About Jeffrey Adams on Fourth

321 W 4th St
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

From succulent steaks to hearty salads, Jeffrey Adams is your place for a quiet dinner for two to an evening event for a large party. Featuring a wood fired grill and craft cocktails, come see what all of Winston Salem is talking about!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 448-1714

Jeffrey Adams on Fourth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Winston Salem
Best Food
Winston Salem
2 More
Best Value
Winston Salem
Most Booked
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

special occasion (35)
fit for foodies (28)
good for groups (27)
See All
great for lunch (25)
neighborhood gem (23)
hot spot (10)
vibrant bar scene (10)
great for brunch (10)
romantic (9)
scenic view (9)
notable wine list (7)
late-night find (6)
great for outdoor dining (6)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
362 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The steak was a special and was amazing ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The steak was a special and was amazing definitely would order it again. The view from second floor is nice looking over one of the busiest intersections of downtown Winston and the atmosphere is sophisticated and simple. The service was alright they were on top of everything but the waiter talked a lot and it was a bit too much in my opinion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Jeffery Adams was just a GOOD restaurant ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Jeffery Adams was just a GOOD restaurant. Our waiter was new to the business--needed to be better trained-timing of drink and food .

My wife' s ribeye was perfect-Pittsburg rare. My NY Strip was overlooked-- but was replaced with a better cooked steak with no hassle but slow. Wedge salad was superb. They did give us a very nice "Comp" desert because of my overdone steak. Staff was friendly, but missed that we had made are derivation--Stated twice to hostess.

Overall an GOOD evening out.

DanSchwalbe

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Honored our reservations on time and the ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Honored our reservations on time and the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. Great dishes offered and the presentation was fitting. Ate on second floor which offered a good view of the street scene below.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of our favorite Friday night dinner ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

One of our favorite Friday night dinner spots! Awesome service and an enjoyable evening sitting outside. Highly recommend Jeffrey Adams .

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The toasted Brie and Grilled Chicken san ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The toasted Brie and Grilled Chicken sandwich is not worth ordering.... At all....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The prime rib and seafood risotto were f ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The prime rib and seafood risotto were fabulous. We were seated in the bar which didn't have a view, that was disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The hostess and waitstaff were cordial, ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The hostess and waitstaff were cordial, and exhibited the utmost level of professionalism. The food and wine menus could be expanded, as there are not many options. Also, call ahead if you have ay food sensitivities or special diets. The menu is posted online, however, there are no allergen warnings.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

2nd visit to Jeffery-Adams. Both outstan ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

2nd visit to Jeffery-Adams. Both outstanding experiences. We sat outside and enjoyed to view and people. Food was outstanding and fresh with a great presentation. Staff was personable and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

My wife and I were told about the restau ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My wife and I were told about the restaurant so we read about it on line. We tried the scallops thought they were great. We also had the beet salad which was good but needed more beets. My entree was the sushi tuna which eat often. I give it an excellent. My wife had the mushroom entree. Not recommended. Overall we enjoyed it and will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food and service. I am not a steak ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food and service. I am not a steak eater but it was the best I have had. You could eat and enjoy conversation. Noise level was low which is great when enjoying a meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the diverse and creative menu. D ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Enjoyed the diverse and creative menu. Drinks were a little disappointing. Bar was overwhelmed on a Friday night. Overall looking forward to going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always very good food and good service. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always very good food and good service. A nice place to eat before going to Hanesbrands Theatre or downtown evening events. Good variety menu and good wine list.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great restaurant, great service, great f ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great restaurant, great service, great food! Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although the food was very good, we were ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Although the food was very good, we were disappointed in the location we were seated. We made a reservation, but when we arrived we were seated in the basement. This was not what we expected and did not really like the ambiance. It would have been nice to have been given the opportunity to wait for a better table. We were a little early so that would not have been a problem. Our waiter was good though, he did come check on us periodically. We would like to return, but will definitely ask for better seating.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Not bad but disappointing

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The menu looked great and the restaurant was an interesting corner location in downtown, but I was disappointed in the result. My dish (beef-n-grits) was bland and my wife's (seafood risotto) was overly rich. The disappointing meal made the bill a bit painful to pay. I hope my experience was a aberration, but I'll probably try another restaurant next time I am in Winston-Salem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Scallops and Mediterranean chicken were ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Scallops and Mediterranean chicken were fabulous. Make sure you ask for the warm bread and butter! One of the best meals I've had in awhile. Great service, great atmosphere. Will definitely be dining again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I went for our anniversary. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My wife and I went for our anniversary. The food was excellent and our service was impeccable. Thanks for a wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wait staff was slow and order was no ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The wait staff was slow and order was not correct when we recieved the food. My boyfriend asked for bacon and cheese on his sirloin and it was not put on and then when it was send back there was no apology.

