About Jeffrey Adams on Fourth

321 W 4th St
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

From succulent steaks to hearty salads, Jeffrey Adams is your place for a quiet dinner for two to an evening event for a large party. Featuring a wood fired grill and craft cocktails, come see what all of Winston Salem is talking about!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 448-1714

Jeffrey Adams on Fourth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Special Occasion (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
See All
Cozy (16)
Business Meals (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Romantic (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Casual (9)
Fun (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Healthy (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
People Watching (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Scenic View (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Seasonal (4)
Authentic (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Historic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Live Sports (2)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fireplace (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
447 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our experience was awful! The Waitress f ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

Our experience was awful! The Waitress forgot to put in our appetizers and didn't explain or apologize. We ordered hand crafted martinis that taste like dish soap and even when the manager came and got the payment envelopes she never ask how our food was she grabbed them and took off. I was very disappointed with every aspect of our experience and for they're prices they should strive for better better customer service but they don't seem to care! We will never go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

This is like a locally owned western siz ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

This is like a locally owned western sizzling. Not fine dining at all. Food is ok. But not at level of Katherine or Honey Pot by any means. Just spent a week in downtown Winston fined at all of them. Adams is much less pricey.

Tags: Wood Oven, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

We were a little disappointed in the ser ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

We were a little disappointed in the service; the waitress (Amy?) seemed almost too busy to wait on us and I would have liked a refill on my ice-tea, but she never came around to ask!! A good waiter/waitress can make all the difference in a restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We ate here during the Big Eat and got t ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We ate here during the Big Eat and got the special which was the 4oz Filet and it was fantastic! Cooked to perfection (med-rare) I subbed the Gouda Mac-n-cheese as a side and it was well worth the up charge. We also got the Wild Mushroom and Artichoke Dip which was outstanding! Plus the wines are half off by the glass on Tuesdays! Perfect double date night with our friends!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, People Watching, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I live in Durham, NC and ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I live in Durham, NC and whenever we want to go somewhere we decide it is time to go to Winston Salem so that we can visit Jeffrey Adams. We love the food and the service. The coffee was excellent as well. We have made it a point to visit every month to month and a half to site see but especially to visit Jeffrey Adams. We know we will get an excellent meal every time we go there for our two day mini vacation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the upstairs over looking the cit ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I love the upstairs over looking the city and the atmosphere is romantic feeling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I love this place. The ambiance is great ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I love this place. The ambiance is great and the food is fantastic. Definitely my favorite place in Winston Salem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good but not great. Will go again mostl ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good but not great. Will go again mostly because of location near Stevens Center.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

I visited this restaurant this past summ ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I visited this restaurant this past summer. We returned tonight. The restaurant has lost its mojo.

The Food was bad. The Portions were small. The Service was SLOW and inefficient.

Maybe this restaurant can find its way. Right now, the restaurant is lost and riding on their past achievements.

Do yourself a favor, skip this place. There are plenty of restaurants on this street which will serve you faster, in a happier manner, and with larger portions than the paltry amounts you get here.

Skip the seafood too. The table beside us ordered seafood and we could smell it as the server walked by and as it was being consumed. Stinky seafood is so unappetizing.

Our table of six ordered ordered salads, pork, duck, shellfish, and beef. We sent the beef back, there were less than five tiny pieces of steak tips. The duck was poorly prepared, over cooked, and should have been sent back.

The server was friendly. She was slow as you could sense she was overworked. There was nothing about her service which was endearing.

This restaurant could be great, but right now it is less than mediocre.

The coffee was weak and a waste. Skip the coffee.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

We are never disappointed with a meal at ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We are never disappointed with a meal at Jeffrey Adams. A very friendly staff, great service and always a good meal. Perfect for dinner after a movie at a/perture!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Top floor ha ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Excellent food and service. Top floor has a great view of downtown Winston-Salem.

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints except when people ins ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Never disappoints except when people insist on intruding on everyone else's dining experience with their inconsolable toddler. The food is superb and the staff is pleasant and eager. I love the subdued casual elegance of the first floor dining room. It's a great place to reunite friends and family or a discreet place afforded by high booths for a rendezvous or to tell your cousin about your new FWB over great food.

Tags: People Watching, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made this reservation the beginning of ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I made this reservation the beginning of October for the second week of December. I was unfamiliar with the restaurant and did not specify to get a certain type of table. Upon arrival, I did ask for a window seat upstairs and was immediately declined (we were 45 minutes early on our reservation so it was only 5:00). Seems the upstairs window seats were reserved and no other option was offered. We ended up at one of two tables at the noisy and crowded bar.

I even called earlier in the week to confirm my reservation. They had plenty of opportunity to see how early I had made these reservations and could have put at us at a better locale in the restaurant.

