About Jerry's Bar

129 W Laurel St
Philadelphia, PA 19123
View Larger Map

Jerry's menu is anchored by thoughtfully re-imagined bistro classics lovingly prepared by hand. Our bar is impeccably stocked - craft beer, boutique wines, a formidable whiskey selection and exquisite spirits. We offer cocktails as classic as they are inventive.

Like the food and drink, Jerry's itself was rebuilt, brick by brick, by craftsmen with a profound respect for heritage. It incorporates a rich collection of architectural treasures, culled from historic buildings around Philadelphia. The result - old school elegance and refinement, where every brick, column, cobble stone, marble slab, door and fixture has a story to tell.

Jerry's Bar is new in an old way, to be savored and sipped slowly, rooted in simple pleasures that are as fresh as they are timeless.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Bar Opens: 4pm Mon-Fri & 9am Sat-Sun
Happy Hour: Mon-Fri 5pm-7:30pm, Sun 8-10pm
Dinner: Everyday 5-11pm
Late Night Menu: Fri-Sat 11pm-1am
Brunch: Sat-Sun 9am-3:30pm
Midday Menu: Sat-Sun 3:30-5pm
Jazz Brunch Sundays

Cross Street:
West Laurel St. and New Market St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(267) 273-1632

Website:
http://www.jerrysbarphilly.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz Brunch Sundays

Public Transit:
Near the Market-Frankford Line - Spring Garden or Girard stops.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Gansert

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Planning an event at Jerry's is a great idea. Jerry's Bar can accommodate groups of all sizes for cocktail parties and sit-down affairs. Our event manager and Chef will customize the perfect event for you and your guests, and we look forward to making your next get together a great success.

For more information on our available spaces and to book an event, view our private events page - http://jerrysbarphilly.com/events/

events@jerrysbarphilly.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Jerry's Bar
  • Jerry's Bar
Jerry's Bar
Jerry's Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jerry’s Bar, located in Northern Liberties on the corner of West Laurel and New Market Street, is the perfect restaurant for private dining or special events. We offer both our beautiful, upstairs balcony and full restaurant; both are equipped with a private bar, bathroom and an artfully designed in

Jerry's Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Great for Brunch
Philadelphia
Neighborhood Gem
Philadelphia
1 More
Vibrant Bar Scene
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Northern Liberties ›

Neighborhood Gem (19)
Great for Brunch (12)
Good for Groups (9)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
People Watching (2)
Fun (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Casual (2)
Cozy (2)
Live Music (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Romantic (1)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
118 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We love Jerry's. The vibe is great, the ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

We love Jerry's. The vibe is great, the food is consistently excellent and the Bloody Jerry is my favorite cocktail in the city. We eat there several times a month even though we now live across the bridge in NJ. Because we love the place I feel compelled to offer a couple of observations/suggestions. One is the wait service has slipped the last 3 times we've been there (once for dinner & twice for brunch). The wait staff are pleasant and responsive but don't seem to be on top of things nearly as much as a few months ago. I had to ask for a coffee refill even though my cup was empty a long time, we did not get our order taken for a good 10 minutes this past Sunday (after prompting the waitress) even though it was early and not yet crowded. At early dinner the waitress was not clued in to the drink specials on the wall. We are used to better service there. All the wait staff are affable but some are not on top of things. We'll be back because we love it and this is an easy fix. The other issue is the back area in the main room with the bar is tight and gets unbearably loud with the bare brick walls and tin ceiling. Charming to look at but impossible to have a conversation unless you yell - which just makes the issue worse lol. That being said Jerry's is a top 10 Philly restaurant for the food and the vibe. Oh, love the jazz duo on Sundays during brunch too!

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Jerry's is one of our favorite spots in ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Jerry's is one of our favorite spots in the neighborhood and their new menu is the BEST YET! We shared the fried oysters (portion felt a little small, but taste was on point), grilled octopus (superb), pork belly (the risotto was *perfectly* cooked), and falafel (delicious). Add in a bottle of wine and chocolate pot de creme (soooooo good) and it was a really great experience. Jerry's has always been good, but really outdid itself this time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Jerry's many times and I ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We have been to Jerry's many times and I have had their gnocchi in the past and it was delicious. This time, the gnocchi dish was tasteless and cold. I would not recommend the gnocchi with eggplant; however, the fish sandwich my husband ordered was much better. The wait staff is always very pleasant and attentive and continues to be.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Had the octopus which was ok, the mussel ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Had the octopus which was ok, the mussels were just fishy. They gave you bread but there was barely any sauce to dip it in. The service was from our waiter was very poor. When you don't have to actually bring out the food and are never around, what are doing? The lady filling up our water glass was very attentive though. The main courses of sandwiches everyone agreed was below average. A table of 5 next to us sat down about 20 minutes after us and was served their good before us. And since they noted that they had the wrong sides and 3 plates were brought out first, we knew that it was ours as it had happened with our drinks as well. For being highly ranked I was very disappointed. I have never written a bad review before so I think that says something.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Never having been to Jerry ' s before I ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Never having been to Jerry ' s before I didn't know what to expect . The menu had a selection of standards but with a personal touch to go along with other choices .Our server was efficient , friendly , and welcoming without being intrusive . She took the time to inform us of the Sunday Jazz Brunch , which has already been marked on the calendar

