About Jeff Ruby's - Louisville

325 W. Main Street
Suite 120 Waterfront Plaza
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

The first & only steakhouse of its kind in the Louisville area, Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse serves only dry-aged USDA prime beef. While steak is the foundation of the menu, Jeff Ruby's promises to please seafood lovers as well with its raw/sushi bar & seafood entrees.
Jeff Ruby regulars will be pleased to know that their favorite signature items from the Cincinnati restaurants will be well represented in Louisville. The bone-in filet, the 7 cheese baked macaroni, creamed spinach, truffle flake creamed corn, & of course Jeff Ruby's secret recipe cheesecake will all be staples of the Louisville menu.
Styled after the great NY steakhouses of the 1930's & 40's, Jeff Ruby's promises to be as pleasing visually as it is to the palate. French art-deco design, plush mohair upholstery, hand selected antique furniture and cinematic crystal chandeliers anchored by a 1950s-era antique featured in the Starz series Magic City and the 32 foot wall of wine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 584-0102

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Jeff Ruby's offers live entertainment 6 nights per week.

Parking Details:
Optional valet is offered at the entrance of the restaurant on 4th street, with street parking & 2 garages within one block.

Executive Chef:
Brian Steger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Diver Scallops - Jeff Ruby's - Louisville, Louisville, KY
Sea bass - Jeff Ruby's - Louisville, Louisville, KY
Assorted Seafood - Jeff Ruby's - Louisville, Louisville, KY
Créme Brulé - Jeff Ruby's - Louisville, Louisville, KY
Cokocheesecake - Jeff Ruby's - Louisville, Louisville, KY
Tuna Tartare - Jeff Ruby's - Louisville, Louisville, KY
French Fri - Jeff Ruby's - Louisville, Louisville, KY
Dry aged bone-in filet - Jeff Ruby's - Louisville, Louisville, KY
Petite Filet Rare With Lobster Mashed Potatoes - Jeff Ruby's - Louisville, Louisville, KY
Ahi, Seared - Jeff Ruby's - Louisville, Louisville, KY
The Jewel - Jeff Ruby's - Louisville, Louisville, KY
Crab Brulee - Jeff Ruby's - Louisville, Louisville, KY
Crab & Corn Fritters - Jeff Ruby's - Louisville, Louisville, KY
Dare Cabernet  - Jeff Ruby's - Louisville, Louisville, KY
Steakhouse Tomato Salad - Jeff Ruby's - Louisville, Louisville, KY
Iceburg Lettuce With Blue Cheese And Bacon - Jeff Ruby's - Louisville, Louisville, KY
Salad - Jeff Ruby's - Louisville, Louisville, KY
Barrel Cut Filet Mingon - Jeff Ruby's - Louisville, Louisville, KY

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Jeff Ruby's - Louisville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (73)
Good for a Date (52)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
See All
Romantic (48)
Business Meals (38)
Notable Wine List (36)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Worth the Drive (28)
Hot Spot (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Bar Seating (18)
People Watching (18)
Fun (17)
Happy Hour (17)
Live Music (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Authentic (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Historic (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Cozy (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Scenic View (4)
Waterfront (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great Beer (3)
Live Sports (2)
Healthy (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Casual (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1555 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I had a great evening. We ex ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I had a great evening. We experienced a nice dinner at a competitors restaurant a while back. She was really wanting to compare the sweet potato casserole and was a little disappointed not seeing it on the menu. Other than that, a few more items with chocolate on them would be nice on the dessert menu. All in all. This was a nice place.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friends had a gift card & we joined them ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 4 days ago

Friends had a gift card & we joined them for dinner. We don't usually go downtown during the week but traffic wasn't as bad as expected so we arrived early & had a glass of wine at the bar. We split the salmon, augratin potatoes, broccolini, & a Bibb salad. Very good & plenty for two. Our friends had the volcano roll & a huge bone in pork chop. Service was great.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We always enjoy Jeff Ruby's and especial ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 days ago

We always enjoy Jeff Ruby's and especially the one in Louisville! Atmosphere is vibrant and at least on the weekend they have excellent live musicians in the bar.

