Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Jeff Ruby's - Louisville

The first & only steakhouse of its kind in the Louisville area, Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse serves only dry-aged USDA prime beef. While steak is the foundation of the menu, Jeff Ruby's promises to please seafood lovers as well with its raw/sushi bar & seafood entrees.
Jeff Ruby regulars will be pleased to know that their favorite signature items from the Cincinnati restaurants will be well represented in Louisville. The bone-in filet, the 7 cheese baked macaroni, creamed spinach, truffle flake creamed corn, & of course Jeff Ruby's secret recipe cheesecake will all be staples of the Louisville menu.
Styled after the great NY steakhouses of the 1930's & 40's, Jeff Ruby's promises to be as pleasing visually as it is to the palate. French art-deco design, plush mohair upholstery, hand selected antique furniture and cinematic crystal chandeliers anchored by a 1950s-era antique featured in the Starz series Magic City and the 32 foot wall of wine.

325 W. Main Street
Suite 120 Waterfront Plaza
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 584-0102

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Jeff Ruby's offers live entertainment 6 nights per week.

Parking Details:
Optional valet is offered at the entrance of the restaurant on 4th street, with street parking & 2 garages within one block.

Executive Chef:
Brian Steger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Jeff Ruby's - Louisville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (101)
Good for Anniversaries (84)
Good for a Date (78)
See All
Romantic (69)
Business Meals (63)
Good for Birthdays (59)
Notable Wine List (51)
Bar Seating (38)
Worth the Drive (38)
Fun (32)
Live Music (31)
Hot Spot (30)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
People Watching (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Authentic (15)
Cozy (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
Casual (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great Beer (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Waterfront (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1840 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I on our way to take our daughter to see Bruno Mars , we always dine at Jeff Ruby's when in town. Always a wonderful experience and the food is absolutely superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Per my ratings- Service and atmosphere were great. Food...not so much. It had been a coupe years since I had dined at JR's and steak was disappointing. And for that reason, it caused the value to decrease also. As a hotel manager in Downtown, I recommend several of my clients/guests to dine at JR's but now I hesitate to do so.

Please let me know if the quality or chef changes in the future and I'll give it another try. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The staff is top notch from front to back top to bottom. Attentive without being intrusive. The salads were over the top delicious and creative, I got the Freddie Salad and it was among the best salads I have ever eaten. The steaks are delicious and were cooked PERFECTLY.

My only minor complaint is I got the Steak Collinsworth with asparagus and crab meat, I almost never get a filet with anything on it, but this looked good in the picture. The asparagus was rather large and not very tender the crab meat was fishy tasting. But I simply brushed aside the crab meat and the steak was perfect, the sauces were delicious without being overbearing.

The fresh baked bread and Truffle butter are incredible. Because it was our anniversary, they brought us a generous slice of cheese cake that was on the house. Now, this wasn't some throw away this was really good cheesecake.

Over all, a delightful experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

I took my parents for their 40th Wedding Anniversary. I mentioned the occasion to the hostess and that's all it took. The rest of the staff wished them a happy anniversary and even offered us dessert on the house. The food was perfect as was the entire experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Yes, the prices are high, but I did not feel cheated in the least. The food was delicious, the service superb, and the decor made me feel like I was in The Great Gatsby. It was worth the splurge to celebrate my birthday.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 11, 2017

January was a fantastic asset to our dinner. She has wonderful suggestions and we loved everything she recommended. Food was amazing as was the service.

Tags: Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We and another couple ate there for the first time. The ambience is great, glitzy, glam. The food was really good as was the service. I highly recommend this restaurant for a special or fun night out. I would love to go again the next time I'm in Louisville.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 8, 2017

This was the first time at Jeff Ruby's and I must admit that the food was not as good as it was hyped to me. The food wasn't bad by any means, but I can honestly say I've had a better "tasting" steak at Outback. The "cowboy" steak I ordered didn't have much flavor to it and I was too embarrassed to ask for A1, so I saved it for leftovers. It was nice for our special occasion, but it just wasn't worth the price.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Best steak I've had!!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful experience at your restaurant. We sat at the bar and chatted with the bartenders and enjoyed the talents of the piano player. We were seated for dinner promptly and every thing from there on out was outstanding. The filet was perfect along with our appetizers. If we lived in Louisville we would be there every weekend!

