About Jens' Restaurant

701 West 36th Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99503
View Larger Map

For over 20 years Jens’ has served the best fresh Alaskan Seafood. The dinner menu also features prime steaks, lamb, veal, deer and fresh pasta along with a wide selection of delicious appetizers and salads. The menu changes often to take full advantage of the best fresh ingredients. For lunch Danish specialties joins the fresh seafood, American standards, pastas and salads. A selection of home made desserts round out the dining experience. The cozy wine bar offers the full menu and over 40 wines by the glass.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
Arctic Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 561-5367

Website:
http://www.jensrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
The restaurant is located in the Olympic Center with lots of free parking.

Public Transit:
There are bus stops on 36th Avenue and on Arctic Blvd. Very close to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jens Hansen, Chef de Cusine Nancy Alip

Private Party Facilities:
A small private dining room seats up to 20 guests. The whole restaurant is also available for private parties. Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Annelise Hansen: 9075615367

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Jens' Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage / Alaska
Best Food
Anchorage / Alaska
Best Service
Anchorage / Alaska
9 More
Best Ambiance
Anchorage / Alaska
Best Value
Anchorage / Alaska
Special Occasion
Anchorage / Alaska
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

Special Occasion (28)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Romantic (18)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Business Meals (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Cozy (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Authentic (6)
Fun (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Private Room (4)
Bar Seating (3)
People Watching (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Casual (2)
Dancing (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Seasonal (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
551 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Creative, delicious food. Service was fr ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Creative, delicious food. Service was friendly, courteous, professional. The wait staff had too many tables resulting in very slow service

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We went to Jens' for our 10th anniversar ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We went to Jens' for our 10th anniversary, the food was amazing and the atmosphere was great. Thanks for the great experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ambiance was quiet without being stiflin ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Ambiance was quiet without being stiflingly so. Food was fabulous!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy, Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jens seems to be getting better with tim ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Jens seems to be getting better with time. My fish was extremely well prepared and worth more than I was charged

Tags: Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Jens is always worth a visit. Great ser ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Jens is always worth a visit. Great service! Unique dishes.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Hadn't been here for dinner for several ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Hadn't been here for dinner for several years and a group of friends decided to have dinner here. Great selection of local seafood...scallops were fabulous as was the halibut. Won't wait so long to eat there again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places to eat! I enj ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 29, 2016

One of our favorite places to eat! I enjoy the holiday meal as well and look forward to it each year.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing. Our waitress was ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Everything was amazing. Our waitress was very informative and had a great attitude also

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great dinner here. The food wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We had a great dinner here. The food was not particularly imaginative, but was all beautifully prepared and well seasoned. The staff was very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ordered Onion Crusted Cod. Nice portion ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Ordered Onion Crusted Cod. Nice portion size, impeccably cooked. Excellent!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our anniversary and our server ma ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 16, 2016

It was our anniversary and our server made it very special for us. I would recommend Jens to anyone for a special date night or birthday celebreation.

Everything from our server to the food was perfect.

Thanks for a great night Jens!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a truly lovely meal for my friends b ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Had a truly lovely meal for my friends birthday. The food was wonderful and beautifully presented. They took a wonderful picture of my guest for her birthday and made the evening very special. We will be going again.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was fantastic, a little on the ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was fantastic, a little on the pricey side but so delicious! The service was good, nice atmosphere, we didn't wait long for our meal at all! We will be going back to Jens!

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We choose Jen's for lunch when we are ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We choose Jen's for lunch when we are treating ourselves. It's a nice quiet restraint with white table cloths and good quality food. The wait staff is excellent. Lunch prices are reasonable for Anchorage and the choices are different than any other. I love the Braised Cabbage!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance is very nice and relaxing. ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The ambiance is very nice and relaxing. I ordered the basil pasta. I thought that the oil used in the pasta tasted rancid. I ate the side vegies but left most of my pasta alone. The waiter was very attentive but when he saw that I did not finish my food nor did I want a box because the pasta had a rancid oil taste, he did not offer any replacements or for the dish to be written off my bill. I think this is the first time that I was not happy with my meal at Jens so I'll give them another try. The carrot cake was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food offering as always. Service w ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Good food offering as always. Service was great. Seat a bit uncomfortable. Ambiance needs updating.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We opened our dinner with an appetizer t ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We opened our dinner with an appetizer that was fantastic! Unfortunately can't remember what it was called but contained 27 ingredients according to our extremely accommodating waitress. Main ingredients were raw tuna and smoked salmon. Simply wow! The rest of dinner was very good as usual but that appetizer will be purchased again soon, if not with dinner with a glass of wine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Had lunch there with a close friend. We ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Had lunch there with a close friend. We split the seafood crepes and the chicken crepes. Both dishes were excellent. Will dine there again on my next trip to Alaska.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I absolutely love the way that I am made ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 26, 2016

