About Jeffrey's Restaurant

1204 W Lynn St
Austin, TX 78703
View Larger Map

Jeffrey's Restaurant & Bar has been an Austin neighborhood fine dining institution since 1975. In 2012 the restaurant closed for a major renovation and has reopened under the leadership of Austin's premiere restaurant group, McGuire Moorman Hospitality. The restaurant, nestled in a quiet neighborhood just west of downtown features a lively bar, three distinct dining rooms and menus featuring dry-aged prime steaks, updated classic fine dining and locally sourced produce. Private dining is available, free valet is standard & local car service is offered.

Josephine House offers lunch, brunch, happy hour, dinner & Monday night steak frites. The Clarksville cottage features a small marble bar for coffee or cocktails, intimate tables in the dining room, shady nooks on our patio and a grassy front lawn for lounging. Chef Alex Manley and her team prepare an eclectic daily menu featuring the best locally sourced products.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary French / American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily, 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Bar: Daily from 430pm
Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 4:30pm to 6:30pm
Sunday - Monday all night


Josephine House

Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11am-3pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday, 11am-3pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday, 530pm-10pm
Steak Frites Night: Monday 530pm-10pm
Snacks: Daily 3pm-530pm
Happy Hour Daily 3pm-6pm

Cross Street:
12th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 477-5584

Website:
http://www.jeffreysofaustin.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary

Executive Chef:
Larry McGuire

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Jeffrey's Restaurant can accommodate all your special event needs.

Jeffrey's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Austin
American
Austin
Best Restaurants in Central Austin ›

special occasion (52)
romantic (45)
fit for foodies (36)
See All
notable wine list (33)
neighborhood gem (31)
hot spot (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
good for groups (3)
great for lunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
194 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Jeffreys exceeded my expectations in eve ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Jeffreys exceeded my expectations in every possible way. From the cocktails to the dessert and every dish in between, the dinning experience was absolutely perfect. The service at our table was outstanding. Only the bar tender at the bar seemed a little rude but other than that the experience was a great one. Jeffrey's had become my favorite restaurant in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3

I have eaten here about 100 times. Used ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

I have eaten here about 100 times. Used to be my favorite restaurant but food was cold and late. Still a great place but not worth a $500 tab. The bar food is great though.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Austin Gem

Dined on May 16, 2016

Incredible restaurant where the marrying of Food and Service comes together. We started our evening out with drinks at the bar and then moved to the dining room for dinner. Food and Service was outstanding. Can not wait to return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

The service was the only issue ... Waite ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The service was the only issue ... Waiter was way to weird ... We ordered drinks to start ...and for only three people he only got one drink right ,,.. Then when questioned about this he had a huff and made a fool of himself mixing drink (after a 15 minute wait) in front of us ... This being said as long as you do not get weird waiter .... You will get amazing food best restaurant we went to in Austin ..

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Not worth it!! Would not go again.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Certainly NOT worthy of the reputation. You always hear this is the best restaurant in town, and they obviously agree given their exorbitant prices. But, be warned, this restaurant does not live up to its reputation in neither food, nor service. The food was good, but not spectacular. My steak was fatty and had a lot of gristle. Watery risotto does not cut it. Only the tartar stood out. And, the best item all night was their bread! Glad we went so we could experience for ourselves, but we will not be going again.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing birthday experience

Dined on May 5, 2016

My boyfriend treated me to Jeffrey's for my birthday dinner. I was greeted with a 'Happy Birthday' by the hostess as well as a personalized birthday card at the table. They also poured us each a glass of champagne immediately...which may have been the bf's doing but I'm not sure. The service was great. I loved the table-service martini cart. We had the crab and avocado toast and Hamachi appetizer, both amazing. The bread basket consisted of two delicious and flaky popovers served with a ricotta honey spread. I ordered the pork chop with cheese grits. The pork chop was tasty, BUT when combined with the cheese grits it was simply out of this world! BF had a filet, it was very good and cooked perfectly...but not the best steak I've ever had. (We did NOT order one of the $100+ steaks). The mashed potatoes and grilled artichokes were both very tasty sides. They finished my meal with a birthday candle in super fun bday cake ice cream...all in all it was an amazing birthday dinner. Yes, it's pricey, but you know that when you walk in...I thought the prices were pretty equivalent to the level of service and food I received. I'd definitely recommend for any special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of THE best dining experiences ever...

