About Jens' Restaurant

701 West 36th Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99503
View Larger Map

For over 20 years Jens’ has served the best fresh Alaskan Seafood. The dinner menu also features prime steaks, lamb, veal, deer and fresh pasta along with a wide selection of delicious appetizers and salads. The menu changes often to take full advantage of the best fresh ingredients. For lunch Danish specialties joins the fresh seafood, American standards, pastas and salads. A selection of home made desserts round out the dining experience. The cozy wine bar offers the full menu and over 40 wines by the glass.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
Arctic Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 561-5367

Website:
http://www.jensrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
The restaurant is located in the Olympic Center with lots of free parking.

Public Transit:
There are bus stops on 36th Avenue and on Arctic Blvd. Very close to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jens Hansen, Chef de Cusine Nancy Alip

Private Party Facilities:
A small private dining room seats up to 20 guests. The whole restaurant is also available for private parties. Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Annelise Hansen: (907) 561-5367

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Jens' Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Romantic (21)
Notable Wine List (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Cozy (15)
Business Meals (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Authentic (12)
Great for Lunch (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Casual (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Private Room (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Historic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
610 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 3 days ago

Love this restaurant, never have had a bad experience here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 5 days ago

Again Jen's amazes me, under new ownership this restaurant is better every time we go to it. I had the pan-seared scallops with peach Bellini, done to perfection. Often scallops are overdone and chewy or under cooked, blech, these were neither, perfect. We also had the charcuterie platter, the smoke duck and cheese selection was very nice, this is one of our favorites, we get it every time. Great selection of non-alcoholic beverages for the non-drinkers in our group. My only suggestion would be more variety in the salad menu. My husband had the greek salad and I had the asparagus, and they tasted the same. Well done again Jens.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined 5 days ago

Jen's is typically quite good and the service is generally very high quality. Saturday rushed; the waiter seemed put off by our table, perhaps we didn't spend enough money. Two of us were drinking and two were not, that may have put him off. He seemed put out that we were even there. I have had the same waiter at other places in Anchorage where his mood seems to be better so perhaps Jen's doesn't agree with him these days.

Food was terrific, I do wish the lighting wasn't as a brash.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service every time. My wife and I like to stop in with friends for a nice dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was very well prepared. A little pricey but worth it. Our server was AWESOME and very knowledgeable of the menu. I took my wife there for Valentines Day and we both really enjoyed our experience. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Enjoyable evening. Filet Wellington was a bit over done.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The Jens' staff was so awesome on this visit (not that they haven't previously been) - but we were celebrating an 89th birthday and arrived 30 minutes early for our reservation, however we were seated and treated very kindly, which was greatly appreciated. The meal was wonderful and the sparkler and card with birthday photo was very much appreciated by the birthday "girl" and topped off our celebratory dinner in the nicest way. Thank you everyone at Jens' who made our birthday celebration evening one to remember.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We had a very enjoyable luncheon with great food. Had been there for dinner a number of times.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Everything we tried was very good (calamari and oysters apps; chicken and noodles, rib eye, and lamb for main courses; salads for sides). Healthy wine list, although they didn't have every beer in stock they had listed on the menu and ran out of one beer during our dining experience. The staff was very friendly and engaging (especially with our boisterous two year old).

The overall experience was very long - 2 hrs, 45 minutes from the time we entered to the time we left. This was mostly wait time for food. It's a good thing we weren't starving and had time to enjoy our company. We would definitely come again, if we have time, as this is quite a long dining process (the food helps make the wait worth it, though).

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Everything -the appetizer, soup, salad, main course and dessert was excellent. Took some time but good food takes time to prepare well. Definitely the best food we have had in Anchorage and will go there again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Narciso, the husband of the owner, kindly asked us where we were from, and told us a bit about his family...which shows he wants to connect with his customers like family. Awesome staff, great food, perfect end of year celebration.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was impeccable

Ambiance romantic

Oysters fresh

Seafood napoleon was excellent

Corn soup a disappointment

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent food! Great service! Unique port selection and presentation. Was my 1st time there and was NOT disappointed. If you are a port fan, try the 100 years of port!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Cozy, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 28, 2016

One of the few places in Anchorage that doesn't overcook their food. Phenomenal continental cuisine, Jens' doesn't try to reinvent the wheel, instead they hone it to perfection. Composition, presentation , timing and preparation were all spot on. In addition, they have a well rounded wine list with wait staff that actually know how to pair it with your meal (there is much more to wine/food interaction then red meat= red wine). Every time I dine at Jens', I am impressed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Jen's is a family favorite. We do all of our birthdays and anniversaries at Jen's. The food is absolutely amazing and full of flavor. Our #1 spot in Anchorage for fine dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Delicious Christmas meal. The duck was perfectly tender, and dessert of course, beyond compare. There is simply only Jens'. Our compliments and hats off to the chef!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We had a great time at their annual special Danish Christmas dinner. The food was very well prepared and tasted great. Lovely atmosphere and very helpful and friendly staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I opened the Crows Nest with Jens many years ago and have always admired his skill and ability to run a fine restaurant. Even though Jen's and Anileese are no longer involved the new owner/chef has maintained the quality he demanded. It was the perfect spot for a intimate business/Christmas lunch for our real estate team. Great food & service from the appetizer to the desert. We'll definitely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Jens is a perennial favorite but the meal on Wednesday was over and above. Had the Chicken liver pate and calamari appetizers and the Deer chops cooked rare for the main course. Everything was mouthwatering outstanding. I would say this restaurant is definitely one of the top 5 in Anchorage.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We made reservations here due to the reviews. We were not disappointed. We both ordered the Kodiak Scallops. It took a long time to get our food, so we had time to munch on several pieces of bread. We love that the butter was soft and easy to spread. Scallops arrive- big (4) and delicious. On a bed of veggies and sauce. Lovely combo. We would definitely order this again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great food, great service and convenient location. It's a "go to" business lunch venue.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great as always!

