About Jeff Ruby's - Louisville

325 W. Main Street
Suite 120 Waterfront Plaza
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

The first & only steakhouse of its kind in the Louisville area, Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse serves only dry-aged USDA prime beef. While steak is the foundation of the menu, Jeff Ruby's promises to please seafood lovers as well with its raw/sushi bar & seafood entrees.
Jeff Ruby regulars will be pleased to know that their favorite signature items from the Cincinnati restaurants will be well represented in Louisville. The bone-in filet, the 7 cheese baked macaroni, creamed spinach, truffle flake creamed corn, & of course Jeff Ruby's secret recipe cheesecake will all be staples of the Louisville menu.
Styled after the great NY steakhouses of the 1930's & 40's, Jeff Ruby's promises to be as pleasing visually as it is to the palate. French art-deco design, plush mohair upholstery, hand selected antique furniture and cinematic crystal chandeliers anchored by a 1950s-era antique featured in the Starz series Magic City and the 32 foot wall of wine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 584-0102

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Jeff Ruby's offers live entertainment 6 nights per week.

Parking Details:
Optional valet is offered at the entrance of the restaurant on 4th street, with street parking & 2 garages within one block.

Executive Chef:
Brian Steger

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Diver Scallops
Sea bass
Assorted Seafood
Cokocheesecake
Créme Brulé
Tuna Tartare
French Fri
Dry aged bone-in filet
Petite Filet Rare With Lobster Mashed Potatoes
Ahi, Seared
The Jewel
Crab Brulee
Dare Cabernet
Crab & Corn Fritters
Iceburg Lettuce With Blue Cheese And Bacon
Steakhouse Tomato Salad
Salad
Barrel Cut Filet Mingon

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Jeff Ruby's - Louisville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Central Kentucky
Best Service
Central Kentucky
Best Ambiance
Central Kentucky
11 More
Notable Wine List
Central Kentucky
Special Occasion
Central Kentucky
Steak
Central Kentucky
Most Booked
Central Kentucky
Best Overall
Louisville
Best Food
Louisville
Best Service
Louisville
Best Ambiance
Louisville
Notable Wine List
Louisville
Special Occasion
Louisville
Most Booked
Louisville
Best Restaurants in Downtown Louisville ›

special occasion (137)
romantic (87)
vibrant bar scene (69)
See All
notable wine list (67)
fit for foodies (60)
hot spot (59)
good for groups (50)
neighborhood gem (26)
late-night find (11)
scenic view (5)
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1304 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best steak in town by far (get the chili ...

Dined 4 days ago

Best steak in town by far (get the chili rub) Service was excellent. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about bourbon, which enhanced our selections from the bar. Excellent overall experience, but I would not recommend for a quiet, romantic date night. This is more of a celebration dining destination.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The level of service you receive at this ...

Dined 6 days ago

The level of service you receive at this restaurant is always amazing. Our server (Andrei) was and always is so attentive and makes sure that you want for nothing while you are in his service. My only reason for not giving 5 stars on everything is that the service from the greet staff was a bit lacking and confusing and they mixed up our reservation so we ended up being seated at a table (had requested a booth) and were seated next to a very loud (drunk) group of men having a business dinner. We will definitely return for special occasions!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were celebrating our 24 ...

Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I were celebrating our 24th wedding anniversary . We had a great time as always

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The steak and shrimp cocktail are amazin ...

Dined 6 days ago

The steak and shrimp cocktail are amazing, and the service is second to none. My wife and I love to come here every year for our anniversary, but once a year is about all our bank account can take. Definitely make your reservation at least 2 weeks ahead of time, because if you're reading this you probably aren't a celebrity which means you aren't just going to walk in and get a table.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We normally go to Ruby's restaurants in ...

Dined 6 days ago

We normally go to Ruby's restaurants in Cincinnati and this was our first time at the Louisville location. The food (filet mignons) was excellent as usual however service wasn't up to par for the usual Ruby experience once our entree was served. Getting refills and even our bill took awhile. It arrived fifteenth minutes after our table was cleared and brushed off. Our server had her attention split between her other tables and visiting in the nook at the back corner of the bar.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

From the moment we walked in the service ...

