Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Jens' Restaurant

For over 20 years Jens’ has served the best fresh Alaskan Seafood. The dinner menu also features prime steaks, lamb, veal, deer and fresh pasta along with a wide selection of delicious appetizers and salads. The menu changes often to take full advantage of the best fresh ingredients. For lunch Danish specialties joins the fresh seafood, American standards, pastas and salads. A selection of home made desserts round out the dining experience. The cozy wine bar offers the full menu and over 40 wines by the glass.

701 West 36th Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
Arctic Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 561-5367

Website:
http://www.jensrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
The restaurant is located in the Olympic Center with lots of free parking.

Public Transit:
There are bus stops on 36th Avenue and on Arctic Blvd. Very close to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jens Hansen, Chef de Cusine Nancy Alip

Private Party Facilities:
A small private dining room seats up to 20 guests. The whole restaurant is also available for private parties. Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Annelise Hansen: (907) 561-5367

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Jens' Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Special Occasion (32)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
See All
Romantic (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Business Meals (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Great for Lunch (16)
Bar Seating (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Healthy (11)
Authentic (9)
Cozy (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Fun (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Casual (4)
Seasonal (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
697 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent! As always. Pleasant. Quiet. Lovely table appointments.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

Great salads and king salmon. Wonderful staff and atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 15, 2017

We have dined here quite a few times, both lunch and dinner. The food is creative and delicious, always. The atmosphere is understated and elegant, with the waitstaff being pleasantly unobtrusive and super competent. This restaurant is one of the best in Anchorage, don't miss it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

The food is quite good, continental/northern European and the staff and patrons are friendly. The staff know their menu and their long time loyalty suggest this is a worthy fixture on the dining scene. On my second visit, I only had one beef, at 10 PM on a Friday evening they turned up the music right over our table to an intolerable level in an unsubtle hint they wanted us to leave. Not in step with an otherwise excellent experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Pepper steak is one of the best steaks I’ve ever had. Great place for special occasions such as birthdays, anniversaries, and dates. The restaurant has an upscale environment with friendly and accommodating waiters. Great restaurant overall!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We went here for our last dinner before leaving Alaska. It was a nice restaurant, had a nice upscale feel to it, even though it was in a strip mall. But, that's ok, the food was good. I had a halibut, and it was buttery and flaky. My husband had the rockfish, which was a bit disappointing because it was fried but otherwise no other complaints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Jens' Restaurant never fails for an upscale lunch meal. The Scandinavian specialties offer some unique and tasty choices. Likewise, Jens' has a solid record of great food in its other menu items. The service at our lunch was impeccable. I'll be back for another meal in the future!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Once again. The service, staff, food and atmosphere....EXCELLENT.!!
I've been going to Yens for years, and they have ALLWYAS impressed my guest(s) and I.
Barry Anderson

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. Fabulous food and you’re never feel rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Great local restaurant. Unique food and good wait staff. I really love the Dutch meatballs with purple cabbage. Salmon is excellent too. Salads are great.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Perfect portions, polite, attentive service and always delicious food. Neighborhood staple.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Tapas, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Enjoyable place to spend part of our fourth wedding anniversary.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Wow, Wow, truly amazing food, service and atmosphere. What a gem for Anchorage. The food was truly awesome, the combination of textures, colors, flavors were a masterpiece. The use of local food was impressive. The wine list was truly amazing. The staff were very knowledgeable providing excellent services for our meal. Great handicap accessibility
Thanks so much for a truly special meal and evening
Anne B from Fairbanks Alaska

