Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Jeff Ruby's - Louisville

The first & only steakhouse of its kind in the Louisville area, Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse serves only dry-aged USDA prime beef. While steak is the foundation of the menu, Jeff Ruby's promises to please seafood lovers as well with its raw/sushi bar & seafood entrees.
Jeff Ruby regulars will be pleased to know that their favorite signature items from the Cincinnati restaurants will be well represented in Louisville. The bone-in filet, the 7 cheese baked macaroni, creamed spinach, truffle flake creamed corn, & of course Jeff Ruby's secret recipe cheesecake will all be staples of the Louisville menu.
Styled after the great NY steakhouses of the 1930's & 40's, Jeff Ruby's promises to be as pleasing visually as it is to the palate. French art-deco design, plush mohair upholstery, hand selected antique furniture and cinematic crystal chandeliers anchored by a 1950s-era antique featured in the Starz series Magic City and the 32 foot wall of wine.

325 W. Main Street
Suite 120 Waterfront Plaza
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 584-0102

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Jeff Ruby's offers live entertainment 6 nights per week.

Parking Details:
Optional valet is offered at the entrance of the restaurant on 4th street, with street parking & 2 garages within one block.

Executive Chef:
Brian Steger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Jeff Ruby's - Louisville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (104)
Good for Anniversaries (90)
Good for a Date (82)
See All
Romantic (72)
Business Meals (68)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Notable Wine List (51)
Bar Seating (44)
Fun (35)
Live Music (35)
Vibrant Bar Scene (33)
Hot Spot (33)
Worth the Drive (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for Groups (26)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
People Watching (23)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Authentic (19)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Cozy (15)
Late-night Find (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Tasting Menu (10)
Modern Decor (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Casual (6)
Great Beer (5)
Waterfront (5)
Private Room (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Live Sports (3)
Historic (3)
Vegan (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Dancing (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1805 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Jeff Ruby's was recommended by a local partner and it didn't disappoint. The waitstaff was attentive and knowledgable. The crab legs and steak were the best I've experienced in a long time. I will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was spot on, perfect! Our server, Jacob, was outstanding! Our group number was altered last minute and he rolled with it like a champ, and provided not only exceptional service, but also made it more enjoyable! Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

Drinks were not mixed per order. Bloody Mary was ordered as well drink but we where charged for Gray Goose. Took about 30 minutes for entrees to arrive. Ask manger about the delay. We were told he would do something for us...he did nothing and never came back to our table. Not impressed. Many other very good restaurants in Louisville, KY

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I took our two boys (9 and 11) to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had Andrei as our server. He was incredible. He was extremely attentive and friendly. We went above and beyond to make our boys feel welcome in the restaurant. The food was incredible as usual. Everything was perfect. There is a reason why this is my favorite restaurant in town. It always lives up to expectations.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 days ago

Absolutely wonderful experience for our first anniversary!! Love this place. General manager is wonderful as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 7 days ago

It was a first visit. The food choices were excellent. The waiter was exceptional with knowledge of the menu and the ability to make suggestions. Great steaks superbly cooked. Our special occasion was treated to a dessert and a photo. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

More than expected. Excellent dining ! Will eat there again

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Great place to have dinner, outstanding food. Drinks were great

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Andre, our waiter, was awesome. He was very professional with a touch of humor to keep it real. He and his wait assistant were very attentive to our needs. Of course the food was great, I will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The feel was so loud and very crowded for a Wednesday night. I really enjoyed the shrimp cocktail and my husband like the lobster and steak sushi. Our waiter was awesome very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. We were celebrating our 17th anniversary and it wish it could have been more romantic. It was your typical steakhouse!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 7, 2017

The Filet of course was impressive. Added the scallops for a nominal upcharge. Well worth it. Waiter Paul was the perfect blend of attention without intrusive. My husband had oysters Rockefeller that was delicious while I chose the crab bisque. Equally as delicious. Make an early reservation and take a walk by the River afterwards. A great anniversary evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

What can you say, excellent food and excellent service. Thumbs up!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Amazing and perfect for a special date!
Always want to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Wonderful pork chop and LOVED the mac'n'cheese side; superb & friendly; mgt went out of its way to find a special wine requested in advance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

This was our second time coming to Jeff Ruby's and it did not disappoint. The food is delicious and the service is excellent! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We went for our Anniversary. Excellent staff. Attention to detail, etc. loved the music. And not extremely loud. A lot of restaurants have horrible noise and leaves guests unable to even talk to one another. Thumbs up Jeff Ruby's! It's always a pleasure for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

It was great, definitely going there every year for our anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Felt rushed. Food was not hot. Overcooked steak. Removed bread plates and knives before entree served. Oysters rock were Luke warm . Potatoes were not hot.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

STUPID expensive. But STUPID AWESOME. Well worth the splurge. Thanks to Tyler for an amazing evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great experience. Delicious steaks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

This was our first time visiting Jeff Ruby and it was great. The service was fabulous and I was pleased to see the manager visiting each table to check on the food (not all do). The fried pork belly appetizer was to die for and the creme brûlée was the best I have had in a while. Our steaks were perfectly cooked, but I feel they are way overpriced (sorry). The noise level was a bit loud for such an upscale establishment, but there were two conventions in town at the time. We will definitely come back!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Excellent food as always. The waiter and his assistant were very courteous and helpful. Great wine knowledge by the waiter. Wife is hard to please when it comes to wine but our waiter nailed what she wanted on the first try.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Our server Jacob was great & his associate Elliot was a delight - we will go back as they made the meal enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 22, 2017

My husband and I went to Jeff Ruby's for our anniversary and it did not disappoint! The food was delicious and it was the perfect place to celebrate our special day! I definitely recommend this restaurant if you are looking for a place to celebrate a special occasion!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 17, 2017

It was a great experience overall. The only complain was that it was stuffy and hot at our elevated table. We learned that it was much cooler at the bar when we were leaving. There must be an AC problem.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Best steak in town-hands down!
Lovely wait staff and ambiance

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great food, but service was a little lacking

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I have been to 5 star restaurants all over the world and Jeff Rubys is one of the best restaurants I have ever been to. Move over Bobby Flay!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The food was excellent; great steaks! Our server Jacob made the evening; he was personable, funny and attentive. We came to celebrate our son's college graduation and Jacob made it a memorable event. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Awesome as always! Steaks can not be beat along with their side dishes. Never can go wrong with anything on the menu

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Love the food, atmosphere, and service. Steaks are amazing!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 10, 2017

First time there. Food was great, staff was fantastic. They truly made our anniversary special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Outstanding service! Have been there 3 times and I can honestly say by far the best steak I have ever had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Fantastic steaks and don't miss the Freddie salad!!! The Atmosphere was a little loud for my liking but food and drinks superb as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. Ahi tuna was amazing. Wonderful wine list as well.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Service was impeccable but not sure it's worth the price. Live music on Friday night was a big plus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I took my boyfriend to Jeff Ruby's for his birthday because he had never been, and the experience was perfect. We were seated promptly, our server was friendly and quick, and our steaks were beyond delicious. After finding out we were there for a birthday, we were served a huge piece of carrot cake at the end of our meal on the house. Wonderful time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food was excellent, and our waiter was also excellent!
I always recommend this resturant!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, People Watching, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Andre was an exceptional waiter
Please thank him
He guarded us...ha ha
Because mr Holyfield was one of your guest that night

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.