About Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse

700 Walnut Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Jeff Ruby's is a 1940's art deco style steakhouse featuring dry aged on premise steaks and Fresh Seafood...not to mention our extensive selection of signature salads, Steakhouse potatoes, vegetables and desserts. Those who prefer an early dinner may make reservations for as early as 5:00pm Monday through Saturday. Jeff Ruby's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati's entertainment district and is within walking distance of downtown hotels and the convention center. When you demand the very best in dining experiences, choose Jeff Ruby's. Discover the distinction for yourself!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
7th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 784-1200

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Jeff Ruby's offers Live Entertainment Tuesday - Saturday. Jazz, Rhythm & Blues and contemporary favorites are performed by Cincinnati's finest musicians. Perfect after an evening at the Aronoff Center; let the others fight the traffic rush home! At Jeff Ruby's, there is Never a Cover!

Catering:
Let Jeff Ruby's cater your next event! For more information, contact Sales Manager, Kathy Davis at 513-723-4454 ext. 108 or kathy.davis@jeffruby.com.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available Monday - Friday beginning at 6:00pm and Saturdays at 5:00pm; cost is $9.00 per car.

Executive Chef:
Dave Taylor

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Lump Maryland Crab Cake
Barrel-Cut Filet Mignon
Gentleman Jack
  Crème Brûlée
Freddie Salad
Butter
Bread
Lyonnaise Potatoes
Huge Tiger Shrimp Cocktail
Ricotta Donuts
Mac and Cheese
Crab Cake Sandwich
Macadamia Nut Ice Cream Pie
Jeff Ruby's Baked Macaroni & Cheese
Wedge Salad
Potatoes Anna
Filet Oscar
Chop Salad
Filet Mignon
Three Layer Carrot Cake
Dry Aged Bone In Filet Mignon
Chilean Sea Bass
Creamed Corn
Cowboy Steak
Green beans
24oz Bone-in Ribeye
Iceberg & Bleu Salad
Macaroni and Cheese
Gumbo
Molten Chocolate Cake
Creme Brulee
Asparagus
Bacon
Shrimp and Grits
Cheesecake

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Food
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Service
Cincinnati / Dayton
7 More
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati / Dayton
Steak
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Overall
Cincinnati
Best Food
Cincinnati
Best Service
Cincinnati
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati
Steak
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

special occasion (179)
romantic (119)
notable wine list (86)
See All
fit for foodies (73)
hot spot (58)
good for groups (54)
vibrant bar scene (54)
neighborhood gem (38)
late-night find (17)
great for lunch (5)
scenic view (4)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2016 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent entertainment with Kelsey Mira ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent entertainment with Kelsey Mira Band. Great experience, good food and service, but you never expect value at Jeff Ruby restaurants. Equally great steak and overall experience at half the price at other places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The service was very rushed! We arrived ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service was very rushed! We arrived a few minutes early and planned to have a drink at the bar. The table was ready and they insisted we go ahead t the table. Our entree arrived before we finished the salad. Needless to say we went somewhere else for a nightcap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Great service. Very nice evening. The f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great service. Very nice evening. The food was exceptional. What we expected from a Jeff Ruby restaurant.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. Great servers. Highly reco ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food. Great servers. Highly recommend. I recommend the New ayork Strip and the Cowboy Steaks which were cooked to perfection and their Mac & cheese and carrot Servers were very attentive to our every need. If you are going the you beat this for dinner before and valet parking.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jeff Ruby's serves the best food I have ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Jeff Ruby's serves the best food I have ever eaten in my life.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our steaks were not cooked well, we orde ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Our steaks were not cooked well, we ordered them medium, but the 1st batch came out well done, then the 2nd batch came out medium rare. By this time, I just wanted to eat but that was a mistake I should have returned them again to ensure they got our steaks correct especially since were paying a large price.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was perfectly prepared and pres ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The food was perfectly prepared and presented and service was excellent, as expected. Be prepared for the cost. It seems a bit more expensive than the other Ruby restaurants.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding as always. You always know w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Outstanding as always. You always know what you're getting here. The best steak in town with the best service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The bartender was excellent

