About Jean Georges

1 Central Park West
New York, NY 10023
View Larger Map

Jean-Georges opened in 1997 to critical acclaim. The jewel of Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s empire, the restaurant offers the very best in fine dining. Consistently awarded four stars by the New York Times and three Michelin stars, Jean-Georges presents exquisitely crafted dishes blending French, American, and Asian influences. Chef Jean-Georges is a master at maintaining the essence of ingredients while using them inventively to produce the best flavor. Jean-Georges’ chic and intimate dining room was redesigned by Thomas Juul-Hansen, with striking lighting by L’Observatoire. Impeccable service, tableside preparations, and floor-to-ceiling windows with stunning views of Central Park and Columbus Circle all contribute to an unforgettable dining experience. Jean-Georges offers a three-course prix-fixe menu and two six-course tasting menus: a traditional tasting of the chef’s signature dishes, and a seasonal tasting featuring fresh market ingredients.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday 11:45am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 11pm, Friday, Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm Sunday 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
60th and 61st Streets

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 299-3900

Website:
http://www.jean-georgesrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Private Party Facilities: Jean Georges can accommodate parties of up to 30 guests in the Boardroom Suite, located on the third floor of the Trump International hotel. The main dining room is also available for private breakfast events Monday-Friday up until 11am for groups of 20-75 guests.

Private Party Contact: Farah Abad, 212-358-0688 x28 or fabad@jean-georges.com

Public Transit:
A C, B, D, or 1 line to 59th Street Columbus Circle.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Georges Vongerichten

Additional:
Full Bar, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.jean-georges.com/events/special-events/

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Jean-Georges will be offering a 7-course Valentine's Day Tasting menu for $268 per person, our Signature 7-course Tasting menu for $258 per person or a Prix Fixe menu available for $168 per person. Please note this reservation requires a guarantee form to secure the booking.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jean–Georges' flagship offers the best in fine dining. Awarded 4 stars by The New York Times and 3 Michelin stars, it features an exquisitely crafted menu blending French, American and Asian influences; the impeccable service, and views of Central Park make for an unforgettable dining experience.

Jean Georges Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (125)
Creative Cuisine (95)
Tasting Menu (90)
See All
Fit for Foodies (83)
Good for Anniversaries (81)
Good for a Date (74)
Romantic (71)
Quiet Conversation (56)
Notable Wine List (51)
Business Meals (46)
Great for Lunch (45)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Modern Decor (42)
Authentic (28)
Worth the Drive (26)
People Watching (24)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Scenic View (21)
Seasonal (21)
Molecular Gastronomy (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Cozy (14)
Hot Spot (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Healthy (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Fun (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Casual (4)
Private Room (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Organic (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Historic (2)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dancing (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
4880 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service- Great during the dining. Very ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 20 hours ago

Service- Great during the dining. Very accommodating and flexible. Sommelier seems to be too busy and slightly rushed at the coat check.

Food- Good value for the price. Well executed but there was no "wow factor". Also, a bit heavy on use of butter which can be reduced. Food arrives a bit too fast.

Wine list - strong. A lot of options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

As fabulous as ever! Wonderful service. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

As fabulous as ever! Wonderful service. Excellent, creative cuisine. Never let's one down. We have been going there for years and will continue as the menu always remains fresh and inventive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As frequent diners we had not been to th ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

As frequent diners we had not been to the Jean George flagship for some time

Had frequented Perry street and Jojos

Our meal was outstanding

Service superior (Fletcher)

Wine selection (Rory) intriguing

Ambience conducive to fine dining and interaction

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular nothing more needs to be sai ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Spectacular nothing more needs to be said.

Food service ambiance p

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I understand JG to be one of NY's finest ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

I understand JG to be one of NY's finest restaurants, but after eating there, I'm honestly not sure why it has three Michelin stars. The food was definitely good, don't get me wrong, but it wasn't so good that I couldn't have had a similar or better meal elsewhere in NYC for a third of the cost, and the "experience" certainly didn't account for the price differential. I've eaten at quite a few Michelin star restaurants and can honestly say this is my least favorite. I did at least leave with a sufficiently full stomach. The service was amazing, but there are numerous things I could nit pick, from the smudged tableware when we sat down to the overly acidic risotto, but I'll leave that to professional reviewers... although I don't think they are paying any attention beyond the truffles and caviar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

We were late due to the terrific jam in ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We were late due to the terrific jam in New York, they still arranged another seat for three of us. Quite and nice environment, would be back again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolute taste of foods, high-end servic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolute taste of foods, high-end services, artistic environments and everything were just for the best of bests!

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

95% of the experience was excellent. Ho ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

95% of the experience was excellent. However, one serving on the tasting menu was venison that was left under the heat lamp too long. There was an usual 15 minute wait between courses--the waits had been less than 5 minutes. We were in no rush, but the venison was to be medium rare, but arrived charred on the outside and not medium rate on the inside. Blame is on the servers not the Chef.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great food. High quality service

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food. High quality service

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I come here every year to bring my siste ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I come here every year to bring my sister for her birthday. It's great to go somewhere that is consistently excellent every year and just gets better. Our servers were incredible and also checked in on us to see if you needed anything. It was an incredible experience as always. I ordered the butternut squash which is the best in town. The yellowfin ribbon with the ginger marinade is delicious and the Black Sea Bass was spectacular!!! I ordered the Tropical dessert which was outstanding. They bring you a round ball which is coconut semifreddo and you crack it open and inside there is pineapple sorbet with tropical fruits and surrounded with edible flowers. It was a party in my mouth.. I will see you next year.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

J'aime vraiment ce restaurant même si qu ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

J'aime vraiment ce restaurant même si quelquefois le service reste un peu insuffisant pour un 3 étoiles.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Exquisite dining experience. Amazing mea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Exquisite dining experience. Amazing meal. Knowledgeable wait staff. Well worth the money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Dinner is much more food then lunch. Go ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Dinner is much more food then lunch. Go hungry. The scallops were little bit over cooked. The Orchard desert is to die for!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable food, impeccable service! We ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Impeccable food, impeccable service! We had a wonderful time. The Winter menu was delicious.

