About Jean Georges

1 Central Park West
New York, NY 10023
View Larger Map

Jean-Georges opened in 1997 to critical acclaim. The jewel of Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s empire, the restaurant offers the very best in fine dining. Consistently awarded four stars by the New York Times and three Michelin stars, Jean-Georges presents exquisitely crafted dishes blending French, American, and Asian influences. Chef Jean-Georges is a master at maintaining the essence of ingredients while using them inventively to produce the best flavor. Jean-Georges’ chic and intimate dining room was redesigned by Thomas Juul-Hansen, with striking lighting by L’Observatoire. Impeccable service, tableside preparations, and floor-to-ceiling windows with stunning views of Central Park and Columbus Circle all contribute to an unforgettable dining experience. Jean-Georges offers a three-course prix-fixe menu and two six-course tasting menus: a traditional tasting of the chef’s signature dishes, and a seasonal tasting featuring fresh market ingredients.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday 11:45am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 11pm, Friday, Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm Sunday 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
60th and 61st Streets

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 299-3900

Website:
http://www.jean-georgesrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Private Party Facilities: Jean Georges can accommodate parties of up to 30 guests in the Boardroom Suite, located on the third floor of the Trump International hotel. The main dining room is also available for private breakfast events Monday-Friday up until 11am for groups of 20-75 guests.

Private Party Contact: Farah Abad, 212-358-0688 x28 or fabad@jean-georges.com

Public Transit:
A C, B, D, or 1 line to 59th Street Columbus Circle.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Georges Vongerichten

Additional:
Full Bar, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.jean-georges.com/events/special-events/

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jean–Georges' flagship offers the best in fine dining. Awarded 4 stars by The New York Times and 3 Michelin stars, it features an exquisitely crafted menu blending French, American and Asian influences; the impeccable service, and views of Central Park make for an unforgettable dining experience.

Jean Georges Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Midtown West ›

special occasion (229)
fit for foodies (195)
romantic (161)
See All
notable wine list (104)
great for lunch (99)
scenic view (47)
hot spot (31)
great for brunch (29)
neighborhood gem (26)
good for groups (23)
vibrant bar scene (15)
great for outdoor dining (13)
 (5)
late-night find (4)
 (4)
kid-friendly (4)
 (3)
 (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4142 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

The dishes and service are impeccable

vip
Dined 2 days ago

The dishes and service are impeccable

food5
ambience4
service4

Jean George was delicious and the ambian ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Jean George was delicious and the ambiance was outstanding. Our server was adorable and very friendly. Overall it was an outstanding experience. The only reason I'm giving a 4 star vs 5 star review is that it took 15 minutes for someone to take our initial drink order and then bring the menus over, which was after I had to signal someone a few times to come over because we had been waiting for so long. I loved the food and the service after the initial sitting was good but for a 3 Michelin star restaurant, my expectations were higher. I've been to one Michelin star restaurants that had better initial service. They could have been having an off night but I don't think I'll be going back any time soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Evening

Dined on May 24, 2016

My wife and I were on our first trip to New York and our daughter recommended Jean Georges. It was a truly memorable evening. The place was full, but we only waited 10 minutes for our table. The staff were all outstanding, knowledgeable, gracious and friendly. The food was remarkable. I will recommend this establishment to friends from our part of the world.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Absolute wonderful dining experience ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

An Absolute wonderful dining experience from start to finish!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food (inventive & excellent ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Outstanding food (inventive & excellent technical execution), generous quantities, superlative service, and gracious extras to acknowledge our anniversary. It is often difficult to live up to the expectations that come with being a Michelin 3-star, but Jean Georges passes this test with flying colors.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perhaps the finest three stars we have ever tried.

Dined on May 21, 2016

Together my wife and I have tried many of the three star restaurants in the US. This is my top choice and for her tied with Per Se (but at a remarkably better price point). I thought the food was fantastic, service excellent and overall great experience. We had lunch and did the tasting menu. All of the dishes just popped for us but one in particular was off the charts - the striped bass. Just unreal. Do yourself a favor, if you have any chance to eat at JG do it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Our server sort of ruined our experience!

Dined on May 20, 2016

Didn't really explain the process and we were charged 40 per person for Cavier we didn't want.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Started excellent, ended fair.

Dined on May 20, 2016

The first few courses were outstanding. But I don't know what happened, the last courses (especially the main course) were fair...not only in taste but also in plaiting. Dessert was delicious. The wines were to expensive and not great at all. Loved the gift with chocolates!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply stunning... Everything was immacu ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Simply stunning... Everything was immaculate & we couldn't fault the service....

