About Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse

Jeff Ruby's is a 1940's art deco style steakhouse featuring dry aged on premise steaks and Fresh Seafood...not to mention our extensive selection of signature salads, Steakhouse potatoes, vegetables and desserts. Those who prefer an early dinner may make reservations for as early as 5:00pm Monday through Saturday. Jeff Ruby's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati's entertainment district and is within walking distance of downtown hotels and the convention center. When you demand the very best in dining experiences, choose Jeff Ruby's. Discover the distinction for yourself!

700 Walnut Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
7th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 784-1200

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Jeff Ruby's offers Live Entertainment Tuesday - Saturday. Jazz, Rhythm & Blues and contemporary favorites are performed by Cincinnati's finest musicians. Perfect after an evening at the Aronoff Center; let the others fight the traffic rush home! At Jeff Ruby's, there is Never a Cover!

Catering:
Let Jeff Ruby's cater your next event! For more information, contact Sales Manager, Kathy Davis at 513-723-4454 ext. 108 or kathy.davis@jeffruby.com.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available Monday - Friday beginning at 6:00pm and Saturdays at 5:00pm; cost is $9.00 per car.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (117)
Good for Anniversaries (93)
Good for a Date (90)
See All
Romantic (68)
Good for Birthdays (59)
Pre/post Theatre (55)
Business Meals (55)
Notable Wine List (51)
Worth the Drive (37)
Live Music (32)
Good for Groups (32)
Hot Spot (30)
Bar Seating (25)
Cozy (24)
Private Room (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Fun (21)
People Watching (20)
Authentic (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Historic (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Comfort Food (9)
Seasonal (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Family Style (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Healthy (6)
Fireplace (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Casual (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2447 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined a day ago

Best steak in town. Impeccable service. Strong drinks. Can't beat it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Beautiful atmosphere and the food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Seriously one of, if not THE greatest steaks I've ever eaten.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE!

From the service to the food, we will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome! Highly recommend! Are way too much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

The food is always wonderful! I appreciate how everyone takes care of you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

A bit pricey but good. The food choices are basic. Nothing adventurous here. But they are prepared well. Would love to see them push the envelope a bit with the vegetables. Offer some sauteed Swiss chard, collard or Kale greens. More seafood choices. But you won't be disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Steak was excellent as always, our server Tony was fantastic! Meal was perfectly timed and not rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had amazing service and the best meal I can remember eating!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Groups, Historic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This is my husband's favorite restaurant, so we eat here several times a year. This time around, although the food was excellent, the service was lacking for a place of this stature. The main waiter was good enough and friendly enough, however he lacked the personality and panache that a restaurant at this price point needs. His main assistant was also lacking. The hot towels that should follow after the (expensive) raw bar starters lacked lemon and heat and did not arrive until we were halfway thru our salads. We were not offered fresh ground pepper at any point during our meal. We had the ricotta donuts for dessert. They were good, although not near as good as Sotto's. The dipping sauces were more like water than sauce, and one of them should be chocolate. I know we will be back, we love the food and I'm sure the mediocre service will prove to be a one time thing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Food was great, and surprisingly fast. Great service. Great for a special occasion. One downside was, we were a party of two, but were seated at a three person booth, which was honestly pretty awkward. We were there for a birthday, and they definitely spoiled us with surprise dessert! :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I very much enjoyed the 24oz. porterhouse dry aged prime. The lobster tail I had was weak. I say that because I think it was steamed and under cooked. Baked and broiled is a much better method. Bread and the wedge salad were excellent. Service was average; not great but not bad.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wonderful Valentine's Dinner!! Everyone made our night very special. Still the best steak I've ever had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I was so amazed and happy that we were seated in the private dining room. It was Valentines Day but we had business individuals that joined us. What a wonderful evening. Thank you. Michael was very attentive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It is always great eating at Jeff Ruby's for business or pleasure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Historic, Private Room, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Second time there and I will say that they have great service and a very professional staff. Prices are still ridiculous in my opinion, but my wife and I had a gift card from our wedding. Would maybe go on a special occasion. Food is delicious though, no denying it. Previously went there only for dessert (donut holes and carrot cake). The thumbs on each, but my wife (who bakes) though there was too much icing, not enough cake.

This time we had meals, Aronoff salad, Burger, Chicken Breast, Mac & cheese. All top notch, even the tomatoes on the burger were remamarkable (marinated and roasted). Great food, but would rarely go there on my own dime.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Another outstanding performance. The serving staff as well as the management team were very attentive, cordial and welcoming. The steak was outstanding, maybe the best ever and that's a high bar!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Spectacular as always! Amazing food and even better service.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We went for my husband's Birthday and it was wonderful service. My husband had a perfectly cooked New York Strip steak, asparagus, Aronoff salad, and scallops for appetizers. I had the lobster tail. We shared the salad and scallops perfect cuz the salad was generous of portions. They brought my husband a piece of New York cheese cake with a single candle in it. My husband said well"Thank god you didn't put a candle in it for every year since I was born" . I said probably not, we do not want the fire department to come as well. The piano was playing and the waiter thought my husband was a hoot! My husband had a licorice jelly bean for dessert as he slipped by the door. The waitress said licorice was Jeff Ruby's favorite flavor. So is my husband's. Thanks Jeff Ruby for a great dinner!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Enjoyed the evening very much but food wasn't real hot when it got to the table. Sole was just a tad undercooked

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We love the steaks. Can't go wrong with a steak here. We ordered a burger ($20) and a strip steak so my wife and I could split each and try both. Hands down worst burger I've ever had at a sit down restaurant. It tasted like garbage. Like horseradish soaked garbage.

