Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Jeff Ruby's - Louisville

The first & only steakhouse of its kind in the Louisville area, Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse serves only dry-aged USDA prime beef. While steak is the foundation of the menu, Jeff Ruby's promises to please seafood lovers as well with its raw/sushi bar & seafood entrees.
Jeff Ruby regulars will be pleased to know that their favorite signature items from the Cincinnati restaurants will be well represented in Louisville. The bone-in filet, the 7 cheese baked macaroni, creamed spinach, truffle flake creamed corn, & of course Jeff Ruby's secret recipe cheesecake will all be staples of the Louisville menu.
Styled after the great NY steakhouses of the 1930's & 40's, Jeff Ruby's promises to be as pleasing visually as it is to the palate. French art-deco design, plush mohair upholstery, hand selected antique furniture and cinematic crystal chandeliers anchored by a 1950s-era antique featured in the Starz series Magic City and the 32 foot wall of wine.

325 W. Main Street
Suite 120 Waterfront Plaza
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 584-0102

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Jeff Ruby's offers live entertainment 6 nights per week.

Parking Details:
Optional valet is offered at the entrance of the restaurant on 4th street, with street parking & 2 garages within one block.

Executive Chef:
Brian Steger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Jeff Ruby's - Louisville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (122)
Good for a Date (102)
Good for Anniversaries (96)
See All
Romantic (87)
Good for Birthdays (62)
Notable Wine List (58)
Business Meals (56)
Bar Seating (47)
Fun (46)
Hot Spot (43)
Vibrant Bar Scene (42)
Live Music (40)
Handcrafted Cocktails (38)
Pre/post Theatre (37)
Worth the Drive (35)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Good for Groups (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Cozy (28)
People Watching (26)
Modern Decor (24)
Authentic (22)
Late-night Find (19)
Happy Hour (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Historic (15)
Comfort Food (13)
Tasting Menu (11)
Private Room (11)
Casual (9)
Family Style (7)
Healthy (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Waterfront (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Live Sports (5)
Great Beer (5)
Scenic View (5)
Seasonal (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Dancing (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Vegan (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1699 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 hours ago

Fantastic service from everyone we encountered. Excellent food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was great, as was the entertainment! Would definitely recommend s!

Tags: Live Music, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

We came this time to celebrate my brothers birthday and it was excellent. Our food, wine and service were all great. I will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed great service and a delicious meal. It was a wonderful spot to celebrate a 50th birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic meal. Best steak I've ever tasted. I was fully prepared to be underwhelmed. But, I was dead wrong. Fast paced service. Thorough staff. A little noisy. But It's a busy restaurant. Absolutely worth the $$ if you're want to splurge on a special night out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

I didn't give 5 stars because, my companion and I had allowed plenty of time for our meal. We had over an hour and a half and advised our waitress of same and that we didn't need to rush. She indicated that she understood. However, we ordered a drink before dinner and shortly afterward, our meal arrived. She brought everything...salad, entrees and sides at one time. That was irritating to say the least. We were done too early to get to our show and just drug our feet to kill time. I regret not asking her to take everything back and to bring salad first, etc. a restaurant of this caliber should know better, or they should've asked our preference if there was a question. That said, food and drinks were spot on and we will definitely be back. Fillet was perfectly cooked and crab cake was chock full of lump crab.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Anniversary dinner, which I mentioned when they called to confirm reservation. After the meal, they brought us a slice of cheesecake, which was awesome. And they took a photo that they printed and had in a frame at the front door when we left. First class service and food. I like what Jeff stands for, booting OJ and supporting Ali when he passed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Its to die for!!! From the moment we, entered the door it was very professional. It was Most definitely a night to remember, for our Anniversary! We'll surely be going again!!

Tags: Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Family Style, Waterfront, Scenic View, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Outstanding food, service, and all-around environment. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Jeff Ruby's is always a wonderful experience! You have to look very hard to find room for improvement, however PLEASE bring back the former Creamed Spinach. The new recipe is not as enjoyable.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 11, 2017

It took us for a party of four one hour and forty five minutes to get our main course. When we talked to the manager we were told that it could not have taken this long , I guess we needed him to show us how to read a clock. Food was good.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We went to Jeff Ruby's for my husbands birthday. The service was some of the best we've had! We were seated at the time of our reservation and got our food quickly. I do think the food is a little over priced but it sure was delicious!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We had made reservation, but upon arriving there were no tables available and we were given the choice to wait a while on a table or sit in the bar area . We chose the bar area because we were hungry and ready for dinner at 8:30 PM . it was very busy and noisy not the romantic dinner we had planned for our 10yr anniversary. We have ate at Jeff rubys Steakhouse before and this was our worst experience. We've had a handful of other experiences that were great so we will give them another try & hope it all works out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

When walking into Jeff Ruby's Louisville, we immediately loved it. The decor is fun and fabulous. I loved the piano bar. We loved the dinner; the steak was cooked to perfection, per our order. The service was friendly and excellent. It is a must go-back-to next time we are in Louisville!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Tables very close together. The noise level was very loud. The noise took away from the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Fantastic time and time again!! This place has it going on with the best steaks in Louisville, Kentucky hands-down. Best service and a beautiful place to just relax and take it all in. Beautiful design and best food in the land you can't go wrong!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Live Sports, Private Room, Live Music, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Family Style, Fun, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Get any sushi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 30, 2017

