About Jens' Restaurant

701 West 36th Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99503
View Larger Map

For over 20 years Jens’ has served the best fresh Alaskan Seafood. The dinner menu also features prime steaks, lamb, veal, deer and fresh pasta along with a wide selection of delicious appetizers and salads. The menu changes often to take full advantage of the best fresh ingredients. For lunch Danish specialties joins the fresh seafood, American standards, pastas and salads. A selection of home made desserts round out the dining experience. The cozy wine bar offers the full menu and over 40 wines by the glass.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
Arctic Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 561-5367

Website:
http://www.jensrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
The restaurant is located in the Olympic Center with lots of free parking.

Public Transit:
There are bus stops on 36th Avenue and on Arctic Blvd. Very close to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jens Hansen, Chef de Cusine Nancy Alip

Private Party Facilities:
A small private dining room seats up to 20 guests. The whole restaurant is also available for private parties. Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Annelise Hansen: 9075615367

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Jens' Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
13 More
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

special occasion (41)
fit for foodies (38)
romantic (27)
See All
great for lunch (24)
neighborhood gem (23)
notable wine list (23)
good for groups (9)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
509 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Clean, white tablecloths, beautiful food ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 2 days ago

Clean, white tablecloths, beautiful food presentation. Especially like the colorful, perfectly steamed vegetables on each fish (broccoli, carrots, cauliflower)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jen's was outstanding. The food and serv ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

Jen's was outstanding. The food and service was superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once a year we have friends visit us fro ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 3 days ago

Once a year we have friends visit us from Europe. They always request dinner at Jens and we thoroughly enjoy our evening there with them. They love the wine selection and the seafood, especially the oysters and scallops. Excellent place for a special evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent service. My salmon was perfect ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent service. My salmon was perfectly cooked and simply delicious. My partner ordered rockfish, was well seasoned and very good. No complaints about the food or the service.

Strip mall location is not the most inviting from the outside. Inside looks better but still just a strip mall build out. Tables are well set with linen, food is very nicely presented.

Wine list was fairly good, if overpriced. But hey, restaurants have to make money to stay in business, right?

Best food and service in Anchorage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

My younger brother came into town so we ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

My younger brother came into town so we wanted some place to eat that was nice but low key. We knew about Campbello's and tried to make reservations there but they were hosting a wine tasting party that was using the entire restaurant so I asked the gentleman who answered the phone if he could recommend another place just like his place. He told me that he not only worked there but at Jen's as well and that both were good. We'll I have to disagree with his opinion. I believe they are bot super not just good. We ate outside and had an awesome time. The food was delicious and cooked just right and out waitress was such a sweetheart. We had her laughing and she was able to comeback and get us laughing as well. It was a beautiful time had by all. We will for sure return many times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. Service outstanding. ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was excellent. Service outstanding. Friendly - atmosphere lovely

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places, both for lun ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of our favorite places, both for lunch and/ or dinner .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Amazing as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Literally the best calamari I've ever ha ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Literally the best calamari I've ever had....EVER.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is generally good, but they hav ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food is generally good, but they have a problem renewing the menu. It rarely varies at all from year to year, and makes it too predictable to go often.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

First time here for lunch and I will def ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

First time here for lunch and I will definitely be back! Great food and service. Ingredients looked and tasted extremely fresh. What a find!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is an oasis in a strip ma ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The restaurant is an oasis in a strip mall. Inviting, elegant atmosphere. Good variety of dishes on the menu. Food quality above average. Bread is weak. Prefer cold hard butter vs. soft.

Presentation on the plate could be better.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been going to Jens' for years and t ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I've been going to Jens' for years and the food has always been very good. This was the first time that I've been disappointed. I know Jens' is under new ownership, so that doesn't give me hope that things will get better. The food was very bland and it tastes like they are starting to cut cost. For example, I ordered the veal meatballs and it had more filler than meat. I won't go back, its too expensive for poor quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

We can't say enough in favor of this fin ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We can't say enough in favor of this fine restaurant. It is done with ambience, super service, the best food preparation and presentation providing high quality dinning.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jen's is always a joy to dine. It's food ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Jen's is always a joy to dine. It's food is creative, well prepared while reflecting Alaska food preference. The staff are warm professionals. I feel a sense of reprieve from daily hustle. It reflects on the faces of friends I see at tables nearby. Make reservations as it is popular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

delicious fresh halibut. also loved the ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

delicious fresh halibut. also loved the tuna tower appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another Great Date Night

