Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Jeff Ruby's - Louisville

The first & only steakhouse of its kind in the Louisville area, Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse serves only dry-aged USDA prime beef. While steak is the foundation of the menu, Jeff Ruby's promises to please seafood lovers as well with its raw/sushi bar & seafood entrees.
Jeff Ruby regulars will be pleased to know that their favorite signature items from the Cincinnati restaurants will be well represented in Louisville. The bone-in filet, the 7 cheese baked macaroni, creamed spinach, truffle flake creamed corn, & of course Jeff Ruby's secret recipe cheesecake will all be staples of the Louisville menu.
Styled after the great NY steakhouses of the 1930's & 40's, Jeff Ruby's promises to be as pleasing visually as it is to the palate. French art-deco design, plush mohair upholstery, hand selected antique furniture and cinematic crystal chandeliers anchored by a 1950s-era antique featured in the Starz series Magic City and the 32 foot wall of wine.

325 W. Main Street
Suite 120 Waterfront Plaza
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 584-0102

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Jeff Ruby's offers live entertainment 6 nights per week.

Parking Details:
Optional valet is offered at the entrance of the restaurant on 4th street, with street parking & 2 garages within one block.

Executive Chef:
Brian Steger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Jeff Ruby's - Louisville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (121)
Good for Anniversaries (105)
Good for a Date (93)
See All
Romantic (85)
Good for Birthdays (63)
Business Meals (62)
Notable Wine List (57)
Bar Seating (46)
Vibrant Bar Scene (45)
Hot Spot (44)
Fun (44)
Live Music (43)
Pre/post Theatre (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (37)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Worth the Drive (32)
People Watching (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Good for Groups (27)
Cozy (23)
Authentic (22)
Modern Decor (21)
Late-night Find (19)
Happy Hour (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Private Room (9)
Casual (9)
Historic (9)
Great Beer (7)
Healthy (6)
Waterfront (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Family Style (5)
Live Sports (5)
Scenic View (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Dancing (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Vegan (2)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1738 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 2 days ago

You have to get past the over-the-top decor to the the real strengths of this establishment: the quality of the service and the quality of the servers and, of course, the quality of the food. Plus, the menu offers many excellent non-beef choices! The wine choices must rate among the city's most extensive and very best! Still, there are the steep prices that make this a non-starter for many! We think it's worth it, though, for an occasional special evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food, especially the steaks! Friendly, accommodating staff. We have dined at all of the Jeff Ruby restaurants in Cincinnati. The steaks were equal to Cincinnati and the Freddie salad was the best we've have in years!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Had a most excellent meal. Food was outstanding. One of the best, if not the best, steak I've ever had. Side dishes are family-style, and definitely are worth trying. Service was spot-on. Only complaint was that there are so many tables crammed into the space. I was in the chair on the aisle, and was bumped into numerous times by staff trying to squeeze past. And I'm not a big guy.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was great. We do not normally visit upscale restaurants but we had been given a gift card so we decided to give it a try. We were pleasantly surprised at how friendly the staff was. It was comfortable, not uptight and stuffy. Although rather pricey for us it was a very nice evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was great and the service was outstanding. The prices were as expected with the exception of the lobster mac n cheese which I thought was a little over priced at $35.00 for approximately 3 servings. I still wouldn't let that keep me from going back! Excellent dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Unbelievable. Filet Mignon melted in my mouth. Great service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The band at the bar was awesome. The music was very loud though and it was hard to talk at the table. They didn't have any creamed corn at the time we got there. Overall average experience/food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food, attentive service, luxurious decor, and motown/jazzy live music in the bar that you can hear throughout the restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Jeff Ruby's is my favorite restaurant. You can always expect a delicious meal, good service, and great ambiance......and never be disappointed!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Must try the bone in filet, excellent unique cut. We got together to catch up and the atmosphere was great.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 11, 2017

