About Jeffrey Adams on Fourth

From succulent steaks to hearty salads, Jeffrey Adams is your place for a quiet dinner for two to an evening event for a large party. Featuring a wood fired grill and craft cocktails, come see what all of Winston Salem is talking about!

321 W 4th St
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 448-1714

Jeffrey Adams on Fourth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (46)
Special Occasion (31)
Good for Birthdays (25)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Romantic (22)
Cozy (22)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Business Meals (18)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Casual (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Scenic View (10)
Fun (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
People Watching (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Healthy (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Authentic (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Seasonal (4)
Historic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Fireplace (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Family Style (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Private Room (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
482 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

egg rolls were really yummy!! Our service was great. Thank you!

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Came here for dinner on a recommendation. The food was sub par and the bread with the appetizer was still almost frozen on some pieces. My steak did not come as I ordered it and my guest's meal was not cooked well either. It wasn't inedible but it was not what I was expecting. I will say that the service was good and the waitress was very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

I have had good experiences at Jeffrey Adams, but this was just really bad. The waitress couldn't have cared less about our table and complained that the kitchen was upstairs, so she had to go upstairs whenever we made a request. We did not get refills on our drinks until we asked another waitress, and our waitress did not check to see how the food was. The manager was apologetic but did not really do much to fix the situation. I hope this was just a fluke. I'd still recommend this restaurant, but this was a really bad day for them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

This was our 2nd time here. Both times the food was very good as was the service.

Only complaint this time we were seated at a small table by the bar and there was a very loud group there. Was disappointing.

If you want to be able to have a conversation I would request to not be seated by the bar.

We had a reservation but did not know to request that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 7 days ago

have been there several times, service is good, food also good . seems consistent

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My boyfriend and I ventured here as it was the only place besides one other restaurant that had availability on Valentine's Day 2017. It was our first time there and was perfect! Our waiter (can't remember his name) was awesome. The Brussels sprouts weren't cooked to their tenderness and he took them back and also brought me a sample of the amazing mashed sweet potatoes along with a side order of them. The dessert was phenomenal (warm brownie with ice cream). We will return. Thank you for an outstanding Valentine's Day 2017.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband and I had our rehearsal dinner in their private room downstairs a couple of years ago, and it was wonderful! The food and the service are impressive. So we decided to have our Valentine's Day dinner there this year, and everything was just as wonderful as we remembered. I highly recommend the seafood risotto. The smoky flavor combined with the creaminess of comfort food is just exquisite. I highly recommend this restaurant. We absolutely love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My first visit. We ate there for Valentine's Day. The Filets were absolutely delious, as well as the Apple Crisp desert. Cozy atmosphere. We'll definitely return soon.

Tags: Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Had a reservation for 6:45. Arrived at about 6:40 and was immediately seated. The waitress was very polite and helpful. Food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Even though we were an hour early for our reservation, we were seated right away. The first table was too small, so they put us at a bigger one. The bar tender made our drinks while they got the new table ready. Our waitress was one of the best I've ever had. I ordered the 14oz rib eye and could cut it with the butter knife. We sat there for an hour and had drinks before we left.

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My family and I are huge on burgers. We had a place in town that always satisfied our burger cravings. Then we tried Jeffrey Adams! It is now our burger- go-to place! The Farmhouse Burgers is amazingly delicious down to the last bite! Oh, and the smoked gouda mac-n-cheese just melts in your mouth! Our server was knowledgeable about the food and had good recommendations on beverages. I highly recommend giving this place a try. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. We visit N.C yearly and come to your restaurant every year

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 10, 2017

While in downtown Winston Salem for business we had a few extra nights free. The concierge at the nearby Kimpton Cardinal Hotel (also excellent hotel and French restaurant) recommended this and another nearby place on 4th Street - a big restaurant area downtown. The other one didn't have anything available and JA did. But pleased with our choice, very good experience. Short safe pleasant stroll from hotel. Nice bar/drink choices. Excellent/unique pot roast nachos appetizer that someone else recommended online. Very good and different. BBQ Pork tenderloin entree was very very good. Hickory grilled chicken salad was good don't plentiful. Recommend if you're in the vicinity.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Never disappoints! Always excellent food and service. A little loud last visit b/c of large group near us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere . The service was excellent and the food was great . No waiting. Able to make reservations which is great

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Busy night and the staff did great with the crowds. Food was delicious!

