About Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse

700 Walnut Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Jeff Ruby's is a 1940's art deco style steakhouse featuring dry aged on premise steaks and Fresh Seafood...not to mention our extensive selection of signature salads, Steakhouse potatoes, vegetables and desserts. Those who prefer an early dinner may make reservations for as early as 5:00pm Monday through Saturday. Jeff Ruby's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati's entertainment district and is within walking distance of downtown hotels and the convention center. When you demand the very best in dining experiences, choose Jeff Ruby's. Discover the distinction for yourself!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
7th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 784-1200

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Jeff Ruby's offers Live Entertainment Tuesday - Saturday. Jazz, Rhythm & Blues and contemporary favorites are performed by Cincinnati's finest musicians. Perfect after an evening at the Aronoff Center; let the others fight the traffic rush home! At Jeff Ruby's, there is Never a Cover!

Catering:
Let Jeff Ruby's cater your next event! For more information, contact Sales Manager, Kathy Davis at 513-723-4454 ext. 108 or kathy.davis@jeffruby.com.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available Monday - Friday beginning at 6:00pm and Saturdays at 5:00pm; cost is $9.00 per car.

Executive Chef:
Dave Taylor

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Food
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Service
Cincinnati / Dayton
7 More
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati / Dayton
Steak
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Overall
Cincinnati
Best Food
Cincinnati
Best Service
Cincinnati
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati
Steak
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

special occasion (191)
romantic (130)
notable wine list (86)
See All
fit for foodies (69)
hot spot (66)
vibrant bar scene (59)
good for groups (56)
neighborhood gem (33)
late-night find (19)
scenic view (7)
 (3)
great for lunch (2)
 (2)
 (2)
kid-friendly (2)
 (1)
 (1)
great for brunch (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1954 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice time had by my son and nephew. Lo ...

Dined 5 days ago

Nice time had by my son and nephew. Looking forward to doing it again

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't go wrong with a filet and Mac and ...

Dined 6 days ago

Can't go wrong with a filet and Mac and cheese.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service, atmosphere are all top no ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Food, service, atmosphere are all top notch! Can't wait to dine there again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful as always.

Dined on May 19, 2016

Wonderful as always.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, consistent! Steak at its be ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great place, consistent! Steak at its best!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience from beginning to end. ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great experience from beginning to end. The food was unbelievable and our waiter was exceptional. We all had Prime USDA steaks and everyone was cooked to perfection. Service throughout the meal was informative, attentive, and non-interruptive. Great bottle a wine as well.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always.

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Excellent as always.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We enjoyed our evening. First was the s ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We enjoyed our evening. First was the show "Cabaret" followed by our excellent evening meal at Jeff Ruby's. A perfect evening with pleasant and professional waite staff. Thanks to all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent in every way - service was bey ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent in every way - service was beyond our expectations!

food5
ambience5
service5

Oh, the steaks! Can't go wrong here.

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Oh, the steaks! Can't go wrong here.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Jeff Ruby brand

Dined on May 4, 2016

My Montreal visitors enjoyed our booth and the excellent meal and service. Since Montreal is one of the top dining cities in North America, there appreciation of the Jeff ruby brand of dining was much appreciated. i am always delighted that locals and visitors savor and favor this trademarked brand of superb dining experience.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on May 4, 2016

You can count on Ruby's to deliver an outstanding steak and excellent side dishes. The Aronoff salad is one of my favorites, delicious. Service is five star.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Not worth the price.. Way overpriced.. W ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Not worth the price.. Way overpriced.. Was i in nyc??

food5
ambience5
service4

The restaurant it's self is beautiful. W ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The restaurant it's self is beautiful. We waited about 15 minutes past our reservation time which was abnormal but the Jeff ruby staff made up for it with the food, service, hospitality and free desert for the wait. I would highly recommend this restaurant for a nice evening out on the town. It's pricey but you actually get what you pay for. Best steak in town. Hands down!

food5
ambience5
service5

The best in ohio

Dined on April 30, 2016

The best in ohio

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing As Always!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Ruby's hit the spot again! My wife and I moved to Nashville 5 years ago, and one thing we have missed about Cincinnati is Jeff Ruby's Steaks! We were not disappointed on Friday. We shared the barrel cut filet because it is enormous. Every bite was delightful. The Mac n Cheese was ridiculously good. The fried veggies were incredible too. We are so excited that Jeff Ruby's is coming to Nashville! Taste of the Natty in NashVegas!!!! Need any volunteers for the soft opening???!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service3

I felt a little rushed but we did order ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

I felt a little rushed but we did order dinner at 11pm so I guess it is understandable. Caesar salad had waaaaaay too much garlic. Also it would be nice to have long stalks of romaine instead of chopped. Menu hasn't changed in a while ... I'd like more vegetable options as sides like steamed broccoli or rabe. App menu section struggling too ... It is purely just a steak house and you can get salad and fresh seafood before you eat that steak with the huge potato and the creamed spinach or asparagus.

food5
ambience3
service5

First time experience did not disappoint ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

First time experience did not disappoint - the food was terrific and service attentive. We had filet and Dover sole as entrees. Both incredible. Shared a few sides - each one delicious. Especially the Mac and cheese. Had homemade sorbet for dessert and apple pie ala mode - both wonderful. Great jazz band at the bar and lively bar scene. Cool This menu is not for those watching their waistlines! And the bill was extraordinary. Worth a special event but will not become a regular dining spot.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

One of the best

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Another great meal at our favorite restaurant in town. The food is tremendous and it is our go to place for celebrating. Started off a little bumpy getting us into our reservation, but our server was great as was our food. All in all, one of the best steakhouses in the US.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best date!

