Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Jeffrey Adams on Fourth

From succulent steaks to hearty salads, Jeffrey Adams is your place for a quiet dinner for two to an evening event for a large party. Featuring a wood fired grill and craft cocktails, come see what all of Winston Salem is talking about!

321 W 4th St
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 448-1714

Jeffrey Adams on Fourth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (36)
Special Occasion (22)
Good for Birthdays (19)
See All
Business Meals (17)
Casual (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Romantic (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Cozy (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Bar Seating (9)
People Watching (8)
Fun (8)
Healthy (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Great Beer (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Scenic View (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Historic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Authentic (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
538 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

The steak (ribeye) was not good quality and was cooked incorrectly twice (first overcooked, then undercooked). No compensation was offered or provided.

A waitress who was not our server dropped two glasses of wine at our table of four and when we told her we didn't order wine, she stated that our server "wanted us to have them". When our server came around and we mentioned the wine he thanked us, picked up the wine and dropped at the table next to us. No fresh glasses, just off of one table to the next with no way of knowing if we'd drank any or not.

Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service were well above average for casual dining. We were only in town for the evening. If we were local, this would be a regular haunt.
Be sure to try the cheesecake. It's made onsite and offerings vary. The night we dinned they featured banana pudding cheesecake - simply OUTSTANDING! Even my husband, who's not a big cheesecake fan, couldn't resist.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Food presentation was very good, and it was very delectable.

Service was excellent except for initi attempt by hostess to put us in the darkest corner of the restaurant. That felt discriminatory .

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was excellent, once it came, but we did have a very long wait after we put in our order. Our waitress was cheerful and helpful, however, and steered me away from a potentially bad choice from the menu.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We went there for our first wedding anniversary and it was amazing! The food was to die for - we each ordered something different and shared because there were so many good choices. The seafood risotto was delicious and the beef tenderloin melted in your mouth. We are definitely going to be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Terrible service from Katarina, had trouble getting the order right (three meals were identical with a change of sides) and messed up the side on the fourth meal. The kitchen couldn't deliver the meals at the same time (there was only four of us).
Five people had to work on our final bill because we used gift cards. Then they couldn't credit the entire amount of the gift card for whatever reason.
Not that this restaurant will care but I have crossed them off my list and my wife works at Wake Forest and will not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Very friendly restaurant. All 3 of us with very diverse tastes enjoyed our meals, my spouse especially enjoyed his portobello mushroom dish.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, People Watching, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Consistent! Never disappointed! Amazing food and drinks! Great service! Never a long wait surprisingly!

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The people were very nice. Some of the people were very loud, and didn't let the luxury restaurant speak for it self

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We had a great experience and a very good meal. Everything was excellent!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My friends and I meet for the wine festival at least every other year. This is our favorite place and the seafood rissoto is to die for! We look forward to coming the most for that.
Thank you for the great service and spectacular food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very good, great service and great atmosphere

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food, excellent service, great ambiance, nice downtown location,convenient parking. Definitely one of our favorites. Great Salmon and Seafood Risotto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food and service was great. Had the snapper special and it was very flavorful. Cool upstairs/downstairs seating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2017

First, let me say in defense of the restaurant, we dined there on prom night/NC School of Arts graduation night, so the restaurant was jammed. One Open Table reviewer suggested getting a table upstairs, but to me, the upstairs area feels like a separate restaurant and I would avoid it. After a bit of jockeying, we were able to secure a booth on the first level. This was good, because we had a view outside through the windows as well as a nice view of the red brick interior walls and the changing art.

Once seated in the right area, we had great service and a good meal. The food was well prepared and plentiful and the wine list nicely priced with good selections.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Would come back over and over again. The food never disappoints. The chef is spectacular. The food is creative and delicious enough for foodies. It's a well rounded gem.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Had a wonderful meal on a regular Tuesday evening associated with Hope d'Jour. The meal was as good as one can get. Very appreciative of the efforts of the culinary staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The service was great. We enjoyed the craft martini's , seating is available inside or outside or upstairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Went for prom and it was really good. Got our food fast and never ran out of drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This was the second time I have been to Jeffrey Adams. I was taking some friends out for dinner and we had a really good time. The food and service were very good. I had the pumpkin ravioli with curry and it was prepared very well nice curry in the sauce.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We enjoyed an absolutely wonderful dinner, great service and great food. Dining is always a pleasurable experience at Jeffrey Adams.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Fun night on the town to have dinner and attend a local music concert with another couple. Everything was great, service, seating, etc. but the steaks that two of us ordering . The bacon-wrapped steak with shrimp was the special of the night. The four medium sized shrimp were OK but the steaks were cooked over medium as ordered with absolutely NO TASTE. I was disappointed since I recommend the restaurant to the other couple for their first time there.
We may go back but never a steak again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Casual, Fun, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Never disappointed, Love the Salmon, love the Arugula and fried goat cheese salad!!!
Brussell sprouts are the best!! My favorite place in Down Town Winston Salem!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 16, 2017

