About Jean Georges

1 Central Park West
New York, NY 10023
View Larger Map

Jean-Georges opened in 1997 to critical acclaim. The jewel of Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s empire, the restaurant offers the very best in fine dining. Consistently awarded four stars by the New York Times and three Michelin stars, Jean-Georges presents exquisitely crafted dishes blending French, American, and Asian influences. Chef Jean-Georges is a master at maintaining the essence of ingredients while using them inventively to produce the best flavor. Jean-Georges’ chic and intimate dining room was redesigned by Thomas Juul-Hansen, with striking lighting by L’Observatoire. Impeccable service, tableside preparations, and floor-to-ceiling windows with stunning views of Central Park and Columbus Circle all contribute to an unforgettable dining experience. Jean-Georges offers a three-course prix-fixe menu and two six-course tasting menus: a traditional tasting of the chef’s signature dishes, and a seasonal tasting featuring fresh market ingredients.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday 11:45am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 11pm, Friday, Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm Sunday 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
60th and 61st Streets

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 299-3900

Website:
http://www.jean-georgesrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Private Party Facilities: Jean Georges can accommodate parties of up to 30 guests in the Boardroom Suite, located on the third floor of the Trump International hotel. The main dining room is also available for private breakfast events Monday-Friday up until 11am for groups of 20-75 guests.

Private Party Contact: Farah Abad, 212-358-0688 x28 or fabad@jean-georges.com

Public Transit:
A C, B, D, or 1 line to 59th Street Columbus Circle.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Georges Vongerichten

Additional:
Full Bar, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.jean-georges.com/events/special-events/

Restaurant Photos

Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jean–Georges' flagship offers the best in fine dining. Awarded 4 stars by The New York Times and 3 Michelin stars, it features an exquisitely crafted menu blending French, American and Asian influences; the impeccable service, and views of Central Park make for an unforgettable dining experience.

Jean Georges Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Midtown West ›

special occasion (240)
fit for foodies (215)
romantic (164)
See All
great for lunch (109)
notable wine list (108)
scenic view (43)
hot spot (33)
neighborhood gem (30)
great for brunch (29)
good for groups (23)
great for outdoor dining (18)
vibrant bar scene (12)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
4180 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place to celebrate, whether it ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful place to celebrate, whether it be Father's Day or a Birthday! Everyone is made to feel special! Food was delicious, every single dish. Helpful suggestions from staff at all times.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

When we first entered the the door,the w ...

Dined 6 days ago

When we first entered the the door,the waiter was not friendly and was not patient. Fortunately,he need to switch work with another girl. The girl's attitude was much better. When we left the restaurant,no one came to open the door for us and said goodbye. They just hurried to lock the door since we were the last customers. Other than this,I don't think the environment meet my expectation. The environment was the same as some normal restaurant. It was not quiet and beautiful enough to match its title “Michelin three stars”. I think it overall meets “Michelin two stars”,but definitely not three.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was impeccable! Just as we ex ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Everything was impeccable! Just as we expected and more. The foie gras was silky and heavenly, the seafood divine. I don't have time here to discuss how absolutely perfect dessert was! Our waiter also was great--attentive, funny, and sharp. We never had to ask for anything; it was all inferred and delivered before we could think of it. Thank you so much!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible value for lunch ($55/person) ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Incredible value for lunch ($55/person) and one of the best dining experiences you can have in New York. My tuna ribbons and trout and oyster tartar were both sublime - strong recommendation on the tartar if you are trying to pick an appetizer.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We attended the early sitting Sampler Lu ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We attended the early sitting Sampler Lunch. Every morsel was just heaven and the service was impeccable. Because of the choice of meal we had, it felt like steal to eat so good for so little money. The place is airy and light, the selection is seasonal with a few staples, and I highly doubt you could get better service. The big hits from our meal were the risotto and the tuna ribbons, and anything with nuts or mushrooms was absolutely delightful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

outstanding food with lot's of interesti ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

outstanding food with lot's of interesting variations. A great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The mushroom salad and thé fois gras we ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

The mushroom salad and thé fois gras were amazing. Everything had fresh clean flavors. The service was a little choppy. I have had better service here in the past. Still all and all it is my favorite resturant in new york. It is very expensive however I always think it is worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It's okay. Most courses were not amazing ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

It's okay. Most courses were not amazing; a couple we excellent. Mind not blown.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was impeccable and the food ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The service was impeccable and the food was incredible. We asked our server to suggest wine pairings for our meal and dessert, they did not disappoint. I highly recommend that if possible, you let talk to the staff as much as possible and listen to their suggestions. It was a great dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was exceptional. If ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The food and service was exceptional. If you are on a date, request a booth... Truly romantic and memorable in every way

