About Jeffrey Adams on Fourth

321 W 4th St
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

From succulent steaks to hearty salads, Jeffrey Adams is your place for a quiet dinner for two to an evening event for a large party. Featuring a wood fired grill and craft cocktails, come see what all of Winston Salem is talking about!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 448-1714

Jeffrey Adams on Fourth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Winston Salem
Best Food
Winston Salem
5 More
Best Service
Winston Salem
Best Ambiance
Winston Salem
Best Value
Winston Salem
Special Occasion
Winston Salem
Most Booked
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

Special Occasion (23)
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Birthdays (19)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Casual (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Business Meals (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Romantic (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Cozy (9)
Fun (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Healthy (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Authentic (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Seasonal (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Lunch (3)
Historic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
409 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

In the heart of the downtown revival but ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

In the heart of the downtown revival but convenient to a parking deck, this restaurant is a destination by itself for excellent locally sourced food, thoughtfully prepared and proffered by a vigilant staff. Weekend brunches, lunches or dinners have never disappointed. Casual, but you won't feel out of place dressing up.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fast service. Excellent food. Friendly s ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Fast service. Excellent food. Friendly staff. Good location.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every part of the meal was executed perf ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 7 days ago

Every part of the meal was executed perfectly. My wife and I had the Land & Sea, and everything was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seafood risotto was our favorite dis ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The seafood risotto was our favorite dish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our first time to this restaurant - the ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our first time to this restaurant - the atmosphere was warm and inviting and it was relatively quiet. The food was well prepared and the menu offered a variety of options. The wine list was a little limiting but we were able to find something to our liking. We will return.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I arrived on time for the reservation. T ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I arrived on time for the reservation. The hostess said she was waiting on another hostess to seat us upstairs. 5 minutes later she showed to seat us. She never acknowledged our presence.

My grouper dish(special) was fantastic. My son's NY strip was loaded with fat; as much fat as meat he ate. He did say it was tender but no overly flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food and service; however, it was ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great food and service; however, it was a little noisy when we entered but seemed to calm down after a while. The candle on our table did not work. <-- such a small thing, but big on an evening out on the town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful dinner here on Saturd ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner here on Saturday evening. We were in from out of town and Jeffrey Adams on Fourth was recommended to us by several folks. The service was not great, but the food was fantastic. We'll defiantly be back the next time we are in Winston-Salem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We loved our double date at Jeffrey Adam ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We loved our double date at Jeffrey Adams. We will certainly be back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such personable service with some of the ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Such personable service with some of the best food I've ever tasted.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and we appreciate ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was delicious and we appreciated the recommendations from our waitress. I highly recommend the pot roast nachos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the moment we sat down everything w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2016

From the moment we sat down everything was perfect. After a long day at the High Point Furniture Market, our waiter James greeted us with a smile and energy that set the tone for our perfect evening. Drinks were amazing (cucumber cosmo) followed by one of the best meals I've had in 8 years coming to Market.

From appetizers to dessert...A ++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Out of the pumpkin ravioli at 7:30 pm. S ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Out of the pumpkin ravioli at 7:30 pm. Same thing happened the last time we were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

First time going there, food was amazing ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

First time going there, food was amazing, atmosphere was great, service was awesome! Definitely a must try!

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Casual, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Live Sports, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome meal as always! Thank you for y ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Awesome meal as always! Thank you for your willingness to work with picky eating habits and diets.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We ate there before the symphony. A perf ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We ate there before the symphony. A perfect location and excellent food and service!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sunday lunch selections a bit ho hum but ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Sunday lunch selections a bit ho hum but the quality of food was good.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Everything was pretty good, the only thi ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Everything was pretty good, the only thing was we were set at a table that was wobbly

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We went to this restaurant while at Fami ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We went to this restaurant while at Family Weekend at WFU. Our freshman daughter had heard that it had good steaks and she really wanted to try it so we went for an early dinner before the football game on Saturday. We were able to get a 5:15 reservation. We were seated at a table near the bar which was fine except that the waiters and waitresses seemed to hang out there; it felt sort of like being seated right next to the kitchen. Overall, we had a nice dinner. While the food was tasty,(we had crab dip, steak dinners, and dessert), it was rather pricey.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Seafood risotto was wonderful. Companion ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Seafood risotto was wonderful. Companions enjoyed pot roast nachos and juicy hamburger. Servers were friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent appetizers and food! Would go ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Excellent appetizers and food! Would go back every time I visit my daughter at college?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our party of two, in town for business, ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Our party of two, in town for business, were able to walk to this restaurant from our hotel near the convention center. Staff was accommodating, the steak done medium rare as ordered, brussel sprouts were yummy, cocktails delicious. It was busy on a Thursday evening, but service was attentive. Prices were very reasonable.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a bit cold--air conditioning goin ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 26, 2016

It was a bit cold--air conditioning going full blast.

