Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Jens' Restaurant

For over 20 years Jens’ has served the best fresh Alaskan Seafood. The dinner menu also features prime steaks, lamb, veal, deer and fresh pasta along with a wide selection of delicious appetizers and salads. The menu changes often to take full advantage of the best fresh ingredients. For lunch Danish specialties joins the fresh seafood, American standards, pastas and salads. A selection of home made desserts round out the dining experience. The cozy wine bar offers the full menu and over 40 wines by the glass.

701 West 36th Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
Arctic Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 561-5367

Website:
http://www.jensrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
The restaurant is located in the Olympic Center with lots of free parking.

Public Transit:
There are bus stops on 36th Avenue and on Arctic Blvd. Very close to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jens Hansen, Chef de Cusine Nancy Alip

Private Party Facilities:
A small private dining room seats up to 20 guests. The whole restaurant is also available for private parties. Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Annelise Hansen: (907) 561-5367

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Jens' Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for a Date (31)
See All
Creative Cuisine (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Business Meals (24)
Romantic (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Great for Lunch (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Local Ingredients (13)
Authentic (12)
Cozy (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Healthy (8)
Casual (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fun (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Organic (4)
People Watching (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Private Room (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
644 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

Waiter was attentive and friendly. Food was outstanding. Perfect place for two couples to celebrate wedding anniversaries.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 14, 2017

As usual, Yen's provided a pleasant atmosphere, super service and outstanding food. The salads are particularly good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 14, 2017

It took an hour and 15 minutes to get our appetizer. After waiting another unreasonable amount of time for the main course, our fish entrees were not prepared as we ordered. Jen's is a great restaurant but our experience on this occasion was far below their normal standards.

The asparagus salad was delicious. One of the best salads I have ever had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 12, 2017

An adult restaurant for fine dining with consistently excellent food and superb service. The seafood is always fresh and everything is always perfectly cooked.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Every moment was delightful, every morsel a gustatory pleasure! We had the good fortune to have the table we had requested in our reservation and a "serveuse" from New Orleans who was cordial, professional, and amazingly knowledgeable about the menu and genuine attention to detail. The owner came to our table so we were able to give her directly our compliments on every aspect of the resto. Jens' Restaurant was simply perfect dining, ambiance, and service. We shall return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Healthy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The service and food is impeccable. How often do you get to know the servers? At Jens it's easy. We always start with the steak calamari and the house salad and rotate between the fresh fish and the pasta. The chef is always willing to substitute the heavy European sauces to a lighter flare. Its just GREAT food and service. You never feel rushed. Great place to just hang out at the bar and have a glass of wine and appetizer after work. If its a sunny summer day we always sit outside when available. My favorite restaurant in Anchorage!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Casual, Authentic, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Excellent food as always and the staff are great! We're always happy to dine at this neighborhood gen!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 24, 2017

As always - excellent place to do business at lunch time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Excellant food...BUT took 1 hour 15 minutes from being seated to getting our salads another 20 to the meal...it was NOT busy waitress ignored us and played w the inoperative sound system..another waiter had to serve seeing our disappointment to keep us from walking...very disappointed after being highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Jens' is always a great experience. Tonight I had the Silver Salmon Gravad Lax appetizer, which was very tasty. For an entree, Karen, my server , suggested the Alaskan Black Cod as it is currently in season. The fish was very moist, tender and served in a very flavorful morrel cream sauce. I enjoyed every bite. The rodgod med flode, an Authentic Danish dessert was full of berries and outstanding. Can't wait until the patio opens!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Seemed understaffed. All of the waiters were hurried throughout the evening. Ours was rushed and rushed us, was abrupt, and brought everything slowly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The service, food and atmosphere was wonderful. The people here are engaging but not intrusive and will be going again soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food is fantastic. If you want Alaska Seafood Jens has it all. Scallops, Salmon,Cod Fish, Rock Fish, Halibut and oysters. None any better.
Beef wellington, Almost Famous Pepper steak and to die for DANISH DESERT.

AND THE FOLKS WORKING THERE ARE GREAT TOO.

