About Jean Georges

1 Central Park West
New York, NY 10023
View Larger Map

Jean-Georges opened in 1997 to critical acclaim. The jewel of Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s empire, the restaurant offers the very best in fine dining. Consistently awarded four stars by the New York Times and three Michelin stars, Jean-Georges presents exquisitely crafted dishes blending French, American, and Asian influences. Chef Jean-Georges is a master at maintaining the essence of ingredients while using them inventively to produce the best flavor. Jean-Georges’ chic and intimate dining room was redesigned by Thomas Juul-Hansen, with striking lighting by L’Observatoire. Impeccable service, tableside preparations, and floor-to-ceiling windows with stunning views of Central Park and Columbus Circle all contribute to an unforgettable dining experience. Jean-Georges offers a three-course prix-fixe menu and two six-course tasting menus: a traditional tasting of the chef’s signature dishes, and a seasonal tasting featuring fresh market ingredients.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday 11:45am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 11pm, Friday, Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm Sunday 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
60th and 61st Streets

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 299-3900

Website:
http://www.jean-georgesrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Private Party Facilities: Jean Georges can accommodate parties of up to 30 guests in the Boardroom Suite, located on the third floor of the Trump International hotel. The main dining room is also available for private breakfast events Monday-Friday up until 11am for groups of 20-75 guests.

Private Party Contact: Farah Abad, 212-358-0688 x28 or fabad@jean-georges.com

Public Transit:
A C, B, D, or 1 line to 59th Street Columbus Circle.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Georges Vongerichten

Additional:
Full Bar, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.jean-georges.com/events/special-events/

Restaurant Photos

Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jean–Georges' flagship offers the best in fine dining. Awarded 4 stars by The New York Times and 3 Michelin stars, it features an exquisitely crafted menu blending French, American and Asian influences; the impeccable service, and views of Central Park make for an unforgettable dining experience.

Jean Georges Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Midtown West ›

Special Occasion (225)
Fit for Foodies (170)
Romantic (136)
See All
Notable Wine List (107)
Great for Lunch (88)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Good for a Date (25)
Scenic View (25)
Hot Spot (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Tasting Menu (20)
Great for Brunch (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Worth the Drive (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Seasonal (8)
Business Meals (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Cozy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Authentic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fun (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Healthy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4352 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I mentioned I want to sit next to the wi ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

I mentioned I want to sit next to the window two weeks ago when I make the reservation but I still get the regular table far away from window at first. When the third time I mentioned that I booked window side table then they let me changed to the empty table behind the window.

I also found a short hair in the salad, then the waiter just said" I am sorry" and changed another one for me. There is the last thing shouldn't be happens in this Michelin stars restaurant but it did happens on me. I also paid the full price for the salad and feel disappointed about this Michelin stars restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Food is awesome. I had a great evening w ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Food is awesome. I had a great evening with friends

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, but a tad salty for me. But ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, but a tad salty for me. But the wait staff immediately exchanged the dish the minute I said it was too salty.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and ambience definitey not worth t ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Food and ambience definitey not worth the money. Way over rated. Service was so so. Definitely not Michelin star quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Gorgeous ambiance and friendly and helpf ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Gorgeous ambiance and friendly and helpful staff. The desserts were truly works of art (to look at and to taste)!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

What an awesome meal! We had such a gre ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

What an awesome meal! We had such a great time, the service was impeccable, the food "to die for", the ambiance....very romantic! It is pricey but well worth the money.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Superb meal with high quality ingredient ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Superb meal with high quality ingredients and an outstanding mix and balance of flavors and textures throughout the meal. Service was excellent and wine list was extensive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you want a fine dining experience in ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

If you want a fine dining experience in NY this is one of the best places to be. The restaurant was recommended to me by my parents who dine at Jean Georges restaurants regularly. The meals were presented in a trendy fashion and delivered by extremely friendly staff. The recommendations given were right on. I enjoyed the chocolate dessert as well. Everything was immaculate! I will be eating here when visiting NY again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tasting menu is exceptional. Choreograph ...

 
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Tasting menu is exceptional. Choreographed service is a spectacle in itself. Not cheap, but good value for 3 star dining.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

nice & outstanding ambiance, good food a ...

 
·Dined on September 14, 2016

nice & outstanding ambiance, good food and great presentation. but little bit salty

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience. Food was the best. S ...

 
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great experience.

Food was the best.

Service wast he best.

Wish the noise level was lower.

I would still rate it at the top - the very top.

Tags: Hot Spot, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It doesn't get any better than this in N ...