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

mikey speaks

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

this was our second time at JG We arrived early and enjoyed a pleasant drink at the bar. We were seated on time, very comfortable banquettes with a view of the whole restaurant. Unfortunately, the noise level is quite high. Much higher than Parisian hotel 3 stars (V, Epicure, Meurice etc) The decor is modern, I would not say opulent. Amuse bouches were creative and brilliant. We both chose the spring menu: favorites were asperges, sea bass, lobster. Main course was lamb: too fatty and a bit too rare Somewhat disappointing. Wine: for the seafood we paired a Chassange Montrachet 2011. A good choice. Lamb was paired with a glass of Syrah, a mistake on my part. Prob should have stuck with the standard: cab or brunello. The major issue came with the check: since we had dined here before (and being pleasantly light headed) I was not "shocked" by the amount although I was a bit puzzled.. I paid with added 20% gratuity. The next day I did the math and discovered what seemed to be an approximately $200 error. I called the restaurant and was emailed an itemized copy of my receipt. The wine was listed on the check with the correct bin number however, NOT the correct wine. Somehow the computer glitched a more expensive chablis. I called this to the attention of the management and the error was corrected along with tax and tip and an apology. So: First: although this is an exceptional dining experience and Mr JGV is one of the truly great chefs of our generation, I would prefer to eat three times at the (less noisy) ABC Kitchen for the same price. Also: for a 3 star restaurant, it would be nice to occasionally see the chef in attendance. Remember Mr JG: even Paul Haeberlin, stuck his head into the dining room nightly. Second: ALWAYS review your itemized bill. While I do not believe this in any way was intentional, it was as much my fault in not having done so at the time it was presented.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magnificient !

Dined on May 18, 2016

Both food and service are of verry high level and made THE experience unforgettable. Would-be recommend to everyone. Hope to ever when we visit NY come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I have to say this was the finest meal, ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

I have to say this was the finest meal, service and atmosphere I have ever had.

food5
ambience5
service5

Good service!good food!

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Good service!good food!

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

the reception told us since we add one m ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

the reception told us since we add one more person so that we must finish by 8:30pm . But our waitress said Do not worry then we wait for the dessert for a while ..... Not much enjoyable time we should have because little confuse about 8:30pm

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5

The food here seems a bit dated - our wa ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The food here seems a bit dated - our waitress even obliquely referenced it when explaining the menu. The food was great, but it wasn't the quality I expected, and the quality was far lower than the reputation of JG.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

No service

Dined on May 16, 2016

I requested the birthday and wedding anniversary cake for my wife by email. And reception read this, but I couldn't receive it. In addition, I ordered the flower, but I couldn't receive it. I was doubt they didn't read anything. Reception didn't return all stuff to me. I kept some items to reception, however, they didn't keep them adequately. I needed to ask them to find my stuff frequently. Why this was occurred? Too bad birthday.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is nothing to complain about -- th ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

There is nothing to complain about -- the food was delicious and creative. The service was attentive and very accommodating. It's clear that everyone, front and back of the house, delivers their best at Jean Georges.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Every dish I ordered was marvelous. Espe ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Every dish I ordered was marvelous. Especially the Maine Lobster.

food2
ambience2
service1

We were at Jean Georges on a Saturday ni ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We were at Jean Georges on a Saturday night ( May 13th ) and we were really disappointed. The profile of restaurants this level, with 28 points in ZAGAT guide and 3 stars Michelin, does not correspond to what we experience there: confused service and just regular dishes. Disappointed, is the word that sums up our experience. The only good memory we will keep from this night is the wine we ordered : a Leoville Barton 1982, the last bottle they had in house.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

NOT CERTAIN OF 3 STAR RATING

Dined on May 14, 2016

Having visited all the 3 star restaurants in the UK and Paris, I was expecting a great meal. I did not feel it met the standards of the other 3 star restaurants I have visited. It was disappointing but I still enjoyed the food and ambience.

Tags: romance, special occasions, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2

Delicious food. But the hostess service ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Delicious food. But the hostess service was very short and unhelpful. Coat check lost our umbrella and was not even apologetic.

food5
ambience5
service5

Foods were perfect and served with great ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Foods were perfect and served with great service. It was our 10th anniversary and we were very happy.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful

Dined on May 9, 2016

My husband and I loved every course(4) and were so pleased with the varied selections presented for each, which isn't always the case in a prix fixe. The food was wonderful,beautifully presented and graciously served.The main room is really lovely and very comfortable.We will certainly try to return in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Not worth what we spent

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went here on our honeymoon trip and we were both pretty disappointing in our experience. We visited 3 other Michelin Star restaurants while on our trip and this was by far our least favorite and one of our least favorite of the entire trip Granted we were there on mothers day, but we had to wait nearly a half hour after our reservation time to be seated. It happens, nothing to get too upset about. However a group that came in 15 minutes after us was told their table was not ready yet as well, but they were given free champagne while they waited. The food itself was very good, but not any one item we would come back for especially for the price. Additionally, a table seated directly next to us was a family of 6 with a couple of kids who were playing video games with the sound on throughout the duration of their dinner. I can only imagine the difficulties of raising children and bringing them out to celebrate with you, but if your kids can't sit through dinner without playing with their ipads, at the very least give them earbuds or make them turn the sound off We were both pretty surprised that the staff didn't say or do anything about it. All in all we spent nearly $1,000 on dinner for the two of us and were completely underwhelmed and felt as though we were an after thought for the restaurant. That said, the servers and wait staff were very friendly and knowledgable

