Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Jens' Restaurant

For over 20 years Jens’ has served the best fresh Alaskan Seafood. The dinner menu also features prime steaks, lamb, veal, deer and fresh pasta along with a wide selection of delicious appetizers and salads. The menu changes often to take full advantage of the best fresh ingredients. For lunch Danish specialties joins the fresh seafood, American standards, pastas and salads. A selection of home made desserts round out the dining experience. The cozy wine bar offers the full menu and over 40 wines by the glass.

701 West 36th Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
Arctic Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 561-5367

Website:
http://www.jensrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
The restaurant is located in the Olympic Center with lots of free parking.

Public Transit:
There are bus stops on 36th Avenue and on Arctic Blvd. Very close to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jens Hansen, Chef de Cusine Nancy Alip

Private Party Facilities:
A small private dining room seats up to 20 guests. The whole restaurant is also available for private parties. Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Annelise Hansen: (907) 561-5367

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Jens' Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Good for a Date (31)
See All
Good for Birthdays (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Romantic (22)
Business Meals (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Authentic (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Cozy (7)
Fun (6)
Casual (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
People Watching (2)
Organic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
675 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 4 days ago

Our dinner party ordered 2 appetizers, 1 salad and 4 entrees. Everything was prepared perfectly in the old French style with lots of creamy sauces. Tasty, well presented and extremely filling--3 take home boxes. We were late for our reservation due to construction traffic delays, but we were greeted and served graciously. It will be easy to go back to Jen's for a special night out.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful evening and love the staff. They are all so courteous and professional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We had a great evening for a birthday celebration. The food was great, the service splendid, and a pleasant atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The service was good, More attention should be placed on the needs of some of us. I in particular am type II diabetic and need lots of water, this was a bit short in supply. Everything else was wonderful.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

The food never disappoints. The fillet and the scallops were both cooked perfectly. Full flavors but nothing overpowers the main item.

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 9, 2017

late reservation on a Tuesday night but still enough going on to not feel rushed. Our dinners were superb...the house salad with berries and strawberry vinaigrette, tuna, Kodiak scallops, Alaska halibut (not crazy about halibut but this prep with the burre blanc sauce was beautiful and the fish was perfect--best prepared halibut i've had). Great wine list, we had a french pinot noir. And we spotted the last piece of pie as we were being seated and inquired...so we reserved it and so glad we did...blueberry rhubarb with a crust that only comes in 2nd to my mom's!
Can't wait to return.
Strip mall setting is not a deterrent...several sidewalk tables and we sat in window seat in bar area...loved the ambience.
ONly wish i could remember server's name, all was more than expected....a little something extra. A lagniappe in Anchorage.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

While the food was excellent the service was not. We experienced excessive wait time before the meal was served. The wait to have the meal dishes removed and a dessert menu brought was so long that we opted to leave at that point. Very disappointing, particularly for this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 6, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Anchorage!! I've never been disappointed and the food has ALWAYS been delicious!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

A good kitchen let down by poor service. A nice place for Anchorage residents to celebrate birthdays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 3, 2017

my wife and I had lunch with 3 older people we wanted to honor. The dish we chose, dannish oriented with red cabbage and meat ball, was accompanied by boilled potatoes, and fresh vegatables, for a very raisonable price (16 $). The waitress understood that our 3 old guests could not eat full desert and offered to share one chocolate and cream desert into 3 plates.
Superb.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Great food with convenient location. Great kitchen & wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Jen's is an Anchorage gem. Wonderful menu, staff. Great place to introduce granddaughters to finer dining.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

I have been here on several occasions for lunch. This time, a bit of a miss for me. Waitress was okay, not great. duck Confit crepe was just okay, not what I envisioned. Colleague ordered the meatballs, and that was all she ate on the plate. Chicken crepe by another colleague got good reviews as well. I don't remember being offered dessert....or if that was a total miss. Maybe Monday is an off day for them?

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great food, fantastic service, Jens always delivers!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Fabulous as always! This is the best chef-owned restaurant in Anchorage.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Had Dinner at Jen's for an Anniversary. Everything was excellent, from the food and drinks to the service and ambiance. Definitely coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Once again Jens was amazing! We had a small group, just 4 of us. My dad is hard of hearing when surrounded with background noise, and he enjoyed the conversation because the tables are widely spaced, with light music, not too crowded but we were there on a week night. We started with some fresh oysters and they were the size of my fist, fresh, and briny. We always have the charcutterie plate because we like the smoked duck. Everyone at our table had something different, rib eye, rockfish, lamb and pepper steak. Often when getting a rare steak it is overcooked, these were perfect. Great service. We topped the meal with the flourless chocolate cake and some coffee. Will be going back soon for my in-laws 50th wedding anniversary.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Our first visit and we were celebrating our 49th wedding anniversary. It was a lovely surprise and just perfect. We look forward to going in the future.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Jens continues to be one of the nest restaurents in anchorage.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Jens is probably number one on my list of all time favorite Anchorage restaurants. The food is consistently top notch, the service is always extremely good. - The wait-staff is quite knowledgeable and helpful when ordering. Everything on the menu is so wonderful

