About Jeffrey Adams on Fourth

321 W 4th St
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

From succulent steaks to hearty salads, Jeffrey Adams is your place for a quiet dinner for two to an evening event for a large party. Featuring a wood fired grill and craft cocktails, come see what all of Winston Salem is talking about!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 448-1714

Jeffrey Adams on Fourth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Winston Salem
Best Food
Winston Salem
3 More
Best Value
Winston Salem
Special Occasion
Winston Salem
Most Booked
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

special occasion (57)
fit for foodies (45)
good for groups (45)
See All
neighborhood gem (40)
romantic (33)
hot spot (26)
great for lunch (26)
vibrant bar scene (20)
scenic view (19)
notable wine list (17)
great for brunch (14)
late-night find (14)
great for outdoor dining (5)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
341 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service

Dined 7 days ago

I rarely go into Winston Salem so this was a nice find. Trendy with great food and awesome service, this is a funky place downtown worth visiting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit and we will ret ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This was our first visit and we will return. Food was favorites with unique variations and twists with attentive service. We like the décor as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We ate outside which was nice but noisy. ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We ate outside which was nice but noisy. My only disappointment was that their menu on line did not match the menu when we got there. Our lunch menu was more limited but the food and service were both good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

Dined on May 8, 2016

We dined here for Mother's Day. The wait staff was very attentive and the food was outstanding.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Steak is fabulous

Dined on May 8, 2016

The steak is always cooked perfect here, love the filet especially with mushrooms and onions on top. And the Gouda Mac N Cheese is to die for.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding location. Food was awesome ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Outstanding location. Food was awesome and staff was extremely helpful.

food5
ambience3
service5

Great food! Asked for our table to be ch ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food! Asked for our table to be changed from one near the kitchen door

food4
ambience3
service4

Good menu. Food was very good including ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Good menu. Food was very good including my perfectly cooked ribeye. Service was good. I wasn't too happy with them stuffing us upstairs in the worst location despite several open reservations on OpenTable. Also, I will say it again...what is with the cheap tinny ceiling speakers playing bad 80's music? This restaurant does a very good job in many ways and then handicaps itself and the mood/atmosphere with bad quality music. Take the old Klipches out of the attic!

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good food. OK service.

Dined on April 21, 2016

Early dinner before theatre. Easy in and out. Food was good. Nice menu. Service was average.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Pleasant experience in downtown WS. Had ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Pleasant experience in downtown WS. Had beef tenderloin and grits. Well prepared. Good selection of craft beer drafts. Will definitely return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice find in downtown W-S

Dined on April 16, 2016

We met friends here for dinner. Our upstairs table gave us a nice view of all the activity on Fourth Street below. The draft beer list was good. Our waiter was excellent. The food selection & quality were excellent as well. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We had another fabulous meal. Everyone ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

We had another fabulous meal. Everyone loved what they ate. A great way to celebrate my daughters 21st birthday!

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous dinner! We ate every bite! You ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Fabulous dinner! We ate every bite! You're brussel sprouts are phenomenal!

food4
ambience3
service3

We had reservations but were disappointe ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

We had reservations but were disappointed that our table was by the kitchen door in a back corner.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service and great food

Dined on March 28, 2016

Excellent service and great food! Suggestions offered by our waiter for the dining options was great.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service!

Dined on March 26, 2016

The food was excellent, as was the service! We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!! Our server was very attentiv ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Loved it!! Our server was very attentive! Definitely going back for more!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner For Two, Along with a Promposal

Dined on March 17, 2016

The food there was very delicious. I have to say that their Downtown Burger is my new favorite burger ever! My date had a Hickory Chicken Wrap which she also valued a lot. I had a special request of writing "Prom?" on a creme brulee for my date which they fulfilled which made the service even better. Loved the vibes and energy, definitely returning here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Seafood Risotto was Amazing

Dined on March 17, 2016

Normally you get a few shrimp or scallops in seafood risotto but it was different here. Lobster, shrimp and scallops were in a delightfully seasoned risotto and the cranberry sangria was terrific too!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, great atmosphere and won ...

