About Jeffrey's Restaurant

1204 W Lynn St
Austin, TX 78703
View Larger Map

Jeffrey's Restaurant & Bar has been an Austin neighborhood fine dining institution since 1975. In 2012 the restaurant closed for a major renovation and has reopened under the leadership of Austin's premiere restaurant group, McGuire Moorman Hospitality. The restaurant, nestled in a quiet neighborhood just west of downtown features a lively bar, three distinct dining rooms and menus featuring dry-aged prime steaks, updated classic fine dining and locally sourced produce. Private dining is available, free valet is standard & local car service is offered.

Josephine House offers lunch, brunch, happy hour, dinner & Monday night steak frites. The Clarksville cottage features a small marble bar for coffee or cocktails, intimate tables in the dining room, shady nooks on our patio and a grassy front lawn for lounging. Chef Alex Manley and her team prepare an eclectic daily menu featuring the best locally sourced products.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary French / American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily, 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Bar: Daily from 430pm
Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 4:30pm to 6:30pm
Sunday - Monday all night


Josephine House

Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11am-3pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday, 11am-3pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday, 530pm-10pm
Steak Frites Night: Monday 530pm-10pm
Snacks: Daily 3pm-530pm
Happy Hour Daily 3pm-6pm

Cross Street:
12th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 477-5584

Website:
http://www.jeffreysofaustin.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Larry McGuire

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Jeffrey's Restaurant
  • Jeffrey's Restaurant
Jeffrey's Restaurant
Jeffrey's Restaurant

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Jeffrey's Restaurant can accommodate all your special event needs.

Jeffrey's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Austin
Notable Wine List
Austin
American
Austin
3 More
Best Overall
Austin
Notable Wine List
Austin
American
Austin
Best Restaurants in Central Austin ›

Special Occasion (46)
Romantic (38)
Notable Wine List (35)
See All
Fit for Foodies (33)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Hot Spot (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
218 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Jeffrey's creates a wonderful blend of e ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Jeffrey's creates a wonderful blend of elegance and relaxed comfort. The food is uniformly excellent as is the waitstaff. Always a pleasure to dine at Jeffrey's.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic overall experience at this res ...

 
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Fantastic overall experience at this restaurant! Great food, service, hospitality. Would definitely recommend if you're looking for a fine dining experience that isn't pretentious. Warm Texas hospitality with high quality food and extensive wine list. I'll go back again and again!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

our anniversary dinner and celebration w ...

 
·Dined on August 17, 2016

our anniversary dinner and celebration was quite special - Tony, Ali and Greg were professional, friendly, knowledgeable and made our experience memorable - the food, wine, drinks were excellent - all recommendations were spot on - it had been awhile since we had dined at Jeffrey's and we were pleasantly surprised with all the changes - yes we will come back and tell others to do the same

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding New York strip in a wonderfu ...

 
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Outstanding New York strip in a wonderful environment. Can't wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited the restaurant on a weekend t ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We visited the restaurant on a weekend trip to Austin. The only time our waitress greeted us was to give us our menu. Her name was Molly and the only reason I knew that was because I had to ask the manager, another server and the bus boy who our server was. It was horrible service. Thank god for the manager that was there that night. He saved the day and made our experience pleasant.

We started off with a great bottle of Rose wine and went on to order the fried oysters. They were okay, kind of tasted like fried clams. However the main courses we ordered were fabulous! We had the red snapper dinner (the bacon made the dish!) and we ordered the shellfish risotto. Which by the way was really good as well! For a side we ordered the heirloom tomatoes with basil and parmesan cheese. Perfect side for a summer dinner!

With so many choices to chose from in Austin it is hard to make a decision but the decision to go there was the right one! I highly recommend it, but make sure you are not sat in Molly's section!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

The staff was very friendly and attentiv ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The staff was very friendly and attentive. The food was delicious. The space was cozy and comfortable. We are excited to add this to our list of favorite Austin dining spots.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant for our 15th Annive ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent restaurant for our 15th Anniversary. Service and food were phenomenal. Definitely a place we will visit again the next time we are in Austin. Thank you for making our anniversary a night to remember!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience. Tony was our warm ...

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Fantastic experience. Tony was our warm and friendly server and sommelier, and he helped us select a delicious orange wine from their extensive menu. We had the Niman Ranch steak special with the garlic confit/rosemary butter, and it was to die for! Favorite meal of the year. The pork chops and Brussels sprouts were also fantastic, and the popovers they served with the meal were divine. I had high expectations for the chocolate mousse special (it took 20 minutes to concoct, which was fine since they warned us in advance), but it was a little dry to my taste. Of course you will spend top dollar at Jeffrey's, but you definitely get what you pay for. The ambiance was wonderful, perfect for a date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Amazing food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is so overrated at Jeffery's. S ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food is so overrated at Jeffery's. Such a lackluster dinning experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

We loved Jeffrey's- the ambiance and the ...

