Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Jeffrey Adams on Fourth

From succulent steaks to hearty salads, Jeffrey Adams is your place for a quiet dinner for two to an evening event for a large party. Featuring a wood fired grill and craft cocktails, come see what all of Winston Salem is talking about!

321 W 4th St
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 448-1714

Jeffrey Adams on Fourth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (50)
Special Occasion (37)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
See All
Good for Birthdays (22)
Romantic (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Cozy (21)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Casual (19)
Business Meals (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Local Ingredients (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Fun (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Scenic View (10)
People Watching (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Authentic (7)
Healthy (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Historic (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Organic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Fireplace (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Live Sports (2)
Seasonal (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
498 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 2 days ago

One of our favorite restaurants when we travel to Winston Salem. The food is great and priced right. We love to sit upstairs and always have the best service. Bill, our servicer was exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

We always choose Jeffrey Adams for our pre-show dining. The food is great and the location fantastic! We like to sit upstairs or outside so we can see the city and people watch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Delicious cocktails and food. Service was excellent, attentive, and friendly. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had the Ahi Tuna and the filet and both ranked in the top 3 we have ever eaten! My husband loved the brussel sprouts and he doesn't even like brussel sprouts!

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I usually go with the specials and this visit did not disappoint! Fabulous crab stuffed Mahi with spinach and mashed potatoes was absolutely fabulous! Service was great and and ambiance back by the fireplace is really very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Love this restaurant. It is one of my favorite. The brownie is awesome.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This place was flat out bad. Food was terrible and expensive for how sloppy and cheap it was... the drinks were so sweet you could get diabetes from just one! The server was nice and prompt and the place was very well done but that's where it ends.
Would never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We love this place. It is a very vibrant, low light setting with fantastic food. It is always a pleasure and treat to dine there.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our steaks were perfectly cooked and the service was friendly

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

everyone was really nice. other servers even checked on us
great place for lunch/dinner meeting and for just a meet up with friends

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We went to Jeffrey Adams hoping to take our daughter out for a special dinner while visiting her in Winston Salem. Jeffrey Adams was pretty good. The food is very good with some creative vegetarian entrees. Everything was very fresh. There are a large selection of steaks on the menu. We had ahi tuna with asian slaw and crab stuffed salmon, both were Fresh and well prepared. The pumpkin ravioli was the most creative dish we had. It was delicious but a little too sweet.
The wine list was solid with plenty of good choices and good prices. We did love the hot apple crisp dessert, great on a cold night.
The service was a little slow but very friendly and competent. Took too long to deliver the wine and at one point the entire staff disappeared into the back.
The experience was good just not as special as we had hoped. They do seem to be satisfying the local market evidenced by a full house of happy diners. Also, no need to dress up. Dress ranged from after work attire to flannel shirts and jeans.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Heidi the manager is wonderful! Very knowledgeable and friendly. She's why we come back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 4, 2017

You can always count on a great meal at Jeffrey Adams. A nice menu with many options but it isn't overwhelming. They offer an outstanding 4 ounce filet meal for those that don't want a large steak. This is one of our favorite downtown restaurants for the food, ambiance and service.

Tags: Late-night Find, People Watching, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 4, 2017

WE made reservations and arrived early. We had never been to Jeffrey Adams so was hoping to have good seating as it was a new experience but we were seated in the bar area in the corner with another table bumped up next to ours and a big TV screen on during dining.. We even told the hostess that this was our first time dining there and that it was a special evening as we were old friends from out of town meeting there for a meal . There were open tables out front Food was very good….as was service- just disappointed in seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food and drinks are amazing! It's a great place for a date or a casual dinner. Our server could have been better, she barely checked on us and kept forgetting things. However, the other servers there were very helpful. I would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The meal and experience was great overall. Server could have been a little more attentive, but there was nothing to complain about. The food was excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 19, 2017

egg rolls were really yummy!! Our service was great. Thank you!