My steak was ordered medium well it was medium to say the least sent it back when I got it back it was over well done. No manager came to talk to us about the meal. the side items were awesome but wait staff service ery slow and resturant was not that busy

Loved the view. Nice resturant. Smoke Gouda Mac the best and the ratitoulle was great.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Not a lengthy menu but good variety. Be ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Not a lengthy menu but good variety. Been twice and food has always been well prepared. Great flavor -chef uses spices well, to accent and not overpowering. Some excellent wines and a variety of innovative cocktails.

Seating upstairs, downstairs and outside. Booths, high & low tables. Separate bars up & down. Cozy fireplace on ground for cold evenings and romance; outdoor seating in heart of downtown for more informal. Not quite and candlelight, but fine dining & relaxed atmosphere. Top notch food, funky ambiance and FANTASTIC service - professional but friendly. Not cheap but not outrageous prices and you get what you pay for quality-wise.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

High Expectations

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My experience was disappointing. My wife and I were celebrating our Birthdays with a night out expecting a fine dining experience. This is not want we experienced at Jeffery Adams. We are foodies and I am a Chef with 25 years experience in the food industry. The atmosphere was less than inspiring. We were sat in the bar area due to the lack of overall real estate. The restaurant dining area is small. We did make reservations a couple of days in advance. We had a rookie waiter who was very nice but struggled throughout the process from beginning to end. I still tipped 20% and wish him luck encouraging him to keep "working at it" as the mechanics would get easier with proper training.

The risotto was starchy and heavy with too much gouda cheese. I would not recommend this place since there are too many other better experiences to spend good money on. Sorry Jeffery Adams we wont be returning anytime soon.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Great food, great service

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

I rarely go into Winston Salem so this was a nice find. Trendy with great food and awesome service, this is a funky place downtown worth visiting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit and we will ret ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

This was our first visit and we will return. Food was favorites with unique variations and twists with attentive service. We like the décor as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate outside which was nice but noisy. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We ate outside which was nice but noisy. My only disappointment was that their menu on line did not match the menu when we got there. Our lunch menu was more limited but the food and service were both good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We dined here for Mother's Day. The wait staff was very attentive and the food was outstanding.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak is fabulous

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The steak is always cooked perfect here, love the filet especially with mushrooms and onions on top. And the Gouda Mac N Cheese is to die for.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding location. Food was awesome ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Outstanding location. Food was awesome and staff was extremely helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Asked for our table to be ch ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food! Asked for our table to be changed from one near the kitchen door

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Good menu. Food was very good including ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Good menu. Food was very good including my perfectly cooked ribeye. Service was good. I wasn't too happy with them stuffing us upstairs in the worst location despite several open reservations on OpenTable. Also, I will say it again...what is with the cheap tinny ceiling speakers playing bad 80's music? This restaurant does a very good job in many ways and then handicaps itself and the mood/atmosphere with bad quality music. Take the old Klipches out of the attic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Good food. OK service.

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Early dinner before theatre. Easy in and out. Food was good. Nice menu. Service was average.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Pleasant experience in downtown WS. Had ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Pleasant experience in downtown WS. Had beef tenderloin and grits. Well prepared. Good selection of craft beer drafts.

Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice find in downtown W-S

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We met friends here for dinner. Our upstairs table gave us a nice view of all the activity on Fourth Street below. The draft beer list was good. Our waiter was excellent. The food selection & quality were excellent as well. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had another fabulous meal. Everyone ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

We had another fabulous meal. Everyone loved what they ate. A great way to celebrate my daughters 21st birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous dinner! We ate every bite! You ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Fabulous dinner! We ate every bite! You're brussel sprouts are phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had reservations but were disappointe ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We had reservations but were disappointed that our table was by the kitchen door in a back corner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Excellent service and great food

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

Excellent service and great food! Suggestions offered by our waiter for the dining options was great.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The food was excellent, as was the service! We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!! Our server was very attentiv ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Loved it!! Our server was very attentive! Definitely going back for more!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner For Two, Along with a Promposal

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

The food there was very delicious. I have to say that their Downtown Burger is my new favorite burger ever! My date had a Hickory Chicken Wrap which she also valued a lot. I had a special request of writing "Prom?" on a creme brulee for my date which they fulfilled which made the service even better. Loved the vibes and energy, definitely returning here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Seafood Risotto was Amazing

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Normally you get a few shrimp or scallops in seafood risotto but it was different here. Lobster, shrimp and scallops were in a delightfully seasoned risotto and the cranberry sangria was terrific too!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious food, great atmosphere and won ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Delicious food, great atmosphere and wonderful service! We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.