About Jeffrey Adams on Fourth

321 W 4th St
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

From succulent steaks to hearty salads, Jeffrey Adams is your place for a quiet dinner for two to an evening event for a large party. Featuring a wood fired grill and craft cocktails, come see what all of Winston Salem is talking about!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 448-1714

Jeffrey Adams on Fourth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Winston Salem
Best Food
Winston Salem
2 More
Best Value
Winston Salem
Most Booked
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

Special Occasion (37)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
See All
Great for Lunch (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Romantic (14)
Notable Wine List (11)
Scenic View (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
374 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was excellent can't wait to go again. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

It was excellent can't wait to go again. The waitress gave us some great recommendations

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! The salmon salad is deliciou ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great food! The salmon salad is delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly recommend this place! Fantastic s ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Highly recommend this place! Fantastic service, great food, and friendly atmosphere. Mac and cheese is out of this world, fresh salads, good drinks, and good sandwiches. Will return again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience here. The food ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a great experience here. The food was excellent. The staff was friendly and upbeat and the service timely. Our waitress was attentive and a great help with menu and beverage selection. Would definitely go there again and recommend this to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious as always, great food and serv ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Delicious as always, great food and service. We were celebrating our daughter's birthday. Our waiter surprised us with a delicious dessert. A storm kept us at our table longer that planned. Our waiter could not have been nicer about the delay offering to bring us coffee or other beverages.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The reason I gave 3 stars for ambiance , ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The reason I gave 3 stars for ambiance , we were seated at a table right beside of service computer and across from kitchen entrance. Too much traffic, other than that everything else was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We have been here several times, and hav ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We have been here several times, and have always enjoyed our meals and service. However , this time, I was underwhelmed. My entrée, land and sea, was very disappointing. The lobster was three small pieces, and one of my two scallops were over cooked and chewy. The usually excellent seafood risotto was bland compared to other times we have dined here. Hopefully, this was just a bad night in the kitchen. We will go back again and give them another chance

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Very enjoyable dining experience. The fo ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very enjoyable dining experience. The food was a little slow to the table but was made up for with a free dessert which was nice by the waitress to recognize and offer. We'd go again to try more of the menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Great place to eat out when attending pe ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great place to eat out when attending performing arts special events at the Stevens Center. Excellent location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

The crab bisque was the best I've ever h ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The crab bisque was the best I've ever had. Salad perfectly fresh & delicious. Service warm, attentive & cheerful. I especially loved being able to order an entrée appropriate to my size. My sister & I ordered different levels of "doneness" and both dishes arrived at the same time and cooked as requested. We loved it & will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good and nice location bein ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was good and nice location being right downtown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Jeffrey Adams is perfect for a date nigh ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Jeffrey Adams is perfect for a date night. They serve stellar food and the service is wonderful. I called ahead for reservations and they were able to seat is upstairs (wonderful atmosphere with great views of downtown Winston). Can't wait to go back! (I had the Ahi Tuna which was amazing).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The steak was a special and was amazing ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The steak was a special and was amazing definitely would order it again. The view from second floor is nice looking over one of the busiest intersections of downtown Winston and the atmosphere is sophisticated and simple. The service was alright they were on top of everything but the waiter talked a lot and it was a bit too much in my opinion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Jeffery Adams was just a GOOD restaurant ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Jeffery Adams was just a GOOD restaurant. Our waiter was new to the business--needed to be better trained-timing of drink and food .

My wife' s ribeye was perfect-Pittsburg rare. My NY Strip was overlooked-- but was replaced with a better cooked steak with no hassle but slow. Wedge salad was superb. They did give us a very nice "Comp" desert because of my overdone steak. Staff was friendly, but missed that we had made are derivation--Stated twice to hostess.

Overall an GOOD evening out.

DanSchwalbe

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Honored our reservations on time and the ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Honored our reservations on time and the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. Great dishes offered and the presentation was fitting. Ate on second floor which offered a good view of the street scene below.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of our favorite Friday night dinner ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

One of our favorite Friday night dinner spots! Awesome service and an enjoyable evening sitting outside. Highly recommend Jeffrey Adams .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The toasted Brie and Grilled Chicken san ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The toasted Brie and Grilled Chicken sandwich is not worth ordering.... At all....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The prime rib and seafood risotto were f ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The prime rib and seafood risotto were fabulous. We were seated in the bar which didn't have a view, that was disappointing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The hostess and waitstaff were cordial, ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The hostess and waitstaff were cordial, and exhibited the utmost level of professionalism. The food and wine menus could be expanded, as there are not many options. Also, call ahead if you have ay food sensitivities or special diets. The menu is posted online, however, there are no allergen warnings.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

2nd visit to Jeffery-Adams. Both outstan ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

2nd visit to Jeffery-Adams. Both outstanding experiences. We sat outside and enjoyed to view and people. Food was outstanding and fresh with a great presentation. Staff was personable and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

