About Jerry's Bar

129 W Laurel St
Philadelphia, PA 19123
View Larger Map

Jerry's menu is anchored by thoughtfully re-imagined bistro classics lovingly prepared by hand. Our bar is impeccably stocked - craft beer, boutique wines, a formidable whiskey selection and exquisite spirits. We offer cocktails as classic as they are inventive.

Like the food and drink, Jerry's itself was rebuilt, brick by brick, by craftsmen with a profound respect for heritage. It incorporates a rich collection of architectural treasures, culled from historic buildings around Philadelphia. The result - old school elegance and refinement, where every brick, column, cobble stone, marble slab, door and fixture has a story to tell.

Jerry's Bar is new in an old way, to be savored and sipped slowly, rooted in simple pleasures that are as fresh as they are timeless.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Bar Opens: 4pm Mon-Fri & 9am Sat-Sun
Happy Hour: Mon-Fri 5pm-7:30pm, Sun 8-10pm
Dinner: Everyday 5-11pm
Late Night Menu: Fri-Sat 11pm-1am
Brunch: Sat-Sun 9am-3:30pm
Midday Menu: Sat-Sun 3:30-5pm
Jazz Brunch Sundays

Cross Street:
West Laurel St. and New Market St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(267) 273-1632

Website:
http://www.jerrysbarphilly.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz Brunch Sundays

Public Transit:
Near the Market-Frankford Line - Spring Garden or Girard stops.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Gansert

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Planning an event at Jerry's is a great idea. Jerry's Bar can accommodate groups of all sizes for cocktail parties and sit-down affairs. Our event manager and Chef will customize the perfect event for you and your guests, and we look forward to making your next get together a great success.

For more information on our available spaces and to book an event, view our private events page - http://jerrysbarphilly.com/events/

events@jerrysbarphilly.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Jerry's Bar
  • Jerry's Bar
Jerry's Bar
Jerry's Bar

Promotions

Industry Flight Night

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Industry Discount

Special valid Mar 22, 2016 - Jul 22, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Sunday Supper

Sundays from 4:00 PM - 11:30 PM

$5 Burger Tuesdays

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Buck-A-Shuck Thursdays

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Promotions

Industry Flight Night

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details
If you work in the service industry, let US serve YOU! Join us every Monday for Industry Flight Night! Bring in your service industry paystub, and you'll get $8 craft beer flights (four 3-oz. pours) and 15% off all food and liquor!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 28, 2016 - Jul 25, 2016 on Mondays from 4:00 PM - 11:30 PM.
Industry Discount

Special valid Mar 22, 2016 - Jul 22, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details
Bring in your service industry paystub and you'll get 15% off all food and drinks!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 22, 2016 - Jul 22, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 11:30 PM.
Sunday Supper

Sundays from 4:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details
Simply delicious, Chef inspired comfort food. Available from open to sell out. Menu changes weekly, follow us @jerrysbarphilly. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 27, 2016 - Jul 24, 2016 on Sundays from 4:00 PM - 11:30 PM.
$5 Burger Tuesdays

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details
Need a burger? We have delicious $5 burgers all night long!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 22, 2016 - Jul 19, 2016 on Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 11:30 PM.
Buck-A-Shuck Thursdays

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
We love Thursdays, because we love $1 oysters!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 24, 2016 - Jul 21, 2016 on Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jerry’s Bar, located in Northern Liberties on the corner of West Laurel and New Market Street, is the perfect restaurant for private dining or special events. We offer both our beautiful, upstairs balcony and full restaurant; both are equipped with a private bar, bathroom and an artfully designed in

Jerry's Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

3.8

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Northern Liberties ›

neighborhood gem (28)
great for brunch (22)
vibrant bar scene (18)
See All
good for groups (16)
hot spot (12)
great for lunch (11)
fit for foodies (11)
great for outdoor dining (10)
kid-friendly (7)
romantic (7)
special occasion (7)
late-night find (4)
notable wine list (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
105 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Jerry's is a hidden gem in NoLibs. The B ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Jerry's is a hidden gem in NoLibs. The Bloody Mary's or Bloody Jerry's were a full meal!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Finding the restaurant is a bit difficul ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Finding the restaurant is a bit difficult and the neighborhood is changing, but not quite yet. However, once you walk into the restaurant you are transformed. The staff is great, very helpful, the food is superb and the atmosphere is wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Visited Jerry's once and had a great exp ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Visited Jerry's once and had a great experience, so I decided to come back with a large group before a concert. Our server was very very nice, I think the issue was the kitchen and bar coverage. The food was over cooked, took forever, sodas flat, drinks took forever. It was a pretty bad experience. We ended up being late for the concert and what we though would be an hour dinner turned into 3, most of it being the wait.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good local place

Dined on June 6, 2016

It took a few minutes longer than normal to get the table. It took longer than normal to get drinks. It then took me to notice that someone didn't show up for work and the skeleton crew did their absolute best to take care of everything. Cocktails were interesting and dinner was lovely. I'll try it again for brunch sometime.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Jerry

Dined on June 5, 2016

The jazz brunch at Jerry's was excellent. The ambiance was charming with flowers on the table The Bloody Marys were outstanding and the jumbo shrimp was a nice touch. We enjoyed our Eggs Jerry. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Great find!

