About Jean Georges

1 Central Park West
New York, NY 10023
View Larger Map

Jean-Georges opened in 1997 to critical acclaim. The jewel of Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s empire, the restaurant offers the very best in fine dining. Consistently awarded four stars by the New York Times and three Michelin stars, Jean-Georges presents exquisitely crafted dishes blending French, American, and Asian influences. Chef Jean-Georges is a master at maintaining the essence of ingredients while using them inventively to produce the best flavor. Jean-Georges’ chic and intimate dining room was redesigned by Thomas Juul-Hansen, with striking lighting by L’Observatoire. Impeccable service, tableside preparations, and floor-to-ceiling windows with stunning views of Central Park and Columbus Circle all contribute to an unforgettable dining experience. Jean-Georges offers a three-course prix-fixe menu and two six-course tasting menus: a traditional tasting of the chef’s signature dishes, and a seasonal tasting featuring fresh market ingredients.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday 11:45am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 11pm, Friday, Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm Sunday 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
60th and 61st Streets

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 299-3900

Website:
http://www.jean-georgesrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Private Party Facilities: Jean Georges can accommodate parties of up to 30 guests in the Boardroom Suite, located on the third floor of the Trump International hotel. The main dining room is also available for private breakfast events Monday-Friday up until 11am for groups of 20-75 guests.

Private Party Contact: Farah Abad, 212-358-0688 x28 or fabad@jean-georges.com

Public Transit:
A C, B, D, or 1 line to 59th Street Columbus Circle.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Georges Vongerichten

Additional:
Full Bar, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.jean-georges.com/events/special-events/

Restaurant Photos

Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jean–Georges' flagship offers the best in fine dining. Awarded 4 stars by The New York Times and 3 Michelin stars, it features an exquisitely crafted menu blending French, American and Asian influences; the impeccable service, and views of Central Park make for an unforgettable dining experience.

Jean Georges Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Midtown West ›

special occasion (224)
fit for foodies (210)
romantic (157)
See All
notable wine list (106)
great for lunch (103)
scenic view (38)
hot spot (34)
neighborhood gem (29)
great for brunch (26)
good for groups (21)
great for outdoor dining (18)
vibrant bar scene (14)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
4229 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Exquisite fine dining, amazing food, inp ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined a day ago

Exquisite fine dining, amazing food, inpeckable service, very lovely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We have enjoyed the unique blending of f ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 3 days ago

We have enjoyed the unique blending of food and flavors. We are a big fan of Jean Georges restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to this restaurant many times ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

I've been to this restaurant many times and this was one of the more disappointing experiences. I felt that the flavor combinations and execution on several of our dishes were not up to Jean Georges' standards. We had the strawberry dessert which seemed kind of like a muddled mess sitting in tapioca pudding. I can't imagine how this dish got approved for a tasting menu dessert. Excellent dishes were the asparagus and halibut and lobster. Lamb was perfectly cooked but not my favorite version of this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

When we arrived the server asked if we w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

When we arrived the server asked if we were celebrating any occasion and my husband mentioned it was my birthday. So, the staff went above and beyond and also brought a complimentary "happy birthday" mini- cake. Everything was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My favourite New York restaurant - simpl ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 4 days ago

My favourite New York restaurant - simply superb. Strongly recommended for lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For a 3 star restaurant non acceptable l ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

For a 3 star restaurant non acceptable level of food representation. From overcooked salmon and risotto to a stake taste bellow the caffeteria level. Overuse of spices was covering for large gap in imagination. In short: for foodies with regular opportunity to eat in michelin star restaurants, this experience would not qualify even for a single star

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

The service was good, but I think the fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The service was good, but I think the food is mediocre and just overrated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Very slow service. Extended delay for me ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very slow service. Extended delay for menus, water, drinks, bread and order. Service and courses rushed and frantic at the end. Not a good choice pre theatre, even though we arrived at 5:15 and made it clear we had to leave by 7:15-7:30. Good choice if you have all evening to enjoy a meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

easily one of the best meals i've ever h ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

easily one of the best meals i've ever had. everything we had was great, some outstanding dishes were the tuna ribbons, the wild salmon, duck breast , diver scallops, and rabbit. my friend enjoys sweet w her savory and loves the Foie Gras Terrine w Strawberry Granola. highly highly recommend and look forward to returning. loved the dessert selection as well. wonderful dining experience