 
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We loved Jeffrey's- the ambiance and the service were enough to bring us back, but the food was delicious too! We had bursts and strawberries, steak, lobster and a side of Brussels sprouts. We left feeling satisfied and happy, and I'm looking forward to our next visit! I've heard the burger in the bar is worth trying...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service at Jeffrey's was ex ...

 
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food and service at Jeffrey's was exemplary. I look forward to returning often and not just for special occasions. They deliver on all levels and the wine program is the best in Austin.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was fantastic. Martini cart, ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Everything was fantastic. Martini cart, lobster caviar bilinis, foie gras with peaches, bone in ages strip steak, fries with horseradish aioli, sautéed mushrooms. Oh and the pop overs were to die for as were the dessert soufflés. My new fave restaurant in Austin hands down!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jeffrey's was a top 5 meal for us! We h ...

 
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Jeffrey's was a top 5 meal for us! We have been to very notable dinners and this was among the best. The chef's use of sauces and flavors were out of this world. I high recommend the carpaccio - which included an array of incredible flavors. I cannot wait to go back to Austin and Jeffrey's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came for a special wedding anniversar ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We came for a special wedding anniversary and everything was perfect. Courteous, thoughtful wait staff without being intrusive. The food was so wonderful I groaned out loud at times. Ambiance was lovely. I'm not waiting for another celebration to return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the Best restaurant in Austin!! ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This is the Best restaurant in Austin!!

Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals my wife and I have ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

One of the best meals my wife and I have had anywhere. Service was impeccable, food was delicious, and the presentation was beautiful. What more can you ask?

The staff went above and beyond helping us celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food was fantastic as always . We we ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our food was fantastic as always . We were celebsprating an anniversary and the maitre d' surprised us with complimentary prosecco. Only complaint - the screaming babies at the next table made for a less than romantic atmosphere. I recommend dining after 8:00pm. Maybe it will be past their bedtime.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous; the wine pairings ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was fabulous; the wine pairings were wonderful; and the service was exceptional. Literally, the only thing that I would change was that the music was on pretty loud - it wasn't really background music/ambiance; we had to raise our voices to hear one another over the music. We had to be quick so that we could leave by 7 for a concert (arrived at 5:30). Everyone involved in the service of our table was aware of that and worked to keep us on schedule, but was apologetic about crerating an impression that they were rushing us. But, they helped us manage time well enough that we could even have the souffles. Our server was also a sommelier, and gave perfect wine pairings for each course

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful !!!! I called ahead and reques ...

 
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Wonderful !!!! I called ahead and requested a vegan meal for me and it was fantastic, except for a little too much salt. Such wonderful service. Our guests loved it. Husband said best steak ever!!! All great!!! Thank you!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent except for the de ...

 
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food was excellent except for the desert. Our lemon tart's shell was like car armour, was tasteless, and the filling was more sweet than tangy.

But, in general, we had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The fish was cooked to perfection. The ...

 
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The fish was cooked to perfection. The proposer rolls are amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While I don't eat meat, my boyfriend sai ...

 
·Dined on June 17, 2016

While I don't eat meat, my boyfriend said it was about the best beef he has ever had and I consider him quite the foodie. The cauliflower soup was delicious and the asparagus with egg was a well rounded side dish. Too full for dessert, but they did sound amazing. The service was top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed it very much

 
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Enjoyed it very much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jeffreys exceeded my expectations in eve ...

 
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Jeffreys exceeded my expectations in every possible way. From the cocktails to the dessert and every dish in between, the dinning experience was absolutely perfect.

The service at our table was outstanding. Only the bar tender at the bar seemed a little rude but other than that the experience was a great one.

Jeffrey's had become my favorite restaurant in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I have eaten here about 100 times. Used ...

 
·Dined on May 19, 2016

I have eaten here about 100 times. Used to be my favorite restaurant but food was cold and late. Still a great place but not worth a $500 tab. The bar food is great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Great Austin Gem

 
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Incredible restaurant where the marrying of Food and Service comes together.

We started our evening out with drinks at the bar and then moved to the dining room for dinner. Food and Service was outstanding. Can not wait to return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was the only issue ... Waite ...

