About Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse

700 Walnut Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Jeff Ruby's is a 1940's art deco style steakhouse featuring dry aged on premise steaks and Fresh Seafood...not to mention our extensive selection of signature salads, Steakhouse potatoes, vegetables and desserts. Those who prefer an early dinner may make reservations for as early as 5:00pm Monday through Saturday. Jeff Ruby's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati's entertainment district and is within walking distance of downtown hotels and the convention center. When you demand the very best in dining experiences, choose Jeff Ruby's. Discover the distinction for yourself!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
7th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 784-1200

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Jeff Ruby's offers Live Entertainment Tuesday - Saturday. Jazz, Rhythm & Blues and contemporary favorites are performed by Cincinnati's finest musicians. Perfect after an evening at the Aronoff Center; let the others fight the traffic rush home! At Jeff Ruby's, there is Never a Cover!

Catering:
Let Jeff Ruby's cater your next event! For more information, contact Sales Manager, Kathy Davis at 513-723-4454 ext. 108 or kathy.davis@jeffruby.com.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available Monday - Friday beginning at 6:00pm and Saturdays at 5:00pm; cost is $9.00 per car.

Executive Chef:
Dave Taylor

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Lump Maryland Crab Cake
Barrel-Cut Filet Mignon
Gentleman Jack
  Crème Brûlée
Bread
Butter
Freddie Salad
Lyonnaise Potatoes
Huge Tiger Shrimp Cocktail
Ricotta Donuts
Mac and Cheese
Crab Cake Sandwich
Jeff Ruby's Baked Macaroni & Cheese
Macadamia Nut Ice Cream Pie
Wedge Salad
Filet Oscar
Potatoes Anna
Filet Mignon
Chop Salad
Three Layer Carrot Cake
Dry Aged Bone In Filet Mignon
Macaroni and Cheese
24oz Bone-in Ribeye
Bacon
Creme Brulee
Chilean Sea Bass
Iceberg & Bleu Salad
Green beans
Shrimp and Grits
Cowboy Steak
Asparagus
Molten Chocolate Cake
Creamed Corn
Gumbo
Cheesecake

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati / Dayton
Steak
Cincinnati / Dayton
3 More
Best Overall
Cincinnati
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati
Steak
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

Special Occasion (173)
Romantic (120)
Notable Wine List (88)
See All
Fit for Foodies (71)
Hot Spot (49)
Good for Groups (48)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Vibrant Bar Scene (45)
Good for a Date (32)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Worth the Drive (20)
Late-night Find (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Business Meals (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Live Music (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Private Room (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fun (6)
People Watching (6)
Cozy (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Historic (5)
Casual (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Scenic View (4)
Authentic (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2096 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Visited for our 23rd wedding anniversary ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 4 days ago

Visited for our 23rd wedding anniversary. My wife was looking forward to it so much and was not disappointed! The waitstaff was amazing and the food of course was fantastic. Would recommend Jeff Ruby's steakhouse to anybody!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent from beginning to end. The foo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent from beginning to end. The food and service are second to none.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is Ruby's, what you get is why you go ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

It is Ruby's, what you get is why you go there. Service, food, and ambiance were top notch. We just went for desert, and were treated like we were prime guests. It is the best, because they know what they are doing.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time! So glad we took the time to ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great time! So glad we took the time to do this. We were traveling to Kentucky to my folks home and stayed the night in Covington. Wonderful experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I had an excellent first ex ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I had an excellent first experience. We celebrated our 10 year anniversary and we traveled from Indianapolis. Our steak and salmon were the best we have ever had. We wanted something compared to our famous steak house of St. Elmo's. Jeff Ruby's was just as good if not better. Our waiter Nate was really good. He made it very special for us and was excellent at his job.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm really disapponted from my experienc ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 7 days ago

I'm really disapponted from my experience at this restaurant warmly recommended from a colleague.

The ambience is nice, a little fashioned and old, but right for the kind of usual customers, service was excellent but the price payed is unfair for the food that I had.

The meat was good, but nothing special, and the side was charged to the bill.