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service are always amazing. A m ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food and service are always amazing. A must when I'm visiting NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect in every way.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Perfect in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For some reason the reservation I made t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

For some reason the reservation I made through Open Table sat us in the main dining room. I expected a less formal seating. The menu was haute cuisine and the food and service impeccable. The dining room was empty except for what appeared to be a Chinese delegation. As I said, I was hoping for a more casual and light lunch with my daughter and granddaughter.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing food & service , please keep up ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Amazing food & service , please keep up the good work.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service in a pleasant ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent food and service in a pleasant setting, a real escape from the NYC hustle and bustle. Worth the expense.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Jean Georges seems to be phoning it in. ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Jean Georges seems to be phoning it in. The menu is similar to what it has been for years and there are no innovative dishes. The cooking is capable and the ingredients are high quality, but there no longer is much inspiration and no excitement. The 3 star Michelin rating is 1 1/2 stars too high.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food, perfect service. Especia ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Fantastic food, perfect service.

Especially desserts were amazing.

If you travel NY, Jean Georges would never dissapoint you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved Jean Georges. The service was ou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I loved Jean Georges. The service was outstanding, as was the food. The portions were a great size - I left there feeling like I had gotten value for money, but not stuffed. I'd definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding! Great food and ambience. L ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Outstanding! Great food and ambience.

Lovely place for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a very good restaurant. People w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This is a very good restaurant. People were very nice to us, and the food is very good. The lunch pricing is of interesting value. However, do not expect a 3-star michelin experience. The food is clearly not at that level. Much less original than Per Se or 11 Madison Park, or any 3 star experience. I would advise to go tonthe restaurant for a very good meal, but if you want something original and top level, there are better options in nyc. Beware however: unfortunately you are forced to set foot in a "trump" tower if you want to enter the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

It was our second time there and they di ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

It was our second time there and they did not disappoint. We had great time and the staff was outstanding. We will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to Jean George numerous tim ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We have been to Jean George numerous times. It's not as formal as it used to be, nor is it as pretty, but the food is still top quality all around. We missed all the beautiful flowers.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service. My only gripe i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great food and service. My only gripe is that they charged for tea which is not the usual for high end restaurants like Le Bernardin, Per Se and Chef's Table. It made me feel nickeled and dimed. The vegetable/fruit juices were terrific. Crudo very pleasant and innovative. Main dishes were tasty, though the veal with flying pig was heavy on the salt. The tropical dessert was artistic, a coconut semifreddo frozen with liquid nitrogen with fruit and a gelato in the core. Outstanding presentation. The petit fours were weak compared to Marea.

Overall, a great value for a 3 star restaurant.

Finally, I appreciated the kitchen tour and it made me confident that Jean Georges is a class act. Pity about being in the Trump Tower.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best restaurant in New York. ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

One of the best restaurant in New York. I would definitely come here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely outstanding in every respect. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Absolutely outstanding in every respect. Well worth it. In the moment it was exciting, and the memory will last forever.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant was nice. The ambience w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This restaurant was nice. The ambience was very romantic and the service was outstanding. The food was good but the serving amount, I thought, was a bit much. We ordered 2 different kinds of tasting menu: Jean George and Summer. The food was flavorful, the presentation was pretty but the amount of food that was on the plate was good for 2. Towards the end, we felt like we've over indulged to a point where I felt sick. Normally, we finish every dish. This time, we had to take the rest of the food home.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant unfortunately does not de ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The restaurant unfortunately does not deserve the 3 stars, as the food is neither elaborate or interesting enough to be worth the 3 stars

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

A wonderful splurge for a special occasi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

