About Jean Georges

1 Central Park West
New York, NY 10023
View Larger Map

Jean-Georges opened in 1997 to critical acclaim. The jewel of Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s empire, the restaurant offers the very best in fine dining. Consistently awarded four stars by the New York Times and three Michelin stars, Jean-Georges presents exquisitely crafted dishes blending French, American, and Asian influences. Chef Jean-Georges is a master at maintaining the essence of ingredients while using them inventively to produce the best flavor. Jean-Georges’ chic and intimate dining room was redesigned by Thomas Juul-Hansen, with striking lighting by L’Observatoire. Impeccable service, tableside preparations, and floor-to-ceiling windows with stunning views of Central Park and Columbus Circle all contribute to an unforgettable dining experience. Jean-Georges offers a three-course prix-fixe menu and two six-course tasting menus: a traditional tasting of the chef’s signature dishes, and a seasonal tasting featuring fresh market ingredients.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday 11:45am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 11pm, Friday, Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm Sunday 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
60th and 61st Streets

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 299-3900

Website:
http://www.jean-georgesrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Private Party Facilities: Jean Georges can accommodate parties of up to 30 guests in the Boardroom Suite, located on the third floor of the Trump International hotel. The main dining room is also available for private breakfast events Monday-Friday up until 11am for groups of 20-75 guests.

Private Party Contact: Farah Abad, 212-358-0688 x28 or fabad@jean-georges.com

Public Transit:
A C, B, D, or 1 line to 59th Street Columbus Circle.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Georges Vongerichten

Additional:
Full Bar, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.jean-georges.com/events/special-events/

Restaurant Photos

Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges
Jean Georges

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jean–Georges' flagship offers the best in fine dining. Awarded 4 stars by The New York Times and 3 Michelin stars, it features an exquisitely crafted menu blending French, American and Asian influences; the impeccable service, and views of Central Park make for an unforgettable dining experience.

Jean Georges Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Midtown West ›

special occasion (245)
fit for foodies (223)
romantic (159)
See All
notable wine list (112)
great for lunch (103)
scenic view (38)
hot spot (35)
neighborhood gem (28)
great for brunch (24)
good for groups (20)
great for outdoor dining (20)
vibrant bar scene (14)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
4245 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Pros: outstanding service, impressive wi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 4 days ago

Pros: outstanding service, impressive wine list, high quality food material

Cons: dining hall was crowded and a bit noisy, half of the dishes offered were way too salty for my personal preference, quite pricey

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great dining experience , excellent staf ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great dining experience , excellent staff, only Unpleasant factor was from diners next table with loud conversations and laughing

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing experience with impeccable servi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing experience with impeccable service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What an amazing experience. An absolute ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

What an amazing experience. An absolutely perfect tasting. Service was beyond: attentive but not obstructive. Food came out like an organized dance even though my friend and I chose different tastings. I loved that they had three tasting options, I chose the summer menu and it was so perfect. The dessert tasting at the end of the meal was a wonderful surprise. Everything was perfectly timed. IT was the perfect atmosphere to catch up with a friend. A must visit, New York staple.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful service and amazing ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Absolutely wonderful service and amazing food. Very good atmosphere and staff were very helpful. Convenient location.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice overall. Of course, expensive ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Very nice overall. Of course, expensive.

Formal dining. For a special occasion.

Excellent location near the park, so

provides for a good walk after the meal.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We waited at the bar for a little over 3 ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We waited at the bar for a little over 30min for our table (8:30pm booking and no table until 9:05pm) despite booking reservation 4 weeks in advance. Nonetheless, they offered us a complimentary glass of wine to compensate for the wait time, which was a great gesture. However server did not check with us about our food at every course. Crumbs or food left on table clothes were not cleaned after each meal. First two courses were over seasoned. Last course was slightly over done and under seasoned (after we provided feedback after the second course). Felt a bit rushed through the courses unlike Guy Savoy where both service and food were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Brought my 12 year old niece, after seei ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Brought my 12 year old niece, after seeing Hamilton matinee. She is a FUSSY eater. They allowed me to order the summer tasting menu, and brought my niece an extra plate, in case she wanted to try something. After turning her nose up at everything but the pretzel rolls, they brought out an extra dessert for her. She devoured it. Thanks Jean Gerges, you always treat me right!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed a delicious birthday lunch at Je ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Enjoyed a delicious birthday lunch at Jean Georges. The food, room, service, and ambience were wonderful. The restaurant never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb food, ambiance and service. Every ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Superb food, ambiance and service. Everything was exceptional. We might have preferred slightly slower service (stint but more space between the courses). But we neglected to ask until we realized it too late I am sure they would have happily and perfectly accommodated us. We plan to come next time we are in the city. Thank you

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wasn't impressed by the food I have been ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Wasn't impressed by the food I have been to a few Michelin star restaurants and this was not even close to the best even though it is rated 3 star Michelin.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Exquisite fine dining, amazing food, inp ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Exquisite fine dining, amazing food, inpeckable service, very lovely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A beautiful space and magnificent, creat ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

A beautiful space and magnificent, creative food. Good was delicious. Space and food are elegant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch. Very creative chef. Extremely ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Top notch. Very creative chef. Extremely pleasant dining room. Almost every dish is excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had not dined at Jean-Georges before, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I had not dined at Jean-Georges before, but as a former New Yorker and someone who works in the food and hospitality industry I had heard many good things and was excited for the experience.

I was in no way disappointed. My dining companion and I selected lunch service as that seemed best for us, and our budget, and we were treated to excellent food, very professional and well-orchestrated service. We will definitely return.

