About Jean Georges

1 Central Park West
New York, NY 10023
View Larger Map

Jean-Georges opened in 1997 to critical acclaim. The jewel of Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s empire, the restaurant offers the very best in fine dining. Consistently awarded four stars by the New York Times and three Michelin stars, Jean-Georges presents exquisitely crafted dishes blending French, American, and Asian influences. Chef Jean-Georges is a master at maintaining the essence of ingredients while using them inventively to produce the best flavor. Jean-Georges’ chic and intimate dining room was redesigned by Thomas Juul-Hansen, with striking lighting by L’Observatoire. Impeccable service, tableside preparations, and floor-to-ceiling windows with stunning views of Central Park and Columbus Circle all contribute to an unforgettable dining experience. Jean-Georges offers a three-course prix-fixe menu and two six-course tasting menus: a traditional tasting of the chef’s signature dishes, and a seasonal tasting featuring fresh market ingredients.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday 11:45am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 11pm, Friday, Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm Sunday 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
60th and 61st Streets

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 299-3900

Website:
http://www.jean-georgesrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Private Party Facilities: Jean Georges can accommodate parties of up to 30 guests in the Boardroom Suite, located on the third floor of the Trump International hotel. The main dining room is also available for private breakfast events Monday-Friday up until 11am for groups of 20-75 guests.

Private Party Contact: Farah Abad, 212-358-0688 x28 or fabad@jean-georges.com

Public Transit:
A C, B, D, or 1 line to 59th Street Columbus Circle.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Georges Vongerichten

Additional:
Full Bar, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.jean-georges.com/events/special-events/

Restaurant Photos

Jean Georges, New York, NY
Jean Georges, New York, NY
Jean Georges, New York, NY
Jean Georges, New York, NY
Jean Georges, New York, NY
Jean Georges, New York, NY
Jean Georges, New York, NY
Jean Georges, New York, NY
Jean Georges, New York, NY
Jean Georges, New York, NY

Specials

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

On Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, Jean-Georges will be offering a $168 prix fixe menu as well as a $258 tasting menu.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Jean-Georges will be offering a 7-course tasting menu and Gala event with dancing and a champagne toast during our second seating for $888 per person. Guests may also join us during our first seating for our regular prix fixe and tasting menus.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jean–Georges' flagship offers the best in fine dining. Awarded 4 stars by The New York Times and 3 Michelin stars, it features an exquisitely crafted menu blending French, American and Asian influences; the impeccable service, and views of Central Park make for an unforgettable dining experience.

Jean Georges Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (126)
Romantic (74)
Tasting Menu (72)
See All
Fit for Foodies (72)
Creative Cuisine (71)
Good for Anniversaries (71)
Good for a Date (66)
Notable Wine List (62)
Great for Lunch (48)
Quiet Conversation (47)
Business Meals (33)
Modern Decor (32)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Worth the Drive (23)
Seasonal (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
People Watching (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Authentic (14)
Scenic View (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Molecular Gastronomy (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Cozy (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Healthy (5)
Private Room (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Casual (3)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
4501 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was nice. My server and the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

The service was nice. My server and the entire staff were very attentive.But the food was very mediocre. I found most of the dishes to be very salty. I did enjoy the dessert. I'm assuming the head chef was not there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

Great night out for a friends birthday.

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

Great night out for a friends birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We arranged our visit from Montréal Cana ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

We arranged our visit from Montréal Canada with the avability of the restaurant

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two extraordinary dishes. The garlic sou ...

 
 (London)·Dined 4 days ago

Two extraordinary dishes. The garlic soup with frogs legs, and the turbot. And possibly the most chocolate dessert I've encountered. I'd choose here rather than the Four Seasons to feel like a New York socialite. Girlfriend loves the egg, but then she does love a bit of theatre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Best restaurant in the city? Maybe. Lott ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Best restaurant in the city? Maybe. Lotta bucks but fair compared to the competition. Imaginative use of spice combinations.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner at Jean Georges was a gatheri ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Our dinner at Jean Georges was a gathering of five good friends. We were all pleasantly surprised at the friendliness of the staff and the 'substance' of the food. Several of us had recently been to other 'name' restaurants in New York, and had been consistently disappointed at the quality and quantity of food. At Jean Georges, the food met our expectations, which were high given the reputation and price level of the restaurant. The combinations of flavors and textures were excellent, and the portions were substantial enough to satisfy.