Steak was wonderful and carrot cake was transcending. Service can't be matched.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I requested a special drink and the bartender delivered. Our server compensated us with a complimentary desert because our creme spinach came out cold and too cheese,.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Business Meals, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Really enjoyed my time, just went for drinks, salads, and dessert with some gal pals. Great service, and the bread they served us was warm and to die for (especially with the truffle butter). Would definitely visit again-- maybe for some steak next time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Dinner was absolutely amazing. There is no wrong choice on the menu and the staff is simply the best. Our server, Travis was Great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Melt in your mouth steaks, fabulous service, delicious wine!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The steaks are simply outstanding! Had a great time with friends. Not too noisy to have a good conversation without yelling. Creamed spinach and potatoes melt in your mouth. Would definitely recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Quality of the steaks phenominal. Had Waygu steak, highly recommend. Service excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Always a memorable experience. We're frequent diners so obviously we like Jeff Ruby's very much. Food is outstanding and service is top-notch. We tried a new menu item: lobster gnocchi. It was ok, not as great as everything else we've ever had there. And, at $26 for an appetizer serving, a very poor value.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Ruby's never disappoints. Best steak I've eaten in my life. This was my third trip and can't wait for #4.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was my and my boyfriend's first time coming to Jeff Ruby's and we had our feelings all over the place. Our first impression coming here was wow this looks so "fancy", however, we weren't even greeted at the door/counter with a hello or anything so I had to make the initiative to say we had made a reservation. That felt kind of awkward to us because at such a nice restaurant, you'd expect them to welcome us upon coming in. After we were seated and ordered, we had the New York strip and filet mignon and both were delicious. However, My boyfriend's filet mignon was a bit more undercooked than asked for and so our server offered us a complimentary dessert which I thought was more than generous. We also split the mac and cheese which was also delicious and split the carrot cake which was so heavenly delightful. However, overall as a server besides offering us the complimentary dessert, we felt as if he didn't really care for us that much and rarely checked up on us. My glass of water was empty multiple times for quite some time and as we looked at the servers to the tables close to ours, we felt somewhat jealous of how their servers were being more attentive to them. Overall though, great quality food and we had a blast, value is definitely worth the cost!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Family Style, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Authentic, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food. It just gets better from appetizer to desert.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Jeff Ruby's is always an exceptional experience. I've had Tony a few times as my server and he's always top notch! It always makes for a good experience when he remembers me after a pretty long period of time. I will always recommend Jeff Ruby's to everyone and I thank Tony for a great experience every time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Nothing better than Ruby's. Still searching for another steakhouse that can compare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 26, 2017

business dinner

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Always fantastic food. Staff was very accommodating that we had show tickets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Everything was great except for the restroom. It was a mess and very dirty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This dinner was so hype. The couple next to us got engaged, and the manager brought free champagne for them. So if you're gonna get engaged, go here. The manager will give you some champ gratis!

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 22, 2017

A beautiful night and place for our anniversary celebration. Our server was wonderful (Nate) and made it a special event. The food came quickly (a little too quick for us) and it was the shortest celebration meal we ever had. The steaks were perfectly cooked but I will admit I have had a better steak elsewhere. After all the hype this restaurant receives I was slightly disappointed and let down. However I would recommend it to any friend for a celebration meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Prepare to splurge on this dining experience! but the food is definitely worth it. The best meal I can remember!! Steaks were fabulous - everything was great!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was our first visit to Jeff Ruby's and we thoroughly enjoyed it. A bit pricey, but well worth it to treat yourself occasionally. The food was excellent. Our server, Travis, was very helpful and attentive to us our entire meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Absolutely amazing place. Our server was amazing as well. Don't remember his name though.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We had a much better visit this time than we did the last, a bit pricey but we expected that. This was a perfect night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great food, loved our server. Wonderful time. Favorite of the Ruby restaurants.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Impeccable service with exquisite cuisine! Love to dine there at least once or twice a year.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Complete perfection. Staff is top notch. Best there is.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 18, 2017

This was our first time to dine at Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse. We were entertaining some business executives, who were thoroughly impressed with the food and overall environment.

We had an opportunity to spend some time with Jeff and Griff, which made the evening a complete success. Thank You Jeff!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Casual, Business Meals, Fun, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food and experience were very good but not worth the cost

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Our table was VERY close to our neighbor's table. My steak was unevenly cooked (medium on one side and medium rare on the other). It's a pretty classic "a la carte" steakhouse that just isn't my vibe. I will say the scallop appetizer was the best thing we ordered. Our salad was overdressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Always great food and service at bar and at table. Thanks Jeff.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Family Style, Happy Hour, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Emily and the bartender group are the most awesome in Cincy ! best food and bar atmosphere...it tastes expensive,,,and is !

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.