About Jillian's

74155 El Paseo
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Romantic. Inviting. Original. Uncompromising quality. Superb cuisine graciously served in an extraordinary atmosphere, is the unique inspiration of proprietors Jay and June Trubee

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
International, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Dress Code Observed, Business Casual but No Shorts for Gentlemen Please
Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm (times change seasonally)


Cross Street:
Portola

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 776-8242

Website:
http://jilliansfinedining.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music in the lounge nightly.

Executive Chef:
Jay G. Trubee

Private Party Facilities:
Jillian's guests will experience a masterful Eclectic cuisine in a style of dining where the traditions of southern Italy and regional American cuisine are paired with elegant wines. We will gladly customize a menu to complement and enhance your event.

Private Party Contact:
June Trubee: (877) 649-1573

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Thanksgiving open at 3:00 PM with special menu
Christmas Eve open at 5:00 PM with Holiday Additions to the menu.
New Years Eve 5:30, 6:00 PM and 9:00, 9:30 PM seating's
Valentine's Day open at 5:00 PM with special menu
Open Mother's Day

Jillian's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (35)
Special Occasion (35)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
See All
Good for a Date (24)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Notable Wine List (12)
Authentic (11)
Live Music (10)
Cozy (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Historic (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Business Meals (5)
Seasonal (4)
Fun (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Family Style (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Fireplace (2)
Private Room (1)
Casual (1)
People Watching (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
274 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fabulous food. The white fish they serv ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous food. The white fish they serve melts in your mouth. An amazing restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our second visit to Jillian's. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

It was our second visit to Jillian's. Food was excellent and service was exceptional! Would highly reccommend this restaurant when visiting Palm Springs.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A quintessential favorite this restauran ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A quintessential favorite this restaurant doesn't disappoint. Very professional staff with "old world" manners. Food is wonderful ambiance divine. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food very tasteless and expensive wine t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food very tasteless and expensive wine triple charged take your own! Outside dining area nice but food was not worth going back and not was we expected for a fine dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Receptionist was cold and unfriendly. F ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Receptionist was cold and unfriendly. Food was mediocre. Had a pianist but you couldn't hear it unless you were seated in the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

This has to be my favorite Palm Desert r ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This has to be my favorite Palm Desert restaurant! Consistently outstanding. Service...food...ambiance. If you don't order the salmon in parchment...you are totally missing out on one of the BEST dishes! Be sure to sit outside!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Waiters couldn't have be ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Excellent food. Waiters couldn't have been nicer. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Girls trip

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Girls trip

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal with outstanding servic ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Outstanding meal with outstanding service. Historic building dating to the 1950's when there was nothing else around. There is nothing bad on the menu. The Nantucket bay scallops truly melt in your mouth. The dessert list is a never ending list of choices. One of the best restaurants in Palm Springs! Definitely great for a couples night, anniversary or special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a quiet upscale "old school"California r ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 3, 2017

a quiet upscale "old school"California restaurant with hints of Carmel,Santa Barbara, relaxed, great food, great service -- the juice is worth the squeese

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service, excellent food, beaut ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Wonderful service, excellent food, beautiful setting. Couldn't have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jillian's is one the three best restaura ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Jillian's is one the three best restaurants in Coachella Valley. Outstanding cuisine, excellent service and a relaxing ambiance. A true neighborhood gem!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as always -great food and exce ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Wonderful as always -great food and excellent service

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been going to Jillians for many ye ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We've been going to Jillians for many years. It is always superb. We know Mindo and Fernando personally and get the royal treatment when we go. We always take friends there and tell others to go. The atmosphere is beautiful and upscale. It's a super classy restaurant for any special occasion. If you like fish their whitefish and Nantucket Scallops are outstanding choices. Thanks to June and Mindo for keeping it so classy and a chance to dress up but relax!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely the best t everything they do ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Absolutely the best t everything they do, and all the food they provide with fabulous service!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat at the bar and James was fabulous ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We sat at the bar and James was fabulous!

The rack of lamb was the best I ever had!!

We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great. Attention to detail ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Service was great. Attention to detail is much appreciated... Dishes were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Lovely dinner with friends for my wife a ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Lovely dinner with friends for my wife and all were very happy.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jillian's is a very nice restaurant. It ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Jillian's is a very nice restaurant. It is beautifully furnished with a large patio which we couldn't use because it was too cold.

My wife and i thought the food was excellent. The support staff who removed the dishes were very efficient.

Now for the negatives:

We booked the table through Open Table. The table we were given was right next to the part of the bar where the waiters ordered and picked up their drinks. This made it very noisy. Not just the ordering of drinks, but the conversations between the wait staff while waiting for the drink orders to be filled.

Our waiter was not very attentive. It was almost as if we were an an afterthought. On two occasions when we were waiting a long time for the waiter to take our order and waiting for the check, he glanced over and one could see the the realization in his eyes that we needed him to do something. In our experience a good waiter is constantly scanning his tables to see what his customers need.

Also, while we were eating, I heard another waiter describing the specials of the day. Our waiter had described the ingredients in the special; the other waiter additionally described how the special was prepared. Had the second waiter been our waiter, I would have ordered the special.

