About Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse

700 Walnut Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Jeff Ruby's is a 1940's art deco style steakhouse featuring dry aged on premise steaks and Fresh Seafood...not to mention our extensive selection of signature salads, Steakhouse potatoes, vegetables and desserts. Those who prefer an early dinner may make reservations for as early as 5:00pm Monday through Saturday. Jeff Ruby's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati's entertainment district and is within walking distance of downtown hotels and the convention center. When you demand the very best in dining experiences, choose Jeff Ruby's. Discover the distinction for yourself!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
7th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 784-1200

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Jeff Ruby's offers Live Entertainment Tuesday - Saturday. Jazz, Rhythm & Blues and contemporary favorites are performed by Cincinnati's finest musicians. Perfect after an evening at the Aronoff Center; let the others fight the traffic rush home! At Jeff Ruby's, there is Never a Cover!

Catering:
Let Jeff Ruby's cater your next event! For more information, contact Sales Manager, Kathy Davis at 513-723-4454 ext. 108 or kathy.davis@jeffruby.com.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available Monday - Friday beginning at 6:00pm and Saturdays at 5:00pm; cost is $9.00 per car.

Executive Chef:
Dave Taylor

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Lump Maryland Crab Cake
Barrel-Cut Filet Mignon
Gentleman Jack
  Crème Brûlée
Freddie Salad
Butter
Bread
Lyonnaise Potatoes
Huge Tiger Shrimp Cocktail
Ricotta Donuts
Mac and Cheese
Crab Cake Sandwich
Macadamia Nut Ice Cream Pie
Jeff Ruby's Baked Macaroni & Cheese
Wedge Salad
Potatoes Anna
Filet Oscar
Chop Salad
Filet Mignon
Three Layer Carrot Cake
Dry Aged Bone In Filet Mignon
Chilean Sea Bass
Creamed Corn
Cowboy Steak
Green beans
24oz Bone-in Ribeye
Iceberg & Bleu Salad
Macaroni and Cheese
Gumbo
Molten Chocolate Cake
Creme Brulee
Asparagus
Bacon
Shrimp and Grits
Cheesecake

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Food
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Service
Cincinnati / Dayton
7 More
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati / Dayton
Steak
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Overall
Cincinnati
Best Food
Cincinnati
Best Service
Cincinnati
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati
Steak
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

special occasion (184)
romantic (122)
notable wine list (93)
See All
fit for foodies (75)
hot spot (61)
good for groups (56)
vibrant bar scene (56)
neighborhood gem (29)
late-night find (14)
scenic view (6)
kid-friendly (3)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1983 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hostest reseated us after offering a tab ...

Dined 4 days ago

Hostest reseated us after offering a table that was literally adjoined to another patron. Was no issue but somewhat surprised that they would seat strangers so close together. Service was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Great restaurant. Absolute best steak i ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great restaurant. Absolute best steak in town. Also, got the lobster tail. This was good but not great. My wife got the Chilean Sea Bass and this was excellent too. Raw bar was fantastic. Great wines. Overall great meal and experience.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The Filet Mignon that I ordered was abso ...

Dined 6 days ago

The Filet Mignon that I ordered was absolutely amazing. I've had their filet before, but this was by far the best. Medium Rare and cooked to a T, tasted great and was so much that i couldn't finish. Loved the recommended Appetizer (Oyster Rockefeller) and the Wife thoroughly enjoyed the waiter's recommendation for a Sorbet that wasn't listed on the dessert menu. Wasn't a steal as far as price... but that's to be expected when dining there... loved the overall customer experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Very disappointed with our Jeff Ruby exp ...

Dined 6 days ago

Very disappointed with our Jeff Ruby experience. We were seated basically right between two parties which made it very uncomfortable. The staff never asked if we were celebrating an occasion, and felt awkward coming forward with that info on our own. The food was nothing spectacular, and extremely over priced. I guess the name alone is what carries this place. Definitely won't step foot in another Ruby property.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second time at a Jeff Ruby restaurant ...