Food was great. Server was super.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were very very pleased with this rest ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We were very very pleased with this restaurant , particularly the quality of the food for the price! It was a great value! Our server was very attentive to our needs. My martini was really different and very tasty! All four of us enjoyed our entrees. We will definitely go there again!

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Authentic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot to sit outside with great foo ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great spot to sit outside with great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Service and the meals were exc ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Excellent Service and the meals were exceptional. We felt welcomed from the moment we stepped through the doors. Our waiter was attentive and very professional. The meals were perfectly prepared.

My wife and I plan to come back soon and highly recommend Jeffrey Adams on Fourth!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food & atmosphere! Staff is super ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great food & atmosphere! Staff is super friendly...never had a bad meal there and have tried most everything on their menu.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jeffrey Adams is one of my favorite down ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Jeffrey Adams is one of my favorite downtown restaurants. Great food with reasonable prices

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food!! We were in town for an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Delicious food!! We were in town for an overnight and this was recommended to us by local folks!

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited on a quiet Monday night (and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We visited on a quiet Monday night (and a holiday, to boot) so the restaurant wasn't very busy. Good for us, we love a quieter environment where we can hold a conversation. Martinis were quite good, nice wine (our hostess, Ida, was incredibly helpful and even recommended a wine we had never tried - it was delicious). Dinner was good, they had to reheat my tomato soup (and it was too cheesy for my taste), but my pasta was perfect and my husband's steak was just as her ordered it. We would definitely return when visiting the area in future. We suspect it may very well be the best restaurant in the vicinity.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a pleasure. Food was excellent, ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Always a pleasure. Food was excellent, but some of the elements of the meal were lacking in attention to detail (wrong side, dressing not on the side, etc). Hostess and server were both friendly and bubbly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Lovely restaurant in great location. Exc ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Lovely restaurant in great location. Excellent friendly staff. The food was delicious. I would recommend to all my friends for any occasion.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere of the restaurant was gre ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The atmosphere of the restaurant was great! There was also a great and affordable selection of wine. I do wish our waiter was more knowledgeable with the menu; he was not able to answer our questions, nor did he try to find out. The appetizers (fried green tomatoes, crab dip) were delicious but, the main entree (grilled salmon with brussel sprouts and mashed potatoes) was somewhat lacking. I would return to this restaurant for a before or after dinner cocktail, but would choose to actually dine in other restaurants in the area that offer better service and food.

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

My wife and I decided to go out for dinn ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 26, 2016

My wife and I decided to go out for dinner at the last minute and Jeffrey's was a place we wanted to try out. I pulled up the restaurant info on Google Maps to locate and to get contact info to see if we needed a reservation. There was a link included to make a reservation thru OpenTable, so I picked it and got immediate confirmation. That's awesome.

We arrived and they were ready to seat us...also awesome. We were seated right by the 2nd story window (good), but also right across from the kitchen door (not so good) so it was little loud at times.

Our waiter, Charles, was very nice and attentive. The food was great as well, though $$$. Our dinner for two, with tip, was just over $100.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

It was excellent can't wait to go again. ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 17, 2016

It was excellent can't wait to go again. The waitress gave us some great recommendations

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! The salmon salad is deliciou ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great food! The salmon salad is delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly recommend this place! Fantastic s ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Highly recommend this place! Fantastic service, great food, and friendly atmosphere. Mac and cheese is out of this world, fresh salads, good drinks, and good sandwiches. Will return again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant food delicious and ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Love this restaurant food delicious and the service is great! One of our favorites when we visit our son!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great experience here. The food ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a great experience here. The food was excellent. The staff was friendly and upbeat and the service timely. Our waitress was attentive and a great help with menu and beverage selection. Would definitely go there again and recommend this to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious as always, great food and serv ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Delicious as always, great food and service. We were celebrating our daughter's birthday. Our waiter surprised us with a delicious dessert. A storm kept us at our table longer that planned. Our waiter could not have been nicer about the delay offering to bring us coffee or other beverages.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.