About Jean Georges

1 Central Park West
New York, NY 10023
View Larger Map

Jean-Georges opened in 1997 to critical acclaim. The jewel of Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s empire, the restaurant offers the very best in fine dining. Consistently awarded four stars by the New York Times and three Michelin stars, Jean-Georges presents exquisitely crafted dishes blending French, American, and Asian influences. Chef Jean-Georges is a master at maintaining the essence of ingredients while using them inventively to produce the best flavor. Jean-Georges’ chic and intimate dining room was redesigned by Thomas Juul-Hansen, with striking lighting by L’Observatoire. Impeccable service, tableside preparations, and floor-to-ceiling windows with stunning views of Central Park and Columbus Circle all contribute to an unforgettable dining experience. Jean-Georges offers a three-course prix-fixe menu and two six-course tasting menus: a traditional tasting of the chef’s signature dishes, and a seasonal tasting featuring fresh market ingredients.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday 11:45am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 11pm, Friday, Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm Sunday 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
60th and 61st Streets

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 299-3900

Website:
http://www.jean-georgesrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Private Party Facilities: Jean Georges can accommodate parties of up to 30 guests in the Boardroom Suite, located on the third floor of the Trump International hotel. The main dining room is also available for private breakfast events Monday-Friday up until 11am for groups of 20-75 guests.

Private Party Contact: Farah Abad, 212-358-0688 x28 or fabad@jean-georges.com

Public Transit:
A C, B, D, or 1 line to 59th Street Columbus Circle.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Georges Vongerichten

Additional:
Full Bar, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.jean-georges.com/events/special-events/

Restaurant Photos

Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jean–Georges' flagship offers the best in fine dining. Awarded 4 stars by The New York Times and 3 Michelin stars, it features an exquisitely crafted menu blending French, American and Asian influences; the impeccable service, and views of Central Park make for an unforgettable dining experience.

Jean Georges Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Midtown West ›

Special Occasion (245)
Fit for Foodies (204)
Romantic (151)
See All
Notable Wine List (108)
Great for Lunch (100)
Scenic View (34)
Hot Spot (34)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Good for Groups (23)
Great for Brunch (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Late-night Find (9)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for a Date (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4310 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Michelin 3 star which does not disappoin ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Michelin 3 star which does not disappoint -- service and food could not have been better. The food easily compares with the French Laundry in Napa and the service was actually much better. Prepare to pay accordingly of course.

Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful exlerience! Wonderful f ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

What a wonderful exlerience! Wonderful food, service and ambiance.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jean Georges exceeded all my expectation ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Jean Georges exceeded all my expectations! The service was outstanding, almost like a beautifully orchestrated ballet. The restaurant has a relaxing elegant atmosphere. To celebrate our anniversary we had the perfect romantic table, allowing us to have a private conversation but still have a full view of the restaurant. The food was modernist art on a plate! It was a multi-sensory experience of taste, art, and aroma. I enjoyed the Chef's delicious creative presentations. It was a special evening made perfect by the Chef and director! Well worth the flight from Atlanta.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Personalized service, dedicated server, ...

 
 (Berlin)
·Dined 6 days ago

Personalized service, dedicated server, very knowledgeable about the food they serve. Love the lamb, my dad love the dessert. Overall, a very pleasing experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Most amazing experience in NYC

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Most amazing experience in NYC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For such a highly awarded restaurant you ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

For such a highly awarded restaurant you go for perfection and they fell just short.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent experience, food and service w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent experience, food and service was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice, I will be back.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Nice, I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious food. Great service and attent ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Delicious food. Great service and attention to detail. Our waitress Katie was very knowledgable about menu and we loved what she recommended. Went there to celebrate my husbands birthday. We had tickets for Broadway show and they made sure they got us out on time (you need to tell them when you arrive) Expensive but I understand why. Will come back but only special ocassion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding deserts, creative menu but o ...

