About Jeffrey's Restaurant

1204 W Lynn St
Austin, TX 78703
View Larger Map

Jeffrey's Restaurant & Bar has been an Austin neighborhood fine dining institution since 1975. In 2012 the restaurant closed for a major renovation and has reopened under the leadership of Austin's premiere restaurant group, McGuire Moorman Hospitality. The restaurant, nestled in a quiet neighborhood just west of downtown features a lively bar, three distinct dining rooms and menus featuring dry-aged prime steaks, updated classic fine dining and locally sourced produce. Private dining is available, free valet is standard & local car service is offered.

Josephine House offers lunch, brunch, happy hour, dinner & Monday night steak frites. The Clarksville cottage features a small marble bar for coffee or cocktails, intimate tables in the dining room, shady nooks on our patio and a grassy front lawn for lounging. Chef Alex Manley and her team prepare an eclectic daily menu featuring the best locally sourced products.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary French / American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily, 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Bar: Daily from 430pm
Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 4:30pm to 6:30pm
Sunday - Monday all night


Josephine House

Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11am-3pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday, 11am-3pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday, 530pm-10pm
Steak Frites Night: Monday 530pm-10pm
Snacks: Daily 3pm-530pm
Happy Hour Daily 3pm-6pm

Cross Street:
12th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 477-5584

Website:
http://www.jeffreysofaustin.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Larry McGuire

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Jeffrey's Restaurant, Austin, TX
  • Jeffrey's Restaurant, Austin, TX
Jeffrey's Restaurant, Austin, TX
Jeffrey's Restaurant, Austin, TX

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Jeffrey's Restaurant can accommodate all your special event needs.

Jeffrey's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Austin
American
Austin
Best Food
Austin
1 More
American
Austin
Best Restaurants in Central Austin ›

Special Occasion (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
See All
Romantic (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Authentic (6)
Business Meals (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Cozy (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Organic (3)
Historic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Casual (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fun (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Fireplace (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
249 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was outstanding! Would recomm ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Everything was outstanding! Would recommend this restaurant to anyone who is looking for a great experience and appreciates fine food, wine and service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first dinner here since part ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

This was my first dinner here since participating in the group's "Burger Challenge" in 2015. I had been waiting for the perfect occasion...and Saturday 11/26 was it. Started in the bar and met my date there. The bartender was knowledgeable and gave amazing service. After an hour, we headed to dinner. From a taste perspective, our steaks were perfection on a plate. The sides were ample--don't miss the mashed potatoes or broccoli or brussel sprouts. Wine list was superb--we ordered a bottle of Malbec, served at 54 degrees--perfect. The restaurant is small but lively and by the time we finished it was all to ourselves. Perfect date, perfect meal, perfect location, and world class service. All in Clarksville.

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent, but the service ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was excellent, but the service was outstanding. Everything arrived at the right time. We would finish a course, have a drink of wine and the next course arrived. Service was also very subtle, did not feel the waiter was leaning over us. My husband steak was perfectly cooked and my fish was divine. Many items on the menu that I wanted to taste so we will plan a return evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Molly - our sommelier, and Josh - server ...

 
·Dined on November 21, 2016

Molly - our sommelier, and Josh - server, were excellent. Molly helped us pick and extraordinary Rioja that complemented an amazing meal, giving perfect suggestions for all. The food came out timed perfectly and the ambiance was very romantic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great bar, great food and great service. ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great bar, great food and great service. All the people we encountered at Jeffrey's were outstanding. The overall all experience reminded us in a good way of our favorite places in California.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

terrific staff all of them. food exqui ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

terrific staff all of them. food exquisite as before

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The service was impeccable! The atmosphe ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

The service was impeccable! The atmosphere was an upscale modern/ traditional with a palette from high end 70's LA feel. Very sophisticated, modern twist on a traditional steakhouse.

Food was incredible, as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to celebrate an anniversary. ...

 
·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great place to celebrate an anniversary. The service was wonderful and the food was great. Would definitely recommend to others.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had to rearrange our reservation late ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had to rearrange our reservation late in the day. They were very accommodating for that. The food is imaginative and very good the wine list tends to be weighted toward expensive wine. The service is excellent and it is a lovely restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent! Very attentive service, wond ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent! Very attentive service, wonderful dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jeffrey's was good, but is usually bette ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

Jeffrey's was good, but is usually better. Food was good as always, but service was disappointing. We were asked if we were ready to order, and we hadn't received our cocktails yet. Never recovered. Lot's of little missteps, which is unusual for Jeffrey's.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Excellent food on a consistent basis and ...