Dined on June 3, 2016

Good food and fun atmosphere! Food was tasty and simple.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good place

Dined on May 29, 2016

Eclectic, small menu, but really good food. fun servers

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service3

The Mother's Day Brunch was fantastic. E ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The Mother's Day Brunch was fantastic. Everyone enjoyed their meal. The hostess was accommodating to our request to not have a high table and found us a set of tables upstairs over looking the bar and band.

food5
ambience4
service5

Always terrific! The eggs Benedict was s ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Always terrific! The eggs Benedict was so perfectly prepared, the Bloody Jerry is one of the best Bloodies in the city and the coffee is strong and tasty. Love the jazz combo too for brunch.

food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Much more than just a bar!

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Definitely a huge step up from standard bar food. They offer some special dishes like octopus, roasted chicken, fish and chocolate bread pudding. I have been there twice and enjoyed the octopus and fish both times. The mussels are delicious too, but really small. The bread pudding was enjoyed by all. The hamburgers looked tasty, but nothing extra special, and the Mediterranean salad plate was enjoyed at our table as well, though the fallafals were luke warm as was the octopus. This was not mentioned to the waitress as we had waited about 40 mins before receiving it, and had to ask for bread in between the apps and mains to hold us over during the next 35 minute lull. the waitress had to be flagged down whenever we needed something- water, a refill on a drink, bread, to place an order, and to pay the check. While we were still eating dinner we ordered desert fearing we'd have to wait another 30-40 minutes for that too. 3 out of the 4 deserts were very good, but the lemon curd had an odd texture and not enjoyed by our table as much as the other others. The whole restaurant must have been in the weeds, as the food was good but kitchen super slow, and then it must have been sitting waiting to get to our table as most of the dishes were not hot when served. The octopus was tasty, but very very small- 3 tiny pieces. Overall the food was okay, but not fantastic, and definitely not waiting so long for. The restaurant is really loud in the main dining room due to its proximity to the bar. The upstairs dining area is a much better dining environment as is the charming outdoor area... however, sitting under the heat lamp I was breaking a sweat while others at my table were putting on their coats to stay warm.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just plain good

Dined on May 7, 2016

Apps did not disappoint. Meatballs and perogies were excellent. Had burger for dinner with a spicy sauce that was also perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Ok

Dined on May 1, 2016

Service was awful, sticky bun was stale and cold. Took forever for drinks. Everything came out at different times. They need more staff. Used to be my go to brunch spot. Not going back

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Nice Saturday dinner

Dined on May 1, 2016

A friend and I went to Jerry's for dinner at a Satruday night and we were seated in the alley which is one of my favorite spots. The server seemed busy but she was very sweet and helpful. The food was good and came out at a reasonable time. The best part about this bar is the beer list is always different and amazing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience5
service5

excellent service and hospitality as alw ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

excellent service and hospitality as always and bar is always quick. but as of late it seems like kitchen service has been quite slow on various occasions.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Pleasant Surprise

Dined on March 27, 2016

We went here for Easter Brunch on the recommendations of a few friends. I was so surprised and how light and airy the bar area was! We were sat in the side room, which was equally lovely and yet complete different. It smelled of hyacinths which was also a lovely surprise. The food was excellent. The staff was attentive and kind. The patrons ran the gamut from hipster couples to families with their kids. We will definitely be coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Brunch

Dined on March 26, 2016

I went to Jerry's Bar for the first time during brunch. I loved the atmosphere and that they had other meat options besides pork. The service was friendly but slow I think the fastest item that arrives was the bill. Overall a good experience. I'm always willing to give second chances and Jerry's sure deserves it.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service2

The food was great, the service was lack ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

The food was great, the service was lacking. Our waiter kept disappearing and it took forever to place an order. He also left to get wedges for balancing the table but took so long we just did it ourselves.

food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Poor service ruins the experience

Dined on March 6, 2016

We went to Jerry's before going to a concert at the Fillmore. It's a short walk away---three or four blocks--so it serves that purpose nicely. Okay, we were late for our reservation but we called ahead to say we would be. Our table was in the bar area and near the door. Bummer. It was 6:30 but they were out of pulled pork and another dish I can't remember. Bummer #2. And then we waited and waited for our beer and our food. Bummer #3. We really weren't there in expectation of having great meal. We just wanted an okay meal before a concert. But the poor service ruined the experience.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

we go to Jerrys often. always a fun spot ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

we go to Jerrys often. always a fun spot. known for great burger but this last time was just so so. salty and not up to usual standard. great service from Allison.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

AWESOME SPOT!

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was so so but the ambience is what makes this spot special! If there is anything I would highlight from the menu is the homemade pita bread and the exquisite dips!

