About Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse

700 Walnut Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Jeff Ruby's is a 1940's art deco style steakhouse featuring dry aged on premise steaks and Fresh Seafood...not to mention our extensive selection of signature salads, Steakhouse potatoes, vegetables and desserts. Those who prefer an early dinner may make reservations for as early as 5:00pm Monday through Saturday. Jeff Ruby's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati's entertainment district and is within walking distance of downtown hotels and the convention center. When you demand the very best in dining experiences, choose Jeff Ruby's. Discover the distinction for yourself!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
7th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 784-1200

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Jeff Ruby's offers Live Entertainment Tuesday - Saturday. Jazz, Rhythm & Blues and contemporary favorites are performed by Cincinnati's finest musicians. Perfect after an evening at the Aronoff Center; let the others fight the traffic rush home! At Jeff Ruby's, there is Never a Cover!

Catering:
Let Jeff Ruby's cater your next event! For more information, contact Sales Manager, Kathy Davis at 513-723-4454 ext. 108 or kathy.davis@jeffruby.com.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available Monday - Friday beginning at 6:00pm and Saturdays at 5:00pm; cost is $9.00 per car.

Executive Chef:
Dave Taylor

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Lump Maryland Crab Cake
Barrel-Cut Filet Mignon
Gentleman Jack
  Crème Brûlée
Bread
Butter
Freddie Salad
Lyonnaise Potatoes
Huge Tiger Shrimp Cocktail
Ricotta Donuts
Mac and Cheese
Crab Cake Sandwich
Jeff Ruby's Baked Macaroni & Cheese
Macadamia Nut Ice Cream Pie
Wedge Salad
Filet Oscar
Potatoes Anna
Filet Mignon
Chop Salad
Three Layer Carrot Cake
Dry Aged Bone In Filet Mignon
Macaroni and Cheese
24oz Bone-in Ribeye
Bacon
Creme Brulee
Chilean Sea Bass
Iceberg & Bleu Salad
Green beans
Shrimp and Grits
Cowboy Steak
Asparagus
Molten Chocolate Cake
Creamed Corn
Gumbo
Cheesecake

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati / Dayton
Steak
Cincinnati / Dayton
4 More
Best Overall
Cincinnati
Best Service
Cincinnati
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati
Steak
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

Special Occasion (177)
Romantic (117)
Notable Wine List (83)
See All
Fit for Foodies (76)
Hot Spot (59)
Good for Groups (55)
Vibrant Bar Scene (48)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Late-night Find (14)
Great for Lunch (8)
Great for Brunch (5)
Scenic View (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2060 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I frequent Jeff Ruby's for special occas ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined a day ago

I frequent Jeff Ruby's for special occasions with my family, and we always have fabulous service - it really contributes to the entire experience. Miles is our waiter of choice, and he always does an Extraordinary job. However, a friend and I dined alone last night (Miles was not working, unfortunately) and had just decent service. Not only did our waiter fail to go above and beyond (like is my typical experience at several Ruby's establishments), but he wasn't even that attentive generally. My friend and I both felt that it was because we were being financially profiled as two mid-twenties women dining alone. It was a low feeling; very unlike any other experience I have had at Jeff Ruby's. Unfortunate, especially considering we both practice law in Cincinnati and frequently have business development dinners in the city. Looks like we won't be choosing Ruby's if the client is young.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Jeff Ruby come As is the sourdough bread ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 3 days ago

Jeff Ruby come As is the sourdough bread!s through again. Every detail is well-monitored, execution flawless. And of course his dry-aged beef is phenomenal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Casual, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love Jeff Ruby's but it was not a good ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 7 days ago

I love Jeff Ruby's but it was not a good night of service. My date was not happy with the service for money spent when I was treated to choose dinner location. Our server was too busy. We had to ask for our drinks and even to place our order. We were in the back room, which I did not enjoy. Too loud and felt too closely placed to the other tables. Our romantic dinner wasn't great and didnt feel private when you are in the middle of two other tables and hear both tables conversations. Wasnt worth spending over $250.00.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Always a great choice for special occasi ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Always a great choice for special occasions. The steaks are the best in the city and certainly in the top five in the US.

The service is always impeccable and they go out of their way to make the evening perfect.