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great experience. The menu has a good variety and the atmosphere is great. I liked the fact that it was quiet enough to actually be able to have a conversation over dinner. I would highly recommend Jeffrey Adams.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The daily special was shrimp and grits and it was delicious!! Very fresh and flavorful!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Organic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Very good meal! Great service, pleasant server. Will eat there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Always had great service and friendly wait staff. The staff is very accommodating.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service and food were outstanding. Food presentation ad quality were worth the price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always consistent and good service. The food comes out fast and the service is always extra friendly. The food was great.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Groups, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was friendly but very slow. We were successful changing our reservation time at the last minute.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Dinner was really good. Only issue was husband's plate was cold therefore food was cold for him. My seafood risotto was hot, wonderful, and full of seafood. Loved it

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Had a great night sitting at the bar with Heidi! She's phenomenal. The hostess staff was terrific as we had a reservation but decided to sit at the bar instead. I always recommend Jeffrey Adams to friends because I know they will walk away happy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I had read some bad reviews and almost changed my mind about this restaurant. I'm glad I didn't. The food was excellent and perfectly cooked. They were also very accomodating to us as we changed our reservation 3 times.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 25, 2017

1st timer

Great experience

Prompt seating, we had reservations

Food was delish!!

Server was knowledgeable, friendly and very enthusiastic!

Great time!

Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This is a great estaurants for downtown Winston Salem dining. Good steaks, good wine.

Tags: Business Meals, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 24, 2017

My server IDA? was AWESOME. My friends were a little later than I and she just kept checking on me. It was such a VERY nice atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We went for the Big Eats meal so our meal was very reasonable. Food was piping hot and our server was personable. Food was good - not astounding, but good. Restaurant had a nice urban vibe.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Dinner was very good and the service as well. We throughly enjoyed our meal and will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Restaurant was very nice.

Did think that perhaps the background music was a bit loud, but all in all not a bad experience.

Wait staff was very friendly, efficient and food was above average.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great experience! Would recommend to a friend. Food was great. Service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 20, 2017

It was a nice restaurant in a vibrant area. I was visiting from out of town and wanted to go somewhere with a little more scenery and activity. It's a nice area of town, easy and accessible public parking. The food was delivered hot. It was tasty just not exceptional. The wine "by the glass" was not impressive. I wish there had been choices for a higher quality served by the glass. I was disappointed.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Really enjoyed the Big Eat Tuesday special of Beef and Grits, plus local beers on the menu and half off wine on these winter Tuesdays. Great waiter and enjoyed a birthday brownie and ice cream on the house for our friend's birthday. Second floor tables are great for watching an active downtown Winston-Salem scene.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our experience was awful! The Waitress forgot to put in our appetizers and didn't explain or apologize. We ordered hand crafted martinis that taste like dish soap and even when the manager came and got the payment envelopes she never ask how our food was she grabbed them and took off. I was very disappointed with every aspect of our experience and for they're prices they should strive for better better customer service but they don't seem to care! We will never go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This is like a locally owned western sizzling. Not fine dining at all. Food is ok. But not at level of Katherine or Honey Pot by any means. Just spent a week in downtown Winston fined at all of them. Adams is much less pricey.