Dined 7 days ago

From the moment we walked in the service was outstanding. Our server and his assistant were there and taking care of our needs from the minute we were seated. Followed his lead on selections and my wife would not have been happier. It was time and money well spent.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Really enjoyed our di ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Great experience. Really enjoyed our dinner and it was our first vidit. Food was excellent and servive was perfect. Husband spilt drink...staff efficient and made it like it happens all the time. Not a big deal. Will visit again.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great spot to dine. Excellent service ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

A great spot to dine. Excellent service and the food was immaculate. Expect to pay a little for this place, but you definitely get what you pay for—fine dining!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Have dined at Jeff Rubys before, wanted ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Have dined at Jeff Rubys before, wanted to share the experience with my wife and son and they both said it was one of, if not the best meal they have ever had. The entertainment in the bar was not so loud that you couldn't carry a conversation. Again a great dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved the sushi, and the stea ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Absolutely loved the sushi, and the steak was on point. Great for any occasion, staff was pleasant, and very welcoming.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jeff Ruby never disappoints. Excellent s ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Jeff Ruby never disappoints. Excellent service from the hostess to the wait staff. The drinks were made to perfection. I had the Red Sangria for something different, but they have an excellent wine and bourbon list. The Caesar salad was crisp and not overpowered with dressing. The strip steak my husband orders was cooked perfectly. My lobster was was very good. I like that you can get the tail as an entree and not just as an accompaniment, because I have a smaller appetite.

food1
ambience5
service5
value1

I had heard so many good things about Je ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I had heard so many good things about Jeff Ruby's. I was very disappointed. Our vegetables were over cooked that it had a char taste. We ordered medium well steaks, but they were a little charred on the outside as well,. to the point we had to ask for steak sauce. A good steak does not require steak sauce. For the price we paid, we will not go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in town---excellent bar, ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Best restaurant in town---excellent bar, appetizers, service and the steaks are ALWAYS excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A bit pricey, but an excellent experienc ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

A bit pricey, but an excellent experience. Worth the money. The best steak I've had in a long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a consistent, excellent experienc ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Always a consistent, excellent experience at Jeff Ruby's!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nick provided fantastic service, as usua ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Nick provided fantastic service, as usual.. The standards there never disappoint!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good. Nothing like other restaura ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Always good. Nothing like other restaurants. Great staff and great food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food was unbelievable! ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The service and food was unbelievable! It was a great experience and we would definitely go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Cowboy bone-in rib-eye was flavorless an ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Cowboy bone-in rib-eye was flavorless and mostly fat. Every single bite I had to spit out the fat. I am aware rib-eyes are a fattier cut, but they are not supposed to be like this. For the price, completely unacceptable. Even though I made the reservation months in advance, we still had the worst table in the house. Honestly one of the worst tables I've ever come across. Not only was it right on the corner of two major highways, and squeezed too closely to other tables on both sides, but it was surrounded by elevated booths, which allowed the guests in the booths to stare down at us and watch everything we did. It was very uncomfortable. If you go to this restaurant, make sure you get a booth.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and amazing service.

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food and amazing service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner!

Dined on June 9, 2016

Our service was wonderful and the food was amazing! We dined before a show and our server made sure to ask what time we needed to be wrapping up. Wine was phenomenal and the filet was melt in your mouth tender. Cannot wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very good anniversary !

Dined on June 8, 2016

Every part of this meal was excellent ! Our waiter was Chris & he was awesome !

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was excellent as always. The ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

The service was excellent as always. The steak was perfect.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great night!

Dined on June 8, 2016

Love Ruby's in Cincy...glad he opened up in Louisville.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

whole experience was great.

Dined on June 4, 2016

celebrating 10 years - food was great. complimentary dessert and picture of us was wonderful. Was a little noisy. service also great. Usually get the fillet, tried the strip done and tasted perfect.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Anniversary

Dined on June 4, 2016

We went to Jeff Ruby's for our anniversary & it was one of the best evenings we've ever had! The ambiance was perfect for this special occasion!! Jimmette our server was the best!! We couldn't have had better service! The food was exceptional as well. After dinner we had another drink in the bar & enjoyed listening to the live music! Loved our experience at Jeff Ruby's and will definitely be returning soon!!! Thank you all for a great evening!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleasant first experience at Jeff R ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Very pleasant first experience at Jeff Rubys on June 4. I would recommend this restaurant to family and friends. Nice wine list and the food was superb!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hit traffic getting downtown and made it to show!

