About Jeff Ruby's - Louisville

325 W. Main Street
Suite 120 Waterfront Plaza
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

The first & only steakhouse of its kind in the Louisville area, Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse serves only dry-aged USDA prime beef. While steak is the foundation of the menu, Jeff Ruby's promises to please seafood lovers as well with its raw/sushi bar & seafood entrees.
Jeff Ruby regulars will be pleased to know that their favorite signature items from the Cincinnati restaurants will be well represented in Louisville. The bone-in filet, the 7 cheese baked macaroni, creamed spinach, truffle flake creamed corn, & of course Jeff Ruby's secret recipe cheesecake will all be staples of the Louisville menu.
Styled after the great NY steakhouses of the 1930's & 40's, Jeff Ruby's promises to be as pleasing visually as it is to the palate. French art-deco design, plush mohair upholstery, hand selected antique furniture and cinematic crystal chandeliers anchored by a 1950s-era antique featured in the Starz series Magic City and the 32 foot wall of wine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 584-0102

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Jeff Ruby's offers live entertainment 6 nights per week.

Parking Details:
Optional valet is offered at the entrance of the restaurant on 4th street, with street parking & 2 garages within one block.

Executive Chef:
Brian Steger

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Jeff Ruby's - Louisville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Central Kentucky
Best Food
Central Kentucky
Best Service
Central Kentucky
11 More
Best Ambiance
Central Kentucky
Notable Wine List
Central Kentucky
Special Occasion
Central Kentucky
Steak
Central Kentucky
Best Overall
Louisville
Best Food
Louisville
Best Service
Louisville
Best Ambiance
Louisville
Hot Spot
Louisville
Notable Wine List
Louisville
Special Occasion
Louisville
Best Restaurants in Downtown Louisville ›

special occasion (133)
romantic (84)
vibrant bar scene (63)
See All
notable wine list (61)
fit for foodies (51)
hot spot (51)
good for groups (50)
neighborhood gem (20)
late-night find (14)
scenic view (4)
 (4)
great for lunch (3)
 (3)
 (3)
great for brunch (3)
 (3)
 (3)
 (2)
kid-friendly (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1269 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jeff Ruby's was great as always. Fantas ...

Dined 4 days ago

Jeff Ruby's was great as always. Fantastic food and service too

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Best service I've ever received at a res ...

Dined 5 days ago

Best service I've ever received at a restaurant, any where. Food was incredible but the service is truly an experience

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We arrived 30 min early for our reservat ...

Dined 5 days ago

We arrived 30 min early for our reservation and we're placed in the bar and forgotten until the manager noticed us. People walked in and we're seated before us and there were plenty of open tables. Bad start - bad taste. Waiter was the star of the evening and almost saved the experience.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The bone in filet was awesome. Always ge ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

The bone in filet was awesome. Always get the Mac and Cheese and Brussel Sprouts.

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food, meticulous service. Ambi ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent food, meticulous service. Ambiance superior

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Fun at Jeff Ruby's

Dined on May 20, 2016

Jeff Ruby's was a great place for a good meal with friends. On the Friday night we went there was live music which was awesome, but made it difficult for conversation. The raw bar was great. Steaks were good - I wasn't a fan of the Jeff Ruby's signature spices, so I would order something different next time, but everything was well prepared. Overall a fun evening and I would go back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

My wife and I went to Jeff Ruby's with r ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

