About Jens' Restaurant

701 West 36th Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99503
View Larger Map

For over 20 years Jens’ has served the best fresh Alaskan Seafood. The dinner menu also features prime steaks, lamb, veal, deer and fresh pasta along with a wide selection of delicious appetizers and salads. The menu changes often to take full advantage of the best fresh ingredients. For lunch Danish specialties joins the fresh seafood, American standards, pastas and salads. A selection of home made desserts round out the dining experience. The cozy wine bar offers the full menu and over 40 wines by the glass.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
Arctic Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 561-5367

Website:
http://www.jensrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
The restaurant is located in the Olympic Center with lots of free parking.

Public Transit:
There are bus stops on 36th Avenue and on Arctic Blvd. Very close to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jens Hansen, Chef de Cusine Nancy Alip

Private Party Facilities:
A small private dining room seats up to 20 guests. The whole restaurant is also available for private parties. Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Annelise Hansen: 9075615367

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Jens' Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
10 More
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

Special Occasion (40)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
See All
Romantic (28)
Great for Lunch (26)
Notable Wine List (23)
Good for Groups (11)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
521 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service is always excellent and the ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 5 days ago

The service is always excellent and the quality of food the best of Anchorage. It has been our favorite restaurant for 20 years and will continue to be so.

The halibut is an absolute favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing! We had the scallops and the por ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing! We had the scallops and the pork loin. The polenta accompany was good . We had the oysters as an appetizer and they were fresh and briny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time and the food was gre ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had a great time and the food was great. The only drawback was the service was slow because it seemed there was only one serve...other than that everything was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

As always the food delicious our waiter ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

As always the food delicious our waiter Paul is always the best. Great for business lunches.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were looking for somewhere new to cel ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We were looking for somewhere new to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Friends had recommended Jens. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. We both came away full and, in fact, we each took home a doggie bag and were able to enjoy it again for lunch the next day. We will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Another enjoyable experience and one res ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Another enjoyable experience and one restaurant we like to frequent in anchorage. The Napoleon sashimi is really good.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Expensive but in li ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was excellent. Expensive but in line with other major cities .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great, but the service was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was great, but the service was very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Lonnie was great and made our guests 70t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Lonnie was great and made our guests 70th birthday extra special. Excellent food quality and facility.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had to ask for water a few times and mus ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Had to ask for water a few times and music was TOO loud. At one point I had to cover my ears. You would have thought we were at a night club.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Best meal we had during our 10 day stay ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Best meal we had during our 10 day stay in the Anchorage area - excellent food, service and wine selections!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Jens' was great from start to finish. Th ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Jens' was great from start to finish. The food was amazing, the staff are fabulous, and the atmosphere is a perfect fit. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Clean, white tablecloths, beautiful food ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Clean, white tablecloths, beautiful food presentation. Especially like the colorful, perfectly steamed vegetables on each fish (broccoli, carrots, cauliflower)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jen's was outstanding. The food and serv ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Jen's was outstanding. The food and service was superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once a year we have friends visit us fro ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Once a year we have friends visit us from Europe. They always request dinner at Jens and we thoroughly enjoy our evening there with them. They love the wine selection and the seafood, especially the oysters and scallops. Excellent place for a special evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent service. My salmon was perfect ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent service. My salmon was perfectly cooked and simply delicious. My partner ordered rockfish, was well seasoned and very good. No complaints about the food or the service.

Strip mall location is not the most inviting from the outside. Inside looks better but still just a strip mall build out. Tables are well set with linen, food is very nicely presented.

Wine list was fairly good, if overpriced. But hey, restaurants have to make money to stay in business, right?

