Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse

Jeff Ruby's is a 1940's art deco style steakhouse featuring dry aged on premise steaks and Fresh Seafood...not to mention our extensive selection of signature salads, Steakhouse potatoes, vegetables and desserts. Those who prefer an early dinner may make reservations for as early as 5:00pm Monday through Saturday. Jeff Ruby's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati's entertainment district and is within walking distance of downtown hotels and the convention center. When you demand the very best in dining experiences, choose Jeff Ruby's. Discover the distinction for yourself!

700 Walnut Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
7th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 784-1200

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Jeff Ruby's offers Live Entertainment Tuesday - Saturday. Jazz, Rhythm & Blues and contemporary favorites are performed by Cincinnati's finest musicians. Perfect after an evening at the Aronoff Center; let the others fight the traffic rush home! At Jeff Ruby's, there is Never a Cover!

Catering:
Let Jeff Ruby's cater your next event! For more information, contact Sales Manager, Kathy Davis at 513-723-4454 ext. 108 or kathy.davis@jeffruby.com.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available Monday - Friday beginning at 6:00pm and Saturdays at 5:00pm; cost is $9.00 per car.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (128)
Good for a Date (114)
Good for Anniversaries (102)
See All
Romantic (86)
Business Meals (68)
Good for Birthdays (67)
Notable Wine List (66)
Pre/post Theatre (56)
Worth the Drive (55)
Good for Groups (40)
Hot Spot (36)
Live Music (36)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Bar Seating (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Fun (28)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
People Watching (26)
Historic (23)
Cozy (22)
Authentic (21)
Private Room (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Happy Hour (15)
Comfort Food (12)
Modern Decor (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
Fireplace (6)
Dancing (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Healthy (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Family Style (4)
Great Beer (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Live Sports (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Casual (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Seasonal (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
2577 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 20 hours ago

Wine list was inaccurate. Asked for three different wines all came back different years or unavailable.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined 3 days ago

Other than waiting over 45 minutes for menus without prices that were promised for my guests and were never delivered, the evening was the success I had hoped it would be. Food was outstanding and John, our waiter was superb. Not his fault on the menus.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a great meal. Brought several out of town guests for a business dinner and everyone left happy and impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

We celebrated our 13th Wedding Anniversary! The service & food was excellent!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

We were with friends celebrating two Birthdays and J Ruby's made a special occasion even more special for us all. Wonderful food and service made the evening a memorable one!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Disappointed , had bread crumbs on table and earl was served on top of them, I'm comparing it to Eddie Merlots, were every time a dish is over the table is cleaned , to include a new table cloth if needed .

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and Service were excellent. Prices keep it as a "special occasion" place, but overall, it met expectations.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

If we want a perfect steak, perfectly prepared and served by an attentive, professional staff, this is where we go. Consistently wonderful food and service will keep us coming back time and again. Filet Collinsworth, Potatoes Anna, The Freddie Salad are heaven. Not sure how you do it, Mr. Ruby, but those steaks are magical.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent in everyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Excellent service , great atmosphere food was fantastic.I would recommend this place to anyone who loves a delicious steak,Fantastic!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Jeff Ruby's steakhouse was excellent as always. Had a great birthday dinner!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great service and food as usual. Just a little pricey

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great steaks, great seafood, great drinks, great service, saw Jeff hanging out in the waiting area listening to the live music. This is what a Ruby's experience is all about.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had a great evening with good food and good service. My only criticism is that I ordered a glass of wine that I drink often. Upon tasting it, I didn't think it was right but I thought it could be my tastebuds. It wasn't old/bad it just didn't taste like the usual wine that I love. I did order a second glass and again wondered if I had been given a less expensive wine. I doubted my taste buds and I drink enough wine that I shouldn't have. The next evening I ordered that same wine with dinner at a different restaurant and it tasted like the wine I know and love. I am certain I was given a different wine. Next time I'll speak up.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great customer service. Delicious food. Good options. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great service and the food was phenomenal. If you only have one steak in your entire life, make sure it's one at Jeff Ruby's.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I took my out-of-town business associate here on his last night with us. He loved it. Great food and service as always. I don't always spend $250 for dinner for two, but when I do, it is always at a Jeff Ruby steakhouse.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Very good dinner! Rubys was on their game Tuesday night. Outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The total experience from the meal to the service was amazing as always! My mom and I came for dinner before heading to the Aronoff for a show. It was her birthday and our server Nate immediately wished her a Happy Birthday when he arrived at our table. Nate was unbelievable and deserves kudos for the service he provided!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The quality of service, food an ambiance are incredible. We were celebrating a birthday and had a truly wonderful experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Really good food and great price for the quality - definitely will return

