday. Wonder ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Took a friend for her birthday. Wonderful setting with piano playing in the background. Very romantic and exactly what I was looking for to make her special day, special!

food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Jillian's not up to reputation

Dined on April 28, 2016

The food was fine although not exceptional. The main issue was our waiter. He was terrible!! The restaurant has great atmosphere and because of this, we might try it again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Top Fine Dining in the Desert

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

As always, Jillian's lived up to our very high expectations in fine dining. Always a highlight of our annual trek to Palm Desert, hey continue to amaze with the very best of both food and service -- all in a relaxed, upscale ambiance that we really appreciate. Although it's always out number one choice for special occasions, Jillian's is just as exciting for making any evening a special occasion. Can't wait for our next visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of Palm Desert's Best/

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Jillian's is one of Palm Deserts finest restaurants. Great ambiance. Very creative and excellent quality entrees. Very attentive staff. Great dinning experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful evening. Food, ambience ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

What a wonderful evening. Food, ambience,service.. A five star experience from start to finish.. What a treat

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Oasis in the Desert

Dined on April 12, 2016

A Jewel of a restaurant experience in the Palm Desert area. We were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary and we could not have selected a finer place for that celebration. The setting, in a Ranchero style home, with a open patio in the center of the complex, surrounded by additional dining areas, was fantastic. My wife's whitefish was the best ever she has ever enjoyed, and we have eaten in fine dining places such as Hong Kong, New York, Bangkok, Shanghai, London, and many others. Jillian's is the place for fine dining. We will be back!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Best bread ever!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Best bread ever!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best in fine dining at Jillian's

Dined on April 6, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful evening at Jillian's . There was three in our party and everyone's meal was great. Our server was attentive to our every need. We dine out often and Jillian's is tops on our list.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

Dined on April 1, 2016

Have been here several times and the food is always excellent. The service is also excellent; you never feel rushed, and you are never searching for a server when you need one.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4

Scallop risotto was spectacular!! Not a ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Scallop risotto was spectacular!! Not as fond of Hawaiian cheesecake as were others. Caesar salad was below average. Restaurant was nice, just didn't live up to the billing. A bit stuffy for my taste.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a very windy night when we went a ...

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

It was a very windy night when we went and I was disappointed that we could not sit outside. They sat us in a charming room and actually the ambiance turned out to be wonderful. Our food was excellent and our server was so helpful with his suggestions on what items to order. A wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb

Dined on March 29, 2016

This is our favorite splurge when we come to the desert every year! It was the windiest day in many many years and they promptly seated us inside for our party of six. Truly enjoyable

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always lovely

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

There is always a reason to go to Jillian's for wonderful food, service and atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Favorite!

Dined on March 25, 2016

Jillian's is, has been, and will probably always remain my very favorite Coachella Valley restaurant. We are never disappointed! Jay's white fish is the very best, anywhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Palm Springs/Palm Desert

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

We love this restaurant! Perfect for a romantic night out or a special occasion with a small group of friends… And the food is spectacular! Always a treat… Thanks Jillian's!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

First time at Jillian's we love it and w ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

First time at Jillian's we love it and will be back soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent for special occasions, food an ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Excellent for special occasions, food and service always great

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good food wonderful inner courtyard romatic

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Excellent service and ambience, very good food, quiet and romantic

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Anniversary Dinner

Dined on March 11, 2016

I have known of Jillian's for years, but never been there. Nancy and I celebrated our anniversary there, and what a great evening. Beautiful patio, outstanding service, and a menu that we could order every single thing off of. Fresh Eastern bay scallops on corn risotto was over the top. Lobster salad was incredible. Salmon in Parchment some of the best ever. And the topper was Hawaiian Cheesecake. Since we were married in Maui, and this recipe was written up by my all time favorite magazine, Gourmet, this was perfect to end the evening. Loved watching the action in the kitchen. In all our years this is one of the best anniversary dinners ever. Now we have to return to order the rest of the menu!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

nice but expensive

Dined on March 11, 2016

Our trip to Palm Springs is not complete without a visit to Jillians--always go there before going to the McCallum theatre. Have not been disappointed. very romantic except this time--a family with a couple of small kids was distracting--not sure why you would bring very small children to this type of restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Definitely should dine here.

