Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Jeff Ruby's - Louisville

The first & only steakhouse of its kind in the Louisville area, Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse serves only dry-aged USDA prime beef. While steak is the foundation of the menu, Jeff Ruby's promises to please seafood lovers as well with its raw/sushi bar & seafood entrees.
Jeff Ruby regulars will be pleased to know that their favorite signature items from the Cincinnati restaurants will be well represented in Louisville. The bone-in filet, the 7 cheese baked macaroni, creamed spinach, truffle flake creamed corn, & of course Jeff Ruby's secret recipe cheesecake will all be staples of the Louisville menu.
Styled after the great NY steakhouses of the 1930's & 40's, Jeff Ruby's promises to be as pleasing visually as it is to the palate. French art-deco design, plush mohair upholstery, hand selected antique furniture and cinematic crystal chandeliers anchored by a 1950s-era antique featured in the Starz series Magic City and the 32 foot wall of wine.

325 W. Main Street
Suite 120 Waterfront Plaza
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 584-0102

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Jeff Ruby's offers live entertainment 6 nights per week.

Parking Details:
Optional valet is offered at the entrance of the restaurant on 4th street, with street parking & 2 garages within one block.

Executive Chef:
Brian Steger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Jeff Ruby's - Louisville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (108)
Good for a Date (88)
Good for Anniversaries (70)
See All
Romantic (68)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Business Meals (46)
Notable Wine List (43)
Worth the Drive (36)
Hot Spot (34)
Bar Seating (33)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Live Music (32)
Fun (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Fit for Foodies (24)
People Watching (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Authentic (20)
Cozy (20)
Happy Hour (17)
Modern Decor (16)
Late-night Find (15)
Historic (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Comfort Food (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Outstanding Value (8)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Family Style (6)
Private Room (6)
Casual (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Live Sports (4)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great Beer (3)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Waterfront (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
1639 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 3 days ago

Filet and Lobster Tail were fantastic. Staff was very friendly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

This was our first experience of dining at Jeff Ruby's and it won't be our last. We both really enjoyed the food, service, atmosphere, etc. I don't see us going often because of the price but for special occasions it will be our choice of restaurants.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was great but the service was the best, our waiter Will was very good and answered all the questions that we had, his recommendations were spot on, and he made for a very special dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

Jeff Ruby's is always a hit! My wife and I go 1-2 times per year for special occasions and we love it, have never had a bad experience. The portions are robust and delicious. All of the appetizers and salads are amazing. Usually the steak is about the best around. My wife and I typically split the bone-in filet. The quality of the meat is very good, though possibly a notch shy of Ruth's Chris, but the ambience and vibe are super fun. However, on my most recent visit the filet was not sizzling hot when it came to the table which was disappointing. All in all our favorite spot for a special date or for a celebration with friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

I think our waiter Miss understood us
Asked for Medium rare steak & got medium well.
But it's ok still had great flavor

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

Our visit with Jeff Ruby's was Awesome! We were celebrating our wedding anniversary. Everyone was super nice. The servers were great. We could not have ask for a better night. Thanks

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 6 days ago

i would highly recommend Jeff Ruby's for great food and music.. best food around !!!!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was excellent. The food was amazing, the music was good. Service was excellent. Didn't have to wait for seating. I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Fun, Live Music, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 days ago

excellent, excellent, excellent. Cant find a better steakhouse!

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous service as always and food was wonderful... A great place to dine...

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Found in trip advisor so we were lucky to get a reservation and the meal was excellent all round . Would definitely go there agin when back in town !

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I love eating at Jeff Ruby's. It's our family's favorite place in Louisville, but on this last special occasion, I did not appreciate having a reservation for 2 weeks and then the four of us being shoved into a small table basically at the bar. Service and food was impeccable, but I felt we should have been seated in a better place since we had a reservation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Enjoyed all of it. Food was great as was the service. Steak cooked perfectly. Also the lobster tail was cooked perfectly as well. Will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Love it all. Go there a lot.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fun, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Tried Jeff Ruby's Louisville for the first time. The service from the start was excellent, we were greeted and promptly seated, our server was very attentive and answered any questions we had with confidence and a wide range of knowledge of the menu.
I ordered the Bone-in Dry Aged Filet, it was cooked perfectly with the right amount of sear . Along with Grilled Asparagus and the Macaroni and Cheese. Had a wedge salad that was really good to start.
All items were good, but in a city with so many great restaurants, I wasn't blown away as many reviews attest to. I've had some excellent meals in Louisville from some really accomplished chefs. I was really looking forward to trying Jeff Ruby's. This is a top notch establishment, no doubt about that, I just didn't get the placebo effect some others might have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

As usual, Jeff Ruby's did not disappoint!! Food was phenomenal, service was amazing, it is by far my favorite restaurant in Louisville! The steaks are so tender and always cooked to perfection! Sides are amazing and the Creme Brûlée was the best I have ever had. Top notch restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Dinner was great as usual. Very disappointed they are taking the Au gratin potatoes off the menu.

