About Jillian's

74155 El Paseo
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Romantic. Inviting. Original. Uncompromising quality. Superb cuisine graciously served in an extraordinary atmosphere, is the unique inspiration of proprietors Jay and June Trubee

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
International, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Dress Code Observed, Business Casual but No Shorts for Gentlemen Please
Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm (times change seasonally)


Cross Street:
Portola

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 776-8242

Website:
http://jilliansfinedining.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music in the lounge nightly.

Executive Chef:
Jay G. Trubee

Private Party Facilities:
Jillian's guests will experience a masterful Eclectic cuisine in a style of dining where the traditions of southern Italy and regional American cuisine are paired with elegant wines. We will gladly customize a menu to complement and enhance your event.

Private Party Contact:
June Trubee: (877) 649-1573

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Thanksgiving open at 3:00 PM with special menu
Christmas Eve open at 5:00 PM with Holiday Additions to the menu.
New Years Eve 5:30, 6:00 PM and 9:00, 9:30 PM seating's
Valentine's Day open at 5:00 PM with special menu
Open Mother's Day

Jillian's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Romantic (28)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Notable Wine List (9)
Authentic (8)
Cozy (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Live Music (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Seasonal (5)
Historic (5)
Business Meals (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fun (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Healthy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Family Style (2)
People Watching (1)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
258 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was great. Attention to detail ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was great. Attention to detail is much appreciated... Dishes were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Lovely dinner with friends for my wife a ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 3 days ago

Lovely dinner with friends for my wife and all were very happy.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jillian's is a very nice restaurant. It ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Jillian's is a very nice restaurant. It is beautifully furnished with a large patio which we couldn't use because it was too cold.

My wife and i thought the food was excellent. The support staff who removed the dishes were very efficient.

Now for the negatives:

We booked the table through Open Table. The table we were given was right next to the part of the bar where the waiters ordered and picked up their drinks. This made it very noisy. Not just the ordering of drinks, but the conversations between the wait staff while waiting for the drink orders to be filled.

Our waiter was not very attentive. It was almost as if we were an an afterthought. On two occasions when we were waiting a long time for the waiter to take our order and waiting for the check, he glanced over and one could see the the realization in his eyes that we needed him to do something. In our experience a good waiter is constantly scanning his tables to see what his customers need.

Also, while we were eating, I heard another waiter describing the specials of the day. Our waiter had described the ingredients in the special; the other waiter additionally described how the special was prepared. Had the second waiter been our waiter, I would have ordered the special.

With the exception of the location of the table and our waiter, Jillian's could have been a wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Outstanding dining options. Whitefish wa ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding dining options. Whitefish was delicious. Beautiful and tasty vegetable sides included. Pear Almond Tart was to die for. Service impeccable and setting/ambiance was sophisticated yet comfortable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dinner for 4. Welcomed upon ou ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful dinner for 4. Welcomed upon our arrival, seated at the table we requested. Terrific whitefish and nantucket bay scallops. Also enjoyed the spicy corn chowder, Caesar salad and lobster salad. Always a special evening at Jillian's.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

service was above and beyond, Food was e ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 15, 2017

service was above and beyond, Food was excellent The ambiance was warm and enticing for relaxation and pleasant dinning.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The outdoor patio is lovely with lots of ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The outdoor patio is lovely with lots of heaters on cooler evenings. Excellent menu. Whitefish was superb. Hubby loved the stroganoff. The free dessert was a nice touch. Lots of good wine choices with some really high end wines but some good less expensive choices. Highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I wish the food and service had measured ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I wish the food and service had measured up to the ambience. My bolognese pasta which our waiter recommended was a D- at best. The sauce was a meat sauce with large lumps of ground meat that tasted like ground beef or veal but bore almost no resemblance to bolognese sauce. The pasta itself was strange. It was thin like spaghetti but was overlooked and tasted like dough, not like pasta. The salad was nicely presented. We both had the house salad. Our salad plates were not cleared off the table until they brought our entrees. After we finished our entrees those plates were not removed from the table for around 15 minutes.

