About Jeff Ruby's - Louisville

325 W. Main Street
Suite 120 Waterfront Plaza
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

The first & only steakhouse of its kind in the Louisville area, Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse serves only dry-aged USDA prime beef. While steak is the foundation of the menu, Jeff Ruby's promises to please seafood lovers as well with its raw/sushi bar & seafood entrees.
Jeff Ruby regulars will be pleased to know that their favorite signature items from the Cincinnati restaurants will be well represented in Louisville. The bone-in filet, the 7 cheese baked macaroni, creamed spinach, truffle flake creamed corn, & of course Jeff Ruby's secret recipe cheesecake will all be staples of the Louisville menu.
Styled after the great NY steakhouses of the 1930's & 40's, Jeff Ruby's promises to be as pleasing visually as it is to the palate. French art-deco design, plush mohair upholstery, hand selected antique furniture and cinematic crystal chandeliers anchored by a 1950s-era antique featured in the Starz series Magic City and the 32 foot wall of wine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 584-0102

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Jeff Ruby's offers live entertainment 6 nights per week.

Parking Details:
Optional valet is offered at the entrance of the restaurant on 4th street, with street parking & 2 garages within one block.

Executive Chef:
Brian Steger

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Diver Scallops
Sea bass
Assorted Seafood
Créme Brulé
Cokocheesecake
Tuna Tartare
French Fri
Dry aged bone-in filet
Petite Filet Rare With Lobster Mashed Potatoes
Ahi, Seared
The Jewel
Crab Brulee
Crab & Corn Fritters
Dare Cabernet
Steakhouse Tomato Salad
Iceburg Lettuce With Blue Cheese And Bacon
Salad
Barrel Cut Filet Mingon

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Jeff Ruby's - Louisville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Central Kentucky
Best Food
Central Kentucky
Best Service
Central Kentucky
12 More
Best Ambiance
Central Kentucky
Special Occasion
Central Kentucky
Steak
Central Kentucky
Most Booked
Central Kentucky
Best Overall
Louisville
Best Food
Louisville
Best Service
Louisville
Best Ambiance
Louisville
Romantic
Louisville
Special Occasion
Louisville
Steak
Louisville
Most Booked
Louisville
Best Restaurants in Downtown Louisville ›

Special Occasion (135)
Romantic (86)
Notable Wine List (67)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (58)
Hot Spot (55)
Fit for Foodies (53)
Good for Groups (43)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Late-night Find (13)
Scenic View (5)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1351 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Been here several times for special occa ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Been here several times for special occasions. This was the first time we were a little disappointed. Bathrooms were disgusting. One out of order, one was trashed and the only other one had no toilet paper. The server was amazing and the manager did make good on our food. But we will still be back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Very delicious food. The steaks were ten ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very delicious food. The steaks were tender and cooked perfect. The side dishes were excellent! Brussel sprouts and truffle cream corn. I loved the atmosphere and the wait staff. Everyone was very professional and dressed extremely well. Exactly what I expected!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It certainly didn't live up to our expec ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 4 days ago

It certainly didn't live up to our expectations for a fine dining restaurant. You advertise no shorts and shouldn't be jeans but it's not enforced. Way way to loud for dining and definately felt like a bar atmosphere. You also shouldn't recommend a steak with a bone in for people to share. Once it's cut in half there wasn't anything left on the bone for the other person to eat. All fat and no meat. The manager was very helpful and brought out another one (no bone). Food was good but not as good as we've had at Ruth Chris .

Doubt that we will come back unless it's for the bat. Wasn't worth the money.

Tags: Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

First timer. Took my wife for her Birthd ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 6 days ago

First timer. Took my wife for her Birthday after several people told me it was the best in town. I have to admit they were right! The ambiance, service and food were exceptional. It was my first time trying sushi, we ordered the Money roll it was outstanding! My wife also order the crab bisque delicious. We split the cowboy steak with truffle butter it was perfect. The Mac & cheese was the best I've tasted at a restaurant. It was definitely an expensive meal but well worth it for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful visit. The food was a ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful visit. The food was absolutely wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easily the best place I've ever eaten in ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Easily the best place I've ever eaten in my life. I couldn't think of a complaint if I wanted to. Everything was phenomenal from service, to food, to even the live music was above fantastic. It definitely made a memorable birthday for my girlfriend.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit to JR and it wa ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was our first visit to JR and it was very enjoyable. Our server was personable and very attentive . Food was delish and the wine selection was great. Atmosphere was elegant but not stuffy.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Felt it was significantly overpriced for ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Felt it was significantly overpriced for the food. Steak was finished with some coating or rub that was unexpected and degraded my enjoyment of the steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Great service food ok noise level poor

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great service food ok noise level poor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great food and service. Lobster Mac n ch ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food and service. Lobster Mac n cheese is to die for.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. Always!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food and service. Always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Memorable service. 2 servers for 1 table ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Memorable service. 2 servers for 1 table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent all the way around! We love i ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Excellent all the way around! We love it for special occasions!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the front desk to the Restaurant Ad ...