My wife and I went to Jeff Ruby's with really high hopes for an exceptional meal. I don't really like bankette seating, but got over it. The menu looked amazing and we were set for a top experience. We ordered their best steak - the aged prime 'hatchett', went nuts and ordered the foie gras topper, their famous Brussels sprouts, and the mac and cheese. (A couple of drinks didn't hurt either!) Hold on - they were out of the Brussels. Quite the disappointment for such a signature dish. I was disappointed with their Bourbon list - long - but undistinguished. Many of the hotel bars around have much better selections (I AM a Bourbon snob and will spend $$ for the right experience.) Service was great throughout the meal - it must be noted. The food came quickly and hot. The steak was under-seasoned and not all that tender for such an aged piece. The sides were way over salted. The mac and cheese was dominated by the taste of butter - not cheese and/or cream. The choice path was either Eddie Merlots or Jeff Ruby's. Our friends said we made the wrong choice when we compared notes. For a high dollar meal, this on missed the mark by a wide margin.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great setting. Great food. Great service ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Great setting. Great food. Great service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Really fantastic and worth every penny. ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Really fantastic and worth every penny. Totally exceeded our expectations. Service was best we've had in a long long time.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The steaks were everything we heard abou ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The steaks were everything we heard about. Service was top-notch.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious as always! From the crab bisqu ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Delicious as always! From the crab bisque to the Freddy salad, filet, Mac and cheese, asparagus & dessert - everything was wonderful! Can't wait to go back for another special occasion!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Wasn't our favorite Visit, but still nice.

Dined on May 16, 2016

We have never been on a weeknight and since our anniversary fell on a Monday, we decided to try it out. We were disappointed to experience very slow service compared to many other weekend visits there. Our server and the assistant could hardly be found, my husband's drink was empty frequently, it just wasn't the top notch service we were accustomed to every other time we visited. The food was still fantastic, and the servers were by no means rude, just seemed very busy and unable to keep up. Maybe just short staffed, not sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even better

Dined on May 12, 2016

Ruby's was even better than the last time we were here. Great friendly service and amazing steaks. I personally think a $71 steak is well worth it, if it is good. The King Strip was absolutely fantastic. Highly recommended and great downtown place centrally located.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic

Dined on May 4, 2016

Best restaurant in Louisville. Service is outstanding and the place is beautiful!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

It was Ok

Dined on April 30, 2016

Just ok, not what we expected. Good Service, manager was visible, food is overpriced

food5
ambience5
service2
value5

My Experience

Dined on April 30, 2016

Jeff Ruby's are my absolute favorite! very enjoyable atmosphere with Exceptional food. I am a bit of a wine fanatic so I was slightly surprised when our waiter did not pour a sample prior to serving my guest and I. other than that, it was a wonderful time as usual. keep up the great work!

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on April 26, 2016

The service, food, wine makes a night to remember. We will continue to recommend to all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Our waiter was tremendous. Friendly and ...

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Our waiter was tremendous. Friendly and helpful. The food was phenomenal as always. The godfather sushi roll was excellent. Salads were on spot. Three filets, a cowboy steak and a duck breast were excellent and served just as ordered. The sides were ordinary steak house fare. If you are looking for steak there is no better place in Louisville.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Dinner at Jeff Ruby's was part of a retirement getaway gift for my parents.... My father, who is quite persnickety about dining, called my brother and myself the next morning and said point blank that it was the best food/dining experience he had ever had. I was dumbfounded at the statement... Usually there is something that could have been better/improved upon... For him to say that is quite impressive.... Jeff Ruby's. u rock!!! Thank you so much for making their retirement celebration unforgettable .. :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

expensive but worth it

Dined on April 20, 2016

Great food as always. Be ready to pay but you get what you pay for

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5

There was a bit of confusion once we arr ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

There was a bit of confusion once we arrived but we were eventually seated. The music was very loud, making everyone talk loud creating a loud environment. However, Andrei our waiter was absolutely excellent!!! All his food recommendations were perfect, his demeanor was pleasant and his presence made our experience better in the end! He is an excellent server and should be highly commended for his pleasant and generous spirit!!

food4
ambience2
service5
value2

Anniversary night out

Dined on April 15, 2016

The restaurant service is excellent, the food is very good...but very expensive, and the service is top notch. We were hoping for a quieter and more romantic evening.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place

Dined on April 9, 2016

Every time we go we are never dissappointed and always very pleased!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Business meeting...filled up on raw bar ...