Tags: Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been many times, lived up to its in ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Have been many times, lived up to its incredibly high standard. The smoked squab was especially spectacular, really enjoyed the hake in green curry and the salmon crusted with truffles. Orchard dessert course was wonderful. Service spot-on as usual. They keep the room a tiny bit cold for my own tastes; if you're sensitive to cold and have a thin dress or short sleeves, bring a sweater!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall everything was a perfect but we ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Overall everything was a perfect but we found the lunch service a bit too fast paced (had six course tasting and wanted a bit more time to digest between courses!)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing food ill prepared and ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very disappointing food ill prepared and presented. We had to send back two dishes because they were unedible

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Went to Jean Georges to celebrate our pa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Went to Jean Georges to celebrate our parents' retirements. The dining team was attentive, warm and welcoming. They created an amazing dining experience for all of us, particularly our parents who rated this experience as being "unforgettable." What a wonderful way to celebrate a great milestone in their lives.

Thank you to all the staff at Jean Georges!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jean Georges is a Manhattan institution. ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Jean Georges is a Manhattan institution. I went for lunch and had a tasting menu (they offer one tasting menu at lunch but two or three different tasting menus at dinner). The food was delicious and imaginative. Service was very good and friendly.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great service and ambience. Impeccable f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great service and ambience. Impeccable food. Try the pastrami foie gras .. excellent!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always. Service is fabulous ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Excellent as always. Service is fabulous, food is carefully prepAred presented and tasty.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The quality of food, waiter, and waitres ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The quality of food, waiter, and waitress are very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was not what we expected ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Our experience was not what we expected for the price we paid. The staff was extremely friendly and polite, but service was way too slow. We were seated at 8:50pm and didn't leave until 11:50. We are fast eaters, so most of those 3 hours were spent waiting. The food was good, but not amazing. We expected more for the amount of money we paid. The desserts were the best part. Overall, I think it was great eating at a Michelin star restaurant, but we probably won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The entire experience was absolutely out ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The entire experience was absolutely outstanding. The service was beyond impeccable , the food was phenomenal and the entire experience was beyond expectations.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jean Georges didn't disappoint. Celebrat ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Jean Georges didn't disappoint. Celebrated sister's birthday with beautiful, delicious food and impeccable service. Keep up the good work, can't wait to return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very little needs to be said about Jean- ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Very little needs to be said about Jean-Georges. It was far better than the reviews say it is. If you are in NYC looking for fine dining, book a table here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Authentic, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A memorably experience - Great food, su ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 3, 2017

A memorably experience - Great food, super service, elegant ambiance and good value st lunch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, People Watching, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything I hoped for and more. Jean Ge ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Everything I hoped for and more. Jean Georges obviously earned its three stars.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the best dinner experien ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

This was one of the best dinner experiences i have ever had which i believe reflects a level of preparation and execution in all aspects of the restaurant that are truly unique to Jean George.

Everyone should try this place at least once in a life time.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Having many fabulous meals here over the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Having many fabulous meals here over the years , this one fell way off. Scallops came out cold and were replaced ,then after 2nd course there was a 40 minute wait for squab not nearly as good as Le Coucou. Wine steward was great and saved the evening. Price increase to 138 not warranted.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

As always, we enjoyed a delicious meal a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As always, we enjoyed a delicious meal and superb service. Thank you.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome :) Wish to go another time too

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Awesome :)

Wish to go another time too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

8+ course NYE dinner beginning with Petr ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

8+ course NYE dinner beginning with Petrossian caviar and ending with a dessert fit for a French King of the Renaissance Period and the middle dishes enhanced with overtures of truffles by the best kitchen in the city, then dancing with the ENTIRE kitchen staff at midnight in the middle of the restaurant....was I dreaming? May be the best highend NYE secret in NYC. My beautiful date is still raving about the experience. I charged Sommelier Alex with pairing our meal(s) with a champagne and a reasonably cost French red...she produced the perfect results of a nice bottle of bubbly rose and a 4th growth Margaux. Her efforts were further supported by our main Server Fletcher and her cohorts incredible ballet of plate removal at perfect time and descriptions of our next dishes complete with the eclectic foodie terms only the properly educated and trained professionals employ. Suffice it to say this NYE may be the best, BEST gastronomic that I have ever enjoyed...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant I ever been great foo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing restaurant I ever been great food great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great. Delicious salmon ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service was great. Delicious salmon and great sweet surprise to finish off - the dessert was divine

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good but I've had better for le ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was good but I've had better for less. NOT a 3 star. Truffled salmon was good but the lobster was flavourless and the duck was "off". Deserts were very basic. Bread was stale and the butter was cold and hard. Waiters were down right robotic. Not the experience that I expected. Visited Daniel the same week and had an excellent meal there. Don't waste your time with JG.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value1

We have dined at Jean Georges at least 2 ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We have dined at Jean Georges at least 20 times ....and we have never been disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful dining room - simple and elega ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Beautiful dining room - simple and elegant. The dinnerware is also very unique. The food is delicious. It was well plated, not inspired feeling, but beautifully done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great food and impeccable service made f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food and impeccable service made for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We always wanted to try this place, and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We always wanted to try this place, and we were not disappointed. The decor is modern and beautiful, soothing and goes hand in hand with the cuisine. Beautiful and exciting dishes that we will not forget.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.