Tags: Wood Oven, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We were a little disappointed in the service; the waitress (Amy?) seemed almost too busy to wait on us and I would have liked a refill on my ice-tea, but she never came around to ask!! A good waiter/waitress can make all the difference in a restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I've always enjoyed the food and service at Jeffrey Adams. Their steaks are the best! This visit was very loud and the music playing seemed odd for the ambiance. On this visit we had the wild mushroom and artichoke dip, it was great. My daughter had a hamburger with smoked pimento cheese and onion straws. She though the burger was a little dry. The pimento cheese was excellent. My husband and I had petite filets. They were cooked perfect and flavorful. My sides were smoked gouda mac and cheese and mashed sweet potatoes. The mac and cheese was incredible but I thought the mashed sweet potatoes were too sugary. Our server was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We ate here during the Big Eat and got the special which was the 4oz Filet and it was fantastic! Cooked to perfection (med-rare) I subbed the Gouda Mac-n-cheese as a side and it was well worth the up charge. We also got the Wild Mushroom and Artichoke Dip which was outstanding! Plus the wines are half off by the glass on Tuesdays! Perfect double date night with our friends!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, People Watching, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I live in Durham, NC and whenever we want to go somewhere we decide it is time to go to Winston Salem so that we can visit Jeffrey Adams. We love the food and the service. The coffee was excellent as well. We have made it a point to visit every month to month and a half to site see but especially to visit Jeffrey Adams. We know we will get an excellent meal every time we go there for our two day mini vacation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I love the upstairs over looking the city and the atmosphere is romantic feeling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I love this place. The ambiance is great and the food is fantastic. Definitely my favorite place in Winston Salem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good but not great. Will go again mostly because of location near Stevens Center.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I visited this restaurant this past summer. We returned tonight. The restaurant has lost its mojo.

The Food was bad. The Portions were small. The Service was SLOW and inefficient.

Maybe this restaurant can find its way. Right now, the restaurant is lost and riding on their past achievements.

Do yourself a favor, skip this place. There are plenty of restaurants on this street which will serve you faster, in a happier manner, and with larger portions than the paltry amounts you get here.

Skip the seafood too. The table beside us ordered seafood and we could smell it as the server walked by and as it was being consumed. Stinky seafood is so unappetizing.

Our table of six ordered ordered salads, pork, duck, shellfish, and beef. We sent the beef back, there were less than five tiny pieces of steak tips. The duck was poorly prepared, over cooked, and should have been sent back.

The server was friendly. She was slow as you could sense she was overworked. There was nothing about her service which was endearing.

This restaurant could be great, but right now it is less than mediocre.

The coffee was weak and a waste. Skip the coffee.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We are never disappointed with a meal at Jeffrey Adams. A very friendly staff, great service and always a good meal. Perfect for dinner after a movie at a/perture!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Excellent food and service. Top floor has a great view of downtown Winston-Salem.

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Never disappoints except when people insist on intruding on everyone else's dining experience with their inconsolable toddler. The food is superb and the staff is pleasant and eager. I love the subdued casual elegance of the first floor dining room. It's a great place to reunite friends and family or a discreet place afforded by high booths for a rendezvous or to tell your cousin about your new FWB over great food.

Tags: People Watching, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I made this reservation the beginning of October for the second week of December. I was unfamiliar with the restaurant and did not specify to get a certain type of table. Upon arrival, I did ask for a window seat upstairs and was immediately declined (we were 45 minutes early on our reservation so it was only 5:00). Seems the upstairs window seats were reserved and no other option was offered. We ended up at one of two tables at the noisy and crowded bar.

I even called earlier in the week to confirm my reservation. They had plenty of opportunity to see how early I had made these reservations and could have put at us at a better locale in the restaurant.

The service was good but I was very disappointed that this special occasion was overrode by the noise and location of where we were seated. We could not hear each other talk and felt very cramped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Everything was great. Petite filet with egg sunny side up on top with chipotle holandaise served on top of a lobster cake with ratatouille side. Crazy good. Historically have found my way to downtown Winston-Salem once a year for the Nutcracker. This restaurant is reason enough for me to find my way more often.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.