restaurant is a visual feast. my filet was barely warm. sent it back but after reheating only the edges of it were hot. i have no use for a steakhouse that can't serve a hot steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It was amazing. The food was delicious, service was outstanding and the Churchill room was very nice because it was quiet and we could have a conversation very easily.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Very friendly welcome when we arrived. Great service.
I wished there were appetizers that were not fish/seafood related.
Steak was cooked to perfection, great taste. Baked potato appeared to be microwaved, not actually baked, that was disappointing. Green beans had a great taste.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Our initial check in was not very good as we were told to sit in the bar area at any table without a reserved sign. The first table we were going to sit at didn't have a sign and we were told that it was reserved. The next table we went to the same situation. We were told they didn't have enough signs. Not happy at this point. We finally got seats at the bar which helped cool us down. Not a great start though.

We got our table and the server, manager and the food were fantastic. Kudos for not letting OJ in. We respect that.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Fantastic food & service !!!! Comfortable setting with great atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Service was superb!!!
Food was excellent...but pricey

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Excellent meal with great service. Will definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Nice ambiance, good food and attentive service. Will visit again when in town.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Good service by Jade and John S and good food. Good anniversary dinner

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great Steakhouse restaurant. We sat at the table Mohammad Ali sat at when dining at this restaurant. Food was superb, service was beyond great. Will defantely hit this restaurant up the next time I'm in Louisville (pronounced Loovul).

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Everything was terrific. Table (booth), service, food, presentation. All outstanding. Not inexpensive, but certainly in line with this level of dining

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 3, 2017

As always, impeccable service and amazingly good food. Never disappointed with Jeff Ruby's.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The NY strip was very good and prepared correctly. Not as good as Jeff Rubie's in Cincinnati; which is fabulous.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We loved the restaurant, the people and the food. Highly recommended 5 stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Excellent service. I read the reviews and was a little skeptical about people saying it was pricey.....but it was not that bad.....depends what you want. If you don't like the prices I say stay home and eat corn bread and beans. But, I had a great time and my date was impressed with the food, service and atmosphere. I don't recommend places much but this place was absolutely beautiful.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 1, 2017

This was absolutely our best experience we've had here! Loved Jared for our service!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great Beer, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The food is great, cooked and presented properly for all tastes. Service is impeccable.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Live Music, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The pianist is outstanding! We always enjoy sitting at the bar and listening to his remarkable talent before dining

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Live Music, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 26, 2017

My wife and I had a very pleasant and relaxing time. From the appetizer to the dessert the food was exquisite. The waiter, his assistant and the restaurant saw to or special request. The food was a little on the pricey side but that would not stop us from returning in the future.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Best steak we ever had, good waiters nice atmosphere, overall very nice experience

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The food was great and the scene was vibrant and had live music. Our waiter, Daniel, did a phenomenal job serving us. Will go back again for a special occasion due to the price of dinner for two.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, People Watching, Live Music, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Was put in one of the back rooms wish I was in the main dining room

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 25, 2017

It was like going back in time! Everything from the music to the decor made you feel like you were in the 50's. The food and cocktails were exquisite and the server was very helpful and attentive. We loved everything about it and will definitely be back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Fantastic service from everyone we encountered. Excellent food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Everything you would expect from a fine dinning establishment. The only problem was a little to noisy for me. If you're looking for a nice quiet dinner experience this might not be the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We went to Jeff Ruby's for our 25th anniversary. It did not disappoint. We requested seating in the main area, and we were given a beautiful semi-circular booth in the front area. We had excellent service. They seemed to really care that it was our 25th anniversary. They had us pick a dessert and gave it to us for free. The food was delicious. I ordered the filet mignon. It was incredibly good. My husband order the grilled tuna. It was perfection. It was a special night worthy of a special day.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Great time, William was a fantastic server!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Service was great. Had a wonderful time. Would recommend Jeff Ruby's for any occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was great, as was the entertainment! Would definitely recommend s!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Music, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We came this time to celebrate my brothers birthday and it was excellent. Our food, wine and service were all great. I will definitely be back soon.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.