A wonderful splurge for a special occasion lunch. The service was wonderful--elegant, but really friendly and welcoming: no hint of restaurant snobbery, and our waiter was eager to make (excellent) recommendations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a memorable experience we had celeb ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

What a memorable experience we had celebrating my friend's 70th birthday. While pricey, it was worth every penny and more. The choices were innovative, creative, beautiful and oh, so tasty!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For a 3 star michelin restaurant, I was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

For a 3 star michelin restaurant, I was truly surprised at the service and entree. We were visiting because I had an overseas friend who wanted to visit a Michelin star restaurant, and I'm a bit sorry I picked this one. We got the 2 course menu, and of our 2 courses in a party of 4, our silverware was continuously mixed up to the point where it became a "game" of guessing what silverware was who, especially when the two people who got the same entree got completely different silverware. Moreover, the appetizers were also served to the wrong people at our party- while we did the reshuffling ourselves, it was just surprising that throughout the meal, the only thing that was not "messed up" was the dessert, which was served properly (two of us got chocolate and two got strawberry, so the chances of getting that wrong was also rather slim).

As for food, I thoroughly enjoyed the initial tastes- while not entirely sure what it was (chickpea mash with a cracker, some sort of fish, and a tea?) it was pretty enjoyable. My appetizer, the trout and oyster dish, was also fairly enjoyable, although if given the chance to go back, I would certainly get something different- perhaps the sea urchin. I got the veal as an entree, and while I'm not an experienced foodie, the meat was certainly a bit tough for my taste and it got fairly difficult to finish, with the mushrooms and greens helping out tremendously to down the meat. However, I will say the dessert totally made up for it- I would highly recommend the dessert tastings, as they were entirely worth the $12 for the array of tastings and uniqueness. If I could just get the dessert, I totally would. Moreover, the complimentary chocolates and marshmallows were also extremely delicious.

For the novelty of going to a 3 Michelin star restaurant, this was certainly worth the money. But only the dessert really "blew me away", and I've never had quite so many mix ups in dishes and silverware, even in a normal restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Exceptional dining experience , portions ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Exceptional dining experience , portions well sized and presented beautifully ! Deserts which I usually skip ..... Was glad we didn't skip this one !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed. My wife's steak was t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Very disappointed. My wife's steak was tasteless. Cheese platter was a small single wedge we would not have selected if that had been an option. It came with diner quality home fries some unknown spicy berries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

One of the best restaurants I've been in ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

One of the best restaurants I've been in my life.

Espectacular for lunch. The prix-fix menu at lunch is amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great staff service, knowledgable sommel ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great staff service, knowledgable sommelier, excellent recommendations

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food in a very well appointed ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Delicious food in a very well appointed setting with flawless service, leaving you feel you've experienced something special. Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is simply wonderful. Every dish ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food is simply wonderful. Every dish is perfect and better than the previous. Extremely recommendable. The only thing to be aware is the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a nice table, love the food but w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We had a nice table, love the food but we were rushed

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great. So was the service. Ambi ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Food was great. So was the service. Ambience just below the mark of Daniel or Le Bernardin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A perfect place for a quiet Sunday after ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

A perfect place for a quiet Sunday afternoon brunch. Food and service excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was prepared and presented very ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food was prepared and presented very nicely. The attention to detail by wait staff was slightly lacking and the noise level was very significant. The noise had an overall negative effect on the dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

JG is challenging. The room is arguably ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

JG is challenging. The room is arguably NY's finest. Service is attentive and polished without being stuffy. Food, however, can be hit-or-miss. The delicate flavor of baked oysters was swamped by lumps of stewed basil. Lobster although terrific, is a bit tough and could use a steak knife and, although several steps above the usual, the preparation isn't especially noteworthy. Sea Bass, however, is divine. Overall, plating is rather straightforward and not especially fussy. The wine list is extensive, although there aren't many stellar wines under $300 and no real bargains. Deserts are fine. I like JG, but I just don't love it - especially at prices that require a mortgage.

The same kitchen serves Nougatine which, the last time I looked had a prix fixe lunch tasting that is one of NYC's best bargains - short on atmosphere, but long on taste.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.