The service was very attentive, and was not at all pretentious.

The price of the meal reflected the venue, service, and food. It was high, but not at the nosebleed level of some other well-known restaurants.

Our only minor disappointment was that the wine list, particularly for reds, had very few options that were less than $100. A few more 'moderately' priced options would have been welcome.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Biggest disappointment. Actually couldn' ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Biggest disappointment. Actually couldn't finish 2 of the 7 coursrs . It was that bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

The overall experience was wonderful. T ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The overall experience was wonderful. The food was excellent except for the main entrees of steak and lamb chops which, cost an extra $25 and $15 dollars.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall a good dining experience. This s ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Overall a good dining experience. This should be, however, expected for a Michelin 3 star property. We had a course where the poultry was too tough to cut with a steak knife. Also the food was simply not astounding. This felt more akin to some of the 1 star Michelin venues. The staff was cold rather than warm. They offered fantastic attentive service that just fell short of making you feel welcome. A great experience but I expected a bit more for this level of restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Always magnificent

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Always magnificent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a wonderful experience, the waite ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

It was a wonderful experience, the waiter was excellent and friendly. I will definitely recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time to Jean Georges ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was our first time to Jean Georges and it hit the mark in all regards. It was highly recommended and it lived up to all that we had heard. It was a most enjoyable meal. Well done!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always amazing! One Of the best restaura ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Always amazing! One Of the best restaurants in America.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's amazing! I love the Caviar and turn ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

It's amazing! I love the Caviar and turnip---- so balanced, fresh,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had tasting lunch and it is a great v ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had tasting lunch and it is a great value. Their service are excellent.

The main course are good but I may expect more considering they are three Michelin stars . The veal cutlet a little bit salty and may be cooked a little too much.

The desert is just amazing. I think patisserie is genius. In the one plate, there are several sweets which make us happy. We really enjoyed eating each one. Furthermore, my daughter got a chocolate cake for her birthday which was a great surprise. It is delicately designed and tasted. We wanted to go back just to taste the dessert.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was impeccable. Our waitress went above and beyond to make our experience great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The lunch is still a good deal (though n ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The lunch is still a good deal (though not as good as it was). Overall, the food was very good, and the little extras like the amuses and the sweets to finish (especially) were great. The hake was the best fish dish I've had in a good while. I wish the server had told us that most of the dishes we ordered were very mushroom-heavy. I love mushrooms, but having so many in so many dishes made the flavors of the dishes run together too much. The concord grape dessert is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Had lunch at Jean Georges - food was exc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Had lunch at Jean Georges - food was excellent from presentation to taste. Dessert was also outstanding and generous portions was served.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service and exquisite cuisin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Exceptional service and exquisite cuisine. Everything you expect from a top tier restaurant. Our knowledgable server also doubled as a smart choice for helping us select wines. The restaurant design aesthetic was sumptuous yet restrained and elegant. Very happy memories of our visit to Jean Georges.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Bread service was sub ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great experience. Bread service was sub par (the actual bread and butter! Not the great server assistant who served it, he was perfect!) Our server was great! She had a warm personality and connected with us. We enjoyed our experience. Butter poached turnip course was Amazing!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The best dinner of my life, excelentt fl ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The best dinner of my life, excelentt flauvors with exotic ingredients, and great options for every taste!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful dining experience with great f ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Wonderful dining experience with great food and classy service. Worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and ambience. I had the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fantastic food and ambience. I had the seabass and parmesan risotto and they were both delicious. Two issues.........we had an 8:45pm reservation and didn't get seated until 9:30pm as a group of 18 yr old Chinese teenagers couldn't figure out how to split and pay their bill. They would have been better off at McDonalds. And the sommelier's wine choice was marginal. He recommended a red Pommard and it was just average........certainly not worth $220.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I had been to various fine dining restau ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I had been to various fine dining restaurants but Jean Georges still surprised me with some interesting flavours and combinations. Impeccable service by the staff too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service, nice atmosphere with ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent service, nice atmosphere with low/moderate noise level, Jean George menu was well executed, food quality very high as you would expect at this level of restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It was a very frustrating experience. Th ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 19, 2016

