About Jerry's Bar

129 W Laurel St
Philadelphia, PA 19123
View Larger Map

Jerry's menu is anchored by thoughtfully re-imagined bistro classics lovingly prepared by hand. Our bar is impeccably stocked - craft beer, boutique wines, a formidable whiskey selection and exquisite spirits. We offer cocktails as classic as they are inventive.

Like the food and drink, Jerry's itself was rebuilt, brick by brick, by craftsmen with a profound respect for heritage. It incorporates a rich collection of architectural treasures, culled from historic buildings around Philadelphia. The result - old school elegance and refinement, where every brick, column, cobble stone, marble slab, door and fixture has a story to tell.

Jerry's Bar is new in an old way, to be savored and sipped slowly, rooted in simple pleasures that are as fresh as they are timeless.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Bar Opens: 4pm Mon-Fri & 9am Sat-Sun
Happy Hour: Mon-Fri 5pm-7:30pm, Sun 8-10pm
Dinner: Everyday 5-11pm
Late Night Menu: Fri-Sat 11pm-1am
Brunch: Sat-Sun 9am-3:30pm
Midday Menu: Sat-Sun 3:30-5pm
Jazz Brunch Sundays

Cross Street:
West Laurel St. and New Market St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(267) 273-1632

Website:
http://www.jerrysbarphilly.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz Brunch Sundays

Public Transit:
Near the Market-Frankford Line - Spring Garden or Girard stops.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Gansert

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Planning an event at Jerry's is a great idea. Jerry's Bar can accommodate groups of all sizes for cocktail parties and sit-down affairs. Our event manager and Chef will customize the perfect event for you and your guests, and we look forward to making your next get together a great success.

For more information on our available spaces and to book an event, view our private events page - http://jerrysbarphilly.com/events/

events@jerrysbarphilly.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Jerry's Bar, Philadelphia, PA
  • Jerry's Bar, Philadelphia, PA
Jerry's Bar, Philadelphia, PA
Jerry's Bar, Philadelphia, PA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jerry’s Bar, located in Northern Liberties on the corner of West Laurel and New Market Street, is the perfect restaurant for private dining or special events. We offer both our beautiful, upstairs balcony and full restaurant; both are equipped with a private bar, bathroom and an artfully designed in

Jerry's Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Good for a Date (8)
See All
Fit for Foodies (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Casual (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Fun (5)
Great Beer (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
People Watching (3)
Cozy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Historic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Live Music (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Organic (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
S
133 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was my second time at Jerry's Bar f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

This was my second time at Jerry's Bar for brunch. The meals and drinks were so good both times! The ambience is cool too - very fresh and inviting. The live jazz for Sunday brunch is a nice touch. The upstairs area would be a great place to rent out for a private party.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Made a open table reservation, showed up ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Made a open table reservation, showed up on time and we were told there was a lack of menus and it would be at least 15 to 20 min. before we were seated. We took a seat at the bar, noticed several tables were not occupied, and yet people were waiting. When we pressed for an answer about the wait we were told the kitchen could not meet the already made orders. We then left and went to another restaurant with great success.

This is the third time this has happened at Jerry's in the past several months. They have a problem with both the management, and the kitchen which no one is paying ant attention to. We won't have our time wasted there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Despite having a reservation, they were ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Despite having a reservation, they were going to seat us at a high top table in the bar (where it is very loud), next to the front door. The waiter took our drink order and only brought three of the four drinks. He came back a second time and asked what the fourth drink was. He cam back again to take our food order, but when I asked him where the drink was, he said the bar was "very backed up with a lot of tickets."

I ordered the hangar au poivre. It was undercooked and no pepper on it and very little flavor. Two of us ordered the short ribs which were very dried out and the parsnip had no flavor. The only happy diner was the one that ordered the fried chicken sandwich.

Lucky for them, they have a good following and do not need our business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We sat down at 730 & didn't get our food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We sat down at 730 & didn't get our food until 9pm. The waiter looked to be trying his best with all of the tables upstairs. He said the tape machine ran out of paper and asked us to tell him our order and it was coming right out. That was around 815; around 845 he said the kitchen was backed up. We had to have him put our food in to-go containers because we had an event at 9pm. We walked and ate our flavorless chicken sandwiches. We wished we went to Chic-Fil-A instead...

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We arrived on time with a reservation. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We arrived on time with a reservation. After a 25 mile drive and a struggle to park. We were offered a horrible high top table in the noisy bar area near the front door. Were told that there were no other tables available. We left. Arrogant reception. Awful, infuriating experience. The worst.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The service was poor. It took forever t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The service was poor. It took forever to get our first beer. Appetizer came out timely and hot. Our dinners came out cold.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

For people who are going to be driving i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

For people who are going to be driving into the city. Try to get there 10-15 minutes before your reservation. Parking can be tricky. Initially I was discouraged while looking for parking, but the food was great. The waiter was very knowledgeable, and assisted us with our selections. I loved the Everything Fries, and the Pierogi where awesome. I also had the BBQ Short Rib, best short rib ever. We had tickets to the Fillmore, we were able to walk to the event. Perfect night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

If we had just come for drinks it would ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

If we had just come for drinks it would have been 5 stars. Dinner was a completely mixed bag which included uncooked salmon and some questionable seafood.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was really slow to be delivered ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The food was really slow to be delivered even though it was just apps.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food, good service, and great live ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Good food, good service, and great live music during brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always love brunch at Jerry's!

