About Jeffrey's Restaurant

1204 W Lynn St
Austin, TX 78703
View Larger Map

Jeffrey's Restaurant & Bar has been an Austin neighborhood fine dining institution since 1975. In 2012 the restaurant closed for a major renovation and has reopened under the leadership of Austin's premiere restaurant group, McGuire Moorman Hospitality. The restaurant, nestled in a quiet neighborhood just west of downtown features a lively bar, three distinct dining rooms and menus featuring dry-aged prime steaks, updated classic fine dining and locally sourced produce. Private dining is available, free valet is standard & local car service is offered.

Josephine House offers lunch, brunch, happy hour, dinner & Monday night steak frites. The Clarksville cottage features a small marble bar for coffee or cocktails, intimate tables in the dining room, shady nooks on our patio and a grassy front lawn for lounging. Chef Alex Manley and her team prepare an eclectic daily menu featuring the best locally sourced products.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary French / American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily, 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Bar: Daily from 430pm
Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 4:30pm to 6:30pm
Sunday - Monday all night


Josephine House

Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11am-3pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday, 11am-3pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday, 530pm-10pm
Steak Frites Night: Monday 530pm-10pm
Snacks: Daily 3pm-530pm
Happy Hour Daily 3pm-6pm

Cross Street:
12th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 477-5584

Website:
http://www.jeffreysofaustin.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Larry McGuire

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Jeffrey's Restaurant
  • Jeffrey's Restaurant
Jeffrey's Restaurant
Jeffrey's Restaurant

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Jeffrey's Restaurant can accommodate all your special event needs.

Jeffrey's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Austin
Best Ambiance
Austin
Notable Wine List
Austin
5 More
American
Austin
Best Overall
Austin
Best Ambiance
Austin
Notable Wine List
Austin
American
Austin
Best Restaurants in Central Austin ›

Special Occasion (44)
Romantic (35)
Fit for Foodies (33)
See All
Notable Wine List (30)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Authentic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Cozy (3)
Organic (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fun (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Business Meals (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Scenic View (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
229 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great!! The service is worst th ...

vip
 (México)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was great!! The service is worst than a service station dinner, the servers are so arrogant and careless, we were celebrating our 10th anniversary and we felt so un welcomed to the restaurant, what a shame on the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

I've been here several times, but this n ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 6 days ago

I've been here several times, but this night was the best!

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jeffrey's was a great experience. One of ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Jeffrey's was a great experience. One of the few restaurants in Austin with tablecloths, and pricey, but a great experience! The Caesar salad with white anchovies was exceptional; shellfish risotto featuring lobster, shrimp and mussels was delicious. Both were complemented by inventive cocktails and an eclectic wine list. And the evening was capped by a complimentary ride back to my hotel in their Mercedes.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another stellar experience for my hubby' ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined 6 days ago

Another stellar experience for my hubby's bday dinner. Waiter was extra attentive and thoughtful when he learned I was pregnant. We love jeffreys!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous ambience, food, service and Gre ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Fabulous ambience, food, service and Greg the manager was great too!!!

Came to Austin from NYC for a quick getaway. On par with the finest restaurants in NYC.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Outstanding Value, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No doubt Jeffrey's is a very expensive e ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

No doubt Jeffrey's is a very expensive evening out but we found the experience worth it for our special occasion. This was our first visit under the now-not-so-new ownership. The physical changes from the old Jeffrey's made for a much quieter dining experience which we greatly appreciated. The service was excellent and attentive without being stuffy and, although the prices were steep, the dishes were beautifully presented and serving sizes were filling - not the one bite on a pretty plate for $20 so common these days.

We will definitely return for future special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautifully spacious restaurant that f ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

A beautifully spacious restaurant that feels intimate. Beautifully well-decorated and an amazingly attentive staff. The steak was cooked to perfection and the sides and appetizers were creative and terrifically flavorful. While pricey, the restaurant is a great value with ample portions and terrific quality. I hope to patron the place again next time I'm in Austin!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the "new" Jeffrey's and think th ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We love the "new" Jeffrey's and think that Greg Ryan and Sam Ryan have done an excellent job bringing an amazing dining experience to the Austin scene.

