Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

About Jillian's

Romantic. Inviting. Original. Uncompromising quality. Superb cuisine graciously served in an extraordinary atmosphere, is the unique inspiration of proprietors Jay and June Trubee

74155 El Paseo
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
International, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Dress Code Observed, Business Casual but No Shorts for Gentlemen Please
Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm (times change seasonally)


Cross Street:
Portola

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 776-8242

Website:
http://jilliansfinedining.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music in the lounge nightly.

Executive Chef:
Jay G. Trubee

Private Party Facilities:
Jillian's guests will experience a masterful Eclectic cuisine in a style of dining where the traditions of southern Italy and regional American cuisine are paired with elegant wines. We will gladly customize a menu to complement and enhance your event.

Private Party Contact:
June Trubee: (877) 649-1573

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Thanksgiving open at 3:00 PM with special menu
Christmas Eve open at 5:00 PM with Holiday Additions to the menu.
New Years Eve 5:30, 6:00 PM and 9:00, 9:30 PM seating's
Valentine's Day open at 5:00 PM with special menu
Open Mother's Day

Jillian's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (51)
Romantic (39)
Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
See All
Quiet Conversation (36)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for a Date (29)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Notable Wine List (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Cozy (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Live Music (14)
Authentic (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Historic (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Business Meals (9)
Healthy (8)
People Watching (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Fireplace (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Seasonal (5)
Fun (5)
Private Room (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Casual (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Waterfront (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
339 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 28, 2017

It was their last night before closing. Service was a little slow, but food was good. Wanted a pork chop that everyone raves about, but they didn't have.
It was my wife's 70th and they had a card for her on the table wishing her a happy birthday. When it came time for dessert, I ordered The Hawaiian cheese cake. However they brought nothing special for my wife. They did bring a plate with figs, dates and chocolate covered strawberries, but they brought that out to every table.
If I knew it was their last night, we would have not come.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 28, 2017

A great experience and dinner. Rack of lamb was excellent and not the typical preparation. Special of veal medallions was supremely tender and delicious.

Service was perfect and not overpowering.

Special note for our anniversary was a very nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Jillian's is amazing in every way. We had the best time!!! It is a perfect dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This was our first visit to Jillian's. It's a lovely restaurant with excellent food. The outside patio is charming and inside seating is nice too. We'll be back!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Jillian's is a special restaurant with fine food and service. They work hard to make dining there feel special and it is my go place when I want my guests to feel they are being especially well treated.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere with terrific service, however the food was just ok.
It may be the highest rated restaurant in the valley, but not worth the price.
My wife had the filet which was cooked right but with little taste. I had the pork chop which was also cooked correctly but was bland.
Great service and atmosphere is just not enough, if the food is just acceptable.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 24, 2017

By far, one of the best dining experiences in Palm Desert. It has the feel of being in someone's home. Food and wine is great; staff makes you feel welcome and is highly attentive. Can't wait to go back on our next visit to the desert.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Dinner for four was excellent.... the food, wine, service and ambiance was just as we expected. No surprises!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Wonderful venue, wonderful food, and wonderful service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 19, 2017

If you want first class treatment and A class service come to Jillian's .We go to other places but continue to to come to Jillian's. The veal chop is plump and tender. Tim get's the Bolonese(spelling) regularly. We take a deep breath and enjoy the mood of the place! If you have not been to Jillian's come with your long pants on......

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Having eaten here every time we visit Palm Springs I was a little disappointed in the food. I tried the Veal Valdonstana it was ok. Very salty from the capers. Otherwise food was very good. Ambiance and quality of service is excellent

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Beautiful dinner...Roman and his wait-staff were impeccable in their service and wine recommendations. James in the bar served magnificently civilized cocktails and conversation. Lovely atmosphere and perfectly low noise level. Bravissimo!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food and service for all of us was great. The owner was welcoming and friendly. Great place to eat and bring out of towners, very impressive.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Everything from ambience, service, food, cocktails was outstanding! & fabulous! We will definitely be back soon. It was worth the drive from Palm Springs. Absolutely lovely restaurant!
Our only disappointment of the evening was discovering they close for 5 months! 5 MONTHS!!! May 27-Oct 27. That's sad for all of us who live in the desert year round ! It's way too long to close!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Everything about this restaurant is first class.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great service. Inside dining was nice ambience. Would try outdoor dining in the cooler months.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Dress code We loved this because we love to dress for dinner. Valet parking first class, warm greeting at door. we sat in lovely room next to piano player. He played Cole Porter to Jobim

We ordered Cocktails and then bottle of French White Wine to go with meal
starters was Crab avocado towers, main course white fish and halibut both fantastic and I am not easy to please because I am a Master Le Cordon Bleu Chef.
What a wonderful evening. We highly recommend Jillian"s

