Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse

Jeff Ruby's is a 1940's art deco style steakhouse featuring dry aged on premise steaks and Fresh Seafood...not to mention our extensive selection of signature salads, Steakhouse potatoes, vegetables and desserts. Those who prefer an early dinner may make reservations for as early as 5:00pm Monday through Saturday. Jeff Ruby's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati's entertainment district and is within walking distance of downtown hotels and the convention center. When you demand the very best in dining experiences, choose Jeff Ruby's. Discover the distinction for yourself!

700 Walnut Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
7th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 784-1200

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Jeff Ruby's offers Live Entertainment Tuesday - Saturday. Jazz, Rhythm & Blues and contemporary favorites are performed by Cincinnati's finest musicians. Perfect after an evening at the Aronoff Center; let the others fight the traffic rush home! At Jeff Ruby's, there is Never a Cover!

Catering:
Let Jeff Ruby's cater your next event! For more information, contact Sales Manager, Kathy Davis at 513-723-4454 ext. 108 or kathy.davis@jeffruby.com.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available Monday - Friday beginning at 6:00pm and Saturdays at 5:00pm; cost is $9.00 per car.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (134)
Good for Anniversaries (103)
Good for a Date (99)
See All
Romantic (81)
Notable Wine List (72)
Business Meals (67)
Good for Birthdays (63)
Worth the Drive (57)
Pre/post Theatre (53)
Hot Spot (38)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Vibrant Bar Scene (33)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Live Music (30)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Fun (29)
Authentic (27)
People Watching (27)
Good for Groups (25)
Bar Seating (23)
Cozy (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Happy Hour (15)
Private Room (11)
Historic (11)
Comfort Food (8)
Casual (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Great Beer (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Local Ingredients (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Dancing (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
2654 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

For years has been my favorite but recently I found a change...I am a meat lover but now you cannot taste anymore the meat, too much spicy for my taste.
I hope something will change
A part from this great location and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Perfect for my boyfriends birthday! Michael was our waiter and he was AMAZING. Loved how the waiters escort you to the restroom

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Was a great place although when we walked in they had given our reservation away , but quickly accommodated us. I had to send my steak back for being over done and then it came out under done. They did give me new sides to make up for it. The staff was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Impeccable service and amazing steaks! It was our son's 18th birthday and our waiter, Travis, made it a night to remember for him.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome! Incredible service and great food from apps, salads, entrees, sides, and desserts

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

The waiter and the bussed were awesome. And of course Emily behind the bar was amazing as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Outstanding as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My wife and I have eat at the best steak houses in the country and Jeff Ruby's is in our top 2!! Fantastic is every way!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 15, 2017

First time there, loved it! Food was awesome! Waiter Jason was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Everything about this restaurant is exceptional, the food, the service, the atmosphere. Fine dining at its best!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 14, 2017

It was fanfuckingtastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Jeff Ruby's has become another tradition in our annual Cincinnati trip to watch the Reds play. The food and service are always amazing. It's definitely a luxury meal for us but worth every penny in our minds. Our waiter, Tony, was especially good to us this trip. He even gave us a piece of their 4 layer chocolate on the house to help us celebrate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Service was excellent. Food OK but not worth the price. Vegetables (Sprouts and Cauliflower) were over seasoned, way to much salt. People on stools having drinks behind us on a shelf.
Not elegant dining which I expect for the price. Men in T Shirts and shorts, not when I am spending $200.00 for a meal for 2. Filet was very good, bernaise mayo with a little seasoning.
I had the strip, good flavor, tender, but grainy, maybe I don't like dry aged steaks (my problem). For our first time I expected more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Make you feel important. Exceptional service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I was honestly disappointed with the service, very mundane server, did what he needed to do but did nit make the experience enjoyable.
My husband and our friends wanted to smoke a cigar and enjoy music..there was none. Renovations going on. They should have notified us when we booked or reservation. We came in town from P A and chose Rubys to wait with our friends. Very disappointing. The food was ok but honestly tasted salty. We spent over $500 between us and was NOT worth it ☹️☹️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Impecable service, outstanding food and beautiful atmosphere. Friendly, knowable wait staff. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Dinner was excellent. My boyfriend had never been before and it was a very good dinner experience, he really enjoyed it. However, when I was walking out I fell and broke my toe down the single step that you go down through the cigar lounge, and was not checked on by any employees. Luckily it is now being taken care of by doctors, I was just not impressed with the service after we paid unfortunately

