About Jeffrey Adams on Fourth

321 W 4th St
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

From succulent steaks to hearty salads, Jeffrey Adams is your place for a quiet dinner for two to an evening event for a large party. Featuring a wood fired grill and craft cocktails, come see what all of Winston Salem is talking about!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 448-1714

Jeffrey Adams on Fourth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Winston Salem
Best Food
Winston Salem
3 More
Fit for Foodies
Winston Salem
Special Occasion
Winston Salem
Most Booked
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

Special Occasion (32)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for Groups (20)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Romantic (12)
Hot Spot (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Scenic View (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Healthy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Cozy (3)
Casual (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fun (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Authentic (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Historic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
386 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were very very pleased with this rest ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were very very pleased with this restaurant , particularly the quality of the food for the price! It was a great value! Our server was very attentive to our needs. My martini was really different and very tasty! All four of us enjoyed our entrees. We will definitely go there again!

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Authentic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot to sit outside with great foo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great spot to sit outside with great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Service and the meals were exc ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Excellent Service and the meals were exceptional. We felt welcomed from the moment we stepped through the doors. Our waiter was attentive and very professional. The meals were perfectly prepared.

My wife and I plan to come back soon and highly recommend Jeffrey Adams on Fourth!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food & atmosphere! Staff is super ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great food & atmosphere! Staff is super friendly...never had a bad meal there and have tried most everything on their menu.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jeffrey Adams is one of my favorite down ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Jeffrey Adams is one of my favorite downtown restaurants. Great food with reasonable prices

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food!! We were in town for an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Delicious food!! We were in town for an overnight and this was recommended to us by local folks!

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited on a quiet Monday night (and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We visited on a quiet Monday night (and a holiday, to boot) so the restaurant wasn't very busy. Good for us, we love a quieter environment where we can hold a conversation. Martinis were quite good, nice wine (our hostess, Ida, was incredibly helpful and even recommended a wine we had never tried - it was delicious). Dinner was good, they had to reheat my tomato soup (and it was too cheesy for my taste), but my pasta was perfect and my husband's steak was just as her ordered it. We would definitely return when visiting the area in future. We suspect it may very well be the best restaurant in the vicinity.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a pleasure. Food was excellent, ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Always a pleasure. Food was excellent, but some of the elements of the meal were lacking in attention to detail (wrong side, dressing not on the side, etc). Hostess and server were both friendly and bubbly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Lovely restaurant in great location. Exc ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Lovely restaurant in great location. Excellent friendly staff. The food was delicious. I would recommend to all my friends for any occasion.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere of the restaurant was gre ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The atmosphere of the restaurant was great! There was also a great and affordable selection of wine. I do wish our waiter was more knowledgeable with the menu; he was not able to answer our questions, nor did he try to find out. The appetizers (fried green tomatoes, crab dip) were delicious but, the main entree (grilled salmon with brussel sprouts and mashed potatoes) was somewhat lacking. I would return to this restaurant for a before or after dinner cocktail, but would choose to actually dine in other restaurants in the area that offer better service and food.

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

My wife and I decided to go out for dinn ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

My wife and I decided to go out for dinner at the last minute and Jeffrey's was a place we wanted to try out. I pulled up the restaurant info on Google Maps to locate and to get contact info to see if we needed a reservation. There was a link included to make a reservation thru OpenTable, so I picked it and got immediate confirmation. That's awesome.

We arrived and they were ready to seat us...also awesome. We were seated right by the 2nd story window (good), but also right across from the kitchen door (not so good) so it was little loud at times.

Our waiter, Charles, was very nice and attentive. The food was great as well, though $$$. Our dinner for two, with tip, was just over $100.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

It was excellent can't wait to go again. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

It was excellent can't wait to go again. The waitress gave us some great recommendations

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! The salmon salad is deliciou ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great food! The salmon salad is delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly recommend this place! Fantastic s ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Highly recommend this place! Fantastic service, great food, and friendly atmosphere. Mac and cheese is out of this world, fresh salads, good drinks, and good sandwiches. Will return again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant food delicious and ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Love this restaurant food delicious and the service is great! One of our favorites when we visit our son!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great experience here. The food ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a great experience here. The food was excellent. The staff was friendly and upbeat and the service timely. Our waitress was attentive and a great help with menu and beverage selection. Would definitely go there again and recommend this to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious as always, great food and serv ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Delicious as always, great food and service. We were celebrating our daughter's birthday. Our waiter surprised us with a delicious dessert. A storm kept us at our table longer that planned. Our waiter could not have been nicer about the delay offering to bring us coffee or other beverages.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The reason I gave 3 stars for ambiance , ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The reason I gave 3 stars for ambiance , we were seated at a table right beside of service computer and across from kitchen entrance. Too much traffic, other than that everything else was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We have been here several times, and hav ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We have been here several times, and have always enjoyed our meals and service. However , this time, I was underwhelmed. My entrée, land and sea, was very disappointing. The lobster was three small pieces, and one of my two scallops were over cooked and chewy. The usually excellent seafood risotto was bland compared to other times we have dined here. Hopefully, this was just a bad night in the kitchen. We will go back again and give them another chance