 
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The service was the only issue ... Waiter was way to weird ... We ordered drinks to start ...and for only three people he only got one drink right ,,.. Then when questioned about this he had a huff and made a fool of himself mixing drink (after a 15 minute wait) in front of us ...

This being said as long as you do not get weird waiter .... You will get amazing food best restaurant we went to in Austin ..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Not worth it!! Would not go again.

 
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Certainly NOT worthy of the reputation. You always hear this is the best restaurant in town, and they obviously agree given their exorbitant prices. But, be warned, this restaurant does not live up to its reputation in neither food, nor service. The food was good, but not spectacular. My steak was fatty and had a lot of gristle. Watery risotto does not cut it. Only the tartar stood out. And, the best item all night was their bread! Glad we went so we could experience for ourselves, but we will not be going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Amazing birthday experience

 
·Dined on May 5, 2016

My boyfriend treated me to Jeffrey's for my birthday dinner. I was greeted with a 'Happy Birthday' by the hostess as well as a personalized birthday card at the table. They also poured us each a glass of champagne immediately...which may have been the bf's doing but I'm not sure. The service was great. I loved the table-service martini cart. We had the crab and avocado toast and Hamachi appetizer, both amazing. The bread basket consisted of two delicious and flaky popovers served with a ricotta honey spread. I ordered the pork chop with cheese grits. The pork chop was tasty, BUT when combined with the cheese grits it was simply out of this world! BF had a filet, it was very good and cooked perfectly...but not the best steak I've ever had. (We did NOT order one of the $100+ steaks). The mashed potatoes and grilled artichokes were both very tasty sides. They finished my meal with a birthday candle in super fun bday cake ice cream...all in all it was an amazing birthday dinner. Yes, it's pricey, but you know that when you walk in...I thought the prices were pretty equivalent to the level of service and food I received. I'd definitely recommend for any special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

One of THE best dining experiences ever...

 
·Dined on May 3, 2016

One of THE best dining experiences I have ever had. With its impeccable service, food, and ambiance, Jeffrey's well exceeded my expectations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First we had cocktails in the bar. Nice ...

 
·Dined on April 29, 2016

First we had cocktails in the bar. Nice scene with everyone having a good time. For dinner we split a wedge salad and 26 oz Waygu steak. It was cooked perfectly. Nice wine list but not any lower priced cabs, Mostly $100 up. a good addition would have been a Sequoia Grove at around $60.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I am picky about restaurants, food and s ...

 
·Dined on April 29, 2016

I am picky about restaurants, food and service. I am also a "low grader". I thought Jeffrey's was absolutely outstanding in all regards and I am looking forward to my next evening there. 5 stars in all areas. Thank you for your attention to detail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Meal

 
·Dined on April 15, 2016

I got the Beeman Ranch bone-in strip steak. It was perfectly cooked medium rare. Enough for two to share (with a couple of sides).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was Perfect

 
·Dined on April 8, 2016

We had a fantastic dinner, service was great; available but not hovering and the atmosphere was upscale but not stuffy. A place to go if you want to feel special and have a superb meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Expectations

 
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Understandably expectations for food would be quite high? While the pate and accompaniments, salads, hot from the oven popovers were outstanding, the main course of seafood risotto was not outstanding. The presentation was beautiful, the seafood terrifically fresh and flavorful but it was overwhelmed by the dish being too salty, don’t know if it had something to do with the uni butter or just that night’s preparation. The service and ambience met with my expectations - were outstanding. I will definitely return for another try ……

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Jeffrey's is a gem!

 
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Jeffrey's seems to be one of the few fine-dining establishments in Austin. The food is delicious, service attentive and setting intimate. I wish it was in the heart of downtown but it's really only a short drive away. What a gem! Keep up the great work and I look forward to returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely experience!

 
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The staff and place are both perfect.y charming. The food was delicious, the fried oysters were scrumptious as was the warm spinach, dandelion and arugula salad!!

Lovely evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

too much 'tude, not enough 'walking the walk'

 
·Dined on March 31, 2016

While I understand that this is an established spot it was the most disappointing of those experienced in our trip. I would just say, it was too formal, and our waitress, Beverly, had epic attitude and failed to 'read' that my family of four, including teens, wanted a more relaxed and less formal experience. Beverly needs to understand that it is about the experience, not about her. BTW, when leaving to express our disappointment there was no one available to speak with us. This place is over-rated, from my experience. And expensive. Limited wine choice at reasonable price as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Wow, first ime at Jeffreys. So amazing!

 
·Dined on March 23, 2016

We came in for my wifes B day. The staff at JeffreyS took the time to make it very special. Our waiter Tyson was awesome!! We will definitely be back. Thanks for the great hospitality.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.