About Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse

Jeff Ruby's is a 1940's art deco style steakhouse featuring dry aged on premise steaks and Fresh Seafood...not to mention our extensive selection of signature salads, Steakhouse potatoes, vegetables and desserts. Those who prefer an early dinner may make reservations for as early as 5:00pm Monday through Saturday. Jeff Ruby's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati's entertainment district and is within walking distance of downtown hotels and the convention center. When you demand the very best in dining experiences, choose Jeff Ruby's. Discover the distinction for yourself!

700 Walnut Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
7th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 784-1200

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Jeff Ruby's offers Live Entertainment Tuesday - Saturday. Jazz, Rhythm & Blues and contemporary favorites are performed by Cincinnati's finest musicians. Perfect after an evening at the Aronoff Center; let the others fight the traffic rush home! At Jeff Ruby's, there is Never a Cover!

Catering:
Let Jeff Ruby's cater your next event! For more information, contact Sales Manager, Kathy Davis at 513-723-4454 ext. 108 or kathy.davis@jeffruby.com.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available Monday - Friday beginning at 6:00pm and Saturdays at 5:00pm; cost is $9.00 per car.

Executive Chef:
Dave Taylor

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Lump Maryland Crab Cake - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Barrel-Cut Filet Mignon - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Gentleman Jack - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
  Crème Brûlée - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Bread - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Butter - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Freddie Salad - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Lyonnaise Potatoes - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Huge Tiger Shrimp Cocktail  - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Ricotta Donuts - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Mac and Cheese - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Crab Cake Sandwich - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Jeff Ruby's Baked Macaroni & Cheese - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Macadamia Nut Ice Cream Pie - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Wedge Salad - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Filet Oscar - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Potatoes Anna - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Filet Mignon - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Chop Salad - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Three Layer Carrot Cake - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Dry Aged Bone In Filet Mignon - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Macaroni and Cheese - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
24oz Bone-in Ribeye - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Bacon - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Creme Brulee - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Chilean Sea Bass - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Iceberg & Bleu Salad - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Green beans - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Shrimp and Grits - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Cowboy Steak - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Asparagus - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Molten Chocolate Cake - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Creamed Corn - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Gumbo - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Cheesecake - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (110)
Good for Anniversaries (90)
Good for a Date (88)
See All
Romantic (65)
Good for Birthdays (60)
Business Meals (57)
Pre/post Theatre (52)
Notable Wine List (50)
Worth the Drive (33)
Good for Groups (31)
Hot Spot (30)
Cozy (29)
Live Music (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Private Room (24)
People Watching (21)
Fun (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Authentic (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Historic (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Seasonal (9)
Casual (8)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Fireplace (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vegan (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2400 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Impeccable service with exquisite cuisin ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Impeccable service with exquisite cuisine! Love to dine there at least once or twice a year.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Complete perfection. Staff is top notch. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Complete perfection. Staff is top notch. Best there is.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second trip and were just a ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our second trip and were just as satisfied as a couple of months ago. Service is outstanding. Salad bar is amazing, but do not spend too much time there. The all you care to eat smoked and grilled meats, poultry, sausage and lamb were all excellent. Try a couple of their sauces. There were 18 different proteins while we were there. The garlic steak and pork ribs were the highlights, but the fillet, lamb chops and sirloin were not far behind.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and experience were very good b ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and experience were very good but not worth the cost

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always great food and service at bar and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Always great food and service at bar and at table. Thanks Jeff.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Family Style, Happy Hour, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Emily and the bartender group are the mo ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Emily and the bartender group are the most awesome in Cincy ! best food and bar atmosphere...it tastes expensive,,,and is !

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Keegan was our waiter..knowledgeable att ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Keegan was our waiter..knowledgeable attentive friendly but gave us "time an space" Lovely to be celebrating our 50th we always love Rubys

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NEVER disappoints and ALWAYS consistent. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 11, 2017

NEVER disappoints and ALWAYS consistent. Pricing, but expected at this level of quality

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yet another fun evening at JR. "Tony" o ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Yet another fun evening at JR.

"Tony" our waiter was the most professional accommodating waiter I have ever had. He never intruded in our conversation, yet was always attentive and available. Perfect. His suggestions for salad, steaks and deserts were spot on and we truly felt like he was paying attention to what my guests and I would enjoy. Everything was customized to our specific desires.

JR is not a place for quiet, intimate conversation. It is a place to see and enjoy the best service and the best in food. I loved it again!

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very relaxed atmosphere. Service was gr ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Very relaxed atmosphere. Service was great as expected. Overall enjoyable experience for a business meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was very Delicious and it was Great ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Food was very Delicious and it was Great service! Our server was excellent!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were great as usual. Se ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Service and food were great as usual. Servers were helpful with recommendations.