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

My steak tasted as if it didn't have any Seasoning on it but other then that everything was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Wonderful place. Great food. Love the butter pie! Definitely recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I ALWAYS have a GREAT experience at Jeff Ruby's. Wonderful staff, atmosphere, and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

What an amazing evening the service and ambiance Wine list and food was the reasons we keep going back !!!
Thanks Jeff Rubys staff for being so kind

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

This was a our 33rd anniversary, and I must say we chose the right place. Hurricane Harvey blew into town, but we never felt a drop as we parked in the garage and walked over from the Gault House. The food, service, and atmosphere could not have been better. My wife and I thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Probably the best steak we have had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 30, 2017

This is the best Steak House in Louisville and Southern Indiana. Also one of the best in the entire country!
I am a Texan and live on great steaks, cooked Pittsburgh Style of course, (That is charded on the outside medium rare on the inside) Have eaten steak at almost all the great Steak Restaurants all over the USA , South America, Canada, Europe and much of the world during the last 45 plus years.

Go for the filet with the bone -in, done Pittsburgh Style. It is a treat you will not forget!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Absolutely excellent service and our meal was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Our server, Nick did a great job! Food was excellent, as always. Honored our request for a specific table. Wonderful experience. We prefer a quieter atmosphere but knew what we were getting here. Would go more often if it wasn't so loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great food and outstanding service. I would come back for a once in a year dining, but well worth it

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Our waiter, Daniel, was great! He was very knowledgeable and very entertaining. The food was fantastic. Certainly the best steak and scallops we ever ate!

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Fun, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Wonderful as always. Great food, good time, service was outstanding

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

The Bone-in filet was the best steak I have ever ate. I do not go to restaraunts this expensive very often, but it was worth the bill for the great food and setting. Will definitely have to go back for another special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We love Ruby's, the steaks are always excellent and highly recommended. The service was a tiny bit off (a little slow at points) but this is not typical. Had the lobster bisque and salad and they were excellent. steak was cooked to perfection as always. no room for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Always good food and great service. A little pricy, but excellent quality

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This spot was incredible! Service was impeccable. My son said it was best steak he's ever had. Manager escorted my wife to restroom. Mac n cheese! Desserts!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 20, 2017

First time not in main dining room and atmosphere not as exciting. Bisque, shrimp, mushrooms and steak all top notch as usual! Best steak you will ever eat! Oysters Rockefeller were a little on the cool side and not as fabulous as in the past. One of our favorite places to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent meal as always! The Jeff Ruby's experience is truly that, an experience. We dine here mostly on special occasions and they never disappoint. John was our server and the level of service was impeccable. The food was prepared perfectly and was exquisite. The attention to detail and the customer is unrivaled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Awesome as always! Exceptional food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 18, 2017

My husband and I always go to Jeff Ruby's for a special occasion, and this time was no different. We brought our twin boys for an amazing dinner to celebrate their 18th birthday!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 18, 2017

This was one of the best meals I've ever had, anywhere. It's an expensive place, but totally worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 17, 2017

One of the most Horrible dining experiences of my life. Food was ok the room was loud and very very warm. When we went to pay the manager would not accept a gift certificate we received for our 37th wedding anniversary. He made a big scene and made it very embarrassing and uncomfortable for us. He forced us to call the person who gave us the certificate because he said he needed additional information. This did not satisfy him and forced us to pay with a credit card. We are disabled seniors and he beat us up in front of the whole restaurant. My wife has dementia and did not understand and cried all the way home. This could well be our last time out like this. We are very sad about our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Jeff Ruby's was recommended by a local partner and it didn't disappoint. The waitstaff was attentive and knowledgable. The crab legs and steak were the best I've experienced in a long time. I will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Food was spot on, perfect! Our server, Jacob, was outstanding! Our group number was altered last minute and he rolled with it like a champ, and provided not only exceptional service, but also made it more enjoyable! Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Drinks were not mixed per order. Bloody Mary was ordered as well drink but we where charged for Gray Goose. Took about 30 minutes for entrees to arrive. Ask manger about the delay. We were told he would do something for us...he did nothing and never came back to our table. Not impressed. Many other very good restaurants in Louisville, KY

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2017

My wife and I took our two boys (9 and 11) to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had Andrei as our server. He was incredible. He was extremely attentive and friendly. We went above and beyond to make our boys feel welcome in the restaurant. The food was incredible as usual. Everything was perfect. There is a reason why this is my favorite restaurant in town. It always lives up to expectations.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Absolutely wonderful experience for our first anniversary!! Love this place. General manager is wonderful as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 12, 2017

It was a first visit. The food choices were excellent. The waiter was exceptional with knowledge of the menu and the ability to make suggestions. Great steaks superbly cooked. Our special occasion was treated to a dessert and a photo. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

More than expected. Excellent dining ! Will eat there again

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.