We would recommend the parmesan-artichoke risotto for first course and the halibut for entree. Best halibut I've had, possibly ever. We also very much enjoyed the coconut semi-freddo with passion fruit and lime curd dessert very much.

Thank you Jean-Georges and your excellent Team, you do amazing work!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Duck was excellent! Crab dumplings were ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Duck was excellent! Crab dumplings were delicious and the madam also very tasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have enjoyed the unique blending of f ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We have enjoyed the unique blending of food and flavors. We are a big fan of Jean Georges restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to this restaurant many times ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I've been to this restaurant many times and this was one of the more disappointing experiences. I felt that the flavor combinations and execution on several of our dishes were not up to Jean Georges' standards. We had the strawberry dessert which seemed kind of like a muddled mess sitting in tapioca pudding. I can't imagine how this dish got approved for a tasting menu dessert. Excellent dishes were the asparagus and halibut and lobster. Lamb was perfectly cooked but not my favorite version of this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

When we arrived the server asked if we w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

When we arrived the server asked if we were celebrating any occasion and my husband mentioned it was my birthday. So, the staff went above and beyond and also brought a complimentary "happy birthday" mini- cake. Everything was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My favourite New York restaurant - simpl ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My favourite New York restaurant - simply superb. Strongly recommended for lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best meal I've had so far. We did th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The best meal I've had so far. We did the lunch tasting menu with pairing. Absolutely delivered on their 3 star reputation in every way!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For a 3 star restaurant non acceptable l ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

For a 3 star restaurant non acceptable level of food representation. From overcooked salmon and risotto to a stake taste bellow the caffeteria level. Overuse of spices was covering for large gap in imagination. In short: for foodies with regular opportunity to eat in michelin star restaurants, this experience would not qualify even for a single star

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

The service was good, but I think the fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The service was good, but I think the food is mediocre and just overrated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Very slow service. Extended delay for me ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very slow service. Extended delay for menus, water, drinks, bread and order. Service and courses rushed and frantic at the end. Not a good choice pre theatre, even though we arrived at 5:15 and made it clear we had to leave by 7:15-7:30. Good choice if you have all evening to enjoy a meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

easily one of the best meals i've ever h ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

easily one of the best meals i've ever had. everything we had was great, some outstanding dishes were the tuna ribbons, the wild salmon, duck breast , diver scallops, and rabbit. my friend enjoys sweet w her savory and loves the Foie Gras Terrine w Strawberry Granola. highly highly recommend and look forward to returning. loved the dessert selection as well. wonderful dining experience

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service are always amazing. A m ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food and service are always amazing. A must when I'm visiting NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect in every way.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Perfect in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For some reason the reservation I made t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

For some reason the reservation I made through Open Table sat us in the main dining room. I expected a less formal seating. The menu was haute cuisine and the food and service impeccable. The dining room was empty except for what appeared to be a Chinese delegation. As I said, I was hoping for a more casual and light lunch with my daughter and granddaughter.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing food & service , please keep up ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Amazing food & service , please keep up the good work.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service in a pleasant ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent food and service in a pleasant setting, a real escape from the NYC hustle and bustle. Worth the expense.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Jean Georges seems to be phoning it in. ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Jean Georges seems to be phoning it in. The menu is similar to what it has been for years and there are no innovative dishes. The cooking is capable and the ingredients are high quality, but there no longer is much inspiration and no excitement. The 3 star Michelin rating is 1 1/2 stars too high.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food, perfect service. Especia ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Fantastic food, perfect service.

Especially desserts were amazing.

If you travel NY, Jean Georges would never dissapoint you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved Jean Georges. The service was ou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I loved Jean Georges. The service was outstanding, as was the food. The portions were a great size - I left there feeling like I had gotten value for money, but not stuffed. I'd definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding! Great food and ambience. L ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Outstanding! Great food and ambience.

Lovely place for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a very good restaurant. People w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This is a very good restaurant. People were very nice to us, and the food is very good. The lunch pricing is of interesting value. However, do not expect a 3-star michelin experience. The food is clearly not at that level. Much less original than Per Se or 11 Madison Park, or any 3 star experience. I would advise to go tonthe restaurant for a very good meal, but if you want something original and top level, there are better options in nyc. Beware however: unfortunately you are forced to set foot in a "trump" tower if you want to enter the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

It was our second time there and they di ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

It was our second time there and they did not disappoint. We had great time and the staff was outstanding. We will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to Jean George numerous tim ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We have been to Jean George numerous times. It's not as formal as it used to be, nor is it as pretty, but the food is still top quality all around. We missed all the beautiful flowers.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service. My only gripe i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great food and service. My only gripe is that they charged for tea which is not the usual for high end restaurants like Le Bernardin, Per Se and Chef's Table. It made me feel nickeled and dimed. The vegetable/fruit juices were terrific. Crudo very pleasant and innovative. Main dishes were tasty, though the veal with flying pig was heavy on the salt. The tropical dessert was artistic, a coconut semifreddo frozen with liquid nitrogen with fruit and a gelato in the core. Outstanding presentation. The petit fours were weak compared to Marea.

Overall, a great value for a 3 star restaurant.

Finally, I appreciated the kitchen tour and it made me confident that Jean Georges is a class act. Pity about being in the Trump Tower.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best restaurant in New York. ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

One of the best restaurant in New York. I would definitely come here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely outstanding in every respect. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Absolutely outstanding in every respect. Well worth it. In the moment it was exciting, and the memory will last forever.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.