The service was good but I was very disappointed that this special occasion was overrode by the noise and location of where we were seated. We could not hear each other talk and felt very cramped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was great. Petite filet with ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Everything was great. Petite filet with egg sunny side up on top with chipotle holandaise served on top of a lobster cake with ratatouille side. Crazy good. Historically have found my way to downtown Winston-Salem once a year for the Nutcracker. This restaurant is reason enough for me to find my way more often.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we got there they said they did now ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 15, 2016

When we got there they said they did now see our reservation so I showed the email so they put us at a little high top table right by the door and it was so coldddd. The food was awesome though. I will go again but would like to know how to recommend any table but that one

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

This is always a great choice. This is a ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 15, 2016

This is always a great choice. This is a very friendly place and they want to satisfy you and will to add or delete things that you ask them to. The staff is very friendly. The food is good. The soups are GREAT

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my second visit to Jeffery Adam ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 12, 2016

This was my second visit to Jeffery Adams and it was just as fantastic as the first. The staff was very attentive and helpful in every way they could be. The food was delightful and fast to the table. I recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a good place to eat in the downtown area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappointed in Jeffrey Adams. Thi ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Never disappointed in Jeffrey Adams. This is our "go to" place after enjoying an event at the Steven's Center. The menu is not extensive which allows perfectly prepared and plated food to appear before your eyes. Request a table by the fireplace if you want cozy, a window seat downstairs or upstairs if you want to people watch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had dinner here saturday night before UN ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Had dinner here saturday night before UNCSA's Nutcracker across the street. Made res via OT for 615, but called and they moved us to 6pm. Great pre-show dinner. two friends got the seafood risotto and cleaned their plates, another had the portabella mushroom and I had the ahi tuna. great all round.

Tried both white and red sangria... prefer the red, but both were really good.

Our waiter was awesome! One of the best servers I've ever had!

I will be back!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time there. We went ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 5, 2016

This was our first time there. We went for our 35th wedding anniversary, and we were very pleased. John, our server, was friendly and attentive without being intrusive, and the food was absolutely fabulous! My wife had the fried chicken, and I had an 8 oz. filet--we both agreed that our meals were some of the best in recent memory, with nice-sized portions. And we didn't pay an arm and a leg--appetizer (try the beef nachos!), drinks and dinner for $70!

Tags: Live Sports, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Good place for dining in Winston Salem. ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Good place for dining in Winston Salem. While we ended up with a table right outside the kitchen entrance, the location was made up for by good service from our waiter Daniel. He was very knowledgeable and made excellent recommendations for our food choices.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food and service were both incredible. T ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food and service were both incredible. They brought us two free desserts for my boyfriends birthday and they were both amazing. Crab stuffed salmon is the way to go.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In the heart of the downtown revival but ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 28, 2016

In the heart of the downtown revival but convenient to a parking deck, this restaurant is a destination by itself for excellent locally sourced food, thoughtfully prepared and proffered by a vigilant staff. Weekend brunches, lunches or dinners have never disappointed. Casual, but you won't feel out of place dressing up.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fast service. Excellent food. Friendly s ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Fast service. Excellent food. Friendly staff. Good location.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every part of the meal was executed perf ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Every part of the meal was executed perfectly. My wife and I had the Land & Sea, and everything was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seafood risotto was our favorite dis ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The seafood risotto was our favorite dish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was good experience, wait staff atten ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 23, 2016

It was good experience, wait staff attentive, good food, and half price wine

Tags: People Watching, Wood Oven, Outstanding Value, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time to this restaurant - the ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our first time to this restaurant - the atmosphere was warm and inviting and it was relatively quiet. The food was well prepared and the menu offered a variety of options. The wine list was a little limiting but we were able to find something to our liking. We will return.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I arrived on time for the reservation. T ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I arrived on time for the reservation. The hostess said she was waiting on another hostess to seat us upstairs. 5 minutes later she showed to seat us. She never acknowledged our presence.

My grouper dish(special) was fantastic. My son's NY strip was loaded with fat; as much fat as meat he ate. He did say it was tender but no overly flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food and service; however, it was ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great food and service; however, it was a little noisy when we entered but seemed to calm down after a while. The candle on our table did not work. <-- such a small thing, but big on an evening out on the town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful dinner here on Saturd ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner here on Saturday evening. We were in from out of town and Jeffrey Adams on Fourth was recommended to us by several folks. The service was not great, but the food was fantastic. We'll defiantly be back the next time we are in Winston-Salem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We loved our double date at Jeffrey Adam ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We loved our double date at Jeffrey Adams. We will certainly be back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such personable service with some of the ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Such personable service with some of the best food I've ever tasted.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and we appreciate ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was delicious and we appreciated the recommendations from our waitress. I highly recommend the pot roast nachos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the moment we sat down everything w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2016

From the moment we sat down everything was perfect. After a long day at the High Point Furniture Market, our waiter James greeted us with a smile and energy that set the tone for our perfect evening. Drinks were amazing (cucumber cosmo) followed by one of the best meals I've had in 8 years coming to Market.

From appetizers to dessert...A ++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Out of the pumpkin ravioli at 7:30 pm. S ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Out of the pumpkin ravioli at 7:30 pm. Same thing happened the last time we were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

First time going there, food was amazing ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

First time going there, food was amazing, atmosphere was great, service was awesome! Definitely a must try!

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Casual, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Live Sports, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome meal as always! Thank you for y ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Awesome meal as always! Thank you for your willingness to work with picky eating habits and diets.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We ate there before the symphony. A perf ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We ate there before the symphony. A perfect location and excellent food and service!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sunday lunch selections a bit ho hum but ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Sunday lunch selections a bit ho hum but the quality of food was good.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.