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

Delicious food, great atmosphere and wonderful service! We will be back!!

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

First visit

Dined on March 12, 2016

Took a group from out of town. I had never eaten there, so there was some nervousness that it would disappoint. However, I really wanted a downtown location, and I needed a place which would take reservations. All turned out well. Folks were pleased with their dinners, and the staff seated us as we had requested, in an area that would allow for conversation on a busy evening at the restaurant. Only complaint is that the spacing of courses seemed a bit off. However, we still were able to get in and out in the allotted time in order to get to a scheduled event. I will definitely go again. I really like sitting upstairs with a view of the downtown streets.

food5
ambience5
service5

very pleasant staff great service Great ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

very pleasant staff great service Great food we set out side and enjoyed being streetside while enjoying a great meal

food5
ambience5
service5

I had the tuna. It was thinly sliced and ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

I had the tuna. It was thinly sliced and seared on the sides. Very tender. The sweet mashed potatoes were cooked well. The wait staff was very attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We'll be back

Dined on March 4, 2016

I was in Winston-Salem for a conference several blocks from the restaurant. I was looking for a good place to eat and found this on your site. We called, got reservations, and were seated within 30 minutes of my initial call. Everything about the restaurant was nice but our waitress was extraordinary she took exceptional care of us and was so full of personality that we enjoyed every aspect of our evening. We will definitely be back, especially if she is working!. We live about two hours away but quite honestly it will very definitely be worth the trip. Bob and Cecelia Patterson

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

always enjoy coming to Jeffrey Adams

Dined on February 28, 2016

Put in reservations on line, table was ready as soon as we arrived. Food was brought to us in a timely manner, server was knowledgeable about which wine to recommend. Food was delicious and out of the ordinary. Happy with the overall experience and will definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Saturday evening. Great food, energetic partiers.

Dined on February 28, 2016

My rib eye was one of the best I've ever had. Perfectly-prepared baked potato and steamed Brussels sprouts. My friend was delighted with her steak/lobster/scallop dish. Clearly, this where upscale young people go on Saturday evening. Several dozen-sized parties going on. No problem for us; we like a vibrant scene. Our server, Christian, was bright-eyed and friendly, but seemed to be rushed -- there was a very large crowd. (I'd be happy to have him as a server again.) I have only one complaint: Every time I visit, I make reservations through OpenTable and I almost always make a simple special request. Always evident, from interacting with the greeting staff, they don't read the requests.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A "Come back to" Dining Experience

Dined on February 27, 2016

Jeffrey Adams has become our special occasion place to dine. We enjoy the food and the service. The menu offers enough variety that people with different tastes can find something to satisfy. The menu also changes enough with their specials that one does not have to repeat dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Reservation Not Given Priority

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

We went during Restaurant Week. We arrived for our reservation time and were informed that there was a wait but reservations would be given priority. We decided to eat at the bar, but kept our buzzer. It took over 45 minutes from our reservation time for the buzzer to go off. The bartenders were wonderful servers and saved what could have been a disastrous experience.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Decent food but long wait

Dined on February 27, 2016

We went here during restaurant week. Even though we had a reservation, we still had to wait 35 minutes before being seated. This was very frustrating since we were on a schedule.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great date night spot.

Dined on February 26, 2016

Great food, nice atmosphere. Good spot when you need to be with your spouse and other adults.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Restaurant Week

Dined on February 23, 2016

My friend and I went during restaurant week and the food was GREAT! However, the service was super slow. We went late on a Tuesday night and we were stuck in the very back of the restaurant for 2 hours, even though it was relatively empty. I would go back for the food, not the service.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Cornerstone for Downtown Dining

Dined on February 20, 2016

Love the view of Fourth Street from the second floor dining area. The farm-fresh food tastes great and is very reasonably priced for a prime location downtown restaurant. My favorite: The Downtown Burger.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good, but not great. I expected great.