First of all the reservations for 10:45 which was awesome cuz we were at a show and we couldn't make it there till that time when we arrived we were welcomed at the door. This is a very busy restaurant is attached to the hotel that we are staying at the Galt House. There was three of us and we all ordered the New York strip with a baked potato asparagus and one of the girls ordered mushroom! This is by far ad tasteful steak as ever Nick the waiter was amazing he was thoughtful checked on and he recommended how do I get her steak cooked and went the extra mile when he found out one of those had a onion allergy. He also let us know that new Jeff Ruby that had opened in Nashville a little more than a year ago so we will definitely frequent that and this is by far my favorite restaurant in Louisville for a steak

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Jeff Ruby's always is a great place to eat. I've been to the Cincinnati location several times but this was my first time at the Louisville location. Excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 30, 2017

First of all, our waiter was great. He was extremely knowledgeable about the menu and gave some great recommendations. The filet was cooked to perfection! The scallops were amazing. The overall atmosphere of the building was great. My wife and I will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

My wife and I were on a cross country journey. I had plenty of red meat along the way but the very best steak I had was at Jeff Ruby's

Tags: People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We were surprised with dinner from our school staff for Administrators Day.
Martin Luther King Jr. Elementary School staff members set up one of the best evening dinners for the Principal, Assistant Principal, Counselor and myself Family Resource Coordinator. I highly recommend this restaurant to all my friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We've been to this Jeff Ruby's a few times & always leave saying, "Meh." It is a loud, busy restaurant that is filled with business travelers. The steaks are good, but not the best in town. I love red meat but I typically get sushi or fish when here. I cannot eat a large cut of beef, of which there are many, but prefer a petit cut--there is 1 filet. A filet has to be prepared well for it to be flavorful, and the "crust" that is on the JR's filet is not very flavor-filled, more like a charcoal/pepper dry rub. We have gotten the mac & cheese, which is good but dry, the mushrooms are ok, au gratin potatoes are swimming in oil, but the brussel sprouts are great. Our salads were fine. My sea bass was very good & the seaweed, King crab accoutrement was delicious! My husband had the filet, and it was as described above. This particular night we used a gift card, but celebrating my husband's birthday, which I shared when I was asked if we were celebrating anything when I made the reservation. No mention was made of this "special occasion," which was fine, but why ask the question? We did order 2 cocktails from the seasonal menu--one was a gin drink with orange juice & grenadine, the other a rum punch-style concoction. The gin drink arrived with lemon peel and was almost clear in color (where is the grenadine??) and the "rum punch" was clearly Bourbon-derived. We thought we had someone else's drinks, so we sent them back. Our waiter arrived with the exact same cocktails and said, "These are the correct drinks for what you ordered." He did explain that they were new drinks, so maybe the bartender didn't know how to make them yet. Wow. For $13/drink, practice making before you put them on the menu, perhaps? They were taken off our table & off our bill. Service was ok--our waiter was busy but mostly attentive. We did have to ask for water. Twice. This restaurant is not cheap, and I would much prefer to spend my money elsewhere, with better food, service & customer care.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 26, 2017

as always, an AWESOME experience!! food is always excellent, service is always top notch, ambiance is one of a kind. we look forward to our next visit!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

One of the most wonderful restaurants on the planet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Always excellent service. Not just efficient but friendly. Food is great. We like to celebrate at Jeff Ruby's.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had the greatest ribeye steak.

Tags: Fun, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The atmosphere is always so inviting. The wait staff is excellent!!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food was delicious and the wait staff extremely attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 21, 2017

A great place to meet friends for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The best steak house in America.The way steak is suppose to be.Super mac and cheese.Fantastic decor.The cheesecake is to die for.Whenever I am Louisville or Cincinnati-Jeff Ruby's reservation is a must.Please open up in Indianapolis-will be there opening night.

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Steaks, sushi, bourbon were all top tier. I did find the side items(sprouts & mac n' cheese) to be a flavor I would not revisit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Everything was amazing like always! It's one of our favorite places in Louisville to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food and service was great. Would go back to again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Grant was a phenomenal waiter! And William was awesome too. My ceasar salad was yummy and my steak was to die for... perfectly cooked! And those brussel sprouts were excellent. If you want a fantastic steak, sides and service, Jeff Ruby's Stackhouse is the place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

As always, the food was delicious. Such a great spot for date night or a night out with friends. The steak is always out of this world and the mac-n-cheese is always my go-to side item.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The steaks were some of the best we have ever eaten. The sushi was outstanding. The au gratin was difficult to get out of the pan and was not to my liking. The creamed corn and green beans were great. The alcoholic drinks were excellently made.

However, we had to wait awhile for refills on our water and our alcoholic drinks after we had to request them from the waitstaff. We observed other tables receiving more attention from their waitstaff and it appeared the table next to us had sent food back to the kitchen several times so maybe they took priority.

This was a special treat for us to go out but overall I was most impressed with just the steak itself.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Excellent food with fantastic service from Jimettte

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Our experience was nothing short of amazing! So glad we tried the steak - truly perfection! Our server was knowledgeable and attentive, without being too "present". We'll be back, and have already recommended Jeff Ruby's to several friends. What a treat! 😃👍🏻

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 10, 2017

I just absolutely love love the food and ambience of Jeff Ruby's. The wait staff do not miss a beat with any service. I now have my husband sold; as it was his first time coming to the restaurant!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.