 
·Dined on August 1, 2016

From the front desk to the Restaurant Administrator, every body make you feel welcome. The waiter was very knowledgeable of our preferences in wine and food. His service was superb.

The food was prepared to our requested temperature and it was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my wife for her 40th birthday. We ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Took my wife for her 40th birthday. We had an amazing time. The food, service, and the atmosphere were perfect. However, little did I know that an employee of mine (whom I got a gift card for) also ate there on 7/30/16. Our reservation was at 6:30pm. His was at 9:00pm. He mentioned to me that the steaks were less then done to what they ordered but still ate them. He did say the service was wonderful. A little loud for his tasted but there was house music going on and he know that. What upset him was that there were women in the dining area in cutoff shorts and tank tops. I called on 8/2/16 to inquire about what the dress code is and a very nice gentleman explained to me the code in the dining area and what the code or lack of a code in the bar area is. I was under the impression that these women were in the bar area, but after I got off the phone and spoke to my employee about the conversation he confirmed to me that these women were in the dining area. He said it was more like an "outback" dining experience and not the upscale dining he was hoping for. I told him to not judge by one meal and to make his reservation for an earlier time. I hope he does.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always a fantastic experience! Food w ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

As always a fantastic experience! Food was delicious and service excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great date night dining! Jimette was aw ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great date night dining! Jimette was awesome and food was perfect. A don't miss in the Derby dining scene!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arrived early and was immediately sat. S ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Arrived early and was immediately sat. Service by John was phenomenal. Food was perfect. We both ordered drinks from the bar and they were right on track. Overall great dining experience. The truffle corn side dish is unique and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was wonderful! Our waiter gave us t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Food was wonderful! Our waiter gave us the exact attention needed. Can't wait to return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The best meal I've ever had in my life. ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The best meal I've ever had in my life. Service and ambiance were incredible. We had a great experience and we'll definitely be back and recommend to everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This review was authored by my wife, Lou ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

This review was authored by my wife, Louise, for whom I made the reservation.

"Our server Jeff was fantastic! He explained everything well to my friends who have never been to JR! Manager Glen came to check on us and had pleasant conversation since I was from Nashville where the newest Jeff Ruby Steakhouse is located. My friends were very complimentary about the experience. Loved the sides being served individually to us. Steaks were cooked to perfection. BUT the fun part was being escorted to the ladies room!!! Just over the top! Thank you Jeff & Glen for making our evening so special."

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything from valet parking through th ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Everything from valet parking through the butter pie could not have been any better. Was really surprised that JR was there in Louisville for the past 10 years. Sorry that we didn't discover it sooner. With the Kentucky Center performance, JR made the evening perfect. This Lex couple will be back and with friends. Thanks.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First bad steak I ever had at Ruby's. It ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

First bad steak I ever had at Ruby's. It was just to charred for my liking. It wasn't terrible but it wasn't the normal Jeff Ruby steak.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely wonderful, thanks Chris!

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Absolutely wonderful, thanks Chris!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was exquisite. The salads ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The service was exquisite. The salads were especially good and the serving sizes appropriate for the four people. What struck me when I walked in was the decor. I felt like I was in Chicago. When I asked for directions to the rest room, I was escorted by a gentleman. I must visit restaurant for all!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

JR is a gem. Food and drink are exceptio ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