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Outstanding deserts, creative menu but overall dishes were hit or miss, attentive service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Truly Amazing, would definitely return.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Truly Amazing, would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for a birthday. The staff was excel ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Went for a birthday. The staff was excellent, kind and helpful in choosing courses that worked well together. Great experience that I would recommend to anyone with some extra cash to spend.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Jean Georges is my husband's and my favo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Jean Georges is my husband's and my favorite restaurant in the city. If we want to celebrate and know we will have superb food/service we always plan to dine there. We enjoy having the tasting menu and in our view is the only way to savor the finest of many dishes. This past time was no exception. We have tried many high end NYC restaurants and have yet to find any that exceed the JG expectations.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was visiting New York City from San Fr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I was visiting New York City from San Francisco. This was my first visit to this restaurant. The restaurant dining room is at a corner of the hotel, with one side providing a view of the southwest corner of Central Park and the adjacent side overlooking the globe and 8th Avenue. This was a great view. I chose the Summer Menu, which featured local, seasonal ingredients. Every course of the tasting menu was excellent. The flavors were very well integrated. There was an excellent choice of wines that pair well with the food. The service was also excellent. I will certainly return here when I next visit New York City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful evening, amazing food, outstan ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Wonderful evening, amazing food, outstanding attention to detail and a first class staff in every sense. An evening my wife and I won't forget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Despite asking 4 times, the temperature ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Despite asking 4 times, the temperature in the dining room was very warm and muggy and made for an uncomfortable dining experience. Our food was room temperature--should have been hotter. Plates were picked up too fast. At times, we had t even finished chewing and the service staff was there to remove the plates and cutlery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Actually surprised me because they could ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Actually surprised me because they couldn't find my reservation. What?! You called me and confirmed the details my dear Jean Georges. Also, I mentioned it will be a birthday event. I didn't see a small piece of birthday cake at the end. Are you sure you are one of the three star like others?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

I was in JG in January, and it was amazi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I was in JG in January, and it was amazing , service and menu was awesome , but summer((( usual restaurant in 5* hotels more interesting . I'm very disappointed , for 350 per person in should much much better, and service was horrible .

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I cannot imagine a better dining experie ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I cannot imagine a better dining experience. What a wonderful restaurant, and you can actually see the food on your plate. It is not a neutron of a portion with an eyedropper of sauce. I love this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

No matter how many times I go to Jean Ge ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

No matter how many times I go to Jean Georges, it is always a wonderful, exciting experience! I have eaten at some of the finest restaurants throughout the US and in Europe and Jean Georges is hands down my favorite. The food is creative and exquisitely prepared, the service unparalleled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food were top notch & well valued for lu ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food were top notch & well valued for lunch. Service was excellent too!

Tags: Special Occasions, Romance
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service. Certain dishes were ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Impeccable service. Certain dishes were unique and truly outstanding; however, we expected all dishes to merit the 3 star rating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

It was a very nice dinner, however the p ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was a very nice dinner, however the portions were a little on the large side for a four course meal. The service was very good but at times, I felt like they were rushing us a little. All in all, a pleasant

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Best meal of our lives. Outstanding flav ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Best meal of our lives. Outstanding flavor combinations and superior service. It is wonderful that Jean Georges gives diners the lunchtime (less expensive) option which is not offered at other 3 Michelin Star restaurants in the city. Thank you Jean Georges - we cannot wait to return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional experience, from the food t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Exceptional experience, from the food to the wines to the service the attention to every detail, everything was perfect . The food and savors were exceptional and everything you expect to find in a top restaurant was there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

classic spot. The vibe is very much Ame ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

classic spot. The vibe is very much American Psycho. 80's-90's fine dining. Felt awesome to have a fine dining experience that isnt FARM TO TABLE!! or ORGANIC!!. Definatly not for hipsters, which is what i like

Mature and for those who like a classic new york experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu was excellent. There was plenty to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Menu was excellent. There was plenty to choose from and the menu prix fixe was great value. Thoroughly enjoyed the dishes and the service was perfect. I can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at 4 of the 5 reviewed by ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We have dined at 4 of the 5 reviewed by Zagat as 5 best restaurants in NYC

Jean George was our 4th experience

The restaurant was not silly pretentious

Staff was a balance blend of help

Food was outstanding and best of the 4

Level of mouse unnoticeable so very welcomed!