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was amazing, menu was filled wit ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Service was amazing, menu was filled with amazing dishes, everything sounded awesome, wanted to order everything. My wife and I really enjoyed our plates, everything was cooked perfectly, I guess that is the 3 Michelin star way. The only thing that I didn't like was my main dish, I had the fried rabbit, something was way too salty, it could of been the sauce but was not sure however I was too shy to tell the waiter. Overall amazing experience, would go back for sure (just need to save enough money though :P)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Every trip to Jean Georges is a special ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Every trip to Jean Georges is a special occasion. I like to invite my work mates when they reach a goal or celebrate a birthday. Always walk away with a better attitude and a smile on their face. Highly recommend it. Price is right for lunch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jean-Georges was, as always, amazing. Th ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Jean-Georges was, as always, amazing. The Spring pea soup is not-to-be-missed!!! The bread is also excellent and the dessert chocolates, guimauve, and taste of a chef's special to begin with makes an incredible dining experience all that more incredible!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food , super ambiance and grea ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Delicious food , super ambiance and great service!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Food is too salty with the sauce. There ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Food is too salty with the sauce. There is only one or two courses surprising us on display. Service is formal but in a cold/uncomfortable way. There is even one occasion waitress start to move away before she finished introducing the food. Desert could be one thing we will give 4-5 stars.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jean Georges is my favorite New York res ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Jean Georges is my favorite New York restaurant. My last visit was the best meal of my life! The foie gras was especially outstanding! The food was so wonderful that I quickly forgot that the restaurant is in a building emblazoned with one of the worlds most hateful human being's name.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

outstanding

Dined on June 10, 2016

Service and the entrees were what you would expect from a 3 Michelin star restaurant.Fixe menu had a lot of variety for each course.Desserts were fabulous.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Only one flaw

Dined on June 10, 2016

A recent trip we dined at several restaurants in the perennial top 5. As far as actual taste Jean Georges was the best, much better than the 23 year running favorite. However someone needs to reign in the waitstaff. Absolutely none were disrespectful however they spend too much time visiting amoung themselves. Several are very friendly with each other and I don't think the dining floor is the place to mix and mingle, even physical contact. Fix this and they clearly have the best in NYC.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

First class food, excellent wine list, r ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

First class food, excellent wine list, remarcable service. Crowded bar, noisy room, no reasonable place for waiting ... anyway, the high class cuisine supports this minor problems.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Inconsistent dress code being applied. ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Inconsistent dress code being applied. I was asked to remove my leather coat/jacket and put on their dinner jacket. But there was another guest who was permitted to wear his sports coat which was even more casual than mine. Too pretentious and stuffy atmosphere.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great but...

Dined on June 8, 2016

why have a dress code if you don't enforce it, jeans and t-shirts cant be right

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

So good! The dishes are so good!

Dined on June 8, 2016

So good! The dishes are so good!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting from Australia and had ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

We were visiting from Australia and had high expectations. They were exceeded in terms of ambiance, service, quality of food and wine. And we thought it was good value as well. Our waiter and other servers had great knowledge and answered all our questions. For such a famous place we were treated as honoured guests. We have traveled to many places and this was one of the best food events my wife and I have experience. We cannot recommend Jean Georges highly enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

The food is fabulous, though a little bi ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

The food is fabulous, though a little bit salty for me but the freshness is out of my expectation. Service is gentle and comforting providing a so relaxing dinner experience in such a rushing city. The restaurant is too nice offering my wife and I a free chocolate cake for our wedding ceremony. Overall it's one of my best memories this summer.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful experience!

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Everything was perfect. We were celebrating my husbands birthday and the food and staff really surpassed our expectations. We had two delicious appetizers, the crab dumplings and the scallops with cauliflower. I had the wild salmon and my husband had the hailibut for entrees and they were both outstanding! Our waiter, Eric, was also spot-on! He suggested some delicious and interesting wines to pair with our food that we never would have chosen ourselves. The whole experience was wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upscale lunch place

Dined on June 6, 2016

This was my second visit. I had a lunch course consisted with gulf shrimp and veal dish. I also had a glass of ginger lime soda, which was very refreshing. Shrimp cooked perfect and the plating was so beutiful. Veal was good too. Although I am not big fan of dessert, I had a chocolate cake which was the best part of the meal. Service was great, too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was amazing. The caviar on egg ...