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Excellent service and great food choices. I love their Danish selections added to the lunch menu. Vegetarian and vegan options always available. Always my first choice for eating out in Anchorage.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Very nice staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 23, 2017

My husband and I went to Jen's for our anniversary and we loved it! The ahi appetizer was lovely and delicious. We split the steak and scallops and both were fabulous. I had the asparagus salesd and it was delicious. My husband had the seafood bisque and it was the best he'd ever had! Lonnie was our server and he was a delight.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Jens was a great restaurant for a quiet date. The only distraction was the loud interruptions for birthday celebrations. The seafood was cooked perfectly and presented well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Delicious meals with excellent service. A surprising find in Anchorage!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Food was not up to usual. Presentation lacking. Chickenon salad was tough. Tomatoes way to big of slices. Too large of a bowl for soup, hard to eat. I have eaten here many times and will be back, but needs some improvement.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 12, 2017

You can count on having a very good meal at Jens, every time. The meatballs are the best

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Food was fresh and quality was outstanding. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent.. food, wine and service.

Had a great time celebrating my birthday!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Very elegant and romantic setting with tasteful music. Our waiter was very friendly. The food looked and tasted amazing. My husband said his steak was the best he has had in Alaska. And for my husbands birthday they took a nice photo of us and gave it to us in a birthday card. Also surprised him with a brief change in a more upbeat song and a sparkler when they brought our dessert, it made us smile. Would definitely recommend this place for date night or special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 26, 2017

It was great, no one had any complains about the food. Everyone was happy with their dinner

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 23, 2017

This is our go-to dining spot for any occasion or just for the heck of it. The food is superlative, the service is spot on just the right amount of deference mixed with friendliness to not be stuffy. Just makes you feel 'special.'

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We had a date night here at Jen's to celebrate our anniversary. The waiter was extremely knowledgeable about the menu as well as the beer and wine choices. He also made excellent recommendations! We were most impressed that he gave us a card w our picture in it for our anniversary.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Hey, that was a wonderful experience. The table was as I wanted for our 20 th anniversary! Nicely decorated and at the window. Service excellent. Food I already know very well, thats why I went there too. Wine selection outstanding. And the deserts, voilà! Fantastic. And then here they go, music starts louder, waiter rushes with the sparklers and then the ..... smile! and a picture is taken.
A wonderful experience.
Nice people.
Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Once again an enjoyable lunch. The service and food was great. My wife's halibut was prepared properly and tasted great. I had the ahi tuna which I had during my last visit. It too was nicely done.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great food, ambience. Charming artistic decor. Highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 9, 2017

First time to Jens, great atmosphere, good food and great service. Good for a business Lunch or fancy date night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Jens remains one of my favorite restaurants in Anchorage. The meatballs are fabulous.
The service is always very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent as always. Love it for both lunch (especially the Danish dishes) and dinner. Great food!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 4, 2017

As always completely impressed and happy with quality of service and fantastic food. From opening with Calamari to closing with chocolate mousse a wonderful meal for my wife and me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Jens' is one of our favorites - the food, the wine and the service are all of the best in Anchorage.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Love this restaurant, never have had a bad experience here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Again Jen's amazes me, under new ownership this restaurant is better every time we go to it. I had the pan-seared scallops with peach Bellini, done to perfection. Often scallops are overdone and chewy or under cooked, blech, these were neither, perfect. We also had the charcuterie platter, the smoke duck and cheese selection was very nice, this is one of our favorites, we get it every time. Great selection of non-alcoholic beverages for the non-drinkers in our group. My only suggestion would be more variety in the salad menu. My husband had the greek salad and I had the asparagus, and they tasted the same. Well done again Jens.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Jen's is typically quite good and the service is generally very high quality. Saturday rushed; the waiter seemed put off by our table, perhaps we didn't spend enough money. Two of us were drinking and two were not, that may have put him off. He seemed put out that we were even there. I have had the same waiter at other places in Anchorage where his mood seems to be better so perhaps Jen's doesn't agree with him these days.

Food was terrific, I do wish the lighting wasn't as a brash.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food and service every time. My wife and I like to stop in with friends for a nice dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was very well prepared. A little pricey but worth it. Our server was AWESOME and very knowledgeable of the menu. I took my wife there for Valentines Day and we both really enjoyed our experience. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Enjoyable evening. Filet Wellington was a bit over done.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.