Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Jeff Ruby's - Louisville

The first & only steakhouse of its kind in the Louisville area, Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse serves only dry-aged USDA prime beef. While steak is the foundation of the menu, Jeff Ruby's promises to please seafood lovers as well with its raw/sushi bar & seafood entrees.
Jeff Ruby regulars will be pleased to know that their favorite signature items from the Cincinnati restaurants will be well represented in Louisville. The bone-in filet, the 7 cheese baked macaroni, creamed spinach, truffle flake creamed corn, & of course Jeff Ruby's secret recipe cheesecake will all be staples of the Louisville menu.
Styled after the great NY steakhouses of the 1930's & 40's, Jeff Ruby's promises to be as pleasing visually as it is to the palate. French art-deco design, plush mohair upholstery, hand selected antique furniture and cinematic crystal chandeliers anchored by a 1950s-era antique featured in the Starz series Magic City and the 32 foot wall of wine.

325 W. Main Street
Suite 120 Waterfront Plaza
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 584-0102

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Jeff Ruby's offers live entertainment 6 nights per week.

Parking Details:
Optional valet is offered at the entrance of the restaurant on 4th street, with street parking & 2 garages within one block.

Executive Chef:
Brian Steger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Jeff Ruby's - Louisville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (118)
Good for Anniversaries (103)
Good for a Date (85)
See All
Romantic (85)
Business Meals (64)
Good for Birthdays (63)
Notable Wine List (57)
Bar Seating (48)
Vibrant Bar Scene (43)
Live Music (40)
Fun (38)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Hot Spot (34)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Worth the Drive (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Good for Groups (27)
Cozy (25)
People Watching (24)
Authentic (20)
Late-night Find (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Tasting Menu (11)
Local Ingredients (8)
Historic (7)
Casual (7)
Private Room (6)
Healthy (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Waterfront (5)
Great Beer (5)
Scenic View (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Live Sports (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Dancing (2)
Family Style (2)
Vegan (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1778 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

It was a great experience overall. The only complain was that it was stuffy and hot at our elevated table. We learned that it was much cooler at the bar when we were leaving. There must be an AC problem.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

Best steak in town-hands down!
Lovely wait staff and ambiance

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I have been to 5 star restaurants all over the world and Jeff Rubys is one of the best restaurants I have ever been to. Move over Bobby Flay!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The food was excellent; great steaks! Our server Jacob made the evening; he was personable, funny and attentive. We came to celebrate our son's college graduation and Jacob made it a memorable event. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Awesome as always! Steaks can not be beat along with their side dishes. Never can go wrong with anything on the menu

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Love the food, atmosphere, and service. Steaks are amazing!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 10, 2017

First time there. Food was great, staff was fantastic. They truly made our anniversary special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Outstanding service! Have been there 3 times and I can honestly say by far the best steak I have ever had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Fantastic steaks and don't miss the Freddie salad!!! The Atmosphere was a little loud for my liking but food and drinks superb as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. Ahi tuna was amazing. Wonderful wine list as well.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Service was impeccable but not sure it's worth the price. Live music on Friday night was a big plus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I took my boyfriend to Jeff Ruby's for his birthday because he had never been, and the experience was perfect. We were seated promptly, our server was friendly and quick, and our steaks were beyond delicious. After finding out we were there for a birthday, we were served a huge piece of carrot cake at the end of our meal on the house. Wonderful time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food was excellent, and our waiter was also excellent!
I always recommend this resturant!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, People Watching, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Andre was an exceptional waiter
Please thank him
He guarded us...ha ha
Because mr Holyfield was one of your guest that night

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on July 5, 2017

It was great. Our waiter , Tyler and his assistant, also Tyler were outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Waiter was excellent
Raw bar was great
We over ordered because the portions were bigger than expected!! Over all experience was excellent!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Jeff Ruby's has always been my favorite spot in Louisville, but this last experience was just mediocre which was disappointing as I was taking some there for the first time.
We had to ask for plates to be cleared, had to ask for water refills multiple times. We were delivered the wrong side. The Diver scallops were over glazed and somewhat sloppy presentation.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Unfortunately the food was not good. The lamb chops were fatty and very gamey. The mint sauce on top was tasteless and a waste. Te beets and cauliflower side was also tasteless. The wedge salad was drowning in dressing and the thousand islaND dressing was way too sweet...almost inedible. Sorry great service though

