About Jeff Ruby's - Louisville

325 W. Main Street
Suite 120 Waterfront Plaza
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

The first & only steakhouse of its kind in the Louisville area, Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse serves only dry-aged USDA prime beef. While steak is the foundation of the menu, Jeff Ruby's promises to please seafood lovers as well with its raw/sushi bar & seafood entrees.
Jeff Ruby regulars will be pleased to know that their favorite signature items from the Cincinnati restaurants will be well represented in Louisville. The bone-in filet, the 7 cheese baked macaroni, creamed spinach, truffle flake creamed corn, & of course Jeff Ruby's secret recipe cheesecake will all be staples of the Louisville menu.
Styled after the great NY steakhouses of the 1930's & 40's, Jeff Ruby's promises to be as pleasing visually as it is to the palate. French art-deco design, plush mohair upholstery, hand selected antique furniture and cinematic crystal chandeliers anchored by a 1950s-era antique featured in the Starz series Magic City and the 32 foot wall of wine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 584-0102

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Jeff Ruby's offers live entertainment 6 nights per week.

Parking Details:
Optional valet is offered at the entrance of the restaurant on 4th street, with street parking & 2 garages within one block.

Executive Chef:
Brian Steger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Diver Scallops
Sea bass
Assorted Seafood
Créme Brulé
Cokocheesecake
Tuna Tartare
French Fri
Dry aged bone-in filet
Petite Filet Rare With Lobster Mashed Potatoes
Ahi, Seared
The Jewel
Crab Brulee
Crab & Corn Fritters
Dare Cabernet
Steakhouse Tomato Salad
Iceburg Lettuce With Blue Cheese And Bacon
Salad
Barrel Cut Filet Mingon

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Jeff Ruby's - Louisville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Central Kentucky
Best Food
Central Kentucky
Best Service
Central Kentucky
12 More
Best Ambiance
Central Kentucky
Notable Wine List
Central Kentucky
Special Occasion
Central Kentucky
Steak
Central Kentucky
Most Booked
Central Kentucky
Best Overall
Louisville
Best Food
Louisville
Best Service
Louisville
Best Ambiance
Louisville
Romantic
Louisville
Special Occasion
Louisville
Most Booked
Louisville
Best Restaurants in Downtown Louisville ›

Special Occasion (120)
Romantic (89)
Notable Wine List (57)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (48)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Hot Spot (39)
Good for Groups (34)
Good for a Date (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Late-night Find (12)
Business Meals (12)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Authentic (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Private Room (5)
Fun (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Live Music (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Cozy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
People Watching (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Casual (2)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Dancing (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1381 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As usual "Jeff Ruby's" was a stellar per ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 4 days ago

As usual "Jeff Ruby's" was a stellar performance. Best steak, seafood, service and drinks in town...what more could be said? We make the trek to Jeff's three or four times a year, usually for special occasions or if we feel we deserve that special treat and have never been disappointed. The staff is the very best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Rubys lived up to the standards we expec ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Rubys lived up to the standards we expect from it for the price. Very pleased. Great times and better food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very good as usual, couldn' ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was very good as usual, couldn't ask for better. However the service was very, very slow. It took 3 hours and 15 minutes from the time we sat down to the time we left for 4 of us to eat. After we finished eating it took 45 minutes to get our check.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

place was amazing, the food was deliciou ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

place was amazing, the food was delicious. Everything came out just how we wanted. If you are in Louisville, definitely a restaurant to go to.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an excellent experience at Jeff R ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had an excellent experience at Jeff Ruby's. The steaks were amazing, cooked to perfection. Most tender filet we've ever had. And I highly recommend the mac and cheese for a side. You will not be disappointed in choosing Jeff Ruby's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was a little intimidated by the overall ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Was a little intimidated by the overall feel of the place at first but the waiters are so nice and they ask you ahead if it is your first time, they helped me through the menu when needed and it was my boyfriends birthday so they brought us a slice of their cheesecake which was absolutely amazing. Great food although mine was a little too spicy for my taste.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding meal, professional staff, fi ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Outstanding meal, professional staff, first class experience as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner & awesome service. I re ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Wonderful dinner & awesome service. I recommend the restaurant & will go back.

Expensive but you get what you pay for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for our 3rd anniversary and they ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We went for our 3rd anniversary and they catered to us the whole time we were there!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 28th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We celebrated our 28th wedding anniversary with a wonderful dinner. From the moment we walked in the entire staff treated us like you want to be treated. An overall wonderful experience. Our waiter, Jeff, was outstanding and went out of his way to make this a special evening. Highly recommend Jeff Ruby's!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was excellent service was slow supe ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

food was excellent service was slow super crowded however was offered a comp dessert thought balanced the wait slightly overpriced?

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Had a reservation and I wasn't seated fo ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Had a reservation and I wasn't seated for 45 minutes. I asked for medium well on my $45 New York strip it was black on outside and completely pink on the inside. I wasn't impressed like I thought I would be for what I spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This restaurant rivals St. Elmo's in Ind ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

This restaurant rivals St. Elmo's in Indianapolis....which I consider one of the finest steakhouses in the US. The service was spot on....the food was beyond fabulous. They also have great art...especially the painting by Fabian Perez. I can't wait to try their Nashville location.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My steak was medium when it should have ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

My steak was medium when it should have been well-done. Service started great but waned when the restaurant got crowded; I had to chase my waiter down to get dessert. Décor needs an upgrade - looks like 1980's Miami in there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Great place to dine for a special occasi ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great place to dine for a special occasion or a night out with friends! The steaks are so tender you can cut with a fork!! The cream of corn and Mac & cheese are to die for!! We absolutely LOVE the food and the service is wonderful!! The atmosphere is very energetic and colorful! If you chose to dine with Jeff Ruby's, you will not be sorry!

