About Jens' Restaurant

701 West 36th Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99503
View Larger Map

For over 20 years Jens’ has served the best fresh Alaskan Seafood. The dinner menu also features prime steaks, lamb, veal, deer and fresh pasta along with a wide selection of delicious appetizers and salads. The menu changes often to take full advantage of the best fresh ingredients. For lunch Danish specialties joins the fresh seafood, American standards, pastas and salads. A selection of home made desserts round out the dining experience. The cozy wine bar offers the full menu and over 40 wines by the glass.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
Arctic Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 561-5367

Website:
http://www.jensrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
The restaurant is located in the Olympic Center with lots of free parking.

Public Transit:
There are bus stops on 36th Avenue and on Arctic Blvd. Very close to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jens Hansen, Chef de Cusine Nancy Alip

Private Party Facilities:
A small private dining room seats up to 20 guests. The whole restaurant is also available for private parties. Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Annelise Hansen: 9075615367

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Jens' Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
11 More
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

special occasion (46)
fit for foodies (40)
great for lunch (28)
See All
romantic (26)
neighborhood gem (24)
notable wine list (22)
good for groups (12)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
496 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We can't say enough in favor of this fin ...

Dined 5 days ago

We can't say enough in favor of this fine restaurant. It is done with ambience, super service, the best food preparation and presentation providing high quality dinning.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Jen's is always a joy to dine. It's food ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Jen's is always a joy to dine. It's food is creative, well prepared while reflecting Alaska food preference. The staff are warm professionals. I feel a sense of reprieve from daily hustle. It reflects on the faces of friends I see at tables nearby. Make reservations as it is popular.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

delicious fresh halibut. also loved the ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

delicious fresh halibut. also loved the tuna tower appetizer.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another Great Date Night

Dined on June 11, 2016

The staff was great tonight and took great care of me and my husband. Since I have food allergies going out to dinner can be difficult......the staff here always takes good care of me and the food is full of flavor!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and wonderful staff! I high ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Amazing food and wonderful staff! I highly recommend this hidden gem, try the pepper steak.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Birthday

Dined on June 5, 2016

Birthday and Collage graduation anniversary. The waiter brought cards with there pictures they took, desserts and sparkles to celebrate. Very nice touch of class to make a memorable experience. I think Jens or Anneliese started this wonderful tradition.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Fish dinner

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Enjoyable dinner although I thought the portion size of the cod was a bit small

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Another enjoyable meal! The sashimi Nap ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Another enjoyable meal! The sashimi Napoleon was an interesting and tasty delight. Halibut and ahi tuna were excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb.

Dined on May 7, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 21st wedding anniversary. The food was amazing and the service was exemplary

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always amazing

Dined on April 28, 2016

Always amazing

food5
ambience5
service5

The dessert I can't pronounce was amazin ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

The dessert I can't pronounce was amazing and they timed the courses perfectly. Oh, the calamari was awesome, I can't describe how delicious it was.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently great

Dined on April 10, 2016

I've been to Jens many times over many years. It was purchased by a long-time employee this winter and this was my first trip under the new ownership. It was as a wonderful as ever. Great food, service, and environment for a fantastic evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

New menu

Dined on April 10, 2016

This is hard to write. I enjoyed my dinner Rey much. But I was sad when I opened the menu and my old Jen's favorites were gone. I know there is a new owner, but I just thought nothing would change. The food was very good and I did enjoy it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic chef-owned restaurant!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Tasting menu was terrific...delightful food and wine pairings! The service is always impeccable. Jens is the best in Anchorage!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gem of a restaurant

Dined on March 29, 2016

Certainly a place to go if you appreciate French and European cooking style food. Portions are enough that you could get a full meal from an appetizer and salad or soup. Or just get an entree as you get plenty of flavorful food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jens never disappoints

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

The restaurant only gets better. A superb tasting menu with perfectly matched wines is a bonus to an already outstanding menu. The service is impeccable - never intrusive, always aware of what diners need. BEst in Anchorage.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great on all fronts. Can't go wro ...