Now to the food. Make sure you order the shrimp cocktail! The shrimp are huge and wonderful. You won't be disappointed. Ahi tuna with seaweed salad was awesome! Crab bisque was very good but it would have benefitted with a heavier dose of Sherry. You can't go wrong with any steak you order here. They are cooked and seasoned to perfection! We ended our meal with the cheesecake which was a lighter version than most and perfect after a.big meal.

Our waiter Chris was excellent as was all other staff we encountered.

Jeff Ruby's is not just a wonderful meal, it is the whole package.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such an awesome place for special occasi ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Such an awesome place for special occasions. We can't go often due to coast, but we love the swanky feel and incredible food on anniversaries and birthdays!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is a tourist trap. We ca ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This restaurant is a tourist trap. We called head and made reservations. I asked for a table away from the entertainment, something as quiet as possible. We arrived 10 minutes early. Our table was not ready. We went to bar ordered a round of drinks. Before we received our drinks or paid, our table was ready. We asked the hostess and bartender if we could add our drinks to our dinner tab and have them brought to the table. Neither could answer and just gave us clueless looks. One husband paid for drinks and we dragged them through the crowded dining room. We were sat in the center of the restaurant and it was NOISY. The table in front of us was so close may 10 inches. I was raised and worked in New York City. I have eaten at some of the best restaurants in NYC. Yes, they are crowded but real estate space is at premium there not in Louisville Kentucky on an average Friday night. I could have understood the packing in of customers if it was Derby time or NCCA basketball at Yum Center.

Waiter was curious but never explained the $5.00 dessert charge of a "special ocassion". The food was very tasty but the other factor I have outlined would make this a restaurant I would not return to. I have dined at Eddie Merlot's and J. Alexanders and it is much more pleasurable experience and the food is comparable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Amazing food and excellent staff.

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Amazing food and excellent staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

In my opinion Jeff Ruby's is the highest ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 12, 2017

In my opinion Jeff Ruby's is the highest line restaurant in the city of Louisville. Piano player and horseshoe pickup bar at the entrance. Waiters and waitresses take care of your every need. Great atmosphere and the buzz of conversation fills the room. Men in expensive business suits and women draped in expensive dresses and sparkling jewelry. I call them "the beautiful people". Delicious steaks and seafood cooked to perfection and served by overly polite service personnel. My only complaint was I ordered a baked potato with butter only and they brought one with sour cream. It was served on the side but it looked like butter and I didn't realize it wasn't until it was on my potato. They also forgot to bring our mushrooms appetizers so they ended up comping those. Overall a very good meal if you can afford it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We had great service from our server And ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We had great service from our server Andre! As usual, the food was excellent. Andre expedited our food so that we could make an event we were to attending that evening. We always enjoy Jeff Rubys every time!

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I ate at Jeff Ruby's for ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 10, 2017

My husband and I ate at Jeff Ruby's for my birthday celebration. We know steaks are the big draw here but we prefer seafood. We ordered the Salmon and the sea bass along with sushi and Brussels sprouts. My Sea bass was excellent as was the sauce and veggies that came with it. My husband enjoyed his Salmon but said he has had better elsewhere. It didn't have a sauce and was a little dry-but he said it was very tasty. The sushi was great! Dessert was excellent! The service is top notch! Nothing goes unnoticed and you don't have to ask for anything. This is a very spendy restaurant but the atmosphere and service along with great food is the reason. We will go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Better than ever. The steaks were world ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Better than ever. The steaks were world class. A great restaurant.

Tags: Live Music, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and service at any Jeff Ruby re ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food and service at any Jeff Ruby restaurant is always the same - excellent and top notch with Louisville being our favorite. Daniel our server was very personable and helpful with suggestions. His attention to detail was subtle yet professional - he made us feel right at home. We were excited to compliment Chef Brian in person. The personal escort to the restroom was an added bonus. Cudos to the whole staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding. Waiter was very ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Service was outstanding. Waiter was very informative, and able to help with choices for first timers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

If you enjoy top shelf steaks, seafood a ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 4, 2017

If you enjoy top shelf steaks, seafood and much more, this is the place to go. DELICIOUS food and an eclectic environment. You will NOT be disappointed!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Jeff was excellent and a grea ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Our server Jeff was excellent and a great person to meet. We order medium steaks and they were well done.