The portions were generous , the plating had a unique touch and overall it was both a great new find a satisfying dinner without the bank. Parking might a bit of a challenge but not enough to discourage me from going

Tags: Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Meatballs are amazing! Get them every ti ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Meatballs are amazing! Get them every time we visit. Ordered oxtail ragu gnocchi, was a bit overdone bit good flavor. Great cocktails & beer offerings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for restaurant/ nightout week w/ th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Went for restaurant/ nightout week w/ the boys, first time there and the food was on point. Jerry's meatballs is a must !! Our waitress Megan was on top of her game .. Def will go back

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch Food quality vs value at the top ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Brunch Food quality vs value at the top end.

Wine list expensive vs quality of wines. You'd be better off with some of their very good custom cocktails.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Was disappointed in my latest visit to J ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Was disappointed in my latest visit to Jerry's bar. Last time we went for brunch the food was great, this time it was so-so. It took a long time for our entrees to come out, I suspect because of the kitchen's focus on preparing food for the street festival going on. I wish we would have been informed of this via a call from the restaurant. My food was a bit overdone as was my friend's food. I will think twice about going back there for brunch or recommending it to anyone else.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

We love Jerry's and eat there often. We ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We love Jerry's and eat there often. We are always happy with the food and service. There is one issue and that's the noise level especially in the back area before the restrooms. The noise level (especially there) is so high conversation can be nearly impossible. I love the bare brick and the tin ceilings but if anything, no matter how minor, can be done to lower the resonance of very loud sound it would make Jerry's near perfect.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I'm a big fan of Jerry's. My girlfriend ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I'm a big fan of Jerry's. My girlfriend and I go for dinner all the time and love their menu, cocktails, and beer selection.

This was the first time we've been for brunch and they didn't disappoint. The Bloody Jerry was awesome and everyone enjoyed their meals.

It was surprisingly quiet for Saturday brunch in NoLibs, the restaurant was almost empty. Not sure if that was an anomaly or if they just don't get busy for brunch - I'll be back soon to find out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had friends in from California, includin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Had friends in from California, including one named Jerry! Everyone enjoyed their dinner -- burgers and other sandwiches, and a great beer list! Deserts were a little off -- seemed like they were frozen/microwaved as they were extremely hot on the outer edges and still cold inside. I would stick to the brews and burgers, but otherwise a really great time. Parking is always an issue, but patience prevailed! Great time, been there often, and look forward to going back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Jerry's is a hidden gem in NoLibs. The B ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Jerry's is a hidden gem in NoLibs. The Bloody Mary's or Bloody Jerry's were a full meal!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Finding the restaurant is a bit difficul ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Finding the restaurant is a bit difficult and the neighborhood is changing, but not quite yet. However, once you walk into the restaurant you are transformed. The staff is great, very helpful, the food is superb and the atmosphere is wonderful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Visited Jerry's once and had a great exp ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Visited Jerry's once and had a great experience, so I decided to come back with a large group before a concert. Our server was very very nice, I think the issue was the kitchen and bar coverage. The food was over cooked, took forever, sodas flat, drinks took forever. It was a pretty bad experience. We ended up being late for the concert and what we though would be an hour dinner turned into 3, most of it being the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Good local place

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

It took a few minutes longer than normal to get the table. It took longer than normal to get drinks. It then took me to notice that someone didn't show up for work and the skeleton crew did their absolute best to take care of everything. Cocktails were interesting and dinner was lovely. I'll try it again for brunch sometime.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Jerry

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The jazz brunch at Jerry's was excellent. The ambiance was charming with flowers on the table The Bloody Marys were outstanding and the jumbo shrimp was a nice touch. We enjoyed our Eggs Jerry. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great find!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Good food and fun atmosphere! Food was tasty and simple.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Good place

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Eclectic, small menu, but really good food. fun servers

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The Mother's Day Brunch was fantastic. E ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The Mother's Day Brunch was fantastic. Everyone enjoyed their meal. The hostess was accommodating to our request to not have a high table and found us a set of tables upstairs over looking the bar and band.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Always terrific! The eggs Benedict was s ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Always terrific! The eggs Benedict was so perfectly prepared, the Bloody Jerry is one of the best Bloodies in the city and the coffee is strong and tasty. Love the jazz combo too for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Much more than just a bar!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Definitely a huge step up from standard bar food. They offer some special dishes like octopus, roasted chicken, fish and chocolate bread pudding. I have been there twice and enjoyed the octopus and fish both times. The mussels are delicious too, but really small. The bread pudding was enjoyed by all. The hamburgers looked tasty, but nothing extra special, and the Mediterranean salad plate was enjoyed at our table as well, though the fallafals were luke warm as was the octopus. This was not mentioned to the waitress as we had waited about 40 mins before receiving it, and had to ask for bread in between the apps and mains to hold us over during the next 35 minute lull. the waitress had to be flagged down whenever we needed something- water, a refill on a drink, bread, to place an order, and to pay the check. While we were still eating dinner we ordered desert fearing we'd have to wait another 30-40 minutes for that too. 3 out of the 4 deserts were very good, but the lemon curd had an odd texture and not enjoyed by our table as much as the other others.