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Always great on all fronts. Can't go wrong!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food is good, but not quite as good as i ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Food is good, but not quite as good as it used to be. Having said that, it's still a great place to go for a birthday celebration or a nice lunch and the service is still excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Jens is good any time

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

Jens consistently delivers quality food and excellent food

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

While the food was good, the wait was excessive!

Dined on March 5, 2016

We had a reservation, but waited for nearly 30 minutes to be seated. We had to ask remind the waitress about each course and waited over two hours for our mail meal. This is the third time I have eaten at Jens and each time the kitchen seems overextended and the wait is excessively long. Recommend with caution. Lovely ambience with good food, but be prepared for a wait

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Birthday dinner at Jen's

Dined on March 2, 2016

I took my mom here to celebrate her 60th birthday, definitely the right place to go!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great evening

Dined on February 25, 2016

Enjoyed our evening with great friends. The meal was very good. The wine did give me a headache Dessert was tasty.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great oysters

Dined on February 24, 2016

These may be the best raw oysters I've ever had. The food was presented well. The table for two was a little on the small side, perhaps due to the large wine glasses with giant napkins in them. There wasn't much room on it. Service was good. I'd love to say I was blown away but I can't say that. Good place but for the cost I think I will try another place soon. I personally wouldn't go back but that's not to say it wouldnt be great for someone else. Best oysters I've ever had though. I highly recommend them

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great!!! Nice job Nancy and team!!!!!

vip
Dined on February 24, 2016

Great!!! Nice job Nancy and team!!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fabulous evening!

Dined on February 21, 2016

It was my birthday and we had a small party. Darrel was a wonderful waiter, the food was excellent and we couldn't have enjoyed a better evening anywhere. Thanks!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Night Out

Dined on February 19, 2016

When I first booked the table, it was for four. By the time we got there, it was for six, which Jens' people graciously managed. We had an excellent meal, well present by a knowledgeable and very helpful wait staff. The dining room is pleasant and cheerful. Two of us (locals) were hosting four people from out of town, and the impression on them was such that we are looking at them bringing a conference to Anchorage next year. That's what dinner at Jens' can do for you! Excellent fish all around (we had different dishes), a very good wine list, and simply wonderful food. As I pointed out to out guests, Jens' doesn't have the view of some places, and so has to put everything into the food. They do, and it pays off well. Thanks to everyone at Jens' for another great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Meals delivered cold & underdone

Dined on February 18, 2016

Husband's Opa served cold and scallops were not cooked through and hence cold.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Valentines Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

Had a great meal at Jens on Valentines Day, the restaurant was packed but the service did not suffer at all. Still a great meal. Fit for foodies. Love all of the seafood options, I had the scallops and they were seared perfectly, not overcooked. I hadn't been to the restaurant for 20-years and they are still a classic, I definitely won't wait that long again before returning.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good quality dining.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Service was very courteous and timely. Menu selection was excellent. Being a seafood person, this place is one of the best of this type in Anchorage. Noise level was just right and better than many competing restaurants of a similar type. Decor was pleasant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Not worth it

Dined on February 13, 2016

We've been wanting to try Jens for years and finally got a babysitter for the night. We ordered the calamari to start with, which was good. A decent portion and great flavor from the capers. My husband ordered the pepper steak med rare and I ordered the tuna in red coconut curry with veggies. The steak came covered in a nice looking brown creamy sauce, which surprisingly had no flavor, but the steak was perfectly cooked. My veggies were bland (maybe overcooked) and it all tasted like something I could easily make at home. Stick with the Glacier Brewhouse for their tuna entrees. We'll stick to Kincaid Grill for our nice dinners out. Their meals have nice fresh flavors that are hard to recreate. We also got the Danish dessert with the berries and cream-it was decent. For two dinners, a bottle of wine, appetizer, dessert, our bill came to $145.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Consistently excellent