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

The food was amazing. The caviar on egg is a must. We were seated 30 minutes after our reservation time, but once seated all was perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Luxurious dining

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

The only downside to dining at Jean Georges is the price. If you would bristle at spending $400 for dinner for two, you should probably look elsewhere. But, if cost is no object, you are likely to be pleased with the pampering lavished upon you by the staff at Jean Georges. There are basically two prix fixe options: a 4-course option (at $138 per person) and a 7-course option. We opted for the 4-course option, and were over-stuffed by the end of the meal. Our favorite of the dishes was tuna "ribbons." And the only unsuccessful dish was a mushroom salad. For desserts, we chose the chocolate option and the tropical fruit option. Although the chocolate option is satisfying, the tropical fruit was more interesting and would be my recommendation. After dessert, the staff brings additional candies, and then a small box of chocolates to go. Our tab, with a half-bottle of the least expensive chardonnay ($78) and two espressos, was $412 before tip. If this fits your budget, you will surely enjoy dining at Jean Georges.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always - one of the best in ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent as always - one of the best in NYC

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A special date in Manhattan

Dined on June 4, 2016

We selected this restaurant from a list of "best restaurants" in Manhattan. We were not surprised that the only reservation we could get was at 9:30 pm. We were not disappointed. We had the 3-course meal and enjoyed each course.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We've been to jean George's 3 times now ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

We've been to jean George's 3 times now and I have to say that the experience only gets better with each visit. The whole experience is always fulfilling and worth every penny. We will return again and again! Thank tou for such a wonderful time!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on May 31, 2016

It was amazing experience. The service was on top. The atmosphere of the restaurant was great too

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service5

A decent meal but the quality varied bet ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

A decent meal but the quality varied between courses. The starter, amuse bouches and dessert were exquisite but the fish course and meat course were tasty but not at the expected quality. Have eaten at 1 and 2 star Michelin star restaurants around the world. This did not warrant 3 stars (1 at a push).

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

On May 30, 2016 (Memorial Day), my wife ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

On May 30, 2016 (Memorial Day), my wife and I had dinner at 6:00p.m. It was our 45th anniversary. I had made our reservation 30 days before at 9:00a.m. I asked to be seated in an alcove for two people because it is very quiet there and a I have a problem with too much noise after my stroke. We were very shocked that they not honor our request. They took us to a very small table. Then they took us the a larger table by the door to kitchen with servers walking by. Then they took us to a lager table across the room. This did not start out in a good way. The man at the counter was very rude. The maitre d' was very kind. Our server was also very kind. The maitre d' gave us baked oysters and extra desserts. We took the prix fixe menu. The food was excellent. The tuna ribbons were perfect. The Sashimi were not. The roasted halibut was excellent with their green curry sauce. The roasted Maine lobster was also excellent. The desserts were excellent. At the end, they gave us a small cake with two candles and a white chocolate saying "Happy 45th Anniversary!". Overall, this was a very good experience. This restaurant could do much better.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

The dishes and service are impeccable

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

The dishes and service are impeccable

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We dined there recently with friends. Th ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

We dined there recently with friends. The service was attentive without being overbearing. While the restaurant was crowded, we were never made to feel rushed, and ended up with a leisurely three hour meal. At one point we asked for ice for our water, and the servers replenished it consistently throughout the evening. I mentioned a food allergy, and even the amuse-bouche was separately created to accommodate me. The food was delicious. The lobster was wonderful as was the fois gras. Everything is plated beautifully. I would highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Jean George was delicious and the ambian ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Jean George was delicious and the ambiance was outstanding. Our server was adorable and very friendly. Overall it was an outstanding experience. The only reason I'm giving a 4 star vs 5 star review is that it took 15 minutes for someone to take our initial drink order and then bring the menus over, which was after I had to signal someone a few times to come over because we had been waiting for so long. I loved the food and the service after the initial sitting was good but for a 3 Michelin star restaurant, my expectations were higher. I've been to one Michelin star restaurants that had better initial service. They could have been having an off night but I don't think I'll be going back any time soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Evening

Dined on May 24, 2016

My wife and I were on our first trip to New York and our daughter recommended Jean Georges. It was a truly memorable evening. The place was full, but we only waited 10 minutes for our table. The staff were all outstanding, knowledgeable, gracious and friendly. The food was remarkable. I will recommend this establishment to friends from our part of the world.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant and delicious

Dined on May 23, 2016

The waitress was very sociable and knowledgeable. The food presentation was amazing. This is a great place for an elegant dinner or lunch but maybe not good for those who are picky.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Absolute wonderful dining experience ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

An Absolute wonderful dining experience from start to finish!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.