This restaurant is too priced and very pretentious, good for people for special occasion that want an exclusive and expensive meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

For the price the food was good, but I ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 7 days ago

For the price the food was good, but I have had better steaks else where. It was a bit to noisy for us. There were several business people around us, and they were rather loud. I had to have one of my side dishes reheated.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Can I please have a butter spoon. If I h ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Can I please have a butter spoon. If I have to use my own knife then it's removed. Proper utensils go along way.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I went here for the first time on my bre ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I went here for the first time on my break from Afghanistan in 2013 and met Jim Nance as well as the owner. I live in Florida now and every time we go to Cincinnati, we make sure to have a date at Jeff Ruby's. My wife loves the chandeliers and we both love the steaks! A very nice treat for us! Open one in Jacksonville please :)

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great first impression on us. Our waiter ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great first impression on us. Our waiter Kevin was outstanding!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

cow boy stake....as good as Waffle house ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

cow boy stake....as good as Waffle house if it was on the menu.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

We waited about 10 minutes before anyone ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We waited about 10 minutes before anyone waited on us. Tucker was supposed to. E our server but never came. Kevin did come once I asked the water/ bus boy if anyone was waiting on us. Kevin was awesome!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I was extremely disappointed in the seat ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I was extremely disappointed in the seating, right at the main entry for my anniversary dinner, I was not pleased!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

One of the best steaks you will ever hav ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

One of the best steaks you will ever have. Pricey but worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the top restaurants in the countr ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

One of the top restaurants in the country, let alone Cincinnati. Fantastic personal service, excellent food, beautiful retro steakhouse looks, and ambiance. It's always a pleasure to dine at Ruby's downtown.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Bar Seating, Private Room, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My boyfriend and I went for his birthday ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

My boyfriend and I went for his birthday and we had the most amazing time! Not only was the food spectacular, but the service was outstanding and we even got a picture taken of us by the server himself!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak Collinsworth is a must. Service i ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Steak Collinsworth is a must. Service is always top notch. Seafood tower is advised for those folks that love fresh shrimp and crab.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always an amazing meal at Jeff Rubys!

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Always an amazing meal at Jeff Rubys!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant if you are looking for ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great restaurant if you are looking for a top notch meal or celebrating a special occasion. The wait staff is knowledgeable and professional. You feel very taken care of without the over-the-top uncomfortable feelings. Upscale clientele, but can sometimes be difficult having a quiet/intimate conversation due to the ambient noise levels. Food is spectacular! Wine list is extensive! And the desserts are delicious and decadent. Left overs are packaged nicely and put into a nice bag that has uses well after the meal is over. The take home extras are are great reminder of the fantastic meal that was enjoyed the day or days before. Great place and on my speed dial.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

fabulous as always! Never a problem ther ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

fabulous as always! Never a problem there! Everything was wonderful!!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here for our 10th Anniversary and i ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Went here for our 10th Anniversary and it was outstanding. Every member of the staff knew it was a special occasion and congratulated us. The food was incredible. Service was top notch. Everything comes with a hefty price but you definitely get what you pay for so it's perfect for a special occasion. You may find steakhouses that are this good in other cities but you won't find one better than Ruby's.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Any time I've mentioned loving a good st ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Any time I've mentioned loving a good steak, Cincinnati people always tell me to check out Jeff Ruby's. So, I did. We had reservations on a Friday, which we had to book several weeks out. That is ok, I can wait for good food. We arrived and were seated promptly, but waited quite some time before our server arrived. He was exceptionally slow and seemingly distracted throughout the meal. and kept calling me "buddy" which was a little annoying and seemed out of place for this level of establishment. I started with a caesar. It was rather plain, little dressing and not very much zip to it. For entrees, I had the Porterhouse crowned with the cognac peppercorn sauce and my dining companion had the Cowboy Steak. As a side we split the Steakhouse Hash Browns. The potatoes managed to arrive very hot, but undercooked. They had very little taste to them. The steaks were good, but I have honestly had better seasoned steaks at Outback. As a note, we were not the only ones who weren't thrilled with our meal. The man sitting next to us, whom we did not know, actually leaned over and asked what we thought, because he was not very happy with his choices. After the disappointment of the start, we decided to skip the dessert although there were a few items that sounded very good. If you want a great steak, I would recommend looking at Capital Grille or somewhere else, because for the price tag, this doesn't make the cut.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

