About Jeff Ruby's - Louisville

325 W. Main Street
Suite 120 Waterfront Plaza
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

The first & only steakhouse of its kind in the Louisville area, Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse serves only dry-aged USDA prime beef. While steak is the foundation of the menu, Jeff Ruby's promises to please seafood lovers as well with its raw/sushi bar & seafood entrees.
Jeff Ruby regulars will be pleased to know that their favorite signature items from the Cincinnati restaurants will be well represented in Louisville. The bone-in filet, the 7 cheese baked macaroni, creamed spinach, truffle flake creamed corn, & of course Jeff Ruby's secret recipe cheesecake will all be staples of the Louisville menu.
Styled after the great NY steakhouses of the 1930's & 40's, Jeff Ruby's promises to be as pleasing visually as it is to the palate. French art-deco design, plush mohair upholstery, hand selected antique furniture and cinematic crystal chandeliers anchored by a 1950s-era antique featured in the Starz series Magic City and the 32 foot wall of wine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 584-0102

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Jeff Ruby's offers live entertainment 6 nights per week.

Parking Details:
Optional valet is offered at the entrance of the restaurant on 4th street, with street parking & 2 garages within one block.

Executive Chef:
Brian Steger

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Diver Scallops
Sea bass
Assorted Seafood
Cokocheesecake
Créme Brulé
Tuna Tartare
French Fri
Dry aged bone-in filet
Petite Filet Rare With Lobster Mashed Potatoes
Ahi, Seared
The Jewel
Crab Brulee
Dare Cabernet
Crab & Corn Fritters
Iceburg Lettuce With Blue Cheese And Bacon
Steakhouse Tomato Salad
Salad
Barrel Cut Filet Mingon

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Jeff Ruby's - Louisville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Central Kentucky
Best Food
Central Kentucky
Best Service
Central Kentucky
13 More
Best Ambiance
Central Kentucky
Notable Wine List
Central Kentucky
Special Occasion
Central Kentucky
Steak
Central Kentucky
Most Booked
Central Kentucky
Best Overall
Louisville
Best Food
Louisville
Best Service
Louisville
Best Ambiance
Louisville
Notable Wine List
Louisville
Special Occasion
Louisville
Steak
Louisville
Most Booked
Louisville
Best Restaurants in Downtown Louisville ›

special occasion (146)
romantic (89)
notable wine list (68)
See All
vibrant bar scene (67)
hot spot (56)
fit for foodies (55)
good for groups (50)
neighborhood gem (27)
late-night find (14)
great for lunch (5)
scenic view (5)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1329 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First bad steak I ever had at Ruby's. It ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 5 days ago

First bad steak I ever had at Ruby's. It was just to charred for my liking. It wasn't terrible but it wasn't the normal Jeff Ruby steak.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely wonderful, thanks Chris!

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely wonderful, thanks Chris!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was exquisite. The salads ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 6 days ago

The service was exquisite. The salads were especially good and the serving sizes appropriate for the four people. What struck me when I walked in was the decor. I felt like I was in Chicago. When I asked for directions to the rest room, I was escorted by a gentleman. I must visit restaurant for all!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

JR is a gem. Food and drink are exceptio ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined 6 days ago

JR is a gem. Food and drink are exceptional. Service is top notch. Steaks, Mac and cheese and sushi are out of this world. We were celebrating a birthday and JR never disappoints. Decor, music and overall ambiance cannot be beat. I've been to JR many times and it's always a good experience. I often think of JR when it's a special occasion since it's always a treat.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fresh seafood presented in a beautiful m ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fresh seafood presented in a beautiful manner. Gorgeous steak perfectly cooked. Service that could not be improved upon. Only one negative comment: Terrible excuse for a Caesar salad, was just a bowl of drowned lettuce. A place with this much class and pride should be able to present a real Caesar salad, perhaps prepared table-side.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our 48th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We celebrated our 48th wedding anniversary and Jeff Rubys made it memorable. The filets were perfect. Our photo and the complimentary dessert added the special touches to our experience. Wish I could afford regular meals there but well worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I'll start off and say that after readin ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I'll start off and say that after reading plenty of online reviews which raved about Jeff Ruby's, I went in with pretty high expectations. I had a budget of about $150 but the only thing on my checklist was to find a truly phenomenal steak. Was a little surprised when I walked in to Jeff Rubys and found that this place had an extremely dated feel. From the chandeliers to the mirror ceilings, I felt as if this might be a place modeled after the Great Gatsby. Granted, as a young 20 something, I know I am not their typical clientele but I imagine that the novelty of this place will not appeal to the coming generations. I had made a reservation in advance but when we showed up 5 minutes after, we were made to wait probably about 10 extra minutes which felt like a punishment. As it ended up being my fault, I didn't really hurt the experience.