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Very enjoyable dining experience. The fo ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very enjoyable dining experience. The food was a little slow to the table but was made up for with a free dessert which was nice by the waitress to recognize and offer. We'd go again to try more of the menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Great place to eat out when attending pe ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great place to eat out when attending performing arts special events at the Stevens Center. Excellent location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

The crab bisque was the best I've ever h ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The crab bisque was the best I've ever had. Salad perfectly fresh & delicious. Service warm, attentive & cheerful. I especially loved being able to order an entrée appropriate to my size. My sister & I ordered different levels of "doneness" and both dishes arrived at the same time and cooked as requested. We loved it & will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good and nice location bein ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was good and nice location being right downtown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Jeffrey Adams is perfect for a date nigh ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Jeffrey Adams is perfect for a date night. They serve stellar food and the service is wonderful. I called ahead for reservations and they were able to seat is upstairs (wonderful atmosphere with great views of downtown Winston). Can't wait to go back! (I had the Ahi Tuna which was amazing).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The steak was a special and was amazing ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The steak was a special and was amazing definitely would order it again. The view from second floor is nice looking over one of the busiest intersections of downtown Winston and the atmosphere is sophisticated and simple. The service was alright they were on top of everything but the waiter talked a lot and it was a bit too much in my opinion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Jeffery Adams was just a GOOD restaurant ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Jeffery Adams was just a GOOD restaurant. Our waiter was new to the business--needed to be better trained-timing of drink and food .

My wife' s ribeye was perfect-Pittsburg rare. My NY Strip was overlooked-- but was replaced with a better cooked steak with no hassle but slow. Wedge salad was superb. They did give us a very nice "Comp" desert because of my overdone steak. Staff was friendly, but missed that we had made are derivation--Stated twice to hostess.

Overall an GOOD evening out.

DanSchwalbe

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Honored our reservations on time and the ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Honored our reservations on time and the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. Great dishes offered and the presentation was fitting. Ate on second floor which offered a good view of the street scene below.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of our favorite Friday night dinner ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

One of our favorite Friday night dinner spots! Awesome service and an enjoyable evening sitting outside. Highly recommend Jeffrey Adams .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The toasted Brie and Grilled Chicken san ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The toasted Brie and Grilled Chicken sandwich is not worth ordering.... At all....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The prime rib and seafood risotto were f ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The prime rib and seafood risotto were fabulous. We were seated in the bar which didn't have a view, that was disappointing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The hostess and waitstaff were cordial, ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The hostess and waitstaff were cordial, and exhibited the utmost level of professionalism. The food and wine menus could be expanded, as there are not many options. Also, call ahead if you have ay food sensitivities or special diets. The menu is posted online, however, there are no allergen warnings.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

2nd visit to Jeffery-Adams. Both outstan ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

2nd visit to Jeffery-Adams. Both outstanding experiences. We sat outside and enjoyed to view and people. Food was outstanding and fresh with a great presentation. Staff was personable and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

My wife and I were told about the restau ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My wife and I were told about the restaurant so we read about it on line. We tried the scallops thought they were great. We also had the beet salad which was good but needed more beets. My entree was the sushi tuna which eat often. I give it an excellent. My wife had the mushroom entree. Not recommended. Overall we enjoyed it and will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food and service. I am not a steak ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food and service. I am not a steak eater but it was the best I have had. You could eat and enjoy conversation. Noise level was low which is great when enjoying a meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the diverse and creative menu. D ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Enjoyed the diverse and creative menu. Drinks were a little disappointing. Bar was overwhelmed on a Friday night. Overall looking forward to going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always very good food and good service. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always very good food and good service. A nice place to eat before going to Hanesbrands Theatre or downtown evening events. Good variety menu and good wine list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great restaurant, great service, great f ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great restaurant, great service, great food! Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although the food was very good, we were ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Although the food was very good, we were disappointed in the location we were seated. We made a reservation, but when we arrived we were seated in the basement. This was not what we expected and did not really like the ambiance. It would have been nice to have been given the opportunity to wait for a better table. We were a little early so that would not have been a problem. Our waiter was good though, he did come check on us periodically. We would like to return, but will definitely ask for better seating.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Not bad but disappointing

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The menu looked great and the restaurant was an interesting corner location in downtown, but I was disappointed in the result. My dish (beef-n-grits) was bland and my wife's (seafood risotto) was overly rich. The disappointing meal made the bill a bit painful to pay. I hope my experience was a aberration, but I'll probably try another restaurant next time I am in Winston-Salem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Scallops and Mediterranean chicken were ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Scallops and Mediterranean chicken were fabulous. Make sure you ask for the warm bread and butter! One of the best meals I've had in awhile. Great service, great atmosphere. Will definitely be dining again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.