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The staff was great tonight and took great care of me and my husband. Since I have food allergies going out to dinner can be difficult......the staff here always takes good care of me and the food is full of flavor!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food and wonderful staff! I high ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Amazing food and wonderful staff! I highly recommend this hidden gem, try the pepper steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Birthday and Collage graduation anniversary. The waiter brought cards with there pictures they took, desserts and sparkles to celebrate. Very nice touch of class to make a memorable experience. I think Jens or Anneliese started this wonderful tradition.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fish dinner

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Enjoyable dinner although I thought the portion size of the cod was a bit small

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Another enjoyable meal! The sashimi Nap ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Another enjoyable meal! The sashimi Napoleon was an interesting and tasty delight. Halibut and ahi tuna were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 21st wedding anniversary. The food was amazing and the service was exemplary

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazing

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Always amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The dessert I can't pronounce was amazin ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The dessert I can't pronounce was amazing and they timed the courses perfectly. Oh, the calamari was awesome, I can't describe how delicious it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently great

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I've been to Jens many times over many years. It was purchased by a long-time employee this winter and this was my first trip under the new ownership. It was as a wonderful as ever. Great food, service, and environment for a fantastic evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

New menu

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

This is hard to write. I enjoyed my dinner Rey much. But I was sad when I opened the menu and my old Jen's favorites were gone. I know there is a new owner, but I just thought nothing would change. The food was very good and I did enjoy it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fantastic chef-owned restaurant!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Tasting menu was terrific...delightful food and wine pairings! The service is always impeccable. Jens is the best in Anchorage!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gem of a restaurant

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Certainly a place to go if you appreciate French and European cooking style food. Portions are enough that you could get a full meal from an appetizer and salad or soup. Or just get an entree as you get plenty of flavorful food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jens never disappoints

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The restaurant only gets better. A superb tasting menu with perfectly matched wines is a bonus to an already outstanding menu. The service is impeccable - never intrusive, always aware of what diners need.

BEst in Anchorage.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great on all fronts. Can't go wro ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Always great on all fronts. Can't go wrong!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is good, but not quite as good as i ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Food is good, but not quite as good as it used to be. Having said that, it's still a great place to go for a birthday celebration or a nice lunch and the service is still excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Jens is good any time

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Jens consistently delivers quality food and excellent food

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

While the food was good, the wait was excessive!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We had a reservation, but waited for nearly 30 minutes to be seated. We had to ask remind the waitress about each course and waited over two hours for our mail meal. This is the third time I have eaten at Jens and each time the kitchen seems overextended and the wait is excessively long. Recommend with caution. Lovely ambience with good food, but be prepared for a wait

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Birthday dinner at Jen's

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

I took my mom here to celebrate her 60th birthday, definitely the right place to go!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great evening

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Enjoyed our evening with great friends. The meal was very good. The wine did give me a headache

Dessert was tasty.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great oysters

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

These may be the best raw oysters I've ever had. The food was presented well. The table for two was a little on the small side, perhaps due to the large wine glasses with giant napkins in them. There wasn't much room on it. Service was good. I'd love to say I was blown away but I can't say that. Good place but for the cost I think I will try another place soon. I personally wouldn't go back but that's not to say it wouldnt be great for someone else. Best oysters I've ever had though. I highly recommend them

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great!!! Nice job Nancy and team!!!!!

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Great!!!

Nice job Nancy and team!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A fabulous evening!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

It was my birthday and we had a small party. Darrel was a wonderful waiter, the food was excellent and we couldn't have enjoyed a better evening anywhere. Thanks!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Night Out

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

When I first booked the table, it was for four. By the time we got there, it was for six, which Jens' people graciously managed. We had an excellent meal, well present by a knowledgeable and very helpful wait staff. The dining room is pleasant and cheerful. Two of us (locals) were hosting four people from out of town, and the impression on them was such that we are looking at them bringing a conference to Anchorage next year. That's what dinner at Jens' can do for you!

Excellent fish all around (we had different dishes), a very good wine list, and simply wonderful food. As I pointed out to out guests, Jens' doesn't have the view of some places, and so has to put everything into the food. They do, and it pays off well. Thanks to everyone at Jens' for another great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meals delivered cold & underdone

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Husband's Opa served cold and scallops were not cooked through and hence cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.