The food was great and the seating was excellent.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Jens is always a great place to go for good food and a nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 12, 2016

I had not dined at Jens' for many years (over 15) because the service was awful and there were a number of regular lunch patrons who actually ran their businesses from their tables: cell phones going off, conversations on the phone with clients, etc. The head chef and owner died, his wife sold the restaurant, so I decided to give it another try, with a long time friend. Unfortunately, those same issues continue. As in the past, we arrived at 11:45 to "beat the noon hour rush." However, despite the fact that we ordered within minutes of being seated, and the restaurant was not yet even 1/4 full, we were not served for over 45 minutes, and then the waiter brought the wrong dishes. The guy at the next table was doing business on his phone. The food was good (the menu has not changed), but it is not worth the aggravation. I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Creative, delicious food. Service was friendly, courteous, professional. The wait staff had too many tables resulting in very slow service

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We went to Jens' for our 10th anniversary, the food was amazing and the atmosphere was great. Thanks for the great experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Ambiance was quiet without being stiflingly so. Food was fabulous!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy, Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Jens seems to be getting better with time. My fish was extremely well prepared and worth more than I was charged

Tags: Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Jens is always worth a visit. Great service! Unique dishes.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Hadn't been here for dinner for several years and a group of friends decided to have dinner here. Great selection of local seafood...scallops were fabulous as was the halibut. Won't wait so long to eat there again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 29, 2016

One of our favorite places to eat! I enjoy the holiday meal as well and look forward to it each year.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Everything was amazing. Our waitress was very informative and had a great attitude also

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We had a great dinner here. The food was not particularly imaginative, but was all beautifully prepared and well seasoned. The staff was very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Ordered Onion Crusted Cod. Nice portion size, impeccably cooked. Excellent!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 16, 2016

It was our anniversary and our server made it very special for us. I would recommend Jens to anyone for a special date night or birthday celebreation.

Everything from our server to the food was perfect.

Thanks for a great night Jens!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Had a truly lovely meal for my friends birthday. The food was wonderful and beautifully presented. They took a wonderful picture of my guest for her birthday and made the evening very special. We will be going again.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was fantastic, a little on the pricey side but so delicious! The service was good, nice atmosphere, we didn't wait long for our meal at all! We will be going back to Jens!

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We choose Jen's for lunch when we are treating ourselves. It's a nice quiet restraint with white table cloths and good quality food. The wait staff is excellent. Lunch prices are reasonable for Anchorage and the choices are different than any other. I love the Braised Cabbage!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The ambiance is very nice and relaxing. I ordered the basil pasta. I thought that the oil used in the pasta tasted rancid. I ate the side vegies but left most of my pasta alone. The waiter was very attentive but when he saw that I did not finish my food nor did I want a box because the pasta had a rancid oil taste, he did not offer any replacements or for the dish to be written off my bill. I think this is the first time that I was not happy with my meal at Jens so I'll give them another try. The carrot cake was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Good food offering as always. Service was great. Seat a bit uncomfortable. Ambiance needs updating.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We opened our dinner with an appetizer that was fantastic! Unfortunately can't remember what it was called but contained 27 ingredients according to our extremely accommodating waitress. Main ingredients were raw tuna and smoked salmon. Simply wow! The rest of dinner was very good as usual but that appetizer will be purchased again soon, if not with dinner with a glass of wine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Had lunch there with a close friend. We split the seafood crepes and the chicken crepes. Both dishes were excellent. Will dine there again on my next trip to Alaska.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 26, 2016

I absolutely love the way that I am made to feel special from the moment I enter the restaurant. Everyone is friendly and helpful. The food is top quality. I try to find any excuse to eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Jen's has maintained it's high quality and innovative menu throughout the years. After Jen's death a couple of years ago, his long time chef took the reins and she has been right on and every dish we had was perfect. Great waiters and always an interesting crowd.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Jen's has quite the menu. With unique and thoughtful dishes, Jen's is one of the best restaurants we have been to in Alaska so far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I went to Jen's Restaurant last week for lunch and I really enjoyed it. The atmosphere was very elegant yet inviting. There were 6 of us, I ordered the pepper steak, which was fantastic. Everyone ordered different dishes and we all were very satisfied. Down to the desserts we ordered, I really can't find a bad thing to say about this place! Great for a Date Night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Everything was delicious. The ravioli starter was sufficient for a light dinner. The fish dishes were lovely. The 3 who had steaks were satisfied. It is expensive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 8, 2016

A lovely dining spot for a special occasion. Service is excellent. Salads are lovely and fresh. Food delicious. I love this cozy spot.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Jen's is always an excellent choice for dinner when meeting friends, entertaining guests or just a quiet evening for two. The service is always exceptional, and our recent dining experience was no exception.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This a wonderful restaurant with delicious gourmet food cooked to perfection. The only downside is that the prices are out of our league for more frequent dining. As I recall the prices ranged from about $26 to the $40 range for the entrees, plus soups or salads added another about $7. We usually go here for very special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.