The restaurant was busy but not too crowded.

We won't go back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Excellent, creative entrees every time - ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent, creative entrees every time - service and decor impeccable. Always a pleasure to dine at Jillian's.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent ambiance, service, food and ov ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Excellent ambiance, service, food and overall great experiance. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's a beautiful old fashioned restauran ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 6, 2017

It's a beautiful old fashioned restaurant with excellent service

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great! Really cool old world spot !

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great!

Really cool old world spot !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first time at Julian's and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This was our first time at Julian's and we loved it. Highly recommend the crab appetizer and the salmon dish. We usually go to LGs but this is now our favorite. (But we still love LGs)

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere, food and service excellent a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Atmosphere, food and service excellent as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Ambiance in the bar was lovely and food ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Ambiance in the bar was lovely and food excellent. Service was outstanding. Finally a waiter who was polite and knew what he was doing. Overall the best dining experience we had in the La Quinta area.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely, elegant dining. Great waitstaff ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Lovely, elegant dining. Great waitstaff, excellent food. The personnel really seem to care about their guests. It's not just another restaurant. It's special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite with us! There is no o ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Always a favorite with us! There is no other fine dining experience that meets Jillian's in the desert. Perfect for a special occasion or just to listen to music at the bar. A true dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our group of 5 had a very nice round tab ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our group of 5 had a very nice round table in an area that was not noisy. Our servers were superb. I brought an old wine, whose cork had dried out. The wine expertly decanted in a beautiful crystal decanter - it proved excellent. The menu selections from our server were universally right on. We had a most enjoyable evening together at the Holiday Season. Thank you.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jillian's is probably the best restauran ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Jillian's is probably the best restaurant in the Valley. Others are pretentious and food doesn't match. All of our meals were wonderful and the service excellent. Always our favorite in the desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of my parents' favorite spe ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was one of my parents' favorite special occasion spots. My father passed away earlier this year, so my mother took me, my husband, and our 12 year old daughter for a special treat. She was concerned it wouldn't live up to the hype, but it did. Jillian's is refined and elegant in an Old World way without being stuffy or pretentious. We were seated in a small, cozy room in the back, through the patio. It was quieter there than seats in the bar, and that made for nice conversation. The round table for 4 was spacious with comfortable seating and double covered white linen tablecloths. What a nice change from so many "modern" restaurants that eschew tablecloths for bare tops, hard floors, any noisy, cramped spaces. It felt like a retreat. Our server was a professional in the business - this was not a job he performed while going to school part-time - he had knowledge about the menu, and he had wonderful timing each time he approached our table (a skill acquired only with experience). We ordered the corn chowder and the butternut squash soup as starters - both were excellent. The chowder was served with a wonderful spicy garnish that delivered a lot of flavor and beautiful color. For main courses, we had the whitefish, the swordfish, and the rack of lamb. All mains come with four garnishes, at least, which means your entree is quite complete without having to order additional sides. That also contributes to the value -- the servings and garnishes were quite generous. Come hungry. Let me also say a word about the bartender. I ordered an Old-Fashioned, and learned later that he had been experimenting that very day with new methods of saturating the sugar cube with bitters to make a better drink. It was excellently prepared, and his dedication to crafting a good cocktail is a testament to the quality staff. The service is terrific -- all dishes arrived simultaneously, served by several waitstaff, and to ladies first. Well executed food, classy spot!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent!! Lamb chops are sublim ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Always excellent!! Lamb chops are sublime. Excellent wine list too.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant is exception. The servi ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This restaurant is exception. The service, the food, everything was very very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go here every year or so. Absolutely ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We go here every year or so. Absolutely love everything about it. We would go more often but because of cost we save it for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As usual it couldn't have been better. M ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

