About Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse

700 Walnut Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Jeff Ruby's is a 1940's art deco style steakhouse featuring dry aged on premise steaks and Fresh Seafood...not to mention our extensive selection of signature salads, Steakhouse potatoes, vegetables and desserts. Those who prefer an early dinner may make reservations for as early as 5:00pm Monday through Saturday. Jeff Ruby's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati's entertainment district and is within walking distance of downtown hotels and the convention center. When you demand the very best in dining experiences, choose Jeff Ruby's. Discover the distinction for yourself!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
7th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 784-1200

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Jeff Ruby's offers Live Entertainment Tuesday - Saturday. Jazz, Rhythm & Blues and contemporary favorites are performed by Cincinnati's finest musicians. Perfect after an evening at the Aronoff Center; let the others fight the traffic rush home! At Jeff Ruby's, there is Never a Cover!

Catering:
Let Jeff Ruby's cater your next event! For more information, contact Sales Manager, Kathy Davis at 513-723-4454 ext. 108 or kathy.davis@jeffruby.com.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available Monday - Friday beginning at 6:00pm and Saturdays at 5:00pm; cost is $9.00 per car.

Executive Chef:
Dave Taylor

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Lump Maryland Crab Cake - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Barrel-Cut Filet Mignon - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Gentleman Jack - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
  Crème Brûlée - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Bread - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Butter - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Freddie Salad - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Lyonnaise Potatoes - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Huge Tiger Shrimp Cocktail  - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Ricotta Donuts - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Mac and Cheese - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Crab Cake Sandwich - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Jeff Ruby's Baked Macaroni & Cheese - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Macadamia Nut Ice Cream Pie - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Wedge Salad - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Filet Oscar - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Potatoes Anna - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Filet Mignon - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Chop Salad - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Three Layer Carrot Cake - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Dry Aged Bone In Filet Mignon - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Macaroni and Cheese - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
24oz Bone-in Ribeye - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Bacon - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Creme Brulee - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Chilean Sea Bass - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Iceberg & Bleu Salad - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Green beans - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Shrimp and Grits - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Cowboy Steak - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Asparagus - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Molten Chocolate Cake - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Creamed Corn - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Gumbo - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Cheesecake - Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Service
Cincinnati / Dayton
Steak
Cincinnati / Dayton
6 More
Most Booked
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Overall
Cincinnati
Best Service
Cincinnati
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati
Steak
Cincinnati
Most Booked
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

Special Occasion (115)
Good for a Date (80)
Good for Anniversaries (80)
See All
Romantic (74)
Notable Wine List (60)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Business Meals (45)
Pre/post Theatre (44)
Worth the Drive (39)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Hot Spot (33)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good for Groups (25)
Live Music (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Cozy (22)
Bar Seating (20)
People Watching (19)
Private Room (18)
Fun (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Authentic (13)
Historic (12)
Casual (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Seasonal (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Scenic View (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (3)
Fireplace (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
2179 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding...as usual...bravo again!! A ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding...as usual...bravo again!! Always anxious to make the trek.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meals were delicious. Our waiter wa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Our meals were delicious. Our waiter was perfect. He was attentive and pleasant without being pretentious or overbearing. Loved all the food from the bread and butter to the steaks to the dessert. My son says he does not like cheesecake but ate the cheesecake with gusto. Wine was wonderful too. We were there for a special occasion, and Jeff Ruby's made it very special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I am not much of a steak eater and enjoy ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

I am not much of a steak eater and enjoyed the fillet immensely...can't wait to go back and enjoy it again

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and exceptional service!

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food and exceptional service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an amazing dinner to celebrate my ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

We had an amazing dinner to celebrate my husband's birthday. The food was fantastic and the service was outstanding. John was incredibly attentive and knowledgeable. It was a refreshing change of place from the chain steakhouse and occasion venues.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun, Historic, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arrived late after concert. Had advised ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined 5 days ago

Arrived late after concert. Had advised this might be the case. The hostess and wait staff were flexible and service was wonderful. The food,crab cakes and filets were awesome. A great place to celebrate special occasions and enjoy a unique Cincinnati experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This is the best restaurant in CinCy ! E ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

This is the best restaurant in CinCy ! Emily is the best bartender in the WORLD !

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, we could not have had better ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Once again, we could not have had better service or meal. Thanks for making it a great start to the night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great as always!

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

Great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was over the top and service was gr ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was over the top and service was great. Always ask for Tony as our server. Met the new assistant manager and he is an added bonus.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food! Great service!! We celebrate ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food! Great service!! We celebrated our first anniversary,

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as usual! The entire Ruby exp ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent as usual! The entire Ruby experience is always first rate. Could not be more pleased with the service or food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great meal there. I had the bo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a great meal there. I had the bone-in filet with steakhouse hash browns, which I believe are the best side item I've ever had. My wife had a petite filet with a baked potato. Kevin, our server was great. He didn't hover over us all the time like other fine dining restaurants (looking at your Mortons!!!!!!) and he checked in at us at the right time every time. Very enjoyable meal, and it's nice to splurge once in a while when you know you're going to get a memorable experience. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Fantastic experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, JR does not fail to shine. A ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 24, 2016

As always, JR does not fail to shine. Attentive service and scrumptious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've been here several times while visi ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We've been here several times while visiting Cincinnati - it's one of our favorites. Excellent food, decor and ambiance! The staff is extremely friendly and top-notch. LOVE IT!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Perfect night. Our reservation was chang ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Perfect night. Our reservation was changed with no problem. John our server was engaging and on point. Jordan the manager stopped by multiple times to check on us. Service was top notch.

