Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Jeffrey Adams on Fourth

From succulent steaks to hearty salads, Jeffrey Adams is your place for a quiet dinner for two to an evening event for a large party. Featuring a wood fired grill and craft cocktails, come see what all of Winston Salem is talking about!

321 W 4th St
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 448-1714

Jeffrey Adams on Fourth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (58)
Special Occasion (36)
Casual (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Romantic (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Business Meals (23)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Modern Decor (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Cozy (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Late-night Find (11)
People Watching (11)
Fun (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Scenic View (9)
Great Beer (8)
Healthy (8)
Historic (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Authentic (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Organic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fireplace (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
515 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Fun night on the town to have dinner and attend a local music concert with another couple. Everything was great, service, seating, etc. but the steaks that two of us ordering . The bacon-wrapped steak with shrimp was the special of the night. The four medium sized shrimp were OK but the steaks were cooked over medium as ordered with absolutely NO TASTE. I was disappointed since I recommend the restaurant to the other couple for their first time there.
We may go back but never a steak again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Casual, Fun, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

Never disappointed, Love the Salmon, love the Arugula and fried goat cheese salad!!!
Brussell sprouts are the best!! My favorite place in Down Town Winston Salem!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 16, 2017

From Greensboro and made the special trip on Easter for dinner with my partner. Food is always great there. Made a reservation, but none was needed as they were not busy. Sat upstairs as we asked to but they tried to seat us at a high top then a table without a view....There was no one up there so we could have had the pick of any table. So we asked again to sit at a window table which the manager/host agreed. The waitress was VERY snarky about the whole thing telling us why we couldn't sit at the table we wanted...blah blah blah... REALLY! There were only two other couples up there. Her service was not very personable and we were always waiting for either drinks orders or refills. Not sure of her name but she was middle-eastern and not nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Nice atmosphere, good service and good menu. Although, I was disappointed with the Surf and Turf dish. The lobster was just a few very small pieces. Don't expect a lobster tail or even half as much. I will say the steak was great and cooked as I ordered. All meals tasted really good. I would go back, even though I was disappointed with the lobster portion.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food is always wonderful, service is stellar. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Wonderful experience

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Really good experience. Had filet and salmon/crab with Brussels sprouts and mashed sweet potatoes. Couldn't have been better! Our waiter John was great. We had reservations (Sat. Nite) and were seated promptly. Would recommend Jeffrey Adams and if in Winston Salem again will certainly be repeat diners.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was excellent. We enjoyed the pumpkin ravioli and the Land & Sea entrees. This was for a date night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Amazing food and experience!! So glad my parents' first time downtown was here!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Lovely quiet second floor. Pumpkin ravioli dish was spectacular!! Kraken cocktail was awesome. Beautiful views of fourth street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 4, 2017

As always Jeffrey Adams didn't disappoint! Excellent food ;wonderful, but not hovering, service; and a warm atmosphere! Our favorite downtown restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Loved my experience -- two nights in a row! Salmon salad was delicious.

Tags: Great Beer, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Tasty, innovative menu that was just a fun place to share dinner with others on a fun Sunday.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Over all 9.9 out of 10. Service was perfect. The food to die for. Portions were sizable. It's been quite a while since I've had such a near perfect dining experience. From the moment we walked in until we left, the evening was flawless.
The one negative note was that we place a to go order and it was less than fine. It was a wrap and we asked for no bacon, repeatedly. But it was full of bacon. Also got a side of fruit and a side of fries. Was charged for both but got neither.
So the dining experience is probably the best in Winston Salem, just don't order a to go meals.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Delicious Food, drinks, and a great value, for locally grown and produced cuisine. This place is my new favorite!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Good food and service, mixed group of people from jeans and ball caps to jacket with tie. Good variety of wines, seemed to have range of cocktails but not tried. Reasonably quick, made waitress know we had something else and were limited in time so was able to get out on time.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 24, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants when we travel to Winston Salem. The food is great and priced right. We love to sit upstairs and always have the best service. Bill, our servicer was exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We had made a reservation at 7:15 pm for our anniversary, and upon arriving only had a very short wait, maybe a minute. We were saying upstairs next to a window with a great view of the busy Friday night streets, perfect for people watching. We ordered drinks from the bar and an appetizer for starters. Our waiter was Sean, and he was fantastic. Always there when we needed something, but never hovering. For our main entrees I had the filet topped with lobster, and it was perfect. My wife enjoyed the beef and grits, and OMG the mushroom bacon gravy is heavenly. For dessert we shared a piece of house made cheesecake. Very tasty, but not quite the texture we're use to in a traditional cheesecake. More cake-like than creamy, but good nevertheless. Overall this was a wonderful dining experience, and we'll likely return on a future trip. Thanks Sean!