Dined on February 4, 2016

I have eaten at Jens' since it opened and it has always been just an outstanding place to eat. The food is consistently excellent and the service highly professional. My lunch companion had the Aussie salad, which she reports was wonderful. I almost always have the Portuguese rockfish. It was exceptionally good this time. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Well, first night with the Nancy + team. ...

vip
Dined on February 3, 2016

Well, first night with the Nancy + team. So GREAT!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A hidden gem

Dined on December 30, 2015

Absolutely fantastic! A hidden gem in Anchorage. Our waiter was charismatic and energetic and the food was phenomenal. My boyfriend got the salmon and I had the beef Wellington. The salmon was delicious and the Wellington cut like butter. We split a chocolate mousse and a glass of port for dessert (mousse is my favourite and they had my boyfriend's favourite port), and we went home with very happy stomachs. If we're ever back in Anchorage, we will definitely come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, wine and service

Dined on December 16, 2015

The food was absolutely delicious, I just wish they serve warm bread. The wine was very good as well. The service was very professional and also friendly.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a favorite

Dined on December 13, 2015

As always, Jens stands up to its strong reputation as a premiere restaurant in Anchorage. The calamari and sashimi Napoleon are simply the best around!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4

Jen's is good. Darrel gives great servic ...

Dined on November 29, 2015

Jen's is good. Darrel gives great service and is super attentive in addition to offering suggestions. I get it is supposed to be an experience when you go but sometime the wait is just too much. Bring the food already. When it comes it is delicious and they are willing to accommodate request. I had the rockfish prepared as cod and it was delicious. The salad was also tasty with the strawberry vinaigrette. Only disappointments were I took my mom there to experience beef Wellington and I called around several places and Jen's was the only place that did it but it was deconstructed. It was okay...just not what was expected. I would also suggest ordering your choice of how you like your cut of meat cooked take. Down one. My mom asked for her steak with a touch of pink or medium well and it was well done. The wine list was kind of lackluster by the glass but they had some decent bottle service. Overall it was good. Not an every day dining experience but tasty!

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful as always

Dined on November 26, 2015

We took our daughter and boyfriend there for a birthday dinner. It was as always a wonderful experience. The waiters are friendly and show a personal concern that your visit should be the best possible. They are responsive in detail about food and wine choices. After going there so many years it is like visiting another family member - but the food and wine is far better!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

One of the best in Anchorage

Dined on November 26, 2015

Jens is one of a short list of Anchorage restaurants where cost doesn't matter. Consistently great food in all courses is served in an attentive and friendly way. To us they do have certain trademarks: their tenderloin pepper steak is special, their appetizer calamari is deluxe served in a slightly mustardy cream sauce, and their preparation of fresh fish- especially salmon- is luscious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and atmosphere

Dined on November 20, 2015

This was the perfect place for my wife's birthday. The food is excellent and the atmosphere was quite and perfect. We had a group of 12 people and they were able to accommodate us with little difficulty. The food was first rate and all arrived hot atub the same time. We didn't tell them there was a birthday girl and they figured it out and gave us something to remember without us asking. It was a great night. I will definitely be going back soon My only complaint is they don't separate the check so that took a little longer than necessary but otherwise a great little place for dinner

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2

Jens has gone downhill

Dined on November 15, 2015

Sad to say it, but our last experience at Jens will likely be our final one. The quality of food and service have really fallen off, and yet the prices remain the same or higher. For $45, I would expect that a ribeye be melting and tender, not charred and gristly. Our server was polite and attentive, but forgot to bring our salad and soup order. The salt shaker was full of something horribly bitter (NOT salt). My husband ordered the ahi tuna and it was fishy. Just a sad experience all around from a once much loved favorite. 😟

Tags: notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.