We all agreed (there were four of us) th ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We all agreed (there were four of us) that this was the best meal we ever had - and the best filet we ever had - every single food item served was outstanding. Now, it will cost you, but this is a "special treat" meal - and well worth it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were amazing! Defin ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food and service were amazing! Definitely try the crab cake, best I've ever had.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a memorable meal and experience. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Always a memorable meal and experience. The service is impeccable...even with those patrons who are less than gracious! Worth every penny for a steak that is cooked to perfection...even when rare!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service (Thank you, Travis!!) ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Impeccable service (Thank you, Travis!!), fabulous food, a gorgeous dining room.....Jeff Ruby's has it all. We were in Cincinnati for the weekend, and had to try Ruby's Steakhouse. It did NOT disappoint! You pay a premium price, but it was well worth it. Would definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everyone says you have to try Jeff Ruby' ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Everyone says you have to try Jeff Ruby's and now I understand why. The quality and service you receive are top notch. I loved everything that I tried and we were checked on several times throughout the meal. Romantic but not overly dark and sappy. This place is simply wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fabulous, as always. I have ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The food was fabulous, as always. I have eaten at Jeff Ruby's on numerous occasions and I have never been disappointed. The service is always outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jeff Ruby's is pricey but well worth the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Jeff Ruby's is pricey but well worth the price! The food is excellent and the service is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We took our parent here for the their 50 ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We took our parent here for the their 50th wedding anniversary celebration. Crabcake appetizer was amazing! We all got filets... melted in your mouth. Great service, a bit noisy to hear across the table. Great night, we will be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Best steak I've had in a long time! Awes ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Best steak I've had in a long time! Awesome everything!

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music, Hot Spot, Fun, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I frequent Jeff Ruby's for special occas ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I frequent Jeff Ruby's for special occasions with my family, and we always have fabulous service - it really contributes to the entire experience. Miles is our waiter of choice, and he always does an Extraordinary job. However, a friend and I dined alone last night (Miles was not working, unfortunately) and had just decent service. Not only did our waiter fail to go above and beyond (like is my typical experience at several Ruby's establishments), but he wasn't even that attentive generally. My friend and I both felt that it was because we were being financially profiled as two mid-twenties women dining alone. It was a low feeling; very unlike any other experience I have had at Jeff Ruby's. Unfortunate, especially considering we both practice law in Cincinnati and frequently have business development dinners in the city. Looks like we won't be choosing Ruby's if the client is young.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

The food, service, and overall dining ex ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food, service, and overall dining experience was absolutely phenomenal!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What can I say that hasn't already been ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

What can I say that hasn't already been said about the top notch steaks complimented perfectly with sides that appeal to any palate. Simply amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My wife and I have been coming to Jeff R ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

My wife and I have been coming to Jeff Ruby's for years. It's always been our favorite steak restaurant. Maitre'd Neil and his staff do a wonderful job!

Tags: Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jeff Ruby come As is the sourdough bread ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Jeff Ruby come As is the sourdough bread!s through again. Every detail is well-monitored, execution flawless. And of course his dry-aged beef is phenomenal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Casual, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love Jeff Ruby's but it was not a good ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I love Jeff Ruby's but it was not a good night of service. My date was not happy with the service for money spent when I was treated to choose dinner location. Our server was too busy. We had to ask for our drinks and even to place our order. We were in the back room, which I did not enjoy. Too loud and felt too closely placed to the other tables. Our romantic dinner wasn't great and didnt feel private when you are in the middle of two other tables and hear both tables conversations. Wasnt worth spending over $250.00.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Always a great choice for special occasi ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Always a great choice for special occasions. The steaks are the best in the city and certainly in the top five in the US.

The service is always impeccable and they go out of their way to make the evening perfect.

Splurge and have any one of their dry aged steaks, you won't regret it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time back at Rubys in 3 years. Th ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

First time back at Rubys in 3 years. The food was excellent. The service was terrible. After requesting a "few minutes" to look over the menu" our waiter returned TWENTY minutes later. Never once did anyone come and clean up our table, so we ate amid countless bread crumbs and half eaten butter plates. There were a gaggle of staff working that night, but this place is too expensive to tolerate this level of service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Amazing all around. The best dining expe ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Amazing all around. The best dining experience I've ever had. 5 stars!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.