Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse

Jeff Ruby's is a 1940's art deco style steakhouse featuring dry aged on premise steaks and Fresh Seafood...not to mention our extensive selection of signature salads, Steakhouse potatoes, vegetables and desserts. Those who prefer an early dinner may make reservations for as early as 5:00pm Monday through Saturday. Jeff Ruby's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati's entertainment district and is within walking distance of downtown hotels and the convention center. When you demand the very best in dining experiences, choose Jeff Ruby's. Discover the distinction for yourself!

700 Walnut Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
7th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 784-1200

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Jeff Ruby's offers Live Entertainment Tuesday - Saturday. Jazz, Rhythm & Blues and contemporary favorites are performed by Cincinnati's finest musicians. Perfect after an evening at the Aronoff Center; let the others fight the traffic rush home! At Jeff Ruby's, there is Never a Cover!

Catering:
Let Jeff Ruby's cater your next event! For more information, contact Sales Manager, Kathy Davis at 513-723-4454 ext. 108 or kathy.davis@jeffruby.com.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available Monday - Friday beginning at 6:00pm and Saturdays at 5:00pm; cost is $9.00 per car.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (105)
Good for Anniversaries (82)
Romantic (78)
See All
Good for a Date (77)
Good for Birthdays (60)
Notable Wine List (57)
Pre/post Theatre (51)
Business Meals (50)
Worth the Drive (45)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Hot Spot (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Good for Groups (30)
People Watching (30)
Fun (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Live Music (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Authentic (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Cozy (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Casual (10)
Comfort Food (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2730 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

As usual, we were not disappointed. Great food and even better service. Love the new sushi options.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was incredible. Was lucky enough to be with a larger party and experience multiple selections of apps, salads, entrees, and desserts. Oh wow, everything was so good. Service is impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I realize your trying to maximize your profits by cramming as many tables in as possible. However, you’ve gone too far. The tables for two were so close together when the waiter was serving the couple next to us his rear end was hanging over our table. With drinks and tip I spent $300. For that kind of money I expect a beautiful romantic dinner with my girlfriend. Not a night listening to other couples fight and having my waiters derrière in my face.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

went with friends and had a wonderful experience. Food and wait staff (Tony and Patrick) were amazing! Tony and Patrick were very personable and made our experience one to remember. We will definatley go back!! Thank you Tony and Patrick!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Overall wonderful experience. Our server couldn't have been better and everyone seemed to embrace the "customer experience" attitude (even the valet guys were awesome). The only negative from my perspective is the price. While I enjoyed everything about the experience, i still feel $300 for two people is a bit pricey. I would like to be able to enjoy the "experience" more often, however, due to the price, it makes it a bit hard for us to make the wonderful restaurants Ruby's has abnormal destination. I would 100% recommend Ruby's for special ocassions!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome atmosphere, service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Cannot ever go wrong at Ruby's. Great food, great service, great atmosphere. When you go to Ruby's on any occasion they make sure it becomes a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Thoroughly enjoyed a wonderful meal. The service was great with such friendly, helpful staff. The steak absolutely melted in my mouth. Great Mac n cheese. They were even gracious enough to store our leftovers until after the show we were seeing at the Aronoff was over. Not a place I can afford to go to weekly but what an awesome treat!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

We all had NY Strips

EVeryones steak was unbelievable. Mine was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Second time here for dinner. Same great taste. Petite filet done to perfection. Enjoyed the creamed spinach and the marinated mushrooms. The truffle butter was also amazing. Our waiter Tony was a nice addition to our service and our dining experience. We will ask for him when we next dine here.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Service was excellent. Very friendly and helpful staff. Our waiter was amazing and we loved his recommendations. The steak was by far the best I've had and the lobster and crab legs were the same.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere and Nate was outstanding as our server. Cakebread cabernet was superb and each steak cooked to perfection. Great experience. We always make time for Jeff Ruby's when in Cincinnati

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Great food n service the bar was really different - just installed few weeks ago - antique n lots of mirrors n intricate carvings Over all experience was really good

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 13, 2017

"What? Can you speak up? I can't hear you!" That sums up our dinner conversation at Jeff Ruby's. The restaurant was so noisy, I couldn't even hear my family on the other end of the 5 seater booth. Then to make it worse, a live band started blasting music midway through dinner. The restaurant's ambience certainly didn't match up with the high prices.