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Amazing food, service, atmosphere. It felt very cozy & relaxed. My favorite new place.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Excellent food. Really intriguing and healthy choices- multiple visits necessary to try all the tempting dishes. Service was remarkably good- unusually so for Alaska in this price range. Seating is rather open, but Jen's still manages a quiet and relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Always good. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable. We have been going for years and are never disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Food was good just a little over priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Food and staff....both outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Very good food and excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Nice place. Good presentation of entrees. Poor desserts...no flavor or quality.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Wonderful as usual. Service great and made us a special order appetizer. Simply fabulous.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Our dinner party ordered 2 appetizers, 1 salad and 4 entrees. Everything was prepared perfectly in the old French style with lots of creamy sauces. Tasty, well presented and extremely filling--3 take home boxes. We were late for our reservation due to construction traffic delays, but we were greeted and served graciously. It will be easy to go back to Jen's for a special night out.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Wonderful evening and love the staff. They are all so courteous and professional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We had a great evening for a birthday celebration. The food was great, the service splendid, and a pleasant atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The service was good, More attention should be placed on the needs of some of us. I in particular am type II diabetic and need lots of water, this was a bit short in supply. Everything else was wonderful.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

The food never disappoints. The fillet and the scallops were both cooked perfectly. Full flavors but nothing overpowers the main item.

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 9, 2017

late reservation on a Tuesday night but still enough going on to not feel rushed. Our dinners were superb...the house salad with berries and strawberry vinaigrette, tuna, Kodiak scallops, Alaska halibut (not crazy about halibut but this prep with the burre blanc sauce was beautiful and the fish was perfect--best prepared halibut i've had). Great wine list, we had a french pinot noir. And we spotted the last piece of pie as we were being seated and inquired...so we reserved it and so glad we did...blueberry rhubarb with a crust that only comes in 2nd to my mom's!
Can't wait to return.
Strip mall setting is not a deterrent...several sidewalk tables and we sat in window seat in bar area...loved the ambience.
ONly wish i could remember server's name, all was more than expected....a little something extra. A lagniappe in Anchorage.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

While the food was excellent the service was not. We experienced excessive wait time before the meal was served. The wait to have the meal dishes removed and a dessert menu brought was so long that we opted to leave at that point. Very disappointing, particularly for this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 6, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Anchorage!! I've never been disappointed and the food has ALWAYS been delicious!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

A good kitchen let down by poor service. A nice place for Anchorage residents to celebrate birthdays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 3, 2017

my wife and I had lunch with 3 older people we wanted to honor. The dish we chose, dannish oriented with red cabbage and meat ball, was accompanied by boilled potatoes, and fresh vegatables, for a very raisonable price (16 $). The waitress understood that our 3 old guests could not eat full desert and offered to share one chocolate and cream desert into 3 plates.
Superb.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Great food with convenient location. Great kitchen & wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Jen's is an Anchorage gem. Wonderful menu, staff. Great place to introduce granddaughters to finer dining.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

I have been here on several occasions for lunch. This time, a bit of a miss for me. Waitress was okay, not great. duck Confit crepe was just okay, not what I envisioned. Colleague ordered the meatballs, and that was all she ate on the plate. Chicken crepe by another colleague got good reviews as well. I don't remember being offered dessert....or if that was a total miss. Maybe Monday is an off day for them?

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great food, fantastic service, Jens always delivers!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Fabulous as always! This is the best chef-owned restaurant in Anchorage.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Had Dinner at Jen's for an Anniversary. Everything was excellent, from the food and drinks to the service and ambiance. Definitely coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Once again Jens was amazing! We had a small group, just 4 of us. My dad is hard of hearing when surrounded with background noise, and he enjoyed the conversation because the tables are widely spaced, with light music, not too crowded but we were there on a week night. We started with some fresh oysters and they were the size of my fist, fresh, and briny. We always have the charcutterie plate because we like the smoked duck. Everyone at our table had something different, rib eye, rockfish, lamb and pepper steak. Often when getting a rare steak it is overcooked, these were perfect. Great service. We topped the meal with the flourless chocolate cake and some coffee. Will be going back soon for my in-laws 50th wedding anniversary.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Our first visit and we were celebrating our 49th wedding anniversary. It was a lovely surprise and just perfect. We look forward to going in the future.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Jens continues to be one of the nest restaurents in anchorage.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.