Splurge and have any one of their dry aged steaks, you won't regret it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time back at Rubys in 3 years. Th ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

First time back at Rubys in 3 years. The food was excellent. The service was terrible. After requesting a "few minutes" to look over the menu" our waiter returned TWENTY minutes later. Never once did anyone come and clean up our table, so we ate amid countless bread crumbs and half eaten butter plates. There were a gaggle of staff working that night, but this place is too expensive to tolerate this level of service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Amazing all around. The best dining expe ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Amazing all around. The best dining experience I've ever had. 5 stars!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Mother-In-Law is always thinking to t ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

My Mother-In-Law is always thinking to treat us special, and has surprised us to come into town to take us to Carlos & Johnny's for memorable occasions. We wanted to surprise her & take her to a place she would love for her Birthday Dinner and that she has never been. What can I say, you can't beat Ruby's first class service. The filet was still on our minds many, many meals afterwards. We shared the biggest monster piece of carrot cake we had ever seen, including tasty cocktails made to perfect order, & giant raw bar shrimp & crab legs. Jeff Ruby's is the best...Thank you for a great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Is a very unique restaurant with great s ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Is a very unique restaurant with great service overall and good food. Expensive. Only knock I had was that I ordered a 12oz filet cooked to medium, it came out extremely rare. Sent it back and it came out medium rare at best. For a high-end restaurant known for steak, I was surprised.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

We were amazed at the servings (plenty t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We were amazed at the servings (plenty to share). The food tasted great, the steak perfect, and best of all, the waiter terrific!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak, sides and service were all o ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The steak, sides and service were all outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Jeff Ruby's didn't quite meet expectatio ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Jeff Ruby's didn't quite meet expectations. The quality of the meat was very good, but it seems the only spice they know is salt. It was used quite excessively and diminished the flavor of the beef.

The Caesar salad was mediocre, the side dishes brought more salt to the table than was necessary again. Vegetables were grossly over priced and little more than a few scrapesof shallots and olive oil.

The service was phenomenal, but overall I would sum it up as VERY overpriced for the amateurish quality of the kitchen's execution.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Food, ambiance and service were phenomen ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food, ambiance and service were phenomenal! We were there to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday and the managers and staff were so personable and accommodating, they made us feel like we were the only patrons there! We're so glad our first dining experience at Jeff Ruby's was so positive. We'll definitely return!

If I had to make one small complaint, it would be that the live band, albeit VERY good, was extremely loud, which made intimate conversation a little difficult. But, again, overall, we were very pleased with everything.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was wonderful. Lamb chops were no ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Steak was wonderful. Lamb chops were not up to participate-small, not dry aged, no USA raised.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great atmosphere, and the best filet I h ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great atmosphere, and the best filet I have ever had! My husband said his salmon was excellent! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse is a First Class ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse is a First Class establishment. The very best Cincinnati has to offer. I highly recommend out of town guests to go here. Never disappointed in the quality of food and excellent service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Our waiter {Dustin} was super ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent

Our waiter {Dustin} was superior

My wife had the salmon....excellent and I had the fillet...very good

The Caesar was not my favorite...a little too strong

The dessert was "killer"

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service is exceptional - professional bu ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Service is exceptional - professional but friendly. The food was delicious and prepared as ordered. The ambiance is a traditional steakhouse, including the piano player.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We went for the Do Dowtown special that ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We went for the Do Dowtown special that was offered last week. Our dinner was $45.00 each. However the steak was all bone. Only 2 bites of meat. Asked for shrimp as a appetizer, but the waiter forgot it... Asked for lemon for my drink, which was also never brought to the table. Kinda disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

It took sometime for them to get us the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

It took sometime for them to get us the bread. The entrees arrived before the salad plates were cleared. Our water glasses were not refilled.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

It was just okay. Steak had a lot of fat ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

It was just okay. Steak had a lot of fat in it. Also, didn't appreciate being put in the room off to the right. It felt like we were in the "c" list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

It was exceptional in every way.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

It was exceptional in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Jeff Ruby's it's our favorite re ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We love Jeff Ruby's it's our favorite restaurant - never been unhappy with our meal. The service is great, your staff is great, food quality is great. We come in for a dinner, a drink at the bar and listen to music or just gab a bit to eat at the bar with a friend. We also have a favorite waiter his name is Tony Freda he is excellent aways make our dinner special.

