Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse

Jeff Ruby's is a 1940's art deco style steakhouse featuring dry aged on premise steaks and Fresh Seafood...not to mention our extensive selection of signature salads, Steakhouse potatoes, vegetables and desserts. Those who prefer an early dinner may make reservations for as early as 5:00pm Monday through Saturday. Jeff Ruby's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati's entertainment district and is within walking distance of downtown hotels and the convention center. When you demand the very best in dining experiences, choose Jeff Ruby's. Discover the distinction for yourself!

700 Walnut Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
7th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 784-1200

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Jeff Ruby's offers Live Entertainment Tuesday - Saturday. Jazz, Rhythm & Blues and contemporary favorites are performed by Cincinnati's finest musicians. Perfect after an evening at the Aronoff Center; let the others fight the traffic rush home! At Jeff Ruby's, there is Never a Cover!

Catering:
Let Jeff Ruby's cater your next event! For more information, contact Sales Manager, Kathy Davis at 513-723-4454 ext. 108 or kathy.davis@jeffruby.com.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available Monday - Friday beginning at 6:00pm and Saturdays at 5:00pm; cost is $9.00 per car.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (119)
Good for a Date (105)
Good for Anniversaries (101)
See All
Romantic (76)
Good for Birthdays (70)
Business Meals (64)
Pre/post Theatre (62)
Notable Wine List (62)
Worth the Drive (46)
Good for Groups (43)
Live Music (35)
Bar Seating (32)
Hot Spot (29)
People Watching (26)
Private Room (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Fun (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Cozy (21)
Historic (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Authentic (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Outstanding Value (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Fireplace (8)
Seasonal (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Family Style (7)
Healthy (7)
Tasting Menu (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Casual (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Live Sports (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Dancing (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2498 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 hours ago

Nice dinner. We had a table near the kitchen and it was a little bothersome with people constantly walking by. John, our waiter, was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

As usual, dining at Jeff Ruby's was a fun experience. The food is always outstanding, but the atmosphere is fun! The bartenders and waiters always provide great service and are fun to interact with! It is simply a great place to spend a Saturday night.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Authentic, Live Sports, Happy Hour, Romantic, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 3 days ago

Great experience. Best steak you can have. Get the crab cake - it's fantastic!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was delicious as always. They tried to put us in that back room and we didn't want to sit there. They did accommodate us and found a spot in main dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Great first steakhouse experience. Bonus Cris Collinsworth sighting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a treat to dine at this restaurant, best steak in town

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Service is great and food is always excellent at Ruby's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Cod had several bones in it.
I also spoke to one of the Managers and pointed out that I sent an email a month ago to Mr. Ruby regarding a meal my daughter and granddaughter had at the restaurant. Unfortunately, I've never received any response at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was our 35th wedding anniversary and it was amazing..as always. . This is our first choice when we celebrate special occasions..thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This place was beyond Amazing! The flavor profiles were spectacular and the staff was superb. My husband and I went for our anniversary and were blown away. We were in Cincinnati from out of town and decided to go to a highly rated steakhouse. It was worth the trip and we will definitely be back again.

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Pedro is the best waiter on the planet. Get the chili rub on the side. Then mix it in with the Mac n cheese. Then die. Go to heaven. Best steaks in the world. No joke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food was so good it was almost worth the price! All jokes aside though, I had a fantastic time here, the food, the ambiance, the waiters, everything is wonderful. If you want to have an amazing dinner, this is the place to go.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Amazing service, amazing food and an overall incredible experience.,

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We came in for our anniversary. Service and food was incredible...absolutely top notch. You definitely pay top dollar for it but it's worth it for these special occasions. We both loved our food which was cooked perfectly and were so thrilled with the service from each employee we encountered. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Honestly, we love going toJeff Ruby's. You know what you're getting- consistently good. But this time, a few things disappointed us: receptionist called to confirm reservation for 4, I told her we were a party of 3 -- table set for 4 (& we were questioned @ the 4th party)... we were seated near kitchen/ got bumped by diners & were in waiters flight pattern. Salad my daughter ordered was wrong - my husband benefitted.. but still.... the potatoes anna was cut away from our table (that's part of the fun). Finally, we had our leftovers packed Togo--however the next day we discovered we got someone else's-- when my husband called to say something we were told "oh we'll, we throw everything away", not the customer service we have gone to expect from Jeff Ruby's {and I took home more fan 1/2 my salmon dinner. }

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Once again we enjoyed an outstanding diner, Ruby's is the best.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Likely the best steakhouse in Cincinnati for several reasons, not the least of which would be the excellent steaks. The service was also too-notch. Super attentive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great date night with my wife! Outstanding meal and great service with Eric. Really nice downtown location. Thanks for a great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 12, 2017