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We always choose Jeffrey Adams for our pre-show dining. The food is great and the location fantastic! We like to sit upstairs or outside so we can see the city and people watch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Delicious cocktails and food. Service was excellent, attentive, and friendly. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had the Ahi Tuna and the filet and both ranked in the top 3 we have ever eaten! My husband loved the brussel sprouts and he doesn't even like brussel sprouts!

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I usually go with the specials and this visit did not disappoint! Fabulous crab stuffed Mahi with spinach and mashed potatoes was absolutely fabulous! Service was great and and ambiance back by the fireplace is really very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Love this restaurant. It is one of my favorite. The brownie is awesome.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This place was flat out bad. Food was terrible and expensive for how sloppy and cheap it was... the drinks were so sweet you could get diabetes from just one! The server was nice and prompt and the place was very well done but that's where it ends.
Would never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We love this place. It is a very vibrant, low light setting with fantastic food. It is always a pleasure and treat to dine there.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our steaks were perfectly cooked and the service was friendly

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

everyone was really nice. other servers even checked on us
great place for lunch/dinner meeting and for just a meet up with friends

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We went to Jeffrey Adams hoping to take our daughter out for a special dinner while visiting her in Winston Salem. Jeffrey Adams was pretty good. The food is very good with some creative vegetarian entrees. Everything was very fresh. There are a large selection of steaks on the menu. We had ahi tuna with asian slaw and crab stuffed salmon, both were Fresh and well prepared. The pumpkin ravioli was the most creative dish we had. It was delicious but a little too sweet.
The wine list was solid with plenty of good choices and good prices. We did love the hot apple crisp dessert, great on a cold night.
The service was a little slow but very friendly and competent. Took too long to deliver the wine and at one point the entire staff disappeared into the back.
The experience was good just not as special as we had hoped. They do seem to be satisfying the local market evidenced by a full house of happy diners. Also, no need to dress up. Dress ranged from after work attire to flannel shirts and jeans.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Heidi the manager is wonderful! Very knowledgeable and friendly. She's why we come back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 4, 2017

You can always count on a great meal at Jeffrey Adams. A nice menu with many options but it isn't overwhelming. They offer an outstanding 4 ounce filet meal for those that don't want a large steak. This is one of our favorite downtown restaurants for the food, ambiance and service.

Tags: Late-night Find, People Watching, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 4, 2017

WE made reservations and arrived early. We had never been to Jeffrey Adams so was hoping to have good seating as it was a new experience but we were seated in the bar area in the corner with another table bumped up next to ours and a big TV screen on during dining.. We even told the hostess that this was our first time dining there and that it was a special evening as we were old friends from out of town meeting there for a meal . There were open tables out front Food was very good….as was service- just disappointed in seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food and drinks are amazing! It's a great place for a date or a casual dinner. Our server could have been better, she barely checked on us and kept forgetting things. However, the other servers there were very helpful. I would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The meal and experience was great overall. Server could have been a little more attentive, but there was nothing to complain about. The food was excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 19, 2017

egg rolls were really yummy!! Our service was great. Thank you!

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Came here for dinner on a recommendation. The food was sub par and the bread with the appetizer was still almost frozen on some pieces. My steak did not come as I ordered it and my guest's meal was not cooked well either. It wasn't inedible but it was not what I was expecting. I will say that the service was good and the waitress was very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I have had good experiences at Jeffrey Adams, but this was just really bad. The waitress couldn't have cared less about our table and complained that the kitchen was upstairs, so she had to go upstairs whenever we made a request. We did not get refills on our drinks until we asked another waitress, and our waitress did not check to see how the food was. The manager was apologetic but did not really do much to fix the situation. I hope this was just a fluke. I'd still recommend this restaurant, but this was a really bad day for them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was our 2nd time here. Both times the food was very good as was the service.
Only complaint this time we were seated at a small table by the bar and there was a very loud group there. Was disappointing.
If you want to be able to have a conversation I would request to not be seated by the bar.
We had a reservation but did not know to request that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 18, 2017

have been there several times, service is good, food also good . seems consistent

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My boyfriend and I ventured here as it was the only place besides one other restaurant that had availability on Valentine's Day 2017. It was our first time there and was perfect! Our waiter (can't remember his name) was awesome. The Brussels sprouts weren't cooked to their tenderness and he took them back and also brought me a sample of the amazing mashed sweet potatoes along with a side order of them. The dessert was phenomenal (warm brownie with ice cream). We will return. Thank you for an outstanding Valentine's Day 2017.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband and I had our rehearsal dinner in their private room downstairs a couple of years ago, and it was wonderful! The food and the service are impressive. So we decided to have our Valentine's Day dinner there this year, and everything was just as wonderful as we remembered. I highly recommend the seafood risotto. The smoky flavor combined with the creaminess of comfort food is just exquisite. I highly recommend this restaurant. We absolutely love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.