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The bartender was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was incredible...as usual. Our serv ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was incredible...as usual. Our service was weak this time around though! I have never had bad service here so I'm sure it's a fluke but disappointing nonetheless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

It was a great dinning experience. The s ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was a great dinning experience. The server was wonderful. Went out of his way to have a desert done for us. It was freat

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner. Waiter was very good ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent dinner. Waiter was very good and made it an enjoyable night.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I don't have words to say how awesome ou ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I don't have words to say how awesome our experience our was! Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server was Nate . He was by far the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our server was Nate . He was by far the best waiter we've had in years. I assume you call him Nate the Great?

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding. Our waiter was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Service was outstanding. Our waiter was attentive without hovering. Steaks cooked exactly to order. An excellent dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spent a weeknight out with my husband fo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Spent a weeknight out with my husband for his birthday. We have 3 children and he works 2nd shift, so it was a VERY rare evening out for the both of us! The restaurant was the perfect choice because there were no children around us and we were able to talk about all kinds of things without being distracted! The waiter came to the table mid conversation and apologized for interrupting - it was absolutely no bother to us - we were lost in our own little world for a short period of time and that's all we needed! Thank you Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse! Wonderful evening!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Experienced Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse for t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Experienced Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse for the first time to celebrate our wedding anniversary. As we arrived we were greeted warmly and escorted to our table immediately even though we arrived 10 minutes early. Our server approached in a perfectly acceptable amount of time, was helpful in explaining the menu and offering suggestions regarding certain cuts of meat and even brought us ice cream at the end of the meal with a candle in it and said "happy anniversary." He also recommended a Rhinegeist brew that was perfect. My only disappointment of the entire evening was that when our "carryout" was prepared the onions and mushrooms I had ordered were not included...but the steak still tasted great the second day. A perfect dinner for a very special occasion....

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our appitizer was brought out after our ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our appitizer was brought out after our entree. I ordered the petite filet with Bernaise and the petite lobster tail. I received no Bernaise. Disappointed.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Jon was our waiter and he was excellent, ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Jon was our waiter and he was excellent, along with the food recommendation. Our steaks melt in your mouth, really didn't need a steak knife to cut them. Like everyone else you should try the carrot cake, we took a slice with us and enjoyed an Irish coffee at the restaurant. If you don' t have room for the carrot cake at least try an Irish coffee before you leave. This was not our first visit to this Ruby location and we've been to all of them in the Cincinnati area. Jeff Ruby's restaurant's are always our first choice when looking for a great restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

You can never go wrong with Jeff Ruby's ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

You can never go wrong with Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse. The service was exceptional and the food is consistently perfect. The atmosphere around the bar after dinner is great with life music. While the band started strong I was not the biggest fan of the final performance after the break as the song selection was't the best. F

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse. It has ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We love Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse. It has the best steak in town. The only thing that I have to say that is negative is the fact that I think the prices are too high. If a salad or side would be included in the entree that would make a big difference and more people would be able to afford dining there.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was my first visit to the restauran ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This was my first visit to the restaurant. As the evening got later (we had reservations at 8 on a weeknight and were home by 10) the music from the bar got louder. My husband and I found it hard to have a conversation as we progressed through our meal. Our server was great but it seemed he had too many tables and we were left unattended for the first part of our visit. My husband and I both ordered filets and neither were cooked medium as ordered. He and I both had overcooked steaks. I was so hungry that I ate mine anyway but he did send his back. The next steak was cooked perfectly. We ordered dessert and weren't disappointed. The carrot cake was out of this world! The staff did want my husband to be happy with his steak and checked on him several times. They even comped the dessert as an apology for the steak. Overall it was just an ok experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Superb food, service and wine. Unbelieva ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Superb food, service and wine. Unbelievable steaks.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiters were exceptional and the amb ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The waiters were exceptional and the ambiance was very nice as well. The only disappointment was the meal. There was absolutely no flavor to the Porterhouse steak or Filet Mignon that we ordered.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