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Excellent food and service once again, our 3rd visit to your Cincinnati location. We will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We were celebrating the birthday of our autistic nephew and therefore booked for an early (5:15) dinner. The staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating. Our food was outstanding. There is a reason it is the best steak house in Cincinnati.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Very attentive service at this lovely Cincinnati restaurant. Food is phenomenal. Husband and son said their steaks were the best they've ever had (and we've had the pleasure of dining at several top rated steakhouses). I'm not a red meat eater, but they have several options for me also. I had the halibut this visit and it was perfection. If you haven't been book you're reservation soon!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Loved it staff was great happy we picked jeff Ruby's

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We have been to all the Ruby locations and they are always incredible. However, this trip beat all the others! Steak was perfect, service great etc. Surprised that they were able to beat my already high expectations. Congrats to Jeff and his team for maintaining such high standards.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Never before have I had such a steak. About 4" thick filet cooked perfect between med rare and med. So juicy and tender. I didnt't know a steak like this existed. Nate was the best server I can remember ever at a restaurant. the sides of hash browns and cream cone were the best. No doubt the best restaurant meal I can remember. But, it should be considering the price.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Nate and Cole both took extremely good care of us. The service was impeccable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I was in Cincy in early July with a friend for the Cubs vs. Reds series. We had dinner one night at Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, because I had visited their Nashville location and wanted to check out the original. The service here is just outstanding...they're very attentive and make sure customers are satisfied. I started with the Wedge Salad which was amazing and honestly I think I could have just eaten the salad and would have been plenty full. My entree was the Ahi Tuna which was so good, but I was only able to eat about half of it because of the huge wedge salad. The portions here are big for everything. You see most people leaving with leftovers.

If you are in Cincy and want a steakhouse then this is the place for you! You could tell this is definitely a place where local people go to celebrate special occasions with their friends/families!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great dining experience! Wonderful service and top notch food

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great restaurant, outstanding food and we will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 29, 2017

My wife and I had a delicious dinner and night. The environment was great and the service was top notch. We had an issue with a couple of drunk gentlemen, who arrived drunk, and acted and made inappropriate comments at various points of our dining experience. The manager was very professional and helpful checking on us and the couple next to us throughout the night. He also handled the situation and the gentlemen quickly and quietly. With it being our first experience at Jeff Ruby's, our server Jordan, was very helpful, attentive and polite. We would highly recommend Jeff Ruby's steakhouse for any special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great steaks and seafood :):):):):):):):).............,,

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Dinner was delicious and Pedro was amazing!!! Definitively will come back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Prices were high for main dishes, sides and deserts were fairly priced for two to share.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 27, 2017

A great place to celebrate a special occasion. Outstanding food and service - be prepared for it to cost a little more.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Umint, our waiter was delightfull! He was helpful with our choices...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Out waiter was very attentive, made great suggestions and was very friendly. He was AWESOME.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

As always, Ruby's was great. The food was amazing, the service was outstanding, and the atmosphere is comfortable. We love Jeff Ruby's for is consistency and attention to detail. Highly recommend that you try it if you have never been.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Our server Miles was FANTASTIC. I never expected a $72 steak in Cincinnati, but my bone in filet truly rivaled Striphouse's in NYC. And my wife's well done petite filet (she is pregnant, so she had to order it as such), was the best she's ever had. Next time we are in town, we are certainly going to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We were celebrating my husband's birthday as a family and thanks to the great food and delightful service from Michael, we had a great time! The Bone In Ribeye was incredible, the Mac n Cheese was gluttonous and we managed to squeeze in the luxurious New York Cheesecake to cap it off!

Tags: Spicy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2017

I had the Japanese A5 Wagyu. It was the best steak I've ever had. Expensive, but worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We were here on the 23rd for a meal prior to attending the opera . This was by far the most exceptional service my husband and I have experienced in a long while ( and we dine out frequently ) . Our server was so pleasant and helpful . Our water and wine glasses were refilled always. One of the managers came over to ask how our night was going and was able to find an umbrella for to borrow to walk to the venue ( next door ) to cope with a sudden downpour !
Another manager lent me his arm when I got up to use the ladies room ( I was wearing a long dress )
Everyone was so friendly and kind
. It made our night .
My husband said it was the best steak he has had in quite a while . I am a vegetarian so just enjoyed the delicious beet salad and my husband and I shared side dishes of au gratin style potatoes and also the green beans . I was surprised with a piece of cheesecake for desert ( the opera was my birthday present from my husband ) .We will most certainly be back and will suggest this to others .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 20, 2017

First time we have gone and it was delicious. We will definitely be going again.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.