With the exception of the location of the table and our waiter, Jillian's could have been a wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Outstanding dining options. Whitefish wa ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Outstanding dining options. Whitefish was delicious. Beautiful and tasty vegetable sides included. Pear Almond Tart was to die for. Service impeccable and setting/ambiance was sophisticated yet comfortable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dinner for 4. Welcomed upon ou ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Wonderful dinner for 4. Welcomed upon our arrival, seated at the table we requested. Terrific whitefish and nantucket bay scallops. Also enjoyed the spicy corn chowder, Caesar salad and lobster salad. Always a special evening at Jillian's.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

service was above and beyond, Food was e ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 15, 2017

service was above and beyond, Food was excellent The ambiance was warm and enticing for relaxation and pleasant dinning.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The outdoor patio is lovely with lots of ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The outdoor patio is lovely with lots of heaters on cooler evenings. Excellent menu. Whitefish was superb. Hubby loved the stroganoff. The free dessert was a nice touch. Lots of good wine choices with some really high end wines but some good less expensive choices. Highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I wish the food and service had measured ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I wish the food and service had measured up to the ambience. My bolognese pasta which our waiter recommended was a D- at best. The sauce was a meat sauce with large lumps of ground meat that tasted like ground beef or veal but bore almost no resemblance to bolognese sauce. The pasta itself was strange. It was thin like spaghetti but was overlooked and tasted like dough, not like pasta. The salad was nicely presented. We both had the house salad. Our salad plates were not cleared off the table until they brought our entrees. After we finished our entrees those plates were not removed from the table for around 15 minutes.

The restaurant was busy but not too crowded.

We won't go back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Excellent, creative entrees every time - ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent, creative entrees every time - service and decor impeccable. Always a pleasure to dine at Jillian's.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent ambiance, service, food and ov ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Excellent ambiance, service, food and overall great experiance. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's a beautiful old fashioned restauran ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 6, 2017

It's a beautiful old fashioned restaurant with excellent service

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great! Really cool old world spot !

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great!

Really cool old world spot !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first time at Julian's and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This was our first time at Julian's and we loved it. Highly recommend the crab appetizer and the salmon dish. We usually go to LGs but this is now our favorite. (But we still love LGs)

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere, food and service excellent a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Atmosphere, food and service excellent as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Ambiance in the bar was lovely and food ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Ambiance in the bar was lovely and food excellent. Service was outstanding. Finally a waiter who was polite and knew what he was doing. Overall the best dining experience we had in the La Quinta area.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely, elegant dining. Great waitstaff ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Lovely, elegant dining. Great waitstaff, excellent food. The personnel really seem to care about their guests. It's not just another restaurant. It's special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite with us! There is no o ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Always a favorite with us! There is no other fine dining experience that meets Jillian's in the desert. Perfect for a special occasion or just to listen to music at the bar. A true dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our group of 5 had a very nice round tab ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our group of 5 had a very nice round table in an area that was not noisy. Our servers were superb. I brought an old wine, whose cork had dried out. The wine expertly decanted in a beautiful crystal decanter - it proved excellent. The menu selections from our server were universally right on. We had a most enjoyable evening together at the Holiday Season. Thank you.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jillian's is probably the best restauran ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Jillian's is probably the best restaurant in the Valley. Others are pretentious and food doesn't match. All of our meals were wonderful and the service excellent. Always our favorite in the desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of my parents' favorite spe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was one of my parents' favorite special occasion spots. My father passed away earlier this year, so my mother took me, my husband, and our 12 year old daughter for a special treat. She was concerned it wouldn't live up to the hype, but it did. Jillian's is refined and elegant in an Old World way without being stuffy or pretentious. We were seated in a small, cozy room in the back, through the patio. It was quieter there than seats in the bar, and that made for nice conversation. The round table for 4 was spacious with comfortable seating and double covered white linen tablecloths. What a nice change from so many "modern" restaurants that eschew tablecloths for bare tops, hard floors, any noisy, cramped spaces. It felt like a retreat. Our server was a professional in the business - this was not a job he performed while going to school part-time - he had knowledge about the menu, and he had wonderful timing each time he approached our table (a skill acquired only with experience). We ordered the corn chowder and the butternut squash soup as starters - both were excellent. The chowder was served with a wonderful spicy garnish that delivered a lot of flavor and beautiful color. For main courses, we had the whitefish, the swordfish, and the rack of lamb. All mains come with four garnishes, at least, which means your entree is quite complete without having to order additional sides. That also contributes to the value -- the servings and garnishes were quite generous. Come hungry. Let me also say a word about the bartender. I ordered an Old-Fashioned, and learned later that he had been experimenting that very day with new methods of saturating the sugar cube with bitters to make a better drink. It was excellently prepared, and his dedication to crafting a good cocktail is a testament to the quality staff. The service is terrific -- all dishes arrived simultaneously, served by several waitstaff, and to ladies first. Well executed food, classy spot!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent!! Lamb chops are sublim ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Always excellent!! Lamb chops are sublime. Excellent wine list too.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant is exception. The servi ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This restaurant is exception. The service, the food, everything was very very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go here every year or so. Absolutely ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We go here every year or so. Absolutely love everything about it. We would go more often but because of cost we save it for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As usual it couldn't have been better. M ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

As usual it couldn't have been better. My go place in the valley for fine dining!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.