 
·Dined on October 24, 2016

Excellent food on a consistent basis and great sommelier

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced meal, very good but not great ...

 
·Dined on October 21, 2016

Overpriced meal, very good but not great. Service was under par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Fabulous restaurant, we will be adding t ...

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

Fabulous restaurant, we will be adding this to our top favorites in Austin! Excited about going back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant has a lovely old countr ...

 
·Dined on October 12, 2016

This restaurant has a lovely old country club kind of vibe. The food was good but is missing an element of enjoyment. We went during a slow period where the restaurant was half full.

We ordered our hor d oeuvres and appetizers and were told that we needed to go ahead and order our entres. Given we had not begun eating, this didn't allow for us to see what we might want next.

Mid - dinner we were asked if we wanted a soufflé. At this point I not

only didn't know if I wanted a

Soufflé but I was unsure if I would even want dessert. The waiter was rushed and made it seem like we needed to hurry up and eat. At such a lovely place, with lovely food, I would prefer to delight in each bite of foie gras then decide what my palate desires next as opposed to ordering all 4 courses at once. I do understand that soufflés take longer as do other dishes, but if you can't figure out how to course it out perhaps the kitchen should consider other options that allow for tasty food and a more relaxed eating experience.

I should say, that the support staff was amazingly professional and they deserve kudos for having an eye for detail.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was excellent, wait staff was very ...

 
·Dined on October 12, 2016

Food was excellent, wait staff was very attentive and we did not wait for anything we needed.

We both noticed that the area we were seated in was quite loud, not really intimate, but comfortable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Compared to other expensive restaurants, ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

Compared to other expensive restaurants, I thought it was just OK. I thought the menu was unnecessarily odd

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

excellent wine list and proper unobtrusi ...

 
·Dined on September 25, 2016

excellent wine list and proper unobtrusive fine dining service. half price wine on sunday! unbelievable bone in ribeye from local provider dry age to perfection!!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service and food not as good as times be ...

 
·Dined on September 25, 2016

Service and food not as good as times before. Maybe because it was Sunday night? We had a 5:30 reservation, first thing I said to hostess was please not seated near door, it's cold & raining out, & we're in little dresses. Where did she seat us? The table closet to the door. Whole restaurant was empty. Next: I don't like being asked five times if we are ready to order. Felt rushed. Fried oysters tasted like a drive through - greasy and tasteless. Server ignored us a lot; we tried several times to get her attention even when she was done with tables right next to us. She walked off. Other staff had to bring us things like a spoon or new appetizer plates. Didn't even look around to scan her other tables. Seemed annoyed with her job. $250 for 2 people. Not like we were there to be cheapskates so we could have been treated a little better. We were not trouble either. Very disappointed.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was great!! The service is worst th ...

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food was great!! The service is worst than a service station dinner, the servers are so arrogant and careless, we were celebrating our 10th anniversary and we felt so un welcomed to the restaurant, what a shame on the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

I've been here several times, but this n ...

 
·Dined on September 21, 2016

I've been here several times, but this night was the best!

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jeffrey's was a great experience. One of ...

 
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Jeffrey's was a great experience. One of the few restaurants in Austin with tablecloths, and pricey, but a great experience! The Caesar salad with white anchovies was exceptional; shellfish risotto featuring lobster, shrimp and mussels was delicious. Both were complemented by inventive cocktails and an eclectic wine list. And the evening was capped by a complimentary ride back to my hotel in their Mercedes.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another stellar experience for my hubby' ...

 
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Another stellar experience for my hubby's bday dinner. Waiter was extra attentive and thoughtful when he learned I was pregnant. We love jeffreys!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous ambience, food, service and Gre ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Fabulous ambience, food, service and Greg the manager was great too!!!

Came to Austin from NYC for a quick getaway. On par with the finest restaurants in NYC.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Outstanding Value, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No doubt Jeffrey's is a very expensive e ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

No doubt Jeffrey's is a very expensive evening out but we found the experience worth it for our special occasion. This was our first visit under the now-not-so-new ownership. The physical changes from the old Jeffrey's made for a much quieter dining experience which we greatly appreciated. The service was excellent and attentive without being stuffy and, although the prices were steep, the dishes were beautifully presented and serving sizes were filling - not the one bite on a pretty plate for $20 so common these days.