JR is a gem. Food and drink are exceptional. Service is top notch. Steaks, Mac and cheese and sushi are out of this world. We were celebrating a birthday and JR never disappoints. Decor, music and overall ambiance cannot be beat. I've been to JR many times and it's always a good experience. I often think of JR when it's a special occasion since it's always a treat.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fresh seafood presented in a beautiful m ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Fresh seafood presented in a beautiful manner. Gorgeous steak perfectly cooked. Service that could not be improved upon. Only one negative comment: Terrible excuse for a Caesar salad, was just a bowl of drowned lettuce. A place with this much class and pride should be able to present a real Caesar salad, perhaps prepared table-side.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our 48th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We celebrated our 48th wedding anniversary and Jeff Rubys made it memorable. The filets were perfect. Our photo and the complimentary dessert added the special touches to our experience. Wish I could afford regular meals there but well worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I'll start off and say that after readin ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I'll start off and say that after reading plenty of online reviews which raved about Jeff Ruby's, I went in with pretty high expectations. I had a budget of about $150 but the only thing on my checklist was to find a truly phenomenal steak. Was a little surprised when I walked in to Jeff Rubys and found that this place had an extremely dated feel. From the chandeliers to the mirror ceilings, I felt as if this might be a place modeled after the Great Gatsby. Granted, as a young 20 something, I know I am not their typical clientele but I imagine that the novelty of this place will not appeal to the coming generations. I had made a reservation in advance but when we showed up 5 minutes after, we were made to wait probably about 10 extra minutes which felt like a punishment. As it ended up being my fault, I didn't really hurt the experience.

On to the food - I chose to skip the appetizer. My friend who joined me for dinner ordered some oysters that she found pretty enjoyable. I saw people raving about the bread and butter at this place and I could partly see why. I forget what it was called, but one of the butter types had chia seeds (or something like that) and I thought that butter was pretty phenomenal and different... As I had gone to this place for a steak in the first place, I quickly looked to the top shelf. I decided that at $22 an ounce, the Wagyu was probably out of the picture. I ended up ordering the $69 16 ounce bone in filet with a side of mushrooms and mashed potatoes (they were out of the creamed corn). While the steak was good, I was disappointed because it was nothing special. One thing I didn't account for was that cooking a piece of meat that big might be difficult. I found the edges of teh steak were overcooked. I ordered it medium rare and the first cut around the steak had no pink. As I moved through the steak, it became more medium-rare but there was a decisive lack of flavor. On a side note - drinks were great. Whiskey was reasonable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Noisy and way over priced but probably t ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Noisy and way over priced but probably the best steak I've ever eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Food was excellent but you are paying fo ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was excellent but you are paying for an "in" place, not for the value. It would be great for that once a year special event.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Love The Godfather Roll!! Waiter was gre ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Love The Godfather Roll!! Waiter was great and made great recommendations!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was prepared as ordered and present ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food was prepared as ordered and presentation was tasteful. Service was excellent. We were were approached by the management several times to make sure all was well. The noise level was the only thing that was a problem.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent dinner, service, atmosphere. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent dinner, service, atmosphere. Our steaks were wonderful. Two managers during the course of the evening stopped by our table to make sure everything was alright.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service was awesome. I ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food and the service was awesome. I really enjoyed listening and watching Napoleon and the Beats, but the view was distracted by the UFC matches that were being displayed on the TVs above the stage. It really took away from the band that we schedule our dinners at Jeff Ruby's around.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Put simply - Jeff Ruby's delivers! Exce ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Put simply - Jeff Ruby's delivers! Excellent food, service, atmosphere and ambience. A must for locals or visitors alike. It is one of Louisville's premier restaurants.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service,delicious food and dri ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Wonderful service,delicious food and drinks fabulous Louisville atmosphere

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined here many times & it's alw ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We have dined here many times & it's always wonderful. The staff is very accommodating & polite. It's our go-to for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our Wedding Annivers ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We were celebrating our Wedding Anniversary. We live in Clarksville, TN but spent two nights in Louisville & I did lots of research for a Amazing Restaurant & this was it!! From the moment we drove up, it was a perfect evening!! Our main Waiter was Grant. He was so knowledgeable of every item on the menu. He guided my husband Guy & I to drinks that were fantastic & then our main entrees which we ate slowly & savored every single bite. (SIDE DISH THAT IS A MUST IS THE TRUFFLED CREAMED CORN) Guy & I have already planned our next food choices for when we hope to return in 6 months!! This restaurant is one that should NOT be missed out on! The goal of the staff was for US to be happy, relaxed & to enjoy every minute of the Jeff Ruby experience!! And for a bonus, they took a picture of us & we had a cheesecake dessert, on the house which again, was so delicious!! We were given the picture in a nice Souvenir frame when we were leaving.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate at Jeff Ruby's while on vacation ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We ate at Jeff Ruby's while on vacation in Louisville. Our meal was great and the large number of entrees made it difficult to choose just one. It was pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.