As always Jeff Ruby's is a great dining experience, and Saturday evenings has in my opinion one of the best bands in the city. I truly look forward to every experience here and highly recommend it to any considering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent filets, excellent service!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We visited Ruby's for Dinner before a show at the Aranoff. Initially, we were a little concerned we might be "rushed" as our reservation was at 6 p.m. and the show was at 8 p.m. We were immediately seated and Pedro, our Waiter, asked us if we were going to the show. After our reply of "yes", he calmly advised we had plenty of time and he would make sure we enjoyed our
night out. Pedro exceeded our expectations as he efficiently and professionally serviced our table of 4 without "hurry" and gave us plenty of time to enjoy cocktails and appetizers before needing to place our dinner order. The food quality needs no review as everything at this restaurant is first class and most of all we were extremely pleased with the service from our Waiter which made our Dinner especially enjoyable! Thanks Pedro!!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Awesome! Very nice ambiance. Staff was great, and food was delicious. Great place to dine before the Theatre.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Wonderful time! Excellent service. Went above and beyond to make us enjoy our evening. Food and drinks were great! Expensive but you are paying for the experience and outstanding service as well as the great food. Will be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I had reservations when I showed up they seated my girl friend and I right away. We are not rich people but we dressed nice since its a nice place but after we was seated you could see the 3 waiters argue on who was going to wait on us I guess they was scared about getting a good tip. So they seated 4 tables and got there drinks and appetizers and gave them there menus. That's when I asked if we was going to get awaited on the waiter came over and apologized said he didn't notice us which was a lie. But anyways he ended up being nice and the food was amazing and my girl friend loved it and the waiter gave us some free food plus a cake for my girl friends birthday. I had an $185 bill and left $40 for a tip so the waiter as we was leaving kept thanking me saying I was generous.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The best steaks. Being it is Lent, I tried the sea bass for the first time...I liked it. Prepared well and presented on a bed of fingering potatoes with a crab sauce reduction, it all worked well. My only complaint is I would have preferred a darker and deeper sear on the fish, giving it more flavor pop to an otherwise naturally mild fish.
TONY IS THE BEST SERVER! He is consistent, genuine and a pleasure to have through the meal. The support staff is wonderful as well, making Ruby's known for the ultimate experience. Cheers!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The dinner was great. Everything tasted amazing. Worth it for the price. Best steakhouse around!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Really warm and friendly. All staff treated us exceptional well!

Tags: Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 9, 2017

this is the best restaurant in thentire midwest...Emily and Stephanie are the Queens of bartenders...cowboy ribeye # 1 !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Have attended the Jeff Ruby restaurants scene in Louisville before and thought we would try Cincinnati. As magnificent as could be . Great service, ambiance, food, valet and a complete dining experience. Josh and the staff were spot on.
Will return again and again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 8, 2017

excellent As Always!! jeff Ruby's never disappoints!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Amazing food and service. Never disappoints! We will come here for every special occasion

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Historic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This was our third or fourth visit to Jeff Ruby's. Each time we come back because the food is really good. The service, however, is not. On this occasion, we arrived a bit early for our reservation and we were told to order drinks in the bar. Many parties came in and we're seated immediately. Our reservation time came and went and finally after 15 minutes post time, we approached the hostess who told us that our table wasn't up yet and to continue waiting. We were annoyed that no one ever approached us and that the hostess was rather rude. Finally a manager found us in the bar and did apologize and we were seated some ten minutes later, a total of a half an hour after our reservation time. So all in all, the food very good but expensive ad the service is not great. If this experience was a one time thing we wouldn't complain but it's been similar every time we go. If not the hostess then the wait staff has been pretentious and curt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had a wonderful experience starting with the friendly valet. Our service was wonderful and food was beyond incredible. Nothing I would change about the overall experience. Highly recommend for a special occasion. Entire bill was over $200 with tip and only one cocktail each for the two of us so certainly not for any everyday occasion. Well worth the money though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Never disappointed when we come here. Worth the $, we now compare all other steak restaurants to Jeff Ruby's! We find if we go anywhere else we are just disappointed. Cannot get a better steak or seafood selection anywhere else in Cincinnati. Also, buy a jar of his seasoning on the way out, you won't be disappointed! Great wine selections as well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great meal in a beautiful setting. They are very accommodating to attending the theater across the street keeping your leftovers until after the show. Excellent staff who are attentive. We wil be back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I love Jeff Ruby's restaurants...and most specifically this location. I was visiting my college son at UC, and I wanted to treat his best friend and roommate, plus my sister in law to Cincinnati's greatest restaurant. The food was AMAZING! We had the best time...and I am a caterer!! KUDOS!!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Dancing, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Jeff Ruby's is always delicious, but it is quite expensive. I was also not a fan of the table behind the pole! It was not the last table available. I said something to the hostess seating me and she totally ignored.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Jeff Ruby's is AMAZING! Everything from the service to cuisine is literally perfect. The atmosphere doesn't disappoint with beautiful chandeliers, an elegant bar and a wonderful mural of 30's style men and women with Cincinnati as the backdrop. The staff is prompt, knowledgeable and kind. The food is unbelievably delicious and my appetite has now been ruined for all other restaurants in Cincinnati. Everything on the menu is worth ordering but I would highly recommend the seared scallops for appetizer and Cowboy steak for the main course they are quite possibly the best appetizer and steak I have ever had. I have been thinking of excuses to make another reservations since I left and I would highly recommend it to anyone that asks!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The steaks were beyond description. The service was the best I have ever experienced and our group enjoyed the entire evening.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.