I absolutely love the way that I am made to feel special from the moment I enter the restaurant. Everyone is friendly and helpful. The food is top quality. I try to find any excuse to eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jen's has maintained it's high quality a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Jen's has maintained it's high quality and innovative menu throughout the years. After Jen's death a couple of years ago, his long time chef took the reins and she has been right on and every dish we had was perfect. Great waiters and always an interesting crowd.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jen's has quite the menu. With unique an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Jen's has quite the menu. With unique and thoughtful dishes, Jen's is one of the best restaurants we have been to in Alaska so far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I went to Jen's Restaurant last week for ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I went to Jen's Restaurant last week for lunch and I really enjoyed it. The atmosphere was very elegant yet inviting. There were 6 of us, I ordered the pepper steak, which was fantastic. Everyone ordered different dishes and we all were very satisfied. Down to the desserts we ordered, I really can't find a bad thing to say about this place! Great for a Date Night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was delicious. The ravioli s ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Everything was delicious. The ravioli starter was sufficient for a light dinner. The fish dishes were lovely. The 3 who had steaks were satisfied. It is expensive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A lovely dining spot for a special occas ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 8, 2016

A lovely dining spot for a special occasion. Service is excellent. Salads are lovely and fresh. Food delicious. I love this cozy spot.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Jen's is always an excellent choice for ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Jen's is always an excellent choice for dinner when meeting friends, entertaining guests or just a quiet evening for two. The service is always exceptional, and our recent dining experience was no exception.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This a wonderful restaurant with delicio ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This a wonderful restaurant with delicious gourmet food cooked to perfection. The only downside is that the prices are out of our league for more frequent dining. As I recall the prices ranged from about $26 to the $40 range for the entrees, plus soups or salads added another about $7. We usually go here for very special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better food at similar price compared to ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Better food at similar price compared to other downtown Anchorage places we had tried. Service was top notch. Although we were from out of town, this place seemed to be a locals' favorite.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome service * great food* highly rec ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Awesome service great food highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service is always excellent and the ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The service is always excellent and the quality of food the best of Anchorage. It has been our favorite restaurant for 20 years and will continue to be so.

The halibut is an absolute favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing! We had the scallops and the por ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Amazing! We had the scallops and the pork loin. The polenta accompany was good . We had the oysters as an appetizer and they were fresh and briny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time and the food was gre ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had a great time and the food was great. The only drawback was the service was slow because it seemed there was only one serve...other than that everything was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

As always the food delicious our waiter ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 17, 2016

As always the food delicious our waiter Paul is always the best. Great for business lunches.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were looking for somewhere new to cel ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 17, 2016

We were looking for somewhere new to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Friends had recommended Jens. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. We both came away full and, in fact, we each took home a doggie bag and were able to enjoy it again for lunch the next day. We will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Another enjoyable experience and one res ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Another enjoyable experience and one restaurant we like to frequent in anchorage. The Napoleon sashimi is really good.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Expensive but in li ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was excellent. Expensive but in line with other major cities .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great, but the service was ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was great, but the service was very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Lonnie was great and made our guests 70t ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Lonnie was great and made our guests 70th birthday extra special. Excellent food quality and facility.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had to ask for water a few times and mus ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Had to ask for water a few times and music was TOO loud. At one point I had to cover my ears. You would have thought we were at a night club.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Best meal we had during our 10 day stay ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Best meal we had during our 10 day stay in the Anchorage area - excellent food, service and wine selections!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Jens' was great from start to finish. Th ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Jens' was great from start to finish. The food was amazing, the staff are fabulous, and the atmosphere is a perfect fit. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.