We love to visit this restaurant wheneve ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We love to visit this restaurant whenever we are in Cincinnati. Service and food are both wonderful. Two members of our party split a King Strip steak and ate every bite! One lady commented that it was the best steak she had ever eaten. I decided to go vegetarian and selected soup and salad for my entree but was also able to partake in the selected sides. The mac and cheese dish is wonderful!! We finished with carrot cake. I love the little fabric totes they provide for take home of extras. A great place to treat oneself!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was superb. Definitely a return visist.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a gift to us from my father-in- ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This was a gift to us from my father-in-law, we enjoyed everything.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

John provided outstanding service an ad ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

John provided outstanding service an ad always the steak was 10+.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lots of excellent food served with class ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Lots of excellent food served with class. A little pricey, but perfect for that special occasion. I recommend getting there early.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hostest reseated us after offering a tab ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Hostest reseated us after offering a table that was literally adjoined to another patron. Was no issue but somewhat surprised that they would seat strangers so close together. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant. Absolute best steak i ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great restaurant. Absolute best steak in town. Also, got the lobster tail. This was good but not great. My wife got the Chilean Sea Bass and this was excellent too. Raw bar was fantastic. Great wines. Overall great meal and experience.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The Filet Mignon that I ordered was abso ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The Filet Mignon that I ordered was absolutely amazing. I've had their filet before, but this was by far the best. Medium Rare and cooked to a T, tasted great and was so much that i couldn't finish. Loved the recommended Appetizer (Oyster Rockefeller) and the Wife thoroughly enjoyed the waiter's recommendation for a Sorbet that wasn't listed on the dessert menu. Wasn't a steal as far as price... but that's to be expected when dining there... loved the overall customer experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Very disappointed with our Jeff Ruby exp ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very disappointed with our Jeff Ruby experience. We were seated basically right between two parties which made it very uncomfortable. The staff never asked if we were celebrating an occasion, and felt awkward coming forward with that info on our own. The food was nothing spectacular, and extremely over priced. I guess the name alone is what carries this place. Definitely won't step foot in another Ruby property.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

My second time at a Jeff Ruby restaurant ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My second time at a Jeff Ruby restaurant. Everything was Top Notch. I will go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was wonderful, food was good. O ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service was wonderful, food was good. Only downfall was, I was there for my 1 year anniversary with my wife and conversation was limited and not very private. Seating was really close to the other table and felt more like I was at dinner with the couple next to me and not my wife.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I'll start by saying we have dined at th ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I'll start by saying we have dined at this Ruby's and their other locations many times. For this visit we saw a last minute 7:30pm Friday night reservation and decided to grab it. Upon arrival we were led to the very back room which I didn't even know existed. The main dining room was only maybe 70% full so not sure why they were even seating back there. The back room was not as intimate as the main room, overall the ambiance was just lacking. Our server greeted us promptly, offered the specials and returned in a timely manner to take our order but we hardly saw him again. Once the food arrived, we were never approached to ensure everything was to our satisfaction, we ended up having to refill our own wine glasses, and were not offered desert. The food was great as always, but for the price tag I expect the full Ruby's experience which just didn't happen on this visit. I'll think twice before choosing their restaurants again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

As always, great food, great atmosphere ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

As always, great food, great atmosphere and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding restutant experience great f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Outstanding restutant experience great food tremendous service may be the best food and service I have ever had.wouldnot visit cincy Ohio without stopping for a meal. Have told all may reds and Bengal friends how really good the experience was.have been to many places but none compare with Jeff rubys

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my husband there to celebrate our ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I took my husband there to celebrate our 50th anniversary and his 85th Birthday. We had never been to Jeff Ruby's and this was quite a celebration. It was the best meal we have ever eaten. The waiter was outstanding and the food was awesome. We were not rushed and enjoyed a two hour date.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.