The managers/staff did a good job correcting it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

My fiancé is leaving for a military depl ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 3, 2017

My fiancé is leaving for a military deployment that will cover several months. We wanted one nice date before his departure. I advised the restaurant of this when I made reservations.

Our waiter Jeff treated us like royalty! It was a very bittersweet night, but Jeff worked very hard to keep me smiling as I fought back tears. Our meal was perfect, dessert was delightful & we really enjoyed our evening. We were most surprised that the restaurant gave a military appreciation discount, to see an establishment support the military in such a generous way is so incredibly heart warming. Thank you so much for a perfect send off!

It only seems fitting that we should celebrate his return from deployment in March, also at Jeff Ruby's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Steak in the business! I have had s ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Best Steak in the business!

I have had steaks all over and the Jeff Ruby's barrel fillet is at the top of the list.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All I can say is we're booking next year ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

All I can say is we're booking next years New Eve party at Jeff Ruby's. The delicious food, amazing cocktails and champagne, and beautiful ambience was beyond words. Honestly what trumped it all was the magnificent service. We walked in and the Mgt. team of Nick, Glenn, and Jeff took care of us pronto.

Our servers Logan, Danielle, and truffle butter boys were so kind. Robbie our soul mother delivered the best music all night. Mr. Jeff Ruby you would be so proud of your employees this wonderful weekend. This experience was up there with The Ritz Carlton. Thank you forever grateful table 11. Pat and Jeff .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I can't say enough good things about thi ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I can't say enough good things about this restaurant. A little pricey but worth the extra. Service was prompt and attentive without being pushy. Steak was cooked perfect. Music from the bar area was not intrusive but might have been if you were in the bar area.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service, and even better food. I ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Amazing service, and even better food. I will go there every time I am in town.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really love Jeff Rubys we had a meeting ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Really love Jeff Rubys we had a meeting with the position and it was an awesome meeting only negative thing that happened is that we were seated in the back. I've never been back there so we lost a little bit of the ambience

This was the first time that our corporate CEO had ever been to Jeff Ruby's and he placed it in his top 10 meals ever and he's eaten at fine restaurants all over the world

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I love the relaxed feel of this place – ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. The potato-leek soup was amazing and the Bibb lettuce salad was refreshing. The table was split on the monkfish – one person thought it was great, but another felt that the tastes didn't quite mesh. Everyone loved the flat iron steak. Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were affordable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jeff Ruby's always aims to please! Cele ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Jeff Ruby's always aims to please! Celebrated my boyfriend's birthday there, and it was a wonderful ambiance with excellent service from the hostesses to the servers. Love this restaurant!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Modern Decor, , Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We attended with out best friends to cel ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We attended with out best friends to celebrate our 42nd wedding anniversary. Service and food were excellent. I was a little surprised at the price increase since I was there last about a year ago. This is an excellent choice for those special occasions when money is not an object.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I chose Jeff Ruby's before o ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My wife and I chose Jeff Ruby's before our viewing of the Nutcracker. Jeff was our server, and he was great. I enjoyed the Cowboy Steak, which was excellent, while my wife enjoyed the shrimp with a side salad. I did not finish my 22 oz. steak, so I got it to go. It was EXCELLENT the next day heated up. We were very pleased with our meal and our service at Jeff Ruby's. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced. Food wasn't all that temper ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Overpriced. Food wasn't all that temperature hot. No bread? Shouldn't have had a 2:00 sitting for lunch. Didn't feel rushed, though. Some of our party stood at the front door for several minutes as management and others stood there doing something or talking without ever acknowledging them. The hostess came up and took care of them. Say hello and that someone will be with you.

Logan was a nice server.

5 of us. 5 people shared 4 steaks. 2 shared a salad. 2 bottles of wine. 2 coffees. 2 glasses of wine. 2 desserts.

Can't justify it again.

Maybe lunch only menu next time - French Dip. Won't have buyers remorse.

2nd visit.

Lunch last year. 2 of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Grant was a wonderful server. Assistant ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Grant was a wonderful server. Assistant GM, Glen was amazing. Our entire meal was fabulous and delicious. Loved the entire experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We wanted to be impressed by Jeff Ruby's ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We wanted to be impressed by Jeff Ruby's but we just weren't. The service was fine. I actually think the gentleman who was bussing our table during the meal was friendlier than our server herself.