Manager went out of his way to find me at the play to return my iPad left at the table.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic Steaks and Excellent Service. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Fantastic Steaks and Excellent Service. A bit on the "Pricey Stage" but worth the meal. Would go back on Special Occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The courses were served with appropriate ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The courses were served with appropriate timing, Jordan never interrupted our conversation (4 ladies), the main course of steak Collinsworth for each of us was delicious, and a sharing of chocolate mocha cake and the butter pie was amazing. Jordan kept is on time without rushing for the show at the Aronoff...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great entertainment! We w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great food and great entertainment! We will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was delicious and our waiter pr ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The food was delicious and our waiter provided great recommendations. Through our conversation he learned we were going to a show and provided efficient, friendly, high-quality service!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Steaks prepared as ordered. Great food. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Steaks prepared as ordered. Great food. Hostess immediately accommodated our seating needs when the original table did not work for us due to some physical needs. Our server, Michael, provided excellent service. Very enjoyable anniversary dinner.

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was delicious and Eric could not ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Dinner was delicious and Eric could not have been more attentive to our needs/wishes.

Although the food speaks for itself, Eric is an incredible ambassador for your establishment.

Thanx for a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband thoroughly enjoyed our evenin ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 2, 2017

My husband thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Jeff Ruby's. Our server, Nate, was excellent. He was attentive without being pushy and even suggested that we share our salad and potatoes. Our fillets were outstanding and we had enough left over to take home and enjoy our dinner the next night at home!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely awesome, husband rates as #1 ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Absolutely awesome, husband rates as #1 steak across the country (we raise beef, so he knows a thing or two about a good piece of beef). Enjoy our dinners at Jeff Ruby's! Wish we had one closer to home!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The personal attention from our server, ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The personal attention from our server, Nate. We cam back after our show for drinks and called me by name and asked how our show went. Very impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappointed, the service is alway ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Never disappointed, the service is always top notch. The food is always perfect. This is the only restaurant I have dined at that has consistently gotten the temperature of my steak perfect on every visit. That says a lot coming from me. I am very particular about how my steak is cooked. Jeff Ruby's will continue to get my business for years to come.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service!!! Can't wait to ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food and service!!! Can't wait to go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service, and ambiance was excellen ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food, service, and ambiance was excellent. I did think it was quite expensive, but that is probably expected at such a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time with old friend ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had a wonderful time with old friends at this wonderful place.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fantastic and worth every p ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was fantastic and worth every penny we spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love the fresh crab and great steak!

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We love the fresh crab and great steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food. Best steak I have ever h ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Fantastic food. Best steak I have ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak I have eaten in a long time. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Best steak I have eaten in a long time. Great menu and service was impeccable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love love love the food and service

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Love love love the food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our 4th wedding anniversar ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We celebrated our 4th wedding anniversary. You'd think we were celebrities with regard to how we were treated! Dustin and Lupe were excellent and such wonderfully kind people!

The Leepers

PS We LOVED the water...and everything else. ☺️🌴

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruby's does everything very well, as it ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Ruby's does everything very well, as it should at its price point.

The staff are attentive, friendly and helpful.

They had a minor hiccup on who got what meal. I ended up with my son's medium steak and he had my medium rare steak. We didn't notice it at first because my side dish was on his plate. This did not ruin our experience as we both still enjoyed our steaks. Let me be clear - I'm certain that if we had brought it to their attention they would have "made it right".

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Perfect service, food and atmosphere! Je ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Perfect service, food and atmosphere! Jeff Ruby's is 5 star all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I absolutely love their holiday lunch! I ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I absolutely love their holiday lunch! I hope they never stop offering it. We have been three times and it makes the trip downtown at Christmas so special! It doesn't have to be expensive, and it is a great way to try out the restaurant if you have never been there or are not able or willing to spend the money for dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service and ambience. On ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Excellent food, service and ambience. One of the best restaurants in the country.

Tags: Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They only open for lunch during the holi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 22, 2016

They only open for lunch during the holidays but it was a wonderful experience. The food was amazing and more affordable than a normal dinner which was nice. My friend and I had a great time in the beautifully swanky restaurant for our ladies lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect, as usual. Tony is the best.

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Perfect, as usual. Tony is the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

food is always just mediocre here in my ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 22, 2016

food is always just mediocre here in my opinion. The steak Colinsworth was topped with crabmeat and asparagus that was just lukewarm not hot. The fries came out luke warm and the salmon was not the best flavor. Everything here is overpriced.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great service and food was amazing

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great service and food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful atmosphere. Impeccable servic ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere. Impeccable service. Great for a date of a special occasion. Pricey but worth it. Everything steaks, salads, desserts and cocktails are down with perfection!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.