Dined on May 3, 2016

One of THE best dining experiences I have ever had. With its impeccable service, food, and ambiance, Jeffrey's well exceeded my expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First we had cocktails in the bar. Nice ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

First we had cocktails in the bar. Nice scene with everyone having a good time. For dinner we split a wedge salad and 26 oz Waygu steak. It was cooked perfectly. Nice wine list but not any lower priced cabs, Mostly $100 up. a good addition would have been a Sequoia Grove at around $60.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I am picky about restaurants, food and s ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

I am picky about restaurants, food and service. I am also a "low grader". I thought Jeffrey's was absolutely outstanding in all regards and I am looking forward to my next evening there. 5 stars in all areas. Thank you for your attention to detail.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Meal

Dined on April 15, 2016

I got the Beeman Ranch bone-in strip steak. It was perfectly cooked medium rare. Enough for two to share (with a couple of sides).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was Perfect

Dined on April 8, 2016

We had a fantastic dinner, service was great; available but not hovering and the atmosphere was upscale but not stuffy. A place to go if you want to feel special and have a superb meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Expectations

Dined on April 7, 2016

Understandably expectations for food would be quite high? While the pate and accompaniments, salads, hot from the oven popovers were outstanding, the main course of seafood risotto was not outstanding. The presentation was beautiful, the seafood terrifically fresh and flavorful but it was overwhelmed by the dish being too salty, don’t know if it had something to do with the uni butter or just that night’s preparation. The service and ambience met with my expectations - were outstanding. I will definitely return for another try ……

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jeffrey's is a gem!

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Jeffrey's seems to be one of the few fine-dining establishments in Austin. The food is delicious, service attentive and setting intimate. I wish it was in the heart of downtown but it's really only a short drive away. What a gem! Keep up the great work and I look forward to returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely experience!

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

The staff and place are both perfect.y charming. The food was delicious, the fried oysters were scrumptious as was the warm spinach, dandelion and arugula salad!! Lovely evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

too much 'tude, not enough 'walking the walk'

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

While I understand that this is an established spot it was the most disappointing of those experienced in our trip. I would just say, it was too formal, and our waitress, Beverly, had epic attitude and failed to 'read' that my family of four, including teens, wanted a more relaxed and less formal experience. Beverly needs to understand that it is about the experience, not about her. BTW, when leaving to express our disappointment there was no one available to speak with us. This place is over-rated, from my experience. And expensive. Limited wine choice at reasonable price as well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow, first ime at Jeffreys. So amazing!

Dined on March 23, 2016

We came in for my wifes B day. The staff at JeffreyS took the time to make it very special. Our waiter Tyson was awesome!! We will definitely be back. Thanks for the great hospitality.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants for over 30 years

Dined on March 20, 2016

Jefferey's was fine dining before there was fine dining, and it opened in Austin in the mid eighties when I was a student there. I went twice on very special occasions, and remember being mesmerized by the food, atmosphere and service. 30 years later, I can afford to go more often, and can only say the the experience is even better now. This quaint tiny restaurant has a huge pulsing heart.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Classic steak in the heart of Downtown Austin.

Dined on March 17, 2016

Perry's is a classic American steak and seafood house. The food is exceptional albeit traditional fare. Portions are enormous, so its a good place for a larger group to order a few items and share. The service staff is both friendly and knowledgable and it is a great place for a business dinner or special occasion. In particular, they have an expansive wine list with a lot of solid wines at a moderate price. All in all, a classic grand restaurant with warm and friendly service.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4

I have gone to Jeffrey's for years, but ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

I have gone to Jeffrey's for years, but was disappointed in my last meal. My favorite appetizer was prepared differently and was bland. My entree was mediocre. The overall experience lacked the elegance and tastiness I had experienced in years past. I hope they regroup and make a comeback.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific evening at Jeffrey's

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

We had a perfect anniversary dinner at Jeffrey's. They asked when confirming the reservation if it was a special occasion and they executed nicely on that with a complementary glass of champagne and a "happy anniversary" welcome. The mashed potatoes that came with my delicious duck entree were the best I've had in my entire life. Excellent meal and service all around.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Not bad

Dined on March 5, 2016

I thought the food was good - with stand outs being the bread/popover, cauliflower soup and baked alaska. We also had the steak fries, the petite 6 oz steak and the duck (the veggies were the best part of that dish). The service was sub-par for what I was expecting, but the overall experience was not bad.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful Friday....

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Ask for the cheese cart. You won't be sorry.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A Taste of NYC

Dined on February 20, 2016

If you are familiar with the old-school New York City restaurant scene, this restaurant is reminiscent of that time: local, unique, romantic and just about perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Felt ripped off...

