About Jillian's

74155 El Paseo
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Romantic. Inviting. Original. Uncompromising quality. Superb cuisine graciously served in an extraordinary atmosphere, is the unique inspiration of proprietors Jay and June Trubee

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
International, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Dress Code Observed, Business Casual but No Shorts for Gentlemen Please
Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm (times change seasonally)


Cross Street:
Portola

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 776-8242

Website:
http://jilliansfinedining.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music in the lounge nightly.

Executive Chef:
Jay G. Trubee

Private Party Facilities:
Jillian's guests will experience a masterful Eclectic cuisine in a style of dining where the traditions of southern Italy and regional American cuisine are paired with elegant wines. We will gladly customize a menu to complement and enhance your event.

Private Party Contact:
June Trubee: 8776491573

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Thanksgiving open at 3:00 PM with special menu
Christmas Eve open at 5:00 PM with Holiday Additions to the menu.
New Years Eve 5:30, 6:00 PM and 9:00, 9:30 PM seating's
Valentine's Day open at 5:00 PM with special menu
Open Mother's Day

Jillian's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
See All
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Seasonal (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Historic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Business Meals (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Live Music (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Fun (2)
Cozy (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Organic (1)
Authentic (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
228 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As always, the dining experience was won ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 16 hours ago

As always, the dining experience was wonderful. I always look forward to date night at Jillian's. . However, uncharacteristically, the pianist was terrible. It was very distracting because we were seated within 10 feet of the piano. We cringed at every bad note, and they were many.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We thought the restaurant was lovely and ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

We thought the restaurant was lovely and the food really delicious! We didn't feel rushed which coming from England is a real treat, as other restaurants make you feel you need to eat quickly as they are shutting at 9.00!! Our only moan was that we missed the Jillians name on the sign as the bushes defused the light illuminating it! But would find it a second time!!

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was your 4th anniversary dinner and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was your 4th anniversary dinner and we could have not picked a better place. My husband had the stuffed pork chop, amazing. I had stroganoff, which is a favorite dish of mine. It was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jillian's is our favorite "special occas ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Jillian's is our favorite "special occasion" restaurant. From the minute you walk in the door, you are felt welcome. Every staff member is helpful, professional, and friendly. The food is always excellent. Jay and June have created a wonderful environment where their patrons are always treated special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated in the bar which was nois ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We were seated in the bar which was noisy both with customers , waiters and the bar tender mixing drinks. We had an early reservation and there was a lot of empty seating so why we were placed in the bar is a good question. Food was good but nothing spectacular and really overpriced. Service was excellent. Would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

A superb special occasion restaurant for ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A superb special occasion restaurant for a refined environment. Relaxed. Wonderful in every way. We have been coming to Jillian's since it first opened and have never been dissapointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can't beat the service or ambience a ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 13, 2016

You can't beat the service or ambience at Jillian's. It's always our go-to place for special occasions. The prices are high, but we always thought it was worth it -- until this time. We went for my husband's 70th birthday on a Saturday night with another couple. We ordered the squash soup (outstanding) and caesar salads (also outstanding). But the main courses of swordfish and filet mignon were just OK. We've had better fish and "warmer" steaks almost anywhere else. Also, the sides (an assortment of veggies and such) were boring. Honestly, we just expect more when we pay more -- it's as simple as that. I don't think we'll go back for dinner -- maybe just drinks in the patio in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

4 for dinner on a Wed night. First time ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 10, 2016

4 for dinner on a Wed night. First time back for the season- so nice to run into friends at the bar... always a little surprised that we are never greeted as repeat visitors when we arrive!

Nantucket bay scallops delicious as always, as were the lamb chops, lobster salad and the wonderful corn chowder and clam chowder. We shared 2 desserts- warm choc cake and strawberry creme brûlée- both excellent.

Looking forward to our next dinner- remember us ,please!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful outdoor dining Friendly profes ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Beautiful outdoor dining

Friendly professional service.

We had Fernando

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a classic spot here with great b ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This is a classic spot here with great building and ambiance. Sorry to report the food has slipped.... too many small bites of different flavors on that took away from my entre. Confusing!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

I had dined a few times at Jillians a fe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I had dined a few times at Jillians a few years ago and had left a good taste in my mouth. Went back with friends and I was very disappointed. I ordered liver plate, the plate was so stuffy and overlapped with food you cauldnt distinguishe the taste, vegetables were not seasoned at all. Friend ordered pasta with pancetta, it was too saltly. Unbeatable. I shall say my husband ordered the steak and that was great, melted in your mouth.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Perfect fine and elegant dining.

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Perfect fine and elegant dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic evening with great food, outst ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Fantastic evening with great food, outstanding service, awesome atmosphere,

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding ambience...great food...good ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Outstanding ambience...great food...good martini (although I would have preferred my drink to be a martini glass instead of a tumbler)