Dined on June 3, 2016

We were tight for time as we only had a little over an hour to get to a show. Our server Andre coordinated our courses to insure that we would be out in plenty of time to make the show! Besides that, he was friendly and charming!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal for a retirement celebration

Dined on May 31, 2016

We had a wonderful meal and great service. My husband had the hatchet ribeye and said it was the best steak he's ever had.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

our waiter jeff, helped make our special ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

our waiter jeff, helped make our special night very enjoyable. i can see why he has been there so long. my compliments to him, the chief, and your entire staff. great job!!!!!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jeff Ruby's was great as always. Fantas ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Jeff Ruby's was great as always. Fantastic food and service too

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our 24th anniversary and had ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

We went for our 24th anniversary and had a wonderful time. The bar was really cool with attentive and friendly bartenders and a piano player to boot. Our service was top notch as was the food. Louisville has a great night life and this place fits in with that and shouldn't be missed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best service I've ever received at a res ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Best service I've ever received at a restaurant, any where. Food was incredible but the service is truly an experience

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We arrived 30 min early for our reservat ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

We arrived 30 min early for our reservation and we're placed in the bar and forgotten until the manager noticed us. People walked in and we're seated before us and there were plenty of open tables. Bad start - bad taste. Waiter was the star of the evening and almost saved the experience.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I'm in love

Dined on May 25, 2016

As tourists we went on the recommendation of a friend. We pretty much ate our way through the menu. The raw bar is superlative. I had the best 4 oysters I have ever had in my life. My companion said the shrimp cocktail was delicious. Next was Caesar salad. They asked if we wanted anchovies. I said yes. There were more than I have ever seen served with a salad. Yum! By that time I was so full, I ordered the lobster mac and cheese (FULL of lobster and very rich) and shared some bites of my companion's large steak. It was cooked to perfection and completely tender. Obviously dessert was out of the question so we returned the NEXT NIGHT, just to order the butter pie. We shared an order of shrimp from the raw bar and then tucked into the best dessert in the world. I gave only four stars because we always felt just that little bit rushed. While there was no problem at all with sharing any dish or making any accommodation, we felt we needed to keep our hands on our plates to prevent them from being whisked away. I had to mention it to our sever more than once each night. Eventually we concluded that this must be considered good service in Louisville but it wasn't our style. Last, the bar has probably the best pianist in the country. Everything from Elton John to ragtime to Henry Mancini. Sit in the bar area, have a drink, eat or not as you like, and listen. It's a reason to go all by itself.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The bone in filet was awesome. Always ge ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

The bone in filet was awesome. Always get the Mac and Cheese and Brussel Sprouts.

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food, meticulous service. Ambi ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent food, meticulous service. Ambiance superior

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Fun at Jeff Ruby's

Dined on May 20, 2016

Jeff Ruby's was a great place for a good meal with friends. On the Friday night we went there was live music which was awesome, but made it difficult for conversation. The raw bar was great. Steaks were good - I wasn't a fan of the Jeff Ruby's signature spices, so I would order something different next time, but everything was well prepared. Overall a fun evening and I would go back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

My wife and I went to Jeff Ruby's with r ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

My wife and I went to Jeff Ruby's with really high hopes for an exceptional meal. I don't really like bankette seating, but got over it. The menu looked amazing and we were set for a top experience. We ordered their best steak - the aged prime 'hatchett', went nuts and ordered the foie gras topper, their famous Brussels sprouts, and the mac and cheese. (A couple of drinks didn't hurt either!) Hold on - they were out of the Brussels. Quite the disappointment for such a signature dish. I was disappointed with their Bourbon list - long - but undistinguished. Many of the hotel bars around have much better selections (I AM a Bourbon snob and will spend $$ for the right experience.) Service was great throughout the meal - it must be noted. The food came quickly and hot. The steak was under-seasoned and not all that tender for such an aged piece. The sides were way over salted. The mac and cheese was dominated by the taste of butter - not cheese and/or cream. The choice path was either Eddie Merlots or Jeff Ruby's. Our friends said we made the wrong choice when we compared notes. For a high dollar meal, this on missed the mark by a wide margin.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great setting. Great food. Great service ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Great setting. Great food. Great service.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.