We will definitely return for future special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautifully spacious restaurant that f ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

A beautifully spacious restaurant that feels intimate. Beautifully well-decorated and an amazingly attentive staff. The steak was cooked to perfection and the sides and appetizers were creative and terrifically flavorful. While pricey, the restaurant is a great value with ample portions and terrific quality. I hope to patron the place again next time I'm in Austin!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the "new" Jeffrey's and think th ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We love the "new" Jeffrey's and think that Greg Ryan and Sam Ryan have done an excellent job bringing an amazing dining experience to the Austin scene.

As if the current menu isn't great enough, we were privileged to enjoy the Dover Sole this past Saturday night excellently prepared by Jeffrey's talented chef. We've had Dover Sole many times over our lifetime, but never one prepared with such expertise and skills at flavors.

Jeffrey's Bar is one of our favorite places to go whenever we get a chance. The food, drinks and service are the best we've experienced in Austin!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Greeting, seating and food were exceptio ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Greeting, seating and food were exceptional as expected. Waitstaff for our table left us underwhelmed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Organic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was outstanding. Service was very ...

 
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Food was outstanding. Service was very attentive and respectful from the moment I walked in the front door to the time we left. Enjoy the great restaurants Austin has and was the first time dining here. Was not disappointed in any way.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding dining experience. As one w ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Outstanding dining experience. As one who enjoys fine dining, this was great. If you are budget conscious, check the menu in advance. I found it well worth the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jeffrey's creates a wonderful blend of e ...

 
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Jeffrey's creates a wonderful blend of elegance and relaxed comfort. The food is uniformly excellent as is the waitstaff. Always a pleasure to dine at Jeffrey's.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic overall experience at this res ...

 
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Fantastic overall experience at this restaurant! Great food, service, hospitality. Would definitely recommend if you're looking for a fine dining experience that isn't pretentious. Warm Texas hospitality with high quality food and extensive wine list. I'll go back again and again!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

our anniversary dinner and celebration w ...

 
·Dined on August 17, 2016

our anniversary dinner and celebration was quite special - Tony, Ali and Greg were professional, friendly, knowledgeable and made our experience memorable - the food, wine, drinks were excellent - all recommendations were spot on - it had been awhile since we had dined at Jeffrey's and we were pleasantly surprised with all the changes - yes we will come back and tell others to do the same

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding New York strip in a wonderfu ...

 
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Outstanding New York strip in a wonderful environment. Can't wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited the restaurant on a weekend t ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We visited the restaurant on a weekend trip to Austin. The only time our waitress greeted us was to give us our menu. Her name was Molly and the only reason I knew that was because I had to ask the manager, another server and the bus boy who our server was. It was horrible service. Thank god for the manager that was there that night. He saved the day and made our experience pleasant.

We started off with a great bottle of Rose wine and went on to order the fried oysters. They were okay, kind of tasted like fried clams. However the main courses we ordered were fabulous! We had the red snapper dinner (the bacon made the dish!) and we ordered the shellfish risotto. Which by the way was really good as well! For a side we ordered the heirloom tomatoes with basil and parmesan cheese. Perfect side for a summer dinner!

With so many choices to chose from in Austin it is hard to make a decision but the decision to go there was the right one! I highly recommend it, but make sure you are not sat in Molly's section!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

The staff was very friendly and attentiv ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The staff was very friendly and attentive. The food was delicious. The space was cozy and comfortable. We are excited to add this to our list of favorite Austin dining spots.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant for our 15th Annive ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent restaurant for our 15th Anniversary. Service and food were phenomenal. Definitely a place we will visit again the next time we are in Austin. Thank you for making our anniversary a night to remember!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience. Tony was our warm ...

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Fantastic experience. Tony was our warm and friendly server and sommelier, and he helped us select a delicious orange wine from their extensive menu. We had the Niman Ranch steak special with the garlic confit/rosemary butter, and it was to die for! Favorite meal of the year. The pork chops and Brussels sprouts were also fantastic, and the popovers they served with the meal were divine. I had high expectations for the chocolate mousse special (it took 20 minutes to concoct, which was fine since they warned us in advance), but it was a little dry to my taste. Of course you will spend top dollar at Jeffrey's, but you definitely get what you pay for. The ambiance was wonderful, perfect for a date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Amazing food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is so overrated at Jeffery's. S ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food is so overrated at Jeffery's. Such a lackluster dinning experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.