 
·Dined on September 12, 2016

It doesn't get any better than this in NYC. Everything in the restaurant is excellent! You just can't improve upon perfection. I started out with the baked oysters which were superb then followed with the black sea bass which was so fresh I think it was caught an hour before being served and it was gently floating in a heavenly broth. I am very happy they provided a spoon for the broth. I didn't leave a drop! I didn't think they could do anything else to impress me, but the chocolate tasting desert certainly did. Also, the service matched all of culinary presentations. This establishment operates like a very fine Swiss Watch Movement. A truly remarkable dining experience. Bravo Jean Georges!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time at Jean Georges for lun ...

 
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Had a great time at Jean Georges for lunch-- my fourth time there! It's the only place I'm willing to splurge on because I know I'm going to be happy with my food & service every time. The lunch prix fixe is really a bargain for what it is. The $58 prix fixe includes: amuse bouche (so fun and always delicious), bread & butter (and I mean *good* quality stuff here), appetizer, entree, petit fours & homemade marshmallows. The service is impeccable, too. Our server, Brian, took it upon himself to share a bit about how the meals are prepared and where some of the ingredients come from. And because I was there for a special occasion, he brought out a complimentary chocolate mouse cake for me. Also, I should say, the servers have always been really welcoming and have never made me feel intimidated or like I don't belong there (I say this as someone for whom dining at Jean Georges involves saving up some money). I really cannot speak highly enough of this place. The only downside, really, is that it's in Trump Tower, and the dinner is out of my budget. Also the seating looks a bit outdated (although admittedly, it's comfortable). I would kill to spend a day in the kitchen there, though! Top quality creative cuisine. Recommend: any of the fish w/ broth (favorites include sea bass in sweet & sour jus, hake with lemongrass consomme), tuna ribbons, fresh pea soup w/ parmesan broth, chocolate dessert plate, rhubarb dessert plate. My fav. amuse bouche so far has been sea trout sashimi on a sourdough crouton (with some amazing oil/herbs), fresh ricotta w/ pumpernickel crumbs and radishes, & a dill broth. Anyway, it's such a great place. Go!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The shrimp and the tuna definitely the b ...

 
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The shrimp and the tuna definitely the best. The veal was probably the least amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The dishes are not clean and food and se ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The dishes are not clean and food and service are not good & prompt as expected as 3 star restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

For a fine restaurant of 3 Michelin star ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

For a fine restaurant of 3 Michelin star caliber, there will always be some expectation. Perhaps our expectation was too high, but restaurant failed to meet many aspects - 1) food - food was bit salty for our taste - both main course and some appetizers; 2) service - 2 ladies serving us had her nails chipped and you can tell that her nails were bit dirty - as they were serving my food, it made my stomach boil; 3) affordability - this was north of $500 meal all-in, I expect far more for a meal where I have to pay that much...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Mouthwateringly fabulous !! Mouthwateri ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Mouthwateringly fabulous !! Mouthwateringly fabulous !! Mouthwateringly fabulous !! Mouthwateringly fabulous !! Mouthwateringly fabulous !! Mouthwateringly fabulous !! Mouthwateringly fabulous !! Mouthwateringly fabulous !! Mouthwateringly fabulous !!

(sorry to sound boring but the response site insisted 50~+ words !)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Come hungry. 6 courses in the tasting me ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Come hungry. 6 courses in the tasting menu with a substantial amount of food. The setting was perfect for my dinner date and I was extremely pleased with the opportunity to sit at the corner of the room next to my date. The service was top-notch and would definitely recommend to others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I recommend the summer tasting menu, whi ...

 
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I recommend the summer tasting menu, which was amazing and ended with a lamb chop that was heaven. We also did the wine pairing, which added a wonderful layer to the dinner. The service was impeccable.

Overall, a wonderful dinner and evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was wonderfully delicius, I e ...

 
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Everything was wonderfully delicius, I enjoyed it a lot.

I will come back, when I return to Manhattan.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and wine were good, especially ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food and wine were good, especially caviars. But I felt disappointed when the waitress didn't change her talking speed at all after I asked her to speak more slowly so that we could understand well... As my boyfriend was not accustomed to listen to quickly spoken casual English, he looked uncomfortable. So, I don't recommend this restaurant for those who are not good at English. They will only receive limited service and feel some stress.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Lunch at Jean Georges used to be a fanta ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Lunch at Jean Georges used to be a fantastic value for those who were not, let's say the wealthiest of patrons. You got to experience the vibe, excellent service and delicious food for a very reasonable price. I had been a few times previously. Was very surprised they raised the price about 20$ per person per prix fixe since the last time i went (a couple years ago). I would say it's still worth the experience, but not worth going as often anymore.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was top notch, but the noise lev ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Service was top notch, but the noise level was high. I'd expect more of a quiet dining environment. As a 3-star Michelin restaurant, the food didn't wow me. Lamb chop was especially salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Nothing better.