The food itself was okay - but it was hard to enjoy with the noise. The salads were very sweet. And the steaks were over seasoned and a bit tough. I did really enjoy the molten lava cake our waiter special ordered for us. I'm willing to give Ruby's another try - but will probably stick to the Precinct. Or maybe I'll head next door to Morton's where the food and service are always impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Equisite. They make us feel like family. Eric is wonderful. Everybody so attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We were celebrating with our son and his girlfriend. We had a blast. The food was excellent. It's pricey but definitely worth it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Love Ruby's. Always great raw bar, freddie salad, drinks, after dinner piano at the bar/lounge with awesome Bailey's & Coffee. Service is as great as the food. Can't get this enough!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Decent. The Server and Servers Assistant were just OK. Not fine dining quality but that was just a few and I've had way better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 6, 2017

This was for our son's wedding anniversary and they absolutely love being there! They were treated so wonderful and the manager checked on them twice. This might not seem like a big deal but when you are in customer service like I am, it is!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Amazing meal, well taken care of and free cheese cake for our anniversary!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Went for dinner the night we got engaged -- as always the food was delicious and service was outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 2, 2017

As always, PHENOMENAL! Only thing missing was my old Waterfront GM buddy Charlie Bledsoe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Enjoyed a great nught out with my husband.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

This was our 2nd time to Jeff Ruby's and it was awesome as ever. Fantastic waiter (Andrew) who catered to us like we were the only 2 there. Fantastic steak and romantic atmosphere for our 39 year anniversary!

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Jeff Ruby's is one of the best steak house restaurants anywhere! The food is absolutely delicious, service is excellent, and the atmosphere is gorgeous and exciting. When you don't mind spending some money to have a great meal in a beautiful setting, this is the place to go. They have also added a sushi menu which I want to try next time.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 27, 2017

My friend and I celebrated our 50th birthday at Jeff Ruby's. I have eaten there several times in the past and have been very pleased. Our meals this visit were good, but definitely not what I've experienced in the past. The filets were a little tough and over cooked and baked potato was cold. Our waiter was great, he check on us and was very prompt. We did tell him that everything was fine, because neither of us are the type to complain. Also the meal was good-just not what I am used to at Ruby's.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups, People Watching, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

The meal was great, I got a very nice quiet spot in the restaurant so I could talk with my date. Ambiance was classy and the ahi tuna was amazing! I know it's a steak house but don't rule out the sea food!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 26, 2017

As usual, a fantastic experience. Highly recommend their USDA Prime Porterhouse and raw bar!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Went to dinner for my husbands birthday. I ordered a martini, when it arrived I took a drink and felt a sharp sting-my glass was broken and it made a small cut on my lip. the waiter fixed it immediately. Ordered Shrimp Cocktail and it was great. My husband ordered a $70.00 steak and it was tough and not flavorful (it was sad because he thought they were known for their steaks).
All in all it was an ok meal.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great food, great experience, everything we expected.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Excellent service from the second we got out of our car to the second we left. The staff were friendly and attentive. The food was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Amazing from start to finish. The host was both gracious and informative. Recognized our taste in wines and suggested a wine from their private stock. Our waiter "Emmet" was fantastic, took great care of us.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Awesome place. Ask for Tony as waiter. Quiet for that many people. Excellent selections on menu

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

This was one of the best birthday dinners I've ever had. The food was great, the service was amazing, and this dinner was the perfect way to start off a night on the town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We had an excellent time and meal.
Thank you,
Beth

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The food was delicious and the service excellent, 5 star rating for both. My only complaint applies to all Ruby restaurants, the tables are too close together so you should expect a noisy environment with no privacy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Just a small town boy enjoying big city benefits. Ive hit a nice combo of 21-C Hotel and dinner at Jeff Ruby’s numerous times.

My favorite part is having privacy without running into numerous friends. The phone gets turned off and i can focus on enjoying the companionship of my dining partner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Any Ruby's steakhouse is going to be amazing. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars all the way around is because our server was hitting on the host half the night and was very generic when speaking with us. Normally the service is the best you'll ever find. Which it should be since I'm spending the amount of money I am.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 18, 2017

If you like steak this is a great option. If you prefer fish, halibut was a little dry. There is a lot of wait staff & a lot of bustling around.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.