From Greensboro and made the special trip on Easter for dinner with my partner. Food is always great there. Made a reservation, but none was needed as they were not busy. Sat upstairs as we asked to but they tried to seat us at a high top then a table without a view....There was no one up there so we could have had the pick of any table. So we asked again to sit at a window table which the manager/host agreed. The waitress was VERY snarky about the whole thing telling us why we couldn't sit at the table we wanted...blah blah blah... REALLY! There were only two other couples up there. Her service was not very personable and we were always waiting for either drinks orders or refills. Not sure of her name but she was middle-eastern and not nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Nice atmosphere, good service and good menu. Although, I was disappointed with the Surf and Turf dish. The lobster was just a few very small pieces. Don't expect a lobster tail or even half as much. I will say the steak was great and cooked as I ordered. All meals tasted really good. I would go back, even though I was disappointed with the lobster portion.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food is always wonderful, service is stellar. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Wonderful experience

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Really good experience. Had filet and salmon/crab with Brussels sprouts and mashed sweet potatoes. Couldn't have been better! Our waiter John was great. We had reservations (Sat. Nite) and were seated promptly. Would recommend Jeffrey Adams and if in Winston Salem again will certainly be repeat diners.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was excellent. We enjoyed the pumpkin ravioli and the Land & Sea entrees. This was for a date night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Amazing food and experience!! So glad my parents' first time downtown was here!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Lovely quiet second floor. Pumpkin ravioli dish was spectacular!! Kraken cocktail was awesome. Beautiful views of fourth street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 4, 2017

As always Jeffrey Adams didn't disappoint! Excellent food ;wonderful, but not hovering, service; and a warm atmosphere! Our favorite downtown restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Loved my experience -- two nights in a row! Salmon salad was delicious.

Tags: Great Beer, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Tasty, innovative menu that was just a fun place to share dinner with others on a fun Sunday.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Over all 9.9 out of 10. Service was perfect. The food to die for. Portions were sizable. It's been quite a while since I've had such a near perfect dining experience. From the moment we walked in until we left, the evening was flawless.
The one negative note was that we place a to go order and it was less than fine. It was a wrap and we asked for no bacon, repeatedly. But it was full of bacon. Also got a side of fruit and a side of fries. Was charged for both but got neither.
So the dining experience is probably the best in Winston Salem, just don't order a to go meals.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Delicious Food, drinks, and a great value, for locally grown and produced cuisine. This place is my new favorite!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Good food and service, mixed group of people from jeans and ball caps to jacket with tie. Good variety of wines, seemed to have range of cocktails but not tried. Reasonably quick, made waitress know we had something else and were limited in time so was able to get out on time.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 24, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants when we travel to Winston Salem. The food is great and priced right. We love to sit upstairs and always have the best service. Bill, our servicer was exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We had made a reservation at 7:15 pm for our anniversary, and upon arriving only had a very short wait, maybe a minute. We were saying upstairs next to a window with a great view of the busy Friday night streets, perfect for people watching. We ordered drinks from the bar and an appetizer for starters. Our waiter was Sean, and he was fantastic. Always there when we needed something, but never hovering. For our main entrees I had the filet topped with lobster, and it was perfect. My wife enjoyed the beef and grits, and OMG the mushroom bacon gravy is heavenly. For dessert we shared a piece of house made cheesecake. Very tasty, but not quite the texture we're use to in a traditional cheesecake. More cake-like than creamy, but good nevertheless. Overall this was a wonderful dining experience, and we'll likely return on a future trip. Thanks Sean!

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.