Tags: great for brunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Brunch

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Very solid brunch place in an area that has too many places to eat in a lifetime. I ordered the eggs benedict and we had the wings to start. The wing were small but very tasty. The eggs benedict was AWESOME! The canadian bacon had a maple glaze on it that provided just enough sweetness and the hollandaise sauce had nice salty contrast. The texture was perfect too; the muffin did not get too soggy too quickly. It took over an hour to get our entrees after we ordered and the server was very nice and apologetic, but do not go if you want to get out within an hour. Overall I would go back.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoy the weekend brunch. The music i ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

We enjoy the weekend brunch. The music is a great add on during the meal. Enjoy the people that work there.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Long wait for brunch

Dined on February 21, 2016

Good ambience and nice jazz...but waited forever for our meal and then some of the dishes arrives lukewarm. Disappointing at least on this particular Sunday.

food4
ambience5
service5

The short rib was amazing!! But besides ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The short rib was amazing!! But besides that, it was a chilly 19 degrees outside and the table where we were originally sat had a slight chill, so they allowed us to move into the well-heated courtyard, which was gorgeous and toasty!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Jazz Brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

We made the reservation for Valentine's Day so our kids could experience great food, great music and we could do something for Valentines Day. We were not disappointed! From the appetizers (Mussels & Pecan Cinnamon bun) to the entrées we were pleasantly surprised. Our kids loved the music-as did we- and we will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific Brunch!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Have lived within 5 miles of Jerry's for years, and finally had the brunch! It was great. Service was wonderful, food was terrific and the tap list was awesome. I definitely won't wait five years for my next visit!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Love everything!

Dined on January 31, 2016

Love everything!

food3
ambience3
service4

One of my favorite brunch spots, great d ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

One of my favorite brunch spots, great drinks. My pancakes were my favorite in the city, but were not on the menu last time, only disappointment

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great experience!

Dined on January 17, 2016

Eggs Benny were absolutely delicious! Loved the live jazz music too!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great meal, service and setting

Dined on January 17, 2016

This was our first time at Jerry's bar and we'd definitely returned. My husband and I shared several small plates and salads, and thought they were all excellent. The draft beers were great and good value, the service friendly and the setting was a mix of couples and groups in the quieter eating section, and a vibrant bar scene on the other side, so it felt like there was something for everyone. Plus it's a fun neighborhood, and even though the parking was a little challenging, we didn't mind the walk to/from our car, since there was lots going on.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot for an upscale brunch.

Dined on January 16, 2016

I was immediately happy with the service, and the ambience had a wholesomeness to it. The food was superb, and I reccomend you get a reservation.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We had a disappointing experience at thi ...

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

We had a disappointing experience at this restaurant. Service was abysmal! Food was good, but the server ruined it for us.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great salads, menu is however limited.

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

Great salads, menu is however limited.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Always Excellent

Dined on January 2, 2016

We love Jerrys! Sunday there is live music at brunch! Food was really great. Broccoli Reuben is beyond amazing. Eggs Bene, Taylor ham sandwich, oh and the bloody Mary's! Run to Jerrys!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

A New Years Eve dinner before going to an event.

Dined on January 1, 2016

More of a bar menu/small plate, but a few nice offerings for main courses. Nice mix of healthy plates (kale/squash salad, roasted brussel sprouts) and the delicious/more unhealthy ones we love (wings, fries, ribs, etc). Nice cocktail menu and great vibe with some classic soul/groove playing. Party hats and noise makers on each table.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fantastic! The food was g ...

vip
Dined on December 19, 2015

Everything was fantastic! The food was great! Our server was great!

food3
ambience3
service3

fun neighborhood place

Dined on November 21, 2015

We had a nice dinner with friends, great cocktails, food was pretty good, the perogie appetizer was awesome, my burger was good yet basic. I think this is a great place if you live in the neighborhood, the menu is small and classic, not a foodie place. We were seated in the adjacent "alley" room next to the windows on the street, although there were heat lamps we were very cold because there is a 3" opening along the floor that let in cold air from outside, I spent a good bit of the night rubbing my ankles to keep them warm.. not to mention all of the staff that opened the door next to us to leave after their shift, and 2 even left the door wide open as they left because it's doesn't have a proper hinge to close itself, so i had to get up and close it. I wouldn't be rushing back, but i can see how the neighborhood folk might enjoy a cocktail at the bar and a cozy meal in the main restaurant area.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

quaint bar with a nice atmosphere and wo ...

Dined on November 19, 2015

quaint bar with a nice atmosphere and wonderful food and service

food4
ambience5
service5

We were disappointed that the menu has c ...

Dined on November 14, 2015

We were disappointed that the menu has changed. We loved the baked eggs, steak and eggs and the apple spaezl but those were taken off. Please bring them back.

food4
ambience4
service4

Good food but very overpriced.

Dined on November 14, 2015

Good food but very overpriced.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.