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Always love brunch at Jerry's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was attending a concert at the Fillmore ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Was attending a concert at the Fillmore and ate dinner here beforehand. Food was good. Beer list was awesome. Very convenient to the concert.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service!

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was somewhat poor. Took a long t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Service was somewhat poor. Took a long time for our waiter to come back, but that coincided with the restaurant with being more busy.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Jerrys is tucked away, off the beaten pa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Jerrys is tucked away, off the beaten path from the hustle-bustle of Fishtown's hopping scene. It is quiet, great food, great drinks, and reasonable prices. It you want a great neighborhood-y kind of place with an eclectic mix of patrons (but not over-run with hipsters) this is the place. We love it there!

Tags: Great Beer, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Jerry's. The vibe is great, the ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We love Jerry's. The vibe is great, the food is consistently excellent and the Bloody Jerry is my favorite cocktail in the city. We eat there several times a month even though we now live across the bridge in NJ. Because we love the place I feel compelled to offer a couple of observations/suggestions. One is the wait service has slipped the last 3 times we've been there (once for dinner & twice for brunch). The wait staff are pleasant and responsive but don't seem to be on top of things nearly as much as a few months ago. I had to ask for a coffee refill even though my cup was empty a long time, we did not get our order taken for a good 10 minutes this past Sunday (after prompting the waitress) even though it was early and not yet crowded. At early dinner the waitress was not clued in to the drink specials on the wall. We are used to better service there. All the wait staff are affable but some are not on top of things. We'll be back because we love it and this is an easy fix. The other issue is the back area in the main room with the bar is tight and gets unbearably loud with the bare brick walls and tin ceiling. Charming to look at but impossible to have a conversation unless you yell - which just makes the issue worse lol. That being said Jerry's is a top 10 Philly restaurant for the food and the vibe. Oh, love the jazz duo on Sundays during brunch too!

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Jerry's is one of our favorite spots in ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Jerry's is one of our favorite spots in the neighborhood and their new menu is the BEST YET! We shared the fried oysters (portion felt a little small, but taste was on point), grilled octopus (superb), pork belly (the risotto was perfectly cooked), and falafel (delicious). Add in a bottle of wine and chocolate pot de creme (soooooo good) and it was a really great experience. Jerry's has always been good, but really outdid itself this time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Jerry's many times and I ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We have been to Jerry's many times and I have had their gnocchi in the past and it was delicious. This time, the gnocchi dish was tasteless and cold. I would not recommend the gnocchi with eggplant; however, the fish sandwich my husband ordered was much better. The wait staff is always very pleasant and attentive and continues to be.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Had the octopus which was ok, the mussel ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Had the octopus which was ok, the mussels were just fishy. They gave you bread but there was barely any sauce to dip it in. The service was from our waiter was very poor. When you don't have to actually bring out the food and are never around, what are doing? The lady filling up our water glass was very attentive though. The main courses of sandwiches everyone agreed was below average. A table of 5 next to us sat down about 20 minutes after us and was served their good before us. And since they noted that they had the wrong sides and 3 plates were brought out first, we knew that it was ours as it had happened with our drinks as well. For being highly ranked I was very disappointed. I have never written a bad review before so I think that says something.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Never having been to Jerry ' s before I ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Never having been to Jerry ' s before I didn't know what to expect . The menu had a selection of standards but with a personal touch to go along with other choices .Our server was efficient , friendly , and welcoming without being intrusive . She took the time to inform us of the Sunday Jazz Brunch , which has already been marked on the calendar

The portions were generous , the plating had a unique touch and overall it was both a great new find a satisfying dinner without the bank. Parking might a bit of a challenge but not enough to discourage me from going

Tags: Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Meatballs are amazing! Get them every ti ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Meatballs are amazing! Get them every time we visit. Ordered oxtail ragu gnocchi, was a bit overdone bit good flavor. Great cocktails & beer offerings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for restaurant/ nightout week w/ th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Went for restaurant/ nightout week w/ the boys, first time there and the food was on point. Jerry's meatballs is a must !! Our waitress Megan was on top of her game .. Def will go back

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch Food quality vs value at the top ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Brunch Food quality vs value at the top end.