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a small group meal here on a Sunday afternoon. The server was very good, the food tasted good, and the featured wine was tasty. That said, I was a little disappointed in the value for the price, at least on the steak that I had. I'm all over the local food movement, and love local grass-fed beef. I also understand that it cost more money that factory farmed food. But usually, you get the quality you're paying for, and I didn't in this case. I ordered a ribeye, and it had to be 1/3 fat. At what amounted to >$30/lb, I expected more. The flavor was nice, and perhaps I just received a bad piece, but I don't think it's out of line to expect a place charging an average of $40 per head (what I paid, with wine) not to send out a steak with that much fat content. I can't in good conscious say I'd recommend this place (again, at the price point), but would be willing to give them another try since so much that I had (e.g., the brussel sprouts, gouda mac) was very good.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a good meal.

Dined on February 14, 2016

I have never had a bad meal at Jeffrey Adams. I usually have a craft cocktail, a Caesar salad with fried artichokes, and a steak with sauteed Brussels sprouts. The quality control is beautifully consistent and the servers are knowledgeable and appropriately attentive. Some area restaurants have more experimental, fluid menus, and I enjoy those as well, but there is always a small risk of disappointment with an adventurous meal. I find virtually no such risk at Jeffrey Adams. In my experience it's also the best steak in town for the money. I have added the rich, tempting steak toppings and they are delicious, but the steak can stand on its own. I have also sampled some tasty specials, but I tend to go there when I crave a steak and don't want to take any chances. If it's dinner for two, I recommend sitting upstairs and enjoying the view of the street below.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Place has changed, for the worse!

Dined on February 14, 2016

This dining night was an embarrassment. Our waiter was high on something, took three tries to get a drink order right, even after writing it down! Restaurant obviously was NOT prepared for a cold evening, we ate with our coats on. Served uncooked shrimp, and no, I didn't order sushi! Not sure what has changed, but it changed for the worse. Will be a LONG time before I go back or even suggest it to someone. So disappointed :(

food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Went there for bday dinner and brought a ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went there for bday dinner and brought a cake that they were supposed to serve after dinner(that was the original request). The cake came before dinner by mistake :/ Surprise ruined totally...

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Good food loud atmosphere

Dined on February 13, 2016

My gf and I went here for a "date night" on the weekend of Valentine's Day. I figured it would be busy but I was shocked to find that we were literally 15 inches away from other couples eating their dinner. The tables were so close together that it was quite distracting for both myself and my gf to have a conversation. Not to mention the noise level... We could barely hear each other and felt like we had to lean across the table almost to speak to one another. The food was good the service was good as well... It was just incredibly cramped and hard to hear each other.ni would NOT go back to Jeffrey Adams on a busy weekend such as this because if you are expecting intimacy and a nice quiet dinner with the one you care about... You won't find it... You can hear other conversations quite well though.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect romantic spot for wine & food enthusiasts!

Dined on February 13, 2016

On Valentine's Day weekend, my husband and I had our first real date night since our darling daughter came into our lives a few months ago and decided to try a place we'd never been. We were thrilled with our choice! Our server was funny and knowledgeable about the menu and wine options; the food was delicious and perfectly cooked to our liking; and the atmosphere was fun but romantic. We will definitely be going back for date nights in the future!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A very enjoyable experience

Dined on February 13, 2016

I made a reservation after reading reviews online. I had read somewhere that a few folks had issues with their steaks. I did NOT find that to be the case with my sirloin. It was amazing, full of flavor, perfectly cooked, and I couldn't find any part of it that wasn't entirely satisfactory. I wonder if people order fattier pieces of meat not realizing that the cut they're ordering is naturally fattier. I know some people avoid sirloins because they are less fatty, and tend to be tough and dry when cooked improperly, but it was exactly the steak you'd hope for. Our service was exemplary, and the atmosphere was very enjoyable. I would like to go back for lunch or brunch sometime.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dinner at Jeffrey Adams!

Dined on February 10, 2016

Outstanding dinner, service, and atmosphere!!! Great place to meet a friend at the bar, have a business dinner or a romantic get away. You won't be sorry!!!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.