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Classic and Contemporary is how I would describe Jillian's. The service from the waiters, Charles and Victor was outstanding, as well as James the bartender; they made us feel very comfortable. The owner's June and Jay were charming and gave our meal special attention due to my dietary restrictions. The meal was delicious including fresh local vegetables. We will go back when we visit Palm Desert again.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Organic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I always love Jillian's and when I have special friends come to visit here in the desert, I always take them to have dinner here.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Jillians is unsurpassed in the desert. The patio on a warm spring night is heaven. The food and service is excellent and after having eaten there more than 10 times I have never been disappointed. It is one of my top 5 favorite restaurants anywhere!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Disappointing! Jillians used to be a special place for special occasion. Service was mediocre and the food was very disappointing. I had the veal medallions which were so salty it was inedible. One of my guests had the 4 cheese dish which she could not eat. My other guest had the lobster salad and she said it was middle of road. Their signature cheese plate was never served to us and it was a mutual decision for all of us that the restaurant had slipped quite a bit and we would not be returning Too bad as the ambience is the only thing that has not changed

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We enjoyed a beautiful dinner in the courtyard. The weather that night was cool enough with a gentle breeze. The service was excellent. Our waiter was attentive but did not hover over us. We each had a starter and an entrée. They serve homemade bread with the starter and the entry was accompanied with a variety of vegetables and small roasted potatoes. The servings are generous so we did not order desert. They serve a complimentary plate of dates, ginger cookies and chocolate covered strawberries to end the meal. The food is always superb --we always enjoy dining at Jillians and make it our #1 choice for special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 25, 2017

It was my first time dining there and I have lived in the Desert for 32 years. My guest and I sat in the bar area so we could listen to the piano player, which was extremely pleasant. It was just the piano so you could still have a conversation. The service was excellent and the food was good. I highly recommend it.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Live Music, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great service as always. Good choice for special occasion. Portions are very generous and impeccably prepared.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Whitefish was awesome as usual. Unfortunately, the air-conditioning wasn't working well and the service was a little less attentive than my prior experiences.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Very pricey, but service and food quality was commensurate with what they charge. The outdoor patio is a lovely place to dine in good weather.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was very good
Waiter was ok
It was good but has been better

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Unparalleled ambiance, service, and atmosphere. Food was excellent!! Enjoyable evening!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food and the service are great! The menu has something for everyone. Their white fish is the best in the valley.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

As always the food was delicious and well prepared and the service attentive. The staff knowshow to meet your needs nd are never intrusive. The brussel sprouts salad was excellent and the white fish perfectly prepared. Jillian's is a place I never tire of. Beautiful setting in the courtyard/patio.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 14, 2017

ONE OF THE BEST RESTAURANTS IN THE DESERT! FOOD AND SERVICE IS THE BEST.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Setting is spectacular but it is a large restaurant so things felt a bit hectic and we felt quite rushed. Wait staff seemed to stumble over one another in rushed efforts to get food on the table. Of all the great dining spots in Palm Desert this was one we saved for our final night as something special. It didn't wow us.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 9, 2017

A perfect way to celebrated my wife's special birthday.
Everything was perfect from greeting at the entrance
To our table staff made us feel warm, welcome, and
provided detailed explanation on our questions on
The menu, and perfect help with wine selection.
The dessert was a fitting completion that my wife
Loved.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Very good food. Lovely setting. Mostly excellent service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 4, 2017

A wonderful last night in Palm Desert at our favorite restaurant. The table in the bar looking out on the court yard was wonderful. The piano player was great. Food and service was perfection.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Valet was prompt and courteous,. We were greeted pleasantly and shown a table in a smaller, intimate arched -ceiling quiet dining room. We immediately requested and were promptly escorted to the piano/bar room, much to our preference and delight. Live piano music was a perfect background to our dining enjoyment and conversation. We share a lovely pear, etc. salad while sipping the wine steward's excellent recommendation, and sampled the rather practical bread slice which was probably for the best since I usually fill up too soon on crusty French. I had the appetizer as my entree of four huge tasty grilled shrimp with a recommended accompaniment of mixed herbed veggies. Husband had a perfectly grilled steak and a variety of sliced potatoes and veggies. Our shared warmed date cake, though flavorful, was a bit heavy. We did enjoy our take-homes of both partial entrees and dessert the next day. The ambiance was the real star of the evening, so freeing the table we had our ports at the bar and had a wonderful conversation with Jillian's owners. Yes, the owner-chef came out and visited with us as did his wife. Both super dear people. We may try the super popular charming patio next time, though the piano music is still our siren call.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Old school dining. Naysayers need to visit again. My family and I enjoyed the expansive menu, paired with a nice assortment of veggies and potatoes. Great ambience, good service, good value. Corkage fee of $35 a little high, otherwise a great dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 31, 2017

as always the atmosphere, food and service were excellent -- prices are high and noise level was too high until we requested and received a quieter table in another room -- still an outstanding restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This was an excellent find. Food and service both exceeded expectations

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

When in the Desert we never miss going to Jillian's and again did not disappoint. Always a wonderful meal and experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.