Dined 6 days ago

My second time at a Jeff Ruby restaurant. Everything was Top Notch. I will go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Service was wonderful, food was good. O ...

Dined 6 days ago

Service was wonderful, food was good. Only downfall was, I was there for my 1 year anniversary with my wife and conversation was limited and not very private. Seating was really close to the other table and felt more like I was at dinner with the couple next to me and not my wife.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, great food, great atmosphere ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

As always, great food, great atmosphere and great service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my husband there to celebrate our ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

I took my husband there to celebrate our 50th anniversary and his 85th Birthday. We had never been to Jeff Ruby's and this was quite a celebration. It was the best meal we have ever eaten. The waiter was outstanding and the food was awesome. We were not rushed and enjoyed a two hour date.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The salads, sides and desserts were exce ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

The salads, sides and desserts were excellent. The donuts deserve a special mention. However, of the 4 steaks, 2 were a bit overcooked, 1 was undercooked, and 1 was very overcooked. This should not happen at this price point, though we appreciated management attempting to make it right.

Tags: hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best dining experience I've ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This was the best dining experience I've ever had. The food was phenomenal and the staff provider excellent service. They were there whenever you needed and everything was prompt. As far as the food, my date got the Collinsworth, I got the Gem of Jeff Ruby's and they were both stellar. It was a huge dinner but unbelievable delicious. We also split the Mac and cheese and asparagus which were also great. The best thing we ordered though had to be the carrot cake. We have dreams about the carrot cake. We are talking about making plans to come back just to order from their dessert menu! Overall this was an amazing night provided to us by the entire team at Jeff Rubys!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always attentive, polite and courteous s ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Always attentive, polite and courteous service. Great food and atmosphere. My favorite steakhouse anywhere.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Jeff Ruby entertains you with simply out ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Jeff Ruby entertains you with simply outrageous steaks and a deep wine list and serves it up in style. Different than his other restaurants in town - Precinct, Carlo and Johnny's in some preparations. This is the high-brow place where we;re all treated royally.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It started out terrific.....worth every ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

It started out terrific.....worth every dime, then when they got busy our waiter disappeared and we had to literally "flag" someone down to get coffee.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great dinner with my G/F. Food was ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Had a great dinner with my G/F. Food was excellent and service was great.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints. Service is exceptiona ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Never disappoints. Service is exceptional and the steaks are the best

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything about Jeff Ruby's was great. ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Everything about Jeff Ruby's was great. This was our first time to dine there, and I would certainly go back. The food was wonderful, the servers were great, and every one made you feel special. We ordered a glass of wine and were told to enjoy our glass of wine. Unlike some restaurants you are served the wine and they want to take your order and get you out. Kudos to Jeff Rubys and we will recommend to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience as always!

Dined on June 9, 2016

We came for our 37th wedding anniversary. Right from the start everyone greeted us as we walked to our table. Service was great as always. The food, well anyone that has been here knows it can't be beat. Our waiter was extra special and brought us a dessert with a candle in it. Nice touch. We love coming here and will continue doing so for many years. Thank you everyone at Jeff Rubys for a very nice anniversary.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tremendous

Dined on June 8, 2016

Very very good. The staff was extremely attentive. The bar was well stocked with fine spirits and brews. The steak, crab legs, scallops, Caesar salad, and the two desserts were delicious.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

Dined on June 5, 2016

Great place to dine any day of the week. One of my favorite steak houses in the city of Cincinnati.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent in every way

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Jeff Ruby's is one of our favorite restaurants. We frequently go to Chicago to visit our son and dine in the many steak restaurants for which that city is known. Ruby's steak house is every bit as great as the best in Chicago. Service is always excellent and the food is superb. My only disappointment was this evening was my wife's birthday, which we told our waiter when we arrived, he stated the required birthday greeting, but most restaurants of this caliber would have done a dessert or other gesture for the celebration. Not a big deal, but a little surprised.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious great experience our server Tr ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Delicious great experience our server Travis was amazing and did a great job well done