Dined on April 23, 2016

We were celebrating our 1 year anniversary. The entire staff that we interacted with wished us a happy anniversary and made sure we had a nice booth overlooking the restaurant. Our food was perfect and our water and wine glasses were never empty. Our waiter was very helpful in helping suggest which cut of meat would be the best for my boyfriend as well as getting me the perfect wine. We plan on going back for our next special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great evening - Jeff Ruby's & the Pops Orchestra

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our experience was terrific. Service and food were outstanding. The crab bisque and our steaks were the best. My wife particularly enjoyed the mac and cheese. We shared cheesecake for dessert, and it was to die for.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Nate is an amazing waiter. He always mak ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Nate is an amazing waiter. He always makes our visits special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Recent experience

Dined on April 19, 2016

I have eaten at a Ruby's establishment well over 50 times. Over that time because they do such a good job that the bar is high. This past week failed to meet expectations, the food quality was OK but definitely not good+. Since this is the only time that has happened, I am not writing it off yet. But next big steak night, I will venture out to other establishments before I return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Winner Again

Dined on April 19, 2016

Phenomenal food; Top notch service; never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, service and food

Dined on April 17, 2016

The ambiance, service and food was exceptional. What a buzz in this restaurant. Place to see and be seen. You do get what you pay for. My only minor complaint was that it was a bit rushed. Literally, from the moment we walked in to the moment we left, it took just under one hour. I prefer these types of meals to last a bit longer with a bit more space in between courses. The courses are large and you need a few minutes to catch your breath. Here, the courses keep coming. But will be back for sure.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant for celebrations!

Dined on April 17, 2016

We had a wonderful celebration at Jeff Ruby's DT location! Our server Jonathan was delightful and attentive but not annoying. The Shrimp cocktail was UNBELIEVABLE and the steaks were the best we have ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome, we had a wonderful time, delici ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Awesome, we had a wonderful time, delicious food, and great service!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I've left close to a dozen comments on t ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

I've left close to a dozen comments on this fine steakhouse, all great. I will add the following: Try the carrot cake, period!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's worth every penny you spend!

Dined on April 15, 2016

We come here every year for my husband's birthday. It's such a quality experience - the staff is knowledgeable and it's just overall incredible. The food tastes great and we love coming! We can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, food was outstanding

Dined on April 15, 2016

Excellent service, food was outstanding

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

anniversary dinner

Dined on April 14, 2016

Had the bone in ribeye medium rare, steak was good however, for the price I expected a lot better. A lot of fat and some toughness for medium rare. May just have been that particular steak. Sides were just ok, nothing spectacular.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

delicious, but WAY too expensive...

Dined on April 12, 2016

$225 for two people to eat is insane. We each only had 1 drink, 1 steak and we shared a side. Our server was great, hostess was great and all other staff members were very kind. The food was very good, but for that amount of money, there should've been enough to feed my entire family! No food or beverage is worth that much money in my opinion. Because of that, we won't be back.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Accolades

Dined on April 11, 2016

The total dining experience is outstanding! And the steaks are the best.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It never gets old

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

The staff continues to amaze from setting the right atmosphere, serving great food, and service that is second to none.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent dining experience

Dined on April 6, 2016

Excellent Food, Supreme service. Extremely friendly. My only disappointment is that they forgot my request for the birthday dessert. Despite numerous confirmation from the staff, it was never delivered.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It was opening day for the Cincinnati Reds.

Dined on April 5, 2016

I think the staff by 9:00 PM seating where tired and rush everybody a little. The staff did a good job but they where tied of the Opening Day crowd. The crowd was a little loud because of the late game and all the partying that was going on. Reds won Opening game so everybody was happy.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Disappointed

Dined on April 2, 2016

We have dined several times at Jeff Ruby's restaurants and have never had a disappointing experience, but tonight we did. My husband and son both ordered the cowboy steak medium. My husband's steak came out burnt to a crisp. The waiter offered to cook him another steak but we didn't have time as we were going to a show so they said they would take it off of our check. They gave us free dessert to also make up for it. When we got the check not only were we charged for his unedible steak, but also for dessert. They did fix it after we brought it to their attention

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Service!

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

We received the most outstanding service after a late night at the Aronoff. Our Waiter Tony could not have been better at suggesting wine by the glass and dessert which is a special occasion for us. Very pleased we could get such great service and food at such a late hour and last minute on a friday(10:45). The only draw back is the band is a little tooooooo much in the noise department.I understand you want to enthuse the cigar bar people on the outside sidewalk, but honestly we could not understand Christoph when he greeted us on our arrival or much of any subsequent conversation.You might want to dial back the noise for diners enjoyment of conversation!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

delicious as always

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Our dinner and service was delicious and memorable as always. The only issue was the unusually loud, and not very good live music that evening. All the tables around us were equally disturbed by the loud "music." Definitely not the best talent or background music for dinner. It was disturbing enough, that we opted out of after dinner drinks and dessert.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Jeff Ruby Experience!

Dined on March 31, 2016

Jeff Ruby has a reputation of providing the best dining experience in cincinnati in both of his restaurants, Jeff Ruby's & The Precinct, and formerly the Waterfront. Top notch food, service and overall dining experience. But remember this type of dining comes at a price, so check out the menu prior to making reservations. And i HIGHLY recommend making reservations!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.