As if the current menu isn't great enough, we were privileged to enjoy the Dover Sole this past Saturday night excellently prepared by Jeffrey's talented chef. We've had Dover Sole many times over our lifetime, but never one prepared with such expertise and skills at flavors.

Jeffrey's Bar is one of our favorite places to go whenever we get a chance. The food, drinks and service are the best we've experienced in Austin!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Greeting, seating and food were exceptio ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Greeting, seating and food were exceptional as expected. Waitstaff for our table left us underwhelmed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Organic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was outstanding. Service was very ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Food was outstanding. Service was very attentive and respectful from the moment I walked in the front door to the time we left. Enjoy the great restaurants Austin has and was the first time dining here. Was not disappointed in any way.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding dining experience. As one w ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Outstanding dining experience. As one who enjoys fine dining, this was great. If you are budget conscious, check the menu in advance. I found it well worth the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jeffrey's creates a wonderful blend of e ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Jeffrey's creates a wonderful blend of elegance and relaxed comfort. The food is uniformly excellent as is the waitstaff. Always a pleasure to dine at Jeffrey's.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic overall experience at this res ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Fantastic overall experience at this restaurant! Great food, service, hospitality. Would definitely recommend if you're looking for a fine dining experience that isn't pretentious. Warm Texas hospitality with high quality food and extensive wine list. I'll go back again and again!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

our anniversary dinner and celebration w ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

our anniversary dinner and celebration was quite special - Tony, Ali and Greg were professional, friendly, knowledgeable and made our experience memorable - the food, wine, drinks were excellent - all recommendations were spot on - it had been awhile since we had dined at Jeffrey's and we were pleasantly surprised with all the changes - yes we will come back and tell others to do the same

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding New York strip in a wonderfu ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Outstanding New York strip in a wonderful environment. Can't wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited the restaurant on a weekend t ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We visited the restaurant on a weekend trip to Austin. The only time our waitress greeted us was to give us our menu. Her name was Molly and the only reason I knew that was because I had to ask the manager, another server and the bus boy who our server was. It was horrible service. Thank god for the manager that was there that night. He saved the day and made our experience pleasant.

We started off with a great bottle of Rose wine and went on to order the fried oysters. They were okay, kind of tasted like fried clams. However the main courses we ordered were fabulous! We had the red snapper dinner (the bacon made the dish!) and we ordered the shellfish risotto. Which by the way was really good as well! For a side we ordered the heirloom tomatoes with basil and parmesan cheese. Perfect side for a summer dinner!

With so many choices to chose from in Austin it is hard to make a decision but the decision to go there was the right one! I highly recommend it, but make sure you are not sat in Molly's section!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

The staff was very friendly and attentiv ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The staff was very friendly and attentive. The food was delicious. The space was cozy and comfortable. We are excited to add this to our list of favorite Austin dining spots.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant for our 15th Annive ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent restaurant for our 15th Anniversary. Service and food were phenomenal. Definitely a place we will visit again the next time we are in Austin. Thank you for making our anniversary a night to remember!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience. Tony was our warm ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Fantastic experience. Tony was our warm and friendly server and sommelier, and he helped us select a delicious orange wine from their extensive menu. We had the Niman Ranch steak special with the garlic confit/rosemary butter, and it was to die for! Favorite meal of the year. The pork chops and Brussels sprouts were also fantastic, and the popovers they served with the meal were divine. I had high expectations for the chocolate mousse special (it took 20 minutes to concoct, which was fine since they warned us in advance), but it was a little dry to my taste. Of course you will spend top dollar at Jeffrey's, but you definitely get what you pay for. The ambiance was wonderful, perfect for a date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Amazing food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is so overrated at Jeffery's. S ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food is so overrated at Jeffery's. Such a lackluster dinning experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