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The best steakhouse I have yet to go. I've dined at some of the finest from NY, Legas, LA, Miami and this place wins hands down. I enjoyed the ribeye and a baked potato. My steak was nothing short of perfection!! The service was amazing. There was a live band playing for a good portion of my dinner and they were rocking! I will tell everyone to dine here!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Dancing, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 6, 2017

An exceptional dining experience. Food and service were excellent, the steaks were top-quality and perfectly prepared, salads and vegetables were delicious (but really it's about the steak!), and the birthday cheesecake was enjoyed by all. Ruby's restaurants always make our meal feel like a special occasion, whether it is one or not.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 5, 2017

For a steak house of that caliber they should get steak knives that actually cut. The meat was very tender and delicious but the knives were awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Excellent food, fabulous service. Fun atmosphere. Beautiful decor and staff was pleasant, friendly and fun. Don't miss the restrooms.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Always great

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great location across from the Arnoff Theater. Great ambiance and service. The steaks were outstanding! Worth a trip to Cincinnati!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at this wonderful restaurant. One of the best steaks I have ever had! Many choices on the menu. Service was supberb!! Atmosphere was warm and cozy! Would highly recommend this restaurant for a special occasion!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great food. Great ambience. Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Pedro was very attentive & pleasant.
Having been there before I knew to share sides (which we did not know the first time there). The filet & sides were very good, but truthfully unless you can add an ocean or mountain view, it is quite over-priced/exceeded $110 each. A petit filet with added sides, 1 cocktail, & a generous tip in a nice bar restaurant....don't think so.
Looking around, it did seem like most customers were there for a special occasion or on a business expense account paid visit. (I used to be one of those people before retiring).

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 1, 2017

I wasn't impress with the bread.. it was really hard . Maybe you should add rice to the menu.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Overall, nice experience. Our table was in the middle of lots of traffic and on edge of bar. Our server was not very engaging at all. He seemed not to know his job at all. The steaks were very good and three of our 4 sides were great but, the Mac and cheese was very grainy. I don't recommend it all. Dessert was very good. Overall good experience but, we have had great experiences at our favorites in Milwaukee.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I always leave Ruby's more than satisfied. In fact I try to imagine a way I could eat here every week. It's not just the food, it's the attention to detail. Our server Nate was knowledgeable friendly and just perfect. Love this place! Look forward to coming back. My favorite of the three Jeff Ruby restaurants in Cincinnati.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Beautiful place, no doubt.
Impress a business associate - most likely.
Temperatures on the steaks were fine, but the overall flavor just ok.
Pittsburg Rare Bone In Filet was a bit dry.
Oscar Style was a light on the crab meat.
Wait staff encouraged sharing of sides. Good Suggestion.
Butter pie was also sharable. Served Warm.
Wine selection - would like to see flight offered.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I would definitely recommend this restaurant for it's ambiance and great food...

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Another excellent Jeff Ruby's experience. Service, service, service!! The valet, hostess, bartenders, managers, servers, and support staff all deliver on their promise of "excellence".

The menu has a great offering of a premium steakhouse...plus more. My wife went steak, and I went seafood. Both meals were spot on and delicious. Jeff Ruby's excels on each part of their menu with consistently outstanding apps, salads, sides, entrees, and deserts.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Hot Spot, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Wonderful food and excellent service! Would recommend this as a destination restaurant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 27, 2017

A high price to pay for the name, service, and ambiance. My home raised beef tastes just as good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The food we selected was prepared outstanding. Ambiance and atmosphere is great. Always life music and the wine by the glas was also outsanding. Everybody should go there at least once in his lifetime. You should put this restaurant on your bucketlist.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Wonderful meal and staff makes an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.