Delightful dining experience

We will recommend and return

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I love Jean Georges. I live in Berkeley/ ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I love Jean Georges. I live in Berkeley/Oakland California, the second I arrive in NYC I head directly to Jean Georges whether it be the bar, Nougatine or the Dining Room I'm in my happy place. The staff are always welcoming, super professional but always let their warm personalities peek through and the food is always some of best you will have in the world. I've experienced many of the multi stared restaurants around the world and have remembered the experience but not the food. At Jean Georges I remember every bite of every course. See you again on my next trip!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

GENERALLY EXCELLENT BUT SEVERAL CRITICI ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

GENERALLY EXCELLENT

BUT SEVERAL CRITICISMS

1. SQUAB HAD $10 SURCHARGE-- PRESUMABLY DUE TO BLACK TRUFFLES. TRUFFLES WERE TASTELESS. SERVER INFORMED US THAT THEY WERE FROM AUSTRALIA ( ???). REALLY... THIS KIND OF RESTAURANT SHOULD SERVE ONLY FRENCH TRUFFLES. IF TOO PRICEY , USE MORELS OR CHANGE RECIPE. ( J-G IS QUITE EXPENSIVE,BTW )

2. TO MY RECOLLECTION, THEIR MENU NEVER SEEMS TO CHANGE EXCEPT WITH A FEW SEASONAL SELECTIONS. PERHAPS IT SHOULD.

3. DITTO- THE DESSERT MENU OF"VARIATIONS "ON CHOCOLATE,STRAWBERRIES, ETC HAS BEEN THERE FOR YEARS AND IS BECOMING A BIT BORING. THERE IS A SIMILAR STARRED RESTAURANT TEN BLOCKS SOUTH THAT SERVES FAR BETTER DESSERTS.

IS THIS THE BEST THAT JEAN-GEORGES CAN DO WITH DESSERTS ???

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Attentive staff, great wine selections. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Attentive staff, great wine selections. Most importantly, the contemporary menu selection was amazing. My wife and I were exchanging glances of satisfaction after every new plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was really disappointing, service a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food was really disappointing, service and ambiance were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Wonderful: Great food, great service, gr ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Wonderful: Great food, great service, great atmosphere. 3 Michelin stars all the way. Don't miss it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

not bad. I went there during Restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

not bad. I went there during Restaurant Week. It seems under separate operation with regular dining. I don't know if it was real or its their kind of signature service attitude, anyway here service from reception to table, not like what I expected. in a bad way.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We came here for Sunday brunch. Overall ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We came here for Sunday brunch. Overall was very disappointed in the food. Many of the dishes were bland and lacked flavor. Quite surprised that this is still considered to be 3 michelin stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

We had a great experience--the food and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had a great experience--the food and service were excellent, as expected. We will definitely come back, and we highly recommend Jean Georges.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we were kept waiting 25mins. for our 9.0 ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

we were kept waiting 25mins. for our 9.00pm reservation. in compensation we were each given a glass of champagne.

The service was exemplary! The tableware is beautiful and the flower low key. Our meal, prix fixe, was nothing short of heavenly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

World Class food. Impeccable service. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

World Class food. Impeccable service. Worthy of its 3 Michelin Stars.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunatly one plate was cool, and er ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Unfortunatly one plate was cool, and error 3 stars michelin restaurant can't made

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I was so impressed with the staff, from ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I was so impressed with the staff, from the hostess who seated us to the young woman who took our orders and listened very carefully to everything we said to make our experience the best possible, to the young man who brought us our food and wine - a twinkle in his eye. The whole experience was amazing and I can't wait to go back. The food was delicious and the presentation very elegant. We didn't order dessert but we were brought some petit fours to try. I've never before had petit fours this scrumptious! I highly recommend it not just for special occasions but whenever you want to treat yourself! Life's too short, enjoy every chance you can!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.