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Business meeting...filled up on raw bar appetizer with one exception & he got a filet. Everyone was very satisfied & happy. We arrived earlier than planned but the hostess was very accommodating.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding service but slow kitchen

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

The waitstaff was excellent. Our waiter was also the wine buyer for the restaurant and was happy to talk "wine" with us and to discuss notable restaurants in NYC and Chicago. Fun discussion. My Pacific oysters on the half shell were deliciously fresh, but slow in arriving. My spouse's Oysters Rockefeller were "lukewarm at best". Given these prices, that is a "no, no". The steaks, fillets off the bone", were good quality, but the exterior salting was very noticeable. The steaks may have rested off any heat as they were not toasty hot; closer to room temperature. The asparagus was nicely grilled to al la dente, our preference. As we were preparing to leave, my spouse commented that unlike many restaurants in Louisville, the service was outstanding, but the food was not. Usually, it is the other way around as professional waitstaff are seriously lacking in our city.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection

Dined on April 2, 2016

As always Jeff Ruby's doesn't disappoint. Usually it is our night to be without kids, just us. But this time we met up with another couple. The atmosphere there is perfect no matter the occasion. Not just one of my favorite places, but is our favorite place to eat. Steak perfection, my wife's Sea Bass Perfection. The Old Fashioned I drank superb .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Steak EVER

Dined on April 1, 2016

Make reservations far in advance, this place is very popular. If your looking to have a conversation with your dinner guests, I'd recommend keeping it to 6 people of less. I took 3 of my best customers at 8:00 on a Thursday during a very busy convention week and it was really loud. The 3 of us that got a steak all agreed that it was the best we had ever, ever had and we're all seasoned travelers. Our 4th guest didn't get steak and I don't recall his meal choice but, it was in the top 3 he ever had. I'm 100% going back next year or anytime I'm in Louisville, KY!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome as always!

Dined on March 30, 2016

We went to Jeff Ruby's to celebrate a birthday! It's become a tradition. The steak was awesome and the atmosphere was amazing!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My modest income allows for this on occasion only

Dined on March 30, 2016

But when I get there they make me feel like a queen. Love, love, love this restaurant. Thanks Jeff Ruby as each visit I've had at your restaurant t as been consistently outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best spot in the Ville!

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Best spot in the Ville!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sweet 16!

Dined on March 25, 2016

Sushi was wonderful, steaks are amazing. Best food I have had in many months! To bad the Jayhawks lost.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect

Dined on March 25, 2016

This place is the best of the best as usual!!! Fantastic!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

service was great. Our server recommende ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

service was great. Our server recommended the brussel sprouts. Which turned out great. My wife and I both ordered a filet cooked modem well. Her steak had a perfect pink center. My steak was cooked well done and was very tender but very dry. We tasted each other's steak and we both agreed that her steak was great and mine was not as good. Also we both felt as though the mashed potatoes tasted like instant potatoes but the chef whipped up a gravy for us that was also very good. We both agreed we probably will not come back next year for our anniversary.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Birthday Dinner with the wife. Pr ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Great Birthday Dinner with the wife. Pricey!! 225.00 for 2 people but delicious all the same!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience.

Dined on March 17, 2016

Food was great and the service was spectacular. Will return when in Louisville.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A really enjoyable experience

Dined on March 14, 2016

My boyfriend and I had wanted to try Jeff Ruby's and it ended up being one of the best meals we've had in awhile. The service was great and the food was delicious. The atmosphere was very romantic and it was just a overall pleasant and fun experience. We will definitely be going back in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it! Definitely my favorite restaur ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Loved it! Definitely my favorite restaurant with the best food and service ANYWHERE!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Come to Indianapolis and give St Elmo's a run for the $

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Overall we were disappointed.

Dined on March 12, 2016

Just got into town that night and was excited to have a great steak dinner. Table was ready as promised, staff was attentive and warm. Atmosphere was lively. Unfortunately, the food was just ok. From the salad to the steak - I was not very impressed. Service took too long in between salad and dinner. Steak was way under cooked for both myself and my husband. Asked for medium pink and got rare. Had to send back which always kills the meal. Mac and Cheese was good though....Food pricing was high. For that amount of money, I expected better. Would not return.....

food5
ambience5
service5

Ended up with a private room - don't ask ...

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

Ended up with a private room - don't ask, don't get.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.