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Nothing better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fabulous as always. Service is ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was fabulous as always. Service is friendly and not overly intrusive. My only complaint is that on the website thee is a pretty strict dress code. However, many diners had very casual attire. As we took the train in from NJ, it would have been nice be dressed more comfortably but this is an elegant restaurant and we complied with the policy. I will say that it seemed like the more appropriately dressed guests were in the main dining room.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and excellent service. We ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service.

We had a very nice Friday lunch i NY

Tags: Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a very pleasant experience. Their ...

 
·Dined on August 29, 2016

It was a very pleasant experience. Their service was very nice. Food of course was very nice. We had one Jean George and one summer sth. I tasted the other menu a bit but liked Jean George more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

excellent service - staff kindly offered ...

 
·Dined on August 29, 2016

excellent service - staff kindly offered to change my main as I was not satisfied with my initial choice.

good value for lunch.

presentation was aesthically pleasing

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous and the service wa ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was fabulous and the service was top-notch. We went there for brunch and the tasting menu was awesome. The desert is a must-order.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Family Style, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

outstanding all the way around....attent ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

outstanding all the way around....attentive service but not intrusive.

lovely presentation and tast

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful from the minute ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Everything was wonderful from the minute we arrived. Just perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a return visit, we don't live i ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was a return visit, we don't live in NYC so we had an occasion to visit and added this to our agenda. Great food, service and nice and quiet. Look forward to our next return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to JEAN GEORGES to celebrate my b ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I went to JEAN GEORGES to celebrate my birthday. and the service was aweful. Here is why:

My reservation time was 6pm. At 8:30pm, we were asked to LEAVE. I still remembered that I had to packed away my birthday cake. I heard that Michilin standard dining time was 3 hours; however, we didn't get enough time to enjoy our meals at all. Our servers asked us to order food quickly. and then after appertizer, they already told us, they had next guests were waiting for our table I can't believe that I paid 700 dollar for this hassle dning experience. Thank you for ruin my birthday memory. Thank you for remind me you NEXT customer is imporant than present one.

I went t same four stars restaurant Pre-SE for my birthday last year, they were fantasic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

wonderul meat and service level of food ...

 
·Dined on August 25, 2016

wonderul meat and service level of food very good

Tags: Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice food, I with my friend really enjoy ...

 
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Nice food, I with my friend really enjoy it,The food make me want to come back,when I in New York next time.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic! I was planning to visit NYC ...

 
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Fantastic! I was planning to visit NYC with a girlfriend, and had been told about the great value of the Prix-Fixe lunch at Jean-George. I was able to get a reservation (a month ahead). There was some confusion about where to put us when we arrived - the lunch we were looking for ($38 pp for a 3 course lunch) turned out to only be served in the outdoor dining area (Nougatine), but when I made the online reservation, it didn't make that clear, nor did it give me an option to pick one location over the other. Anyway, they re-seated us outside under an umbrella, the weather was beautiful (August), and the service and the food was amazing. NOTE: they told us that the dress code was 'no jeans, shorts, sneakers & sandals' so we dressed up. However, for you future diners, this was not enforced. There were other diners in the patio area around us wearing jeans, shorts, sneakers AND sandals. I think they might have frowned on flip flops, however! All in all, a wonderful experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was heavenly! I ate in so many ...

 
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The food was heavenly! I ate in so many fabulous restaurant in NYC during my vacay and I must say that Jean Georges is one of my favorites! I will definitely go back! Keep it up!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was quiet place. Some food are a litt ...

 
·Dined on August 25, 2016

It was quiet place. Some food are a little bit salty. Except that, everything was fine.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

One of the nicest things about Jean Geor ...

 
·Dined on August 24, 2016

One of the nicest things about Jean Georges is the staff and the service. They create a comfortable, attentive, pleasant experience. Very responsive to individual tastes and needs.

The dining room is simple and beautiful, with details such as small imaginative flower arrangements on each table, and unexpected creative shapes in china and glassware.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed. First bite of crab dish an ...

 
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Disappointed. First bite of crab dish and had a shell in my mouth. Walked away to use the bathroom and my napkin was gone, and not replaced.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.