Will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite when we visit Palm Des ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Always a favorite when we visit Palm Desert. Great food, beautiful atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Every time I enjoy an evening at Jillian ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Every time I enjoy an evening at Jillian's I am reminded that they just know how to get it right. From the moment you walk in you are greeted warmly and if a staff member recognizes you they go out of their way to welcome you. The food is amazing with Jay showing he can bring his "A Game" with everything on the menu tasting outstanding with one wanting more after each bite. Over the years I have gotten to know Jay and June, owners of this legendary establishment and I am always more than happy to support their business over and over by making sure I go to their restaurant at least four times a year. (They are closed four months out of the year.) They will be seeing me next month, actually on election night for there is no way I am staying home and wasting a perfectly good night when I could be enjoying a wonderful meal with a buddy in town that night. Well Done Jay and June. I look forward to seeing you soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Professional wait staff, wonderful food. ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Professional wait staff, wonderful food. Not trendy, but instead classic. On the pricy end, but the experience is consistently excellent quality. Several areas in which to request a seat - piano bar, outdoor patio, dining area. We've dined at Jillian's many, many times over the years and we have never left disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner for 2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Celebrated a wedding anniversary and sat in a small room just off the outdoor dining area. Very charming but noisy. Waitstaff was very nice and attentive however a manager (?) or captain kept opening the door and observing the room. Somewhat of an annoyance. Food and beverages were excellent. We had the lobster and the Lake Superior whitefish for entrees. The presentation was well done and the taste was exceptional. Prices were on the high side for the desert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I had an early Friday evenin ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I had an early Friday evening dinner. Staff were attentive and pleasant. Cocktails were good. My wife's salad had no dressing. Her steak was undercooked. Both were easily correctable, but why the need to correct? Since we were dining early, they were not yet busy, so I'm assuming the errors were just lack of attention. Ambiance is nice. Will probably return and dine on patio. Seems like a wonderful setting

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the gaspacho (delightful with cra ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 21, 2016

We had the gaspacho (delightful with crabmeat garnish) lamb ribs (the most succulent either of us have ever had) and the date dessert (really... To die for) Jean, our waiter as good as any waiter we have encountered in Europe where waiters are true professionals who take their professions seriously. The patio was quite romantic too. The best restaurant in the valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday dinner celebrations.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2016

The food and service were both beyond amazing! The live piano music was great and the interior was cozy and romantic.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the best

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Always the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An excellent experience and will definit ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2016

An excellent experience and will definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everyone raves about this restaurant but ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 9, 2016

Everyone raves about this restaurant but have to say on that level I was quite disappointed. Was seated inside and had to be moved outside. There was a very musty smell. Very old interior and mediocre for the price.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Corkage

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my Mom here for Mother's Day dinner. It was very nice, good ambiance and service but when I saw the bill I was shocked to see I'd been charged $30.00 for corkage fee. It wasn't an inexpensive meal but the corkage was over the top! I glad I went there but will never eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Not worth the $$

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The wine list is marginal, and they were out of some wines by the glass because they were "closing in a couple of weeks" for the summer. The food was OK, but not worth the price point. The service was OK, but not great. There are better options in the area.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Well fourth time here sat inside by pian ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Well fourth time here sat inside by pianist our Server Fernando was excellent For food we had Brussel sprout salad which was excellent and the special tomato mozzarella salad with basil

And pine nuts which could of been better the tomatoes were ice cold almost to the point that they froze so the texture of the tomatoes had broken down too bad it would of been a better dish For wine 2013 Domain Drouhin which was delicious Entrees Stroganoff excellent The special white fish a little too much flour in the breading It was deceived to us as a dusting but was a bit heavier sort of overpowered the delicate fish. We also had the Sea bass cheeks which were good but then again why coat them in flour with a heavy hand ? It really takes away from the flavor of the fish . Having been turned away with shorts on I was surprised to see a man at the table next to us in shorts . When I Asked the senior hostess she replied in a smug manner well he had long pants when he came in He must of changed ? Not a very good response and totally unprofessional

Food 3 stars

Service Fernando 5 stars

Management zero stars

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

wonderful restaurant for special occasio ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 4, 2016

wonderful restaurant for special occasions or just a wonderful night of dinning out. Ambience is wonderful and so quaint and the food is amazing! The deserts are particularity wonderful as well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Would never hesitate to go back there. ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Would never hesitate to go back there.

Food was fabulous

Had a wonderful birthday celebration with our friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful evening, excellent fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a wonderful evening, excellent food, perfect outdoor seating, romantic and very special. It is a longstanding restaurant but a new discovery for us. It will be our go to in the desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Took a friend for her birthday. Wonder ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Took a friend for her birthday. Wonderful setting with piano playing in the background. Very romantic and exactly what I was looking for to make her special day, special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Jillian's not up to reputation

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 28, 2016

The food was fine although not exceptional. The main issue was our waiter. He was terrible!!

The restaurant has great atmosphere and because of this, we might try it again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Top Fine Dining in the Desert

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2016

As always, Jillian's lived up to our very high expectations in fine dining. Always a highlight of our annual trek to Palm Desert, hey continue to amaze with the very best of both food and service -- all in a relaxed, upscale ambiance that we really appreciate. Although it's always out number one choice for special occasions, Jillian's is just as exciting for making any evening a special occasion. Can't wait for our next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of Palm Desert's Best/

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 21, 2016

Jillian's is one of Palm Deserts finest restaurants. Great ambiance. Very creative and excellent quality entrees. Very attentive staff. Great dinning experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent on all counts well worth the t ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 20, 2016

Excellent on all counts well worth the trip! Had a business dinner where of course corkage was offered because this is a real restaurant that actually caters to your food and wine experience instead of just eye ing margins. Really great place ;service great without being intrusive ; food can stand up to any wine you own thus - go and enjoy...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What a wonderful evening. Food, ambience ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 13, 2016

What a wonderful evening. Food, ambience,service.. A five star experience from start to finish.. What a treat

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oasis in the Desert

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 12, 2016

A Jewel of a restaurant experience in the Palm Desert area. We were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary and we could not have selected a finer place for that celebration.

The setting, in a Ranchero style home, with a open patio in the center of the complex, surrounded by additional dining areas, was fantastic.

My wife's whitefish was the best ever she has ever enjoyed, and we have eaten in fine dining places such as Hong Kong, New York, Bangkok, Shanghai, London, and many others.

Jillian's is the place for fine dining. We will be back!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best bread ever!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Best bread ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The best in fine dining at Jillian's

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 6, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful evening at Jillian's . There was three in our party and everyone's meal was great. Our server was attentive to our every need. We dine out often and Jillian's is tops on our list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.