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We've been here quite a few times and always enjoyed it. Great service, creative menu and excellent food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 14, 2017

First visit bit won't be the last. Yes it's in a weird spot and the decor is dated, but the food is amazing. Do not miss the calamari, best I've ever had. The wine selection was acceptable for the size of the place and reasonably priced. The Caesar salad tasted as it should (maybe a little too much cheese), and the bread and rosemary infused oil was good. The steak I had was amazing, a little heavy on the sauce and gravy but nothing overpowered each other and the steak is one of the top 3 I've had in the state. Dessert was port from their generous dessert wine offering, the 30 year tawny was just the ticket. I highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We celebrated my sister's birthday at Jen's. All of us enjoyed our meals...the Duck Curry Soup was outstanding! And the desserts were worthy of a special birthday. Highly recommend for a special occasion!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

decent place...awkward, strip mall location but ambiance inside is good. Food was very good in terms of the freshness of the ingredients but perhaps a bit on the creamy / heavy side. Also one of us got soup to start and it was flavorful but lukewarmlike it had been sitting there for some time...service was meh, at best. One smiling face trying to converse and every one else seemed to be taking the place too seriously. We didn't wait for dessert, seemed like a better idea to drive to the Wild Scoops place downtown where I lucked out on a fantastic "spruce tip" ice cream flavor...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Incredible spot, service, food and wine selection were all amazing.
Seafood is their specialty as well as vegetarian options.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We had the King Salmon and Halibut, cooked to perfection as always. Great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Everything was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I had the halibut and the sauce was very salty, but the halibut was tasty and cooked just right.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Waiter was attentive and friendly. Food was outstanding. Perfect place for two couples to celebrate wedding anniversaries.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Another fantastic meal at Jen's! I had scallops with polenta and my husband- ahi tuna with rice. Both dishes were delectable and presentation was beautiful. We ordered tomatoe soup for our daughter, but she didn't seem to like it - and neither did we, after trying it. She did like my scallops, though! I had apple bread pudding for dessert - it was just ok. Wish I ordered the flourless chocolate cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We celebrated our 20th Wedding Anniversary there. We had a lovely evening and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 14, 2017

As usual, Yen's provided a pleasant atmosphere, super service and outstanding food. The salads are particularly good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 13, 2017

It took an hour and 15 minutes to get our appetizer. After waiting another unreasonable amount of time for the main course, our fish entrees were not prepared as we ordered. Jen's is a great restaurant but our experience on this occasion was far below their normal standards.

The asparagus salad was delicious. One of the best salads I have ever had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 12, 2017

An adult restaurant for fine dining with consistently excellent food and superb service. The seafood is always fresh and everything is always perfectly cooked.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I had friends visiting from Rhode Island and when I have visitors from out of state I like to take them to the best restaurants in Town. They thought their meals were exquisite and I'm sure that if they lived here they would be back many times just like I have. Jens' restaurant has never disappointed me in all the years that I have gone there. I have brought many friends to discover thier great cruisine. Jens' is my absolute favorite restaurant in Anchorage and so far Alaska and I have been to many!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Every moment was delightful, every morsel a gustatory pleasure! We had the good fortune to have the table we had requested in our reservation and a "serveuse" from New Orleans who was cordial, professional, and amazingly knowledgeable about the menu and genuine attention to detail. The owner came to our table so we were able to give her directly our compliments on every aspect of the resto. Jens' Restaurant was simply perfect dining, ambiance, and service. We shall return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Healthy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The service and food is impeccable. How often do you get to know the servers? At Jens it's easy. We always start with the steak calamari and the house salad and rotate between the fresh fish and the pasta. The chef is always willing to substitute the heavy European sauces to a lighter flare. Its just GREAT food and service. You never feel rushed. Great place to just hang out at the bar and have a glass of wine and appetizer after work. If its a sunny summer day we always sit outside when available. My favorite restaurant in Anchorage!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Casual, Authentic, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Excellent food as always and the staff are great! We're always happy to dine at this neighborhood gen!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 24, 2017

As always - excellent place to do business at lunch time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Excellant food...BUT took 1 hour 15 minutes from being seated to getting our salads another 20 to the meal...it was NOT busy waitress ignored us and played w the inoperative sound system..another waiter had to serve seeing our disappointment to keep us from walking...very disappointed after being highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.