It was a very frustrating experience. The food was not suitable for a three Michelin star restaurant. We've been to 1 star places with much better food. I do not reccomend. And I will not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Simply exquisite. In every way. All cate ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Simply exquisite. In every way. All categories. Period.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food (as expected) and excellent s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food (as expected) and excellent service. I went with the tasting menu and wasn't thrilled with their third course options, though. Had the almond crusted duck and it was so sweet that it was unpalatable. Hardly tasted like duck, but rather like marzipan with jam. I had to swap for the lobster and was still not thrilled with that dish either. Their foie gras brûlée, on the other hand, was fantastic, as was the risotto. Not sure I would return, though. I've had better at 1 star Michelin restaurants.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

For being a 3 Star Michelin rated restau ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 18, 2016

For being a 3 Star Michelin rated restaurant I expected so much more from the food. Of our 4 courses only 1 had a real "WOW" moment where we thought, 'this is really amazing!' For how much the "Prix Fix" meal cost every single serving, spoonful, and morsel should be out of this world, in my opinion. It's a good 'one-time event' place but we would not go back. There are so many other good restaurants in NYC, for more than half the price, that are really mind blowing as far as the taste and flavor palates go.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

It is a wonderful restaurant. A bit pric ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 17, 2016

It is a wonderful restaurant. A bit pricey, but the food is unique and delicious. I can guarantee you will not leave hungry. Service was impeccable. Atmosphere is a nor modern but very tastefully done.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Food. Is great . Make sure man need to w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Food. Is great . Make sure man need to wear suit ,if not they will rent you one.portion is not big but you will not feel hungry after .

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food it's amazing, my favorite it's ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The food it's amazing, my favorite it's the sea bass, urchin and the tenderloin

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It's the best dining experience ever! PE ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

It's the best dining experience ever! PERIOD

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very poor experience. A sad rstaurant, w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Very poor experience. A sad rstaurant, with very unhappy waiters...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We had a very good meal. The food was ex ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We had a very good meal. The food was excellent and the service was amazing

Orly

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Impeccable service. Really, the best. Pl ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Impeccable service. Really, the best. Plating of and taste of food was complete perfection. Too many favorites. Dessert blew us away. There were little details that reminded us of some of his other restaurants (ABC kitchen) which we truly appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Truly an AMAZING dining experience! Th f ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Truly an AMAZING dining experience! Th food was spectacular and the service was bar none the BEST service I've ever had. Very pricey but worth every penny. I would definitely recommend experiencing Jean George's. I tip my hat to Jean George and staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sublime food great wine selection excell ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Sublime food great wine selection excellent service

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great and teste food! Perfect service. N ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great and teste food! Perfect service. Nice enviroment.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is rated with three Mich ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2016

This restaurant is rated with three Michelin stars but is heavily over rated. We (reviewer and spouse) do visit Michelin star restaurants in every city we visit simply because we are foodies.

We selected the "Late harvest menu" deliberately, to stay away from classic dishes.

The starter "Turnip with caviar" was a slap in the face. A ridiculously simple creation of ingredients that did NOT work together. Could be easily improved in a "Home-kitchen".

We discussed with the waiter and it was the intention of the chef "to concentrate on the ingredients". A three star chef would have made a combination of: "three delicacies of puree - poached - chips etc." and not one white snooker ball with caviar on top.

The sashimi tasted good but again it was a simple combination of (good quality) ingredients that does not require the skill set of a three star chef.

In a three star restaurant you expect every course to be a delicacy, a surprise, but the wow-factor was completely missing.

The ambiance and service where excellent. The accompanying wines were very good. The sommelier was knowledgeable and entertaining.

We had a good meal but the restaurant is heavily over rated with three stars.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.