Dined on March 8, 2016

We felt welcomed as soon as we arrived. Staff was friendly. Waiter was knowledgeable and made a good presentation of the daily specials and changes on the regular menu. The food was prepared very well. We had a very pleasant evening.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful birthday dinner

Dined on March 4, 2016

The service is attentive but not rushed or overbearing. My dinner partner had a lobster butter lettuce salad and I had gazpacho with crab and avocado. Both were well presented and tasty. For dinner my partner had fresh seared ahi perfectly cooked and absolutely fresh fish. I enjoyed flavorful seared bay scallops. Both came with a delightful medley of fresh vegetables and a potato gratin. Nice floors and combination. Dessert topped it off with fresh ice cream in an almond pecan shell and crime brûlée. Both perfect.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Birthday Dinners

Dined on March 3, 2016

We've been to Jillian's before, and always enjoyed it - the food, service, & ambience. When I read some current reviews the day we were going there I was a little apprehensive about it being as good as I remembered. I'm happy to say that we had a wonderful experience. The atmosphere is really pretty and welcoming, our service was great, and the food was excellent. Two of us had the sea bass special, and it was cooked perfectly and very flavorful in a green curry sauce over jasmine rice, and the 3rd person had the scallops special, which she raved about! The salads were very good, and I like the fact you can get a half salad. The only thing that surprised us was the bread. I think it was a brioche type bread, and we all would have preferred a bread with more texture, like a rustic French or ciabatta. Even though we were celebrating 3 birthdays, we were all so full we opted not to have any dessert, even though we saw a couple go by that looked yummy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on March 3, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary here... The food was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

A birthday dinner for two

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

My husband and I had our first dinner at Jillian's to celebrate our birthdays. We have wanted to try the restaurant for a long time and looked forward to seeing the patio for outdoor dining that so many reviewers had written about. We were about 6 minutes early when we checked in at the desk which was 'manned' by three women in sprayed on black cocktail dresses. We got a thorough look over by all three women, from head to toe, so much so that it made me blush! I haven't had such disapproving stares from a woman since my second grade teacher noticed that I forgot to wear socks to school one day. We decided that the khaki slacks and Polo shirts were not up to this restaurant's expectations, and the whole episode was very off-putting for us both.The patio was wonderful, and after 20 years in the desert, this is the most charming outdoor venue we have been in. Service was VERY good. We weren't rushed, and the waiter knew the menu inside and out. We both had an excellent salad special--caprese with pine nuts. The portions were way too big and the cost of $16 dollars was pretty high. My husband had the stroganoff which wasn't too good. The noodles were mushy and overcooked, and instead of mixing the sour cream into the sauce, there was a big blob of it floating in the center of the dish. I had a bay scallop special. The scallops were perfect, served with a beurre-blanc sauce (more beurre than blanc). It came with a tiny teaspoon portion of 5 different vegetables. Cost of $42 was also quite high. For dessert we shared the pineapple cheesecake, probably one of the best I've ever had.So overall, we felt that the patio was just amazing, the service flawless, the food good, and the value questionable. Most importantly, as customers who payed over $200 for a dinner for 2, the attitude at our greeting was inexcusable. We will not be returning to Jillian's because of this.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Jillians

Dined on February 21, 2016

I love everything about Jillians. Yes, it is expensive, but worth it. Incredible service, food, wine list, romantic, comfortable- it has it all. My favorite restaurant in Palm Desert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and ambience

Dined on February 19, 2016

The four of us had dinner at Jillian's, what a beautiful restaurant. The food was outstanding, the service was great and we all had a lovely evening. The perfect spot for a special dinner. Expensive but worth every cent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointed. Reputation exceeded actuality.

Dined on February 17, 2016

Tables too close. Adjoining table conversation although not boisterous interrupted our space. Table was outside but small bugs invaded our table. Ambiance was nice Service was good, but standard expected was higher.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Celebration

Dined on February 11, 2016

Fabulous dining for a special wedding anniversary. Could not ask for a more beautiful setting, fabulous waiter and food was delicious. I would highly recommend this restaurant for any special occasion. A must return for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.