The whole restaurant must have been in the weeds, as the food was good but kitchen super slow, and then it must have been sitting waiting to get to our table as most of the dishes were not hot when served. The octopus was tasty, but very very small- 3 tiny pieces.

Overall the food was okay, but not fantastic, and definitely not waiting so long for. The restaurant is really loud in the main dining room due to its proximity to the bar. The upstairs dining area is a much better dining environment as is the charming outdoor area... however, sitting under the heat lamp I was breaking a sweat while others at my table were putting on their coats to stay warm.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Just plain good

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Apps did not disappoint. Meatballs and perogies were excellent. Had burger for dinner with a spicy sauce that was also perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jerry's is a neighborhood staple! The b ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Jerry's is a neighborhood staple! The burger is fabulous and atmosphere is always a buzz. Great weekend brunch spot.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Ok

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Service was awful, sticky bun was stale and cold. Took forever for drinks. Everything came out at different times. They need more staff. Used to be my go to brunch spot. Not going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Nice Saturday dinner

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

A friend and I went to Jerry's for dinner at a Satruday night and we were seated in the alley which is one of my favorite spots. The server seemed busy but she was very sweet and helpful. The food was good and came out at a reasonable time. The best part about this bar is the beer list is always different and amazing.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

excellent service and hospitality as alw ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

excellent service and hospitality as always and bar is always quick. but as of late it seems like kitchen service has been quite slow on various occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Pleasant Surprise

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We went here for Easter Brunch on the recommendations of a few friends. I was so surprised and how light and airy the bar area was! We were sat in the side room, which was equally lovely and yet complete different. It smelled of hyacinths which was also a lovely surprise.

The food was excellent. The staff was attentive and kind. The patrons ran the gamut from hipster couples to families with their kids.

We will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Brunch

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

I went to Jerry's Bar for the first time during brunch. I loved the atmosphere and that they had other meat options besides pork. The service was friendly but slow I think the fastest item that arrives was the bill. Overall a good experience. I'm always willing to give second chances and Jerry's sure deserves it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

The food was great, the service was lack ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The food was great, the service was lacking. Our waiter kept disappearing and it took forever to place an order. He also left to get wedges for balancing the table but took so long we just did it ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Poor service ruins the experience

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We went to Jerry's before going to a concert at the Fillmore. It's a short walk away---three or four blocks--so it serves that purpose nicely. Okay, we were late for our reservation but we called ahead to say we would be. Our table was in the bar area and near the door. Bummer. It was 6:30 but they were out of pulled pork and another dish I can't remember. Bummer #2. And then we waited and waited for our beer and our food. Bummer #3.

We really weren't there in expectation of having great meal. We just wanted an okay meal before a concert. But the poor service ruined the experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

we go to Jerrys often. always a fun spot ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

we go to Jerrys often. always a fun spot. known for great burger but this last time was just so so. salty and not up to usual standard. great service from Allison.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

AWESOME SPOT!

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was so so but the ambience is what makes this spot special! If there is anything I would highlight from the menu is the homemade pita bread and the exquisite dips!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Brunch

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Very solid brunch place in an area that has too many places to eat in a lifetime. I ordered the eggs benedict and we had the wings to start. The wing were small but very tasty. The eggs benedict was AWESOME! The canadian bacon had a maple glaze on it that provided just enough sweetness and the hollandaise sauce had nice salty contrast. The texture was perfect too; the muffin did not get too soggy too quickly. It took over an hour to get our entrees after we ordered and the server was very nice and apologetic, but do not go if you want to get out within an hour. Overall I would go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

We enjoy the weekend brunch. The music i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We enjoy the weekend brunch. The music is a great add on during the meal.

Enjoy the people that work there.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Long wait for brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Good ambience and nice jazz...but waited forever for our meal and then some of the dishes arrives lukewarm. Disappointing at least on this particular Sunday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

The short rib was amazing!! But besides ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The short rib was amazing!! But besides that, it was a chilly 19 degrees outside and the table where we were originally sat had a slight chill, so they allowed us to move into the well-heated courtyard, which was gorgeous and toasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Jazz Brunch

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We made the reservation for Valentine's Day so our kids could experience great food, great music and we could do something for Valentines Day. We were not disappointed! From the appetizers (Mussels & Pecan Cinnamon bun) to the entrées we were pleasantly surprised. Our kids loved the music-as did we- and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrific Brunch!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Have lived within 5 miles of Jerry's for years, and finally had the brunch! It was great. Service was wonderful, food was terrific and the tap list was awesome. I definitely won't wait five years for my next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love everything!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Love everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.