Rosemary Jarvis

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was exception. It made our eveni ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Service was exception. It made our evening so enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun and unique place to have a special d ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Fun and unique place to have a special dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated my husband's 50th birthday ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We celebrated my husband's 50th birthday here. Our server, Travis, was outstanding, as was everyone assisting him. Knowing that is was a special occasion, they took a picture of us, printed it out, then gave it to us in a nice paper frame. The food is always great and the overall experience was fabulous.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was ordered medium+ and came out w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Steak was ordered medium+ and came out well done. They took the steak back to be remade which came back under cooked. While the new steak was being cooked our $13.00 mashed potatoes and $13.00 macaroni and cheese got cold and they did not offer new sides. The bill was not discounted at all for the cold food and mis-cooked steaks twice. Our other steak ordered medium well came out well done but we did not send it back.

So basically, while my husbands steak was being made again I ate my overcooked steak and when his steak came out I was finished so we didn't really have a meal together.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Amazing from start to finish in every ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Amazing from start to finish in every possible way!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You guys are always top notch!!!!! Our w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

You guys are always top notch!!!!! Our waiter on Friday evening "Travis" was very knowledgable with the specials and wine list. Recommended a wine to my date and she loved it. He helped make the evening that much better.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great experience. The first ta ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had a great experience. The first table was in the middle of the traffic pattern, but our waiter recognized this and asked if we would be more comfortable elsewhere. After a move to a more private area, we had nothing but an excellent experience and wonderful service. The food was delicious with my wife opting for sea food while I enjoyed a perfectly cooked and seasoned porter house. We were not rushed nor ignored. At $260 with an 18% tip, it was a little pricey for two, but we each had a couple of drinks and a good time. No regrets and I look forward to visiting again in the future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

food and service was excellent. excellen ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

food and service was excellent. excellent staff and surroundings

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The appetizers were good but the main me ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The appetizers were good but the main meal and sides left much to be desired.

My steak , bone in ribeye,was salty and burnt around the edges, suppose to be medium rare.

My business partners filet was great according to him

Sides ordered were mushrooms and mixed vegetables, main veg Brussels sprouts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great meal. The steak and complete mea ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great meal. The steak and complete meal was excellent. Our waiter took great care in explaining our options and was very attentive during the meal Will definitely go back when in town.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined here multiple times and af ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We have dined here multiple times and after each experience we are reminded of why we come back whenever we can. This place exemplifies fine dining. The service is top notch, the food is delicious, and the atmosphere brings it all together.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was exceptional and the service ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was exceptional and the service was especially good. Ruby's is perfectly located to the Aronoff and other downtown entertainment. Overall a wonderful experience as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Restaurant for Dinner Date To Aron ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great Restaurant for Dinner Date To Aronoff Center

We had dinner before the Cincinnati Opera performance at the Aronoff Center . Jeff Ruby's was prepared to not only serve us but get us out on time for the performance. They are "in step" with the events across the street from the restaurant and know how to get the food served in a timely fashion. We tried the filet mignons which were great. Steak is the specialty at the Jeff Ruby Restaurants and they DO a great job of preparing this.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good service, food & drinks.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Good service, food & drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good, pricey, but very goo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food was very good, pricey, but very good. Good for a special occasion. Our waiter was top-notch, knew the menu and how to serve. Made the dining experience all the better.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding. Apps, salads, steaks, side ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Outstanding. Apps, salads, steaks, sides are all excellent. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was given a gift certificate is why we ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I was given a gift certificate is why we went. I just wanted to see what it was all about. I thought the food was good but how can a steak alone cost 66.00? It's was nice but I cannot see paying that much sorry. We were sat at a very small table for two by a window which was ok seems you could afford a little bigger tables my husband was squashed up against a pole no room to move. I guess it's just not the place for us.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

They never disappoint! We always order t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

They never disappoint! We always order the ribeye and its always perfect. The staff is wonderful and go out of their way to make you happy. We only dine there on special occasion as its pricey for our budget, but, its worth every penny!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.