Wine list expensive vs quality of wines. You'd be better off with some of their very good custom cocktails.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Was disappointed in my latest visit to J ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Was disappointed in my latest visit to Jerry's bar. Last time we went for brunch the food was great, this time it was so-so. It took a long time for our entrees to come out, I suspect because of the kitchen's focus on preparing food for the street festival going on. I wish we would have been informed of this via a call from the restaurant. My food was a bit overdone as was my friend's food. I will think twice about going back there for brunch or recommending it to anyone else.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

We love Jerry's and eat there often. We ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 26, 2016

We love Jerry's and eat there often. We are always happy with the food and service. There is one issue and that's the noise level especially in the back area before the restrooms. The noise level (especially there) is so high conversation can be nearly impossible. I love the bare brick and the tin ceilings but if anything, no matter how minor, can be done to lower the resonance of very loud sound it would make Jerry's near perfect.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I'm a big fan of Jerry's. My girlfriend ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 23, 2016

I'm a big fan of Jerry's. My girlfriend and I go for dinner all the time and love their menu, cocktails, and beer selection.

This was the first time we've been for brunch and they didn't disappoint. The Bloody Jerry was awesome and everyone enjoyed their meals.

It was surprisingly quiet for Saturday brunch in NoLibs, the restaurant was almost empty. Not sure if that was an anomaly or if they just don't get busy for brunch - I'll be back soon to find out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had friends in from California, includin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Had friends in from California, including one named Jerry! Everyone enjoyed their dinner -- burgers and other sandwiches, and a great beer list! Deserts were a little off -- seemed like they were frozen/microwaved as they were extremely hot on the outer edges and still cold inside. I would stick to the brews and burgers, but otherwise a really great time. Parking is always an issue, but patience prevailed! Great time, been there often, and look forward to going back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Jerry's is a hidden gem in NoLibs. The B ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Jerry's is a hidden gem in NoLibs. The Bloody Mary's or Bloody Jerry's were a full meal!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Finding the restaurant is a bit difficul ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Finding the restaurant is a bit difficult and the neighborhood is changing, but not quite yet. However, once you walk into the restaurant you are transformed. The staff is great, very helpful, the food is superb and the atmosphere is wonderful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Visited Jerry's once and had a great exp ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 7, 2016

Visited Jerry's once and had a great experience, so I decided to come back with a large group before a concert. Our server was very very nice, I think the issue was the kitchen and bar coverage. The food was over cooked, took forever, sodas flat, drinks took forever. It was a pretty bad experience. We ended up being late for the concert and what we though would be an hour dinner turned into 3, most of it being the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Good local place

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 6, 2016

It took a few minutes longer than normal to get the table. It took longer than normal to get drinks. It then took me to notice that someone didn't show up for work and the skeleton crew did their absolute best to take care of everything. Cocktails were interesting and dinner was lovely. I'll try it again for brunch sometime.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Jerry

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 5, 2016

The jazz brunch at Jerry's was excellent. The ambiance was charming with flowers on the table The Bloody Marys were outstanding and the jumbo shrimp was a nice touch. We enjoyed our Eggs Jerry. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great find!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Good food and fun atmosphere! Food was tasty and simple.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Good place

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Eclectic, small menu, but really good food. fun servers

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The Mother's Day Brunch was fantastic. E ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The Mother's Day Brunch was fantastic. Everyone enjoyed their meal. The hostess was accommodating to our request to not have a high table and found us a set of tables upstairs over looking the bar and band.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Always terrific! The eggs Benedict was s ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Always terrific! The eggs Benedict was so perfectly prepared, the Bloody Jerry is one of the best Bloodies in the city and the coffee is strong and tasty. Love the jazz combo too for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Much more than just a bar!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Definitely a huge step up from standard bar food. They offer some special dishes like octopus, roasted chicken, fish and chocolate bread pudding. I have been there twice and enjoyed the octopus and fish both times. The mussels are delicious too, but really small. The bread pudding was enjoyed by all. The hamburgers looked tasty, but nothing extra special, and the Mediterranean salad plate was enjoyed at our table as well, though the fallafals were luke warm as was the octopus. This was not mentioned to the waitress as we had waited about 40 mins before receiving it, and had to ask for bread in between the apps and mains to hold us over during the next 35 minute lull. the waitress had to be flagged down whenever we needed something- water, a refill on a drink, bread, to place an order, and to pay the check. While we were still eating dinner we ordered desert fearing we'd have to wait another 30-40 minutes for that too. 3 out of the 4 deserts were very good, but the lemon curd had an odd texture and not enjoyed by our table as much as the other others.

The whole restaurant must have been in the weeds, as the food was good but kitchen super slow, and then it must have been sitting waiting to get to our table as most of the dishes were not hot when served. The octopus was tasty, but very very small- 3 tiny pieces.

Overall the food was okay, but not fantastic, and definitely not waiting so long for. The restaurant is really loud in the main dining room due to its proximity to the bar. The upstairs dining area is a much better dining environment as is the charming outdoor area... however, sitting under the heat lamp I was breaking a sweat while others at my table were putting on their coats to stay warm.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Just plain good

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Apps did not disappoint. Meatballs and perogies were excellent. Had burger for dinner with a spicy sauce that was also perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jerry's is a neighborhood staple! The b ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Jerry's is a neighborhood staple! The burger is fabulous and atmosphere is always a buzz. Great weekend brunch spot.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Ok

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Service was awful, sticky bun was stale and cold. Took forever for drinks. Everything came out at different times. They need more staff. Used to be my go to brunch spot. Not going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.