On to the food - I chose to skip the appetizer. My friend who joined me for dinner ordered some oysters that she found pretty enjoyable. I saw people raving about the bread and butter at this place and I could partly see why. I forget what it was called, but one of the butter types had chia seeds (or something like that) and I thought that butter was pretty phenomenal and different... As I had gone to this place for a steak in the first place, I quickly looked to the top shelf. I decided that at $22 an ounce, the Wagyu was probably out of the picture. I ended up ordering the $69 16 ounce bone in filet with a side of mushrooms and mashed potatoes (they were out of the creamed corn). While the steak was good, I was disappointed because it was nothing special. One thing I didn't account for was that cooking a piece of meat that big might be difficult. I found the edges of teh steak were overcooked. I ordered it medium rare and the first cut around the steak had no pink. As I moved through the steak, it became more medium-rare but there was a decisive lack of flavor. On a side note - drinks were great. Whiskey was reasonable.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Noisy and way over priced but probably t ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Noisy and way over priced but probably the best steak I've ever eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Food was excellent but you are paying fo ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was excellent but you are paying for an "in" place, not for the value. It would be great for that once a year special event.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Love The Godfather Roll!! Waiter was gre ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Love The Godfather Roll!! Waiter was great and made great recommendations!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was prepared as ordered and present ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food was prepared as ordered and presentation was tasteful. Service was excellent. We were were approached by the management several times to make sure all was well. The noise level was the only thing that was a problem.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent dinner, service, atmosphere. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent dinner, service, atmosphere. Our steaks were wonderful. Two managers during the course of the evening stopped by our table to make sure everything was alright.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service was awesome. I ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food and the service was awesome. I really enjoyed listening and watching Napoleon and the Beats, but the view was distracted by the UFC matches that were being displayed on the TVs above the stage. It really took away from the band that we schedule our dinners at Jeff Ruby's around.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Put simply - Jeff Ruby's delivers! Exce ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Put simply - Jeff Ruby's delivers! Excellent food, service, atmosphere and ambience. A must for locals or visitors alike. It is one of Louisville's premier restaurants.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service,delicious food and dri ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Wonderful service,delicious food and drinks fabulous Louisville atmosphere

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined here many times & it's alw ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We have dined here many times & it's always wonderful. The staff is very accommodating & polite. It's our go-to for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our Wedding Annivers ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We were celebrating our Wedding Anniversary. We live in Clarksville, TN but spent two nights in Louisville & I did lots of research for a Amazing Restaurant & this was it!! From the moment we drove up, it was a perfect evening!! Our main Waiter was Grant. He was so knowledgeable of every item on the menu. He guided my husband Guy & I to drinks that were fantastic & then our main entrees which we ate slowly & savored every single bite. (SIDE DISH THAT IS A MUST IS THE TRUFFLED CREAMED CORN) Guy & I have already planned our next food choices for when we hope to return in 6 months!! This restaurant is one that should NOT be missed out on! The goal of the staff was for US to be happy, relaxed & to enjoy every minute of the Jeff Ruby experience!! And for a bonus, they took a picture of us & we had a cheesecake dessert, on the house which again, was so delicious!! We were given the picture in a nice Souvenir frame when we were leaving.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate at Jeff Ruby's while on vacation ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We ate at Jeff Ruby's while on vacation in Louisville. Our meal was great and the large number of entrees made it difficult to choose just one. It was pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I really love the atmosphere. I love th ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I really love the atmosphere. I love the wedge salad, my fav! Ordered an Absolut martini on the rocks and it was perfect. I can't wait to come back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was fantastic. Service (Jeff and ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Dinner was fantastic. Service (Jeff and David) were awesome. The only thing that I would change is the volume on the music, a little too loud. We were seated near the back of the dining room and we had to speak up to hear each other.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak that I've had in Louisville. ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Best steak that I've had in Louisville. Pricey, but worth it. Great service. Will definitely go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great vibe in a great looking restaurant ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great vibe in a great looking restaurant. Food and service were fabulous and I loved the old-school Art Deco style.

The Oysters recommended by our server were superb as was each dish we tried.