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

Price and value just didn't add up. $45 for a petite filet that I could hardly cut with my steak knife (incredibly chewy), $12 for six asparagus spears (laughable) and $18 for a 3oz wine pour. Will never return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent server. Amazing food. Good dri ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

Excellent server. Amazing food. Good drinks.

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The food was good, but expected more for the price

Dined on February 4, 2016

We spent our anniversary evening at Jeffrey's, and based on the food I had had in the bar area, was looking forward to trying their dinner. My favorite restaurant is Eddie V's, and in comparison, I would still highly recommend Eddie V's over Jeffrey's for the quality of food for the price. The steak was very good, but the sides were average. The horseradish sauce had a terrible "fishy" taste to it, and we had to send it back. I've had the same sauce there previously, and it tasted just fine. The server was pleasant, but didn't go out of her way to be friendly or suggestive.

food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best dining experiences in Au ...

Dined on February 1, 2016

One of the best dining experiences in Austin!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great for special occasion

Dined on February 1, 2016

Great experience, we were being treated by our daughter (Xmas) gift. This is a top restaurant for any city. Service was excellent and food (except for lobster caviar starter) and wish I could find wine we had in Austin. Be sure to get the crispy oyster starter, wonderful. Lots of little extra touches that make a great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Overrated!

vip
Dined on January 26, 2016

We went to Jeffrey's many years ago and were not that impressed at the time. Thought we would give it another try since it reopened after out last experience. We had high expectations, knowing it is one of the more expensive restaurants. We are happy to pay good money for a great dining experience. This was very disappointing. The food was mediocre at best. There are so many other better restaurants in Austin now for better quality, regardless of the price.

food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was so classic. Just what ...

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

The restaurant was so classic. Just what we wanted for our special occasion. Every bite of food was so flavorful. Services was unrushed.

food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Except for the desert which was good, th ...

Dined on January 21, 2016

Except for the desert which was good, the rest, of the meal was a dissapointment. Tough steak,Horrible salad, and burnt black bread in one of the appitizers. Way overpriced for quality.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superior Service

Dined on January 14, 2016

In addition to the great food, our table service provider (waiter) was as good as they get in any high end restaurant in N. America. One of the hallmarks of a fine restaurant is great table service and Jeffrey's certainly has it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The best we've found in our three years ...

Dined on January 9, 2016

The best we've found in our three years in Austin. Great service. Delicious food. Not cheap -- but "you get what you pay for". Lamb chops excellent. Wagyu filet superb -- and quite well priced. Bernaise sauce "the best". Sauteed mushrooms excellent. Previously enjoyed their seafood risotto -- which was very good. We'll definitely be back!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Long Live Jeffrey's

Dined on January 5, 2016

So many Austin restaurants have come and gone, yet Jeffrey's remains after all these years as the most elegant fine dining spot in Austin.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

great food

Dined on December 31, 2015

Seafood dishes were fabulous, but the restaurant is very noisy. Finding reasonably priced wines is difficult.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely Evening

Dined on December 29, 2015

We asked for a quiet table and while the place can be a little "energetic", they put us at the quietest table in the quietest room. Loved arriving to the sign "Happy 24th Anniversary" on our table. Wait staff was great. And the food was very good. Loved, loved, loved the cauliflower soup. It was the highlight of my four courses! I told my hubby I was practicing restraint by not just licking the bowl! Nice place for a celebration, cost would be the only reason not to make it more frequent!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service awesome!

Dined on December 10, 2015

Food and service was totally off the hook for our daughter's 18th birthday. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb in every way

Dined on December 4, 2015

We celebrated our wedding anniversary here and were most impressed with the comfortable atmosphere and the delicious food. Every morsel was worthy of a fine restaurant. Particularly enjoyed the redfish on the lump crab and the duck.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved having Johnny as our waiter again!

Dined on November 25, 2015

We've dined here twice, Johnny was our waiter both times. This restaurant is an excellent dining experience. Nice ambience, great food. Also excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service1

Poor experience

Dined on November 17, 2015

My salad had cheese, nuts, and dressing in bottom of bowl with lettuces on top. Not properly mixed. Some of the lettuce leaves were slimy and rotted. My entree, fish, was slightly undercooked in thickest areas. I was not given a dinner fork with the fish, and since no waiters were nearby, I began eating with a salad fork pinched from a nearby table. (Finally, I caught the eye of a waiter and asked for a dinner fork. ) The vegetable sides we ordered were nice enough.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.