Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Jens' Restaurant

For over 20 years Jens’ has served the best fresh Alaskan Seafood. The dinner menu also features prime steaks, lamb, veal, deer and fresh pasta along with a wide selection of delicious appetizers and salads. The menu changes often to take full advantage of the best fresh ingredients. For lunch Danish specialties joins the fresh seafood, American standards, pastas and salads. A selection of home made desserts round out the dining experience. The cozy wine bar offers the full menu and over 40 wines by the glass.

701 West 36th Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
Arctic Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 561-5367

Website:
http://www.jensrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
The restaurant is located in the Olympic Center with lots of free parking.

Public Transit:
There are bus stops on 36th Avenue and on Arctic Blvd. Very close to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jens Hansen, Chef de Cusine Nancy Alip

Private Party Facilities:
A small private dining room seats up to 20 guests. The whole restaurant is also available for private parties. Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Annelise Hansen: (907) 561-5367

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Jens' Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (32)
Special Occasion (32)
Good for a Date (31)
See All
Good for Birthdays (24)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Notable Wine List (19)
Romantic (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Business Meals (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Bar Seating (12)
Authentic (11)
Local Ingredients (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Cozy (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Fun (5)
Healthy (5)
Casual (5)
Organic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
People Watching (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Historic (1)
Family Style (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
659 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 17 hours ago

Had Dinner at Jen's for an Anniversary. Everything was excellent, from the food and drinks to the service and ambiance. Definitely coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 4 days ago

Our first visit and we were celebrating our 49th wedding anniversary. It was a lovely surprise and just perfect. We look forward to going in the future.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 5 days ago

Jens continues to be one of the nest restaurents in anchorage.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 6 days ago

Jens is probably number one on my list of all time favorite Anchorage restaurants. The food is consistently top notch, the service is always extremely good. - The wait-staff is quite knowledgeable and helpful when ordering. Everything on the menu is so wonderful

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We've been here quite a few times and always enjoyed it. Great service, creative menu and excellent food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 14, 2017

First visit bit won't be the last. Yes it's in a weird spot and the decor is dated, but the food is amazing. Do not miss the calamari, best I've ever had. The wine selection was acceptable for the size of the place and reasonably priced. The Caesar salad tasted as it should (maybe a little too much cheese), and the bread and rosemary infused oil was good. The steak I had was amazing, a little heavy on the sauce and gravy but nothing overpowered each other and the steak is one of the top 3 I've had in the state. Dessert was port from their generous dessert wine offering, the 30 year tawny was just the ticket. I highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We celebrated my sister's birthday at Jen's. All of us enjoyed our meals...the Duck Curry Soup was outstanding! And the desserts were worthy of a special birthday. Highly recommend for a special occasion!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

decent place...awkward, strip mall location but ambiance inside is good. Food was very good in terms of the freshness of the ingredients but perhaps a bit on the creamy / heavy side. Also one of us got soup to start and it was flavorful but lukewarmlike it had been sitting there for some time...service was meh, at best. One smiling face trying to converse and every one else seemed to be taking the place too seriously. We didn't wait for dessert, seemed like a better idea to drive to the Wild Scoops place downtown where I lucked out on a fantastic "spruce tip" ice cream flavor...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Incredible spot, service, food and wine selection were all amazing.
Seafood is their specialty as well as vegetarian options.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We had the King Salmon and Halibut, cooked to perfection as always. Great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Everything was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I had the halibut and the sauce was very salty, but the halibut was tasty and cooked just right.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Waiter was attentive and friendly. Food was outstanding. Perfect place for two couples to celebrate wedding anniversaries.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Another fantastic meal at Jen's! I had scallops with polenta and my husband- ahi tuna with rice. Both dishes were delectable and presentation was beautiful. We ordered tomatoe soup for our daughter, but she didn't seem to like it - and neither did we, after trying it. She did like my scallops, though! I had apple bread pudding for dessert - it was just ok. Wish I ordered the flourless chocolate cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We celebrated our 20th Wedding Anniversary there. We had a lovely evening and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 14, 2017

As usual, Yen's provided a pleasant atmosphere, super service and outstanding food. The salads are particularly good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 13, 2017

It took an hour and 15 minutes to get our appetizer. After waiting another unreasonable amount of time for the main course, our fish entrees were not prepared as we ordered. Jen's is a great restaurant but our experience on this occasion was far below their normal standards.