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

every time that I go to this place I alw ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

every time that I go to this place I always have a great dinner and great time. I would recommend to anyone

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Cozy, Dancing, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I went for the first time to ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

My wife and I went for the first time to celebrate our 25 year Anniversary as a gift from my Manager. We had a wonderful time the food, service and atmosphere was perfect for a night of romance and looking back over the last 25 years of our life. I just want to say Thanks for a night we will remember for a long time.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best overall dining experienc ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

One of the best overall dining experiences I have had in quit a while. The service was professional - not something you can usually find in Louisville. It is very expensive, but worth the splurge for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Great place to go for special occasions ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great place to go for special occasions or fine dining. Both the food and the service were excellent. I took my daughter there for her birthday and we both enjoyed the meal and ambiance. Our server, January, was outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jeff Ruby's is a very good steak house b ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Jeff Ruby's is a very good steak house but not the best and certainly not for the price. The service is top shelf as expected. The appetizers and sides are 8 out of 10 and the steak is 8 out of 10. Would i recommend it? No. Simply based on the value. Its simply not worth the cost. You can get a better meal at other chain steak houses (Malones in Lexington is our favorite) for half the price. Our meal for two was $230 for two people. Great experience but won't be back.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Food and service were good, but no bette ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Food and service were good, but no better than Ruth's Criss. I'd rather stay in the suburbs and eat at RC than go downtown . I like the ambience at the Louisville RC better. A

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We have visited all the Jeff Ruby locati ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We have visited all the Jeff Ruby locations and we never have an issue. The customer service is top notch, the food is always excellent. No complaints from us. Thanks again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to a lot of great steakhouses, ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I've been to a lot of great steakhouses, and Jeff Ruby's is always the best. EVERYTHING is good. Shrimp in the shrimp cocktail are fresh as you'll ever find, delicious, and the size of a hot dog.

Steak is some of the best around. And if you've never tried their baked mac & cheese, you are really missing out on the best. I am a pretty skeptical and critical person & reviewer, but this place never disappoints. The only downside is it is not cheap. ~$180 for my wife and I.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great steak, good food overall. Dessert ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great steak, good food overall. Dessert was OK. A little bit overpriced.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food and service were outstanding. ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food and service were outstanding. Our waiter, Taylor, was very attentive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious every visit. Welcoming and at ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Delicious every visit. Welcoming and attentive service. Best steaks anywhere!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant Best Steaks Best atmosph ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Best restaurant Best Steaks Best atmosphere Best staff and the Best food in Louisville, so why would you dine anywhere else The Best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!! Great service. I would re ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great food!! Great service. I would recommend to anyone!!

Tags: Romantic, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steaks! Great service! Felt like y ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great steaks! Great service! Felt like your in a 1960s gangsters movie set.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been here several times for special occa ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Been here several times for special occasions. This was the first time we were a little disappointed. Bathrooms were disgusting. One out of order, one was trashed and the only other one had no toilet paper. The server was amazing and the manager did make good on our food. But we will still be back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Very delicious food. The steaks were ten ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very delicious food. The steaks were tender and cooked perfect. The side dishes were excellent! Brussel sprouts and truffle cream corn. I loved the atmosphere and the wait staff. Everyone was very professional and dressed extremely well. Exactly what I expected!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It certainly didn't live up to our expec ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It certainly didn't live up to our expectations for a fine dining restaurant. You advertise no shorts and shouldn't be jeans but it's not enforced. Way way to loud for dining and definately felt like a bar atmosphere. You also shouldn't recommend a steak with a bone in for people to share. Once it's cut in half there wasn't anything left on the bone for the other person to eat. All fat and no meat. The manager was very helpful and brought out another one (no bone). Food was good but not as good as we've had at Ruth Chris .

Doubt that we will come back unless it's for the bat. Wasn't worth the money.

Tags: Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

First timer. Took my wife for her Birthd ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

First timer. Took my wife for her Birthday after several people told me it was the best in town. I have to admit they were right! The ambiance, service and food were exceptional. It was my first time trying sushi, we ordered the Money roll it was outstanding! My wife also order the crab bisque delicious. We split the cowboy steak with truffle butter it was perfect. The Mac & cheese was the best I've tasted at a restaurant. It was definitely an expensive meal but well worth it for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful visit. The food was a ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had a wonderful visit. The food was absolutely wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easily the best place I've ever eaten in ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Easily the best place I've ever eaten in my life. I couldn't think of a complaint if I wanted to. Everything was phenomenal from service, to food, to even the live music was above fantastic. It definitely made a memorable birthday for my girlfriend.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit to JR and it wa ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was our first visit to JR and it was very enjoyable. Our server was personable and very attentive . Food was delish and the wine selection was great. Atmosphere was elegant but not stuffy.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Felt it was significantly overpriced for ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Felt it was significantly overpriced for the food. Steak was finished with some coating or rub that was unexpected and degraded my enjoyment of the steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Great service food ok noise level poor

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great service food ok noise level poor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great food and service. Lobster Mac n ch ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food and service. Lobster Mac n cheese is to die for.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. Always!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food and service. Always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.