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Came here for dinner on a recommendation. The food was sub par and the bread with the appetizer was still almost frozen on some pieces. My steak did not come as I ordered it and my guest's meal was not cooked well either. It wasn't inedible but it was not what I was expecting. I will say that the service was good and the waitress was very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I have had good experiences at Jeffrey Adams, but this was just really bad. The waitress couldn't have cared less about our table and complained that the kitchen was upstairs, so she had to go upstairs whenever we made a request. We did not get refills on our drinks until we asked another waitress, and our waitress did not check to see how the food was. The manager was apologetic but did not really do much to fix the situation. I hope this was just a fluke. I'd still recommend this restaurant, but this was a really bad day for them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was our 2nd time here. Both times the food was very good as was the service.
Only complaint this time we were seated at a small table by the bar and there was a very loud group there. Was disappointing.
If you want to be able to have a conversation I would request to not be seated by the bar.
We had a reservation but did not know to request that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 18, 2017

have been there several times, service is good, food also good . seems consistent

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My boyfriend and I ventured here as it was the only place besides one other restaurant that had availability on Valentine's Day 2017. It was our first time there and was perfect! Our waiter (can't remember his name) was awesome. The Brussels sprouts weren't cooked to their tenderness and he took them back and also brought me a sample of the amazing mashed sweet potatoes along with a side order of them. The dessert was phenomenal (warm brownie with ice cream). We will return. Thank you for an outstanding Valentine's Day 2017.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband and I had our rehearsal dinner in their private room downstairs a couple of years ago, and it was wonderful! The food and the service are impressive. So we decided to have our Valentine's Day dinner there this year, and everything was just as wonderful as we remembered. I highly recommend the seafood risotto. The smoky flavor combined with the creaminess of comfort food is just exquisite. I highly recommend this restaurant. We absolutely love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My first visit. We ate there for Valentine's Day. The Filets were absolutely delious, as well as the Apple Crisp desert. Cozy atmosphere. We'll definitely return soon.

Tags: Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Had a reservation for 6:45. Arrived at about 6:40 and was immediately seated. The waitress was very polite and helpful. Food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Even though we were an hour early for our reservation, we were seated right away. The first table was too small, so they put us at a bigger one. The bar tender made our drinks while they got the new table ready. Our waitress was one of the best I've ever had. I ordered the 14oz rib eye and could cut it with the butter knife. We sat there for an hour and had drinks before we left.

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My family and I are huge on burgers. We had a place in town that always satisfied our burger cravings. Then we tried Jeffrey Adams! It is now our burger- go-to place! The Farmhouse Burgers is amazingly delicious down to the last bite! Oh, and the smoked gouda mac-n-cheese just melts in your mouth! Our server was knowledgeable about the food and had good recommendations on beverages. I highly recommend giving this place a try. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. We visit N.C yearly and come to your restaurant every year

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 10, 2017

While in downtown Winston Salem for business we had a few extra nights free. The concierge at the nearby Kimpton Cardinal Hotel (also excellent hotel and French restaurant) recommended this and another nearby place on 4th Street - a big restaurant area downtown. The other one didn't have anything available and JA did. But pleased with our choice, very good experience. Short safe pleasant stroll from hotel. Nice bar/drink choices. Excellent/unique pot roast nachos appetizer that someone else recommended online. Very good and different. BBQ Pork tenderloin entree was very very good. Hickory grilled chicken salad was good don't plentiful. Recommend if you're in the vicinity.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Never disappoints! Always excellent food and service. A little loud last visit b/c of large group near us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere . The service was excellent and the food was great . No waiting. Able to make reservations which is great

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Busy night and the staff did great with the crowds. Food was delicious!

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great experience. The menu has a good variety and the atmosphere is great. I liked the fact that it was quiet enough to actually be able to have a conversation over dinner. I would highly recommend Jeffrey Adams.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The daily special was shrimp and grits and it was delicious!! Very fresh and flavorful!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Organic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Very good meal! Great service, pleasant server. Will eat there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Always had great service and friendly wait staff. The staff is very accommodating.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service and food were outstanding. Food presentation ad quality were worth the price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always consistent and good service. The food comes out fast and the service is always extra friendly. The food was great.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Groups, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was friendly but very slow. We were successful changing our reservation time at the last minute.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Dinner was really good. Only issue was husband's plate was cold therefore food was cold for him. My seafood risotto was hot, wonderful, and full of seafood. Loved it

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.