The asparagus salad was delicious. One of the best salads I have ever had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 12, 2017

An adult restaurant for fine dining with consistently excellent food and superb service. The seafood is always fresh and everything is always perfectly cooked.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I had friends visiting from Rhode Island and when I have visitors from out of state I like to take them to the best restaurants in Town. They thought their meals were exquisite and I'm sure that if they lived here they would be back many times just like I have. Jens' restaurant has never disappointed me in all the years that I have gone there. I have brought many friends to discover thier great cruisine. Jens' is my absolute favorite restaurant in Anchorage and so far Alaska and I have been to many!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Every moment was delightful, every morsel a gustatory pleasure! We had the good fortune to have the table we had requested in our reservation and a "serveuse" from New Orleans who was cordial, professional, and amazingly knowledgeable about the menu and genuine attention to detail. The owner came to our table so we were able to give her directly our compliments on every aspect of the resto. Jens' Restaurant was simply perfect dining, ambiance, and service. We shall return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Healthy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The service and food is impeccable. How often do you get to know the servers? At Jens it's easy. We always start with the steak calamari and the house salad and rotate between the fresh fish and the pasta. The chef is always willing to substitute the heavy European sauces to a lighter flare. Its just GREAT food and service. You never feel rushed. Great place to just hang out at the bar and have a glass of wine and appetizer after work. If its a sunny summer day we always sit outside when available. My favorite restaurant in Anchorage!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Casual, Authentic, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Excellent food as always and the staff are great! We're always happy to dine at this neighborhood gen!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 24, 2017

As always - excellent place to do business at lunch time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Excellant food...BUT took 1 hour 15 minutes from being seated to getting our salads another 20 to the meal...it was NOT busy waitress ignored us and played w the inoperative sound system..another waiter had to serve seeing our disappointment to keep us from walking...very disappointed after being highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Jens' is always a great experience. Tonight I had the Silver Salmon Gravad Lax appetizer, which was very tasty. For an entree, Karen, my server , suggested the Alaskan Black Cod as it is currently in season. The fish was very moist, tender and served in a very flavorful morrel cream sauce. I enjoyed every bite. The rodgod med flode, an Authentic Danish dessert was full of berries and outstanding. Can't wait until the patio opens!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Seemed understaffed. All of the waiters were hurried throughout the evening. Ours was rushed and rushed us, was abrupt, and brought everything slowly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The service, food and atmosphere was wonderful. The people here are engaging but not intrusive and will be going again soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food is fantastic. If you want Alaska Seafood Jens has it all. Scallops, Salmon,Cod Fish, Rock Fish, Halibut and oysters. None any better.
Beef wellington, Almost Famous Pepper steak and to die for DANISH DESERT.

AND THE FOLKS WORKING THERE ARE GREAT TOO.

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Excellent service and great food choices. I love their Danish selections added to the lunch menu. Vegetarian and vegan options always available. Always my first choice for eating out in Anchorage.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Very nice staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My husband and I went to Jen's for our anniversary and we loved it! The ahi appetizer was lovely and delicious. We split the steak and scallops and both were fabulous. I had the asparagus salesd and it was delicious. My husband had the seafood bisque and it was the best he'd ever had! Lonnie was our server and he was a delight.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Jens was a great restaurant for a quiet date. The only distraction was the loud interruptions for birthday celebrations. The seafood was cooked perfectly and presented well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Delicious meals with excellent service. A surprising find in Anchorage!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Food was not up to usual. Presentation lacking. Chickenon salad was tough. Tomatoes way to big of slices. Too large of a bowl for soup, hard to eat. I have eaten here many times and will be back, but needs some improvement.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 12, 2017

You can count on having a very good meal at Jens, every time. The meatballs are the best

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Food was fresh and quality was outstanding. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent.. food, wine and service.

Had a great time celebrating my birthday!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Very elegant and romantic setting with tasteful music. Our waiter was very friendly. The food looked and tasted amazing. My husband said his steak was the best he has had in Alaska. And for my husbands birthday they took a nice photo of us and gave it to us in a birthday card. Also surprised him with a brief change in a more upbeat song and a sparkler when they brought our dessert, it made us smile. Would definitely recommend this place for date night or special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 25, 2017

It was great, no one had any complains about the food. Everyone was happy with their dinner

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 22, 2017

This is our go-to dining spot for any occasion or just for the heck of it. The food is superlative, the service is spot on just the right amount of deference mixed with friendliness to not be stuffy. Just makes you feel 'special.'

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.