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 30, 2017

All Jeff Ruby restaurants are very good-this one the same! Great service this night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Highlight of the week! Food was fantastic and server was wonderful. Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 28, 2017

You can never go wrong choosing a Jeff Ruby's establishment. I have never had a bad experience. To this day it is still the best steak and dining experience out there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 28, 2017

First dining experience at Jeff Ruby's, was our anniversary. The whole ding experience was awesome from the time we entered until we left. Would definitely recommend, food was awesome along with the great service. Hope to go back soon! BW

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Food was great...as always. Our server Andre was excellent in making our dining experience awesome; he was very personable and obliging. It was our anniversary and he helped make it special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great service by Andre! The steaks are the area's best and shareable sides are always good. Great food and service always keeps me coming back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fun, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The food and service were impeccable. They even escort women to the restrooms

Tags: Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 27, 2017

As always, the staff at Jeff Ruby Louisville provided an excellent dining experience. They allowed me to provide a truly special experience for my parents who had never dined in an establishment of such quality before. The service and quality was perfect and it was a dinner that was unforgettable for both. I am very grateful to the staff for making a long overdue experience for my parents one that i will never forget. Truly special!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Great steaks and our server William, was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Jeff Ruby's is usually THE BEST, especially their steaks! My boss and I had a client dinner meeting on Monday 6/26 and compared notes the next day and discovered we both had aweful steaks. He ordered the $72 bone-in filet and I ordered the 12 oz filet. His was dry and not as good as last time. Mine was just boring and bland, lacking that signature jeff Ruby's dry rub and flavor. This was very disappointing as they were not on their usual A-game! Perhaps the Monday night chef is a rookie? I'll return again, but for the $700 we spent, much better expected!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Expensive but worth it. The ambiance is so elegant. The service impeccable. The food is great for a steak house. Definitely a place for a special occasion or for drinks at the gorgeous bar under the crystal chandelier.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We went to the Louisville location to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary. The food was wonderful and even though there was a little "oops" with our food the manager tended to the issue and more than made it up! We will definitely be returning soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The food was great except the oysters.... but then again it is summer!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 23, 2017

You have to get past the over-the-top decor to the the real strengths of this establishment: the quality of the service and the quality of the servers and, of course, the quality of the food. Plus, the menu offers many excellent non-beef choices! The wine choices must rate among the city's most extensive and very best! Still, there are the steep prices that make this a non-starter for many! We think it's worth it, though, for an occasional special evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Birthday celebration. Kind of a tradition. Way to be spoiled by great service. Creamed corn a family favorite. Always get truffle butter on steaks. Crab bisque to die for.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Terrific in all respects-steaks, service, attention to detail.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Anniversary dinner here and it was great. Was surprised when I saw several people in t shirt and shorts. Website said shorts and caps were not allowed in the dining room. If this is going to be fine dining experience this needs to be enforced or start calling it a sports bar and serve draft beer and wings.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Excellent food, especially the steaks! Friendly, accommodating staff. We have dined at all of the Jeff Ruby restaurants in Cincinnati. The steaks were equal to Cincinnati and the Freddie salad was the best we've have in years!

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Had a most excellent meal. Food was outstanding. One of the best, if not the best, steak I've ever had. Side dishes are family-style, and definitely are worth trying. Service was spot-on. Only complaint was that there are so many tables crammed into the space. I was in the chair on the aisle, and was bumped into numerous times by staff trying to squeeze past. And I'm not a big guy.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The service was great. We do not normally visit upscale restaurants but we had been given a gift card so we decided to give it a try. We were pleasantly surprised at how friendly the staff was. It was comfortable, not uptight and stuffy. Although rather pricey for us it was a very nice evening.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The food was great and the service was outstanding. The prices were as expected with the exception of the lobster mac n cheese which I thought was a little over priced at $35.00 for approximately 3 servings. I still wouldn't let that keep me from going back! Excellent dining experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Unbelievable. Filet Mignon melted in my mouth. Great service.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.