Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

About Jillian's

Romantic. Inviting. Original. Uncompromising quality. Superb cuisine graciously served in an extraordinary atmosphere, is the unique inspiration of proprietors Jay and June Trubee

74155 El Paseo
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
International, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Dress Code Observed, Business Casual but No Shorts for Gentlemen Please
Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm (times change seasonally)


Cross Street:
Portola

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 776-8242

Website:
http://jilliansfinedining.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music in the lounge nightly.

Executive Chef:
Jay G. Trubee

Private Party Facilities:
Jillian's guests will experience a masterful Eclectic cuisine in a style of dining where the traditions of southern Italy and regional American cuisine are paired with elegant wines. We will gladly customize a menu to complement and enhance your event.

Private Party Contact:
June Trubee: (877) 649-1573

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Thanksgiving open at 3:00 PM with special menu
Christmas Eve open at 5:00 PM with Holiday Additions to the menu.
New Years Eve 5:30, 6:00 PM and 9:00, 9:30 PM seating's
Valentine's Day open at 5:00 PM with special menu
Open Mother's Day

Jillian's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (44)
Romantic (38)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Notable Wine List (17)
Live Music (15)
Authentic (14)
Cozy (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Bar Seating (11)
Historic (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Fireplace (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Business Meals (6)
Healthy (5)
Seasonal (4)
People Watching (3)
Private Room (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fun (2)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Casual (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
299 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined a day ago

It was very nice!! But we did not get any Open Table points. Why would a restaurant be on Open Table and not give their customers points for a $100+ dinner?!?

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 17, 2017

So many of our friends told us how great this place was and so we chose this location for a gathering of friends. My swordfish was so tuff it couldn't be pulled apart with all my might.
The chef came to apologize but the damage was done and the restaurant didn't not try to make up for the disappointment.
We will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I am 74 years old, have been on the road 50% of my life, eating at fine restaurants all over the world, and Jillian's is the best restaurant I have ever dined at! Outstanding food, impeccable service and delightful ambiance! My wife and friends were as awed as I was! Can't wait to return next year!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This Resturant is exceptional! By far one of the best Resturants we have been to in the world. Five star all the way.....you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Friday night dinner reservation at 8pm and restaurant was very busy. First table we were offered was in the bar area and we didn't want to sit there. Staff was very accommodating and seated us in another area. Gazpacho was amazing. Captese salad and rack of lamb along with the grilled shrimp appetizer were very good. Service was great as always.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Good, nothing special. Service was excellent. They put us in a back room. My fault. I should have requested patio. We shared the stroganoff which was good. I had the white fish which was very good except there was too much sauce. My husband had the pork chop. He liked it. We saw the menu on Trp Advisor and saw quail and rabbit. Not on menu this time. They served little petit fours and chocolate covered strawberries, nice touch. Pretty place. But not where we were.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 10, 2017

2 for dinner in the bar room- we are usually 4.. but for a 2 -some, you are seated opposite the bar- somewhat noisy, even on a quiet night. Nantucket bay scallops were excellent.. always nice to enjoy a glass of champagne with dinner. Returning next week as a 4- some.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We've never been disappointed by a single thing at Jillian's. The food, the ambiance, the great service staff. Top notch.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Fabulous time as always - it is nice to get "dressed up" and have a date with your husband and this is the place to do it

Tags: Live Music, Historic, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Come every year. Love the menu. No rush. And we split slads and app

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Jillian's exceeded my expectations in every aspect. We came here to celebrate our anniversary. It is very romantic with a great pianist playing classic standards in the background. The service is professional, knowledgeable and attentive. The food is delicious. We appreciated that they would split orders for us and the serving sizes were very generous. Among the menu items: lobster salad, spaghetti pesto, rack of lamb dijonnaise and veal limon. All perfectly executed. I also thought that the total bill was a great value, given the overall quality of our evening. My highest recommendation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Both the food and service are outstanding.

This is a great place to impress a date or to entertain clients.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Julian's is by far our newest favorite restaurant. All aspects are well done. Their employees are all professional. We enjoyed a truly special experience.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Well staffed from Hostess to bartender to servers. Excellent menu - we enjoyed lobster salad, whitefish and salmon - all prepared perfectly. Corkage was a bit high @ $35 - Cork Tree was a more reasonable $20. Wonderful piano player in bar area - recommend this place for a special night out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 28, 2017

What a nice fun relaxing place to enjoy a special event. Food Was great and so was the atmosphere and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The reason for 4 instead of 5 stars overall:

Jillian's needs to find a place for large parties other than the main dining area. A large party (10) was seated in the middle of the dining area. They were celebrating an engagement. As large parties celebrating should be, they were happy and noisy. It ruined the wonderful ambiance of the main dining area completely. Other tables around us felt the same. It was pouring rain that evening so it is possible the original plan was to put the large party outdoors.