The food was good but not anything to write home about. In fact, my husband's $65+ filet was undercooked and while the server graciously comped one of our desserts, it still didn't seem like something that should happen when the total bill comes to over $250. It wasn't a bad meal by any stretch but it certainly wasn't the legendary meal we were expecting based on JR's reputation in town and at that price point, this will keep us from returning or recommending it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Daniel our waiter was prompt and helpful ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Daniel our waiter was prompt and helpful with wine and food recommendations. Our steaks were cooked perfect and every bite delicious. Highly recommended for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pricy but the mac and cheese should not ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Pricy but the mac and cheese should not be missed. ;) The filet was good and the asparagus. The star of the show was the mac and cheese though!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were outstanding, as al ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Service and food were outstanding, as always. Always a great experience at this restaurant.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was great! Although, my steak was a ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Food was great! Although, my steak was a little undercooked. I asked for medium rare but I think the waiter misheard me and wrote down rare. Still good good but would have liked my steak cooked a bit more.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Take my customers here every year. It's ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Take my customers here every year. It's an outstanding level of service and the food is unbelievable

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Historic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had lunch with a client. Menu selection ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Had lunch with a client. Menu selection was good. I ordered the salmon Caesar salad and it was delicious but noticed it was undercooked so I did not finish it. The Jeff Ruby burger was very good but it was undercooked as well. I ordered it medium, which to me was a hot pink center and it was rare. Next time I will order well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Fantastic from the moment I walked in th ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Fantastic from the moment I walked in the door. Accommodating staff. Superior service. Expensive but worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service!

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We eat at a lot of high end steakhouses ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We eat at a lot of high end steakhouses setting the country, in this price range. This was superlative - service was above and beyond, good was excellent, ambiance was fun and entertainingly stopped just short of glitzy. Recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had reservation but still waited 20 min. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Had reservation but still waited 20 min. Service was excellent. Food was really slow....waiter kept apologizing. Clearly not his fault.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

What a terrific dining experience all th ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

What a terrific dining experience all the way around. The ambiance is wonderful, a spacious and comfortable dining environment. The food was excellent and all four of us enjoyed our meals. My porterhouse was among the best I have ever eaten. The baked potato was cooked perfectly. The scallops were succulent and tasty. The service was friendly and efficient. I highly recommend this restaurant and would look forward to returning if in the area again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I have been to Jeff Ruby's a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

My wife and I have been to Jeff Ruby's at least 4 or 5 times (we come to Louisville often, and have lately made a point of visiting JR's whenever time has permitted), and this is the first time we were disappointed. When you pay $65 (not including side dishes, tax or tip) for a steak, you expect it to be perfection.

The meat was its usual high quality, and our steaks were cooked perfectly, but were so over seasoned that it ruined the flavor. My wife and I found ourselves literally scraping the seasoning off the surface of the meat, and it was STILL too much. Everything — the steaks, the potatoes, the vegetables — was unbearably salty.

When we mentioned the extreme saltiness of all our main dishes, our waiter quipped, "Yes, we keep telling Chef to tone down the salt, but he's very heavy-handed." We didn't belabor the point, because we didn't want to make a fuss or ruin our own evening, but in retrospect, the waiter made no effort to apologize or offer us anything (a replacement? a free dessert?) in compensation.

The salads were good, although I suspect that my lettuce had not been dried properly after washing, as the dressing was not clinging as it should.

We shared what was supposed to have been a chocolate layer cake; one of the layers was all mouse and no cake. It was fine, but not exactly what we expected and ultimately unmemorable.

As usual, the service (other than the above glitch) was attentive and enthusiastic, the cocktails and wine were exceptional, and the atmosphere fun as always. But with New York steakhouse prices and less than stellar food, we'll probably give Jeff Ruby's a rest before going there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Jeff Ruby's of Louisville is an excellen ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Jeff Ruby's of Louisville is an excellent dining experience. The food and the service is Superb!! The chef came out to our table to address my request for something that was no longer on their menu, but was a favorite dish of my sister, and he was able to prepare that for her. Our server , Daniel offered suggestions and answered questions and was very personable. We had a wonderful meal. I would recommend Jeff Ruby's to anyone looking for a wonderful meal and impeccable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.