Best food and service in Anchorage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

My younger brother came into town so we ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

My younger brother came into town so we wanted some place to eat that was nice but low key. We knew about Campbello's and tried to make reservations there but they were hosting a wine tasting party that was using the entire restaurant so I asked the gentleman who answered the phone if he could recommend another place just like his place. He told me that he not only worked there but at Jen's as well and that both were good. We'll I have to disagree with his opinion. I believe they are bot super not just good. We ate outside and had an awesome time. The food was delicious and cooked just right and out waitress was such a sweetheart. We had her laughing and she was able to comeback and get us laughing as well. It was a beautiful time had by all. We will for sure return many times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. Service outstanding. ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was excellent. Service outstanding. Friendly - atmosphere lovely

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places, both for lun ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of our favorite places, both for lunch and/ or dinner .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Amazing as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Literally the best calamari I've ever ha ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Literally the best calamari I've ever had....EVER.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is generally good, but they hav ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food is generally good, but they have a problem renewing the menu. It rarely varies at all from year to year, and makes it too predictable to go often.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

First time here for lunch and I will def ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

First time here for lunch and I will definitely be back! Great food and service. Ingredients looked and tasted extremely fresh. What a find!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is an oasis in a strip ma ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The restaurant is an oasis in a strip mall. Inviting, elegant atmosphere. Good variety of dishes on the menu. Food quality above average. Bread is weak. Prefer cold hard butter vs. soft.

Presentation on the plate could be better.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been going to Jens' for years and t ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I've been going to Jens' for years and the food has always been very good. This was the first time that I've been disappointed. I know Jens' is under new ownership, so that doesn't give me hope that things will get better. The food was very bland and it tastes like they are starting to cut cost. For example, I ordered the veal meatballs and it had more filler than meat. I won't go back, its too expensive for poor quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

We can't say enough in favor of this fin ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We can't say enough in favor of this fine restaurant. It is done with ambience, super service, the best food preparation and presentation providing high quality dinning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jen's is always a joy to dine. It's food ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Jen's is always a joy to dine. It's food is creative, well prepared while reflecting Alaska food preference. The staff are warm professionals. I feel a sense of reprieve from daily hustle. It reflects on the faces of friends I see at tables nearby. Make reservations as it is popular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

delicious fresh halibut. also loved the ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

delicious fresh halibut. also loved the tuna tower appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another Great Date Night

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The staff was great tonight and took great care of me and my husband. Since I have food allergies going out to dinner can be difficult......the staff here always takes good care of me and the food is full of flavor!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food and wonderful staff! I high ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Amazing food and wonderful staff! I highly recommend this hidden gem, try the pepper steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Birthday and Collage graduation anniversary. The waiter brought cards with there pictures they took, desserts and sparkles to celebrate. Very nice touch of class to make a memorable experience. I think Jens or Anneliese started this wonderful tradition.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fish dinner

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Enjoyable dinner although I thought the portion size of the cod was a bit small

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Another enjoyable meal! The sashimi Nap ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Another enjoyable meal! The sashimi Napoleon was an interesting and tasty delight. Halibut and ahi tuna were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 21st wedding anniversary. The food was amazing and the service was exemplary

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazing

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Always amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The dessert I can't pronounce was amazin ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The dessert I can't pronounce was amazing and they timed the courses perfectly. Oh, the calamari was awesome, I can't describe how delicious it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently great

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I've been to Jens many times over many years. It was purchased by a long-time employee this winter and this was my first trip under the new ownership. It was as a wonderful as ever. Great food, service, and environment for a fantastic evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

New menu

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

This is hard to write. I enjoyed my dinner Rey much. But I was sad when I opened the menu and my old Jen's favorites were gone. I know there is a new owner, but I just thought nothing would change. The food was very good and I did enjoy it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fantastic chef-owned restaurant!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Tasting menu was terrific...delightful food and wine pairings! The service is always impeccable. Jens is the best in Anchorage!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gem of a restaurant

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Certainly a place to go if you appreciate French and European cooking style food. Portions are enough that you could get a full meal from an appetizer and salad or soup. Or just get an entree as you get plenty of flavorful food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.