My wife and I were told about the restau ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My wife and I were told about the restaurant so we read about it on line. We tried the scallops thought they were great. We also had the beet salad which was good but needed more beets. My entree was the sushi tuna which eat often. I give it an excellent. My wife had the mushroom entree. Not recommended. Overall we enjoyed it and will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food and service. I am not a steak ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food and service. I am not a steak eater but it was the best I have had. You could eat and enjoy conversation. Noise level was low which is great when enjoying a meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the diverse and creative menu. D ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Enjoyed the diverse and creative menu. Drinks were a little disappointing. Bar was overwhelmed on a Friday night. Overall looking forward to going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always very good food and good service. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always very good food and good service. A nice place to eat before going to Hanesbrands Theatre or downtown evening events. Good variety menu and good wine list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great restaurant, great service, great f ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great restaurant, great service, great food! Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although the food was very good, we were ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Although the food was very good, we were disappointed in the location we were seated. We made a reservation, but when we arrived we were seated in the basement. This was not what we expected and did not really like the ambiance. It would have been nice to have been given the opportunity to wait for a better table. We were a little early so that would not have been a problem. Our waiter was good though, he did come check on us periodically. We would like to return, but will definitely ask for better seating.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Not bad but disappointing

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The menu looked great and the restaurant was an interesting corner location in downtown, but I was disappointed in the result. My dish (beef-n-grits) was bland and my wife's (seafood risotto) was overly rich. The disappointing meal made the bill a bit painful to pay. I hope my experience was a aberration, but I'll probably try another restaurant next time I am in Winston-Salem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Scallops and Mediterranean chicken were ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Scallops and Mediterranean chicken were fabulous. Make sure you ask for the warm bread and butter! One of the best meals I've had in awhile. Great service, great atmosphere. Will definitely be dining again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I went for our anniversary. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My wife and I went for our anniversary. The food was excellent and our service was impeccable. Thanks for a wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wait staff was slow and order was no ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The wait staff was slow and order was not correct when we recieved the food. My boyfriend asked for bacon and cheese on his sirloin and it was not put on and then when it was send back there was no apology.

My steak was ordered medium well it was medium to say the least sent it back when I got it back it was over well done. No manager came to talk to us about the meal. the side items were awesome but wait staff service ery slow and resturant was not that busy

Loved the view. Nice resturant. Smoke Gouda Mac the best and the ratitoulle was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Not a lengthy menu but good variety. Be ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Not a lengthy menu but good variety. Been twice and food has always been well prepared. Great flavor -chef uses spices well, to accent and not overpowering. Some excellent wines and a variety of innovative cocktails.

Seating upstairs, downstairs and outside. Booths, high & low tables. Separate bars up & down. Cozy fireplace on ground for cold evenings and romance; outdoor seating in heart of downtown for more informal. Not quite and candlelight, but fine dining & relaxed atmosphere. Top notch food, funky ambiance and FANTASTIC service - professional but friendly. Not cheap but not outrageous prices and you get what you pay for quality-wise.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

High Expectations

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My experience was disappointing. My wife and I were celebrating our Birthdays with a night out expecting a fine dining experience. This is not want we experienced at Jeffery Adams. We are foodies and I am a Chef with 25 years experience in the food industry. The atmosphere was less than inspiring. We were sat in the bar area due to the lack of overall real estate. The restaurant dining area is small. We did make reservations a couple of days in advance. We had a rookie waiter who was very nice but struggled throughout the process from beginning to end. I still tipped 20% and wish him luck encouraging him to keep "working at it" as the mechanics would get easier with proper training.

The risotto was starchy and heavy with too much gouda cheese. I would not recommend this place since there are too many other better experiences to spend good money on. Sorry Jeffery Adams we wont be returning anytime soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Great food, great service

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

I rarely go into Winston Salem so this was a nice find. Trendy with great food and awesome service, this is a funky place downtown worth visiting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit and we will ret ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

This was our first visit and we will return. Food was favorites with unique variations and twists with attentive service. We like the décor as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate outside which was nice but noisy. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We ate outside which was nice but noisy. My only disappointment was that their menu on line did not match the menu when we got there. Our lunch menu was more limited but the food and service were both good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We dined here for Mother's Day. The wait staff was very attentive and the food was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak is fabulous

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The steak is always cooked perfect here, love the filet especially with mushrooms and onions on top. And the Gouda Mac N Cheese is to die for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding location. Food was awesome ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Outstanding location. Food was awesome and staff was extremely helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Asked for our table to be ch ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food! Asked for our table to be changed from one near the kitchen door

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Good menu. Food was very good including ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Good menu. Food was very good including my perfectly cooked ribeye. Service was good. I wasn't too happy with them stuffing us upstairs in the worst location despite several open reservations on OpenTable. Also, I will say it again...what is with the cheap tinny ceiling speakers playing bad 80's music? This restaurant does a very good job in many ways and then handicaps itself and the mood/atmosphere with bad quality music. Take the old Klipches out of the attic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.