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always Excellent

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

As usual, Jeff Ruby's was excellent and we were very well taken care of. My husband and I always enjoy the wonderful atmosphere of Ruby's and the food is always done to perfection. With the warmer temperatures now here, the Cigar Patio is the perfect place for a before and after dinner cocktail; not to mention the people watching outside always provides wonderful entertainment. The staff always makes you feel welcome and ensure you are having a wonderful experience while dining at Ruby's. Nothing goes unnoticed. If you're looking for a great steak in the city, Ruby's downtown is the place to go. The steak is always to the correct temperature and the sides are always good. And you can't go wrong with any of the desserts or the after dinner beverages.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Night

Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was excellent and our server was great! He was attentive but not too pesty. It was our anniversary and they made it a night to remember for me and my wife! We have always been fans of The Precinct but I think we now have a new favorite in Jeff Ruby's Downtown.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food all but the soup just so so

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was great all but the soup one note no valet till 6 pm. The location was great the service was as expected excellent my only negative is they need a better soup choice.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing Experience

Dined on May 28, 2016

Service is always personable and very attentive. We think Keegan is a talented waiter. Food is consistently superb! The atmosphere is special, beautiful and we always look forward to having dinner at Jeff Ruby's.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice time had by my son and nephew. Lo ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Nice time had by my son and nephew. Looking forward to doing it again

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't go wrong with a filet and Mac and ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Can't go wrong with a filet and Mac and cheese.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service, atmosphere are all top no ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Food, service, atmosphere are all top notch! Can't wait to dine there again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful as always.

Dined on May 19, 2016

Wonderful as always.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, consistent! Steak at its be ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great place, consistent! Steak at its best!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience from beginning to end. ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great experience from beginning to end. The food was unbelievable and our waiter was exceptional. We all had Prime USDA steaks and everyone was cooked to perfection. Service throughout the meal was informative, attentive, and non-interruptive. Great bottle a wine as well.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always.

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Excellent as always.

food3
ambience5
service2

This is our go to restaurant for very sp ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

This is our go to restaurant for very special occasions. I'm not sure what happened to this 5 star restaurant. From waiting 45 minutes to be seated (we had a reservation) to the service and the food was just bad this night. Will try again. Hope it was just that one night

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We enjoyed our evening. First was the s ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We enjoyed our evening. First was the show "Cabaret" followed by our excellent evening meal at Jeff Ruby's. A perfect evening with pleasant and professional waite staff. Thanks to all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great dinner!

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Another great dinner!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent in every way - service was bey ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent in every way - service was beyond our expectations!

food5
ambience5
service5

Oh, the steaks! Can't go wrong here.

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Oh, the steaks! Can't go wrong here.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

Dined on May 7, 2016

Staff was fantastic! Can't wait to go back. Known for their steak but who knew Mac & Cheese could be so delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can you say.. AWESOME!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Back in town for a family visit and decided to hit another steakhouse by Jeff Ruby. We had a fabulous evening! From the moment we arrived to our eventual departure we felt extremely appreciated and could not believe how many times the two managers stopped by our table to ensure everything was going completely to our satisfaction (we did not they did this with almost every table, not just ours). Our waiter allowed us all the time we wanted between each course and made sure the food arrived when we were ready. This restaurant was so much better than the Precint we will never go back. What a fabulous steakhouse!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Jeff Ruby brand

Dined on May 4, 2016

My Montreal visitors enjoyed our booth and the excellent meal and service. Since Montreal is one of the top dining cities in North America, there appreciation of the Jeff ruby brand of dining was much appreciated. i am always delighted that locals and visitors savor and favor this trademarked brand of superb dining experience.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.