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special occasion treat

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Dining at Jean Georges is always a special event. The flavors explode in your mouth, revealing multiple layers of contrasting and complimentary tastes. The staff is professional, attentive and friendly - stopping to talk and answer any questions you have about the food or restaurant. A treat anytime

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in New York

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Best restaurant in New York

food5
ambience5
service5

truly memorable dinner superb service an ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

truly memorable dinner superb service and very knowledgeable sommelier. I have been at JG a number of times and judging by this dinner, they are truly at the top of their game.

food2
ambience4
service4

IT really doesn't deserve a 3 Michelin S ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

IT really doesn't deserve a 3 Michelin Star The food was very spicy - a lot of pepper - and the waiter didn't prevent us about it The Dijon sauce with the stake was very very bad and the meet of OK quality The risotto from Marea is 1000 times better than the one we had at Jean Georges Summarizing, if you really want to try a 3 Michelin star restaurant go to the Bask Country in Spain

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It was just one of those nights . . .

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our experince was OK . . . Unimpressive hostesses and less than friendly wait staff. Enormous portions of beautifully presented, delicious food. In summary, the kitchen did their job well, but front of the house needs work.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FABULOUS

Dined on May 6, 2016

EVERYTHING CONTINUES TO BE FIRST RATE AT THIS GREAT RESTAURANT

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best seabass I have ever tried.

Dined on May 5, 2016

The seafood dishes are highly recommended. I am not a fish person but the seabass really blew me away.

Tags: brunch, fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of New York's best restaurants.

Dined on May 5, 2016

Food is sublime, service friendly, caring but never intrusive, birthday observed beautifully, expensive but wonderful for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

food great, wine service terrible!

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

We had an epic meal and brought wine that was other-wordly. having said that, the wine service was subpar. We brought two bottles of our own wine--a 2002 Harlan and a 2006 Screaming Eagle. By all accounts, they are two of Napa's best. We dropped off the wine at 10am to decant. When we arrived later that evening, there were no large cabernet glasses available to us and in fact, got some attitude for asking for them from whoever came by the table (he did not identify himself). In addition to our wine, we ordered champagne and dessert wine and were still treated like second class wine citizens. On the other hand, the food service was exactly what you would expect from a top notch establishment such as Jean Georges. Although the food exceeded our expectations, we left feeling slightly disappointed in our overall experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner was Perfect

Dined on May 4, 2016

Dinner on a recent Wednesday was superb! Leigh, our server could not have been more helpful and charming. She explained when we had questions & offered valuable suggestions. The food was amazing; tastes and textures by very skilled hands. For the 1st, I had the scallops & my wife, the baked oysters. We shared and agreed how good both were. We both had the fois gras with mango sauce. So good we did not speak, just rolled our eyes at the flavor in each bite & washed down with a wonderful Sauternes. My duck breast and the lamb my wife had were cooked perfectly and, too, were remarkable for their tenderness and taste. We shared a half bottle of an excellent Bordeaux and it rounded out those plates. The chocolate dessert was a bit much but we indulged anyway. The tab was close to $600 which included drinks, food, tip and tax. But this was our anniversary and we wanted something memorable and this certainly was!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Disappointing

Dined on May 4, 2016

Disappointing. I took my husband here for his birthday. The service was great, classy and helpful. The decor could use a little update but it was OK. I was very disappointed with the food. We were so excited to go and have one of the best meals in our lives but the dishes were so "normal". We were having a good time but it wasn't until the end that we realized we hadn't shared our plates at all. We didn't experience one of those "Oh my god you have to try this" moments. My husband ordered Lamb which came with a broccoli pure and boiled broccoli....yep just plain bland cafeteria style broccoli. I had Lobster that just tasted like sea water and butter. We had been to Mystic, CT recently and there I had amazing lobster. Overall very over priced for the food. It was good but I would not have paid that much for the same thing somewhere else. This place is named one of the best French Restaurants in the Americas.....Do not believe it. There is much better French food in NYC and elsewhere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Celebration

Dined on May 4, 2016

Our experience at Jean-Georges was quite delightful. The service was impeccable and quite seamless. We chose the tasting menu with wine pairings, which were outstanding. There was one item on the tasting menu that I was not fond of and the chef exchanged it for another course more to my liking with no discussion. We enjoyed each and every bite and sip in a beautiful setting conducive to quiet conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous lunch

Dined on May 3, 2016

There were four in our group and it's safe to say we all had a marvelous dining experience. The food is exquisite, not only the taste but the presentation at well. The course commentary is also wonderful. If you want a lovely lunch in a vibrant, quintesenntial NYC neighborhood, and are willing to pay the price, Jean-Georges is the perfect place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luxury defined

Dined on May 1, 2016

All the hallmarks of true luxury: a handsome space, comfortable surroundings--elegant not fussy--impeccable service, and of course food that delights, surprises and tastes divine. You could go for the three-course meal but life is short, why hold back. Seven courses is the way to go, a constant parade of titillations and more-than-fulfilled expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbelievable meal

Dined on May 1, 2016

We had the prix fixe menu and everything that was ordered was unbelievable. The service was also fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice! Wine pairing were excellent.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Very nice! Wine pairing were excellent.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.