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Second time in a row I've had an under cooked steak here. This time I ordered steak and lobster and the first time my steak was undercooked as well as my lobster tail. Sent it back and they cooked my steak to a perfect medium but my lobster tail was still undercooked. Not sure why this was an opportunity my lobster meat was still clear. I've been a cook for 30 years And grew up in Boston and cooked lobster is white like when you cook shrimp. Anyways for the price and level of expectation here I'm disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The ribeye was phenomenal and cooked to perfection. The mushrooms were a bit bland. I highly recommend the garlic butter for the steak, it helped the mushrooms flavor issue. The barrel cut filet mignon was amazing as well. Overall a very good experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Everytime my wife and I come, it's always an amazing night. Food is always fantastic, and the waiters/waitresses are the best!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Healthy, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Cozy, People Watching, Romantic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Fun, Live Sports, Scenic View, Casual, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday at Jeff Ruby's Friday evening. The food was truly delicious and memorable, but the service was outstanding! Our server, Chris, pointed out menu items and paired wines that made for a remarkable meal. Louisville is fortunate to have so many excellent restaurants, and we enjoy a lot of them, but Jeff Ruby's was a real standout for us.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 16, 2017

It was truly unbelievably great experience. Our waiter was Jamal and he treated us as best friends. We arrived a little bit earlier and the restaurant was not opened yet. He greeted us and invited to have drinks before the kitchen will be open. During the dinner the service was the best ever! Food was delicious! It was a great night in an amazing place. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Varied menu. Good cocktails. Excellent customer service regarding confirmation of reservation with reminder and phone call to see if special occasion. Waiter kept us informed on timing for theater.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Fun, Private Room, Romantic, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Best steak place I have ever been to. Great service, seafood and steak. Total winning place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Enjoyed the entire experience. Food was great. Setting was great. Staff very friendly. Manager stopped by twice. Enjoyed it all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Celebrated wife's birthday and pre-show dinner, excellent food and service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 15, 2017

January was an excellent server and food was delicious. Our anniversary was exceptional this year.

Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food great service and great place for special occasions. Will not find better tasting food any where in the southern Indiana or me Kentucky area.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Live Music, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food and service! We enjoyed our anniversary at your restaurant! Thank you for providing excellent service!0

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Most everything was excellent - a very fun and lively place with outstanding service. Food was almost all excellent; the brussell sprouts were far too underdone and the bacon was just too much "fat". Filet and topping A+; lobster A, dessert A; drink was really strong! Overall a wonderful place

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent staff! Service was perfect from the front door, the bar, as well as the main table. Very knowledgeable, professional, and made us feel right at home at the same time.

Food was outstanding! Amazing Cocktails!

Will be back next time we are in Louisville!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Our second visit & it was even better than the first. Food is incredible - especially the Maker's Mark dessert. YUM. Two things that I want them to know: our server was awesome (Josef) however, the young man who poured our water did not give us a wine list so Josef had to go get one. Also, it's very very noisy; almost like a TGI Fridays noise level. But the decor, service & food make it all okay.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great as expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Best food I've ever had. The server was more than amazing. Never ran out of anything and answered all our questions. Environment was beautiful. Perfect for special occasion.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Jeff Ruby's is simply the best in Louisville. Truly the best steak, sides, sushi, seafood. It's a great place to go with a group or for a date. Superb service every single time.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Upscale classy dining with a great variety in menu. Everything done to perfection with no detail left undone. We were however disappointed in the very small oysters appetizer.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We went for our first visit to Jeff Ruby's to celebrate our 39th anniversary . From the moment we arrived everyone made us feel so special Taking care of our ever need. The food and service outstanding!! We will be back!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

My date and I had a WONDERFUL experience at Jeff Ruby's! We look forward to dining there again soon. The service, the food, the ambiance was all AMAZING! The quality SUPERB in every area. We are thinking Jeff Ruby's should be a part of our monthly budget. 😊 We will definitely tell our friends and family to visit one if the best restaurants in Louisville KY at Jeff Ruby's.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Live Music, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I made our reservation and received e-mail confirmations and reminders, which was good. Jeff Ruby's also called the day of our reservation and asked me to confirm. They asked if we were celebrating anything special, and I said my husband's birthday.
The setting and food were exactly as advertised, but I was a bit disappointed. We were seated at a very nice table in the main dining area. The bar and dining room was full of patrons and the noise level was extreme! I could barely hear my husband sitting next to me, and the waiter, John, who was great, had to practically shout to tell us about the menu and specials. Not a good setting for a quiet, romantic evening or special occasion. However, the food was excellent, my Caesar salad was good, petite filet cooked exactly medium rare, and side dish portions were large. A small glitch happened when we did not get steak knives with our entrees! Side dishes are definitely large enough to share, and we got mashed potatoes and excellent green beans! The chocolate cake for dessert was wonderful! Other than the noise level, we had a wonderful experience. But, if you want excellent steaks PLUS ambiance, I prefer Ruth's Chris.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 1, 2017

As always, the food was amazing, the service was great, and the atmosphere was awesome.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.