We loved Jeffrey's- the ambiance and the ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We loved Jeffrey's- the ambiance and the service were enough to bring us back, but the food was delicious too! We had bursts and strawberries, steak, lobster and a side of Brussels sprouts. We left feeling satisfied and happy, and I'm looking forward to our next visit! I've heard the burger in the bar is worth trying...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service at Jeffrey's was ex ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food and service at Jeffrey's was exemplary. I look forward to returning often and not just for special occasions. They deliver on all levels and the wine program is the best in Austin.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was fantastic. Martini cart, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Everything was fantastic. Martini cart, lobster caviar bilinis, foie gras with peaches, bone in ages strip steak, fries with horseradish aioli, sautéed mushrooms. Oh and the pop overs were to die for as were the dessert soufflés. My new fave restaurant in Austin hands down!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jeffrey's was a top 5 meal for us! We h ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Jeffrey's was a top 5 meal for us! We have been to very notable dinners and this was among the best. The chef's use of sauces and flavors were out of this world. I high recommend the carpaccio - which included an array of incredible flavors. I cannot wait to go back to Austin and Jeffrey's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came for a special wedding anniversar ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We came for a special wedding anniversary and everything was perfect. Courteous, thoughtful wait staff without being intrusive. The food was so wonderful I groaned out loud at times. Ambiance was lovely. I'm not waiting for another celebration to return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the Best restaurant in Austin!! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This is the Best restaurant in Austin!!

Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals my wife and I have ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

One of the best meals my wife and I have had anywhere. Service was impeccable, food was delicious, and the presentation was beautiful. What more can you ask?

The staff went above and beyond helping us celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food was fantastic as always . We we ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our food was fantastic as always . We were celebsprating an anniversary and the maitre d' surprised us with complimentary prosecco. Only complaint - the screaming babies at the next table made for a less than romantic atmosphere. I recommend dining after 8:00pm. Maybe it will be past their bedtime.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous; the wine pairings ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was fabulous; the wine pairings were wonderful; and the service was exceptional. Literally, the only thing that I would change was that the music was on pretty loud - it wasn't really background music/ambiance; we had to raise our voices to hear one another over the music. We had to be quick so that we could leave by 7 for a concert (arrived at 5:30). Everyone involved in the service of our table was aware of that and worked to keep us on schedule, but was apologetic about crerating an impression that they were rushing us. But, they helped us manage time well enough that we could even have the souffles. Our server was also a sommelier, and gave perfect wine pairings for each course

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful !!!! I called ahead and reques ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Wonderful !!!! I called ahead and requested a vegan meal for me and it was fantastic, except for a little too much salt. Such wonderful service. Our guests loved it. Husband said best steak ever!!! All great!!! Thank you!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent except for the de ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food was excellent except for the desert. Our lemon tart's shell was like car armour, was tasteless, and the filling was more sweet than tangy.

But, in general, we had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The fish was cooked to perfection. The ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The fish was cooked to perfection. The proposer rolls are amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While I don't eat meat, my boyfriend sai ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

While I don't eat meat, my boyfriend said it was about the best beef he has ever had and I consider him quite the foodie. The cauliflower soup was delicious and the asparagus with egg was a well rounded side dish. Too full for dessert, but they did sound amazing. The service was top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed it very much

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Enjoyed it very much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jeffreys exceeded my expectations in eve ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Jeffreys exceeded my expectations in every possible way. From the cocktails to the dessert and every dish in between, the dinning experience was absolutely perfect.

The service at our table was outstanding. Only the bar tender at the bar seemed a little rude but other than that the experience was a great one.

Jeffrey's had become my favorite restaurant in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I have eaten here about 100 times. Used ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

I have eaten here about 100 times. Used to be my favorite restaurant but food was cold and late. Still a great place but not worth a $500 tab. The bar food is great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Great Austin Gem

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Incredible restaurant where the marrying of Food and Service comes together.

We started our evening out with drinks at the bar and then moved to the dining room for dinner. Food and Service was outstanding. Can not wait to return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was the only issue ... Waite ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The service was the only issue ... Waiter was way to weird ... We ordered drinks to start ...and for only three people he only got one drink right ,,.. Then when questioned about this he had a huff and made a fool of himself mixing drink (after a 15 minute wait) in front of us ...

This being said as long as you do not get weird waiter .... You will get amazing food best restaurant we went to in Austin ..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Not worth it!! Would not go again.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Certainly NOT worthy of the reputation. You always hear this is the best restaurant in town, and they obviously agree given their exorbitant prices. But, be warned, this restaurant does not live up to its reputation in neither food, nor service. The food was good, but not spectacular. My steak was fatty and had a lot of gristle. Watery risotto does not cut it. Only the tartar stood out. And, the best item all night was their bread! Glad we went so we could experience for ourselves, but we will not be going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.