Other than that we thoroughly enjoyed our evening. The service is absolutely stellar.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a great dinner for our anniversary! We asked for a great table and got one, that's first...four of us all enjoyed our dinner: special of seafood stuffed Dover sole, menu swordfish, short ribs, scallops. Very pricey and a $30 corkage! Very romantic atmosphere and the service was impeccable!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Live Music, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

First, the positives: Gorgeous space, upscale environment. Valet-parked Maseratis & Bentleys flank the entrance. However, the restaurant and its well-heeled, white-haired patrons (median age: 80) harken to another, fabulous era. The cuisine is dated. Taste? Fine ...okay, but the uninspired, insipid dishes evoke 80s haute cuisine. Little culinary innovation means the meal disappointed, despite fabulous service. While underwhelming for urbane millennials, those seeking tasteful service, well-lit ambience, and low music will enjoy. Be sure to wear a navy jacket with gold buttons (wide tie optional), and/ or pearls.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Lovely lovely place for a quiet dinner. Food was excellent. Service was great. Servers anticipated our needs quickly and efficiently. Everything was timed just right. I enjoyed every bite!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 24, 2017

First time to this lovely restaurant. The food was outstanding, particularly the scallops. We hope to return again soon and try some of the other offerings.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We have been dining at Jillian's for many years. We love the ambiance. This is our go-to restaurant when we are in "the desert". When our seasonal timing is right, we are priviledged to enjoy the Nantucket Bay scallops. These fresh and sweet little nuggets from the sea, combined with chutney, seasonal vegetables, and scalloped potatoes, keep us returning to Jillian's every chance we get. Service is always impeccable at Jillian's. We never feel rushed as we savor the meal, soak in the cozy surroundings, and get to know Jillian's delightful and personable staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Great meal and beautiful ambiance. The cheese stuffed chilis were an excellent starter.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 22, 2017

This was the most unbelievable dinner we ever had. Service, waiter and up front staff were top notch. Everyone will enjoy this restraunt.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Worst reception ever received at a restaurant. Hostess ruined birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Jillian's was a disappointment. The food was OK, but definitely not special. The heavy Hawaiian style bread was not worth the calories, and the Caesar salad was boring, with unflavored croutons. My friend enjoyed his fish, but my calve's liver was smothered in an over-powering sauce, with hard crunchy onion bits rather than crispy ones on top. The assortment of veg on the plate could have been a plus, but again, a disappointment. The creme brule desert was yummy, and the decaf cappuccino was quite good. I asked for a romantic seating location and ended up at a door in a room with a party of 8 nearby. Conclusion: we almost always box some food to take home, but not this time. On the other hand, others must like this place (definitely a senior crowd), since it was quite busy on a Monday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Fabulous food. The white fish they serve melts in your mouth. An amazing restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

It was our second visit to Jillian's. Food was excellent and service was exceptional! Would highly reccommend this restaurant when visiting Palm Springs.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A quintessential favorite this restaurant doesn't disappoint. Very professional staff with "old world" manners. Food is wonderful ambiance divine. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food very tasteless and expensive wine triple charged take your own! Outside dining area nice but food was not worth going back and not was we expected for a fine dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Receptionist was cold and unfriendly. Food was mediocre. Had a pianist but you couldn't hear it unless you were seated in the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This has to be my favorite Palm Desert restaurant! Consistently outstanding. Service...food...ambiance. If you don't order the salmon in parchment...you are totally missing out on one of the BEST dishes! Be sure to sit outside!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Excellent food. Waiters couldn't have been nicer. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Girls trip

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Outstanding meal with outstanding service. Historic building dating to the 1950's when there was nothing else around. There is nothing bad on the menu. The Nantucket bay scallops truly melt in your mouth. The dessert list is a never ending list of choices. One of the best restaurants in Palm Springs! Definitely great for a couples night, anniversary or special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 3, 2017

a quiet upscale "old school"California restaurant with hints of Carmel,Santa Barbara, relaxed, great food, great service -- the juice is worth the squeese

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Wonderful service, excellent food, beautiful setting. Couldn't have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Jillian's is one the three best restaurants in Coachella Valley. Outstanding cuisine, excellent service and a relaxing ambiance. A true neighborhood gem!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Wonderful as always -great food and excellent service

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We've been going to Jillians for many years. It is always superb. We know Mindo and Fernando personally and get the royal treatment when we go. We always take friends there and tell others to go. The atmosphere is beautiful and upscale. It's a super classy restaurant for any special occasion. If you like fish their whitefish and Nantucket Scallops are outstanding choices. Thanks to June and Mindo for keeping it so classy and a chance to dress up but relax!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Absolutely the best t everything they do, and all the food they provide with fabulous service!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.