As usual it couldn't have been better. My go place in the valley for fine dining!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been coming to the desert for ov ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We have been coming to the desert for over 20 years and love the choice of restaurants. JIllian's is our favorite. Best food, best everything.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Jillian's is a great "old school" formal ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Jillian's is a great "old school" formal restaurant with traditions. Awesome food with a good value. Dinner was expensive, but worth it. Each server extremely professional and warm. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

One of our very favorite places to dine ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

One of our very favorite places to dine in the desert. Chef Jay is the best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the dining experience was won ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 4, 2016

As always, the dining experience was wonderful. I always look forward to date night at Jillian's. . However, uncharacteristically, the pianist was terrible. It was very distracting because we were seated within 10 feet of the piano. We cringed at every bad note, and they were many.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We thought the restaurant was lovely and ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We thought the restaurant was lovely and the food really delicious! We didn't feel rushed which coming from England is a real treat, as other restaurants make you feel you need to eat quickly as they are shutting at 9.00!! Our only moan was that we missed the Jillians name on the sign as the bushes defused the light illuminating it! But would find it a second time!!

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was your 4th anniversary dinner and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was your 4th anniversary dinner and we could have not picked a better place. My husband had the stuffed pork chop, amazing. I had stroganoff, which is a favorite dish of mine. It was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jillian's is our favorite "special occas ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Jillian's is our favorite "special occasion" restaurant. From the minute you walk in the door, you are felt welcome. Every staff member is helpful, professional, and friendly. The food is always excellent. Jay and June have created a wonderful environment where their patrons are always treated special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated in the bar which was nois ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We were seated in the bar which was noisy both with customers , waiters and the bar tender mixing drinks. We had an early reservation and there was a lot of empty seating so why we were placed in the bar is a good question. Food was good but nothing spectacular and really overpriced. Service was excellent. Would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

A superb special occasion restaurant for ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A superb special occasion restaurant for a refined environment. Relaxed. Wonderful in every way. We have been coming to Jillian's since it first opened and have never been dissapointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can't beat the service or ambience a ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 13, 2016

You can't beat the service or ambience at Jillian's. It's always our go-to place for special occasions. The prices are high, but we always thought it was worth it -- until this time. We went for my husband's 70th birthday on a Saturday night with another couple. We ordered the squash soup (outstanding) and caesar salads (also outstanding). But the main courses of swordfish and filet mignon were just OK. We've had better fish and "warmer" steaks almost anywhere else. Also, the sides (an assortment of veggies and such) were boring. Honestly, we just expect more when we pay more -- it's as simple as that. I don't think we'll go back for dinner -- maybe just drinks in the patio in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

4 for dinner on a Wed night. First time ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 10, 2016

4 for dinner on a Wed night. First time back for the season- so nice to run into friends at the bar... always a little surprised that we are never greeted as repeat visitors when we arrive!

Nantucket bay scallops delicious as always, as were the lamb chops, lobster salad and the wonderful corn chowder and clam chowder. We shared 2 desserts- warm choc cake and strawberry creme brûlée- both excellent.

Looking forward to our next dinner- remember us ,please!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful outdoor dining Friendly profes ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Beautiful outdoor dining

Friendly professional service.

We had Fernando

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a classic spot here with great b ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This is a classic spot here with great building and ambiance. Sorry to report the food has slipped.... too many small bites of different flavors on that took away from my entre. Confusing!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

I had dined a few times at Jillians a fe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I had dined a few times at Jillians a few years ago and had left a good taste in my mouth. Went back with friends and I was very disappointed. I ordered liver plate, the plate was so stuffy and overlapped with food you cauldnt distinguishe the taste, vegetables were not seasoned at all. Friend ordered pasta with pancetta, it was too saltly. Unbeatable. I shall say my husband ordered the steak and that was great, melted in your mouth.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Perfect fine and elegant dining.

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Perfect fine and elegant dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic evening with great food, outst ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Fantastic evening with great food, outstanding service, awesome atmosphere,

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.