Great place to get dressed up on Friday/Saturday night and celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

When you come here, you will get a very ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

When you come here, you will get a very finely prepared piece of steak. It will be among the best that you have ever had, but it won't be number one unless you haven't dined at places like Del Frisco's or Truluck's. The service was on top of everything that you could imagine. Maybe even on the verge of being too oppulent. If they attempted to place my napkin in my lap for me, I was going to leave. Huge selection of libations to wet your pallet.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

I searched this restaurant through googl ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I searched this restaurant through google as I wanted to take my boyfriend out for a special birthday dinner. I was very excited with everything from Valet to completing my meal. Thanks to everyone who helped make our night enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was excellent as usual. Well seaso ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food was excellent as usual. Well seasoned and perfectly cooked. Our waiter, Jeff, is one of the best in the city. Very knowledgable about food, wine, the whole deal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak in town by far (get the chili ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Best steak in town by far (get the chili rub) Service was excellent. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about bourbon, which enhanced our selections from the bar. Excellent overall experience, but I would not recommend for a quiet, romantic date night. This is more of a celebration dining destination.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The level of service you receive at this ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The level of service you receive at this restaurant is always amazing. Our server (Andrei) was and always is so attentive and makes sure that you want for nothing while you are in his service.

My only reason for not giving 5 stars on everything is that the service from the greet staff was a bit lacking and confusing and they mixed up our reservation so we ended up being seated at a table (had requested a booth) and were seated next to a very loud (drunk) group of men having a business dinner.

We will definitely return for special occasions!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I were celebrating our 24 ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our 24th wedding anniversary . We had a great time as always

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak and shrimp cocktail are amazin ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The steak and shrimp cocktail are amazing, and the service is second to none. My wife and I love to come here every year for our anniversary, but once a year is about all our bank account can take. Definitely make your reservation at least 2 weeks ahead of time, because if you're reading this you probably aren't a celebrity which means you aren't just going to walk in and get a table.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We normally go to Ruby's restaurants in ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We normally go to Ruby's restaurants in Cincinnati and this was our first time at the Louisville location. The food (filet mignons) was excellent as usual however service wasn't up to par for the usual Ruby experience once our entree was served. Getting refills and even our bill took awhile. It arrived fifteenth minutes after our table was cleared and brushed off. Our server had her attention split between her other tables and visiting in the nook at the back corner of the bar.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

From the moment we walked in the service ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

From the moment we walked in the service was outstanding. Our server and his assistant were there and taking care of our needs from the minute we were seated. Followed his lead on selections and my wife would not have been happier. It was time and money well spent.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience. Really enjoyed our di ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great experience. Really enjoyed our dinner and it was our first vidit. Food was excellent and servive was perfect. Husband spilt drink...staff efficient and made it like it happens all the time. Not a big deal. Will visit again.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great spot to dine. Excellent service ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

A great spot to dine. Excellent service and the food was immaculate. Expect to pay a little for this place, but you definitely get what you pay for—fine dining!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have dined at Jeff Rubys before, wanted ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Have dined at Jeff Rubys before, wanted to share the experience with my wife and son and they both said it was one of, if not the best meal they have ever had. The entertainment in the bar was not so loud that you couldn't carry a conversation.

Again a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely loved the sushi, and the stea ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Absolutely loved the sushi, and the steak was on point. Great for any occasion, staff was pleasant, and very welcoming.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jeff Ruby never disappoints. Excellent s ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Jeff Ruby never disappoints. Excellent service from the hostess to the wait staff. The drinks were made to perfection. I had the Red Sangria for something different, but they have an excellent wine and bourbon list. The Caesar salad was crisp and not overpowered with dressing. The strip steak my husband orders was cooked perfectly. My lobster was was very good. I like that you can get the tail as an entree and not just as an accompaniment, because I have a smaller appetite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had heard so many good things about Je ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I had heard so many good things about Jeff Ruby's. I was very disappointed. Our vegetables were over cooked that it had a char taste. We ordered medium well steaks, but they were a little charred on the outside as well,. to the point we had to ask for steak sauce. A good steak does not require steak sauce. For the price we paid, we will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Best restaurant in town---excellent bar, ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Best restaurant in town---excellent bar, appetizers, service and the steaks are ALWAYS excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A bit pricey, but an excellent experienc ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

A bit pricey, but an excellent experience. Worth the money. The best steak I've had in a long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a consistent, excellent experienc ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always a consistent, excellent experience at Jeff Ruby's!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.