Our food was exactly the quality you expect when you think of Jeff Ruby's. Crab cake, Cowboy and a NY Strip with some mac and cheese as well as some cauliflower and Brussel sprouts, all cooked perfectly.

Thanks to Open Table they knew we were celebrating my wife's birthday and they delivered. Always a great experience. We don't get to go out like this often, but when we do, Jeff Ruby's is the top of our list in Cincinnati.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Truly a superb restaurant. Best steaks ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Truly a superb restaurant. Best steaks around with a great New York steakhouse atmosphere. Exceptional service as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super restaurant!!!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Super restaurant!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our very favorites places to dine ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 18, 2016

One of our very favorites places to dine, always great food and great service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for Groups, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great overall experience. Have visited ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great overall experience. Have visited other Jeff Ruby restaurants, this experience was even more exceptional. Our waiter, Tony was very friendly, very in formable, and always very attentive. We had tickets to the Aronoff for a show, everyone was wonderful with making sure we had a great experience but also able to make the show on time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved our waiter!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Loved our waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Daughter bday, Great place, great food, ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Daughter bday, Great place, great food, very pricey!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything from valet parking to desert ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Everything from valet parking to desert was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always a true pleasure to dine at. Th ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 15, 2016

As always a true pleasure to dine at. The best steak in the city by far and one of the best (top ten) in the country. The service is one constant attention.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service! Steaks were tasty. Sea Ba ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great service! Steaks were tasty. Sea Bass very good. Great menu! Management came by to check on us and talked for a while. Quite busy for a Monday night. I recommend reservations. Worth going again for other menu items.

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very good and steak was cooked ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was very good and steak was cooked to perfection. Wish we could afford to come back more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent service. Food cooked to perfec ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent service. Food cooked to perfection. Encouraged by waiter to share side dishes. While pricey very much worth paying for service, good entertainment and quality food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant just keeps getti ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our favorite restaurant just keeps getting better. We had king crab, oysters, steak, potatoes. The cocktails were outstanding, as was the service.

Neal, as always, is an extremely good host. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You simply cannot go wrong with any of J ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2016

You simply cannot go wrong with any of Jeff Ruby's restaurants and that is particularly true for his signature Steakhouse. The food is world class and you will be hard-pressed to find a better steak anywhere in the country. The service is what you would expect from a very high-end restaurant, but the staff go out of their way to make you feel like you are their only priority. Very comfortable. Unbelievably delicious. Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse. You won't regret it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, a tremendous meal at the orig ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

As always, a tremendous meal at the original location. Super service and best steaks on earth.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our first visit was this past Friday nig ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our first visit was this past Friday night. We had OUTSTANDING service, the BEST steaks we have ever had and a WONDERFUL time over dinner and listening to the Kelsey Mira Band. BEST DATE EVER! Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filet was delicious!! Service was very ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Filet was delicious!! Service was very superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and atmosphere were excellent! ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Service and atmosphere were excellent!

The appetizers were great; shrimp cocktail and Ahi tuna

I ordered the cowboy steak; good flavor, but a bit too fatty even for a ribeye. Overall a good steak though. My wife ordered the bone-in fillet. Was not impressed, a lot of gristle throughout the cut. The side dishes ordered were all very good; potatoes anna, asparagus, baked potato, and carrots.

This was my first time at Jeff Ruby's, I was hoping the steaks would have been better. I will definitely give them another try and see if our steaks were just a one off from what they can be.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was exceptional. Th ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The food and service was exceptional. The live music was a nice touch. Overall, it was a perfect evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jeff Ruby's was an equal experience to t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Jeff Ruby's was an equal experience to the Precinct in Cincinnati. Great food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent from the moment ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Everything was excellent from the moment we walked in through the entire experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were very impressed with the service ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We were very impressed with the service at the bar and once we were seated at our table were impressed with our waiter. Food was excellent also.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having dined at Jeff Ruby's Precinct sev ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Having dined at Jeff Ruby's Precinct several times we decided to try the location in downtown Cincinnati. Maitre-d, bartender Becky, and the servers were all superb. The Freddie salad is a particularly delicious offering. The New York was cooked to perfection but did have a few rather tenacious connectors, which has not been the case with the Precinct or Ruby's in Louisville. Ruby's is an excellent restaurant, suitable for business or fine dining. Highly recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful time, fantastic food and great ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Wonderful time, fantastic food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.